View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

11-06-2020, 05:52 PM
Did Gullan score against ICT without being on the pitch? :greengrin

No, that was another short cameo against another pub team. I didn't say BSC was his only appearance.

11-06-2020, 05:54 PM
He did early on and generally did well. In his last 2 years he barely featured at all and certainly didn't get plenty of chances. Seriously, his chances were non existent. 11 starts in the last 2 years with us is pathetic. He scored in 6 of those starts btw.

Hibs really let him down and recalling Gullan to give him 10 minutes against a pub team was also very poor.

Gullan also got game time Vs ICT with a goal and a full(?) game against the sheep missing a decent chance.
I had high hopes for the lad with MM suspended.

11-06-2020, 05:57 PM
He did early on and generally did well. In his last 2 years he barely featured at all and certainly didn't get plenty of chances. Seriously, his chances were non existent. 11 starts in the last 2 years with us is pathetic. He scored in 6 of those starts btw.

Hibs really let him down and recalling Gullan to give him 10 minutes against a pub team was also very poor.

I know what you're trying to say and I agree that that has been the case with some players, Kurtis Byrne IMO, but I'm genuinely not sure whether Shaw falls into that category, I did see quite a lot of him and apart from 1 or 2 games he didn't seem to do much. I felt with Byrne we missed out on an opportunity to improve a good young player by not giving him many opportunities at all, whereas with Shaw he didn't seem to fit into the kind of tactics that whatever manager at the time wanted to use. That's definitely not Shaw's fault though.

11-06-2020, 05:59 PM

Once you get a chance you have to grab it with both hands so that you can’t be left out. Shaw just never did it. It’s a shame because I thought he might come good but it just never happened. He wasn’t getting game tome because he wasn’t good enough. It happens all the time. He needs to grab his chance at Ross County now but early signs are not good.

11-06-2020, 06:01 PM
I know what you're trying to say and I agree that that has been the case with some players, Kurtis Byrne IMO, but I'm genuinely not sure whether Shaw falls into that category, I did see quite a lot of him and apart from 1 or 2 games he didn't seem to do much. I felt with Byrne we missed out on an opportunity to improve a good young player by not giving him many opportunities at all, whereas with Shaw he didn't seem to fit into the kind of tactics that whatever manager at the time wanted to use. That's definitely not Shaw's fault though.

Kurtis Byrne just wasn’t good enough and his career shows that.

11-06-2020, 06:06 PM
No, that was another short cameo against another pub team. I didn't say BSC was his only appearance.

We haven’t brought him back and not used him though. He couldn’t expect to be back and straight in to the team, he had to come back and prove he was up to it. He was gradually doing that, progressively getting more minutes (and his first start) prior to football being stopped. He also scored his first goal (against a team from the league above the one he played in for most of the season). That’s decent progress in six or seven weeks.

I wonder if he would have preferred that or a couple of extra games and goals against Forfar and Stranraer in league one.

11-06-2020, 06:14 PM
We should have 4 forward on the books. Just now we only have Doidge and Gullan. If he’s good enough he’ll force his way in.

Always argued this :aok: should always have four strikers, and that is not including wide players. Too often since we have been back we have had a lack of options up top, the draws we get evidence that and our conversion rate to chances created is poor.

Gullan is going to be a good player, but we need a wee pest up top to harry and chase lost causes - dare I say, a Simon Murray type. What he lacked in technique, he made up for in desire and sheer energy and enthusiasm.

11-06-2020, 06:59 PM

I know hence the smile at the end.

He would have got more game time though if the season hadn't been halted, he would have racked up a fair bit of game time in my opinion.

11-06-2020, 08:25 PM
Kurtis Byrne just wasn’t good enough and his career shows that.

Before he played in the Hibs first team he was in a better youth team than the one Shaw was in and was a prolific scorer. They won the league and cup double 2008/2009. He scored the winning goal in the youth cup final at Hampden. Good goal too, I was there. My point was that he never really got an opportunity at Hibs and his career went slightly downhill after that. Shaw had more chances than him to prove himself and for whatever reason didn't really take them.

11-06-2020, 09:24 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5692241/rangers-burt-new-club-celtic-second-time/

Were we not linked with this guy briefly before he joined Celtic?

Can’t remember if it was in the media or just someone on here but sure i remember it being suggested we were interested in signing him.

11-06-2020, 09:32 PM
Before he played in the Hibs first team he was in a better youth team than the one Shaw was in and was a prolific scorer. They won the league and cup double 2008/2009. He scored the winning goal in the youth cup final at Hampden. Good goal too, I was there. My point was that he never really got an opportunity at Hibs and his career went slightly downhill after that. Shaw had more chances than him to prove himself and for whatever reason didn't really take them.

Oli Shaw was also part of a league & cup winning team & he, Ryan Porteous & Jamie Gullan scored in the final. I think time will prove that was a better youth team than the one Kurtis played in.

11-06-2020, 09:36 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5692241/rangers-burt-new-club-celtic-second-time/

Can’t remember if it was in the media or just someone on here but sure i remember it being suggested we were interested in signing him.

Yes. He agreed to sign for us when he left Rangers. Can’t see us being interested again though.

11-06-2020, 09:49 PM
Yes. He agreed to sign for us when he left Rangers. Can’t see us being interested again though.

Still only 20 years old, wouldn’t surprise me if we thought he had something to offer then, might still do now.

Can see him being the sort of player we might offer training facilities to and seeing how he gets on.

11-06-2020, 10:07 PM

Shaw showed so, so much more than Bryne ever did. Totally different levels

11-06-2020, 10:29 PM
Shaw showed so, so much more than Bryne ever did. Totally different levels

None of them good enough.

11-06-2020, 10:56 PM

Transfermarket has him contracted until 2021

11-06-2020, 11:03 PM
Still only 20 years old, wouldn’t surprise me if we thought he had something to offer then, might still do now.

Can see him being the sort of player we might offer training facilities to and seeing how he gets on.

I think it would be more to do with him giving Mathie his word he was coming (or his dad/agent) then going back on it. He had the training facilities etc before mate.

11-06-2020, 11:31 PM
I think it would be more to do with him giving Mathie his word he was coming (or his dad/agent) then going back on it. He had the training facilities etc before mate.

At 21 with less than 25 first team games under his belt I think he’s not going to make it. He’ll have a couple of seasons in league 1 or 2 if he’s lucky.

11-06-2020, 11:44 PM
At 21 with less than 25 first team games under his belt I think he’s not going to make it. He’ll have a couple of seasons in league 1 or 2 if he’s lucky.

He should have came to us. Burnt bridges now I think. Very good youth player mind you.

11-06-2020, 11:58 PM

Shaw can't do it at the senior level. Lets see how he gets on next season.

11-06-2020, 11:59 PM
Always argued this :aok: should always have four strikers, and that is not including wide players. Too often since we have been back we have had a lack of options up top, the draws we get evidence that and our conversion rate to chances created is poor.

Gullan is going to be a good player, but we need a wee pest up top to harry and chase lost causes - dare I say, a Simon Murray type. What he lacked in technique, he made up for in desire and sheer energy and enthusiasm.

Which teams have 4 top class strikers?

12-06-2020, 06:41 AM

Well, Hearts of course had countless. Naismith, Boyce, Uche, McLean, Wighton for starters. Oops, this is like a Google search where it says, must include "top class". :wink:

MagicSwirlingShip
12-06-2020, 07:01 AM

O’Connor, Riordan, Fletcher, Killen,

Stokes, Cummings, Keatings, Boyle,

12-06-2020, 07:09 AM

Haynes, Vine, Heffernan, Caldwell

12-06-2020, 07:13 AM

Wow. Now those were the days... 🤮

12-06-2020, 07:13 AM

The top 4 was for about 25 minutes.

Boyle definitely isn't a striker.

12-06-2020, 07:22 AM
Wow. Now those were the days... 🤮

No wonder we got relegated.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-06-2020, 07:24 AM
The top 4 was for about 25 minutes.

Boyle definitely isn't a striker.

You can add Benji to the top list.

And Handling to the bottom.

Boyle scored 2 at Tynie as a striker. I think he fits the criteria

The best Hibs teams over the years have had 4+ striking options. Debate me on that?

12-06-2020, 07:39 AM

2000/01 - Libbra, Zitelli, McManus, Lehman, Mixu

2009/10 - Stokes, Riordan, Nish, Benji

12-06-2020, 07:39 AM
You can add Benji to the top list.

And Handling to the bottom.

Boyle scored 2 at Tynie as a striker. I think he fits the criteria

The best Hibs teams over the years have had 4+ striking options. Debate me on that?
The current team has Gullan, Doidge, Kamberi and Boyle then.

Boyle had many more poor games as a striker, he isn't a striker. 1 match proves very little.

Handling also never a striker.

12-06-2020, 07:48 AM
I’m happy enough for Gullan to be one of the 4 next season but Kamberri and possibly Boyle will be away and if Boyle does stay it’s not as a striker.

12-06-2020, 08:04 AM
Agreed about our striking options.

We need more up front - at least competition for places.

Main area still is central midfield and energy / someone who can win the ball.

The team needs a lot of work done to it so interesting to see how we address this.

Sweet Left Peg
12-06-2020, 08:07 AM
Yorke, Cole, Sheringham and Solskjaer did ok for Utd.

12-06-2020, 08:24 AM
So no others teams in our league have 4 top strikers? If we get Stewart and Nesbit they wont be coming to sit on the bench. If we arent counting Boyle as a striker (though i would as he can cover there) Then I can only see us buying one striker. Gullan will be expected to pitch in with plenty goals this season, and ive seen nothing to suggest he wont do that. He has a lot more in his locker than Shaw had.

12-06-2020, 08:27 AM
So no others teams in our league have 4 top strikers? If we get Stewart and Nesbit they wont be coming to sit on the bench. If we arent counting Boyle as a striker (though i would as he can cover there) Then I can only see us buying one striker. Gullan will be expected to pitch in with plenty goals this season, and ive seen nothing to suggest he wont do that. He has a lot more in his locker than Shaw had.

We don’t need Stewart when we have Doidge. If we bring in Nesbitt, that’s enough for me. Gives us Doidge, Nesbitt and Gullan, with Boyle as a backup.

If Boyle goes too, we’ll need to bring someone in, but it’ll need to be a winger rather than a striker, and hopefully not Mikel Miller who is pish.

