View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

06-09-2020, 12:22 PM
Omeonga will remembered for being better than he actually was. A bit like Jorge Claros.
A marmite player according to .netters but then who in the squad isn't?
I for one loved the wee nippie sweetie. Sort of player opposition midfielders would hate to come up against, closing them down and snapping at their heels.
Buona fortuna a Pescara Stephane.

SJNB Hibby
06-09-2020, 12:39 PM
Horgan just equalised!! WW down to 10 men too. Well taken goal

badabing67
06-09-2020, 12:52 PM
Horgan on the bench for WW today

Does anyone know the fee we got for him

06-09-2020, 12:55 PM
Does anyone know the fee we got for him

Other than both clubs, the agents and the player, no.

06-09-2020, 12:58 PM
Other than both clubs, the agents and the player, no.

If you’re not prepared to make up a figure you’ll have to stop posting on here.It was actually £90,000 with 35% sell on clause.See it’s easy.

06-09-2020, 01:27 PM
If you’re not prepared to make up a figure you’ll have to stop posting on here.It was actually £90,000 with 35% sell on clause.See it’s easy.

06-09-2020, 01:59 PM

Nah you got that back to front it was £35k with a 90% buy-back😉

06-09-2020, 02:28 PM
Would happily take Omeonga back, would give us a bit more energy in the midfield. He was excellent in his first spell with us and when he arrived the second time he had barely kicked a ball since he left us and only had about a month before lockdown so I think it's unfair to properly scrutinise him on that.

06-09-2020, 03:02 PM
I’d be surprised to see Omeonga back. Never got a sense that Ross fancies him that much. ..May be wrong ....

Greenio
06-09-2020, 03:10 PM
I’d be surprised to see Omeonga back. Never got a sense that Ross fancies him that much. ..May be wrong ....

Seen a few people on here saying that.

What makes you sense that? He played him as much as anyone else in the short time he could no?

Got his first goal under Ross too

06-09-2020, 03:13 PM
If Omeonga is now a free agent we should definitely be trying to sign him. He'd love to come back here and would give us the energy and mobility in centre mid that we need.

I'd have him over Halberg and Newell for sure. Him, Gogic and Allan/Mallan would be a fantastic middle three.

And before anyone mentions it. My wanting him back has absolutely nothing to do with the fact he can play piano. Think it's weird when folk mention that

Robbo6-2
06-09-2020, 03:16 PM
So we are short of energy and drive in midfield....

Absolute no brainer to bring in Omeonga on a perm deal.

Gets the club and a good young player who can develop. Whats not to like

06-09-2020, 03:20 PM
In some ways Omeonga flattered to deceive but I thought his instincts about playing the game were right.

06-09-2020, 03:59 PM
In some ways Omeonga flattered to deceive but I thought his instincts about playing the game were right.

He’s a young man whose had a bit of an itinerant career these past few seasons. I just have a feeling that he could grow into a really important player for us and he’s what we need right now.

Maybe he didn’t do all that much earlier this year but when he joined the team the first time he had an immediate impact. I hope we are trying to get him.

06-09-2020, 04:04 PM
He’s a young man whose had a bit of an itinerant career these past few seasons. I just have a feeling that he could grow into a really important player for us and he’s what we need right now.

Maybe he didn’t do all that much earlier this year but when he joined the team the first time he had an immediate impact. I hope we are trying to get him.

I think he’d be stronger for playing every week somewhere.

He’s good enough to get into big clubs but not necessarily play for them and he needs to be playing to work on his imperfections.

Tbh I think we’re perfect for him. Not exactly a walk in the park but tough enough to be a challenge.

If he goes to Pescara he needs to be playing or he’ll be another of those rich, talented footballers who don’t progress enough at the vital time and end up finished long before their time.

06-09-2020, 04:05 PM

What's not to like? Err - he's already signed for another Italian team.

Kaff
06-09-2020, 04:11 PM
I think we need dynamic players as Jack definitely has an air of caution about his team selection so we need players that can lift the pace within the structure he sets.
Agree absolutely we had to tighten the defence so that has to add more rigidity through midfield, someone like Omeonga can spark into life when we get possession and get players like Boyle and Allan attacking quicker.
Joe Newell is good but Stephane has the spark he doesn't and I do feel that's what we're looking for from a deeper player.

06-09-2020, 04:23 PM

Omeonga has signed for Pescara, see link below

https://www.calciomercato.com/news/genoa-omeonga-passa-al-pescara-53198

06-09-2020, 04:26 PM
From Italian media

Stephane Omeonga is a new Pescara player.

The Belgian midfielder, born in 1996, returning from a season spent on loan between Cercle Brugge and Hibernian, has moved on to the Abruzzo club that bought him from Genoa.

Omeonga had arrived in rossoblù from Avellino in the summer of 2017 but despite some good performances he greeted the Lanterna a year and a half later. First on a temporary basis, now definitively.

Posted this about 7 hrs ago and there is still a debate going on if we should sign him or not 👀

Inconsequential
06-09-2020, 04:45 PM
Posted this about 7 hrs ago and there is still a debate going on if we should sign him or not 👀 You're a party pooper! People don't want to read that it's OLD news. Is Omeonga signing for Hibs? :rolleyes:

06-09-2020, 04:54 PM
You're a party pooper! People don't want to read that it's OLD news. Is Omeonga signing for Hibs? :rolleyes:
3 years announced Monday had to wait until the sun was out for his flight 😁

06-09-2020, 05:05 PM
Posted this about 7 hrs ago and there is still a debate going on if we should sign him or not 👀

Yeah ok obviously missed this news.

FFS.

06-09-2020, 05:13 PM

FFS.
Try and keep up🙄

BS44
06-09-2020, 06:05 PM

FFS.

At least you have good taste in fashion retail.

TheGog
06-09-2020, 07:01 PM
3 years announced Monday had to wait until the sun was out for his flight 😁
That day will never be beaten

Hibiza
06-09-2020, 08:02 PM
We always JUST miss out on good signings. Some things will never change including mid table mediocrity.

06-09-2020, 08:16 PM
We always JUST miss out on good signings. Some things will never change including mid table mediocrity.

Bet ya we aren't mid table this season.

Infact, in a full season, we haven't finished mid table since 2013.

06-09-2020, 08:29 PM
Bet ya we aren't mid table this season.

Infact, in a full season, we haven't finished mid table since 2013.

That really depends on your definition of mid-table doesn’t it? If one was to split the table into thirds, we finished mid-table in 2018/19 and were very much on course for a mid-table finish last season.

Of course while there no universal definition of mid-table positions. I would tend to go on the below:

Teams in European Places
Mid Table
Teams in a Relegation Battle

06-09-2020, 08:32 PM
When does the window slam shut this season?

06-09-2020, 08:34 PM
When does the window slam shut this season?

5th October I think

badabing67
06-09-2020, 08:51 PM
So who can we get to fix the midfield problem since we can't get Omeonga

tonyrougier123
06-09-2020, 09:01 PM

Islambek kuat👍

06-09-2020, 09:09 PM

You keep hammering out lines like this. Dunno what you're trying to say, but constantly bashing the club is hardly productive.

06-09-2020, 09:19 PM

Maxime Bernauer 👍😁

BegbieHSC
06-09-2020, 09:22 PM
Maxime Bernauer 👍😁

Legit link, or a suggestion? Would be an interesting signing.

06-09-2020, 09:23 PM
Maxime Bernauer 👍😁

Random name to throw out there.

Has he been linked with us?

06-09-2020, 09:26 PM
Legit link, or a suggestion? Would be an interesting signing.

A suggestion, no idea how i seen his name a couple of weeks ago, had a look at him and from what little footage i could see he reminded me of McCrorie, he can play CDM and CB plays in Ligue 2 in France and think he's in his last year there. Absolutely nothing in it just a young boy that looks a decent prospect.

06-09-2020, 09:55 PM
Maxime Bernauer 👍😁

Joined Le Mans FC 1 July this year.

