View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
badabing67
18-07-2023, 10:35 AM
A third of the goals that McKirdy scored for the same side, wonder if he will make the grade up here.
I think Harry gets his surgery this week hope it goes well for the guy.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 10:35 AM
I don’t have to as they don’t have similar styles of play. You need to go and actually watch some games
Watch all our games , thanks 👍 . If they were so different in there style of play I very much think you'd have told me how they were by now after you were so adamant that I was wrong me when I said they had a similar style of play. Though all I got from you is ' I don't have to ' Which puts a end to any discussion or debate.
18-07-2023, 10:36 AM
Could this be the season JDH finally shows it on a constant basis? Letting another go would have to mean incomings?
Jeggo
JDH
Newell
Levitt
Campbell
Would consider these our first team players.
Delferričre I'm not really sure what's going to happen with him.
Would also be surprised to see McAllister classed as first team.
Again slowly but surely things looking on the up squad wise?
18-07-2023, 10:38 AM
It’s a lose lose though
if we signed them on a 2 year deal and they done brilliant after a season we’d be in a vulnerable position and wouldn’t get anywhere near his real value.
We all rated Porteous and look what he went for.
The club would then get slaughtered….again
And if they do work your up against it renewing on a longer deal and they walk for free after 1/2 year deals, it’s a tough gig to get right
Fair points it is a tough one, but if they are proving themselves after 6 months then can look at improved extension.
Its the fact these guys are totally unproven. With the likes of McGinn, McGeouch and Nisbet then longer deals are far less risky as they have already shown they could cut it, even at a lower level with Nisbet but he excelled there.
Kenneh and Jair had no experience and Henderson some uninspiring loans.
18-07-2023, 10:45 AM
Aberdeen look to be announcing Slobodan Rubezic.
23 year old who is out of contract in December, valued at 2 million on transfermarkt, big centre half.
18-07-2023, 10:49 AM
Fair points it is a tough one, but if they are proving themselves after 6 months then can look at improved extension.
Its the fact these guys are totally unproven. With the likes of McGinn, McGeouch and Nisbet then longer deals are far less risky as they have already shown they could cut it, even at a lower level with Nisbet but he excelled there.
Kenneh and Jair had no experience and Henderson some uninspiring loans.
You could make the argument for an against for hundreds of players that have joined us with no experience or with experience.
Before he joined us Mcgeouch has only played a couple of games for Coventry and Celtic, albeit he did join us on loan. But similar to Henderson and I dare say if he joined us in the championship he’d look better than he did in the premiership.
Nisbet showed he could cut it in the leagues below and not the premiership, not always a sure thing as Tait and Mackay have shown.
It’s so hard for clubs all over the world to get it right.
If clubs get 50% right that’s probably good going
18-07-2023, 10:52 AM
I think he will play at a higher level than Hibs. And it’s not doubling down. I saw enough to think he was a great signing for us at the time. Clearly he won’t have a future at Hibs whilst LJ is still here.
So you are blaming Johnson for Kenneh being nowhere near good enough. Delighted he has been loaned out at no point did he look good enough. His liking Hearts wins against us wasn't the smartest either.
18-07-2023, 10:52 AM
You could make the argument for an against for hundreds of players that have joined us with no experience or with experience.
Before he joined us Mcgeouch has only played a couple of games for Coventry and Celtic, albeit he did join us on loan. But similar to Henderson and I dare say if he joined us in the championship he’d look better than he did in the premiership.
Nisbet showed he could cut it in the leagues below and not the premiership, not always a sure thing as Tait and Mackay have shown.
Yeah but McGeouch had an excellent loan with us so 3 years looked like a solid decision - I spoke to a Dunfermline fan who said Henderson made no impact whatsoever with them on loan. A 3 year deal there far less sensible.
Depends what they are investing. 50% of the cheap pickups is good going, 50% when pushing the boat out - not so much. Would need to be a hefty profit.
18-07-2023, 11:09 AM
So you are blaming Johnson for Kenneh being nowhere near good enough. Delighted he has been loaned out at no point did he look good enough. His liking Hearts wins against us wasn't the smartest either.
I think it's a personality clash with LJ that keeps him out of the team.
18-07-2023, 11:12 AM
There is a rumour going round that he fell out with LJ at training, personally i think he's gone out on loan because he's not good enough.
It’s a lose lose though
if we signed them on a 2 year deal and they done brilliant after a season we’d be in a vulnerable position and wouldn’t get anywhere near his real value.
We all rated Porteous and look what he went for.
The club would then get slaughtered….again
Beat me to it, thanks. If you make a signing offer to a player then obviously you hope/expect it to work out. In that case a 3 year deal is pretty much the minimum length of contract required.
18-07-2023, 11:48 AM
I really hope this summers transfer window turns out to be more successful than last years🙈
18-07-2023, 11:56 AM
There is a rumour going round that he fell out with LJ at training, personally i think he's gone out on loan because he's not good enough.
They definitely had a falling out. He wouldn’t have been sent to Ross C if that hadn’t happened. I don’t think he will be play for us next season after his loan.
supermcginn
18-07-2023, 12:07 PM
And a lack of ability.
18-07-2023, 12:07 PM
Curtis Main moves to a club in India.
1875Sean
18-07-2023, 12:12 PM
LJ confident of getting fish
Think he will be in the squad for the Man U game in Edinburgh and after that he will be announced and join the squad
18-07-2023, 12:14 PM
Where's the roomurs, duz naebody go tae Greggs any mair :confused:Not since they started serving cold food. Nae chance I'm paying any money for a bloody cold steak bake.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
18-07-2023, 12:17 PM
Thank goodness. There was some chat from HC I think that we may be interested
18-07-2023, 12:22 PM
Think he will be in the squad for the Man U game in Edinburgh and after that he will be announced and join the squad
Hope we get a striker in after Fish and we’re good to go.
