View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
18Craig75
03-07-2020, 09:55 AM
Not a footy transfer but I see our director Amanda Jones has left the Board.
Been a director since 2007, and an asset to the Club.
Strange timing to lose an employment lawyer from the board given the ongoing consultation regarding redundancies?
Auckland Hibs
03-07-2020, 09:55 AM
Hastie back at Motherwell. Good signing. Think they'll do well again next season with Turnbull back fit too
They will be a tough team to beat and will be pushing 3rd or 4th again this season.
Based on their fan base and revenue they have consistently over achieved season after season - I don't mind Motherwell as a club.
18Craig75
03-07-2020, 10:28 AM
Not a footy transfer but I see our director Amanda Jones has left the Board.
Been a director since 2007, and an asset to the Club.
Strange timing to lose an employment lawyer from the board given the ongoing consultation regarding redundancies?
HendoDelivered
03-07-2020, 10:35 AM
Hastie back at Motherwell. Good signing. Think they'll do well again next season with Turnbull back fit too
Would of taken him here.
03-07-2020, 10:44 AM
Resigned 30th June.
03-07-2020, 01:14 PM
Reckon a new season before the 5pm early bird deadline, one big last push.
JammyDoidger
03-07-2020, 01:59 PM
Kind of signing id be expecting us to make. Boys a talent.
03-07-2020, 02:43 PM
Since there has been no announcement of wage cuts agreement from the club you have to assume the players are not agreeing at this stage.
This can be the only reason for no real Activity in the transfer market .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Not really.The consultation period was 30 days so still ongoing.They’re not going to announce things in drinks and drabs.
03-07-2020, 05:11 PM
10k smashes. Time to get faces in the door & keep the feel good going
03-07-2020, 08:18 PM
Could it be that we’re not announcing Wright because we haven’t finished selling Boyle yet and that we’ll announce one to soften the blow of losing the other?
03-07-2020, 08:20 PM
Could it be that we’re not announcing Wright because we haven’t finished selling Boyle yet and that we’ll announce one to soften the blow of losing the other?
Not sure replacing Boyle with Wright would soften the blow too much.
Robbo6-2
03-07-2020, 08:22 PM
Its clearly to do with not agreeing wage cuts with the existing playing squad that we havent announced anything yet.
Thats needs sorted asap
03-07-2020, 08:25 PM
Isn't one shred of evidence to say Boyle is going anywhere as far as I know. Really doubt that is the reason.
03-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Isn't one shred of evidence to say Boyle is going anywhere as far as I know. Really doubt that is the reason.
I think MB will definitely be away. He deserves a big move, will be gutted to lose him, but we'll cash in for sure.
03-07-2020, 08:45 PM
One shred of evidence? Are you looking for forensics?
Think Speedway is passing on a rumour or a hypothetical scenario.
HFC93
03-07-2020, 09:02 PM
As others have said, I think we're waiting to confirm the players have agreed wage cuts before we confirm we've signed new players.
03-07-2020, 09:15 PM
I think MB will definitely be away. He deserves a big move, will be gutted to lose him, but we'll cash in for sure.Deserve is a strong word. Maybe Hibs deserve some loyalty after getting him through 2 bad injuries? I also think he will be away but in my mind it makes most sense for his football career to stay here.
One shred of evidence? Are you looking for forensics?
Think Speedway is passing on a rumour or a hypothetical scenario.
I'm just pointing out that there isn't anything to suggest that to be the case.
03-07-2020, 09:19 PM
Could it be that we’re not announcing Wright because we haven’t finished selling Boyle yet and that we’ll announce one to soften the blow of losing the other?I doubt that will help much but seemingly Boyle deal out is pretty much done
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
03-07-2020, 09:25 PM
Deserve is a strong word. Maybe Hibs deserve some loyalty after getting him through 2 bad injuries? I also think he will be away but in my mind it makes most sense for his football career to stay here.
Is 5+ years playing for us, winning the Scottish Cup, gaining promotion then being part of our best run in Europe for decades not loyalty enough?
This idea that players owe something to a club because they were injured just doesn't sit right with me. He got injured playing for our club AND he was still under contract, there's no reasonable case to say we should have left him without treatment or that he owes us anything for doing our job. Imagine in any other line of work, getting injured on the job and being sacked for it, there would rightfully be outrage.
Deserve is the right word.
03-07-2020, 09:31 PM
I doubt that will help much but seemingly Boyle deal out is pretty much done
Deal out where?
03-07-2020, 09:32 PM
Is 5+ years playing for us, winning the Scottish Cup, gaining promotion then being part of our best run in Europe for decades not loyalty enough?
This idea that players owe something to a club because they were injured just doesn't sit right with me. He got injured playing for our club AND he was still under contract, there's no reasonable case to say we should have left him without treatment or that he owes us anything for doing our job. Imagine in any other line of work, getting injured on the job and being sacked for it, there would rightfully be outrage.
I don't really think either way is right. He doesn't deserve some big move and the club don't deserve his loyalty. Just because a player gets to 27 odd doesn't mean they suddenly deserve a big move. Hibs are the most important thing, not Martin Boyles big move.
He has been paid well and taken care of during his 5 years here. He doesn't deserve a move any more than anyone of the 5/6 other players who have been here through all of that.
03-07-2020, 09:38 PM
I don't really think either way is right. He doesn't deserve some big move and the club don't deserve his loyalty. Just because a player gets to 27 odd doesn't mean they suddenly deserve a big move. Hibs are the most important thing, not Martin Boyles big move.
He has been paid well and taken care of during his 5 years here. He doesn't deserve a move any more than anyone of the 5/6 other players who have been here through all of that.
Well you're the one who said it.
'He deserves the move' is surely just saying that his performances and improvement have earned him the opportunity to play elsewhere for more money. Not that he's entitled to it, but rather that it's hard to begrudge him it and a richer team wanting him makes sense given his performances for us.
If you don't really believe in the antithesis, it's not really a point to get hung up on just for the sake of arguments.
03-07-2020, 10:03 PM
Deserve is a strong word. Maybe Hibs deserve some loyalty after getting him through 2 bad injuries? I also think he will be away but in my mind it makes most sense for his football career to stay here.
I'm just pointing out that there isn't anything to suggest that to be the case.
In today's football world he has been loyal, but you can't inhibit a career or stop a good player from trying to better himself as a footballer and financially. Loyalty in football does not exist in the main, and in today's world, nor should it especially when there are good contracts to be earned - and he has deserved it by playing good football for Hibs over the last few seasons and getting international recognition. He has a young family and wife to support, I wouldn't begrudge anybody trying to get the most from football - which is a short career.
03-07-2020, 10:05 PM
Not sure who the other 5/6 are but I'm not sure how anyone doesn't feel from a human perspective that Boyle doesn't deserve the opportunity (if it's there) to make life changing money.
Sometimes there has to be an acceptance that club and player have been great for each other and we need to realistic. There are players of lesser ability out there earning 5-10 times what he will be on.
Think it'll be fairly unanimous that we'd like him to stay- but his time is probably now.
03-07-2020, 10:06 PM
Let's get real Martin has a year to go on his contract so club and player will be looking to cash in.
03-07-2020, 10:12 PM
Let's get real Martin has a year to go on his contract so club and player will be looking to cash in.
Still not convinced we will be ‘looking’ to cash in as such.
Very, very difficult to replace. He could have more value on the pitch than whatever cash we can get for him. That doesn’t mean we won’t sell him if we get an offer that is too good to reject, of course.
Well said :clapper:
04-07-2020, 05:42 AM
Boyle will go and yes he deserves to earn the big bucks. We will probably get around £1 million for him.
Garibaldis
04-07-2020, 05:58 AM
Out:
Bogdan
Naismith
Whittaker
Omeonga
Slivka
Docherty
McNulty
Kamberi
Boyle
In:
Wright
Lot of improvement required if that is how it's looking at the moment.
04-07-2020, 06:30 AM
Out:
Bogdan
Naismith
Whittaker
Omeonga
Slivka
Docherty
McNulty
In:
Lot of improvement required if that is how it's looking at the moment.
Fixed that for you 👍🏼
04-07-2020, 06:32 AM
Does a player ever actually earn a club more through the season than they would if sold? I hear it a lot “he’s worth more to us on the pitch than selling for £xxx” however has that ever been the case?