06-09-2020, 10:00 PM
Joined Le Mans FC 1 July this year.

Looks like you are right with Transfermarket only having him under contract until 2001. Looks like it was just a 12 month deal. I'm going to keep an eye on his progress looks decent.

06-09-2020, 10:14 PM
Looks like you are right with Transfermarket only having him under contract until 2001. Looks like it was just a 12 month deal. I'm going to keep an eye on his progress looks decent.

I thought it would only be a 24 hour thing....:duck:

07-09-2020, 05:02 AM
Can we no just sign Latapy even at 75 wi a fag he would still take the piss out hearts in the semi and let’s be honest in this environment it’s the only game that will seriously matter. Get Lyndon in too for the Matty Jack role and our Gogic in a three man defence with Boyle and Doig like Laursen and DLC

07-09-2020, 06:50 AM
Alan Campbell from Motherwell or Jackson Irvine from Hull feel like the right type of players. No rumours just thinking about the right fit for the gap we have.

Campbell in last year of contract but Motherwell would rightly want a decent fee. Irvine contract expired at Hull in June, not sure where he is going next.

Both have bite, drive and experience. Irvine especially but I assume would be pricey wages wise.

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 07:16 AM
Alan Campbell from Motherwell or Jackson Irvine from Hull feel like the right type of players. No rumours just thinking about the right fit for the gap we have.

Campbell in last year of contract but Motherwell would rightly want a decent fee. Irvine contract expired at Hull in June, not sure where he is going next.

Both have bite, drive and experience. Irvine especially but I assume would be pricey wages wise.

Those 2 along with Ali McCann are at the top of most Hibs fans wish lists, I do think though that sadly all 3 will be slightly out of our reach, however not by much. So if Irvine still doesn't have a club in a months time when all the seasons has are underway we might have a good chance of landing him, but by then he wont have the required match fitness to come straight in to the side..

JammyDoidger
07-09-2020, 07:22 AM
I'm struggling to understand how we haven't made any signings in midfield apart from gogic. It's Absoloutely mental. I'd take slivka or whittaker back at this rate.

07-09-2020, 07:49 AM
I'm struggling to understand how we haven't made any signings in midfield apart from gogic. It's Absoloutely mental. I'd take slivka or whittaker back at this rate.

We could absolutely do with someone else in soon. I’m assuming we’ve been working on our backup options to McCrorie but looks like it’s not been all that easy so far. Could do with another striker too.

No sign of that QPR goalie on loan yet either.

07-09-2020, 08:26 AM
We could absolutely do with someone else in soon. I’m assuming we’ve been working on our backup options to McCrorie but looks like it’s not been all that easy so far. Could do with another striker too.

No sign of that QPR goalie on loan yet either.

Barnes is defo here.

Bronson
07-09-2020, 08:44 AM
Those 2 along with Ali McCann are at the top of most Hibs fans wish lists, I do think though that sadly all 3 will be slightly out of our reach, however not by much. So if Irvine still doesn't have a club in a months time when all the seasons has are underway we might have a good chance of landing him, but by then he wont have the required match fitness to come straight in to the side..

Whats the fascination with this ali mccann lad? He looked bang average at generous best against us.

07-09-2020, 09:05 AM
Slivka has joined a Greek side I think apollon Smyrnis

07-09-2020, 09:12 AM
Translated

Vykintas Slivka, the 25-year-old defender of the national team, was officially presented this Monday as a newcomer to the Apollon Smyrnis in Athens. This year, the capital's team, which returned to the top league of Greece after a year-long break, offered V. Slivka a contract, the latter was satisfied, and he found himself in Athens.

His former club Hibernian also offered to stay safe in Edinburgh, but in the end no solution was found for both sides. Before the end of the Scottish Championship, Hibs thanked three of its players for their time together on their Facebook account. Among those three players was V.Slivka.

"I knew it all last summer. They offered me an extension of the contract, but I did not agree with their proposed terms and the contract was not renewed. I knew that changes were waiting for me, ”V. Slivka told the portal sportas.lt.

At the end of the three-year Hibernian stage, the footballer returned to Lithuania, where he spent his holidays with his family.

"It was an unusually long summer, so I enjoyed it. I focused on the family, trying to stay in good physical shape, and trying to keep all extraneous things like the coronavirus aside. Really, I didn't think about it completely, "said V. Slivka.

07-09-2020, 09:51 AM
I take it there was nothing to the McGeady rumour ?

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 10:04 AM
Whats the fascination with this ali mccann lad? He looked bang average at generous best against us.

He did yeah, I'd suggest in the second half of last season he was one of the best outside of the Glasgow 2 though.

mvteng
07-09-2020, 11:24 AM
Jackson Irvine from Hull

Went to the Hull - Leeds game last year. Irvine was poor (but then so were the rest of the hull team)

07-09-2020, 11:44 AM

MCCann is absolutely honking, an absolute passenger.

07-09-2020, 12:23 PM

"I play for Smyrnis"

Sounds like Saint Mirren as said in a Paisley accent

07-09-2020, 12:43 PM
Can’t help but think we’re wanting 2 new centre mids in with Liam Henderson being one of our targets.

Mathie spoke in January about how we tried to get a deal done for him but he ended up going to Empoli who had an option to buy, however they never took that deal up by the required date due to Covid.

Pretty sure he’s been playing more of a deep lying playmaker over there like McGeouch does.

Would give the fans a bit of a boost too.

No info just a hunch.

Clarence
07-09-2020, 01:07 PM
Can’t help but think we’re wanting 2 new centre mids in with Liam Henderson being one of our targets.

Mathie spoke in January about how we tried to get a deal done for him but he ended up going to Empoli who had an option to buy, however they never took that deal up by the required date due to Covid.

Pretty sure he’s been playing more of a deep lying playmaker over there like McGeouch does.

No info just a hunch.

Hope so. We need someone with Liam’s spirit to drive us on a bit.

07-09-2020, 01:09 PM

No info just a hunch.

He's under contract till Jun 2022 i think.

07-09-2020, 01:21 PM

Was he not in the running for young player of the year last season? Maybe just started the season slowly.

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 01:48 PM

Behave. He'd walk into our 11 at the moment. Was St Johnstone's best player last season, and need I remind you they finished above us.

07-09-2020, 02:09 PM
Behave. He'd walk into our 11 at the moment. Was St Johnstone's best player last season, and need I remind you they finished above us.

Finished above us in the end on ppg ratio. That's after a horrendous start to our season under Hecky. So doesn't say much at all.

I've only seen McCann play a handful of times and he hasn't stood out any of those. Still young though, but not sure about walk into our 11.

Thought like a few on here we'd have a midfielder in before now. McCrorie was clearly our main target, hoped we would have a second choice in by now.

JammyDoidger
07-09-2020, 02:12 PM
Finished above us in the end on ppg ratio. That's after a horrendous start to our season under Hecky. So doesn't say much at all.

I've only seen McCann play a handful of times and he hasn't stood out any of those. Still young though, but not sure about walk into our 11.

Thought like a few on here we'd have a midfielder in before now. McCrorie was clearly our main target, hoped we would have a second choice in by now.

He was quite clearly our main target, the fact we let the sheep take him off us after mucking about is going to continue to frustrate the life out of me untill we bring in someone better!! C'mon hibs!! Make us happy!!

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 02:15 PM
Our midfield isn't very good, the first 6 games of the season have shown us that. Y

ou can come up with whatever excuse suits but fact of the matter is St Johnstone outperformed us last season.

If you judge McCann or any other player based on one game, then more fool you.

07-09-2020, 02:26 PM
Our midfield isn't very good, the first 6 games of the season have shown us that. Y

ou can come up with whatever excuse suits but fact of the matter is St Johnstone outperformed us last season.

If you judge McCann or any other player based on one game, then more fool you.

Didn't realise a handful of games meant one.