18-07-2023, 12:24 PM
I really hope this summers transfer window turns out to be more successful than last years🙈
One of the things I already like about this year's is that it has clearly acknowledged the failure of last year's and is ruthlessly undoing it, which takes balls.
No sunken cost fallacy, no hanging around waiting for players to come good that simply aren't going to. Well, not come good this season anyway.
18-07-2023, 12:26 PM
Is it a rugby club or football club?
Hibeewilly
18-07-2023, 12:30 PM
Add in another creative midfielder and I'd agree with you.
If we can get rid of another chunk of the dead wood I'm convinced we'll bring one in
18-07-2023, 12:36 PM
I think melk, will come good. If he doesn't can't see him lasting next season.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 12:39 PM
His liking the hertz win against us didn't do himself any favours at all . Your right of course in that he's nowhere near good enough and even if Johnson wasn't the manager I'd be seriously worried if he was getting game time at us as there's no one in our current midfield he's even remotely close to being as good as !.
18-07-2023, 12:57 PM
Not ideal having to wait so long to get him in. Another centre half close to signing too.
https://t.co/frC225oEJ9
1875Sean
18-07-2023, 01:03 PM
Turns out he is going on the us tour so may delay things by another week or so
hhibs
18-07-2023, 01:08 PM
This makes me nervous that this deal may not happem and Man Utd will renege,if indeed there is a formal agreement in place.
18-07-2023, 01:11 PM
Seems odd man United would want to keep him for pre season when they plan on sending him to us?
Got a feeling they’re trying to see if someone else comes in for him at a higher level.
On a side note, any idea who the other centre half is? Would imagine they’d be left sided
18-07-2023, 01:12 PM
Really hope Man Utd aren't going to piss us about the whole window. Need a backup identified and ready to go.
EGL2000
18-07-2023, 01:13 PM
Seems odd man United would want to keep him for pre season when they plan on sending him to us?
Got a feeling they’re trying to see if someone else comes in for him at a higher level.
On a side note, any idea who the other centre half is? Would imagine they’d be left sided
That's what it feels like to me. Few good performances over there and teams a lot better than us will be in for him.
18-07-2023, 01:13 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1681270623031418883?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Any idea who the trialist is? And if it’s a first team or development minded player?
18-07-2023, 01:14 PM
They'll, rightly imo, feel that the pre season challenges and experiences they have lined up are beneficial to his development.
18-07-2023, 01:15 PM
That Taveres boy sounds a player.
Hibees1973
18-07-2023, 01:30 PM
Really hope Man Utd aren't going to piss us about the whole window. Need a backup identified and ready to go.
For Fish to be in the Man Utd 1st team squad is puzzling for me.
I really cannot see him being selected for their 'real' games but what if a couple of their CH's get injured this could leave us high and dry.
TBH Man Utd could piss us around if they want to, but this is unlikely to be the case. It's more likely Fish is leaving his options open which would be worrying. We have our first European game coming up and CH is one of the weakest parts of our team at present.
18-07-2023, 01:32 PM
Man U taking fish away to US tour doesn’t bode well
Not only does it seem they’re hanging on for potentially a better team, it also increases the risk of him getting injured for the sake of pointless matches
Fuzzywuzzy
18-07-2023, 01:35 PM
Wonder if fish will be playing tomorrow?
HendoDelivered
18-07-2023, 01:41 PM
Whats the chances of him playing and getting injured…
18-07-2023, 01:46 PM
He'll get the second half again I think
badabing67
18-07-2023, 01:46 PM
Not ideal having to wait so long to get him in. Another centre half close to signing too.
https://t.co/frC225oEJ9
Harry Maguire must be away to West Ham then
Let's hope that's all it does, longer it drags on the less confident I am that he will come back.
18-07-2023, 01:57 PM
Surely he is only going to the US tour because they are short of centre backs at the moment.
He won't be staying there for the season.
18-07-2023, 01:58 PM
What are Man United ****ing about for? Surely makes more sense to let him come to us and prepare for competitive football rather than take him on a US tour?
18-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Let's hope we have a back-up option in mind.
18-07-2023, 02:05 PM
What are Man United ****ing about for? Surely makes more sense to let him come to us and prepare for competitive football rather than take him on a US tour?
They are evaluating their own player first hand in training and games Vs a better standard of player than he'll be against here. That's all.
Torto7
18-07-2023, 02:07 PM
I'm happy the clubs trimming the fat and making it a priority tbh. There's still a strong enough eleven to navigate the early rounds of the conference cup imo. I've been really impressed with McAllister and Molotnikov. It wouldn't surprise me if they get some minutes this year, I'd love to add Laidlaw to those two as peripheral first team players.
18-07-2023, 02:13 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1681270623031418883?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Any idea who the trialist is? And if it’s a first team or development minded player?
If it’s the name I’ve heard then probably Dev team initially. 17 year old from down south.
18-07-2023, 02:13 PM
Let's hope we have a back-up option in mind.
Riley Harbottle?
18-07-2023, 02:22 PM
Riley Harbottle?
Something you’ve heard?
Would he be instead of or is the other centre half were close to signing?
18-07-2023, 02:22 PM
If it’s the name I’ve heard then probably Dev team initially. 18 year old from down south.
Willing to share the name mate? No worries if not.
