27-06-2023, 04:04 PM
Never really got the hype with Baccus.
Agree
Never really got the hype with Baccus.
Yip. File under McGrath for me
NGoloGrantie
27-06-2023, 05:38 PM
Colchester wanting mckirdy. Will most likely be a loan. Mckirdys problem is Johnson, they hate eachother but he loves playing for hibs.
When a player and manager fallout, there's only one winner, see Kenneh last season.
27-06-2023, 05:40 PM
I’d imagine the feeling is mutual
thebausburst
27-06-2023, 05:58 PM
Would be a good move for him back to a level he’s comfortable with, perm would be better for Hibs tho.
27-06-2023, 06:00 PM
That is surprising, LJ was always giving him a chance last season, he got a lot of minutes but failed to deliver once?
27-06-2023, 06:01 PM
Mckirdys problem is he’s not very good.
27-06-2023, 06:03 PM
I’d imagine the feeling is mutual
The clue was "they hate each other"! :greengrin
ElginHibbie
27-06-2023, 06:29 PM
Fletcher leaving United, wonder where he will end up?
27-06-2023, 06:30 PM
The clue was "they hate each other"! :greengrin
Good point lol
27-06-2023, 06:30 PM
Fletcher leaving United, wonder where he will end up?
Someone mentioned he was wanted by Motherwell.
Donegal Hibby
27-06-2023, 06:41 PM
If Mckirdy and LJ don't get along there's only going to be one winner there and if he does go i rather it was permanent and not loan .
https://therealefl.co.uk/2023/06/27/exclusive-colchester-united-interested-in-signing-two-former-swindon-town-players/
27-06-2023, 07:01 PM
If Mckirdy and LJ don't get along there's only going to be one winner there and if he does go i rather it was permanent and not loan .
https://therealefl.co.uk/2023/06/27/exclusive-colchester-united-interested-in-signing-two-former-swindon-town-players/
That would be a good move for him. Back down closer to London at a level he knows and a manager he performed well with previously.
27-06-2023, 07:04 PM
Great news, fingers crossed we can punt him soon. He contributed nothing and I'd imagine he'll be on a half decent wage. We need better if we are to push for 3rd or challenge for a cup.
27-06-2023, 07:07 PM
Probably good for him but not sure it’s a massive benefit for us a season long loan
Can’t imagine Colchester will be picking up a large % of his wage. So doesn’t leave us relatively any better off but a player down
27-06-2023, 07:16 PM
Probably good for him but not sure it’s a massive benefit for us a season long loan
Can’t imagine Colchester will be picking up a large % of his wage. So doesn’t leave us relatively any better off but a player down
We’ll recoup some money for the year and we won’t be a player down. In number maybe, but in contribution nae chance.
Think we saw the benefit of getting players out of the way, even short term, in the second half of the season.
Donegal Hibby
27-06-2023, 07:19 PM
That would be a good move for him. Back down closer to London at a level he knows and a manager he performed well with previously.
Good move for us too . I'd imagine he's on a decent enough wage ( guessing) and free it up for someone else who's better 🤞
Good move for us too . I'd imagine he's on a decent enough wage ( guessing) and free it up for someone else who's better [emoji1696]
I would suspect they will pay a percentage so it won’t free all his wage up!
GreenGray
27-06-2023, 07:30 PM
People don’t rate Baccus? Deary me, he’s quality
27-06-2023, 07:30 PM
All wrong imo. Keep McKirdy and get rid of Johnson.
27-06-2023, 07:39 PM
Donegal Hibby
27-06-2023, 07:41 PM
I would suspect they will pay a percentage so it won’t free all his wage up!
Maybe , I did read that there top earners were on about £2,500 . ( Which could be wrong btw ) I don't know what Mckirdy is on at hibs though if you could get them to pay maybe £2,000 that would be a decent start in paying his replacement a wage I think .
27-06-2023, 07:42 PM
That is surprising, LJ was always giving him a chance last season, he got a lot of minutes but failed to deliver once?
Agree he is lucky he got as much game time as he did.
27-06-2023, 07:45 PM
Best news of the transfer window so far if true.
27-06-2023, 07:46 PM
Donegal Hibby
27-06-2023, 07:47 PM
Don't fret mate ,he's away to QotS on loan I heard.
27-06-2023, 07:50 PM
Don't fret mate ,he's away to QotS on loan I heard.
No chance he’s ousting big Bart.
27-06-2023, 07:53 PM
Did Deek, Brown, Thomson etc look ready for first team football when they were put in?By virtue of age alone, and definitely not looking to score any points, I have to say you are right.
27-06-2023, 07:57 PM
Joking aside, well not completely joking, if what I heard about his salary this season (and no reason to believe it wasn’t accurate) I’m not surprised we are looking to offload McKirdy.
Fanforlife
27-06-2023, 08:13 PM
Regarding Ethan Laidlaw, still training with Hibs as contracted till first july,Watford deal seemingly dead,had a few recent talks with Ben Kensall however Brentford now on scene.
27-06-2023, 08:28 PM
Make him manager?
Steven79
27-06-2023, 08:33 PM
Best news of the transfer window so far if true.I would rather it was a permanent transfer.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
27-06-2023, 08:33 PM
Send the two to Coventry
27-06-2023, 08:36 PM
Regarding Ethan Laidlaw, still training with Hibs as contracted till first july,Watford deal seemingly dead,had a few recent talks with Ben Kensall however Brentford now on scene.
He should have a talk with Kane O’Connor.
hibeemikey21
27-06-2023, 08:39 PM
Totally pointless loaning McKirdy to League 2. If he does well, that essentially takes us back to where he was at the start of this season, albeit, 2 years later.
Better either selling or loaning to a tougher level.
27-06-2023, 08:47 PM
Totally pointless loaning McKirdy to League 2. If he does well, that essentially takes us back to where he was at the start of this season, albeit, 2 years later.
He can only go where people want him. Can’t see anyone willing to give us our money back after the season he’s just had. If he returns to league 2 and performs to the same level, we’ll save a load on wages and also increase the chances of us getting some of our fee back.
27-06-2023, 08:47 PM
Make him manager?
Hmmm. :greengrin
Take a hit on the money for McKirdy and let him go back south, just need a fresh start for both parties.
Gaffer1875
27-06-2023, 09:05 PM
I really hope Ethan stays, he looks a class act. Pick of the bunch in that great youth team IMO. I actually think he’s better in CM, from what I’ve seen.
Glasgowhibby95
27-06-2023, 09:18 PM
When a player and manager fallout, there's only one winner, see Kenneh last season.
Did Kenneh fall out with Johnson? Any reason as to why? Never heard that rumour.
PHeffernan
27-06-2023, 09:37 PM
He's already at a tougher level and cannae hack it.
Afraid we are humped on McKirdy.
27-06-2023, 09:37 PM
Joking aside, well not completely joking, if what I heard about his salary this season (and no reason to believe it wasn’t accurate) I’m not surprised we are looking to offload McKirdy.
North of five grand ?
MagicSwirlingShip
27-06-2023, 09:45 PM
North of five grand ?
Those costumes he cuts about in ain’t cheap
27-06-2023, 11:44 PM
If we’ve made a League 2 no mark one of our top paid players after half a season, then that’s on us. It’d be such a horrendous negotiation that I stuggle to believe its validity, however Jeffers has gotten plenty right before and he’s not the only one to have mentioned McKirdy’s apparent wage rise…
27-06-2023, 11:47 PM
Levitt supposedly spotted in Edinburgh today.
Could be for any reason but some Hnited fans panicking.
Would be delighted with that signing
28-06-2023, 12:00 AM
Levitt supposedly spotted in Edinburgh today.
Could be for any reason but some Hnited fans panicking.
Would be delighted with that signing
Is he not on pretty big bucks... and if anything, the United fans should be panicking about how they pay his wages in the Championship if he were to stay there for long?
28-06-2023, 12:10 AM
Is he not on pretty big bucks... and if anything, the United fans should be panicking about how they pay his wages in the Championship if he were to stay there for long?
Yeah think quite a few players at United were on big salaries, imagine they’ll need to get rid of a few to balance the books.
Don’t think they paid a huge amount for him so would be interesting if we offered them the same amount for him if the would accept it to recoup the money and free up a wage
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 12:32 AM
Yeah think quite a few players at United were on big salaries, imagine they’ll need to get rid of a few to balance the books.