12-06-2020, 08:32 AM

Celtic have 4 do they not. Leigh Eduard bayou and some polish boy they signed

12-06-2020, 08:33 AM
We don’t need Stewart when we have Doidge. If we bring in Nesbitt, that’s enough for me. Gives us Doidge, Nesbitt and Gullan, with Boyle as a backup.

If Boyle goes too, we’ll need to bring someone in, but it’ll need to be a winger rather than a striker, and hopefully not Mikel Miller who is pish.

Think Miller is good from what little I have seen of him.

12-06-2020, 08:39 AM

Where’s the swear filter? That’s a minging line up.

Leitherhibs
12-06-2020, 08:41 AM
Where’s the swear filter? That’s a minging line up.

To be fair, they could've included O'Donovan as well - Some player.

12-06-2020, 08:44 AM

**** me id forgotten about him. I remember thinking when he signed that he could be the difference...Christ knows why.

Leitherhibs
12-06-2020, 08:46 AM

That United side played twice a week, almost every week and played 4-4-2, without compromise. We'll play one up top in a fair amount of our games next season i'd wager.

12-06-2020, 08:54 AM

Are Stewart and Doidge the same kind of striker? What does Nisbet offer that Stewart doesn't? Genuine question not trying to be smart

12-06-2020, 08:56 AM

12-06-2020, 09:07 AM

Left over a year before Haynes, Vine or Heffernan joined.

12-06-2020, 09:08 AM
Are Stewart and Doidge the same kind of striker? What does Nisbet offer that Stewart doesn't? Genuine question not trying to be smart

In my opinion they’re a similar type of striker yeh, but Doidge is better.

I don’t know much about Nesbit. Don’t know if I’ve even seen him play, other than goals highlights. Looks like a completely different style of striker to Doidge though.

Fuzzywuzzy
12-06-2020, 09:18 AM
Saw an article in the EEN saying two premiership clubs are in for Craig Gordon. It mentioned St Mirren and Hearts. Anyone know who the other premiership team could be? 🤷

Souter96Mac
12-06-2020, 09:45 AM
Saw an article in the EEN saying two premiership clubs are in for Craig Gordon. It mentioned St Mirren and Hearts. Anyone know who the other premiership team could be? 🤷

Dundee United no doubt. They seem to be this season's Sunderland in the sense they seem to be linked with everyone

12-06-2020, 09:53 AM

Reported.

12-06-2020, 10:17 AM
Oli Shaw was also part of a league & cup winning team & he, Ryan Porteous & Jamie Gullan scored in the final. I think time will prove that was a better youth team than the one Kurtis played in.

Not sure I agree that they will be a better team than the team that won the double when Kurtis played in it.

I'm not including Kurtis but Paul Hanlon, David Wotherspoon and Callum Booth went on to win Scottish under 21 caps and have had decent careers.

I hope the team that won the double recently do turn out to be better but they have a fair way to go yet and some of them have already fell by the wayside.

12-06-2020, 10:45 AM

EEN still calling hearts a premiership team no doubt :faf:

Just makes it all the sweeter that they are actually not. It really is a great time to be a Hibby :greengrin

12-06-2020, 10:53 AM

Bingo!

The classic quartet.

12-06-2020, 11:06 AM
EEN still calling hearts a premiership team no doubt :faf:

Just makes it all the sweeter that they are actually not. It really is a great time to be a Hibby :greengrin

Wonder if Banderson will just immerse himself in an alternate reality next season and report as if Hearts are still in the top flight?

‘After a first half in which they struggled to get going - no doubt due to a bit of tiredness after the thrilling midweek 5-1 victory over Real Madrid in the Champions League - Hearts really turned on the style for which they are Famous in the second half, thrilling Edinburgh’s biggest football stadium with lots of dead good goals. Hibs’ cynical tactics were no match for our Daniel’s team, although the head coach credited the turnaround to Budge’s master plan. “To outsiders she is maybe just seen as the chairman” he said between gulps of whisky “but she multi tasks as my tactical adviser. She is my inspiration and guru.” Typically modest Budge was keen not to take too much credit, despite the clapping and cheering masses on the Plaza, ordering her sedan chair to be carried back inside after little more than an hour. The adoring fans had to be content with queuing to kiss the feet of her statue instead.”

12-06-2020, 06:05 PM
Motherwell sign Jordan White, Hearts were rumoured to be in for him a season or so back, haven't been that impressed by him when I have seen him play.

12-06-2020, 06:13 PM
Motherwell sign Jordan White, Hearts were rumoured to be in for him a season or so back, haven't been that impressed by him when I have seen him play.

Motherwell like their big bruising centre forwards

12-06-2020, 06:17 PM

Holds the ball up well, works hard. Nothing special but would do a job alongside quick wingers/forward.

12-06-2020, 07:02 PM
Not sure I agree that they will be a better team than the team that won the double when Kurtis played in it.

I'm not including Kurtis but Paul Hanlon, David Wotherspoon and Callum Booth went on to win Scottish under 21 caps and have had decent careers.

I hope the team that won the double recently do turn out to be better but they have a fair way to go yet and some of them have already fell by the wayside.

I don't think Paul H was in the double team Scoopy. IIRC the other 8 players in the final had less than 10 1st team appearances amongst them. Shaw, Murray, Porteous, Gullan & Mackie have already played in the 1st team for Hibs.

12-06-2020, 07:16 PM

Aye. Seem to be building a squad of experienced pro’s and younger lads. Not a bad mix.

12-06-2020, 07:17 PM
I don't think Paul H was in the double team Scoopy. IIRC the other 8 players in the final had less than 10 1st team appearances amongst them. Shaw, Murray, Porteous, Gullan & Mackie have already played in the 1st team for Hibs.

Dee and Boothy made it still no idea why Byrne didn’t and Hanlon was years before maybe even 4/5 years. The biggest disappointment in the last ten years is why Sean Welsh never captained the club. If it wasn’t for injuries it was an absolute nap.

Logie Green
12-06-2020, 07:23 PM

I thought Paul Hanlon was a member of the double winning team but didn’t play in the later stages of the season for the Youth team as he’d broken into the First team squad. He was definitely at the Youth Cup Final against Rangers at Hampden - he was in Broadwoods pub (or whatever it’s called) pre match.

12-06-2020, 07:25 PM

Aye. Seem to be building a squad of experienced pro’s and younger lads. Not a bad mix.

12-06-2020, 07:51 PM

They always tend to give the impression that they are thinking about what they are doing. Year on year they seem to have a decent number of young players to make up the core of a squad and then complement it nicely with astute signings. They should really be given credit for what they seem to be able to do with what can't be a huge budget, year on year.

Other than the Stubbs era Hibs tend to leave you scratching your head about why certain players have signed and how they fit into a cohesive unit, with us papering over cracks with some decent corrective work in January transfer windows.

From a footballing perspective I've got a fair bit of respect for Motherwell.

12-06-2020, 07:51 PM
Dee and Boothy made it still no idea why Byrne didn’t and Hanlon was years before maybe even 4/5 years. The biggest disappointment in the last ten years is why Sean Welsh never captained the club. If it wasn’t for injuries it was an absolute nap.

It was Hanlon’s youth team that won the double. He’d already broken in to the first team but that was the team he played with. Not sure if he featured in the youth cup final as a result?

12-06-2020, 07:54 PM
It was Hanlon’s youth team that won the double. He’d already broken in to the first team but that was the team he played with. Not sure if he featured in the youth cup final as a result?

He didnt play in the final.

12-06-2020, 07:58 PM
Portsmouth interested in Nisbet apparently

12-06-2020, 08:49 PM

Byrne actually just wasn't very good. That's why tbh.

Never really heard that about Welsh. Did he ever actually start a first team game? Can't remember.

12-06-2020, 09:04 PM
Byrne actually just wasn't very good. That's why tbh.

Never really heard that about Welsh. Did he ever actually start a first team game? Can't remember.

Welsh was a fantastic prospect. Massive Hibs fan and captained the youth team. Broke his leg, had a fight with some prick we signed and got released . He’s made good career but should bar injuries should have done more. He turned down Celtic because he loves the Hibs too.

Edit, I think he had a double leg break right after Celtic offered him massive terms he turned it down to stay at Hibs. He came back from injury, had a fight with someone and was released.

12-06-2020, 09:06 PM

He didn’t no. I went to the semi and the final and I can’t remember Hanlon playing either.

12-06-2020, 09:22 PM
Welsh was a fantastic prospect. Massive Hibs fan and captained the youth team. Broke his leg, had a fight with some prick we signed and got released . He’s made good career but should bar injuries should have done more. He turned down Celtic because he loves the Hibs too.

Edit, I think he had a double leg break right after Celtic offered him massive terms he turned it down to stay at Hibs. He came back from injury, had a fight with someone and was released.

Think fight was with Martin Scott? Yes Sean was very unfortunate but he's had a decent career.

Robbo6-2
12-06-2020, 09:37 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5696551/stephane-omeonga-hibs-transfer-permanent/amp/

12-06-2020, 09:47 PM

I don't think Hanlon featured at all in that season. The defence was (iirc) Smith and Moyes at centre half, Booth at left back and Taggart at right back.

Welsh captained the side when fit, iirc. He was a terrific player at that level - played very much like Kevin Thomson. Wotherspoon was also a key player that season.

12-06-2020, 09:48 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5696551/stephane-omeonga-hibs-transfer-permanent/amp/

Hopefully you get your wish Steph.

12-06-2020, 09:48 PM

I hope we make it happen. Give him a pre-season and a run in the team and he'll be a great addition.

12-06-2020, 09:51 PM
I hope we make it happen. Give him a pre-season and a run in the team and he'll be a great addition.

I think so too.

There’s a terrific player in there somewhere but I think he needs to be allowed time to settle in and find his role within the team. Too much was expected of him when he came back last time I think.

I know it everyone sees it and they may end up being right, I just think he’s got the attributes, he just needs to learn how to tie them altogether.

12-06-2020, 09:53 PM

I know he divides opinion on here, I think he's a fantastic footballer and would love to see him return

12-06-2020, 10:01 PM
I like Steph, given some stability in his stop start career I think he could be a major asset. My fondest memory of him was a wonderful cameo performance at St Johnstone when we won 2-1 despite being down to 10 men, remember that pass to McCnulty for the winner? Top drawer. I think the lad is more than decent.

12-06-2020, 10:03 PM
I think so too.

There’s a terrific player in there somewhere but I think he needs to be allowed time to settle in and find his role within the team. Too much was expected of him when he came back last time I think.

