View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
19-08-2020, 04:09 PM
:top marks for effort and creativity in inventing scenarios to suit your anti Hibs agenda. Smokescreens involving two other clubs to mask the "fact" that Aberdeen offered more than Hibs......quality nonsense. Do keep them coming though.
Canny believe you’re still going
You’ve been saying the same thing constantly for the past 3 days now.
Get over it.
Better watch out lads, in my experience his next move when called out is asking you for a "friendly chat" in Deeks boozer at the weekend :greengrin
sean04
19-08-2020, 04:10 PM
We’ve not lost out to Aberdeen with Mcrorie. Aberdeen agreed a deal that hibs didn’t like. We wanted to buy the player out right and rangers wanted clauses that he couldn’t play against them. If the deal isn’t right then you walk away
Phillipe Coutinho scored against his employer Barcelona for Bayern Munich,who he is on loan to last weekend!
Different leagues and it's a European competition, different rules.
19-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Different leagues and it's a European competition, different rules.
Is that not what makes it absurd? Rules should be the same everywhere....
19-08-2020, 04:13 PM
Better watch out lads, in my experience his next move when called out is asking you for a "friendly chat" in Deeks boozer at the weekend :greengrin
Aw really? I look forward to it, I’ve no been there yet
sean04
19-08-2020, 04:14 PM
Is that not what makes it absurd? Rules should be the same everywhere....
Patrick Roberts played for Celtic against Man City while on loan from Man City
would the legal beaks on here please clarify that that’s no a
bit dodgy/illegal or is it just plain immoral (typical newco)
just curious that’s all
if so could selik just lend us Leigh for the season?? To help wi 10IAR??
The laddie wanted a move but stay in Scotland, we offered cash for a permanent but Rangers probably wanted him to go south, they didn't want him playing against them this season especially seeing as the league may be a lot tighter this year, so a loan deal is struck with a permanent deal at the end. I didn't realise McCrorie was such a good player that Gerrard was **** ing it to play against him.
19-08-2020, 04:16 PM
Well done to the board for standing up to the great unwashed. Has any loanee player anywhere ever played against their parent club? The gaffer is not getting a player he clearly wanted so its back to the drawing board....once again well done the board
Lomana Lua Lua played and scored against Newcastle, his parent club, when on loan to Portsmouth. The next season the premier league changed the rules so that couldn't happen anymore.
19-08-2020, 04:20 PM
Rogic is a far better player IMO. Just has injury issues.
He’s a one trick pony, and the heart of a mouse
19-08-2020, 04:21 PM
Firstly, I'm still trying to get my head round the idea that a selling team can tell the purchaser when his player is allowed to play. Sounds ludicrous & I doubt anyone has ever heard of a prior example. It is The Rangers though & I suppose nothing is beyond belief in the Glasow bubble. Sorry, I should have said, ' For avoidance of doubt, it beggars belief. 😁
Loans within the same division should be banned, for exactly this reason.
19-08-2020, 04:23 PM
Wonder if Celtic will let us play Leigh :cb:greengrin
.............and no, no info...........but given he is so far out the picture I wonder if we could negotiate an 'O'Donnell' type deal to get him playing again for the national side games coming up.
19-08-2020, 04:24 PM
The laddie wanted a move but stay in Scotland, we offered cash for a permanent but Rangers probably wanted him to go south, they didn't want him playing against them this season especially seeing as the league may be a lot tighter this year, so a loan deal is struck with a permanent deal at the end. I didn't realise McCrorie was such a good player that Gerrard was **** ing it to play against him.
McInness cleared up yesterday Aberdeen couldn’t pay a fee this year. I don’t think Gerrard was ****ing himself off a player he was selling to us.
19-08-2020, 04:25 PM
He’s a one trick pony, and the heart of a mouse
Enough cliches to get you a job with BT sport there.
He is a very good player, guys with a ''heart of a mouse'' don't have careers like him. Sure he isn't a hacker and smasher but the heart of a mouse patter is just laughable. No professional footballer has the heart of a mouse. There is a reason very, very few make it.
Wonder if Celtic will let us play Leigh :cb:greengrin
.............and no, no info...........but given he is so far out the picture I wonder if we could negotiate an 'O'Donnell' type deal to get him playing again for the national side games coming up.
Leigh to Dundee. Imagine the Jambo seethe.
Fergos
It's the same as when people go off on one about how horrible Dundee is (I grew up in Carnoustie) when they've probably been to the city about twice to see Hibs play in the Hilltown. Does my head in.
Agreed. Have pals up in Dundee, good night out and some great bars. Good folk too in the main but like everywhere else, including Edinburgh, has it nuggets and places you would avoid if possible.
19-08-2020, 04:27 PM
Hope and pray we don't drop points against St Johnstone or this place will go into meltdown over a player not good enough for Rangers or Portsmouth
19-08-2020, 04:28 PM
Leigh to Dundee. Imagine the Jambo seethe.
Imagine their seethe if he's in a Hibs shirt and rattles a couple past Gordon at Hampden though :greengrin........is he cup tied......
19-08-2020, 04:30 PM
Any actual rumours of players to Hibs??
I don't believe for one second that rangers give a toss about mccrorie playing against them. It's actually easier to play against players whose game you know well (and have deemed not good enough for your team). Edinburgh live article looks like someone has just lifted it from here.
More likely scenario is that Hibs weren't willing to meet rangers asking price outright, were taking a while to negotiate some kind of structured deal and aberdeen swooped in with the offer rangers wanted. Hibs wouldn't match it and walked away leaving mccrorie only one option, with the loan aspect included because aberdeen can't pay up immediately.
19-08-2020, 04:31 PM
Imagine their seethe if he's in a Hibs shirt and rattles a couple past Gordon at Hampden though :greengrin........is he cup tied......
Don’t think any players are cup tied for the Semi. Good shout too 👍 back to Celtic and on loan to Dundee in Jan then 😆
BlackSheep
19-08-2020, 04:35 PM
I wonder with us knowing McCrorie was off the table Saturday/Sunday if we will have someone else lined up that could come in before Saturdays game against St Johnstone?
Really hope we get another 2 in at least of really quality as I think it will see us really kick on.
We play on Sunday this weekend
Green Manalishi
19-08-2020, 04:41 PM
Better watch out lads, in my experience his next move when called out is asking you for a "friendly chat" in Deeks boozer at the weekend :greengrin You called me a muppet and i asked you if you had the balls to say it to my face? The offer still stands. Just ask Deek for Keggie he will point you in the right direction
Green Manalishi
19-08-2020, 04:47 PM
:top marks for effort and creativity in inventing scenarios to suit your anti Hibs agenda. Smokescreens involving two other clubs to mask the "fact" that Aberdeen offered more than Hibs......quality nonsense. Do keep them coming though. Anti Hibs agenda? After 46 years i must be sado mascochistic
19-08-2020, 04:49 PM
I cant believe that we have lost out to Aberdeen again. Some folk can dress it up anyway they want and try to make it sound not so bad but at the end of the day Derek Mcinnes now has a player that Jack Ross wanted. My hunch is that the terms regarding the loan deal are a smokescreen to mask the fact that Aberdeen offered him more money than Hibs did. You honestly think Gerrard is that worried about facing Ross McCrorie that they would turn down two bids for him
So you think Hibs should always offer more than a competing club for a player whether or not we think he’s worth it? There’s only one place you end up with that business model- in the Championship desperately trying to get rid of players you’ve wasted money on.
