View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Fanforlife
31-07-2023, 04:42 PM
Vente definitely at EM today,seemingly wore number 9.

31-07-2023, 04:50 PM
Great transfer window on paper.

Now it's up to the man in the dugout to put them together in a cohesive tactical formation to get the best out of the players he has. He has no excuses, he has been backed financially.

31-07-2023, 05:03 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-put-finishing-touches-to-dylan-vente-deal-fee-length-of-contract-euro-availability-4238654

31-07-2023, 05:14 PM
This should see an even bigger uptake in tickets for the season opener on Sunday! Very exciting signing everything considered. Huge credit to the board for pulling this off and splashing such a big sum.

tug.lismore
31-07-2023, 05:14 PM
On paper I’d suggest last summers was potentially better.

Cabraja probably looked a more exciting signing than Obita, Marshall was going to be our Craig Gordon and single handedly win us games and we signed Martin Boyle back. Aiden McGeady had signed with a bit of fan fare, Tavares was someone that the manager couldn’t quite fathom that we’d managed to sign, McKirdy came off the back of a prolific season down south, again to a lot of fan fare and Kenneh was the next Patrick Vieira.

As we all know though, football isn’t played on paper and that window wasn’t great at all. I’d suggest that any talk of whether it’s the best transfer window ever or not will be impossible to say for a good while yet and that last summers window should serve as a warning to anybody expecting all these signings we’ve made to do well.Very fair comments. All transfers are gambles.

I like the fact that we have restructured the goalie roster.

Pretty much brought in a new back line.

And should have a pacey attack.

Midfield concerns me. The players are reasonably good but the combinations don't seem to work well.

How it all pans out will be interesting.

Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Been a excellent transfer window so far with signings and now we are looking at having a frontline of Youan, Vente and Boyle to watch. Brilliant :thumbsup:

Edinburgh Green
31-07-2023, 05:31 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-put-finishing-touches-to-dylan-vente-deal-fee-length-of-contract-euro-availability-4238654

Still talking about 3 year deal. Hoping it’s a 4 years!

147lothian
31-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Been a excellent transfer window so far with signings and now we are looking at having a frontline of Youan, Vente and Boyle to watch. Brilliant :thumbsup:

No bad considering some would have you believe the sky was falling, just a few days ago, a positive result on Thursday and the spring will definitely return to the Hi-Bee step when we head for the turn-styles. :flag:

31-07-2023, 05:39 PM
Pretty lengthy goodbye post by Myko on Instagram to Hibs and our fans, assuming he’s been told that now we’ve got Vente in we won’t be chasing a deal with him anymore

31-07-2023, 05:42 PM
Pretty lengthy goodbye post by Myko on Instagram to Hibs and our fans, assuming he’s been told that now we’ve got Vente in we won’t be chasing a deal with him anymore

Going to Swansea.

JammyDoidger
31-07-2023, 05:43 PM

Shame that, was hoping we could still land him, if Vente gets injured we are snookered, the rest of them aren't up to it.

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 05:43 PM
Our Chums along the road cannot fathom how such a wee team can afford such a fee and the debt is apparently building!

Don't they understand we have sold a few players in the last couple of windows to buy new ones.

Amazing, coming from the Yams whose debt was around £30 - £40m as a result of buying players they could not afford. Their last 3 trophies would not have been won buying players they could not afford and did not pay for.

Hope admin on JKB have the decency to remove hypocritical posts such as these.

31-07-2023, 05:45 PM
Shame that, was hoping we could still land him, if Vente gets injured we are snookered, the rest of them aren't up to it.

Agreed. Selfishly I’m still hoping we get another striker in, assuming they’re just having real issues moving Doidge and Melkersson on to free up space

Announcement incoming.

Vente confirmation incoming!! 😬

Here we go

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686070469416607744?t=n2m6a19CvK-m77rzucDzbQ&s=19

Here we go

31-07-2023, 05:46 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686070469416607744?t=LlxaL6khJZm-JInJYOU5Vg&s=19

👍 A new multi-pen.

31-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Ya dancer, **** you Palermo

31-07-2023, 05:47 PM

Yep that’s that regarding Myko, we can definitely put that to bed now.

All about the Vente!

31-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Vente is hibs as ****

31-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Yep that’s that regarding Myko, we can definitely put that to bed now.

All about the Vente!

Myko going to Swansea apparently

31-07-2023, 05:51 PM
:hyper

McGruber
31-07-2023, 05:53 PM
On paper I’d suggest last summers was potentially better.

Cabraja probably looked a more exciting signing than Obita, Marshall was going to be our Craig Gordon and single handedly win us games and we signed Martin Boyle back. Aiden McGeady had signed with a bit of fan fare, Tavares was someone that the manager couldn’t quite fathom that we’d managed to sign, McKirdy came off the back of a prolific season down south, again to a lot of fan fare and Kenneh was the next Patrick Vieira.

As we all know though, football isn’t played on paper and that window wasn’t great at all. I’d suggest that any talk of whether it’s the best transfer window ever or not will be impossible to say for a good while yet and that last summers window should serve as a warning to anybody expecting all these signings we’ve made to do well.

Very true

Last summer we signed a front 3 of Martin Boyle, Kukharevych and Youan.

Up-the-slope
31-07-2023, 05:53 PM
Here we go

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686070469416607744?t=n2m6a19CvK-m77rzucDzbQ&s=19

Up-the-slope
31-07-2023, 05:55 PM
just seen its the red one... someone getting their jotter marked (remember those days)

babahibs
31-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Very true

And 2 of them spent most of the season injured, kinda hampered things a little bit.

Hopefully stay relatively injury free this season.

31-07-2023, 05:56 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686072985818447889?t=5g_nyzRshpshF8BTb-Y70A&s=19

A number 9

31-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Hibs twitter is very good

31-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Another cracking announcement video

31-07-2023, 05:58 PM
I can’t believe it, we’re actually going to win the league

31-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Great statement of intent. Happy days, now once Boyle is fit we should have a cracking front 3

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Up-the-slope
31-07-2023, 05:59 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686072985818447889?t=5g_nyzRshpshF8BTb-Y70A&s=19

A number 9

somebody is having too much fun...

I also like that Vente is 20 in Italian... the number of goals he will score this season :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
31-07-2023, 06:00 PM
somebody is having too much fun...

I also like that Vente is 20 in Italian... the number of goals he will score this season :greengrinBy Christmas!

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

31-07-2023, 06:00 PM

A number 9

Very clever that.

31-07-2023, 06:01 PM
3 year deal

31-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Vente confirmed https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/dylan-vente-is-a-hibee

Up-the-slope
so who is heading out.... :confused: Doidge back to Killie?

Alf better get a nice Cushion for the dugout

Don't they understand we have sold a few players in the last couple of windows to buy new ones.

Amazing, coming from the Yams whose debt was around £30 - £40m as a result of buying players they could not afford. Their last 3 trophies would not have been won buying players they could not afford and did not pay for.

