View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53

04-10-2020, 12:35 PM
Alan Nixon tweets

CELTIC. Looking into a loan or a permanent deal for Robert Snodgrass. Still plays both sides and has a goal and assist in him. WEST HAM used in League Cup games so far. But Moyes likes him. Ideal add for Lennon if can get agreement.

04-10-2020, 12:39 PM
I don’t think there’s much wrong with his technique, it’s sort of thrown at every defensive midfielder but he’s very capable on the ball as well.
I think his technique is ok Matty but he seems to sometimes be confused as to what to do. He often has a good bit space in front of him but seems reluctant to use it. He hesitates then when he decides to go the space is closed & he gives the ball away. I'm very happy with him but paradoxically I think it's actually his own lack of belief in his technique that causes him problems.

04-10-2020, 12:43 PM
He would be a souper signing if we could get him.

Dont want to leek anything but his stock is high.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

He’s certainly a broth of a boy.

04-10-2020, 12:59 PM
It's just the same LG stuff that comes up every window. There has been no suggestion from any vaguely reputable source that he's coming to Hibs

Not a chance ........ comes on today as a late sub and changes the game for Celtic. Lennon would be crucified if he loaned LG to anyone.

04-10-2020, 03:50 PM
I think my only worry now is if Doidge or Nisbet pick up an injury, Gullan has shown in spells he could fill in for Nisbet and I've not seen enough of Ryan but Jack Ross must haigh faith in them both.

04-10-2020, 03:54 PM
Not a single person lost thier minds.
Their, pedantic I know

04-10-2020, 04:07 PM
I think my only worry now is if Doidge or Nisbet pick up an injury, Gullan has shown in spells he could fill in for Nisbet and I've not seen enough of Ryan but Jack Ross must haigh faith in them both.

The two youngsters both need game to to show what they can do but Niether will start in League
Hopefully they will shine in up coming Cup Games as assume will get more game time in these
We can bring in another Striker in January window if it’s seen as priority then

05-10-2020, 06:05 AM
Transfer deadline day today then.

Is it 11pm the window slams shut? What are we expecting to see coming in? Are we at risk of losing anybody?

I think we will sign Magennis and a youngster on loan form a club down south, probably a striker.

Wouldn’t surprise me if we see a departure as well, Mallan or Hallberg possibly but maybe even Gullane or Shanley going out on loan (if we do sign a replacement)

05-10-2020, 06:07 AM

Is it 11pm the window slams shut? What are we expecting to see coming in? Are we at risk of losing anybody?

I think we will sign Magennis and a youngster on loan form a club down south, probably a striker.

Wouldn’t surprise me if we see a departure as well, Mallan or Hallberg possibly but maybe even Gullane or Shanley going out on loan (if we do sign a replacement)

Personally expect more than one in as you say one or two loans possibly coming in.

05-10-2020, 06:38 AM

Exciting day ahead.

Hopefully we can get a couple in.

Ideally I want to see Magennis and Campbell holding a double sized scarf above their heads.

Not sure when the window closes.

05-10-2020, 06:42 AM
Is it today Jackson Irvine is supposedly involved in a bounce game?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-10-2020, 06:49 AM

Hadn't read that anywhere. Not sure if there is a joke in there but can't see a bounce game anfew days before a cup tie

Dmas
05-10-2020, 07:00 AM
Is there still a deadline day thread where talk of snacks and terrible eating habits is more welcome than actual transfers?

05-10-2020, 07:01 AM
Is there still a deadline day thread where talk of snacks and terrible eating habits is more welcome than actual transfers?We need 4 threads

One for hibs news

One for other clubs news

One for snack news

One for sky sports presenters clothing news

05-10-2020, 07:04 AM
EEN reckon Magennis will be the only activity of note for us today.

05-10-2020, 07:23 AM
Celtic close to signing Diego Laxalt a left back/wingback

Greenworld
05-10-2020, 07:30 AM

Wouldn’t surprise me if we see a departure as well, Mallan or Hallberg possibly but maybe even Gullane or Shanley going out on loan (if we do sign a replacement)Think its midnight for Scotland

05-10-2020, 07:35 AM
I'm not sure we've played a back 3 at all this season. To me it seems we've played a back 4, albeit Doig has had licence to attack, mostly because he's had few direct opponents. McGinn has also been pretty much hugging the touchline which is not where you expect the right CB in a back 3 to be.

We’ve played a back 3 on a number of occasions this season

Greenworld
05-10-2020, 07:36 AM

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkTell us more not heard anything about this

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 07:48 AM
Celtic close to signing Diego Laxalt a left back/wingback

Not heard anything, but I still think we'll bring in a player on loan from Celtic today. Unless Lawell is still in the huff with us, it would be in their favour to send us one of their fringe players to help try and take more points off Rangers

05-10-2020, 07:49 AM
EEN reckon Magennis will be the only activity of note for us today.

4 more signings it is then

05-10-2020, 08:04 AM
I'm not sure we've played a back 3 at all this season. To me it seems we've played a back 4, albeit Doig has had licence to attack, mostly because he's had few direct opponents. McGinn has also been pretty much hugging the touchline which is not where you expect the right CB in a back 3 to be.

We have. We’ve rarely went through a 90 minutes without changing shape as well. Ross has spoken about how the likes of McGinn let us flip from a back three to back four without making any subs.

05-10-2020, 08:21 AM
I suspect we'll announce Magennis and if any other targets become available we'll take a punt.