St Johnstones midfield isn't very good either, the first 6 games of the season has shown us that.

craigiehibs
07-09-2020, 02:41 PM
[QUOTE=JammyDoidger;6292841]He was quite clearly our main target, the fact we let the sheep take him off us after mucking about is going to continue to frustrate the life out of me untill we bring in someone better!! C'mon hibs!! Make us happy!![/QUOTe

get used to it mate. we dont and wont pay the going rate for players other teams want

07-09-2020, 02:43 PM
[QUOTE=JammyDoidger;6292841]He was quite clearly our main target, the fact we let the sheep take him off us after mucking about is going to continue to frustrate the life out of me untill we bring in someone better!! C'mon hibs!! Make us happy!![/QUOTe

get used to it mate. we dont and wont pay the going rate for players other teams want

Apart from the players we do e.g Nisbet who Hearts wanted.

07-09-2020, 02:46 PM
If someone had said that we'd sign Nisbet, Gogic and Murphy this window I'd have been absolutely over the moon. Think it's a terrific effort so far. Hopefully Wright turns out to be a good one too. I'd like to see a couple more in just to boost squad depth a bit. We badly missed Nisbet and Gogic last week.

07-09-2020, 02:48 PM
Probably been mentioned already but...

Simon Murray has signed for Queens Park.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-striker-simon-murray-hailed-premiership-quality-after-signing-league-two-side-queens-park-2961436

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 02:49 PM

St Johnstones midfield isn't very good either, the first 6 games of the season has shown us that.

Wasn't referring to your post, was a previous post.

I think a sample size of c.30 games is a better judge than 6 games, but there you go.

07-09-2020, 02:57 PM

St Johnstone's team isn't as good at Hibs' - the first 6 games of the season would certainly suggest that - but I look at their midfielders and see only players who would improve us.

Our midfield is garbage, poorer than most teams in our league, which is a shame because all of our other departments are, in my opinion, considerably stronger than most other teams.

07-09-2020, 03:03 PM
St Johnstone's team isn't as good at Hibs' - the first 6 games of the season would certainly suggest that - but I look at their midfielders and see only players who would improve us.

Our midfield is garbage, poorer than most teams in our league, which is a shame because all of our other departments are, in my opinion, considerably stronger than most other teams.

I think folk are getting a bit carried away now on the midfield front. Poorer than most teams in the league?

Are we talking a combination of Gogic, Allan, Newell, and Mallan being amongst the worst in the league? That’s nonsense.

07-09-2020, 03:06 PM
Could we, or even a big club like Hearts afford Cummings?[emoji16]

Appreciate it's a while back but that's a chunk of money if true.

https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/transfer-news/staggering-amount-cash-nottingham-forest-2670208.amp?int_source=taboola&int_medium=display&int_campaign=organic

07-09-2020, 03:18 PM
Could we, or even a big club like Hearts afford Cummings?[emoji16]

Appreciate it's a while back but that's a chunk of money if true.

https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/transfer-news/staggering-amount-cash-nottingham-forest-2670208.amp?int_source=taboola&int_medium=display&int_campaign=organic

Wages £8/10K a week?

07-09-2020, 03:21 PM
Wages £8/10K a week?

That’s right in hertz wage territory. Other folks money naturally.

07-09-2020, 03:25 PM
Wages £8/10K a week?Something like that isn't beyond belief even in the lower levels down here but the amount quoted seems to a be fee between clubs for his services.

Only came up as I was talking to a Forest fan who reckoned Jason never got a chance there.

07-09-2020, 03:28 PM
Wasn't referring to your post, was a previous post.

I think a sample size of c.30 games is a better judge than 6 games, but there you go.

Ah I see, my bad.

And I totally agree, it's unfair to judge a player on a small number of appearances. I just said he hasn't stood out any time I've see him play.

07-09-2020, 03:29 PM
The midfield Newell plays well at times passing etc but slows things down when we should be attacking more . Scott Allan hasn’t got going yet hopefully it will click as we have the makings of a decent side

07-09-2020, 03:36 PM
Something like that isn't beyond belief even in the lower levels down here but the amount quoted seems to a be fee between clubs for his services.

Only came up as I was talking to a Forest fan who reckoned Jason never got a chance there.

In the piece he lumped players wages in with all the other costs so the £250K quoted could include them.Seems a lot for a half season.

07-09-2020, 03:39 PM
In the piece he lumped players wages in with all the other costs so the £250K quoted could include them.Seems a lot for a half season.[emoji106]

Mind you his time at Posh did come to a sudden, inglorious end!

07-09-2020, 03:41 PM
[emoji106]

Mind you his time at Posh did come to a sudden, inglorious end!

Was that when he was moonlighting as a TV critic?

07-09-2020, 03:42 PM
I think folk are getting a bit carried away now on the midfield front. Poorer than most teams in the league?

Are we talking a combination of Gogic, Allan, Newell, and Mallan being amongst the worst in the league? That’s nonsense.

Gogic looks good, I like him. First pick. I'm not questioning his ability here but has he been part of a dominant performance where we have "won the midfield" yet? We probably shaded the first half v Killie, we dominated 1st half vs Livi. Other than that, there's been little in our games vs Motherwell, Dundee United, St Johnstone.

Allan is a special player on his day, so I'm not going to start mauling him. Hibs should be all about getting him as fit as possible and finding a blend of players around him to bring the best of him, because on a good day he's one of the best in the business.

We saw what our team looks like without Gogic though, and it really wasn't pretty. The only reason we finished as good as a distant second best against Aberdeen was because only two teams could play.

Newell, Mallan - decent understudies for Allan or possible other options if he's off form or unfit, which he arguably is right now.

Hallberg I've lost patience with, he's not up to it.

Other players - if they can't be trusted with an opportunity at this time then surely they can't be good enough.

We're a midfielder or two away from having a really good team in my opinion. Unfortunately, we need at least one of them to be first picks and given how long Hibs have fallen short of improving this area, I don't have total confidence they will (although they managed to add Gogic - exactly what we needed - recently).

Take Gogic out and the midfield is dire, easily one of the worst in the league. You look around the league, see weaker teams, and see teams with better midfielders who you would expect to be better than ours. And even though I like Gogic and Allan, I just don't see a combination of any of our players who I would expect to run the midfield against anyone in our league.

You see strike forces you respect and know they'll struggle to get much joy out of our defence, and you know that our forwards will give the best of defences a test (if given service).

07-09-2020, 03:47 PM
Was that when he was moonlighting as a TV critic?Aye, either that or playing cricket with a TV.

Leitherhibs
07-09-2020, 04:08 PM
Gogic looks good, I like him. First pick. I'm not questioning his ability here but has he been part of a dominant performance where we have "won the midfield" yet? We probably shaded the first half v Killie, we dominated 1st half vs Livi. Other than that, there's been little in our games vs Motherwell, Dundee United, St Johnstone.

Allan is a special player on his day, so I'm not going to start mauling him. Hibs should be all about getting him as fit as possible and finding a blend of players around him to bring the best of him, because on a good day he's one of the best in the business.

We saw what our team looks like without Gogic though, and it really wasn't pretty. The only reason we finished as good as a distant second best against Aberdeen was because only two teams could play.

Newell, Mallan - decent understudies for Allan or possible other options if he's off form or unfit, which he arguably is right now.

Hallberg I've lost patience with, he's not up to it.

Other players - if they can't be trusted with an opportunity at this time then surely they can't be good enough.

We're a midfielder or two away from having a really good team in my opinion. Unfortunately, we need at least one of them to be first picks and given how long Hibs have fallen short of improving this area, I don't have total confidence they will (although they managed to add Gogic - exactly what we needed - recently).

Take Gogic out and the midfield is dire, easily one of the worst in the league. You look around the league, see weaker teams, and see teams with better midfielders who you would expect to be better than ours. And even though I like Gogic and Allan, I just don't see a combination of any of our players who I would expect to run the midfield against anyone in our league.

You see strike forces you respect and know they'll struggle to get much joy out of our defence, and you know that our forwards will give the best of defences a test (if given service).

