View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Dr_Regal
24-06-2023, 12:05 AM
Josh Vela name still gives me the heebie jeebies. Have no idea how he was so bad, watched him a lot in England before the move and he looked to be a great move. Up there with the most disappointing signings in hibs history.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-06-2023, 12:16 AM
A good signing no doubt about it ... potentially a great signing if he improves on his end to this season.

But for me a 'Marquee' signing has to be someone who isn't already at the club and either a well known player or someone the fans either really wanted us to sign or is completely out of left field, along the lines of, bloody hell I can't believe we signed him:

George Best, Frank Sauzee, Murdo McLeod, Keith Wright, Steve Archibald ... that kind of player.

If you want an example of a player I would put in that category it's Barry Bannan. 33 years old maybe, but an absolutely super player I would gladly pay money to watch.

#AnnounceDykes

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-06-2023, 12:18 AM
Haven’t we got our quota of Aussies in the squad?[emoji23]

#AnnounceDykes

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-06-2023, 12:21 AM
Oi.

That's both my bairns second team because of my father in law. No glory hunting at Man City, Man Utd or Chelsea for them. It will be twice yearly trips to Sincil Bank to supplement the mediocrity of Easter Road.

Poor bairns, sure I could sort them a few tickets for old Trafford if they’re getting a bit fed up [emoji6]

24-06-2023, 12:50 AM

#AnnounceDykes

I know Dykes is flavour of the month just now…and probably deservedly so, but I’m predicting that while some think that Alfie is coming as some sort of ‘back up striker’, that his early showings will make it extremely hard for the manager not to start the season with him up top.

He may be 36, but he’s still the ‘Colin Stein’ type striker that Hibs fans will appreciate.

Now, that’s probably put the mockers on him and Postman Pat from the Faroes will interrupt his career with an untimely tackle in his first competitive game😂

Just on our signings in general so far……I’m excited!

PHeffernan
24-06-2023, 03:10 AM
Potential squad

Marshall / Jojo

Miller / Megwa
Fish* / Rocky
Hanlon / ??
Obita / Lewis

Jeggo / Kenneh
Newell / JDH
Fiorini*/ Campbell

Boyle / McKirdy
Myko* / ALF / Melkerson
Youan / Mackay

Back up - Doidge / Tavares / Henderson
Injured - Cadden

Add Tait and Delferrier to your back up's
Not counting Cadden but including Megwa we currently have 24 players in our first team squad.

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 04:47 AM
Potential squad Marshall / JojoMiller / MegwaFish* / RockyHanlon / ??Obita / LewisJeggo / KennehNewell / JDHFiorini*/ Campbell Boyle / McKirdyMyko* / ALF / MelkersonYouan / MackayBack up - Doidge / Tavares / Henderson Injured - Cadden

Even if we get Fish I can see another CB being signed with possibly a LB too or maybe a CB who can play LB . Midfield still needs a fair bit of work done.

I'd think kenneh and Henderson are two we might try to move on and not so sure JDH fits into the manager's plans either TBH .

Upfront if we get Mykola back with Le Fondre as backup we ain't to bad . Boyle on the right with Mckirdy as backup and Youan on the left with Mackay as backup too .

Think Doidge will be away and would like to see both melkersen and Tavares go out to a Scottish championship team on loan which might give us some leeway to add further upfront too.

Cadden will be a big boast whenever we get him back as he gives us a couple of different options in he can play RM or RW .

big gogs
24-06-2023, 05:30 AM
Like this post

For my 2p, the delay with Fish could be about Man U's takeover situation, meaning no permanent sales can be sanctioned til.its resolved? Just a guess, no Intel.

And Forini is an interesting one.

Looks to me a classic for a Youan style deal - loan with purchase price pre-agreed to help all parties make the most of the opportunity
Man .u.are trying to sign a player from Chelsea,I get the impression the United takeover bid,has no bearing on buying or selling.I would have thought fish would have been announced by now.

24-06-2023, 07:11 AM
https://twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1672496216398082048?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Terry Taylor from Burton Albion linked. Source looks a bit questionable though.

24-06-2023, 07:14 AM
https://twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1672496216398082048?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

The guy they quote in the tweet has 123K followers

24-06-2023, 07:23 AM

Never heard of him, and going by his stats he doesnt look like he gets forward and scores goals. :greengrin

24-06-2023, 07:26 AM
Never heard of him, and going by his stats he doesnt look like he gets forward and scores goals. :greengrin

Doesn’t score goals, has an incredibly boring name and coming from an even more boring club.

Think that’s more than enough to rule this guy out for me.

Next rumour please.

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 07:26 AM

Seems to be a player Burton Albion fans like and is well thought of . Apparently good at set- pieces.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/league-one/12780543/21-under-21-terry-taylor-of-burton-albion

24-06-2023, 07:28 AM
Doesn’t score goals, has an incredibly boring name and coming from an even more boring club.

Next rumour please.

24-06-2023, 07:31 AM

Next rumour please.

Sounds like a fast show character.

Fuzzywuzzy
24-06-2023, 07:34 AM

Next rumour please.

We could start calling him Audi?

24-06-2023, 07:35 AM
Swear I'm done. I've made one comment about a rumoured player this window. Nothing about our 2 actual signings and now I'm attributed to everything negative on the forum.

Grown men acting like a mob behind a keyboard.

Nah, it's good to read varying opinions, don't let them beat you down. The forum seems way quieter than in the past and a lot of decent posters have gone quiet. Stick around and share your views.

It's ridiculous that we're expected to automatically rate any player that signs for us, or is even linked to us, these days.

Never seen a player play? Well it's fine to think he'll be great but not to think he might be gash!! I don't get it?

The forum never used to be like this. We used to have decent discussions (not arguments) about the pros and cons of the actual player.

Now, the chat is almost as much about who posted as the post itself.

24-06-2023, 07:41 AM

Next rumour please.

Jeggo replacement?

24-06-2023, 07:42 AM

Next rumour please.

Cheer up! Maybe his middle name is Nigel and we can call him TNT. :greengrin

NC1875
24-06-2023, 08:22 AM

He’s dynamite

24-06-2023, 08:33 AM

Unfortunately, it's Charles.

Even worse.

Don't touch him, Hibs.

24-06-2023, 08:37 AM
The last player we signed from Burton was pretty good.

24-06-2023, 08:53 AM
In other news, remember that time we were going to sign Luke Berry and I remember being pissed off that he’d chosen Luton Town over us.

Just signed a new contract for their premier league campaign 😅

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 09:19 AM
Didn't know Terry Taylor was a Aberdeen player at one time .
https://therealefl.co.uk/2023/06/24/hibernian-join-chase-for-league-one-midfielder/

24-06-2023, 09:22 AM
These stats don't paint the full picture of the impact the January changes made to the team. Yes, if you take our ppg for the season it is 1.37, however if you split it into the 22 games before he joined and then the 16 after(he only played 15) then we can see how major the turnaround was.

27 points out of 22 games 1.22 = 41 points = 9th place

25 points out of 16 games 1.56 = 59 points = 3rd place

Had we continued the same rate we were, 9th place was the result.

The form after signing Jeggo had it been maintained for a full season would have seen us finish 3rd.

Hardly any difference is a massive misrepresentation of the job the management team did in January. The significance of Jeggo could be argued but he clearly played a role in that improvement.

Gives me real hope if we get the manager what he wants in the summer.

Sorry thats not even close to being right mate. 1.22 points per game over 38 games would have us with 47 points. Assuming we got into top six then that points total would have seen us finish exactly where we did in 5th.

Ach away with yer sensible, fact based pish. We want sensationalist, subjective club bashing in here!

You maybe should have checked "sensible fact based" pish so you could see that it wasnt actually fact based before posting this.:wink:

BTW thinking that Jeggo didnt make as much of a difference to the team as some are claiming is hardly bashing the club, come on

24-06-2023, 09:22 AM
Add Tait and Delferrier to your back up's
Not counting Cadden but including Megwa we currently have 24 players in our first team squad.
I’ve still got hopes for Tait and Delferrier. Ball is in their court territory for the two of them this summer

HFC93
24-06-2023, 09:23 AM
In other news, remember that time we were going to sign Luke Berry and I remember being pissed off that he’d chosen Luton Town over us.

Just signed a new contract for their premier league campaign 😅

I bet some posters on here complained about us trying to sign 'English lower league rubbish' at the time.

NGoloGrantie
24-06-2023, 09:28 AM
https://twitter.com/sportspeteo/status/1583494239320539150?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

24-06-2023, 09:35 AM
Never heard of him but the lad Taylor seems very highly rated.

As someone said sounds a potential replacement for Jeggo as supposedly very good off the ball and decent on it whilst being over 6 foot

Lots of clubs interested and some stats show him being one of the best midfielders for his age in Europe (similar to Oli Shaw was with strikers 🤣)

CentreForward
24-06-2023, 09:40 AM
Definitely not a goal scorer as he has 80 senior appearances and no goals. Guess that’s not what he would be brought in for though.

24-06-2023, 09:46 AM
Excited by the thought of us recruiting our first Terry since Butcher.

24-06-2023, 09:47 AM
https://youtube.com/watch?v=J0dJp4Ovv0E&feature=share - Terry Taylor reel

24-06-2023, 09:57 AM
Terrio de T’alor is his birth name, for those concerned about Telboy Taylor being too boring. Grazie.

MKHIBEE
24-06-2023, 10:02 AM
Great club and I wouldn’t hear a bad word said about them.

They’re a bit ***** though eh? Be honest.