Hope admin on JKB have the decency to remove hypocritical posts such as these.

Not sure if you are either being sarcastic or naive in respect of your last sentence?? [emoji2369]

Groathillgrump
31-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Welcome Dylan! :thumbsup:

20 goals a season is all we ask. No pressure mate.

31-07-2023, 06:05 PM
Very true

2 were on loan and at this date we hadn't signed Boyle.

Up-the-slope
Must admit I was getting worried when it became so public that another club might Gazump us.... top job by recruitment team and owners stumping up

Delighted with the intent and looks real quality, but as ever, will just need to wait and see. Only comment from me is a 3-year deal on a record signing…would have been a lot more comfortable with a 4 (but know maybe the player just wasn’t up for that).

3 year deal

Delighted with the signing but have to say, we are running a bit of a risk paying (by our standards) very good money for both Youan and now Vente on just 3 year deals.

31-07-2023, 06:06 PM
3 year deal

That’s really strange, although after our recent signing flops maybe not a bad thing. Hope he bangs the goals in. Seems a great signing.

31-07-2023, 06:06 PM
Very exciting signing! Such huge investment this summer, let's make it count. :flag:

31-07-2023, 06:07 PM
Welcome to Hibs Dylan

31-07-2023, 06:08 PM
I don’t get the stress or worry over a 3 year deal.

if he’s any good teams will want him next season for millions. We’d only accept for a large fee and if we don’t accept it we have a striker who is of good quality and we can enjoy him

if he’s rubbish then we’re a bit stuck but at least it’s only a 3 year deal and not 4🤣

look at how much Aberdeen signed Miovski/Duk for and how much they’re valued at now .

31-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Delighted with the signing but have to say, we are running a bit of a risk paying (by our standards) very good money for both Youan and now Vente on just 3 year deals.

We have to hope for 2 brilliant seasons from them, then cash in and reinvest. With Youan and Vente 3 year deals seems like good ideas given their achievments to date. It's the 3 year deals for untested/unproven guys like Kenneh and Henderson that are riskier.

davemcbain
31-07-2023, 06:11 PM
eVenteually confirmed!

Dyslexic puns r us

Silky
31-07-2023, 06:13 PM

Club can't win imo. Got heavily criticised for signing Magennis on a long term deal by some, yet have given a 3 year to Vente and it's "a risk". Four or five is a risk as well. What happens if he turns out to be crap and we were stuck for 4 years with him? Or injured?

I think 3 years is fine.

A number 9

Wearing a neat Rolex, the lad's got class :cb

GK: Wollacott / Marshall

RB: Miller / Megwa [Cadden inj]
CB: Fish / Rocky
CB: Hanlon / Harbottle
LB: Obita / Stevenson

CM: Jeggo / Campbell / Delf
CM: Levitt / Henderson
CM: Newell / JDH

RW: Boyle / Melkerson [McKirdy]
LW: Youan / Mackay / Tavares
CF: Vende / ALF / Doidge

31-07-2023, 06:16 PM

if he’s any good teams will want him next season for millions. We’d only accept for a large fee and if we don’t accept it we have a striker who is of good quality and we can enjoy him

if he’s rubbish then we’re a bit stuck but at least it’s only a 3 year deal and not 4🤣

look at how much Aberdeen signed Miovski/Duk for and how much they’re valued at now .

Yeah, not going to complain over the term. Maybe it was a 3 year deal or no deal.

Hibee Daft
31-07-2023, 06:17 PM
This is the first time ive seen hibs genuinely re-invest money from player sales.

Makes you think about all the years when we have sold players and spent fek all.

This club has so much potential thats not been fulfilled due to lack of investment in the team.

Hopefully the club starts fulfilling its potential, really exciting times ahead imo

31-07-2023, 06:19 PM

Looks like a black datejust 41, with fluted bezel. Fetching £10.5k on chrono24. :nerd: :smokin

This is the first time ive seen hibs genuinely re-invest money from player sales.

Makes you think about all the years when we have sold players and spent fek all.

This club has so much potential thats not been fulfilled due to lack of investment in the team.

Hopefully the club starts fulfilling its potential, really exciting times ahead imo

Absolutely, it really is a first. 👍

HendoDelivered
Unreal signing!

The Brian McDermott effect 👌🏼

31-07-2023, 06:20 PM
3 year deal?

31-07-2023, 06:21 PM
https://www.rodajckerkrade.nl/upload/Vente%20Hibernian.jpg

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 06:23 PM
GK: Wollacott / Marshall

RB: Miller / Megwa [Cadden inj]
CB: Fish / Rocky
CB: Hanlon / Harbottle
LB: Obita / Stevenson

CM: Jeggo / Campbell / Delf
CM: Levitt / Henderson
CM: Newell / JDH

RW: Boyle / Melkerson [McKirdy]
LW: Youan / Mackay / Tavares
CF: Vende / ALF / Doidge

I could be wrong but I would expect recruitment now to be focusing on moving some of these guys out.

Delf, Henderson, JDH, Melkersen, Tavares & Doidge to be moved on.

Priorities should be to get another CF if there has been interest in Doidge. I also feel we are weak in both full back positions. Miller looks erratic and Megwa not ready yet. Sorry, but Stevenson needs replaced.

Thanks to the Gordon's for investing in players and infrastructure at the club. Will find out pretty quickly if Johnson is up to the task.

31-07-2023, 06:25 PM
Very positive signing by the club, welcome to the Hibees.

31-07-2023, 06:25 PM

Last time I remember that was Paul Wright out, Keith Wright in.

31-07-2023, 06:26 PM
Unreal signing!

The Brian McDermott effect 👌🏼

Wish we could find a cheeky £5 million investment and let the guy identify four more to totally overhaul the starting XI and clear out 6/7 along side this.

31-07-2023, 06:26 PM
I could be wrong but I would expect recruitment now to be focusing on moving some of these guys out.

Delf, Henderson, JDH, Melkersen, Tavares & Doidge to be moved on.

Priorities should be to get another CF if there has been interest in Doidge. I also feel we are weak in both full back positions. Miller looks erratic and Megwa not ready yet. Sorry, but Stevenson needs replaced.

Thanks to the Gordon's for investing in players and infrastructure at the club. Will find out pretty quickly if Johnson is up to the task.

Delf and JDH are going nowhere

31-07-2023, 06:27 PM
https://i.gyazo.com/23d185f4b6e700457e3d6b5abcb7f664.png

:faf::bye:

https://gyazo.com/23d185f4b6e700457e3d6b5abcb7f664

31-07-2023, 06:28 PM

:faf::bye:

Can’t read the image, what does it say?

31-07-2023, 06:29 PM
Can’t read the image, what does it say?

It says 'Gorgiedrools'

TrinityHibby
31-07-2023, 06:29 PM

Sizeable investment Hibs will look to protect….I’m sure the recruitment team will be all over this one …..wouldn’t be the first time we renegotiated the terms early if it suited both parties GGTTH

31-07-2023, 06:31 PM
Looks like a black datejust 41, with fluted bezel. Fetching £10.5k on chrono24. :nerd: :smokin

Still tells the same time as my £5 one from Argos - apparently it's 20 minutes past 42

31-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Tavares
Doidge
Henderson
Melkerson

All still probable outs

Decent signings so far on paper.