19-08-2020, 04:52 PM
Any actual rumours of players to Hibs??
Considering the public transfer of McCorie, I would assume Hibs are keeping any potential transfers under wraps.
McInness cleared up yesterday Aberdeen couldn’t pay a fee this year. I don’t think Gerrard was ****ing himself off a player he was selling to us.
Really not sure, the whole situation was a bit weird, we had agreed a fee and wages with the player with it all set to be completed at the weekend, then suddenly it all changed. Gordon and Ross none too pleased obviously.
19-08-2020, 04:56 PM
So you think Hibs should always offer more than a competing club for a player whether or not we think he’s worth it? There’s only one place you end up with that business model- in the Championship desperately trying to get rid of players you’ve wasted money on.
Hibs will have known how much ultimately the huns wanted. We failed to reach that amount. Aberdeen will pay it next year. If we knew how much they wanted why try to undercut them and act like the old firm speaking about the player and how he wants to come? It just ends up with pie in our face. You are allowed to call it like it is instead of making excuses you know? We obviously didn’t bank on another Scottish club matching the huns valuation.
19-08-2020, 04:57 PM
Considering the public transfer of McCorie, I would assume Hibs are keeping any potential transfers under wraps.
Aye, I hope so - my preference is to see a transfer for the first time with a scarf above head photo.
Was good when we signed Gogic/Nisbet/Wright as there was very little noise ahead of the signings.
It stops all these daft "board are lacking ambition" type posts if we hear nothing ahead of a signing.
19-08-2020, 04:57 PM
Really not sure, the whole situation was a bit weird, we had agreed a fee and wages with the player with it all set to be completed at the weekend, then suddenly it all changed. Gordon and Ross none too pleased obviously.
Fair enough. I heard it was close and we had had agreed with RM. I don’t think Gerrard would be that fussed he played against them. He’s a winner and doesn’t seem the *****bag sort.
19-08-2020, 04:58 PM
Aye, I hope so - my preference is to see a transfer for the first time with a scarf above head photo.
Was good when we signed Gogic/Nisbet/Wright as there was very little noise ahead of the signings.
It stops all these daft "board are lacking ambition" type posts if we hear nothing ahead of a signing.
Both of them where training/on trial before they signed 😁
19-08-2020, 05:00 PM
Both of them where training/on trial before they signed
I know that but we didnt have any protracted nonsense in the press (which wasnt leaked by Hibs re McRorie) which just puts pressure on everyone.
We had them on trial and did the deal.
eta - also, its entirely different with players under contract - i.e. Nisbet. this place almost went into meltdown when it was rumoured Dundee Utd might sign him
19-08-2020, 05:03 PM
Hibs will have known how much ultimately the huns wanted. We failed to reach that amount. Aberdeen will pay it next year. If we knew how much they wanted why try to undercut them and act like the old firm speaking about the player and how he wants to come? It just ends up with pie in our face. You are allowed to call it like it is instead of making excuses you know? We obviously didn’t bank on another Scottish club matching the huns valuation.
My understanding is that Hibs did match what Rangers wanted and the deal was agreed.Aberdeen came in with a slightly higher amount to be paid next July plus a loan payment to Rangers partially offset by Rangers paying part of this season’s salary.
19-08-2020, 05:07 PM
My understanding is that Hibs did match what Rangers wanted and the deal was agreed.Aberdeen came in with a slightly higher amount to be paid next July plus a loan payment to Rangers partially offset by Rangers paying part of this season’s salary.
Fair dos if they changed that goalpost then 👍
19-08-2020, 05:10 PM
Fair dos if they changed that goalpost then 👍
The player doesn’t come out of it well.He’d been adamant that he was finished with loans and had to be a permanent move.This way he’ll continue to get his Rangers wage for a year.
19-08-2020, 05:12 PM
The player doesn’t come out of it well.He’d been adamant that he was finished with loans and had to be a permanent move.This way he’ll continue to get his Rangers wage for a year.
True. He also gave Jack Ross his word.
itslegaltender
19-08-2020, 05:14 PM
wouldnt be surprised if there is a deal for Ferguson to Rangers from Aberdeen been agreed for end of season as part of this transaction.
19-08-2020, 05:17 PM
True. He also gave Jack Ross his word.
Obviously not in writing :greengrin
Dr What If?
19-08-2020, 05:18 PM
Readying the tin hat but we do know what club RM comes from, maybe he just didn't fancy playing in green for a club with an Irish name?
19-08-2020, 05:22 PM
Patrick Roberts played for Celtic against Man City while on loan from Man City
Champions League is different. The parent club can not prevent their loan players playing against them. Courtios played v Chelsea for Atletico a few years back and Coutinho v Bayern at the weekend.
19-08-2020, 05:24 PM
Obviously not in writing :greengrin
😆
19-08-2020, 05:24 PM
Readying the tin hat but we do know what club RM comes from, maybe he just didn't fancy playing in green for a club with an Irish name?
No. He agreed to join.
loanheadhibby
19-08-2020, 05:26 PM
I wonder what will happen if Covid 19 continues, fans are not back and Dons don’t have the funds to buy him next year? Surely the Dons are also paying his full wage whilst on loan otherwise a very strange deal by the Huns.
Dr What If?
19-08-2020, 05:36 PM
I wonder what will happen if Covid 19 continues, fans are not back and Dons don’t have the funds to buy him next year? Surely the Dons are also paying his full wage whilst on loan otherwise a very strange deal by the Huns.
That crossed my mind. Either the commitment to buy isn't set in stone or there must be someone at Aberdeen happy to underwrite the deal. Or maybe Rangers aren't that fussed if they end up getting him back at the end of the season?
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2020, 05:52 PM
I cant believe that we have lost out to Aberdeen again. Some folk can dress it up anyway they want and try to make it sound not so bad but at the end of the day Derek Mcinnes now has a player that Jack Ross wanted. My hunch is that the terms regarding the loan deal are a smokescreen to mask the fact that Aberdeen offered him more money than Hibs did. You honestly think Gerrard is that worried about facing Ross McCrorie that they would turn down two bids for him
That's an oversimplification though - Jack Ross wanted the player but not at any cost.
There will be a wage budget and a transfer kitty. There may even be some wiggle room in either or both.
But there will come a point where Ross and the club decide that the required investment is more than the value of the player to the club.
And on a second level I don't see McCrorie as a "push the boat out" kind of signing.
I saw him as a useful addition to the squad with potential for good resale value.
If you're going to push the boat out it's almost exclusively for a starting XI player no?
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2020, 05:54 PM
I thought I read something about them not paying his full wage.
But it may have been on here so, y'know, pinch of salt :D
19-08-2020, 06:00 PM
wouldnt be surprised if there is a deal for Ferguson to Rangers from Aberdeen been agreed for end of season as part of this transaction.