How much difference is there per place you finish in the league? 100k or so? Then the addition of a cup run etc, very much doubt all combined it would be 1 million or so hence why we sell.
I think as a club we will be waiting for the players to agree the wage cuts and will be waiting for some players who would normally be outwith our capability agreeing to dropping down as such. I think the current financial difficulty with most clubs will enable us to get some very good players on the cheap.
Wright in
Gogic in
Boyle out - 750k-1 million
Kamberi - 250k
When you also think of the players who’s loans have expired and been released, we have a lot of wiggle room for new players coming in give the circumstances.
I think we will sign Nisbet and a couple others of good quality.
04-07-2020, 06:47 AM
Does a player ever actually earn a club more through the season than they would if sold? I hear it a lot “he’s worth more to us on the pitch than selling for £xxx” however has that ever been the case?
How much difference is there per place you finish in the league? 100k or so? Then the addition of a cup run etc, very much doubt all combined it would be 1 million or so hence why we sell.
I think as a club we will be waiting for the players to agree the wage cuts and will be waiting for some players who would normally be outwith our capability agreeing to dropping down as such. I think the current financial difficulty with most clubs will enable us to get some very good players on the cheap.
Wright in
Gogic in
Kamberi - 250k
When you also think of the players who’s loans have expired and been released, we have a lot of wiggle room for new players coming in give the circumstances.
You also have to factor in the possiblity of a player getting injured and missing a substantial part of the season , which in Boyle's case is not that unlikely unfortunately.
04-07-2020, 06:52 AM
Wright in
Gogic in
Kamberi - 250k
I’m it sure you can ever totally qualify it because you can’t definitively say one player managed to earn you X amount through on pitch performance.
But when you’re talking about £750k for Boyle then I don’t think it takes that long to accrue that (if you have a decent season) when we have two Scottish Cups, League Cup and League position to play for. The difference from 7th, where we finished, to 4th for instance is about £400k. If you can get to a final and fans are allowed in you’re looking at the same again from that, at least.
With Boyle, providing he’s fit, we know he is going to perform and be one of our main players. I think it’s similar to McGinn a couple of years ago in that sense. I’m not saying we won’t ever get a player as good as Martin Boyle again. But on our budget I don’t think we get someone who can go straight in and give us what Boyle gives us right away because it took him time to develop to that level. I don’t think the kind of fee we could get for him would totally transform our finances which is why I think there is more value in keeping him if we can.
I’m it sure you can ever totally qualify it because you can’t definitively say one player managed to earn you X amount through on pitch performance.
But when you’re talking about £750k for Boyle then I don’t think it takes that long to accrue that (if you have a decent season) when we have two Scottish Cups, League Cup and League position to play for. The difference from 7th, where we finished, to 4th for instance is about £400k. If you can get to a final and fans are allowed in you’re looking at the same again from that, at least.
With Boyle, providing he’s fit, we know he is going to perform and be one of our main players. I think it’s similar to McGinn a couple of years ago in that sense. I’m not saying we won’t ever get a player as good as Martin Boyle again. But on our budget I don’t think we get someone who can go straight in and give us what Boyle gives us right away because it took him time to develop to that level. I don’t think the kind of fee we could get for him would totally transform our finances which is why I think there is more value in keeping him if we can.
Morally, you can't ask someone to defer and reduce their salaryand then block a move that will earn him 4 or 5 times what he is currently earning.
04-07-2020, 08:07 AM
Morally, you can't ask someone to defer and reduce their salaryand then block a move that will earn him 4 or 5 times what he is currently earning.
You can if you don’t get an appropriate offer.
04-07-2020, 08:22 AM
Not sure who the other 5/6 are but I'm not sure how anyone doesn't feel from a human perspective that Boyle doesn't deserve the opportunity (if it's there) to make life changing money.
Sometimes there has to be an acceptance that club and player have been great for each other and we need to realistic. There are players of lesser ability out there earning 5-10 times what he will be on.
Think it'll be fairly unanimous that we'd like him to stay- but his time is probably now.
Boyle already earns life changing money. Why does he deserve a move to some dump like Stoke? Deserve kind of implies he has outgrown the club and that really isn't the case. All he has done is what he is paid very well to do.
If he gets a decent move down south I hope he does well. In my opinion he would struggle but it's hard to tell.
I just dislike the idea that a player deserves a move. It's kamberi patter that.
04-07-2020, 08:23 AM
With only about 4 weeks till the season starts I would normally be going a bit mental at the club for not making signings. However I think this season there may be some bargains to be had later in the window and also some good loan deals to be had. If we can hold our nerve, it might be to our advantage to wait.
My old man
04-07-2020, 08:30 AM
With only about 4 weeks till the season starts I would normally be going a bit mental at the club for not making signings. However I think this season there may be some bargains to be had later in the window and also some good loan deals to be had. If we can hold our nerve, it might be to our advantage to wait.
I totally agree with this 100%
lots of clubs will be trying to offload some nonessential players
to reduce wages/outgoings
if we can keep helping “financially “ we may get a couple of bargains
04-07-2020, 08:35 AM
Agree with that, especially when you consider the transfer window doesn't close until October. Any injuries to key players before then though and we could struggle.
sean04
04-07-2020, 08:54 AM
Had a wee deek on Jambos kickback. There hilarious. Think they have a transfer budget of millions. Signing half of Motherwells team😂
John Souter to Aston Villa 😂😂😂
04-07-2020, 08:57 AM
Had a wee deek on Jambos kickback. There hilarious. Think they have a transfer budget of millions. Signing half of Motherwells team😂
John Souttar to a retirement home Villa mair like 😂
Boyle already earns life changing money. Why does he deserve a move to some dump like Stoke? Deserve kind of implies he has outgrown the club and that really isn't the case. All he has done is what he is paid very well to do.
If he gets a decent move down south I hope he does well. In my opinion he would struggle but it's hard to tell.
I just dislike the idea that a player deserves a move. It's kamberi patter that.
Did you begrudge McGinn his big move, what about Brown, Fletcher, Whittaker etc. Every player is professional and is doing this to earn as much money as possible while at the same time trying to gather medals from competitions. Boyle will be on decent money but not much more than my laddie earns in his job, if he has the chance to quadruple that and also win more trophies then we shouldn't stand in his way. He's been a mainstay in our team for 3-4 years now, is one of our better players on a regular basis and a well liked pro in the dressing room. He has earned the right to further his career with our blessing, whether that's to Celtic or as you say " a dump like Stoke " who until very recently were plying their trade in the EPL.
Garibaldis
04-07-2020, 09:06 AM
Why would Motherwell players swap European football for the the cake cup or whatever you want to call it?
And why would an EPL club be considering a defender who couldn't manage to help his club from getting relegated in Scotland?
What's in the air up in gorgie?
04-07-2020, 09:09 AM
Is Dazjambo up there with Saughton, Kiwi and the McCaig boy
04-07-2020, 09:13 AM
Did you begrudge McGinn his big move, what about Brown, Fletcher, Whittaker etc. Every player is professional and is doing this to earn as much money as possible while at the same time trying to gather medals from competitions. Boyle will be on decent money but not much more than my laddie earn in his job, if he has the chance to quadruple that and also win more trophies then we shouldn't stand in his way. He's been a mainstay in our team for 3-4 years now, is one of our better players on a regular basis and a well liked pro in the dressing room. He has earned the right to further his career with our blessing, whether that's to Celtic or as you say " a dump like Stoke " who until very recently were plying their trade in the EPL.
Its not about begrudging them the move. I don't begrudge Boyle anything. He has done very well for us. But. We should begrudge ''his'' move unless it suits Hibs. The club is the most important thing, especially in this time. There should be no sentiment here, getting the best deal for Hibs is all that actually matters to me. If the offer isn't right then we should be standing in his way. He has a contract and just because there is 1 year left on it we don't suddenly owe him a move.
The Count
04-07-2020, 09:24 AM
Its not about begrudging them the move. I don't begrudge Boyle anything. He has done very well for us. But. We should begrudge ''his'' move unless it suits Hibs. The club is the most important thing, especially in this time. There should be no sentiment here, getting the best deal for Hibs is all that actually matters to me. If the offer isn't right then we should be standing in his way. He has a contract and just because there is 1 year left on it we don't suddenly owe him a move.
You are becoming the "Tom English" of Hibs Net.
