View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
15-08-2020, 03:02 PM
With the club spending 250k on players in the current climate, does anyone think the sale of Boyle is inevitable?
Ron spent the jumbo screen money on players.
w pilton hibby
15-08-2020, 03:03 PM
Ron spent the jumbo screen money on players.
No worries. Interest free credit offer on at Currys.
SweetDreams
15-08-2020, 03:06 PM
I think the club are attempting to do the opposite and are offering him a new deal
I hope so. We would certainly get an increased profit if he continues to grow in form with another 2 or 3 years on his contract.
15-08-2020, 04:30 PM
Really? I’ve no seen that anywhere
Would’ve thought the papers would’ve been all over it if they’d rejected our 2nd offer
I saw a clip of his press briefing on SSN last night and thats what he said.
BegbieHSC
15-08-2020, 07:14 PM
Today showed we’re definitely not a finished product. Hopefully we see movement on McCrorie and tbh would like another box to box midfielder.
15-08-2020, 07:17 PM
I saw a clip of his press briefing on SSN last night and thats what he said.
Still thought if he’d said last night it had been rejected it would’ve been all over the papers this morning
15-08-2020, 07:20 PM
To get real quality takes real money, quality = consistency and getting into Europe most years, like what we used to do.
15-08-2020, 07:24 PM
Still thought if he’d said last night it had been rejected it would’ve been all over the papers this morning
We need a midfielder who can put his foot on the ball and either carry it up the field, or pass through the lines and get us up the pitch that way.
15-08-2020, 07:42 PM
We need a midfielder who can put his foot on the ball and either carry it up the field, or pass through the lines and get us up the pitch that way.
Doherty!
15-08-2020, 07:43 PM
To get real quality takes real money, quality = consistency and getting into Europe most years, like what we used to do.
When did we get into Europe most years?? Ive been a hibee for nearly 40 years and we've never regularly finished top 4 in my lifetime watching Hibs? Which is why the overreaction from some tonight when we are currently top of league is a bit OTT tbh
15-08-2020, 07:51 PM
When did we get into Europe most years?? Ive been a hibee for nearly 40 years and we've never regularly finished top 4 in my lifetime watching Hibs? Which is why the overreaction from some tonight when we are currently top of league is a bit OTT tbh
Mid 1960's through to mid 1970's I wiz there...........looks like you just missed oot.
15-08-2020, 08:03 PM
Really? I’ve no seen that anywhere
Would’ve thought the papers would’ve been all over it if they’d rejected our 2nd offer
You need to read Hibs news 24/7 plenty quotes from papers from Gerard saying it
15-08-2020, 08:07 PM
Don’t think it has been rejected tbh, would be all over the place if it had, same with if it had been accepted. Think it will still be under consideration and must be looking positive if we haven’t heard much as of yet as the last bid was rejected pretty quickly. Sounds like we have defo offered them something worth thinking about this time round.
Said we upped it to £300 000 and that’s why Gettard was quoted as saying zits nearer our valuation but the balks back in hibs court So don’t see them accepting it as things stand but hopefully some tweaking of add ons or percentage of sell on can get it over the line
15-08-2020, 08:14 PM
Said we upped it to £300 000 and that’s why Gettard was quoted as saying zits nearer our valuation but the balks back in hibs court So don’t see them accepting it as things stand but hopefully some tweaking of add ons or percentage of sell on can get it over the line
Think Ron was saying he hopes to get the deal over the line so seems confident we can
Just_Jimmy
15-08-2020, 08:15 PM
When did we get into Europe most years?? Ive been a hibee for nearly 40 years and we've never regularly finished top 4 in my lifetime watching Hibs? Which is why the overreaction from some tonight when we are currently top of league is a bit OTT tbh2005 last time we finished 3rd.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
15-08-2020, 08:25 PM
2005 last time we finished 3rd.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
An if you know your history..................
I also remember when we never got beat fi the hertz, mabe once or twice in many years.
The regular European nights were the best some great teams visited Easter Rd, we beat a fair few of them as well.
HendoDelivered
15-08-2020, 09:17 PM
The Cat reckons McCrorie is done and will be announced Monday.
15-08-2020, 09:22 PM
The Cat reckons McCrorie is done and will be announced Monday.
Has he tweeted that?
HendoDelivered
15-08-2020, 09:24 PM
Has he tweeted that?
Nah mate I had spoken to him.
15-08-2020, 09:24 PM
That 4th official twitter account...
Rangers want around £440k for Ross McCrorie with a move to Hibs seeming close.
Also my source in Amiens confirm that Amiens were never that interested in Boli Bolingoli.
Celtic sweating as they hold no leverage over the transfer of Boli Bolingoli.
https://t.co/wmAvwpxfKH
15-08-2020, 09:25 PM
Nah mate I had spoken to him.
Ah OK gotcha he has given me info on the past and it's always been spot on. Glad to get it over the line
15-08-2020, 11:01 PM
EXCLUSIVE: French giants Lyon target Hearts starlet Aaron Hickey as race heats up for youngster
https://t.co/uiawbt1cHi https://t.co/8vQsojg1Rx
SweetDreams
15-08-2020, 11:08 PM
EXCLUSIVE: French giants Lyon target Hearts starlet Aaron Hickey as race heats up for youngster
I think he will end up at Celtic.
16-08-2020, 08:08 AM
Also my source in Amiens confirm that Amiens were never that interested in Boli Bolingoli.
That account is a hun who spouts pish. Had hearts staying up then winning their court case. Pretending at being ITK.
16-08-2020, 08:10 AM
Another one to add to the list. His agents doing a great job at getting his name out there.
16-08-2020, 08:19 AM
Today showed we’re definitely not a finished product. Hopefully we see movement on McCrorie and tbh would like another box to box midfielder.
Hallberg had a chance y'day and didn't show. Newell too was very ordinary.
McCrorie can't be any worse and seems to be more versatile. I'd still like to see the heel-snapper Omeonga back but not sure we'd then have the right balance. Need someone who can put their foot on the ball and distribute in a more controlled manner.
16-08-2020, 08:20 AM
That's a clueless Rangers fan account. Best ignored
chippy
16-08-2020, 09:25 AM
Hallberg had a chance y'day and didn't show. Newell too was very ordinary.
McCrorie can't be any worse and seems to be more versatile. I'd still like to see the heel-snapper Omeonga back but not sure we'd then have the right balance. Need someone who can put their foot on the ball and distribute in a more controlled manner.
How about Ali McCann of St J. He looks the business lots of energy too, get him now or he’ll be out of our reach soon
16-08-2020, 09:34 AM
How about Ali McCann of St J. He looks the business lots of energy too, get him now or he’ll be out of our reach soon
How much do you think St J would want for him that would d make him in reach?
hibee1875
16-08-2020, 11:28 AM
He’ll already have an asking price of £350k +
16-08-2020, 12:10 PM
No idea but money is tight in Scottish football just now so they may look to sell now rather than hang on.
