View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

11-07-2020, 02:58 PM
If he's a huddy I'd hate to see what you call James and Paul mcginn.

Tom James is poor and Paul Mcginn has looked alright since he came in, been pleasantly surprised to be honest.

thegaffer12
11-07-2020, 02:59 PM
We are. If James finalises his move back to England it's a goer.

Losing James and gaining O'Donnell would be an upgrade of epic proportions

HendoDelivered
11-07-2020, 03:00 PM
His comments on Sportsound suggested to me this could be correct! I thought he hinted that Hibs may be a potential destination for him

Whos comments and what was said?

King Cosell
11-07-2020, 03:03 PM
O'Donnell is better than any we have.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

When we won 2-1 at Killie at the end of last season, O'Donnell was excellent. Him & Burke dominated the last 20 mins. If he stays in Scotland, I think we'll get him, but I fear there'll be more lucrative offers down south.

Keyser Sauzee
11-07-2020, 03:04 PM
If we sign O’Donnell then I think we need to sign an attacking LB aswell. No use in just having one as teams will just double up on that side. Lewis is still a steady performer but needs replaced as a starter.

11-07-2020, 03:09 PM
O’Donnell would be our best right back by a distance I reckon. Surely there will still be plenty competition for him though and it’s not a position we are light in.

11-07-2020, 03:12 PM
As much as O'Donnell would be a great signing we would still have Gray and McGinn and that's assuming we move James on.

Are we likely to be in the market for a right back?

HendoDelivered
11-07-2020, 03:14 PM
As much as O'Donnell would be a great signing we would still have Gray and McGinn and that's assuming we move James on.

Thats my thinking too mate.

11-07-2020, 03:15 PM

My exact thoughts earlier on this thread, we'd need to move on 2 of the RB's that are here or we'll have that same big imbalance we had last season, move on James and McGinn and have Gray as back up.

badabing67
11-07-2020, 03:16 PM
If we sign O’Donnell then I think we need to sign an attacking LB aswell. No use in just having one as teams will just double up on that side. Lewis is still a steady performer but needs replaced as a starter.

Thought when McGinn came in they said he can play across the back 4 so I guess he could start on the left as an option.

11-07-2020, 03:17 PM

Gray hasn't been a reliable option for nearly 3 years now. If O'Donnell is available and we chose Gray we are absolutely mental.

HendoDelivered
11-07-2020, 03:19 PM
O’donnell is apparently training with Accies

11-07-2020, 03:21 PM
O’donnell is apparently training with Accies

Not with a view to signing?
He was on that 9 o'clock program last night and he was training on his own he said

HendoDelivered
11-07-2020, 03:21 PM
Not with a view to signing?
He was on that 9 o'clock program last night and he was training on his own he said

Not sure. Would take him at ER though.

11-07-2020, 03:25 PM
My exact thoughts earlier on this thread, we'd need to move on 2 of the RB's that are here or we'll have that same big imbalance we had last season, move on James and McGinn and have Gray as back up.

If we can get O’Donnell in we definitely should. No one would have thought this possible until now. Then we can worry about who gets shifted and when.

11-07-2020, 03:26 PM
Gray hasn't been a reliable option for nearly 3 years now. If O'Donnell is available and we chose Gray we are absolutely mental.

TBF Gray did play 32 games in season 18-19, the season before and last season he had 12 and 6 games due to injury problems, I'm hopeful this extended rest period due to Covid has allowed him to get himself fit again, he is only 32 and could still be a very good back up to a younger RB.

11-07-2020, 03:26 PM
If we can get O’Donnell in we definitely should. No one would have thought this possible until now. Then we can worry about who gets shifted and when.

100%

11-07-2020, 03:29 PM

I agree and think he is very attack minded, which is what I ant to see in a wingback. If Gray and McGregor are being utilised as coaches which many on here think was the plan with their long contracts, then a fit Gray could be a decent back up option.

11-07-2020, 03:33 PM
O'donnell is apparently a very good right back. But I've never noticed it.

JammyDoidger
11-07-2020, 03:37 PM
Daniel Harvie from ayr is a name I've heard mentioned. Not sure if it's likely or not but heard he's one we might be interested in. Left back.

11-07-2020, 03:41 PM
Gray hasn't been a reliable option for nearly 3 years now.

This isnt true at all.

11-07-2020, 03:42 PM
Daniel Harvie from ayr is a name I've heard mentioned. Not sure if it's likely or not but heard he's one we might be interested in. Left back.

Ayr’s player of the year. Seems well thought of.

11-07-2020, 03:43 PM

Was at Aberdeen before dropping down too, still only 21. Sounds interesting!

11-07-2020, 03:43 PM
Interesting

What makes you think so?

I had heard a couple of bits about him and Hibs before but thought it was hope more than substance. Last couple of days the same people are seeming more confident about it, whether that’s with us securing 3 players yesterday I don’t know.

But I think it’s a goer, the stars are aligning so they say :greengrin

James will leave and I think McGinn will just be classes as a squad utility player that can fill in numerous positions.

11-07-2020, 03:44 PM

He’s a decent player, would be happy with that.

11-07-2020, 03:49 PM
TBF Gray did play 32 games in season 18-19, the season before and last season he had 12 and 6 games due to injury problems, I'm hopeful this extended rest period due to Covid has allowed him to get himself fit again, he is only 32 and could still be a very good back up to a younger RB.

He was definitely better than season but still missed a huge period with injury, over 2 months. That coupled with the seasons either side of it and we should not be relying on him at all.

11-07-2020, 03:51 PM
I had heard a couple of bits about him and Hibs before but thought it was hope more than substance. Last couple of days the same people are seeming more confident about it, whether that’s with us securing 3 players yesterday I don’t know.

James will leave and I think McGinn will just be classes as a squad utility player that can fill in numerous positions.

Could you maybe see McGinn going back to St Mirren? His signing was out of necessity rather than because we'd scouted him as a starter.

11-07-2020, 03:51 PM

Is he out of contract?

BlackSheep
11-07-2020, 04:04 PM
Maybe McGinn being used as a centre back this season or moved on

McGinn also plays left back and i for one wouldn't mind seeing him start in front of Lewy. Love Stevenson to bits, but i just think he is on the downward part of his career, he Gray and McGregor are great to have in the squad but there days are numbered.

11-07-2020, 04:08 PM
McGinn also plays left back and i for one wouldn't mind seeing him start in front of Lewy. Love Stevenson to bits, but i just think he is on the downward part of his career, he Gray and McGregor are great to have in the squad but there days are numbered.

Think McGinn said when he joined, that his best position was right wing back

11-07-2020, 04:24 PM
Is he out of contract?

O’Donnell? Yes mate his contract expired end of the season. I think the longer it goes in the more chance Hibs have.

I think he was probably set on England however with COVID he was saying some deals are no longer there/not as many as he may have thought.

Also worth remembering he’s 28, not much sell on and played for Partick and Kilmarnock the majority of his career which might put some English teams off.

If we do get him, I’ll be chuffed to say we’re the team that stopped 10iar:greengrin

11-07-2020, 04:26 PM
O’Donnell? Yes mate his contract expired end of the season. I think the longer it goes in the more chance Hibs have.

I think he was probably set on England however with COVID he was saying some deals are no longer there/not as many as he may have thought.

Also worth remembering he’s 28, not much sell on and played for Partick and Kilmarnock the majority of his career which might put some English teams off.

If we do get him, I’ll be chuffed to say we’re the team that stopped 10iar:greengrin

Sorry yeah got then fact O'donnell is available for free. I thiught the young Ayr boys contract had ended maybe its 2021

11-07-2020, 04:32 PM
This isnt true at all.

It is true. He missed 31 league games in 17/18, 14 league games in 18/19 and only 26 games last season. Sorry but missing 71 league games in 3 seasons makes him unreliable. He has played 50 games in all competitions in that time.

Love the guy for everything he has done for us but we would be very silly to rely on him next season.

JammyDoidger
11-07-2020, 04:33 PM

Hadn't heard of him but sounds promising.

11-07-2020, 04:34 PM

McGinn would be nothing more than an emergency left back, too right sided. I've seen Harvie a few times on TV, looks decent going forward but not sure about his defending.

11-07-2020, 04:34 PM

Agree with the wider sentiment that Stevenson needs challenged for his place, but I've seen nothing from McGinn to suggest he can hold down the right back spot, never mind play out of position and offer more than Lewis on the left.

11-07-2020, 04:37 PM

He's a good player & we were watching Ayr regularly keeping tabs on Alan Forrest so it's quite possible.

11-07-2020, 04:38 PM
He's a good player & we were watching Ayr regularly keeping tabs on Alan Forrest so it's quite possible.

It’s right on Graeme Mathie’s door step too😄

11-07-2020, 04:48 PM
I think we really could do with bolstering our left side next. Left back and left wing are both on the weak side right now, Stevenson is fine but we need better than just fine if we want to push on.

