View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51

tonyrougier123
31-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Anyone remember the best window in years chat? Been saying for years sign a proven CB problem is we now need a whole defence.

Won’t be done in a day either,so the helter skelter hibees will continue rwgardless who comes in.

31-08-2023, 06:13 PM
What budget have we got after paying off 3 of the management team and potential compensation for the new management team?

No idea and to be honest I don't care. This is absolutely one of those situations of pay now or pay even more later. A clear-sighted and ruthless CE would have binned Johnson last season or early in the summer. A clear-sighted and ruthless CE would be authorising the signings we desperately need in this window, via the Director of Football he was so keen to talk about when things turned 5hit last season, ready for the new manager to capitalise on.

If we had a clear sighted and ruthless CE.

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 07:07 PM
Ollie Shaw signs on loan for Motherwell.

31-08-2023, 08:23 PM
Sign Bogdan for ****'s sake.

31-08-2023, 08:43 PM
Going to be some day tomorrow refreshing social media and Hibs.net 🫣

31-08-2023, 08:43 PM
Going to be some day tomorrow refreshing social media and Hibs.net 🫣

I'm working from home tomorrow. Buzzing for the inevitable let down!

31-08-2023, 10:27 PM
Boyle going down holding his knee tonight only reinforces the need for an additional winger.

Hopefully we can get Lowe or someone of a similar standard

01-09-2023, 12:16 AM
Sign Bogdan for ****'s sake.

We need to bombard McDermott's inbox.

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 05:57 AM
Ross Stewart joining Southampton for £8m + year left on his Sunderland contract. Good business for them after plucking him from Ross County

Sunderland seem to be having a fire sale just now and I think they will miss Stewarts goals and all round attacking play

Also see celtc have turned down £10m from Leeds for Matt O’Reilly **** sake decent player but £10m ?

Kamara has joined Leeds for £5m, decent player but I dont think he is a £5m player - Reports undisclosed but other reports state £5.5 and £6m

01-09-2023, 06:21 AM
Right Hibs let's go

01-09-2023, 06:26 AM
Ross Stewart joining Southampton for £8m + year left on his Sunderland contract. Good business for them after plucking him from Ross County

Sunderland seem to be having a fire sale just now and I think they will miss Stewarts goals and all round attacking play

Also see celtc have turned down £10m from Leeds for Matt O’Reilly **** sake decent player but £10m ?

Kamara has joined Leeds for £5m, decent player but I dont think he is a £5m player - Reports undisclosed but other reports state £5.5 and £6m

Patrick Roberts for £5m as well, I thought was a level above the championship when he was at Celtic but hasn’t seemed to kick on.

01-09-2023, 06:28 AM
I’m thinking a goalie, a winger and maybe a couple of cover defenders, left and right back.

I’d also like to see us recall macintyre from QOTS. He should have been doing what Megwa is doing in the right hand side and trying to take advantage of the opportunities.

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 06:49 AM
What time does the transfer window open this morning ? 🫣

The Captain....
01-09-2023, 06:57 AM
Going to be some day tomorrow refreshing social media and Hibs.net 🫣Aye..I'm hoping I'm wrong but I can't see us doing much tbh. Too much to be done at this late stage. I'd prefer us to wait than bring in more bang average squad fillers.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

01-09-2023, 07:19 AM
Callum Booth LB iirc, released by Saintees, 32 now though. Worth a punt?

01-09-2023, 07:20 AM
Aye..I'm hoping I'm wrong but I can't see us doing much tbh. Too much to be done at this late stage. I'd prefer us to wait than bring in more bang average squad fillers.

Don't think we can afford to wait. We're bottom on zero points and it's vital we now kick on and qualify for Europe again this season.

Hearts last season and Aberdeen this season getting big bucks from group stage football. Needs to be us next year.

01-09-2023, 07:20 AM
Callum Booth LB iirc, released by Saintees, 32 now though. Worth a punt?No

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

01-09-2023, 07:26 AM
I’m not expecting much from us today, I do think we’ll get a couple in, but nothing particularly exciting. Hopefully move a couple on too.

I hope someone comes in and takes Shankland from Hearts today as well.

01-09-2023, 08:10 AM
What time does the transfer window open this morning ? 🫣

Cuikyhibs
01-09-2023, 08:20 AM
Boyle going down holding his knee tonight only reinforces the need for an additional winger.

Hopefully we can get Lowe or someone of a similar standard

yep, i still don't understand why we let Mackay go to livvi....lad didn't get a fair chance

01-09-2023, 08:22 AM
yep, i still don't understand why we let Mackay go to livvi....lad didn't get a fair chance

Livi not really using him either though. Last few games he’s had a couple of mins twice and 15 mins the other game.

01-09-2023, 08:26 AM
Just saw Matty cash goal

Good god Marshall

Broxburn Greens
01-09-2023, 08:40 AM
I’m not expecting much from us today, I do think we’ll get a couple in, but nothing particularly exciting. Hopefully move a couple on too.

I hope someone comes in and takes Shankland from Hearts today as well.

Unlikely with the famous Jambos about to go another self drive Rover tour of Europe against the elite following their progression to the group stages as everyone expected.

Oh, wait……

Broxburn Greens
01-09-2023, 08:41 AM
Does feel a bit of a flat deadline day with us being between managers.

01-09-2023, 08:47 AM
Callum Booth LB iirc, released by Saintees, 32 now though. Worth a punt?

A player that can’t get a game for StJohnstone ?

McGruber
01-09-2023, 09:01 AM

We were very close to signing Stewart under Ross, bit unlucky with that one

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 09:06 AM
We were very close to signing Stewart under Ross, bit unlucky with that oneYeah I vaguely remember that, were Ross County asking for too much at the time ?

01-09-2023, 09:06 AM
Ex Hearts player Andy Irving could be on his way to West Ham and then immediately loaned out toman Austrian Club.

01-09-2023, 09:08 AM
Ex Hearts player Andy Irving could be on his way to West Ham and then immediately loaned out toman Austrian Club.