Don’t think they paid a huge amount for him so would be interesting if we offered them the same amount for him if the would accept it to recoup the money and free up a wage
All speculation and probably a load of bull though did read they paid around 300K for him and he was on around 5 grand a week . Don't really know much about him tbh , what type of player is he ?
28-06-2023, 12:56 AM
All speculation and probably a load of bull though did read they paid around 300K for him and he was on around 5 grand a week . Don't really know much about him tbh , what type of player is he ?
Pretty similar to what I’ve read, think the most I’ve seen is 500k mentioned.
I’d say he’s a a mix of Scott Allan and Mcgeouch, gets on the ball from deep and dictates play. Very good and comfortable on the ball like Mcgeouch but can also strike a ball from distance and a good set piece taker, probably plays more long range passes than a Mcgeouch.
I know my comparison sounds like he’d be fantastic but he’s just a bit inbetween the two.
Issue with him being in that position is youd then need players who are better defensively around him as he’s not the type to break up play imo. He’d easily manage to play higher up in midfield though and has many times.
Think one of Uniteds main issues last season (according to fans) was not having someone in midfield to do the dirty work.
Musselbound
28-06-2023, 04:28 AM
If we’ve made a League 2 no mark one of our top paid players after half a season, then that’s on us. It’d be such a horrendous negotiation that I stuggle to believe its validity, however Jeffers has gotten plenty right before and he’s not the only one to have mentioned McKirdy’s apparent wage rise…
I've no idea what kind of salary McKirdy is on. I'd be surprised if he was one of our top paid players. But I really cannot see any reason at all why his salary would have been renegotiated given how little he has done in a Hibs shirt. It's not as if we'd be desperate to keep him or are fighting off suitors.
Did Kenneh fall out with Johnson? Any reason as to why? Never heard that rumour.
Seemingly training ground bust up, next thing he was at Ross County, he apologised on social media and then later was liking tweets about Hearts and said his account was hacked, all a bit silly and immature., seemed to knuckle down after that.
DunblaneHibby
28-06-2023, 06:15 AM
I see that dundee united have released steven fletcher!
tonyrougier123
28-06-2023, 06:17 AM
Not a rumour as such,Gavin whyte northern Irish midfielder in advanced talks with Pompey. Tidy wee player could do a lot worse than nip in for him.
28-06-2023, 06:26 AM
I see that dundee united have released steven fletcher!
Going to Motherwell apparently
28-06-2023, 07:01 AM
He called him R2D2.
28-06-2023, 07:03 AM
Yeh I heard his salary goes up this season. Which is some deal he managed to get!
28-06-2023, 08:07 AM
Yeh I heard his salary goes up this season. Which is some deal he managed to get!
My thoughts exactly. I don’t know the actual figure and would never post a player’s salary on here, but I was told he’d become one of our higher earners this season.
28-06-2023, 08:08 AM
I still think McKirdy just needs a goal to get going.
I really hope he gets a good run in pre-season and gets the confidence up; still convinced he can come good for us.
archie
28-06-2023, 08:17 AM
I still think McKirdy just needs a goal to get going.
I really hope he gets a good run in pre-season and gets the confidence up; still convinced he can come good for us.
I do think there's something there. It looked to me he was trying too hard. But sometimes moves don't work out and falling out with the boss is never a good thing. Having said that, he would help himself by actually scoring!
hibsforeurope
28-06-2023, 08:31 AM
I do think there's something there. It looked to me he was trying too hard. But sometimes moves don't work out and falling out with the boss is never a good thing. Having said that, he would help himself by actually scoring!
Time to cut our losses and move on. Better strikers have come here and not made an impact but went on to do better in England, James Collins, Clayton Donaldson, Eion Doyle to name a few.
archie
28-06-2023, 08:33 AM
Time to cut our losses and move on. Better strikers have come here and not made an impact but went on to do better in England, James Collins, Clayton Donaldson, Eion Doyle to name a few.
Doyle was one I really wish we'd kept.
28-06-2023, 08:39 AM
Doyle was a good player for Hibs. Made a good impact. Was a mistake to let go.
28-06-2023, 08:44 AM
McKirdy will go down as one of the worst strikers we've ever had along with Rowan Vine. You can't argue with stats. Fully expect him to go back down the road and start banging in goals at a level he's used to. Good luck to him.
hibsforeurope
28-06-2023, 09:01 AM
Doyle was a good player for Hibs. Made a good impact. Was a mistake to let go.
I liked him, was decent but didn't make as big an impact at Hibs as he did down south for whatever reason.
badabing67
28-06-2023, 09:03 AM
Aberdeen signed Shinnie on 3 yr deal
LeithMike
28-06-2023, 09:04 AM
McKirdy will go down as one of the worst strikers we've ever had along with Rowan Vine. You can't argue with stats. Fully expect him to go back down the road and start banging in goals at a level he's used to. Good luck to him.
Yeah but you can argue about the meaning of stats. Plenty strikers across many leagues have had a terrible first season and followed it up with a good one and vice versa.
I definitely think there is something in McKirdy but think he’s a penalty box striker which we don’t really play with so we’re never going to get the best out of him. Raises questions as to why we signed him but I could see him turning it around and he looks pretty determined to succeed.
Stokesy's on fire
28-06-2023, 09:08 AM
Aberdeen signed Shinnie on 3 yr deal
Good utter hammer thrower and past it. But you know what...This should inspire Hibs to recruit strongly Aberdeen are keeping last seasons dross together at least we know what we are up against.
Edinburgh Green
28-06-2023, 09:13 AM
Yip, and we should of kept all 3 of them.
I wonder if McKirdy's contract goes up with the number of goals, hence why he seemed to try too hard.
28-06-2023, 09:30 AM
My thoughts exactly. I don’t know the actual figure and would never post a player’s salary on here, but I was told he’d become one of our higher earners this season.
Mental if true.
Need to get him moved on somehow.
He's clearly not going to make it here.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 09:46 AM
This article saying leyton Orient interested in Mckirdy too again its a loan deal . More clubs interested the better though .
https://the72.co.uk/2023/06/28/leyton-orient-interested-in-signing-hibernian-man-on-loan-report-claims/
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 09:59 AM
West Ham knock back £100m plus £5m add ons from Arsenal. Probably expected Man City to give them slightly more but they’ve now pulled out.
If I was Arsenal I’d be going back with £90m and telling them to take it or leave it. Nobody else will be spending that kind of money on him imo.
28-06-2023, 10:02 AM
West Ham knock back £100m plus £5m add ons from Arsenal. Probably expected Man City to give them slightly more but they’ve now pulled out.
If I was Arsenal I’d be going back with £90m and telling them to take it or leave it. Nobody else will be spending that kind of money on him imo.
Just ridiculous amounts of money.
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 10:03 AM
Just ridiculous amounts of money.
Yup. The English tax is obscene. He’s a very good player, no doubting that, but if he wasn’t English he’d be about £50-60m, not north of £100m.
hibsforeurope
28-06-2023, 10:09 AM
Yup. The English tax is obscene. He’s a very good player, no doubting that, but if he wasn’t English he’d be about £50-60m, not north of £100m.
I wonder what he'd be worth if he was still Irish
28-06-2023, 10:20 AM
If he was Scottish it'd be £15 million max.
Kane agreed terms with Bayern but no fee agreed yet, how is this sort of thing becoming more spoken about? Used to be tapping up in old money yet we see it all the time now it seems, player power in the ‘elites’ is out of control, surely can’t be under contract and still talk terms with another club without a price agreed
badabing67
28-06-2023, 10:25 AM
If he was Scottish it'd be £15 million max.
But only if the selling club was OF
Steven79
28-06-2023, 10:32 AM
Kane agreed terms with Bayern but no fee agreed yet, how is this sort of thing becoming more spoken about? Used to be tapping up in old money yet we see it all the time now it seems, player power in the ‘elites’ is out of control, surely can’t be under contract and still talk terms with another club without a price agreedIt's been happening for years.
Didn't Berbatov agree terms with United before Spurs and United agreed a fee?
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
hibsforeurope
28-06-2023, 10:37 AM
Aberdeen sign Rhys Williams form Liverpool, we should look at Scales from Celtic now.