I also think Horgan needs punted, I'd have had more confidence in us being able to do this pre-COVID, less likely to get rid and replace now I think so we'll probably stick with him.... unfortunately.

11-07-2020, 04:50 PM
Not sure where this criticism of McGinn is coming from. I was quite impressed by him last season.

If he’d been a higher profile signing I reckon we’d probably be viewing his contribution so far more favourably.

Gray is a cracking RB. If he’s not fit, McGinn is perfect deputy, then there’s the likes of Stirling in the squad.

It’s always tempting to capture good players when they’re available, but if resources are thin in the ground, it’s not a position I’d be prioritising.

11-07-2020, 04:51 PM
Not sure where this criticism of McGinn is coming from. I was quite impressed by him last season.

If he’d been a higher profile signing I reckon we’d probably be viewing his contribution so far more favourably.

Gray is a cracking RB. If he’s not fit, McGinn is perfect deputy, then there’s the likes of Stirling in the squad.

It’s always tempting to capture good players when they’re available, but if resources are thin in the ground, it’s not a position I’d be prioritising.

Agree I thought he was pretty decent in the games I saw.

Keyser Sauzee
11-07-2020, 04:54 PM

Forrest has signed for Livi

Never seen him play so no idea what he is like but 98 senior games at 21 year old is impressive. Add to that the fact that he was poty at his club at that age and it does seem like he has potential.

JammyDoidger
Guys like, stevenson, Mcginn, Naismith, hallberg, come under the 'do a job' category, they offer nothing above that. Just the basics. If we want to push for a european spot. We need to be signing boys with a bit more about them. Stevenson's time is up. He's small so doesn't offer us much aerially. In either box, doesn't provide many assists, doesn't really do much that I think he should be in the side for tbh.

11-07-2020, 04:56 PM

McGinn is what he is. I think he’d have been viewed more favourably if he was a better player, simple as that. He can fill in, in a few positions, so might be useful from that point of view. Had a good game away at Kilmarnock but, generally, didn’t really improve us defensively IMO.

11-07-2020, 04:58 PM
Could you maybe see McGinn going back to St Mirren? His signing was out of necessity rather than because we'd scouted him as a starter.

Not a chance. He can play anywhere across the back. Good asset to have over the course of a season.

11-07-2020, 05:04 PM
Not a chance. He can play anywhere across the back. Good asset to have over the course of a season.

Good on the ball, good passer. Athletic. Liked him.

11-07-2020, 05:06 PM
Good on the ball, good passer. Athletic. Liked him.

Solid 7/8 every week

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 05:09 PM

He's a poor player. Fine as back up in emergencies

11-07-2020, 05:13 PM
Solid 7/8 every week

7/8 for a bottom six side. Yes.

11-07-2020, 05:14 PM
Solid 7/8 every week

Agreed I thought he was better than I expected. If he's good back up then we have a very good team

11-07-2020, 05:19 PM

Is this based on watching him play or on reputation? I don’t recall ever watching him and thinking he wasn’t good enough for us, even though he had the odd difficult game in poor team performances.

Players who “do a job” are fine for much of your team when you have goals in Nisbet and Doidge, creativity in Allan, pace in Wright and Boyle and a threat from Newell’s set pieces.

Every club will be cutting back, and there will be plenty of players in our league who are closer to “pish” than “can do a job.”

Hibs4185
11-07-2020, 05:20 PM

the new Paul lovering! I’m sure we signed him from Ayr?

BlackSheep
11-07-2020, 05:28 PM

WOW...!

Not even close to a poor player... he barely put a foot wrong for us last season, I think he will come on leaps and bounds too!

11-07-2020, 05:33 PM
WOW...!

Not even close to a poor player... he barely put a foot wrong for us last season, I think he will come on leaps and bounds too!

Paul McGinn isn’t going to come on leaps and bounds at his age. He is what he is. Average in a defence that is average. At best.

11-07-2020, 05:47 PM
I think McGinn did ok for us last season but that is about it. We need better for that position though. We need full backs that can’t put in good crosses and offer an attacking threat. I also felt they let in far too many crosses into our box past season.
Naismith did that but none of the others were good enough.
If we can improve that by signing O’Donnell then we should take that opportunity. Same with the lad from Ayr. If he is thought to be better than Stevenson then it’s a no brainer.

11-07-2020, 05:54 PM
I think McGinn did ok for us last season but that is about it. We need better for that position though. We need full backs that can’t put in good crosses and offer an attacking threat. I also felt they let in far too many crosses into our box past season.
Naismith did that but none of the others were good enough.
If we can improve that by signing O’Donnell then we should take that opportunity. Same with the lad from Ayr. If he is thought to be better than Stevenson then it’s a no brainer.

Honestly think Niassmith is better than O'Donnell but he'd likely command a fee. His stats for a fullback were very good last season in the short time he pleyed with us

11-07-2020, 05:56 PM
Who's this boy 😅

https://twitter.com/joe_black1509/status/1282004988521316352?s=19

11-07-2020, 05:59 PM
Who's this boy 😅

He seems to think he’s got connections. Same boy had us laying off the entire kit staff a week or two back. I’ve no idea who’s told him that but it’s quite clearly a lot of *****.

11-07-2020, 06:00 PM
He seems to think he’s got connections. Same boy had us laying off the entire kit staff a week or two back. I’ve no idea who’s told him that but it’s quite clearly a lot of *****.

I'm guessing he's a jambo or a Hun

11-07-2020, 06:02 PM
Who's this boy 😅

Just wish we'd known we were going bust before we spent a couple hundred grand on a new forward.

If only Ron had done his sums before now this could all have been avoided.

Ah well atleast I seen Hibs win the Scottish Cup.

11-07-2020, 06:03 PM
Who's this boy 😅

Another erse on twitter talking bollocks.

11-07-2020, 06:06 PM
Just wish we'd known we were going bust before we spent a couple hundred grand on a new forward.

If only Ron had done his sums before now this could all have been avoided.

Ah well atleast I seen Hibs win the Scottish Cup.

It truly is a shame that our board of experienced executives decided to throw a hail Mary and sign 3 players in one day, ignoring the VERY obvious fact that we're going bust.

Very disappointed in them, the board must simply not have as strong sources as this random fan of a rival team on Twitter. Embarrassed and afraid.

Who's this boy 😅

Just had a look at who he follows. All have little union jack emojis at the end of their name. Says it all.

I'm guessing he's a jambo or a Hun

Sure he’s a hun, a very daft one at that.

11-07-2020, 06:11 PM
Who's this boy 😅

Same nonce that got everything wrong about the court stuff.

ElginHibbie
11-07-2020, 06:17 PM
Who's this boy ��

"The ‘going concern’ concept, or assumption, is an accountancy term that describes a company which can continue operating without the significant threat of liquidation, and therefore remain in business for the foreseeable future."

Good to see him confirm all is well at Hibs, is really nice of him

Souter96Mac
11-07-2020, 06:27 PM
Who's this boy 😅

A quick look at his followers. Half of them have a union jack in their username or bio.. need I say more?

11-07-2020, 06:31 PM
Forrest has signed for Livi

I know but we were watching him for at least the last 2 seasons. Looks like we opted for Drey Wright instead.

davhibby
11-07-2020, 06:32 PM
I thought McGinn done well for us since coming in. If we got SOD in then I’d be very pleased but I’d also not be too disappointed if we kept the money for elsewhere and McGinn is our first choice this season. Gray is good back up but once you’re expecting him to play regularly he’ll be injured after about 3 back to back starts

Keyser Sauzee
11-07-2020, 06:34 PM
I know but we were watching him for at least the last 2 seasons. Looks like we opted for Drey Wright instead.

Misread ur post, thought u meant we were still keeping tabs on him.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 06:34 PM
Is this based on watching him play or on reputation? I don’t recall ever watching him and thinking he wasn’t good enough for us, even though he had the odd difficult game in poor team performances.

Players who “do a job” are fine for much of your team when you have goals in Nisbet and Doidge, creativity in Allan, pace in Wright and Boyle and a threat from Newell’s set pieces.

Every club will be cutting back, and there will be plenty of players in our league who are closer to “pish” than “can do a job.”

Based on watching him play. If his name wasn't mcginn folk would be slating him. Seems a nice lad but couldn't lace grays boots.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 06:36 PM
WOW...!

He is a poor player, his name gets him a pass with many. Nice lad, poor player.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 06:41 PM
McGinn is what he is. I think he’d have been viewed more favourably if he was a better player, simple as that. He can fill in, in a few positions, so might be useful from that point of view. Had a good game away at Kilmarnock but, generally, didn’t really improve us defensively IMO.

Exactly, fine squad player but as first choice. No danger

Rumble de Thump
11-07-2020, 06:48 PM

He has got connections. He's wired to the moon.