Up to LJ to make it work

31-07-2023, 06:33 PM
https://www.rodajckerkrade.nl/upload/Vente%20Hibernian.jpg

Another huge statement of intent :flag::flag:

31-07-2023, 06:35 PM
Still tells the same time as my £5 one from Argos - apparently it's 20 minutes past 42

phoenixfire
31-07-2023, 06:35 PM
Dylan Vente's first interview.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/dylan-vente-im-here-to-score-goals

31-07-2023, 06:38 PM
Let's hope Johnson plays him sooner rather than later 🙄

GRA
31-07-2023, 06:38 PM
Delighted with that. If he can replicate the goals to games ratio Nizzy had last season we've got ourselves a steal.

Looking strong in every position after this window now Hibs. Time to show us your true potential. Starting this Thursday!

31-07-2023, 06:41 PM
Morelos about to join Porteous at Watford apparently.

31-07-2023, 06:42 PM

Gotta love these...

Hopefully get some Doig money soon and if Nisbet keeps up his form, both goals and wanting a move to a higher level quickly, we could be about £10 mil up!

Okay, £10 mil is an exaggeration, but I'm sure we have a sell on for Nisbet and goal scoring strikers tend to go for big money.

Think he’s signed to sit on the bench

31-07-2023, 06:43 PM

Yeah, start him on Thursday. We don't do eligibilty rules. 😀

31-07-2023, 06:45 PM
31st July and we have made 9 signings. Spent anything from £1.5-£2m in transfer fees. Squad stronger than last season. Johnson a full season in. DOF in place and making a big difference. So many advantages over this time last season.

Add in favorable early fixture list and favorable league cup draw.

Manager and players need to deliver now 👍👍👍

7 Up
Looks like the sort of no-nonsense striker we've been crying out for. Let's hope so anyway.

Donegal Hibby
Hopefully get some Doig money soon and if Nisbet keeps up his form, both goals and wanting a move to a higher level quickly, we could be about £10 mil up!

Okay, £10 mil is an exaggeration, but I'm sure we have a sell on for Nisbet and goal scoring strikers tend to go for big money.
Sell Rocky and theres your £10 million right away :wink:

31-07-2023, 06:48 PM
Absolutely nae doubt we have backed the manager. Must start getting results now.

Don’t think we’ll see much more in terms of incomings for a bit now. Still a few obvious candidates to try and move on.

31-07-2023, 06:48 PM
Sell Rocky and theres your £10 million right away :wink:

Big brain play. I like it!

31-07-2023, 06:50 PM
Welcome to the Hibs, Dylan.

31-07-2023, 06:52 PM
31st July and we have made 9 signings. Spent anything from £1.5-£2m in transfer fees. Squad stronger than last season. Johnson a full season in. DOF in place and making a big difference. So many advantages over this time last season.

Add in favorable early fixture list and favorable league cup draw.

Manager and players need to deliver now 👍👍👍

Agree, especially with the last bit. There are players in the squad that have a lot to prove, as does the manager.

Case of tweaking the squad between now and the window now IMO. We probably won’t be able to move in every player we want to because some of them won’t want to walk away from the contracts they have but if we can get a couple out who don’t contribute and a couple in who can I’d be pretty happy with that.

raeburnhibs
31-07-2023, 06:56 PM

Not a Rolex. Rolex has a very distinctive strap and that's not it

31-07-2023, 06:58 PM
I think it'll be the loan market if anymore are needed, I'm happy with that if we can get 1 or 2 that we couldn't really afford
LB a priority for me

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2023, 06:59 PM

apparently hes a great cheerleader :wink:

31-07-2023, 07:00 PM
Boyle, Vente and Youan up top. On paper very exciting.

31-07-2023, 07:00 PM

Development signing. :agree:

McGhee
31-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Dylan Vente is a significant show of intent from the Gordon family, that they are heavily invested in taking Hibernian forward. It is a bold signing. Welcome Dylan. With Youan, Dylan, ALF, and Boyler, possibly Doidger along with hopefully improvement from Melkerson and McKay, this could indeed be a very exciting forward line, with lots of goals incoming. Brilliant.

31-07-2023, 07:03 PM

It's the jubilee bracelet, you're thinking of the President bracelet on the DayDate.

scm70nyd1973
31-07-2023, 07:03 PM
Another huge statement of intent :flag::flag:

This - on paper - is quite exciting - we’ve now got a Dutch connection so time to roll out the orange strips like all nice clubs do - mibbies naw - mibbies never - mibbies I’d rather cut of one of my R S McColls with a paper aeroplane 🤭

Prof. Shaggy
31-07-2023, 07:04 PM

.. International clearance and work permit...

babahibs
31-07-2023, 07:04 PM
Wearing a neat Rolex, the lad's got money:cb

Fixed that for you.

Box 17
31-07-2023, 07:06 PM

I bought a lovely gold Rolex when I was on holiday in Tenerife and when I got home somebody told me it was a fake.

Better not be or I want my 15 Euros back!

Chorley Hibee
31-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Okay, I know I'm a glass half empty person at times, but the following concerns me...

"I like to run in behind defenders and score goals, for a striker that is the most important thing"

We are (currently) not a team playing in the manner that he wants to receive the ball, and we're certainly missing a midfield capable of providing the ammunition he wants.

Shelling high balls and crosses into the box doesn't sound as if it will suit him, so let's hope the recruitment team have got this one right.

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with the levels of investment/reinvestment, but until I see more then I'll reserve judgement.

31-07-2023, 07:09 PM
Okay, I know I'm a glass half empty person at times, but the following concerns me...

"I like to run in behind defenders and score goals, for a striker that is the most important thing"

We are (currently) not a team playing in the manner that he wants to receive the ball, and we're certainly missing a midfield capable of providing the ammunition he wants.

Shelling high balls and crosses into the box doesn't sound as if it will suit him, so let's hope the recruitment team have got this one right.

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with the levels of investment/reinvestment, but until I see more then I'll reserve judgement.

Looking at his goals videos he gets a few from crosses. He is 6ft but he’ll struggle here if he can’t play with his back to goal.

Silky
31-07-2023, 07:14 PM

Are we maybe not playing like that currently because we do t have a striker who can do that? And I also think that's a tad harsh on both Newell and Levitt who, I believe, have the tools to play the kind of passes he is looking for.

31-07-2023, 07:15 PM

It’s a fair point.

Said it elsewhere but my concern about the current squad is the only attacking midfielder we have is Josh Campbell who has a great scoring record but isn’t the most creative of types. I still have concerns our midfield is too similar with players better picking the ball up from deep. I know our creativity is going to come from the wings but I worry they’ll be getting the ball in wrong areas.

Hopefully my worries are unfounded but I think the point you’ve made is a fair comment.