If we were to get him on top of McCrorie and Nisbet I would be pretty confident of selling at least one of them on in a couple of years and recouping all the money spent. And in the meantime we have three cracking young talents playing for us.
chippy
16-08-2020, 12:23 PM
Depends on how hard pressed Saints are financially. I’d think it worth a try at 400k, obv start lower. Might work, might not. Nothing ventured and all that
16-08-2020, 12:27 PM
Depends on how hard pressed Saints are financially. I’d think it worth a try at 400k, obv start lower. Might work, might not. Nothing ventured and all that
Exactly. We are in the fortunate position that Celtic and Rangers appear to have vacated the Scottish market just now and English clubs don’t value it anyway. On top of that, the salary cap in league 1&2 in England strengthens our hand considerably. We should take advantage. We can add considerable value to young players who have already made the breakthrough elsewhere.
16-08-2020, 12:34 PM
Dykes to QPR £2m accepted.
16-08-2020, 12:39 PM
That's a crazy amount of money for him.
16-08-2020, 12:41 PM
Good business by Livi.
16-08-2020, 12:45 PM
Doidge must be worth £3million then
16-08-2020, 12:45 PM
Doidge must be worth £3million then
That'll do as an opening bid.
Stanton Spence
16-08-2020, 12:46 PM
Doidge must be worth £3million thenYou just beat me to it although I was going to ask how much is doidge worth if Dykes goes for the £2 million
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
16-08-2020, 12:47 PM
That’s a fantastic deal for Livi. That’s them lost their best striker, if they don’t recruit well they’re in big bother this season.
16-08-2020, 12:57 PM
That’s a fantastic deal for Livi. That’s them lost their best striker, if they don’t recruit well they’re in big bother this season.
That’s a blow on the day of their game today
16-08-2020, 12:59 PM
Crazy money for him. He'll be back up here in the next year or two.
16-08-2020, 01:10 PM
Warburtons a .....
16-08-2020, 01:12 PM
Exactly the way we should conduct future player sales. Don’t bite teams hands off on the first offer, not that we do already mind you.
It’s time for us to start inflating the value of our players. I think livi have managed that for dykes.
16-08-2020, 01:30 PM
£2 million seems a very good deal for Livi
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-08-2020, 01:39 PM
Maybe they can afford some grass now
16-08-2020, 01:50 PM
Agreed cause he’s very over rated. One who will get found out down south
16-08-2020, 02:06 PM
Couple of tweets suggesting Dunfermline, Arbroath, Raith Rovers and QOTS are interested in Sean Mackie.
16-08-2020, 02:13 PM
4th official account just makes stuff up.
16-08-2020, 02:18 PM
Great deal for them, the Old firm would have probably offered 200k for him and expected to get him!
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 02:48 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-jack-ross-transfer-update-18776769
16-08-2020, 03:49 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-jack-ross-transfer-update-18776769
Doesn’t really say much eh
16-08-2020, 03:54 PM
Doesn’t really say much eh
Nothing we didn't already know anyway that we are trying from McCrorie and no other incomings unless there are outgoings (meaning the likes of Murray/Mackie loans and James Exit)
JammyDoidger
16-08-2020, 03:56 PM
2m for dykes. Christ we never got much more for John Mcginn!!!
16-08-2020, 07:01 PM
Ross McCrorie now has 'a couple of options on the table' with Rangers waiting on his decision.
Steven Gerrard says it's 'not going to work' for Greg Docherty at Rangers- club waiting on his decision on Hull offer.
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 07:03 PM
If Doidge gets a Wales call up and impresses there will be teams down south sniffing him out too. Would be looking for 2m upwards for him if he keeps up his form.
16-08-2020, 07:07 PM
Ross McCrorie now has 'a couple of options on the table' with Rangers waiting on his decision.
Steven Gerrard says it's 'not going to work' for Greg Docherty at Rangers- club waiting on his decision on Hull offer.
Wonder who else has come in for McCrorie, possibly St Gallen? Can’t see anyone else in Scotland paying the money for him. I’d prefer Docherty out of the two but I’m certain he’s desperate to go down south.
16-08-2020, 07:13 PM
Mere speculation as regards the price
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 07:18 PM
Hope he chooses Hibs.
16-08-2020, 07:23 PM
Get the cheque book out Ron and bid 1 million in total for both them.:greengrin
K-Zazu
16-08-2020, 07:24 PM
What was the hint from Gordon?
16-08-2020, 07:29 PM
Get the cheque book out Ron and bid 1 million in total for both them.:greengrin
Wouldn’t take as much as that.
chippy
16-08-2020, 07:29 PM
If it falls through let’s go for Ali McCann,
16-08-2020, 07:40 PM
I reckon he wants to come to us
16-08-2020, 07:43 PM
I doubt theres anyone in for him. Trying to force us to pay a higher fee.
16-08-2020, 07:56 PM
Great deal for them, the Old firm would have probably offered 200k for him and expected to get him!
Yep.
It is a great deal but can’t see him being replaced but also can’t see Livi being in any danger. Martingdale doing some job there like.
16-08-2020, 07:57 PM
Hope he chooses Hibs.
He’s already agreed to sign according to a very good source.
16-08-2020, 07:59 PM
It seems unlikely for a number of reasons, mainly that Docherty doesn’t seem to want to come to us permanently, but I’d love it if we ended up with Docherty rather than McCrorrie at the end of all of this.
Robbo6-2
16-08-2020, 08:01 PM
Mcrorie would be a good signing but we need more.
Still a couple short from making 3rd spot our own
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 08:05 PM
Watching the game against Motherwell I felt as if we could have done with another left winger on the bench.
16-08-2020, 08:10 PM
I reckon he wants to come to us
He has his heart set on a move to hibs apparently .
16-08-2020, 08:12 PM
Watching the game against Motherwell I felt as if we could have done with another left winger on the bench.
A jordan Jones type
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 08:14 PM
Does McCrorie's agent have any other players on his books at Hibs? Nicholas Nicholson.
Tbh if we're looking at our rivals for 3rd then Aberdeen are the only unknowns just now and we have to imagine they will be impacted by the Covid 8, whether bans or congested fixtures.
As it stands we've played 4 who we'd be thinking we'd be challenged by and have built up a nice cushion. We obviously have a squad capable of getting ahead of those teams, will it be deep enough to last the season is the question really?
Ultimately I do think, as we stand, it's going to be injuries that dictate things.