Don't particularly remember him but good move; hopefully one to watch for the Scotland squad.

01-09-2023, 09:09 AM

I'd be amazed if West ham sign him

Can't recall him at all

I'd be amazed if West ham sign him

Couldn't believe what I was reading 😐

McGruber
01-09-2023, 09:10 AM
Yeah I vaguely remember that, were Ross County asking for too much at the time ?

I think it came down to money - not overly sure, maybe others sniffing

ElginHibbie
01-09-2023, 09:12 AM
Can't recall him at all

Just spoke to a Hearts supporting colleague and neither can he!

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 09:13 AM
Just spoke to a Hearts supporting colleague and neither can he!

Just spoke to Naebadges in Lidls and neither does he 😃

IIRC a lot of fans were turning their nose up at the thought of signing him at the time.

Couldn't believe what I was reading 😐

He's local to me - I cannot believe that. He's playing lower level Austrian league.

Good Porty boy.

McGruber
01-09-2023, 09:23 AM
IIRC a lot of fans were turning their nose up at the thought of signing him at the time.

Yeah, I think you're right.

01-09-2023, 09:27 AM
He's local to me - I cannot believe that. He's playing lower level Austrian league.

Austrian Bundesliga now

01-09-2023, 09:37 AM

One of the most bizarre transfers I've seen suggested.

01-09-2023, 09:41 AM
Nobody started the snacks thread yet

01-09-2023, 09:43 AM

I just had two crumpets with butter.

Souter96Mac
01-09-2023, 09:49 AM
Hoping rather than expecting we bring in at least 2 today

Really could do with a left back, and a centre mid.

Would usually be surprised that we've not heard many names/rumours, but we've had a habit this window to just announce signings out of the blue without much chat beforehand.

01-09-2023, 09:49 AM
Going against the grain massively but Irvine played against us at ER once and I thought he looked quality. His awareness and passing ability looked very very good to me.

West Ham seems a bit of a jump, but I'd definitely have him at us.

01-09-2023, 09:52 AM

McDonald's breakfast at Sandbach on the way back from Brum

JammyDoidger
01-09-2023, 09:58 AM
Wonder if we've had a word with Villa regarding any youngsters on loan..the boy Kellyman is only 17, could be a good move for him at this stage? Or the boy Revan could be an option since we are short in the full back areas.

Willis1875
01-09-2023, 10:04 AM
Wonder if we've had a word with Villa regarding any youngsters on loan..the boy Kellyman is only 17, could be a good move for him at this stage? Or the boy Revan could be an option since we are short in the full back areas.

Kellyman was excellent for them last night

01-09-2023, 10:17 AM
I just had two crumpets with butter.

I just had a toasted bagel with chicken sausage patty, egg, and brown sauce.

01-09-2023, 10:21 AM

I made the mistake of thinking yesterday was deadline day and was just about apoplectic with rage that we'd got to about 6:30 in the evening without a single mention of Tangy Toms (let alone a new midfielder) before it was pointed out to me that today is deadline day.

01-09-2023, 10:35 AM
I made the mistake of thinking yesterday was deadline day and was just about apoplectic with rage that we'd got to about 6:30 in the evening without a single mention of Tangy Toms (let alone a new midfielder) before it was pointed out to me that today is deadline day.

You know, Pedantic has just one job to do and it's already 11.35...

01-09-2023, 10:36 AM

And many of us Hibs fans weren’t particularly enthused at the thought of signing him

In fairness, I don’t think he’d shown the form there that he went on to display at Sunderland

Edit:beaten to it ��

01-09-2023, 10:40 AM
Hoping rather than expecting we bring in at least 2 today

Really could do with a left back, and a centre mid.

Would usually be surprised that we've not heard many names/rumours, but we've had a habit this window to just announce signings out of the blue without much chat beforehand.

This is becoming every season!

Mikey_1875
01-09-2023, 10:47 AM
Think we might get one of two late loan deals in but I fear LJs sacking will have affected out budget. Along with being unable to shift a couple more out.

01-09-2023, 10:56 AM
12 hours to go and **** all. Worrying!

01-09-2023, 10:57 AM
With Mings out with a long term injury, Aston Villa dip into the transfer market and sing Clèment Lenglet on loan from Barcelona.

01-09-2023, 11:01 AM
With Mings out with a long term injury, Aston Villa dip into the transfer market and sing Clèment Lenglet on loan from Barcelona.

He didn’t look great on loan at Spurs last season.

Villa still have Carlos and Torres though, so dunno if Lenglet will play

01-09-2023, 11:04 AM
He didn’t look great on loan at Spurs last season.

Villa still have Carlos and Torres though, so dunno if Lenglet will play

They obviously fekt they needed some cover, maybe Carlos is still struggling after his injury. They also have Konsa.

He may have been poor at Spurs but the Villa manager does seem to get the best out of his players.

01-09-2023, 11:04 AM

Working my way through one of these beauties. Will be surprised if there are any left by the time the window SLAMS shut.

https://i.ibb.co/WxB1NH8/download-1.webp (https://imgbb.com/)

01-09-2023, 11:05 AM
They obviously fekt they needed some cover, maybe Carlos is still struggling after his injury. They also have Konsa.

He may have been poor at Spurs but the Villa manager does seem to get the best out of his players.

Emery is a very good manager, wouldn’t be surprised to see Lenglet look much better at Villa than he was at Spurs.

01-09-2023, 11:11 AM
Working my way through one of these beauties. Will be surprised if there are any left by the time the window SLAMS shut.

https://i.ibb.co/WxB1NH8/download-1.webp (https://imgbb.com/)

An entire card?

01-09-2023, 11:14 AM
An entire card?

Yes but I did start them yesterday. 😮

GreenGray
01-09-2023, 11:21 AM
Amongst all the manager chat have we actually forgot to sign a left back, right back and back up winger?

01-09-2023, 11:23 AM
Amongst all the manager chat have we actually forgot to sign a left back, right back and back up winger?