Keyser Sauzee
28-06-2023, 10:38 AM
Kane agreed terms with Bayern but no fee agreed yet, how is this sort of thing becoming more spoken about? Used to be tapping up in old money yet we see it all the time now it seems, player power in the ‘elites’ is out of control, surely can’t be under contract and still talk terms with another club without a price agreed
Kane will have been given permission to speak to Bayern by Tottenham as they will think they aren’t far away from agreeing a price with Bayern, it’s not tapping up.
28-06-2023, 10:40 AM
Aberdeen sign Rhys Williams form Liverpool, we should look at Scales from Celtic now.
I thought he was garbage any time we played them.
28-06-2023, 10:41 AM
Don't understand how the sheep can spend more then us. It's mental given their attendance.
Bridge hibs
28-06-2023, 10:41 AM
Please no, he is rank, would rather Welsh from celtc if he was within our budget
28-06-2023, 10:42 AM
I wonder if McKirdy's contract goes up with the number of goals, hence why he seemed to try too hard.
Or he just wanted to score goals and do well?
28-06-2023, 10:45 AM
Or he just wanted to score goals and do well?
Don’t be so sensible
28-06-2023, 10:47 AM
Don't understand how the sheep can spend more then us. It's mental given their attendance.
They finished above us giving them at least £500k more. They have sold a player for £2m and they are guaranteed at least £3m from being in the group stages of a European competition. They have probably sold more season tickets than us as well. So far that is at least £3.5m more than us to spend
bringbackbenny
28-06-2023, 10:48 AM
Think they have spending more for years but for 23/24 the guaranteed millions from Euro Conference group stage will be the difference.
28-06-2023, 10:49 AM
They finished above us giving them at least £500k more. They have sold a player for £2m and they are guaranteed at least £3m from being in the group stages of a European competition. They have probably sold more season tickets than us as well. So far that is at least £3.5m more than us to spend
I agree with most of your points but they 100% haven’t sold more season tickets than us. They have just surpassed their record of 9.5k, which I found mental.
28-06-2023, 10:49 AM
Think Aberdeen will look to get Scales back, with Williams a replacement for Pollock, who was impressive.
Scales didn’t look too hot in games against us.
hibsforeurope
28-06-2023, 10:50 AM
They haven't sold more season tickets, as of 2 weeks ago they were more than 2000 less than us, but they have that other guaranteed money over us.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 10:50 AM
Sent off twice against us and looked a very poor defender tbh .
28-06-2023, 10:52 AM
£1.5m difference between 3rd and 5th, plus as you Euro money for group stages
Steven79
28-06-2023, 10:56 AM
The same guy that we ripped to pieces twice at Easter Road last season leading to a red card in both games?
28-06-2023, 10:58 AM
The thing with European money, as we saw with Hearts, is that you can't just spend all of it on players who will likely be on higher wages.
It doesn't automatically mean you have 3.5m more to spend, as you can't bank on having that 3.5m+ next year. Unless you massively overspeculate to accumulate (Romanov anyone...) you won't just pull away from the other teams around you overnight.
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 11:01 AM
The thing with European money, as we saw with Hearts, is that you can't just spend all of it on players who will likely be on higher wages.
It doesn't automatically mean you have 3.5m more to spend, as you can't bank on having that 3.5m+ next year. Unless you massively overspeculate to accumulate (Romanov anyone...) you won't just pull away from the other teams around you overnight.
Think it works out about 17k a week over 4 years. So you could commit to bringing in 3 fairly expensive players on 4 year deals. Shows how important it is to get there and not make an arse of it the next year. If you could get yourself there twice in a row and spend the money semi competently you’d be in a very good place.
SickBoy32
28-06-2023, 11:06 AM
Struggle to agree with this to be honest - just because the jambos made a total mess of it doesn't mean that it isn't a hugely significant windfall to a non-OF club
We've seemingly pulled in £1.5m / £2m for Nisbet, but at the same time have really weakened our squad. Sheep are obviously getting millions without this detrimental effect on their side
Back of fag packet stuff, but £3.5m would equate to an additional weekly budget of approx £40k for the next 2 years
No reason why that couldn't vastly improve our starting XI - it could in theory bring in 4/5 quality players on big wages (wages which are totally covered for the first 2 years by the Euro prize money)
If spent wisely (big if, of course) then this money could definitely propel Aberdeen beyond both us and hearts IMO
Kane will have been given permission to speak to Bayern by Tottenham as they will think they aren’t far away from agreeing a price with Bayern, it’s not tapping up.
Was reported the offer was 60m I’d think that was way wide of the mark
28-06-2023, 11:24 AM
Struggle to agree with this to be honest - just because the jambos made a total mess of it doesn't mean that it isn't a hugely significant windfall to a non-OF club
We've seemingly pulled in £1.5m / £2m for Nisbet, but at the same time have really weakened our squad. Sheep are obviously getting millions without this detrimental effect on their side
Back of fag packet stuff, but £3.5m would equate to an additional weekly budget of approx £40k for the next 2 years
No reason why that couldn't vastly improve our starting XI - it could in theory bring in 4/5 quality players on big wages (wages which are totally covered for the first 2 years by the Euro prize money)
If spent wisely (big if, of course) then this money could definitely propel Aberdeen beyond both us and hearts IMO
Of course it's hugely significant but only if you can replicate it as Stubbsy said. You can't sign guys on 3/4 year deals using projected budgets based on you finishing 3rd every year (plus we are about to lose that playoff round place soon I believe) then finish 4-12 in the league as you then are left with a gaping financial hole.
You're right that it's back of fag packet stuff as you haven't taken into account transfer fees, signing on fees, agent fees, bonuses, european travel costs etc. It's not just 3.5m that's going straight into their wage budget.
Keyser Sauzee
28-06-2023, 11:28 AM
Was reported the offer was 60m I’d think that was way wide of the mark
Not sure of the figures as I haven’t followed it at all but if he is genuinely in discussions around personal terms with Bayern then Spurs will have given him consent, so the clubs won’t be all that far away in terms of transfer fee.
28-06-2023, 11:33 AM
They generate millions each year through donations from wealthy fans
Think their owner has put a bit of money in as well.
Stokesy's on fire
28-06-2023, 11:41 AM
They generate millions each year through donations from wealthy fans
Think their owner has put a bit of money in as well.
He pretends to...Mcintosh plant hire put a lot in creepy cormack doesnt mention that much though.
28-06-2023, 12:00 PM
The same guy that we ripped to pieces twice at Easter Road last season leading to a red card in both games?
:agree: Scales looked extremely poor both times
28-06-2023, 12:02 PM
Have they ever done that? I'd be amazed if Aberdeen have ever broken through the 10k mark before.
Brunswickbill
28-06-2023, 12:10 PM
Have they ever done that? I'd be amazed if Aberdeen have ever broken through the 10k mark before.
https://www.aberdeenlive.news/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-confirm-10000-season-ticket-8514431#
28-06-2023, 12:14 PM
https://www.aberdeenlive.news/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-confirm-10000-season-ticket-8514431#
10k for the very first time. Surprised they've sold as much.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 12:19 PM
10k for the very first time. Surprised they've sold as much.
Wonder how our season ticket sales is going?
Argylehibby
28-06-2023, 12:20 PM
He got sent off every time he played at ER! Guy’s useless IMHO.
28-06-2023, 12:24 PM
I've not seen anything from the club unless i've missed it. Hearts are on 15k. Think that's as many as they can sell. I'd hazard a guess we're above Aberdeen and below Hearts. The usual really.
28-06-2023, 12:25 PM
Of course it's hugely significant but only if you can replicate it as Stubbsy said. You can't sign guys on 3/4 year deals using projected budgets based on you finishing 3rd every year (plus we are about to lose that playoff round place soon I believe) then finish 4-12 in the league as you then are left with a gaping financial hole.
You're right that it's back of fag packet stuff as you haven't taken into account transfer fees, signing on fees, agent fees, bonuses, european travel costs etc. It's not just 3.5m that's going straight into their wage budget.
We're not close to losing the play-off space.
Might lose it in 3 years or so if the old firm have another couple of seasons as poor as last year in Europe.
PHeffernan
28-06-2023, 12:25 PM
Over 11,000.
Directly from the keyboard of Supporter Liaison Power.
Suspect we are close to last seasons 11,300
Previous seasons they were pumping out figures every 2nd day. I’ve not seen any figures so far for this season
28-06-2023, 12:44 PM
Might lose it in 3 years or so if the old firm have another couple of seasons as poor as last year in Europe.
