View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53

02-10-2020, 01:08 PM
Player value isn’t really tied to player ability though is it? It’s about the market they’re in and the financial strength of the clubs involved. An EPL club signing someone for £20 million is like us signing one for £100k.

tonyrougier123
02-10-2020, 01:09 PM
Magennis signing after a third bid accepted, according to the DR.

Goodstuff!👍🏻

chippy
02-10-2020, 01:10 PM
Magennis signing after a third bid accepted, according to the DR.

Just need Alan Campbell and we’re good to go 😉

02-10-2020, 01:14 PM
Player value isn’t really tied to player ability though is it? It’s about the market they’re in and the financial strength of the clubs involved. An EPL club signing someone for £20 million is like us signing one for £100k.

Player value is generally linked to ability. A £50 million pound player is better than a £5 million pound player, a £6 million pound player is better than a £500k player ect.

Obviously it's not always the case but in general the more money you have to spend the better class of player you get hence why Celtic have won 9 leagues in a row.

02-10-2020, 01:15 PM
Edit, from Daily Ranger, Scott Burns story;

Hibs are set to land St Mirren ’s Kyle Magennis at the third time of asking.

The Edinburgh club are on the verge of agreeing a six-figure deal with the Buddies for their midfielder.

It is understood that Magennis is currently in the capital going through his medical with the Easter Road club.

Saints wanted to keep a hold of their home-grown star and that was why they had thrown out two earlier bids, as confirmed in an official club statement earlier this week.

But the player then indicated he was keen to talk to Hibs and is now set to reunite with Easter Road manager Jack Ross, who he previously played under at St Mirren.

It is a severe blow to Saints boss Jim Goodwin who was desperate to keep him in Paisley and had left a long-term deal on the table.

The 22-year-old is out of contract at the end of the season and could have signed a pre-contract and for compensation in the summer.

chippy
02-10-2020, 01:16 PM
Who is this in reference to?

Josh Vela 😂

02-10-2020, 01:23 PM
Very glad that we're getting the box-to-box midfielder we need. Hopefully he's fully over his injury and can stay fit and push on.

02-10-2020, 01:26 PM
Edit, from Daily Ranger, Scott Burns story;

Hibs are set to land St Mirren ’s Kyle Magennis at the third time of asking.

The Edinburgh club are on the verge of agreeing a six-figure deal with the Buddies for their midfielder.

It is understood that Magennis is currently in the capital going through his medical with the Easter Road club.

Saints wanted to keep a hold of their home-grown star and that was why they had thrown out two earlier bids, as confirmed in an official club statement earlier this week.

But the player then indicated he was keen to talk to Hibs and is now set to reunite with Easter Road manager Jack Ross, who he previously played under at St Mirren.

It is a severe blow to Saints boss Jim Goodwin who was desperate to keep him in Paisley and had left a long-term deal on the table.

The 22-year-old is out of contract at the end of the season and could have signed a pre-contract and for compensation in the summer.

Great news.

02-10-2020, 01:27 PM
Anyone know much about him?

02-10-2020, 01:28 PM
He’s been back training/playing some bounce games so hopefully he’s raring to go after the international break.

02-10-2020, 01:28 PM
Very glad that we're getting the box-to-box midfielder we need. Hopefully he's fully over his injury and can stay fit and push on.

I dont know much about him at all other than he's young and has been St Mirren captain. Is he a box to box midfielder? Is he an old fashioned no 8.

I can see a report where Ross was talking about him when he was the St Mirren manager where he says he likes to carry the ball where most young players just want to pass.

02-10-2020, 01:29 PM
He’s dross because I’ve watched him numerous times and thought he’s looked absolutely pish. Oli McBurnie done better at Swansea than what Brewster done and he’s even worse than dross.

Dross for Swansea? He scored 10 goals in 20 games. Some absolute rakers in that an aw. They were desperate to get him back

02-10-2020, 01:30 PM
So, when will Aberdeen be announcing Magennis? :duck:

02-10-2020, 01:30 PM
They paid £15m for Burke too!

They paid nothing for Burke. They swapped him for Callum Robinson

02-10-2020, 01:32 PM
Anyone know much about him?

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/what-hibs-boss-jack-ross-has-said-about-target-kyle-magennis-and-main-quality-he-would-bring-team-2987286%3famp this is something Ross previously said about him.

My knowledge of him was he was originally deployed out wide however Ross moved him into a more central role and that was his best season playing there. Issues with injuries the past 2-3 years but still very highly thought of and a lot of potential to get better.

Direct and strong in his running, good on the ball and plenty of energy to get box to box. He’s bulked up considerably over the past couple of years too. Captain by the age of 22 is also impressive.

Hope fans allow him time to get in his stride again after such a lengthy injury.

He’ll be a good signing.

02-10-2020, 01:34 PM
He’s been back training/playing some bounce games so hopefully he’s raring to go after the international break.

Perfect games for him in the Betfred Cup to get up to speed

02-10-2020, 01:34 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/what-hibs-boss-jack-ross-has-said-about-target-kyle-magennis-and-main-quality-he-would-bring-team-2987286%3famp this is something Ross previously said about him.

My knowledge of him was he was originally deployed out wide however Ross moved him into a more central role and that was his best season playing there. Issues with injuries the past 2-3 years but still very highly thought of and a lot of potential to get better.

Direct and strong in his running, good on the ball and plenty of energy to get box to box. He’s bulked up considerably over the past couple of years too. Captain by the age of 22 is also impressive.

Hope fans allow him time to get in his stride again after such a lengthy injury.

He’ll be a good signing.

This is a good summary. Hard working, mobile and he can certainly play a bit. Fits the profile for what we need in a our midfield, which has seriously lacked legs/mobility these last couple of years.

02-10-2020, 01:35 PM
I wanted Campbell based on having seen him, but very encouraged at signing of Magennis. JR knows him well and player obviously keen to come.

02-10-2020, 01:40 PM
John McGinn
Paul McGinn
Stephen McGinn
Steven Mallan
Kyle Magennis

Have our scouts got to St Mirren players with M in their surname and got bored?:greengrin

Chuck in Jack Ross and Jason Naismith too and we’re becoming St Mirren.

Magpie
02-10-2020, 01:45 PM
John McGinn
Paul McGinn
Stephen McGinn
Steven Mallan
Kyle Magennis

Have our scouts got to St Mirren players with M in their surname and got bored?:greengrin

Chuck in Jack Ross and Jason Naismith too and we’re becoming St Mirren.

Darren McGregor 😉

Magpie
02-10-2020, 01:46 PM
St Mirren now looking a bit silly with their statement.

02-10-2020, 01:46 PM
I wanted Campbell based on having seen him, but very encouraged at signing of Magennis. JR knows him well and player obviously keen to come.

Campbell was never going to happen , he's already out of our price range . Didnt think we'd be getting Magennis either so cant complain

02-10-2020, 01:48 PM
Campbell was never going to happen , he's already out of our price range . Didnt think we'd be getting Magennis either so cant complain

Aye agreed, reckon Campbell will get a decent top half club in the English Championship at least. Very happy with Magennis, the fact JR will know about him and how we works too is an added bonus.

02-10-2020, 01:51 PM
Magennis will get McGinn comparisons but he is slightly different.

He has massive potential but been unfortunate with injuries.

He’s about 6 weeks away from getting fit again so won’t be playing immediately.

Will be a very good signing though and glad we are showing this intent.

Got a feeling Hallberg may move on though.

02-10-2020, 01:51 PM

Yes sadly I agree plus not convinced it would have been much of a move for him if I’m honest.

02-10-2020, 01:52 PM

Are they? I'd guess their intentions with the statement were to flush out other bidders/push the price up, and to spin it to their fans (they rejected a "substantial" bid, so the accepted bid must be more than substantial).

They've probably achieved at least one of those.

02-10-2020, 01:53 PM

I wouldn’t write off that happening just yet.

A last day bid of £300k or a pre contract in Jan. Neither situation impossible but I do think he will have wider and richer suiters.