I suspect its not so much 'forgot' as avoided. Anyway, we need to fix the midfield first.

01-09-2023, 11:23 AM
[QUOTE=GreenGray;7456717]Amongst all the manager chat have we actually forgot to sign a left back, right back and back up winger?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE

We’ve forgotten for three seasons

01-09-2023, 11:24 AM
Yes but I did start them yesterday. 😮

Mmm, scampi fires.

scm70nyd1973
01-09-2023, 11:29 AM
Mmm, scampi fires.

…. and scampi scores - get him signed - good company for Fish 🤭

01-09-2023, 11:31 AM
…. and scampi scores - get him signed - good company for Fish 🤭

No, no, I meant fires. Literally. Burn them all, burn them all to hell.

01-09-2023, 12:19 PM
Aberdeen trying to get Baccus from st Mirren seemingly Be interested to see if Saints play ball given thier good start to Season

01-09-2023, 12:20 PM
Aberdeen trying to get Baccus from st Mirren seemingly Be interested to see if Saints play ball given thier good start to Season

Would like him at us. Aberdeen must have spent some amount of money this window! Definitely splurging the group stage money, don't think Hearts did that last year?

EGL2000
01-09-2023, 12:20 PM

Think he would be a great signing really like him. He played well at the world cup as well so shows he can make the step up.

01-09-2023, 12:21 PM

Reported the other day they had a bid turned down.

Robinson said today in his press conference they don't have to sell for under market value.

01-09-2023, 12:30 PM
Snack number 1 is a Tiramisu from Aemilia in Portobello. 14/15. I have a feeling this means an Italian will sign today.

01-09-2023, 12:42 PM
Still time but I thought we'd see a couple of outgoings, maybe Taveres on loan , wouldn't even mind him at Dundee Utd on loan as part of a deal to bring Cudjoe to ER.

Was thinking about Siegriest at Celtic and getting him on loan but they will need 3 keepers for Europe.

01-09-2023, 12:47 PM
Concerningly quiet.

Mark05
01-09-2023, 12:49 PM

https://i.ibb.co/WxB1NH8/download-1.webp (https://imgbb.com/)Maybe you need to get out and try and forget transfer deadline day for a while 😆 for what it's worth I have a bag of chilli doratos for later,when it gets closer to shutdown 👍

01-09-2023, 12:50 PM
Concerningly quiet.

Thought we'd at least have heard a wee snippet of a player or two by now.

01-09-2023, 12:51 PM

Just said that to the missus, not even a rumour

Exuberance1875
01-09-2023, 12:52 PM
Stevie may?

JammyDoidger
01-09-2023, 12:53 PM
See Ben Foster has just announced his retirement, statement saying his performances are now not good enough, and it gives the club a chance to get someone more suitable in, class from him, our goalie should do the same.

01-09-2023, 12:53 PM
Stevie may?

If he’s the answer we’re asking the wrong questions

01-09-2023, 12:55 PM
Stevie may?

I'd rather he didn't

01-09-2023, 12:57 PM
Kamberi deal to Fleetwood off as he can't agree terms.

01-09-2023, 01:02 PM
We're signing one player max. Calling it now.

01-09-2023, 01:03 PM

Is it Kamberi?

HendoDelivered
01-09-2023, 01:04 PM

Defo a loan at 11.59pm

Bad Habits
01-09-2023, 01:05 PM

Maybe the leak was coming from Johnson's camp?

Or it's buttoned up a bit since the email fiasco.

JammyDoidger
01-09-2023, 01:05 PM

Max Johnston on loan? Some signing that.

01-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Defo a loan at 11.59pm

Yup.

badabing67
01-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Group E: AZ Alkmaar, Aston Villa, Legia Warsaw, Zrinjski Mostar

Group G: Eintracht Frankfurt, PAOK Thessaloniki, HJK Helsinki, Aberdeen

01-09-2023, 01:12 PM
Millwall keen on Allan Campbell on loan from Luton.

01-09-2023, 01:16 PM
Salt & vinegar pistachios along with an industrial sized bag of an Indian snack Khatta Meetha and a home made curry for dinner, Shorshe Masala. Sorted. Now where's the snack thread at?

Fuzzywuzzy
01-09-2023, 01:23 PM
Kamberi deal to Fleetwood off as he can't agree terms.

Can he really afford to be that fussy?

01-09-2023, 01:24 PM
Can he really afford to be that fussy?

It’s just that nobody could ever believe it’s someone’s lifetime dream to visit Fleetwood.

01-09-2023, 01:25 PM
Salt & vinegar pistachios along with an industrial sized bag of an Indian snack Khatta Meetha and a home made curry for dinner, Shorshe Masala. Sorted. Now where's the snack thread at?

Waiting for Pedanticot.

Pytheas
01-09-2023, 01:28 PM
Andy Carroll just became a free agent?

01-09-2023, 01:29 PM
And would be looking for wages that would be double what we pay the rest of our first team combined.

01-09-2023, 01:29 PM
Group E: AZ Alkmaar, Aston Villa, Legia Warsaw, Zrinjski Mostar

Group G: Eintracht Frankfurt, PAOK Thessaloniki, HJK Helsinki, Aberdeen

I predict approximately no points at all for Aberdeen.

01-09-2023, 01:31 PM

I reckon our physios are busy enough…

01-09-2023, 01:34 PM
Would love to see Sevco weakened by a bid from somewhere for Tavernier. They aren't in a position to turn down any low ball fee after getting horsed oot of the Champions League.

bringbackbenny
01-09-2023, 01:37 PM
Would love to see Sevco weakened by a bid from somewhere for Tavernier. They aren't in a position to turn down any low ball fee after getting horsed oot of the Champions League.

Good player for Rangers especially going forward but I think too defensively naive to play at a higher level.