Have they ever done anything, ever?
First team to be relegated from the Football League. Won the EFL Trophy. Had 2 England managers play for them. Reached FA Cup
1/4 finals as a non league club. That’s about it really

24-06-2023, 10:07 AM
https://youtube.com/watch?v=J0dJp4Ovv0E&feature=share - Terry Taylor reel
Dare I say it he looks a player

24-06-2023, 10:11 AM
Watching the YouTube clips, he looks like Joe Newell. I think one Joe Newell in the team is more than enough. Then again it was a whole 2 minutes of football clips.

sadtom
24-06-2023, 10:13 AM
Unfortunately, it's Charles.

Even worse.

Don't touch him, Hibs.

At least it’s not Ian!

24-06-2023, 10:13 AM
At least it’s not Ian!

Sergio sledge
24-06-2023, 10:15 AM
Sorry thats not even close to being right mate. 1.22 points per game over 38 games would have us with 47 points. Assuming we got into top six then that points total would have seen us finish exactly where we did in 5th.

Livi had 42 points at the split, 1.22 points per game would have had us at 40, or 41 if you want to round up, so we wouldn't have made top 6.

We then would have finished 8th, so the previous poster was 1 position wrong, definitely close to being right.

You maybe should have checked "sensible fact based" pish so you could see that it wasnt actually fact based before posting this.:wink:

BTW thinking that Jeggo didnt make as much of a difference to the team as some are claiming is hardly bashing the club, come on

FWIW though, I think Jeggo made a difference, but agree that this is sometimes over played by people. His impact was only part of it as other factors were involved, Fish, CJ and Youan finding a bit of form as well as Nisbet coming into form were massive contributing factors as well.

I think Jeggo is fine at what he does and I won't be too worried if we go into the season with him anchoring the midfield, however I think we could get better players so won't be upset if we sign someone to replace him.

Hibees1973
24-06-2023, 10:27 AM
Was having a drink with a couple of Hibs mates last night.

One of them heard a rumour there have been 2 bids for Joe Newell from an English Championship club. Both have been rejected by Hibs. Bids were for just over £600k.

24-06-2023, 10:42 AM

One of them heard a rumour there have been 2 bids for Joe Newell from an English Championship club. Both have been rejected by Hibs. Bids were for just over £600k.

Just over £600k for Newell! SOLD

24-06-2023, 10:48 AM
Livi had 42 points at the split, 1.22 points per game would have had us at 40, or 41 if you want to round up, so we wouldn't have made top 6.

We then would have finished 8th, so the previous poster was 1 position wrong, definitely close to being right.

FWIW though, I think Jeggo made a difference, but agree that this is sometimes over played by people. His impact was only part of it as other factors were involved, Fish, CJ and Youan finding a bit of form as well as Nisbet coming into form were massive contributing factors as well.

I think Jeggo is fine at what he does and I won't be too worried if we go into the season with him anchoring the midfield, however I think we could get better players so won't be upset if we sign someone to replace him.

If we'd finished bottom 6 though we would have had easier games and may have ended up with even more points than we did in 5th - saying we would have finished 9th is pretty off.

That's a fair analysis of Jeggo, from you IMO, I really hope we sign better though as you say.

Hibees1973
24-06-2023, 10:49 AM

Really.

Best midfielder we have at the club by a mile. Voted by the other players as their Player of the Year.

Best hair do as well.

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 10:51 AM
Really.

Best midfielder we have at the club by a mile. Voted by the other players as their Player of the Year.

Best hair do as well.

He’s 30 years old to be fair. Anyone that pays money for him now is signing a player that will have next to no sell on value in future so that will be considered by teams offering cash.

24-06-2023, 10:56 AM
Really.

Best hair do as well.

I’d take £600k for any of our midfielders, maybe get more for Campbell given his age and goals scored last season. I’d move others on before Newell but none of them, including Newell, are irreplaceable and for £600k we could put that to a better overall, and more balanced, midfield that’s more than the sum of its parts rather than just a collection of good individual midfielders IMO.

We could invest some of that money on a Newell wig for new signings.

24-06-2023, 11:02 AM
https://twitter.com/sportspeteo/status/1583494239320539150?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

Shame there's not more detail as to how they've got those ratings. Mind you we've dingied him because of the boring name so spose it doesn't matter. 😀

https://i.ibb.co/cFVss3D/Screenshot-20230624-115046-Twitter.jpg (https://ibb.co/jMsjjfg)

24-06-2023, 11:05 AM
No danger I’d accept 600k for Newell.

Our best midfielder by a mile and would be difficult to replace.

HendoDelivered
24-06-2023, 11:16 AM
Terry Taylor and Lewis Fiorini in, Kenneh and Hendo out?

24-06-2023, 11:20 AM

600k would get you nothing like the quality of Newell if we needed to replace.

Would be gutted if Joe left.

24-06-2023, 11:26 AM

With a proper recruitment team, 600k could get you better. It got us McGinn, Fyvie, Allan and McGeouch.

The problem is, we aren't sure if we have a proper recruitment team so I'd rather keep Joe.

Bridge hibs
24-06-2023, 11:29 AM

You heard something or just guessing ?

w pilton hibby
24-06-2023, 11:33 AM
With a proper recruitment team, 600k could get you better. It got us McGinn, Fyvie, Allan and McGeouch.

The problem is, we aren't sure if we have a proper recruitment team so I'd rather keep Joe.

How much did McGinn, Fyvie, Allan and McGeouch each cost individually?

24-06-2023, 11:34 AM

What a job that would be doing that, and that’s with me seeing Fiorini playing about three times and never seeing Taylor.

HendoDelivered
24-06-2023, 11:36 AM

Just guessing and assuming unfortunately. Would be good business on paper, hopefully comes to fruition!

How much did McGinn, Fyvie, Allan and McGeouch each cost individually?

300k ish for McGinn?
Fyvie was free
Allan was free
McGeouch on loan then part of the deal to take Allan to Celtic iirc

Won't have been more than 600k value in total. Out scouting and recruitment was leagues ahead back then.

HendoDelivered
300k ish for McGinn?
Fyvie was free
Allan was free
McGeouch on loan then part of the deal to take Allan to Celtic iirc

Won't have been more than 600k value in total. Out scouting and recruitment was leagues ahead back then.

Wasn’t SJM only around 100k?

xqnq1875
24-06-2023, 11:54 AM
Oliver rathbone of Rotherham is a name I’ve heard floating about the past week apparently we’re interested

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 12:04 PM
If the boy Taylor is just from football insider posting it I wouldn't believe it yet. Notoriously one of the least reliable accounts out there to the point they're a bit of a meme with some teams fans. If it's someone else, I'll get excited 😀

24-06-2023, 12:21 PM

Appreciate there is an error there, doh!

However, my point was you were misrepresenting the real difference between the changes the club made in January. 3rd to 5th is still a massive difference in this league.

24-06-2023, 12:30 PM
If the boy Taylor is just from football insider posting it I wouldn't believe it yet. Notoriously one of the least reliable accounts out there to the point they're a bit of a meme with some teams fans. If it's someone else, I'll get excited 😀

The story is from Pete O’Rourke who was previously a journalist for Sky and been good for Hibs info in the past.

chippy
24-06-2023, 12:32 PM
Oliver rathbone of Rotherham is a name I’ve heard floating about the past week apparently we’re interested

Is he Basil’s grandson Sherlock?

24-06-2023, 12:33 PM

Seems a good piece of business, from the highlight reel on Taylor he looks like he could be an upgrade on Jeggo.

You would hope Johnson is still looking for that no 10 type of player we need.

McIntyre must be going out on loan somewhere I would assume with us bringing in a left back.

24-06-2023, 01:03 PM
Appreciate there is an error there, doh!

However, my point was you were misrepresenting the real difference between the changes the club made in January. 3rd to 5th is still a massive difference in this league.

No probs mate and yes you do have a point which I accept:greengrin

Hibees1973
24-06-2023, 01:12 PM
No probs mate and yes you do have a point which I accept:greengrin

Credit to you LaMotta.

It's rare on this site for someone to accept another one's point of view and post it.

Some others when they see an opinion that differs to them just fire a critiical and abusive reply back.

7Hero
24-06-2023, 01:13 PM

think he was asking ...

24-06-2023, 01:18 PM

Or Bomber

24-06-2023, 01:19 PM
Credit to you LaMotta.

It's rare on this site for someone to accept another one's point of view and post it.

Some others when they see an opinion that differs to them just fire a critiical and abusive reply back.

It’s not unusual and does happen but is there any need for the last bit?

We did all that yesterday and I’ve come on to check up on transfer chat and not more digs at folk!

24-06-2023, 01:20 PM
Jason Kerr in Edinburgh.

Probably visiting family like but we can always hope 🤣

Bridge hibs
24-06-2023, 01:21 PM
think he was asking ...

As was I …👍

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 01:26 PM
The story is from Pete O’Rourke who was previously a journalist for Sky and been good for Hibs info in the past.

Time to get excited then😀. Boys a player from the very few games of him ive seen, didn't think we'd have much of a chance with someone like him but welcome it if so.

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 01:58 PM

What did Newell cost us? I’m sure it was nothing but I can’t remember exactly.

If it was nothing though then I think it would be hard to argue he’d be impossible to replace for £600k.

24-06-2023, 01:59 PM

If it was nothing though then I think it would be hard to argue he’d be impossible to replace for £600k.How much did Mcginn cost us?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

24-06-2023, 02:05 PM
https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1672597566469308421?s=20

Piece on TT. Looks good

Hibiza
24-06-2023, 02:20 PM

10/10

Dmas
24-06-2023, 03:34 PM
https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1672597566469308421?s=20

Piece on TT. Looks good

Cheers for posting, looks good going by that, is there solid interest from down south as well? Struggle if there’s championship interest

24-06-2023, 03:37 PM
Out of interest, who was the last signing we had where the press reported it in advance?