Yup - could be first option to buy him.
loanheadhibby
19-08-2020, 06:03 PM
[QUOTE=The Leith Dutch;6274430]I thought I read something about them not paying his full wage.
But it may have been on here so, y'know, pinch of salt :D[
It will be an interesting few months for Aberdeen. McInnes is under some pressure and a few dodgy results could see their fans turn up the heat even more. They play eye bleeding stuff but it has been kind of effective. I think given the money the Dons have spent, they should be producing far better.
19-08-2020, 07:19 PM
[QUOTE=The Leith Dutch;6274430]I thought I read something about them not paying his full wage.
But it may have been on here so, y'know, pinch of salt :D[
It will be an interesting few months for Aberdeen. McInnes is under some pressure and a few dodgy results could see their fans turn up the heat even more. They play eye bleeding stuff but it has been kind of effective. I think given the money the Dons have spent, they should be producing far better.
And it is doesn't seem to me like McRorie is the kind of player that will get them playing better football. He's another defensive minded player that offers little going forward.
19-08-2020, 07:33 PM
You called me a muppet and i asked you if you had the balls to say it to my face? The offer still stands. Just ask Deek for Keggie he will point you in the right direction
😂😂😂😂😂
19-08-2020, 08:35 PM
I don't believe for one second that rangers give a toss about mccrorie playing against them. It's actually easier to play against players whose game you know well (and have deemed not good enough for your team). Edinburgh live article looks like someone has just lifted it from here.
More likely scenario is that Hibs weren't willing to meet rangers asking price outright, were taking a while to negotiate some kind of structured deal and aberdeen swooped in with the offer rangers wanted. Hibs wouldn't match it and walked away leaving mccrorie only one option, with the loan aspect included because aberdeen can't pay up immediately.
You underestimate just how desperate The Rangers are to stop 10 in a row. It will kill them if they dont. So they will grab at any tiny wee margin that might help - like strengthening other top 6 clubs against celtic while weakening them against The Rangers.
I guess it's a back handed compliment for Jack Ross that Gerrard could see why RM was the right player us and decided to stymie the move
19-08-2020, 10:58 PM
😂😂😂😂😂
Seems fair game tbh.
20-08-2020, 12:09 AM
You called me a muppet and i asked you if you had the balls to say it to my face? The offer still stands. Just ask Deek for Keggie he will point you in the right direction
Oh I say. Is it even safe on .net for an old guy like me with all of these hardmen around?
20-08-2020, 12:16 AM
tbh, you've pretty much confirmed your muppet status with this post. and no i don't want to say it to your face, sounds like you might batter me :aok:
20-08-2020, 12:34 AM
Docherty signing for Hull for around £400k.
20-08-2020, 12:43 AM
Docherty signing for Hull for around £400k.
Poor choice for the guy. Decent money but the have a different manager every 5 months.
20-08-2020, 12:57 AM
This is a hibs fans forum. All about opinions. Please wind your necks in if spoiling for a fight.
We are all Hibs
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
20-08-2020, 01:53 AM
This is a hibs fans forum. All about opinions. Please wind your necks in if spoiling for a fight.
We are all Hibs
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
**** the hearts 👍
20-08-2020, 04:40 AM
Seems fair game tbh.
It would be a good way to deal with people who are keyboard warriors and supposed Hibs fans and throw insults at others on here. It is sort of thing you expect from Huns, junior Huns and Trumpsters.
As Socrates (Greek philosopher) said : "When the argument is lost, the loser resorts to insults". We can now add and I'll see you in Deeks.
20-08-2020, 05:24 AM
Has anyone ever met up for a bare knuckle fight because of a difference of opinion on an internet football forum? One where everyone supports the same team? Seems more hassle than it's worth. Maybe that's just me.
It would be a good way to deal with people who are keyboard warriors and supposed Hibs fans and throw insults at others on here. It is sort of thing you expect from Huns, junior Huns and Trumpsters.
As Socrates (Greek philosopher) said : "When the argument is lost, the loser resorts to insults". We can now add and I'll see you in Deeks.
You didn't need the bit in brackets, I don't think anyone thought it was the Brazilian footballer. :greengrin
20-08-2020, 05:52 AM
You didn't need the bit in brackets, I don't think anyone thought it was the Brazilian footballer. :greengrin
Is that the guy from Bill and Ted?
Has anyone ever met up for a bare knuckle fight because of a difference of opinion on an internet football forum? One where everyone supports the same team? Seems more hassle than it's worth. Maybe that's just me.
I think most left that behind at school.
Is that the guy from Bill and Ted?
The footballer or the philosopher?
20-08-2020, 06:42 AM
Pistols at dawn
hibbie02
20-08-2020, 06:57 AM
Oh I say. Is it even safe on .net for an old guy like me with all of these hardmen around?
I so need to find a safe space for my mental wellbeing.... Traumatised doesn't even begin to describe it. I have a basic right to feels safe online (and in Deek's). :shocked:
20-08-2020, 06:58 AM
Just being safe. When I quote that to huns, diet huns and Trumpsters they often resort to making a wise crack about the footballer. I know there are a lot of ancient Greek scholars on Hibs net but was not sure how widespread it is,
20-08-2020, 07:05 AM
Aberdeen wanting to sign another striker before their game tonight. This one in one out policy is working wonders for them, mainly in that there’s been zero out and about five in. Not a peep in the media, not even some faux “won’t somebody think of the poor players on pay cuts” outrage yet Hibs got vilified.
20-08-2020, 07:06 AM
The footballer or the philosopher?
Well given they brought Socrates from the past to the future, who is to say he isn't one and the same?
20-08-2020, 07:06 AM
Aberdeen wanting to sign another striker before their game tonight. This one in one out policy is working wonders for them, mainly in that there’s been zero out and about five in. Not a peep in the media, not even some faux “won’t somebody think of the poor players on pay cuts” outrage yet Hibs got vilified.
Must admit I should be wise to it by now but it grinds my gears
20-08-2020, 07:12 AM
It was neither. It's one of those myths that the internet has encouraged.
The only thing that he ever actually definitely said was "got a light, Zico?".
TheGog
20-08-2020, 07:19 AM
What a riot this is turning out to be😂😂 Square goes and we're joint top eh the league
20-08-2020, 07:20 AM
Has anyone ever met up for a bare knuckle fight because of a difference of opinion on an internet football forum? One where everyone supports the same team? Seems more hassle than it's worth. Maybe that's just me.If you're ever going to do it, do it when social distancing is compulsory, a good 2 metres apart pagger pavementdancing style is the future, no hibbies will be hurt in the process.
Either that or pistols at dawn outside the sports bar. So much more civilised.
20-08-2020, 07:24 AM
There is your Dragons Den moment. Offer said disputees a place and equipment to sort their differences and charge the rival fans for the PPV.
20-08-2020, 07:28 AM
If you're ever going to do it, do it when social distancing is compulsory, a good 2 metres apart pagger pavementdancing style is the future, no hibbies will be hurt in the process.
In the event of multiple dancers on each side, how would the classic 'holding each other back' manoeuvre work while socially distanced? BYO broom handle?
