View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

17-08-2020, 03:29 PM
Maybe first permanent? Velika a loan?

So is McCrorie! :greengrin

17-08-2020, 03:31 PM
Omeonga is mince. He can’t hold down a place no matter what club he’s at.

JR didn’t rate him either.

What do we all like about him apart from being able to play the piano solo in ‘Vienna’?
Aye right. But if he is mince then he is 100% lean quality steak mince compared to a preponderance of sausages, chopped pork and corned beef. Or for McCrorie, a covered serving dish, the contents of which are unknown. I'll take the mince thank you.

17-08-2020, 03:31 PM

In the words of one of Hearts greatest experiments
Scemantics 😁

17-08-2020, 03:37 PM
Oochie to Wycombe.

SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 03:39 PM
Andrius Velicka back in 2010... was that really 51 years ago? Crikey!!!

I meant permanent transfer.

SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 03:40 PM

Until they activate the obligation to buy.

17-08-2020, 03:41 PM
Oochie to Wycombe.

No fee involved?

17-08-2020, 03:42 PM
Really hope we don’t go for Omeonga and tbh I can’t see it happening, it would have happened by now if we were interested imo.

Surprised the fee was as low as 350k for McCrorie, very good player for that sum of money and could struggle to get someone else of the same calibre for that.

McCann at St Johnstone would probably be 500k+ and those saying Campbell from Motherwell are in dream land unfortunatley.

17-08-2020, 03:43 PM
Oochie to Wycombe.

Decent step up for him.

Gypsy King
17-08-2020, 03:47 PM
Really hope we don’t go for Omeonga and tbh I can’t see it happening, it would have happened by now if we were interested imo.

Surprised the fee was as low as 350k for McCrorie, very good player for that sum of money and could struggle to get someone else of the same calibre for that.

McCann at St Johnstone would probably be 500k and those saying Campbell from Motherwell are in dream land unfortunatley.

Guys in last year of his contract and its not looking like there are any bids forthcoming. Would be no harm in testing the waters with a bid, Surely.

SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 03:47 PM
Decent step up for him.

No million pound bids from Celtic and Rangers then.. Levein at it again.

17-08-2020, 03:48 PM

McCann at St Johnstone would probably be 500k and those saying Campbell from Motherwell are in dream land unfortunatley.

McCann has 3 years left of his contract he isn't going anywhere for 500k.

17-08-2020, 03:51 PM
Yes, I agree he could insist all he liked and it was never happening, but Gerrard’s stubornness was strong enough to dump the deal and get the Aberdeen deal up and running.

Gerrard is just worried that Hibs finish above Sevco. I can't see them winning the league so this is about trying to make sure they finish 2nd and get the CL spot next season.

17-08-2020, 03:58 PM
Gerrard is just worried that Hibs finish above Sevco. I can't see them winning the league so this is about trying to make sure they finish 2nd and get the CL spot next season.

Is that a true story?

17-08-2020, 03:58 PM

Campbell only has a year left on his deal. There is still a chance of tempting Motherwell now rather than lose him for free next summer.

17-08-2020, 04:00 PM
McCann has 3 years left of his contract he isn't going anywhere for 500k.

Depends how hard saints are being hit by the lockout? Some cash now and a sell on clause might be enough to tempt them.

17-08-2020, 04:00 PM
No million pound bids from Celtic and Rangers then.. Levein at it again.

There goes his sell on fee bonus. Nae trap 3 at Monmore this evening unless the radio have him on tonight 🙃

17-08-2020, 04:01 PM

Where did you pick up the magic mushrooms mate?

17-08-2020, 04:03 PM
Campbell only has a year left on his deal. There is still a chance of tempting Motherwell now rather than lose him for free next summer.

Potentially, but I think they’d fancy their chances of getting more money for him than the 350k mark. Even if it was accepted I’m not convinced he would want to come to us, he’s been at Motherwell since he was a boy and might view it as a side ways move.

17-08-2020, 04:06 PM
Depends how hard saints are being hit by the lockout? Some cash now and a sell on clause might be enough to tempt them.

If they were struggling they would punt him down for more than they would get from Hibs, in my opinion of course

17-08-2020, 04:09 PM
Raman on Twitter

Rangers winger Jamie Murphy attracting interest from clubs in Scotland and England, Dundee United being one of them. 12 months left on Ibrox deal. Along with Ross McCrorie and Greg Docherty, would expect Murphy to leave Rangers for a fresh challenge.

17-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Potentially, but I think they’d fancy their chances of getting more money for him than the 350k mark. Even if it was accepted I’m not convinced he would want to come to us, he’s been at Motherwell since he was a boy and might view it as a side ways move.

We can likely double his wages and we can always offer a sell on clause to Motherwell. Unless we ask then we will never know.

17-08-2020, 04:15 PM
We can likely double his wages and we can always offer a sell on clause to Motherwell. Unless we ask then we will never know.

You are correct off course 😁
My view is its very unlikely. Campbell from Motherwell would be some business but again I'm in dreamland

17-08-2020, 04:16 PM

Maybe already have asked.

A sell on clause is nothing compared to cash in hand during these times.

17-08-2020, 04:20 PM

Gerrard won’t be worried about Hibs getting second. His focus is on stopping Celtic’s TIAR. If he doesn’t do that, his bum’s out the window.

17-08-2020, 04:20 PM
Maybe already have asked.

A sell on clause is nothing compared to cash in hand during these times.

Motherwell sold James Scott last season for a big fee, also decent payout for 3rd in the Premiership. Turnbull possibly moving on too, they are hardly short of cash

17-08-2020, 04:26 PM
Gerrard won’t be worried about Hibs getting second. His focus is on stopping Celtic’s TIAR. If he doesn’t do that, his bum’s out the window.Yep, really has to win something with sevco sometime or he's not going to get the sort of move back to England that he'll aspire to but probably won't attain.

Rumble de Thump
17-08-2020, 04:28 PM
When was the McCrorie to Aberdeen signing confirmed?

17-08-2020, 04:30 PM

Hasn't yet. Seems odd. Had medical this morning apparently.

Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2020, 04:33 PM

Took them 24 hours to get the deal done...unreal how slow we were on this.

17-08-2020, 04:36 PM
Took them 24 hours to get the deal done...unreal how slow we were on this.

Is the deal done though?

Rumble de Thump
17-08-2020, 04:40 PM
When was McCrorie having a medical at Aberdeen confirmed?

17-08-2020, 04:41 PM

Think the only people that will confirm that would be Aberdeen. Most media outlets including Aberdeen local journalists are saying he is /was up there undergoing a medical

Nothing confirmed

Rumble de Thump
17-08-2020, 04:48 PM
Think the only people that will confirm that would be Aberdeen. Most media outlets including Aberdeen local journalists are saying he is /was up there undergoing a medical

Nothing confirmed

Surely someone could share something. Isn't there one journalist that could be named?

17-08-2020, 04:48 PM

Nothing confirmed

I think the only people who can put a spanner in the works are Hibs. Depends how much we want the player.

Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2020, 04:49 PM

Not confirmed yet but its looking very likely

Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2020, 04:50 PM
I think the only people who can put a spanner in the works are Hibs. Depends how much we want the player.

Yup highest bidder wins so Aberdeen it is for him

angus hibby
17-08-2020, 04:52 PM
Story I heard is some of Aberdeen’s players have refused to accept the fine they got for the COVID incident.

Bryson and Devlin contracts to be terminated with McCrorie being rushed in to provide cover. Hibs said to be furious as everything was agreed for him to come here.

McKenna and Cosgrove handing in transfer requests. Jason Cummings is on McInnes radar.

McGeouch, Logan and another likely to leave too.

Not in the know, just passing on what I had been told. Could be lot of rubbish.

17-08-2020, 04:53 PM
Yup highest bidder wins so Aberdeen it is for him

Maybe so but the loan part of their deal is more important to Gerrard.

17-08-2020, 04:55 PM

So long as there is agreement between all three parties that it becomes permanent next summer then I could live with that.

17-08-2020, 04:56 PM

If we really want McCrorie that badly surely we'd just match the Aberdeen offer and leave it up to him?

Would we really pass on a player we want just cause he can't play in what, potentially four league games against them this season?

17-08-2020, 04:59 PM
So long as there is agreement between all three parties that it becomes permanent next summer then I could live with that.

I meant the loan arrangement with Aberdeen. I think all bridges with Hibs and Rangers are in flames.

mal
17-08-2020, 05:02 PM
Story I heard is some of Aberdeen’s players have refused to accept the fine they got for the COVID incident.

Bryson and Devlin contracts to be terminated with McCrorie being rushed in to provide cover. Hibs said to be furious as everything was agreed for him to come here.

