View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

10-05-2023, 03:34 PM
Appreciate there's already one but a few have asked for the usual first post summary I do for these. If an admin could merge the two together whilst still giving me control over this first post then that'd be fantastic.

Confirmed in (9):
Max Boruc, two year contract (goalkeeper, Slask Wroclaw)
Will Fish, one year loan (defender, Man Utd)
Riley Harbottle, three year contract (defender, Nottingham Forest)
Adam Le Fondre, one year contract (striker, Sydney)
Dylan Levitt, three year contract (midfielder, Dundee Utd)
Jordan Obita, two year contract (defender, Wycombe)
Dylan Vente, three year contract (striker, Roda)
Jojo Wollacott, three year contract (goalkeeper, Charlton)
Elie Youan, three year contract (striker, St Gallen)

Confirmed new contracts (4):
Murray Aiken (two years)
Rudi Molotnikov (three years)
Josh O'Connor (two years)
Lewis Stevenson (one year)

Confirmed out (9):
Marijan Cabraja (Rijeka)
Kevin Dabrowski (Raith)
Michael Devlin (Livingston)
Runar Hauge (Jerv)
Ethan Laidlaw (Brentford)
Kyle Magennis (Kilmarnock)
Aiden McGeady (Ayr)
Darren McGregor (retired)
Kevin Nisbet (Millwall)

Confirmed out on loan (9):
Murray Aiken (Airdrie)
Ewan Henderson (Oostende)
Nohan Kenneh (Shrewsbury)
Oscar MacIntyre (Queen of the South)
Dan MacKay (Livingston)
Elias Melkersen (Stromsgodset)
Kyle McClelland (Queen of the South)
Josh O'Connor (Airdrie)
Dylan Tait (Hamilton)

Rumoured in:
None

Rumoured new contracts:
N/A

Rumoured out:
Jair Tavares

Conj
10-05-2023, 05:03 PM
Jonny Williams is surely a rumoured in.

10-05-2023, 05:13 PM
:hyper

MagicSwirlingShip
10-05-2023, 05:15 PM
Scott Arfield was a rumour I think

10-05-2023, 05:28 PM
There should be a "speculatively rumoured in" section, where we can keep Leigh Griffiths, Marc Libbra, Jamie Cureton, Jordi Cruyff and all our other perma-linked favourites.

10-05-2023, 05:31 PM
There should be a "speculatively rumoured in" section, where we can keep Leigh Griffiths, Marc Libbra, Jamie Cureton, Jordi Cruyff and all our other perma-linked favourites.

No way.

We don't want Aberdeen finding out who we're after!

10-05-2023, 06:20 PM
With a new DOF, I bet we all won't have a clue :greengrin

10-05-2023, 06:21 PM
Would love Scott Arfield and Ryan Jack. Highly doubt the latter would join though

10-05-2023, 06:24 PM
Would love Scott Arfield and Ryan Jack. Highly doubt the latter would join though

Looks like Jack is getting another year at Sevco so no chance of that. Arfield would be a good signing though I reckon.

10-05-2023, 06:25 PM

Jack signed another 1 year contract, today.

10-05-2023, 06:41 PM
Steven caulker is my guess at a random signing.

Knows McDermott well, played in Scotland, loads of experience and out of contract.

cameronw-hfc
10-05-2023, 07:24 PM
Jonny Williams is surely a rumoured in.

Could be more than a rumour tbf. As far as I'm aware it's nearly done/already done and we won't announce it until the seasons over.

Last I heard a few weeks ago was just dotting the i's and crossing the t's and he would be our player, hence the strange comments recently from the Swindon boss about Williams doing what's right for him.

PHeffernan
10-05-2023, 08:14 PM
Could be more than a rumour tbf. As far as I'm aware it's nearly done/already done and we won't announce it until the seasons over.

Last I heard a few weeks ago was just dotting the i's and crossing the t's and he would be our player, hence the strange comments recently from the Swindon boss about Williams doing what's right for him.

Swindon season now over.

Hibs will wait for the right moment to announce it to tie in with season ticket marketing.

10-05-2023, 08:20 PM
Swindon season now over.

Hibs will wait for the right moment to announce it to tie in with season ticket marketing.

Hoping McDermott has pulled the plug since his appointment. Don't think it'll be a great signing.

10-05-2023, 08:30 PM
Hoping McDermott has pulled the plug since his appointment. Don't think it'll be a great signing.

He’s a really good player imo but it’s his injury record that will be of concern.

With Hibs and these signings you sort of see the inevitable accident happening long before it occurs.

cameronw-hfc
10-05-2023, 08:46 PM
He’s a really good player imo but it’s his injury record that will be of concern.

With Hibs and these signings you sort of see the inevitable accident happening long before it occurs.

Hasn't been out injured according to transfermarkt since 19/20 where he missed 15 games due.
Missed 4 games the season before, 12 the year before that and 19 the year before that.

Looks like he's been good for a few years now though

10-05-2023, 08:51 PM
Hasn't been out injured according to transfermarkt since 19/20 where he missed 15 games due.
Missed 4 games the season before, 12 the year before that and 19 the year before that.

Looks like he's been good for a few years now though

I lost track of him a bit after he left Sunderland.

But that year they were relegated from the Championship I think they’d staked quite a lot on him being fit, able to play a lot of games and create for them when on loan. He looked decent in the handful of games he played but he missed most of the season and they missed him badly. It was one of a few costly bad moves from them around that time.

That’s a few seasons ago now though.

cameronw-hfc
10-05-2023, 08:55 PM
I lost track of him a bit after he left Sunderland.

But that year they were relegated from the Championship I think they’d staked quite a lot on him being fit, able to play a lot of games and create for them when on loan. He looked decent in the handful of games he played but he missed most of the season and they missed him badly. It was one of a few costly bad moves from them around that time.

That’s a few seasons ago now though.

Looks to have missed 12 games that season. Don't think it takes into account the 6/7 games to get up to speed as well so he did miss a big chunk of that season.

I seen an interview with him where he said he just needed to enjoy his football again, hence the drop down a few levels, and it seems to have worked.

Definitely got the ability to be a problem in this league, whether he's over his fitness problems or just on a lucky run will be the deciding factor imo. If he stays fit he becomes a big player for us

badabing67
10-05-2023, 08:56 PM
I think McKirdy will be away he was left out of the trip to Newcastle. Wonder if he will miss the trip to Aberdeen.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/strong-hibs-team-beaten-by-newcastle-with-one-player-conspicuous-by-his-absence-4137577

10-05-2023, 09:02 PM
Sign Elie Youan ✍️
Sell Harry McKirdy 🏌️
Sign Van Veen ✍️
Sign Will Fish ✍️

In that order.

10-05-2023, 09:22 PM
Thought McKirdy was best mates with Williams?

10-05-2023, 09:39 PM
Looks to have missed 12 games that season. Don't think it takes into account the 6/7 games to get up to speed as well so he did miss a big chunk of that season.

I seen an interview with him where he said he just needed to enjoy his football again, hence the drop down a few levels, and it seems to have worked.

Definitely got the ability to be a problem in this league, whether he's over his fitness problems or just on a lucky run will be the deciding factor imo. If he stays fit he becomes a big player for us

I had a look at wiki and it had him making 12 appearances for Sunderland that season, which sounds a bit more familiar. Not many in a season of 46 league games.

He certainly seemed to play a lot for Charlton and Swindon since then though, which is encouraging.