20-08-2020, 07:37 AM
In the event of multiple dancers on each side, how would the classic 'holding each other back' manoeuvre work while socially distanced? BYO broom handle?Plastic screens on wheels should do the job?
20-08-2020, 07:39 AM
Exactly. We always do though.
Not a peep about any other club going about their business.
Green Manalishi
20-08-2020, 07:53 AM
tbh, you've pretty much confirmed your muppet status with this post. and no i don't want to say it to your face, sounds like you might batter me :aok: I'm not going to batter anyone. I'm a man in my 50s who came on here to talk about Hibs and because i had a different opinion on the McCRorie transfer to someone else he felt that this gave him the right to start personally abusing me. Im an old school Leither with kids and grandkids and i dont trade petty insults on the internet. Im too long in the tooth for that nonsense. If someone has a problem with me i would rather just meet them over a pint and sort it out face to face.. its one thing abusing someone when you can hide behind your on line profile but its a different thing entirely doing it in real life. I was just trying to work out what sort of man he was. Hibs are dear to all of us but you dont start abusing somebody because of it. Its football we are talking about, nobody is screwing your wife or taking your livelihood.
20-08-2020, 07:59 AM
EXCLUSIVE! Youssouf Mulumbu Kilmarnock talks revealed as former Celtic midfielder wants Scotland return | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/B1rzlTznNn
20-08-2020, 08:08 AM
EXCLUSIVE! Youssouf Mulumbu Kilmarnock talks revealed as former Celtic midfielder wants Scotland return | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/B1rzlTznNn
Glad we’re not showing an interest.
20-08-2020, 08:10 AM
Agreed
Can't believe he's 33
20-08-2020, 08:13 AM
If you're ever going to do it, do it when social distancing is compulsory, a good 2 metres apart pagger pavementdancing style is the future, no hibbies will be hurt in the process.
need to make sure they are wearing a mask as well :greengrin
Cammy
20-08-2020, 08:25 AM
Champions League is different. The parent club can not prevent their loan players playing against them. Courtios played v Chelsea for Atletico a few years back and Coutinho v Bayern at the weekend.
Did Calum Booth not play against us in the Scottish cup as well when on loan at Raith?
20-08-2020, 08:26 AM
Did Calum Booth not play against us in the Scottish cup as well when on loan at Raith?
He did.
Yes and again he was in a different league at the time.
20-08-2020, 08:33 AM
need to make sure they are wearing a mask as well :greengrinAnne Budge Halloween mask?[emoji6]
20-08-2020, 08:34 AM
Likewise.
Can see him toiling in this league now.
I think it used to be a “gentleman’s agreement” between clubs and the parent club could give permission for the player to play against them if it ever happened but it was made an official SPFL rule a few years back
As one of the older generation I don’t think that I would be comfortable walking into a pub in Leith and asking for Keggie, you never know what to expect these days and in my defence I“m a happily married man
Souter96Mac
20-08-2020, 08:54 AM
Agreed
Can't believe he's 33
Eh?! He must have been 33 for about 5 years now 😂
20-08-2020, 09:15 AM
A boy who often talks nonsense on twitter (gets most of his nonsense from here or the Bounce 😅) says Hibs have made a loan move for Lee Evans from Wigan. Footballer not comedian.
20-08-2020, 09:17 AM
A boy who often talks nonsense on twitter (gets most of his nonsense from here or the Bounce 😅) says Hibs have made a loan move for Lee Evans from Wigan. Footballer not comedian.
Joke of a signing.
20-08-2020, 09:18 AM
Joke of a signing.
Got there before me. :grr:
20-08-2020, 09:20 AM
Joke of a signing.
I knew this would descend into this 😅
20-08-2020, 09:23 AM
Socrates also never said that. One of many quotes that are falsely attributed to him.
I know this is the transfer thread but it's not often that philosophy comes up on here, so I can't resist. :greengrin
Back on topic, I can't say I've watched Lee Evans, but a Welsh international with some decent clubs behind him certainly sounds like a pedigree signing.
HendoDelivered
20-08-2020, 09:26 AM
Look what you’ve started now :greengrin
20-08-2020, 09:39 AM
Socrates also never said that. One of many quotes that are falsely attributed to him.
I know this is the transfer thread but it's not often that philosophy comes up on here, so I can't resist. :greengrin
Back on topic, I can't say I've watched Lee Evans, but a Welsh international with some decent clubs behind him certainly sounds like a pedigree signing.
http://www2.readingeagle.com/editorial_content/2016/photos/richtercolumn/marktwain.jpg
The Wireless
20-08-2020, 09:44 AM
A
You underestimate just how desperate The Rangers are to stop 10 in a row. It will kill them if they dont. So they will grab at any tiny wee margin that might help - like strengthening other top 6 clubs against celtic while weakening them against The Rangers.
I guess it's a back handed compliment for Jack Ross that Gerrard could see why RM was the right player us and decided to stymie the move
I agree 100%
He is aware of the damage both Edinburgh clubs have made to their pts tally and progress in a one-off match in previous seasons. Hibs are more than capable of continuing that pattern this season.
20-08-2020, 09:53 AM
Evans rumours not true.
https://twitter.com/alanftemple/status/1296384712664129537?s=21
20-08-2020, 09:54 AM
Evans rumours not true.
Absolutely shocked.
20-08-2020, 09:58 AM
I got there before you. :wink:
So, to settle this, square go, or Keggie, or whatever the internet equivalent is................
20-08-2020, 10:01 AM
I got there before you. :wink:
So, to settle this, square go, or Keggie, or whatever the internet equivalent is................
20-08-2020, 10:02 AM
Evans rumours not true.
Stunned 😅
20-08-2020, 10:05 AM
Evans rumours not true.
Honestly I'm all for our next signing coming out of absolutely nowhere. I don't think folk will have much patience for a saga, after the obvious.
20-08-2020, 10:10 AM
Evans rumours not true.
So someone has been having a laugh with this one?
Leitherhibs
20-08-2020, 10:27 AM
Docherty deal to Hull done according Raman Bhardwaj.
Oh well another one bites the dust. 😕
Souter96Mac
20-08-2020, 10:40 AM
Shame about this Evans, seems to have a good pedigree in the English championship. But I suppose the same could be said for Josh Vela!
20-08-2020, 10:42 AM
Oh well another one bites the dust. 😕
I think we all knew a week or so ago he wasn’t coming back when Hull were mentioned
20-08-2020, 10:48 AM
Aberdeen being linked with Marley Watkins on loan. Ex Inverness striker.
20-08-2020, 10:49 AM
Surely not? They’ve not had anyone leave
20-08-2020, 10:52 AM
Hope they get him
More of a winger than a forward and played something like 24 games in the last 2 seasons
Cummings seems to be part of Shrewsbury's plans and, indeed, sounds pivotal to the new system they're planning on using: https://www.shropshirestar.com/sport/football/shrewsbury-town-fc/2020/08/20/new-shrewsbury-town-role-for-jason-cummings/. Maybe our pink chums will have to look elsewhere.
The ghost of Inverness past!
20-08-2020, 11:45 AM
He’ll fit in well with the rest of the muppets that play for them.
hibbie02
20-08-2020, 11:52 AM
I don't believe this. Jack Ross has never once indicated that this guy was on our radar. Therefore Aberdeen would have been unaware of him.