I know it everyone sees it and they may end up being right, I just think he’s got the attributes, he just needs to learn how to tie them altogether.

There is a player in there but settling shouldn’t be an issue with how well he knows the place.

In football terms, he’s not a kid. Whether it’s with us, or elsewhere, it’s a career defining move for him this summer. If he doesn’t go and play I don’t think he has much of a career.

12-06-2020, 10:03 PM
I know he divides opinion on here, I think he's a fantastic footballer and would love to see him return

Same. Think he's a fantastic player. Have him on a permanent basis in a heartbeat.

Keyser Sauzee
12-06-2020, 10:15 PM
I think signing Omeonga permanently this summer was always in Hibs minds as I remember in his interview when he signed in the last transfer window he said that he was in discussions with the club about a return in the summer when they eventually tried to get him in the winter.

12-06-2020, 10:25 PM

Yeah, me too.

We've had a few issues in midfield over the past couple of seasons but during that time we've been at our best when he was playing regularly under Heckingbottom.

He's got the attributes to help other players who are either primarily defensive or attacking. Both him and Newell are mobile, good on the ball and decent enough in the tackle.

supershotmo
12-06-2020, 11:06 PM
Think Gogic could be a good signing. Not pretty but impressive breaking play up.

12-06-2020, 11:09 PM
Think Gogic could be a good signing. Not pretty but impressive breaking play up.

Thought he'd be a good signing for a while now, glad we are linked with him. The more I have read about him and listen to people talk about him on podcasts the more excited I am about him possibly signing.

12-06-2020, 11:18 PM
They always tend to give the impression that they are thinking about what they are doing. Year on year they seem to have a decent number of young players to make up the core of a squad and then complement it nicely with astute signings. They should really be given credit for what they seem to be able to do with what can't be a huge budget, year on year.

Other than the Stubbs era Hibs tend to leave you scratching your head about why certain players have signed and how they fit into a cohesive unit, with us papering over cracks with some decent corrective work in January transfer windows.

From a footballing perspective I've got a fair bit of respect for Motherwell.

I think you’re being harsh on us here. Apart from last summer, our recruitment each window since 2014 has made sense.

12-06-2020, 11:38 PM
Portsmouth interested in Nisbet apparently

They bid more than both us and United in January and that was rejected too. Maybe why we’re interested in Stewart again.

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-united/1371371/exclusive-portsmouth-dundee-united-rivals-kevin-nisbet-tangerines-table-first-bid/

HendoDelivered
12-06-2020, 11:52 PM
Don’t mind Omeonga but if we want to be challenging for top 3/4, then we need to be signing better IMO.

13-06-2020, 05:56 AM

Unfortunately I don't know if Ross is so desperate to sign him, he was on the bench most of the time when he came back but with Covid happening, beggars can't be choosers when it comes to getting the players you really want.

HairyMM
13-06-2020, 07:48 AM

Totally agree Matty .......love his energy and commitment to the cause :thumbsup:

BlackSheep
13-06-2020, 07:55 AM

Agreed, I think his best is yet to come too... once he gets a good run and settles 100% then I think he would flourish

13-06-2020, 08:01 AM
Unfortunately I don't know if Ross is so desperate to sign him, he was on the bench most of the time when he came back but with Covid happening, beggars can't be choosers when it comes to getting the players you really want.

5 starts, 5 sub appearances. He was on the bench probably because we had so many games and playing him every week after he hardly played in months is how he'd get injured.

13-06-2020, 08:10 AM

Would love if he came back.

He’s a perfect Hibs player who gets the club and brings entertainment and energy.

He definitely wants to come back as he said that to a friend on a ST phone call a few weeks ago. Hopefully Hibs can make it happen.

Like others have said he’s not had a decent pre-season last couple times he’s been here.

13-06-2020, 08:10 AM
I think you’re being harsh on us here. Apart from last summer, our recruitment each window since 2014 has made sense.

It might have made sense, but for at least the last 3 summer windows we got them badly wrong and required major surgery in January. With bids for Nisbet & interest in Gocic hopefully a sign our recruitment is beginning to target the kind of player we need.

13-06-2020, 08:20 AM
It might have made sense, but for at least the last 3 summer windows we got them badly wrong and required major surgery in January. With bids for Nisbet & interest in Gocic hopefully a sign our recruitment is beginning to target the kind of player we need.
Last summer brought Allan, Doidge, Newall and Jackson. Hopefully a similar disaster this summer.

13-06-2020, 08:32 AM
Don’t mind Omeonga but if we want to be challenging for top 3/4, then we need to be signing better IMO.

Spot on. I dont think he is good enough if we are aiming for Top 4.

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 08:33 AM
We had Paul Heckingbottom last summer window. That was the biggest problem.

13-06-2020, 08:41 AM
Last summer brought Allan, Doidge, Newall and Jackson. Hopefully a similar disaster this summer.

I know you get a kick out of arguing, often for arguments sake, but are you saying last summer was a success?

13-06-2020, 08:43 AM
Steph is far from perfect but what he does have is plenty of energy. Something any midfield needs. I’m all for having him back

13-06-2020, 08:51 AM
I know you get a kick out of arguing, often for arguments sake, but are you saying last summer was a success?

I don't get a kick out of arguing so you're incorrect on that one. A pointless personal dig. Very poor.

If Jack Ross had been managing those players all season we'd be sitting here saying it was a big success IMO. Those are 4 quality players. Yes we signed a few duds, everyone does, but if Hecky hadn't mismanaged them all for 6 months we'd be laughing. Doidge would be near 30 goals ffs.

13-06-2020, 08:54 AM
Steph is far from perfect but what he does have is plenty of energy. Something any midfield needs. I’m all for having him back

I thought he was excellent in his first spell, for whatever reason he didn’t reach that last time, but I’d take him back definitely. Think he’s only going to get better when he gets settled permanently with us.

13-06-2020, 08:54 AM

How could it possibly be deemed to be anything else?

We signed three players who lasted six months in Vela, Middleton and Maxwell. We also gave Tom James a three year deal.

Newell had some decent games but contribution over the season? Same can be said of Jackson. Both still have an awful lot to do to show they can be part of a consistent team competing at the top end of the league.

We knew what we were getting with Allan. Doidge is an obvious success. Naismith did all right.

As you say, this window needs to be a lot, lot better.

13-06-2020, 08:58 AM
I don't get a kick out of arguing so you're incorrect on that one. A pointless personal dig. Very poor.

If Jack Ross had been managing those players all season we'd be sitting here saying it was a big success IMO. Those are 4 quality players. Yes we signed a few duds, everyone does, but if Hecky hadn't mismanaged them all for 6 months we'd be laughing. Doidge would be near 30 goals ffs.

I generally agree with you about those 4 players, but the squad we started the season with was imbalanced and lacked quality. One left back, only 2 wingers, no dig or defensive ability in midfield. We were 6th when the season finished, and for the quality and balance of the squad that was about right IMO.

13-06-2020, 08:59 AM

We also brought in a poor RB in James, a very poor midfielder in Vela, a decidedly average keeper in Maxwell and a loan player who looked like he didn't want to be here in Middleton.

Like most transfer windows we've had recently, some good and some bad, unfortunately we had a load of guff last summer. Doidge looked very poor for a while till he started scoring, Newall also looked very average until someone realised he isn't an attacking winger, Jackson is decent cover but isn't our answer in defence and Allan for all his talent has only showed glimpses of what he can do, had too many poor performances for a player of his calibre.

13-06-2020, 09:04 AM
Funnily enough arguably our best performance of the season was under Hecky at Pittodrie when we should have put 4 or 5 past Aberdeen. Tore them to shreds yet somehow only got a point.

Hibiza
13-06-2020, 09:20 AM

Yes

13-06-2020, 09:28 AM
We also brought in a poor RB in James, a very poor midfielder in Vela, a decidedly average keeper in Maxwell and a loan player who looked like he didn't want to be here in Middleton.

Like most transfer windows we've had recently, some good and some bad, unfortunately we had a load of guff last summer. Doidge looked very poor for a while till he started scoring, Newall also looked very average until someone realised he isn't an attacking winger, Jackson is decent cover but isn't our answer in defence and Allan for all his talent has only showed glimpses of what he can do, had too many poor performances for a player of his calibre.

Yes, I've already said if we'd had a decent manager in charge of these guys right from the start...

Jackson is currently one of our first choice central defenders and has been very solid since coming back in. Porteous is now the decent backup. Allan has double figures for goals and assists, definitely more than glimpes, his best season ever.

If we sign another 4 players of that quality this summer I'd be happy.

13-06-2020, 09:31 AM
I generally agree with you about those 4 players, but the squad we started the season with was imbalanced and lacked quality. One left back, only 2 wingers, no dig or defensive ability in midfield. We were 6th when the season finished, and for the quality and balance of the squad that was about right IMO.

We've had one left back for years now. Lewis has seen off about 10 guys without them ever really getting a kick. Otherwise yes, I agree, the midfield especially lacked dig a bit but when Newall started playing there and Whittaker was fit that problem became much less of an issue. We would've been 5th at worst had Ross been in charge of the same squad all season.

13-06-2020, 09:48 AM
We've had one left back for years now. Lewis has seen off about 10 guys without them ever really getting a kick. Otherwise yes, I agree, the midfield especially lacked dig a bit but when Newall started playing there and Whittaker was fit that problem became much less of an issue. We would've been 5th at worst had Ross been in charge of the same squad all season.

Again, while I generally agree with you on the quality of Doidge, Allan, Newell & Jackson (with the latter two still with much to prove in terms of a first pick or quality backup IMO) I’d argue that signing good individual players doesn’t necessarily make a good window. Did we really need Newell for example when we already had Allan & Mallan. Could his wage been better spent addressing some of the glaring gaps. The summer window was a failure for the areas we didn’t address as much as about the quality we brought in IMO.

13-06-2020, 09:57 AM

I wouldn’t say we got value for money out of Newall and Jackson. Hardly played. And Newall was brutal first half of the season.

tonyrougier123
13-06-2020, 09:59 AM
Omeonga is a no brainer if genoa are not standing in the boys way.would be some signing permanently.hope hibs can do a deal for the pocket dynamo this summer.

13-06-2020, 10:00 AM
James and vela were terrible signings.
Jackson has improved, Newell looks more comfortable in the centre, doidge just need a goal to get him off and running.

