View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51]

01-09-2023, 10:13 PM
That was under a different regime, no idea what we’ve been offering since then

Doesn't make any commercial sense to do anything different

01-09-2023, 10:19 PM
Aberdeen have went full Hibs this evening.

Announced their new signing with a photo of the wrong player.

They clearly went on the other teams page and photo edited the wrong players face on to him who was also departing 🤣🤣🤣

01-09-2023, 10:21 PM

They clearly went on the other teams page and photo edited the wrong players face on to him who was also departing 🤣🤣🤣

Brilliant :wink:

01-09-2023, 10:27 PM
Is this the worst transfer deadline day in Scotland since these windows began?

Maybe a sign of things to come which wouldn’t be a bad thing but takes away a bit of excitement.

Silky
01-09-2023, 10:30 PM
Staggering inside knowledge.

Source?

01-09-2023, 10:45 PM
Lads, I’m beginning to think that maybe we’re not going to be signing anyone. Just a feeling.

01-09-2023, 10:51 PM
Lads, I’m beginning to think that maybe we’re not going to be signing anyone. Just a feeling.All will be revealed!

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

01-09-2023, 10:59 PM
All will be revealed!

Within the next two minutes? :-)

01-09-2023, 11:05 PM
Absolutely gutted with that tonight.

We sold out or as good as every away tie in Europe, backed the team with great home attendances as well. Were all over social media last night with everyone saying how great our fans are and we couldn't even repay that with a signing tonight to strengthen a weak squad?

Over a million banked apparently. We were also told we'd make two signings after the Swiss game. **** all.

Piss poor.

01-09-2023, 11:10 PM

We sold out or as good as every away tie in Europe, backed the team with great home attendances as well. Were all over social media last night with everyone saying how great our fans are and we couldn't even repay that with a signing tonight to strengthen a weak squad?

Over a million banked apparently. We were also told we'd make two signings after the Swiss game. **** all.

Piss poor.

Gobsmacked we’re happy to go with what we’ve got til January. 3 games in and already feels like it’s going to be another poor season

01-09-2023, 11:11 PM
Really awful. I suspect we’ll need a massive January window to save our season.

01-09-2023, 11:17 PM
I wonder if we didn't want to sign anyone or the ones we did want to sign didn't want to until we had a manger

01-09-2023, 11:18 PM
I am not as fussed as others. We were never expecting more than one or two and we have already signed 9 players.

We are a club that is very much in transition with no new manager which hardly makes us attractive for players who know they might be out of favour within weeks.

We do have to fund LJ and co departure and new guy coming in and he will need room to recruit in January.

We can also get players out of contract from now so not completely done.

Donegal Hibby
01-09-2023, 11:19 PM

Piss poor.

Not having a go J but while I do agree we did need strengthen . If we were told of two signings after the Swiss game we had a manager then and now we don't . I will take your word for it we have a million in the bank though should we have gone out and spent it on players that the new manager might not want ?

01-09-2023, 11:20 PM
Free Transfer market it is then as we wont not get further injuries to players and it’s clear we lack cover in certain areas

01-09-2023, 11:24 PM
Not having a go J but while I do agree we did need strengthen . If we were told of two signings after the Swiss game we had a manager then and now we don't . I will take your word for it we have a million in the bank though should we have gone out and spent it on players that the new manager might not want ?

What's the point in hiring a DoF then? We were all were desperate for one, myself included. Isn't his remit to identify and sign players that suit the vision of the club?

It's documented that we received 750,000 Euros by exiting the competition when we did. Add in ticket sales etc then it'll be over £1 mil.

01-09-2023, 11:31 PM
What's the point in hiring a DoF then? We were all were desperate for one, myself included. Isn't his remit to identify and sign players that suit the vision of the club?

It's documented that we received 750,000 Euros by exiting the competition when we did. Add in ticket sales etc then it'll be over £1 mil.

It is, but ultimately a player might not want to sign if there’s no manager all the same. I guess we don’t know if we were active in the market today or not.

Also it depends how much of that money we’d already factored into our budget for the year, I can imagine we’d assumed we’d get through the first round for example. I’m sure it’s been suggested previously that we base our rough budget on getting to the quarters of the league and Scottish cups, so wouldn’t be a shock if we’d done something similar with the Conference qualifiers.

01-09-2023, 11:33 PM
They’ll get their first win on Sunday

Dons are pish. We were a “cycle” ahead of them and the jumbos with LJ supposedly being the right man in charge (glad he’s gone) unfortunately blew that chance.

01-09-2023, 11:38 PM
It is, but ultimately a player might not want to sign if there’s no manager all the same. I guess we don’t know if we were active in the market today or not.

Also it depends how much of that money we’d already factored into our budget for the year, I can imagine we’d assumed we’d get through the first round for example. I’m sure it’s been suggested previously that we base our rough budget on getting to the quarters of the league and Scottish cups, so wouldn’t be a shock if we’d done something similar with the Conference qualifiers.

Aye, agree, not having a manager in place will have been an issue.

I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have realistically budgeted to have made £1mil+ from the conference league. If we have, then that's a worry. When's the last time a Scottish team (not the old firm) made it through three rounds of qualifiers to make the group stages? Add the money from Villa into the mix.

Hibs1992
01-09-2023, 11:38 PM
Hard to see anything other than mediocrity or worse this season regardless of who the new manager is.

Failure to address the full back positions and central midfield is very concerning. Stuck with Marshall in goals for the foreseeable future. We are going to continue to leak goals every week

01-09-2023, 11:42 PM

I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have realistically budgeted to have made £1mil+ from the conference league. If we have, then that's a worry. When's the last time a Scottish team (not the old firm) made it through three rounds of qualifiers to make the group stages? Add the money from Villa into the mix.

I’d doubt / hope we didn’t budget for the group, but presumably did budget we’d get past the first hurdle. So might mean up to the Lucerne game was expected, Aston Villa was a bonus etc.

02-09-2023, 12:00 AM
Ach well, it is what it is. Still free agents out there so we may not be entirely done yet, but the vast majority will be free agents for a reason.

In all of this one thing still baffles me. We have spent £700,000 on Vente, which is a huge sum of money for this club. He isn't an untried youngster like Melkersen was, he has a super scoring record at a reasonable level for a team that wasn't exactly over performing, certainly a level with defences no worse than the lower half of the Scottish premiership I would imagine.
He didn't come with an injury or any physical issues that I'm aware of. When you sign a player like that for the amount of money we have you would think he would be a sure fire stick on first name on the team sheet player and yet so far he has hardly played a full 90 minutes for us.

Basically ...... WTF is up with that? :confused:

Donegal Hibby
02-09-2023, 12:31 AM

I wanted a DoF too btw . I would have thought the DoF was there to identify players the manager wanted in certain positions in our team with certain qualities . Our manager's gone now and maybe what players he wanted aren't what our new manager would want which is the reason for us not doing any business ! Only guessing on this btw mate 👍

Musselbound
02-09-2023, 12:51 AM
I am not as fussed as others. We were never expecting more than one or two and we have already signed 9 players.

We are a club that is very much in transition with no new manager which hardly makes us attractive for players who know they might be out of favour within weeks.

We do have to fund LJ and co departure and new guy coming in and he will need room to recruit in January.

We can also get players out of contract from now so not completely done.

Agree with that. Terrible timing in terms of sacking the manager.

Chorley Hibee
02-09-2023, 01:27 AM
Sorry, but anyone still under the illusion that this squad is good enough to fight for third place is kidding themselves.

An absolute disgrace that the squad hasn't been strengthened, in any sense, this past week.

Another season looking likely to be consigned to the bin, and we're only just into September.

Strap yourself in, because the next few weeks and months aren't going to be pretty.

02-09-2023, 01:30 AM
Sorry, but anyone still under the illusion that this squad is good enough to fight for third place is kidding themselves.

An absolute disgrace that the squad hasn't been strengthened, in any sense, this past week.

Another season looking likely to be consigned to the bin, and we're only just into September.

Strap yourself in, because the next few weeks and months aren't going to be pretty.

Yep. The new manager is on a hiding to nothing. I suspect the current state of the squad will put prospective managers off.

02-09-2023, 01:30 AM
Spanish side Getafe sign Mason Greenwood on season-long loan, paying a small portion of his salary

"The club will continue to offer its support to Mason and his family during this period of transition."

02-09-2023, 02:12 AM
Spanish side Getafe sign Mason Greenwood on season-long loan, paying a small portion of his salary

"The club will continue to offer its support to Mason and his family during this period of transition."

Not a great couple weeks for the image of Spanish football. This is a guy apparently the Saudis wouldn't even touch...