02-10-2020, 01:53 PM
Aye agreed, reckon Campbell will get a decent top half club in the English Championship at least. Very happy with Magennis, the fact JR will know about him and how we works too is an added bonus.

People keep saying this but as far as I know there is no English interest in him?

I’m still hopeful we can land him as well. That would be amazing. Unlikely I know but may as well aim high

Campbell magennis (I will learn how to spell his name soon) and Gogic would be a very strong midfield in this league

Magpie
02-10-2020, 01:58 PM
Are they? I'd guess their intentions with the statement were to flush out other bidders/push the price up, and to spin it to their fans (they rejected a "substantial" bid, so the accepted bid must be more than substantial).

They've probably achieved at least one of those.

“While Kyle is currently ruled out with by injury, he remains an integral part of our football club and we have no desire to sell. We look forward to welcoming him back into the squad in the very near future.“

Four days later he’s gone. They didn’t have to release a statement to try and get more money. They look a bit stupid to me personally.

02-10-2020, 01:58 PM

A last day bid of £300k or a pre contract in Jan. Neither situation impossible but I do think he will have wider and richer suiters.

Motherwell are due £500k in training compensation for him even if they let his contract expire at the end of the season so absolutely no reason for them to accept £300k from us just now unless it included a huge sell-on percentage for Motherwell as well

02-10-2020, 02:02 PM
People keep saying this but as far as I know there is no English interest in him?

I’m still hopeful we can land him as well. That would be amazing. Unlikely I know but may as well aim high

Campbell magennis (I will learn how to spell his name soon) and Gogic would be a very strong midfield in this league

Aye my thinking was I cant see him leaving for any team this window and if he keeps performing the way he has been this season then I reckon an English Championship team would be happy to take a 500k gamble on him in the summer. Cant see either us or the Sheep stumping up that much for him as much as id like us to!

02-10-2020, 02:03 PM
Tam McMannus on twitter

[emoji1695] Kyle Magennis passes his medical and is confirmed at Hibs. Think it could prove to be a very shrewd bit of business. Jack Ross a long time admirer and has been desperate to get him in to Easter Road.

02-10-2020, 02:04 PM
Aye my thinking was I cant see him leaving for any team this window and if he keeps performing the way he has been this season then I reckon an English Championship team would be happy to take a 500k gamble on him in the summer. Cant see either us or the Sheep stumping up that much for him as much as id like us to!

Aye I can’t see us stumping up £500K either tbf mate but maybe less with a decent sell on would sway it

02-10-2020, 02:05 PM
Tam McMannus on twitter

[emoji1695] Kyle Magennis passes his medical and is confirmed at Hibs. Think it could prove to be a very shrewd bit of business. Jack Ross a long time admirer and has been desperate to get him in to Easter Road.

Ah I now realise he is saying ‘fingers crossed this happens’

Just_Jimmy
02-10-2020, 02:07 PM
St Mirren now looking a bit silly with their statement.no they don't its a game.

Hibs want to buy, they want to sell. they need to sell with fans on side and maximise return. they make a show of refusing and then say player wanted move/ bid too good.

Hibs have done it for decades.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

02-10-2020, 02:12 PM
The St Mirren fan who runs the Pie & Bovril twitter account tweeted this to Leishy

Yeah he's good mate. Defensive midfielder who Jack absolutely adores.

I think he's actually better in a slightly more advanced role but he never really got much chance there with us, actually sometimes getting played wide right which was criminal.

Once he's fit be a good asset!

Hasn't played since January due to injury but was well on the way back, expected to start featuring again after the international break so should be in and around the first team before long.

02-10-2020, 02:16 PM
“While Kyle is currently ruled out with by injury, he remains an integral part of our football club and we have no desire to sell. We look forward to welcoming him back into the squad in the very near future.“

Four days later he’s gone. They didn’t have to release a statement to try and get more money. They look a bit stupid to me personally.

No they don’t that’s all part and parcel of negotiations

02-10-2020, 02:20 PM

They've just scooped £3m for Turnbull and are fairly flush. There's no chance they'll sell him for that.

02-10-2020, 02:23 PM
Cairters Corner on twitter (St mirren fan who likes to wind up jambos)

He's a box to box player, two footed and packs a good dig. Very powerful runner also, his biggest issue has been injury but undoubtedly a good player. More John McGinn than Stevie Mallan.

Dazzjw1875
02-10-2020, 02:24 PM
Hellberg apparently going to motherwell, does this mean he could be part of a deal for campbell?? This is just rumored but seen it a couple times now. Anyone heard anything?

02-10-2020, 02:25 PM
Hellberg apparently going to motherwell, does this mean he could be part of a deal for campbell?? This is just rumored but seen it a couple times now. Anyone heard anything?

Where’s Daffy when you want him :greengrin

02-10-2020, 02:26 PM

I actually like Hallberg and think he has a lot more to offer but if we were getting Campbell in return i’d be very happy.

02-10-2020, 02:27 PM

Haven't seen nor heard anything regarding Halberg. Still be very surprised if we got Campbell

et_hibby
02-10-2020, 02:27 PM
Cairters Corner on twitter (St mirren fan who likes to wind up jambos)

He's a box to box player, two footed and packs a good dig. Very powerful runner also, his biggest issue has been injury but undoubtedly a good player. More John McGinn than Stevie Mallan.

Both Cairter's Corner and Pie and Bovril (Div) are knowledgeable, level-headed guys.

02-10-2020, 02:30 PM

Where have you seen this?

02-10-2020, 02:36 PM

Judging by Jack Ross' body language in the Hibs TV interview (there was an unconscious shake of the head when asked about Campbell) we are not interested.

02-10-2020, 02:39 PM
So is he still injured? He's not played yet this season

02-10-2020, 02:41 PM

As are a few of the ‘walk away now’ posters.

02-10-2020, 02:41 PM
I actually really liked Hallberg last season when he came in and looked a good player who when we got a more defensive player next to him and better balance to the team would excell.

Since being hooked against Hamilton in January he has looked a shadow of himself and doesn’t appear to know what his role is in the team.

Hes a decent player however if there was any chance of him plus money being exchanged for Campbell (which there won’t be) then we should do it.

02-10-2020, 02:42 PM

Few folk have said he’s back training and playing a part in bounce games.

HendoDelivered
02-10-2020, 02:42 PM

Starting to come back. Played in bounce games and back training.

02-10-2020, 02:50 PM

[emoji102]

Paul1642
02-10-2020, 02:57 PM
Player value is generally linked to ability. A £50 million pound player is better than a £5 million pound player, a £6 million pound player is better than a £500k player ect.

Obviously it's not always the case but in general the more money you have to spend the better class of player you get hence why Celtic have won 9 leagues in a row.

Yes and no. Contract, player happiness and what league the player plays in play huge factor. McGinn for 3 million and Suarez for 5 million are much better players than some of the dross mentioned above like Burke and Mcburnie who sold for 6x the amount.

02-10-2020, 03:03 PM
Can we sign both Magennis and Campbell then invite Tom English and Ewen Murray along for the unveiling

Yes and no. Contract, player happiness and what league the player plays in play huge factor. McGinn for 3 million and Suarez for 5 million are much better players than some of the dross mentioned above like Burke and Mcburnie who sold for 6x the amount.

Yes, that's why I said in general.

You can look through all the league's in Europe and it's the richest clubs in each league who are most successful. Of course you will have the odd exception.

Celtic and Rangers for instance have dominated Scottish Football because they pay millions of pounds for players and everyone else spends peanuts in comparison.

Dazzjw1875
Where have you seen this?

Its on twitter by a couple of different folk, some saying that mallam also could be part of a deal. Others saying its just hallberg and cash... personally I can't see it if we get KM from saints. But would be very happy if we did get both

02-10-2020, 03:05 PM
Its on twitter by a couple of different folk, some saying that mallam also could be part of a deal. Others saying its just hallberg and cash... personally I can't see it if we get KM from saints. But would be very happy if we did get both

I suspect we have been playing both sides off against the middle and Saints gave folded first.

mayo hibee
02-10-2020, 03:08 PM
They paid nothing for Burke. They swapped him for Callum Robinson

Actually, they were paid £3 million to swap him for Robinson - no idea where the other poster got £15m from.