05-10-2020, 08:31 AM
I’d have thought we’d bring in a CH on loan as I don’t think we have enough cover there.

05-10-2020, 08:32 AM
Alan Nixon tweets

Rangers. Search for an attacking midfielder. Inquiry for Bacuna at Huddersfield. Loan with a view. Rejected at this point.

05-10-2020, 08:35 AM
I’d have thought we’d bring in a CH on loan as I don’t think we have enough cover there.

We have Daz, SPM and Gogic could cover there if required, although not ideal. I’d rather another forward and midfielder.

05-10-2020, 08:35 AM
Aberdeen who wont be making any signings are close to signing Greg Leigh

05-10-2020, 08:37 AM
Aberdeen who wont be making any signings are close to signing Greg Leigh

Hasn't he played with them before?

05-10-2020, 08:40 AM

On loan last season I believe, he's been released so it'll be a permanent deal this time.

05-10-2020, 08:41 AM

Yeah he was on loan last season and is a right back, he may be out of contract.

05-10-2020, 09:30 AM
Transfer deadline day LIVE: Dundee United desperate to land Scotland striker Marc McNulty #DUFC

https://t.co/njtjKcLtJt https://t.co/Rf1SieTB6K

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 09:37 AM
Transfer deadline day LIVE: Dundee United desperate to land Scotland striker Marc McNulty #DUFC

I wonder if this is to partner Shankland or replace?

I think McNulty needs a permanent club, with a good preseason behind him to get the best out of him. All of these scattered loan moves, getting signed on deadline days, will not do him any good imo.

05-10-2020, 09:45 AM

Good luck to them, they'll be paying more than he's worth.

05-10-2020, 09:56 AM

Interesting narrative switch on Morelos - Sevco now apparently desperate to keep him after desperately hawking him for the past year. Maybe strong start to the season plus income from Europa League has changed their minds?

05-10-2020, 10:01 AM
Livingston looking at making another signing, no idea how many signings tjey have made this window?

This is their tweet

***Insert double wide eye emoji here alongside emoji of pen in hand to stir up interest amongst supporters and hint that something may be happening but let the tweet stew for a while before saying anything else***

That’s right, isn’t it?

😁

05-10-2020, 10:04 AM
Livingston looking at making another signing, no idea how many signings tjey have made this window?

This is their tweet

***Insert double wide eye emoji here alongside emoji of pen in hand to stir up interest amongst supporters and hint that something may be happening but let the tweet stew for a while before saying anything else***

That’s right, isn’t it?

😁

I like Livi now for some reason.

Sparky isn’t gonna give up his reading wages to go permanently anywhere either.

05-10-2020, 10:09 AM

They must be certain there’s nothing in the betting stuff then, if not then it’s a massive risk.

Dmas
05-10-2020, 10:33 AM
Interesting narrative switch on Morelos - Sevco now apparently desperate to keep him after desperately hawking him for the past year. Maybe strong start to the season plus income from Europa League has changed their minds?

last ditch attempt to drive a fee up is my guess, if they're was a slight thought by a club they where desperate to offload, the price they'd be willing to pay would be lower than the previous offers.

Dmas
05-10-2020, 10:54 AM
Rangers agree a fee for midfielder according to twitter spending a fair amount of cash this season

05-10-2020, 10:58 AM
Rangers agree a fee for midfielder according to twitter spending a fair amount of cash this season

I’m sure they’ve paid back all these guys otherwise English and Murray would be all over it:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/read-full-list-rangers-oldco-11452483.amp

Dmas
05-10-2020, 11:09 AM
I’m sure they’ve paid back all these guys otherwise English and Murray would be all over it:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/read-full-list-rangers-oldco-11452483.amp

Don't be silly, everyone at the BBC are terrified of Jabba, they've already had all Ibrox privilege's removed

EI255
05-10-2020, 11:16 AM
Aberdeen who wont be making any signings are close to signing Greg LeighAberdeen will be keeping a close eye on anything Hibernian do today. The McIness Effect.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Duke of Currie
05-10-2020, 11:24 AM
Aberdeen will be keeping a close eye on anything Hibernian do today. The McIness Effect.

Are Hibs keeping all activity quiet until the last minute to avoid being gazumped

05-10-2020, 11:24 AM
😍| Livingston FC is thrilled to announce the re-signing of former Lion Josh Mullin from Ross County until the end of the season, with the player having the option to agree a further two years at the end of the 2020/21 campaign.

🔗 Full story here - https://t.co/pfcJqwMwrO https://t.co/XzT95dmhgs

Dmas
05-10-2020, 11:25 AM
https://twitter.com/Jack187571/status/1313076223120203778

something coming soon?

05-10-2020, 11:30 AM

something coming soon?

A good old fashioned Bar Scarf. Is that our usual scarf of choice 👀

05-10-2020, 11:52 AM
A good old fashioned Bar Scarf. Is that our usual scarf of choice [emoji102]

It’s not but it is quite frankly the only acceptable hibs scarf

05-10-2020, 11:54 AM
Hibernian Development Squad pair Callum Yeats and Jayden Fairley have agreed season-long loan moves to Stenhousemuir.

05-10-2020, 11:54 AM
It’s not but it is quite frankly the only acceptable hibs scarf
Agreed Bar Scarfs are the only acceptable scarf 😁

05-10-2020, 12:01 PM

something coming soon?