Avoid widespread absences and I think there's enough there to see us 3rd if we maintain good form, however there's no Gogic replacement so that does make McCrorie or equivalent a must have, we are tight defensively because of him no doubt in my mind.
Big question in my mind is do we play both of them in every game when fit? Personally I don't want to see that as it could make us too negative, I have been known to be wrong though:greengrin
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 08:16 PM
A jordan Jones type
Horgan seems to cut back onto his right to whip the ball in most of the time, perhaps he has been asked to do this. But I think a quick, direct player who loves to run and take on players would be a great choice to have.
16-08-2020, 08:21 PM
Wonder who else has come in for McCrorie, possibly St Gallen? Can’t see anyone else in Scotland paying the money for him. I’d prefer Docherty out of the two but I’m certain he’s desperate to go down south.
Was it not mention a while back Portsmouth offered a deal to take him back ?
Either that or Dr Budge is trying to get one over on us [emoji12]
16-08-2020, 08:24 PM
He has his heart set on a move to hibs apparently .
Fancies winning the league then
16-08-2020, 08:40 PM
I’d still hope we are in the market for another player if / when mcrorie joins.
I’d argue Hallberg / Mallan / James / Murray / Mackie all could leave in some capacity.
Would much rather see one player brought in who is pushing hard for a starting spot. As someone posted Jordan Jones for me would fit the bit well. Allowing Boyle to push further forward.
BlackSheep
16-08-2020, 08:43 PM
I’d still hope we are in the market for another player if / when mcrorie joins.
I’d argue Hallberg / Mallan / James / Murray / Mackie all could leave in some capacity.
Would much rather see one player brought in who is pushing hard for a starting spot. As someone posted Jordan Jones for me would fit the bit well. Allowing Boyle to push further forward.
I don’t think Hallberg or Mallan will be going anywhere, both slot into the team easily and when the games start coming thick and fast (cups and league) simple rotation to a strong formula is what will separate the winning teams from the rest.
16-08-2020, 08:52 PM
He’s already agreed to sign according to a very good source.
One thing I have learned over years of reading signing rumours online is that ‘agreeing’ to sign is VERY different from actually signing.
percy veer
16-08-2020, 08:56 PM
From a good source. He wont sign for hibs
chippy
16-08-2020, 08:57 PM
Even if we get McCrorie, I’d try and tempt Saint J to sell us Ali McCann. I like the Doc but think McCann looks an even better prospect
16-08-2020, 08:57 PM
Did your good source say who he will sign for?
percy veer
16-08-2020, 09:00 PM
Did your good source say who he will sign for?
English league 1 team
chippy
16-08-2020, 09:00 PM
Who is the good source referring to? Doc or McCrorie?
16-08-2020, 09:01 PM
This isn't great news after the efforts Hibs have put in to try and get him. One that Hibs obviously wanted to happen.
16-08-2020, 09:01 PM
English league 1 team
Portsmouth then?
percy veer
16-08-2020, 09:02 PM
Who is the good source referring to? Doc or McCrorie?
McCrorie
16-08-2020, 09:02 PM
Portsmouth then?
Aye it’ll be Portsmouth. Other sources have said RMc told his pals he was wanting to sign for hibs so I guess we’ll see.
chippy
16-08-2020, 09:05 PM
McCann’s the man I tell ye
16-08-2020, 09:07 PM
McCann’s the man I tell ye
Just several times in the past few hours 😅
16-08-2020, 09:12 PM
I’d be surprised if he did join Portsmouth. I’m not sure they were actually in for him. Don’t think he done too well in his loan spell at them.
16-08-2020, 09:16 PM
One thing I have learned over years of reading signing rumours online is that ‘agreeing’ to sign is VERY different from actually signing.
Very true mate. It’s not a rumour though from what I know but I get your point, someone gives him a £1k more a week and he will no longer give us his word. I’m told it’s done though.
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 09:18 PM
McCrorie
Shame if true. Must be Rangers being difficult as apparently RM was desperate to come.
16-08-2020, 09:22 PM
It's obvious Hibs didn't want McCrorie
When Hibs come calling you don't say no!!
Aww **** wrong board
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 09:30 PM
Did Ron say yesterday that getting Boyle to sign a new deal was a bit more challenging than the McCrorie deal? Doesn't look promising if we can't even get McCrorie.
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 09:39 PM
Did Ron say yesterday that getting Boyle to sign a new deal was a bit more challenging than the McCrorie deal? Doesn't look promising if we can't even get McCrorie.
We don’t know if we can’t get McCrorie yet. Can’t just assume its not happening because one poster said so.
Horgan seems to cut back onto his right to whip the ball in most of the time, perhaps he has been asked to do this. But I think a quick, direct player who loves to run and take on players would be a great choice to have.
He's a right footer and plays as an inverted winger/inside forward, he can go on the outside but will almost always cut back inside.
The Wireless
16-08-2020, 10:14 PM
We don’t know if we can’t get McCrorie yet. Can’t just assume its not happening because one poster said so.
Maybe the McCrorie signing and final offer to Rangers is dependant on Boyle staying or leaving and the delay of both of their future destiny’s are dependant on the latter decision. Just a hunch.
16-08-2020, 10:24 PM
It's obvious Hibs didn't want McCrorie
When Hibs come calling you don't say no!!
Aww **** wrong board
😂😂
16-08-2020, 10:52 PM
Seems the competition for mcrorie is, surprise surprise... Aberdeen.
16-08-2020, 10:54 PM
Seems the competition for mcrorie is, surprise surprise... Aberdeen.
What a shock! They are after a loan with an option to buy. Their one in one out policy is going well, sure the media will rip them to shreds for daring to try and sign players while making their current players take cuts.
16-08-2020, 11:03 PM
If hibs fail to get McCrorie after Ron speaking about him this will be quite embarrassing. Much preferred Petrie stance of no comment on players linked etc until a deal is done.
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 11:06 PM
If hibs fail to get McCrorie after Ron speaking about him this will be quite embarrassing. Much preferred Petrie stance of no comment on players linked etc until a deal is done.
This. I hope he picks us over them. We need to get back to beating Aberdeen to targets, will be pretty annoyed if he goes to them.
16-08-2020, 11:07 PM
If hibs fail to get McCrorie after Ron speaking about him this will be quite embarrassing. Much preferred Petrie stance of no comment on players linked etc until a deal is done.What did Ron say and where did he say it?
16-08-2020, 11:07 PM
@AberdeenFC want to beat @HibernianFC to land @RangersFC midfielder Ross McCrorie. It is understood they are keen on a loan with a set fee to buy at the end of the deal. Full story coming up at @Record_Sport and @ScotExpress https://t.co/zR3HlUqmKM
16-08-2020, 11:08 PM
This. I hope he picks us over them. We need to get back to beating Aberdeen to targets, will be pretty annoyed if he goes to them.Mcrorie and Ojo in midfield. [emoji102]
16-08-2020, 11:10 PM
McCrorie and Rangers have both said a loan is not what they want?