01-09-2023, 01:39 PM
Good player for Rangers especially going forward but I think too defensively naive to play at a higher level.
I think the same as you about him but I just want Sevco weakened.

badabing67
01-09-2023, 01:41 PM

I think he has found his home it would need to be some offer to make him move

01-09-2023, 01:43 PM
Is this the part of the window when the quality becomes available or do we need to wait a bit longer for that?

01-09-2023, 01:47 PM
Is this the part of the window when the quality becomes available or do we need to wait a bit longer for that?
It's the final day of next January's window when that happens....

01-09-2023, 01:50 PM
Jamal Lowe off to Swansea on loan

01-09-2023, 02:01 PM
Has there been a signing for any Scottish clubs?

Maybe someone needs to let them know it’s deadline day :dunno:

01-09-2023, 02:07 PM
Jamal Lowe off to Swansea on loan

No huge surprise there, hopefully that means we can move onto and sign our next target early doors

01-09-2023, 02:09 PM
So far this transfer deadline day has been me munching crisps with no actual rumours.

01-09-2023, 02:12 PM

Max Power?

01-09-2023, 02:14 PM
Max Power?
Maybe this guy https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philipp_Max

:)

01-09-2023, 02:16 PM
Still time but I thought we'd see a couple of outgoings, maybe Taveres on loan , wouldn't even mind him at Dundee Utd on loan as part of a deal to bring Cudjoe to ER.

Was thinking about Siegriest at Celtic and getting him on loan but they will need 3 keepers for Europe.

Swap him for Marshall …

01-09-2023, 02:17 PM
Ansu Fati going on a season long loan from Barca to Brighton is some coup for BHA

HendoDelivered
01-09-2023, 02:17 PM
Jamie Borthwick: It's all quiet at Hibs and Hearts so far this deadline day. No movement and not much expected as things stand.

01-09-2023, 02:19 PM
Jamie Borthwick: It's all quiet at Hibs and Hearts so far this deadline day. No movement and not much expected as things stand.

Well that’s not good and leaves the incoming manager with a bigger task

HibsGW
01-09-2023, 02:22 PM

Really hope that’s way off the mark

01-09-2023, 02:24 PM

That's not what I wanted to hear.

01-09-2023, 02:27 PM
That's not what I wanted to hear.

As it stands, this transfer window is about a three or four out of ten. Even two signings on loan to improve key areas would take it up to a seven today.

01-09-2023, 02:27 PM
I always take journalists with hours before a window closing with a pinch of salt. It’s just to appear in the know when actually they’re often not.

With a sensible hat on do you reckon Kensell, and BM are trying to get players in and thinking we better leak a player to the press.

Don’t buy it at all.

01-09-2023, 02:28 PM
Maybe keeping a bit of cash for those still available on a free. De Gea, Lingard, Ramos, Hazard, Phil Jones….

01-09-2023, 02:35 PM

If true, no sign it’s not, very worrying

01-09-2023, 02:39 PM
From SSN

BREAKING: Bournemouth have verbally agreed a deal with Swansea for Jamal Lowe to join on loan until January 🔄

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 02:41 PM
From SSN

BREAKING: Bournemouth have verbally agreed a deal with Swansea for Jamal Lowe to join on loan until January 🔄

Its only verbal, come on hibs do the biz, get gazumping 😃

01-09-2023, 02:47 PM
I'll be really pissed off if we don't get a few decent signings in today.

Especially after IG saying we'd be bringing two more in after getting through the Luzern tie.

Saying that, must be hard convincing players to sign for a team without a permanent manager in place.

01-09-2023, 02:51 PM
As it stands, this transfer window is about a three or four out of ten. Even two signings on loan to improve key areas would take it up to a seven today.

A 3 or 4 is ridiculously harsh imo.

Johnson’s failure to set up/manage a team shouldn’t have any bearing on how the window is viewed.

Levitt, Youan and Vente all look very good additions with a huge sum of money for us spent.

Fish brought back on loan was a big plus even though he’s been pretty poor.

Obita looks a really good addition imo and much better than Cabraja.

ALF has already showed his quality and goal scoring prowess.

Harbottle has essentially came in as 4th choice centre back and half looked decent when played in his correct position.

Wollacott and Boruc look good from the little we’ve seen and an improvement on Marshall, despite Marshall still playing.

Do we still need more players in? Absolutely. We were never going to get it all done in the one window, but there’s still time left.

We’ve got a huge amount of players out the door also which is a plus.

Mikey_1875
01-09-2023, 02:54 PM

Especially after IG saying we'd be bringing two more in after getting through the Luzern tie.

Saying that, must be hard convincing players to sign for a team without a permanent manager in place.

I’ll be disappointed as well but I think IG will have said that with the view that we would still have LJ in post. It’s a pretty big and costly change of goalposts.

01-09-2023, 03:09 PM

Yes, that'll be it.

It's certainly come as a complete surprise to me that having announced the intention to employ a Director of Football in the immediate aftermath of underperformance against Hearts last season (and in no way as a convenient gigantic fig leaf to hide under) we now seem to be in pretty much exactly the same position as we have been in toward the end of most transfer windows in recent times. That is to say, without having brought in first team starters ready to go straight into the range of positions in which we have been either threadbare or lacking cover for not months but years.

Our midfield, defence and keeper all need a pretty comprehensive refit so it's probably best to wait until the famously easier and better January window to do that.

Certainly the last thing you want to do is get these players in before the start of the season. That will only encourage them to find their feet earlier, fit into the team shape and style of play and give you confidence they are fit for the season. That would be crazy talk.

Torto7
01-09-2023, 03:10 PM
We've also spent plenty. A loan might be possible but I wouldn't blame the club if they want to hold some money back for the new manager.

01-09-2023, 03:12 PM
Lewis Fiorini still available on loan

01-09-2023, 03:12 PM
Yes, that'll be it.

It's certainly come as a complete surprise to me that having announced the intention to employ a Director of Football in the immediate aftermath of underperformance against Hearts last season (and in no way as a convenient gigantic fig leaf to hide under) we now seem to be in pretty much exactly the same position as we have been in toward the end of most transfer windows in recent times. That is to say, without having brought in first team starters ready to go straight into the range of positions in which we have been either threadbare or lacking cover for not months but years.