All came from Ross knowing how to play these guys

13-06-2020, 10:07 AM
I wouldn’t say we got value for money out of Newall and Jackson. Hardly played. And Newall was brutal first half of the season.

Agree. Some positive signs, at times, but both have a lot to prove IMO. Fancy Newell is more likely to do that than Jackson.

13-06-2020, 10:15 AM
Again, while I generally agree with you on the quality of Doidge, Allan, Newell & Jackson (with the latter two still with much to prove in terms of a first pick or quality backup IMO) I’d argue that signing good individual players doesn’t necessarily make a good window. Did we really need Newell for example when we already had Allan & Mallan. Could his wage been better spent addressing some of the glaring gaps. The summer window was a failure for the areas we didn’t address as much as about the quality we brought in IMO.

Bang on. I'm amazed that anyone can form the opinion that last summer was a successful transfer window.

We just had an absolute shocker of a season, barely salvaged by Jack Ross towards the end. Finishing 6th/7th in the end almost says it all, but if that doesn't convince you the window was poor then it has to come down to the glaring gaps in the squad that 95% of us on here could see last summer, no DM, no leader in the middle, no options out wide, etc etc...

The last couple of summer windows have been failures, those at the helm must learn from those mistakes and get back to what they did right during the Stubbs era.

13-06-2020, 10:21 AM
Bang on. I'm amazed that anyone can form the opinion that last summer was a successful transfer window.

We just had an absolute shocker of a season, barely salvaged by Jack Ross towards the end. Finishing 6th/7th in the end almost says it all, but if that doesn't convince you the window was poor then it has to come down to the glaring gaps in the squad that 95% of us on here could see last summer, no DM, no leader in the middle, no options out wide, etc etc...

The last couple of summer windows have been failures, those at the helm must learn from those mistakes and get back to what they did right during the Stubbs era.

I don’t think we are doing anything very different from the Stubbs era. League wise an era where we ultimately still ended it behind Falkirk.

Stubbs also signed a lot of players that didn’t work out.

Generally you can see why we’ve made each signing that we have. Last summer was more about the one or two positions we didn’t really sign for properly.

13-06-2020, 10:25 AM
Yes, I've already said if we'd had a decent manager in charge of these guys right from the start...

Jackson is currently one of our first choice central defenders and has been very solid since coming back in. Porteous is now the decent backup. Allan has double figures for goals and assists, definitely more than glimpes, his best season ever.

If we sign another 4 players of that quality this summer I'd be happy.

My original point wasn’t so much lambasting the quality of signing (I agree with you that those players have been good signings and I accept that sometimes we’ll be hit and miss in the transfer market).

The problem I was highlighting was more in relation to putting a balanced squad together, something Motherwell seem to do well.

We could sign 4 players similar in quality to the ones you mention and I’d be happy - but not if 2 of them also played the Allan /Mallan position but no other, none of the four were midfielders who could tackle, Lewis Stevenson played another season without competition and we had to sign a new RB every 5 minutes because the 4 or 5 we already had weren’t up to it for one reason or another.

Our summer transfer windows have been poor since promotion, even if some decent players have joined us in that time (if you know what I mean).

The Tubs
13-06-2020, 10:26 AM
James and vela were terrible signings.
Jackson has improved, Newell looks more comfortable in the centre, doidge just need a goal to get him off and running.

All came from Ross knowing how to play these guys

I have to say that Newell was amazing as a wing back.

13-06-2020, 10:32 AM

Totally forgot about Newell. Looking forward to seeing him back in the team.

LeithMike
13-06-2020, 10:32 AM
Last summer brought Allan, Doidge, Newall and Jackson. Hopefully a similar disaster this summer.It's also about who we didnt sign. We had not long lost McGeouch, McGinn, and then let go Bartley and Milligan. To go into a season with Vela, Mallan and Alan as the heart of the team was a horrendous misjudgment. It was fairly clear that midfield was pmmedestrian and couldn't defend or attack. Bringing in Omeonga and Docherty in the winter window pretty much acknowledges this and suggests your point is way off.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

13-06-2020, 10:37 AM

It's also about who we didnt sign. We had not long lost McGeouch, McGinn, and then let go Bartley and Milligan. To go into a season with Vela, Mallan and Alan as the heart of the team was a horrendous misjudgment. It was fairly clear that midfield was pmmedestrian and couldn't defend or attack. Bringing in Omeonga and Docherty in the winter window pretty much acknowledges this and suggests your point is way off.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

No question about it, Hecky got the midfield badly wrong. Had he played Whittaker, Newall and Allan has the 3 all season we'd have been nowhere near the bottom, though.

13-06-2020, 10:40 AM
No question about it, Hecky got the midfield badly wrong. Had he played Whittaker, Newall and Allan has the 3 all season we'd have been nowhere near the bottom, though.

That would be a horrific midfield to have every week. Would be a dream to play against, knowing that there is not going to be many tackles coming in and if you get away from your man he isn’t going to chase back.

13-06-2020, 10:41 AM
Who out there is better than Omeonga in terms of our knowledge of the player and his attributes, his potential to develop, his desire to be at Hibs and crucially within our price range?
Reality is that from a finance p.o.v. we are always going to be signing players who have not yet made it and have potential to improve, or who have been tried at a higher level and not made it, or can no longer hack it. We are always likely to be priced out when it comes to established players who will guarantee us top 3/4.
Get SO signed. Buzzbomb.

13-06-2020, 11:01 AM

Amazing is stretching it.

Was alright and it worked really well getting him into the team for his corners but he wasn’t amazing.

Certainly got better as the season went on and was played in positions that suited him better, think the season finished a bit abruptly for him though.

13-06-2020, 11:11 AM
Amazing is stretching it.

Was alright and it worked really well getting him into the team for his corners but he wasn’t amazing.

Certainly got better as the season went on and was played in positions that suited him better, think the season finished a bit abruptly for him though.

He’s actually the player I’m looking forward to watching next season most.

As a central midfielder, that is. He did fine as a stopgap LWB but he’s not a natural wide player.

DTS
13-06-2020, 12:05 PM
I think Newell was very good after he moved into CM and LWB and it’s harsh to say he was just average. He had a terrible start to the season and was rightly bombed but it also shows character to take the chance when it comes around again. Jackson is also being very harshly treated he was our best defender this season without a doubt and was unlucky to get injured early in the season against Celtic. He is good on the ball and a goal threat of the top of my head I can only think of one error which was his handball at Motherwell, he’s harshly treated because he’s a hecky player. Second half of the season he was our best player.

Going into the summer in an ideal world with no covid I’d have liked to see the following:

Transfer in:
Right back
Left back - happy to wait till jan for this as I think after a proper pre season Stevenson will be back and mackie should be given a chance as back up.
Goalkeeper
Left winger
Centre Mid x2 - defensive minded and box to box
Striker x2

Transfer out:
James
Kamberi
And the out of contracts

Given the current climate

I think we’ll see the below

Right back - Naismith
Centre mid - Gogic and omeonga
Winger - unsure of names
1 striker - maybe Stewart can’t see us having the cash for nesbit especially if united sell shankland.

That’d leave us with

Marciano, dabrowski, Martin

Naismith Gray
Hanlon porteous Jackson mcgregor
Stevenson mackie

Boyle Horgan murray +1 more
Mallan allan newell hallberg Gogic omeonga

Doidge Stewart Gullan.

You’d have boyle able to cover upfront if needed and he’s proved he can be effective in that role, you’ve got plenty in central midfield also with youngsters like Campbell and Stirling. Maybe still light in the wide positions. No changes really to the defence but I think a back 4 of Naismith Hanlon Jackson/porteous Stevenson after a proper pre season and injury free is more than good enough in this league. Dabrowski if he’s good enough now needs to be back up if not we sign another cheap free Gk

13-06-2020, 12:44 PM
Think fight was with Martin Scott? Yes Sean was very unfortunate but he's had a decent career.

Yeah! 👍

13-06-2020, 12:49 PM
Omeonga is a no brainer if genoa are not standing in the boys way.would be some signing permanently.hope hibs can do a deal for the pocket dynamo this summer.

A fit and up to speed Omeonga who wants to come and play his football here is surely a no brainier? He’s very much got time on his side to improve his consistency with games too.

13-06-2020, 12:50 PM
That would be a horrific midfield to have every week. Would be a dream to play against, knowing that there is not going to be many tackles coming in and if you get away from your man he isn’t going to chase back.

Na. That midfield would be much better than what we had. Not good enough still but a big improvement on Mallan and Vela. That midfield easily strolled the United and ICT cup ties and would be fine against the lower half of the league. Mallan and Vela needed extra time against Morton.

13-06-2020, 12:57 PM
I was very critical of Omeonga in his last few appearances but the man has come on loan from Italy in January without having played much football in a while. He's only human. If he signed permanently, had a full pre season with the players and settled in properly I'm sure we'd see the best in him. There's clearly a player there and I think that's why me and others were getting a bit frustrated.

13-06-2020, 01:02 PM
I think Newell was very good after he moved into CM and LWB and it’s harsh to say he was just average. He had a terrible start to the season and was rightly bombed but it also shows character to take the chance when it comes around again. Jackson is also being very harshly treated he was our best defender this season without a doubt and was unlucky to get injured early in the season against Celtic. He is good on the ball and a goal threat of the top of my head I can only think of one error which was his handball at Motherwell, he’s harshly treated because he’s a hecky player. Second half of the season he was our best player.

Going into the summer in an ideal world with no covid I’d have liked to see the following:

Transfer in:
Right back
Left back - happy to wait till jan for this as I think after a proper pre season Stevenson will be back and mackie should be given a chance as back up.
Goalkeeper
Left winger
Centre Mid x2 - defensive minded and box to box
Striker x2

Transfer out:
James
Kamberi
And the out of contracts

Given the current climate

I think we’ll see the below

Right back - Naismith
Centre mid - Gogic and omeonga
Winger - unsure of names
1 striker - maybe Stewart can’t see us having the cash for nesbit especially if united sell shankland.

That’d leave us with

Marciano, dabrowski, Martin

Naismith Gray
Hanlon porteous Jackson mcgregor
Stevenson mackie

Boyle Horgan murray +1 more
Mallan allan newell hallberg Gogic omeonga

Doidge Stewart Gullan.