That's relatively close IMO
Bridge hibs
28-06-2023, 12:47 PM
They finished above us giving them at least £500k more. They have sold a player for £2m and they are guaranteed at least £3m from being in the group stages of a European competition. They have probably sold more season tickets than us as well. So far that is at least £3.5m more than us to spendWe have just sold a player for £2m or not a kick off the arse from it, we also sold Porteous and we have sold more season tickets than them, so apart from that..
28-06-2023, 12:53 PM
We have just sold a player for £2m or not a kick off the arse from it, we also sold Porteous and we have sold more season tickets than them, so apart from that..
Fair enough, but 1500 season tickets is about 500k and Porteous went for about 500k. That narrows the difference to 2.5m. Still a huge amount, probably more than our PATG receipts for the season. Just as Hearts did last season they will have a huge financial advantage over us.
28-06-2023, 01:04 PM
When the discussion is around not being able hand out large 4 year deals due to the uncertainty over the future of Scotland’s play off place, potentially losing it in 3 years is definitely relevant.
Silky
28-06-2023, 01:08 PM
Fair enough, but 1500 season tickets is about 500k and Porteous went for about 500k. That narrows the difference to 2.5m. Still a huge amount, probably more than our PATG receipts for the season. Just as Hearts did last season they will have a huge financial advantage over us.
It depends how they use it, though. The gap might look huge on paper, but at the end of the day it's on the park that matters and we won't really know until this time next season if the gap was really that big!
badabing67
28-06-2023, 01:15 PM
Off topic is the pre-season friendly against Embra City at the weekend available for free on Hibs TV YouTube channel
28-06-2023, 01:16 PM
Aberdeen doing some business this window
Looking a shoe in for 3rd again at this point
28-06-2023, 01:19 PM
Who have they signed to make them a shoe in?
28-06-2023, 01:25 PM
They just scraped third last season.
28-06-2023, 01:26 PM
We aren't sure who Hibs or our neighbours will be signing yet? A bit premature to assume Aberdeen will finish 3rd
28-06-2023, 01:27 PM
Who have they signed to make them a shoe in?
They'll be a load of cloggers.
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 01:30 PM
We aren't sure who Hibs or our neighbours will be signing yet? A bit premature to assume Aberdeen will finish 3rd
To be fair they said at this point.
Shinnie and Williams look to be excellent signings. They have lost McRorie though who was decent. If they lost Duk then they’ll be needing a big signing up top to make up for what he gives them.
28-06-2023, 01:33 PM
Shoe in really
Rick Rude
Sure I read on here the same about Hearts last year. Also remembering reading about how great Dundee Utd were going to be.
Shinnie played for them last year so i dobt see it as an imorovement to them. I would have taken him a couple of years ago. But a 3 year deal for someone who will be 32 as the season starts doesn't scream out as a great deal to me.
28-06-2023, 01:37 PM
28-06-2023, 01:38 PM
Shinnie played for them last year so i dobt see it as an imorovement to them. I would have taken him a couple of years ago. But a 3 year deal for someone who will be 32 as the season starts doesn't scream out as a great deal to me.
Its a great deal for Shinnie that's for sure
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 01:38 PM
He signed in January and within a couple of weeks they started their excellent run.
How much of that was down to him is hard to say but I reckon he’s a good signing, at least for the season coming.
28-06-2023, 01:41 PM
Shinnie and Williams look to be excellent signings. They have lost McRorie though who was decent. If they lost Duk then they’ll be needing a big signing up top to make up for what he gives them.
Shinnie played for them when we beat them 6-0
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 01:42 PM
Shinnie played for them when we beat them 6-0
And he played for them when they finished 3rd which ultimately is what matters. He’s a pretty good signing imo.
28-06-2023, 01:44 PM
Personally think they will struggle and Robson wont see Christmas in the job. We absolutely battered them up at Pitoddrie. They looked a bang average team that had a bizarre winning run. Now they have midweek games to contend with until December. Lets not forget we beat them 6-0.
28-06-2023, 01:45 PM
EXCLUSIVE. The Shropshire Star understands Shrewsbury Town are pushing to sign Morgan Feeney - former Carlisle United skipper. #Salop
28-06-2023, 02:04 PM
Aberdeen fans getting carried away as usual. Clarkson is a good player but there's no guarantee he develops into a big asset to sell. You only need to look at Dylan Levitt last season.
Looks like they've made some decent signings but I can't see any team running away with 3rd place. It'll be tight again.
28-06-2023, 02:12 PM
And he played for them when they finished 3rd which ultimately is what matters. He’s a pretty good signing imo.
Did he not miss a few fames through suspension as sell tho. So I'm not convinced it was all down to him. I think it will be tight for third and the sheep and tarts have two inexperienced managers that I hope will have a negative effect on them
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 02:17 PM
Did he not miss a few fames through suspension as sell tho. So I'm not convinced it was all down to him. I think it will be tight for third and the sheep and tarts have two inexperienced managers that I hope will have a negative effect on them
He did, and I don’t doubt it wasn’t all down to him. He’s a decent player at this level though and an improvement on what they had so in that regard it’s a good signing imo.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 02:23 PM
Some of the papers reporting 3 English club's now after Mckirdy on loan , Colchester United, leyton Orient and the last one's a mystery . Could it possibly be his old club Swindon ? .Looks fairly likely that Mckirdy might be moving on .
28-06-2023, 02:28 PM
Aberdeen fans getting carried away as usual. Clarkson is a good player but there's no guarantee he develops into a big asset to sell. You only need to look at Dylan Levitt last season.
Looks like they've made some decent signings but I can't see any team running away with 3rd place. It'll be tight again.
Rhys Williams is a very average CB, saw him (not get much gametime) at Blackpool last season until he was sent back to Liverpool in January. If we had signed him I would be disappointed, Fish is three times the player. Nothing to fear there!
28-06-2023, 02:59 PM
So did they get 3rd by being good last season or just due to everyone being rubbish like the year we got 3rd? :wink: Personally I think all the teams going for 3rd are pretty level in terms of squad depth. Nobody is a shoe in at this point. But if we get rid of Mckirdy I'll be more confident.
28-06-2023, 03:00 PM
Sorry for being a pedant but it is a shoo in not shoe in, one relates to waving your arms to try and get an animal to move, the other is what I used to get off my first boss when he was unhappy with me :greengrin
HFC93
28-06-2023, 03:02 PM
Behave yourself
1875Sean
28-06-2023, 03:03 PM
Some of the papers reporting 3 English club's now after Mckirdy on loan , Colchester United, leyton Orient and the last one's a mystery . Could it possibly be his old club Swindon ? .Looks fairly likely that Mckirdy might be moving on .
Would be our best bit of business this window, hopefully its a permanent deal
Hibiza
28-06-2023, 03:04 PM
Good news .
28-06-2023, 03:05 PM
Sorry for being a pedant but it is a shoo in not shoe in, one relates to waving your arms to try and get an animal to move, the other is what I used to get off my first boss when he was unhappy with me :greengrin
There you go then, I’m not sure what meaning fits better
28-06-2023, 03:09 PM
Some people flip flop with the terms.
Silky
28-06-2023, 03:16 PM
Loafer-ly use of flip-flop there!
28-06-2023, 03:16 PM
:greengrin I made the joke about my old boss without context which while it remains funny for me is probably lost on everyone else, he used to shout at me, "I you dinae do what your told I'll gie you a shoe in the arse!!"
I think I would get in Bovver is I started a pun train from my post though!
28-06-2023, 03:17 PM
Loafer-ly use of flip-flop there!
Any more jokes like that and you'll get the boot.....
28-06-2023, 03:18 PM
:greengrin I made the joke about my old boss without context which while it remains funny for me is probably lost on everyone else, he used to shout at me, "I you dinae do what your told I'll gie you a shoe in the arse!!"
I think I would get in Bovver is I started a pun train from my post though!
All of the anti-pun mob can put a sock in it....
Hibiza
28-06-2023, 03:25 PM
Perhaps your on the wrong Platforms
Torto7
28-06-2023, 03:27 PM
Utter Pish.
Torto7
28-06-2023, 03:28 PM
EXCLUSIVE. The Shropshire Star understands Shrewsbury Town are pushing to sign Morgan Feeney - former Carlisle United skipper. #Salop
Neither Hibs or Hearts were in for him. Just agent guff linking us.