Fwiw I think DV looks class, I really hope we can get the most out of him.

Chorley Hibee
31-07-2023, 07:20 PM
Are we maybe not playing like that currently because we do t have a striker who can do that? And I also think that's a tad harsh on both Newell and Levitt who, I believe, have the tools to play the kind of passes he is looking for.

Levitt won't do much of that if he continues playing as deep as he is.

McGhee
31-07-2023, 07:26 PM
I bought a lovely gold Rolex when I was on holiday in Tenerife and when I got home somebody told me it was a fake.

Better not be or I want my 15 Euros back!

I bought one of these type watches on holiday. Didn't notice until the next morning, that the watch-face said Relox. Must have been really pished that day

31-07-2023, 07:27 PM
A proven goalscorer? Overwhelmed.

Keepthefaith
31-07-2023, 07:30 PM

If nisbet described his style of play, would he not have described himself in a similar way? I'm pretty confident that with pace either side of him in Boyle and youan, that we can capitalise on vente's style

31-07-2023, 07:36 PM
I bought one of these type watches on holiday. Didn't notice until the next morning, that the watch-face said Relox. Must have been really pished that day

Especially as you paid €15k for it.

31-07-2023, 07:36 PM
Must admit I was getting worried when it became so public that another club might Gazump us.... top job by recruitment team and owners stumping up

Delighted with the intent and looks real quality, but as ever, will just need to wait and see. Only comment from me is a 3-year deal on a record signing…would have been a lot more comfortable with a 4 (but know maybe the player just wasn’t up for that).

Being a glass half full kind of guy, I think he's going to do very well for Hibs.

31-07-2023, 07:39 PM
would be great if we went for Dylan McGeouch in the Jan window

we all dream of a team of

Dylans

31-07-2023, 07:46 PM

I can just imagine LJ and Brian McDermott looking at each other with that WTF? face when he said this! :greengrin

31-07-2023, 07:49 PM
That must be us surely? Squad as it stands:

GK: Wollacott, Marshall, Boruc

RB: Miller, Cadden, Delferriere
CB: Hanlon, Fish, Bushiri, Harbottle
LB: Stevenson, Obita, MacIntyre

DM: Doyle-Hayes, Jeggo
CM: Newell, Levitt
AM: Campbell, Henderson

W: Boyle, Youan, MacKay, Tavares
ST: Vente, Le Fondre, Melkersen, Doidge, McKirdy

31-07-2023, 07:49 PM
I can just imagine LJ and Brian McDermott looking at each other with that WTF? face when he said this! :greengrin

Just said this on the other thread - we need to change our style of attack now.

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 07:51 PM

JammyDoidger
31-07-2023, 07:51 PM

31-07-2023, 07:53 PM

Looks to me like he scores all types of goals.

https://youtu.be/MToDR18Nr90

Nevi_SOL
31-07-2023, 07:57 PM
Delighted with this window, I'd be happy with it closing now, but I'd like to be greedy for a couple of loans 😁🤣

Leighonel
31-07-2023, 07:59 PM
That must be us surely? Squad as it stands:

GK: Wollacott, Marshall, Boruc

RB: Miller, Cadden, Delferriere
CB: Hanlon, Fish, Bushiri, Harbottle
LB: Stevenson, Obita, MacIntyre

DM: Doyle-Hayes, Jeggo
CM: Newell, Levitt
AM: Campbell, Henderson

W: Boyle, Youan, MacKay, Tavares
ST: Vente, Le Fondre, Melkersen, Doidge, McKirdy

I have a sneaky feeling if we move a few on, we might see a late loan or two.

31-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Delighted with this window, I'd be happy with it closing now, but I'd like to be greedy for a couple of loans 😁🤣

Vente's plenty.

31-07-2023, 08:01 PM
Really happy with this signing.. But cant help feel our balance in the midfield aint right , we need something else in that midfield as the players we have i just dont see working together.

Manxhibs
31-07-2023, 08:04 PM
I think we are perhaps an AM short, has the Fiorini deal died?

31-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Swansea have just announced Myko on a permanent

31-07-2023, 08:07 PM
I think we are perhaps an AM short, has the Fiorini deal died?

Dont you think we lack a physical presence in the middle? Someone who can let levit and newell attack and make the forward plays?

31-07-2023, 08:08 PM

Good player that will do well in the championship imo. Shame we couldn't get him back, he'll have a good career.

Dont you think we lack a physical presence in the middle? Someone who can let levit and newell attack and make the forward plays?

Jeggo, no?

Any idea of cost?

31-07-2023, 08:12 PM
Jeggo, no?

I just dont see him as Being good enough . Its exactly that role we need to fill though in my opinion, a marvin bartley type that bullies the opposition and allows the ball players to get on the ball. I see jeggo as lightweight, rash , and overall his reading of the game aint great as he is constantly fouling the opposition.

31-07-2023, 08:18 PM
I just dont see him as Being good enough . Its exactly that role we need to fill though in my opinion, a marvin bartley type that bullies the opposition and allows the ball players to get on the ball. I see jeggo as lightweight, rash , and overall his reading of the game aint great as he is constantly fouling the opposition.

If there is one thing Jeggo can’t be criticised for it’s his reading of the game. I’d say that’s his biggest strength. He knows where to be when others go forward and does what he needs to do to stop the other team. Has other faults but that’s no one.

31-07-2023, 08:19 PM
If there is one thing Jeggo can’t be criticised for it’s his reading of the game. I’d say that’s his biggest strength. He knows where to be when others go forward and does what he needs to do to stop the other team. Has other faults but that’s no one.

I have to disagree.. His poor reading of the game is why he gives so many stupid fouls away.

31-07-2023, 08:21 PM

Agree with this entirely. Whilst I'm happy to read on the Jimmy Jeggo thread that he seems to be a good guy, some of the superlatives about his performances are baffling. There is even someone claiming he would be a £10-15m player if his passing was a bit better:shocked:

Dmas
Any idea of cost?

Undisclosed

Any idea of cost?

Undisclosed fee

31-07-2023, 08:22 PM

I think his reading of the game is phenomenal. It’s no coincidence that our defensive record was far better after he signed.

31-07-2023, 08:24 PM
Agree with this entirely. Whilst I'm happy to read on the Jimmy Jeggo thread that he seems to be a good guy, some of the superlatives about his performances are baffling. There is even someone claiming he would be a £10-15m player if his passing was a bit better:shocked:

One thing is for sure.. He seems to split opinion, maybe he comes good .. 🤔

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 08:27 PM

He would be though, very clever player

Just_Jimmy
31-07-2023, 08:30 PM
Dont you think we lack a physical presence in the middle? Someone who can let levit and newell attack and make the forward plays?A Bartley would be perfect

JammyDoidger
31-07-2023, 08:30 PM
We need to move folk on now, key positions we need to bring in are full back, and striker if we can move on melkerson and possibly Doidge too although he still has a chance for me.