SweetDreams
Mcrorie and Ojo in midfield. [emoji102]
With Dylan too.
What did Ron say and where did he say it?
On hibs tv pre match Saturday. In a nutshell, he is a good player we’re hopeful to get it over the line. Pretty much.
16-08-2020, 11:14 PM
The only difference being Aberdeen are supposedly buying at the end of the loan. They may offer more than us and also cover his wages this season? Seems a strange one. Aberdeen want 3rd.
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 11:16 PM
If a mandatory fee is set for the end of the season then the loan option could be to stop McCrorie playing against them this season.
Chip shop Joe
16-08-2020, 11:17 PM
I would be very surprised if he did not sign with both Ron and Jack Ross publicly commenting that we were trying to get it over the line.
King Cosell
16-08-2020, 11:27 PM
Just had a look at Ross McCrorie's Twitter. Him and Joelle Murray have recently started following each other.
:eyes:
16-08-2020, 11:31 PM
Just had a look at Ross McCrorie's Twitter. Him and Joelle Murray have recently started following each other.
:eyes:She signing for Aberdeen tae?
16-08-2020, 11:32 PM
:eyes:
And follows Portsmouth even more recently
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 11:34 PM
Tbh, I wouldn’t blame Hibs here if we lose him to Dons. Something doesn’t sit right here. “Apparently” everything had been agreed and he wanted to come. If Huns have then gone and told other clubs they better get in there just to create a bidding war then **** them.
King Cosell
16-08-2020, 11:39 PM
She's his most recent follow.
16-08-2020, 11:39 PM
This. I hope he picks us over them. We need to get back to beating Aberdeen to targets, will be pretty annoyed if he goes to them.
It could be worse, we could be sitting part time in the championship looking for ***** that used to play for Inverness.
Silver line and all that.
16-08-2020, 11:40 PM
Seriously; I’m never ITK but Mcrorie, who I don’t even rate as much as others wants to sign for us and it should be done tomorrow.
SweetDreams
16-08-2020, 11:49 PM
It could be worse, we could be sitting part time in the championship looking for ***** that used to play for Inverness.
Silver line and all that.
After re-appointing a manager you basically pushed out after fans paid for a banner asking for his sacking to be flown over your home ground on matchday.
17-08-2020, 12:00 AM
After re-appointing a manager you basically pushed out after fans paid for a banner asking for his sacking to be flown over your home ground on matchday.
Then leaves and relegates a promotion seeking team into the worst division of English football 🤣. And then try to convince themselves he’s a great appointment because Levein, who they gushed over for five years because Budge told them to, had now left. 🤣
SweetDreams
17-08-2020, 12:57 AM
Then leaves and relegates a promotion seeking team into the worst division of English football 🤣. And then try to convince themselves he’s a great appointment because Levein, who they gushed over for five years because Budge told them to, had now left. 🤣
:faf::boo hoo:
17-08-2020, 04:12 AM
Think we will find out today either way
17-08-2020, 05:28 AM
Not like Aberdeen to try and steal a Hibs target. You'd think they'd have learned their lesson with Ojo 😉
17-08-2020, 05:35 AM
Should we not use the McRorie dosh to tempt Motherwell’s resolve over Turnbull?
Just returned from injury - desperate times call for desperate measures
Imagine Turnbull and his wee pal Campbell in our midfield? :rolleyes:
17-08-2020, 05:37 AM
I think there's still some sort of gentlemans agreement with Celtic in place there
17-08-2020, 05:40 AM
I think there's still some sort of gentlemans agreement with Celtic in place there
Both these guys ran the show on Saturday exactly what we were missing
In Jack Ross we trust....I suppose
17-08-2020, 05:48 AM
Both these guys ran the show on Saturday exactly what we were missing
In Jack Ross we trust....I suppose
Yeah I like them both but think Turnbull is terrific
Because it's one-tenth his valuation a year ago and, changed circumstances or not, we'd look like fools?
17-08-2020, 06:09 AM
Turnbull is worth about the same as McGinn was when we sold him to Villa so that would need us to offer over £2m !!
We dont have that cash to spend on one player unfortunately - he is a cracking player and I would expect him to go down South.
17-08-2020, 06:30 AM
Because it's one-tenth his valuation a year ago and, changed circumstances or not, we'd look like fools?
Just thought we might have got him for a knock down price like Nisbet if they were desperate for cash
If you don’t ask you don’t get ?
Celtic got a squad full of million pound bench warmers :greengrin
The only thing that worries me about McRorie is I don’t think I can recall ever having seen him play so not able to pass an opinion but not down to me I suppose? :greengrin
We will find out today I believe ?
17-08-2020, 06:40 AM
If I was a player I would avoid Aberdeen. Seems you go there and you get injured - just like Hearts and there training methods !
We need energy in midfield. Ideally 2 players who can give us better balance.
NC1875
17-08-2020, 06:48 AM
Aberdeen have got about a million midfielders
17-08-2020, 06:52 AM
Aberdeen have got about a million midfielders
So do we
17-08-2020, 07:00 AM
He’s signing for Aberdeen. **** sake.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ross-mccrorie-nears-shock-aberdeen-22532566
Let’s hope our alternative is better than who we signed under similar circumstances with Funso Ojo.
sean04
17-08-2020, 07:06 AM
If livi can get 2 mill for dykes, what could we get for doidge?
17-08-2020, 07:08 AM
Just thought we might have got him for a knock down price like Nisbet if they were desperate for cash
If you don’t ask you don’t get ?
Celtic got a squad full of million pound bench warmers :greengrin
The only thing that worries me about McRorie is I don’t think I can recall ever having seen him play so not able to pass an opinion but not down to me I suppose? :greengrin
We will find out today I believe ?
Not a snowballs chance in hell - wed not like it if teams lowballed us like that so not really becoming of us to do the same to other teams. Turnbull and Campbell are terrific talents way out our price range - lets keep it realistic
17-08-2020, 07:10 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ross-mccrorie-nears-shock-aberdeen-22532566
Let’s hope our alternative is better than who we signed under similar circumstances with Funso Ojo.
Dissapointed in the fact that Hibs have been trying to get this deal done for over a week. Rangers have made Hibs interest in him public knowledge for this exact reason.
17-08-2020, 07:11 AM
It was just too good to be true wasn’t it.
Thought this was going to be a real signing of intent. A very good young player with bags of potential who can play a variety of positions and has a real aggressive streak about him. A lot of Rangers fans want him to stay and he would walk into most teams in the country.