By in advance I mean more than 24 hours.

Most the ones we get linked with early on seem to get rubbished by the club. ALF, Obita and Wollacott all seemed to be the day of/day before.

24-06-2023, 03:47 PM
Out of interest, who was the last signing we had where the press reported it in advance?

By in advance I mean more than 24 hours.

Most the ones we get linked with early on seem to get rubbished by the club. ALF, Obita and Wollacott all seemed to be the day of/day before.

Aiden McGeady
Harry McKirdy
Reuben McAllister

HendoDelivered
24-06-2023, 03:48 PM
Aiden McGeady
Harry McKirdy
Reuben McAllister

Marshall too

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 03:52 PM
How much did Mcginn cost us?

The fact you’re comparing Newell and McGinn does a lot less for your point than you think it does.

24-06-2023, 03:55 PM
The fact you’re comparing Newell and McGinn does a lot less for your point than you think it does.Your point was we didn't pay anything for Newell so it's easy to replace him (or hard to argue) with 600k more than we got him for

My point is that's a far too simplistic point to make

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 04:25 PM
Your point was we didn't pay anything for Newell so it's easy to replace him (or hard to argue) with 600k more than we got him for

No, my point was that it wasn’t impossible to replace him, not that it was easy to replace him. Easy to replace him and impossible to replace him are two totally opposite ends of the spectrum.

What you’re claiming I’ve said is completely made up.

24-06-2023, 05:05 PM
600k is more than I thought anyone would pay for Joe Newell.

His scope for getting better is limited. Though I do like him.

For that sort of money we could replace him with someone younger, as effective and capable of being better. I'd consider that.

Hibiza
24-06-2023, 05:20 PM

If it was nothing though then I think it would be hard to argue he’d be impossible to replace for £600k.

Newell cost £200k ( reported at the time )

24-06-2023, 05:24 PM
Your point was we didn't pay anything for Newell so it's easy to replace him (or hard to argue) with 600k more than we got him for

We replace Newell in the team anytime he’s injured and there is no discernible impact on our results.

24-06-2023, 05:35 PM

I’m sure he signed after his contract at Rotherham had expired. We signed Doidge at the same time and he certainly cost a few quid.

24-06-2023, 05:46 PM
I’d be pleased to get £600k for Newell.

24-06-2023, 05:48 PM
Where does that put him on the easy to replace him/not impossible to replace him scale? 🤔

MagicSwirlingShip
24-06-2023, 05:49 PM
Wouldn’t be selling Newell. Have given him stick in the past but think he can kick in again next season

24-06-2023, 05:53 PM
Newell is the only midfielder we have that even looks as though he can control a game, complete folly if we sell without having an able replacement signed,

NC1875
24-06-2023, 05:57 PM
Newell is the best of a bang average midfield. If someone wants to give us 600k for him I’d bite their hand off.

30 years old, isn’t good enough consistently and that’s unlikely to change.

andrew70
24-06-2023, 05:57 PM
Newell is the only midfielder we have that even looks as though he can control a game, complete folly if we sell without having an able replacement signed,

Aye he completely controlled the final game at Tynie against 10 men didn’t he?

In fact though he tried the same ball every single time and ruined any chance we had.

If ever there was a game where we needed someone to take control it was that one and he’s shown he’s not the one to do it.

24-06-2023, 06:06 PM

In fact though he tried the same ball every single time and ruined any chance we had.

If ever there was a game where we needed someone to take control it was that one and he’s shown he’s not the one to do it.

Player of the year and player’s player of the year. He’s shown it plenty.

24-06-2023, 06:07 PM
If Newell could be easily replaced for less than £600k, the team buying Newell would just buy that person instead.

There’s aspects of his game that frustrate me a bit but given the choice I’d rather keep him. I think there’s going to be enough upheaval in other parts of the team without looking for a replacement for Newell.

24-06-2023, 06:13 PM

In our current squad, other than probably Boyle, I think Newell is the last player we should be moving on. Even for £600k.

He was really good, especially second half of the season and think the more we get used to LJ style of play the better Newell will get.

Also wouldn't be surprised to see him as vice captain next year or after Marsh moves on. Hanlon back to captain.

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 06:14 PM
If Newell could be easily replaced for less than £600k, the team buying Newell would just buy that person instead.

There’s aspects of his game that frustrate me a bit but given the choice I’d rather keep him. I think there’s going to be enough upheaval in other parts of the team without looking for a replacement for Newell.

That would be dependent on the other team also identifying the Joe Newell replacement, identifying how good a player he is and the Joe Newell replacement wanting to go and live in some English backwater town like Middlesbrough etc.

We spent a fee on Harry McKirdy. We could have got better for less money, our scouting team didn’t manage to though.

It’s also not always about getting ‘better’. Sometimes different works better for the team. We’re not any better with Joe Newell in the team than we are without him according to stats. Maybe we’d be better with a different type of player? We’ve spent 4 years watching Joe Newell in centre mid now and most of the time it’s been poor-average. Maybe £600k would be a nice incentive to try a new approach?

24-06-2023, 06:18 PM
The Joe Newell we have now is nothing like the Joe Newell we signed.

He came in as a vaguely versatile merchant for middling lower league English clubs and, for some reason, was considered to be primarily a winger. He looked every bit like a player who would be back slugging it in the purgatory of the EFL pyramid 6 months after we signed him and mostly forgotten about 6 months after that.

But he stuck in.

The Joe Newell we have now is an elegant central midfielder with bags of SPFL experience and a genuine love for our club. Joe Newell is a Hibee, make no mistake, and he’s also a damn fine player at this level. It’s taken time, but he’s become a good all-round midfielder with a balance of grit, quality, effort, and skill - a player that most teams in our league would prefer to have on their side than against them.

Thankfully most fans have grown to show him the respect he deserves, he’ll be here for years to come.

24-06-2023, 06:20 PM

1 game doesn't define anything

24-06-2023, 06:25 PM

He came in as a vaguely versatile merchant for middling lower league English clubs and, for some reason, was considered to be primarily a winger. He looked every bit like a player who would be back slugging it in the purgatory of the EFL pyramid 6 months after we signed him and mostly forgotten about 6 months after that.

But he stuck in.

The Joe Newell we have now is an elegant central midfielder with bags of SPFL experience and a genuine love for our club. Joe Newell is a Hibee, make no mistake, and he’s also a damn fine player at this level. It’s taken time, but he’s become a good all-round midfielder with a balance of grit, quality, effort, and skill - a player that most teams in our league would prefer to have on their side than against them.

Thankfully most fans have grown to show him the respect he deserves, he’ll be here for years to come.

Totally agree.

You never even mentioned his hair either, another perfectly good reason to keep him and why other clubs would want him.

24-06-2023, 06:26 PM
2 years ago I wouldn’t be arsed about selling newell.

Every player has their price, his I would be wanting a player lined up first before we sold.

We might not be able to replace Newell like for like for £600k (I’d hope we could given that’s a big fee at our level), but if we were to take the money we don’t have to replace him like for like.

If I was Johnson or McDermot my starting point would be, “what do I want from my midfield”. My preferences for a midfield, although I appreciate it’s out of sync with the way modern football is going, is the blend of roles McGeough, McGinn & Allan played. With the role McGinn played the most important in the team for me. It’s easy to find players to keep the ball, or players who can create. Someone with, drive, energy & athleticism is the difference between having a decent midfield and a good midfield IMO. I’d look to build that midfield over the mid-long term.

In the short term I’d be pragmatic and look at what I had and how to get the most out of them. Whatever permutations out of Jeggo, Newell, Campbell, JDH, Henderson & Kenneh are very limited and they don’t compliment each other particularly well. Newell would be closer to the last midfielder I’d move on first. However he & Campbell are the only midfielders that are going to generate any kind of real fee. A fee that is needed to properly sort out the midfield. The flip side to not selling Newell (or Campbell) is to keep plodding along with the 6 or 7 midfielders we have that we will continue to struggle to move on. Making the best of a limited hand.

But he stuck in.

Well said. 👍

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 06:29 PM
We might not be able to replace Newell like for like for £600k (I’d hope we could given that’s a big fee at our level), but if we were to take the money we don’t have to replace him like for like.

If I was Johnson or McDermot my starting point would be, “what do I want from my midfield”. My preferences for a midfield, although I appreciate it’s out of sync with the way modern football is going, is the blend of roles McGeough, McGinn & Allan played. With the role McGinn played the most important in the team for me. It’s easy to find players to keep the ball, or players who can create. Someone with, drive, energy & athleticism is the difference between having a decent midfield and a good midfield IMO. I’d look to build that midfield over the mid-long term.

In the short term I’d be pragmatic and look at what I had and how to get the most out of them. Whatever permutations out of Jeggo, Newell, Campbell, JDH, Henderson & Kenneh are very limited and they don’t compliment each other particularly well. Newell would be closer to the last midfielder I’d move on first. However he & Campbell are the only midfielders that are going to generate any kind of real fee. A fee that is needed to properly sort out the midfield. The flip side to not selling Newell (or Campbell) is to keep plodding along with the 6 or 7 midfielders we have that we will continue to struggle to move on. Making the best of a limited hand.

Agree with all of this.

24-06-2023, 06:35 PM

McGruber
24-06-2023, 06:36 PM

But he stuck in.