10-05-2023, 09:44 PM
Sign Elie Youan ✍️
Sell Harry McKirdy 🏌️
Sign Van Veen ✍️
Sign Will Fish ✍️

In that order.

What fee would you pay for Van Veen?

10-05-2023, 09:50 PM
I had a look at wiki and it had him making 12 appearances for Sunderland that season, which sounds a bit more familiar. Not many in a season of 46 league games.

He certainly seemed to play a lot for Charlton and Swindon since then though, which is encouraging.

I think Jonny Williams will be a squad player and a good option to bring off the bench. I think we’ll move Henderson on and he will be an improvement on him. Not every signing is going to be an exciting one, although I think I’m more excited than most posters I’ve read about, I think he’s decent.

10-05-2023, 10:30 PM
I like what I’ve seen from Williams as a player, but understand the concerns around his injury record (albeit this seems to have improved significantly the past two seasons).

I like to think of him as a replacement for McGeady. He’s much younger and should, touch wood, be available far more often. When I think of it in these terms it makes a hell of a lot of sense to me.

11-05-2023, 06:02 AM
I like what I’ve seen from Williams as a player, but understand the concerns around his injury record (albeit this seems to have improved significantly the past two seasons).

I like to think of him as a replacement for McGeady. He’s much younger and should, touch wood, be available far more often. When I think of it in these terms it makes a hell of a lot of sense to me.

Personally hope we sign NcGeady for another year.

11-05-2023, 06:58 AM
I think Jonny Williams will be a squad player and a good option to bring off the bench. I think we’ll move Henderson on and he will be an improvement on him. Not every signing is going to be an exciting one, although I think I’m more excited than most posters I’ve read about, I think he’s decent.

Going to be a big salary for a squad player. And we already have Jair taking home plenty.

11-05-2023, 07:29 AM
Going to be a big salary for a squad player. And we already have Jair taking home plenty.

I’d doubt someone coming from league 2 in England would be able to demand that much tbh.

Not sure of the relevance of Jairs salary when we’ve had him all season and not played him?

11-05-2023, 07:39 AM
Youan about to be announced permanently?

11-05-2023, 07:39 AM
Youan to be announced very soon

11-05-2023, 07:41 AM
https://i.ibb.co/Xp90Ffn/b25l-Y21z-Ojk5-ZDc1-ZTQz-LTQw-OTQt-NGEx-My05-MTM3-LTdh-ZTM4-Zjdm-Yz-M0-YTph-Mjhj-Ym-Q1-ZC1l-Zj-My-LT.jpg (https://ibb.co/Xp90Ffn)

11-05-2023, 07:42 AM
I’d doubt someone coming from league 2 in England would be able to demand that much tbh.

Not sure of the relevance of Jairs salary when we’ve had him all season and not played him?

The relevance is I’d rather not have an over paid squad player. We need to be brining in players that will improve us. Not just be anothe Henderson / Jair / Mckirdy.

11-05-2023, 07:49 AM
The relevance is I’d rather not have an over paid squad player. We need to be brining in players that will improve us. Not just be anothe Henderson / Jair / Mckirdy.

How much is he getting paid?

11-05-2023, 07:50 AM

You don’t know what he’ll be getting paid though?

The league he’s coming from isn’t a place he’ll have been getting a particularly high salary.

What you’re saying sounds great in theory, in practice though, some squad fillers will always be signed, not practical to spend all our money on having 25 first team squad members all expecting to start, there will always be the odd punt on cheaper options in the hope they’ll over perform.

11-05-2023, 07:50 AM

He’ll be an improvement on those players and McGeady (given he can’t be relied upon).

I think Williams has made his money and won’t be demanding a big wage. We are not going to improve upon Youan and Boyle for the wide starting positions but we do need flexible cover and Williams should offer that across 3 positions

11-05-2023, 07:53 AM
Great bit of business to keep Youan

Greenio
11-05-2023, 08:18 AM
Would be really happy to see Youan stay.

Love those kind of players.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2023, 08:27 AM
Youan is a great signing. :agree:

11-05-2023, 08:37 AM
I'm still to be convinced it isn't a discount on the duvet set

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

11-05-2023, 08:42 AM
I'm still to be convinced it isn't a discount on the duvet set

I think Hibs are just genuinely concerned about how many hours sleep we’re getting.

“Hibs are delighted to announce a new club partnership with SilentNight, the UK’s most trusted sleep brand”

11-05-2023, 08:51 AM
What fee would you pay for Van Veen?

I would grab him - that is an exceptionally niche marine biology joke

11-05-2023, 08:52 AM
Good business if true.

11-05-2023, 09:05 AM
Ffs a production of sleeping beauty with access to the Albion Bar!!

11-05-2023, 09:12 AM
If it is signing Youan let's hope we will be bedding in a few other signings before the end of the season providing the fans with a comfort blanket over the summer.

ElginHibbie
11-05-2023, 09:17 AM
You think they gonna wait the full 8 hours between that Tweet and announcing Youan?

11-05-2023, 09:23 AM
20% off duck feather pillows for season ticket holders at Matalan🙄

11-05-2023, 09:27 AM
Huge statement by the club to pull out the chequebook for Youan. A fantastic signing.

11-05-2023, 09:29 AM
Has the admin just made an unintentional Youan reference without realising?🤣

Longest wait between the teaser and confirmation I’ve seen.

11-05-2023, 09:32 AM
Mon hibs, get it done.

11-05-2023, 09:32 AM
If it is signing Youan let's hope we will be bedding in a few other signings before the end of the season providing the fans with a comfort blanket over the summer.

Yeah, don't want to get caught napping.

11-05-2023, 09:35 AM
You think they gonna wait the full 8 hours between that Tweet and announcing Youan?

Waiting on him waking up. 🤔

ElginHibbie
11-05-2023, 09:39 AM
Waiting on him waking up. 🤔

Texting him right now

"FFS Youan you were supposed to be at Easter Road for 9am scarf above head photos!"

11-05-2023, 09:42 AM
Season ticket holders to get 20% discount off Nitol.

Donegal Hibby
11-05-2023, 10:01 AM
Should have gave him bojang's old room with NO curtains

Saint Hibee
11-05-2023, 10:08 AM
Has the admin just made an unintentional Youan reference without realising?🤣

Longest wait between the teaser and confirmation I’ve seen.

Where’s the Youan teaser?

11-05-2023, 10:09 AM
Where’s the Youan teaser?

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1656564234564542471?t=Kmwl-Y-jwlg_fNy5e5mjeA&s=19

11-05-2023, 10:11 AM
It may be Harry has fell asleep and not posted any mair pish on instagram

11-05-2023, 10:21 AM
Return of bojang?

11-05-2023, 10:22 AM
Should have gave him bojang's old room with NO curtains

And scorch marks on the ceiling. 🤔
🔥
😮

11-05-2023, 10:26 AM
Think the Hibs twitter is back asleep.

11-05-2023, 10:31 AM
Anything less than discount on Hibs bed covers will be disappointing.

11-05-2023, 10:38 AM
All a bit bizarre to tweet a tease like that then go silent.

Start to wonder if there's an issue.

11-05-2023, 10:39 AM
Wee bit ironic if people who are objecting to Hibs commercialising so much of the club and ‘fleecing the fans’ at every opportunity are celebrating Youann signing.

That’s how we can afford signing players like Youann on permanent deals.

Mon the fleecing of the fans (maybe just not too much)

11-05-2023, 10:39 AM

Maybe letting the teaser rack up the views 1st. Currently at 157k.