Oft, thats some signing and kept quiet too.

Welcome Lawrence Shankland.

05-10-2020, 12:02 PM
Right that's 1pm. Cmon tae **** Hibs. Just get KM announced and then we can move into Campbell

05-10-2020, 12:06 PM
Right that's 1pm. Cmon tae **** Hibs. Just get KM announced and then we can move into Campbell

05-10-2020, 12:06 PM
Hibernian Development Squad pair Callum Yeats and Jayden Fairley have agreed season-long loan moves to Stenhousemuir.

Where are you reading this?

05-10-2020, 12:17 PM
Everton busy again. £30m for Ben Godfrey from Norwich. Can't say I know anything about him but they are building a decent squad

05-10-2020, 12:24 PM
Magennis and 1 more. 👍🏻

05-10-2020, 12:26 PM
Magennis and 1 more. 👍🏻
Is that what you are hoping for?

05-10-2020, 12:26 PM
Everton busy again. £30m for Ben Godfrey from Norwich. Can't say I know anything about him but they are building a decent squad

£20m. Seems good business. Been a good window for the Toffees

05-10-2020, 12:27 PM
Magennis and 1 more. [emoji1303]Greg Stewart?

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 12:28 PM
Greg Stewart?

Would be delighted with Stewart. Could cover upfront and out wide.

05-10-2020, 12:28 PM
Greg Stewart?

Freddie White has mentioned him on twitter

05-10-2020, 12:37 PM
Agreed Bar Scarfs are the only acceptable scarf 😁

This one's not bad

https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/1-4AAOSwDV1XQ2HC/s-l1600.jpg

05-10-2020, 12:38 PM
Greg Stewart?

Loan-to-buy ala Murphy?

05-10-2020, 12:43 PM

something coming soon?

Looks like he's tried to fool some folk

05-10-2020, 12:45 PM
Is that what you are hoping for?

We are working on a loan. Not got a name unfortunately

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 12:46 PM

Do you know if it's from a specific club?

05-10-2020, 12:47 PM
Hibs still teasing folk on Twitter. Wonder why they're holding off, maybe just for the patter.

05-10-2020, 12:47 PM
Cheers 👍

05-10-2020, 12:50 PM
Ross County FC can announce the signing of midfielder Charlie Lakin on loan from Championship side Birmingham City. The midfielder joins having been at Birmingham since 2017, and after spending last season on-loan at Stevenage.

21-year-old Lakin, is a box-to-box central midfielder that has shown strength in both attacking and defending areas during his career to date. Lakin made twenty appearances scoring two goals on a successful loan spell at League Two Stevenage last campaign

05-10-2020, 12:58 PM
Hibs still teasing folk on Twitter. Wonder why they're holding off, maybe just for the patter.

No idea but I'm comforted in the knowledge that Hibs wouldn't be tweeting teasers if Magennis wasn't all done and dusted.

My optimistic side tells me its going to be a double announcement.

05-10-2020, 01:04 PM
Where are folk seeing Hibs teasing on Twitter? Last few posts have been about Wednesdays game, Happy Hibee, Outside the box, Carabao and John McGinn.

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 01:05 PM
Where are folk seeing Hibs teasing on Twitter? Last few posts have been about Wednesdays game, Happy Hibee, Outside the box, Carabao and John McGinn.

They have been replying to fans tweets.

05-10-2020, 01:06 PM
No idea but I'm comforted in the knowledge that Hibs wouldn't be tweeting teasers if Magennis wasn't all done and dusted.

My optimistic side tells me its going to be a double announcement.

👍

05-10-2020, 01:07 PM
They have been replying to fans tweets.

Right, I see. Time to go check again. I don't really do social media and struggle to understand how it works. Gimme engines and gearboxes anyday!! Luddite!

05-10-2020, 01:10 PM
Right, I see. Time to go check again. I don't really do social media and struggle to understand how it works. Gimme engines and gearboxes anyday!! Luddite!
Once you are on Hibernian Fc's twitter page you can click on the tweets or tweets and replies, this allows you to see any replies to other tweets 👍

05-10-2020, 01:11 PM
We’re no going to get Campbell. I can just tell unfortunately.

Greenworld
05-10-2020, 01:12 PM
[emoji106]

My optimistic side tells me its going to be a double announcement.So does mine Ron is not afraid to splash a bit of cash. He knows now is the best chance to get players when some others are cash tied
For that reason only im hoping we are trying to get campbell in. That would give us a strong midfield to really push Aberdeen .

05-10-2020, 01:15 PM

I would be gobsmacked if anyone outside Celtic got him tbh.

05-10-2020, 01:15 PM
I don’t get why we would do the double announcement when Macgennis on his own is significant.

05-10-2020, 01:16 PM
I don’t get why we would do the double announcement when Macgennis on his own is significant.

Agreed. Better for engagement figures if they spread announcements out, too.

Once you are on Hibernian Fc's twitter page you can click on the tweets or tweets and replies, this allows you to see any replies to other tweets 👍
Cheers, I did know that. Just hadn't put 2+2 together

I really doubt we are even trying for him mate.

05-10-2020, 01:17 PM
I can't remember the last time we did a double announcement.

It's up there with the "unveil new signings at the same time as the new kit" myth.

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 01:17 PM

What's interesting about Campbell is that he's then available for a pre contract in Jan. Well would still be entitled to £500k comp I believe, but imo it would be a steal for a player of his ability. Unless he signs a new deal between now and then.