18-07-2023, 02:24 PM
Something you’ve heard?
Would he be instead of or is the other centre half were close to signing?
Name was mentioned on a chat. Would make sense as the 4th CB. Another right footer tho. I’d really like a left footer to provide real cover for Paul.
badabing67
18-07-2023, 02:26 PM
Riley Harbottle?
He be right sided its cover for Hanlon we need
18-07-2023, 02:27 PM
He be right sided its cover for Hanlon we need
Or replace hanlon with better and have him as cover
18-07-2023, 02:28 PM
Riley Harbottle?
Today someone attempted to change his Wiki entry to say he's on loan to us, but mainly only succeeded in mangling the page: https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Riley_Harbottle&oldid=1165959802
badabing67
18-07-2023, 02:32 PM
To be fair Hanlon and Fish looked decent to me, but i see your point
18-07-2023, 02:34 PM
Riley Harbottle?
For Coronation Street?
18-07-2023, 02:36 PM
Did a full season in League Two last year, could sign worse.
Puns will still be pretty good too if we've got the bottle to post them.
18-07-2023, 02:37 PM
Riley Harbottle?
6 league goals last season for Mansfield.
18-07-2023, 02:38 PM
Riley Harbottle?
I’d struggle to see past the name if he signed.
Quick glance on Twitter suggests he was good on loan for Mansfield last season though.
18-07-2023, 02:42 PM
Did a full season in League Two last year, could sign worse.
Puns will still be pretty good too if we've got the bottle to post them.
Smashing. Can’t wait.
18-07-2023, 02:42 PM
Mansfield fans on his Instagram post all seem to all be saying he was good for them and they hope they could get him back.
18-07-2023, 02:46 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/fish-hibs-transfer-update-lee-27341967
18-07-2023, 02:53 PM
Jonny Evans has signed a short term deal with Man Utd which will allow him to play in Utd's pre-season games.
18-07-2023, 02:54 PM
We don’t have 10m to spare. 😂
18-07-2023, 02:55 PM
Not that I’m writing any of our defenders off, but does it not seem a bit unbalanced to have 3 x right footed centre halves who are all pretty inexperienced and 1 x left sided centre back who is very experienced?
18-07-2023, 02:59 PM
Not that I’m writing any of our defenders off, but does it not seem a bit unbalanced to have 3 x right footed centre halves who are all pretty inexperienced and 1 x left sided centre back who is very experienced?
At the moment we have 1 left footed and 1 right footed 👀
But I get what you mean I'd love us to sign a left CB but I guess they are at a premium? I'd imagine statistically speaking there must be more right footed players than left footed players, all though I could definitely be wrong 🤣
18-07-2023, 03:08 PM
To be fair Hanlon and Fish looked decent to me, but i see your point
Just think we need to properly start looking at the next couple of years in the centre of defence and hanlon isn't going to be around forever, but if he is first choice this season then so be it
18-07-2023, 03:09 PM
I'd guess about 90% of players are right footed. I'd rather have a good right sided centre half playing on the left than a below average one purely as they are left sided.
In an ideal world you'd have a good left sider, but that will be a relatively small number of players.
18-07-2023, 03:10 PM
Yes. We never get left footed players in and end up having to play Paul when he’s injured. Fish and Rocky would be painful.
18-07-2023, 03:12 PM
We don’t have 10m to spare. 😂
We will if we sell Rocky.
18-07-2023, 03:16 PM
18-07-2023, 03:17 PM
😂😂
18-07-2023, 03:20 PM
I'd guess about 90% of players are right footed. I'd rather have a good right sided centre half playing on the left than a below average one purely as they are left sided.
In an ideal world you'd have a good left sider, but that will be a relatively small number of players.
Yep. Have said it before (and don’t wish to kick-off a back and forth about it) but I never understand the obsession on here with which foot is the strongest for central players, in midfield or defence.
18-07-2023, 03:33 PM
Dundee Utd sign Louis Moult
I agree but conversely left sided CB's struggle to play on the right. Hanlon is an exception, quite often had to play right sided when paired with Liam Fontaine.
18-07-2023, 03:44 PM
Dundee sign Malachi Boeteng on loan from Crystal Palace. Boeteng was on loan at Queens Park last season and he becomes Dundees 9th signing of the summer.
Ross County sign Will Nightingale from AFC Wimbledon on loan and becomes the Staggies 8th signing of the summer.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Livingston have made there fourth signing , 34:year old defender Michael Nottingham on a one year deal following his departure from Accrington . Think Livvy will struggle this season TBH .
18-07-2023, 04:00 PM
Yep. Have said it before (and don’t wish to kick-off a back and forth about it) but I never understand the obsession on here with which foot is the strongest for central players, in midfield or defence.
In the absence of transfer news, other player related debate is welcomed:greengrin
I don't really watch much football, other than Hibs. I do wonder if left footed/right footed matters all that much in the modern game? Maybe less so at elite level than Hibs level, assuming most top players are comfortable on either foot?
The football I grew up with, and played, in the 70's, 80's, 90's it was nearly always 433 or 442. Two central defenders, didn't matter whether they were left footed or right footed, big guy marked the other big guy, the other acted as sweeper. Maybe more important that wingers and left backs were comfortable going down the flanks, rather than the modern trend for guys to be cutting in off the left, like Youan. Back then there was more emphasis on direct football and moving the ball quickly, which maybe suited guys playing on their stronger side.
I'd still like Hibs to sign a decent left footed centre back though. Hanlon is approaching the end of his career, replacing him won't be easy.