Couldn't agree more

McGruber
24-06-2023, 06:41 PM

If we did sell Newell for £600K that would be enough to replace or as you say find a different fit that works. We have taken in the money for Nisbet so maybe if he stays we could find that midfielder anyway, though granted we still need to fund 2 centre backs and a striker as a minimum with the available funds

Hibs4185
24-06-2023, 06:47 PM

I’ll Chuck £50 in to make it £600,050

24-06-2023, 06:51 PM

Why didn't Nisbet do anything? Or Youan?

Why do we hold Newell to a standard mcginn never reached? He was mostly pish at tynie.

24-06-2023, 07:00 PM

Agree with this, particularly the last paragraph. I thought Newell finished the season well and was our best midfielder across the season. But the balance of the midfield over the season just wasn’t right (again). There isn’t anyone in that area of the pitch that I wouldn’t accept the right fee for to give us a proper chance at really rebuilding it.

On Newell I don’t think he’ll be going anywhere though. Hopefully we can find a way to get Henderson, Kenneh and one of JDH or Campbell moved on. Unlikely given the contract situations but really feel we need to do something big in that area of the pitch to move us forward.

24-06-2023, 07:04 PM

Why do we hold Newell to a standard mcginn never reached? He was mostly pish at tynie.

Not unreasonable to expect our “best midfielder” to turn up in a game where we could have finished 4th in the league if we won. Instead he strolled about in front of the back four and not seizing the game by the scruff of the neck and driving us forward for the win.

xqnq1875
24-06-2023, 07:14 PM
Kenneh apparently away this would make sense with us being linked with Terry Taylor, if I had to take a guess where he’ll go most likely back to Ross county or back down south

24-06-2023, 07:16 PM
Kenneh apparently away this would make sense with us being linked with Terry Taylor, if I had to take a guess where he’ll go most likely back to Ross county or back down south

Would free up a decent wage if he does go.

24-06-2023, 07:16 PM

Taylor, on paper at least, sounds like a definite upgrade. So no complaints from me.

Kenneh just didn't look anywhere near technically good enough to play for us just now. Plenty room for improvement. But just can't see it.

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 07:19 PM

Hope so.

A player who looked miles off it from the off.

24-06-2023, 07:32 PM
Hope so.

He was signed on potential and couldn't realise it fast enough. That was a mistake on our part. It is no surprise we're looking at slightly older with more games under their belts. We need that bit more experience.

Somebody will benefit from Kenneh having gained experience at hibs and Ross County. Good luck to him.

24-06-2023, 07:34 PM
Taylor, on paper at least, sounds like a definite upgrade. So no complaints from me.

Kenneh just didn't look anywhere near technically good enough to play for us just now. Plenty room for improvement. But just can't see it.

Kenneh was one a far too many punts from last year that didn't work out, nothing against a punt but you can't have that many that is affects the team so much. Players like Kenneh, Tavares, etc should've been brought in on loan with an option to buy if they turn out good like Youan.

24-06-2023, 07:34 PM

He was the one I most excited about us signing, thought everything I read about him and playing how leeds did he’d be perfect.

First game I saw him against Hartlepool in pre season I was concerned at his lack of quality on the ball.

That never really went away, against Celtic he had two genuine fresh air attempts at passing the ball.

Brilliant off the ball overall though imo, winning the ball back with tackles, interceptions and heading the ball. Positioning decent too.

But for a cdm he needs to have more on the ball imo, he could grow into it and learn how to move it better.

But supposedly a high earner for us and if he is we need more from him.

andrew70
24-06-2023, 07:35 PM

The ‘best’ of a very poor bunch for sure.

see below, he’s not good enough.

Not unreasonable to expect our “best midfielder” to turn up in a game where we could have finished 4th in the league if we won. Instead he strolled about in front of the back four and not seizing the game by the scruff of the neck and driving us forward for the win.

Swanning about doing absolutely nothing except pinging balls thinking he’s Pirlo.

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 07:37 PM
The ‘best’ of a very poor bunch for sure.

see below, he’s not good enough.

Swanning about doing absolutely nothing except pinging balls thinking he’s Pirlo.

Nobody played well that day at Tynie, Joe was another, but was absolutely outstanding in thr ER derby. He's our best midfielder and any team outwith the old firm would take him.

24-06-2023, 07:40 PM
Kenneh was one a far too many punts from last year that didn't work out, nothing against a punt but you can't have that many that is affects the team so much. Players like Kenneh, Tavares, etc should've been brought in on loan with an option to buy if they turn out good like Youan.

Who else was there, Kenneh, Tavares and Bojang?

Other experimental signings were for the B team I think.

24-06-2023, 07:46 PM

But he stuck in.

Absolutely this!

24-06-2023, 07:48 PM
Who else was there, Kenneh, Tavares and Bojang?

Other experimental signings were for the B team I think.

Yes they were, Melkersen, Hauge, McLelland were for the development but far too many wages on a vanity project instead of making the 1st team stronger, that lesson has now hopefully been learnt and the signings so far + rumours have all been to strengthen the 1st team squad.

24-06-2023, 07:52 PM

Neither did mcginn when 2nd was up for grabs.

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 07:53 PM
Yes they were, Melkersen, Hauge, McLelland were for the development but far too many wages on a vanity project instead of making the 1st team stronger, that lesson has now hopefully been learnt and the signings so far + rumours have all been to strengthen the 1st team squad.

Melkersen was never development team. He was put in to start earlier than he was supposed to be but was never a development team signing. I'm pretty sure Patrick McPartlin confirmed that a few times afterwards due to people saying he was a dev team signing.

The other two yea, but Melkersen at no point was ever a development team signing.

24-06-2023, 07:54 PM

Absolutely.

I didn't think so at the time, so wasn't too critical of the recruitment. But unfortunately to do well in Scotland you can't run your club like that. By all means, add one or two promising talents each season, but not the amount we tried over the past few years.

Especially spending huge money (for us) on Melkersen. Then the apparent wages of Tavares and Kenneh. Crazy stuff.

Glad it looks like we've got our **** together this window.

24-06-2023, 07:56 PM

Please tell me you are not comparing Joe to John McGinn

MagicSwirlingShip
24-06-2023, 07:57 PM

Are we comparing Joe Newell to John Mcginn? One of the best players I’ve ever seen in green and white, who churned out consistently great performances week after week…and Joe Newell, who turns it on occasionally, hence the frustration.

24-06-2023, 07:58 PM
Hope so.

Have to agree

24-06-2023, 08:01 PM

Spot on. When he isn’t there we struggle to control the game at all.

What’s McGinn got to do with Newell, the comparison is laughable. Newell couldn’t lace McGinn’s boots. Aside from anything else McGinn never hid in a Hibs jersey or strolled about like he was having a kick about with his mates in the park.

Melkersen was never development team. He was put in to start earlier than he was supposed to be but was never a development team signing. I'm pretty sure Patrick McPartlin confirmed that a few times afterwards due to people saying he was a dev team signing.

The other two yea, but Melkersen at no point was ever a development team signing.

He was thrown in due to injuries to others but he was never ready to play 1st team football, he'd never even played on grass before coming here and the fact he was punted on loan with an option for them to buy says it all, Hauge was another who was punted on loan when the development team and their almost zero fixtures made a mockery of our recruitment.

Either way we seem to be getting a grip on what's needed this season, I think there's a lot more ins and outs to come.

24-06-2023, 08:03 PM

But he stuck in.

Well said

24-06-2023, 08:06 PM
Spot on. When he isn’t there we struggle to control the game at all.

Results without don’t really back that up.

24-06-2023, 08:12 PM
Results without don’t really back that up.

The Newell debate will never end so I’m not saying anything that hasn’t been said before. When he’s on his game he is excellent, too often he doesn’t reach those levels. I’ve never watched a game he wasn’t playing in and thought we missed him.

24-06-2023, 08:12 PM

Nisbet that scored a brilliant free kick

24-06-2023, 08:20 PM

We're all entitled to an opinion and in my opinion, this is a diabolical post. To blame Newell for not winning that game is ridiculous.

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 08:29 PM
He was thrown in due to injuries to others but he was never ready to play 1st team football, he'd never even played on grass before coming here and the fact he was punted on loan with an option for them to buy says it all, Hauge was another who was punted on loan when the development team and their almost zero fixtures made a mockery of our recruitment.

Either way we seem to be getting a grip on what's needed this season, I think there's a lot more ins and outs to come.

I get that and I'm probably being pedantic but whether he was ready in your opinion or not he was defo a first team signing unlike the others.

I actually didn't have a problem with the idea behind our recruitment, much better teams have been incredibly successful by picking up gems from around the world, we took a gamble and didn't get it right, but I'd like to see us still make a few of those signings every summer with more experienced players as well.

Funkydunc
24-06-2023, 08:32 PM
I’ve bumped into a few different teams fans on the train home this season, well hearts, huns and Aberdeen and they all said they thought Newell was our best player. I think that’s quite telling. I have to agree with them on this seasons performances.

24-06-2023, 08:32 PM
I get that and I'm probably being pedantic but whether he was ready in your opinion or not he was defo a first team signing unlike the others.

I actually didn't have a problem with the idea behind our recruitment, much better teams have been incredibly successful by picking up gems from around the world, we took a gamble and didn't get it right, but I'd like to see us still make a few of those signings every summer with more experienced players as well.

Yeah totally agree, interesting that Man Utd, Liverpool and Newcastle are apparently after a player currently playing in the much maligned Gambian league this summer.

Also a Bojang as well ironically enough.

24-06-2023, 08:34 PM
I’ve bumped into a few different teams fans on the train home this season, well hearts, huns and Aberdeen and they all said they thought Newell was our best player. I think that’s quite telling. I have to agree with them on this seasons performances.