McKenna and Cosgrove handing in transfer requests. Jason Cummings is on McInnes radar.

McGeouch, Logan and another likely to leave too.

Not in the know, just passing on what I had been told. Could be lot of rubbish.

There's an inconsistency there in that we know that the Dons have already been trying to sell Cosgrove. It would be surprising then if he had to put in a transfer request.

17-08-2020, 05:03 PM

Much as I’d love to sign Campbell, he’s a star in the making and dominated the game on Sunday IMO. I’m not sure he would be interested in coming to us. It would be a sideways move at best as he’s probably not likely to achieve much more at Hibs than he already has at Motherwell.

As has been said, I hope we’ve asked the question and will also try a pre contract in January if he’s still there and hasn’t signed a new deal.

BlackSheep
17-08-2020, 05:06 PM
There's an inconsistency there in that we know that the Dons have already been trying to sell Cosgrove. It would be surprising then if he had to put in a transfer request.

Aberdeen haven’t been actively trying to sell Cosgrove, they’ve had offers but he rejected them.

sean04
17-08-2020, 05:10 PM
Aberdeen haven’t been actively trying to sell Cosgrove, they’ve had offers but he rejected them.

Cosgrove is injures til after the transfer window. Accepted 2.7mill from a Dutch team but he turned down the move

mal
17-08-2020, 05:13 PM
Cosgrove is injures til after the transfer window. Accepted 2.7mill from a Dutch team but he turned down the move

Guingamp from France: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53354544#:~:text=Sam%20Cosgrove%20has%20turned%20d own,scored%2023%20goals%20last%20season.

Rumble de Thump
17-08-2020, 05:16 PM

That was a story made up by The Sun.

huggie1875
17-08-2020, 05:34 PM
if Hibs not bending over on the Rangers demands that he can't play against them this season means losing him then WELL DONE HIBS it's nothing short of asking us to cheat

17-08-2020, 05:38 PM
if Hibs not bending over on the Rangers demands that he can't play against them this season means losing him then WELL DONE HIBS it's nothing short of asking us to cheat

They could demand that all they wanted. It is impossible for them to enforce so it wouldn't have mattered. Very much doubt that is why the deal didn't happen.

LeithMike
17-08-2020, 05:38 PM
Omeonga is mince. He can’t hold down a place no matter what club he’s at.

JR didn’t rate him either.

What do we all like about him apart from being able to play the piano solo in ‘Vienna’?Not sure if this is a phish or not but I'll take the bait. I think Omeonga is a slow burner and took time to adjust to Hibs when he first arrived. Once he got established in the team he really grew as a player and showed that he had tremendous energy in getting about the park, was more than competent on the ball and had thr uncanny knack of being able to take the ball of the opposition. In his second spell he was never really given a fair go by Jack Ross and due to our imbalanced midfield often had to play the holding role when he started. This took away his most obvious ability in getting round the park. The only time I saw him play poorly was against Hearts. He had an off night but he always showed for the ball unlike the rest of the midfield and was often outnumbered 3 to 1.

Given time and confidence by a manager I think Omoeonga will go on to be a cracking player with goals and assists coming in time. Equally, if he cant find a manager to give him this then he may well struggle. I'm disappointed that we've not built our team around him. He'd be a perfect link between Gogic and Alan.

Sometimes a player takes time to mature. It's sad that supporters will just write them off after a few games if they are not making goals or assists. I, for one, certainly think Omeonga has all the attributes to be an outstanding player (although he may not be fully developed at the moment). Hibs really need to make the best of these diamons in the rough.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

huggie1875
17-08-2020, 05:41 PM
They could demand that all they wanted. It is impossible for them to enforce so it wouldn't have mattered. Very much doubt that is why the deal didn't happen.

yeah but likely we would have got him if we'd agreed the same deal as Aberdeen

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 05:42 PM

It's in the SPFL rules that if a player is loaned out they can't play against their parent club

17-08-2020, 05:44 PM

asking for a clause, which is perfectly valid and allowed, isn’t really cheating.

17-08-2020, 05:44 PM

Of course. We haven’t agreed as much money as they have with the huns. It’s as simple as that.

17-08-2020, 05:45 PM

It's in the SPFL rules that if a player is loaned out they can't play against their parent club

I'm speaking about a permanent transfer. I don't think we were ever in for him on loan.

17-08-2020, 05:47 PM
A loan with the option to buy. So he can't play against Rangers this season, which was the clause rumoured we wouldn't agree to.

As ever Aberdeen bend over for the rangers

huggie1875
17-08-2020, 05:49 PM
I'm speaking about a permanent transfer. I don't think we were ever in for him on loan.

no but i bet Hibs were offered the year loan then buy but refused there was rumours about this during talks so again WELL DONE HIBS

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 05:50 PM

Ah ok, but I think the story is Rangers are insisting that this year is a loan and actually buy him next summer which Aberdeen are agreeing to and we presumably did not

huggie1875
17-08-2020, 05:52 PM
nope but highly likely

Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2020, 05:54 PM
As ever Aberdeen bend over for the rangers

Northern huns

17-08-2020, 06:01 PM
Why would we care about buy now or have now and buy in 6 months

Makes very limited difference to us

It will be about money, as always

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

17-08-2020, 06:04 PM

😀

17-08-2020, 06:05 PM
That Huddy Uchie statement to the Hearts fans 🤡

17-08-2020, 06:09 PM
That Huddy Uchie statement to the Hearts fans [emoji1782]

Haha, leaves them in the championship but they’ll love him for that statement.

17-08-2020, 06:10 PM

Not read but guaranteed it will somewhere mention a big team with amazing supporters.

17-08-2020, 06:10 PM
Haha, leaves them in the championship but they’ll love him for that statement.

Doesn’t mention his shots were getting cheered on Boxing Day 🤣

SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 06:11 PM

Thanks for your part in getting the club relegated Uche. Now go and do the same with Wycombe.

That is just so jambo😂 I played in the team that got relegated but that is fine because I scored twice against Hibs. What a ducking loser but the hard if thinking in Gorgie will also that rubbish up

asking for a clause, which is perfectly valid and allowed, isn’t really cheating.

It’s not perfectly valid, it’s not allowed. It is cheating and probably an infringement of employment law.

Green Manalishi
Why has yet another player chosen Aberdeen over us? In less than 12 months we have targeted Funso Ojo, Dylan and now McCrorie and have lost the lot to the sheep . Why is this becoming a regular theme?

Cringe.

17-08-2020, 06:14 PM
Why has yet another player chosen Aberdeen over us? In less than 12 months we have targeted Funso Ojo, Dylan and now McCrorie and have lost the lot to the sheep . Why is this becoming a regular theme?

They have more money to spend than us...its not rocket science - they've also been consistently the 3rd force for last few seasons whilst we were sloshing around the Championship.
Its now up to us to match their ambition on and off the field - they are much better at raising money commercially than us - time for Dempster and Co to up their game on that side of things when we come out of this Pandemic

Robbo6-2
17-08-2020, 06:15 PM
Who says we were even in for Mcgeouch

17-08-2020, 06:16 PM

The ambitious will choose them for European football, the other 98% of players will choose the money which they can offer more than us

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 06:17 PM
Why would we care about buy now or have now and buy in 6 months

Makes very limited difference to us

It will be about money, as always

If we played Rangers in a cup match then it could potentially make a very big difference to us if we suddenly had to replace a player in whatever system we were playing just so Rangers could try and stop 10 in a row

17-08-2020, 06:18 PM

Maybe McCrorie didn’t like what he saw on Sky on Sat evening?

17-08-2020, 06:19 PM
McCrorie now following Aberdeen on Twitter

17-08-2020, 06:21 PM

I think we maybe dodged a bullet with Ojo who is the only one we thought we had "signed".

Dons fans think he is gash and Dylan has not exactly set the heather on fire either and after the bevvying incident isnt flavour of the month either.

As for McRorie?

It seems that Rangers wanted him loaned for a year before the sale went thru (in order that he couldnt play against them), Hibs wanted him to sign permanently and to be our player.

Aberdeen accepted Rangers terms - I am quite glad we didnt, it wouldnt have felt right in my view.

Green Manalishi
17-08-2020, 06:22 PM
They have more money to spend than us...its not rocket science - they've also been consistently the 3rd force for last few seasons whilst we were sloshing around the Championship.
Its now up to us to match their ambition on and off the field - they are much better at raising money commercially than us - time for Dempster and Co to up their game on that side of things when we come out of this Pandemic If that's the case then its a worrying situation that a club isolated in the North East all be it oil rich can raise more capital through commercial activities than a club based in the capital city. That's the equivalent of Newcastle being more commercially successful than Chelsea or Spurs.