11-05-2023, 10:40 AM

Wondering if the tweet was completely unrelated to Youan and now they've spent the last 2 hours figuring out how to cover it up :greengrin

11-05-2023, 10:45 AM
Wondering if the tweet was completely unrelated to Youan and now they've spent the last 2 hours figuring out how to cover it up :greengrin

Another signing by mistake 😄

andrew70
11-05-2023, 10:54 AM
I don’t think the plan is for Porteous to stay at Watford for long anyway. I think he’ll be in Italy sooner rather than later.

11-05-2023, 10:55 AM
I don’t think the plan is for Porteous to stay at Watford for long anyway. I think he’ll be in Italy sooner rather than later.

If he goes to the Italian team owned by the same folk then we won't see any or very little sell on.

Quite a sneaky way to get around things like sell on fees etc.

HFC93
11-05-2023, 10:56 AM
I’d announce a mattress partnership and then 5 mins later the new contract with him on one of the beds.

ChilliEater
11-05-2023, 10:59 AM
I would grab him - that is an exceptionally niche marine biology joke

I imagine we would use him from the bench - part of our substrata-gy

Steven79
11-05-2023, 11:02 AM
I’d announce a mattress partnership and then 5 mins later the new contract with him on one of the beds.[emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

11-05-2023, 11:08 AM

Do the Pozzo’s send their British players to Italy often?

11-05-2023, 11:33 AM
Feel sorry for the poor admin 🤣

11-05-2023, 11:37 AM
4 hours since the ‘teaser’ and still nothing… admins definitely jumped the gun here hasn’t he?!

11-05-2023, 11:39 AM
Personally hope we sign NcGeady for another year.
If so it needs to be on.a desk that gets paid when he plays or on bench We can’t afford another year of him being mainly on treatment table

11-05-2023, 11:41 AM
Twitter now. :hyper

11-05-2023, 11:41 AM
4 hours since the ‘teaser’ and still nothing… admins definitely jumped the gun here hasn’t he?!

Waiting on 1k likes before announcing. Only at 665 just now.

11-05-2023, 11:42 AM
Yaaasssss!!!

PHeffernan
If he goes to the Italian team owned by the same folk then we won't see any or very little sell on.

Quite a sneaky way to get around things like sell on fees etc.

I'm sure our executives will have ensured that loophole was closed off in the Porteous transfer contract.

JGS56
Hibernian Football Club (@HibernianFC) / Twitter (https://twitter.com/HibernianFC)

Another sneaky twitter.

11-05-2023, 11:43 AM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1656625449017982977?t=m7zpQ2Y-HRvln9j9kLnh2Q&s=19

11-05-2023, 11:44 AM
Hibs really slept in with this tweet.
Hahahaha

Finally

HendoDelivered
Folk on here ****ing it thinking the admin had made a blunder… panic merchants :greengrin

I'm sure our executives will have ensured that loophole was closed off in the Porteous transfer contract.

Don't think we would have been in a position to? Would have went for free this summer.

11-05-2023, 11:45 AM
Signed to 2026 :hyper

11-05-2023, 11:46 AM
That's a lot of years!

11-05-2023, 11:46 AM
I love hibs !!!

11-05-2023, 11:48 AM
Love that.

11-05-2023, 11:49 AM
Evening news reporting 500k for the move.

HendoDelivered
Unreal

Great news. Expecting more from him next season.

Bargain if true

Greenio
11-05-2023, 11:50 AM
Nice.

That's a quality signing. My fav Hibs player

(after Lewis, obvs!)

11-05-2023, 11:51 AM
“I’d also like to thank the Gordon family for backing us with a significant financial investment, which allowed us to make him a Hibs player."

11-05-2023, 11:51 AM
Brilliant. Very happy with that.

davhibby
11-05-2023, 11:57 AM

In excess of 500k is the quote so likely a bit more than that

11-05-2023, 12:00 PM
Sleep well tonight all Hibbys Youan me.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2023, 12:04 PM
Superb.

Could see him being an absolute star next season.

11-05-2023, 12:04 PM
“I’d also like to thank the Gordon family for backing us with a significant financial investment, which allowed us to make him a Hibs player."

Yep - interesting. Does that mean that his signing wasn't part of the player budget for next year?

11-05-2023, 12:07 PM
Very, very happy with that. Similarly to when we re-signed Boyle in the Winter window, Youan is the best signing we could have made and was always an absolute Number 1 priority.

Elie is developing really nicely - he is absolutely rapid, has great feet, good strength, his composure is building and he showed great defensive work on Saturday against St Mirren/cut out a few of their counters. He needs to become a bit more street-smart - thinking he likes a trick in risky situations, but at the same time, I love that kind of flair/attitude which conversely creates lots of opportunities for us. We now have the mouth-watering prospect of Martin Boyle and Elie Youan attacking defences - Hearts caught a glimpse of how devastating that combination is earlier this season.

He was signed as a marquee signing a year ago, with Ron Gordon promising we would be impressed with him, and how right he was. He is the kind of player I want at Hibs. GGTTH.

11-05-2023, 12:07 PM
Well done to the recruitment department finding him last year.

Garymcl
11-05-2023, 12:08 PM
News like this should definitely help with season ticket sales well done the Gordon family brilliant news great signing :flag:

GRA
11-05-2023, 12:11 PM
Great work getting this deal done Hibs. The fans love him, his potential is there for all to see and we can expect a healthy return with a sale if he lives up to it, which I'm sure he will :agree:

Once Boyle is fit and we keep hold of Nisbet we'll have one of the best forward lines in the league outside of the OF next season.

11-05-2023, 12:17 PM
Great work getting this deal done Hibs. The fans love him, his potential is there for all to see and we can expect a healthy return with a sale if he lives up to it, which I'm sure he will :agree:

Once Boyle is fit and we keep hold of Nisbet we'll have one of the best forward lines in the league outside of the OF next season.
I think that front 3 is as good as anything rangers currently have, unfortunately it's unlikely we'll see them together, great signing and we'll done hibs

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2023, 12:18 PM

Don’t think I’ve ever been more certain of a player leaving than I am Nisbet.

No inside info, just think there’s absolutely no chance of him being here next year.

Donegal Hibby
11-05-2023, 12:24 PM
Delighted with this signing. Very ambitious signing from our club . Well done everyone at Hibs :flag:.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sign-elie-youan-on-permanent-deal-contract-length-transfer-fee-what-lee-johnson-said-4138024

11-05-2023, 12:32 PM
Youan and Boyle playing either side of a new front man has me reaching for the daffy meme🤪 I suspect that the funding for him will be offset against the money you’d expect us to get for Kevin in the summer.

G15 Hibs
11-05-2023, 12:41 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever been more certain of a player leaving than I am Nisbet.

No inside info, just think there’s absolutely no chance of him being here next year.

Absolutely. The fact he's still here after the January window is a bonus.

11-05-2023, 12:44 PM
Excellent news on Ellie!

Donegal Hibby
11-05-2023, 12:46 PM
Youan on the left and Boyle on the right is really quite exciting :coolhib::coolhib:

11-05-2023, 12:47 PM
Delighted with this signing. Very ambitious signing from our club . Well done everyone at Hibs :flag:.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sign-elie-youan-on-permanent-deal-contract-length-transfer-fee-what-lee-johnson-said-4138024

From reading that I would hazard a guess that the fee was €600k which is circa £520k.