Bidding 400k or so for us is rather unheard of and it’s clear Ross really wanted him but yet again it looks like we’re set to lose out on a player to Aberdeen. Why can we not get him on a loan to buy option?
Ross will quite rightly be raging if we miss out on him to Aberdeen.
We better have a very good replacement lined up.
17-08-2020, 07:11 AM
Oh well. On to the next target
17-08-2020, 07:12 AM
Oh well we move on
Let’s hope we have someone else in mind. Hopefully not the same as the Ojo scenario where we don’t bring anyone else in.
17-08-2020, 07:12 AM
Good, that puts McGeouch down the pecking order. Get him.
17-08-2020, 07:14 AM
Thought this was going to be a real signing of intent. A very good young player with bags of potential who can play a variety of positions and has a real aggressive streak about him. A lot of Rangers fans want him to stay and he would walk into most teams in the country.
Bidding 400k or so for us is rather unheard of and it’s clear Ross really wanted him but yet again it looks like we’re set to lose out on a player to Aberdeen. Why can we not get him on a loan to buy option?
Maybe they’re just offering him, and them, money that we won’t (or can’t) match. This shows why Hibs try to keep everything so quiet I think.
17-08-2020, 07:15 AM
I thought the Cat guy on Twitter had said it was over the line?
17-08-2020, 07:15 AM
Thats it you go bashing the club without knowing any of the facts...if he wants to go up there #### him
17-08-2020, 07:16 AM
A loan with the option to buy. So he can't play against Rangers this season, which was the clause rumoured we wouldn't agree to.
Robbo6-2
17-08-2020, 07:18 AM
Oh well we move on
Let’s hope we have someone else in mind. Hopefully not the same as the Ojo scenario where we don’t bring anyone else in.
We did.. Vela
17-08-2020, 07:18 AM
Thats it you go bashing the club without knowing any of the facts...if he wants to go up there #### him
Go read my post again and tell me where I bash the club without knowing the facts.
Ross clearly wanted him and imo will be raging we’ve missed out, that’s not bashing the club that’s just the outcome.
17-08-2020, 07:20 AM
Rat face Gerrard has got his way, getting McCrorie out on loan so that he can't play against Rangers in his final year before being sacked for not stopping Celtic’s TIAR.
17-08-2020, 07:21 AM
Announced today according to some
17-08-2020, 07:22 AM
Go read my post again and tell me where I bash the club without knowing the facts.
Ross clearly wanted him and imo will be raging we’ve missed out, that’s not bashing the club that’s just the outcome.
U were moaning on about losing out to Aberdeen again etc etc - Ross can be raging all he wants but its not our fault he's chose Aberdeen- Ojo and Dylan done the same as they can clearly pay a higher wage than us. If he wants to go play hoofball up there - let him. Im still not convinced he's really the midfielder we need anyway
17-08-2020, 07:23 AM
Seriously; I’m never ITK but Mcrorie, who I don’t even rate as much as others wants to sign for us and it should be done tomorrow.
Thanks Daz
HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 07:23 AM
Scott Burns: Hibs were in first and spent days trying to thrash out a fee, mainly in instalments, while Aberdeen went straight in and agreed a fee with Rangers - to be paid at the end of the loan. Things can change but I can't see Hibs competing with Aberdeen on the wage front either
17-08-2020, 07:25 AM
I’m confident that the stumbling block on a deal was not Hibs’ or McCrorie’s doing.
17-08-2020, 07:27 AM
Innes Murray heading on loan to Alloa
17-08-2020, 07:27 AM
I’m confident that the stumbling block on a deal was not Hibs’ or McCrorie’s doing.
It’ll be money. Be it to McCrorie, Rangers or both.
17-08-2020, 07:28 AM
He really isnt worth getting hung up about. Aberdeen are possibly the most boring team and club on the planet so it makes sense for them to be after a player like him. We need to concentrate on getting someone who has a bit of energy and is good on the ball so we can start moves off from deep rather than aimless punts which have been creeping in recently
17-08-2020, 07:29 AM
He really isnt worth getting hung up about. Aberdeen are possibly the most boring team and club on the planet so it makes sense for them to be after a player like him. We need to concentrate on getting someone who has a bit of energy and is good on the ball so we can start moves off from deep rather than aimless punts which have been creeping in recently
Dylan McGeouch would be perfect for that role.
chippy
17-08-2020, 07:30 AM
And the loan .....no playing against Rangers this 10iar season
chippy
17-08-2020, 07:31 AM
Anyone spring to in in our price/ wage range?
HendoDelivered
17-08-2020, 07:34 AM
At least we know there’s money there to spend.
17-08-2020, 07:36 AM
It is SG. He doesn’t want RM to play against them this season
Clarence
17-08-2020, 07:39 AM
I’m glad we’re not going overboard to sign Hun cast offs.
EAZY-ME
17-08-2020, 07:39 AM
Ranger's clearly said neither mcrorie or docherty would be going out on loan...... then aberdeen come along and ok off you go......we should stop dealing with Ranger's altogether
17-08-2020, 07:40 AM
U were moaning on about losing out to Aberdeen again etc etc - Ross can be raging all he wants but its not our fault he's chose Aberdeen- Ojo and Dylan done the same as they can clearly pay a higher wage than us. If he wants to go play hoofball up there - let him. Im still not convinced he's really the midfielder we need anyway
As it’s incredible frustrating. Ross will be moaning too, that doesn’t mean it’s anyone’s fault but the whole scenario will be frustrating and annoying for everyone at the club as it seems we were very close to getting in a player high on our list.
17-08-2020, 07:41 AM
We did.. Vela
Exactly
17-08-2020, 07:43 AM
If not worked out wonder if still the possibility of Doc returning.
17-08-2020, 07:44 AM
Ranger's clearly said neither mcrorie or docherty would be going out on loan...... then aberdeen come along and ok off you go......we should stop dealing with Ranger's altogether
Aberdeen are obligated to buy, it would appear, so a bit different I think. Helps them out as they don’t have the funds just now.
17-08-2020, 07:45 AM
Hibs should be going for Dylan. He’s wasting his time up there except milking them for a wage.
The thing I do find odd about this is Hibs going public with the info as usually they keep things quiet. But at the same time as others have said its about ££ and Rangers / Aberdeen figures obviously match up.
Aberdeen are pretty shady when it comes to signing players.
If McCrorie does sign for Aberdeen who do you think/would like to see us go for?
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
hibeejeebies
Wise words indeed, Spike 😁
17-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Hibs should be going for Dylan. He’s wasting his time up there except milking them for a wage.
The thing I do find odd about this is Hibs going public with the info as usually they keep things quiet. But at the same time as others have said its about ££ and Rangers / Aberdeen figures obviously match up.