Other players like Halliday have also said he’s been the most impressed with Newell

24-06-2023, 08:35 PM
We're all entitled to an opinion and in my opinion, this is a diabolical post. To blame Newell for not winning that game is ridiculous.

Agree especially when it was very clear he had an injury from the Celtic game and was struggling to be fit for a game two and a half days after

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 08:58 PM
Really surprised that some want to see our best midfielder in Joe Newell go when there's others that are nowhere near his quality still at our club tbh :confused:

24-06-2023, 09:02 PM
Other players like Halliday have also said he’s been the most impressed with Newell

Oh well, he's s***e then...

Paulie Walnuts
24-06-2023, 09:03 PM
Really surprised that some want to see our best midfielder in Joe Newell go when there's others that are nowhere near his quality still at our club tbh :confused:

I’m not sure many folk have actively said they want him to go. You’re also ignoring the fact he’d get us a fee which would allow us to help rebuild the midfield. The others, like Henderson etc wouldn’t get us a fee. In fact they’d probably cost us money to move on.

A decent offer for Newell could help us build a more effective midfield. The ones he’s been a part of for the vast majority of his time here have largely been ineffective.

Our midfield sorely misses someone to get us up the pitch imo and it’s Newell who is probably playing in that spot as a number 8 type player.

24-06-2023, 09:11 PM

Tbh I’ve stuck up for Newell and I want him to stay but you’ve simplified it a bit too much.

People don’t necessarily want him to go, it’s just a discussion about what we would do if we were offered relatively decent money for a player like him. You don’t have to agree with those people who would sell but I think it’s been a decent discussion around what he does and doesn’t offer.

I like him but he’s got his flaws and every player has their price.

24-06-2023, 09:12 PM
I can sense a debate over the word "want" coming on. 😀

NC1875
24-06-2023, 09:15 PM

Newells the best of a terrible midfield. Whilst I’m not fussed if we kept him, I’m not fussed if he goes.

A player who plays well occasionally, the rest of the time…. Meh

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 09:29 PM
I’m not sure many folk have actively said they want him to go. You’re also ignoring the fact he’d get us a fee which would allow us to help rebuild the midfield. The others, like Henderson etc wouldn’t get us a fee. In fact they’d probably cost us money to move on.

A decent offer for Newell could help us build a more effective midfield. The ones he’s been a part of for the vast majority of his time here have largely been ineffective.

Our midfield sorely misses someone to get us up the pitch imo and it’s Newell who is probably playing in that spot as a number 8 type player.
The fee being talked about is apparently is £600,000 which doesn't get you too much nowadays, especially in a inflated market like England which would mean we would be taking a gamble in trying to replacing our best midfielder and we wouldn't improve that much cause we'd still be left with kenneh , Henderson and JDH anyhow

sahpaton
24-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Anyone even remotely entertained by the idea of selling Newell needs their head checked

sahpaton
24-06-2023, 09:34 PM
Newells the best of a terrible midfield. Whilst I’m not fussed if we kept him, I’m not fussed if he goes.

He didn’t win players player of the year and fan’s player of the year by being okay and “meh the rest of the time.”

Honestly astounded by the criticism he gets here, we are very lucky to have him.

24-06-2023, 09:36 PM
The fee being talked about is apparently is £600,000 which doesn't get you too much nowadays, especially in a inflated market like England which would mean we would be taking a gamble in trying to replacing our best midfielder and we wouldn't improve that much cause we'd still be left with kenneh , Henderson and JDH anyhow

£600,000, plus Newell’s wage, must allow us to shop in the higher end of those out of contract than we would be able to with a normal summer budget. We don’t have to spend £ on fees to bring in quality.

cameronw-hfc
24-06-2023, 09:42 PM

This is a pretty astounding post. If he only played well occasionally he wouldn't have won both POTY awards, whilst being injured for half the season.

The problem with Newell is people expect him to he something he's not. He's never going to be a Scott Allan type, he's also never going to be a Bartley. He's tidy and keeps possession whilst putting in a power of work, he's a very good player and this myth about him being inconsistent needs to be ended, he isn't. His first season, yes, but ever since he's been consistently out best midfielder.

Hibs4185
24-06-2023, 09:47 PM
This is a pretty astounding post. If he only played well occasionally he wouldn't have won both POTY awards, whilst being injured for half the season.

The problem with Newell is people expect him to he something he's not. He's never going to be a Scott Allan type, he's also never going to be a Bartley. He's tidy and keeps possession whilst putting in a power of work, he's a very good player and this myth about him being inconsistent needs to be ended, he isn't. His first season, yes, but ever since he's been consistently out best midfielder.

4 poor seasons…..4 poor midfields….4 common denominators.

He’s decent, but you can’t build a midfield around him.

Good guy, loves Hibs but unfortunately hasn’t performed enough over a lengthy period which is why there is a lot of negativity about him

24-06-2023, 09:48 PM

But he stuck in.

Terrific post.

24-06-2023, 09:52 PM

Good guy, loves Hibs but unfortunately hasn’t performed enough over a lengthy period which is why there is a lot of negativity about him

Amazing that his peers voted him player of the year when he is that poor

24-06-2023, 09:53 PM
You can't judge Newell purely on something many have failed at, turning up at Tynie.

He has many flaws, but he is the best we've got.

24-06-2023, 09:55 PM

He missed 4 games through injury, not half a season.

24-06-2023, 09:58 PM
You can't judge Newell purely on something many have failed at, turning up at Tynie.

He has many flaws, but he is the best we've got.

What about judging him on his performances last season at Almondvale, Tannadice, Rugby Park, McDermaid Park and St Mirren Park? Are people allowed to judge him on that?

24-06-2023, 10:07 PM
What about judging him on his performances last season at Almondvale, Tannadice, Rugby Park, McDermaid Park and St Mirren Park? Are people allowed to judge him on that?

So because we lost he didn't turn up? He played well in many of those games, our forwards missed a hatful

24-06-2023, 10:10 PM
In my humble opinion, Newell has been part of a soft as s***e, tippy tappy sideways passing very poor midfield and i for one would take £600k for him and wish him all the best in his new endeavours elsewhere. JDH and Campbell can head off too.

24-06-2023, 10:19 PM
In my humble opinion, Newell has been part of a soft as s***e, tippy tappy sideways passing very poor midfield and i for one would take £600k for him and wish him all the best in his new endeavours elsewhere. JDH and Campbell can head off too.

Boyle has been part of an attack missing sitters, disappearing in Hampden games, losing games to St Johnstone, Motherwell etc

24-06-2023, 10:21 PM

I wouldn’t say our midfield is soft at all. Newell, JDH, Campbell, Jeggo and Kenneh all get stuck in.

The tippy tappy stuff was instructions from Maloney.

I just think he’s our best midfielder so the last one that should leave. A more defensive minded one next to him to replace Jeggo (Taylor) and a more attacking one (Fiorini?) could be perfect for him. It’s not his fault managers have struggled/failed to recruit properly.

Everyone will always have different opinions though!

24-06-2023, 10:23 PM
Boyle has been part of an attack missing sitters, disappearing in Hampden games, losing games to St Johnstone, Motherwell etc

You really don't rate or like Boyle eh?

After he left to go earn life changing money, you were quickest, or one of, to say it's fine and we weren't a one player team. That was proved completely wrong.

24-06-2023, 10:24 PM

After he left to go earn life changing money, you were quickest, or one of, to say it's fine and we weren't a one player team. That was proved completely wrong.

It was fine, we still had Doidge 🤣

24-06-2023, 10:26 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/sammy-silvera-trailed-hearts-transfer-30314831

Hearts looking to target the A League again

24-06-2023, 10:30 PM

I adore Boyle, fantastic player. Gets away with loads of bad games that others don't.

We were pish when he was still here tbf. He played every week as Ross got sacked.

24-06-2023, 10:33 PM
I adore Boyle, fantastic player. Gets away with loads of bad games that others don't.

We were pish when he was still here tbf. He played every week as Ross got sacked.

Maybe gets away with the bad games due to his goals and assists though? Which dwarf most of, if not all of the current squad now Nisbet is away.

Can't argue with him being in the squad that saw off Jack Ross though.

24-06-2023, 10:37 PM
Maybe gets away with the bad games due to his goals and assists though? Which dwarf most of, if not all of the current squad now Nisbet is away.

Can't argue with him being in the squad that saw off Jack Ross though.

Newells goal contributions are excellent for a central midfielder, though.

24-06-2023, 10:40 PM

I'm a massive Newell fan, so won't disagree with you there. Guessing you're meaning assists, which are just as important as actual goals.

Anyway, you've said you adore Boyle so I apologize for questioning that 👍🏻

24-06-2023, 10:46 PM

4 league goal contributions from open play in the last 2 seasons isn’t excellent, it works out as an open play goal contribution every 1326 minutes.

24-06-2023, 10:49 PM
4 league goal contributions from open play in the last 2 seasons isn’t excellent, it works out as an open play goal contribution every 1326 minutes.

To be fair that's goals. His goal contribution (including assists) is higher.

Pretty sure he went three or four games in a row last season proving an assist from a corner.

NC1875
24-06-2023, 10:51 PM

Astounding post 🤣 aye ok.

I don’t expect him to be anyone. He’s just not consistently good enough I’m at afraid. 1 good game in 4/5.

Being player of the year in a team that finished 5th is no achievement.

He’s the best of a bang average midfield, hence why we finished 5th

24-06-2023, 10:54 PM
To be fair that's goals. His goal contribution (including assists) is higher.