20-08-2020, 12:12 PM
Former St Mirren keeper Vaclav Hladky set for shock Salford City move | @BenRamage10
https://t.co/HGL9LwVTMW https://t.co/OOdiJar1G8
20-08-2020, 12:21 PM
1 out at Aberdeen
🤝 | Frank Ross tekent voor twee jaar, met een optie voor nog een jaar.
🎙️ '𝘎𝘦𝘦𝘯 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘣𝘢𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘯, 𝘮𝘢𝘢𝘳 𝘳𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘤𝘰 𝘪𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘵 𝘴𝘱𝘦𝘭'
Lees het hele interview met de voormalige speler van @AberdeenFC op de site en app:
➡️ https://t.co/YOet3FeWeZ https://t.co/B6YuzCpKLp
davhibby
20-08-2020, 12:22 PM
1 out at Aberdeen
🤝 | Frank Ross tekent voor twee jaar, met een optie voor nog een jaar.
🎙️ '𝘎𝘦𝘦𝘯 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘣𝘢𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘯, 𝘮𝘢𝘢𝘳 𝘳𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘤𝘰 𝘪𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘵 𝘴𝘱𝘦𝘭'
Lees het hele interview met de voormalige speler van @AberdeenFC op de site en app:
➡️ https://t.co/YOet3FeWeZ https://t.co/B6YuzCpKLp
He was out of contract so he’s not been at Aberdeen for months
20-08-2020, 12:23 PM
He was out of contract so he’s not been at Aberdeen for months
Ah ok so they still need to shift a few on.
Tbh haven't even heard of him.
Leitherhibs
20-08-2020, 12:27 PM
Former St Mirren keeper Vaclav Hladky set for shock Salford City move | @BenRamage10
Wow. That's surprising, I thought he'd have gone to a much bigger club. I know Salford have a few quid etc. but he's definitely good enough for English Championship level IMO. Think he's a much better keeper than both of the Glasgow clubs back ups too.
Souter96Mac
20-08-2020, 12:27 PM
Thought he could probably get a team higher up the English leagues, but Salford are paying daft wages these days so I'm not terribly surprised. Especially if they can keep pushing for promotion, they might not be faraway from championship soon enough
20-08-2020, 12:28 PM
Think McInnes has great expectations of the boy
Thought he could probably get a team higher up the English leagues, but Salford are paying daft wages these days so I'm not terribly surprised. Especially if they can keep pushing for promotion, they might not be faraway from championship soon enough
They'll not be able to pay daft wages for Hladky though as the League Two wage cap means the average salary per player works out at £1k p.w., including all bonuses.
20-08-2020, 12:42 PM
That's a really clever play on words. :top marks
20-08-2020, 12:47 PM
What the dickens do you mean?
20-08-2020, 12:52 PM
That's so good you deserve a cheer for that,,,,,,Pip Pip Hooray!
20-08-2020, 12:55 PM
Not so much today with the salary cap
Victor
20-08-2020, 12:58 PM
Inverness to Aberdeen, could be a tale of two cities.
20-08-2020, 01:12 PM
Inverness to Aberdeen, could be a tale of two cities.
It’s Oliver the internet.
Apologies for starting this one!! A pun's better than most recent posts though!
HFC93
20-08-2020, 01:39 PM
Dons fans will be asking Dave Cormack ‘Please, sir, can we get some more signings in?’
Roxyhibee
20-08-2020, 01:48 PM
Levein and English - A Tale Of Two Titties.
20-08-2020, 01:53 PM
[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122] Budgies twin mouthpieces
20-08-2020, 02:43 PM
We have a winner
20-08-2020, 02:50 PM
These are the best of puns.
These are the worst of puns.
johncrobertson@
20-08-2020, 02:56 PM
These are the best of puns.
These are the worst of puns.
Les Miserables !
20-08-2020, 02:59 PM
Celtic looking at another Striker?
Celtic eye £7million-rated Trabzonspor striker Caleb Ekuban
https://t.co/r6q2SuijLO https://t.co/zdA6a3q6xK
20-08-2020, 03:07 PM
Apologies for starting this one!! A pun's better than most recent posts though!
It was certainly a far,far better thing that you did.
BlackSheep
20-08-2020, 03:16 PM
Celtic looking at another Striker?
Celtic eye £7million-rated Trabzonspor striker Caleb Ekuban
https://t.co/r6q2SuijLO https://t.co/zdA6a3q6xK
So who are all their strikers so far this year...?
Surely Griffiths is well down the pecking order now.
20-08-2020, 03:22 PM
So who are all their strikers so far this year...?
Surely Griffiths is well down the pecking order now.
As it stands
Eduard
Klimala
Ajeti
Griffiths
If they sign this boy it either means Eduard is going for big money, which woukd be a brave move
Or Klimala coukd go as I still don't think it would be Griffiths
20-08-2020, 03:29 PM
Surely we have to try Celtic for Griffiths on loan
20-08-2020, 04:04 PM
http://www2.readingeagle.com/editorial_content/2016/photos/richtercolumn/marktwain.jpg" I didn't get to where I am today by believing that most quotes on the internet are fakes"
C J
Managing Director
Sunshine Desserts
JimboHibs
20-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Surely we have to try Celtic for Griffiths on loan
No chance he's going out on loan.
Hibernianinc
20-08-2020, 04:26 PM
No chance he's going out on loan.
Agree. He’d score goals against The Rangers though.
😁
20-08-2020, 04:35 PM
" I didn't get to where I am today by believing that most quotes on the internet are fakes"
C J
Managing Director
Sunshine Desserts
"Great" "Super"
One of my all time favourite programmes.
20-08-2020, 04:37 PM
"Great" "Super"
One of my all time favourite programmes.Yep, and to think at least one football club is still run along those lines[emoji16]
20-08-2020, 05:05 PM
#AnnounceGriffiths
Greenworld
20-08-2020, 05:59 PM
Straight swap with squirrel
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
20-08-2020, 06:25 PM
Straight swap with squirrel
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Hope not.
Gaffer1875
20-08-2020, 06:29 PM
Mccorie starts the right hand side of a back 3 for the sheep, will be interesting to see how he plays.
20-08-2020, 06:34 PM
Mccorie starts the right hand side of a back 3 for the sheep, will be interesting to see how he plays.
Hopefully he has a total nightmare. I am not bitter at all!!
20-08-2020, 06:45 PM
Looks like maybe hibs being tight with anymore transfer targets or just not bothering now?
Edinburgh Green
20-08-2020, 07:17 PM
Looks like maybe hibs being tight with anymore transfer targets or just not bothering now?
Based on what?
20-08-2020, 07:32 PM
Hearing from a United fan Shankland might be heading to a French Team
20-08-2020, 07:33 PM
Just like Dikamona!
Killie it is then....
20-08-2020, 07:34 PM
Same team Cosgrove knocked back.
20-08-2020, 07:43 PM
Guy just messaged back fake story ffs
20-08-2020, 07:55 PM
Guy just messaged back fake story ffs
Their manager has discussed it though, so it's obviously doing the rounds.