04-07-2020, 09:30 AM
Stay on topic please.
04-07-2020, 09:33 AM
Wright in
Gogic in
Kamberi - 250k
Losing Leighton, Jackson and Hunter and not replacing them adequately ultimately got us relegated.
Had we not been splashing the cash at that time and been able to come back up relatively easy , that move could have proved very costly.
Hibs situation is a bit perilous right now in the football sense. A few decent additions whilst the rest of the league weakens and we could have a top 4 side.
Without appropriate additions and losing a couple of big contributors (Boyle possibly being our most important player right now) and I don’t think we’re far off being relegation material.
Some years it would be less significant but this year I could see moves like losing Boyle or Doidge as being potentially fatal - especially if replacements ended up being the 2020 equivalent of Joe McLaughlin, Ollie Gottskalksen or Rowan Vine.
He’s got a point, you can wish Boyle all the best if it’s a deal that suits hibs, we’re not all here for our love of Martin Boyle no matter how good a guy he’s been over the 3-4 years he’s been here, we’re here cause of hibs Boyle leaving should suit us he’s under a contract he’s signed, if we think we’d benefit more from him seeing out his final year than we would selling for a knock down price then that’s the way the cookie crumbles and Martin will need to wait till next year, just cause he’s done well for us shouldn’t mean we roll over and let him go and Martin should be professional enough to give the last year his all, we’ve been good for him as much as he has for us
Boyle has a year left on his deal, it doesn't look like a new one will be signed ( there's been no talk of a new deal ) we are in difficult times and getting a good bit of money will not go amiss. Obviously we'd love to keep him but at the moment we're talking about wage cuts and not improving someone's wage, hence why selling him right now seems the right thing as we can't afford to offer him the wage he deserves if he did sign a new deal. We're stuck between a rock and a hard place, offer him a new deal with a small increase, he rejects and sees out his deal or let him move on to a bigger club that offers the money he wants and we get a few bob to re invest.
04-07-2020, 10:09 AM
Brilliant how on the one hand we want the player to be loyal and on the other there’s no room for sentiment.
Of course players deserve moves, what other jobs don’t see talented and hard working employees move on to higher paid roles?
We all want what’s best for the club, but if you take a step back, long term doing what’s best for players is best for the club.
Take McGinn as an example, he’s the reason why some players will choose Hibs as their next club because we developed him and have him a platform. Kamberi as well, came back to Hibs over more lucrative offers because he knew his next step would be a significant one.
If Hibs want to grow then we need players to come cheap and leave expensive. Standing in the way when there are reasonable offers on the table is counter productive.
04-07-2020, 10:29 AM
Brilliant how on the one hand we want the player to be loyal and on the other there’s no room for sentiment.
Of course players deserve moves, what other jobs don’t see talented and hard working employees move on to higher paid roles?
We all want what’s best for the club, but if you take a step back, long term doing what’s best for players is best for the club.
Take McGinn as an example, he’s the reason why some players will choose Hibs as their next club because we developed him and have him a platform. Kamberi as well, came back to Hibs over more lucrative offers because he knew his next step would be a significant one.
If Hibs want to grow then we need players to come cheap and leave expensive. Standing in the way when there are reasonable offers on the table is counter productive.
I'm not staying standing in the way of reasonable offers, I'm not saying I expect him to be loyal. I'm saying that Hibs are the most important thing here, not Martin Boyles move. I don't care about his wages at his next club, I don't care if he plays or not. I care that Hibs get the best offer for him and are able to use that money to move forward.
04-07-2020, 10:37 AM
I'm not staying standing in the way of reasonable offers, I'm not saying I expect him to be loyal. I'm saying that Hibs are the most important thing here, not Martin Boyles move. I don't care about his wages at his next club, I don't care if he plays or not. I care that Hibs get the best offer for him and are able to use that money to move forward.And I think Matty's point is that if the club were to consistently take that approach then it would be short sighted and not in the best interests of the club long term.
In a way, despite the seemingly good intentions, it would be doing more damage to the club than good if we were not to consider the thoughts and motivations of players in all of this.
04-07-2020, 10:41 AM
Granted that Boyle will move on at somepoint, but if we were to lose him now and replace him with Drey Wright I'd be very worried. It's no coincedence our form picked up when he came back from injury.
Keyser Sauzee
04-07-2020, 10:45 AM
Granted that Boyle will move on at somepoint, but if we were to lose him now and replace him with Drey Wright I'd be very worried. It's no coincedence our form picked up when he came back from injury.
I must admit I haven’t seen a lot of any of Drey Wright so I’m not sure how much of a replacement for Boyle he will be but I’m not worried if he doesn’t fill his shoes like for like. As far as I can remember back i can’t remember a time where we signed replacements for our best performers that we sell on, it doesn’t really happen. It’s part and parcel of life at Hibs, we buy cheap and hope to sell on, knowing that we won’t have ready made replacements for several years.
Any new rumours of players coming to Hibs rather than leaving?
04-07-2020, 11:11 AM
Any transfer rumours?
04-07-2020, 11:17 AM
Any new rumours of players coming to Hibs rather than leaving?
Drey Wright still looks to be the only one that seems to have a good chance. I’m sure they’ll be doing plenty work behind the scenes to get players in, won’t be easy with the wage cut stuff ongoing too. Might not hear anything concrete until the current squad is sorted.
04-07-2020, 11:23 AM
It will be a sad day if/when Martin Boyle moves on. It`s been a joy watching him improve and mature into a first class footballer and it`s probably getting to that stage where he is ready to earn himself a hugely improved deal and Hibs cashing in on a transfer fee. Wish we could be offering him attractive new terms but that`s unlikely in the current climate.
Still hope he stays, but if he moves I hope it`s out of Scotland. Would hate to see him line up against us.
mvteng
04-07-2020, 11:45 AM
Jack Fitzwater- defender from West Brom up in Edinburgh to train with hibs
04-07-2020, 11:55 AM
Cheers for that. Is that in the media or just something you’ve heard?
Doesn’t look a particularly exciting signing for a position we don’t need filled so bit of a strange one.
04-07-2020, 12:36 PM
Not heard anything about him but everything I have read seems to point to him being heavily linked with Walsall
04-07-2020, 12:40 PM
Doesn’t look a particularly exciting signing for a position we don’t need filled so bit of a strange one.Are we well covered for CB?
Jackson, Hanlon, Porteous
I'd think McGregors playing time will be severely limited
Have I missed anyone?
04-07-2020, 12:41 PM
Doesn’t look a particularly exciting signing for a position we don’t need filled so bit of a strange one.
Disagree on not needing defenders. We don’t defend well enough.
04-07-2020, 12:43 PM
Are we well covered for CB?
Jackson, Hanlon, Porteous
I'd think McGregors playing time will be severely limited
Have I missed anyone?
McGinn can play there
04-07-2020, 12:44 PM
Agreed looking at this guy though he's a right sided CH who can play RB we never seem to be linked with left sided CH's who can play LB I know it's quite possible to play 2 right or 2 left sided CH's together, but I just prefer that balance
04-07-2020, 12:45 PM
22 and appears not to have played a single game for West Brom. Sent out on numerous lower league loans.
04-07-2020, 12:45 PM
In an ideal summer yes I’d agree but in a summer we are having to be watching our cash, having Hanlon, Mcgregor, Porteous, Jackson and McGinn that can play there is enough imo.
04-07-2020, 12:56 PM
In an ideal summer yes I’d agree but in a summer we are having to be watching our cash, having Hanlon, Mcgregor, Porteous, Jackson and McGinn that can play there is enough imo.
It wouldn’t be in addition to what we currently have for me, it would be instead of. If we do sign a centre half I think that would be the end for McGregor playing wise.
Whole defence needs a shake up for me. Porteous has youth on his side and the potential to improve, which he needs to do. But the rest aren’t going to improve, it’ll be more of the same. Realistically, with the contract situation I’m not expecting us to do much in that area of the pitch though.
04-07-2020, 01:24 PM
Porteous and Jackson first choice got me as it stands
04-07-2020, 01:25 PM
There’s no truth in this sorry
chippy
04-07-2020, 01:30 PM
Agreed looking at this guy though he's a right sided CH who can play RB we never seem to be linked with left sided CH's who can play LB I know it's quite possible to play 2 right or 2 left sided CH's together, but I just prefer that balance
Our own Josh Doig and Callum Yeats both Left defenders, central or full/ wing backs. Afaik both training with 1st Team.
hibs#1
04-07-2020, 01:49 PM
Think our defence whilst not great aren't as bad as some would have you believe lack of cover from midfield at times has been dreadful. Bartley or Milligan should have been retained last summer. Gogic or similar I think would massively help us.