Good post and agree with much of what you've said. Albeit, I do think there's a player in Hallberg, I think the guy has enough to qualities to make a good player but needs the right balance around him, and should never be the deepest of our midfield 2 or 3, as that's not his game. I do however totally understand the 'Another Slivka' jibes..

Clearly balance is the key with midfield, much in the way we appear to have stumbled over the right balance in defence, I'm hopeful that by brining one more in with energy, and or the desire to do the defensive side of the game we'll get that much heralded equilibrium in the centre of the park.

07-09-2020, 04:40 PM

I’m not sure about amongst the worst in the league, but it’s certainly less than the sum of it’s parts IMO.

FifeHibs
07-09-2020, 04:50 PM
We need midfielders with lots of pace and legs to get beyond Scott Allan and pull defenders away enabling the passes we know he is capable of producing.

The season our midfield done extremely well we had SJM, Boyle and Stevenson from wing backs attacking and had 2 strikers running the channels and mclaren would live off flicks trying to get in behind defenders. We also had Barker coming off the bench stretching defences.

Presently Newell, Mallan and Hallberg are one paced not being able to break away or create space.

Big Doidge is also one paced and isn't an effective channel runner although has attributes of holding the ball up etc.

07-09-2020, 05:14 PM

We might not be pretty but we'll win far more that we won't. Give me that over flair and 6th/7th any day

07-09-2020, 06:11 PM
We might not be pretty but we'll win far more that we won't. Give me that over flair and 6th/7th any day

I'm in two minds about that.

I'd enjoy finishing in the top four and having European football to look forward to but I wouldn't enjoy watching us.

LeithMike
07-09-2020, 06:47 PM

Are we talking a combination of Gogic, Allan, Newell, and Mallan being amongst the worst in the league? That’s nonsense.I think there are two strings at play here depending on the opposition.

Against the strongest teams that midfield will be one of the worst in the league as it will get dominated and there aren't enough hard workers off the ball. I think our performances against the old firm in the last two years bear this out.

Against the weakest teams in the league (which are set up with hard workers off the ball), however, it should do ok as it has more ability on the ball. Again this is evident from our recent results against Livingston and the like.

Essentially then we should do ok in most games but will be badly exposed by the teams above us. If we want to compete for 3rd and get results against the old firm then it still needs fairly major surgery.

Not privy to any information so may be way off but it sounds like weve passed on McGeouch and Omeonga. Two players who would make a big difference. That gives me cause for concern that weve not identified the problem never mind the solution.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

07-09-2020, 07:16 PM
Apart from the players we do e.g Nisbet who Hearts wanted.

We were also paying the going rate for McRorie, as confirmed by McInnes who said they matched the fee Rangers had agreed with us and it was the player himself who opted to go to Aberdeen.

We’ve also essentially paid the going rate to sign Murphy on a permanent basis and the only reason he is on loan for the first season is a tactic by Rangers.

Then there are players like McGinn, Doidge, James, Kamberi, Mallan, Horgan, Slivka & Marciano who we have all paid fees for since we’ve been promoted.

07-09-2020, 07:19 PM

No thanks.

07-09-2020, 07:20 PM
We were also paying the going rate for McRorie, as confirmed by McInnes who said they matched the fee Rangers had agreed with us and it was the player himself who opted to go to Aberdeen.

We’ve also essentially paid the going rate to sign Murphy on a permanent basis and the only reason he is on loan for the first season is a tactic by Rangers.

Then there are players like McGinn, Doidge, James, Kamberi, Mallan, Horgan, Slivka & Marciano who we have all paid fees for since we’ve been promoted.

Absolutely. :aok:

07-09-2020, 07:23 PM
I think there are two strings at play here depending on the opposition.

Against the strongest teams that midfield will be one of the worst in the league as it will get dominated and there aren't enough hard workers off the ball. I think our performances against the old firm in the last two years bear this out.

Against the weakest teams in the league (which are set up with hard workers off the ball), however, it should do ok as it has more ability on the ball. Again this is evident from our recent results against Livingston and the like.

Essentially then we should do ok in most games but will be badly exposed by the teams above us. If we want to compete for 3rd and get results against the old firm then it still needs fairly major surgery.

Not privy to any information so may be way off but it sounds like weve passed on McGeouch and Omeonga. Two players who would make a big difference. That gives me cause for concern that weve not identified the problem never mind the solution.

Well your theory will get put to the test v St Mirren and then the old firm back to back

07-09-2020, 07:24 PM
I'm in two minds about that.

I'd enjoy finishing in the top four and having European football to look forward to but I wouldn't enjoy watching us.

I’ve seen some very poor Hibs teams to watch. This isn’t really close to being one of them.

07-09-2020, 07:25 PM

You’re going to be disappointed these days if getting results against the Old Firm is how you’re going to judge us.

18Craig75
07-09-2020, 07:32 PM
No 6 for Czech Republic looks decent. Janôs.

07-09-2020, 07:38 PM

McGeouch or Omeonga. Might or might not make a difference. McRorie certainly would have. I think you’re way of the mark with identifying problems/weaknesses and solutions.

07-09-2020, 07:40 PM
With Innes Murray going out on loan hope that means we have one lined up to come in

07-09-2020, 07:42 PM
With Innes Murray going out on loan hope that means we have one lined up to come in

Doubt him leaving would mean anything.

07-09-2020, 07:45 PM
Has Omenonga been confirmed anywhere yet

07-09-2020, 07:47 PM
Everton sign James Rodriguez

007 Mickey Weir
07-09-2020, 07:47 PM
Has Omenonga been confirmed anywhere yet

Yes. Signed for another Italian team on perm deal

07-09-2020, 07:50 PM
You’re going to be disappointed these days if getting results against the Old Firm is how you’re going to judge us.

Now you’re just being obtuse, the poster said “compete for 3rd AND get results against the Old Firm”. Our midfield has already been dominated by Motherwell & Aberdeen. He’s spot on in his assertion, IMO, that we need to massively upgrade our midfield (quality and balance) if we are to regularly compete in games against Aberdeen, Motherwell & the Old Firm. We’ll probably get away with our midfield more often than not in games against the rest.

07-09-2020, 07:55 PM
Now you’re just being obtuse, the poster said “compete for 3rd AND get results against the Old Firm”. Our midfield has already been dominated by Motherwell & Aberdeen. He’s spot on in his assertion, IMO, that we need to massively upgrade our midfield (quality and balance) if we are to regularly compete in games against Aberdeen, Motherwell & the Old Firm. We’ll probably get away with our midfield more often than not in games against the rest.

We’re second so far and the inclusion of results against the Old Firm was indeed mentioned, as I noted.

07-09-2020, 08:01 PM

£22m

Bargain really

LeithMike
07-09-2020, 08:06 PM
You’re going to be disappointed these days if getting results against the Old Firm is how you’re going to judge us.You've got to judge yourself against the best do you not? If Hibs dont strive to compete (and compete doesnt necessarily mean winning) with the best then we'll reach a ceiling and fall away again. Hibs under Stubbs and Lennon showed the way to go. It's possible. I know Aberdeen (unfairly in my view) get a lot of stick but in the Cup Final against Celtic the previous season they really had a go. They've also regularly beaten Rangers.

Hibs should be looking to build a team that can take on the old firm not one that is resigned to defeat. It's no coincidence that we won the Scottish Cup the year we tried to build a team to take on Rangers.

LeithMike
07-09-2020, 08:12 PM
McGeouch or Omeonga. Might or might not make a difference. McRorie certainly would have. I think you’re way of the mark with identifying problems/weaknesses and solutions.Possibly but let's see who we sign. Central midfield has been a problem since the end of the 2017/2018 season. We are two years on from there.

I'm not bashing the club as I actually think we are now putting a lot of money into the team. I'm just a bit surprised that we've lost a number of midfielders from last year - Docherty, Omeonga, Slivka and Whittaker but only brought in Gogic. I'll be very happy if we are waiting for the right person but in my view if we are going to progress we need a top quality midfielder. You usually have to plan ahead to get those and they dont fall into your lap.