20-08-2020, 07:56 PM
Jordan Jones available anybody?
20-08-2020, 07:57 PM
Jordan Jones available anybody?
I'd take him, but I'm not sure he's what we need. Certainly looking for a more central player first.
20-08-2020, 08:02 PM
I'd take him, but I'm not sure he's what we need. Certainly looking for a more central player first.
Ideal replacement long term for Boyle perhaps? Sell to Celtic get Leigh and Jones in. A guy can dream 😄
20-08-2020, 08:03 PM
Ideal replacement long term for Boyle perhaps? Sell to Celtic get Leigh and Jones in. A guy can dream 😄
He is a totally different player from Boyle. Quality, though, and well out our price range I'd imagine.
20-08-2020, 08:10 PM
Watching the football tonight it’s our best ever chance to get 3rd this year. Push the boat out get two more players and let’s make sure.
20-08-2020, 08:21 PM
He is a totally different player from Boyle. Quality, though, and well out our price range I'd imagine.
Straight swap?
20-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Watching the football tonight it’s our best ever chance to get 3rd this year. Push the boat out get two more players and let’s make sure.
smithy_hibees
20-08-2020, 08:30 PM
350k for McCorie no thanks, definitely not what we need..
I agree but supporters of other teams would have been saying the same after watching us last Saturday.
20-08-2020, 08:36 PM
I agree but supporters of other teams would have been saying the same after watching us last Saturday.
We might not have been at our best but we created more chances than both these teams put together tonight.
Motherwell were also a good team compared to those two.
20-08-2020, 08:38 PM
He might have looked alright playing for us. McInnes will have any player looking awful.
20-08-2020, 08:39 PM
Straight swap?
When was the last time this happened anywhere in the world?
We might not have been at our best but we created more chances than both these teams put together tonight.
Motherwell were also a good team compared to those two.
Yep, was pretty poor.
20-08-2020, 08:41 PM
I thought he played well tonight.
20-08-2020, 08:42 PM
Hold on a second I’ll just look up every transfer in the world over the last five years 🤣. We swapped Bain for Murray did we no?
Robbo6-2
20-08-2020, 08:47 PM
I agree but he isny the midfielder we are desperately needing
20-08-2020, 08:49 PM
How did Ali McCann look tonight
20-08-2020, 08:50 PM
I agree but he isny the midfielder we are desperately needing
Nah I agree with that. I would prefect we get a player for a specific role instead of getting them because they can play different positions.
20-08-2020, 08:51 PM
I’d be very confident of dominating him at the weekend.
BlackSheep
20-08-2020, 08:52 PM
Mkhitaryan And Sanchez
20-08-2020, 08:52 PM
Actually thought on the very little I seen of him that he could have been good in our midfield. Like Dylan could be wasted in a mcinnes Aberdeen side
20-08-2020, 08:54 PM
Actually thought on the very little I seen of him that he could have been good in our midfield. Like Dylan could be wasted in a mcinnes Aberdeen side
He’s very confident on the ball but I’m not sure how good his ability is.
20-08-2020, 09:07 PM
Mkhitaryan And Sanchez
On 22 January 2018, Arsenal announced the signing of Mkhitaryan from Manchester United, as part of a swap deal with Alexis Sánchez moving in the other direction.
smithy_hibees
20-08-2020, 09:11 PM
McGinn can do that job better RCB, 350k is a lot money spend on a player that isn’t better than players we have
20-08-2020, 09:15 PM
McGinn can do that job better RCB, 350k is a lot money spend on a player that isn’t better than players we have
I suspect we wanted him for Midfield.
BlackSheep
20-08-2020, 09:15 PM
On 22 January 2018, Arsenal announced the signing of Mkhitaryan from Manchester United, as part of a swap deal with Alexis Sánchez moving in the other direction.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42762918
Your point...?
Bronson
20-08-2020, 09:16 PM
Like a run of the mill bottom 6 spl player. Miles off the standard we should be looking at, don’t know why there’s such a clamour on here to sign him. Appreciate he’s young but it’s a firm no from me.
jonny
20-08-2020, 09:18 PM
Neat and tidy on the ball, drove into space a few times.. thought he looked decent as well to be honest.
Difficult to see from tonight whether he'd have fitted into our midfield but certainly looks a good acquisition for them unfortunately.
On another note, rank rotten game, I'd like to think we'll have plenty for St Johnstone on Sunday regardless of new players.
20-08-2020, 09:20 PM
I agree.
I was happy to trust the manager and it is disappointing we missed out on someone who was clearly a target, that said though, I did think the fee involved for someone who hadn’t started that many games for Rangers and didn’t do particularly well for Portsmouth was really excessive.
Fully aware it’ll sound like I’m being bitter and I may well get proven wrong but as it stands right now I’m not bothered in the slightest we never got him, a bit relieved if anything.
20-08-2020, 09:21 PM
Would anyone take McGeouch back ..
jonny
20-08-2020, 09:22 PM
Like a run of the mill bottom 6 spl player. Miles off the standard we should be looking at, don’t know why there’s such a clamour on here to sign him. Appreciate he’s young but it’s a firm no from me.
This for me. In fairness tonight is the first time I've paid him much attention and judging someone on a single performance is probably harsh, particularly when the entire team were pretty rank.
20-08-2020, 09:26 PM
He has chased the money and played little over the last three years. JR did not pursue and he managed him at Sunderland.
He didn't seem quite right tonight. Near the end he gave the ball away then stood & watched as his man ran off him. That's not like him. Personally I think the young St M player, Cammy MacPherson is a better talent but IIRC he signed a new contract last season.
20-08-2020, 09:30 PM
Right enough. Extremely rare, especially for the amount it gets reported or suggested.
Hold on a second I’ll just look up every transfer in the world over the last five years 🤣. We swapped Bain for Murray did we no?
No we didn't.
20-08-2020, 09:31 PM
Would anyone take McGeouch back ..Wouldn't be fussed really
Was absolutely class in his last season but very inj prone before that and hasn't done much at all since
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-08-2020, 09:32 PM
Not as good as Liam Craig 👀
20-08-2020, 09:38 PM
The young lad Robertson at St J has potential. Edinburgh boy.
20-08-2020, 09:39 PM
No from me. Played over 40 times for Hibs in his last season, got a Scotland call up but has pretty much kept the bench warm since. He should be in his prime but will no doubt have to take another step down when his existing contract ends at Aberdeen. He'll have earnt some good wages over that period but done zilch to progress at a footballer.
20-08-2020, 09:39 PM
Right enough. Extremely rare, especially for the amount it gets reported or suggested.
No we didn't.
Bain for Scotty then. Hearts swapped a goalie for Wighton and Mulraney for some defender that had to retire too.
Kamberi for Doc too.
20-08-2020, 09:45 PM
Livi want Stokes.
20-08-2020, 09:47 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42762918
Your point...?
Was only backing up your statement.
20-08-2020, 09:48 PM
No from me. Played over 40 times for Hibs in his last season, got a Scotland call up but has pretty much kept the bench warm since. He should be in his prime but will no doubt have to take another step down when his existing contract ends at Aberdeen. He'll have earnt some good wages over that period but done zilch to progress at a footballer.