31-07-2023, 08:31 PM

Dear lord the Vente excitement isn’t half going to our heids 😂

Box 17
31-07-2023, 08:33 PM
Looks to me like he scores all types of goals.

https://youtu.be/MToDR18Nr90

Would take that fair haired guy (no 14) as well.

31-07-2023, 08:35 PM

Honestly one of the most ridiculous claims I've read on this forum, and that is saying something.:greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 08:36 PM
Honestly one of the most ridiculous claims I've read on this forum, and that is saying something.:greengrin

Fair enough, I rate him highly. If you watch the game you rarely see him but if you watch him you see the whole game, shame his passing is pish [emoji23]

31-07-2023, 08:37 PM
We need to move folk on now, key positions we need to bring in are full back, and striker if we can move on melkerson and possibly Doidge too although he still has a chance for me.

Another wide player is more important than a striker for me now. Think we need proper competition there. We generally only play with one centre forward so I’d be surprised if we added another one when we have Vente, Le Fondre and the option to play Youan through the middle if needed.

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 08:40 PM
Another wide player is more important than a striker for me now. Think we need proper competition there. We generally only play with one centre forward so I’d be surprised if we added another one when we have Vente, Le Fondre and the option to play Youan through the middle if needed.

Hibs are in the market for another striker, won’t be Myko obviously with him away to Swansea. A wide player would be my priority now too and maybe another right back . And another 10 Jimmy Jeggos of course.

31-07-2023, 08:40 PM
I think his reading of the game is phenomenal. It’s no coincidence that our defensive record was far better after he signed.

There was a marginal statistical improvement in goals conceded after we signed Jeggo. And there were plenty of things that happened about that time likely contributed to an upturn in our performances, including Fish playing regularly, Egan Reilly signing, Nisbet returning and banging them in.

JammyDoidger
31-07-2023, 08:44 PM

That's a very good point, I actually agree with you there.

BlackSheep
31-07-2023, 09:15 PM
Swansea have signed kuharevich, permanently

31-07-2023, 09:20 PM

Who have also signed Josh Ginnelly.

31-07-2023, 09:26 PM

Good luck to him.

31-07-2023, 09:26 PM
Who have also signed Josh Ginnelly.

Bad luck to him.

31-07-2023, 09:35 PM
Levitt won't do much of that if he continues playing as deep as he is.

Bet he does

31-07-2023, 09:50 PM

I'd agree, particularly after the disappointing reports on Mackay against Blackpool.

31-07-2023, 09:53 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1686070469416607744?t=LlxaL6khJZm-JInJYOU5Vg&s=19

👍 A new multi-pen.

We should be selling them in the shop 👍

31-07-2023, 09:54 PM
I'd agree, particularly after the disappointing reports on Mackay against Blackpool.

I thought he was really disappointing against Blackpool.

I know it was a tough ask with the team we had out but I didn’t think he looked to have the heart or desire to really push himself forward. That’s as good a chance as he’s likely to get for us and I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s away at some point in the next month.

As I say, it was always going to be difficult but you could see a determination in some of the young players (particularly Megwa) to make an impression in the game that I just didn’t see in McKay.

31-07-2023, 10:03 PM

At least it wasn't a Tissot.

31-07-2023, 10:06 PM
I thought he was really disappointing against Blackpool.

I know it was a tough ask with the team we had out but I didn’t think he looked to have the heart or desire to really push himself forward. That’s as good a chance as he’s likely to get for us and I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s away at some point in the next month.

As I say, it was always going to be difficult but you could see a determination in some of the young players (particularly Megwa) to make an impression in the game that I just didn’t see in McKay.I didn't see his performance against Blackpool, it's a shame he sounds like he didn't look up for it.

My main gripe with him since he's joined is his lack of all round play. He gets on the end of stuff at championship level which is a great quality to have but any time I've watched him I tend to think he's not really involved in the game.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

31-07-2023, 10:11 PM
At least it wasn't a Tissot.

Tissot's are excellent watches!

31-07-2023, 10:13 PM
We should be selling them in the shop 👍

Definitely. Maybe some Hibs ones with 4 x green ink.

31-07-2023, 10:14 PM
Tissot's are excellent watches!

Yes they are - but switching the vowels in Casio isn't as funny.

31-07-2023, 10:39 PM
Yes they are - but switching the vowels in Casio isn't as funny.

haha sorry just got that:greengrin

01-08-2023, 06:40 AM
Just seen a few Jambos talking about signing Strain from St Mirren. Not sure if it's guff

01-08-2023, 06:53 AM
Just seen a few Jambos talking about signing Strain from St Mirren. Not sure if it's guff

The same ones that reckon they spent £750k each on the Japanese lad, kent and the Aussie.

01-08-2023, 09:06 AM
There was a marginal statistical improvement in goals conceded after we signed Jeggo. And there were plenty of things that happened about that time likely contributed to an upturn in our performances, including Fish playing regularly, Egan Reilly signing, Nisbet returning and banging them in.

and if the reading of the game is so good you don't tend to get booked as much.

01-08-2023, 09:12 AM

There's also the subjective - Jeggo doesn't always stand out personally but the team just looks more competent when he plays, in my opinion.

The players around him tend to look more comfortable when he's in there doing his thing and the whole structure of the team just looks better.

01-08-2023, 09:28 AM
There's also the subjective - Jeggo doesn't always stand out personally but the team just looks more competent when he plays, in my opinion.

The players around him tend to look more comfortable when he's in there doing his thing and the whole structure of the team just looks better.

I think that is a bit of a myth that has developed on Hibs.net. There could be some truth in it though and we should get a better picture this season if he plays. Although the fact he never started v Gronigen or Inter and then travelled with the youth team to Blackpool suggests he won't feature as much this year.

01-08-2023, 09:46 AM

1875M
01-08-2023, 09:56 AM

Tend to agree. No way am I saying he’s a quality player and he’s the strong, imposing midfielder we need but from my perspective, we look a slightly better team with him playing. Be interesting to see the stats for this. Based on our current midfield, I’d be playing him with newell and levitt further forward, which is where he’s best. Not getting the best from Levitt as a 6.

01-08-2023, 10:08 AM

I think his organisational skills are so important to that midfield

Cheshire Hibee
01-08-2023, 10:11 AM
No chance of Kuharevich coming back to Hibs now as he’s just joined Swansea

01-08-2023, 10:17 AM
No chance of Kuharevich coming back to Hibs now as he’s just joined Swansea

Seems Hibs and Swansea were both after Vente and Kuharevich. It would be interesting to know who was each club's preferred option out of the two of them.

01-08-2023, 10:19 AM

I think we look more comfortable due to us being less dynamic when Jeggo plays. Its all pretty basic but it will work and we will in theory lose less goals. But it also means you have one midfielder who does very little during transition. Its why he's got Levitt now. He can provide more when we win the ball. Jeggo will still have a place especially against teams that would dominate us.

Trinity Hibee
01-08-2023, 10:20 AM
Seems Hibs and Swansea were both after Vente and Kuharevich. It would be interesting to know who was each club's preferred option out of the two of them.