05-10-2020, 01:18 PM
I really doubt we are even trying for him mate.

I'd be surprised if we hadn't at least made an enquiry into availability and cost

05-10-2020, 01:20 PM
I'd be surprised if we hadn't at least made an enquiry into availability and cost

I’m sure we would like him, but if they are due £500k compensation I can’t see us even asking the question. To pay what I believe would be our highest ever transfer fee during these times would be amazing.

05-10-2020, 01:21 PM
I can't remember the last time we did a double announcement.

It's up there with the "unveil new signings at the same time as the new kit" myth.

Yep.

05-10-2020, 01:22 PM
What's interesting about Campbell is that he's then available for a pre contract in Jan. Well would still be entitled to £500k comp I believe, but imo it would be a steal for a player of his ability. Unless he signs a new deal between now and then.

If they wait for compo, does that mean that they don't get any share of future transfers that could be part of a package now? Might be better to take a bit less now and have a good sell-on clause and potentially make even bigger bucks in the future.

05-10-2020, 01:23 PM
I’m sure we would like him, but if they are due £500k compensation I can’t see us even asking the question. To pay what I believe would be our highest ever transfer fee during these times would be amazing.

De La Cruz (750K) and Stokes (600K) cost more, just off the top of my head. But I agree, can't see us spending that amount at the moment.

05-10-2020, 01:24 PM
Yeah but if he leaves on a "free" at the end of the season 500k is all they get. If we sign him for say 300k with a 25% sell on and then we sell for 3m they have made more money in the long run

05-10-2020, 01:24 PM
The other thing about Campbell, taking my green tinted specs off for a moment, why would he come to us ?

HendoDelivered
05-10-2020, 01:25 PM
Greg Stewart?

05-10-2020, 01:25 PM
Do you know if it's from a specific club?

Sadly not sure on the club. Down south I believe.

05-10-2020, 01:26 PM
The other thing about Campbell, taking my green tinted specs off for a moment, why would he come to us ?
Playing in front of 18000 instead of 5000. More money. Nicer strip. Hibs are ****ing awesome. So many reasons 😃😃

Yeah but if he leaves on a "free" at the end of the season 500k is all they get. If we sign him for say 300k with a 25% sell on and then we sell for 3m they have made more money in the long run

Fair point. I agree from their point of view it would more sense.

Motherwell could sit and wait and pick up £500,000 at the end of the season but £300,000 now and a decent % of a future transfer might just be a better option in the long run ?

Playing in front of 18000 instead of 5000. More money. Nicer strip. Hibs are ****ing awesome. So many reasons 😃😃

Greenworld
05-10-2020, 01:27 PM
I would be gobsmacked if anyone outside Celtic got him tbh.They dont need him we do lol

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 01:28 PM
Greg Stewart?

Really hope so!

RitchieHibs

Ton Englisher would be outraged and order special extra time sportsound seethes with Neil McCann, Levein, Billy Dodds and new guest pundit Davie Provan.

Motherwell could sit and wait and pick up £500,000 at the end of the season but £300,000 now and a decent % of a future transfer might just be a better option in the long run ?

Not if he goes down south I would have thought, cross border transfers are different aren't they?

05-10-2020, 01:30 PM
Greg Stewart?

Guess or based on something?

Very unlikely Campbell will join hibs this window, likely to stay at Well

Souter96Mac

Especially since they got burned before with that Cadden going to USA and not getting the comp..

05-10-2020, 01:32 PM

Best to leave it! :greengrin Its just seems to put everyone on edge.

05-10-2020, 01:33 PM

Aw cmon man. Don't take the hope away as early in the day as this!!!!

HendoDelivered
05-10-2020, 01:34 PM

Pre contract in Jan?

05-10-2020, 01:36 PM
Best to leave it! :greengrin Its just seems to put everyone on edge.

Aye, twitter is mental. I follow about 60 and have a huge 23 followers and honestly it winds me right up

05-10-2020, 01:37 PM
Aw cmon man. Don't take the hope away as early in the day as this!!!!

😂😂 😏

18Craig75
05-10-2020, 01:40 PM
They could get 500k compo for him in the summer and hold onto a disillusioned player until then.

Or potentially could accept a decent fee now (£200k for argument sake) a squad player (Mallan for arguments sake) as well as a 15% future sell on fee.

Do I think that’s what will happen? No. Is it plausible? I think yes. Could Aberdeen try the same thing with one of their players? Yes.

05-10-2020, 01:43 PM
They could get 500k compo for him in the summer and hold onto a disillusioned player until then.

Or potentially could accept a decent fee now (£200k for argument sake) a squad player (Mallan for arguments sake) as well as a 15% future sell on fee.

Do I think that’s what will happen? No. Is it plausible? I think yes. Could Aberdeen try the same thing with one of their players? Yes.

Will be dissolutioned though the next transfer window is only a couple of months away mind

05-10-2020, 01:46 PM
I just can't see any chance of Alan Campbell in a Hibs shirt in the near future. I would be absolutely delighted to be proven wrong though.

05-10-2020, 01:49 PM

Two signings today?

05-10-2020, 01:54 PM
Can’t wait for the photo - Irvine, Campbell, Magennis and Stewart all holding the hibs scarf above their heads.

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 01:54 PM
9 hours and 5 mins until the window slams shut! https://media2.giphy.com/media/iDJuQR0UmiqOI/giphy.gif

05-10-2020, 01:56 PM

Just out of interest. What would happen if it got to the end of the season and no one was willing to pay £500,000?