28-06-2023, 03:31 PM
I still reckon we will go toe to toe with Aberdeen.
28-06-2023, 03:32 PM
Shinne is pish
Silky
28-06-2023, 03:36 PM
Shinne is pish
:agree: I think he's a croc of ****
AltheHibby
28-06-2023, 03:40 PM
I see we've managed to slip on to pun mode.
Best we don't clog this thread with them.
28-06-2023, 03:41 PM
Shinne is pish
Think so?
I’d have him in our midfield over Jeggo 100%
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 03:42 PM
Think so?
Likewise. He’d comfortably start for us imo.
Wouldn’t have given him 3 years mind you.
28-06-2023, 03:50 PM
Shinnie would walk in to our team. Good signing for Aberdeen. Doesn't strengthen them though as he was already there.
28-06-2023, 03:52 PM
Looking a shoe in for 3rd again at this pointI remember reading similar when some thought dundee United were a shoe in for top 6, and would be european place contenders at the start of last season....
No doubt Aberdeen have made some decent signings, but the SPL is no cakewalk over the course of the season.
Sent from my SM-S918B using Tapatalk
28-06-2023, 04:00 PM
Think so?
I think most would like a better Jeggo. Shinnie is prob a slightly better footballer than Jeggo but I'd rather have neither.
scm70nyd1973
28-06-2023, 04:02 PM
:agree: I think he's a croc of ****
Indeed - if ever there was a sling back to where he came from then he’s it 🤭
28-06-2023, 04:04 PM
I think most would like a better Jeggo. Shinnie is prob a slightly better footballer than Jeggo but I'd rather have neither.
I’d rather have neither as well but that’s a different point completely
28-06-2023, 04:07 PM
Shinne is pish
He was certainly a very good player first time around, altho8gh I did feel he had slowed down last season. A bit like when Thomson came back to us, you could play around him.
HFC93
28-06-2023, 04:10 PM
I think it's odd how many Hibs fans you see on here and on social media standing up for Mckirdy when other players who've had less of an opportunity get written off. He is simply nowhere close to being good enough .
28-06-2023, 04:22 PM
I think it's odd how many Hibs fans you see on here and on social media standing up for Mckirdy when other players who've had less of an opportunity get written off. He is simply nowhere close to being good enough .
He could potentially be one of our worst signings when you take into account the fee and wages. An awful signing. Id be very surprised if BM would sign a player of that ilk moving forward.
28-06-2023, 04:34 PM
Fans standing up for a player in the team they support, how odd.
28-06-2023, 04:35 PM
Shinnie would walk in to our team. Good signing for Aberdeen. Doesn't strengthen them though as he was already there.
Whilst I agree, I think after a couple of game there would be moans about how he’s not good enough on the ball. Especially for playing the same position as Jeggo
28-06-2023, 04:41 PM
Shinne is pish
He would walk into our team, would probably be captain too.
28-06-2023, 04:46 PM
A player who’s posted stuff about “Chelsea, golf, Hibs” or similar on social media like a petulant child all whilst failing to contribute at all.
He’s long since given up the right to be backed to the hilt.
McKirdy is never going to be good enough to be a backup striker for us. I think he's backed because the amount of people who insisted that we need a striker who is a "maverick", "a character", or "has a bit of swagger" have found out that having an unusual dress sense or some swagger is nothing without footballing ability.
What we really need (if we do get Myko or a similarly good first choice number 9) is a striker in the mould of what Eoin Doyle, James Keatings, Oli Shaw, or similar did for us. Happy enough to play second fiddle to a striker who would net us 15-20 goals in a season, but coming off the bench could get you 5-10 goals a season, or indeed able to play in the system if the main attacker was injured or suspended.
McKirdy has had zero goals, zero assists. He'd maybe do well at someone like Falkirk, Queen of the South, or Hamilton where he'd be able to score 10-15 goals and his character would be a strength, but when you're here to be a dependable deputy then it's completely irrelevant and if anything, a hinderance.
28-06-2023, 04:50 PM
He would walk into our team, would probably be captain too.
Not with Joe Newall around he wouldn't.
28-06-2023, 04:51 PM
Would be our best bit of business this window, hopefully its a permanent deal
I think it will be a loan spell with the option to buy. Just saying.
badabing67
28-06-2023, 04:55 PM
Not with Joe Newall around he wouldn't.
I think there is a strong case for Newell to be made our Cappo.
Bridge hibs
28-06-2023, 05:01 PM
A player who’s posted stuff about “Chelsea, golf, Hibs” or similar on social media like a petulant child all whilst failing to contribute at all.
McKirdy is never going to be good enough to be a backup striker for us. I think he's backed because the amount of people who insisted that we need a striker who is a "maverick", "a character", or "has a bit of swagger" have found out that having an unusual dress sense or some swagger is nothing without footballing ability.
What we really need (if we do get Myko or a similarly good first choice number 9) is a striker in the mould of what Eoin Doyle, James Keatings, Oli Shaw, or similar did for us. Happy enough to play second fiddle to a striker who would net us 15-20 goals in a season, but coming off the bench could get you 5-10 goals a season, or indeed able to play in the system if the main attacker was injured or suspended.
McKirdy has had zero goals, zero assists. He'd maybe do well at someone like Falkirk, Queen of the South, or Hamilton where he'd be able to score 10-15 goals and his character would be a strength, but when you're here to be a dependable deputy then it's completely irrelevant and if anything, a hinderance.
What did he post about Chelsea and golf that has got peoples backs up ? He supports Chelsea doesnt he ? Im not on twitter or any other guffy site so unsure of what folk are offended by
WeAreHibs
28-06-2023, 05:03 PM
I think there is a strong case for Newell to be made our Cappo.
Absolutely!
28-06-2023, 05:03 PM
Shrewsbury Town confirm the signing of Morgan Feeney.
28-06-2023, 05:09 PM
What did he post about Chelsea and golf that has got peoples backs up ? He supports Chelsea doesnt he ? Im not on twitter or any other guffy site so unsure of what folk are offended by
A picture of a bench with something that read similar to Gareth Bale's "Wales, golf, Madrid". Unless it was meant in a completely different way and it's a mere coincidence, it was extremely petulant and childish given how awful value for money that he's been.
Bridge hibs
28-06-2023, 05:22 PM
A picture of a bench with something that read similar to Gareth Bale's "Wales, golf, Madrid". Unless it was meant in a completely different way and it's a mere coincidence, it was extremely petulant and childish given how awful value for money that he's been.
Ah and if it was just a coincidence he has been slated for it without folk actually knowing the true meaning. That along with his dodgy hairstyles and clotheswear
Im as frustrated as the next person due to his very little impact on the pitch but Im ****ed if Im going to go into a meltdown because of a few things he posted on his own social media platform
Anyway I think hibs fans can stand at ease as I dont think we will see him next season in a hibs strip
28-06-2023, 05:27 PM
That’s an awfully long response to something I didn’t say - I never said he had a right to be backed to the hilt.
The post I responded to called fellow Hibs supporters odd for backing one of our players. I’d never refer to a fellow Hibs fan as odd for backing a player, whether I think that player is good at football or not. It’s entirely normal for Hibs supporters to support players that play for our club.
28-06-2023, 05:34 PM
Ah and if it was just a coincidence he has been slated for it without folk actually knowing the true meaning. That along with his dodgy hairstyles and clotheswear
Im as frustrated as the next person due to his very little impact on the pitch but Im ****ed if Im going to go into a meltdown because of a few things he posted on his own social media platform
Anyway I think hibs fans can stand at ease as I dont think we will see him next season in a hibs strip
TBF he knew exactly what he was posting and apologised to LJ for it.
28-06-2023, 05:39 PM
TBF he knew exactly what he was posting and apologised to LJ for it.
There are people in the stands who work one, two, maybe even three jobs as part of their day to day lives, often in jobs that they ****ing hate. I bet almost everyone in the stands would give their eye teeth to be in the position of being subbed on for the last fifteen seconds of a game, just to say they've represented the club.
For me there's no way back for any player after something like that, particularly if they haven't performed. It's completely disrespectful to the support and although I wasn't one who booed him into the pitch at Aberdeen, I understood the feeling behind it.
I'm encouraged by BMcD talking about hiring the right characters as hopefully we'll never see a situation like it again.