02-09-2023, 04:15 AM

Begs the question, would it have been better just to keep LJ, use the ££££ we'll have saved on severance and strengthened the squad for the year ahead ? We'll never know. All we'll see is what a new manager can do with the threadbare squad we have.

IMO pressure on Hibs Board to get their top candidate over the line has just gone up. Any briefings or noises about SDG becoming lead candidate will confirm failure.

02-09-2023, 05:15 AM
Really didnt expect anyone espacially with no manager.
We have a decent squad and should be concentrating on how to get the the best out of everyone.I include all staff.

02-09-2023, 06:10 AM

Mate we don't have a manager - would you want to sign for a club not knowing who u are going to be playing under in 2 weeks time coz I know I wouldn't?? This is what happens sadly we all wanted LJ sacked but it's left us in a bit of a mess till Jan - just hope the youngsters can meet the task as we are gonna need to use them between now and then and the new manager can get a tune out the existing squad till Jan

02-09-2023, 06:20 AM
Begs the question, would it have been better just to keep LJ, use the ££££ we'll have saved on severance and strengthened the squad for the year ahead ? We'll never know. All we'll see is what a new manager can do with the threadbare squad we have.

IMO pressure on Hibs Board to get their top candidate over the line has just gone up. Any briefings or noises about SDG becoming lead candidate will confirm failure.

Nah Johnson was done. Absolutely the right decision to get him out the club.

02-09-2023, 06:26 AM

You have mentioned the money thing from Europe a couple of times now, the club don't get that until the end of the season so it may well be we have no money left for players after spending almost £2m on players already

Bridge hibs
02-09-2023, 06:29 AM
Is Murray Johnson staying at hibs and not returning to QOS as I see they have signed goalkeeper Harry Stone from hearts

02-09-2023, 06:34 AM
Is Murray Johnson staying at hibs and not returning to QOS as I see they have signed goalkeeper Harry Stone from hearts

I'm hoping so mate- and if so get him in as No1 and see how he gets on - he couldn't possibly be any worse than Marshall just now

Bridge hibs
02-09-2023, 06:45 AM
I'm hoping so mate- and if so get him in as No1 and see how he gets on - he couldn't possibly be any worse than Marshall just nowAgree mate, not too sure of his situation but it would make sense particularly as he is so highly rated

We are also unsure how long Wolocott is going to be out for but I think it will be most likely Johnson back to QOS with Marshall (dread🫣) no1 with Boruc back up

Manager, Marvin Bartley said “With Gordon suspended and Murray being recalled by Hibs we needed to bring in a keeper. Harry has been tipped for a big future in the game, so we are pleased to have got a deal sorted and thank Hearts for making it happen.”

Harry himself added “it’s been a bit of a quick turnaround, but I’m delighted to be joining Queens and I’m looking forward to the opportunities. It’s another step up for me and a chance to continue my career development.”

02-09-2023, 07:33 AM
Any decent players had their contracts ended last night?

Josh McPake 22 year old left winger,was highly thought of a few years ago but don't think he's kicked on. Maybe no better than Dan MacKay?

02-09-2023, 07:40 AM

Josh McPake 22 year old left winger,was highly thought of a few years ago but don't think he's kicked on. Maybe no better than Dan MacKay?

He had his chance with us, he won’t get another.

02-09-2023, 07:50 AM
If the result of nobody coming in yesterday is we start to see Molotnikov, Mcallister and the rest getting game time I can live with that.

02-09-2023, 07:58 AM

I think he just fell short of being able to force his way into their first team squad.

I used to quite like this sort of player (young player, not quite able to force their way into a strong Rangers / Celtic squad) but the fact that Ewan Henderson came to us fairly highly rated from Celtic and has made so little impact has chastened me a wee bit.

This conversation (re out of contract players)is a regular Hibs September staple and it’s a disgrace tbh - just re-emphasises that we haven’t got the necessary business done and only ever leads to, at best, the arrival of a Valdas Trakys.

Hibs are a shambles.

02-09-2023, 08:01 AM
I think he just fell short of being able to force his way into their first team squad.

I used to quite like this sort of player (young player, not quite able to force their way into a strong Rangers / Celtic squad) but the fact that Ewan Henderson came to us fairly highly rated from Celtic and has made so little impact has chastened me a wee bit.

This conversation (re out of contract players)is a regular Hibs September staple and it’s a disgrace tbh - just re-emphasises that we haven’t got the necessary business done and only ever leads to, at best, the arrival of a Valdas Trakys.

Hibs are a shambles.
Nothing a decent manager won't sort out.

We just need to appoint one........

02-09-2023, 08:08 AM
If the result of nobody coming in yesterday is we start to see Molotnikov, Mcallister and the rest getting game time I can live with that.

It’s a really good point.

I love a last minute signing more than most but if we want to bring young players through, at some point we need to stop just bringing players in and give them a go.

02-09-2023, 08:10 AM
It’s a really good point.

I love a last minute signing more than most but if we want to bring young players through, at some point we need to stop just bringing players in and give them a go.

It always brings the supporters closer to the team when you have a couple of our own breaking through.

02-09-2023, 08:11 AM

Agree we can’t keep saying we have decent youngsters without giving them that opportunity though of course they need to be ready also

Up-the-slope
02-09-2023, 08:16 AM
Deadline day a bit of a damp squib... im not criticising club in that, its more a reflection of the ever increasing bonkers spending on fairly average in world terms players by EPL and its filtering down effect to other leagues... and as we are in the same island it affects us probably more than similar leagues in other euro countries.

Even loans are affected due to limit on 'overseas' limits on clubs on how many and where they can send them to.

hopefully the medium / long term effect will be we concentrate more on academy type players and develop them - It would need a change of supporter attitude in allowing younger players to come in and not be finished article / make mistakes. (look at Fish .. 21 and the flack as he has had after a run of mistakes - even although we have seen him play really well.) Its no surprise to me they way Doig developed so quickly as it was in a season with almost no fans so mistakes were not slaughtered in the same way.

We do also need a total rethink in Scotland of the pathway to 1rst team as the current development set up is not working & the lack of reserve league means players in squad are often miles off match sharpness and so when called on off the bench don't perform / get pelters and the cycle repeats (the 5 sub rule has helped to some extent get more players on the pitch).....

sorry probably taken transfer thread off topic a bit....:hide:

02-09-2023, 08:20 AM
This is as low an ebb as Hibs have had since the dark days of Butcher

Other than Levitt, Youan & maybe Vente all of whom it remains to be seen can play at a higher level we have sold the family silver and are left with very little saleable assets

I have my doubts Boyle will be able to return to form or robustness of past so have excluded him

The only saving grace is we have 20 players out of contract over the next 2 seasons all of whom should be moved on

We had better hope that McDermott is the John Park of mature player signings or it’s going to be hard going for a few years regardless of who our new manager is

Maybe we will be forced to play our youths and they will step up to the plate

Would be great to see some of them breaking through

Saint Hibee
02-09-2023, 08:25 AM
I love the BBC transfer round up: “Southampton have signed striker Ross Stewart from Championship rivals Southampton.”

02-09-2023, 08:33 AM
This is as low an ebb as Hibs have had since the dark days of Butcher

Other than Levitt, Youan & maybe Vente all of whom it remains to be seen can play at a higher level we have sold the family silver and are left with very little saleable assets

I have my doubts Boyle will be able to return to form or robustness of past so have excluded him

The only saving grace is we have 20 players out of contract over the next 2 seasons all of whom should be moved on

We had better hope that McDermott is the John Park of mature player signings or it’s going to be hard going for a few years regardless of who our new manager is

Maybe we will be forced to play our youths and they will step up to the plate

Would be great to see some of them breaking through

It really isn't as low as Butcher nowhere near. Cheer up.

02-09-2023, 08:35 AM

It’s not, but it has the potential to be.

A few injuries, or if we don’t win one of our next few games and we could find ourselves in a Butcheresque rut, the type which is very difficult to claw yourself out of.

02-09-2023, 08:36 AM
It’s not, but it has the potential to be.

A few injuries, or if we don’t win one of our next few games and we could find ourselves in a Butcheresque rut, the type which is very difficult to claw yourself out of.

Don't see that happening however always a chance

02-09-2023, 08:38 AM

I think a new manager really needs a few new players for me to be anything like confident we’ll be where we want to be this season (challenging for 3rd).

Your point about the youngsters was a fair one and I did like Molotnikov’s cameo the other night. If we’re going to go with them though, I think we need to be patient, and adjust our expectations accordingly.