07-09-2020, 08:18 PM
You've got to judge yourself against the best do you not? If Hibs dont strive to compete (and compete doesnt necessarily mean winning) with the best then we'll reach a ceiling and fall away again. Hibs under Stubbs and Lennon showed the way to go. It's possible. I know Aberdeen (unfairly in my view) get a lot of stick but in the Cup Final against Celtic the previous season they really had a go. They've also regularly beaten Rangers.

Hibs should be looking to build a team that can take on the old firm not one that is resigned to defeat. It's no coincidence that we won the Scottish Cup the year we tried to build a team to take on Rangers.

Hibs need to build a team that will regularly be third. You can’t take on the Old Firm now. One off games fine but saying we are going to be judged in games against the Old Firm is just wrong.

I think some are getting a bit carried away after the Aberdeen game. A game that 2 of our new signings didn’t play in and one joined the day before.

Stubbs did not build a team that would match the current Old Firm. We did very well to win the cup but we also didn’t get out the Championship. We are now second in the top league during a very strange time and whining about it because we haven’t yet been perfect.

It was a short few weeks ago people were accepting that just trying to keep the club afloat this year was a decent aim...

07-09-2020, 08:20 PM
Hibs need to build a team that will regularly be third. You can’t take on the Old Firm now. One off games fine but saying we are going to be judged in games against the Old Firm is just wrong.

I think some are getting a bit carried away after the Aberdeen game. A game that 3 of our new signings didn’t play in and one joined the day before.

Stubbs did not build a team that would match the current Old Firm. We did very well to win the cup but we also didn’t get out the Championship. We are now second in the top league during a very strange time and whining about it because we haven’t yet been perfect.

Andy, I’ll judge Hibs fully when I’m back in the ground, it’s so hard to gauge how we’re really doing, when you can only watch us on a TV screen

07-09-2020, 08:27 PM

I think some are getting a bit carried away after the Aberdeen game. A game that 3 of our new signings didn’t play in and one joined the day before.

It was a short few weeks ago people were accepting that just trying to keep the club afloat this year was a decent aim...

Exactly. Probably the best start to a season in 20 years. I get that football fans always want more but I think a bit of perspective is needed, especially in the current mad world we live in.

07-09-2020, 08:29 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/status/1303065583207026690?s=21

Like I said back in January there was an interest in AM and still think there is

LeithMike
07-09-2020, 08:30 PM

I think some are getting a bit carried away after the Aberdeen game. A game that 2 of our new signings didn’t play in and one joined the day before.

It was a short few weeks ago people were accepting that just trying to keep the club afloat this year was a decent aim...Fair points. I just think our current position is a bit misleading.

St Pauli Hibee
07-09-2020, 08:31 PM
No 6 for Czech Republic looks decent. Janôs.

Looks very good, in a position we could do with a player aswell

07-09-2020, 08:35 PM
Exactly. Probably the best start to a season in 20 years. I get that football fans always want more but I think a bit of perspective is needed, especially in the current mad world we live in.

Perspective works both ways. It doesn’t really matter where you are after six games and I don’t think we can be blinded by being second a month in to the season. The first three games I thought we merited the points we got, but performances and lack of threat in the last three games have to be a concern. It needs to be better on Saturday. We need to get the points with Rangers and Celtic to follow.

07-09-2020, 08:54 PM
Was he not in the running for young player of the year last season? Maybe just started the season slowly.

They are playing him in a much deeper position so far this season due to injuries.

BegbieHSC
07-09-2020, 09:10 PM

Like I said back in January there was an interest in AM and still think there is

“There's been a little bit of talk before in January about me possibly going to Hibs with Jack Ross. Obviously I've had a few messages about it and stuff. But honestly, I don't know.

"Maybe if Lenny [Neil Lennon] gets in touch then I might, aye! But I don't think that's going to happen, I think that ship has sailed.

"My first choice would be Celtic but I think that time in my career has passed to be honest with you.”

His eagerness isn’t exactly inspiring, eh?

07-09-2020, 09:18 PM

There may be interest from us, i just wished he hadn't made it so clear he'd love to come back up the road to Celtic. Doesn't sound like he's champing at the bit to play for Hibs.

07-09-2020, 09:27 PM
There may be interest from us, i just wished he hadn't made it so clear he'd love to come back up the road to Celtic. Doesn't sound like he's champing at the bit to play for Hibs.

Don’t think he has said anything which isn’t obvious to everyone anyway.

We’d all love signings to be Hibs daft but the reality is that everyone knows the guy is a Celtic fan.

If he was to join us and be a great success, score 10-15 goals and the winner against Hearts in the cup I couldn’t care less if he said in an interview once he’d rather join the biggest club in the country that he also supported as a boy.

If he signs and he’s pish, I’ll judge him on that, not on some interview where he basically admitted what team he supports.

07-09-2020, 09:34 PM

Beaten to another target ffs.

07-09-2020, 09:43 PM
Don’t think he has said anything which isn’t obvious to everyone anyway.

We’d all love signings to be Hibs daft but the reality is that everyone knows the guy is a Celtic fan.

If he was to join us and be a great success, score 10-15 goals and the winner against Hearts in the cup I couldn’t care less if he said in an interview once he’d rather join the biggest club in the country that he also supported as a boy.

If he signs and he’s pish, I’ll judge him on that, not on some interview where he basically admitted what team he supports.

Exactly spot on

07-09-2020, 09:47 PM
Andy, I’ll judge Hibs fully when I’m back in the ground, it’s so hard to gauge how we’re really doing, when you can only watch us on a TV screen

Great comment. It’s easy to forget how much you miss not being there.

07-09-2020, 09:51 PM
Craig Bryson set for early Aberdeen departure as luckless midfielder looks for clean slate | @ScottBurns75

https://t.co/1td4ePJBs1 https://t.co/fCYSp1cgb9

HendoDelivered
07-09-2020, 09:58 PM
Craig Bryson set for early Aberdeen departure as luckless midfielder looks for clean slate | @ScottBurns75

No thanks.

07-09-2020, 09:59 PM
No thanks.

Wasn't suggesting we should be after him 🧐

HendoDelivered
07-09-2020, 10:02 PM
Wasn't suggesting we should be after him 🧐

I know mate. Just saying I wouldn’t fancy him as he seems to becoming available and we need a CM.

07-09-2020, 10:07 PM
I know mate. Just saying I wouldn’t fancy him as he seems to becoming available and we need a CM.

More money for Aberdeen to find to offload him. Seems keen to stay in Scotland and the central belt. Wonder where he'll end up 👀

07-09-2020, 10:15 PM

We were after him when he first joined Aberdeen (sounds familiar), but that ship will have sailed.

07-09-2020, 10:24 PM

McGeady has always thought the world revolves round him.
I see from that article he still does.
Sunderland want him to GTF because his contract is too rich for them.
They are turning the screw now and in response he is teasing them.
He will sit tight and wouldn't come her until he had no other options ............so next season, 35 year old McGeady will be a possibility.

07-09-2020, 10:25 PM
That crap Twitter account Hibernian ITK transfer news has just said we're interested in Ikechi Anya, aye lets add another winger to the squad, where do these people get such pi sh.

07-09-2020, 10:27 PM
More money for Aberdeen to find to offload him. Seems keen to stay in Scotland and the central belt. Wonder where he'll end up ��

back to England :wink:. If he is willing to cut his contract short he has another club lined up and has probably told Aberdeen to stick their fine up their erse

07-09-2020, 10:39 PM
Yes. Signed for another Italian team on perm deal

Yeah but I find it strange that you cant really find anything online about it and normally steph would have stuff on his social media (I could have missed it)

07-09-2020, 11:29 PM

Constantly injured, including just now. Nope.

08-09-2020, 06:18 AM
£22m

Bargain really

We'll see. :greengrin

His wages will be off the scale you would assume. Hopefully Carlo gets the best out of him.

08-09-2020, 06:23 AM

Actually like him as a player and imo would do a job if fit however that appears to be a big if at present.