Starting to look like Dylan McGeouch is a very different player when he’s not playing beside John Mcginn.
I think we could really do with that type of player and I can’t think of anyone within our price range who does it better.
If he came back I’d probably be pleased enough, if he doesn’t I won’t be bothered.
20-08-2020, 09:50 PM
😃
20-08-2020, 09:50 PM
Starting to look like Dylan McGeouch is a very different player when he’s not playing beside John Mcginn.
I dont know why people keep saying this when he was good in 14/15 before half the hibs support even knew who John McGinn was.
20-08-2020, 09:52 PM
That Wotherspoon lad looks decent.
20-08-2020, 09:55 PM
Best ever? Come on man.
20-08-2020, 09:57 PM
I know they’re on different sides of park but josh Doig looks twice the player of McCrorie
BlackSheep
20-08-2020, 10:00 PM
Sorry I thought you were disagreeing lol!
20-08-2020, 10:01 PM
I dont know why people keep saying this when he was good in 14/15 before half the hibs support even knew who John McGinn was.
Maybe because it was 5/6 years ago and a lot of things, football and non football has happened since then?
20-08-2020, 10:01 PM
Apart from being speared by Thompson and running the midfield against hearts in a league cup final?
20-08-2020, 10:02 PM
Maybe because it was 5/6 years ago and a lot of things, football and non football has happened since then?
He would be a tremendous option. Better than Newell and Hallberg.
20-08-2020, 10:05 PM
Apart from being speared by Thompson and running the midfield against hearts in a league cup final?
Concise response, made me laugh.
:greengrin:
20-08-2020, 10:23 PM
I’m not convinced about either of those players so you don’t need to convince me of that.
How many games would he play? How effective would he be in this midfield? Would he really want to be here or just a fall back because other moves haven’t worked out well for him? Does he still have the legs after a few injuries?
That would be my concerns? He may pass all of them with flying colours and he’s clearly a very good player on his day, I just wouldn’t be that disappointed if we were to look elsewhere.
20-08-2020, 10:30 PM
I’m not convinced about either of those players so you don’t need to convince me of that.
How many games would he play? How effective would he be in this midfield? Would he really want to be here or just a fall back because other moves haven’t worked out well for him? Does he still have the legs after a few injuries?
That would be my concerns? He may pass all of them with flying colours and he’s clearly a very good player on his day, I just wouldn’t be that disappointed if we were to look elsewhere.
I think the chat about him coming back is pointless. He's under contract at Aberdeen so can't see them just releasing him nor can I see us paying a fee for him given JR didn't want him when he left Sunderland. I was never his biggest fan, but Aberdeen was a bad move, I watched Ojo tonight and how he gets a game before McGeouch is puzzling.
20-08-2020, 10:32 PM
I think the chat about him coming back is pointless. He's under contract at Aberdeen so can't see them just releasing him nor can I see us paying a fee for him given JR didn't want him when he left Sunderland. I was never his biggest fan, but Aberdeen was a bad move, I watched Ojo tonight and how he gets a game before McGeouch is puzzling.
I enjoyed watching Ojo this evening
Very satisfying how poor he is and how often he gave the ball away.
20-08-2020, 10:35 PM
I enjoyed watching Ojo this evening
Very satisfying how poor he is and how often he gave the ball away.
Yes I thought the same, we definitely dodged a bullet with him.
20-08-2020, 10:40 PM
Concise response, made me laugh.
:greengrin:
20-08-2020, 10:41 PM
All true and I wouldn’t argue against any of that mate 👍
Would love the energy of Campbell at Motherwell tbh.
21-08-2020, 01:56 AM
I think we could really do with that type of player and I can’t think of anyone within our price range who does it better.
If he came back I’d probably be pleased enough, if he doesn’t I won’t be bothered.
I loved McGeouch as a player for us and looked for his name on the team sheet before all the important matches. It felt like if he played we won, his was the first name I looked for, especially for that cup final. Problem was all those mysterious injuries.
But now his ship has sailed and I am rarely keen to see second comings. He is no exception, not for me thanks, we should look forwards not back at Hibernian Football Club.
21-08-2020, 05:22 AM
Is there a fanbase that pines after ex players as much as us? Only last season there were meltdowns about Ambrose not being signed and he's been woeful for Livi and now can't get a game. Dylan also struggling at Aberdeen and there's still a clamour to get him back.
21-08-2020, 05:50 AM
McGeouch was excellent for us before McGinn got here.
Robbo6-2
21-08-2020, 05:58 AM
Mcgeouch made two consecutive bad choices for his career.
His bank balance might be great but his career is going down the pan.
It was never going to work at Aberdeen, hes no chance of fitting into that style of play. Said it at the time it would never work out there.
He would be a good signing for us imo but I dont think we should give him any more chances of coming back to us.
McGeouch was excellent for us before McGinn got here.
Forget about 4-5 years ago, he had a decent season and a half with the rest mostly injured, he left for more money, struggled in Div 1 in England and is a bench warmer at Aberdeen. His best days are behind him, instead of being in his prime he's farting about up north for a few extra quid. I've never known a more sorry looking support than ours always wanting to get back ex players instead of looking forward to new ones, tbh the majority of players we release very very seldom come back to bite us, some get a decent career but generally the ones we look after and sell for a profit go on to have good careers, e.g. Brown, Whittaker, Thomson, Fletcher, MJM etc, the ones we release float around the lower leagues doing not much.
SweetDreams
21-08-2020, 06:50 AM
Forget about 4-5 years ago, he had a decent season and a half with the rest mostly injured, he left for more money, struggled in Div 1 in England and is a bench warmer at Aberdeen. His best days are behind him, instead of being in his prime he's farting about up north for a few extra quid. I've never known a more sorry looking support than ours always wanting to get back ex players instead of looking forward to new ones, tbh the majority of players we release very very seldom come back to bite us, some get a decent career but generally the ones we look after and sell for a profit go on to have good careers, e.g. Brown, Whittaker, Thomson, Fletcher, MJM etc, the ones we release float around the lower leagues doing not much.
21-08-2020, 07:02 AM
We sound like jilted lovers. Folk were clamouring after Simon Murray ffs, tried his best but clearly wasn’t of the quality we needed. Still scored a beauty against Hearts though 👍🏻
Leitherhibs
21-08-2020, 07:07 AM
Nail on head. Excellent post.
21-08-2020, 07:14 AM
Yep, very good post.
I suppose with McGeouch though, he falls in between the 2 groups. McGinn was always going to succeed when he moved on. Whilst McGeouch’s move wasn’t as big a move, it was still a move to a big English club. It’s also hard to say he’s been a failure since leaving us - not exactly a success, but a few injuries and not enough impact.
The other thing about McGeouch is that he looks exactly what we’re needing right now, and he might be a realistic target and available - there are reasons why we’re not pining after Scott Brown, Steven Fletcher, John McGinn, Jason Cummings, Fraser Fyvie etc etc.
You’re bang on when you say Hibs don’t often get these ones wrong. I question every departure and almost always wonder if we’re doing the right thing, but these decisions don’t often come back to haunt us.
In truth though, we’ve not yet come close to adequately replacing McGeouch.