02-09-2023, 08:43 AM
I think a new manager really needs a few new players for me to be anything like confident we’ll be where we want to be this season (challenging for 3rd).

Your point about the youngsters was a fair one and I did like Molotnikov’s cameo the other night. If we’re going to go with them though, I think we need to be patient, and adjust our expectations accordingly.

It’s worth remembering it’s only until January.

Clearly we can’t continue losing every game but if the new manager can come in and steady the ship, get more out the current players and assess the squad over a few months we should, in theory be able to build on that for the second half of the season.

This squad was good enough for 5th last season and we’ve only really lost Nisbet and CJ Egan Riley. For me we should have enough to stay within touching distance of where we want to be until we can bring in replacements in January.

02-09-2023, 08:50 AM

Not saying it is but it is definitely a low point squad wise since IMO

I am staggered by folk who think we have a good squad

We have so many plodders at the same level it’s scary

In many ways it would be better to have a really strong first 11 and little behind

It would make the managers job easier

Instead we by and large have a pastiche of 20 odd players all similarly meh with at best 3 or 4 outliers

02-09-2023, 08:52 AM
You have mentioned the money thing from Europe a couple of times now, the club don't get that until the end of the season so it may well be we have no money left for players after spending almost £2m on players already

They absolutely know the money is coming in though, so spend it in the transfer window when we desperately need players. Not as if Uefa aren't going to pay out.

We also have the money from gate receipts, club store sales, kiosk sales, TV money etc already. It's the €750,000 we don't have.

02-09-2023, 08:54 AM
Mate we don't have a manager - would you want to sign for a club not knowing who u are going to be playing under in 2 weeks time coz I know I wouldn't?? This is what happens sadly we all wanted LJ sacked but it's left us in a bit of a mess till Jan - just hope the youngsters can meet the task as we are gonna need to use them between now and then and the new manager can get a tune out the existing squad till Jan

I absolutely agree that it's much harder to sign a player without a manager. But that's surely up to McDermott and others to convince players.

By the sounds of it they didn't really try yesterday, other than Oxford Utds third choice keeper. Every journalist was saying by about 4pm that we wouldn't be making any signings. Just pissed off with it.

bordergreen
02-09-2023, 08:57 AM
It always brings the supporters closer to the team when you have a couple of our own breaking through.

We are where we are, so if we have one of those two (Molotnikov & McAllister) in the midfield with Newell and Jeggo, it may work. I like the look of both of them.

Time for everyone to get behind the new manager, whoever that may be. As others have said, a new manager should be able to get a lot better out of the squad than Johnson did.

Bring on the Sheep!

02-09-2023, 08:58 AM
Not saying it is but it is definitely a low point squad wise since IMO

I am staggered by folk who think we have a good squad

We have so many plodders at the same level it’s scary

In many ways it would be better to have a really strong first 11 and little behind

It would make the managers job easier

Instead we by and large have a pastiche of 20 odd players all similarly meh with at best 3 or 4 outliers

I’d say we do have close to a strong first XI, with the odd notable weakness.

It’s the depth that worries me - an injury to Newell and our midfield is horrific. We’re equally reliant on Boyle and Youan being moulded into an effective side and staying fit, if either of them got injured then we’re in trouble.

The youngsters might be up to deputising but they might not.

Don’t get me started on the GK.

02-09-2023, 09:00 AM
He had his chance with us, he won’t get another.

When was he with hibs previously?

02-09-2023, 09:02 AM

It’s the depth that worries me - an injury to Newell and our midfield is horrific. We’re equally reliant on Boyle and Youan being moulded into an effective side and staying fit, if either of them got injured then we’re in trouble.

IMO

First 11 Goalkeeper is dreadful.
First 11 defence is dreadful.
Newell can be brilliant, is more often rubbish (as is youan).
Would not say any other midfielder is a ‘first 11’ hibs player.

We have enough forward talent.

02-09-2023, 09:03 AM
IMO

Newell isn't more often rubbish

02-09-2023, 09:05 AM

Yeah, I’d borderline give you that…. That leaves us about 7/8 first 11 short then?

02-09-2023, 09:09 AM
IMO

I reckon a new manager has a chance of doing something with the defence. Stevenson, Hanlon and Fish formed 3/4 of a decent defence last season. Miller is hot and cold but good on his day and I expect Harbottle to be decent in his best position. Johnson obviously neglected getting an adequate defence out, I suspect the right man coming in could get a tune out of these players. Apart from Marshall selling the jerseys we defended very well the other night, a stark contrast to our recent efforts.

02-09-2023, 09:10 AM

Our squad ‘depth’ is laughable. That midfield is not yet any kind of improvement on last year, though Levitt may change that to some degree if he can stay injury free and step up. We were good enough for 5th last year but a) 5th isn’t good enough, we should be challenging for 3rd or 4th and b) others do look stronger/better eg St Mirren.

But this is the ludicrous state those in charge at the club have brought us to: we’re having to comfort ourselves with ‘we might be good enough for 5th if we can avoid injuries’. That’s desperate.

02-09-2023, 09:11 AM
I reckon a new manager has a chance of doing something with the defence. Stevenson, Hanlon and Fish formed 3/4 of a decent defence last season. Miller is hot and cold but good on his day and I expect Harbottle to be decent in his best position. Johnson obviously neglected getting an adequate defence out, I suspect the right man coming in could get a tune out of these players. Apart from Marshall selling the jerseys we defended very well the other night, a stark contrast to our recent efforts.

I really hope so! 💚

02-09-2023, 09:11 AM

He’s added more consistency the last season or so, and our best midfielder as it stands. He’s had some excellent performances this season (Luzern) however he’s also been as ineffective/quiet/poor as everyone else in the 3 league games so far. Time for him to take his consistency and remain at that that level individually even when the rest of the team is struggling, of which I think is still a valid criticism of Newell IMO.

02-09-2023, 09:15 AM
We are where we are, so if we have one of those two (Molotnikov & McAllister) in the midfield with Newell and Jeggo, it may work. I like the look of both of them.

Time for everyone to get behind the new manager, whoever that may be. As others have said, a new manager should be able to get a lot better out of the squad than Johnson did.

Bring on the Sheep!

Levitt will be back soon enough as well

02-09-2023, 09:19 AM

Rudi looks a bit of a unit and tbh what’s to lose. I know things have gone awry but hopefully we can see the younger players integrated a bit more this season

02-09-2023, 09:20 AM
Given the timing of the recent managerial departure I wasn’t expecting anything further for this window.

When we sack the next one, ideally we should be looking to do so in between windows.

02-09-2023, 09:31 AM

Was on our books a good few years ago before deciding to move to the Huns.

02-09-2023, 09:35 AM

Joined Rangers from Hibs.

02-09-2023, 09:38 AM

Full Hibs?

02-09-2023, 09:39 AM
Was on our books a good few years ago before deciding to move to the Huns.

Ahh, genuinely never heard of him, everyday is definitely a school day!

Trinity Hibee
02-09-2023, 09:49 AM
See Matty Longstaff is a free agent as is Juan Mata

02-09-2023, 09:52 AM
IMO

Jeez you're cheery.

02-09-2023, 09:58 AM
Yes, there are areas in the team which could do with strengthening, but this is Hibs: that will always be the case.

We have spent £700k on Vente, spent plenty to get Youan on perm, added Levitt, Boruc, Obita, ALF, Wollacot and Harbottle and got Fish back on loan.

If we had done all that yesterday, people would be beyond themselves with excitement. (Creaming themselves, I believe is the vernacular 😃).

Yet here we are with people thinking we're relegation fodder and it's the worst transfer window ever.

And yet people always criticise Hibs for not getting their business done early!

MagicSwirlingShip
02-09-2023, 10:00 AM
The signings we’ve made I’ve been more than happy with. Just a shame we couldn’t make a few more.

A good manager will get much more from these players, add in a sprinkle of the youngsters coming through and I hope we can improve.

It’s essential we get the manager appointment correct this time

Up-the-slope
02-09-2023, 10:04 AM
Yes, there are areas in the team which could do with strengthening, but this is Hibs: that will always be the case.

We have spent £700k on Vente, spent plenty to get Youan on perm, added Levitt, Boruc, Obita, ALF, Wollacot and Harbottle and got Fish back on loan.

If we had done all that yesterday, people would be beyond themselves with excitement. (Creaming themselves, I believe is the vernacular 😃).

Yet here we are with people thinking we're relegation fodder and it's the worst transfer window ever.

:rules: don't start being balanced and backing things up with facts... you will spoil the doom merchants .... Doom :greengrin

Seafield Scott
02-09-2023, 10:05 AM
Personally I would have prevailed with Lee for longer - we're too quick to get rid of managers - look at Heckingbottom since he left us !! However, the decision has been made and so we move on...