Our midfield, defence and keeper all need a pretty comprehensive refit so it's probably best to wait until the famously easier and better January window to do that.

Certainly the last thing you want to do is get these players in before the start of the season. That will only encourage them to find their feet earlier, fit into the team shape and style of play and give you confidence they are fit for the season. That would be crazy talk.

I do think u r being bery harsh we brought in plenty players early this summer, I do agree we are short but sacking the manager in Sunday has deffo thru a spanner in the works there is no denying that

01-09-2023, 03:15 PM
Lewis Fiorini still available on loan

Injured.

01-09-2023, 03:22 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

Hibs search for a goalkeeper as competition for David Marshall targeted

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

I do think u r being bery harsh we brought in plenty players early this summer, I do agree we are short but sacking the manager in Sunday has deffo thru a spanner in the works there is no denying that

There's almost literally no point in paying the salary of a Director of Football if it doesn't leave us in the position of being to cope with exactly times like these in order to progress signings.

The issue is not the volume of players we brought in or have on our books, it is the quality and the positions. We have been missing a serious midfield for years - literally years. Our defence is a mixture of ageing and inexperienced, we desperately need a left back in particular. Too many of our starting 11 shouldn't be first 11.

If we don't strengthen that midfield today the new manager is going to be put in the same position as Jack, Maloney and Johnson which is to say that by the time next summer's window opens he will be doing well to have not already lost significant sections of the support and quite possibly the club will ultimately end up paying off yet another manager. I wonder how good of a midfielder we could have bought with the money collectively used to get rid of those managers?

badabing67

Same here, and then if they go and top that off by appointing Robinson. I'm going to feel more than really pissed off with Hibs

01-09-2023, 03:24 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

Yeah, great. We need a ****ing midfield. Plus, honestly, talk is cheap. Shut up about targets and produce signings please.

01-09-2023, 03:25 PM
Yeah, great. We need a ****ing midfield. Plus, honestly, talk is cheap. Shut up about targets and produce signings please.
Jeezo mate, take a deep breath and chill. Thank your lucky stars you aren't a Chelsea fan for example, all the money and signings in the world and they are still s***e.

01-09-2023, 03:27 PM

Go for a lie down. I promise you won't miss any signings.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-09-2023, 03:29 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

Anyone want to point the. In the direction of Bogdan?

Caversham Green
01-09-2023, 03:31 PM
And would be looking for wages that would be double what we pay the rest of our first team combined.

He was on £1k per week at Reading, and they don't want to retain him. That's an indication of how good he is now.

01-09-2023, 03:31 PM
Anyone want to point the. In the direction of Bogdan?

Big man has barely played since leaving us right? Be a cheap option mind you, but I'd worry he'd suffer from the same issues as Marshall and maybe be past it.

01-09-2023, 03:32 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

I don't know why this has come up all of a sudden; Wollacot has been injured for a while now. We've known Marshall is finished for months. We still need reinforcements in defence, midfield, and out wide.

It's shambolic, and an expensively assembled shambles.

01-09-2023, 03:32 PM
He was on £1k per week at Reading, and they don't want to retain him. That's an indication of how good he is now.
Seriously? That doesn't pass the sniff test, there's something afoot with that deal if true.

01-09-2023, 03:33 PM
Jeezo mate, take a deep breath and chill.

Nope. Seen this picture too many times before. Lots of over stated chat and then Harry McKirdy right on or just after the deadline.

I have next to zero faith that those running the club know what they are doing. I don't trust our CE and I don't think the Board have any real authority either. So while moving Johnson on was good news, it will make little to no difference if we then either get the managerial appointment wrong (again) or fail to sign players we desperately need - or worse still, both. When the dust settles after midnight tonight we will still be bottom of the league having lost the three opening games and potentially with exactly the same squad.

01-09-2023, 03:34 PM
Our priority has to be shoring up our bombscare defence. It’s all very well getting a promising forward on loan from down south but that’s not what we really need.

01-09-2023, 03:34 PM

It's not in my remit mate

01-09-2023, 03:35 PM
It’s just that nobody could ever believe it’s someone’s lifetime dream to visit Fleetwood.

Fleetwood is only about 25 minutes from Blackpool so I could believe that. :agree:

01-09-2023, 03:36 PM
Go for a lie down. I promise you won't miss any signings.

Maybe the job title is Director of a Football. Could explain a lot.

01-09-2023, 03:36 PM
Our priority has to be shoring up our bombscare defence. It’s all very well getting a promising forward on loan from down south but that’s not what we really need.
I honestly have no idea how many times I've read this. We need a midfield that will protect the defence more than anything else.

01-09-2023, 03:37 PM
It's not in my remit mate

I know, it was meant as a commentary on whoever is suggesting to the Record that we need a keeper.

01-09-2023, 03:38 PM
I don't know why this has come up all of a sudden; Wollacot has been injured for a while now. We've known Marshall is finished for months. We still need reinforcements in defence, midfield, and out wide.

My guess would be the idiot manager that just lost his job didn’t think we needed one previously.

01-09-2023, 03:39 PM

Well the cynic in me thinks someone at the club keeps a close eye on the likes of .net and social media, sees e.g. what fans are saying in reaction to errors from Marshall last night and then punts a line on to the Record to keep the peasants happy. But that's just the cynic in me...

badabing67
01-09-2023, 03:41 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

Wollacott must be out for a long time then

tonyrougier123
01-09-2023, 03:41 PM
Daily Record

Deadline Day LIVE ✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

bitly.ws/TGUz

Ross Laidlaw bring him back in. A keeper who knows the club and imo has improved since being an understudy to Marciano. Be able to handle the pressure now as he’s warding off threats from goal a lot up at the staggies.

01-09-2023, 03:43 PM
Any news on Wollacott injury?

Caversham Green
Seriously? That doesn't pass the sniff test, there's something afoot with that deal if true.