04-07-2020, 01:52 PM
Why are people posting things as fact when thay arent fact, even if people post they have heard. That's another one we can post under nonsense then
04-07-2020, 02:05 PM
3 ex players want come back and play for nothing😲 Levein, Walter Kidd and Henry Smith? Isn't Dazjambo as big a slaver as saughton Jambo and kiwidug*****?
04-07-2020, 02:06 PM
Why are people posting things as fact when thay arent fact, even if people post they have heard. That's another one we can post under nonsense then
At least it’s nonsense about Hibs which is a refreshing change from the plethora of Jambo nonsense we’ve been putting up with for months. :cb
04-07-2020, 02:13 PM
Our own Josh Doig and Callum Yeats both Left defenders, central or full/ wing backs. Afaik both training with 1st Team.
Again understand and have high hopes for both, just wasn't sure why we were linked with another righ sided CB which had now been rubbished anyway
04-07-2020, 02:18 PM
I would be happy if we signed a half decent centre back, last season was painfully bad, but I did think Jackson started to come on a bit.
mvteng
04-07-2020, 02:20 PM
Up with his dad to have a look around
04-07-2020, 02:21 PM
Does anyone remember when we was struggling for centre backs at ibrox and lenny played Lewis there and I'm sure he was outstanding.
mvteng
04-07-2020, 02:23 PM
I’m not saying he’s signing, but 100% in Edinburgh with his dad to have a look around
04-07-2020, 02:33 PM
I’m not saying he’s signing, but 100% in Edinburgh with his dad to have a look around
Travelling against lockdown regulations?
04-07-2020, 02:47 PM
Which regulation are you thinking of?
04-07-2020, 03:53 PM
Which regulation are you thinking of?
Scottish gov regulations - hotels and b&bs not open yet, people shouldn't be travelling more than 5 miles from home and shouldn't be staying over at over people's homes, particularly those you are not connected with. So where are they staying? And how far have they travelled to get there?
04-07-2020, 03:58 PM
Scottish gov regulations - hotels and b&bs not open yet, people shouldn't be travelling more than 5 miles from home and shouldn't be staying over at over people's homes, particularly those you are not connected with. So where are they staying? And how far have they travelled to get there?
Those have been lifted.
chippy
04-07-2020, 04:04 PM
Having worked in Sandwell, lived in West Brom, Wednesbury, Wolverhampton, Hednesford, Coventry, Birmingham and Walsall for 10 years I can imagine the guy and his dad thinking that Edinburgh is a paradise ....... where do I sign, don’t worry about the salary..
Those have been lifted.
Think it's only self catering that's open, hotels, pubs and restaurants not open till around 14th.
18Craig75
04-07-2020, 04:18 PM
Travelling 5 mile distance has been lifted. Accommodation with exclusive use of welfare also lifted I believe. Maybe he’s staying in a static caravan at Port Seton.
04-07-2020, 04:21 PM
You can travel now.
Also plenty of students returning from England to Edinburgh taking up new lets on properties July 1st.
Plenty of people travelling across the border already, including all the daily deliveries Scotland needs from England.
chippy
04-07-2020, 05:47 PM
Travelling 5 mile distance has been lifted. Accommodation with exclusive use of welfare also lifted I believe. Maybe he’s staying in a static caravan at Port Seton.
A static. caravan in Port Seton is luxury compared to West Brom/ Walsall
04-07-2020, 06:07 PM
Does anyone remember when we was struggling for centre backs at ibrox and lenny played Lewis there and I'm sure he was outstanding.
My memory may be failing me and I’m talking rubbish, but didn’t he play there, and was excellent, under Stubbs. He then played there again at Ibrox under Lennon and had a tough time.
04-07-2020, 06:20 PM
My memory may be failing me and I’m talking rubbish, but didn’t he play there, and was excellent, under Stubbs. He then played there again at Ibrox under Lennon and had a tough time.Not sure about the Stubbs one but we won the game where he played at the back under Lennon.
Was it the one where Slivka scored the winner?
Keyser Sauzee
04-07-2020, 06:27 PM
Not sure about the Stubbs one but we won the game where he played at the back under Lennon.
Was it the one where Slivka scored the winner?
No I’m sure it was the 2-1 game around January 18, Porteous debut iirc he got man of the match, think it might have been Allans first game back on loan also
04-07-2020, 06:33 PM
No I’m sure it was the 2-1 game around January 18, Porteous debut iirc he got man of the match, think it might have been Allans first game back on loan alsoAh yes that sounds more like it, Allan fouled for the penalty then Maclaren scored it. Those were good times
Oh well back to talking about players leaving hibs😕
04-07-2020, 06:40 PM
No I’m sure it was the 2-1 game around January 18, Porteous debut iirc he got man of the match, think it might have been Allans first game back on loan also
It was that game. Ambrose. Porteous and Lewis in a back three.
Lennon tried to play the same system at Parkhead the following season with Lewis on the left of a three. We were 2-0 down after 20 minutes, getting murdered and had to change it. When we did we actually made a game of it.
04-07-2020, 06:51 PM
Was he having a look around Edinburgh or East Mains 😉
04-07-2020, 07:03 PM
So is Jack Fitzwater
1. Training with us
2. Having a look around easy mains
3. Randomly in Edinburgh
4. Of no interest to Hibs
If we’re looking at a new centre half could it signal the end for Porteous or Daz?
It was that game. Ambrose. Porteous and Lewis in a back three.
Lennon tried to play the same system at Parkhead the following season with Lewis on the left of a three. We were 2-0 down after 20 minutes, getting murdered and had to change it. When we did we actually made a game of it.
Exactly right, a back 3 of Lewis, Daz, returning from injury & Efe. Moved Milligan to the back 4 after 20 & made a game of it. Then took MM off when he didn't chop down Forrest. One of Lennon's more bizarre games.
04-07-2020, 07:19 PM
So is Jack Fitzwater
1. Training with us
2. Having a look around easy mains
3. Randomly in Edinburgh
4. Of no interest to Hibs
If we’re looking at a new centre half could it signal the end for Porteous or Daz?
Why would it signal the end of Porteous?
McGregor maybe but still time to run on his deal. Cant see it really.
04-07-2020, 07:29 PM
There’s been rumours he could leave this summer.
Galatasaray and Celtic have both been mentioned.
04-07-2020, 07:46 PM
He was linked with Galatasaray and I’m sure there’s plenty of clubs interested.
04-07-2020, 08:16 PM
There’s been rumours he could leave this summer.
Galatasaray and Celtic have both been mentioned.
He was linked with Galatasaray and I’m sure there’s plenty of clubs interested.
Can see both those clubs going for better than Porteous tbh. He has a lot to learn
04-07-2020, 08:21 PM
Can see both those clubs going for better than Porteous tbh. He has a lot to learn
Celtic signed Jack Hendry a few years ago
Not every signing Celtic make is the finished article.
04-07-2020, 08:59 PM
Celtic signed Jack Hendry a few years ago
Not every signing Celtic make is the finished article.
Yeah but Porteous has a long term deal here, he wouldn't be cheap.
04-07-2020, 09:36 PM
yeah but porteous has a long term deal here, he wouldn't be cheap.
good
05-07-2020, 07:59 AM
I hope we can offload james asap even on a free.
The Count
05-07-2020, 09:12 AM
I enjoy our special players when they are at Hibs.But i know that one day they will leave for bigger clubs and far bigger wages.Now as long as Hibs get fairly financially compensated then we have enjoyed them for a few seasons and given us happy memories.The only way Hibs can keep players long term is if we managed to have a very good team made up of good but not great players under a very good manager who is content at Hibs.Always think Dundee Utd in the 1980s is a good example.So following on from that £1 million for Boyle with a year left on his contract has to be accepted and we trust Ross to sign players he wants as yet he has not really had that opportunity.