HendoDelivered
18-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Livingston have made there fourth signing , 34:year old defender Michael Nottingham on a one year deal following his departure from Accrington . Think Livvy will struggle this season TBH .
Hopefully another plastic pitch out of the division
badabing67
18-07-2023, 04:04 PM
I think STJ might struggle as well
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 04:06 PM
If Man Utd are taking him to the states I would be inclined to tell Man Utd we are needing to look at other targets as we have a European campaign about to start. It's only for another loan anyway, never gonna be long term for us better getting someone in that actually see's his future with us, it's not Franz Beckenbauer it's Will Fish. Couldn't get a game for Stockport before coming to us, he's had a good 6 months in men's football Christ, Feels like we are puppets on a string with this one and desperate.
Start a European campaign next week and the squads nowhere near ready, usual.
BlackSheep
18-07-2023, 04:12 PM
I would think the short term signing of Jonny Evans is a sign that Fish is likely on his way to us by the end of the week.
Chill folks, chill... Our european opposition are hardly AC Milan, i think our current squad is very capable of putting in a great performance in this round.
18-07-2023, 04:13 PM
If Man Utd are taking him to the states I would be inclined to tell Man Utd we are needing to look at other targets as we have a European campaign about to start. It's only for another loan anyway, never gonna be long term for us better getting someone in that actually see's his future with us, it's not Franz Beckenbauer it's Will Fish. Couldn't get a game for Stockport before coming to us, he's had a good 6 months in men's football Christ, Feels like we are puppets on a string with this one and desperate.
Nowhere near ready?? Really?
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 04:18 PM
Nowhere near ready?? Really?
Would you say it is?
Marshall was crap last season particularly towards the end, to me it looks like we've signed 2 sub goalies, although hope to be proved wrong.
A back 4 of Megwa/Miller Rocky Hanlon and Stevenson/obita is worrying.
2 proper strikers in a 36 year old Le fondre and Doidge doesn't inspire me either.
Quality signings are a must, we've seen rangers and Celtic lose to minnows like Lincoln red imps, and progres niederkorn, hearts to a Maltese team, Killie to a welsh side with Jamie Insall upfront, and Motherwell to Sligo rovers of Ireland, we've known what we've needed for months. Need quality in pronto, hopefully by the end of this week.
Levitt looks a good signing but let's hope Johnson doesn't use him as a holding midfielder like he has been.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 04:18 PM
Hopefully another plastic pitch out of the division
Livvy going down and Dundee Utd coming back up would significantly improve the league . Wouldn't shed any tears over there plastic pitch that's for sure .
I think STJ might struggle as well
Yeah I'd agree with you on saints struggling , it will probably be Dundee, Livvy , Ross county and possibly st Johnstone fighting at the bottom this year .
HIBS NUTS
18-07-2023, 04:23 PM
Livvy going down and Dundee Utd coming back up would significantly improve the league . Wouldn't shed any tears over there plastic pitch that's for sure .
Yeah I'd agree with you on saints struggling , it will probably be Dundee, Livvy , Ross county and possibly st Johnstone fighting at the bottom this year .
Dundee are favourites at evens
livingston 11/4
I think livingston might go down
Key West
18-07-2023, 04:24 PM
Would you say it is?
Marshall was crap last season particularly towards the end, to me it looks like we've signed 2 sub goalies, although hope to be proved wrong.
2 proper strikers in a 36 year old Le fondre and Doidge doesn't inspire me either.
Quality signings are a must, we've seen rangers and Celtic lose to minnows like Lincoln red imps, and progres niederkorn, hearts to a Maltese team, Killie to a welsh side with Jamie Insall upfront, and Motherwell to Sligo rovers of Ireland, we've known what we've needed for months. Need quality in pronto, hopefully by the end of this week.
Levitt looks a good signing but let's hope Johnson doesn't use him as a holding midfielder like he has been.
Agree with all of this.
18-07-2023, 04:31 PM
Would you say it is?
Agree entirely. The squad and first team in particular are not ready for the start of the season. And that’s not good enough.
We had a good few weeks before we went to Spain and I would have liked the bulk of our signings to be done by then, specifically the first team.
Keepthefaith
18-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Agree entirely. The squad and first team in particular are not ready for the start of the season. And that’s not good enough.
We had a good few weeks before we went to Spain and I would have liked the bulk of our signings to be done by then, specifically the first team.
I guess my feeling is that we do have identified signings but we're needing to be persistent/ patient to get the right ones. We're not going to easily get quality without other clubs being interested or cost being a factor.
Fish is a prime example...this time last season we wouldn't be too fussed however the growth in the boy has been huge and IMO it's right that we persist in our pursuit of him. We will have other targets but fish's quality and ability to slot into the team cannot be underestimated.
Likewise with strikers...there's a reason the 9 shirt hasn't been allocated... we'll be working hard behind the scenes to secure a quality signing. All the messages from the club reflect on past mistakes and share supporters views on last season. So deep breath lads, calm doon a bit and show some patience...our strike force will not be doing and Alf!
Equally really good to see talented youth given a chance. If they show the same level of progress as fish we'll be well set for the season ahead
Moving down the list to the next option so we can get them in, in time for a match v a team from Gibraltar or the Faroes seems more like desperation to me than waiting for Fish until after that match. I'd rather be without him for that match, which we should be more than capable of winning without him, just to get a player in (presumably of lesser quality) a little sooner.
Don't see much relevance to what happened at Stockport given we know how he performed with us since then.
18-07-2023, 04:54 PM
Would you say it is?
Depends how you look at it, we’re still a couple of weeks away from the first league game.