Anyway, Magennis...

Dazzjw1875
02-10-2020, 03:15 PM
I suspect we have been playing both sides off against the middle and Saints gave folded first.

Looks like it but if we get them both thats a massive statement of intent.

Cat Stanton
02-10-2020, 03:17 PM
This is a good summary. Hard working, mobile and he can certainly play a bit. Fits the profile for what we need in a our midfield, which has seriously lacked legs/mobility these last couple of years.

Saint Mirren pal rates him very highly indeed. I'm quite excited.

02-10-2020, 03:20 PM
Am I wearing green tinted specs when I say that I'd not have him in our team ahead of Boyle, Doidge or Nisbet? £15 million is ludicrous, 10 Martin Boyles🙈

No you aren't mate, Burke is one of those players that you look at and wonder what he actually does well, since he seems to have no real attributes at all

02-10-2020, 03:28 PM

Player pushed it They wanted to keep him as Captain-and hoped his imminent return would see them getting off bottom of league

02-10-2020, 03:32 PM
Awe Naw how are we gonna explain this transfer to that numbskull Tam Englisher and his wee golfing chummy

02-10-2020, 03:32 PM
5pm announcement? Any hints from Hibs Twitter?

02-10-2020, 03:37 PM
Would be surprised to see Hallberg go to Motherwell, doesn't seem like their type of player (not in a disrespectful way as he obviously can't get a game for us either).

Stranger things have happened though

02-10-2020, 03:56 PM
Mental the ammount of brain dead idiots on Twitter raging because Hibs were asking the government for help. Some seriously thick people out there. Worrying.

w pilton hibby
02-10-2020, 04:00 PM
Mental the ammount of brain dead idiots on Twitter raging because Hibs were asking the government for help. Some seriously thick people out there. Worrying.

Twitter was invented for "brain dead idiots".

02-10-2020, 04:03 PM

What? Hibs fans?

02-10-2020, 04:04 PM
What? Hibs fans?

Fans of other clubs. Mostly Rangers and Hearts

02-10-2020, 04:06 PM

Ah good get it right up them

02-10-2020, 04:10 PM

Excellent. You know Hibs are doing something right when these knuckle dragging fuds are upset. Get it up the both of them!

02-10-2020, 04:11 PM
https://scontent.flhr6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/120624780_10224696922956408_5868679733306224582_o. jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=kzpNSVZNrTEAX99mcVE&_nc_ht=scontent.flhr6-1.fna&oh=b556e7376a8ed3e7d8f28f527172ca1d&oe=5F9CEA19

02-10-2020, 04:17 PM

They just twist things to suit their agenda. RG and LD have publicly addressed this. LD in an official capacity referenced the ‘Scottish football needs financial help’ issue ....... it wasn’t a plea on behalf of Hibs.

02-10-2020, 04:32 PM
They just twist things to suit their agenda. RG and LD have publicly addressed this. LD in an official capacity referenced the ‘Scottish football needs financial help’ issue ....... it wasn’t a plea on behalf of Hibs.

Yep, we've also decided to go with less players. To put in context a £200k fee would pretty much be a salary for a first team player for about 18 months so you can easily choose to direct your budget this way.

Hearts have chosen to sign players like Craig Gordon, took Dundee Utds manager and chosen to keep on players like Boyce and Naismith.

Gaffer1875
02-10-2020, 04:33 PM
Non Hibs. Liverpool youth striker signing for Sheff U for £23m. Surely that money would be better spent on Morelos, Eduoard or Nesbit? [emoji6]

02-10-2020, 04:41 PM
Jermaine Hylton has left Motherwell to join Ross County.

All the best for the future, @Hylton_14 👍

02-10-2020, 04:46 PM
Yep, we've also decided to go with less players. To put in context a £200k fee would pretty much be a salary for a first team player for about 18 months so you can easily choose to direct your budget this way.

Hearts have chosen to sign players like Craig Gordon, took Dundee Utds manager and chosen to keep on players like Boyce and Naismith.

Down with you and all your sense.

Have English and Murray even acknowledged that Hearts paid Dundee Utd compensation for Neilson ?

02-10-2020, 04:47 PM
Yes sadly I agree plus not convinced it would have been much of a move for him if I’m honest.
Yes it would have more a sideways move in all honesty.

hibeerealist
02-10-2020, 04:51 PM

Good player surprised they let him leave to go to a rival

02-10-2020, 04:57 PM
Down with you and all your sense.

Have English and Murray even acknowledged that Hearts paid Dundee Utd compensation for Neilson ?

Doubt it. Linked today with Stephen Kingsley too - would be their 8th signing.

HendoDelivered
02-10-2020, 05:05 PM

Good signing. Ross Stewart away?

02-10-2020, 05:09 PM
I thought Hylton was one of Well's most effective players, that a bit of a strange one.

02-10-2020, 05:10 PM
I thought Hylton was one of Well's most effective players, that a bit of a strange one.

They’ve just signed Devante Cole

Souter96Mac
02-10-2020, 05:14 PM
They’ve just signed Devante Cole

He's more of a striker though. He's played for 4 different clubs in the last 2 years.

02-10-2020, 05:19 PM
He's more of a striker though. He's played for 4 different clubs in the last 2 years.

Yip i would say hes a striker who can play as a winger, but definitely more of a forward. Motherwell have a fair few forwards now.

02-10-2020, 06:05 PM

Budge laughably claimed her reconstruction proposal was not about self-interest, and those clowns accepted it at face value.

Leeann actually is engaged with looking at football’s survival, and these clowns criticise her and cast doubt.

Double standards, clear as day.

02-10-2020, 07:07 PM
Another midfielder on the cards? Or was this a backup for Magennis?

https://twitter.com/skysports_keith/status/1312106796182462466?s=21

02-10-2020, 07:26 PM

Magennis taking in the game.

02-10-2020, 07:27 PM

Magennis taking in the game.

That's a serious receding hairline for a 22 year old.

02-10-2020, 07:29 PM

He's on the right 😂

02-10-2020, 07:30 PM
He's on the right 😂

Nothing gets past you eh. :wink:

02-10-2020, 07:32 PM
Nothing gets past you eh. :wink:

I knew you were at the wind up hence the emoji
😜

02-10-2020, 07:32 PM

We're throwing some serious money around right now.

02-10-2020, 07:39 PM

Hope he gets himself sorted out with decent breeks once he gets his signing-on fee.

02-10-2020, 07:39 PM

Surely was the back up incase we never got magennis

et_hibby
02-10-2020, 07:45 PM
😉 At least he’s got a functioning pair of trousers unlike the poor sod sitting next to him. They must be draughty as ..

Magpie
02-10-2020, 07:52 PM
Surely was the back up incase we never got magennis

Or a replacement for a midfielder leaving?

mayo hibee
02-10-2020, 07:56 PM
Who the hell is Ryan Wintle?

02-10-2020, 07:56 PM
We're throwing some serious money around right now.

Seems so. It should be getting sent West along with a player if need be

02-10-2020, 08:02 PM
Think Mallan or Hallberg must be going if we are after 2 midfielders.

02-10-2020, 08:05 PM
Think Mallan or Hallberg must be going if we are after 2 midfielders.

We still don’t know on Allan. We needed one before he dropped out.

02-10-2020, 08:07 PM
We still don’t know on Allan. We needed one before he dropped out.

I agree on that one. Maybe 2 makes sense.

02-10-2020, 08:39 PM
Who the hell is Ryan Wintle?

He’s a 23 year old midfielder who’s played 125 games for the Railwaymen.

You’re welcome.

mayo hibee
02-10-2020, 08:42 PM
He’s a 23 year old midfielder who’s played 125 games for the Railwaymen.

You’re welcome.

02-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Ron Gordon’s gonna come walking out to Shane Mcmahons theme once the fans are back at ER.

02-10-2020, 08:55 PM
Crewe fans raging at the 200k bid for Wintle. Reckon it’s insulting for their best player.

It appears his contract is up next year.