05-07-2020, 09:17 AM
I enjoy our special players when they are at Hibs.But i know that one day they will leave for bigger clubs and far bigger wages.Now as long as Hibs get fairly financially compensated then we have enjoyed them for a few seasons and given us happy memories.The only way Hibs can keep players long term is if we managed to have a very good team made up of good but not great players under a very good manager who is content at Hibs.Always think Dundee Utd in the 1980s is a good example.So following on from that £1 million for Boyle with a year left on his contract has to be accepted and we trust Ross to sign players he wants as yet he has not really had that opportunity.
That DU team was pre-Bosman. Couldn't happen now
05-07-2020, 09:19 AM
That DU team was pre-Bosman. Couldn't happen now
I think most of them were on long term (4-5 years) contracts as well.
05-07-2020, 02:07 PM
Not strictly a transfer but Micky Mellon looking likely to be the next Dundee Utd manager
EVENTUALLY
05-07-2020, 02:09 PM
I'd like to think we'll hear something from the club this week about an actual signing. I know there is the situation regarding wages deferrals and potential wages reductions now, academy changes and coaches positions under threat, however season ticket sales of 10k + as well as increased HSL funding ought to be recognised and something done to encourage others to buy into further season ticket sales or HSL contributions. Momentum is a great thing in sport and a signing announced now would go some way to rewarding the fans for stepping up and shelling out. Announce Nisbet, a young centre forward who is rated on both sides of the border with great potential to grow in an attacking Hibs side.
Not strictly a transfer but Micky Mellon looking likely to be the next Dundee Utd manager
Seen that earlier, good appointment for them, has a lot of experience down south.
Logie Green
05-07-2020, 02:14 PM
Seen that earlier, good appointment for them, has a lot of experience down south.
So did Paul Heckingbottom.....
Aye, forgot about that, they can't all be crap that coach down south.
05-07-2020, 02:31 PM
Heckenbottom had 4 years managerial experience and Mellon has 12 years
Mellon is a well established and respected lower level league coach in England.
Heckenbottom is more of a spraff merchant with only one good season at Barnsley to back it up and now bad failures at Leeds and Hibs.
I reckon Mellon is a good appointment for Dundee Utd.
Well connected and knowledgeable of Div 1 & 2 in England which is where Dundee Utd will be shopping.
McLaren would have been the expensive spraff appointment which would almost certainly have ended in tears.
05-07-2020, 02:44 PM
Wonder if the compo and salary McKay wanted was too high
Seems a strange appt looking from the outside, dare I say a cheap option!!
MM was managing a team relegated from League 1 when the season was prematurely ended. Sounds familiar for some reason. 😁 Think he was Shrews manager when we won 4-1 there pre season.
05-07-2020, 03:05 PM
Mikel Miller signed for Rotherham
05-07-2020, 03:18 PM
Mikel Miller signed for Rotherham
Happy enough with that, I think he’s a good enough player but not good or consistent enough to take us to the next level.
Just find it odd we reportedly put a bid in for him in January but never got him pre contract.
05-07-2020, 03:29 PM
Happy enough with that, I think he’s a good enough player but not good or consistent enough to take us to the next level.
Just find it odd we reportedly put a bid in for him in January but never got him pre contract.
Maybe we saw him as short term fix for last season, and we’ve moved on now to other targets
Green Manalishi
05-07-2020, 03:34 PM
McGregor maybe but still time to run on his deal. Cant see it really. I cant see Porteous going anywhere at the moment. He is still raw and is coming back from a bad knee injury so i doubt many clubs would be willing to pay the big money that we will be after. Boyle on the other hand with a year to go is a cert to be sold especially if we sign Drey Wright
05-07-2020, 03:36 PM
Regular connectee to Hibs
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53285074
Decent player
05-07-2020, 03:37 PM
Regular connectee to Hibs
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53285074
At least he’s still got a club to play for
05-07-2020, 03:41 PM
At least he’s still got a club to play for
At the moment (given their recent financial issues)
A good player who is similar to some of our current midfielders.
Any player that gets signed up for next season will be relieved. Suspect hundreds of players will be less fortunate.
05-07-2020, 03:45 PM
At the moment (given their recent financial issues)
A good player who is similar to some of our current midfielders.
Any player that gets signed up for next season will be relieved. Suspect hundreds of players will be less fortunate.
He’s one of the lucky ones
05-07-2020, 03:59 PM
Think Bolton are about to sign Eoin Doyle, I thought he was signed to Swindon and Bolton have a transfer embargo
05-07-2020, 04:31 PM
Think Bolton are about to sign Eoin Doyle, I thought he was signed to Swindon and Bolton have a transfer embargo
How do they get round that one😄
05-07-2020, 04:50 PM
Just realised, the contract he signed with Swindon in January was only a 6 month contract, so free agent
05-07-2020, 04:58 PM
Just realised, the contract he signed with Swindon in January was only a 6 month contract, so free agent
Can they sign free agents with a transfer ban, obviously yes
05-07-2020, 05:08 PM
From twitter
Its understood Micky Mellon has agreed a three year deal with Dundee United
05-07-2020, 05:18 PM
From twitter
Its understood Micky Mellon has agreed a three year deal with Dundee United
Steve Strawberry and Bertie Banana will be his back up team
05-07-2020, 05:29 PM
Steve Strawberry and Bertie Banana will be his back up team
Banana is a bit green...
HFC93
05-07-2020, 05:33 PM
Suprised to see Mellon become a Tangerine.
TelaStella
05-07-2020, 06:07 PM
Bit underwhelming for United if this turns out to be the case. Failed on both McLaren and Mackay and end up with the 3rd choice. Poor managerial recruitment had pretty much dismantled them season after season for nearly 4 years running, Neilson was a sensible decision and paid off, on paper and history tells us this may not have the same effect and then where will they be left? Best of luck to the guy though.
05-07-2020, 06:24 PM
Bit underwhelming for United if this turns out to be the case. Failed on both McLaren and Mackay and end up with the 3rd choice. Poor managerial recruitment had pretty much dismantled them season after season for nearly 4 years running, Neilson was a sensible decision and paid off, on paper and history tells us this may not have the same effect and then where will they be left? Best of luck to the guy though.
He might be their third choice behind the pear you mention, but if he does well then Mellon will be the apple of the fans' eye.
05-07-2020, 06:27 PM
Have they said they offered it to Mackay? That would be surprising. He’s awful.
05-07-2020, 06:32 PM
Mellon is a top coach and done a great job taking Tranmere from the conf.
TelaStella
05-07-2020, 06:49 PM
Have they said they offered it to Mackay? That would be surprising. He’s awful.
Is he? Took a championship side to major cup final, next season got said championship team promoted had them playing decent enough stuff before being rightfully dismissed for the off field stupidity. You’ll struggle to find a young player in Scotland with a bad word against him in his role as chief performance director. Let’s get this straight I wouldn’t want him anywhere near Easter Road based purely on the obvious dark history he’s had which I think has been the ultimate factor holding him back from becoming a top manager.
05-07-2020, 06:49 PM
I would have thought Mellon would have been the best fit out of those three? Certainly he would be my choice out of those three.
TelaStella
05-07-2020, 06:53 PM
He might be their third choice behind the pear you mention, but if he does well then Mellon will be the apple of the fans' eye.
Lychee what you done there
Never thought for a moment that McLaen would end up at Dundee Utd, bit of publicity for him to remind people he's available & bit publicity for Utd
G15 Hibs
05-07-2020, 07:02 PM
Is he? Took a championship side to major cup final, next season got said championship team promoted had them playing decent enough stuff before being rightfully dismissed for the off field stupidity. You’ll struggle to find a young player in Scotland with a bad word against him in his role as chief performance director. Let’s get this straight I wouldn’t want him anywhere near Easter Road based purely on the obvious dark history he’s had which I think has been the ultimate factor holding him back from becoming a top manager.
Maybe he didn't mean he is an awful manager, just awful.
05-07-2020, 07:08 PM
The lack of signings/rumours is brutal.
Take it the Jack Fitzwater rumour was rubbish?
05-07-2020, 07:17 PM
I think we’ll start hearing some announcements this week. Drey Wright being confirmed I’d guess.
Dempster tweeted on Friday that we’ll hear more from them soon. She was talking generally but I think that’ll include some signing news.
05-07-2020, 07:17 PM
I think the biggest worry is the lack of agreement with the players about their pay cut.
Looks like we won’t be bringing anyone in until that is resolved.
05-07-2020, 07:24 PM
I think the biggest worry is the lack of agreement with the players about their pay cut.