If you compare it to our first league game of last season
……………….Marshall………
Cadden….Rocky…Porteous….Cabraja…
…………Kenneh…..Newell….
Melkersen….Henderson….Tavares….
…………………Youan……
Compared to potential this season
……………….Wollacott/Marshall………
Miller….Rocky…Hanlon….Stevenson/Obita…
…………JDH…….Levitt…..Newell….
Boyle………..…………………..Youan/Obita….
…………………ALF/Youan……
We’re in a much stronger position. Potential for Fish and another striker etc to come in to.
We had a lot to change and can only do so much in a month or so, I think the club have done really well so far and have faith they’ll continue to do so
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 04:59 PM
Depends how you look at it, we’re still a couple of weeks away from the first league game.
……………….Marshall………
…………Kenneh…..Newell….
…………………Youan……
…………………ALF/Youan……
We’re in a much stronger position. Potential for Fish and another striker etc to come in to.
We had a lot to change and can only do so much in a month or so, I think the club have done really well so far and have faith they’ll continue to do so
I don't think the team this season is much better like, Boyle aside. Last season we all had high hopes for Melkersen, whilst Kenneh and Tavares were seen as big signings. I hope the next few signings are of real quality but jury is out until then, not sure any the ones we have brought in will make a huge difference other than Levitt, and Obita will be a good squad player if he can stay fit.
Losing Kucharevich and nisbet and we've replaced them with Le Fondre so far. He reminds me of a Sodje, Kuqi or Agogo type signing, We've still not replaced Porteous either, Fish was already in the building, Magennis was every bit as good as Levitt just not fit, so in terms of wages and quality in the building we are well down on last season as it stands.
Hibees1973
18-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Would you say it is?
Still need to move 5 or 6 out and get quality in. Loads still to do.
We do have until the end of next month to get players in but in all probability we will get past the minnow from Faroe Islands/Andorra and will outclassed in the next round with our current squad.
18-07-2023, 05:03 PM
I don't think the team this season is much better like, Boyle aside. Last season we all had high hopes for Melkersen, whilst Kenneh and Tavares were seen as big signings. I hope the next few signings are of real quality but jury is out until then, not sure any the ones we have brought in will make a huge difference other than Levitt.
Losing Kucharevich and nisbet and we've replaced them with Le Fondre so far. We've still not replaced Porteous either, Fish was already in the building, Magennis was every bit as good as Levitt just not fit, so in terms of wages and quality in the building we are well down on last season as it stands.
Genuinely? Fair enough.
I know we had high hopes for Melkersen, Henderson, Kenneh and Tavares but it was quite apparent early doors we shouldn’t.
Where as this season I think that team has alot more proven quality and a team capable of winning imo
Looking at that starting 11 from last season is quite scary and I feel sorry for Newell being in that midfield
18-07-2023, 05:04 PM
I think we are on the right track. We’re still having to rebalance the squad because of the mistakes made last year and we’re further ahead with that than I expected.
We signed loads of players really early last year but the majority were crap. It’s just not realistic to have everyone in by this point.
18-07-2023, 05:04 PM
Plenty studies on it. It’s massively important. Especially if you want to play out from the back.
18-07-2023, 05:06 PM
An here he is 😂
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Genuinely? Fair enough.
I know we had high hopes for Melkersen, Henderson, Kenneh and Tavares but it was quite apparent early doors we shouldn’t.
Where as this season I think that team has alot more proven quality and a team capable of winning imo
Looking at that starting 11 from last season is quite scary and I feel sorry for Newell being in that midfield
We aren't a million miles away, 3 or 4 quality signings in there and we would be fine, but that's usually the case with Hibs and we never manage to get them, last seasons squad as a whole was decent imo, just couldn't get everyone fit at the one time. Hopefully we start the season with similar standard.
18-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Totally agree. Loads of top teams manage to do without a left sided centre half a lot of the time. Even in our league Celtic played most of the season without a left footed centre half and it didn’t prevent them playing out from the back.
In an ideal world you have that balance but it wouldn’t be the top priority when looking for a centre half for me.
6-2MAGIC
18-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Would you say it is?
Yeah I agree with this totally. I think we need atleast another CB to partner Hanlon - hopefully Fish. Needs to be sooner rather than later though imo. Would like to see another RB, I know we have got Cadden returning from injury soon but I think we need another. Definitely need a striker, one that is going to be in the starting 11, or at the very least competing and rotating with ALF - Doidge isnt the answer now.... for me anyway
6-2MAGIC
18-07-2023, 05:29 PM
……………….Marshall………
…………Kenneh…..Newell….
…………………Youan……
…………………ALF/Youan……
Do agree with you that this years potential starting 11 is much stronger on paper than last years. Seeing Melkersen, Henderson & Tavares as our 3 attacking players behind Youan gives me the fear. I think Stevenson has been great for us but i'd like to see Obita get a run out at LB
18-07-2023, 05:30 PM
The time to have this conversation is when we have a few days left of the window. Deals take ages to sort out and players are made available at different times. There is zero point worrying about the squad today.
Musselbound
18-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Yeah I agree with this totally. I think we need atleast another CB to partner Hanlon - hopefully Fish. Needs to be sooner rather than later though imo. Would like to see another RB, I know we have got Cadden returning from injury soon but I think we need another. Definitely need a striker, one that is going to be in the starting 11, or at the very least competing and rotating with ALF - Doidge isnt the answer now.... for me anyway
I'm expecting Fish and the striker Johnson has talked about. Not really expecting much beyond that. We've already made six signings so not sure why some people expect to be signing three, four,five... more. Probably still two or three going out the way but do we really need another huge turnover like last season?