You’d have boyle able to cover upfront if needed and he’s proved he can be effective in that role, you’ve got plenty in central midfield also with youngsters like Campbell and Stirling. Maybe still light in the wide positions. No changes really to the defence but I think a back 4 of Naismith Hanlon Jackson/porteous Stevenson after a proper pre season and injury free is more than good enough in this league. Dabrowski if he’s good enough now needs to be back up if not we sign another cheap free Gk

Paul McGinn as well

The Tubs
13-06-2020, 01:05 PM
He’s actually the player I’m looking forward to watching next season most.

As a central midfielder, that is. He did fine as a stopgap LWB but he’s not a natural wide player.

Fair enough. My opinion was that he was quick, accurate and timely with tackles and worried the opposition due to his ability to cross. I’d definitely start him there next season if/when we play three centre halves.

Box 17
13-06-2020, 01:07 PM
Here comes Sportsound. Even the introduction suggests a pro-reconstruction slant.

13-06-2020, 01:32 PM
I don’t think we are doing anything very different from the Stubbs era. League wise an era where we ultimately still ended it behind Falkirk.

Stubbs also signed a lot of players that didn’t work out.

Generally you can see why we’ve made each signing that we have. Last summer was more about the one or two positions we didn’t really sign for properly.
Stubbs signings were not too shabby .
McGinn, Allan,McGeouch,Henderson .
Martin Boyle, David Gray, Liam Fontaine, Dominique Malonga, Fraser Fyvie, Marvin Bartley, Darren McGregor, Conrad Logan, Niklas Gunnarsson, Anthony Stokes
Throw in Keatings and Farid ( injury curtailed his stay) Thomson also played his part .
That’s one hell of a list and probably will never be bettered but I’d love to be wrong

13-06-2020, 01:38 PM
Martin Boyle, David Gray, Liam Fontaine, Dominique Malonga, Fraser Fyvie, Marvin Bartley, Darren McGregor, Conrad Logan, Niklas Gunnarsson, Anthony Stokes
Throw in Keatings and Farid ( injury curtailed his stay) Thomson also played his part .
That’s one hell of a list and probably will never be bettered but I’d love to be wrong

That’s not the full list though.

13-06-2020, 01:45 PM

What strikes me about Stubbs’ signings (and there were a lot of duds in there as well) is that he signed the spine of a team. That spine was integral to our upward trajectory and was a great base for a Lennon to start with. We need to sign a proper spine to give us the building blocks again rather than the cycle of a raft of signings coming in and short term surgery in January to sort the summer window:

13-06-2020, 02:17 PM
Na. That midfield would be much better than what we had. Not good enough still but a big improvement on Mallan and Vela. That midfield easily strolled the United and ICT cup ties and would be fine against the lower half of the league. Mallan and Vela needed extra time against Morton.

Slivka & Vela played against Morton. Appreciate that doesn't suit your usual narrative of talking Slivka up and not rating Mallan.

badabing67
13-06-2020, 02:17 PM

Yeah he was on the bench but only had about 3 appearances all season so Ross needed to build his minutes and fitness. If Omeonga is here at the start of the season with a pre season I think he would be a regular starter for Ross. No doubt about that

13-06-2020, 02:23 PM
Slivka & Vela played against Morton. Appreciate that doesn't suit your usual narrative of talking Slivka up and not rating Mallan.

Docherty also played against ICT, not Newell.

badabing67
13-06-2020, 02:33 PM

Yes and more of our younger players would have more minutes. PHB was a complete disaster if you were a young player at our club. They have all had their development curtailed because of him.

chippy
13-06-2020, 02:48 PM
Have we signed anyone on a permanent deal since we’ve been owned by Ron Gordon?

13-06-2020, 02:50 PM
Have we signed anyone on a permanent deal since we’ve been owned by Ron Gordon?

Vela and Hallberg. No sure about any others?

13-06-2020, 02:55 PM

Jackson has done very little wrong since he came in next to Paul Hanlon. They are an excellent partnership for next season.

13-06-2020, 03:02 PM
Jackson has done very little wrong since he came in next to Paul Hanlon. They are an excellent partnership for next season.

That isn’t a top four partnership.

Jackson is better in the other box than he is in his own.

13-06-2020, 03:04 PM
Vela and Hallberg. No sure about any others?

LD also said at the time of the takeover that some of our signings last summer were made in the knowledge that RG was taking over. Remember, the takeover deal was already pretty much done but finalising it was delayed to coincide with the end of the financial year.

13-06-2020, 03:07 PM
That isn’t a top four partnership.

Jackson is better in the other box than he is in his own.

We will agree to differ. I'm a fan of Jackson, and that pairing is easily good enough for top 4. What we do need (and it hasnt changed since the days of SJM is midfielders that can defend and full backs that stop more crosses)

13-06-2020, 03:07 PM
LD also said at the time of the takeover that some of our signings last summer were made in the knowledge that RG was taking over. Remember, the takeover deal was already pretty much done but finalising it was delayed to coincide with the end of the financial year.

Yep. If I remember rightly, Doidge signed the week or two before the takeover. No danger he wasn’t aware of that one, as an example.

badabing67
13-06-2020, 03:09 PM
Agree. Some positive signs, at times, but both have a lot to prove IMO. Fancy Newell is more likely to do that than Jackson.

The point everyone is missing about Jackson was he got a few goals and unlucky not to get a few more, he is a real attacking threat at set pieces. I like that part of his game. Plus Newell & Jackson did miss out a few months with injuries. I thought Newell played his best stuff at left wing back and if we start with 3 at the back then I think he will start there ahead of Stevenson. I think Jackson & Porteous will boost the goal tally next season if we can keep them fit

13-06-2020, 03:12 PM
We will agree to differ. I'm a fan of Jackson, and that pairing is easily good enough for top 4. What we do need (and it hasnt changed since the days of SJM is midfielders that can defend and full backs that stop more crosses)

I don’t disagree with your point on midfield and full backs. But I don’t see any evidence that they’re ‘easily’ good enough to be a top four pairing.

13-06-2020, 03:25 PM
What’s annoying is that we don’t have competition for Hanlon. Porteous, Jackson and McGregor are all right sided centre halves.

13-06-2020, 03:33 PM
I don’t disagree with your point on midfield and full backs. But I don’t see any evidence that they’re ‘easily’ good enough to be a top four pairing.

I think any combination of our centre halves could be a top 4 pairing.

They’re all equally capable of being a bottom 4 pairing if we don’t get the midfield right.

Gogic could be the answer to a lot of our problems imo.

The lack of defensive ability elsewhere in our team has horribly exposed our centre halves at times.

13-06-2020, 03:34 PM
We definitely need new full backs. Amount of crosses that came into our box last season without a challenge was a joke

13-06-2020, 03:47 PM

They’re all equally capable of being a bottom 4 pairing if we don’t get the midfield right.

The lack of defensive ability elsewhere in our team has horribly exposed our centre halves at times.

I guess my view is that, whilst the midfield is an issue, it’s a convenient excuse for the defence sometimes.

If you look at our last game, up at Aberdeen as an example, we had Jackson slicing one in to his own net then Hanlon losing his man at a corner. I know that’s one game but I think there are plenty examples of how soft we were in that area of the pitch last season.

For me, Doidge, Boyle and Allan are guaranteed starters. Marciano if he can find his form again. Other than that, there isn’t anybody in that squad that I’m thinking ‘must’ play.

PH91
13-06-2020, 03:49 PM

I agree with you and underscore, hanlon, jackson and porteous all good enough. Mcgregor also a good back up to step in on occasion. They need a better midfielder unit ahead of them though.

Stevenson now getting to an age where his replacement should be starting to get game time here and there. Id like to see Hibs bring in a young left back to start that process. I dont think mackie is good enough defensively for us, wouldnt be surprised to see him move on.

Right back is a bit of a nightmare just now. I think we will stick with mcginn/gray this year. James should be moved on if at all possible.

We might see a fair bit of 352 if we keep boyle as it solves the right back issue and allows newell to compete with stevenson. Lets us have 3 in the middle and 2 up top too.

13-06-2020, 03:59 PM

I didn't say Jackson had done anything wrong, even with him in the team the defence was pants, he's decent but doesn't improve us IMO.

TelaStella
13-06-2020, 04:17 PM
If Mcgregor can keep fit would he be in people’s preferred back 2? With say Porteous? Has the prospect of that partnership or simply just having Mcgregor starting most weeks been overlooked somewhat?

13-06-2020, 04:18 PM
We definitely need a better defence and a no nonsense tackling midfielder to start with, as last season was painful watching teams play through us so easy.

Strikers always seems to be an option for us but I wouldn't want to see McNulty return as wasn't impressed at all and his stamp in the derby was ridiculous.

I'd keep horgan for back up and and look for a left footed winger or an accomplished left sided player.

Big season for Frasier Murray but just don't see him breaking through and being a first team player and an even bigger season for Porteous as he has ability and he needs to start showing it and cutting out the silly tackles but I just fear that's the kind of player he is.

13-06-2020, 04:21 PM
If Mcgregor can keep fit would he be in people’s preferred back 2? With say Porteous? Has the prospect of that partnership or simply just having Mcgregor starting most weeks been overlooked somewhat?

Neither would be in my 2. Daz a great leader but legs have gone. Porto needs to prove he can put a run of games together first. In fact I’d rather we went with a 3 as it will help bring Porto on.

13-06-2020, 04:24 PM

McGregor is done now I think and we need a lefty in there anyway.

13-06-2020, 04:26 PM
Neither would be in my 2. Daz a great leader but legs have gone. Porto needs to prove he can put a run of games together first. In fact I’d rather we went with a 3 as it will help bring Porto on.

Lot of work for Porto to do to prove he can be a top defender. Goes to ground far to easy and his positional play is woeful. Still young and has lots of good attributes but needs to start to show he is learning.

13-06-2020, 04:29 PM
We definitely need a better defence and a no nonsense tackling midfielder to start with, as last season was painful watching teams play through us so easy.

Strikers always seems to be an option for us but I wouldn't want to see McNulty return as wasn't impressed at all and his stamp in the derby was ridiculous.

I'd keep horgan for back up and and look for a left footed winger or an accomplished left sided player.

Big season for Frasier Murray but just don't see him breaking through and being a first team player and an even bigger season for Porteous as he has ability and he needs to start showing it and cutting out the silly tackles but I just fear that's the kind of player he is.

Can’t see Murray making it to be honest. He just hasn’t looked good enough and he has experienced pros blocking his way into the team. Can’t see him keeping Allan or Mallan out the team.