17-08-2020, 06:27 PM
If that's the case then its a worrying situation that a club isolated in the North East all be it oil rich can raise more capital through commercial activities than a club based in the capital city. That's the equivalent of Newcastle being more commercially successful than Chelsea or Spurs.

I agree mate and I do think its a weakness of Dempster as Chief Exec tbh. Shes not shy in asking the fans to cough up continously but we nees to raise more money commercially as a club- which makes the lack of a shirt sponsorship these last 2 seasons a bit bizarre imo - albeit the NHS gesture is great recognition from the club.

BlackSheep
17-08-2020, 06:28 PM
Go on Hibs, announce a contract extension for Boyle, with a 2 or 3 million buy out clause... go on.... cheer us all up.

The Count
17-08-2020, 06:29 PM

As i have saud before most Hibbies dont care about this wee team patter.Infact some anti establishment people like myself want the wee teams dominating the so called big teams.But it is weird that they have to name us in about every statement while we normally rise above such petty points scoring.

17-08-2020, 06:30 PM
It’s not perfectly valid, it’s not allowed. It is cheating and probably an infringement of employment law.

You keep going back to this viewpoint for some reason. What Aberdeen and The Rangers are doing is perfectly legal

17-08-2020, 06:31 PM
I think we maybe dodged a bullet with Ojo who is the only one we thought we had "signed".

Dons fans think he is gash and Dylan has not exactly set the heather on fire either and after the bevvying incident isnt flavour of the month either.

As for McRorie?

It seems that Rangers wanted him loaned for a year before the sale went thru (in order that he couldnt play against them), Hibs wanted him to sign permanently and to be our player.

Aberdeen accepted Rangers terms - I am quite glad we didnt, it wouldnt have felt right in my view.

This is pretty much it, as much as I was a bit raging this morning it appears Aberdeen have gone with what Rangers wanted (if the initial loan is confirmed) and we wouldn’t budge. Seems fair enough.

Hopefully we put the money we clearly have available to good use.

17-08-2020, 06:32 PM
If that's the case then its a worrying situation that a club isolated in the North East all be it oil rich can raise more capital through commercial activities than a club based in the capital city. That's the equivalent of Newcastle being more commercially successful than Chelsea or Spurs.

Its been that way for as long as I remember they have appeared the better off club since mid 1960's that was before the oil cash.
Perhaps it has to do with being the only large club in the city.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

Tully
17-08-2020, 06:33 PM
I agree mate and I do think its a weakness of Dempster as Chief Exec tbh. Shes not shy in asking the fans to cough up continously but we nees to raise more money commercially as a club- which makes the lack of a shirt sponsorship these last 2 seasons a bit bizarre imo - albeit the NHS gesture is great recognition from the club.

Think you'll find hibs got a six figure from some supporters who covered the cost of sponsorship for the nhs logo

Green Manalishi
17-08-2020, 06:33 PM

As for McRorie?

Aberdeen accepted Rangers terms - I am quite glad we didnt, it wouldnt have felt right in my view. You cant just say that they all turned out to be crap so we dodged a bullet. We were chasing these players because the manager clearly wanted them. Its a concerning situation when our similar sized main rivals are constantly stealing players from under our noses.

17-08-2020, 06:34 PM
As i have saud before most Hibbies dont care about this wee team patter.Infact some anti establishment people like myself want the wee teams dominating the so called big teams.But it is weird that they have to name us in about every statement while we normally rise above such petty points scoring.

**** the hertz, **** the huns, **** the sheep

17-08-2020, 06:35 PM
I probably hate Rangers more than the next person, but with McCrorie being their player are they not perfectly entitled to attach whichever clauses or conditions to his sale that they please, then sell to whoever meets the highest number of those conditions?

It looks like Aberdeen have been more prepared than we were to meet those conditions.

Ho hum, or ho hun if you’d rather.

I don’t trust them, and I don’t know how easily I’d trust someone like him facing up to them in 10iar season if they’re that keen to stop him playing anyway. Aberdeen have a history of meek performances against the Glasgow teams, I’d rather we upped our game against them both rather than accept a continuation of what we’ve come to accept post- Lennon.

17-08-2020, 06:36 PM
**** the hertz, **** the huns, **** the sheep

Watch that last one - you'll get yourself a reputation.

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 06:37 PM
You cant just say that they all turned out to be crap so we dodged a bullet. We were chasing these players because the manager clearly wanted them. Its a concerning situation when our main rivals are constantly stealing players from under our noses.

They're not constantly doing it, we weren't interested in Dylan as far as can I remember and McRoire looks like he's going to Aberdeen cause they've agreed to conditions that we said no to

Ojo is the only example of them actually taking a player from under our nose

17-08-2020, 06:39 PM
You cant just say that they all turned out to be crap so we dodged a bullet. .

I really can - and in the case of Ojo and Dylan (so far) its true.

I am sure that McRorie will turn out to be a good player for Aberdeen - except of course in the matches against the club that will still hold his registration.........................

Watch that last one - you'll get yourself a reputation.

Baaaa!

It’s a criticism of her that would hold more water if we were closer to being level-pegging with them when she took over rather than being on our arse and facing up to life in the Championship.

The cost of that relegation was always going to be felt for some time, and certain clubs were always going to have a chance to pull away from us.

NC1875
17-08-2020, 06:42 PM
Still not confirmed. The daily ranger said it was a done deal and was having a medical this morning. Surely would be confirmed by now.

McCrorie could easily go up there and say thanks but no thanks.

17-08-2020, 06:43 PM
It’s a criticism of her that would hold more water if we were closer to being level-pegging with them when she took over rather than being on our arse and facing up to life in the Championship.

The cost of that relegation was always going to be felt for some time, and certain clubs were always going to have a chance to pull away from us.

The sheep have had more cash than us for as long as I have been supporting Hibs and that is a ****ing long time, I put it doon to being the only team in the city.

17-08-2020, 06:47 PM
If we played Rangers in a cup match then it could potentially make a very big difference to us if we suddenly had to replace a player in whatever system we were playing just so Rangers could try and stop 10 in a rowYou reckon we would pull out of a 4 year deal for the sake of potentially 1 game?

Absolutely no chance I reckon

17-08-2020, 06:48 PM
Of course. We haven’t agreed as much money as they have with the huns. It’s as simple as that.

Nothing anywhere to say that’s happened here. Aberdeen agreed to their conditions we didn’t. Folk just wanting a moan. If he’s that good sevco don’t want him playing against them then why are they offloading him. It could be potentially five or six games he won’t be allowed to play in. Ridiculous

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 06:49 PM
I really can - and in the case of Ojo and Dylan (so far) its true.

I am sure that McRorie will turn out to be a good player for Aberdeen - except of course in the matches against the club that will still hold his registration.........................

We've got no idea about any of these supposed clauses and whether Hibs refused to accept them.

Personally, it sounds like more excuses.

The only fact seems to be a player Hibs wanted is now joining Aberdeen instead.

17-08-2020, 06:49 PM
You reckon we would pull out of a 4 year deal for the sake of potentially 1 game?

3 league matches probably, potentially League Cup later stage and Scottish Cup matches.

17-08-2020, 06:52 PM
The sheep have had more cash than us for as long as I have been supporting Hibs and that is a ****ing long time, I put it doon to being the only team in the city.

A city half the size of Edinburgh.

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 06:54 PM
You reckon we would pull out of a 4 year deal for the sake of potentially 1 game?

It's not potentially 1 game though is it? We could face Rangers in both cups, points we pick up against them in 4 league matches could be the difference between us getting European football or not

17-08-2020, 06:54 PM
We've got no idea about any of these supposed clauses and whether Hibs refused to accept them.

Personally, it sounds like more excuses.

The only fact seems to be a player Hibs wanted is now joining Aberdeen instead.

Its not about "not accepting clauses", Hibs wanted to buy the player.

Rangers wanted him loaned for the first year so he could play against all other teams and not them. See my post above about why that might be important - in fact for Hibs it could be 4 league games, league cup and Scottish cup.

17-08-2020, 06:58 PM
Nothing anywhere to say that’s happened here. Aberdeen agreed to their conditions we didn’t. Folk just wanting a moan. If he’s that good sevco don’t want him playing against them then why are they offloading him. It could be potentially five or six games he won’t be allowed to play in. Ridiculous

Aberdeen are skint for the year and have players on deferrals, that’s the reason for the loan. They’ve played the huns once already too so you’re looking at three league games. People aren’t moaning either. They’ve managed a deal with rangers and answered their asking price we haven’t. Nothing to do with the stipulation, the loan is for Aberdeen’s interest and not the other way about. I don’t think rangers care about Ross Mcrorie playing against them at right back a couple of times this season that much when they’ve judged he’s nowhere near good enough for them.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 06:59 PM

Rangers wanted him loaned for the first year so he could play against all other teams and not them. See my post above about why that might be important - in fact for Hibs it could be 4 league games, league cup and Scottish cup.