21-08-2020, 07:17 AM
Not right now he isn’t.
21-08-2020, 07:27 AM
What players have we brought back that were better second time around? Not being funny, genuinely interested.
Off the top of my head...
Mixu - tremendous.
Allan - three spells, second one best imo. Third could be better.
Griffiths - carried us.
Riordan - clearly still had it but in poorer team.
Ian Murray - still a good player.
Not as good...
Sproule - had lost some pace.
Whittaker - Age a factor.
Kevin Thomson - see Whitts.
O'Connor - Statistically better second time surprisingly but not as good overall.
McNulty - like a different player.
Omeonga - shadow of player first time.
Maclaren - Struggled.
Stokes - cup final hero but generally off it.
21-08-2020, 07:33 AM
Efe hasnt been woeful at livingston at all. Thats just complete nonsense.
21-08-2020, 07:34 AM
What players have we brought back that were better second time around? Not being funny, genuinely interested.
Off the top of my head...
Mixu - tremendous.
Allan - three spells, second one best imo. Third could be better.
Griffiths - carried us.
Riordan - clearly still had it but in poorer team.
Ian Murray - still a good player.
Not as good...
Sproule - had lost some pace.
Whittaker - Age a factor.
Kevin Thomson - see Whitts.
O'Connor - Statistically better second time surprisingly but not as good overall.
McNulty - like a different player.
Omeonga - shadow of player first time.
Maclaren - Struggled.
Stokes - cup final hero but generally off it.
Re O'Connor, difficult to argue with stats. It's like science over religion.
21-08-2020, 07:36 AM
Yep, very good post.
I suppose with McGeouch though, he falls in between the 2 groups. McGinn was always going to succeed when he moved on. Whilst McGeouch’s move wasn’t as big a move, it was still a move to a big English club. It’s also hard to say he’s been a failure since leaving us - not exactly a success, but a few injuries and not enough impact.
The other thing about McGeouch is that he looks exactly what we’re needing right now, and he might be a realistic target and available - there are reasons why we’re not pining after Scott Brown, Steven Fletcher, John McGinn, Jason Cummings, Fraser Fyvie etc etc.
You’re bang on when you say Hibs don’t often get these ones wrong. I question every departure and almost always wonder if we’re doing the right thing, but these decisions don’t often come back to haunt us.
In truth though, we’ve not yet come close to adequately replacing McGeouch.
And theres the problem. People want McGeouch back because no one truly trusts our recruitment team. In the last 2 years we are more likely to sign a Vela than we are a McGeouch. At least with McGeouch we know what we would be getting. If we went for someone else theres a high chance we end up with a dud on a 3 year deal. At least now it looks like we are going back to what we were initally good at and trying to sign players who have played in Scottish football.
21-08-2020, 07:42 AM
Had two very suspect performances in two defeats, one in a pumping by us, got dropped and they've picked up points in the games since
SweetDreams
21-08-2020, 07:49 AM
Had two very suspect performances in two defeats, one in a pumping by us, got dropped and they've picked up points in the games since
Hasn't he been playing as a left back? or did I possibly misread something.
21-08-2020, 08:04 AM
I actually think Dylan (or someone like him) is what we need in midfield rather than a kicker like Mcrorie appears to be.
Gogic can win the ball back but there is no one to control the game, keep the ball and make passes rather than punts when under pressure.
I'd take Dylan back but would need to be in the right circumstances. Wouldn't be able to justify him being top earner anymore.
21-08-2020, 08:11 AM
And theres the problem. People want McGeouch back because no one truly trusts our recruitment team. In the last 2 years we are more likely to sign a Vela than we are a McGeouch. At least with McGeouch we know what we would be getting. If we went for someone else theres a high chance we end up with a dud on a 3 year deal. At least now it looks like we are going back to what we were initally good at and trying to sign players who have played in Scottish football.
We dont though do we. He's done nothing for various reason since he left us & playing with a different set of players around him might or might not work for him. We know what he did for us we have no idea if he could still do it. PS Legend that he is :greengrin
Aberdeen in for griff on loan
21-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Theres a difference between 2 bad games and his entire spell being deemed as awful.
21-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Gerrard confirms Leeds bid for Ryan Kent rejected. Rumours it was £5m upfront plus performance based add-ons
21-08-2020, 08:23 AM
Rangers*manager*Steven Gerrard*has confirmed the club have rejected an offer from*Leeds United*for winger*Ryan Kent.*
Gerrard says Leeds’ opening bid - an fee undisclosed - is “nowhere near” Rangers’ valuation of the player, and that the club do not want to sell Kent.*
However, he has also admitted this morning that “EPL clubs hold a lot of power” and that the situation might be taken out of his hands.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Souter96Mac
21-08-2020, 08:34 AM
Gerrard confirms Leeds bid for Ryan Kent rejected. Rumours it was £5m upfront plus performance based add-ons
I've just seen a tweet saying £10m, but maybe that's the total with those add ons.
I'm not Kent's biggest fan, but I reckon it would take £20m to get Rangers' attention. He's not worth that imo, but with what's on the line this season, and knowing how much money Leeds will have, they have every right to only sell for big money
21-08-2020, 08:36 AM
I've just seen a tweet saying £10m, but maybe that's the total with those add ons.
I'm not Kent's biggest fan, but I reckon it would take £20m to get Rangers' attention. He's not worth that imo, but with what's on the line this season, and knowing how much money Leeds will have, they have every right to only sell for big money
£20 million? Celtic sold Moussa Dembelle to Lyon for that amount and he's absolutely miles better than Kent. If they get offered £10 milion they'll bite Leeds hand off.
21-08-2020, 08:43 AM
Where you seeing that?
21-08-2020, 08:46 AM
Where you seeing that?
The only thing I have seen is rumours from some Celtic sites
https://celticnews.net/2020/08/21/in-the-know-celtic-account-makes-leigh-griffiths-claim-m-ross/
21-08-2020, 08:58 AM
Was against it previously cause I didn't think it would happen. But if Aberdeen are looking to take Griff on loan we should be all over that as well.
Think he'd have his head screwed in here and would easily be our best striker.
Imagine Allan and Griffiths together!
21-08-2020, 09:06 AM
He was dropped for the last game. A super player in his time but his time is past.
Pretty Green
21-08-2020, 09:24 AM
My neighbours are Livi season ticket holders and they are less than impressed with Efe.
SweetDreams
21-08-2020, 09:24 AM
If we signed him I'd be very confident of achieving 3rd at minimum and reaching the Scottish Cup final.
21-08-2020, 09:33 AM
Just a random on twitter but who doesn't love a random twitter rumour 😁😁😁
Hearing @Leighgriff09 to aberdeen on loan in a deal for mckenna or hibs in a deal for boyle personally id rather boyle
Saint Hibee
21-08-2020, 09:43 AM
That young Liam Craig laddie looks good!
21-08-2020, 09:46 AM
My neighbours are Livi season ticket holders and they are less than impressed with Efe.
To be fair to Efe, he seemed to take a few games each season to get into his stride. During that time he could look like a fan plucked from the stands. He might well be on the decline though and hasn’t played much football the last couple of years.