Does he have to stay at Motherwell or just go out the game, is there an expiry date on the amount?

I hope I don't sound stupid asking this and have not missed something obvious.

05-10-2020, 01:57 PM

Cause we are ****ing amazing!

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 01:57 PM
Can’t wait for the photo - Irvine, Campbell, Magennis and Stewart all holding the hibs scarf above their heads.

And then getting Tom English to do the presser?

05-10-2020, 01:58 PM
Hundreds of new born Hibees come July

05-10-2020, 01:59 PM
Gillingham boss Steve Evans has confirmed reports that there is Scottish Premiership interest in defender Connor Ogilvie.

#DeadlineDay

Niffy
05-10-2020, 01:59 PM
Incoming !!!!!

05-10-2020, 02:00 PM
Announcement imminent.

St Mirren fans keep texting me asking if McGennis. Has failed his medical as hel hasn’t t been announced They are desperate to hang on to him Just coz am a Hibs fan that happens to live in Paisley

Hundreds of new born Hibees come July

Not from me. I'll be daffy ducking the heid aff it.

5 year deal!

05-10-2020, 02:01 PM
Wow 5 year deal

He's here and he's perfect

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201005/6dcd3cf534b2731299b61137b503c6b1.jpg

05-10-2020, 02:02 PM
See. Go for a wee walk. And it’s all sorted. Maybe go for another walk later.

05-10-2020, 02:03 PM
YAAAAAS! 5 year deal is a fantastic bonus too, what a signing!

05-10-2020, 02:05 PM

Walking boots at the ready 🤔
Mind you, I’m built fir comfort so can we make it snappy with the next one please 🙏🏻

05-10-2020, 02:10 PM

It’s pishing down here.

mayo hibee
05-10-2020, 02:11 PM
Magennis was in the final year of his deal in Paisley and had been named club captain by Jim Goodwin over the summer. He replaced Stephen McGinn, who has also since signed for the Edinburgh side.

We need to find out who St Mirren's new captain is as we'll probably sign him in January.

05-10-2020, 02:14 PM
Can’t wait for us to sign Ethan Erahon in January.

05-10-2020, 02:16 PM
Tom English and Euan Murray right now

https://media1.giphy.com/media/YP8IaIAm5yGmt0URQi/giphy.gif

05-10-2020, 02:19 PM
What a window we’ve had. Best I can remember in a long time.

05-10-2020, 02:21 PM

Both windows in 2017-18 were pretty good too, but yes; Gordon is definitely backing us.

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 02:23 PM

Surely Fenlon signing Soares, O’Donovan, Kujabi, Claros and Docherty Trumps this one [emoji6]

05-10-2020, 02:24 PM
Surely Fenlon signing Soares, O’Donovan, Kujabi, Claros and Docherty Trumps this one [emoji6]

How could I forget that. Pretty easily.

Nisbet - Replaces Kamberi
Gogic - No one like him previously
Wright - No previous right wing cover
Murphy - Replacement for Horgan
Barnes - Replacement for Bogdan
McGinn - Replacement for Whittikar
Magennis - Replacement for Slivka

Vast Majority of those are big improvements. Add in tying Boyle down on a long contract, keeping Porteous and Doidge and introducing Doig to the first team.

Got to applaud the business so far especially when you think we almost got McCrorie too who would have been a fantastic addition.

Ive said it for years i always think we’re at our best when we sign good young talent/players who know the league well and are hungry to improve. We’re doing that this season and so far it’s working very well.

If I’m being greedy I want another striker in too.

😄

05-10-2020, 02:25 PM
QoS just signed a player called Naughty Naughty! :greengrin

https://twitter.com/OfficialQosFC/status/1313079240611565573

Oops. sorry - that should be Nortei Nortey! :greengrin

05-10-2020, 02:27 PM

We signed Trump. Missed that, god knows how he didn't get into the team.

05-10-2020, 02:28 PM
kyle mcginnis lol

05-10-2020, 02:29 PM

So Underscore - you are a bad man teasing like that .... surely a wee clue as to the prize for completing the next walk [emoji16]

05-10-2020, 02:30 PM
So Underscore - you are a bad man teasing like that .... surely a wee clue as to the prize for completing the next walk [emoji16]

Especially when it’s absolutely pissing it down in gods country.

05-10-2020, 02:32 PM
5 years is a great bit of business. Outstanding, Hibs.

05-10-2020, 02:32 PM

👀👀

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 02:33 PM
Gary Hooper signs for Kerela blasters in India.

What’s the latest on McGeady is he still without a club?

Gloucester Hibs
05-10-2020, 02:33 PM

Anybody got any veras? Laaaaarrrrrrvvvlly!!!

05-10-2020, 02:34 PM

Improves your fitness and mental wellbeing. Keeps you off St Mirren forums so it is a surprise which of their players comes next. Win win.

05-10-2020, 02:39 PM
can't really grumble this transfer window, some great pieces of business by the club :thumbsup:

05-10-2020, 02:40 PM
Gary Hooper signs for Kerela blasters in India.

What’s the latest on McGeady is he still without a club?

Still at Sunderland 🤷*♂️

05-10-2020, 02:49 PM
Still at Sunderland 🤷*♂️

Training with the youth team and being treated shocking.