Looks like we won’t be bringing anyone in until that is resolved.
The pay cut thing is worrying, hopefully the club haven’t asked too much of the players. Would also hope the players are being reasonable too. Going to have to get a move on soon, season starts in less than a month and we’re lacking in a number of areas.
05-07-2020, 07:35 PM
Suppose it's all speculation at this stage but I hope there are no players refusing to play ball. I'm sure a lot of them will but I can definitely see a few of them doing this, no one in particular but just a numbers game. Pure speculation though.
The fans have played their part so step up and get it done.
05-07-2020, 07:40 PM
The pay cut thing is worrying, hopefully the club haven’t asked too much of the players. Would also hope the players are being reasonable too. Going to have to get a move on soon, season starts in less than a month and we’re lacking in a number of areas.
The longer it goes on the more it worries me.
There’s only so many things that can be discussed and negotiated. Starting to look like we have not been able to reach an agreement and we’re waiting on funds from selling players before we can get back to the table.
05-07-2020, 07:57 PM
Suppose it's all speculation at this stage but I hope there are no players refusing to play ball. I'm sure a lot of them will but I can definitely see a few of them doing this, no one in particular but just a numbers game. Pure speculation though.
The fans have played their part so step up and get it done.
If ten players take a wage cut of £200 a week and a new signing comes in at £2000 a week those ten players are going to be saying to each other we've bought that player.
Not a healthy scenario.
I'm wondering now if the sale of maybe Boyle and Kamberi will provide the funds for new signings.
18Craig75
05-07-2020, 08:00 PM
Maybe the players have already agreed cuts and we’re just not announcing anything until the compulsory month long redundancy consultation has been completed with other staff.
HFC93
05-07-2020, 08:01 PM
Am I right in thinking that the club said they would undertake a 30 day consultation process re player wage cuts etc, and we're still within that time frame?
05-07-2020, 08:02 PM
Maybe the players have already agreed cuts and we’re just not announcing anything until the compulsory month long redundancy consultation has been completed with other staff.
That’s a great summary, I think a load of the staff are under consultation
05-07-2020, 08:03 PM
Am I right in thinking that the club said they would undertake a 30 day consultation process re player wage cuts etc, and we're still within that time frame?
Yes I think so.
Would that stop us bringing in players though?
05-07-2020, 08:09 PM
I’ll find you plenty young players in Scotland with plenty to say about him. They just won’t say it to the press. The man is a dinosaur.
05-07-2020, 08:17 PM
Yes I think so.
What if the manager was to say I'm not bringing in any players until this is sorted?
05-07-2020, 08:19 PM
I’ll find you plenty young players in Scotland with plenty to say about him. They just won’t say it to the press. The man is a dinosaur.
Contrary to popular opinion, sometimes dinosaurs are good managers.
I remember how glowing you were in your praise of Cathro when he got the Hearts job. Sometimes these modern young coaches talk a good game and can put together wonderful complicated training exercises but end up getting shown up by older heads that have been around the block a bit.
Malky Mackay was a good manager before all the controversies, the fact some young players you know might not like him means nothing.
Inconsequential
05-07-2020, 08:20 PM
Steve Strawberry and Bertie Banana will be his back up team No offence Gordon but you really are a fruitcake. As I say no offence.
05-07-2020, 08:22 PM
What if the manager was to say I'm not bringing in any players until this is sorted?
Then I’m not so sure players would be kicking about training with us.
Even the press can't be bothered making up any Hibs signing stories
Contrary to popular opinion, sometimes dinosaurs are good managers.
I remember how glowing you were in your praise of Cathro when he got the Hearts job. Sometimes these modern young coaches talk a good game and can put together wonderful complicated training exercises but end up getting shown up by older heads that have been around the block a bit.
Malky Mackay was a good manager before all the controversies, the fact some young players you know might not like him means nothing.
Cathro first team coach at Wolves.
No be that when it goes pear shaped.
Yes I think so.
No, but it may be insensitive to announce them. Wright is training at EM, the players will know he's going to sign but I don't think his wage will unduly concern the other players.
05-07-2020, 08:26 PM
I’d have mixed emotions.
From a morale stand point I would agree with him and good for him sticking up with the players, doesn’t sit right with me not honouring the players contracts but then adding to the wage bill elsewhere.
On the flip side to that though, we need to strengthen the squad, having a relatively poor squad that doesn’t perform wouldn’t be doing the players much good, I’m guessing from a bonus or a reputational perspective. I also think the players have to accept the world we live in just now, other clubs players are agreeing pay cuts, I’d hope the players are being reasonable too, if they’re not we need a manager to represent the club, not the players. He’s not the players rep working for the union any more.
05-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Exactly.
Very good coach I’m sure but that doesn’t make him a good manager or head coach. Same applies in reverse.
05-07-2020, 08:31 PM
Then I’m not so sure players would be kicking about training with us.
Maybe but possibility of signing when or if all sorted.
It's possible the club have assured staff there will be no new appointments at any level until consultation finished and announcements made.
As far as I'm aware Hibs have not stated officially that anyone is leaving the club, plenty rumours about coaches, office staff, etc but nothing official.
Similarly no announcement of Craig Samson coming in as new goalkeeping coach, again maybe waiting until consultation period over.
05-07-2020, 08:32 PM
Exactly.
Very good coach I’m sure but that doesn’t make him a good manager or head coach. Same applies in reverse.
I think Cathro is an excellent Head coach. Remember he had Levein there! Like Jack Ross, Cathro is a top class coach imo. Malky McKay is a shocking coach. Very few clubs have managers now. You need to be out there coaching.
05-07-2020, 08:36 PM
Motherwell’s team is looking very strong now with the additions they’ve made this summer and Turnbull coming back, if they get a really good striker they’ll be some side.
Turnbull
Campbell
Donnelly
O’Hara
Polworth
All to choose from in centre mid then they have guys like Hastie, Seedorf and Hylton on the wings.
Be interesting to see if they can keep a hold of their good players, none will be going for peanuts so you’d imagine they would invest again. Don’t think they need the money either after selling the young lad Scott in January.
They're doing very well on the youth development side of things
05-07-2020, 08:39 PM
Motherwell’s team is looking very strong now with the additions they’ve made this summer and Turnbull coming back, if they get a really good striker they’ll be some side.
Turnbull
Campbell
Donnelly
O’Hara
Polworth
All to choose from in centre mid then they have guys like Hastie, Seedorf and Hylton on the wings.
Be interesting to see if they can keep a hold of their good players, none will be going for peanuts so you’d imagine they would invest again.
Where is the money coming from?
05-07-2020, 08:46 PM
Good money for finishing third and I think they sold somebody in January.
badabing67
05-07-2020, 08:47 PM
It's called shrewd business
05-07-2020, 08:48 PM
Only O'Harra is new in that midfield
Hastie has come in on loan from Motherwell.
They have signed a striker from ICT who hasn't impressed the limited amount of times I have seen him.
05-07-2020, 08:52 PM
I think Cathro is an excellent Head coach. Remember he had Levein there! Like Jack Ross, Cathro is a top class coach imo. Malky McKay is a shocking coach. Very few clubs have managers now. You need to be out there coaching.
You may think that about Cathro but you’re wrong.
He’s only had one job doing it and he was an unmitigated disaster, regardless of Levein being there or not.
Managers don’t need to be out there coaching all the time now either, they need to employ the right coaches around them and they need to be good at managing them.
I know we are going off on a tangent here but I couldn’t let the fact you said Cathro is an excellent head coach pass.
05-07-2020, 09:24 PM
Is he first team coach? Seems to be one of many. Nuno would take most of the coaching I am assuming.
05-07-2020, 09:25 PM
You may think that about Cathro but you’re wrong.
He’s only had one job doing it and he was an unmitigated disaster, regardless of Levein being there or not.
Managers don’t need to be out there coaching all the time now either, they need to employ the right coaches around them and they need to be good at managing them.
I know we are going off on a tangent here but I couldn’t let the fact you said Cathro is an excellent head coach pass.
He is probably a decent training ground coach but man management probably lacking a lot
06-07-2020, 04:06 AM
Let's announce gogic straight after the fixtures.
06-07-2020, 07:36 AM
Motherwell looking at Callum Lang now, striker at Wigan.
Some team they’re trying to put together. Not sure how they’re affording it. We’d better get a shift on here.