Dazzjw1875
02-10-2020, 09:17 PM
Is that defo Magennis in that pic?

HendoDelivered
02-10-2020, 09:20 PM
Is that defo Magennis in that pic?

100%

02-10-2020, 09:21 PM
Just me that thinks Ryan Wintle is in addition to Magennis?

Story only broke on Wintle tonight and Magennis has been coming to us since early afternoon it seems with the fee likely agreed last night with St Mirren.

Wintle also seems more in the mould of McCrorie with Magennis more box to box.

Mallan or Hallberg on the way out if we get Wintle?

Fair play if we end up paying fee’s for Wintle, Magennis and Nisbet (who appears to be the best spent money in a while)

02-10-2020, 09:23 PM
Jim Goodwin tonight

Jim Goodwin 🗣

"I made him [Kyle Magennis] captain and was looking forward to working with him. Unfortunately things have changed overnight.

"I didn’t want to sell Kyle Magennis. You’ll need to ask Tony Fitzpatrick or someone on the board."

[via @BBCSportsound] https://t.co/zqZ0bn25xM

02-10-2020, 09:26 PM
Here we go

Derek McInnes has revealed he hopes to get a new signing in the door before Monday’s transfer deadline.

The Aberdeen boss sold Scott McKenna for £3million last week and at the time he didn’t think he’d get anyone else in.

But he’s held talks with chairman Dave Cormack and hopes to get more new signings in before the window slams shut.

Dazzjw1875
02-10-2020, 09:33 PM
Ryan Wintle bid rejected

Must admit its very out the blue this movement on this player especially with a fee which I believe has been rejected.. their fans raging that we bid only 200k, but we must think there is a chance or have knowledge they will accept close to that.? Looks kinda stupid if otherwise were bidding 200k for guy worth 1M..

02-10-2020, 09:38 PM
Must admit its very out the blue this movement on this player especially with a fee which I believe has been rejected.. their fans raging that we bid only 200k, but we must think there is a chance or have knowledge they will accept close to that.? Looks kinda stupid if otherwise were bidding 200k for guy worth 1M..

Last year of his contract. Absolutely have no clue what kind of player he is.

02-10-2020, 09:42 PM
Wintle is also out of contract next summer and the 3 games he’s played this season in league 1 is the highest level he’s ever played at.

Unless he was absolutely exceptional in league 2 for them how much can they realistically demand for him?

02-10-2020, 09:44 PM
Just me that thinks Ryan Wintle is in addition to Magennis?

Story only broke on Wintle tonight and Magennis has been coming to us since early afternoon it seems with the fee likely agreed last night with St Mirren.

Wintle also seems more in the mould of McCrorie with Magennis more box to box.

Mallan or Hallberg on the way out if we get Wintle?

Fair play if we end up paying fee’s for Wintle, Magennis and Nisbet (who appears to be the best spent money in a while)

Yes, I don’t think we get to the stage of bidding for players if it’s just as a plan B. Wouldn’t be fair on the player or his club to potentially turn his head like that.

Loving the apparent strategy of the club just now. Buy low sell high, it’s not a new strategy but it makes so much sense, it’s amazing it’s taken us so long to start doing it.

Souter96Mac
02-10-2020, 10:06 PM
Wintle is also out of contract next summer and the 3 games he’s played this season in league 1 is the highest level he’s ever played at.

Unless he was absolutely exceptional in league 2 for them how much can they realistically demand for him?

Crewe play tomorrow. It'll be interesting to see if he's in the squad

02-10-2020, 10:09 PM
Ross says any other additions after Magennis will be “out of the blue”.

02-10-2020, 10:10 PM
Ross saying he expects Magennis to be his last signing of the window. Anything else will be out the blue.

one day maybe...
02-10-2020, 10:14 PM
Texted a guy I know that does some scouting in the lower English leagues. This was his reply
Played a lot of games for his age.
They have some great young lads coming through there.
Callum Ainley, Tom Lowery, Billy Sass-Davies, Perry Ng. There’s loads

02-10-2020, 10:20 PM

The return of Glen Middleton then?

02-10-2020, 10:20 PM

Giroud. Bench warmer though.

02-10-2020, 10:23 PM
Ross saying he expects Magennis to be his last signing of the window. Anything else will be out the blue.

Don't believe a word of it think we will buy another couple

02-10-2020, 10:25 PM
I wonder if seeing our signings so far will make Ron more willing to spend

Nisbet - Going to get a hefty fee for him and quite a bit x what we paid for him if he continues this.
Gogic - Called upto national team

Doig and Porteous getting called up and performing well may also interest him and show the value of young Scottish players doing well.

02-10-2020, 10:42 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kyle-magennis-hibs-move-leaves-22784854

How good does that sound 👌

02-10-2020, 10:44 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-transfer-news-magennis-wintle-19042522

More than the 250k fee paid for Nisbet for Magennis

No bid for Wintle in the heading however Ross doesn’t specifically say that.

MagicSwirlingShip
02-10-2020, 10:50 PM
Surely no Hibs fan is doubting Ron now

02-10-2020, 11:08 PM

Not a chance. He even speaks great. Back the guy to the hilt.

02-10-2020, 11:47 PM

Such a good point.

We’ve somehow managed to have an unbelievable transfer window and barely anyone has noticed until now.

We’ve absolutely nothing to complain about at the moment.

147lothian
03-10-2020, 12:56 AM

Certainly not, Ron has backed the club, we have good people on the board, and the signings are fantastic, Nisbet on a 4 year deal, before he gets onto the bigger clubs radar, and you just need to look Jim Goodwin's comments to see that we have won a watch a second time with Kyle Magennis. Murphy looks sharper with every game and will be a big player for us IMO, as will Gogic who is already ahead a far as match sharpness goes, this has probably been our best transfer window ever

hibeesjoe
03-10-2020, 03:42 AM
Has Murphy formally agreed to sign after his loan season? Would hate for him to hit form and attract other clubs.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

03-10-2020, 04:02 AM
Has Murphy formally agreed to sign after his loan season? Would hate for him to hit form and attract other clubs.

Two years after Loan. Our best sighing since John McGinn. He’s ducking brilliant, no player in Scotland outside the old firm is better.

Leigh Monday tho?

03-10-2020, 04:11 AM

I do

Come on Ron, prove me wrong and sign Campbell.... 😉

18Craig75
03-10-2020, 06:17 AM

The usual suspects on here are quiet at the moment, but rest assured they’ll raise their head again when something negative occurs. Probably if Hearts were to put us out the cup 🤯😂

03-10-2020, 06:35 AM
Such a good point.

We’ve somehow managed to have an unbelievable transfer window and barely anyone has noticed until now.

If Hamilton had scored that other penalty’s d it had ended up 3. 3 there would of been plenty complaining
As it turned out we held on but we still don’t have depth of squad needed if we get a few injuries imo
But under Covid circumstances we are doing better than other teams outright old firm

03-10-2020, 06:47 AM

I hope we get Magennis over the line in time for Sportsound today - not that I will be listening, but I will relish the reports of Tom English imploding and moaning about Rons disgusting behaviour in paying to sign players, while simultaneously praising Dave Cormack for getting his teeth whitened or something.

03-10-2020, 06:51 AM
I hope we get Magennis over the line in time for Sportsound today - not that I will be listening, but I will relish the reports of Tom English imploding and moaning about Rons disgusting behaviour in paying to sign players, while simultaneously praising Dave Cormack for getting his teeth whitened or something.

It’s a joke mate, but got to the stage like you I no longer listen. I’d love to know if we’ve actually spent any money beyond what we took in from transfers and wages saved from loanees and out of contract players who left in the summer. Of course none of our enlightened media will even consider that possibility.

03-10-2020, 06:52 AM

Sure it is a loan for this season with perm at the end.

Keyser Sauzee
03-10-2020, 07:03 AM

One year loan with a one year permanent to follow.

03-10-2020, 07:05 AM
If Hamilton had scored that other penalty’s d it had ended up 3. 3 there would of been plenty complaining
As it turned out we held on but we still don’t have depth of squad needed if we get a few injuries imo
But under Covid circumstances we are doing better than other teams outright old firm

If Hamilton had scored their first penalty then the flow of the game would have changed to that of the one where Rocky saved it. There’s no telling what would have happened had they scored.