I would go after Steven Schumacher at Plymouth Argyle.

Chances we would get him may be very slim but he's the type we should be after. Can work wonders with a limited budget and develops young talent.

Argyle have a similar budget to us, crowds similar and he managed to lead them to promotion to the English Championship. Be under no illusion - for Argyle to have a successful season this year will simply be to remain in the league. I would expect them to be be fighting off relegation next May but they've had a reasonable start so far - 2 matches where they lost extratime goals against Southampton & Birmingham would have had them firmly near the top end of the league and not mid-table just now.

Would help if I had posted it in the other thread right enough !! Doh !

Despite our Scottish perceptions/prejudices of English football, and the money surrounding it, Argyle only get £7m from TV being in the Championship. That'll take their Turnover to approx £19m-£20m this season which isn't astronomically higher than ours. Their model is typically to pick up freebies, very low fees (signed Connor Hazard from Celtic for £150k and is playing really well atm) and loans but pay them the division going rate for salaries. With this season's challenge they stretched their playing budget and bought 2 very successful loanees from last season each for £1m (Mumba & Whittaker) and have signed 5 loanees.

We should keep an eye on him for after we sack the next guy come the end of this season !!

02-09-2023, 10:07 AM
I know it almost never happens where we sign free agents.

However had a quick scan and these were the most likely ones I could see

Jed Steer - Keeper

Jack Fitzwater - Centre back

Steven Caulker - Centre back (friends with McDermott)

Jack Simpson - Centre back

George Cox - Left back

Sean Goss - Centre mid

Matty Longstaff - Centre mid

Luke Amos - Centre mid

Luke Freeman - Centre Mid

Charly Musonda - Winger

Josh Martin - Winger

Never heard of the boy Cox but a quick look and he seems an interesting option.

Like I say though doubt we’ll see anyone in whatsoever

02-09-2023, 10:13 AM
Support fully that we didn’t sign anyone without a manager in place.

Most of these signings are completely unproven at our level and quality wise don’t replace the internationals we have lost.

If Boyle can get back on it his return will help massively.

That and our European run begs the question as to where the monies have gone as Nisbets fee alone should have all but paid for all 3 marquee signings and those that have left from previous season whether on loan or permanently should have at worst cancelled out other new signings

I don’t see the squad as being stronger in any way than last seasons which in itself wasn’t great, particularly as 3 of our next best group of players are showing age is catching up with them and Fish has been terrible.

Time will tell as to how we do but we had better hope new manager gets us organised and fit and can determine his starting 11 quickly

02-09-2023, 10:20 AM
Alex Iwobi - Everton to Fulham £22 million. WTF

02-09-2023, 10:22 AM
We've had an exciting few days, Villa then sacking LJ then Villa again. I really think some folk are forgetting the weakness that this team has when they say we have a squad that can compete for 3rd.

We have an awful keeper, an injured keeper and 2 kids who've played no first team football at Hibs bar Boruc's sub appearances against the Andorran team and St Mirren when Marshall went off.

A back 4 who cant defend whichever permutation we put out, and a midfield we've been harping on about for years being not good enough. Levitt is injured, so is Obita again, so it's back to the players that have been poor for too long again.

Granted up front we look as if we can score goals, but how many will they have to score with that midfield and defence leaking goals for us to win?

It's been a bad transfer window in anyones book.:rolleyes:

02-09-2023, 10:27 AM
Jeez you're cheery.

It’s a true reflection as far as I see it.

I would absolutely love a manager to come in and work wonders with the squad but as it stands, this is where I think we’re at.

02-09-2023, 10:28 AM
I know it almost never happens where we sign free agents.

However had a quick scan and these were the most likely ones I could see

Jed Steer - Keeper

Jack Fitzwater - Centre back

Steven Caulker - Centre back (friends with McDermott)

Jack Simpson - Centre back

George Cox - Left back

Sean Goss - Centre mid

Matty Longstaff - Centre mid

Luke Amos - Centre mid

Luke Freeman - Centre Mid

Charly Musonda - Winger

Josh Martin - Winger

Never heard of the boy Cox but a quick look and he seems an interesting option.

Like I say though doubt we’ll see anyone in whatsoever

Matty Longstaff is a funny one, thought he'd be some singing for Aberdeen after seeing him and his brother in the same midfield for Newcastle beating Man Utd. He bombed at Aberdeen and doesn't look like he's had a startling career since.

02-09-2023, 10:31 AM
We've had an exciting few days, Villa then sacking LJ then Villa again. I really think some folk are forgetting the weakness that this team has when they say we have a squad that can compete for 3rd.

We have an awful keeper, an injured keeper and 2 kids who've played no first team football at Hibs bar Boruc's sub appearances against the Andorran team and St Mirren when Marshall went off.

A back 4 who cant defend whichever permutation we put out, and a midfield we've been harping on about for years being not good enough. Levitt is injured, so is Obita again, so it's back to the players that have been poor for too long again.

Granted up front we look as if we can score goals, but how many will they have to score with that midfield and defence leaking goals for us to win?

Wollacot, Obita and Levitt's injuries don't count as bad marks towards our transfer window. We can't just keep recruiting when we get injuries, even if the window is still open.

Could the window have been better? Of course it could, when has that not been the case, but in many respects it's been very good.

Dinny you be an even bigger mood hoover than you usually are! :greengrin

02-09-2023, 10:34 AM
I'd expect one of the 1st questions the managerial candidates will be asking is if they'd be able to bring in 2 or 3 free agents so I'm guessing that's why we've not signed any more players.

Giving the new manager a bit of a budget now should help us get our 1st choice (or 2nd if you believe Arnold spoke the 100% truth).

02-09-2023, 10:39 AM
Obita and Levitt's injuries don't count as bad marks towards our transfer window.

Could the window have been better? Of course it could, when has that not been the case, but in many respects it's been very good.

Dinny you be an even bigger mood hoover than you usually are! :greengrin

:greengrin We currently dont have another left back than Stevenson, LJ stated Obita is a wide player not a left back. Hanlon and Fish slow, cant defend crosses and out muscled by players every week now.

And THAT midfield.

Obviously the new man will bring his own ideas, but whatever they are, can you honestly say you can see those players mentioned improve, get stronger and change what they have been doing for a long time?

We needed players, better players in those positions we all can see, but no, we have to go again with those we know are finished or not good enough now to be starting for us.

02-09-2023, 10:41 AM
I'd expect one of the 1st questions the managerial candidates will be asking is if they'd be able to bring in 2 or 3 free agents so I'm guessing that's why we've not signed any more players.

Giving the new manager a bit of a budget now should help us get our 1st choice (or 2nd if you believe Arnold spoke the 100% truth).

With a new manager maybe not in situè for a couple of weeks we would be taking a huge gamble that there will be any free agents available or any that the manager would even fancy.

02-09-2023, 10:49 AM
With a new manager maybe not in situè for a couple of weeks we would be taking a huge gamble that there will be any free agents available or any that the manager would even fancy.

Yes but is that a bigger gamble than bringing in 2 or 3 players they might not want and then telling all the candidates they can't bring in anyone at all just now? That might put off someone. If I were a candidate I'd prefer to pick 2 or 3 myself, even if it is from a limited choice. Just take them until Jan.

Raises another question in itself, when are the club expecting to make an appointment?

Most of these signings are completely unproven at our level and quality wise don’t replace the internationals we have lost.

That and our European run begs the question as to where the monies have gone as Nisbets fee alone should have all but paid for all 3 marquee signings and those that have left from previous season whether on loan or permanently should have at worst cancelled out other new signings

I don’t see the squad as being stronger in any way than last seasons which in itself wasn’t great, particularly as 3 of our next best group of players are showing age is catching up with them and Fish has been terrible.

Time will tell as to how we do but we had better hope new manager gets us organised and fit and can determine his starting 11 quickly

I think the fact we never signed anyone once Johnson had left will help with us with getting a manager in.

Everyone knows about our recruitment of late and I imagine one of the first question a candidate would ask is “who makes the signings?”

If we signed anyone after Johnson it would only emphasise that point and eat into our money for a player that potentially isn’t wanted.

02-09-2023, 10:52 AM
Raises another question in itself, when are the club expecting to make an appointment?By Killie I think

02-09-2023, 11:02 AM
By Killie I think

It took a month last time. If that's repeated we will have played Aberdeen, Killie, St Johnstone and St Mirren so let's hope it is by Killie. It's actually not a bad test as to how well the new set up is working since having a DoF should mean we were better prepared for this in advance than previously.