28-06-2023, 05:42 PM
There are people in the stands who work one, two, maybe even three jobs as part of their day to day lives, often in jobs that they ****ing hate. I bet almost everyone in the stands would give their eye teeth to be in the position of being subbed on for the last fifteen seconds of a game, just to say they've represented the club.
For me there's no way back for any player after something like that, particularly if they haven't performed. It's completely disrespectful to the support and although I wasn't one who booed him into the pitch at Aberdeen, I understood the feeling behind it.
I'm encouraged by BMcD talking about hiring the right characters as hopefully we'll never see a situation like it again.
I get your point, but it’s all relative.
The fans in the stand would have moaned about their job at some point, I dare say there’s someone out there that would be desperate to have their job!
Footballers are just a bit cringe at times with wanting to show every emotion on social media for attention
Fwiw I’ve heard McKirdy is actually a good lad and well liked, just stupid at times.
It will never catch on 🙄
28-06-2023, 05:49 PM
I get your point, but it’s all relative.
The fans in the stand would have moaned about their job at some point, I dare say there’s someone out there that would be desperate to have their job!
Footballers are just a bit cringe at times with wanting to show every emotion on social media for attention
Fwiw I’ve heard McKirdy is actually a good lad and well liked, just stupid at times.
I'd genuinely be happy if we made some signings that were boring, but were well thought through, thoroughly scouted in terms of ability and character, and give us extra depth.
That's what we did in the season we finished third - the likes of Gogic, Wright, Nisbet, Cadden and the like. None of them particularly exciting at the time (with the exception of Nisbet), but just solid professionals who added something. Didn't quite work out for Drey Wright, but would happily take decent players without the drama.
Thankfully looks like the tactic we're taking in this window so far so looking forward to seeing how we progress.
Bridge hibs
28-06-2023, 05:53 PM
TBF he knew exactly what he was posting and apologised to LJ for it.He knew what he was posting and the meaning behind it, you and I dont. The guy is an absolute radge but theres no harm in being a radge, he is a character and a lot of folk at Swindon etc loved that. Ive listened to a couple of his pod casts and I find him quite funny if not a bit wired to the moon, again not a hanging offence.
He also speaks quite passionately about his career and how he almost gave up the game, his confidence was ****ed and a couple of clubs bumped him for trials because he is a bit of a livewire
It hasnt worked out for him at hibs and I think it would take a massive turnaround to change that and thats why I think he will go. Im disappointed it hasnt worked out for him and as a footballer no doubt he feels the same.
I think though his ship has sailed and he will be gone and if so then good luck to the laddie, certainly no ill feeling from me
He knew what he was posting and the meaning behind it, you and I dont. The guy is an absolute radge but theres no harm in being a radge, he is a character and a lot of folk at Swindon etc loved that. Ive listened to a couple of his pod casts and I find him quite funny if not a bit wired to the moon, again not a hanging offence.
He also speaks quite passionately about his career and how he almost gave up the game, his confidence was ****ed and a couple of clubs bumped him for trials because he is a bit of a livewire
It hasnt worked out for him at hibs and I think it would take a massive turnaround to change that and thats why I think he will go. Im disappointed it hasnt worked out for him and as a footballer no doubt he feels the same.
I think though his ship has sailed and he will be gone and if so then good luck to the laddie, certainly no ill feeling from me
28-06-2023, 06:36 PM
He knew what he was posting and the meaning behind it, you and I dont. The guy is an absolute radge but theres no harm in being a radge, he is a character and a lot of folk at Swindon etc loved that. Ive listened to a couple of his pod casts and I find him quite funny if not a bit wired to the moon, again not a hanging offence.
All his idiosyncrasies aside he just hasn’t shown nearly enough attitude or ability to be a success at Hibs. IMO he isn’t good enough. You can be as off the wall and Radge as you want but you need to be able to back it up in the pitch.
28-06-2023, 06:49 PM
Shoe in really
Shoo not shoe.
You're welcome! :greengrin
28-06-2023, 06:55 PM
He’s been here a year
All we’ve seen is tantrums
Don’t know how anyone can defend this signing
No where near good enough
Move on pronto
HFC93
28-06-2023, 07:04 PM
That’s an awfully long response to something I didn’t say - I never said he had a right to be backed to the hilt.
The post I responded to called fellow Hibs supporters odd for backing one of our players. I’d never refer to a fellow Hibs fan as odd for backing a player, whether I think that player is good at football or not. It’s entirely normal for Hibs supporters to support players that play for our club.
It's entirely normal for fans to blindly back a guy who has disrespected our club and delivered nothing? To me that is odd behaviour but each to their own.
28-06-2023, 07:23 PM
He’s been here a year
All we’ve seen is tantrums
Don’t know how anyone can defend this signing
No where near good enough
Move on pronto
My defence of McKirdy is I don’t think he’s a winger and he’s not been given much of an opportunity through the centre. When we signed him Swindon Fan on here posted that if he was played through the middle he’d be good but he wasn’t a good winger, that’s just how it’s played out.
The way we play he’s never going to get a decent run through the centre so I hope we move him on. He’s not been a good signing so I’m not saying the people that don’t rate him are wrong, I just think there needs to be a bit context as to why the signing hasn’t worked out and it’s not all on him.
I’ve no bitterness towards the guy at all, it’s a shame it’s not worked out but it wasn’t due to a lack of effort, just seems to me to be a poorly thought out signing on our part. Good luck to the guy but best for all parties he moves on.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 07:24 PM
I think Mckirdy is probably a likeable fella that's just a bit of a bampot TBH. I was annoyed at the time when he turned up to sign for us dressed the way he was but later on thought if the club doesn't mind why should I . The tweet he done about Chelsea , Nina , Golf never really bothered me either though it did seem to really annoy some and I wondered why they just didn't keep away if it upset them so much TBH. He apologised to LJ according to another poster and that should have been a end of the matter .
I was willing to give him a chance this year for all his mistakes though if as another poster said there's friction between him and the manager I think he'll be away for sure with a loan looking the most likely option. For all the stuff Mckirdy has done the fans that booed him coming on against Aberdeen are right up there with anything stupid Mckirdy's done imo . We should never boo our own players coming on , leave that to the opposition fans to do without out helping them with it ! .Doesn't help our team .
28-06-2023, 07:29 PM
In other news Havertz leaves Chelsea and signs for Arsenal
Live Score
28-06-2023, 07:35 PM
Mckirdys created good chances for himself and others, he really should have had a couple of assists and goals under his belt. I'm still hopeful he'll come good aas he's shown flashes of what he's capable of and with a run in the team and a bit of confidence I'm sure we'll see a player there.
28-06-2023, 07:35 PM
In other news Havertz leaves Chelsea and signs for Arsenal
Live Sports
Rice and Timber to follow. Almost the entire squad got 7/8 years left at the top. Interesting few years ahead for them I think. Should be top 2 again. Rivals doing very little in the market so far, aside from City.
28-06-2023, 07:50 PM
Mckirdys created good chances for himself and others, he really should have had a couple of assists and goals under his belt. I'm still hopeful he'll come good aas he's shown flashes of what he's capable of and with a run in the team and a bit of confidence I'm sure we'll see a player there.
His time at Hibs might have been very different if he'd got an early goal.
There's an air of desperation about him. I was certainly patient with him, quite liked his work ethic and some of his goals from Swindon suggested "there was a player in there", a pish player doesn't finish like that at any level imo. The longer times have gone on though the harder he seems to try, the frustration drips from him when things aren't going his way and I feel for him a bit.
I'm somewhere near my last shred of patience with him. The off the field stuff doesn't really bother me, I like a player who is a bit of a twat. But he needs to start contributing, properly contributing. Maybe he just needs to chill out a bit? Maybe get a few goals in an easy European game?
If it doesn't happen for him soon though then he can pack his bags. He simply hasn't contributed enough, although it would be interesting to see how he got on in a pair up front with someone like Myko. I know it's not an easy way for us to play with Boyle, Youan et al but I also don't think we've found a role that totally suits him yet.
28-06-2023, 08:10 PM
I am 100% positive if McKirdy left us he would score on his debut or whatever team he signed for.
He’s done little to suggest he will come good, but for some reason I think we should persevere with him a little bit longer - and this is coming from someone that finds him incredibly frustrating.