18-07-2023, 05:41 PM
The time to have this conversation is when we have a few days left of the window. Deals take ages to sort out and players are made available at different times. There is zero point worrying about the squad today.
I have to disgaree with that.
Nisbet was out the door immediately, shows you that if you want a player enough it can happen rapid.
We need to be ready for the start of the season, which is essentially a week on Thursday, I don’t want hibs to be nearly ready by the start of September, which means letting players bed in, get fit and maybe by after christmas we’ll see the benefits of them.
It’s the same story every season.
I want it sorted, and fast.
18-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Nisbet was out the door immediately, shows you that if you want a player enough it can happen rapid.
We need to be ready for the start of the season, which is essentially a week on Thursday, I don’t want hibs to be nearly ready by the start of September, which means letting players bed in, get fit and maybe by after christmas we’ll see the benefits of them.
Nisbet is a terrible example to back up your point.
That move was in the works for a good while.
In fact Millwall persevered to get the right man and it worked for them.
Nisbet's transfer took 6 months! Do you honestly not think the club are busting a gut to get players in? Do you want the correct players in or just anyone who is available?
18-07-2023, 05:50 PM
Nisbet is a terrible example to back up your point.
That move was in the works for a good while.
In fact Millwall persevered to get the right man and it worked for them.
Alright well take any of the transfers that have happened in the opening weeks, the point stands even if you disagree with the example.
18-07-2023, 05:50 PM
Nisbet's transfer took 6 months! Do you honestly not think the club are busting a gut to get players in? Do you want the correct players in or just anyone who is available?
The correct players. And I want them now.
18-07-2023, 06:00 PM
We were as keen to sell Nisbet as Milwall to buy him. Makes a bit of a difference that.
I’m generally quite pessimistic about our transfer business but it can’t be denied we’ve done good business so far this summer, going back to getting Youan on a permanent. We’ll have at least another player in by next Thursday and another one on top of that, at least, by the time the league starts IMO.
Even the biggest teams in the world won’t have their final squads in place at this point in time. It’s clear we’ve learned from last year, changed approach, so don’t think we can ask for much more at this point. We just need the players we’ve got to be half decent now.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 06:04 PM
We will sign some more players there's no doubts about that though if we are after quality player's like Will Fish then they are probably harder to get with negotiation's taking abit longer than usual . We will just have to be patient I'm afraid .
One of the things I was most pleased about watching Hibs lately was our young players Megwa , Reuben and Rudi who I thought were excellent . I think our first team will be much stronger than last year and hopefully our bench will be to with these young guys getting a chance from it in certain games as well . Honestly think we are on the right track now TBH .👍
18-07-2023, 06:06 PM
Or I shall scweam and scweam.
Paul1642
18-07-2023, 06:13 PM
I don't think the team this season is much better like, Boyle aside. Last season we all had high hopes for Melkersen, whilst Kenneh and Tavares were seen as big signings. I hope the next few signings are of real quality but jury is out until then, not sure any the ones we have brought in will make a huge difference other than Levitt, and Obita will be a good squad player if he can stay fit.
Losing Kucharevich and nisbet and we've replaced them with Le Fondre so far. He reminds me of a Sodje, Kuqi or Agogo type signing, We've still not replaced Porteous either, Fish was already in the building, Magennis was every bit as good as Levitt just not fit, so in terms of wages and quality in the building we are well down on last season as it stands.
I’ve seen a few posters make comparisons between Le Fondre and these players and I’m curious what they are based on other than age .
Sodje, Kuqi and Agogo came with a combined career goals of
337 prior to joining Hibs over a combined 1150 games.
Le Fondre comes with 273 goals so not far off the other 3 combined, and has managed almost 700 career appearances.
He clearly knows where the goal is just 1 year older than Lewis Stevenson who most on here are rightly are happy with as first team cover, which will be Le Fondre’ role despite Le Fondre having arguably had a much more impressive career than Stevenson including 12 goals and 3 assists in one season for Reading in the English Premiership in 2012/13. Unlike the 3 named above he has still been playing regular football prior to joining us.
He not going to be our main striker but he will hopefully do what we signed him to do which is score goals when called upon whilst helping bring other players along. I think it’s unfair to compare him to the other 3 and with 700 career appearances I’m hoping we will still get a decent season out do him.
18-07-2023, 06:15 PM
Not sure why you’re questioning Obita’s fitness, looking at his record.
And you’ve already written off Wollacott as well.
Glass half empty for you 👍🏻
18-07-2023, 06:17 PM
Moving down the list to the next option so we can get them in, in time for a match v a team from Gibraltar or the Faroes seems more like desperation to me than waiting for Fish until after that match. I'd rather be without him for that match, which we should be more than capable of winning without him, just to get a player in (presumably of lesser quality) a little sooner.
Don't see much relevance to what happened at Stockport given we know how he performed with us since then.
Exactly. If Man United are taking him to the states, it suggests to me that we're right to be waiting for him.
18-07-2023, 06:17 PM
It’s the same every season. Does that not give you some insight that it’s not possible to deliver all the top signings by mid July?
Are there other teams in our league who have a complete squad at this point?
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 06:24 PM
Saying it as I see it, which im absolutely entitled to do, you do know people are allowed to disagree that's normal..
Doesn't make you a better fan because you're more relaxed or patient than others.
Wollacott may well be our number 1 but I can't see it, Obita is already injured is he not? And he's had a couple of lengthy spells out in his career?