When you add that to the fee we will have paid for Martin Boyle, anyone suggesting that the Gordons are here to fleece the club, or similar, should be laughed out of the house.

scm70nyd1973
11-05-2023, 12:48 PM

I got the low down from a mate of mine over here in Spain (he’s a mad Swindon fan). He said that Williams is a fantastic player and although he had a bad run of injuries he has been playing regularly for over a year now. He also said he’s miles better than McKirdy and will be a far better signing for us.

11-05-2023, 12:48 PM
Youan on the left and Boyle on the right is really quite exciting :coolhib::coolhib:

What tune is that to? 🤔

11-05-2023, 12:49 PM
Absolutely. The fact he's still here after the January window is a bonus.

Rightly or wrongly I tihk the reason he stayed put was that he's more likely to get in the Scotland squad. If he hits a rough patch at Hibs then we'd persist and allow him to try and play through it. At a new club if he doesn't hit the ground running then that same oppurtunity may not be available. He's comfortable here and if he does well with Scotland then bigger clubs than Milwall will come calling.

11-05-2023, 12:50 PM
Was the best signing of last summer and delighted to see him extend with a permanent deal, lets crack on and get this squad up to a proper strength.

11-05-2023, 12:53 PM
Yep - interesting. Does that mean that his signing wasn't part of the player budget for next year?

Would have thought it basically means they fronted up the cash in advance of ST sales etc to make sure the deal got done with no delay.
So a big thankyou to the Gordons for signalling their continuing commitment to Hibs by facilitating the signing of Ellie Youan - one that every Hibee wanted to see happen.
Congratulations Ellie on earning this deal!

JamesHFC
11-05-2023, 12:53 PM
Top signing. Very happy with that.

11-05-2023, 12:54 PM
What tune is that to? 🤔

Bohemian rhapsody

11-05-2023, 01:02 PM
Well done Hibs and the recruitment team, very good business.

Also well done to Elie, he had a difficult start and a lot of doubters (myself included), but his form since returning from the World Cup break has been brilliant.

A full pre season and hopefully European football will see him come flying out the blocks

chippy
11-05-2023, 01:06 PM
Youan and Boyle playing either side of a new front man has me reaching for the daffy meme🤪 I suspect that the funding for him will be offset against the money you’d expect us to get for Kevin in the summer.

The probability of interchanging with each other and a front man plus midfielders is exciting

11-05-2023, 01:07 PM
If he progresses next year and improves his decision making, much like how Boyle himself developed through time, this will be a very sound investment by the club.

11-05-2023, 01:11 PM
Brilliant will only get better.

11-05-2023, 01:11 PM
Would have thought it basically means they fronted up the cash in advance of ST sales etc to make sure the deal got done with no delay.
So a big thankyou to the Gordons for signalling their continuing commitment to Hibs by facilitating the signing of Ellie Youan - one that every Hibee wanted to see happen.
Congratulations Ellie on earning this deal!

Yeh that would make sense.

11-05-2023, 01:22 PM
Youan on one dide and Boyle on the other. With Nisbet or Big Myk through the middle is exciting. If Nisbet goes, I am ever the optimistic and I hope not, then I'd love to see Myk stay another season

11-05-2023, 01:28 PM
Youan on one dide and Boyle on the other. With Nisbet or Big Myk through the middle is exciting. If Nisbet goes, I am ever the optimistic and I hope not, then I'd love to see Myk stay another season

I’m sure I read somewhere that Youan wanted to play through the middle. So a possibility we won’t see him out wide if there’s any truth in that.

11-05-2023, 01:29 PM
C'mom Hibs, anounce Busquets tomorrow, Fish on an 8 year deal on Saturday and the return of Fletcher on Sunday

11-05-2023, 01:29 PM
Excellent, why was I worried it wouldn't happen 🙄

11-05-2023, 01:31 PM
Brilliant news, first Lewis with a new deal and now Youan announced before the end of the season.

11-05-2023, 01:37 PM
Excellent, why was I worried it wouldn't happen 🙄

Don't be too hard on yourself.

Bed wetting is a common condition. I'm sure Numan have a treatment for it.

Delivered discretely.

11-05-2023, 01:42 PM
Brilliant news. The buzz of anticipation when he gets the ball probably hasn't been heard at ER since Scott Allan had his health problems. If he keeps adding goals and assists to his game, he could be a very special player for us.

A player I'm happy to pay to watch.

11-05-2023, 01:44 PM
I’m hearing that Youans deal was financed by the money made from the Hibs First scheme 😂

11-05-2023, 01:45 PM
Brilliant news. The buzz of anticipation when he gets the ball probably hasn't been heard at ER since Scott Allan had his health problems. If he keeps adding goals and assists to his game, he could be a very special player for us.

A player I'm happy to pay to watch.

Yup, along with Boyle they always give you hope they will create or score. Blistering pace and ability to beat a man and score goals. Perfect combination.

11-05-2023, 01:50 PM
This is a truly outstanding way to start the summer window.

Top marks Hibs and thank you to the Gordons.

I expect that this will ultimately be financed by Nisbet’s departure but we’ve struggled to spend money received from selling good players on buying good enough players in the past, so this is most welcome.

11-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Don't be too hard on yourself.

Bed wetting is a common condition. I'm sure Numan have a treatment for it.

Delivered discretely.
In a brown paper bag 🙄 think I'll go back to being a "happy clapper" and just accept the brickbats that come my way :greengrin

11-05-2023, 01:52 PM
I’m sure I read somewhere that Youan wanted to play through the middle. So a possibility we won’t see him out wide if there’s any truth in that.

That’s where he played earlier on in the season, id like to say it worked, but it really didn’t . He is far more of a threat out wide and receiving the ball on the run

11-05-2023, 02:03 PM
In a brown paper bag 🙄 think I'll go back to being a "happy clapper" and just accept the brickbats that come my way :greengrin

There's no cure for Happy Clapping, I'm afraid.

It's a debilitating affliction which can cause extreme hope verging on delusion. Alcohol in large quantities can help.

11-05-2023, 02:14 PM
Youan, Griffiths, Boyle will bring some front three next season.

11-05-2023, 02:19 PM
This is a truly outstanding way to start the summer window.

Top marks Hibs and thank you to the Gordons.

I expect that this will ultimately be financed by Nisbet’s departure but we’ve struggled to spend money received from selling good players on buying good enough players in the past, so this is most welcome.

Waiting for the announcement that our business is now complete for the summer transfer window 😁

King Cosell
11-05-2023, 02:38 PM

Troyes are relegated. Not sure if that means we're more likely to keep Big Myk or not.

King Cosell
11-05-2023, 02:40 PM
Youan, Griffiths, Boyle will bring some front three next season.

Derek Griffiths from Play School?

11-05-2023, 02:44 PM
That’s where he played earlier on in the season, id like to say it worked, but it really didn’t . He is far more of a threat out wide and receiving the ball on the run

I’d have agreed with you a few months ago. I thought he was abysmal when played through the middle early in the season. However, he was outstanding playing more centrally when Nisbet was injured a few months ago.

11-05-2023, 02:51 PM
I’d have agreed with you a few months ago. I thought he was abysmal when played through the middle early in the season. However, he was outstanding playing more centrally when Nisbet was injured a few months ago.

Agreed. I think his confidence has also risen massively as the season has progressed which I’m sure may have had something to do with poorer displays earlier in the season. Just glad we have him ad think he’s a big threat - whatever position he ends up playing.