If Dylan had done anything since he left Hibs I'd tend to agree, not sure why he hasn't. I think. Ross will have worked with Dylan so will know if he's the type of player we need or not.
17-08-2020, 07:48 AM
If McCrorie does sign for Aberdeen who do you think/would like to see us go for?
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
Is Magennis back playing yet after his acl?
17-08-2020, 07:48 AM
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
Are any of them McCrorie type players? Genuine question
17-08-2020, 07:49 AM
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
We obviously have money so I’d like to see us go for Ali McCann from St J.
I’d like to see Doc or Dylan back here but neither will happen.
Is Magennis the boy at st murn that is highly rated?
17-08-2020, 07:51 AM
It was Rangers that went public in the evening times no doubt to generate interest elsewhere which appears to have worked.
skyehibee
17-08-2020, 07:51 AM
I wonder if Derek McInnes drove down at 1 in the morning to pick him up again similar to Ojo. Brilliant scouting team, just follow what hibs do then at the last minute offer more cash.
I must admit I was pretty much unconcerned about the McCrorie signing other than as a declaration of intent. I saw him playing beside Porto for the U21s a few times & Porto was always the stand out. I'm intrigued by a couple of things though. If McCrorie is rated so highly by The Rangers & if Gerrard is so concerned about him playing against Rangers then why are they letting him go, for what is a paltry sum to them?
17-08-2020, 07:52 AM
If Dylan had done anything since he left Hibs I'd tend to agree, not sure why he hasn't. I think. Ross will have worked with Dylan so will know if he's the type of player we need or not.
Some players are just suited for certain clubs.
Dylan was in the Scotland squad playing for us. Yes he had SJM beside him at times but he is the link we could do with taking the ball from the back and dictating the tempo of the game.
Ideally Dylan plus 1 other though.
I was saying that McCrorie was basically cover at CM and CB. He had leadership skills but I wasn’t fully convinced with the hype.
As others have said the Motherwell players at weekend showed some exciting promise.
Jason Kerr at Saints ?
17-08-2020, 07:52 AM
We obviously have money so I’d like to see us go for Ali McCann from St J.
I’d like to see Doc or Dylan back here but neither will happen.
Is Magennis the boy at st murn that is highly rated?
Yes magennis is a good player done his acl start of the year so not sure if back playing yet. Assume not
Souter96Mac
17-08-2020, 07:53 AM
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
I don't know who out of that list is most similar to McCrorie, but I would love us to sign Irvine. Think it would be highly unlikely, but he'd be a great signing
smithy_hibees
Weird, Ron before the Hibs game saying the player wants come etc Now he’s off Aberdeen, still thinking he’ll sign but maybe just hoping we won’t look like we can’t pay what Aberdeen pay again..
I wonder if Derek McInnes drove down at 1 in the morning to pick him up again similar to Ojo. Brilliant scouting team, just follow what hibs do then at the last minute offer more cash.
Yep no doubt sending him loving texts at 3 in the morning. :greengrin
17-08-2020, 07:54 AM
It was Rangers that went public in the evening times no doubt to generate interest elsewhere which appears to have worked.
Of course Rangers we’re feeding the media but Ron and co should have just said we can’t comment on that.
Aberdeen / Rangers both as bad as each other - Suprised Hearts didn’t jump in with a bid too.
17-08-2020, 07:54 AM
While I’d still take McGeough back I did wonder how he would get on without McGinn beside him. Same with Scott Allan, to a lesser extent. Not to diminish their individual contributions as they were both excellent for us in their own right. However it’s a tough ask to get anywhere near that level again without someone like McGinn beside them.
17-08-2020, 07:57 AM
Of course Rangers we’re feeding the media but Ron and co should have just said we can’t comment on that.
Aberdeen / Rangers both as bad as each other - Suprised Hearts didn’t jump in with a bid too.
Hear what you are saying and agree to an extent however difficult for Hibs to not comment if Rangers directly announce we have bid. Robbie will be on the phone to the player at this moment then tell everyone he didn't when he goes elsewhere.
17-08-2020, 07:59 AM
But if the fee to make the move permanent at end of loan spell is better than our offer they may decide to go with it and not strengthen us given we are joint too with them
Aberdeen will probably be able to pay a greater share of his wages
But presumably the player has a say in Whete he is prepared to go
17-08-2020, 08:00 AM
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
The 2 young St Mirren boys have 2 years left. Of their contract, and looking at Magennis I don't think he's naturally a centre midfield player.
Allan Campbell is the ideal candidate with only 1 year remaining on his contract. Still think he'd be way out of our reach and is prime for a move down South
BoyledEgg
17-08-2020, 08:01 AM
He never said that.
Souter96Mac
17-08-2020, 08:02 AM
The 2 young St Mirren boys have 2 years left. Of their contract, and looking at Magennis I don't think he's naturally a centre midfield player.
Allan Campbell is the ideal candidate with only 1 year remaining on his contract. Still think he'd be way out of our reach and is prime for a move down South
Yeah, I think we're crying out for a Campbell type player. You're right though, even though he's only got 1 year left, I can't see Motherwell letting him sign for us, unless it was for big money
Clarence
17-08-2020, 08:05 AM
But if the fee to make the move permanent at end of loan spell is better than our offer they may decide to go with it and not strengthen us given we are joint too with them
What if he’s gash or gets injured? I assume they aren’t obliged to sign him.
17-08-2020, 08:06 AM
We keep saying that while they keep finishing above us and qualifying for Europe.
17-08-2020, 08:06 AM
Liam Henderson is also in Scotland right now. His loan team didn't get promoted. We should at least make an enquiry.
17-08-2020, 08:07 AM
Mark Atkinson
Aberdeen look to have gazumped Hibs for Ross McCrorie. Will be dull yin for club considering they were in pole position for him last week and Jack Ross/Ron Gordon spoke positively about him. Derek McInnes charmed player with talks yesterday. Hibs now making moves on other options
17-08-2020, 08:08 AM
His best days are behind him now. We need to move on. There are better younger prospects out there.
Souter96Mac
17-08-2020, 08:10 AM
Mark Atkinson
Aberdeen look to have gazumped Hibs for Ross McCrorie. Will be dull yin for club considering they were in pole position for him last week and Jack Ross/Ron Gordon spoke positively about him. Derek McInnes charmed player with talks yesterday. Hibs now making moves on other options
I expect a reaction from this is he does sign for Aberdeen.
17-08-2020, 08:10 AM
We keep saying that while they keep finishing above us and qualifying for Europe.
They want to finish third and realise we are a threat They know they can pay better than us and players still probably believe they are best bet to finish third
We need to be ambitious and change that
17-08-2020, 08:11 AM
Liam Henderson is also in Scotland right now. His loan team didn't get promoted. We should at least make an enquiry.