11-07-2020, 06:56 PM

How can you say he is a poor player based on less than 10 games at the club. Was also St Mirren best player last season. Think he needs to be getting a better chance than labelling him a poor player so quickly. Also don't think his surname has anything to do with anything

Cat Stanton
11-07-2020, 07:07 PM
A quick look at his followers. Half of them have a union jack in their username or bio.. need I say more?

Posting all sorts of sectarian (sorry, "loyalist") stuff including marches and rants about green flags.

Best ignored and allowed to stew in his own bitter, sectarian, bile.

11-07-2020, 07:09 PM
How can you say he is a poor player based on less than 10 games at the club. Was also St Mirren best player last season. Think he needs to be getting a better chance than labelling him a poor player so quickly. Also don't think his surname has anything to do with anything

I'd consider than lenient on here.

11-07-2020, 07:32 PM

He's not a poor player but a decent average premier league player, he'd be nowhere near our team if it wasn't for the injury to Naismith, he's here as a necessity due to injuries. If we want to be challenging anything we need better than McGinn, Naismith and dare I say it Gray.

11-07-2020, 07:51 PM
Based on watching him play. If his name wasn't mcginn folk would be slating him. Seems a nice lad but couldn't lace grays boots.

To be fair Gray would probably injure himself lacing up his boots nowadays

Robbo6-2
11-07-2020, 08:00 PM
Few people are being extremely harsh with Paul McGinn.

Hes been a good signing and will play an important role next season.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:07 PM

He wasn't st mirrens best player. As I say if he wasn't called mcginn he'd get dogs abuse. Not good enough.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:09 PM
WOW...!

Take it you weren't at the game against the team who finished rock bottom. He had a disaster

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:11 PM
How can you say he is a poor player based on less than 10 games at the club. Was also St Mirren best player last season. Think he needs to be getting a better chance than labelling him a poor player so quickly. Also don't think his surhname has anything to do with anything

He wasn't, my best mate is a seasonal ticket holder at paisley, he wasn't fussed at all. Hlacky was their best player.

11-07-2020, 08:14 PM
He wasn't, my best mate is a seasonal ticket holder at paisley, he wasn't fussed at all. Hlacky was their best player.

Can Hlacky play right back

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:15 PM
He's not a poor player but a decent average premier league player, he'd be nowhere near our team if it wasn't for the injury to Naismith, he's here as a necessity due to injuries. If we want to be challenging anything we need better than McGinn, Naismith and dare I say it Gray.
Finally someone speaking the truth. We can't be soft we need better.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:16 PM
Can Hlacky play right back

I doubt he'd be worse than Stevenson.

11-07-2020, 08:19 PM
Take it you weren't at the game against the team who finished rock bottom. He had a disaster

He was poor that night, but what is your opinion of Martin Boyle, Scott Allan and Greg Docherty? They were all also minging that night, worse than McGinn, but I’d still say all of them are top players.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:23 PM
He was poor that night, but what is your opinion of Martin Boyle, Scott Allan and Greg Docherty? They were all also minging that night, worse than McGinn, but I’d still say all of them are top players.

My opinion is... Boyle club legend and huge threat.scott Allan probably my favorite player to play for hibs in last 6 years, docherty hugely promising player that I hope we sign. All 3 are younger and streets shears of a st mirrens squad player.

11-07-2020, 08:33 PM
My opinion is... Boyle club legend and huge threat.scott Allan probably my favorite player to play for hibs in last 6 years, docherty hugely promising player that I hope we sign. All 3 are younger and streets shears of a st mirrens squad player.

In my opinion that was McGinn’s only poor performance for us so far so I’m more than prepared to cut him a bit of slack. It was a horrible team performance that esteemed players toiled badly to make their mark in.

The rest of his time with us he’s been competent at worst, pretty damn good at best.

If he’d come through our ranks or been signed from a big English club then we’d be delighted with his contribution so far. Since his signing was a bit low key and uninspiring it’s tempting to revise opinions accordingly, which I think you’re a wee bit guilty of when you refer to him as a “St Mirren squad player.”

davhibby
11-07-2020, 08:36 PM

Quite a bizarre vendetta you seem to have against McGinn

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:40 PM
In my opinion that was McGinn’s only poor performance for us so far so I’m more than prepared to cut him a bit of slack. It was a horrible team performance that esteemed players toiled badly to make their mark in.

The rest of his time with us he’s been competent at worst, pretty damn good at best.

If he’d come through our ranks or been signed from a big English club then we’d be delighted with his contribution so far. Since his signing was a bit low key and uninspiring it’s tempting to revise opinions accordingly, which I think you’re a wee bit guilty of when you refer to him as a “St Mirren squad player.”

Surely you cant think he's good? Honestly even gray half fit is better. I admire mcginns workrate and desire but he's just not that Good. Nothing personal.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:42 PM
Quite a bizarre vendetta you seem to have against McGinn

Not a vendetta look at my username. I'm just a realist. He isn't good enough gray is twice the player. Tell me he's not.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:43 PM

Btw two out the three have scored winning goals v hearts.

11-07-2020, 08:46 PM

That is my view too. I liked him and Naismith and would be happy with either as right back. SDG if fit would also do a good job. We need steady players in our team that generally play well as we have quite a few who only play 1 special game a month and 3 or 4 poor performances. Players like Flo, Allan, Horgan etc need some steady Eddies around to keep picking up points when they are a man short. The defense wasn't great last year but we had a midfield with next to no resolve and often the team featured Allan and Horgan neither of who give anything defensively. I get the feeling Ross is addressing that with Gogic and also a winger who works back combined with another strong striker who won't give the ball away as easily as some.

Not sure I would be wasting time on a right back as we don't have a great issue there. More cover at left back would be more important to me and also another tackling/box to box midfielder to give some competition and cover to Gogic. That is assuming Hallberg/Murray or Newell can't play that role. It will be interesting to see where Allan fits in next year as we could play with a 442 with two energetic wingers, Gogic and Newell in the middle to give creativity, energy and some steel.

11-07-2020, 08:48 PM
Surely you cant think he's good? Honestly even gray half fit is better. I admire mcginns workrate and desire but he's just not that Good. Nothing personal.

Yeah, I do think he’s good.

Possibly not great but he’s done enough so far to merit a further chance to show what he can do.

He is, at worst, a very handy deputy and a good squad player.

11-07-2020, 08:49 PM

A half fit Gray is not better than McGinn

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:51 PM
A half fit Gray is not better than McGinn

I'd say a quarter fit gray is. A legend who won us the cup against a guy who was a relegation battler have some respect.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 08:52 PM
Yeah, I do think he’s good.

Possibly not great but he’s done enough so far to merit a further chance to show what he can do.

He is, at worst, a very handy deputy and a good squad player.

Fair enough. Opinions differ.

11-07-2020, 08:54 PM

Why would we be delighted if he’d signed from a better team than St Mirren? What has he contributed to be delighted about?

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 09:00 PM
Why would we be delighted if he’d signed from a better team than St Mirren? What has he contributed to be delighted about?

Exactly.

11-07-2020, 09:02 PM

He’s consistently played well for us, with one blip.

I saw both Gray and Whittaker struggle to play that position last season. I saw James all at sea at times in that position (Fir Park, Hampden). Naismith was popular and generally good, was he that much better than McGinn? I’m not so sure.

He came in and played a role in a team that was generally playing well, picking up results and he seemed to fit in well with the rest of the team. It’s not cup winning goal or late derby winner delighted but I’ll add Keats be happy with the sort of start McGinn has made.

I’m not saying he’s the best in the world but he deserves a chance to stake his claim. Based on the several gss as mes he’s played for us, he might be up to it.

In my opinion. Clearly you, and others, disagree - and that is fine.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 09:06 PM

I saw both Gray and Whittaker struggle to play that position last season. I saw James all at sea at times in that position (Fir Park, Hampden). Naismith was popular and generally good, was he that much better than McGinn? I’m not so sure.

He came in and played a role in a team that was generally playing well, picking up results and he seemed to fit in well with the rest of the team. It’s not cup winning goal or late derby winner delighted but I’ll add Keats be happy with the sort of start McGinn has made.

I’m not saying he’s the best in the world but he deserves a chance to stake his claim. Based on the several gss as mes he’s played for us, he might be up to it.

Saying he was better than James is the most faint praise possible. It's ok to say he's crap.fwiw Naismith is poor also.