11-05-2023, 03:04 PM

Fair point .. I still say he is more effective coming in from the left though.

TrinityHibby
11-05-2023, 04:15 PM
I’m hearing that Youans deal was financed by the money made from the Hibs First scheme 😂
🤔 or the Melkersen Million? 🇳🇬💚

Donegal Hibby
11-05-2023, 04:36 PM
From reading that I would hazard a guess that the fee was €600k which is circa £520k.

When you add that to the fee we will have paid for Martin Boyle, anyone suggesting that the Gordons are here to fleece the club, or similar, should be laughed out of the house.
Fee for Youan is a substantial amount of money for our club to spend and getting Boyle back too really does show great ambition from the Gordon's and must surely show even our most skeptical fans that the Gordon's are totally committed to our football club. 👍

andrew70
11-05-2023, 04:53 PM
Do the Pozzo’s send their British players to Italy often?

They’ve not had a British player with the ability of Porteous before.

I don’t think the Udinese chat was far wrong initially.

He’d be better suited to Italy and would learn a lot more.

11-05-2023, 05:07 PM
Bohemian rhapsody

Don't stop me now!

11-05-2023, 05:07 PM
🤔 or the Melkersen Million? 🇳🇬💚

I still think there's potential for Melkerson to come back and make an impact. Look at the folk who thought Youan was poor initially now this thread is full of praise at Hibs for keeping him. A decent preseason with a more settled squad and let's see what Melkerson can do.

cameronw-hfc
11-05-2023, 05:09 PM
They’ve not had a British player with the ability of Porteous before.

I don’t think the Udinese chat was far wrong initially.

He’d be better suited to Italy and would learn a lot more.

That's quite the green tinted specs statement. A premier league team/championship team haven't had a british player as talented as Porto before?

You realise they had Sancho as a kid. Ben Foster played hundreds of prem games and for England.

Porto was good for us, at times, but he's not universally liked at Watford. Fans are torn on him, some love him some just don't get it.

He's a good player, but Watford have absolutely had more talented players from the UK(in their own positions) under Pozzo.

11-05-2023, 05:12 PM
I still think there's potential for Melkerson to come back and make an impact. Look at the folk who thought Youan was poor initially now this thread is full of praise at Hibs for keeping him. A decent preseason with a more settled squad and let's see what Melkerson can do.

I reckon he could be excellent having Boyle and Youan either side of him - he's got the physicality/pace and has shown glimpses in the Motherwell game alone he can find the net. Far too early to write Melkersen off (as a small minority appear to have done). Excited for next season already, never mind the huge next 4 games ahead.

11-05-2023, 05:14 PM

Actually agree. Boys still 20! Only issue would be that's another season with basically no first team experience due to the loan to Sparta.

11-05-2023, 06:13 PM
That's quite the green tinted specs statement. A premier league team/championship team haven't had a british player as talented as Porto before?

You realise they had Sancho as a kid. Ben Foster played hundreds of prem games and for England.

Porto was good for us, at times, but he's not universally liked at Watford. Fans are torn on him, some love him some just don't get it.

He's a good player, but Watford have absolutely had more talented players from the UK(in their own positions) under Pozzo.

Same as on here then :greengrin

random sub
11-05-2023, 06:51 PM
If Nisbet and Myko go who would compliment Boyle and Youan in attack?. I’m thinking a Mixu style target player could fit the bill!

11-05-2023, 06:53 PM
If Nisbet and Myko go who would compliment Boyle and Youan in attack?. I’m thinking a Mixu style target player could fit the bill!

Fletcher

11-05-2023, 07:10 PM
Youan is a statement signing, a real mark of intent. Well done, Hibs.

11-05-2023, 07:38 PM
Apparently we were interested in mullins from Wrexham, but looks like he's away to Sheffield wed.

Anyone heard anything about that?

Torto7
11-05-2023, 07:41 PM
Any hints on what Man Utd want to do with Fish? I'd be gutted if he leaves.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2023, 07:42 PM
Apparently we were interested in mullins from Wrexham, but looks like he's away to Sheffield wed.

I’d be surprised if we could afford him tbh. Would imagine he’ll be on a fair whack down there.

11-05-2023, 07:44 PM
Any hints on what Man Utd want to do with Fish? I'd be gutted if he leaves.[emoji38]

Bridge hibs
11-05-2023, 07:45 PM
I’d be surprised if we could afford him tbh. Would imagine he’ll be on a fair whack down there.

Was it not mentioned on the Wrexham documentary that he was on around 5k plus per week ?

Edit - Paul Mullin Wrexham Salary

Paul Mullin earns a princely £4,500 per week at Wrexham, according to reports. That is a stellar annual salary of £234,000, which is an impressive figure for a non-league footballer.

11-05-2023, 08:31 PM

I will get Scotland Yard from here for mentioning but Kev van Veen lol

11-05-2023, 08:44 PM
Have we just chucked out a big lump of money we're likely to get for Nisbet? Who cares, quality investment.

11-05-2023, 08:44 PM
Was it not mentioned on the Wrexham documentary that he was on around 5k plus per week ?

Edit - Paul Mullin Wrexham Salary

Paul Mullin earns a princely £4,500 per week at Wrexham, according to reports. That is a stellar annual salary of £234,000, which is an impressive figure for a non-league footballer.

Will be a few bonuses on top of that

11-05-2023, 08:53 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Nicky Devlin close to Aberdeen transfer as Livingston skipper edges towards Pittodrie switch

bit.ly/3pvxI66

11-05-2023, 08:55 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Nicky Devlin close to Aberdeen transfer as Livingston skipper edges towards Pittodrie switch

bit.ly/3pvxI66

Good player imo, reminds me a bit of Sir David.

That said, Youan has destroyed him a couple of times this season with ease

11-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Good player imo, reminds me a bit of Sir David.

That said, Youan has destroyed him a couple of times this season with ease

All the talk seemed that he was going to Hearts, according to some Jambos anyway. And there was some talk we were after Jack Fitzwater, which I hope isn't true.

12-05-2023, 08:23 AM

I'd love it to be Van veen

12-05-2023, 08:41 AM
Any hints on what Man Utd want to do with Fish? I'd be gutted if he leaves.

There are plenty more like him in the sea.

Donegal Hibby
12-05-2023, 08:58 AM
Read this article on Stevenson and Youan signing for us and at the end it says we are about to sign up two of our youth players on contracts. Anyone have any ideas who?.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/tale-of-two-hibs-signings-as-lee-johnson-waxes-lyrical-about-importance-of-double-deal-4139504

The Sundance Kid
12-05-2023, 09:12 AM
Read this article on Stevenson and Youan signing for us and at the end it says we are about to sign up two of our youth players on contracts. Anyone have any ideas who?.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/tale-of-two-hibs-signings-as-lee-johnson-waxes-lyrical-about-importance-of-double-deal-4139504

Think I’m right in saying that the main players in the under-19s squad who haven’t yet committed to next season are Murray Aiken, Josh O’Connor and Ethan Laidlaw.

Therefore, I would imagine that it will be two of those three unless there’s anyone else I’ve missed

12-05-2023, 09:45 AM
I will get Scotland Yard from here for mentioning but Kev van Veen lol

He's in the middle of a 20+ goal season for Motherwell. There's no way we could afford him unfortunately.

Big Doidge has still got a year left doesn't he?!

12-05-2023, 09:52 AM
He's in the middle of a 20+ goal season for Motherwell. There's no way we could afford him unfortunately.