05-10-2020, 02:53 PM
:hyper

05-10-2020, 02:59 PM

Wouldn't be deadline day without it!!

Greenworld
05-10-2020, 03:02 PM
Well i think there is enough in the budget for one more signing . Will Ron splash the big cash and complete the midfield ...

05-10-2020, 03:06 PM
Training with the youth team and being treated shocking.

Have they stopped paying him?

.......ah, so he is still being paid a shed load of money for training for a few hours each day with the youth team. That's the sort of "shocking treatment" most of us could cope with.

Poor Aiden, the multi millionaire.

05-10-2020, 03:11 PM
Have they stopped paying him?

.......ah, so he is still being paid a shed load of money for training for a few hours each day with the youth team. That's the sort of "shocking treatment" most of us could cope with

Ok, I’ll put it into context then.

Being treated shockingly as an international footballer who has given a lot to the club and is well respected at the club in a brazen attempt to get him to move on against his will.

We wanted him (again) but will only move under his terms as it’s became very bitter.

It’s hardly humanity cruelty, I understand that but from a footballing perspective it’s not good for a club to act in that way.

HibsGW
05-10-2020, 03:14 PM
Ok, I’ll put it into context then.

Being treated shockingly as an international footballer who has given a lot to the club and is well respected at the club in a brazen attempt to get him to move on against his will.

We wanted him (again) but will only move under his terms as it’s became very bitter.

It’s hardly humanity cruelty, I understand that but from a footballing perspective it’s not good for a club to act in that way.

Exactly, he gets paid his amount weekly so the money isn’t something new to him. Imagine you turned up to work one day and your work just said you’re of no importance to us. Go make the coffees for everyone and do menial tasks. We never want to give you any responsibility to do anything important ever again. I’m sure it wouldn’t feel great.

05-10-2020, 03:14 PM
Bayern Munich have signed Cameroon international Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting on a one-year contract.

The Hamburg-born striker, 31, was a free agent after his contract expired at Paris St-Germain last month.

05-10-2020, 03:15 PM
I’m going for a run. Will that make the deal go through quicker:greengrin

05-10-2020, 03:18 PM
Exactly, he gets paid his amount weekly so the money isn’t something new to him. Imagine you turned up to work one day and your work just said you’re of no importance to us. Go make the coffees for everyone and do menial tasks. We never want to give you any responsibility to do anything important ever again. I’m sure it wouldn’t feel great.
So same wage and conditions but just no responsibility at all. I'll take some of that. In fact I plan to retire in 3 years and 8 months time so if it could be arranged until then even better

HibsGW
05-10-2020, 03:20 PM
So same wage and conditions but just no responsibility at all. I'll take some of that. In fact I plan to retire in 3 years and 8 months time so if it could be arranged until then even better

Most footballers have career ambition so that would tend to make it a problem

BegbieHSC
05-10-2020, 03:20 PM
I notice Hibs haven’t put up a transfer window summary yet.

Could we still be working on something under the radar? 👀

05-10-2020, 03:21 PM

There could be players leaving too.

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 03:22 PM

I think so too. The Magennis announcement seemed quite concise, as if they are working away on something else

05-10-2020, 03:22 PM
There could be players leaving too.

Wonder who could be on the way out, Halberg probably would like more gane time.

05-10-2020, 03:23 PM

Totally. And there is, something, believe it or not called professional pride and wanting to actually play football with your friends and colleagues not so passing drills with the next Duncan Watmore.

05-10-2020, 03:23 PM
Yeah, I get that but he is probably closer to retirement than I am. I do get what you mean though and I was semi joking

05-10-2020, 03:24 PM

Mcgeady will have made millions. He’s being treated crap from a tit of a manager. It’s as simple as that.

05-10-2020, 03:27 PM
Wonder if we'll maybe bring in a striker on loan. Can't see us buying someone else.

05-10-2020, 03:27 PM

you mean he's coming home!?!?

05-10-2020, 03:29 PM

He's a real crowd pleaser.

HibsGW
05-10-2020, 03:31 PM
Yeah, I get that but he is probably closer to retirement than I am. I do get what you mean though and I was semi joking

For what its worth you might well be right, I think generally athletes in all forms are ambitious as it comes with what they do, for some older players if they’ve lost the appetite for it though then it might well be something they’re happy with. I’d also hate the thought of a player at that stage of their career or with that attitude to end up here, gives me flashbacks to Terry Butcher era

05-10-2020, 03:31 PM
A loan/short term striker and CB would be helpful.

05-10-2020, 03:42 PM
A loan/short term striker and CB would be helpful.

I think we’ll be looking to bring in another midfielder. I’d like another striker though.

Wee Scottie Dug
05-10-2020, 03:49 PM
Mcgeady will have made millions. He’s being treated crap from a tit of a manager. It’s as simple as that.

Maybe if he didn't act like a tit, he wouldn't get treated like one ..... just saying like :greengrin

05-10-2020, 03:57 PM
Midfielder Gregor Woods has left Hibs and joined Spartans on a permanent deal after spending last season on loan at Ainslie Park https://t.co/Twu8h2pVgp

05-10-2020, 04:00 PM
Aberdeen sign

😄 | Welcome back to Aberdeen, @gregleigh_

05-10-2020, 04:00 PM

Given that, could McGeady not ask Sunderland to rip up his contract and walk away on a free? If he wants to play football this season, of course.