I read your post, but I've seen nothing anywhere to suggest this is the fact you (and others) are making it out to be.

Taking him on loan might even have been more preferable for us, especially if it didn't work out.

Also, as much as I wish it wasn't true - we're not competing with Rangers. We are competing with Aberdeen though, and this deal makes them even stronger in relation to their challengers.

17-08-2020, 06:59 PM

No they didn’t. They wanted him sold and off the books. Aberdeen have matched the valuation next year and huns have taken that if he doesn’t play against them this year.

HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 07:01 PM
Still not confirmed. The daily ranger said it was a done deal and was having a medical this morning. Surely would be confirmed by now.

McCrorie could easily go up there and say thanks but no thanks.

Clutching at straws I think mate. He’s just followed sheep on Twitter.

17-08-2020, 07:05 PM
I've seen nothing anywhere to suggest this is the fact you (and others) are making it out to be..

Somebody posted about it a few days back (that Rangers wanted him away bit that they wanted a deal that said he couldnt play against them) which was putting a spoke in our deal.

At the time I posted that this was nonsense because you could not sell a player and then stipulate that he cant play against you.

Hibs were trying to buy the player.

Lo and behold, 2 or 3 days later and the deal to Aberdeen has worked out exactly how the poster (cant remember who) said.

I dont believe in coincidences.

NC1875
17-08-2020, 07:12 PM
Clutching at straws I think mate. He’s just followed sheep on Twitter.

More than likely yeah. Just seems strange it’s not been announced.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 07:13 PM
Somebody posted about it a few days back (that Rangers wanted him away bit that they wanted a deal that said he couldnt play against them) which was putting a spoke in our deal.

At the time I posted that this was nonsense because you could not sell a player and then stipulate that he cant play against you.

Lo and behold, 2 or 3 days later and the deal to Aberdeen has worked out exactly how the poster (cant remember who) said.

Why would Rangers not accept cash for a player they want off their books now, but instead accept a loan deal for a year, and possibly a transfer fee in a year's time?

There's the possibility that they end up with nothing through player being injured/deal not working out etc, and a guy they want rid of back on their books.

As someone mentioned earlier, in the current circumstances - a loan deal seems to suit Aberdeen more than Rangers, and it may indeed have suited us better too.

17-08-2020, 07:14 PM
Why would Rangers not accept cash for a player they want off their books now, but instead accept a loan deal for a year, and possibly a transfer fee in a year's time?

There's the possibility that they end up with nothing through player being injured/deal not working out etc, and a guy they want rid of back on their books.

As someone mentioned earlier, in the current circumstances - a loan deal seems to suit Aberdeen more than Rangers, and it may indeed have suited us better too.If it's a loan it will be with an obligation to buy not an option

17-08-2020, 07:19 PM

I did say that in a previous post mate they stole a march on us during our 3 years in Championship...but I do think Dempster needs to improve us commercially too. She can't keep asking the fans to cough up continuously particularly at the moment with many people struggling financially

17-08-2020, 07:23 PM
More than likely yeah. Just seems strange it’s not been announced.

What a day we live in when a player is confirmed to a club following them on social media 😂

17-08-2020, 07:25 PM

As someone mentioned earlier, in the current circumstances - a loan deal seems to suit Aberdeen more than Rangers, and it may indeed have suited us better too.

They have to buy him next year. They can’t justify the signing just now with the wages deferred until next year so they are loaning him. Same as Hayes not being paid more than any player at the club until next season.

You keep going back to this viewpoint for some reason. What Aberdeen and The Rangers are doing is perfectly legal

I don’t know what you are on about. Of course what Rangers and Aberdeen are doing is perfectly legal because it’s a loan deal with an option to buy. What I am saying is that to sell a player to a club and include a clause which prevents that player from playing against them is dodgy and probably an infringement of employment law. That is what, apparently, Gerrard was pushing for with us.

Desperation is the word your looking for GD.

Massive season for Gerrard and this supposed clause wanted by him reeks of desperation to help prevent 10 in a row!

I do think we should have kept quiet but I am sure Newco would have leaked something. A loan also means a skint Aberdeen potentially only pay a percentage

17-08-2020, 07:29 PM
I don’t know what you are on about. Of course what Rangers and Aberdeen are doing is perfectly legal because it’s a loan deal with an option to buy. What I am saying is that to sell a player to a club and include a clause which prevents that player from playing against them is dodgy and probably an infringement of employment law. That is what, apparently, Gerrard was pushing for with us.

They are well within their rights to ask for this clause. Just as we are well within ours to accept or reject it. Doesn’t make it illegal.

A number of clauses can be added to any transfers/contracts. If all parties agree then, again, it would be legal and not an infringement of any laws. You also keep saying “that’s what Gerrard was pushing for us”. Where have you seen that? The one post on here is the only place I’ve seen it mentioned

17-08-2020, 07:31 PM
We move on. Last season a number of us were pissed off that Aberdeen stole Ojo from us, supposedly our manager's number one target. Look how that turned out.

It's up to the recruitment department to identify someone else. I'd like to think there will be some gems available before the window closes in two months time.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 07:32 PM
Desperation is the word your looking for GD.

Massive season for Gerrard and this supposed clause wanted by him reeks of desperation to help prevent 10 in a row!

I do think we should have kept quiet but I am sure Newco would have leaked something. A loan also means a skint Aberdeen potentially only pay a percentage

I'm sorry, but we're talking about Ross McCrorie here, not Lionel Messi.

They obviously don't rate him that highly either as they want rid of him.

17-08-2020, 07:35 PM

A million ways to do it e.g. a £349k loan fee and an obligation to pay £1k at the end of the season when it becomes permanent. It's all about the wording of the contract and nothing to do with words loan and permanent. There will be no possibility for Aberdeen to stop the deal becoming permanent for any reason.

17-08-2020, 07:37 PM
I'm sorry, but we're talking about Ross McCrorie here, not Lionel Messi.

They obviously don't rate him that highly either as they want rid of him.

Players don’t always need to be superstars to improve a team!

He’s made 100 or so appearances with 50 odd for their first team. He might not be good enough to take them to the next level or indeed compete at a higher level but that doesn’t mean he wouldn’t improve other teams and make it harder for the likes of Celtic when they play.

They will be receiving (if what’s be reported) about 300-350,000 for a player who cost them a development. That money will go towards a better player (wages etc)

17-08-2020, 07:48 PM
We move on. Last season a number of us were pissed off that Aberdeen stole Ojo from us, supposedly our manager's number one target. Look how that turned out.

It's up to the recruitment department to identify someone else. I'd like to think there will be some gems available before the window closes in two months time.

Ojo has done better than the guy we got, Vela.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 07:48 PM
Players don’t always need to be superstars to improve a team!

He’s made 100 or so appearances with 50 odd for their first team. He might not be good enough to take them to the next level or indeed compete at a higher level but that doesn’t mean he wouldn’t improve other teams and make it harder for the likes of Celtic when they play.

They will be receiving (if what’s be reported) about 300-350,000 for a player who cost them a development. That money will go towards a better player (wages etc)

I'm not saying you're wrong, I just feel there is no evidence to suggest these stipulations Rangers supposedly insisted upon with Hibs ever existed.

The only reality seems to be that one of our nearest challengers has once again sealed a deal with a player we wanted. Regardless of circumstances, that could leave us in a weaker position.

If this deal with Aberdeen is true, why could we not have struck the same deal? Do I like dealing with the huns - absolutely not, but if it meant we got a player who would improve our chances against Aberdeen, Motherwell, help us qualify for Europe, plus become an asset in the future, then why not?

Whether we like it or not, we're not challenging Rangers, so sitting out a few games for one year shouldn't have derailed our attempts to sign him.

I believe there's more to it.

17-08-2020, 07:55 PM
I'm not saying you're wrong, I just feel there is no evidence to suggest these stipulations Rangers supposedly insisted upon with Hibs ever existed.

The only reality seems to be that one of our nearest challengers has once again sealed a deal with a player we wanted. Regardless of circumstances, that could leave us in a weaker position.

If this deal with Aberdeen is true, why could we not have struck the same deal? Do I like dealing with the huns - absolutely not, but if it meant we got a player who would improve our chances against Aberdeen, Motherwell, help us qualify for Europe, plus become a asset in the future, then why not?