11-07-2020, 09:06 PM
I'd say a quarter fit gray is. A legend who won us the cup against a guy who was a relegation battler have some respect.

have some respect? You’ve just ripped into a player, I’m sure he’d like some respect too, it’s disrespectful to say a quarter fit player would be better than McGinn, a player who can’t stay fit (and I say that as someone who thinks Gray is a fantastic footballer). Might also be worth pointing out that when gray was signed he could be described as a journeyman pro who’d simply scrabbled round the lower English divisions. McGinn has played what, 10 games, give the guy a chance. After all, his brother was not just a relegation battler but actually relegated whilst with the same club we signed this brother from.

to the point in question, it’s not respect you’re speaking from, it’s blinkers. Gray has been a fantastic captain and player for Hibs, but he’s not been able to consistently play for years. That’s sad to say, but it’s true. He’s played less than 50% of games over the past 3 seasons. When completely fit, is he better than McGinn? Yes, no one is disputing that. But gray hasn’t been completely fit Or close to it for a long time, we still need to have players in that position. McGinn has been a steady Eddie there, and has been fit and able to play.

supermcginn
11-07-2020, 09:11 PM
have some respect? You’ve just ripped into a player, I’m sure he’d like some respect too, it’s disrespectful to say a quarter fit player would be better than McGinn, a player who can’t stay fit (and I say that as someone who thinks Gray I'd a fantastic footballer). Might also be worth pointing out that when gray was signed he could be described as a journeyman pro who’d simply scrabbled round the lower English divisions. McGinn has played what, 10 games, give the guy a chance. After all, his brother was not just a relegation battler but actually relegated whilst with the same club we signed this brother from.

to the point in question, it’s not respect you’re speaking from, it’s blinkers. Gray has been a fantastic captain and player for Hibs, but he’s not been able to consistently play for years. That’s sad to say, but it’s true. He’s played less than 50% of games over the past 3 seasons. When completely fit, is he better than McGinn? Yes, no one is disputing that. But gray hasn’t been completely fit Or close to it for a long time, we still need to have players in that position. McGinn has been a steady Eddie there, and has been fit and able to play.
I could live till I'm 95 and I'll still love David Gray. He is far superior to mcginn and always will be. I was delighted when gray signed as id seen him down south, him and sauzee will be my two favourites till I die and I'm only 36.

11-07-2020, 09:14 PM

Mainly played on the right of a three which Whittaker and Gray didn’t. We were still generally poor at the back.

I’m not saying he’s terrible. But I’ve never seen any reason to be delighted, wherever he came from.

11-07-2020, 09:21 PM
McGinn has mostly played as a centre half for us, which can be pretty thankless given the powderpuff midfield.

I'd like him to actually play in his preferred fullback position.

11-07-2020, 10:04 PM
We need new full backs who can deliver a cross. We have one of the best strikers in the air in the league playing for us and we need full backs who can put the ball into areas where he can do his work. Stevenson, Gray, James and McGinn are not good enough.
Can we afford it? Don’t know but if we can make it happen then we should.

11-07-2020, 10:15 PM
We need new full backs who can deliver a cross. We have one of the best strikers in the air in the league playing for us and we need full backs who can put the ball into areas where he can do his work. Stevenson, Gray, James and McGinn are not good enough.
Can we afford it? Don’t know but if we can make it happen then we should.

I think we’ll be going to a 3 at the back next season. If we do then Joe Newell was coming onto a game at left wing back. Certainly likely to provide a challenge to Stevenson for that position.

FWIW I wasn’t always a fan of Newell, far from it, finding a way for him to be in the team for his corners alone was worth while though. Think Doidge got about 3 or 4 from his corners?

11-07-2020, 10:16 PM
Now your just being silly

11-07-2020, 10:21 PM
Misread ur post, thought u meant we were still keeping tabs on him.

👍

11-07-2020, 10:25 PM
I could live till I'm 95 and I'll still love David Gray. He is far superior to mcginn and always will be. I was delighted when gray signed as id seen him down south, him and sauzee will be my two favourites till I die and I'm only 36.

You are aware you can still like Gray and not be a **** about other right backs, aye?

11-07-2020, 10:33 PM
It's maybe just my advanced years but it's beyond my comprehension why a Hibs supporter would come on here & submit 10-20 posts to tell us they think a Hibs player is rubbish. If it has to be said, then once should surely suffice. Not a specific pop re tonight's posts, there's others who do the same thing all season.

11-07-2020, 10:38 PM
Any new rumours? Last page of this thread descended into negativity...

Inconsequential
11-07-2020, 10:50 PM
Take it you weren't at the game against the team who finished rock bottom. He had a disaster Everybody in the team had a disaster that night to be fair. The team who finished rock bottom eliminated Sevco from the cup. It's a funny old game.

Inconsequential
11-07-2020, 10:54 PM
Quite a bizarre vendetta you seem to have against McGinn Totally bizarre davhibby! He says he's super too! :wink:

Inconsequential
11-07-2020, 11:00 PM
have some respect? You’ve just ripped into a player, I’m sure he’d like some respect too, it’s disrespectful to say a quarter fit player would be better than McGinn, a player who can’t stay fit (and I say that as someone who thinks Gray is a fantastic footballer). Might also be worth pointing out that when gray was signed he could be described as a journeyman pro who’d simply scrabbled round the lower English divisions. McGinn has played what, 10 games, give the guy a chance. After all, his brother was not just a relegation battler but actually relegated whilst with the same club we signed this brother from.

to the point in question, it’s not respect you’re speaking from, it’s blinkers. Gray has been a fantastic captain and player for Hibs, but he’s not been able to consistently play for years. That’s sad to say, but it’s true. He’s played less than 50% of games over the past 3 seasons. When completely fit, is he better than McGinn? Yes, no one is disputing that. But gray hasn’t been completely fit Or close to it for a long time, we still need to have players in that position. McGinn has been a steady Eddie there, and has been fit and able to play. Well said McD.

11-07-2020, 11:03 PM
Griffiths not travelling to France with Celtic due to concerns about his fitness levels.

Bring him home.

11-07-2020, 11:07 PM
Griffiths not travelling to France with Celtic due to concerns about his fitness levels.

Bring him home.

😄 That would be some replacement for Kamberi wouldn’t it?

11-07-2020, 11:28 PM

Yeah. Judge Gray on his best moment and McGinn on his lowest. Terrific way to do it.

Honestly. Neither is a top 4 SPL player. Would bin both for O'Donnell right now.

11-07-2020, 11:48 PM
You've left out Gray. If he can play CH, then that fills your gap at the back (move McGregor and Jackson one spot left) and it may help his injury problems as well as he wouldn't be sprinting up and down the flank.

There's almost a case to bring back Simon Murray as a cheap fourth striker to complete your squad.

Exactly what i was meaning to do, no idea why i missed him.

11-07-2020, 11:53 PM
GK: Marciano / Dabrowski

LCB: Hanlon / Jackson
CB: Porteous / McGregor
RCB: McGinn / D. Gray

RWB: Boyle / Wright
CM: *Docherty / Hallberg
CM: Gogic / Newell
LWB: Stevenson / Mackie or Doig

AM: Allan / Mallan

ST: Nesbit / Gullan
ST: Doidge /

Out:
James, Horgan, Kamberi

Doig (on loan)/Mackie

12-07-2020, 12:08 AM
GK: Marciano / Dabrowski

LCB: Hanlon / Jackson
CB: Porteous / McGregor
RCB: McGinn / D. Gray

RWB: Boyle / Wright
CM: *Docherty / Hallberg
CM: Gogic / Newell
LWB: Stevenson / Mackie or Doig

AM: Allan / Mallan

ST: Nesbit / Gullan
ST: Doidge /

Out:
James, Horgan, Kamberi

Doig (on loan)/Mackie
What makes you think that Horgan will be away?

JOD
12-07-2020, 12:35 AM
The great dressing room story with NL and John McGinn was after our defeat at.
Paisley. QUOTE NL"When I came to this club everyone told me you were the best player here. Son tonight after that you ain't even the best player in your family. "
Pure class stuff and super John took it on the chin and the rest is history. 💚

supermcginn
12-07-2020, 12:52 AM
Yeah. Judge Gray on his best moment and McGinn on his lowest. Terrific way to do it.

Honestly. Neither is a top 4 SPL player. Would bin both for O'Donnell right now.

Quite bizarre how much you slate Gray but not too much of a surprise. He'll be the biggest legend in both our lifetimes he is immortal.

HendoDelivered
12-07-2020, 12:58 AM
The great dressing room story with NL and John McGinn was after our defeat at.
Paisley. QUOTE NL"When I came to this club everyone told me you were the best player here. Son tonight after that you ain't even the best player in your family. "
Pure class stuff and super John took it on the chin and the rest is history. 💚

Never knew about this 😂

12-07-2020, 01:39 AM
Quite bizarre how much you slate Gray but not too much of a surprise. He'll be the biggest legend in both our lifetimes he is immortal.

I agree, massive legend. I've never said anything to deny he is a legend. How is that relevant? He is one of many who are immortal. Good argument for him not even being the most legendary fullback in our current squad, though.

Arthur Duncan is also a legend, would you have him in the team next season?

12-07-2020, 01:49 AM
So what are we thinking for the remainder of the window? 3 very good signings already done but still room for improvement.

Out
Kamberi
James
Hallberg? Someone mentioned him and hasn’t featured under Ross much. Would be a mistake imo.
Innes Murray
Ben Stirling

In
Docherty
Goalkeeper or will Dabrowski be back up?
Left back or will Stevenson, Mackie and Doig battle it out?