Where on the park has he been playing?
17-08-2020, 08:13 AM
Where on the park has he been playing? Deep lying playmaker I believe. Transfermarkt has him down as defensive mid a lot.
h1bs4life
17-08-2020, 08:14 AM
Sure it was the Huns that leaked we were trying to sign Mcrorie.
They will no doubt be delighted he has gone to Aberdeen and can't play against them this season.
They have fed us a lot of bull thinking he is on his way, hopefully this will stop anyone from Hibs speaking about transfers before they are done in future
It would no doubt be the same scenario with Docherty.
We should no longer have any dealings with the Huns they will no doubt see this as some sort of payback for us not selling them Scott Allan
Wonder what Dons fans think of this, lot of them want rid of Mcinnes and now he is signing players from the team they despise.
17-08-2020, 08:15 AM
I hope Gordon is stung by this and makes sure it doesn't happen again. I'm fed up of losing out to Aberdeen.
In the two years since he left Hibs the only thing of note McGeouch has achieved is to get busted for breaching Covid regulations. Massive question mark over him.
17-08-2020, 08:15 AM
Dylan's career was on the right trajectory the last time he was with us, leaving a big club with a point to prove.
Since he left us he's played little football, won over few fans of the clubs he's played with and it looks to me he's been more bothered about earning cash, bulking up and getting a hair transplant.
As much as I liked him as a player I think he's wrong for us now. McRorie would arguably have been a bit more like McGeouch in the position we signed him the last time - leaving the OF with little option other than to make a success of his next move if he wants to have a future in the game.
McGeouch's got a bit of coasting to do yet, and he shouldn't be allowed to do it for us.
It was unlike Hibs (other than possibly when we had Lennon in charge) to be as vocal about a player and a transfer publicly that appears to have been far from over the line.
17-08-2020, 08:16 AM
Campbell would be an excellent signing. Think we should try and test the water given the one year contract.
They will no doubt be delighted he has gone to Aberdeen and can't play against them this season.
They have fed us a lot of bull thinking he is on his way, hopefully this will stop anyone from Hibs speaking about transfers before they are done in future
We should no longer have any dealings with the Huns they will no doubt see this as some sort of payback for us not selling them Scott Allan
Wonder what Dons fans think of this, lot of them want rid of Mcinnes and now he is signing players from the team they despise.
Ye, they must be getting sick of all the top 3 finishes by now.[emoji849]
We need energy in midfield - surely there are some players out there who get around the pitch and get in opposition faces and can also be half decent on the ball.
Liam Henderson like Dylan / Allan / Mallan / Hallberg / Slivka are all similar. Good players at times but we need different.
17-08-2020, 08:18 AM
We need energy in midfield - surely there are some players out there who get around the pitch and get in opposition faces and can also be half decent on the ball.
Liam Henderson like Dylan / Allan / Mallan / Hallberg / Slivka are all similar. Good players at times but we need different.
Ali McCann
17-08-2020, 08:20 AM
I agree that we need energy in midfield - but it's easier to say that than it is to actually suggest a name that fits the bill.
McGinn was an energetic midfielder.
There aren't all that many around though, certainly not many that would fit the sort of profile that we could easily go for, considering we're unlikely to be able to afford to sign anyone who is a first pick for another premier league side.
They will be thinking their club has done a decent bit of business and having a good laugh at our failure to get a deal done.
Some scouting department Aberdeen have eh
Greenworld
17-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkRonnie this is key to my thinking, if the player wants to go to Hibs as has been well reported then he can just say no to the other deals .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
17-08-2020, 08:21 AM
While I’d still take McGeough back I did wonder how he would get on without McGinn beside him. Same with Scott Allan, to a lesser extent. Not to diminish their individual contributions as they were both excellent for us in their own right. However it’s a tough ask to get anywhere near that level again without someone like McGinn beside them.
Think Dylan is pretty well finished. Two bad moves must have damaged his confidence. Just remember his good times. Ross also managed him and has a view which meant we did not go for him. He is chasing the money and we would not match his Aberdeen salary.
17-08-2020, 08:22 AM
As much as it’s annoying you’d expect us to be in the same kind of market. Just a shame they tend to spend that bit more than us. I notice they are getting away with not a single journalist mentioning their supposed one in one out policy or the fact they’re signing another player while their squad is on pay cuts. Dave Cormack is the sweetheart of the media up here.
17-08-2020, 08:23 AM
Maybe just me but I was never excited by the prospect of signing McCrorie. Only going by what I've read about him, but he didn't sound like the type of player we needed. If he does sign for Aberdeen hopefully he'll be their latest Ojo or McGeouch.
Doesn't seem like Docherty is an option but I'd have preferred him. Probably no chance but I'd love to see us try for Campbell.
tonyrougier123
17-08-2020, 08:23 AM
Omeonga time hibs😏
17-08-2020, 08:24 AM
Think Dylan is pretty well finished. Two bad moves must have damaged his confidence. Just remember his good times. Ross also managed him and has a view which meant we did not go for him. He is chasing the money and we would not match his Aberdeen salary.
Dylan Mcgeouch will flourish in any team that doesn't just hoof long balls.
BlackSheep
17-08-2020, 08:25 AM
It’s suggested that the deal is a loan with Aberdeen buying him at the end of the season... with current financial constraints this makes sense and it allows Rangers to get their way with RM not able to play against them this year... Rangers are pulling out the stops to stop 10 in a Row....!
It so underhanded and shouldn’t be allowed!!! Horrible way to play the game, where the sportsmanship!!! 🤬🤬🤬
Gypsy King
17-08-2020, 08:26 AM
Personally never seen anything from him that warranted this fee north of 250k that was being banded about. If the Dons keep "Gazumping" us for players like that its fine by me. There is better value for money out there. If we are making bids of 250k it might be worth firing one over to Motherwell for Allan Campbell who's contract I believe expires 2021
As much as it’s annoying you’d expect us to be in the same kind of market. Just a shame they tend to spend that bit more than us. I notice they are getting away with not a single journalist mentioning their supposed one in one out policy or the fact they’re signing another player while their squad is on pay cuts. Dave Cormack is the sweetheart of the media up here.
We should bait them into a few duds
BlackSheep
Agreed.... but also a bit of a taste of his own medicine for Jack Ross.
Hate to say it but it’s true.
Also have to point out that there must be a small group of scouts working for every team in Scotland the way we all seem to be fighting over the same players year on year....
On the topic of Aberdeen swooping in for our players... surely at some point they need to see that it actually doesn’t further their careers!!! Look at Ojo and McGeouch.... hardly tearing it up for the Dons!!!
17-08-2020, 08:27 AM
Omeonga time hibs😏
No thanks.