Whether we like it or not, we're not challenging Rangers, so sitting out a few games for one year shouldn't have derailed our attempts to sign him.

I believe there's more to it.

I totally get what you’re saying but it’s like they are dictating meaning we wouldn’t be at full strength when we play them. Why is that fair on the fans who pay good money to see the strongest team possible.

I know that contracts are signed daily in business with clauses etc but when we buy a player I don’t expect that when we play a team we are disadvantaged.

We may not be better than them but in one off games he could mean the difference between winning and losing! (As player could)

17-08-2020, 07:55 PM
Well that was quiet exciting while it lasted.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 07:58 PM
I totally get what you’re saying but it’s like they are dictating meaning we wouldn’t be at full strength when we play them. Why is that fair on the fans who pay good money to see the strongest team possible.

I know that contracts are signed daily in business with clauses etc but when we buy a player I don’t expect that when we play a team we are disadvantaged.

We may not be better than them but in one off games he could mean the difference between winning and losing! (As player could)

Agree to an extent, but I could say we're now disadvantaged for the remaining 34 games this season - as the player we wanted now looks likely to sign for Aberdeen.

17-08-2020, 08:01 PM
Agree to an extent, but I could say we're now disadvantaged for the remaining 34 games this season - as the player we wanted now looks likely to sign for Aberdeen.

Not sure I agree with that!

17-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Done deal

17-08-2020, 08:25 PM
It’s done. We move on.

Let’s secure our next target. He’ll need to be a bloody good one.

17-08-2020, 08:29 PM
Done deal

Rumours that it’s not a loan after all. 4 year deal.

Chorley Hibee
17-08-2020, 08:31 PM

Quelle surprise, thought it was all a lot of nonsense to be honest.

They've outbid us again, end of story.

17-08-2020, 08:31 PM

1 year loan, then 3 year contract.

17-08-2020, 08:35 PM
Now that its done I can honestly say that I'm not that fussed. Would have liked to have signed him as I think he has potential and would have liked to see him improve. BUT if as has been hinted that the Hun wanted some stupid no playing against them clause and wanted too much money then I'm fine with it not happening. Let's hope that we have something else exciting on the pipeline

17-08-2020, 08:36 PM
Quelle surprise, thought it was all a lot of nonsense to be honest.

They've outbid us again, end of story.

They may have they may not have
If it is not at initial loan deal then they are at it as it was a one in one out and they definitely weren't paying a transfer fee.
We will have our valuation of a player and we have a budget

Robbo6-2
17-08-2020, 08:39 PM
100% we move on.

We will finish above Aberdeen with or without Ross Mcrorie.

17-08-2020, 08:41 PM
Ross McCrorie signs for Aberdeen.

Dylan McGeouch returns to Hibs permanently.

Melker Hallberg is sold permanently.

Another box to box midfielder is signed.

Chances?:wink:

Bronson
17-08-2020, 08:44 PM
I really don’t feel like we’ve missed out here. If the £350k price is correct we should have walked away before now, done nothing to warrant a fee that size.

I also feel like he’s really not what we need? We have gogic to do the destroyer role, we don’t need 2 of CMs who can’t really play. Go and take the £350k and sign a proper box-to-box midfielder.

This will of course sound salty since we’ve clearly been beaten to the punch but I genuinely don’t get the fuss.

17-08-2020, 08:47 PM

Said many times I expect Hallberg to be moved on
Not sure if what Ross makes of Dylan?
Won't be easy finding a box to box midfielder

17-08-2020, 08:49 PM
I really don’t feel like we’ve missed out here. If the £350k price is correct we should have walked away before now, done nothing to warrant a fee that size.

I also feel like he’s really not what we need? We have gogic to do the destroyer role, we don’t need 2 of CMs who can’t really play. Go and take the £350k and sign a proper box-to-box midfielder.

This will of course sound salty since we’ve clearly been beaten to the punch but I genuinely don’t get the fuss.

Disagree about the fee. 350k isn’t a lot of money at all for someone with his ability, potential and at his age. We’ve paid more for a lot worse.

Agree about being unsure if he’s the sort of centre mid we need. He is big, athletic, strong and good defensively and I think he would have been a really good signing but like you say I think we need someone more of a box to box player like a Greg Docherty who I’m really disappointed we missed out on too.

17-08-2020, 08:49 PM

I really hope that Hibs have sights higher than Mcgeuch and Hallberg has a role to play here. One u can rely on and the other u cant. I know which is which

17-08-2020, 08:53 PM

Really really hope so.

I really hope that Hibs have sights higher than Mcgeuch and Hallberg has a role to play here. One u can rely on and the other u cant. I know which is which

I hope neither of them are here.

Hallberg is pap.

17-08-2020, 08:55 PM
Been told ex Motherwell centre mid Alex Gorrin who is now at Oxford is one we’re interested in.

Same boy that said O’Donnell was singing for Motherwell so we will wait and see.

17-08-2020, 08:56 PM
Been told ex Motherwell centre mid Alex Gorrin who is now at Oxford is one we’re interested in.

Same boy that said O’Donnell was singing for Motherwell so we will wait and see.

I remember him being highly rated at Motherwell.

17-08-2020, 08:56 PM
Although I loved Dylan in his last season here, just have a nagging doubt it wouldn't work again

17-08-2020, 08:58 PM

Same boy that said O’Donnell was singing for Motherwell so we will wait and see.He has played 110 league games and scored 1 goal

That's better than Marv I reckon [emoji23]

AdidasHibernian
17-08-2020, 08:59 PM
Would like us to try and go for the laddie that's been mentioned from Motherwell.

Either that or the boy from St Johnstone McCann, however Saints fan I know reckons he's a £1million pound player. Without the valuation being close to that, Saints won't sell him.

17-08-2020, 09:00 PM

Mental that I was just reading about him yesterday, and I remember seeing him playing for Motherwell against Hearts, think it was the cup game where the keeper chucked one in and he was immense. Not sure why he left or where he's been. I can only remember him in that one game

17-08-2020, 09:01 PM

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.hitc.com/en-gb/2019/11/21/do-oxford-united-manager-claims-sunderland-wanted-phenomenal-ale/%3famp

Think Jack Ross tried to sign him for Sunderland according to this.

sean04
17-08-2020, 09:02 PM

Shame we couldnt get the lad brannagan from oxford. Baller

17-08-2020, 09:03 PM

I remembered the name but did a google image search for him to make sure. Tall, left footed, technically decent Spanish midfielder from what I remember at Motherwell. Didn't look that great any time I seen him for motherwell though. He wasn't a defensive minded midfielder, didn't offer any goal threat going the other way and was quite lightweight for a big lad.

17-08-2020, 09:05 PM

Sssh don't tell Aberdeen 😉

sean04
17-08-2020, 09:06 PM
I remembered the name but did a google image search for him to make sure. Tall, left footed, technically decent Spanish midfielder from what I remember at Motherwell. Didn't look that great any time I seen him for motherwell though. He wasn't a defensive minded midfielder, didn't offer any goal threat going the other way and was quite lightweight for a big lad.

He’s like a mobile Marvin Bartley, smashes into tackles. Does the dirty side. No sure he’s the answer

17-08-2020, 09:11 PM
I'm obviously bored and in need of signing news, Oxford forum on Gorrin

https://yellowsforum.co.uk/threads/alex-gorrin.3039/page-2

17-08-2020, 09:17 PM
So, that'll be Doig & Doidge, Allam & Mallan with Alex Gogic & Alex Gorrin :bye:

17-08-2020, 09:23 PM
So, that'll be Doig & Doidge, Allam & Mallan with Alex Gogic & Alex Gorrin :bye:

We need to add Pugh , Pugh and Barney McGrew, Cuthbert, Dibble and Grubb

17-08-2020, 09:31 PM
As others have mentioned can't see where McCrorie would have fitted in, defence has been solid and Gogic nailed down the Matty Jack role so not fussed that we've missed out. Hope he fails miserably at Aberdeen and warms the bench alongside McGeouch.

17-08-2020, 09:32 PM
Gorrin may have been a target for Blackburn in January

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-blackburn-rovers-plot-raid-to-sign-spanish-midfielder/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

17-08-2020, 09:32 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.hitc.com/en-gb/2019/11/21/do-oxford-united-manager-claims-sunderland-wanted-phenomenal-ale/%3famp

Think Jack Ross tried to sign him for Sunderland according to this.

Apparently was at Sunderland until 2014 at youth level. Seems like signed a 2 year deal in June 19 with one year extension option. On the face of it would seem unlikely if highly rated.