Reading were under a strict financial plan under FFP - they had a transfer embargo and £1k pw was the maximum they could pay when he signed for them. Carroll had no prospects because of injuries and age catching up with him but wanted to get back playing. He did alright but no more than that. I doubt if he'll play at any serious level again.

Raid St Mirren for Robinson Baccus OHara

Bridge hibs
01-09-2023, 03:45 PM
Reading were under a strict financial plan under FFP - they had a transfer embargo and £1k pw was the maximum they could pay when he signed for them. Carroll had no prospects because of injuries and age catching up with him but wanted to get back playing. He did alright but no more than that. I doubt if he'll play at any serious level again.Signing for a French 2nd division club

1875Sean
01-09-2023, 03:45 PM

Ryan Strain Would be first on my list

badabing67
01-09-2023, 03:47 PM

Wouldn't mind Baccus, O'Hara, Strain but they can keep Robinson

Caversham Green
01-09-2023, 03:48 PM
Signing for a French 2nd division club

It'll be interesting to see how he gets on, I hope he does ok for them.

Reading were under a strict financial plan under FFP - they had a transfer embargo and £1k pw was the maximum they could pay when he signed for them. Carroll had no prospects because of injuries and age catching up with him but wanted to get back playing. He did alright but no more than that. I doubt if he'll play at any serious level again.
Ah ok, then that makes a whole lot more sense and does pass the sniff test :greengrin

For Hibs, it would be more appropriate if he was called "Groin" instead of Ryan.

01-09-2023, 03:49 PM
Is he the brother of Groin Strain? We've signed him more than once.....

01-09-2023, 03:49 PM

Signed for Amiens in Ligue 2 in France

01-09-2023, 03:51 PM

U need to chill mate ur gonna blow something

01-09-2023, 03:52 PM
Liverpool knocked back a 150m bid for a 31 year old Salah. Marvelous player that he is, the money is just limitless apparently.

01-09-2023, 03:54 PM

I'm not, but I know a Chief Executive who appears to have that skill set.

Johnson’s failure to set up/manage a team shouldn’t have any bearing on how the window is viewed.

Levitt, Youan and Vente all look very good additions with a huge sum of money for us spent.

Harbottle has essentially came in as 4th choice centre back and half looked decent when played in his correct position.

Wollacott and Boruc look good from the little we’ve seen and an improvement on Marshall, despite Marshall still playing.

Do we still need more players in? Absolutely. We were never going to get it all done in the one window, but there’s still time left.

Good balanced summary!

Liverpool knocked back a 150m bid for a 31 year old Salah. Marvelous player that he is, the money is just limitless apparently.

Puts moaning about paying a fiver for pint into context.

01-09-2023, 03:56 PM
I'm not, but I know a Chief Executive who appears to have that skill set.

What does that mean?

badabing67
01-09-2023, 03:57 PM

Al Ittihad prepared to offer £200m for Salah

01-09-2023, 03:58 PM
What does that mean?

It means I have no faith that our CE knows what he is doing, on the football side of things at least.

01-09-2023, 03:59 PM
Al Ittihad prepared to offer £200m for Salah

Insane. Take the money. That league is never going to become a real thing.

01-09-2023, 03:59 PM
He needs to get something blown to calm him doon :greengrin

01-09-2023, 04:00 PM
It means I have no faith that our CE knows what he is doing, on the football side of things at least.

But he's not in charge of player recruitment so no quite sure what your point is here??

Donegal Hibby
Read Salah is keen to go too .

He needs to get something blown to calm him doon :greengrin

Haha he really does mate 🤣

01-09-2023, 04:02 PM

This is all well and good until you consider what needed (needs) to be done.

There’s some admittedly good business in there and some individual flashes of ambition.

But the bar is high, partly due to historical recruitment omnishambles, partly due to expected departures of good players (Nisbet) and partly to do with numerous opportunistic departures.

Rather than give a window a mark out of ten, is it not more appropriate to consider our ambitions for the season and give an expectation out of 10 that the current, winless in 3 league games, squad will meet our expectations?

If we do that, the 3 or 4 looks generous. Our current squad is never in a million years a top 6 squad. It may be bolstered in January to get closer, but before this season is out I don’t mind betting we’ll be hounding out yet another manager whose failure will be down to the mistakes of others.

Knock it back they have just upped the bid by £50 million in the blink of an eye. Push them to £250 million.

Its mad isnt it? I like watching football at the top table, footballers and teams at the top of the game but Im glad I support Hibs, a team in the real world

badabing67

I wonder if Liverpool could get it up to 1/4 of a billion for a 31 year old football player

01-09-2023, 04:03 PM
Read Salah is keen to go too .
Would be surprised if he wasn't, whole lot closer to home for him

01-09-2023, 04:03 PM
But he's not in charge of player recruitment so no quite sure what your point is here??

You actually think Kensell has nothing to do with player recruitment?

01-09-2023, 04:04 PM
You actually think Kensell has nothing to do with player recruitment?

What does he do?

01-09-2023, 04:07 PM
Surely SJM is worth £100 million Saudi. Get yer bags packed John we want the dosh.

01-09-2023, 04:09 PM
What does he do?

Well for one thing as CE he will play the central role in decision making on what we will and won't spend.

If his view is 'Oh dear, sacking Lee cost a bit. Let's knock signings on the head until January lads, unless you can get them in for 10 Green Shield stamps, a couple of Bubblies and - if the negotiations are really sticky - a crate of Hendry's Cola' then we aren't going to be signing anyone of significance.

Percy Vere
On a slightly different point, what's happened with all the Doig transfer talk?
Torino, Fulham among other admirers?
Would have come in handy for the transfer chest.

Whilst a goalie for competition with/ to replace Marshall is necessary and it also allows Johnson to go back out on loan.

I can’t help but feel for Boruc, done well when he’s been called upon, no mistakes and some really good saves. Now he’ll be down to 3rd/4th choice when Wollacott is fit.