28-06-2023, 08:11 PM
My defence of McKirdy is I don’t think he’s a winger and he’s not been given much of an opportunity through the centre. When we signed him Swindon Fan on here posted that if he was played through the middle he’d be good but he wasn’t a good winger, that’s just how it’s played out.
The way we play he’s never going to get a decent run through the centre so I hope we move him on. He’s not been a good signing so I’m not saying the people that don’t rate him are wrong, I just think there needs to be a bit context as to why the signing hasn’t worked out and it’s not all on him.
I’ve no bitterness towards the guy at all, it’s a shame it’s not worked out but it wasn’t due to a lack of effort, just seems to me to be a poorly thought out signing on our part. Good luck to the guy but best for all parties he moves on.
Think he’s just another example of our poor and disjointed recruitment we’re currently unpicking. How much money did we spend on McKirdy & Melkerson for strikers who it appears need played through the middle, and with a partner, for them to succeed? As it is we only play 1 through the middle and they were having to oust Nisbet.
I don’t think he’s good enough, but like most of our signings I feel a bit sorry for them. Signed because they were good individual players or players with potential. What position or how they would compliment what was already there seemed to be an afterthought.
28-06-2023, 08:17 PM
Think he’s just another example of our poor and disjointed recruitment we’re currently unpicking. How much money did we spend on McKirdy & Melkerson for strikers who it appears need played through the middle, and with a partner, for them to succeed? As it is we only play 1 through the middle and they were having to oust Nisbet.
I don’t think he’s good enough, but like most of our signings I feel a bit sorry for them. Signed because they were good individual players or players with potential. What position or how they would compliment what was already there seemed to be an afterthought.
I wouldn’t put Melkerson in the same bracket as him. I think he’s still got masses of potential. I’d like to see him out on loan at a team at a top end in the championship next season. Dundee Utd, Ayr, Queens Park maybe.
28-06-2023, 08:25 PM
Spurs sign James Maddison
Live Scores
Live Scores
Good signing for them, they've missed creativity from midfield.
28-06-2023, 08:31 PM
I wouldn’t put Melkerson in the same bracket as him. I think he’s still got masses of potential. I’d like to see him out on loan at a team at a top end in the championship next season. Dundee Utd, Ayr, Queens Park maybe.
I’d like to see Melkerson come good, and think he’s one of the few who has a minimal chance of it. However we spent a big fee on him and 18 months later he’s still as raw and as far away from the first team as when he arrived. A season in the championship might see him come good, but a terrible signing and very badly managed, where after 2 1/2 years(next season) we’re hoping he might be able to contribute in the first team. If we could recoup some/all of what we paid, and for the good of Melkersons career, I’d, slightly reluctantly, move him on.
JammyDoidger
28-06-2023, 08:39 PM
I am 100% positive if McKirdy left us he would score on his debut or whatever team he signed for.
He’s done little to suggest he will come good, but for some reason I think we should persevere with him a little bit longer - and this is coming from someone that finds him incredibly frustrating.
This. I'd get him going in pre season and look to give him a run of starts at the beginning of the season. If he doesn't do it after a few pre season games, Europe and a few league starts then look to move him on end of the window.
King Cosell
28-06-2023, 08:40 PM
Live Scores
Blimey, I didn't know Aberdeen had him on loan in 2016/17.
Scored an absolute peach against Rangers, last minute freekick if I'm not mistaken
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 08:44 PM
Eamonn brophy rumoured to be going to Ross county and St Mirren in talks with Steven Fletcher's representatives.
28-06-2023, 08:46 PM
Rice and Timber to follow. Almost the entire squad got 7/8 years left at the top. Interesting few years ahead for them I think. Should be top 2 again. Rivals doing very little in the market so far, aside from City.
Arsenal are definitely one team who have signed quality over quantity in recent seasons. Squad looking stronger now
Still likely amounts to competing with Liverpool for 2nd place but City are just a different beast.
28-06-2023, 08:47 PM
Was there for half and season in his teens and was brilliant. Worth watching his Aberdeen highlights on YouTube. He was there while we languished in the 2nd tier which is why it probably went under your radar.
https://youtu.be/MyFvQ-y7KCQ
28-06-2023, 08:47 PM
I’d like to see Melkerson come good, and think he’s one of the few who has a minimal chance of it. However we spent a big fee on him and 18 months later he’s still as raw and as far away from the first team as when he arrived. A season in the championship might see him come good, but a terrible signing and very badly managed, where after 2 1/2 years(next season) we’re hoping he might be able to contribute in the first team. If we could recoup some/all of what we paid, and for the good of Melkersons career, I’d, slightly reluctantly, move him on.
Great that you’ve written this season off for him already 👍🏻
28-06-2023, 08:49 PM
Eamonn brophy rumoured to be going to Ross county and St Mirren in talks with Steven Fletcher's representatives.
Fletch would be a good signing for Saints. An upgrade on Curtis Main.
28-06-2023, 08:49 PM
I often wonder if his goalbound shot against Aberdeen had gone in instead of us getting a penalty would have been the turning point for him. I love that he’s a bit different and hoped he’d become a bit of a cult figure with us but it’s looking like we’ll cut our losses if we can.
JamesHFC
28-06-2023, 08:52 PM
Good signing for them, they've missed creativity from midfield.
A more reasonable price at £40m compared to some of the figures getting thrown about.
Kovacic to City is a very shrewd signing, he will fit like a glove into that midfield. Gvardiol an exceptional signing once he joins too.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 08:53 PM
Fletch would be a good signing for Saints. An upgrade on Curtis Main.
Agree , much better player than Main and will chip in with a few goals too .
28-06-2023, 08:57 PM
I reckon melkersons suffered most from our lack of creativity in midfield. He needs balls to run on to as opposed to crosses into the box, which is more our style
28-06-2023, 08:59 PM
Great that you’ve written this season off for him already 👍🏻
After little to no football in the 18 months since he signed is this season likely to be his breakthrough? Not sure what in my post you found unreasonable?
28-06-2023, 09:11 PM
Kane hasn’t been given permission to speak to anyone.
28-06-2023, 09:14 PM
Struggling to see how it is English tax. He’d have gone for £80m ish if City came in.
Only other club in was Bayern Munich and the German journos were saying they’d walked at £70m.
cameronw-hfc
28-06-2023, 09:16 PM
Was there for half and season in his teens and was brilliant. Worth watching his Aberdeen highlights on YouTube. He was there while we languished in the 2nd tier which is why it probably went under your radar.
https://youtu.be/MyFvQ-y7KCQ
One of the few England players I genuinely feel sorry for. Great player, just a shame that #10/off the left/cm role is probably England's strongest positions.
Got the likes of Mount, Grealish, Foden, Rushford to compete with and as good as he is, he's not on their level imo. Shows how strong a team they actually have tbf.
28-06-2023, 09:21 PM
After little to no football in the 18 months since he signed is this season likely to be his breakthrough? Not sure what in my post you found unreasonable?
The point about “after 2 and a half years”. We don’t know what he might contribute this year. He did also make a contribution to the first team last season.
Time will tell.
Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2023, 09:45 PM
Struggling to see how it is English tax. He’d have gone for £80m ish if City came in.
Only other club in was Bayern Munich and the German journos were saying they’d walked at £70m.
Sorry, I don’t understand? City did come in and they had a bid of nearly £100m knocked back?
Are you talking about Harry Kane?
28-06-2023, 09:49 PM
The point about “after 2 and a half years”. We don’t know what he might contribute this year. He did also make a contribution to the first team last season.
Time will tell.
2 1/2 years was in relation to him going on loan to the championship next season as was being suggested. He needs a loan and to play football. I’d be amazed if that football was at Hibs this season, or any team at SPL level. A loan move and playing regularly is probably make or break time for him to make it at Hibs next summer.
Whatever way you cut it he’s been a poor signing so far and also badly managed by Hibs.
28-06-2023, 10:47 PM
Morgan Feeney snubs Hibs and Hearts for............................................... . Shrewsbury Town, ambitious eh :greengrin
Morgan Feeney in Hearts and Hibs transfer blow as defender snubs Edinburgh for Shrewsbury - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/morgan-feeney-hearts-hibs-transfer-27219743?fbclid=IwAR2_ATXFh8iLuIKK_nIvCvx53RdBH6bt HCWeDPJ14dankBKRigdqbOSFql0)
28-06-2023, 10:50 PM
Morgan Feeney snubs Hibs and Hearts for............................................... . Shrewsbury Town, ambitious eh :greengrin
Morgan Feeney in Hearts and Hibs transfer blow as defender snubs Edinburgh for Shrewsbury - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/morgan-feeney-hearts-hibs-transfer-27219743?fbclid=IwAR2_ATXFh8iLuIKK_nIvCvx53RdBH6bt HCWeDPJ14dankBKRigdqbOSFql0)
His agent probably had a note of interest 3 months ago and hasn't heard anything since from anyone except Shrews. Pure PR spin.