K-Zazu
17-08-2020, 09:33 PM
That will be Aberdeen finishing above us again then

17-08-2020, 09:33 PM

How so?

HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 09:34 PM
I’d take Gorrin in a heartbeat.

17-08-2020, 09:34 PM
Ha! According to the Herald, Lille are In ‘no rush’ to complete a deal for Morelos.

The longer that saga rumbles on, the more unsettling it will be for the Rangers. They’ve had in the shop window for over a year now, the guy now believes the hype, but still nothing. Pleasing.

17-08-2020, 09:36 PM
I’d take Gorrin in a heartbeat.

What do you remember about him? I only rember him in that one Sky game when Motherwell beat Hearts 2-1. Other than that?

17-08-2020, 09:37 PM
We need to add Pugh , Pugh and Barney McGrew, Cuthbert, Dibble and Grubb

Kevin Cuthbert as back up to Rocky?

K-Zazu
17-08-2020, 09:39 PM
How so?

Because they outbid us and spend more money on players? 🤷🏼*♂️

HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 09:45 PM
What do you remember about him? I only rember him in that one Sky game when Motherwell beat Hearts 2-1. Other than that?

A guy in the works office is a massive Oxford fan and I’ve heard him waxing lyrical about him on many occasions. And yeah, I remember the same game you’re talking about - he was bossing it.

Suspect he may be out of our price range though and would have better offers.

17-08-2020, 09:46 PM
Kevin Cuthbert as back up to Rocky?

Windy Miller

17-08-2020, 09:50 PM

Shut up man, ****sake.

SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 09:52 PM
350k the reported fee that Aberdeen are paying for McCrorie

ElginHibbie
17-08-2020, 09:55 PM

So Livi spent more than Hearts last year?

17-08-2020, 09:57 PM

To put that in context it’s more than we supposedly paid for Doidge.

17-08-2020, 09:58 PM

That will be next season since Cormack said this on the 27th July.

Cormack: We can't buy players for next season
The club's financial issues mean Aberdeen are not in a position to pay a transfer fee for a player for at least the next 12 months, Cormack said.

"We've been fairly transparent with the conversations we have had with everybody," he told Sky Sports News.

"Apart from having a hiring freeze across the club - unless there are any vacant positions - on the football side, we won't be spending any money by paying transfer fees.

"And from hereon in, it's important that it's one player in, one player out, and we have got that full agreement and understanding with the squad. We won't be paying transfer fees this season."

17-08-2020, 10:01 PM
If Aberdeen have signed McCrorie on a 1 year loan with buy clause at the end, and they've given in to this Rangers request to manufacture a way to insist on him not playing against them this season it says it all really. Aberdeen only interested in being best of the rest and not to compete in any way with the old firm. If Hibs missed out because we insisted on buying him now with no playing restrictions then thats fine by me.

17-08-2020, 10:03 PM
So Livi spent more than Hearts last year?

Not just Livi. The rest of the league must have too.

17-08-2020, 10:04 PM
If Aberdeen have signed McCrorie on a 1 year loan with buy clause at the end, and they've given in to this Rangers request to manufacture a way to insist on him not playing against them this season it says it all really. Aberdeen only interested in being best of the rest and not to compete in any way with the old firm. If Hibs missed out because we insisted on buying him now with no playing restrictions then thats fine by me.

Aberdeen won’t pay a transfer fee until next year. Their chairman has said as much. How hard is that to understand? They’ve matched the fee next year we haven’t at all.

17-08-2020, 10:05 PM

Keep telling yourself that. Aberdeen done what had to be done to get the player. They have no money to buy this year so done a deal on a loan. Fair play to them. They have the player and we are hunting around for a second choice. Let’s hope he’s better than Vela.

17-08-2020, 10:16 PM
Keep telling yourself that. Aberdeen done what had to be done to get the player. They have no money to buy this year so done a deal on a loan. Fair play to them. They have the player and we are hunting around for a second choice. Let’s hope he’s better than Vela.

We've done a lot of hunting around for second choices over the years and I don't remember many working out well.

Hibs have put themselves under a bit of pressure by publicly expressing an interest in McCrorie.

Fair play to Aberdeen who appear to be able to get deals done for the players they want.

This is looking a bit "typical Hibs" who don't seem to do the business they need to during summer transfer windows then bail themselves out with decent January business in the loan market to salvage seasons.

I'm not actually convinced that McCrorie is the type of player we're looking for but I still don't think we've nearly got the midfield sorted since McGinn etc left. Gogic looks to be a first pick but we've got a lot of one trick ponies, a lot of inconsistency and flannel in there and we need some solid first picks.

Our points haul this season has been good, our defence has been excellent and at times our strikers have been clinical but other than a very impressive first half at Livingston the rest of the football has been pretty average.

17-08-2020, 10:20 PM
We've done a lot of hunting around for second choices over the years and I don't remember many working out well.

Hibs have put themselves under a bit of pressure by publicly expressing an interest in McCrorie.

Fair play to Aberdeen who appear to be able to get deals done for the players they want.

This is looking a bit "typical Hibs" who don't seem to do the business they need to during summer transfer windows then bail themselves out with decent January business in the loan market to salvage seasons.

I'm not actually convinced that McCrorie is the type of player we're looking for but I still don't think we've nearly got the midfield sorted since McGinn etc left. Gogic looks to be a first pick but we've got a lot of one trick ponies, a lot of inconsistency and flannel in there and we need some solid first picks.

Our points haul this season has been good, our defence has been excellent and at times our strikers have been clinical but other than a very impressive first half at Livingston the rest of the football has been pretty average.

Agree with your points but it wasn’t hibs who made their interest in RM public though that was the huns & they knew exactly what they were doing.

17-08-2020, 10:28 PM
Agree with your points but it wasn’t hibs who made their interest in RM public though that was the huns & they knew exactly what they were doing.

Time to stop dealing with the Huns

Shudda learned our lesson by now

17-08-2020, 10:29 PM
Aberdeen won’t pay a transfer fee until next year. Their chairman has said as much. How hard is that to understand? They’ve matched the fee next year we haven’t at all.

He also said 1 in 1 out. I'm not going to lose any sleep at the thought of us lining against a midfield featuring Ross McCrorie in 2 weeks time.

17-08-2020, 10:38 PM

Ron Gordon said a bit more about McCrorie than I’d have expected.

17-08-2020, 10:43 PM
Ron Gordon said a bit more about McCrorie than I’d have expected.

Yep but you said hibs publicly stated they had an interest in RM, they never. Rangers publicly stated we had an interest in RM which then prompted questions about it.

We probably could’ve been more coy but we were in a difficult position after it had been made public.

17-08-2020, 10:50 PM
Yep but you said hibs publicly stated they had an interest in RM, they never. Rangers publicly stated we had an interest in RM which then prompted questions about it.

We probably could’ve been more coy but we were in a difficult position after it had been made public.

Ron said to David tanner before the game yes he’s a player we very much like hope to have it sealed soon in so many words. To me that’s pretty public, regardless if Gerrard said it first, don’t back it up. Just gave the player more power to stall look for more cash wait for other clubs who had signalled a note of interest, ie time to move for me or I’m signing at hibs.

HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 10:57 PM
Sheeep confirm McCrorie signing.

17-08-2020, 11:08 PM
He also said 1 in 1 out. I'm not going to lose any sleep at the thought of us lining against a midfield featuring Ross McCrorie in 2 weeks time.

Me neither.

huggie1875
17-08-2020, 11:28 PM

so did Hearts how did that work out

17-08-2020, 11:32 PM
so did Hearts how did that work out

Guess we just have to hope Aberdeen are as badly run as Hearts then? Not much evidence of that the last 7 years?

17-08-2020, 11:41 PM
I guess we must be aberdeens scouting network?

HFC93
17-08-2020, 11:55 PM
Meh

joebakerforever
18-08-2020, 12:06 AM
I guess we must be aberdeens scouting network?

Wasn't the last player the Sheep "snatched" from our grasp and had McInnes waxing lyrical about this, one Funso Ojo last year?

If McCrorie turns out to be as "successful" with them as Ojo has been so far, it might turn out for the better.

TBH I think the investment in Nisbet and the development of Doig will be better in the long term than paying over the odds for an over-hyped Rangers squad player who never cut the mustard with them.

18-08-2020, 02:38 AM
Ron said to David tanner before the game yes he’s a player we very much like hope to have it sealed soon in so many words. To me that’s pretty public, regardless if Gerrard said it first, don’t back it up. Just gave the player more power to stall look for more cash wait for other clubs who had signalled a note of interest, ie time to move for me or I’m signing at hibs.