Re Wollacott, what is the latest with him? Not heard much for quite a while now

That'll be his main motivation right enough, not the £1.5 million a week pay packet. :cool2:

01-09-2023, 04:10 PM

And 1.5 mil a week!

01-09-2023, 04:10 PM
That'll be his main motivation right enough, not the £1.5 million a week pay packet. :cool2:
Of course, though I doubt he's too worried about making his next mortgage payment as it currently stands...

cameronw-hfc
01-09-2023, 04:11 PM
Whilst a goalie for competition with/ to replace Marshall is necessary and it also allows Johnson to go back out on loan.

I can’t help but feel for Boruc, done well when he’s been called upon, no mistakes and some really good saves. Now he’ll be down to 3rd/4th choice when Wollacott is fit.

Sure there were rumours he's out for a while, more long term. Looks to be true given we are after another keeper

badabing67
01-09-2023, 04:12 PM

It would be reasonable to assume he will not be recovering from his injury anytime soon...

01-09-2023, 04:12 PM
Of course, though I doubt he's too worried about making his next mortgage payment as it currently stands...

"It wont change me I've still got the council flat in Cairo"

01-09-2023, 04:14 PM
It would be reasonable to assume he will not be recovering from his injury anytime soon...

The return of Matt Macey is nigh

01-09-2023, 04:16 PM
Doom merchant, it's Conrad Logan signing......

01-09-2023, 04:18 PM

Should never been let go in the first place, could and have done much worse.

01-09-2023, 04:19 PM
Doom merchant, it's Conrad Logan signing......

TBF, we seem to have avoided trademark Hibernian tragi-goalies for some time now. Or am I blanking out one I should be remembering?

01-09-2023, 04:22 PM
It's going to be a long season if the window closes and we haven't made any further additions.

It's almost like someone at the club has a bet on how long they can keep our midfield of Newell, JDH and Campbell going.

badabing67
01-09-2023, 04:22 PM
Genuinely think we are in a bad way atm. The only saving grace is. I don't think Hearts or Aberdeen are in that great a shape either, remains to be seen. But so far this season I think they have been as poor as us.

01-09-2023, 04:24 PM
Genuinely think we are in a bad way atm. The only saving grace is. I don't think Hearts or Aberdeen are in that great a shape either, remains to be seen. But so far this season I think they have been as poor as us.

We're bottom of the league with 0 points mate. No one has been as poor as us in the league. Thats a fact.

NGoloGrantie
01-09-2023, 04:25 PM
Siegrist please

01-09-2023, 04:31 PM

Both squads are definitely better than ours, no doubt in my mind about that. Particularly Aberdeen's. Both have depth as well, something we really lack.

Think they both have rank managers though, which is lucky.

01-09-2023, 04:33 PM
It's going to be a long season if the window closes and we haven't made any further additions.

It's almost like someone at the club has a bet on how long they can keep our midfield of Newell, JDH and Campbell going.

Please God no.

01-09-2023, 04:35 PM

Ok assume you were making an inappropriate personal accusation :greengrin

01-09-2023, 04:35 PM
Both squads are definitely better than ours, no doubt in my mind about that. Particularly Aberdeen's. Both have depth as well, something we really lack.

A manager you say.

01-09-2023, 04:37 PM

Undoubtedly stronger squads

badabing67
01-09-2023, 04:40 PM

I agree I think both of them will change their management teams during the season. That's why we need to get or manager appointment right this time round.

01-09-2023, 04:41 PM
Ok assume you were making an inappropriate personal accusation :greengrin

:tee hee: No, if I did have any private knowledge of that sort I wouldn't be posting it here or anywhere else!

01-09-2023, 04:42 PM
:tee hee: No, if I did have any private knowledge of that sort I wouldn't be posting it here or anywhere else!

Saint Hibee
01-09-2023, 04:43 PM
TBF, we seem to have avoided trademark Hibernian tragi-goalies for some time now. Or am I blanking out one I should be remembering?

Do we not have one at the minute? :greengrin

01-09-2023, 04:43 PM
Undoubtedly stronger squads

If we don't muscle our own up substantially we are going to fall further behind them financially. This is one of those situations where if we don't pay up now to bring in what we need we will end up paying more dearly for it later.

01-09-2023, 04:47 PM
Do we not have one at the minute? :greengrin

I mean I'm not a huge fan but I think that's a little bit harsh.

On a side note my, admittedly poor, memory tells me that when Jim Leighton came to us he started alright, then became terrible, but then re-emerged really well once his confidence was back. I honestly think the right manager might get an Indian Summer out of Marshall. But then I also think that if someone at ER would take their head out of their arse and sign the midfielders that we blindingly obviously desperately need then the defence and the keeper would be much, much better protected in the first place anyway.

01-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Nobody decent is going to sign for a team without a manager.

What started out as a good window is going to end as a bloody disaster.

GreenPJ
01-09-2023, 04:53 PM

Yeah we should have held onto Johnson :rolleyes: Its nonsense that nobody decent would sign. If we find the funds to make a decent offer to someone who is decent and willing to play in the Scottish leagues they will sign.

01-09-2023, 04:55 PM

I'd like to see his house if he needs a mortgage!

01-09-2023, 04:56 PM
I'd like to see his house if he needs a mortgage!

Think they are called the Pyramids :greengrin

01-09-2023, 04:56 PM

If that's true then we are in deep ****.

01-09-2023, 04:57 PM
Think they are called the Pyramids :greengrin

Is that private or is it a scheme?

01-09-2023, 04:58 PM
Yeah we should have held onto Johnson :rolleyes: Its nonsense that nobody decent would sign. If we find the funds to make a decent offer to someone who is decent and willing to play in the Scottish leagues they will sign.

So to recap. We just need to find the funds to make a decent offer to someone who is decent . And they need to be willing to play in the Scottish League 🤔😁

itslegaltender
BBC Jambo Brian saying

'Both Hearts and Hibernian are unlikely to do anymore transfer business before the window closes later this evening.'

Is that private or is it a scheme?