Big Doidge has still got a year left doesn't he?!

32 soon and out of contract - not out the realms of possibility

12-05-2023, 09:55 AM
32 soon and out of contract - not out the realms of possibility

Didn’t realise he was out of contract. Suspect we’d still have to beat some championship competition though

12-05-2023, 09:57 AM
Didn’t realise he was out of contract. Suspect we’d still have to beat some championship competition though

He’s not. He’s got another year left. And so too does Doidge incidentally

Donegal Hibby
12-05-2023, 10:03 AM
Think I’m right in saying that the main players in the under-19s squad who haven’t yet committed to next season are Murray Aiken, Josh O’Connor and Ethan Laidlaw.

Therefore, I would imagine that it will be two of those three unless there’s anyone else I’ve missed
3 good players . It would be another good move by the club getting a couple of our better youth players signed on contract's .

12-05-2023, 10:10 AM
This is what Kettlewell said about Van Veen (From BBC Sports)

Only 'life-changing' fee can tempt Motherwell to sell Van Veen
published at 12:19 11 May
12:19 11 May
Stuart Kettlewell says it would take “life-changing money” to persuade Motherwell to sell Kevin van Veen this summer.
The 31-year-old Dutch striker, nominated for player of the year after his 25-goal haul so far this season, has 12 months left on his deal and is happy at Fir Park but open to a move.
"I would be amazed if a club in Scotland could come up with the money we would be thinking about for Kevin van Veen," said manager Kettlewell, whose team face St Johnstone on Saturday.
"As it stands, unless someone was able to put life-changing money in front of Motherwell - and it would have to be both parties - then he will remain a Motherwell player.
“I have had so many conversations with Kevin on a personal level, manager to striker. And the one thing we both agree on is that he is extremely happy here, that the football club is really happy with him, the supporters love him and I love working with him on a daily basis.
"But there is always a cross point where, if someone puts a ridiculous offer in front of you, sometimes the football club have to profit on it."
Motherwell made a loss of about £1m last season and this campaign’s deficit is expected to be even higher.
Kettlewell said: "It would be safe to say it's been a really challenging year for the club financially. We don't want to get rid of the player but sometimes an offer comes along that you can't say no to."
Van Veen was reportedly close to joining Chinese Super League side Changchun Yatai last month. When asked if there had been concrete interest in the Dutchman, Kettlewell said: "There's not been anything this last spell.
"I have heard a lot of speculation. If there's something official the player will hear about it directly from myself."

12-05-2023, 10:14 AM
This is what Kettlewell said about Van Veen (From BBC Sports)

Only 'life-changing' fee can tempt Motherwell to sell Van Veen
published at 12:19 11 May
12:19 11 May
Stuart Kettlewell says it would take “life-changing money” to persuade Motherwell to sell Kevin van Veen this summer.
The 31-year-old Dutch striker, nominated for player of the year after his 25-goal haul so far this season, has 12 months left on his deal and is happy at Fir Park but open to a move.
"I would be amazed if a club in Scotland could come up with the money we would be thinking about for Kevin van Veen," said manager Kettlewell, whose team face St Johnstone on Saturday.
"As it stands, unless someone was able to put life-changing money in front of Motherwell - and it would have to be both parties - then he will remain a Motherwell player.
“I have had so many conversations with Kevin on a personal level, manager to striker. And the one thing we both agree on is that he is extremely happy here, that the football club is really happy with him, the supporters love him and I love working with him on a daily basis.
"But there is always a cross point where, if someone puts a ridiculous offer in front of you, sometimes the football club have to profit on it."
Motherwell made a loss of about £1m last season and this campaign’s deficit is expected to be even higher.
Kettlewell said: "It would be safe to say it's been a really challenging year for the club financially. We don't want to get rid of the player but sometimes an offer comes along that you can't say no to."
Van Veen was reportedly close to joining Chinese Super League side Changchun Yatai last month. When asked if there had been concrete interest in the Dutchman, Kettlewell said: "There's not been anything this last spell.
"I have heard a lot of speculation. If there's something official the player will hear about it directly from myself."

He's playing the game, and quite rightly so, but if they get a half decent offer he'll be off.

They won't want an unhappy player if he's not been permitted to move on and a half decent financial deal for Motherwell and they'll take it.

Paulie Walnuts
12-05-2023, 10:16 AM
He's playing the game, and quite rightly so, but if they get a half decent offer he'll be off.

They won't want an unhappy player if he's not been permitted to move on and a half decent financial deal for Motherwell and they'll take it.

They probably will but I doubt that deal will come from us as he has absolutely 0 sell on value and is likely to start declining soon.

A championship team down south might take a punt on him.

12-05-2023, 11:51 AM

Nonsense.

Musselbound
12-05-2023, 12:05 PM
Actually agree. Boys still 20! Only issue would be that's another season with basically no first team experience due to the loan to Sparta.

Should be put on loan to the Scottish Championship next season to see what impact he can make there.

12-05-2023, 12:14 PM
Choucha on instagram worth a watch looks like Suso that played for the yams lol

The Sundance Kid
12-05-2023, 01:12 PM
3 good players . It would be another good move by the club getting a couple of our better youth players signed on contract's .

Confirmed that Aiken and O’Connor have signed 2 year extensions and will be loaned to Airdrieonians next season

12-05-2023, 01:32 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1657007817671290880

yerauldda
12-05-2023, 01:38 PM
Someone on Twitter mentioned Laidlaw has signed a Pre-contract with Watford. He’s also liked quite a few tweets recently from Watford which would make sense. Looks like he could be off which would be a shame.

Donegal Hibby
12-05-2023, 01:43 PM
Confirmed that Aiken and O’Connor have signed 2 year extensions and will be loaned to Airdrieonians next season
From what I've seen of them they look two very promising players . Stevenson, Youan now Aiken and O'Connor .... Hibs playing a blinder 😉

12-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Someone on Twitter mentioned Laidlaw has signed a Pre-contract with Watford. He’s also liked quite a few tweets recently from Watford which would make sense. Looks like he could be off which would be a shame.

Hope it doesn't end up like Kane O'Connors move to Brentford.

Bobby Moore
12-05-2023, 02:22 PM
Someone on the Bounce is saying that Hibs have some kind of arrangement (fee involved although not big) to get Steven Bradley back from Livingstone.
Says the club are pursuing this!

12-05-2023, 02:26 PM
Someone on the Bounce is saying that Hibs have some kind of arrangement (fee involved although not big) to get Steven Bradley back from Livingstone.

We have a buy back clause. Would be a huge surprise if that's going to happen.

12-05-2023, 02:34 PM
We have a buy back clause. Would be a huge surprise if that's going to happen.

1 goal 2 assists for Livi in the league.

2 goals in the cup.

12-05-2023, 02:35 PM
Losing Laidlaw for a small fee is a disappointment.

12-05-2023, 02:41 PM

Would seem weird considering we were happy to let him go not long back?

12-05-2023, 03:08 PM
I was very surprised we let Bradley go in the first place.

Really good technical young player with a wand of a left foot. Was highly rated at the club, the first team guys all thought highly of him and then he went out on loan where he done really well.

Then he wasn’t given a chance?

I wonder if it was an agreement as Livi had too many loan players or something like that?

Stairway 2 7
12-05-2023, 03:10 PM
Losing Laidlaw for a small fee is a disappointment.

What can we do if he doesn’t want to sign. All his team mates have.