Leitherhibs
06-07-2020, 07:39 AM
Some team they’re trying to put together. Not sure how they’re affording it. We’d better get a shift on here.
A lot of their younger guys will be on comparatively low wages. So they've got a pretty low cost profile to start with, and thus are able to add a few more players on relatively low wages. I can't imagine the signings they've made so far will be commanding big money at all.
06-07-2020, 07:39 AM
They’re probably still spending less than last year when you account for the players they lost. Fox and White coming from Partick and ICT won’t exactly be on big money for example.
06-07-2020, 08:09 AM
They sold James Scott and Hastie as well recently.
06-07-2020, 08:15 AM
They sold James Scott and Hastie as well recently.
True but you’d think that money would only go so far. They sold hastie last summer.
Players like Campbell, Turnbull etc would be on a decent wage you’d imagine.
06-07-2020, 08:21 AM
Is Callum Lang any good?
I know he’s young but according to what I can see on Wikipedia he doesn’t seem to be anything to be too worried about.
tbh I’m amazed anybody has heard of him, let alone know if it will make Motherwell better or not.
06-07-2020, 08:25 AM
Has a transfer window been agreed / announced yet?
Uefa were suggesting it could run until early October.
There will be differences from nation to nation and ours may shut a bit earlier since we are starting earlier, but we could be wheeling and dealing over the first two months of the season.
06-07-2020, 08:30 AM
Is Callum Lang any good?
I know he’s young but according to what I can see on Wikipedia he doesn’t seem to be anything to be too worried about.
tbh I’m amazed anybody has heard of him, let alone know if it will make Motherwell better or not.
Someone on here had mentioned him earlier as the type of player we should be looking at, maybe underscore?
HendoDelivered
06-07-2020, 09:51 AM
Chances of getting Greg Doc & Jason Naismith back?
06-07-2020, 10:00 AM
Someone on here had mentioned him earlier as the type of player we should be looking at, maybe underscore?
Not me... ive never heard of him.:greengrin
06-07-2020, 10:01 AM
We really need to move on some of our RBs if we are going to try and sign Jason. Greg should be our main target imo. Super player who maybe was guilty of trying to do too much near the end of his loan spell.
tonyrougier123
06-07-2020, 10:10 AM
Might be my post you are referring to mate,I suggested callum morton of west brom on loan at northampton might be worth a punt.
06-07-2020, 10:15 AM
Not me... ive never heard of him.:greengrin
Never heard of who 😁
06-07-2020, 10:19 AM
Pretty sure Naismith isn’t coming back. We have far too many right backs. None as good as him but unless we can move on James or Gray retires then we are stuck.
HendoDelivered
06-07-2020, 10:25 AM
Pretty sure Naismith isn’t coming back. We have far too many right backs. None as good as him but unless we can move on James or Gray retires then we are stuck.
Sadly agree. If we go into the season with the same back 4 as last season, we are in trouble IMO. A shake up needed.
ThatDayInMay
06-07-2020, 10:29 AM
Fitzwater would be a real shrewd piece of business imo- especially considering our ageing backline.
Proper old fashioned, all action central defender. Very aggressive and brave in the tackle. Decent turn of pace too. Can also cover at Right Back.
No idea where the rumour has come from but I hope there is some truth in it.
Keyser Sauzee
06-07-2020, 11:00 AM
I’d be happier with McGinn at right back instead of Naismith, wasn’t that impressed with him. We need to get James off the books and I’d be happy with McGinn and Gray for right back.
06-07-2020, 11:21 AM
I’d be happier with McGinn at right back instead of Naismith, wasn’t that impressed with him. We need to get James off the books and I’d be happy with McGinn and Gray for right back.
Naismith creates a lot when attacking. Think he got a few assists.
Bronson
06-07-2020, 11:27 AM
Completely agree and glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t see it with Naismith, I thought he was bang average at best but seems very popular on here.
I think Paul Mcginn is better, but I’d still like an upgrade on him too tbh.
06-07-2020, 11:39 AM
Completely agree and glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t see it with Naismith, I thought he was bang average at best but seems very popular on here.
I think Paul Mcginn is better, but I’d still like an upgrade on him too tbh.
I’m the other way round to be honest. I don’t see it with McGinn was very average, not got any real pace and didn’t contribute much going forward.
I’m sure I seen a stat that Naismith was only second to Tav in assists & goals over a certain amount of time in the Scottish premiership. Think it included his time at Ross county. I liked Naismith and whilst he wasn’t the best defensively he gave us a lot more going forward.
06-07-2020, 11:44 AM
I’m the other way round to be honest. I don’t see it with McGinn was very average, not got any real pace and didn’t contribute much going forward.
I’m sure I seen a stat that Naismith was only second to Tav in assists & goals over a certain amount of time in the Scottish premiership. Think it included his time at Ross county. I liked Naismith and whilst he wasn’t the best defensively he gave us a lot more going forward.
Agree with this. With Doidge finding form we need to have good attacking options on the wing who can deliver a decent cross. Naismith definitely provides that, although I can understand the club not pursuing him at this time.
06-07-2020, 11:45 AM
I liked Naismith and whilst he wasn’t the best defensively he gave us a lot more going forward.
I really liked him too... but thought he was really sound defensively! He's not got pace but when he tackles, the opposition player knows he's been tackled! I sit near the front of the west and I was wincing a few times as he nailed a few pacy wingers.
06-07-2020, 11:59 AM
Think I’m just desperate for some news regarding pay cuts resolved, players on trial, players signing, anything
Just seems a bit too quiet from HTC right now when other clubs have been providing updates from last week onwards
In saying that...it is only Monday and probably the first week there’s been more access to HTC!
06-07-2020, 12:15 PM
Still really limited access to HTC right now. Basically nobody outside the core group getting in.
06-07-2020, 12:44 PM
Wigan are now in admin.
Would like to see us go for Callum Lang from them, don’t think he had much of a future with them anyway so this should help.
I knew somebody had mentioned this previously but 😁😁
06-07-2020, 12:46 PM
Still really limited access to HTC right now. Basically nobody outside the core group getting in.
So no one hiding in the bushes to see the transfer targets
sean04
06-07-2020, 12:48 PM
Had a text and seen on twitter that Tom james has been told to find a new club. Nothing official
06-07-2020, 12:52 PM
Had a text and seen on twitter that Tom james has been told to find a new club. Nothing official
An Account on Twitter called Hibs Central saying he's surplus to requirements. Also saying Kamberi is being tracked by that Polish club again. Not sure how this account would know
06-07-2020, 12:56 PM
So no one hiding in the bushes to see the transfer targetsSure I read on Kickback that the bushes have been made redundant because Hibs are going bust.
06-07-2020, 12:58 PM
An Account on Twitter called Hibs Central saying he's surplus to requirements. Also saying Kamberi is being tracked by that Polish club again. Not sure how this account would know
HibsCentral is the rebrand of HFCTransferNews that former poster BobMarleysDug runs so it’s likely he’s just lifted that from somewhere else.
06-07-2020, 01:04 PM
So no one hiding in the bushes to see the transfer targets
I could cycle to the training centre from Dalkeith and hide in the bushes to see if there’s any new players. :greengrin
06-07-2020, 01:06 PM
HibsCentral is the rebrand of HFCTransferNews that former poster BobMarleysDug runs so it’s likely he’s just lifted that from somewhere else.
Makes sense I had forgotten about BMD
06-07-2020, 01:27 PM
Is he in the know or does he just guess like the rest of us?
So the dug & the cat have both absconded to twitter 🐶🐱
06-07-2020, 01:43 PM
99.9% of the stuff on that account comes straight from here
TheHibernator
06-07-2020, 01:47 PM
Is Callum Lang any good?
It's always difficult to predict how a player might do up here when they come up from England, some have decent records down there but when they arrive they are dugmeat and vice versa.
His career is pretty comparable to Sam Cosgrove's though, both started their career at Wigan, both shipped out on loan a few times to lower league English clubs.
Cosgrove joined Aberdeen at 21, the same age Lang is now. Before Cosgrove joined he had just 1 senior goal to his name, scored during a loan stint at Carlisle. He has since scored 44 goals in 81 games for Aberdeen, a good return for any striker.