Imo whoever comes in must be a starter and no back up.

Imo it’s great to see the players Ross is going after as they know the league well and will solve problem areas of our team. Very impressed so far.

What is your rationale for trying to move Ben Stirling on? Have you seen him play much?

12-07-2020, 05:02 AM
What is your rationale for trying to move Ben Stirling on? Have you seen him play much?

I’ve only seen him play last pre season and although I was not impressed that would not be a reason to move him on. What is a reason to move him on is he is 22 and can’t get a game. Unless he’s ready to start games for us then he needs moved on.
Maybe August will be his break through but if it’s not then I’m not sure why we would want to keep him?

12-07-2020, 05:39 AM
I’ve only seen him play last pre season and although I was not impressed that would not be a reason to move him on. What is a reason to move him on is he is 22 and can’t get a game. Unless he’s ready to start games for us then he needs moved on.
Maybe August will be his break through but if it’s not then I’m not sure why we would want to keep him?

And was seemingly one of the best players yesterday against St Mirren

12-07-2020, 05:40 AM

I was suggesting it may be likely based on the fact he’s 22 and has yet to make a first team appearance, even on loan he’s hardly featured.

He can play defence and centre mid, two positions we have plenty of options.

Fwiw whenever Iv seen him I think he had looked very decent as a defensive mid, strange he’s not been given a chance but the coaches and management see him every day.

12-07-2020, 06:00 AM

Bring him home.

Seemingly considerably overweight.

12-07-2020, 06:14 AM

OK we get it, u don't like him you don't need to keep repeating yourself

12-07-2020, 06:57 AM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;6233647]I’ve only seen him play last pre season and although I was not impressed that would not be a reason to move him on. What is a reason to move him on is he is 22 and can’t get a game. Unless he’s ready to start games for us then he needs moved on.

Its now a Hibs Net fact that Ben is 22. He's 21, will be 22 in 5 weeks.

12-07-2020, 07:05 AM

Bring him home.

If he's not fit enough for Celtic he's not fit enough for us either

12-07-2020, 08:35 AM

Bring him home.

After all the support they gave him last year, I suspect they will feel let down by him over this.

we will never afford him...not sure I want the maintenance that comes with him either...

12-07-2020, 08:57 AM
After all the support they gave him last year, I suspect they will feel let down by him over this.

we will never afford him...not sure I want the maintenance that comes with him either...

And we don’t want Celtic to use their clause to just take Nisbet of us for nothing.[emoji6]

12-07-2020, 09:07 AM
😄 That would be some replacement for Kamberi wouldn’t it?

It would be an even better swap :devil:

12-07-2020, 09:34 AM
I like McGinn. His attitude is spot on. I'd take a fully fit Gray or Whittaker over him anyday though. But he is a decent enough squad player and will do until we get a long term replacement for Gray.

12-07-2020, 09:35 AM
If he's not fit enough for Celtic he's not fit enough for us either

That’s a pretty meaningless statement though.

Are you saying that if Celtic decided to use this episode to get rid of him you wouldn’t take him at Hibs because he isn’t fit just now?

Henderson2Del
12-07-2020, 09:39 AM
I have no issue with McGinn but if hibs want to challenge for 3 or 4th which is a must then we need better level of players than McGinn and others

12-07-2020, 09:41 AM
McGinn has done very little wrong since he joined us.

12-07-2020, 09:50 AM

Read many St Mirren fans accounts saying he was consistently their best player. You seem to have a bizarre vendetta against a guy who signed at the end of January and due to Covid played 7 yes only seven games many of which he seemed pretty decent imo. Ffs give the guy a break. Absolutely mental

12-07-2020, 10:03 AM
Unfortunately we can’t afford to fill 20 odd places in a squad with first choice class players. On top of that, players that are class for our level are going to come in as second choice. We do need solid, reliable sorts as backup and Paul McGinn is exactly that, as Whittaker was last year, and exactly what I’d like to see Stevenson turn into now as I think he’s below starter level.

McGinn can cover right back, centre half and left back, it would be mental to get rid of that just because he’s not good enough to be first choice.

12-07-2020, 10:05 AM

Yes, he wasn't great in the derby, but everyone had a poor game that night. Collectively, we were rubbish.

12-07-2020, 10:12 AM

I agree with this but I still think we need better in the full back roles.

12-07-2020, 10:14 AM
I have no issue with McGinn but if hibs want to challenge for 3 or 4th which is a must then we need better level of players than McGinn and others

Players can surely improve themselves once they join us though?

My old man
12-07-2020, 10:16 AM

you say mcginn and others
who pray tell are “your” others ??

curiously intrigued

12-07-2020, 10:20 AM
Players can surely improve themselves once they join us though?

I don’t think McGinn is going to improve. He is what he is at his age. Not terrible, not particularly good.

It’s a position that needs strengthened but I think it’s unlikely to happen this year.

12-07-2020, 10:35 AM
That’s a pretty meaningless statement though.

Are you saying that if Celtic decided to use this episode to get rid of him you wouldn’t take him at Hibs because he isn’t fit just now?

If Celtic aren't even taking him on a pre season tour because of the state of his condition I don't think we should be clamouring to sign him. What message does that send out?

12-07-2020, 10:42 AM

Mental the abuse he takes, came in and played well last season.

12-07-2020, 10:52 AM
I don’t think McGinn is going to improve. He is what he is at his age. Not terrible, not particularly good.

It’s a position that needs strengthened but I think it’s unlikely to happen this year.

Perhaps, but the same type of comments were made when we signed Martin Boyle.

12-07-2020, 10:57 AM
you say mcginn and others
who pray tell are “your” others ??

curiously intrigued

Stevenson, any of the RB’s at the club and Horgan. That’s 3 positions I don’t think we are strong enough in for challenging for 3rd & fourth. Arguably the centre backs too, although we will find out if our poor defensive record was mainly down to the midfield or not with Gogic. Hopefully the new signings can help make us greater than the sum of our parts.

We do have some good players and the new signings will hopefully turn out to be good signings, and possibly more importantly, give us much needed balance. But this squad has taken us from 4th - 5th - 6th so I don’t think it’s unreasonable to think we have a number of players/positions not up to challenging for 3rd and 4th.

12-07-2020, 11:01 AM
Perhaps, but the same type of comments were made when we signed Martin Boyle.

Boyle was 22 or so when he signed, McGinn in 29. I don’t think he will have much, if any, development left. He’s a solid enough stop gap In the current circumstances, nothing more nothing less IMO.

Mcpakeisgod
12-07-2020, 11:04 AM
Is this bickering still going on ?? Jeez it’s like a bunch of bairns 😂😂

12-07-2020, 11:05 AM

Bring him home.

Not good for Scotland either. The National team needs a fit Griffiths

12-07-2020, 11:06 AM
Boyle was 22 or so when he signed, McGinn in 29. I don’t think he will have much, if any, development left. He’s a solid enough stop gap In the current circumstances, nothing more nothing less IMO.

Agree with all that but it is maybe the wider point that there are always calls to sign a level of player while there are teams finishing above us with players who, if we signed, would have this site in meltdown.

12-07-2020, 11:10 AM
Is this bickering still going on ?? Jeez it’s like a bunch of bairns ����

People are having a discussion about football which is the purpose of the site.

Not just aimed at you but comments like this are, in my opinion, far more annoying than any arguing or debates going on and contribute absolutely nothing.

12-07-2020, 11:11 AM
Potts signs for Hibs. CH.

Has she moved up to Edinburgh to live

Stevenson, any of the RB’s at the club and Horgan. That’s 3 positions I don’t think we are strong enough in for challenging for 3rd & fourth. Arguably the centre backs too, although we will find out if our poor defensive record was mainly down to the midfield or not with Gogic. Hopefully the new signings can help make us greater than the sum of our parts.

We do have some good players and the new signings will hopefully turn out to be good signings, and possibly more importantly, give us much needed balance. But this squad has taken us from 4th - 5th - 6th so I don’t think it’s unreasonable to think we have a number of players/positions not up to challenging for 3rd and 4th.

Do you think Stevenson has regressed as a player? He’s been good enough to be a part of a top 4 side as recently as 2 seasons ago.

We’ve been regressing because we’ve been diabolical in midfield, mainly.

Our form from about November was comfortably top 4 form. That’s mainly because Boyle was back, Doidge was scoring and Docherty helped improve the midfield beyond recognition. That was a team that had Stevenson as a regular (even if I admit he probably wasn’t at his best during that time) and McGinn featuring towards the end.

They’re not players to get us up and in about the top 2, but they’re good enough to be “other players” in a team that has quality elsewhere.

My hunch is that Gogic is going to help the whole defensive unit no end.

12-07-2020, 11:16 AM
Do you think Stevenson has regressed as a player? He’s been good enough to be a part of a top 4 side as recently as 2 seasons ago.