He would never have been presented with the question if it wasn’t already in the public domain.

badabing67
18-08-2020, 02:39 AM
McCrorie would be Aberdeen's first signing from Rangers/The Rangers in 51 years. The lengths they will go through to stop us signing our targets.

Aberdeen signed Jim Bett from Rangers

18-08-2020, 07:44 AM
Aberdeen signed Jim Bett from Rangers

Sure he went abroad prior to signing for Rangers

G15 Hibs
18-08-2020, 07:51 AM

Spot on, Aberdeen signed him from the Belgian team Lokeren.

18-08-2020, 07:52 AM

Lokern rings a bell in my memory.

18-08-2020, 07:52 AM

Aye he was at Lokeren in Holland when sheep signed him

Greenworld
18-08-2020, 07:53 AM
A bullet dodged is how I'm feeling just now. Would not have been keen on paying 350k for him,great to know Hibs have that finance available and can move to Target 2 whoever that is.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

18-08-2020, 07:56 AM
Possibly unlikely to get a body in before the game at the weekend unless we are already working on a deal. Certainly be interesting to see who's next on our radar. Hopefully dealing with a club who likes to keep things quiet

The Count
18-08-2020, 07:58 AM
Full fat Hun that deep down did not really want to wear the colour green.He is given a get out clause and signs for Aberdeen.I wanted him as in the urrent climate he can play/cover a number of positions.However we move on a lets hope in the next few years we are in a position to gazump Aberdeen.

18-08-2020, 07:59 AM
It’s disappointing to miss out on a player that the manager clearly wanted. Hibs tried to get him but ultimately we were out bid on him and probably on wages too. He would have improved our midfield but we move on there and lots of better players out there we just need to find the ones we can afford.

18-08-2020, 08:02 AM
I still have no idea what all the fuss about this guy is. He looks OK. Not overly excited by the thought of paying out that kind of money for a player that isn't even playing first team football.

Do people think that every other player we signed had no other options? "we never pay out or get our targets" is what I see all the time, do you think no club was after Nisbet? A guy who's scoring goals for fun in the league below will have had plenty of interest. People here and on facebook just want to see the negatives in everything hibs do, anything that doesn't go 100% perfectly is another stick to beat the club with.

Sometimes things don't work out, that's life, if we don't sign our first choice player every time then that's just something we have to deal with, we don't have unlimited money and resources.

A few weeks ago, people were talking about how Motherwell were our competition for 3rd place, then we draw with them at home to remain joint top of the league and it's like we got horsed 5-0 if you read some of the knee jerk reactions.

18-08-2020, 08:09 AM
It's a strange move by Aberdeen. I've heard of an option to buy after a loan but never an obligation to buy. What if he's not very good? They'll still be obliged to buy him wasting next seasons budget in the process also can't play against Rangers this season. Bugger that.

Sounds quite desperate. Imagine we had a similar deal for Josh Vela or Ojo. This place would be in meltdown.

18-08-2020, 08:13 AM
It's a strange move by Aberdeen. I've heard of an option to buy after a loan but never an obligation to buy. What if he's not very good? They'll still be obliged to buy him wasting next seasons budget in the process also can't play against Rangers this season. Bugger that.

Sounds quite desperate.

Or gets a long term injury you are basically stuck with him

SweetDreams
18-08-2020, 08:14 AM

Sounds quite desperate.

Aberdeen are probably paying his full wage for the remainder of this season too, but the media will not make anything of it.

18-08-2020, 08:15 AM

Sounds quite desperate. Imagine we had a similar deal for Josh Vela or Ojo. This place would be in meltdown.

It’s become quite common among the big clubs down south and in Europe. Think it’s more about balancing books in given seasons than anything else.

18-08-2020, 08:19 AM
The RM thing is just a marriage of convenience. Rangers strengthen a rival with a player who in turn wont play against them. It's all about 10 in a row.

Suits the sheep as they defer any payment until next year.

If we didnt want to be part of a deal like that then good on hibs as far as I'm concerned.

18-08-2020, 08:21 AM

Sounds quite desperate.

They're effectively buying him now. That is why the obligation is there. Gerrard was on record as saying Doherty and McCrorie weren't going back on loan. So the decision to buy has been made. If he turns out to be crap it is tough. The loan isn't so they can look at him and make a decision. They've already committed to buying.

Looking at McInnes' comments the deal is structured as it is because Aberdeen can't pay the fee right now. I guess they were offering more in a year's time than we were prepared to pay now.

It is an investment for Aberdeen. A bit risky but so is any. They obviously have high hopes for the lad.

Souter96Mac
18-08-2020, 08:22 AM
Perhaps reading too much into it, but seems odd they announced the signing pretty much on midnight.

18-08-2020, 08:26 AM
Perhaps reading too much into it, but seems odd they announced the signing pretty much on midnight.

Probably due to the picture being leaked

James Stephen
18-08-2020, 08:29 AM

Its quite common now at a high level, to help clubs get around FFP - not heard of it before at our level.

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 08:36 AM
So McCorie joins Aberdeen on loan until next summer then becomes their player on a 350k 3 year deal.....Looks like everybody has scored apart from us. McCorie gets out of Ibrox which he wanted. Derek McInnes gets a player he rates, the huns dont have to face him for a season then get 350k meanwhile at ER Jack Ross and the football department are left empty handed after losing out on a player they clearly wanted to sign.....what a shambles

18-08-2020, 08:37 AM
Its quite common now at a high level, to help clubs get around FFP - not heard of it before at our level.

Isn't it just Aberdeen's way of avoiding the grief we got for paying a fee whilst cutting costs elsewhere? Kick the fee down the line so that it doesn't interfere with the current diminished cash flow?

sean04
18-08-2020, 08:41 AM
So McCorie joins Aberdeen on loan until next summer then becomes their player on a 350k 3 year deal.....Looks like everybody has scored apart from us. McCorie gets out of Ibrox which he wanted. Derek McInnes gets a player he rates, the huns dont have to face him for a season then get 350k meanwhile at ER Jack Ross and the football department are left empty handed after losing out on a player they clearly wanted to sign.....what a shambles

Some people suggesting that rangers can stop the deal in the summer aswell. If he is a sensation then rangers can keep him

18-08-2020, 08:42 AM
Some people suggesting that rangers can stop the deal in the summer aswell. If he is a sensation then rangers can keep himBe very surprised if the player went for that

18-08-2020, 08:43 AM
Some people suggesting that rangers can stop the deal in the summer aswell. If he is a sensation then rangers can keep him

I'd be very surprised if that was the case.

18-08-2020, 08:43 AM
If I'm honest I'd rather be on this side of the deal. It's a bit desperate seeming from Aberdeen, which is never usually a good sign.

Plus we have some cash to spend and in all honesty I wasn't excited about this guy anyway. Just have a read of Portsmouth fan opinions of him and you'll be glad we gave him a miss.

By all accounts a defensive midfielder who's defensive positioning and awareness is one of the worst aspects of his game.... No thanks.

Rumble de Thump
18-08-2020, 08:47 AM
It sounds like Aberdeen have simply agreed to pay over the odds for the player at a later date just so they don't have to cough up a reasonable chunk of money now.

Is it a shambles? Hibs put a limit on his value, someone else came in beyond our limit resulting in the player going elsewhere. I'm not going to lose sleep over it, we will look elsewhere. McCrorie is another hard player in a long list of hard players at Aberdeen, they are a gang.

It’s an embarrassment and a shambles a tell yi, down with hibs.

Am I doing it right?

Rumble de Thump
18-08-2020, 08:50 AM
It’s an embarrassment and a shambles a tell yi, down with hibs.

Am I doing it right?

Some posters are incensed.

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 08:50 AM
Some people suggesting that rangers can stop the deal in the summer aswell. If he is a sensation then rangers can keep him No mention of that in any report that ive read. I think some folk are making up stories and trying to make it sound like a bad deal to lessen the blow of losing a player Jack Ross wanted

18-08-2020, 08:52 AM
Some posters are incensed.And some are incredulously incensed.

18-08-2020, 08:55 AM
Sounds like Aberdeen have lay down and Rangers have tickled their belly to me

Hibs can't be dictated to over who we can and cant play over the 38 games if we are paying close to half a million GBP.

We move on, hopefully the club are chatting with other targets. We've done well so far with getting what appears to be first choice targets in Nisbet and Gogic.