Stokesy's on fire
Aberdeen do this constantly they know fine well we are a threat to them and by going in for our targets all the time and beating us to said targets they slap us down we should be embarrassed by this.
Omeonga time hibs😏
I’d take him but I suspect with McCrorie we were trying to get a more physical type who could also play 2 or 3 positions.
We should bait them into a few duds[emoji106]
The Ojo one worked brilliantly.
17-08-2020, 08:29 AM
Personally never seen anything from him that warranted this fee north of 250k that was being banded about. If the Dons keep "Gazumping" us for players like that its fine by me. There is better value for money out there. If we are making bids of 250k it might be worth firing one over to Motherwell for Allan Campbell who's contract I believe expires 2021
It would be fine by me as well so long as they weren’t constantly finishing above us in the league. Need to stop accepting second best.
17-08-2020, 08:30 AM
Greg Docherty
Ali McCann
Dylan McGeouch
Cammy Macpherson
Kyle Magennis
Jackson Irvine
Who we thinking?
Irvine would be best, but he’ll get a new deal somewhere on more than we can offer
[emoji106]
The Ojo one worked brilliantly.
I was proper raging about that 1... Until I watched him play
Gypsy King
Are any of them McCrorie type players? Genuine question
None of them are versatile three in one CM, CB and RB cover that Ross wanted but I believe most of them are better Centre midfield players.
h1bs4life
17-08-2020, 08:31 AM
Ye, they must be getting sick of all the top 3 finishes by now.[emoji849]
Deal with a few of there fans through work and was surprised to hear how many want rid claiming its due to eye bleeding football.
A look on some of there forums confirms the same
Their hatred for anything to do with the Huns is also well known.
17-08-2020, 08:31 AM
Just a note on Dylan McGeough
If you ever have a spare few minutes, watch the highlights again of the Natural Order derby, the 2-0 game.
Kenny Millar had a fantastic description of that match afterwards.
"21 other players came to play an Edinburgh Derby tonight. Dylan McGeough came to play football".
Not saying we should go for him (though he would always be welcome at ER in my book) but it is a shame to see a guy who can hit those sorts of peaks (a true midfield masterclass) languishing on the Aberdeen bench
17-08-2020, 08:33 AM
What if he’s gash or gets injured? I assume they aren’t obliged to sign him.
You would have to assume that but these are strange times
17-08-2020, 08:35 AM
If you ever have a spare few minutes, watch the highlights again of the Natural Order derby, the 2-0 game.
"21 other players came to play an Edinburgh Derby tonight. Dylan McGeough came to play football".
Not saying we should go for him (though he would always be welcome at ER in my book) but it is a shame to see a guy who can hit those sorts of peaks (a true midfield masterclass) languishing on the Aberdeen bench
If we were to get that player back then it would be a no brainer.
He's not that player any more though.
He was immense though - often the most important player in a team full of important players.
I always thought he was the one who made us tick.
17-08-2020, 08:36 AM
He’s wasted his own career imo. Sure he got a Scotland call up whilst at us?
Just shows you the grass isn’t always greener.
EI255
Aberdeen do this constantly they know fine well we are a threat to them and by going in for our targets all the time and beating us to said targets they slap us down we should be embarrassed by this.Embarrassing that they arent having to pay for the lad until next season.
Big club Aberdeen.... Aye, right then!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Prob Huns wanting Lewis Ferguson at some stage as part of McCrorie deal
KingPat4
17-08-2020, 08:37 AM
Not that bothered really. The player has obviously chosen Aberdeen, so good riddance. Let's hope the Covid8 get long term bans and the Don's get stuck in a relegation battle.
17-08-2020, 08:37 AM
It's a pity. All indications were that he was dead set on a move to Hibs but guess money talks
BlackSheep
17-08-2020, 08:38 AM
Look, it’s not over til it’s on an official site somewhere... I’m not doubting that McRorie will be exploring his options as right now the deal with hibs seems up in the air... but who knows... time will tell.
mcfly
17-08-2020, 08:39 AM
Embarrassing that they arent having to pay for the lad until next season.
They pay more money than us simple as.
No point criticising them. Every time they do it to us.
If we want to compete we have to pay more money.
Sickening if he goes there though. I think the manager was banking on getting him.
Bronson
17-08-2020, 08:42 AM
I’m really not arsed if we lose out on mccrorie tbh. Better players out there for the money they seem to be wanting. I thought our initial offer of £200k was more than fair.
Docherty or jackson irvine would the two i would look at.
BlackSheep
17-08-2020, 08:44 AM
I’m really not arsed if we lose out on mccrorie tbh. Better players out there for the money they seem to be wanting. I thought our initial offer of £200k was more than fair.
Docherty or jackson irvine would the two i would look at.
It’s highly unlikely we will get Docherty, his transfer out of the Huns will likely be announced before any McRorie deal... it’s not like Hull can’t afford what rangers will consider a good deal.
17-08-2020, 08:47 AM
It’s highly unlikely we will get Docherty, his transfer out of the Huns will likely be announced before any McRorie deal... it’s not like Hull can’t afford what rangers will consider a good deal.
But Hull can only afford to pay Docherty £2k a week. Pretty poor if we can’t beat that.
17-08-2020, 08:49 AM
How embarrassing?
Most transfers are paid in instalments.These are strange times, so it's not surprising that clubs will take even longer to pay.
17-08-2020, 08:50 AM
Bloody good deal you mean? That’s just good business.
JammyDoidger
17-08-2020, 08:51 AM
We need to wash our hands with the currant buns. Don't deal with them again over players in or out. We must have been confident of getting it done or we wouldn't have went public. We've been shafted here. Onto the next one.
Leitherhibs
17-08-2020, 08:53 AM
Go get Jackson Irvine!!!
17-08-2020, 08:53 AM
Folk saying they aint bothered
Our management and recruitment team obviously really want him
We confirmed publically via our manager and owner that we were all but finalised in signing him
If we lose out to one of our rivals it is embaressing for the club, no doubt about that
17-08-2020, 08:55 AM
We need to wash our hands with the currant buns. Don't deal with them again over players in or out. We must have been confident of getting it done or we wouldn't have went public. We've been shafted here. Onto the next one.
I’m no one to stick up for The Rangers, but if someone else is prepared to meet what they want and we’re not, then it’s no really their fault.
17-08-2020, 08:55 AM
Folk saying they aint bothered
Our management and recruitment team obviously really want him
We confirmed publically via our manager and owner that we were all but finalised in signing him
If we lose out to one of our rivals it is embaressing for the club, no doubt about that
Aye you could well be right but we just move on to other targets.
These things happen in football. The club will know that as well.
Let’s not get too over dramatic about it. This isn’t the first time and won’t be the last.