Pretty sure he went three or four games in a row last season proving an assist from a corner.

Nope, his combined league goals and assists from open play for the last 2 seasons is 4. 1 goal and 3 assists.

Assists from corners are not “open-play”, set piece assists aren’t relevant to his performance as a central midfielder.

24-06-2023, 11:01 PM
Nope, his combined league goals and assists from open play for the last 2 seasons is 4. 1 goal and 3 assists.

Assists from corners are not “open-play”, set piece assists aren’t relevant to his performance as a central midfielder.

Why are you taking away corners, though? Do those goals not count?

Oh, we only beat Aberdeen 3-0 because 3 goals were from corners/free kicks.

24-06-2023, 11:02 PM

Then that's ridiculous. How does anyone score from a corner without the taker assisting them?

24-06-2023, 11:13 PM
If we're discounting corners now then we better give Rangers the cup for 2016 for their 2-1 win. 121 years and counting FFS. Hearts' songbook just quadrupled in size.

Silky
24-06-2023, 11:13 PM

Darling Boyle is not above criticism, though. I think what he says is right. I'm a fan of Boyle but he gets away with much more than guys like Newell do. Much more. We call for consistency on the pitch, yet don't have the same standards when judging players! Hypocrisy.net

24-06-2023, 11:16 PM
Why are you taking away corners, though? Do those goals not count?

Oh, we only beat Aberdeen 3-0 because 3 goals were from corners/free kicks.

Set piece goals count when determining the score in a match.

I wouldn’t count them when determining a players ability to play a certain position on the pitch. The position he plays is irrelevant when he is taking a set piece.

For a central midfielder, his open play goal contributions compared to his peers is poor.

24-06-2023, 11:22 PM
Darling Boyle is not above criticism, though. I think what he says is right. I'm a fan of Boyle but he gets away with much more than guys like Newell do. Much more. We call for consistency on the pitch, yet don't have the same standards when judging players! Hypocrisy.net

Again, he gets away with it for his goals and assists contribution. Surely that's obvious?

You think fans just like Boyle cause he's quick?

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2023, 11:25 PM
Tbh I’ve stuck up for Newell and I want him to stay but you’ve simplified it a bit too much.

People don’t necessarily want him to go, it’s just a discussion about what we would do if we were offered relatively decent money for a player like him. You don’t have to agree with those people who would sell but I think it’s been a decent discussion around what he does and doesn’t offer.

I like him but he’s got his flaws and every player has their price.

I'm not so sure that people actually want him to stay either TBH . He's already getting sort of blamed for his performance in the hertz game which I think is totally unfair .

Campbell has been another player who's improvement has been excellent with him chipping in with goals and a great workrate who some would like to cash in on too . Personally I'd like to try and keep our better players ( Newell & Campbell) and try and clear out the ones that simply aren't good enough like Henderson , kenneh and JDH .

I like Newell as well and your right he has flaws and every player has his price too though Newell has a lot , lot less flaws than some of our other players and £600,000 for our best midfielder isn't the sort of money that's going to make him easy to replace or drastically improve or rebuild our midfield imo . For what it's worth I don't think we will be looking to cash in on him . Least I hope not .

24-06-2023, 11:28 PM
Set piece goals count when determining the score in a match.

I wouldn’t count them when determining a players ability to play a certain position on the pitch. The position he plays is irrelevant when he is taking a set piece.

For a central midfielder, his open play goal contributions compared to his peers is poor.

When you say peers, who are you referring to?

Silky
24-06-2023, 11:32 PM
Again, he gets away with it for his goals and assists contribution. Surely that's obvious?

You think fans just like Boyle cause he's quick?

No. I don't think it is obvious. Why does he "get away with it". An earlier poster commented that we've had 4 poor seasons. He's been part of that, the same comment as is being leveied at Newell. Again, Newell's assists from corners were discounted and the focus was on contributions from "open play". Loads of Boyle's goals were penalties. Also not open play. The point I was making is its inconsistent. Boyle gets away with more than most players. But he's been part of the same, under achieving teams as Newell. Strange.

24-06-2023, 11:50 PM
No. I don't think it is obvious. Why does he "get away with it". An earlier poster commented that we've had 4 poor seasons. He's been part of that, the same comment as is being leveied at Newell. Again, Newell's assists from corners were discounted and the focus was on contributions from "open play". Loads of Boyle's goals were penalties. Also not open play. The point I was making is its inconsistent. Boyle gets away with more than most players. But he's been part of the same, under achieving teams as Newell. Strange.

I'm not sure what you want from me man. Boyle and Newell are probably my two favourite players.

If you don't get fan appreciation for return of output than that's not something I can reply help with.

25-06-2023, 01:40 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/sammy-silvera-trailed-hearts-transfer-30314831

Hearts looking to target the A League again

He’s not a bad player to be honest imho

25-06-2023, 01:48 AM

I’m confused.

What specifically is the IT that Boyler ‘gets away’ with?

25-06-2023, 06:09 AM
I’m confused.

What specifically is the IT that Boyler ‘gets away’ with?

Do we think we could stop this nitpicking over this current player or that current player on this thread and leave it to its intended purpose?

If I wanted to read someone’s opinion on the relative merits of any of our existing players, which have previously been done to death I would subscribe to a thread so titled.

25-06-2023, 06:20 AM
This Newell discussion has been done to death, on his day he can be a very good midfielder but like most of our players at Hibs he's inconsistent, yes he's our best midfielder and yes I'd like better than Newell but he's not as bad as some make out. We need 2 new midfielders to push us forward both JDH and Newell are just OK, nothing more, we need better than OK.

25-06-2023, 07:46 AM
Are we comparing Joe Newell to John Mcginn? One of the best players I’ve ever seen in green and white, who churned out consistently great performances week after week…and Joe Newell, who turns it on occasionally, hence the frustration.

He's talking about our best midfielder then and our best midfielder now. Fair comparison to make.

25-06-2023, 07:48 AM

4 poor seasons?? Didn’t we get 3rd. Are people actually going to say that’s a poor season?

25-06-2023, 07:50 AM
4 poor seasons?? Didn’t we get 3rd. Are people actually going to say that’s a poor season?

Indeed and a cup final and cup semi. Wouldn't mind one of those poor seasons starting next month.

I would also not consider last season to be poor more average.

Some people would rather erase that season from history as it doesn't suit their agenda. Our best finish in 15 years or something. Newell was a huge part of that.

Paulie Walnuts
He's talking about our best midfielder then and our best midfielder now. Fair comparison to make.

It can be a fair comparison all you want. It’s a comparison of two players who are a million miles apart though.

25-06-2023, 08:08 AM
It can be a fair comparison all you want. It’s a comparison of two players who are a million miles apart though.

On your last part, I've not seen anybody claim otherwise?

25-06-2023, 08:13 AM
I wonder if its possible for us to have one Transfer thread where actual transfer targets and speculation go, and another - maybe called, oh I dont know "Is Joe Newell any good?" - where people can debate how good Joe Newell is to their hearts content?

It may not be the most interesting idea I have ever had, but it would certainly save me opening up this thread and reading this utter drivel.

25-06-2023, 08:14 AM
I wonder if its possible for us to have one Transfer thread where actual transfer targets and speculation go, and another - maybe called, oh I dont know "Is Joe Newell any good?" - where people can debate how good Joe Newell is to their hearts content?

It may not be the most interesting idea I have ever had, but it would certainly save me opening up this thread and reading this utter drivel.

Good shout

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 08:20 AM
On your last part, I've not seen anybody claim otherwise?

I didn’t say there had been?

25-06-2023, 08:22 AM

Good shout

Excellent shout

25-06-2023, 08:24 AM

They will still ignore it and post here.

25-06-2023, 08:46 AM

Is Joe Newell any good?

Close thread.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 08:47 AM

To be fair, the chat has come about because it was suggested teams were interested in signing Joe Newell.

25-06-2023, 09:04 AM
He was the one I most excited about us signing, thought everything I read about him and playing how leeds did he’d be perfect.

First game I saw him against Hartlepool in pre season I was concerned at his lack of quality on the ball.

That never really went away, against Celtic he had two genuine fresh air attempts at passing the ball.

Brilliant off the ball overall though imo, winning the ball back with tackles, interceptions and heading the ball. Positioning decent too.

But for a cdm he needs to have more on the ball imo, he could grow into it and learn how to move it better.

But supposedly a high earner for us and if he is we need more from him.

I shared your concerns after the Hartlepool game. I agree your thoughts about his strengths and weaknesses but I posted early on last season about another concern. That was his inability, or unwillingness, to find space when we had the ball. Instead of taking an angle to make space and receive a pass he constantly stood, I would almost say hid, behind an opposition player making it difficult for him to receive a pass. That in turn put pressure on our player and sometimes resulted in our losing possession. IIRC we lost the opening goal at Livi in this manner.
There's been a lot of debate on here about the contribution of Jeggo in the 2nd half of the season. Now I think JJ is a limited footballer but unlike Kenneh he stood up and never hid.

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 09:05 AM
To be fair, the chat has come about because it was suggested teams were interested in signing Joe Newell.
If teams are interested in signing him he must have had a fairly good season and turned in some good performance to have other clubs interested in him then🤔

25-06-2023, 09:05 AM

Far too sensible!

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 09:19 AM
If teams are interested in signing him he must have had a fairly good season and turned in some good performance to have other clubs interested in him then🤔

Have many folk said he didn’t have any good performances? :confused:

Also, Henderson was wanted by Wigan in January so it’s safe to say it isn’t as simplistic as that.