Our form from about November was comfortably top 4 form. That’s mainly because Boyle was back, Doidge was scoring and Docherty helped improve the midfield beyond recognition. That was a team that had Stevenson as a regular (even if I admit he probably wasn’t at his best during that time) and McGinn featuring towards the end.

They’re not players to get us up and in about the top 2, but they’re good enough to be “other players” in a team that has quality elsewhere.

100% agree. On Gogic, I see he was #1 for interceptions in the top flight last season. This means we now have the top 2 as Paul Hanlon was in 2nd place! Can't believe Underscore hasn't been all over this!! :wink:

12-07-2020, 11:18 AM

Not sure that’s how your point is coming across.

12-07-2020, 11:26 AM

The second half of that season was the best football Stevenson has played in his whole career IMO. He was outstanding and hasn’t got remotely close to that level in the two years since. So, yes, you could argue he has regressed.

Whilst I don’t necessarily disagree with the point on our midfield, our defenders get an easy ride IMO. Defenders are there to defend but there is always someone else to blame when they don’t do that. Countless goals lost last year down to individual errors in the back three or four (you only need to look as far back as our last game to see that).

davhibby
12-07-2020, 11:40 AM
Not a vendetta look at my username. I'm just a realist. He isn't good enough gray is twice the player. Tell me he's not.

McGinn’s debut. Came on for Gray at half time who had a nightmare and was solid defensively and added a threat going forward.

You seem to be basing your entire thoughts on McGinn on the derby but if we all done that for the whole team that night we’d be wanting a full new squad, and McGinn wasn’t close to being the worst player that night

12-07-2020, 11:40 AM

CH ? what about Hunter and Murray?

12-07-2020, 11:54 AM
[/B]100% agree. On Gogic, I see he was #1 for interceptions in the top flight last season. This means we now have the top 2 as Paul Hanlon was in 2nd place! Can't believe Underscore hasn't been all over this!! :wink:

Hopefully Hanlon will be a lot lower on that list next season as the reason he is 2nd top is that teams ran through our midfield last season as if it wasn’t there.
There is a reason Ajer and Jullien are not 1 and 2 on the list.

Hibiza
12-07-2020, 12:03 PM
I agree with this but I still think we need better in the full back roles.

12-07-2020, 12:04 PM
People are having a discussion about football which is the purpose of the site.

Not just aimed at you but comments like this are, in my opinion, far more annoying than any arguing or debates going on and contribute absolutely nothing.

TBF he has a point, it's meant to be the transfer thread and all that's being discussed over the last 2 pages is McGinn and if he's good enough, maybe a new thread dedicated to him might help.

hibs#1
12-07-2020, 12:06 PM
Daniel Harvie apparently going to MK Dons.

12-07-2020, 12:06 PM
TBF he has a point, it's meant to be the transfer thread and all that's being discussed over the last 2 pages is McGinn and if he's good enough, maybe a new thread dedicated to him might help.

A transfer thread is a very broad thing, though. To me its perfectly reasonable to discuss the quality of a fairly recent signing and if we should be looking to add another player in that position.

12-07-2020, 12:08 PM

I think Stevenson has regressed quite a lot, perhaps physically more than anything. He’s still as fit as he has always been but think Father Time has caught up on him. Last season he was particularly guilty of going inside and standing off his man with no actual attempt to stop the cross IMO. Equally he’s been a mainstay of a team that’s gone from 4th - 5th - 6th.

I think the second half of 17/18 was the peak of Stevenson & Hanlon performance wise. Both deserved to be included in the discussion for Scotland squads IMO. I don’t think either have been anywhere near that level since then. Stevenson dropping off more so IMO. Although I do have some sympathy for them in the non existent protection in front of them and having to play behind Horgan.

12-07-2020, 12:19 PM

The announcement on the official site (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10673) refers to Potts as a versatile central midfielder.

12-07-2020, 12:43 PM
The announcement on the official site (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10673) refers to Potts as a versatile central midfielder.

She can play as a DM but was a CH all season for Sunderland.

EAZY-ME
12-07-2020, 01:07 PM
I think Stevenson has regressed quite a lot, perhaps physically more than anything. He’s still as fit as he has always been but think Father Time has caught up on him. Last season he was particularly guilty of going inside and standing off his man with no actual attempt to stop the cross IMO. Equally he’s been a mainstay of a team that’s gone from 4th - 5th - 6th.

I think the second half of 17/18 was the peak of Stevenson & Hanlon performance wise. Both deserved to be included in the discussion for Scotland squads IMO. I don’t think either have been anywhere near that level since then. Stevenson dropping off more so IMO. Although I do have some sympathy for them in the non existent protection in front of them and having to play behind Horgan.

As much as i like stevenson and hanlon i think its going to thier last season

12-07-2020, 01:11 PM
The second half of that season was the best football Stevenson has played in his whole career IMO. He was outstanding and hasn’t got remotely close to that level in the two years since. So, yes, you could argue he has regressed.

Whilst I don’t necessarily disagree with the point on our midfield, our defenders get an easy ride IMO. Defenders are there to defend but there is always someone else to blame when they don’t do that. Countless goals lost last year down to individual errors in the back three or four (you only need to look as far back as our last game to see that).

I’d like to see how Stevenson would get on with excuses removed. Same with Hanlon, really.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence Lewis played his best football with Kamberi on form, up front and pulling left, a settled defence and an outstanding central midfield.

I also fully accept when you say that our defenders haven’t played well enough and that they shouldn’t be entirely absolved of blame. I’d just be starting to fix things by getting the midfield right before starting on the defence.

12-07-2020, 01:27 PM
Agree with all that but it is maybe the wider point that there are always calls to sign a level of player while there are teams finishing above us with players who, if we signed, would have this site in meltdown.

Indeed. Remember when we signed Paul fenwick and Tom Smith. A few perplexed fans but both imho were cracking signings. Gogic I think will make a huge difference and Nisbet with only get better with more games in the spl. They are two cracking signings and has me buzzing for the season to start. Apologies to the doom mongers for my ridiculous optimism.🤣

12-07-2020, 02:04 PM
QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;6233835]People are having a discussion about football which is the purpose of the site.

Not just aimed at you but comments like this are, in my opinion, far more annoying than any arguing or debates going on and contribute absolutely nothing.[/QUOTE]
Difficult to describe it as a discussion about football, more like a character assassination.

12-07-2020, 02:17 PM

In January Stevenson is 33 and Hanlon is 31.
You could be right on Stevenson but Hanlon should be about for a few more years yet.

Biggest mistake Hibs have made in recent times with the older players was giving David Gray a new playing contract. Those of us thinking with our heads rather than our hearts thought it was madness given his obvious injury issues. If they wanted to do right by David they should have made a promise, in writing, of a coaching contract on retirement.
As a result of this sentimental decision we have chucked money at James, Naismith and now McGinn and are no further forward on the right back front than we were at the end of SDG's contract. Add the cash spent on fees and wages on all 4 players over the last year and we could have had a top class right back for the same money.
My fingers are firmly crossed that the enforced extended rest has allowed SDG's body to recover fully and give him a final season worthy of his ability.

12-07-2020, 02:18 PM
Hibs fan account reporting the following. He normally gets things off here but haven't seen it reported so thought I'd share it

Few teams abroad & English lower champ/league one interested in Melker Hallberg. Under contract so would likely cost a fee.

12-07-2020, 02:30 PM

At Hibs? Very much doubt it. As footballers? No chance.

12-07-2020, 02:31 PM
Hibs fan account reporting the following. He normally gets things off here but haven't seen it reported so thought I'd share it

Few teams abroad & English lower champ/league one interested in Melker Hallberg. Under contract so would likely cost a fee.

If we are getting Docherty back id imagine Hallberg would be moved on tbh

Souter96Mac
12-07-2020, 02:31 PM

Odd as he didn't play too many times last season, or exceptional enough to merit a great deal of interest. Perhaps Hibs are offering Hallberg out? I like him, and think there's potential there.

12-07-2020, 02:33 PM

Really hope he doesn't become the new boo boy like Whittaker was. The lad has done absolutely nothing wrong in a Hibs shirt. I realise I'm defeating the purpose of your post which I agree with so I'll say no more about it on this thread

12-07-2020, 02:38 PM
So I take it Docherty's back to the Huns warming the bench for them? Would still like him at Hibs permanently.

Rumble de Thump
12-07-2020, 02:39 PM
You could be right on Stevenson but Hanlon should be about for a few more years yet.

Biggest mistake Hibs have made in recent times with the older players was giving David Gray a new playing contract. Those of us thinking with our heads rather than our hearts thought it was madness given his obvious injury issues. If they wanted to do right by David they should have made a promise, in writing, of a coaching contract on retirement.
As a result of this sentimental decision we have chucked money at James, Naismith and now McGinn and are no further forward on the right back front than we were at the end of SDG's contract. Add the cash spent on fees and wages on all 4 players over the last year and we could have had a top class right back for the same money.