02-09-2023, 11:06 AM
Did anyone depart our club last night?

02-09-2023, 11:06 AM
Biggest signing we can make is a good manager.

I don’t think we have a brilliant squad by any stretch of the imagination but Johnson never played our strongest available team in any of our three league games. Selections and the way we set up for each game were a shambles and if they didn’t change after 20 odd minutes they changed at half time. And then we had the constant bleating about having to play twice a week.

IMO a decent manager should come in and be able to get a reaction fairly quickly. We see managers do it all the time and we saw it in our own league last season.

We need to get Boyle, Vente and Youan playing together which we haven’t done consistently yet. Levitt being back after the international break should make a big difference in the middle of the park. He will go on to be our best midfielder IMO. Defensively we have been all over the place but that can be improved by someone who knows what they are doing.

02-09-2023, 11:09 AM

I'm now taking either side of a binary view on this and I don't quite know which one yet. The managerial appointment will be a key test of the competence, vision and ambition of what I suspect are the only two people really in power at the club.

Either a) this is simply the latest instalment in a tragi-farce of a cluster**** from individuals who are way out of their depth both in terms of running and leading a big corporate institution and in terms of operating at leadership level within a football environment or b) we are very slowly but surely beginning to get our **** together financially and in footballing terms by gradually getting through painful experiences that we were always going to have to face in order to become the club and team that our potential signifies.

If it is cluster**** it means that we are serially appointing the wrong people as managers, failing to follow a coherent signings approach, probably trying to play Moneyball, making the wrong decisions in response to various pressures on a reactive rather than planned basis and it is likely going to get worse, not better. Eventually the Gordon family's enthusiasm runs out and we are left with yet another wasted period in the club's history and a very long slow road back to something sensible.

If it is getting our **** together it means that our squad is slowly improving (albeit not perhaps yet in areas that are crying out for better), we now have a healthy balance between the revenue-driving and footballing sides of the club, experimental signings will slow to a trickle and youth will start to come through and this year's foray into Europe will be repeated more often. It means that those two people are learning from their mistakes and, most importantly, perhaps the club did not spend on players in the past week because it is intending to splash that cash instead on a way more serious manager who is capable of extracting a consistently much higher performance from our players individually and as a team and squad.

You have to think that a really good manager coming to this club with a fresh approach and the right man management skills with the squad we have and the squad I am assuming we will evolve with more spending later (backed by a stable financial regime and with our support) could really do a number on this league. So I'm hoping it's the latter rather than the former. Over to Kensell and Gordon, because this is kind of make or break time for them.

02-09-2023, 11:40 AM
It took a month last time. If that's repeated we will have played Aberdeen, Killie, St Johnstone and St Mirren so let's hope it is by Killie. It's actually not a bad test as to how well the new set up is working since having a DoF should mean we were better prepared for this in advance than previously.

Never understand time it takes Hibs to recruit a new manager. Not as if we don't have practice :rolleyes:

Every business must have a succession plan for key staff. LJ has been under serious pressure a few times already and the alarm bells should have been ringing from the day we got horsed by a bunch of Andorran amateurs. Yet, it appears from the time it takes and the random looking process that the Board wake up the next day after sacking the manager and think, "Oh, suppose we better start looking around". Never seems to feel like that with EPL clubs - with much more at stake - or our competitors, who always seem to have a clear plan from the off.

02-09-2023, 11:43 AM

To flip it, what if we were told at the start of the window we would spend around £2m on fees alone, but our full back options would consist of Stevenson & Obita (who is also cover for Youan so probably won’t play at LB all that much), Miller & Megwa, and that we would sign only one midfielder, who the last manager wanted to use him as our deepest midfielder while we still have Jeggo & JDH.

May21/05/216
02-09-2023, 11:51 AM

If we had done all that yesterday, people would be beyond themselves with excitement. (Creaming themselves, I believe is the vernacular [emoji2]).

And yet people always criticise Hibs for not getting their business done early!I agree with your post

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

02-09-2023, 11:55 AM
Never understand time it takes Hibs to recruit a new manager. Not as if we don't have practice :rolleyes:

Every business must have a succession plan for key staff. LJ has been under serious pressure a few times already and the alarm bells should have been ringing from the day we got horsed by a bunch of Andorran amateurs. Yet, it appears from the time it takes and the random looking process that the Board wake up the next day after sacking the manager and think, "Oh, suppose we better start looking around". Never seems to feel like that with EPL clubs - with much more at stake - or our competitors, who always seem to have a clear plan from the off.

I reckon it must take a bit of time to convince each candidate that we’re a credible football outfit and not some joke McMoneyball operation with the team as a secondary concern, who will likely be punting them with a damaged reputation in no more than a year or so.

02-09-2023, 12:04 PM

Agreed. That’s the problem with the TDD, even with a good window up until that point there ends up being a feeling of disappointment if we don’t bring anyone in then.

02-09-2023, 12:07 PM
Agreed. That’s the problem with the TDD, even with a good window up until that point there ends up being a feeling of disappointment if we don’t bring anyone in then.

I for one would be thrilled if we had our squad complete and ready to go in mid July, with TDD being reserved for anxiously waiting to see if any bigger clubs manage to pluck our stars away.

02-09-2023, 12:08 PM

Thats just far too sensible and thought out mate

02-09-2023, 01:13 PM

I would tend to agree with all of the above G.

LEaston87
02-09-2023, 06:48 PM
Kieran Sadlier been released by Bolton so he can find a new club. I’d sign him if we can afford him

HibeeMackenzie
02-09-2023, 07:04 PM
Matt Macey a free agent

Fuzzywuzzy
02-09-2023, 07:59 PM
Did folk not piss and moan when macey was here?

SloopJB
02-09-2023, 08:05 PM

Probably, about the board, the manager, the defence, the midfield, the attack and probably about Macey .
The food, the seagulls, the strips, the corners, the height of the east stand and the pitch.

02-09-2023, 08:05 PM

Yes, he was terrible

However I would take him ahead of Marshall.

02-09-2023, 08:07 PM
Thought Macey was fine. We've had far, far worse.

02-09-2023, 08:15 PM
Thought Macey was fine. We've had far, far worse.

Yep, overall I’d say he was a good keeper for us

He had some where people think he should save which many argued was harsh - Marshall’s mistakes are no two doubts about it and clear howlers

If he never had the name and experience he does people would say he’s our worst keeper in 20 years

02-09-2023, 08:16 PM
Yes, he was terrible

However I would take him ahead of Marshall.

I don't think that he was terrible.

Donegal Hibby
02-09-2023, 08:22 PM
I liked Macy tbh . He's probably better than what we have now in fairness .

Paulie Walnuts
02-09-2023, 08:26 PM
Yep, overall I’d say he was a good keeper for us

He had some where people think he should save which many argued was harsh - Marshall’s mistakes are no two doubts about it and clear howlers

If he never had the name and experience he does people would say he’s our worst keeper in 20 years

He is our worst keeper in 20 years imo regardless of his experience.

I’ve never seen a keeper at any club make so many mistakes, and bad ones at that, in such a short space of time.

02-09-2023, 08:33 PM
I liked Macy tbh . He's probably better than what we have now in fairness .

Probably?

Macey barely made a mistake for Hibs that you would class as a anywhere near a howler. He had his weaknesses, but he was more than adequate.

Paul1642
02-09-2023, 08:33 PM
He is our worst keeper in 20 years imo regardless of his experience.

I’ve never seen a keeper at any club make so many mistakes, and bad ones at that, in such a short space of time.

No chance. We had Zibi, Brown and Ma-Kalambay in quick succession all of which were worse.

That’s said since we finally broke that rut of horrific goalkeepers Marshall on his current form is the worst we’ve had in quite a while. Sad to think it wasn’t so long ago that we had to chose between Marciano and Bogdan. Here’s hoping that Wollacott is the real deal.

MagicSwirlingShip
02-09-2023, 08:38 PM
Had worse than Macey but should be aiming for better

Paulie Walnuts
02-09-2023, 08:45 PM
No chance. We had Zibi, Brown and Ma-Kalambay in quick succession all of which were worse.

That’s said since we finally broke that rut of horrific goalkeepers Marshall on his current form is the worst we’ve had in quite a while. Sad to think it wasn’t so long ago that we had to chose between Marciano and Bogdan. Here’s hoping that Wollacott is the real deal.

Zibi wasn’t worse. Made nowhere near as many mistakes despite probably playing a similar amount of games. Probably made what, 5 or so mistakes in his time here? Marshall is probably double that. Zibi just kept them almost exclusively for Hearts games, he was a better goalkeeper for us though imo.