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 04:31 PM
Lot of work for Porto to do to prove he can be a top defender. Goes to ground far to easy and his positional play is woeful. Still young and has lots of good attributes but needs to start to show he is learning.

Positioning woeful? Terrible shout.

Other than the stupid red cards hes not costs us any goals with poor positioning.

Porteous is a tremendous young centre half and plays way beyond his years. Class on the ball, great in the air and strong in the tackle. He obviously needs to be abit more composed at times but hes a top prospect and by far our best option at centre half.

13-06-2020, 04:32 PM
Can’t see Murray making it to be honest. He just hasn’t looked good enough and he has experienced pros blocking his way into the team. Can’t see him keeping Allan or Mallan out the team.

Sadly how I see it also but would love him to prove me wrong, always thought he was superb in the first 45 minutes vs Aberdeen at the end of the season before last and also surprised he has never went out on loan to someone.

13-06-2020, 04:34 PM

Porteous is a tremendous young centre half and plays way beyond his years. Class on the ball, great in the air and strong in the tackle. He obviously needs to be abit more composed at time but hes a top prospect and by far our best option at centre half.

You’re right that he’s a top prospect. But he didn’t display all those attributes last season. He’s also getting to the point where he can’t be considered to be a prospect. He needs to play consistently well for an extended period now. Huge season for him.

13-06-2020, 04:34 PM

I'd agree with that, my other worry is his injury record so far and decision making. But he is very young, and with the right influence beside him, I think he'll develop into a really good player. His aggression at set pieces is very good as is his distribution. He gets drawn out wide too often and that's just decision-making, which can be coached and developed.

Left back needs addressed big time. I love Lewis, he's been a great servant and versatile, but we need better in that area now. Pains me to write that too.

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 04:37 PM
The criticism of Porteous on here is a disgrace.

Someone tell me a goal he has cost with poor positioning?

13-06-2020, 04:37 PM

Other than the stupid red cards hes not costs us any goals with poor positioning.

Porteous is a tremendous young centre half and plays way beyond his years. Class on the ball, great in the air and strong in the tackle. He obviously needs to be abit more composed at times but hes a top prospect and by far our best option at centre half.

I'd agree with Ozy, when you examine Porteous in a game, watch how often he gets dragged out to the full back area. Admittedly that is because we tend to play high on that flank, but he needs to hold his position better, and our defensive midfield area - which needs addressed - could be the remedy to that if we recruit a couple of good energetic players in that position.

13-06-2020, 04:50 PM

A disgrace? Really?

Why should he be exempt from criticism? Great potential but was not good in the few months he was available last season.

13-06-2020, 04:50 PM
Petty but i really hope we announce a new signing on Monday if the flush is eventually successful

Hibs4185
13-06-2020, 04:55 PM
Updated version of the Efe song

You get relegated,
We sign .....(Kevin nisbet 🤞)

13-06-2020, 05:27 PM
I don’t think there’s anything between the 4 CH’s.

Hanlon always looks better in a 3. Porteous’ positioning is fine but his rashness costs us. Jackson is a good player who hasn’t done much wrong. McGregor is still a top player whose only problems are his age and injury-proneness.

Any pair needs a DM. I’d be happy with any 3 of them together without a midfield enforcer.

13-06-2020, 05:33 PM
A disgrace? Really?

Why should he be exempt from criticism? Great potential but was not good in the few months he was available last season.

Porteous’ progression definitely seems to have stalled. I’d be looking to build the defence around him with the right kind of player to help him learn. If that’s any of Hanlon, McGregor or Jackson, great. I’m not convinced any of them can do that though. Think we need someone of Efe’s class and personality (obviously they don’t grow on trees in our price range) as Porteous came on leaps and bounds with him, even while playing on his wrong side. Wouldn’t be against any of Hanlon/McGregor/Jackson moving on to put their wage to that player needed.

13-06-2020, 05:43 PM
Porteous’ progression definitely seems to have stalled. I’d be looking to build the defence around him with the right kind of player to help him learn. If that’s any of Hanlon, McGregor or Jackson, great. I’m not convinced any of them can do that though. Think we need someone of Efe’s class and personality (obviously they don’t grow on trees in our price range) as Porteous came on leaps and bounds with him, even while playing on his wrong side. Wouldn’t be against any of Hanlon/McGregor/Jackson moving on to put their wage to that player needed.

Funny you mention Efe.

Not Hanlon’s biggest fan but he plays his best football in a three. A couple of years ago we had him and Efe either side of McGregor. If we still had Efe the natural position for Porteous would be in the middle of that three instead of Daz.

I think we’ve regressed massively in that area of the pitch with time catching up with Daz and Jackson replacing Efe. He’s not the calibre of player for me.

13-06-2020, 05:45 PM
If you actually watch Porteous and don't judge him because he wins headers and shows the old ''pashun'' his flaws are very obvious. He definitely has cost us goals with his positioning.

13-06-2020, 05:54 PM
If you actually watch Porteous and don't judge him because he wins headers and shows the old ''pashun'' his flaws are very obvious. He definitely has cost us goals with his positioning.

His flaws are the easier ones to fix though thankfully. He needs to stop getting drawn to the ball like a little kid. He needs to start defending smarter and stop throwing himself into big sliding tackles all the time. How often do you see Van Dijk launching himself at players 30 metres from goal?

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 06:02 PM

Name these goals

badabing67
13-06-2020, 06:16 PM

You get relegated,

Have you seen something, somewhere!

13-06-2020, 06:17 PM
His flaws are the easier ones to fix though thankfully. He needs to stop getting drawn to the ball like a little kid. He needs to start defending smarter and stop throwing himself into big sliding tackles all the time. How often do you see Van Dijk launching himself at players 30 metres from goal?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCouldn't agree more, been saying it for a while.

Name these goals
Na, I'm good thanks. I'm not naming all the goals his poor positioning has had a part in. Plenty this season and last. Kenny Miller ripped him to bits in a 2-2 draw against Dundee last season for example.

Kid has great potential but needs to improve his concentration and positioning must improve.

13-06-2020, 06:19 PM
Name these goals

One at Pittodrie springs to mind. He's young but he's a first choice player so he can't play the youngster card forever. He's got loads of potential but needs to cut out the errors and there's even a few.

Fuzzywuzzy
13-06-2020, 06:22 PM
Name these goals

I can remember an evening game against Aberdeen at pittodrie sure he sold the jersey for two goals. I'd spent the lead up to the game telling my mate he was a cracking player and a great prospect 😂 this opinion of him has in no way changes. As he matures I think he's only going to get better and he'll no doubt get a good move in the future

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 06:39 PM
Couldn't agree more, been saying it for a while.

Na, I'm good thanks. I'm not naming all the goals his poor positioning has had a part in. Plenty this season and last. Kenny Miller ripped him to bits in a 2-2 draw against Dundee last season for example.

Kid has great potential but needs to improve his concentration and positioning must improve.

So to confirm you have no goals because your talking pish?

So a 19 year old centre half got a tough time from a player who played in the highest level?
Plus i think Porto scored in that game but anyway your talking nonsense.

I bet you any money you like he will be a full internationalist and play in English Prem

13-06-2020, 06:45 PM

So a 19 year old centre half got a tough time from a player who played in the highest level?

I bet you any money you like he will be a full internationalist and play in English Prem

That last paragraph, while no one can tell just now, he certainly has the potential to play at that level. He is an outstanding young player but he won’t make it that high in the game if he doesn’t sort out the flaws he has in his game. That’s all that is getting said here.
If he continues lunging at everything that moves then he is going nowhere near the EPL but if he gets smart then he has every chance.

13-06-2020, 06:52 PM

I'm a huge fan of Ryan but this season was tough for him. He returned from injury & IMO tried too hard at times. He held his hands up for Aberdeen's late equaliser at Pittodrie & was certainly culpable for a couple of others. I hope he comes back stronger & better & turns into the fine player we know he can be.

PH91
13-06-2020, 06:55 PM

He has the potential but no doubt a long way to go.

Someone mentioned him improving when playing with efe but i think it was just because he was playing every week, gaining confidence and maturing. Just so happened efe was playing at the time.

Its a shame his progression has been hampered by injury but if starts to play consistently again then i think you will start to see similar improvement. If he can stay fit all season then this time next year we might well be talking about scotland caps and have the old firm sniffing about.

13-06-2020, 07:04 PM
That last paragraph, while no one can tell just now, he certainly has the potential to play at that level. He is an outstanding young player but he won’t make it that high in the game if he doesn’t sort out the flaws he has in his game. That’s all that is getting said here.
If he continues lunging at everything that moves then he is going nowhere near the EPL but if he gets smart then he has every chance.

Completely agree. The boy has a real chance. Hopefully senior players like McGregor and Gray are in his ear

13-06-2020, 07:07 PM

Yeah, thats right mate. Whatever you say.

Him scoring has absolutely zero impact on his defensive performance. Him being 19 also means nothing. We're talking about his ability and what he has to improve. He has playing against Dundees striker, not Miller of 5 years before he was a top player. Miller was managing Livi at the start of the season ffs.

I very much hope he does but he has to improve significantly. Right now he is Hibs 3rd choice central defender.

13-06-2020, 07:17 PM
Yeah, thats right mate. Whatever you say.

Him scoring has absolutely zero impact on his defensive performance. Him being 19 also means nothing. We're talking about his ability and what he has to improve. He has playing against Dundees striker, not Miller of 5 years before he was a top player. Miller was managing Livi at the start of the season ffs.

I very much hope he does but he has to improve significantly. Right now he is Hibs 3rd choice central defender.

Your last sentence isn’t true. Played for both managers when available and will play come the start of the new season IMO. Jackson wasn’t chosen ahead of him. He came in when he was injured.

13-06-2020, 07:23 PM
Your last sentence isn’t true. Played for both managers when available and will play come the start of the new season IMO. Jackson wasn’t chosen ahead of him. He came in when he was injured.

Jackson performed better, meaning, IMO at least, he is ahead of him. If Ross is picking on form under him, Jackson and Hanlon start.

13-06-2020, 07:26 PM
You're right. He will be starting next season.

Its quite funny seeing people complain about "young players not getting a chance" then saying a young player should be a sub because it suits their arguement or like/dislike of a player.

No. Porteous isn't some young player who needs a chance. He has had many chances and had a poor season. He is a first team player now and needs to show it. He missed vital games because of indiscipline.

I don't dislike him. I just don't buy into the ''Scotland captain'' hype. He has a lot to show.