I trust the club

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 08:57 AM
Is it a shambles? Hibs put a limit on his value, someone else came in beyond our limit resulting in the player going elsewhere. I'm not going to lose sleep over it, we will look elsewhere. McCrorie is another hard player in a long list of hard players at Aberdeen, they are a gang. He is a player Jack Ross wanted and identified as someone who could bring something to the team. The football department wanted him enough to make two separate bids. You have lost me with the hard player comment. I personally think a hard player is exactly what we need and so did Jack Ross. If Gogic gets injured we will be back to being powder puff again

18-08-2020, 08:58 AM
No mention of that in any report that ive read. I think some folk are making up stories and trying to make it sound like a bad deal to lessen the blow of losing a player Jack Ross wanted

Surely time will tell if it’s a “blow” he could turn out to be absolutely garbage and it might be a blessing in disguise?

No-one really knows.

Or, bare with me here, we might end up bringing in someone better!? Imagine that.

18-08-2020, 08:59 AM

It’s hardly a shambles, yes Ross wanted to sign him but there always has to be a sealing on what a club will offer, in this case we offered what we thought he was worth and in line with our finances. Clubs lose out on signing targets all the time.

18-08-2020, 09:00 AM

What is shambolic about a club being out bid by another club for a player? Reading between the lines , it looks like Hibs have been gazumped. Not great but would you expect us to keep bidding in a situation where the player himself is ambivalent about coming and /or the Hun are being smart ****z?

We've signed Gogic, Wright and Nisbet so far. All targeted and successfully acquired, so by your logic these signings must be the reverse of shambolic then? Would you describe them as outstanding?

Nisbet in particular must have interested other sides and we persevered and got our man. Superb bit of business, you would have to say the club must have played a blinder on that one?

McCrorie joining the Sheep says to me they are expecting to lose players. Time will tell, but I wouldn't be surprised if McKenna is on his way out, or maybe Ferguson. Either way, I don't really give a toss. The last two players we lost out on to Aberdeen haven't really done much make me feel we suffered as a result.

18-08-2020, 09:03 AM
Intrigued to see who is next on our list

£300,000 odd is a sizeable chunk of cash

18-08-2020, 09:03 AM
Rumour doing the rounds that Sevco have first option on Lewis Ferguso as part of the deal

smithy_hibees
18-08-2020, 09:04 AM
Manager, a player and even the chairman commented on Mccrorie coming to Hibs so yes tad embarrassing he went to Aberdeen but let’s be honest like myself no one knows anything regarding why he didn’t come and want the deal is between Rangers n Aberdeen or what Hibs we’re willing do or not do to get the deal sealed, let’s move on sure plenty decent players out there just don’t let Aberdeen know until it’s a done deal ;-)

Chorley Hibee
18-08-2020, 09:05 AM
Sounds like Aberdeen have lay down and Rangers have tickled their belly to me

Hibs can't be dictated to over who we can and cant play over the 38 games if we are paying close to half a million GBP.

We move on, hopefully the club are chatting with other targets. We've done well so far with getting what appears to be first choice targets in Nisbet and Gogic.

I trust the club

Why are people determined to make out we wouldn't agree to Rangers demands about him being unavailable to play against them?

There is nothing to suggest that is the case, especially when we agreed to those very terms on two occasions only last season.

It sounds like desperation to avoid the fact we've failed to get a player we quite obviously wanted.

Once again Hibs have lost out, and despite the assertions by some that Aberdeen are garbage, and that we'll finish above them (something we've not managed in a decade!) Hibs will need to improve greatly upon what we currently have if we're to sustain a challenge to them.

Someone made a point earlier, we take weeks to try and arrange deals, therefore opening up the possibility of being gazumped even further. Aberdeen on the other hand took 24 hours to get this over the line.

18-08-2020, 09:07 AM
Why are people determined to make out we wouldn't agree to Rangers demands about him being unavailable to play against them?

There is nothing to suggest that is the case, especially when we agreed to those very terms on two occasions only last season.

It sounds like desperation to avoid the fact we've failed to get a player we quite obviously wanted.

Once again Hibs have lost out, and despite the assertions by some that Aberdeen are garbage, and that we'll finish above them (something we've not managed in a decade!) Hibs will need to improve greatly upon what we currently have if we're to sustain a challenge to them.

Someone made a point earlier, we take weeks to try and arrange deals, therefore opening up the possibility of being gazumped even further. Aberdeen on the other hand took 24 hours to get this over the line.

There is nothing to suggest any of the stuff being pointed out here. Its just people making claims to fit their opinions. Bottom line is Jack wanted the player. We didnt get him. Thats the end.

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 09:09 AM
It’s hardly a shambles, yes Ross wanted to sign him but there always has to be a sealing on what a club will offer, in this case we offered what we thought he was worth and in line with our finances. Clubs lose out on signing targets all the time. Its the old speculate to accumulate thing isnt it. Some fans want the board to push the boat out and really go for it and some are happy just to get in the top 6 as long as the books look good. Until we start matching Aberdeen pound for pound we will always struggle to break into the top 3

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 09:12 AM

Once again Hibs have lost out, and despite the assertions by some that Aberdeen are garbage, and that we'll finish above them (something we've not managed in a decade!) Hibs will need to improve greatly upon what we currently have if we're to sustain a challenge to them. Far too many heads here buried in the sand

Someone made a point earlier, we take weeks to try and arrange deals, therefore opening up the possibility of being gazumped even further. Aberdeen on the other hand took 24 hours to get this over the line. That sums it up exactly. Far too many heads here buried in the sand

18-08-2020, 09:14 AM
These things happen. Move on.

Personally I am taking the positive that we are prepared to spend a bit of cash and look forward to seeing what we might do with it.

Aberdeen are struggling with injury they need a lot more movement in the window imo I truly believe they are coming back into the pack this season.

18-08-2020, 09:15 AM
That sums it up exactly. Far too many heads here buried in the sand

We signed out 3 main targets... did you guys sleep through that? Players that all had offers elsewhere.

18-08-2020, 09:16 AM
Its the old speculate to accumulate thing isnt it. Some fans want the board to push the boat out and really go for it and some are happy just to get in the top 6 as long as the books look good. Until we start matching Aberdeen pound for pound we will always struggle to break into the top 3

I really have no thoughts about the books balancing, it’s the last thing on my mind as I take my seat to watch a football match. However given the financial status of many clubs pre Covid never mind during it, I suppose I do take some satisfaction that we manage our finances according to our own model and not in relation to anyone else. Does that make us less successful on the pitch compared to those who are more willing to speculate to accumulate, maybe it does.

18-08-2020, 09:16 AM

My heads not in the sand and although being miffed I'm perfectly relaxed. Who's heads buried in the sand? How should I be feeling right now.

18-08-2020, 09:17 AM

Too many empty vessels at the wind-up and unable to engage in discussion when making ridiculous statements too.

inglisavhibs
18-08-2020, 09:21 AM
A
You really think Hibs fans are going to sit in the stands when the team runs out and worry about Ross McCrorie not being there? Or maybe just maybe you are on here to stir s—-. Hibs will be just fine without Ross McCrorie.

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 09:21 AM
We signed out 3 main targets... did you guys sleep through that? Players that all had offers elsewhere. Considering we made two separate bids for him i can imagine McCorie was also identified by Jack Ross as one of his main targets. Pity we lost out on him to a similar sized club who are going to be our main rivals this season..

18-08-2020, 09:22 AM
. Does that make us less successful on the pitch compared to those who are more willing to speculate to accumulate, maybe it does.

Like we have done with Nisbet, Doidge and others?

The issue with “speculate to accumulate” is that its not a sure fire thing. See Florian Kamberi.

18-08-2020, 09:22 AM
If Aberdeen want to outbid us by spending next seasons transfer money in the hope that the boy is good (we don't know if he is) and doesn't get injured then let them bash on. All I know about him is that he wasn't good enough for Portsmouth last season going by their fans comments.

18-08-2020, 09:25 AM
Considering we made two separate bids for him i can imagine McCorie was also identified by Jack Ross as one of his main targets. Pity we lost out on him to a similar sized club who are going to be our main rivals this season.....look on the brightside they might loan us Funjo Oso

:troll:

EAZY-ME
18-08-2020, 09:25 AM
We never had mcrorie to begin with so its not really that big a deal. Im sure there will be other targets.

Green Manalishi
18-08-2020, 09:27 AM
:troll: Somebody who has a different opinion from you automatically become a troll.....grow up ffs

18-08-2020, 09:27 AM
Considering we made two separate bids for him i can imagine McCorie was also identified by Jack Ross as one of his main targets. Pity we lost out on him to a similar sized club who are going to be our main rivals this season..

RM was only made available in the last 2 weeks. Certainly Jack likes the player as he tried to sign him in the past. BUT he wasnt a main target prior to the season starting. Gogic was our main target.