At the end of the day, we won, 3 points in the bag and we move onto the next game...plus see if there’s anymore transfer activity.

03-10-2020, 07:09 AM
It’s a joke mate, but got to the stage like you I no longer listen. I’d love to know if we’ve actually spent any money beyond what we took in from transfers and wages saved from loanees and out of contract players who left in the summer. Of course none of our enlightened media will even consider that possibility.

They’ve done an impressive job tbf, if you get in a debate with a fan from another club they seem to forget the number of players Hibs have sold for money.

Most just put -250k as our transfer activity for signing Nisbet.

Shows the impact of lazy, opinionated “journalism” in football realms. Worrying to think it’s impact on things more serious.

Hope we sign more players...hope their blood boils, get it right up them.

03-10-2020, 07:18 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kyle-magennis-hibs-move-leaves-22784854

How good does that sound 👌

Key bits below - Goodwin doesn't sound happy

“He was our captain and I made him our captain in the summer because I think he’s one of the best midfielders in the country. You see the applause for McCrorie, Ferguson and Campbell. Kyle is a similar mould but he is not our player any more.

"Hibs are very lucky to get him. I am gutted to lose him but unfortunately something happened yesterday into last night. A bid was too good to turn down and he’s no longer our player.

03-10-2020, 07:37 AM
They’ve done an impressive job tbf, if you get in a debate with a fan from another club they seem to forget the number of players Hibs have sold for money.

Most just put -250k as our transfer activity for signing Nisbet.

Shows the impact of lazy, opinionated “journalism” in football realms. Worrying to think it’s impact on things more serious.

Hope we sign more players...hope their blood boils, get it right up them.

I genuinely don’t get why we receive such a hard time from the media, other than bias towards the Championship club from a couple of clowns. We typically do things the right way, make little to no fuss. Contrast that with Budge, her constant statements, total incompetence and yet she’s still described as a great businesswoman. It’s absolutely mental. I hope we hammer them in the semi and Nisbet and Magennis are at the forefront that evening.

147lothian
03-10-2020, 07:38 AM
Key bits below - Goodwin doesn't sound happy

“He was our captain and I made him our captain in the summer because I think he’s one of the best midfielders in the country. You see the applause for McCrorie, Ferguson and Campbell. Kyle is a similar mould but he is not our player any more.

"Hibs are very lucky to get him. I am gutted to lose him but unfortunately something happened yesterday into last night. A bid was too good to turn down and he’s no longer our player.

Considering midfield is the area we need to strengthen, how good does Jim's comments sound, he's clearly not happy with his chairman.

03-10-2020, 07:43 AM
Big bad Hibs aren’t thinking about St Mirren and their injuries!!

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/buddie-banter-late-move-st-22776700?amp_js_v=0.1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D&utm_source=taboola&utm_medium=display&utm_campaign=organic

I get this must be a St Mirren fan writing this column but my word it really is dreadful. Written through what I can only assume were tear filled eyes.

03-10-2020, 07:45 AM

Ronnie they didn’t though and we’ve another 3 points in the bag. All if’s buts and maybes.

I do however agree we need at least 1 more quality signing after Magennis signs.

03-10-2020, 07:54 AM
I genuinely don’t get why we receive such a hard time from the media, other than bias towards the Championship club from a couple of clowns. We typically do things the right way, make little to no fuss. Contrast that with Budge, her constant statements, total incompetence and yet she’s still described as a great businesswoman. It’s absolutely mental. I hope we hammer them in the semi and Nisbet and Magennis are at the forefront that evening.

I think the fact that Hibs make no fuss and just get on with things seems to rile them.

I dont understand it, but can you imagine the fuss if we spent £15m on a stand which included unfinished internals, poor views from some seats, awful journalist area etc etc.

We seem to revel in not sucking up to the BBC, and suffer accordingly.

Dont think it really matters though - its not like Tom English etc had any impact on Hearts going down.

The Green Sea
03-10-2020, 07:55 AM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/buddie-banter-late-move-st-22776700?amp_js_v=0.1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D&utm_source=taboola&utm_medium=display&utm_campaign=organic

I get this must be a St Mirren fan writing this column but my word it really is dreadful. Written through what I can only assume were tear filled eyes.

What an awful article. The way they throw in McGregor and Mallan like we (and almost inferring Jack Ross) signed them both from St Mirren is really poor. Can that article be classed as journalism?

03-10-2020, 08:05 AM
Here we go

Derek McInnes has revealed he hopes to get a new signing in the door before Monday’s transfer deadline.

The Aberdeen boss sold Scott McKenna for £3million last week and at the time he didn’t think he’d get anyone else in.

But he’s held talks with chairman Dave Cormack and hopes to get more new signings in before the window slams shut.

Wouldn't bet against that being Magennis. Until I see the photo with him holding a Hibs Scarf above his head on our official website I won't stop believing Aberdeen will gazump us at the last minute.

03-10-2020, 08:06 AM
What an awful article. The way they throw in McGregor and Mallan like we (and almost inferring Jack Ross) signed them both from St Mirren is really poor. Can that article be classed as journalism?

Nope. Nothing in the Record has been journalism for years. Remember the grief we got from Jackson over the years.

03-10-2020, 08:09 AM
I still think there is at least one more to come in. JR said after the Celtic game that we were still short in a couple of areas. Hibs will be doing their usual and keeping things close to their chests. Frustrating for us fans but the best way to do our business. GGTTH

03-10-2020, 08:09 AM
Wouldn't bet against that being Magennis. Until I see the photo with him holding a Hibs Scarf above his head on our official website I won't stop believing Aberdeen will gazump us at the last minute.

To be fair seeing him with a Hibs facemask on is just as good, there’s no chance he would if there was a chance he’d be going back. Deal I’d imagine is done and just awaiting a few formalities to take place, ie not taking the first teams eye off the ball last night. He’ll sign before lunchtime today.

03-10-2020, 08:14 AM
This is turning out to be a decent transfer window. I’m delighted that we’ve streamlined the squad size and are now concentrating on raising the quality of the squad. I also like the fact that we are trying to sign young Scottish players that have experience of playing first team football. The Old Firm have cheery picked the best young players for years and I’m delighted that Hibs are looking at players with potential and taking a risk by spending on transfer fees to get them in. I’m told by a St Mirren season ticket holder that Magennis was a better player for them than John McGinn so hopefully he’ll kick on in the same way.

03-10-2020, 08:21 AM

For the life of me ive no idea why any Hibs fan pays any attention to this Hun rag - best ignored mate

03-10-2020, 08:22 AM
This is turning out to be a decent transfer window. I’m delighted that we’ve streamlined the squad size and are now concentrating on raising the quality of the squad. I also like the fact that we are trying to sign young Scottish players that have experience of playing first team football. The Old Firm have cheery picked the best young players for years and I’m delighted that Hibs are looking at players with potential and taking a risk by spending on transfer fees to get them in. I’m told by a St Mirren season ticket holder that Magennis was a better player for them than John McGinn so hopefully he’ll kick on in the same way.

Agree about the quality side of things. Gogic, Murphy and Nisbet are massive upgrades on what we had before. Wright has a bit to go to show that. Forget about the goalie as well but we’ll get a look at him in the next three games.

Still think we’re light defensively if anything happens in that area.

davy67 +
03-10-2020, 08:24 AM

I certainly had tears in my eyes as I read it , not sure that they were tears of sympathy though :wink:

03-10-2020, 08:32 AM

The column is literally called "buddie banter" I think it's probably fair to assume it is a St mirren fan writing it.

The column is called buddie banter. Of course its a St mirren fan.

03-10-2020, 08:34 AM
The column is called buddie banter. Of course its a St mirren fan.

That’s why I said “I get this must be a St Mirren fan writing this column”.