05-10-2020, 04:03 PM
Midfielder Gregor Woods has left Hibs and joined Spartans on a permanent deal after spending last season on loan at Ainslie Park https://t.co/Twu8h2pVgp

Pretty clear we are only keeping a much smaller Dev squad now. Makes sense with the current set up.

EI255
05-10-2020, 04:04 PM
All very boring in Scotland on Deadline Day.

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 04:06 PM
Anyone else noticed Coonster has been very quiet on Twitter over the last month? Normally got some very entertaining Hibs chat!

05-10-2020, 04:22 PM
No more in or out according to the Hibs Edinburgh live reporter.

AdidasHibernian
05-10-2020, 04:22 PM
Apparently doing the rounds on some Facebook groups that we are interested in taking Greg Stewart on loan..

Hope it's true as always rated the laddie. However no holding my breath as take anything with a pinch of salt on Facebook groups. 😅

05-10-2020, 04:31 PM
No more in or out according to the Hibs Edinburgh live reporter.

That’s defo not the case there will still be movement possibly both ways if we can get something over the line but defo movement out

05-10-2020, 04:33 PM
That’s defo not the case there will still be movement possibly both ways if we can get something over the line but defo movement out

Good to know

05-10-2020, 04:37 PM

:hyper :hyper :hyper

05-10-2020, 04:47 PM

I genuinely believe this more than an Edinburgh Live reporter

05-10-2020, 04:52 PM
EEN reporting the same

https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/1313158761641578497?s=21

05-10-2020, 04:55 PM
I genuinely believe this more than an Edinburgh Live reporter

Borthwick seems to beleive that may be it. I'm still hopeful however.

05-10-2020, 04:56 PM
Chat on facebook about us trying to get Greg Stewart in on loan?

05-10-2020, 04:57 PM
Anyone else noticed Coonster has been very quiet on Twitter over the last month? Normally got some very entertaining Hibs chat!

Was thinking that the other day. Maybe gathering more material to wind up our lower league city neighbours

ElginHibbie
05-10-2020, 05:00 PM
Could just be lowering expectations in case whatever they're working on doesn't happen

DetroitHibs
05-10-2020, 05:08 PM
Hopefully Greg Stewart with the option to buy.

05-10-2020, 05:13 PM
Borthwick seems to beleive that may be it. I'm still hopeful however.

Borthwick said the opposite this morning. 😂 in this case I think he’s right tho.

05-10-2020, 05:19 PM
Hopefully Greg Stewart with the option to buy.

Would take that

05-10-2020, 05:26 PM
I thought you could only have 1 loan to a premiership club?

05-10-2020, 05:26 PM
Would take that

I would take him even just on a loan deal.

Quality player when he's got his head screwed on, perhaps attitude is an issue though I don't know

BegbieHSC
05-10-2020, 05:28 PM

Was sure of that too. Can’t see it happening tbh.

05-10-2020, 05:29 PM

It's two now

05-10-2020, 05:31 PM
Rule changed this season you can have 2 players on loan from another premiership team. Still time for a Rangers and two Celtic loanees to come in 😁

05-10-2020, 05:31 PM
Excellent transfer window. Anything else would be a massive bonus.

05-10-2020, 05:32 PM
Just been said on stv news that hibs transfer business this window is over.

05-10-2020, 05:34 PM
Could argue our most important business is renewal Boyle’s contract

Robbo6-2
05-10-2020, 05:38 PM
Theres still plenty free agents out there.

Liam Burt is still available, he would be a good signing

05-10-2020, 05:43 PM
Just been said on stv news that hibs transfer business this window is over.

I’m hoping that’s a smokescreen...

Who knows though!!

hibeerealist
05-10-2020, 05:47 PM
Chat on facebook about us trying to get Greg Stewart in on loan?

Why would RC loan us a player that is a first choice for their team?

We would need to offer a fee for him on a permanent deal for RC to even consider upsetting their team on the day the window closes. Would like to get Stewart but can’t see that happening today

05-10-2020, 05:48 PM

We would need to offer a fee for him on a permanent deal for RC to even consider upsetting their team on the day the window closes. Would like to get Stewart but can’t see that happening today

He's not a first choice though

Edit think you are talking about Ross County Stewart not the Rangers Stewart that there is chat about

05-10-2020, 05:48 PM

Think you’ve got your Stewart’s mixed up

05-10-2020, 05:49 PM
Aren’t you confusing your Stewart’s?

supermcginn
05-10-2020, 05:49 PM

Wrong stewart.

05-10-2020, 05:50 PM
The Rangers Stewart not the Ross County one.

05-10-2020, 05:50 PM

He's started about 3 games for them in the league. Doubt there's anything in the rumour though

K-Zazu
05-10-2020, 05:52 PM
Would take the Ross county one, didn’t we have a bid rejected before?

King Cosell
05-10-2020, 05:52 PM
Greg Stewart's 30? For some reason I thought he was about 25. Could defo happen if Rangers get someone else in.

05-10-2020, 05:54 PM
Would take the Ross county one, didn’t we have a bid rejected before?

Ross County quoted they wanted 1m earlier in the window

King Cosell
05-10-2020, 05:58 PM
Greg Stewart's 30? For some reason I thought he was about 25. Could defo happen if Rangers get someone else in.

Contract up next summer, won't get another one with Rangers.

05-10-2020, 06:03 PM
Would consider Greg Stewart but I think he's someone who has never consistently looked the part. Would give us another option.

05-10-2020, 06:04 PM
Contract up next summer, won't get another one with Rangers.