And what would we have done if that one top class player got injured like most of the others you mentioned? It's not Gray's fault that our other right backs have been injured.

12-07-2020, 02:52 PM
And what would we have done if that one top class player got injured like most of the others you mentioned? It's not Gray's fault that our other right backs have been injured.

Would have had to use one of the back ups or played someone out of position. Gray's done nothing wrong. The fault lies with the club giving him a contract when it was clear that his body could no longer sustain his all action style of defence.

12-07-2020, 03:25 PM
At Hibs? Very much doubt it. As footballers? No chance.

Dont know, Lewis turns 33 in January. It should certainly be his last season as anything even approaching a regular. The modern game requires a full back that can play both ways and whilst Lewis is solid defensively, his attacking output isn't, and never has been good enough.

He will definitely have his place for games where we expect to defend first and foremost, but we should definitely be looking to the future.

Hanlon is 31 this year and should be coming into his peak years defensively, but if anything he regressed last year and if that continues then next season will definitely be his last at our level.

berwickhibee
12-07-2020, 03:35 PM
Dont know, Lewis turns 33 in January. It should certainly be his last season as anything even approaching a regular. The modern game requires a full back that can play both ways and whilst Lewis is solid defensively, his attacking output isn't, and never has been good enough.

He will definitely have his place for games where we expect to defend first and foremost, but we should definitely be looking to the future.

Hanlon is 31 this year and should be coming into his peak years defensively, but if anything he regressed last year and if that continues then next season will definitely be his last at our level.

I agree he struggled but I want to see him with a bit of
Protection in front of him, ie gogic, before I write him off. He deserves the chance after his career.

Bronson
12-07-2020, 03:40 PM

Given the account that posted it, I’d take this with a rather large pinch of salt. Boys an absolute slaver, pretends to have connections but literally just copies and pastes from here or makes up whatever sounds plausible.

My old man
12-07-2020, 03:42 PM

thanks for explaining I now kinda agree with you
but I do think Mcginn gives us 💯% every time I do think (hope)
gogic will protect the CB’s

Eaststand
12-07-2020, 03:51 PM
Read many St Mirren fans accounts saying he was consistently their best player. You seem to have a bizarre vendetta against a guy who signed at the end of January and due to Covid played 7 yes only seven games many of which he seemed pretty decent imo. Ffs give the guy a break. Absolutely mental

Good Post Jim.

Opinions can differ, but from reading some of the posts on this thread, it appears that some posters have a very bizzare view regarding one of our players. 🤔

I agree he struggled but I want to see him with a bit of
Protection in front of him, ie gogic, before I write him off. He deserves the chance after his career.

Agreed, but it's not too far fetched that he could be coming to the end of the line with us.

My fingers are firmly crossed that the enforced extended rest has allowed SDG's body to recover fully and give him a final season worthy of his ability.

Are you privvy to Gray and McGregor's contracts? Do we know what the full extent of their contract was? I'm led to believe it's a contract that will allow them to stay at the club to either become coaches or to become ambassadors of the club. I think they'll know that they cannot carry on forever and as they get older game time may become limited but they signed a contract probably knowing this.

12-07-2020, 05:03 PM

Joelle Murray is in her twilight years at this level

12-07-2020, 06:22 PM
Are you privvy to Gray and McGregor's contracts? Do we know what the full extent of their contract was? I'm led to believe it's a contract that will allow them to stay at the club to either become coaches or to become ambassadors of the club. I think they'll know that they cannot carry on forever and as they get older game time may become limited but they signed a contract probably knowing this.

No, and i'm not privy to them either :wink:.
Whatever way you look at it, Gray's contract for last season was a wasted playing wage with his injuries predictable. Love the guy but he should not have been given another contract which involved playing.

12-07-2020, 06:26 PM
Not sure when the Transfer window runs to? There has been talk that it will be open until the end of October, by that time we will be 13 games into the season

12-07-2020, 06:37 PM
Do we think anymore will come in without leavers? Barring Kamberi who I assume will leave this week.

Any reasonable rumours? Saw Harvie and O’Donnell but don’t know how likely they are.

I think we are set in midfield unless we have leavers. Goalkeeper and defence is only position I’d assume we’d be looking at. Signing another striker would hinder Gullan and I think he’s good enough to have a chance.

12-07-2020, 06:40 PM
Do we think anymore will come in without leavers? Barring Kamberi who I assume will leave this week.

Any reasonable rumours? Saw Harvie and O’Donnell but don’t know how likely they are.

I think we are set in midfield unless we have leavers. Goalkeeper and defence is only position I’d assume we’d be looking at. Signing another striker would hinder Gullan and I think he’s good enough to have a chance.

2 defenders is what I reckon we will see coming in.

12-07-2020, 06:41 PM

Said it all along we will wheel and deal in this window to address the imbalance in the squad which we have already started on. I'd think some players will move on Kamberi & James and possibly more. The players that come in will give us more balance, improve the quality and reduce the wage bill.

No tall order but that's what i think will happen

12-07-2020, 06:43 PM
No, and i'm not privy to them either :wink:.
Whatever way you look at it, Gray's contract for last season was a wasted playing wage with his injuries predictable. Love the guy but he should not have been given another contract which involved playing.
How was his injuries predictable. His new contract included a coaching part and McGregors was a Hibernian ambassador.
Or should we treat our players the Hearts Berra way !

12-07-2020, 07:05 PM
How was his injuries predictable. His new contract included a coaching part and McGregors was a Hibernian ambassador.

Just about to reply the same, Gray and Daz are doing their badges with a view to going into coaching, hence the longer contracts..

Robbo6-2
12-07-2020, 07:08 PM
I wonder if they took a wage drop in order to secure a longer contract.

I wouldnt be shocked if they werent on much more than a geand a week.

12-07-2020, 07:10 PM

Gray was out of contract, just wouldn't have been renewed. Nothing unusual.
Berra had 18 months left on his contract and they were trying to hoy him oot the door, so not a relevant comparison.

To quote my original post on this matter:
"If they (Hibs) wanted to do right by David they should have made a promise, in writing, of a coaching contract on retirement."

Re his injuries being predictable, in our 3 Premier League seasons he played a total of 35 league games, so less than 12 games in each 38 game season. The way he plays isn't sustainable. Puts his body on the line in every game and his body can no longer take it.

12-07-2020, 07:12 PM

Football is a sentimental sport as well as a business and there are a few players I’d never want to see anywhere other than Easter Road. I think everything’s going to be about money for the foreseeable though.

12-07-2020, 07:15 PM
Gray was out of contract, just wouldn't have been renewed. Nothing unusual.
Berra had 18 months left on his contract and they were trying to hoy him oot the door, so not a relevant comparison.

To quote my original post on this matter:
"If they (Hibs) wanted to do right by David they should have made a promise, in writing, of a coaching contract on retirement."

Re his injuries being predictable, in our 3 Premier League seasons he played a total of 35 league games, so less than 12 games in each 38 game season. The way he plays isn't sustainable. Puts his body on the line in every game and his body can no longer take it.
Again the longer contracts were given so they could transition from playing to coaching, they're both doing their badges.

12-07-2020, 09:04 PM

not a single person on here has said you shouldn’t love David Gray, not that he can’t be your favourite.

sadly for you, football teams aren’t picked by who’s loved more or who’s the favourite. As for ‘he always will be”, that sounds like something a child comes out with. If gray breaks a leg in the next few weeks, you still think he’ll be better than Mcginn to play in our first match?

what’s the relevance of you being 36 got to do with the relative merits of gray and mcginn? :confused:

I said in my post that when fully fit SDG is better than mcginn. It’s the fully fit part that’s the problem. Gray will likely have the more successful career, and will in all probability be remembered as a better player at the peak of their careers, but right now, we can’t say gray is definitely a better prospect for playing a full season than mcginn. That doesn’t change grays place in the history of Hibs.

12-07-2020, 09:04 PM
Usually I would care, but when it's David Gray I couldn't care less if we're paying him to sit on the bench or not, the guy is a living legend and should be treated as such by the club until he retires, and that should be with Hibs.

We're probably keeping him around to make sure we get our full body plaster cast ready in time for the solid gold statue at the gates of the West. Get it done Ron!

12-07-2020, 09:05 PM
You are aware you can still like Gray and not be a **** about other right backs, aye?

12-07-2020, 10:18 PM
Again the longer contracts were given so they could transition from playing to coaching, they're both doing their badges.

I have always wondered if they actually get badges when they complete a bit of training or a course? And is it like a sew on patch or a wee enamel pin for your lapel or pocket?

And what are there badges actually for?

Is there a Shouting at the fourth official badge? A how to deal with Chick Young badge? An "I can lay out 50 cones in 2 minites" badge?