03-10-2020, 08:44 AM
I certainly had tears in my eyes as I read it , not sure that they were tears of sympathy though :wink:

Same, it’s a ridiculous article. Are clubs only allowed to sign players early in the window? He forgets Hibs actually tried to give St Mirren more notice but they knocked back the bids as well.

As for this transfer window, I think this is the first window i can ever recall where there has been a very clear strategy to the signings, where you can tick a series of boxes that apply to each signing (know the Scottish game, played first team football at a good level, fits a position we desperately needed etc).

That’s not to say i think previous players have been brought in randomly, i just think it’s evident that we now have a better idea of what will work for us.

I’d love us to get Campbell but i can’t see it happening. As it is, and assuming Magennis signs, i think it gives us a really strong core to the team.

We have (imho) one of the best keepers in the league, the best young centre half in the league, one of the best young midfielders in the league (two if Campbell can be acquired), one of the best young strikers in the league (pairing with one of the best strikers in the league).

Remembering that Boyle, one of the best players in the league, was enticed to sign a new contract this summer, we’ve shown the clichèd “statement of intent” this window. I don’t think there’s any doubt that Ron Gordon means business and that the club have committed to a very clear strategy.

It’s brilliant, imho.

03-10-2020, 08:53 AM
Yes, I don’t think we get to the stage of bidding for players if it’s just as a plan B. Wouldn’t be fair on the player or his club to potentially turn his head like that.

Loving the apparent strategy of the club just now. Buy low sell high, it’s not a new strategy but it makes so much sense, it’s amazing it’s taken us so long to start doing it.

To true bingo. I reckon Big Ron is financing these deals out his own pocket. Taking advantage of the COVID situation. Speculate to accumulate.

03-10-2020, 09:12 AM

If Hamilton had scored their 2nd penalty every aspwct of the game every kick of the game changes after that. It's to simplistic to say it finishes 3-3 😁 i get what you mean though.

03-10-2020, 09:18 AM

Them scoring then totally changes the rest of the game. I'd say there is pretty much zero chance it ends 3-3.

Dazzjw1875
03-10-2020, 09:42 AM
If Hamilton had scored their 2nd penalty every aspwct of the game every kick of the game changes after that. It's to simplistic to say it finishes 3-3 😁 i get what you mean though.

Could also say if their keeper hadn't had the game of his life we would've score atleast 6-7 goals haha

03-10-2020, 09:50 AM
To true bingo. I reckon Big Ron is financing these deals out his own pocket. Taking advantage of the COVID situation. Speculate to accumulate.

I don’t think he is. Seemed pretty clear at the AGM to me that he’d put in all he was going to, anything additional would just be a loan he’d expect paid back in full.

03-10-2020, 10:16 AM
For perspective

First team players out - Bogdan, Naismith, Whittaker, Jackson, James, Docherty, Omeonga, Horgan, Kamberi and McNulty.

First team players in - Barnes, Gogic, Magennis, McGinn, Wright, Murphy, Nisbet

Four of the departures may have been loan players, but we still had to contribute to their wages. And a few fringe players away as well. We also got fees for Kamberi, Horgan and Jackson to set against the fees paid for Nisbet and Magennis.

It looks like our expenditure is at a similar level to last season, just as Aberdeen and Hearts.

03-10-2020, 10:21 AM
For perspective

First team players out - Bogdan, Naismith, Whittaker, Jackson, James, Docherty, Omeonga, Horgan, Kamberi and McNulty.

First team players in - Barnes, Gogic, Magennis, Wright, Murphy, Nisbet

Four of the departures may have been loan players, but we still had to contribute to their wages. And a few fringe players away as well. We also got fees for Kamberi, Horgan and Jackson to set against the fees paid for Nisbet and Magennis.

It looks like our expenditure is at a similar level to last season, just as Aberdeen and Hearts.

Seems a fair summation of the situation, something we are unlikely to see any of our media pointing out.

03-10-2020, 10:27 AM
For perspective

First team players in - Barnes, Gogic, Magennis, Wright, Murphy, Nisbet

We signed Stephen McGinn as well.

03-10-2020, 10:34 AM
We signed Stephen McGinn as well.

I'm going to claim he doesn't count as he's not played yet (and then do a quick edit!)

03-10-2020, 10:41 AM
Ronnie they didn’t though and we’ve another 3 points in the bag. All if’s buts and maybes.

I do however agree we need at least 1 more quality signing after Magennis signs.

Magenis is a defensive midfielder but Ross tended to play him in a more forward role
Hopefully can improve on his scoring rate
But will be an asset if he can get match fit and avoid another injury
Defo hoping for one more and then maybe another free agent once window closes

03-10-2020, 10:42 AM

Wouldn't be surprised if that is the case, looks like Nisbet has been a steal at 250k, very shrewd investment and I suspect they see the same in Maginnes.

rossevenil
03-10-2020, 10:52 AM

Add in the fact we actually signed Darren after Rangers released him,nowt to do with St Mirren!

03-10-2020, 10:54 AM
This helps tell us about what kind of player Magennis is and what he'd likely bring to Hibs. Well worth a read

https://ttpo.substack.com/p/why-are-hibs-signing-kyle-magennis?r=65bkm&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=email&utm_source=twitter

03-10-2020, 10:58 AM
This helps tell us about what kind of player Magennis is and what he'd like to play bring to Hibs. Well worth a read

https://ttpo.substack.com/p/why-are-hibs-signing-kyle-magennis?r=65bkm&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=email&utm_source=twitter

Good that....they have some good articles that crew...thanks for sharing

03-10-2020, 11:00 AM
This helps tell us about what kind of player Magennis is and what he'd like to play bring to Hibs. Well worth a read

All sounds positive👍

EI255
03-10-2020, 11:01 AM
The column is called buddie banter. Of course its a St mirren fan.Presumably Ben Ramage who wrote that rubbish is a St Mirren fan?

He needs to learn quickly that football isn't always a respectful, kind place.

Hibs are just going about their business in a professional manner, as always. Looking for quality talent, like every other club.

If it hurts you then suck it.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

03-10-2020, 01:31 PM
BREAKING: #CreweAlex's game at Oxford has been called off.

It comes as Ryan Wintle has tested positive for coronavirus. https://t.co/gEAH9LSRkS

03-10-2020, 01:40 PM

It comes as Ryan Wintle has tested positive for coronavirus. https://t.co/gEAH9LSRkS

Well that rules out us signing him as he won’t be able to have a medical.

147lothian
03-10-2020, 01:43 PM
This helps tell us about what kind of player Magennis is and what he'd likely bring to Hibs. Well worth a read

Thanks for posting this, a very interesting read:aok:

BlackSheep
03-10-2020, 02:06 PM
Well that rules out us signing him as he won’t be able to have a medical.

This poses an interesting question though doesn’t it... I doubt the football authorities have theorised such a scenario!

Can we sign a player subject to a medical so all the paperwork is registered on time with a clause that the move stops should they fail a medical after isolation.... or can they do a medical in isolation?

EI255
03-10-2020, 02:14 PM
Add in the fact we actually signed Darren after Rangers released him,nowt to do with St Mirren!Amateurish reporting by a rag top that appeals to jakies.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

03-10-2020, 02:26 PM
This poses an interesting question though doesn’t it... I doubt the football authorities have theorised such a scenario!

Can we sign a player subject to a medical so all the paperwork is registered on time with a clause that the move stops should they fail a medical after isolation.... or can they do a medical in isolation?

No one actually knows what effect COVID has on long term health either. Some folk ‘could’ have long term health issues which may be a problem for professional sports people. Who knows 😳

BlackSheep
03-10-2020, 02:36 PM
No one actually knows what effect COVID has on long term health either. Some folk ‘could’ have long term health issues which may be a problem for professional sports people. Who knows 😳

This is true, who knows indeed.... what a strange time we live in.

andrew70
03-10-2020, 02:49 PM

Apparently he’d undertaken a test privately possibly with a view to a move and it came back positive. Crewe wanted to play but Oxford refused is the gist of what I got Karl Robinson’s interview.