Going by Myko’s posts seems he would have wanted to come back here so I’m guessing Vente was Hibs’ first choice. Given we’ve paid 700k for vente too you’d expect we could have afforded Myko if we wanted him.

01-08-2023, 10:21 AM

If the reports that Vente was unlikely to meet the work permit criteria for the English league are accurate then they may not have had a choice.

01-08-2023, 10:22 AM
I think we look more comfortable due to us being less dynamic when Jeggo plays. Its all pretty basic but it will work and we will in theory lose less goals. But it also means you have one midfielder who does very little during transition. Its why he's got Levitt now. He can provide more when we win the ball. Jeggo will still have a place especially against teams that would dominate us.

I think it's sometimes the opposite - the other players know that Jeggo is there and will be disciplined, so we have more freedom for all the other outfield players to attack in some shape or form.

We certainly have fewer of those wtf is going on with the midfield games when he plays, although we have had one or two when we've been poor.

01-08-2023, 10:25 AM
Tend to agree. No way am I saying he’s a quality player and he’s the strong, imposing midfielder we need but from my perspective, we look a slightly better team with him playing. Be interesting to see the stats for this. Based on our current midfield, I’d be playing him with newell and levitt further forward, which is where he’s best. Not getting the best from Levitt as a 6.

Levitt is a 6 - just not a 6 like Jeggo. Its where he played at Utd and where LJ has played him for us. He will just not be as static as previous 6s we have had.

01-08-2023, 10:26 AM

A rich man's Brian Kerr, it could be said.

01-08-2023, 10:28 AM

He does luxury level unseen work.

1875M
01-08-2023, 10:32 AM
Levitt is a 6 - just not a 6 like Jeggo. Its where he played at Utd and where LJ has played him for us. He will just not be as static as previous 6s we have had.

I know it’s where he played but I think he’s better further forward. So do a lot of Dundee United fans.

01-08-2023, 10:32 AM
I think it's sometimes the opposite - the other players know that Jeggo is there and will be disciplined, so we have more freedom for all the other outfield players to attack in some shape or form.

We certainly have fewer of those wtf is going on with the midfield games when he plays, although we have had one or two when we've been poor.

It will certainly take the team a while to get used to playing with this new style that LJ wants.

Trinity Hibee
01-08-2023, 10:34 AM
I know it’s where he played but I think he’s better further forward. So do a lot of Dundee United fans.

I agree. He looks like a player in behind the main striker picking up good positions, sliding through balls and getting shots away.

01-08-2023, 10:34 AM

A Brian Kerr without the goal:greengrin

BlackSheep
01-08-2023, 10:35 AM
Jeggo is a very intelligent player, he reminds me of another underrated Australian we had a few years back, Mark Milligan.

Both organised the defence and midfield and talked a great game (just see Jeggo mic'd up video on youtube), both drop into defence when our wing back/fullbacks ventured forward, both break up the play and find a pass or space for the flair players to do their jobs.

My starting midfield would consist of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt and i think that goes a long way to cover all bases in terms of abilities.

sean04
01-08-2023, 10:40 AM
Jeggo is a very intelligent player, he reminds me of another underrated Australian we had a few years back, Mark Milligan.

Both organised the defence and midfield and talked a great game (just see Jeggo mic'd up video on youtube), both drop into defence when our wing back/fullbacks ventured forward, both break up the play and find a pass or space for the flair players to do their jobs.

My starting midfield would consist of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt and i think that goes a long way to cover all bases in terms of abilities.

Completely agree with this, let's Newell and Levitt go play further forward

01-08-2023, 10:54 AM
Going by Myko’s posts seems he would have wanted to come back here so I’m guessing Vente was Hibs’ first choice. Given we’ve paid 700k for vente too you’d expect we could have afforded Myko if we wanted him.

Wouldn't be surprised if Troyes wanted a million+ for Myko.

tug.lismore
01-08-2023, 10:58 AM

My starting midfield would consist of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt and i think that goes a long way to cover all bases in terms of abilities.I have been wondering how a midfield of Jeggo, Levitt and Newell would perform. Be interested to see it in action.

01-08-2023, 11:58 AM
I have been wondering how a midfield of Jeggo, Levitt and Newell would perform. Be interested to see it in action.

I would not be surprised if - after a few weeks of [unnecessary] tinkering - Lee Johnson ends up realising that his starting XI and subs are essentially:

GK - Wollacott/Marshall (not seen Wollacott yet in the flesh so let's leave that TBC)
then - Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Jeggo
Levitt Newell
Boyle Vente Youan

with typical subs at 70min
JDH or Campbell for Jeggo (and drop Levitt to no6)
ALF for Vente

and then a raft of decent defensive and midfield subs available for anyone on a booking or injured or off-form etc

Paul1642
01-08-2023, 12:36 PM
I would not be surprised if - after a few weeks of [unnecessary] tinkering - Lee Johnson ends up realising that his starting XI and subs are essentially:

GK - Wollacott/Marshall (not seen Wollacott yet in the flesh so let's leave that TBC)
then - Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Jeggo
Levitt Newell
Boyle Vente Youan

with typical subs at 70min
JDH or Campbell for Jeggo (and drop Levitt to no6)
ALF for Vente

and then a raft of decent defensive and midfield subs available for anyone on a booking or injured or off-form etc

On paper this is a very strong starting 11 with good subs. If players find good form and we don’t have our usual luck with injuries this has the potential to be a very exciting season.

Boyle, Vente and Youan is potentially the strongest attack we’ve had for a very very long time of Vente lives up to the hype.

01-08-2023, 12:38 PM
If the reports that Vente was unlikely to meet the work permit criteria for the English league are accurate then they may not have had a choice.

interested to know what the difference to one in our league would be?

01-08-2023, 12:41 PM
Do we have any players whose contracts would have been been up yesterday as the end of July, or due to end at the end of August?

Window closes 31 Aug yeah?

01-08-2023, 12:42 PM
interested to know what the difference to one in our league would be?

The Scottish FA has no limit on the number of players a club can register who don't have enough GBE points to be eligible to automatically receive a Tier 2 work visa. The Scottish FA will support visa applications for such players.

The English FA has a strict limit on the number of players a club can register who don't have enough GBE points to be eligible to automatically receive a Tier 2 work visa.

Paul1642
01-08-2023, 12:44 PM
Do we have any players whose contracts would have been been up yesterday as the end of July, or due to end at the end of August?

Brilliant that’s we’ve got all of our major business completed with a month to spare and before the season begins. Not often we manage that. This is assuming we are done but I don’t see us signing any more first 11 players. Been a great window IMO.

GreenGray
01-08-2023, 12:44 PM
Fair enough, I rate him highly. If you watch the game you rarely see him but if you watch him you see the whole game, shame his passing is pish [emoji23]

Behave, I think Pep said that about Sergio Busquets

01-08-2023, 12:45 PM

No

01-08-2023, 12:49 PM
Brilliant that’s we’ve got all of our major business completed with a month to spare and before the season begins. Not often we manage that. This is assuming we are done but I don’t see us signing any more first 11 players. Been a great window IMO.