I'm glad O'connor has been given good advice, probably no from da. Do the business on loan and then take the chance. Better than playing in an English championship youth team imo

12-05-2023, 03:14 PM

Really good technical young player with a wand of a left foot. Was highly rated at the club, the first team guys all thought highly of him and then he went out on loan where he done really well.

I wonder if it was an agreement as Livi had too many loan players or something like that?

Looked too lightweight to me and I’d be amazed if we were back looking at him again.

cameronw-hfc
12-05-2023, 03:17 PM
Looked too lightweight to me and I’d be amazed if we were back looking at him again.

Surely be useful as a squad option? We're light on the wings, especially a left footer.

12-05-2023, 03:18 PM

I actually liked the look of him but even then I'd be amazed if we were looking to bring him back.

12-05-2023, 03:20 PM

Not a chance an English championship side are buying him

Paulie Walnuts
12-05-2023, 03:44 PM

Did he not fall out of favour at Dundalk?

12-05-2023, 03:51 PM
Lyall Cameron signs a new 2 year deal with Dundee.

Hearts fans seemed confident he was signing for them.

12-05-2023, 04:05 PM

I'm glad O'connor has been given good advice, probably no from da. Do the business on loan and then take the chance. Better than playing in an English championship youth team imo

Not saying we can do anything, just saying it's disappointing.

cameronw-hfc
12-05-2023, 04:05 PM
Did he not fall out of favour at Dundalk?

Nah missed a while due to an injury. Started on fire, picked up a knock and didn't get back to previous heights but by all accounts was still decent.

His loan with dundalk seems to be blown to 2 extremes. He was either brilliant or struggled but I spoke to a dundalk fan on twitter who said he was a very good player that just didn't get going properly after his injury. Think it was a decent loan spell that showed his potential but no better or worse

Nevi_SOL
12-05-2023, 04:10 PM

Gaz wanted him to stay at hibs but wanted to see a development plan for him that included a loan deal.

12-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Surely be useful as a squad option? We're light on the wings, especially a left footer.

What position does McKay play again? I wonder when he comes back from Inverness whether we keep him or try to loan/sell him on.

cameronw-hfc
12-05-2023, 04:25 PM
What position does McKay play again? I wonder when he comes back from Inverness whether we keep him or try to loan/sell him on.

Either wing but another righty. I'd really hope we are looking at at least one left footer

12-05-2023, 04:29 PM
Gaz wanted him to stay at hibs but wanted to see a development plan for him that included a loan deal.
That's sensible.

King Cosell
12-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Surprised there's no clubs linked with Luke McCowan from Dundee. 25 yo, out of contract soon.

12-05-2023, 05:09 PM

A right footer who plays best off the left wing.

PHeffernan
12-05-2023, 07:13 PM

Makes it 4 players contracted for next season for Dundee.
Josh Mulligan and Luke McCowan needed signed up next.

12-05-2023, 07:14 PM

Brilliant business by Dundee. Surprised at that.

12-05-2023, 07:20 PM

Hearts fans seemed confident he was signing for them.Hearts have a history of being disappointed vis a vis all things Dundonian.

12-05-2023, 07:58 PM
So what we thinking:

A goalie to challenge DM and send MJ on loan to champ?
2 CB's
2 CM's
Wide player
2 ST

7 players with 3 or 4 being in their prime. 1 or 2 young and 1 experienced?

12-05-2023, 08:08 PM
So what we thinking:

2 CB's
2 CM's
Wide player
2 ST

Cabraja to leave and sign a left back as well I think. Unless McIntyre is viewed as ready to come in and play which I’m not convinced he is.

12-05-2023, 08:28 PM
So what we thinking:

2 CB's
2 CM's
Wide player
2 ST

Players to start. 1 goalie. 1 CB. 1 LB. 1 winger. 1 striker.

12-05-2023, 08:44 PM
So what we thinking:

2 CB's
2 CM's
Wide player
2 ST

We need players in literally every position.

Gk to challenge Marshall

RB to replace CJ
LB to take over from Lewis

RCB to replace Fish
LCB to compete with and provide cover for Hanlon

CM- need far more creativity and goal threat.

Wingers - need cover for Boyle and Youann

Forwards- need at least two to replace big Myke and Nisbet when he inevitably leaves.

Also need to get rid of a good number of players, either on loan or by releasing them.

I’d loan out Kenneh, Melkerson, McIntyre and Jair

Release or sell Doidge, Cabreja, Henderson, Magennis plus others I probably can’t remember just now.

To fund all this I’d sell Campbell if we got a decent offer (anything around £1m ish) as well as Nisbet.

Easy peasy, apart from that it should be a pretty quiet summer,

12-05-2023, 08:53 PM
The striker at Partick Thistle looks good. Took his goal well. Maybe Hibs should look at B. Graham :greengrin

12-05-2023, 09:11 PM
Obviously any position is up for grabs if a better player becomes available but for me priorities are:
Goalkeeper
CB to challenge/play alongside Hanlon and/or Rocky
Creative CM
Striker

If we got quality in all those areas I'd be content with the development players filling the bench and getting time. If we sign 8 to 10 players then the development players (I include players like Jair and Melkerson in that as we signed them to develop them for SPFL football) will never get a chance.

12-05-2023, 09:15 PM
We need players in literally every position.

Gk to challenge Marshall

RB to replace CJ
LB to take over from Lewis

RCB to replace Fish
LCB to compete with and provide cover for Hanlon

CM- need far more creativity and goal threat.

Wingers - need cover for Boyle and Youann

Forwards- need at least two to replace big Myke and Nisbet when he inevitably leaves.

Also need to get rid of a good number of players, either on loan or by releasing them.

I’d loan out Kenneh, Melkerson, McIntyre and Jair

Release or sell Doidge, Cabreja, Henderson, Magennis plus others I probably can’t remember just now.

To fund all this I’d sell Campbell if we got a decent offer (anything around £1m ish) as well as Nisbet.

Easy peasy, apart from that it should be a pretty quiet summer,

I appreciate your posts but I think you've gone a bit OTT here. Theres no way we're going out to sign 10 new 1st team players nor IMO should we. I would suggest we also already have cover for some of the positions you mention notably Miller and Bushiri. It's also a bit contradictory in that many posts on here all season, not necessarily you, decry the lack of opportunity for Fringe players and promising youngsters. Signing 10 new players only perpetuates that problem. I expect 5/6 new potential 1st team players at most.

12-05-2023, 09:33 PM
I appreciate your posts but I think you've gone a bit OTT here. Theres no way we're going out to sign 10 new 1st team players nor IMO should we. I would suggest we also already have cover for some of the positions you mention notably Miller and Bushiri. It's also a bit contradictory in that many posts on here all season, not necessarily you, decry the lack of opportunity for Fringe players and promising youngsters. Signing 10 new players only perpetuates that problem. I expect 5/6 new potential 1st team players at most.

We dont need an RB. We have Cadds, Miller and Megwa. It’s not a problem positions. Expect Kenneh to be part of the squad also.

12-05-2023, 09:37 PM
Players to start. 1 goalie. 1 CB. 1 LB. 1 winger. 1 striker.

No starting midfielders needed? That’s the first area I’d address.

12-05-2023, 09:55 PM

No, I don’t think we will sign all the players I’ve mentioned either, for a start I forgot about Rocky. I just mean there aren’t any positions that we could sign that I think we had plenty cover for already so not needed. The closest position we have to being fine is Right Back but even then, CJ has played there at times for a reason.