03-10-2020, 03:32 PM
Could also say if their keeper hadn't had the game of his life we would've score atleast 6-7 goals haha

Nah all of them straight at him. If they had been placed away from their keeper we woul be talking about a great performance. If we are thinking of the same three chances their keeper barely has to move his feet only his upper body which anyone can do. We had an okay first half and a secknd half to forget if we can avoid nightmares.

03-10-2020, 03:46 PM
Nah all of them straight at him. If they had been placed away from their keeper we woul be talking about a great performance. If we are thinking of the same three chances their keeper barely has to move his feet only his upper body which anyone can do. We had an okay first half and a secknd half to forget if we can avoid nightmares.

Go on then.

03-10-2020, 03:50 PM
Go on then.

I just did. Three tines. Easier than saving your cheap shot.

03-10-2020, 03:52 PM
I just did. Three tines. Easier than saving your cheap shot.

03-10-2020, 03:55 PM

Thumbs up.

03-10-2020, 05:57 PM
Daily Mail 👀

Burnley make approach for Dundee United striker Lawrence Shankland in £500,000 loan deal as Clarets scouts watch Tangerines striker in Livingston defeat on Friday night

03-10-2020, 06:05 PM
hope dundee utd tell them to bolt, cheeky gits

03-10-2020, 06:06 PM
Daily Mail 👀

Burnley make approach for Dundee United striker Lawrence Shankland in £500,000 loan deal as Clarets scouts watch Tangerines striker in Livingston defeat on Friday night

Well that’s from left field!

03-10-2020, 06:11 PM
Daily Mail 👀

That's about his weekly wage 😉

03-10-2020, 06:14 PM
Such a good point.

We’ve absolutely nothing to complain about at the moment.Tom English and Ewen Murray have most definitely noticed [emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

03-10-2020, 07:52 PM
Such a good point.

Please tell our fellow supporters who lost their minds when we signed Stephen McGinn (who quite understandably is a bit over shadowed but I’m sure will proved to be a good signing).

03-10-2020, 07:54 PM
Please tell our fellow supporters who lost their minds when we signed Stephen McGinn (who quite understandably is a bit over shadowed but I’m sure will proved to be a good signing).

Not a single person lost thier minds.

03-10-2020, 07:55 PM
Daily Mail 👀

That’s the ultimate definition of Tin Pot.

King Cosell
03-10-2020, 08:19 PM
Daily Mail 👀

If that deal went through, and he done well, he could be worth £20 million at the end of the season. Sheff Utd paid £20 million for McBurnie, West Brom paid £15 million for Burke (fee to Sheff Utd undisclosed, I think). Even if he scored 25 goals in Scotland this season, they wouldn't get that price.

03-10-2020, 09:12 PM
Just wait a little longer for Magennis 👀👀👀👀👀

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1312499523638362112?s=19

03-10-2020, 10:23 PM
Just wait a little longer for Magennis 👀👀👀👀👀

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1312499523638362112?s=19

More than 1 im thinking

Dazzjw1875
03-10-2020, 10:30 PM
More than 1 im thinking

Yeah im thinking its gonna be a double announcement on Monday were waiting on the other??

03-10-2020, 11:13 PM
yeah im thinking its gonna be a double announcement on monday were waiting on the other??

lg9?

03-10-2020, 11:21 PM
Reports of cavani to Manchester United on a two year deal.

03-10-2020, 11:22 PM
lg9?

Sounds mental but I don’t think he would be guaranteed the game time needed. Jamie Murphy is flying and he would be playing wide left.

03-10-2020, 11:23 PM
Reports of cavani to Manchester United on a two year deal.

Just what they need.

03-10-2020, 11:36 PM
Yeah im thinking its gonna be a double announcement on Monday were waiting on the other??

Or maybe waiting for one of our players to agree terms with St Mirren to head in the opposite direction.

03-10-2020, 11:43 PM
Or maybe waiting for one of our players to agree terms with St Mirren to head in the opposite direction.

Can’t see it. Fitzpatrick will want some money just now and a sell on clause like SJM.

03-10-2020, 11:45 PM
Sounds mental but I don’t think he would be guaranteed the game time needed. Jamie Murphy is flying and he would be playing wide left.

You're right.

That sounds mental. A fit lg is behind only edouard and morelos in terms of Premier league strikers.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 06:23 AM
Can’t see it. Fitzpatrick will want some money just now and a sell on clause like SJM.Perhaps it is some money and a player

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Souter96Mac
04-10-2020, 07:16 AM
Think it would be very bold if United let Shankland go before the window closes. Their game against Livi showed how much they are lacking going forward currently. They managed 1 shot on Friday, and that was the goal.

Tynie01011973
04-10-2020, 07:31 AM

You think LG will be playing wide left?

More likely to be on right cutting inside onto his left foot IMHO

04-10-2020, 07:36 AM
You're right.

That sounds mental. A fit lg is behind only edouard and morelos in terms of Premier league strikers.

There hasn’t been a fit LG for a long time.

NC1875
04-10-2020, 07:46 AM
There hasn’t been a fit LG for a long time.

Where’s this LG chat coming from ? Wishful thinking or anything in it ? Can’t see it myself

04-10-2020, 07:58 AM
Quite right to be unhappy with that if he actually is the alternative. We were signing better central midfielders in the championship.

Not a single person lost thier minds.

Not a dig, just pointing out a post where you were unhappy at the S McGinn signing.

04-10-2020, 08:10 AM
Think it would be very bold if United let Shankland go before the window closes. Their game against Livi showed how much they are lacking going forward currently. They managed 1 shot on Friday, and that was the goal.

Did Shankland not play v Livingston? If not assume he is definitely moving

04-10-2020, 08:14 AM
More than 1 im thinking

Here’s hoping [emoji1695]

04-10-2020, 08:33 AM
Not a dig, just pointing out a post where you were unhappy at the S McGinn signing.

I was yes. I don't think my reaction was over the top, though.

04-10-2020, 08:44 AM
I was yes. I don't think my reaction was over the top, though.

I agree with your other post that no one lost their minds but a good few questioned the signing including yourself, anyway all in the past as we're still obviously trying to strengthen with the Magennis immanent signing.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 08:55 AM
I agree with your other post that no one lost their minds but a good few questioned the signing including yourself, anyway all in the past as we're still obviously trying to strengthen with the Magennis immanent signing.Very strange that it is not yet announced. Hopefully not a last minute intervention by another club [emoji849][emoji849]

Duke of Currie
04-10-2020, 09:00 AM

I know we are operating with a lighter squad , but just a hunch (and only a hunch) with wanting to operate a leaner squad with lower costs , I think Mallan looks surplus to requirements and could be offered as part of a sweetener , even if its on loan.

If Hibs get the player in , St Mirren , bottom of the league dont have time to get another player in so can see cash and player being offered.
Mallan also has the St Mirren history so makes it an educated guess

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 09:06 AM
I know we are operating with a lighter squad , but just a hunch (and only a hunch) with wanting to operate a leaner squad with lower costs , I think Mallan looks surplus to requirements and could be offered as part of a sweetener , even if its on loan.

If Hibs get the player in , St Mirren , bottom of the league dont have time to get another player in so can see cash and player being offered.
Mallan also has the St Mirren history so makes it an educated guessI hoped we were using mallan in the campbell deal .[emoji2958][emoji2958]

04-10-2020, 09:06 AM
Very strange that it is not yet announced. Hopefully not a last minute intervention by another club [emoji849][emoji849]

More likely waiting until the last day of the window to announce others also imo.

04-10-2020, 09:13 AM
Just what they need.Can he play centre half as they are useless through through the middle. Maguire is a liability.