Just as importantly we seem to have signed players that are available from the get-go, or will be by Sunday. Big improvement on last year.

Thursday’s a tricky one. Got to win it, but also got to figure out our strongest 11 and system to use against St M.

Paulie Walnuts
01-08-2023, 12:51 PM

Just as importantly we seem to have signed players that are available from the get-go, or will be by Sunday. Big improvement on last year.

Thursday’s a tricky one. Got to win it, but also got to figure out our strongest 11 and system to use against St M.

Strongest team for both games imo. If we could get a few ahead by half time/early second half on Thursday then start taking players off. Worry about trying to find chances to rest them later.

Paul1642
01-08-2023, 02:14 PM
Strongest team for both games imo. If we could get a few ahead by half time/early second half on Thursday then start taking players off. Worry about trying to find chances to rest them later.

Agree with this. Both games are huge but there’s no coming back from a draw / loss on Thursday whereas dropped points vs St Mirren can be made up later on. Need to give it 100% and like you say we can take off key or tired players if we can get the job done early in the game.

Not that there’s any reason why we can’t win both.

01-08-2023, 02:35 PM
Anyone else have a feeling Vente won’t start on Sunday?

I think Johnson tends to introduce players from the bench first and given he can’t do that on Thursday with him.

wouldn’t surprise me at all if ALF starts and Vente comes on around the hour mark.

We’ll be 1-0 down and he’s Boyle and Vente come on for Melkersen and ALF who will lead us to a 2-1 win :greengrin

JammyDoidger
01-08-2023, 03:02 PM

I think Johnson tends to introduce players from the bench first and given he can’t do that on Thursday with him.

wouldn’t surprise me at all if ALF starts and Vente comes on around the hour mark.

We’ll be 1-0 down and he’s Boyle and Vente come on for Melkersen and ALF who will lead us to a 2-1 win :greengrin

He might just leave him on the bench as a cheerleader for this one..with Lee Johnson nothing would surprise me.

01-08-2023, 03:26 PM

Not sure if he will be available.

cameronw-hfc
01-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Not sure if he will be available.

All dependent on WP I think

01-08-2023, 03:57 PM

I think he'll be more than happy down in Swansea, better wages and closer to the Premier League which I imagine is his goal.

01-08-2023, 04:38 PM

Think he will if has international clearance

01-08-2023, 04:53 PM
Think he will if has international clearance

So do I. We didn't pay that money for him not to start.

01-08-2023, 05:45 PM

I reckon Vente will start if he’s upto speed.
I think Boyle wont and i wouldnt be surprised if we use him sparingly through the first part of the season.Better safe than sorry.

01-08-2023, 06:43 PM
I think Boyle wont and i wouldnt be surprised if we use him sparingly through the first part of the season.Better safe than sorry.

Boyle should be playing if hes fit. League cup final is before christmas, should be aiming to go far in that. Brilliant chance to start the start the season well as well.

01-08-2023, 07:08 PM
9 signings in so far;

JoJo Wollacott - Ghanaian international who was highly rated at Swindon before getting a move to Charlton where fans seemed to like him and thought he was better than the number 1. Played for Johnson before.

Maksymillan Boruc - brought in as 3rd choice and to allow Johnson to go out on loan. Been on trial before so should know what we’ve got.

Riley Harbottle - Young centre half who got rave reviews from Mansfield, albeit in league 2 in England. Hopefully had loads of potential

Will Fish - Great signing even though it’s just on loan, showed second half of last year how good he was.

Jordan Obita - loads of experience mainly in the championship and played 29 games in league one last year. Looked good in pre season before getting injured and is someone Johnson and McDermott know well.

Dylan Levitt - A real quality centre mid imo, surprised we managed to get him at the time and a ‘statement of intent’ signing by the board.

Elie Youan - Massive signing again making him permanent, took a while to settle but once he did he was our best player/biggest threat by a mile imo.

Adam Le Fondre - He was a really good striker when he was younger and in fairness to him his goal scoring record is still good even though he’s older. McDermott was previously vocal about good characters and in particular how good a guy ALF is. Bit of an unknown what he’ll be like now but if we use him correctly hopefully he adds value to the squad and is a good option to bring on

Dylan Vente - It was never going to be easy to replace a player of Nisbets quality, but Vente on paper looks like as close as we could get. Great scoring record and been linked to some good teams, only recently turned 24 too so still young. Sounds like we spent a lot of money on him too so another big “statement of intent” signing.

Seems a lot more known quality and players in their “prime” that Johnson mentioned before however they cost more. Doesn’t seem to be effecting us this year as we must have spent the best part of 2 million.

Couple of players left which is good news due to wages and what they contributed (or never).

How many more do we expect in and what positions?

I’ll go for another winger (Backup for Boyle/until he’s 100%) and a creative midfielder. Potentially a right back depending on miller.

Players out - Henderson, Tavares, Doidge, Mackay, Melkersen and Delf could all leave with minimal impact.

01-08-2023, 07:15 PM
One natural winger, left footed preferably.

Then I really think we’re strong in most departments to compete.

01-08-2023, 07:37 PM
One natural winger, left footed preferably.

Then I really think we’re strong in most departments to compete.

Obita can play there, but we need a back up for Boyle.

K-Zazu
01-08-2023, 07:44 PM

Who plays instead of Boyle?

MagicSwirlingShip
01-08-2023, 08:21 PM

Mackay is surely understudy to Boyle?

01-08-2023, 08:23 PM

Josh Campbell pushed out to the right or Melkerson would be my guess.

McGruber
01-08-2023, 08:31 PM
9 signings in so far;

JoJo Wollacott - Ghanaian international who was highly rated at Swindon before getting a move to Charlton where fans seemed to like him and thought he was better than the number 1. Played for Johnson before.

Maksymillan Boruc - brought in as 3rd choice and to allow Johnson to go out on loan. Been on trial before so should know what we’ve got.

Riley Harbottle - Young centre half who got rave reviews from Mansfield, albeit in league 2 in England. Hopefully had loads of potential

Will Fish - Great signing even though it’s just on loan, showed second half of last year how good he was.

Jordan Obita - loads of experience mainly in the championship and played 29 games in league one last year. Looked good in pre season before getting injured and is someone Johnson and McDermott know well.

Dylan Levitt - A real quality centre mid imo, surprised we managed to get him at the time and a ‘statement of intent’ signing by the board.

Elie Youan - Massive signing again making him permanent, took a while to settle but once he did he was our best player/biggest threat by a mile imo.

Adam Le Fondre - He was a really good striker when he was younger and in fairness to him his goal scoring record is still good even though he’s older. McDermott was previously vocal about good characters and in particular how good a guy ALF is. Bit of an unknown what he’ll be like now but if we use him correctly hopefully he adds value to the squad and is a good option to bring on

Dylan Vente - It was never going to be easy to replace a player of Nisbets quality, but Vente on paper looks like as close as we could get. Great scoring record and been linked to some good teams, only recently turned 24 too so still young. Sounds like we spent a lot of money on him too so another big “statement of intent” signing.