Lang has scored 26 goals in 81 games during his loan spells. If you took him and Cosgrove at the same point in their career, Lang would look the more capable goalscorer. That coupled with Motherwell's recent habit of unearthing gems tells you it could potentially be a great bit of business by them, that said though, there are always so many variables that come into play when deciding whether a player will be a hit or not.
06-07-2020, 03:06 PM
Wonder where young Nisbet will end up, and he wants to stay in Scotland. Think the fee will be around £250k, Hibs are cutting costs whilst trying to make us competitive and Dundee Utd are talking about crowdfunding
06-07-2020, 03:17 PM
If there are no juicy rumours to get our teeth into does that mean their is no sun on wing tips?:greengrin
JammyDoidger
06-07-2020, 03:48 PM
Come on hibs!! Get us excited! Last couple of seasons have been a total waste, give us something!
06-07-2020, 04:03 PM
I know it’s tough times but we really need to pull our finger out and get a move in with signings, the season has now been confirmed that our first game is 1st August against Killie.
Thats not far away at all, we need new players in sharp so they can get fit, get used to the manager and players and get a good understanding.
Get signing Hibs.
06-07-2020, 04:06 PM
And just like they we have a rumour!
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-transfer-agyepong-manchester-city-18551394
Sources in Ghana saying we’re back in for Aygepong.
I think he could be really good, very fast and skilful but always seems to be injured.
06-07-2020, 04:08 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-transfer-agyepong-manchester-city-18551394
I think he could be really good, very fast and skilful but always seems to be injured.
I’d take a fit Agyepong any day, but getting him and keeping him fit are another thing
06-07-2020, 04:09 PM
Surely not. Did he not go to Killie on loan?
Come on hibs!! Get us excited! Last couple of seasons have been a total waste, give us something!
Such a total waste your user name, I'm assuming, is based on a signing from last year!
06-07-2020, 04:11 PM
Injury prone winger who didn’t really do much when he was here last time. Not for me.
06-07-2020, 04:11 PM
Surely not. Did he not go to Killie on loan?
He went to a Belgian team
sean04
06-07-2020, 04:15 PM
Injury prone winger who didn’t really do much when he was here last time. Not for me.
Many games did he play last season? It was hamstring after hamstring injury with us
06-07-2020, 04:24 PM
Many games did he play last season? It was hamstring after hamstring injury with us
5 starts 9 as sub.
06-07-2020, 04:34 PM
The article says Ross hopes to have at least one signing completed by the first game. That leaves me a bit worried about the state we will be in then. Given the players we’ve lost recently, we look to be struggling for numbers. Does anybody know our exact signing eligibility status?
06-07-2020, 04:36 PM
If true I take it Jack Ross doesn’t identify most signings as McNulty and omeonga came back last season and had been here before him
The article says Ross hopes to have at least one signing completed by the first game. That leaves me a bit worried about the state we will be in then. Given the players we’ve lost recently, we look to be struggling for numbers. Does anybody know our exact signing eligibility status?
Correct onl 1, you've every right to be worried. Thought we would be more ambitious than that.
06-07-2020, 04:41 PM
If true I take it Jack Ross doesn’t identify most signings as McNulty and omeonga came back last season and had been here before him
I‘m sure they will all work together
Hibs and Ross would have been aware of McNulty (he was at Sunderland with him)
06-07-2020, 04:41 PM
Correct onl 1, you've every right to be worried. Thought we would be more ambitious than that.
Also worried here but i'm sure we'll have a few players signed by the first game.
06-07-2020, 04:42 PM
Also worried here but i'm sure we'll have a few players signed by the first game.
The only worry is what their fitness will be like, if they haven’t been training with team
HendoDelivered
06-07-2020, 04:43 PM
Agyepong? No tah. Boys made of glass.
mentalhibee
06-07-2020, 04:44 PM
Agyepong was a good player but so injury prone. If we could keep him fit he’d be a great signing
06-07-2020, 04:45 PM
14 appearances last season.
No thanks.
HFC93
06-07-2020, 04:45 PM
He had a class song though.
06-07-2020, 04:47 PM
He had a class song though.
Remind me of it
06-07-2020, 04:50 PM
How long was Agyepong on the treatment table last season?
Seems a strange one and don't really think this story has much legs but at least it's something to debate 😂
06-07-2020, 04:59 PM
I'll be amazed if we signed Agyepong. Absolutely not the type of player we should be signing right now, we can't afford to take large risks on players who are more likely to be out injured than playing for the club.
Seems like a random rumour tbh and I'd be surprised if the club wanted him.
HendoDelivered
06-07-2020, 05:00 PM
Remind me of it
Heeeeey, whats going on, thomas agyepong!!!
06-07-2020, 05:01 PM
Agyepong looked good when he played but obviously very injury prone
06-07-2020, 05:20 PM
Agyepong really impressed me in the 30 minutes he was fully fit.
Scotty Leither
06-07-2020, 05:30 PM
Season ticket sales north of 10k, and an unexpected uplift in HSL donations, and not a squeak about new players beyond the latest rumour about another ex-player possibly returning (Agyepong) who in his first spell was notable for being injury-prone.
Can our recruitment team not do any better than this?
Ron Gordon said in his much-heralded recent interview that "we're still a football club that needs to compete".
Time to back your words up with some action, Ron.
06-07-2020, 05:30 PM
If we could keep him fit he’d be a good signing. I love a player like that.
06-07-2020, 05:40 PM
Season ticket sales north of £10k, and an unexpected uplift in HSL donations, and not a squeak about new players beyond the latest rumour about another ex-player possibly returning (Agyepong) who in his first spell was notable for being injury-prone.
Can our recruitment team not do any better than this?
Ron Gordon said in his much-heralded recent interview that "we're still a football club that needs to compete".
Time to back your words up with some action, Ron.
I have been fairly positive about things and always maintained we will bring players in. I still think we will but some positive news is needed, sooner rather than later, IMO. The support has stepped up in a big, big way and it would be good to see some improvements made to the squad to build some enthusiasm for the season.
Not expecting miracles in transfer market, in the circumstances. But starting to see some of the obvious gaps being filled would be positive.
Green Manalishi
06-07-2020, 05:42 PM
If we could keep him fit he’d be a good signing. I love a player like that. We couldnt keep him fit two seasons ago and the fact he only made 5 starts last season makes me think the team he was loaned out to couldnt keep him fit either. We are down to the bare bones and a player like him is the last thing we need. We need a big beast to sit in front of the back four not a 5ft 6 twinkled toed winger with hamstrings like paper.
06-07-2020, 05:45 PM
If we could keep him fit he’d be a good signing. I love a player like that.
Honestly don't think we can take the risk given how tight money is.
06-07-2020, 05:51 PM
Nice to see Alan and Porto posting pics of them training today also seen a young Hibs keeper post, not a glum face amongs them.
06-07-2020, 06:05 PM
Thomas Agyepong will NEVER make a worthwhile contribution to Hibs, other than maybe being a nice laddie around the treatment room. As exciting a player as he might be for a couple of 20 minute spells a season, anyone who thinks he's going to be a worthwhile signing for us needs their head examined.
If Hibs sign him then it has become abundantly clear that the entire "recruitment team" are simply taking the piss.
06-07-2020, 06:06 PM
If Aygepong was to prove his fitness then it’s something I would 100% be happy with.
Given the current climate he would come in relatively cheap and has so much ability on both foot, also Strong, quick and direct.
The only issue is the big one which is how could he prove his fitness and how long would it last. Has he had an operation? Built it up in the time off and is ok now?
A lot of questions but for me if he was fit he would be a real asset.
06-07-2020, 06:14 PM
Thomas Agyepong will NEVER make a worthwhile contribution to Hibs, other than maybe being a nice laddie around the treatment room. As exciting a player as he might be for a couple of 20 minute spells a season, anyone who thinks he's going to be a worthwhile signing for us needs their head examined.
If Hibs sign him then it has become abundantly clear that the entire "recruitment team" are simply taking the piss.
Unless he’s on a pay per play deal to negate the risk a little?
06-07-2020, 06:15 PM
If he comes in, plays every game, scores 40 goals in the season and scores a hat trick against Hearts in the cup before teabagging Robbie Nielson in front of a jubilant West stand, do I get to dredge this post back up again? :greengrin
The boy clearly has bags of ability but I'd want to know he'd had corrective surgery in the last twelve months to know that his issues with injury aren't going to come back again and again.