Dmas
04-10-2020, 09:14 AM

Mallan also has the St Mirren history so makes it an educated guess

I wouldn't say Mallan is surplus, not with Allan out for an unknow period, I think its actually a time where Mallan can make a position his own once he's up to speed

I think we'll be quite strict on the results of the medical with a decent fee involved and I think one more joining him for an announcement tomorrow isn't a bad shout either

04-10-2020, 09:30 AM
Where do we get that LG may be coming from that tweet by Hibs ??, we are told to wait, im hoping for other players but just dont think it will be LG, unless Cellic know that we could take more point off the gers to help their goal of 10 titles, also is MB raving about Murphy and calling him a wizard ??. I dont do twitter so get snippets from on here.
B

04-10-2020, 09:32 AM
I wouldn't say Mallan is surplus, not with Allan out for an unknow period, I think its actually a time where Mallan can make a position his own once he's up to speed

I think we'll be quite strict on the results of the medical with a decent fee involved and I think one more joining him for an announcement tomorrow isn't a bad shout either

Mallan isn’t the right player for us playing in a 442 formation but I think he would be good in a 3 man midfield alongside Gogic & Newell/Magennis where there would be less expectation on him to contribute defensively and he can hang about between the halfway line and the opposition box

Something like this:

__________________Marciano

______McGinn______Porteous_______Hanlon

____________Gogic_________Magennis

Boyle______________Mallan_____________Murphy

___________Doidge__________Nisbet

04-10-2020, 09:34 AM
Where do we get that LG may be coming from that tweet by Hibs ??, we are told to wait, im hoping for other players but just dont think it will be LG, unless Cellic know that we could take more point off the gers to help their goal of 10 titles, also is MB raving about Murphy and calling him a wizard ??. I dont do twitter so get snippets from on here.
B

It's just the same LG stuff that comes up every window. There has been no suggestion from any vaguely reputable source that he's coming to Hibs

04-10-2020, 09:35 AM
It's just the same LG stuff that comes up every window. There has been no suggestion from any vaguely reputable source that he's coming to Hibs

Cheers Neil.
B

04-10-2020, 09:54 AM
Where’s this LG chat coming from ? Wishful thinking or anything in it ? Can’t see it myself

I was thinking the same

04-10-2020, 10:01 AM
Very strange that it is not yet announced. Hopefully not a last minute intervention by another club [emoji849][emoji849]

just getting all the socials sorted out.

04-10-2020, 10:05 AM
Mallan isn’t the right player for us playing in a 442 formation but I think he would be good in a 3 man midfield alongside Gogic & Newell/Magennis where there would be less expectation on him to contribute defensively and he can hang about between the halfway line and the opposition box

Something like this:

If you go 3 at the back, Gogic isn't as important, with the 3 CH you don't really need a DM. The 3 in the middle would be Magennis, Newell and Mallan. Ross seems to like playing a variety of systems depending who he plays.

04-10-2020, 10:09 AM

Griffiths on the bench for Celtic. No idea why people want to link him with Hibs this window

04-10-2020, 10:10 AM
If you go 3 at the back, Gogic isn't as important, with the 3 CH you don't really need a DM. The 3 in the middle would be Magennis, Newell and Mallan. Ross seems to like playing a variety of systems depending who he plays.

He would be very important in that 11 as we would get almost no protection from the wingers in the wide areas. :greengrin

04-10-2020, 10:12 AM

We’ve played with a back three, and Gogic in the middle of the park, multiple times already this season. Gogic gets about the pitch as well. Regardless of formation, I’m willing to bet he remains one of the first names on the team sheet.

04-10-2020, 10:13 AM

Gogic drops in the CB area when one of the 3 steps out to start an attack. There is a role for him in that system

He would be very important in that 11 as we would get almost no protection from the wingers in the wide areas. :greengrin

Tbh I wouldn't be playing wingers with 3 at the back, I didn't choose that team. 😁👍

When Lennon played 3 at the back we had that brilliant midfield and Dylan wasn't a DM in the Gogic mould, that was my point.

St Johnstone set to sign Israeli striker Guy Melamed @scotsunsport

https://t.co/wkzqUM6xwB

04-10-2020, 10:16 AM

If we played with full-backs rather than wingers out wide then I’d agree but with Murphy and Boyle I’d say Gogic becomes even more important in dropping back to cover the space in the middle if Hanlon or McGinn are pulled out wide from the back three.

All three of those defenders are also capable and willing to carry the ball up the field themselves and if they do that you would want someone in there capable of breaking up the play in midfield or stepping back and covering them if there is a turnaround of play and they are caught out of position.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 10:18 AM
If you go 3 at the back, Gogic isn't as important, with the 3 CH you don't really need a DM. The 3 in the middle would be Magennis, Newell and Mallan. Ross seems to like playing a variety of systems depending who he plays.Not following that logic three at the back is exactly when you want a Gogic in front .
In fact i can't think of any formation that i wouldn't want him playing where he does.
Love to see his stats he seems to all over the park must do some milage in a match.

04-10-2020, 10:18 AM

Something like this:

Murphy at Wing back👀

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 10:22 AM
I wonder if we are following up our interest in campbell or do people think thats dead in the water?

04-10-2020, 10:26 AM
I wonder if we are following up our interest in campbell or do people think thats dead in the water?

I think that might be dead for now with us making him an offer in the summer if he decides not to sign a new deal.

04-10-2020, 11:00 AM

He would be a souper signing if we could get him.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 11:44 AM
He would be a souper signing if we could get him.Dont want to leek anything but his stock is high.

04-10-2020, 11:45 AM
Not following that logic three at the back is exactly when you want a Gogic in front .
In fact i can't think of any formation that i wouldn't want him playing where he does.
Love to see his stats he seems to all over the park must do some milage in a match.

We played some of the best football in years playing a back 3 with Dylan playing the deeper role, he's nothing like Gogic. Gogic excels when it's a back 4 as he covers the CH's if they get dragged wide, Milligan did the exact same when he was here.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 11:55 AM
We played some of the best football in years playing a back 3 with Dylan playing the deeper role, he's nothing like Gogic. Gogic excels when it's a back 4 as he covers the CH's if they get dragged wide, Milligan did the exact same when he was here.The thing is he actually covers a huge area he does not just sit in front of the defence although agree that is his main role . Our full backs move over to cover the centre halfs thats not his role at least thats how i see it ..
He is a hell of a player much better than i thought just glad we have him.

04-10-2020, 12:02 PM
We’ve played with a back three, and Gogic in the middle of the park, multiple times already this season. Gogic gets about the pitch as well. Regardless of formation, I’m willing to bet he remains one of the first names on the team sheet.

I'm not sure we've played a back 3 at all this season. To me it seems we've played a back 4, albeit Doig has had licence to attack, mostly because he's had few direct opponents. McGinn has also been pretty much hugging the touchline which is not where you expect the right CB in a back 3 to be.

04-10-2020, 12:04 PM
The thing is he actually covers a huge area he does not just sit in front of the defence although agree that is his main role . Our full backs move over to cover the centre halfs thats not his role at least thats how i see it ..
He is a hell of a player much better than i thought just glad we have him.

His workrate is immense but technique wise lacks a bit, his 1st touch at times us pretty poor but if you remember his interview he did say that his job was to win back the ball and give it to the technical players, he knows his limitations. What I have liked in the recruitment is we have players who can mix it up depending who we play, Magennis will give us another dimension with his energy and technique.

Greenworld
04-10-2020, 12:06 PM
His workrate is immense but technique wise lacks a bit, his 1st touch at times us pretty poor but if you remember his interview he did say that his job was to win back the ball and give it to the technical players, he knows his limitations. What I have liked in the recruitment is we have players who can mix it up depending who we play, Magennis will give us another dimension with his energy and technique.Agree

18Craig75
04-10-2020, 12:11 PM
Beram Kayal has had offers from Scottish clubs since leaving Brighton. Wonder if we’re one of them. Ex Celtic Israeli midfielder.

04-10-2020, 12:13 PM
His workrate is immense but technique wise lacks a bit, his 1st touch at times us pretty poor but if you remember his interview he did say that his job was to win back the ball and give it to the technical players, he knows his limitations. What I have liked in the recruitment is we have players who can mix it up depending who we play, Magennis will give us another dimension with his energy and technique.

I don’t think there’s much wrong with his technique, it’s sort of thrown at every defensive midfielder but he’s very capable on the ball as well.

04-10-2020, 12:28 PM
Beram Kayal has had offers from Scottish clubs since leaving Brighton. Wonder if we’re one of them. Ex Celtic Israeli midfielder.

Probably Aberdeen.