Seems a lot more known quality and players in their “prime” that Johnson mentioned before however they cost more. Doesn’t seem to be effecting us this year as we must have spent the best part of 2 million.

Couple of players left which is good news due to wages and what they contributed (or never).

How many more do we expect in and what positions?

I’ll go for another winger (Backup for Boyle/until he’s 100%) and a creative midfielder. Potentially a right back depending on miller.

Players out - Henderson, Tavares, Doidge, Mackay, Melkersen and Delf could all leave with minimal impact.

Can't see any more coming in until we offload a few - first team squad is quite heavy now

01-08-2023, 08:33 PM
Can't see any more coming in until we offload a few - first team squad is quite heavy now

If by some miracle we end up playing group stage European football we need the numbers

01-08-2023, 08:35 PM

Agree, there won’t be much incoming until closer to the end of the window now IMO. Think we’ll move another two or three out and get a couple in, likely loans.

01-08-2023, 08:35 PM
I take it Tavares is completely out of the picture now?

01-08-2023, 08:38 PM
I think we could bring in one more and then it will be loans depending on who moves on

Fanforlife
01-08-2023, 08:39 PM
Led to believe he isn't even in the development squad for tomorrow nights cup tie.

JammyDoidger
01-08-2023, 08:40 PM
See James Forrest had his testimonial tonight, 32 now and barely kicked a ball for them for a while. Worth an enquiry, even a loan?

01-08-2023, 08:41 PM

Wasn’t even in the squad down at Blackpool. And I never even noticed until I’d left the ground and we were talking about the game. Don’t think we’ll see him in a Hibs top, in the first team, ever again.

01-08-2023, 08:42 PM
Led to believe he isn't even in the development squad for tomorrow nights cup tie.

Is he really that bad or had a falling out?

Both not great out there

Trinity Hibee
See James Forrest had his testimonial tonight, 32 now and barely kicked a ball for them for a while. Worth an enquiry, even a loan?

Would definitely take him

01-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Agree, there won’t be much incoming until closer to the end of the window now IMO. Think we’ll move another two or three out and get a couple in, likely loans.

How about a cheeky loan offer for Glen Kamara? He is completely out of the picture at Ibrox now (training on his own!). The Huns won’t get the price for him that he was valued at a couple of years ago.
Play him as DM and allow Levitt and Newell to play further forward. (Jeggo as back up to Kamara).

01-08-2023, 08:53 PM
How about a cheeky loan offer for Glen Kamara? He is completely out of the picture at Ibrox now (training on his own!). The Huns won’t get the price for him that he was valued at a couple of years ago.
Play him as DM and allow Levitt and Newell to play further forward. (Jeggo as back up to Kamara).

I would sell a kidney to see Kamara playing for Hibs. I was desperate for us to sign him when he was at Dundee.

01-08-2023, 08:56 PM

Going to Leeds for a few £m

01-08-2023, 08:57 PM

Absolutely no chance. He signed a megabucks new deal less than 2 years ago. No chance Sevco are subbing 2/3’s of his wage to play for us.

Up-the-slope
01-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Chelsea have signed a 19 year old on a 7 year + 1 option .... 27million Euros... and might still be punted on loan...

01-08-2023, 09:41 PM
Daryl Horgan signs for Dundalk again. Always liked Horgan, thought he was too harsh on himself.

That derby goal 🤤

Donegal Hibby
01-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Pity we haven't Cadden who could play there .

Donegal Hibby
01-08-2023, 11:22 PM
Daily record saying reports from Italy that Josh Doig in talks with Fulham

02-08-2023, 05:55 AM

Personally would definitely play Campbell as a genuine goal threat. Also possible we can change from our rigid system to suit the players available. 442 with midfield diamond shape. Youhan and Alf up top.

02-08-2023, 06:38 AM
Personally would definitely play Campbell as a genuine goal threat. Also possible we can change from our rigid system to suit the players available. 442 with midfield diamond shape. Youhan and Alf up top.

I have a feeling that the Doidger will start this one Jim with Youan and Boyle on the wings.
Hopefully give MB an hour and see how he goes.

02-08-2023, 09:04 AM
Flo Kamberi is a free agent🤔

HendoDelivered
02-08-2023, 09:15 AM

He can stay one

02-08-2023, 09:16 AM
He can stay one

He can do one!

02-08-2023, 09:17 AM

Be careful what you wish for

02-08-2023, 09:20 AM

Apparently it's always been his dream to be a free agent

Steven79
02-08-2023, 09:23 AM

What a waste his career has been apart from a brief spell with us.

When he looks back in a few years time he might realise what he had when he was with us.

02-08-2023, 09:26 AM

When he looks back in a few years time he might realise what he had when he was with us.

Maybe Lennon had a point afterall

Trinity Hibee
02-08-2023, 09:26 AM

There must be loads of players who thought they could do better leaving us and didn’t progress. Grass isn’t always greener

02-08-2023, 09:29 AM

Good stuff.

Rat

02-08-2023, 09:30 AM
Maybe Lennon had a point afterall

I think he did in hindsight but i didn't like the way he went about it. Should have been done behind closed doors. Lennon was just trying to get the heat off himself.

sauzee=legend
02-08-2023, 09:35 AM

Hope he never gets a club again! Rat!

02-08-2023, 10:04 AM
I think he did in hindsight but i didn't like the way he went about it. Should have been done behind closed doors. Lennon was just trying to get the heat off himself.

I agree he went about it all wrong, but I'm not sure that was Lennon's motivation. He's a hothead and things just boiled over. Probably.

Although I can't properly remember the sequence of events.

#2 Double Tap
02-08-2023, 10:07 AM
Daryl Horgan signs for Dundalk again. Always liked Horgan, thought he was too harsh on himself.

That derby goal 🤤

magic!

Just_Jimmy
02-08-2023, 11:22 AM
A fit, firing kamberi would be the best striker at the club right now...

I'll take flack for that, but it's true.

Until we see vente hopefully.

02-08-2023, 11:27 AM
A fit, firing kamberi would be the best striker at the club right now...

I'll take flack for that, but it's true.

Until we see vente hopefully.

Out with the loan spell with us, has there ever been a Kamberi that is firing?

patlowe
02-08-2023, 12:02 PM

Great player but will have his sights set higher I imagine.

Key West
02-08-2023, 12:07 PM

I don't think that formations are as strict as they used to be a flexible 3-5-2 should get the job done Campbell is definitely a goal threat.

02-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Apparently it's always been his dream to be a free agent

Ever since that time he went to McDonald's drive thru for a Big Mac meal deal (large) and then went home to look at himself in the mirror, he knew that's what he wanted to do at 3pm every Saturday.

02-08-2023, 12:18 PM
Carson is away to Dundee from St Mirren