08-09-2020, 06:24 AM
We'll see. :greengrin

His wages will be off the scale you would assume. Hopefully Carlo gets the best out of him.

Wages about 130k a week. Hes a level up from the average players everton have been paying silly wages to recently (Klassen, Sigurdsson, Sandro, Pickford etc).

08-09-2020, 06:28 AM
Wages about 130k a week. Hes a level up from the average players everton have been paying silly wages to recently (Klassen, Sigurdsson, Sandro, Pickford etc).

Wages seem less than thought they might have been. Yes their transfer policy has been awful was really surprised how poorly Koemann did when there. Hope James does well.

08-09-2020, 08:03 AM
That crap Twitter account Hibernian ITK transfer news has just said we're interested in Ikechi Anya, aye lets add another winger to the squad, where do these people get such pi sh.

They post that sort of p!sh rumour in the hope that people start spreading it. Stop giving them the publicity, you are being trolled.

Clarence
08-09-2020, 08:11 AM

Derek McInnes’ ears prick up.

08-09-2020, 08:13 AM
Derek McInnes’ ears prick up.

I wonder what McInness’s username on here is :).

08-09-2020, 08:13 AM
McGeady has always thought the world revolves round him.
I see from that article he still does.
Sunderland want him to GTF because his contract is too rich for them.
They are turning the screw now and in response he is teasing them.
He will sit tight and wouldn't come her until he had no other options ............so next season, 35 year old McGeady will be a possibility.

I think a lot of what he says in there is a bit tongue in cheek - certainly the Celtic stuff.

Other than that he is right about about being one of their better players.

Bronson
08-09-2020, 08:15 AM
They post that sort of p!sh rumour in the hope that people start spreading it. Stop giving them the publicity, you are being trolled.

Correct. It’s a kid craving attention, block him.

08-09-2020, 08:26 AM
Skysports tweets

Ross County have turned down two offers for striker Ross Stewart

Greenworld
08-09-2020, 08:34 AM
That crap Twitter account Hibernian ITK transfer news has just said we're interested in Ikechi Anya, aye lets add another winger to the squad, where do these people get such pi sh.Block the account it one less crap account tolook at

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

08-09-2020, 08:45 AM
INCOMING at Hibs...Dillon Barnes is about to arrive on loan from QPR

https://t.co/dXXpR8HhIX

Hibernian have completed a loan move for Queen's Park Rangers goalkeeper Dillon Barnes, Edinburgh Live understands.

The 24-year-old will link up with the Easter Road side on a season-long deal on Tuesday as backup to Ofir Marciano.

The former Fulham academy product will become Hibs' first loan signing of the summer window as Jack Ross looks to strengthen his squad

08-09-2020, 08:54 AM

Not spreading it, just pointing out to others what nonsense it is before they start posting on here as fact.

08-09-2020, 08:57 AM
Perspective works both ways. It doesn’t really matter where you are after six games and I don’t think we can be blinded by being second a month in to the season. The first three games I thought we merited the points we got, but performances and lack of threat in the last three games have to be a concern. It needs to be better on Saturday. We need to get the points with Rangers and Celtic to follow.
Agree. Our points total belies how poor we have been over 90mins since humping Livvie. I seem to recall another team having a storming start to the season 2018-19, being hailed by their supporters as champions elect, then plummeting over the next 18 months into a deep abyss of crap football and minimal points to such an extent that they ended up being relegated. Can't see that happening with us but we need to keep it real. Continue playing as we have been and we will soon start to drop more points to mid-lower table opposition. Where we sit on points at the mo is a Brucie bonus and a nice wee cushion given the forthcoming back to back OF games. Certainly not looking like a team that will secure 3rd, just top six which for most, understandably, isn't good enough.

08-09-2020, 09:09 AM
Duncan Watmore still without a club

08-09-2020, 09:13 AM
I wonder what McInness’s username on here is :).

UScout4Me? :greengrin

08-09-2020, 09:14 AM
Oh great, a goalkeeper. Just what we need...

08-09-2020, 09:18 AM
Probably is and hes available

08-09-2020, 09:24 AM
Duncan Watmore still without a club

Could have been great, but legs made of wotsits.

08-09-2020, 09:26 AM
Could have been great, but legs made of wotsits.

I'd take him in a second but he was on 20k a week at Sunderland.

08-09-2020, 09:29 AM
INCOMING at Hibs...Dillon Barnes is about to arrive on loan from QPR

https://t.co/dXXpR8HhIX

Hibernian have completed a loan move for Queen's Park Rangers goalkeeper Dillon Barnes, Edinburgh Live understands.

The 24-year-old will link up with the Easter Road side on a season-long deal on Tuesday as backup to Ofir Marciano.

The former Fulham academy product will become Hibs' first loan signing of the summer window as Jack Ross looks to strengthen his squad

Did someone no post that he saw him down porti a few weeks back ?

08-09-2020, 09:31 AM
I'd take him in a second but he was on 20k a week at Sunderland.

He's 26 and played about 100 senior games. I wouldn't be surprised if he went to America because he's a well educated guy, 1st class economics degree.

08-09-2020, 09:33 AM

It was one of the things we needed, yes.

08-09-2020, 09:47 AM

Correct.

mal
08-09-2020, 09:49 AM

It's almost as if you're suggesting that we needed to address this issue before Rocky gets injured and leaves us with two untried youngsters in a crucial position...

EI255
08-09-2020, 10:12 AM
Was good 1st time around at Tynie, pretty rubbish the 2nd timeHe'll stay fitter at Blackpool than he was at Hearts anyway.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
08-09-2020, 10:13 AM
Aiden McGeady just won't go away [emoji16]

Take him in a heartbeat!

08-09-2020, 10:27 AM
Skysports tweets

Ross County have turned down two offers for striker Ross Stewart

It's now beleived the bids are from Rotherham

08-09-2020, 10:55 AM
He'll stay fitter at Blackpool than he was at Hearts anyway.

Who is this about?

08-09-2020, 10:57 AM
Who is this about?

The lad Mitchell they had on loan from Man Utd

08-09-2020, 11:09 AM

Disagree. Pointless to have guys like KD if we don't trust them in a crisis. Doig has been given a chance, so has Gullan, Porteous etc. If Rocky stays fit this guy never kicks a ball. Pointless signing Imo.

08-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Disagree. Pointless to have guys like KD if we don't trust them in a crisis. Doig has been given a chance, so has Gullan, Porteous etc. If Rocky stays fit this guy never kicks a ball. Pointless signing Imo.

What if Dabrowski gets sent out on loan and plays 25-30 first team games? Would that not be better for him than sitting on the bench every week?

08-09-2020, 11:18 AM

Unlike Doig, Gullan or indeed any other young player in outfield positions, Dabrowski wouldn't be getting any game time through substitutions or changes to the formation. As you say, if Rocky stays fit and plays well, he won't kick a ball all year.

So it's far better for another team's keeper to sit on the bench all season than it is for one of our younger guys who needs game time to develop. Rocky is in his prime but is out of contract at the end of the year. If Kevin has any chance of challenging for the number one position, he needs to be playing senior football this season.

Will allow us to give KD game time on loan rather than have him never kick a ball if Rocky stays fit.

What if Dabrowski gets sent out on loan and plays 25-30 first team games? Would that not be better for him than sitting on the bench every week?

Yeah, probably. Would being understudy here, playing league cup ties and learning every day from rocky etc be better? Maybe.

Would I prefer that and extra wages put to our midfield? Absolutely.

08-09-2020, 11:20 AM

Doig is a starter and Gullane is getting some gane time.
Dabrowski doesn't start over Marciano and he's not coming of the bench unless it's an emergency.

Best he gets game time and allowed to make mistakes on loan. Best for him and Hibs IMHO

08-09-2020, 11:26 AM

However, competition brings out the best in professional athletes and surely Marciano is no different? His best Hibs form came when he and Bogdan were doing just that.

Kind of agree with your point about young players getting opportunities, particularly in the current circumstances, but the goalie is so crucial. Clearly Ross doesn’t feel KD is ready to step in if needed.