I not sure I’d like him to get a contract at Hibs either but would support him if he did.

05-10-2020, 06:06 PM
St Mirren have signed defender Daniel Finlayson on a season-long loan from Rangers, with an option to buy.

#DeadlineDay

Spudster
05-10-2020, 06:26 PM
Would consider Greg Stewart but I think he's someone who has never consistently looked the part. Would give us another option.
Has one good season every four it seems. When he was at Aberdeen he was huge and unfit!

K-Zazu
05-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Can someone explain to me why the transfer window in England doesn’t properly shut today and why they can still sign players from other English teams for the next few weeks?

05-10-2020, 06:43 PM
St Johnstone sign a striker

💙 | We are delighted to announce that - subject to international clearance - we have signed 27-year-old striker, Guy Melamed, on a one year deal.

👉 https://t.co/yGOhtEopKH

#SJFC #WelcomeGuyMelamed https://t.co/2MX5SbUZNM

hhibs
05-10-2020, 07:05 PM
Can someone explain to me why the transfer window in England doesn’t properly shut today and why they can still sign players from other English teams for the next few weeks?

Yep,I am confused by that too.

Something about EFL teams allowed to be active but not Premier league teams ??

05-10-2020, 07:07 PM

I think transfers between leagues/federations need international clearance from EUFA or FIFA and they are the ones that set the transfer windows so attempts to register the player via the countries federation would be rejected by FIFA if it is attempted outside of the transfer window.

Domestic transfers between clubs where the player is already registered with that countries federation don't need the international clearance so its up to the federation if they allow it but generally they stop these transfers at the same time as the window.

I think the FA allows EFL clubs to get loans from other English clubs for a while after the close of the window normally anyway

DetroitHibs
05-10-2020, 07:07 PM
One more would be nice!

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 07:08 PM
One more would be nice!

I think something will be announced. Maybe working to get player(s) out to bring in another?

Dmas
05-10-2020, 07:10 PM
Jack Aitchison away to Barnsley from Celtic 3yr deal and going out on loan to league 2 team, like the look of him would have liked to see us get him

05-10-2020, 07:13 PM
The new Israeli striker St Johnstone have signed looks really good in his YouTube video.

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 07:28 PM
Seems to have gone all quiet..

05-10-2020, 07:30 PM
Seems to have gone all quiet..

Was thinking the same

05-10-2020, 07:35 PM
Could Hallberg be on his way out now we’ve signed Kyle?? Making space for someone else?

Gaffer1875
05-10-2020, 07:36 PM
Jack Wilshire has been released from West Ham [emoji12]

05-10-2020, 07:38 PM
This is on Twitter but no idea if the boyo is at it or ITK

https://twitter.com/kevaldo210516/status/1313188668375527432?s=12

05-10-2020, 07:45 PM
Campbell or Irvine and we might as well cancel all future transfer windows as none will beat the high of this one.

Souter96Mac
05-10-2020, 07:51 PM
Sounds like Rangers are trying to bring in a midfielder, so it might cause a knock on if they bring him in, Stewart to us and then we offload one or two.

05-10-2020, 07:53 PM
This is on Twitter but no idea if the boyo is at it or ITK

https://twitter.com/kevaldo210516/status/1313188668375527432?s=12

I’ll go for at it.

Seems to be very quiet so I’ll imagine we’re done this window.

Is there anything in the Greg Stewart rumour other than Facebook posts? Would be a terrific signing but can’t see it myself.

05-10-2020, 07:53 PM
Could Hallberg be on his way out now we’ve signed Kyle?? Making space for someone else?

Unless he has some suitors it's going to move someone on at this late stage. Can't see us paying up any players contracts.

05-10-2020, 07:54 PM

He'd be perfect. No one can spell his name either. Jack Wilshere :wink:

Unless he has some suitors it's going to move someone on at this late stage. Can't see us paying up any players contracts.

Yeah I agree. Just thinking aloud!

Magpie

Wouldn’t surprise me to see him at Rangers.

05-10-2020, 07:58 PM
That's all, folks.

No more signings confirmed.

The new Israeli striker St Johnstone have signed looks really good in his YouTube video.

Callum Davidson obviously hoping the same, as I think that’s all he’s seen of him too.

🆕 The signing of Kyle Magennis completes our business for the window.

✅ Alex Gogic
✅ Dillon Barnes
✅ Drey Wright
✅ Jamie Murphy
✅ Kevin Nisbet
✅ Kyle Magennis
✅ Stephen McGinn

📝 A new deal for Martin Boyle.

📈 A leaner squad hungry to make this a season to remember.

05-10-2020, 07:59 PM
St Johnstone sign a striker

💙 | We are delighted to announce that - subject to international clearance - we have signed 27-year-old striker, Guy Melamed, on a one year deal.

👉 https://t.co/yGOhtEopKH

#SJFC #WelcomeGuyMelamed https://t.co/2MX5SbUZNM

Pleased for them. Along with St Mirren they desperately need a goalscorer.
The guy (see what I did there :wink:) looks a good finisher in his youtube reel (i know)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVwazqaO2-8&ab_channel=rafaelcastro-pro

Souter96Mac
Boo. In all seriousness, a great window from the club. Some fantastic bits of business.

That's all, folks.
Boooooooo. They could at least have kept us waiting till the very last minute!!

05-10-2020, 08:01 PM
Awwwwwww. That's fine.