Simon Brown I’d agree. Ma-Kalambay I don’t think there’s much between them.

02-09-2023, 08:51 PM
For me, getting rid of Macey was the right thing to do. In the same way that getting rid of Gogic was the right thing to do.

Just because we didn’t replace them with players who’ve done better is our own recruitment teams fault

02-09-2023, 09:34 PM
Macey was fine for us but I'd prefer to pick one of Boruc and Johnson to get a run of games until Wollacott is fit.

I'm aware that playing an inexperienced keeper behind a dodgy defence and a mediocre midfield is a big risk but why not see what we've got? It's better than playing Marshall or adding a fifth keeper to the squad.

MagicSwirlingShip
02-09-2023, 09:47 PM
Zibi wasn’t worse. Made nowhere near as many mistakes despite probably playing a similar amount of games. Probably made what, 5 or so mistakes in his time here? Marshall is probably double that. Zibi just kept them almost exclusively for Hearts games, he was a better goalkeeper for us though imo.

Sorry can’t agree with anyone defending Zibi, atrocious

muzzando
02-09-2023, 10:10 PM
The fault with Macey had nothing to do with his goalkeeping ability. It was to do with the fact he would punt the ball straight out of play at least 3 times per match and would only ever be able to play the ball short allowing all of the opposition to press up high against us knowing we didn't have the ability to mix it up and go short or go long if necessary

02-09-2023, 11:46 PM
We need a manager and a creative midfielder who is a free agent

We’ll announce Montgomery next week.

Who did Montgomery know from CCM?

Tom Rogic, who is a free agent.

Just saying

03-09-2023, 12:58 AM
Griffiths is a free agent so he can be signed

03-09-2023, 04:00 AM
Been a very mixed window for me. I've divided into 3 areas of the pitch and scored each (yes I have too much time on my hands...)

Attack - 8/10

Our first choice forward line (Boyle, Vente and Youan) looks tasty. But after that things start to go a bit awry.

Who covers for Boyle or Youan if they get a long term injury? We have literally no specialised cover out wide. Given Boyle is just back from a serious, long term injury that is madness imo.

ALF and Doidge look decent as replacements for Vente.

Midfield - 5/10

Pleased with the signing of Levitt but we needed at least 1 but ideally two first team ready players. We need a more creative, attack minded player in the middle of the park to get some goals and assists. But I could also make an argument that a new DM is also necessary. Jeggo isn't up to it imo and given the goals we're losing this season, it feels like the whole defensive make up of the team is off. We could lose any of Campbell, Jeggo, JDH and Delferriere without me losing any sleep.

Defence - 3/10

Ending the window with Marshall, Lewis and Hanlon as main stays of our defence is crazy. Marshall showed last season, particularly towards the end that he isn't good enough any more. Wollacotts injury is unfortunate but Marshall has shown he isn't a suitable backup, but we seem to also have little confidence in Johnson or Boruc.

We have no cover at RB, a range of CBs but it's unclear if we have a working combo between Rocky, Hanlon, Fish and Hardbottle.

Obita and Stevenson might be enough at LB but it's not clear if Obita will be our first choice LB, or a winger. He also seems to have had issues with injuries.

So overall a 5/10 for me.

There is the nucleus of squad here but struggling in key areas of the pitch. A top manager could wring more out of us but equally if we get the appointment wrong, I think we will be in for a tough season.

03-09-2023, 06:36 AM

This is just weird now.

03-09-2023, 07:43 AM
Matt Macey released by Luton.

I liked him and thought he got a hard time here.

I definitely wouldn’t be against offering him a deal.

03-09-2023, 07:51 AM

Seen him with Alan Pardew in the Western Bar last night. It can only mean one thing.

03-09-2023, 07:52 AM
Seen him with Alan Pardew in the Western Bar last night. It can only mean one thing.

Fight?

03-09-2023, 07:53 AM

I largely agree to an extent. We've recruited better this transfer window, but that's on the back of a few transfer windows that have been very disappointing.

Let's not forget that we should have recruited better to build on Jack Ross achieving 3rd spot in the League and reaching one cup final. It was pretty obvious where we needed to strengthen, but instead we gambled on players like Nathan Wood, Dan Mackay, Dylan Tait and James Scott, when we should have got better quality in. None of the players recruited during that summer transfer window have improved Hibs, with only JDH still considered for first team selection.

Then we gambled again on Maloney. We didn't make it easy for a young relatively inexperienced manager, by selling our prized asset, Martin Boyle (who as he showed on Saturday can create a goal out of almost nothing), plus experienced players in Gogic, Murphy and Halberg released all on loan. We replaced experience with a number of gambles on players like Melkerson, Henderson, Mitchell, Jasper and Hauge. We hardly made it easy for Maloney. Again, none of the winter transfer window recruits improved Hibs.

We then recruit Johnson! Again, we didn't make it easy for him by buying a lot of young prospects many of whom are are no longer available for selection (sold / loan / not deemed good enough). Bojang! Cabraja! Kenneh! Tavares!

In summary, we've recruited a lot of players, many of which are worse than the players they were replacing up until this transfer window. We have recruited better this time, but are still severely lacking in midfield and defence. We still have THAT midfield trio augmented by an injured Levitt and Jeggo and have the ageing Hanlon and Stevenson in defence. Another frustrating season, I'm afraid IMO.

03-09-2023, 07:54 AM
Fight?

They are both lovers, not fighters by all accounts :greengrin

03-09-2023, 07:57 AM
They are both lovers, not fighters by all accounts :greengrin

Well, if you're right and it can only end one way...💚💚💚

Paulie Walnuts
03-09-2023, 08:05 AM
I largely agree to an extent. We've recruited better this transfer window, but that's on the back of a few transfer windows that have been very disappointing.

Let's not forget that we should have recruited better to build on Jack Ross achieving 3rd spot in the League and reaching one cup final. It was pretty obvious where we needed to strengthen, but instead we gambled on players like Nathan Wood, Dan Mackay, Dylan Tait and James Scott, when we should have got better quality in. None of the players recruited during that summer transfer window have improved Hibs, with only JDH still considered for first team selection.

Then we gambled again on Maloney. We didn't make it easy for a young relatively inexperienced manager, by selling our prized asset, Martin Boyle (who as he showed on Saturday can create a goal out of almost nothing), plus experienced players in Gogic, Murphy and Halberg released all on loan. We replaced experience with a number of gambles on players like Melkerson, Henderson, Mitchell, Jasper and Hauge. We hardly made it easy for Maloney. Again, none of the winter transfer window recruits improved Hibs.

We then recruit Johnson! Again, we didn't make it easy for him by buying a lot of young prospects many of whom are are no longer available for selection (sold / loan / not deemed good enough). Bojang! Cabraja! Kenneh! Tavares!

In summary, we've recruited a lot of players, many of which are worse than the players they were replacing up until this transfer window. We have recruited better this time, but are still severely lacking in midfield and defence. We still have THAT midfield trio augmented by an injured Levitt and Jeggo and have the ageing Hanlon and Stevenson in defence. Another frustrating season, I'm afraid IMO.

I found a lot of the back slapping earlier in the window a bit bizarre. Shouts of best transfer window ever, thank you Ian Gordon etc.

We went into the window desperately poor in areas and came out of it desperately poor in most of the same areas. That’s not a good window.

03-09-2023, 08:10 AM

Times must be hard if they've sunk so low to be putting on a double act in there. 🤔

03-09-2023, 08:11 AM

I found a lot of the back slapping earlier in the window a bit bizarre. Shouts of best transfer window ever, thank you Ian Gordon etc.

We went into the window desperately poor in areas and came out of it desperately poor in most of the same areas. That’s not a good window.

It was a good start to the window, much better than we’ve had in recent years.

It was an absolutely abysmal end to the window though, and in total it’s ended up nowhere near good enough.

03-09-2023, 08:15 AM
It was a good start to the window, much better than we’ve had in recent years.

It was an absolutely abysmal end to the window though, and in total it’s ended up nowhere near good enough.

I thought up until the signing of Vente we were doing very well.

I can’t believe that is where it ended.