08-09-2020, 11:27 AM
Yeah, probably. Would being understudy here, playing league cup ties and learning every day from rocky etc be better? Maybe.

He could go out on loan and still train with the goalie group at EM. Best of both worlds.

08-09-2020, 11:28 AM

Absolutely spot on.

Dabrowski needs the game time hopefully in Championship.
Difference bringing in someone like Doig as an outfield player than a keeper in my opinion.

08-09-2020, 11:43 AM
However, competition brings out the best in professional athletes and surely Marciano is no different? His best Hibs form came when he and Bogdan were doing just that.

Kind of agree with your point about young players getting opportunities, particularly in the current circumstances, but the goalie is so crucial. Clearly Ross doesn’t feel KD is ready to step in if needed.

His best form was our first season up, before Bogdan joined.

08-09-2020, 11:52 AM

If Rocky stays fit KD doesn’t kick a ball either. If Hibs see KD as a long term project then he needs regular game time now.

08-09-2020, 11:54 AM
If Rocky stays fit KD doesn’t kick a ball either. If Hibs see KD as a long term project then he needs regular game time now.

He should play the league cup ties, see how he does.

This guy coming in is a waste imo. Unless we're paying nothing for him.

08-09-2020, 11:57 AM

He may go on loan and still train with Hibs every day if he goes to a league 2 side?

08-09-2020, 11:58 AM

Have to agree, totally unexciting signing, in fact starting to find football in general is entering the unexciting stage.

08-09-2020, 11:59 AM
Have to agree, totally unexciting signing, in fact starting to find football in general is entering the unexciting stage.

Back up goalies don’t really tend to be exciting signings, do they?

DJ HIBBY
08-09-2020, 12:00 PM
Dawbrowski away to Dumbarton

08-09-2020, 12:02 PM
No they don't although Bogdan interested me, it's just everything around football seems a bit flat at the moment, hopefully pick up in due course.

08-09-2020, 12:02 PM

Dabroswki away to Dumbarton on loan. He should play more there than 4 league cup games.

08-09-2020, 12:03 PM
Dabroswki away to Dumbarton on loan. He should play more there than 5 league cup games.

Seems like a great move and can still train with Hibs and get lots of game time under his belt

08-09-2020, 12:04 PM

Goalkeeper is a very important position and a very unforgiving one.

If Rocky was to get injured or totally lose form then it is a hell of a risk having one young unproven goalkeeper to see you through the rest of the season.

We want strong competition in every position. It is one of those positions that you either need to make a change or you don’t though but the downside of not having a good option is huge.

I’m very sure it is not instead of whatever other areas we want to strengthen.

08-09-2020, 12:04 PM

It’s nonsense to suggest you can risk going through the whole season with only 2 goalies in the senior squad. One gets injured and you’re in trouble.

Got to agree, it's a sensible football decision. Strange how some can't see that and ignore the responses that outline why this is needed.

Can't say I can ever recall getting worked up about the signing of a goalie in order to provide cover and competition for our number 1.

08-09-2020, 12:05 PM
Got to agree, it's a sensible football decision. Strange how some can't see that and ignore the responses that outline why this is needed.

Can't say I can ever recall getting worked up about the signing of a goalie in order to provide cover and competition for our number 1.

Turns out we’re going forward with 2 GK’s. It appears I was talking nonsense. Thanks hibs.

Souter96Mac
08-09-2020, 12:06 PM
Think we could start to see some more business being done in the next week or so with English teams returning and their squads being decided.

08-09-2020, 12:07 PM
Turns out we’re going forward with 2 GK’s. It appears I was talking nonsense. Thanks hibs.

Yeah, but there is a bigger picture. Dabrowski gets a chance to play first team football and we sign more experienced cover :wink:

08-09-2020, 12:10 PM
I can think of one Championship club that is clearly in need of a keeper. :greengrin

08-09-2020, 12:26 PM
Seems like a great move and can still train with Hibs and get lots of game time under his belt

Yep the right move for all they reasons.

08-09-2020, 12:28 PM
Goalkeeper is a very important position and a very unforgiving one.

If Rocky was to get injured or totally lose form then it is a hell of a risk having one young unproven goalkeeper to see you through the rest of the season.

We want strong competition in every position. It is one of those positions that you either need to make a change or you don’t though but the downside of not having a good option is huge.

I’m very sure it is not instead of whatever other areas we want to strengthen.

Just imagine the bleating if Rocky gets injured then KD had a couple of dodgy games the place would be in uproar.

08-09-2020, 12:35 PM
I don’t get the complaining, I really don’t.

Barnes has clearly came in as a cheap back up option so that Dabrowski can go out on loan and further develop. Being sat on the bench all season would do Dabrowski no favours at all and imo he looks like he has a lot of potential and is already a good keeper....be silly to halt that.

08-09-2020, 12:41 PM
Great move all round from a Hibs perspective. The first team gets a more experienced back up gk, keeps Rocky on his toes and KD gets a valuable seasons experience as first choice keeper.

08-09-2020, 01:14 PM
Good move, highly rated at Hibs and needs game experience if he's to continue improving, no reserve football this season so playing championship football will help his development.

MagicSwirlingShip
08-09-2020, 01:16 PM
Dabrowski out on loan, gets competitive games and comes back a better keeper.

We get an able understudy in on loan to cover Rocky.

Nice work Hibs!

08-09-2020, 01:28 PM
Good move, highly rated at Hibs and needs game experience if he's to continue improving, no reserve football this season so playing championship football will help his development.

League one.

mal
08-09-2020, 01:59 PM
I'm looking forward to watching all our Championship loanees playing against Hearts. It's going to add that extra bit of spice.

08-09-2020, 02:18 PM
League one.

I thought they were still Championship.

08-09-2020, 02:50 PM
I thought they were still Championship.

No definitely league one.

Paloschi
08-09-2020, 03:19 PM
Hearing from a Celtic supporting mate that Tom Rogic move to Qatar has broken down and Hibs are interested in a 6 month loan until Celtic can find a buyer. Similar type of deal as Commons and Allan loan spell. Rogic keen to get games.

Leitherhibs
08-09-2020, 03:24 PM
Hearing from a Celtic supporting mate that Tom Rogic move to Qatar has broken down and Hibs are interested in a 6 month loan until Celtic can find a buyer. Similar type of deal as Commons and Allan loan spell. Rogic keen to get games.

He's probably a million miles away from what we need, another central midfielder that isn't a runner/tackler. One heck of a player though, out of favour and injury prone but still very talented and would be better than what we have in that position.

08-09-2020, 03:28 PM
He's probably a million miles away from what we need, another central midfielder that isn't a runner/tackler. One heck of a player though, out of favour and injury prone but still very talented and would be better than what we have in that position.

Would be interesting but as you say bit injury prone but hugely talented.

08-09-2020, 03:28 PM

That would be a phenomenal signing, but wouldn't solve our problems.

08-09-2020, 03:32 PM

Great signing but we'd still need a DM.

08-09-2020, 03:37 PM
Great signing but we'd still need a DM.

We’ve got Gogic. I’m now a bit confused about what midfielder people think we need.

08-09-2020, 03:46 PM
Gogic and Rogic and Doidge and Doig has a certain ring to it!

Clarence
08-09-2020, 03:46 PM

Already a Hibs hero in my book. It was his penalty miss in the semi final of the Scottish Cup vs the Rangers in 2016 that set up our historic match on 21.05.16!

08-09-2020, 03:50 PM

And Mallan and Allan.

08-09-2020, 03:50 PM

Sounds like a Danny Kaye or Gene Kelly number.

08-09-2020, 03:56 PM
Absolutely no chance we are getting Rogic.

08-09-2020, 03:58 PM

Correct, although some genuinely appear to think he wouldn’t improve us. 😂

08-09-2020, 04:12 PM

Pulling your pisser 100%

08-09-2020, 04:12 PM
Imo absolute class player every time I've seen him, would love to see him at ER.