Looking for something that's not there, I want Hibs to be successful just as much as anyone else, just not too convinced with the window so far, will all change if we can get a quality striker and centre half in, with one or 2 more.
18-07-2023, 06:27 PM
How many transfer windows have you observed? "I want them now" doesn't always work. Even wealthy clubs can't get all their targets in early.
We have signed a few players already and if we were able to get the others in now, we would. But they're not available to us yet.
They may be considering their options. Their current club might be trying to get replacements. Maybe we're negotiating contracts and fees.
This is the case for every club in the world. We all know this but yet people still refuse to understand it.
18-07-2023, 06:28 PM
It’s the same every season. Does that not give you some insight that it’s not possible to deliver all the top signings by mid July?
Are there other teams in our league who have a complete squad at this point?
Did we not make all the key signings we needed to in the Jack Ross third season pretty early?
I do appreciate that it is difficult, but we are currently four starting players away from where we need to be with the first team, never mind adding depth.
It seems the sheep are getting decent business done early, it’s possible.
18-07-2023, 06:30 PM
How many transfer windows have you observed? "I want them now" doesn't always work. Even wealthy clubs can't get all their targets in early.
We have signed a few players already and if we were able to get the others in now, we would. But they're not available to us yet.
They may be considering their options. Their current club might be trying to get replacements. Maybe we're negotiating contracts and fees.
This is the case for every club in the world. We all know this but yet people still refuse to understand it.
It may not work but it’s how I feel.
I’ve mentioned this already but the Jack Ross window was sorted pretty early with key players brought in in the key positions needing addressed.
We needed a spine at the end of the season and it remains the case.
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 06:33 PM
Saying it as I see it, which im absolutely entitled to do, you do know people are allowed to disagree that's normal..
Doesn't make you a better fan because you're more relaxed or patient than others.
Wollacott may well be our number 1 but I can't see it, Obita is already injured is he not? And he's had a couple of lengthy spells out in his career?
Looking for something that's not there, I want Hibs to be successful just as much as anyone else, just not too convinced with the window so far, will all change if we can get a quality striker and centre half in, with one or 2 more.
18-07-2023, 06:33 PM
I’ve mentioned this already but the Jack Ross window was sorted pretty early with key players brought in in the key positions needing addressed.
Ahead of the season we finished third we signed Nisbet and Gogic who went on to be regulars. The bulk of the squad were already there, not really a comparison between then and trying to completely reshape the squad as we’re doing this summer.
18-07-2023, 06:35 PM
Did we not make all the key signings we needed to in the Jack Ross third season pretty early?
I do appreciate that it is difficult, but we are currently four starting players away from where we need to be with the first team, never mind adding depth.
It seems the sheep are getting decent business done early, it’s possible.
Where has LJ said we are 4 starting players away from where we need to be?
18-07-2023, 06:35 PM
Ahead of the season we finished third we signed Nisbet and Gogic who went on to be regulars. The bulk of the squad were already there, not really a comparison between then and trying to completely reshape the squad as we’re doing this summer.
You’re right.
Two players is not the same as the four I believe we need right through the spine.
It does show that you can get key signings in early though 👍🏼
18-07-2023, 06:36 PM
Where has LJ said we are 4 starting players away from where we need to be?
That’s my take.
Two centre halves.
A centre mid.
A centre forward.
babahibs
Or I shall scweam and scweam.
Haha, I was going to post exactly this but thought I'd better not :LOL:
I don't remember us ever completing our squad early in the window, but if we did, I doubt the quality will have been as high as we're trying to bring in this time.
I don't know how many players Aberdeen have signed compared to us. Is their transfer window business finished now?
I'm absolutely certain that Hibs feel exactly the same as you. They want the players in now too and they're actively trying to recruit them.
Or do you think they're just sitting around, chilling until the final few days?
18-07-2023, 06:38 PM
I don't remember us ever completing our squad early in the window, but if we did, I doubt the quality will have been as high as we're trying to bring in this time.
I don't know how many players Aberdeen have signed compared to us. Is their transfer window business finished now?
I'm absolutely certain that Hibs feel exactly the same as you. They want the players in now too and they're actively trying to recruit them.
Or do you think they're just sitting around, chilling until the final few days?
I hope they are mate.
18-07-2023, 06:39 PM
I hope they are mate.
Chilling? 😳
18-07-2023, 06:40 PM
Chilling? 😳
Feeling the same
18-07-2023, 06:42 PM
Feeling the same
I knew. :greengrin
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 06:56 PM
18-07-2023, 06:59 PM
You’re right.
Two players is not the same as the four I believe we need right through the spine.
It does show that you can get key signings in early though 👍🏼
We have got key signings in early, at significant cost, in Youan and Levitt.
Whether it’s Fish or another we will have another centre half in before we play next week.
As I say, what needs done isn’t comparable to what need done in 2020.
18-07-2023, 07:01 PM
If you scweam and scweam loud enough, someone may just hear you.
🌝
Gordy M
Centre half signed, Riley Harbottle from Notts Forest
Riley Harbottle signed
Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Whether it’s Fish or another we will have another centre half in before we play next week.
Looks like it’s another. Riley Harbottle from Nottingham Forrest on a permanent 3 year deal.
Alright well take any of the transfers that have happened in the opening weeks, the point stands even if you disagree with the example.
You mean like Youan?
18-07-2023, 07:03 PM
Never heard of him before
Hidden gem
Arms like trees going by his pic on the fishy site
The “nowhere near ready” bit is harsh. It’s nearly ready.
But nonetheless “not” ready and I’m not going to have a go at anyone who’s a bit concerned.