13-07-2020, 10:05 AM
Getting a bit anxious. We're heading towards lunchtime and haven't signed anyone yet today. Maybe Ron is a con after all

franck sauzee
13-07-2020, 10:06 AM
Getting a bit anxious. We're heading towards lunchtime and haven't signed anyone yet today. Maybe Ron is a con after all

It's a clear sign we're about to go bust

13-07-2020, 10:18 AM
I have always wondered if they actually get badges when they complete a bit of training or a course? And is it like a sew on patch or a wee enamel pin for your lapel or pocket?

And what are there badges actually for?

Is there a Shouting at the fourth official badge? A how to deal with Chick Young badge? An "I can lay out 50 cones in 2 minites" badge?

I don't know about the full badges, but when you do the coaching courses for kids you get a wee laminated business card type thing with the details on it.

13-07-2020, 11:34 AM
Livingston sign striker Salim koudir-Aissa

13-07-2020, 03:30 PM
Boy was playing non league a year ago . Scored 17 goals for Queen’s Park in league 2 last season .

13-07-2020, 03:43 PM
Boy was playing non league a year ago . Scored 17 goals for Queen’s Park in league 2 last season .

Sometimes it just takes someone to take a chance

13-07-2020, 04:02 PM
I don't know about the full badges, but when you do the coaching courses for kids you get a wee laminated business card type thing with the details on it.

Same for all badges. Your card gets updated at from C Level upward.

13-07-2020, 04:53 PM
Steven Lawless signs for Burton Albion

badabing67
13-07-2020, 04:59 PM

Might mean there selling Dykes soon

Souter96Mac
13-07-2020, 05:22 PM
Might mean there selling Dykes soon

Would be bold from Livi to sell Dykes with this lad coming in from lower leagues..but also very Livi at the same time

13-07-2020, 06:01 PM
So was Docherty at EM on Friday night or not?

13-07-2020, 06:14 PM

Have I missed something 👀👀

Robbo6-2
13-07-2020, 06:47 PM

He just posted a picture of him in new Rangers strip on Instagram so cant see it

13-07-2020, 07:04 PM
Docherty wasn't seen to be good enough to stop 9 so I doubt he'll be relied upon to stop 10.

Rangers should just do the decent thing and give him a free transfer.

13-07-2020, 07:07 PM
Docherty wasn't seen to be good enough to stop 9 so I doubt he'll be relied upon to stop 10.

Rangers should just do the decent thing and give him a free transfer.

Why would he give up the wage he will probably never make again in his career? For that reason we will get him on loan again but he will think he’s good enough to play for the club he supports.

13-07-2020, 07:09 PM
Why would he give up the wage he will probably never make again in his career? For that reason we will get him on loan again but he will think he’s good enough to play for the club he supports.

👀

13-07-2020, 07:09 PM
No idea what that means mate.

13-07-2020, 07:10 PM

I mean, he may speculate to accumulate. If he came here permanently, had 2 very good seasons, he'd be earning double his Rangers wage down south no problem. If he had any brains that is what he'd be doing IMO.

13-07-2020, 07:16 PM

I agree with every word. :agree:

13-07-2020, 07:16 PM
No idea what that means mate.

The 2nd part wasn't that serious mate. I know a free transfer won't happen.

I believe the first bit though.

13-07-2020, 07:18 PM
I mean, he may speculate to accumulate. If he came here permanently, had 2 very good seasons, he'd be earning double his Rangers wage down south no problem. If he had any brains that is what he'd be doing IMO.

He supports rangers and is on at least double we could offer though. If I was him I would certainly try to get in the team and if that doesn’t work take the loan option anyway to put himself in the shop window for a good move down south. Win win for him either way instead of asking to be released coming here for much less money that he could have done on loan to try and win the same move down South.

13-07-2020, 07:18 PM
The 2nd part wasn't that serious mate. I know a free transfer won't happen.

I believe the first bit though.

Ah cool. Sorry 👍😃

I agree he won’t be wanted by them but in every interview he’s given he’s always indicated a desire to break into their team. I admire his determination to try and make it there tbh.

13-07-2020, 07:19 PM
Ah cool. Sorry 👍😃

👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

13-07-2020, 07:40 PM
He supports rangers and is on at least double we could offer though. If I was him I would certainly try to get in the team and if that doesn’t work take the loan option anyway to put himself in the shop window for a good move down south. Win win for him either way instead of asking to be released coming here for much less money that he could have done on loan to try and win the same move down South.

I very much doubt he is currently on double our top wage at Rangers.

13-07-2020, 07:45 PM
Was it not said at the time that Kamberi was on a higher wage than Docherty? Or was that proven to be *****?

HendoDelivered
13-07-2020, 08:24 PM
Was it not said at the time that Kamberi was on a higher wage than Docherty? Or was that proven to be *****?

No danger thats true. Docs probs on double flo’s wage.

13-07-2020, 08:36 PM

How do you know what he is on at Rangers? Pure speculation.

If I was him I'd want to be a footballer and play football. He isn't even making Rangers bench so staying there is a ticket to Livingston in 2 years time because you're 25 and haven't played in 2 years. Needs to leave and play every week. 3 year deal here, play every week for 2 years, go down south for real wages.

13-07-2020, 08:37 PM

Not ITK by any means but I don’t believe that for a second.

Flo came to us after a very successful loan and had a lot of interest south of the border.

Docherty went to Rangers from Hamilton at 21, I don’t think it would have took much money at all to convince him to sign for his boyhood team.

13-07-2020, 08:38 PM

Wouldn’t be so sure, Kamberi is on a good contract at Hibs and going from Hamilton to the Huns he’s probably be on less than folk think

13-07-2020, 08:43 PM
How do you know what he is on at Rangers? Pure speculation.

If I was him I'd want to be a footballer and play football. He isn't even making Rangers bench so staying there is a ticket to Livingston in 2 years time because you're 25 and haven't played in 2 years. Needs to leave and play every week. 3 year deal here, play every week for 2 years, go down south for real wages.

Yep. Of course. Pure speculation.

If I was a footballer and I played for my boyhood hero’s I would always fancy my chances of giving it all to get into the team. The last thing I would do is ask to be released to go to a smaller club when I could go on loan to the same club anyway.

Docherty has been there two years and has played away from them while being paid more than he would get if he wasn’t there. Again, what’s in it for him moving away permanently? It’s the equivalent of signing for Hibs and being on loan at Dundee or Raith then wanting to leave and sign for them on a free. Why would you?

13-07-2020, 08:44 PM
I very much doubt he is currently on double our top wage at Rangers.

Why not? Kevin Kyle was on £10k.

13-07-2020, 08:51 PM
Yep. Of course. Pure speculation.

If I was a footballer and I played for my boyhood hero’s I would always fancy my chances of giving it all to get into the team. The last thing I would do is ask to be released to go to a smaller club when I could go on loan to the same club anyway.

Docherty has been there two years and has played away from them while being paid more than he would get if he wasn’t there. Again, what’s in it for him moving away permanently? It’s the equivalent of signing for Hibs and being on loan at Dundee or Raith then wanting to leave and sign for them on a free. Why would you?

He doesn't play for his boyhood heroes, though. He has played made as many league games for Rangers in the last 2 years as I have.

Whats in it for him as a career in football. Maybe going out on loan suits him but he gains very little from that long term.

If he wants to be like Gordon Ramsay and tell people he played for Rangers once then fine. If he wants a good career then he'll be demanding a permanent move this summer.

13-07-2020, 08:58 PM
He doesn't play for his boyhood heroes, though. He has played made as many league games for Rangers in the last 2 years as I have.

Whats in it for him as a career in football. Maybe going out on loan suits him but he gains very little from that long term.

If he wants to be like Gordon Ramsay and tell people he played for Rangers once then fine. If he wants a good career then he'll be demanding a permanent move this summer.
Missed you playing for Rangers last season. What position do you play?

🙃

Robbo6-2
13-07-2020, 09:00 PM
Why not? Kevin Kyle was on £10k.

Thats not true.

His Si Ferry interview will tell you different. Cant remember if its was 150k or 100k per year but it was no where near 10k a week

13-07-2020, 09:00 PM
Missed you playing for Rangers last season. What position do you play?

🙃

Docherty has me on cup games but his total for 0 league games in 24 months is the same as mine :wink:

13-07-2020, 09:06 PM
I can exclusively confirm that my sources indicate that Docherty is definitely on a higher or lower wage than Kamberi.

Unless they earn exactly the same.

13-07-2020, 09:27 PM
Docherty on a one year loan plus a cash payment will see us rid of Kamberi. Kamberi is not interested in a loan swap as he wants a full time deal and big pay rise with Rangers now.

13-07-2020, 09:32 PM
I can exclusively confirm that my sources indicate that Docherty is definitely on a higher or lower wage than Kamberi.

I’ve been told something along these lines tonight so must be some truth in it

13-07-2020, 09:33 PM

Daily Record to run with that story shortly

13-07-2020, 09:37 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5807938/hibs-talks-st-gallen-florian-kamberi-rangers/

Flo back to Switzerland is the latest story.