What I’d also say is if we got a couple of loans back like Myko and Fish then they would fill the positions I’ve described without it looking like we’ve signed 10 new players (even if that’s technically what’s happened).

I think there’s an argument to sign all the positions I mentioned, for the reasons I gave but I don’t think we will sign a new goalie or full backs. If we are not getting fish back plus losing, Nisbet, Myko and McGeady, I’d say the other positions are non negotiables.

12-05-2023, 10:19 PM

I don’t think signing up to 10 players is terribly unlikely.

We aren’t going to go in to next season with just Marshall and Johnson IMO. I think Johnson will be loaned and we will sign a goalie.

We need to sign two centre halves, whether Fish is one of them I don’t know but we need to sign two.

Lewis has been good recently but with him signing I can see Cabraja moving on which would see a LB signed IMO. We haven’t been strong in that position over the course of the season.

A creative midfield player is a must and it’s likely we need a couple of strikers with Nisbet more than likely to be away whilst we don’t know what will happen with Myko.

That is before you really think about the players that we need to move on. The likes of Henderson and McKirdy which will open up space In the squad. I can’t see the loan players (Doidge, Kenneh, McKay and Melkersen) coming back and making an impact either (they haven’t really at their loan clubs) so we’ll have work to do there.

It’s another summer of change as far as the squad goes IMO.

12-05-2023, 11:14 PM
I’d have liked us to take a look at young Charlie Reilly from Albion Rovers. Believe he’s signed for Dundee though

12-05-2023, 11:15 PM
I don’t think signing up to 10 players is terribly unlikely.

We aren’t going to go in to next season with just Marshall and Johnson IMO. I think Johnson will be loaned and we will sign a goalie.

We need to sign two centre halves, whether Fish is one of them I don’t know but we need to sign two.

Lewis has been good recently but with him signing I can see Cabraja moving on which would see a LB signed IMO. We haven’t been strong in that position over the course of the season.

A creative midfield player is a must and it’s likely we need a couple of strikers with Nisbet more than likely to be away whilst we don’t know what will happen with Myko.

That is before you really think about the players that we need to move on. The likes of Henderson and McKirdy which will open up space In the squad. I can’t see the loan players (Doidge, Kenneh, McKay and Melkersen) coming back and making an impact either (they haven’t really at their loan clubs) so we’ll have work to do there.

It’s another summer of change as far as the squad goes IMO.

I think Johnson will be number 2.

13-05-2023, 07:08 AM
I’d have liked us to take a look at young Charlie Reilly from Albion Rovers. Believe he’s signed for Dundee though

Joe Bevan has all the tools to be a right good player big, strong and rapid and can finish. Albion Rovers signed him from Camelon where I know Dundee UTD were looking at him and he had trials at Clyde before he went to AR.

13-05-2023, 07:31 AM
The 2 key positions is centre half and striker. I'm sure there were hints of Hanlon potentially retiring if that happens we will need at least 2. I don't think our options in midfield are as bad as some make out. Maybe need something different

13-05-2023, 08:03 AM
The 2 key positions is centre half and striker. I'm sure there were hints of Hanlon potentially retiring if that happens we will need at least 2. I don't think our options in midfield are as bad as some make out. Maybe need something different

Where were there hints of Hanlon potentially retiring? I've seen people on here a few times say he's past it when he's not been playing well only for him to then prove them wrong. I'd have thought he'd have another couple of seasons in him, not necessarily as a starter.

13-05-2023, 08:16 AM

It's the lack of creativity or goal involvement from midfield that worries me

Campbell has chipped in with 8 goals but 5 of them were vs Aberdeen. Although I'm hoping he'll rediscover form next season and get double digits

13-05-2023, 08:26 AM

Hanlon retiring??

13-05-2023, 08:28 AM
It's the lack of creativity or goal involvement from midfield that worries me

Campbell has chipped in with 8 goals but 5 of them were vs Aberdeen. Although I'm hoping he'll rediscover form next season and get double digits

Remember we’ll have Magennis back next season.

Steven79
13-05-2023, 08:36 AM
Remember we’ll have Magennis back next season.For how many games before he gets injured again?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

13-05-2023, 09:10 AM
Assuming all the loan players leave but drawing on the development squad, next year looks like

GK - Marshall, Johnson

RB - Cadden, Miller
CB - Hanlon, Bushieri, McLelland
LB - Stevenson, Cabraja

DM - Jeggo, Kennah/Delferriere
CM - Newell, Campbell, Doyle-Hayes, Magennis, Henderson

RW - Boyle, Tavares
CF - Nisbet, Doidge, Melkerson, McKirdy
LW - Youann, Mackay

In - reserve keeper, competition at CH, creative midfielder, another midfielder, another winger, striker (two when Nisbet is sold)
Loan - Johnson, MacIntyre, Delferriere
Out - Doyle-Hayes, Henderson, Doidge, McKirdy.

So I see us needing 6-7 new players before looking to upgrade existing players. I've no problem using a young player for depth (eg McLelland).

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2023, 09:19 AM

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2023, 09:21 AM
Need a starting goalie, starting centre half, starting centre mid x 2 and a striker imo.

Getting Youan signed up has been a good start.

random sub
13-05-2023, 09:25 AM
How has Kenneh been getting on at County?

13-05-2023, 09:49 AM
How has Kenneh been getting on at County?

I watched him against hearts, and he looked like a little boy lost, although to be fair they all did.

13-05-2023, 10:01 AM
Need a starting goalie, starting centre half, starting centre mid x 2 and a striker imo.

Getting Youan signed up has been a good start.

Think we need two starting full backs if Egan-Riley isn't staying.

13-05-2023, 10:18 AM
Would be a good move for laidlaw to Watford to be fair

13-05-2023, 10:23 AM
Would be a good move for laidlaw to Watford to be fair

Will get nowhere near the first team, not sure that's good for a lad his age.

13-05-2023, 10:52 AM

Same as here but with, presumably, better wages in that case.

13-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Same as here but with, presumably, better wages in that case.

He's more likely to get game time at us than Watford.

13-05-2023, 01:58 PM

Arguably none of our younger players are getting into our first team on any significant basis and with the boss regularly talking about incomers and talking up loan players from big clubs, you might as well get paid more for doing nothing and perhaps get a loan out League One down there.

13-05-2023, 02:14 PM

Don't hold your breath for that one

Cat Stanton
13-05-2023, 04:05 PM
Should go for McGrath purely for the penalties....

13-05-2023, 04:11 PM
Should go for McGrath purely for the penalties....

We need someone, we dont get that many and the ones we get have to count, not be ****in missed.

Bridge hibs
13-05-2023, 04:12 PM
We need someone, we dont get that many and the ones we get have to count, not be ****in missed.

Boyle ?

JamesHFC
13-05-2023, 04:12 PM

I know Campbell was off the pitch when it was taken but if he's on then he should continue to take them.

13-05-2023, 04:13 PM

The best players in the world miss penalties sometimes, it happens.

There isn’t a signing in the world that would guarantee us not to miss any.

hhibs
13-05-2023, 04:15 PM
I know Campbell was off the pitch when it was taken but if he's on then he should continue to take them.

Not that he will be here long but Nisbet should not take any penalty,particularily when it matters.

13-05-2023, 04:17 PM
Not that he will be here long but Nisbet should not take any penalty,particularily when it matters.

Have to agree it is more a mental thing and he dont do it when it matters.