13-06-2020, 07:27 PM
Great transfer thread this is turning out to be.

Not sure on the reliability, however saw on twitter that someone posted on the Dundee Utd forum that hibs have pulled out of the race for KN.

Make of it as you wish, however I don't believe we wouldn't be able not to compete with Dundee Utd for a player.

13-06-2020, 07:30 PM

Not sure on the reliability, however saw on twitter that someone posted on the Dundee Utd forum that hibs have pulled out of the race for KN.

Make of it as you wish, however I don't believe we wouldn't be able not to compete with Dundee Utd for a player.

They were paying Shankland 5k per week in the Championship. They've got deep pockets

13-06-2020, 07:32 PM
Jackson performed better, meaning, IMO at least, he is ahead of him. If Ross is picking on form under him, Jackson and Hanlon start.

No real difference in results when either/or plays.

Better to stick with the young player rather than ruin him like we did with Oli Shaw eh?

13-06-2020, 07:33 PM

I could see Utd paying more than we would. Not because they have it, but because they would.

Dunfermline must regret not taking the money in January though.

13-06-2020, 07:36 PM
No real difference in results when either/or plays.

Better to stick with the young player rather than ruin him like we did with Oli Shaw eh?

Maybe but if the young player keeps getting sent off in big games, do you stick with him? Or if he keeps getting injured? Or if he isn't playing well? I never said we ruined Shaw, we gave him very few chances though, despite him scoring regularly when he started.

If anything, the hype will ruin Porteous. Folk talking about him being Scotland captain and playing in the premier league. Its nonsense right now. Its miles off. He has to get the basics down, earn his spot and keep it, staying fit and disciplined.

PH91
13-06-2020, 07:37 PM

I agree. Porteous is as good as jackson and has a potentially large sell on value. He will play if fit.

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 07:41 PM
Maybe but if the young player keeps getting sent off in big games, do you stick with him? Or if he keeps getting injured? Or if he isn't playing well? I never said we ruined Shaw, we gave him very few chances though, despite him scoring regularly when he started.

If anything, the hype will ruin Porteous. Folk talking about him being Scotland captain and playing in the premier league. Its nonsense right now. Its miles off. He has to get the basics down, earn his spot and keep it, staying fit and disciplined.

Youve made your point you dont need to keep banging on about it

13-06-2020, 07:43 PM
Youve made your point you dont need to keep banging on about it

Of course. I don't need to do anything. While others reply to me I'll keep replying to them. Thats how forums work :)

Robbo6-2
13-06-2020, 07:44 PM
Of course. I don't need to do anything. While others reply to me I'll keep replying to them. Thats how forums work :)

Its the same drivel you keep coming out with.

Your just repeating yourself

13-06-2020, 07:49 PM
Its the same drivel you keep coming out with.

Your just repeating yourself

That's you opinion. I feel I'm contributing better than you who has just insulted me for no reason. It's not drivel, its my opinion on a player. It's no more or less drivel than your opinion.

Also, it would be ''you're just repeating yourself''

13-06-2020, 08:33 PM
I’d be disappointed if we ever missed out on a player to Dundee Utd.

If we’re not getting KN I’d rather he went down south cause you just know he’d end up banging them in up here.

13-06-2020, 08:47 PM
That's you opinion. I feel I'm contributing better than you who has just insulted me for no reason. It's not drivel, its my opinion on a player. It's no more or less drivel than your opinion.

Also, it would be ''you're just repeating yourself''

It would also be “That’s your opinion”

13-06-2020, 08:50 PM

It certainly should be. Thanks :agree:

supermcginn
13-06-2020, 08:59 PM

😂😂😂

13-06-2020, 09:13 PM

You get relegated,
Singing songs about a team well below our level

13-06-2020, 09:15 PM
Did Porteous not say at some point that he didn’t especially like playing with Efe? He loved the likes of Daz, who would talk him through games, but Efe just left him to get on with his own game?

13-06-2020, 09:39 PM
I’d be disappointed if we ever missed out on a player to Dundee Utd.

If we’re not getting KN I’d rather he went down south cause you just know he’d end up banging them in up here.

Agree

13-06-2020, 09:44 PM
Some good stuff of Gogic here

https://twitter.com/craigvickers_/status/1271769027845787648?s=19

Also does a good bit on Scott Martin

https://twitter.com/craigvickers_/status/1270687480358907905?s=19

13-06-2020, 09:57 PM
Some good stuff of Gogic here

https://twitter.com/craigvickers_/status/1271769027845787648?s=19

Also does a good bit on Scott Martin

https://twitter.com/craigvickers_/status/1270687480358907905?s=19

Really hope we get Gogic, think he’s exactly what we need.

13-06-2020, 10:00 PM
Really hope we get Gogic, think he’s exactly what we need.

Agreed and here's him saying that there has definitely been interest from Scottish clubs

https://twitter.com/ClydeSSB/status/1270332278976262144?s=19

13-06-2020, 10:05 PM

It’s not slagging him off. He just needs to learn.

13-06-2020, 11:50 PM

I don’t think anyone has been disgraceful in their criticism of Porteous. He’s a very talented centre half, but he’s not even managed to make himself a regular at us yet, he’s a long way to go to reach his potential.

I’d have Hanlon with Porteous. I think they’re our best two.

You making out like Porteous hasn’t made mistakes is silly.

14-06-2020, 07:04 AM
I don’t think anyone has been disgraceful in their criticism of Porteous. He’s a very talented centre half, but he’s not even managed to make himself a regular at us yet, he’s a long way to go to reach his potential.

I’d have Hanlon with Porteous. I think they’re our best two.

You making out like Porteous hasn’t made mistakes is silly.

To be fair he has been very unlucky with injuries. Hopefully he has used Lovkdown time to get as fit as he possibly can be and improves his game also learning areas he can do better in. At a huge crossroads for his career next year or so imo.

14-06-2020, 07:13 AM
To be fair he has been very unlucky with injuries. Hopefully he has used Lovkdown time to get as fit as he possibly can be and improves his game also learning areas he can do better in. At a huge crossroads for his career next year or so imo.

His injuries are of his own doing, rash tackles and staying on the pitch when he dislocated his knee cap. He's a talented lad who plays with passion and exuberance, he needs to hone his skills more, less rushing into tackles, better positioning etc, he's just turned 21 so is still learning his job, it's all there for him but he needs to screw the nut and think more often.

14-06-2020, 07:17 AM
His injuries are of his own doing, rash tackles and staying on the pitch when he dislocated his knee cap. He's a talented lad who plays with passion and exuberance, he needs to hone his skills more, less rushing into tackles, better positioning etc, he's just turned 21 so is still learning his job, it's all there for him but he needs to screw the nut and think more often.

Personally thought it was a poor managerial and physio decision with his knee a keen young player will always want to play. He needs to learn and improve and hope he will.

14-06-2020, 07:31 AM
Did Porteous not say at some point that he didn’t especially like playing with Efe? He loved the likes of Daz, who would talk him through games, but Efe just left him to get on with his own game?

He said he loves playing with Paul. But that won’t fit with the opinion of many on here.

14-06-2020, 07:35 AM
Personally thought it was a poor managerial and physio decision with his knee a keen young player will always want to play. He needs to learn and improve and hope he will.

It was poor management but as you say he has to learn from these things or his career won't last long.

14-06-2020, 08:12 AM

No first team player is immune to criticism and he's not had a particularly good season. If Hecky had signed him he'd have been branded a dud. He's got the potential to be a very good player and our next big money sale. Big season for him coming up.

14-06-2020, 08:34 AM

This isnt true at all. One injury was caused by Lennon playing him when his knee was clearly away and his last one was due to him needing to lunge in to get an absolutely shocking pass from his own team mate at tannadice.

14-06-2020, 08:35 AM
It was poor management but as you say he has to learn from these things or his career won't last long.

I was at the match when his knee cap kept popping and I actually said to my neighbour that Neil Lennon could just have ruined Porteous’s career that day. It was worse than poor management when he did know the extent of the injury and allowed the boy, and he was only a boy at the time, to make the decision to stay on the pitch when all the medical evidence said get him off and protect the knee.
Porteous continues to pay for that serious error of judgement to this day and no doubt will continue to do so in the future.

14-06-2020, 08:45 AM
We need a new defence. Are people just forgetting last seasons goals that we conceded? Hanlon you could get another year out probably. Porteous has potential but needs to learn. The rest are not good enough anymore

HairyMM
14-06-2020, 09:04 AM
We need a new defence. Are people just forgetting last seasons goals that we conceded? Hanlon you could get another year out probably. Porteous has potential but needs to learn. The rest are not good enough anymore

Two fullbacks and a centre half required ASAP

14-06-2020, 09:40 AM

Defending is the job of 11 player's and the coaching staff. Not just the back 4.

14-06-2020, 09:43 AM
Defending is the job of 11 player's and the coaching staff. Not just the back 4.

And under two different coaching staff the current personnel just were not doing the job properly. Change is needed.

14-06-2020, 09:51 AM
And under two different coaching staff the current personnel just were not doing the job properly. Change is needed.

So 11 new players? Can we afford that?

14-06-2020, 09:52 AM
So 11 new players? Can we afford that?

Who said that? One or two changes can make all the difference.

14-06-2020, 10:02 AM

The problem is that some players can never really be taught to do the defensive side of the business & I'm not sure they should be. Scott Allan, & to a lesser extent Stevie M are never going to be effective at marking & tackling. If you ask them to do that then they're probably not going to be in the right area of the field to deliver a defence splitting pass or a 20 yard shot which is why they're in the team. Creative players who can tackle are extremely rare which is why SJM is now valued so highly & he's probably our first of that type since Cropley. It's all about getting the balance right which is the most difficult task in football management & I agree we've not shone at that in the recent past. I wouldn't blame it all on our recruitment, Vela for example looked like just what we needed. Gogic would hopefully be a step forward but (here's where I now lose credibility), I think Tom James may be worth a try as a defensive midfielder. He's too slow & exposed as a full back but I think he's a decent footballer & he has an explosive shot. If he still has 2 years on his contract I think its worth a shot. Jackson is another possibility for that role or play a back 3. I agree we can't continue to play the same back 4 without effective protection from the midfield & attack.

14-06-2020, 10:04 AM
Who said that? One or two changes can make all the difference.

Hopefully. Can sign whoever you want though, if team selection and coaching leaves them exposed, goals will still be lost.