25-06-2023, 09:41 AM
Far too sensible!

It’s not really. The discussion came about as there was a rumour someone had bid £600k for him so it’s only natural that developed into a debate about how good he is and if we should accept that or not.

If the limit of discussion around players being sold is to state the rumour with no further comments, it would be a short thread.

25-06-2023, 09:47 AM

But he stuck in.

Great post :agree:

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 09:59 AM
It’s not really. The discussion came about as there was a rumour someone had bid £600k for him so it’s only natural that developed into a debate about how good he is and if we should accept that or not.

If the limit of discussion around players being sold is to state the rumour with no further comments, it would be a short thread.

Hibees1973
25-06-2023, 09:59 AM

This is a good sign and if true seems to embed our transfer strategy so far this summer.

All signings are a risk but so far we seem to have signed players from a relatively comparable level, experienced and with a good number of first team games under their belt. All signings are a risk, but it's promising that under McDermott the recruitment staff are now looking to minimise the risk. It's not that difficult. Let year signing so many inexperienced players who played very few first team games, some even at B team level was costly. Loads were just aimless punts.

25-06-2023, 10:17 AM
Taylor looks decent in some videos decent left peg

25-06-2023, 10:22 AM
Do we think we could stop this nitpicking over this current player or that current player on this thread and leave it to its intended purpose?

Puns.

:duck:

25-06-2023, 10:24 AM

Yeah but it's been done to death now, with people wanting to have the last word so digging up obscure facts to do so, bl.. dy boring.

25-06-2023, 10:43 AM
Yeah but it's been done to death now, with people wanting to have the last word so digging up obscure facts to do so, bl.. dy boring.

Couldn't agree more. My problem is that it's done whether he has a good or bad game. There are pages worth.

Every player at Easter Road could be improved upon so why do we have to debate every time a player's name comes up?

Conj
25-06-2023, 10:54 AM
Surely the simple answer to ‘why are so many people keen to sell Joe Newell when he is our best midfielder?’ is for the same reason we were willing to sell Kevin Nisbet when he was our best forward? The money coming in will help fund new signings who could/should improve the whole squad.

Or is that just far too logical??

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 11:00 AM
Have many folk said he didn’t have any good performances? :confused:Also, Henderson was wanted by Wigan in January so it’s safe to say it isn’t as simplistic as that.

Quite a few a folk have have implied that he hasn't performed enough , brought up certain games and so on . If there's clubs wanting to buy him then he's obviously doing something right .

Wigan wanted Henderson only on loan and that was because our previous manager who got the run for not being very good is there . I'd doubt very much there are other interested parties in Henderson btw .

Anyhow the difference between the two players is night and day . One was our player of the year who we are rumoured to be offered £600,000 for and the other you will have a long wait on a player of the year award or a 600,000 bid there .

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 11:17 AM
Surely the simple answer to ‘why are so many people keen to sell Joe Newell when he is our best midfielder?’ is for the same reason we were willing to sell Kevin Nisbet when he was our best forward? The money coming in will help fund new signings who could/should improve the whole squad.

Think there's a bit of a difference in the money we got for Nisbet and the money being offered for Newell and if we are looking at the English market which we appear to be how many signings are we going to get for £600,000 that are has good as Newell?

PHeffernan
25-06-2023, 11:23 AM

We needed and wished to sell 26 year old Nisbet because he was a valuable asset with less than a year left on his contract. Newell is 30 and has 2 years left on his contract. There is no need or wish to sell him and it would cost us more to replace him than the sale fee we would be likely to receive for his services.
Our financial model appears to need to sell a big player asset every season to keep anywhere close to Hearts finances. To that end Youan is likely to be sold next summer if he performs well. The difficult bit is we have to keep finding new talent to sell.

25-06-2023, 11:40 AM
Since Newell has signed we have signed the following centre mids;

Vela
Scott Allan
Melker Hallberg
Greg Docherty
Omeonga
Magennis
Jackson Irvine
JDH
Dylan Tait
Delferierre
Ewan Henderson
Nohan Kenneh
James Jeggo

Clearly signing centre mids better than Newell isn’t as easy as some think.

What I would say is there’s 3 names in there that I think most knew would be quality - Allan, Docherty and Irivine. They cost more but you get what you pay for. Issue is the players also have different motives and might not want to play in Scotland.

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 12:05 PM

Vela
Scott Allan
Melker Hallberg
Greg Docherty
Omeonga
Magennis
Jackson Irvine
JDH
Dylan Tait
Delferierre
Ewan Henderson
Nohan Kenneh
James Jeggo

What I would say is there’s 3 names in there that I think most knew would be quality - Allan, Docherty and Irivine. They cost more but you get what you pay for. Issue is the players also have different motives and might not want to play in Scotland.

Going by that list it certainly isn't as easy signing a better midfielder than Newell as some think . We could sell Newell for around £600,000 and easily spend 3 , 4 or £500,000 in the English League 1 or 2 on some really promising midfielder who turns out to be the next Josh Vela . Rather keep Newell.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 12:06 PM

Vela
Scott Allan
Melker Hallberg
Greg Docherty
Omeonga
Magennis
Jackson Irvine
JDH
Dylan Tait
Delferierre
Ewan Henderson
Nohan Kenneh
James Jeggo

The three you’ve named would be huge improvements on our current midfield imo.

Obviously Allan is finished now, not sure what the other two are currently up to. Doherty especially is exactly the kind of guy I’d love us to build our midfield around.

25-06-2023, 12:09 PM
Baccus going to Bolton for 250k (Alan Nixon)

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 12:10 PM
Quite a few a folk have have implied that he hasn't performed enough , brought up certain games and so on . If there's clubs wanting to buy him then he's obviously doing something right .

Wigan wanted Henderson only on loan and that was because our previous manager who got the run for not being very good is there . I'd doubt very much there are other interested parties in Henderson btw .

Anyhow the difference between the two players is night and day . One was our player of the year who we are rumoured to be offered £600,000 for and the other you will have a long wait on a player of the year award or a 600,000 bid there .

That’s quite a bit different saying he doesn’t perform enough to saying he never has any good performances as you’ve suggested

25-06-2023, 12:21 PM
Think there's a bit of a difference in the money we got for Nisbet and the money being offered for Newell and if we are looking at the English market which we appear to be how many signings are we going to get for £600,000 that are has good as Newell?

It’s not about a direct replacement though. I think many are suggesting that we could use the money to build a better functioning midfield.

I wouldn’t be in a desperate rush to sell Newell, I think he finished the season well and would keep him ahead of most, if not all, of the other midfielders. But the rest of them, maybe Campbell aside, have zero value so I think there is a valid question as to whether we could use any money we did get to build a better all round midfield. After all, it’s not as if we’ve really struggled to replace him whenever he’s been absent, with supposedly inferior players.

EGL2000
25-06-2023, 12:24 PM
Baccus going to Bolton for 250k (Alan Nixon)

Surely got to be holding out for more than that.

Hibiza
25-06-2023, 12:30 PM
Joe Newell is undoubtedly a talented footballer. It's probably asking too much for every player too be at the top of his game every week but Joe can go on very long stretches of mediocrity at best . Unfortunately.

25-06-2023, 12:34 PM
I've never hidden my opinion on Newell, i think he's average with the ability to be superb on his day.

When he's very good, he's as good as anything in the game in Scotland, i just dont think he has enough of these days.

I'd not be selling before most of the other midfielders though, as i think he'd be better in the side in front of better players than we currently have.

I hate it when he drops deep and farts about sitting in front of the centre halves, if he's going to play that position for us, then i'd say sell him.

If he was to play further forward, then he has shown us he can play much better in my opinion, and has the passing ability to create and find space to make chances for himself, something i think he needs to improve on but playing more regularly further forward he might do.

I think we need a better midfield, whether he's in it i'm not sure.

147lothian
25-06-2023, 12:37 PM

Last season I would say was Newell's best since he arrived, so he has been getting better and becoming a more rounded midfielder IMO, with two years left on his contract and aged 30 why would we want to sell him? Midfield seems to be the area of the park we need to improve on, saying that if say an English championship came in with a £600,000 offer, personally I would let him speak to the club and be willing to shake hands and move on, but I don't think the club should be looking to sell Newell.

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 12:39 PM
That’s quite a bit different saying he doesn’t perform enough to saying he never has any good performances as you’ve suggested
There is a bit of difference alright . I actually said that he must have had some good performances if other clubs are interested in him suggesting that he's been more consistent in performances than what was implied that he doesn't do it often enough .

25-06-2023, 12:43 PM
Last season I would say was Newell's best since he arrived, so he has been getting better and becoming a more rounded midfielder IMO, with two years left on his contract and aged 30 why would we want to sell him? Midfield seems to be the area of the park we need to improve on, saying that if say an English championship came in with a £600,000 offer, personally I would let him speak to the club and be willing to shake hands and move on, but I don't think the club should be looking to sell Newell.
Not his biggest fan but even I would expect more than 6k surely a typo ?

As others have said probably his best season just past but needs to do it more often

Edit:,

Now you are talking

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 12:45 PM
It’s not about a direct replacement though. I think many are suggesting that we could use the money to build a better functioning midfield.

I wouldn’t be in a desperate rush to sell Newell, I think he finished the season well and would keep him ahead of most, if not all, of the other midfielders. But the rest of them, maybe Campbell aside, have zero value so I think there is a valid question as to whether we could use any money we did get to build a better all round midfield. After all, it’s not as if we’ve really struggled to replace him whenever he’s been absent, with supposedly inferior players.

Whether people agree with or not is a different matter but I’m surprised some folk seem to be struggling so much with the general concept.