Just outside Bathgate :greengrin

BBC Jambo Brian saying

'Both Hearts and Hibernian are unlikely to do anymore transfer business before the window closes later this evening.'

Fantastic

01-09-2023, 04:59 PM
BBC Jambo Brian saying

That is ****ing shocking if true.

So to recap. We just need to find the funds to make a decent offer to someone who is decent . And they need to be willing to play in the Scottish League 🤔😁

Maybe Aberdeen could give us some tips...

BBC Jambo Brian saying

Fat boy still getting over Paok :greengrin

01-09-2023, 05:00 PM
That is ****ing shocking if true.

If I was Hibs I wouldn't be telling him anything either.

Siegrist please

What's happened to him? Celtic are an injury to Joe Hart away from having to play Scott Bain.

BBC Jambo Brian saying

WTF? Why are we paying a wage for a Director of Football in that case?

Seriously, what does Kensell think he's playing at here?

The Captain....
01-09-2023, 05:02 PM
BBC Jambo Brian saying

'Both Hearts and Hibernian are unlikely to do anymore transfer business before the window closes later this evening.'Was told the same yesterday (not by Brian tho).

Tbh and for once I'm not too bothered. Get the new manager in with his coaches and start again. Our various problems aren't going to be fixed by a last minute panic in this transfer window. Having said that a keeper on.loan would have been a start.

01-09-2023, 05:02 PM
WTF? Why are paying a wage for a Director of Football in that case?

Why don't you stomp off down to ER and and berate him in his office? Maybe he'll answer your questions.

01-09-2023, 05:03 PM
Was told the same yesterday (not by Brian tho).

Tbh and for once I'm not too bothered. Get the new manager in with his coaches and start again. Our various problems aren't going to be fixed by a last minute panic in this transfer window. Having said that a keeper on.loan would have been a start.

Hibs 12th start again in about 15 years. Fantastic.

Why don't you stomp off down to ER and and berate him in his office? Maybe he'll answer your questions.

And stop posting every 2 mins on here depressing us all like a bairn having a tantrum for not getting their own way

BBC Jambo Brian saying

Surely shum mishtake!
I'd love both teams to sign at least 10 new players just to show how out of the loop he is.
And we really need a midfield powerhouse to salvage our season!

01-09-2023, 05:04 PM

What's your point caller? This is a message board, I think we're allowed to express our opinions here are we not?

01-09-2023, 05:06 PM
And stop posting every 2 mins on here depressing us all like a bairn having a tantrum for not getting their own way

With all due respect, I'll post as often as I like and if that doesn't suit you then that is as they say a you problem, not a me problem. I've never complained about your posting before, so kindly return the favour.

01-09-2023, 05:07 PM
BBC Jambo Brian saying

Grim

01-09-2023, 05:07 PM
What's your point caller? This is a message board, I think we're allowed to express our opinions here are we not?
It is and you are, I'm just suggesting a new way to continue with the angry rant you've been on today.

01-09-2023, 05:08 PM
It is and you are, I'm just suggesting a new way to continue with the angry rant you've been on today.

I'm touched by your kindness.

JammyDoidger
01-09-2023, 05:10 PM
If we don't actually fix our problems by the end of today, what's the point in having a DOF? Even if it's loans we cannot just ignore these gaping holes and expect a new manager to work wonders, hanging a new manager out to dry before he's even in the door.

Silky
01-09-2023, 05:11 PM
WTF? Why are we paying a wage for a Director of Football in that case?

Maybe he can't get players without a manager in place. He's a DOF, he can't guarantee a potential signing first team football, for example. What if a new signing wants a payment based on appearances? A manager might come in and not fancy him.

I'm fine with it.

01-09-2023, 05:14 PM
Can't believe no one has bood yet

It's gonna take multiple windows to get our squad up to scratch

Thought we mightve got a midfielder in though as letting Henderson go

bordergreen
01-09-2023, 05:19 PM
I mean I'm not a huge fan but I think that's a little bit harsh.

On a side note my, admittedly poor, memory tells me that when Jim Leighton came to us he started alright, then became terrible, but then re-emerged really well once his confidence was back. I honestly think the right manager might get an Indian Summer out of Marshall. But then I also think that if someone at ER would take their head out of their arse and sign the midfielders that we blindingly obviously desperately need then the defence and the keeper would be much, much better protected in the first place anyway.

Couldn’t agree more on the midfield

01-09-2023, 05:19 PM
Can't believe no one has bood yet

It's gonna take multiple windows to get our squad up to scratch

Thought we mightve got a midfielder in though as letting Henderson go

With Levitt injured and JDH unable to stay fit I thought we'd try to get a midfielder in. I think Campbell is struggling also. We are only a Newell injury away from being in trouble. Unless the likes of Malotnokov etc can step up.

01-09-2023, 05:21 PM
If true re no signings hopefully we’ll see some of the youngsters getting a chance

01-09-2023, 05:22 PM
That’s nonsense Hibs, Johnson ou…oh

JammyDoidger
01-09-2023, 05:24 PM
If true re no signings hopefully we’ll see some of the youngsters getting a chance

Looks like this is the last season 3rd place will get group stages, really dissapoimting how weak we are in many areas. Course it will be us that miss out whilst Hearts and Aberdeen get it.

Hibees1973
01-09-2023, 05:24 PM
Really hope we don't sign anyone.

Been a real shambles over the last couple of years. With no team manager in the building how can there be any justification in the people at East Mains signing players.

I really feel the people we have in charge of things (Kensall, Ian Gordon, McDermott) are not up to the task.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-09-2023, 05:25 PM
BBC Jambo Brian saying

In fairness he's probably baw deep in a mousakka

Goalkeeper incoming

Really hope we don't sign anyone.

Been a real shambles over the last couple of years. With no team manager in the building how can there be any justification in the people at East Mains signing players.

I really feel the people we have in charge of things (Kensall, Ian Gordon, McDermott) are not up to the task.

You really feel McDermott isn't up to the task? Ffs.