14-06-2020, 10:05 AM

The defence does have mitigation in the non existent protection in front of it. However that’s only part of the defensive problems we have and not sure any individual defender could scrape more than pass marks for the season and certainly not collectively. The back 4 of Stevenson, Hanlon, McGregor & Gray have always been capable of conceding cheap goals, going back to the championship and the amount of points we dropped. It must also be said that they also served us well.

Stopping crosses is one of our biggest weaknesses IMO. We’re terrible at it, particularly Stevenson this last 12-18 months. I remember the win at Killie when Docherty scored a screamer. The amount of crosses they got into the box was frightening, and but for a valiant rear defence (particularly Hanlon & Jackson) and a bit of luck we could easily have been beaten.

A real defensive midfielder (maybe Gogic) and a new left back are the bare minimum required to make us defensively more than the sum of our parts IMO. Then we can look at what we have further forward.

14-06-2020, 10:40 AM
I was at the match when his knee cap kept popping and I actually said to my neighbour that Neil Lennon could just have ruined Porteous’s career that day. It was worse than poor management when he did know the extent of the injury and allowed the boy, and he was only a boy at the time, to make the decision to stay on the pitch when all the medical evidence said get him off and protect the knee.
Porteous continues to pay for that serious error of judgement to this day and no doubt will continue to do so in the future.

All true but Porteous's youth and exuberance meant he tried to stay on instead of walking off injured, something I hope he's learnt from.

14-06-2020, 10:52 AM

Poppycock

14-06-2020, 10:55 AM
Bogdan away home.

14-06-2020, 11:04 AM
Poppycock

Language!!!

14-06-2020, 11:15 AM
Jackson, Hanlon and Porteous should all be part of our defence next season. Lewis certainly as backup. McGregor as backup too. Gray cant be relied on in any playing capacity. James seems to have been written off.

I don't think we really need a central defender actually. At least not in the first 6 months. Get 2 fullbacks and central midfield (appears to be gogic) sorted and see how they do then.

14-06-2020, 11:24 AM

Agree here. So many on the thread seem happy with the centre halves from last season, I don’t think they’re up to it.

I am a fan of porteous but he has a lot of learning to do.

The rest, I’d be happy to see them replaced. Past their best now.

14-06-2020, 11:27 AM
Jackson, Hanlon and Porteous should all be part of our defence next season. Lewis certainly as backup. McGregor as backup too. Gray cant be relied on in any playing capacity. James seems to have been written off.

I don't think we really need a central defender actually. At least not in the first 6 months. Get 2 fullbacks and central midfield (appears to be gogic) sorted and see how they do then.

I doubt we will be able to afford a centre half anyway. We need a left back but it may be that we have to stick with McGinn at right back as money will be tight. Naismith may only be a viable option if James moves on. Hopefully Gogic signs as a replacement for Slivka (financially) and we get Nisbet in for Kamberri.
If Boyle leaves then that may free up more cash for wages.

14-06-2020, 11:31 AM
Nisbet leaning towards staying in Scotland apparently

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-22189040

14-06-2020, 11:40 AM
I doubt we will be able to afford a centre half anyway. We need a left back but it may be that we have to stick with McGinn at right back as money will be tight. Naismith may only be a viable option if James moves on. Hopefully Gogic signs as a replacement for Slivka (financially) and we get Nisbet in for Kamberri.
If Boyle leaves then that may free up more cash for wages.

If Boyle leaves he needs replaced before any defenders. Losing him would be awful. Luckily its only this place that is trying to sell him, nothing creditable linking him with anyone.

supermcginn
14-06-2020, 11:48 AM
Agree here. So many on the thread seem happy with the centre halves from last season, I don’t think they’re up to it.

I am a fan of porteous but he has a lot of learning to do.

The rest, I’d be happy to see them replaced. Past their best now.
Couldn't agree more, our defence gets such an easy ride on here. Fans of other teams regard us as terrible at the back and they aren't far wrong. Need a goalie who commands his area next season too, rocky is like Dracula with crosses.

14-06-2020, 11:51 AM
Couldn't agree more, our defence gets such an easy ride on here. Fans of other teams regard us as terrible at the back and they aren't far wrong. Need a goalie who commands his area next season too, rocky is like Dracula with crosses.

Our defensive record last season must be up there with the worst in the league. Clean sheets were a rare occurrence. Need better in both fullback positions and in midfield. I think any combo of Hanlon/Jackson/Porteous could work in the middle.

14-06-2020, 11:54 AM
Nisbet leaning towards staying in Scotland apparently

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-22189040

If that is true we are favourites to sign him if we still want him.
Aberdeen would be the only rivals but there have been no signs of them being interested.
IMO Dundee Utd are maxed out on their budget so long as Shankland is on their payroll.
Hibs are financially stable and currently Scotland's 3rd or 4th strongest club.
No brainer for Nisbet, just a question of whether we still want him and are willing to pay the fee required by Dunfermline. I reckon he is worth £250k at the moment but am not convinced he would be a success at Hibs.

14-06-2020, 11:58 AM
Aberdeen would be the only rivals but there have been no signs of them being interested.
IMO Dundee Utd are maxed out on their budget so long as Shankland is on their payroll.
No brainer for Nisbet, just a question of whether we still want him and are willing to pay the fee required by Dunfermline. I reckon he is worth £250k at the moment but am not convinced he would be a success at Hibs.

Dundee United supposedly bid more than us in January (we reportedly bid £350k plus instalments) and that was still rejected. I can easily see them splashing out to get him, especially if there’s a risk of Shankland leaving. With the reports of us being after Stewart again im not convinced we are willing to pay what Dunfy want.

14-06-2020, 11:59 AM
3 forwards I'd hope are being considered by Hibs, and he's one, long another and the boy from county. All 3 I think coukd do a job, and I'd love to be greedy and get 2, unfortunately there are 2 of them that woukd command a fee.

14-06-2020, 12:01 PM
If Boyle leaves he needs replaced before any defenders. Losing him would be awful. Luckily its only this place that is trying to sell him, nothing creditable linking him with anyone.

The issue for the club with Boyle is that he is a valuable asset with less than a year left on his contract.
Best case scenario - he signs a new contract extension, even if it just for another year.
If that is not possible he walks away for nothing next summer. Can also sign a pre contract with another club at the end of the year. Interesting to see what the club decide to do.

14-06-2020, 12:14 PM

Fans of other teams are dumb and don't watch Hibs every week. Why on earth would we listen to them? They see us what, 4 times a season max? Yeah, I'll stick with my own opinions over that of a Livi fan.

chippy
14-06-2020, 12:15 PM
The issue for the club with Boyle is that he is a valuable asset with less than a year left on his contract.
Best case scenario - he signs a new contract extension, even if it just for another year.
Otherwise sell now or he walks away for nothing next summer. Can also sign a pre contract with another club at the end of the year so time to act one way or another.
Nope, we’re in a cup semi and making the final could makes us 300k or so, keep him even if he won’t sign an extension

supermcginn
14-06-2020, 01:06 PM
Fans of other teams are dumb and don't watch Hibs every week. Why on earth would we listen to them? They see us what, 4 times a season max? Yeah, I'll stick with my own opinions over that of a Livi fan.

We are hopeless at the back. Fact.

14-06-2020, 01:09 PM

I don’t understand how it could be argued against tbh. lightweight, slow and ponderous. It can only be a lot of sentiment but that doesn’t win football games.

14-06-2020, 01:10 PM
Hibs have got a great chance of challenging for top 3, if we can get our recruitment right in the summer and January windows
This will be Jack’s 1st window with Hibs, and he will know what is needed for the Scottish game
Motherwell will be up there too, as will Aberdeen, however they are facing big losses just now, so may have to offload someone like Cosgrove
We know money is tight, but if target quantity over quality, mixed with a few homegrown players, will be our strategy for the season

14-06-2020, 01:12 PM
With the players going back on Monday I expect there will be movement this week.

14-06-2020, 01:12 PM

Thats not a fact.

Global warming is an example of a fact. So is the big bang.

Hibs defence hasn't been good enough. They haven't been hopeless either.

Leitherhibs
14-06-2020, 01:16 PM
Jackson and Porteous are good enough to be first choice centre backs at Hibs, I sense that one of them will give way to Hanlon however.
SDG and McGregor MIGHT be okay as back-ups, but with the injuries we've had in defence they've been relied on far more heavily than the normally would be - Would like us to recruit ideally a RB, LB and a Centre back but that feels a little unrealistic in current climate.

Greenworld
14-06-2020, 01:17 PM
We are hopeless at the back. Fact.I actually would play paul hanlon in so called holding role

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

14-06-2020, 01:47 PM
Dundee United supposedly bid more than us in January (we reportedly bid £350k plus instalments) and that was still rejected. I can easily see them splashing out to get him, especially if there’s a risk of Shankland leaving. With the reports of us being after Stewart again im not convinced we are willing to pay what Dunfy want.

IMO they would have brought Nisbet in with a view to selling Shankland for big bucks this summer.
However, we are now living in a Covid 19 world, with clubs finances severely disrupted and Hibs are in far better financial shape than Dundee Utd.

14-06-2020, 01:55 PM
Nope, we’re in a cup semi and making the final could makes us 300k or so, keep him even if he won’t sign an extension

Decision will depend on how much the club can get for him against what he is worth to us for a season.
My OP amended.

14-06-2020, 02:00 PM
The problem is that some players can never really be taught to do the defensive side of the business & I'm not sure they should be. Scott Allan, & to a lesser extent Stevie M are never going to be effective at marking & tackling. If you ask them to do that then they're probably not going to be in the right area of the field to deliver a defence splitting pass or a 20 yard shot which is why they're in the team. Creative players who can tackle are extremely rare which is why SJM is now valued so highly & he's probably our first of that type since Cropley. It's all about getting the balance right which is the most difficult task in football management & I agree we've not shone at that in the recent past. I wouldn't blame it all on our recruitment, Vela for example looked like just what we needed. Gogic would hopefully be a step forward but (here's where I now lose credibility), I think Tom James may be worth a try as a defensive midfielder. He's too slow & exposed as a full back but I think he's a decent footballer & he has an explosive shot. If he still has 2 years on his contract I think its worth a shot. Jackson is another possibility for that role or play a back 3. I agree we can't continue to play the same back 4 without effective protection from the midfield & attack.

I think that is a valid point. Interesting to see what happens with the kid. Wouldn't be the 1st player to turn it around by finding the right position for his abilities.