Donegal Hibby
28-06-2023, 11:27 PM
I think the Hibs squad are away to Spain on the 6th so hopefully see a few signings soon . Hoping for Fish back , maybe another CB and probably a RB too . Two midfielders , wouldn't be against either Levitt or McGrath tbh and a DM . Striker ,I'd really like Mykola back and if Mckirdy goes someone like demitri Oberlin to come in as well .
29-06-2023, 05:23 AM
One new report linking us with Baccus (st Mirren) since the Bolton move collapsed
https://www.ftbl.com.au/news/hibernian-on-alert-as-baccus-backs-out-of-bolton-deal-597448
29-06-2023, 05:36 AM
His agent probably had a note of interest 3 months ago and hasn't heard anything since from anyone except Shrews. Pure PR spin.
Exactly that.
chippy
29-06-2023, 05:57 AM
One new report linking us with Baccus (st Mirren) since the Bolton move collapsed
https://www.ftbl.com.au/news/hibernian-on-alert-as-baccus-backs-out-of-bolton-deal-597448
Medical issue apparently info from a local newspaper
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 06:02 AM
Medical issue apparently info from a local newspaperHe is coming to hibs then 😵
Old unfunny and well worn out joke alert
29-06-2023, 06:10 AM
Medical issue apparently info from a local newspaper
Having got rid of one crock from St Mirren in Magennis, I suppose the medical team are feeling bereft so Hibs are kindly getting them a replacement.
Sauerkraut
29-06-2023, 06:16 AM
Baccus liked a bevvy, did he no?
NGoloGrantie
29-06-2023, 07:24 AM
Baccus would be a great signing. Hopefully there is some truth in that report
29-06-2023, 07:52 AM
Shows how much interest I pay in other team’s players , never heard of the guy🤷🏼 What kind of player is her?
Heedersnvolleys
29-06-2023, 08:02 AM
Same could be said of us loosing Nisbet
Greenio
29-06-2023, 08:06 AM
McKirdy needs to be moved on. Truth is, on this occasion, he tried, he failed, performance wise and off field. I don't hold any ill towards the guy - but he got chances and took none of them. He just can''t take on a player and complete a move, running on your tip toes doesn't make you a good footballer if you just run into the opposition and lose the ball - which is what i saw him to 70% of the time. If he never had pink hair, folk would be a lot more vocal in calling for him to leave, which is odd, but makes sense. Fans like a player they connect with and, as he's a bit diff, they connect more with McKirdy cos hes more memorable. Move him on, get in someone better, hope he does well elsewhere
archie
29-06-2023, 08:12 AM
Baccus liked a bevvy, did he no?
Yo ho ho! Post of the day.
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 08:15 AM
McKirdy needs to be moved on. Truth is, on this occasion, he tried, he failed, performance wise and off field. I don't hold any ill towards the guy - but he got chances and took none of them. He just can''t take on a player and complete a move, running on your tip toes doesn't make you a good footballer if you just run into the opposition and lose the ball - which is what i saw him to 70% of the time. If he never had pink hair, folk would be a lot more vocal in calling for him to leave, which is odd, but makes sense. Fans like a player they connect with and, as he's a bit diff, they connect more with McKirdy cos hes more memorable. Move him on, get in someone better, hope he does well elsewhereI cant understand why folk (not you btw) get worked up about a players hair 🤣 his hair whether pink, orange, green or multi coloured has absolutely no bearing on his footballing abilities. I have “silver” hair and my standard of work has been the same since I went from a mohican (green) to skinhead to grey and now to a thin shimmering silver 😃
leith lynx
29-06-2023, 08:18 AM
Matured a lot over the last couple of years, grape wee player.
29-06-2023, 08:18 AM
McKirdy needs to be moved on. Truth is, on this occasion, he tried, he failed, performance wise and off field. I don't hold any ill towards the guy - but he got chances and took none of them. He just can''t take on a player and complete a move, running on your tip toes doesn't make you a good footballer if you just run into the opposition and lose the ball - which is what i saw him to 70% of the time. If he never had pink hair, folk would be a lot more vocal in calling for him to leave, which is odd, but makes sense. Fans like a player they connect with and, as he's a bit diff, they connect more with McKirdy cos hes more memorable. Move him on, get in someone better, hope he does well elsewhere
I genuinely think people saw a bit of Riordan in him with the maverick persona, slender frame and hair style and hoped he'd be the same. That's where the similarity ended. People slate Scottish football but you need to be a right good player at this level and it looks way beyond him. Is he likely to improve at 26? He's not a young laddie. Id be delighted if I had his ability but I'd not be good enough to play for Hibs either. He'll do well at a lower level.
29-06-2023, 08:24 AM
Matured a lot over the last couple of years, grape wee player.
True, could well be the apple of our eyes
29-06-2023, 08:25 AM
I've not watched much of him but he's clearly higher rated than Jeggo. Would be a real sign of intent if we signed someone in that area.
29-06-2023, 08:27 AM
I cant understand why folk (not you btw) get worked up about a players hair 🤣 his hair whether pink, orange, green or multi coloured has absolutely no bearing on his footballing abilities. I have “silver” hair and my standard of work has been the same since I went from a mohican (green) to skinhead to grey and now to a thin shimmering silver 😃
Im not fussed about his hair. But he dresses like he's just rolled out of bed when he turns up on match days etc. Maybe I'm just an old fart but I;d rather standards included looking like you are proud to be wearing that Hibernian tracksuit. But obv nobody would care if he was good.
29-06-2023, 08:32 AM
I'm sure that there is a good player in McKirdy, but it's not worked and for both parties he needs to move on.
Whilst I have an opinion that a solid pre-season working with the team at Hibs will do him good and get him more integrated into the Hibs way, I also think he should have shown more by now. Time to go!
29-06-2023, 08:35 AM
Reports that Dylan Levitt is to be sold by Dundee Utd with Cardiff leading the chase.
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 08:40 AM
I genuinely think people saw a bit of Riordan in him with the maverick persona, slender frame and hair style and hoped he'd be the same. That's where the similarity ended. People slate Scottish football but you need to be a right good player at this level and it looks way beyond him. Is he likely to improve at 26? He's not a young laddie. Id be delighted if I had his ability but I'd not be good enough to play for Hibs either. He'll do well at a lower level.
Scottish football is a higher standard than people give it credit for. The league is littered with international football players. The ‘big 5’ all have a good handful and most other teams have one or two. It’s a much higher level than League Two down south and probably a higher level than League One.
29-06-2023, 08:44 AM
Reports that Dylan Levitt is to be sold by Dundee Utd with Cardiff leading the chase.He'd be one I'd like to add to our midfield
Classy player and given the right combination be an excellent signing
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
29-06-2023, 08:47 AM
Scottish football is a higher standard than people give it credit for. The league is littered with international football players. The ‘big 5’ all have a good handful and most other teams have one or two. It’s a much higher level than League Two down south and probably a higher level than League One.
The recently beatified on here, Heckingbottom, said that the Scottish Premiership was League One standard. "Lower half of League One".
LeithMike
29-06-2023, 08:49 AM
He just can''t take on a player and complete a move, running on your tip toes doesn't make you a good footballer if you just run into the opposition and lose the ball - which is what i saw him to 70% of the time.
Don’t disagree but I also I don’t remember Ally McCoist beating a player but he offered a lot for Rangers.
McKirdy is clearly not a wide forward so if that’s where he is going to play we might as well move on. Could he do a job as a poacher playing off the shoulder? Yes, I think so but don’t think that’s in LJ’s plans. So again raises questions as to why we signed him. Also don’t see Melkerson fitting LJ’s strategy and last games he played he got shunted wide too.
A lot for McDermott to sort out behind the scenes.
29-06-2023, 08:53 AM
Reports that Dylan Levitt is to be sold by Dundee Utd with Cardiff leading the chase.
Thought Cardiff had a transfer ban, or has this been lifted