If we use Greg Docherty as an example, he’s playing at about the level Newell is apparently getting interest from, he’s arguably poorer technically yet I think he’d make us a better functioning midfield if he came in for Newell.

Now I’m fairly sure Docherty has just signed a new deal, but a player in that kind of mould would make us a better side imo.

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2023, 12:53 PM
The three you’ve named would be huge improvements on our current midfield imo.

Obviously Allan is finished now, not sure what the other two are currently up to. Doherty especially is exactly the kind of guy I’d love us to build our midfield around.

Irvine is at St Pauli and Docherty is at Hull, no chance of getting either I doubt. Especially not Irvine he’s St Pauli’s joint club captain

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2023, 01:01 PM

I honestly don't see the money that's being talked about for Newell is enough to build a better functioning and would even suggest we'd be lucky to find someone as good as Newell as UNSEEN WORKS list shows .

I agree Campbell and Newell are the two most valuable players in midfield and that's because they both are our best and we should be trying to keep them and add a couple of good midfielders to our squad while trying to shift Henderson , kenneh and JDH out who offer very little .

BigKev
25-06-2023, 01:04 PM
Irvine is at St Pauli and Docherty is at Hull, no chance of getting either I doubt. Especially not Irvine he’s St Pauli’s joint club captain

Docherty out of contract so there’s always a chance of a return here.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 01:07 PM

He just signed a 1 year extension according to transfermarket but it’s not always very reliable. Nowhere else seems to be reporting it either.

25-06-2023, 01:13 PM
I honestly don't see the money that's being talked about for Newell is enough to build a better functioning and would even suggest we'd be lucky to find someone as good as Newell as UNSEEN WORKS list shows .

I agree Campbell and Newell are the two most valuable players in midfield and that's because they both are our best and we should be trying to keep them and add a couple of good midfielders to our squad while trying to shift Henderson , kenneh and JDH out who offer very little .

We’ve got good players in the past for a lot less than 600k. We’ve picked the likes of Allan and Fyvie up on frees. McGinn for a lot less than 600k (plus you’d have a pretty significant wage freed up).

And I come back to the fact that when we’ve had to replace him in the team, we’ve not found it that difficult and he hasn’t exactly been a huge miss.

I’m not even suggesting we should be looking to cash in but I don’t think he’d be as difficult to replace as other do.

Keepthefaith
25-06-2023, 01:15 PM

But he stuck in.

totally agree and really well said. If Newell improved the weakness in his game, most notably lack of goals and perhaps become a little more "front foot / forward focussed" there's no way we could afford him! I get totally frustrated with our fans who can't see improvement in a player and keep their opinions based on previous form or even a couple of games!

think it's important that you note how invested he is in the club - that also counts for a lot at our level, for influence within the dressing room.

you did however forget to mention he's a handsome bugger too :wink:

25-06-2023, 01:27 PM
totally agree and really well said. If Newell improved the weakness in his game, most notably lack of goals and perhaps become a little more "front foot / forward focussed" there's no way we could afford him!

That’s the problem for me though. I’d be delighted if he (or any player) improved to the point where we couldn’t keep him. You make money, try to invest it properly and hopefully improve again. Preferable option to continuing to watch the same thing (that isn’t great) for a continuous period. We’ve spent a couple of seasons doing the same thing in that part of the pitch and it’s been largely poor.

25-06-2023, 01:34 PM
Any transfer chat that doesn't involve Joe Newell? Anything at all?

25-06-2023, 01:45 PM
We’ve just appointed a DoF with a wealth of experience, lots of contacts and a proven track record. I’m prepared to give him the opportunity to bring in players and would back him to improve every position in our midfield without having to break the bank and that includes Joe Newell.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2023, 01:47 PM
We’ve got good players in the past for a lot less than 600k. We’ve picked the likes of Allan and Fyvie up on frees. McGinn for a lot less than 600k (plus you’d have a pretty significant wage freed up).

And I come back to the fact that when we’ve had to replace him in the team, we’ve not found it that difficult and he hasn’t exactly been a huge miss.

I’m not even suggesting we should be looking to cash in but I don’t think he’d be as difficult to replace as other do.

There’s a list of 10 players or so been posted above. 3 of them are better and we never spent anything like £600k on any of the 10. In fact you’d probably be lucky if we spent that on them all combined.

I’m the same as you though. I’m not desperately wanting rid of him, nor is anyone else from what I can see. I do think £600k for a 30 year old who when he’s out the team we don’t become any worse and has been a part of a poor-average midfield for 4 years isn’t bad money at all.

25-06-2023, 01:57 PM
Newell is our player so we should he happy he is here. SJM had a number of games where he was not on it so did Scotty Allan, some on here need to take off their Rose tinted specs.

25-06-2023, 02:11 PM
I know some folk will be getting bored of the Newell chat but I think it's fair game.

The McGinn / McGeouch / Allan midfield set the bar, and they set it high. Since then we've struggled to reach those heights and midfield has been a constant problem.

We've got a fair amount of deadwood in there so if we're to sell anyone, Sod's law dictates that it's going to need to be someone we might want to hold onto, for whatever reason.

Every player has their price, even Newell.

I like him, I think he's a good player. I don't think we've always managed to get the best out of him but he was much improved last season and I think he's maturing.

I'm another who gets pissed off with him when he plays too deep. I can't remember who it was we were playing, maybe St Mirren at home towards the end of the season, but there was a game where the whole midfield unit seemed to be a fair bit advanced and Newell looked even better still advanced a bit.

If he's to do the "pissing about between the centre halves" stuff then you take the £600k and run. If we can work out a way to keep him in a more advanced position and get some good players around him then there's no way you'd be replacing "on his day Newell" for that sort of money.

When he was struggling just after joining us the players used to stick up for him saying he was a nightmare to get the ball off in training. Quite why we had him deep during that Hearts game rather than trying to get the ball in to his feet around the box to create, I'll never know.

25-06-2023, 02:31 PM

He just signed a 1 year extension according to transfermarket but it’s not always very reliable. Nowhere else seems to be reporting it either.

Confirmed here that Hull exercised the 1 year option they had on his contract.

https://www.wearehullcity.co.uk/news/2023/may/retained-list-confirmed/#:~:text=The%20following%20nine%20players%20from,A idan%20Durkan%20and%20Stan%20Hewitt.

25-06-2023, 02:40 PM
I know some folk will be getting bored of the Newell chat but I think it's fair game.

The McGinn / McGeouch / Allan midfield set the bar, and they set it high. Since then we've struggled to reach those heights and midfield has been a constant problem.

We've got a fair amount of deadwood in there so if we're to sell anyone, Sod's law dictates that it's going to need to be someone we might want to hold onto, for whatever reason.

I like him, I think he's a good player. I don't think we've always managed to get the best out of him but he was much improved last season and I think he's maturing.

I'm another who gets pissed off with him when he plays too deep. I can't remember who it was we were playing, maybe St Mirren at home towards the end of the season, but there was a game where the whole midfield unit seemed to be a fair bit advanced and Newell looked even better still advanced a bit.

If he's to do the "pissing about between the centre halves" stuff then you take the £600k and run. If we can work out a way to keep him in a more advanced position and get some good players around him then there's no way you'd be replacing "on his day Newell" for that sort of money.

When he was struggling just after joining us the players used to stick up for him saying he was a nightmare to get the ball off in training. Quite why we had him deep during that Hearts game rather than trying to get the ball in to his feet around the box to create, I'll never know.

Jeggo coming in and doing the ugly stuff has brought Newell on massively imo. Let's him play further forward.

25-06-2023, 02:53 PM

There has been a few players mentioned. But debating a player we already have seems to have taken over. And it’s totally pointless as he’s not going anywhere. The guy has just buy a brand new house in Newcraighall. He will finish his career at Hibs.

25-06-2023, 03:17 PM
There has been a few players mentioned. But debating a player we already have seems to have taken over. And it’s totally pointless as he’s not going anywhere. The guy has just buy a brand new house in Newcraighall. He will finish his career at Hibs.

Do you think a new house in Newcraighall would be enough to stop his head being turned if money from the Championship was on offer at this stage in his career?

25-06-2023, 03:20 PM

You've missed out Fyvie who I thought was a vital part of that midfield. Interestingly although the perceived wisdom on here seems to be that a ball winning defensive midfielder is essential, none of those 4 properly fit that category. Basically if you're a good enough player you can adapt and fit in with the good players around you.

25-06-2023, 03:21 PM
Do you think a new house in Newcraighall would be enough to stop his head being turned if money from the Championship was on offer at this stage in his career?

Whatcha saying about Newcraighall?
Admittedly if it's a new house he's not in the village, I'd have noticed a new one.....
Hope he is staying.

Hibees1973
25-06-2023, 03:24 PM

On the Martin Boyle thread someone has posted that there have been 'strong, strong rumours Boyle was leaving'.

25-06-2023, 03:28 PM
On the Martin Boyle thread someone has posted that there have been 'strong, strong rumours Boyle was leaving'.

Rumours which, until now, haven't made this forum, twitter or anywhere else for that matter.
Never say never but seems a bit unlikely.

25-06-2023, 03:29 PM
I’d be surprised if a team paid the amount we’d want for Boyle after having a season out with a knee injury.

30 years old now too.

Unless there’s a really low clause in his contract but I’d be surprised given how we got him back

25-06-2023, 03:43 PM
Rumours which, until now, haven't made this forum, twitter or anywhere else for that matter.
Never say never but seems a bit unlikely.

Any idea of the reason why he’d want to go?
PM me please if you don’t want to put it on the board