08-09-2020, 04:16 PM
We’ve got Gogic. I’m now a bit confused about what midfielder people think we need.

Yep - we need a ball player, not another Gogic.

The Count
08-09-2020, 04:20 PM
Listened to John Collins commentating on Hibs game couple of weeks ago.He said Hibs had too many similar midfield players in our squad with plenty of skill but lacking legs/energy.Think he has a point our midfield balance is not right and as good as Rogic is he would not address the problem.

Hibiza
08-09-2020, 04:29 PM

Brill.

08-09-2020, 04:32 PM

Got a tune to go with it?
Can’t see it working with the old Hecky’s wheel tune😄

08-09-2020, 04:37 PM
More chance of me signing for Hibs on loan than Rogic

Robbo6-2
08-09-2020, 04:45 PM
Rogic would be some signing hope it's a ITK poster

08-09-2020, 04:46 PM
Yep - we need a ball player, not another Gogic.
For balance we need someone with energy, someone young who has not yet fulfilled their potential, who could improve and earn us some good dosh in 2-3 years. Someone who is a buzz-bomb, nipping at the heels of the opposition. Someone who knows the club. And who can play the piano too.

08-09-2020, 04:46 PM
Got a tune to go with it?
Can’t see it working with the old Hecky’s wheel tune😄

Not got a tune yet Billy!

Stanton Spence
08-09-2020, 05:19 PM
For balance we need someone with energy, someone young who has not yet fulfilled their potential, who could improve and earn us some good dosh in 2-3 years. Someone who is a buzz-bomb, nipping at the heels of the opposition. Someone who knows the club. And who can play the piano too.Can we not just stop this stuff about a piano player being our saviour cos he's really just not the answer to all our problems and maybe it's a good job he's a good piano player
We just need really good football players without the nostalgic history

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Inconsequential
08-09-2020, 05:30 PM
For balance we need someone with energy, someone young who has not yet fulfilled their potential, who could improve and earn us some good dosh in 2-3 years. Someone who is a buzz-bomb, nipping at the heels of the opposition. Someone who knows the club. And who can play the piano too. I thought it was established that the piano player is not coming to Hibs on this thread? Then again he might play a concert but won't play football.

Stanton Spence
08-09-2020, 05:32 PM
I thought it was established that the piano player is not coming to Hibs on this thread? Then again he might play a concert but won't play football.Thing is mate he was actually an OK player but that was it but because he ain't coming back he's all of a sudden the answer to all our problems and maybe make a few quid to boot

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

08-09-2020, 06:08 PM
More chance of me signing for Hibs on loan than Rogic

What position do you play ?:wink:

08-09-2020, 06:16 PM
Not got a tune yet Billy!

I'm thinking a variation on snooker loopy might work.

08-09-2020, 06:35 PM
I don't know if there will be interest in Graeme Shinnie, but it didn't sound like he has much of a future at Derby in the Open Goal podcast today.

HendoDelivered
08-09-2020, 06:41 PM
I don't know if there will be interest in Graeme Shinnie, but it didn't sound like he has much of a future at Derby in the Open Goal podcast today.

Got that feeling too. He’s (one of) exactly what we are missing IMO

NC1875
08-09-2020, 06:42 PM
Got that feeling too. He’s (one of) exactly what we are missing IMO

No doubt end up back at the sheep

18Craig75
08-09-2020, 06:51 PM

I thought the same. He is exactly what we need, and have done for years to be honest.

08-09-2020, 08:18 PM

Sadly still 2 seasons left on his lucrative contract.
A cheeky wee loan to the Hibees?

08-09-2020, 08:36 PM

But what instrument does he play?

08-09-2020, 09:00 PM
Sadly still 2 seasons left on his lucrative contract.
A cheeky wee loan to the Hibees?

He was quite open about preferring to stay down south if he can get a championship team, but he's not guaranteed to get one since he hardly played last year. Derby are premiership now, might be happy to unload him to free up squad numbers.

08-09-2020, 09:05 PM
He was quite open about preferring to stay down south if he can get a championship team, but he's not guaranteed to get one since he hardly played last year. Derby are premiership now, might be happy to unload him to free up squad numbers.

Will be staying down south then, which I understand.
Must think he can still make a fist of the Championship with a different team.
I would back him to succeed.

Robbo6-2
08-09-2020, 09:06 PM

Derby still in championship

08-09-2020, 09:13 PM
But what instrument does he play?

He learned the Ewekulele at Aberdeen......

08-09-2020, 09:25 PM
Derby still in championship

Ah, my bad. Still, if he's not getting a start by the end of the extended window, i wouldn't be surprised to see him move.

HendoDelivered
08-09-2020, 09:32 PM
Hibs being linked with Scott Fraser as per Daily Record

08-09-2020, 09:36 PM
Hibs being linked with Scott Fraser as per Daily Record

Remember seeing him when he was playing for Dundee Utd and Hearts were being linked with him and actually thought he looked very good in a poor team. Have to admit so seeing nothing of him sinxe he went south

HendoDelivered
08-09-2020, 09:43 PM
Remember seeing him when he was playing for Dundee Utd and Hearts were being linked with him and actually thought he looked very good in a poor team. Have to admit so seeing nothing of him sinxe he went south

:agree: apparently MK Dons have made him a good offer.

08-09-2020, 09:45 PM
:agree: apparently MK Dons have made him a good offer.

He any good? What kind of midfielder is he?

HendoDelivered
08-09-2020, 09:48 PM
He any good? What kind of midfielder is he?

Attacking mid who can play left and right if needed.

08-09-2020, 09:49 PM

Hmm not what we are desperate for in that case

08-09-2020, 09:52 PM
Hmm not what we are desperate for in that case

We are always desperate for good players who will improve us

08-09-2020, 09:53 PM
We are always desperate for good players

A good point well made.

We are *more* desperate for good players in behind attacking mids!

08-09-2020, 09:54 PM
A good point well made.

We are *more* desperate for good players in behind attacking mids!

He seems very similar to what we’ve already got in Mallan/Newell/Hallberg

08-09-2020, 09:54 PM

While he might be an upgrade on the plethora of attacking midfielders we have, I don’t know anything about him so making an assumption, it would be a signing that worries me. I’d worry that Hibs are still making a hash of the midfield by stockpiling good individual players that don’t make a balanced midfield.

If he signs there may be more midfielders to come, but my confidence in Hibs’ ability to identify the problem first and foremost, and then fix it is not high.

08-09-2020, 09:55 PM
He seems very similar to what we’ve already got in Mallan/Newell/Hallberg

Does Allan not also fit a similar description? I’d say so.

We really need someone in behind the attacking mid.

08-09-2020, 09:56 PM
I was a suspicion that Allan might make way somepoint soon

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

08-09-2020, 09:59 PM

All about opinions but I’ve always thought he was very average. I’d prefer Allan/Mallan

08-09-2020, 10:00 PM
All about opinions but I’ve always thought he was very average. I’d prefer Allan/Mallan

Supposedly been very good down south. That’s why there’s teams after him.

Have you seen a lot of him in the past 2 years? Bearing in mind neither Allan or Mallan cut it down there.

08-09-2020, 10:01 PM
Hope we get Fraser, good player.

08-09-2020, 10:03 PM
Supposedly been very good down south. That’s why there’s teams after him.

Have you seen a lot of him in the past 2 years? Bearing in mind neither Allan or Mallan cut it down there.

I haven’t and basing it on his Dundee Utd days. Was just never that impressed and remember always thinking I wouldn’t be too fussed if he ended up at hearts. He’s not the energetic midfielder we badly need

08-09-2020, 10:08 PM
I haven’t and basing it on his Dundee Utd days. Was just never that impressed and remember always thinking I wouldn’t be too fussed if he ended up at hearts. He’s not the energetic midfielder we badly need

We are allowed to get an energetic midfield player and an attacking midfield player. Im sure we are working on getting a few more targets in. If this boy makes us better in the final 3rd then im all for it.
Said at the beginning of the window Ross would wheel and deal to mould his own team and it seems that's what he may be doing.