03-09-2023, 08:25 AM

Not so sure about anyone saying best window ever etc, but wondering what was bizarre about people feeling the business was getting done. New keeper, left back, Youan, Levitt, it all looked so promising

How would they know how it would conclude? Not all of us have your psychic ability to know the future etc :greengrin:

03-09-2023, 08:26 AM
Don't really think the transfer window was abysmal as people are making out, we signed two keepers, 2 CHs, a LB, a CM, 2 new strikers and signed youan permanently. Think we needed another couple of midfielders but it certainly wasnt an abysmal or a bad window. Let's see how a new managers gets on with them

03-09-2023, 08:32 AM
Don't really think the transfer window was abysmal as people are making out, we signed two keepers, 2 CHs, a LB, a CM, 2 new strikers and signed youan permanently. Think we needed another couple of midfielders but it certainly wasnt an abysmal or a bad window. Let's see how a new managers gets on with them

Yes think we were doing well until the manager was sacked which likely dissuaded a couple late in. Think epl loans are much more difficult now which is a shame. What palpably needs to happen is a new manager putting a fire under the squad and getting much more out of many more players. Someone who trusts some of the young players would be a start and create much more competition.

Bridge hibs
03-09-2023, 08:37 AM
Don't really think the transfer window was abysmal as people are making out, we signed two keepers, 2 CHs, a LB, a CM, 2 new strikers and signed youan permanently. Think we needed another couple of midfielders but it certainly wasnt an abysmal or a bad window. Let's see how a new managers gets on with themIdeally I think most people expected one or two in but I agree barring more injuries we still have a decent squad that the new manager can work with. I would expect to see Rudi and Megwa possibly utilised until January, perhaps Boruc or Johnson too

03-09-2023, 08:43 AM
Ideally I think most people expected one or two in but I agree barring more injuries we still have a decent squad that the new manager can work with. I would expect to see Rudi and Megwa possibly utilised until January, perhaps Boruc or Johnson too

Might be different with the new manager but I’ll still be surprised to see much of the young players. Think we’ll continue to persist with the same underperforming players. Still expect to see Marshall and Campbell in the team today for instance.

03-09-2023, 08:43 AM

I think the issue is that we started the season with Marshall, Stevenson, Hanlon, Miller & that midfield. We have ended it with Marshall, Stevenson, Hanlon, Miller & still having to choose one from JDH/Campbell/Jeggo.

£2m spent to effectively stand still on last season. Granted you can probably discount the Vente fee as we had no option but to replace Nisbet and hopefully Wollacot would be number 1 but for injury.

Hopefully a new manager will start to play Obita at LB, give Johnson or Boruc a chance, play Harbottle given we paid a fee for him and give the likes of McAllister, Rudi & Megwa their opportunities. Plus maybe recall some of the U19s on loan in January and start to phase out the likes of Stevenson, JDH, Hanlon, Campbell etc in favour of opportunities for those youngsters.

03-09-2023, 08:46 AM

Problem with some of the signings is that we don’t seem to have much intention of using them.

Marshall stayed as number one (unbelievably). Harbottle appears to be fourth choice centre half. We don’t seem to want to play Obita as a left back.

Levitt (who I think will come good) and strikers aside I don’t really think we’ve done enough to improve the side.

Pete70
03-09-2023, 08:54 AM

Leigh, mate, you need to come to terms with the fact that you’re past it and we aren’t going to sign you.

Bridge hibs
03-09-2023, 08:56 AM
Might be different with the new manager but I’ll still be surprised to see much of the young players. Think we’ll continue to persist with the same underperforming players. Still expect to see Marshall and Campbell in the team today for instance.I wasnt at nor watched the Villa second leg but by all accounts I think we generally played well with the same team that has accumulated zero points from 3 league games

03-09-2023, 09:06 AM
I wasnt at nor watched the Villa second leg but by all accounts I think we generally played well with the same team that has accumulated zero points from 3 league games

I was there and thought we competed well enough but I wouldn’t go as far as to say we played well. The two I mentioned (Marshall and Campbell) are the two that need taken out the team most of all. I think both have been absolutely terrible this season.

I also think any new manager should be able to get far more out of the squad but, for me, Marshall shows no sign of stopping making mistakes and the midfield will continue to struggle with Campbell in it.

03-09-2023, 09:19 AM
I wasnt at nor watched the Villa second leg but by all accounts I think we generally played well with the same team that has accumulated zero points from 3 league games
Is was a nothing game fir villa so wouldn’t read too much into that game Today is the game we will see if we get the bounce from sacking a poor manager and the players respond as better organised and motivated

Paulie Walnuts
03-09-2023, 09:21 AM
Not so sure about anyone saying best window ever etc, but wondering what was bizarre about people feeling the business was getting done. New keeper, left back, Youan, Levitt, it all looked so promising

How would they know how it would conclude? Not all of us have your psychic ability to know the future etc :greengrin:

I’m sure there was a thread that posed the question is this the best window ever or something along those lines in the title. It was posted numerous times as well.

It’s bizarre because we hadn’t seen half the players play a competitive game of note (sure this was mostly all before Luzern) and our squad was still miles short. I made the point that on paper our transfer window last summer was even better (I still stand by that) and look how that turned out. I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see us looking back at this summers window in January and asking the same questions we did last season.

Bridge hibs
03-09-2023, 09:31 AM
Is was a nothing game fir villa so wouldn’t read too much into that game Today is the game we will see if we get the bounce from sacking a poor manager and the players respond as better organised and motivatedWe did appear more organised though didnt we ? Something that was missing in Johnsons teams more often than not

03-09-2023, 09:32 AM
I think the forward 4 (youan Boyle vente alf) is the best we've had in a while

Yet Johnson and gray start Doidge?

That's not a window issue that's a "get Montgomery" issue

03-09-2023, 09:33 AM

Spot on.10/10

03-09-2023, 09:40 AM
I think the forward 4 (youan Boyle vente alf) is the best we've had in a while

Yet Johnson and gray start Doidge?

That's not a window issue that's a "get Montgomery" issue

I reckon the team SDG picked on Thursday had today in mind, leaving the likes of Boyle and Vente on the bench

03-09-2023, 09:41 AM

Simon Brown I’d agree. Ma-Kalambay I don’t think there’s much between them.did you go to the games when zibby was our goalie as he was rank rotten. 5 mistakes you say he would do that in one game against that lot.

03-09-2023, 09:46 AM
did you go to the games when zibby was our goalie as he was rank rotten. 5 mistakes you say he would do that in one game against that lot.

100%, zibi was one of the worst keepers I have ever seen in my life, Marshall has been bad but not as bad as him

03-09-2023, 09:49 AM
Zibi seemed to go to pieces versus them

That semi ?

Dearie me !

Marshall looked a good signing but has turned into a living nightmare

Needs to play like Yashin to redeem himself if given another opportunity

supermcginn
03-09-2023, 09:50 AM
100%, zibi was one of the worst keepers I have ever seen in my life, Marshall has been bad but not as bad as him

I'd have Zibi every single day of the week over this version of Marshall. He is dreadful and slower than a week in the jail at getting down to shots and either stays on his line when he shouldn't or rushes out like Thursday night.

03-09-2023, 10:06 AM
I thought up until the signing of Vente we were doing very well.

I can’t believe that is where it ended.

It ended with us sacking Johnson. After that signing the players we were after became virtually impossible.

03-09-2023, 10:09 AM
I'd have Zibi every single day of the week over this version of Marshall. He is dreadful and slower than a week in the jail at getting down to shots and either stays on his line when he shouldn't or rushes out like Thursday night.

I'd have Zibi most days of the week, just not Saturdays and any other day we're playing.

03-09-2023, 10:15 AM

U have a very short memory then - Zibi was far worse than Marshall - as was Simon Brown. Marshall has been poor don't get me wrong but nowhere near as bad as those 2 or Makalambay neither for that matter

Paulie Walnuts
03-09-2023, 10:16 AM
did you go to the games when zibby was our goalie as he was rank rotten. 5 mistakes you say he would do that in one game against that lot.

He wouldn’t make that many in one game though or else you’d be able to point out when he done it.

Marshall has made a load more errors than Zibi did. Was a good keeper in his day but now he’s brutal unfortunately.

Paulie Walnuts
03-09-2023, 10:17 AM
U have a very short memory then - Zibi was far worse than Marshall - as was Simon Brown. Marshall has been poor don't get me wrong but nowhere near as bad as those 2 or Makalambay neither for that matter

He really has been. As someone else said, if he never had a career like he has we wouldn’t have folk kidding themselves on.

03-09-2023, 10:24 AM
Malkowski was generally competent but would invariably throw a few in every season, usually in derbies.

Brown was sub-standard, but again his proper howlers were infrequent.

Ma-Kalambay was a bad keeper in general (likely because of his inexperience); his mistakes are remembered the most because they genuinely defied logic and physics.

Marshall is a competent handler of the ball and makes some brilliant saves, but I'm not exaggerating in that he directly costs us at least two/these goals every month. That is unprecedented.

He's the worst goalkeeper I've ever seen at Hibs.

03-09-2023, 10:26 AM
Malkowski was generally competent but would invariably throw a few in every season, usually in derbies.

Ma-Kalambay was a bad keeper in general (likely because of his inexperience); his mistakes are remembered the most because they genuinely defied logic and physics.

Marshall is a competent handler of the ball and makes some brilliant saves, but I'm not exaggerating in that he directly costs us at least two/these goals every month. That is unprecedented.

Simon Brown is still by far the worst I have seen in my time supporting Hibs, and his attitude stank as well. At least you felt that Zibi was trying, he just wasn't very good either.

03-09-2023, 10:53 AM
He wouldn’t make that many in one game though or else you’d be able to point out when he done it.

Marshall has made a load more errors than Zibi did. Was a good keeper in his day but now he’s brutal unfortunately. If I was to go back and list his bloopers we be here all day. I will give u a few tho Dunfermline league cup Wednesday night east end park 3-0 to them and he was horrendous, that semi final v them what a clown he was that day. Even the 6-1 game at fir park came out for the ball and bounced right over his napper lucky didn’t result in a goal. Even when he went on loan to Inverness he shoved one in and was never seen again. Biggest clown I’ve ever seen in goals.

03-09-2023, 11:14 AM
Marshall is simply past his best.

His best was levels above the others mentioned.

03-09-2023, 11:14 AM
We did appear more organised though didnt we ? Something that was missing in Johnsons teams more often than not
Yes thsts why I said and the players respond as better organised and motivated

03-09-2023, 12:49 PM
Simon Brown is still by far the worst I have seen in my time supporting Hibs, and his attitude stank as well. At least you felt that Zibi was trying, he just wasn't very good either.

I felt like Zibi was trying very hard - but only to throw games against Hearts at a time when they had a notoriously corrupt owner.

Dr What If?
03-09-2023, 12:58 PM
I take every goalkeeper mentioned so far and raise you all Oli Gottskalksson. His howlers got us relegated and even on current form, makes Marshall look like Buffon in his prime. I love Marshall for what he did for Scotland, for that he is a legend.....sadly he doesn't look like he will ever be a Hibs legend.

03-09-2023, 01:01 PM
I take every goalkeeper mentioned so far and raise you all Oli Gottskalksson. His howlers got us relegated and even on current form, makes Marshall look like Buffon in his prime. I love Marshall for what he did for Scotland, for that he is a legend.....sadly he doesn't look like he will ever be a Hibs legend.
Maybe it's just the passing of time but I don't recall Oli being that bad, and certainly not to the point that he got us relegated on his own.

Torto7
03-09-2023, 01:07 PM
Marshall is simply past his best.

His best was levels above the others mentioned.

I don't know. Even down south he was known as being a bit of a bomb scare. At Cardiff he certainly was. He seems to lack concentration.

03-09-2023, 01:09 PM
I'd have Zibi most days of the week, just not Saturdays and any other day we're playing.

I'd have Zibi over Marshall every day of the week, just not when we play those gimps from across the town.:wink:

Zibi was alright, but he just played like a drunk whenever we played that lot, against most other teams he was alright.

Marshall on the otherhand is just awful, i'm frightened when the ball goes near him now, we are only a few minutes away from a clanger whenever he plays.

03-09-2023, 01:09 PM
Maybe it's just the passing of time but I don't recall Oli being that bad, and certainly not to the point that he got us relegated on his own.

He had big gloves to fill.

We lost a gk who used to save us a number of points in Leighton and replaced him with one who wasn’t nearly as good. He still didn’t flog as many goals as Marshall though.

03-09-2023, 01:11 PM
I felt like Zibi was trying very hard - but only to throw games against Hearts at a time when they had a notoriously corrupt owner.

You suggesting he was paid by Romanov to throw the games?

03-09-2023, 01:35 PM
Marshall on the otherhand is just awful, i'm frightened when the ball goes near him now, we are only a few minutes away from a clanger whenever he plays.

In a couple of hours time, it wouldn't surprise anyone if we've lost the game because Marshall has made an arse of it.

03-09-2023, 02:11 PM
You suggesting he was paid by Romanov to throw the games?

Well, his mistakes against Hearts that led to goals (at least 6, yes 6) were sooooo bad its unbelievable. And Romanov was a crook responsible for £37m worth of bank fraud. And he came from a part of Poland close to Lithuania. And he was apparently brilliant in training.

I'm not one for conspiracy theories, but this one is hardly outwith the realms of possibility.....

03-09-2023, 02:15 PM
Well, his mistakes against Hearts that led to goals (at least 6, yes 6) were sooooo bad its unbelievable. And Romanov was a crook responsible for £37m worth of bank fraud. And he came from a part of Poland close to Lithuania. And he was apparently brilliant in training.

I'm not one for conspiracy theories, but this one is hardly outwith the realms of possibility.....

Memories a getting sketchy but I'm pretty sure he was making the same howlers against teams that weren't owned by Romanov on a fairly regular basis too

03-09-2023, 02:19 PM
Memories a getting sketchy but I'm pretty sure he was making the same howlers against teams that weren't owned by Romanov on a fairly regular basis too

He had a few but none as bad as against Hearts. Every Hibs keeper I've seen has made at least a few errors over their Hibs career, so you would expect a few if he was trying properly. Nobody has made that many against the one team. Watch them back ( if you can bear it :greengrin), they were absoutely nuts "mistakes".

Souter96Mac
03-09-2023, 06:52 PM
That Slattery at Motherwell has always looked a good creative player. Contract up at the end of this season.

pepe
03-09-2023, 06:56 PM
That Slattery at Motherwell has always looked a good creative player. Contract up at the end of this season.

He’s a bombscare. Watched him today

03-09-2023, 07:01 PM
He’s a bombscare. Watched him today

Scored the winner against the hertz. That makes him alright in my book 😄

03-09-2023, 07:48 PM

Was excellent against us a couple of weeks ago. I wouldn’t describe him as a creative player though.

03-09-2023, 08:10 PM

I’m assuming you’re still at school?

03-09-2023, 09:16 PM

In a couple of hours time, it wouldn't surprise anyone if we've lost the game because Marshall has made an arse of it.
He must of read this Clean sheet and made a couple of good saves

Fuzzywuzzy
04-09-2023, 12:01 PM
A few have mentioned Tom rogic on a free. Obviously money could be an issue but I always think if you're out a job you're not earning anyway🤷🤷

04-09-2023, 12:03 PM

Was at feyenoord as well just erratic at times

04-09-2023, 12:06 PM

We lost a gk who used to save us a number of points in Leighton and replaced him with one who wasn’t nearly as good. He still didn’t flog as many goals as Marshall though.

Ah, his gloves were the wrong size! Suddenly it all makes sense.

The weird thing about Oli was he was also an Icelandic basketball internationalist. **** knows how someone who couldn't catch a ball could ever play basketball?

04-09-2023, 12:11 PM
A few have mentioned Tom rogic on a free. Obviously money could be an issue but I always think if you're out a job you're not earning anyway🤷🤷

I’ve mentioned it a couple of times just out of pure hope due to him at Montgomery being at CCM together and him being a free agent.

Wouldn’t be surprised if it happened though

Fuzzywuzzy
04-09-2023, 12:11 PM

Always think the best I ever saw Leighton was the game against Sweden at Ibrox in '96. Immense

GreenPJ
04-09-2023, 12:13 PM
Always think the best I ever saw Leighton was the game against Sweden at Ibrox in '96. Immense

:agree::agree: Jim and Darren Jackson were the best players on the pitch but Leighton was different class.

04-09-2023, 12:17 PM
I’ve mentioned it a couple of times just out of pure hope due to him at Montgomery being at CCM together and him being a free agent.

Wouldn’t be surprised if it happened though
If we did by some miracle sign Rogic it wouldn’t be outrageous to say he’d be out best signing in years. He was top drawer at Celtic

04-09-2023, 12:43 PM
I’m assuming you’re still at school?
:agree::agree:

Incredible to suggest Marshall is Hibs' worst ever. His powers are definitely on the wane and I'd hope to see him benched once Wollacott is back to full fitness, but once you've seen Tony Caig, almost everything else is sweet, sweet relief.

delbert
04-09-2023, 01:30 PM
:agree::agree:

Incredible to suggest Marshall is Hibs' worst ever. His powers are definitely on the wane and I'd hope to see him benched once Wollacott is back to full fitness, but once you've seen Tony Caig, almost everything else is sweet, sweet relief.

Yves Makalamby made Tony Caig look like Gordon Banks, Makalamby was scared of his own shadow, but to be fair, I believe his shadow did once make a save !