Dare I bring up the phrase “fine margins”? Getting Fish over the line and the defensive unit looks much improved. Get a decent number 9 and the front line looks the part. I still think we’re a CM short.
I guess the concern is that - after a decent start to the window - it all ends up going a bit like the last few summer windows, waiting for various sagas to sort themselves out before failing to do the business we needed to do at the end of the window having already started the season with a substandard squad.
So we're a CB (who is alleged to have agreed a deal) and striker short and its mid July?
A pretty ****ing good window so far I'd say. Well done Hibs
Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 07:04 PM
So we're a CB (who is alleged to have agreed a deal) and striker short and its mid July?
A pretty ****ing good window so far I'd say. Well done Hibs
Centre mid as well I’d say.
18-07-2023, 07:05 PM
🌝
Not in space.
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 07:05 PM
Think the problem is with Youan is he doesn't improve on what we had last season, good business but it doesn't make us better..signing another Youan would of course..😂
18-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Mansfield fans raving about him. Only a good thing I guess.
18-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Is Harbottle a leftie? Kinda hoping he is..
18-07-2023, 07:08 PM
Think he will smash it at Hibs, sounds very interesting.
18-07-2023, 07:09 PM
Right footer
18-07-2023, 07:10 PM
Think the problem is with Youan is he doesn't improve on what we had last season, good business but it doesn't make us better..signing another Youan would of course..😂
Keeping Youan coupled with Boyle returning does strengthen us though. Also, a settled Youan who might contribute over the course of the season rather than just half of it will be an improvement on last season.
18-07-2023, 07:11 PM
I didn’t claim otherwise re your opinion. Just clear that you’re glass half empty
Bridge hibs
18-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Gie the baw tae Riley !!
Ok got my coat
Welcome to hibs
Was it? The signings were:
Drey Wright 10/7/20
Nisbet 10/7/20
Gogic 10/7/20
J Murphy 29/8/20
Dillon Barnes (loan) 8/9/20
S McGinn 16/9/20
Magennis 5/10/20
18-07-2023, 07:16 PM
Hopefully we have a CJ to go along with our RJ
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
18-07-2023, 07:17 PM
But is he the correct player?
18-07-2023, 07:17 PM
Right footer
Transfermarkt saying his second position is right back too so possibly able to provide cover there.
18-07-2023, 07:19 PM
That'll be our backup centre back signed - sorted there if Fish falls through the net, and even better if we manage to land him as well.
Also a fantastic name!
babahibs
18-07-2023, 07:20 PM
If Youan improves this season the way he did last season then that's an improvement, or something.....
18-07-2023, 07:21 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1681378187119296523?t=n5nn47FLOx5rNvhgKOALJA&s=08
18-07-2023, 07:23 PM
That'll be our backup centre back signed - sorted there if Fish falls through the net, and even better if we manage to land him as well.
Also a fantastic name!
Wonder if we will see both him and Fish starting together at one point.
18-07-2023, 07:25 PM
Wonder if we will see both him and Fish starting together at one point.My mate is a forest season ticket holder, he said he is surprised they sold him, decent prospect who has had 2 very good loan spells
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1681378187119296523?t=n5nn47FLOx5rNvhgKOALJA&s=08
Welcome to Hibs Riley.
Bridge hibs
18-07-2023, 07:32 PM
Ah good to see the trusty old pen out to sign
27014 27015
18-07-2023, 07:34 PM
Welcome aboard Halfbottle. Rather have a half bottle than a Fish anyway.....
Was it? The signings were:
Drey Wright 10/7/20
Nisbet 10/7/20
Gogic 10/7/20
J Murphy 29/8/20
Dillon Barnes (loan) 8/9/20
S McGinn 16/9/20
Magennis 5/10/20
When you look at that list jeezo, 3 just back from serious injury and one that was past it
Ah good to see the trusty old pen out to sign ��27014 27015
Green ink selected haha
18-07-2023, 07:38 PM
🌝
Absolutely. :greengrin
Ah good to see the trusty old pen out to sign ��
27014 27015
The multi-pen is the new scarf above the head (or the holding a Hibs shirt that we've been doing in recent times).
18-07-2023, 07:40 PM
6 goals in 29 league matches last season, very good ratio for a centre half. Presume most of them were headers, likely from set pieces - having a goal threat from the back will be very handy.
Sounds like he has a good pedigree, and played a good amount of football for his age. Looking forward to seeing how he does.
18-07-2023, 07:42 PM
6 goals in 29 league matches last season, very good ratio for a centre half. Presume most of them were headers, likely from set pieces - having a goal threat from the back will be very handy.
Sounds like he has a good pedigree, and played a good amount of football for his age. Looking forward to seeing how he does.
With him and Fish we can probably forego a goalscoring midfielder. They'll get double figures between them!
18-07-2023, 07:42 PM
Harbottle looks a good signing on paper.
But with him and Rocky being a similar age and fish coming in on loan I wonder what the thinking is as to who plays.
Will Hanlon drop to the bench? I assumed Hanlon and fish centre half but I’d be surprised for Harbottle to sign permanent to be a backup player.
Could we see Rocky move on?
I know he wants 4 and Rocky seems injury prone so maybe will just be best man wins the spot
18-07-2023, 07:43 PM
Played predominantly at left centre half last year. Chuffed with that! Interesting Hibs have mentioned it in the article. Get Fish on loan and we're looking better at CB now.
18-07-2023, 07:45 PM
But with him and Rocky being a similar age and fish coming in on loan I wonder what the thinking is as to who plays.
Will Hanlon drop to the bench? I assumed Hanlon and fish centre half but I’d be surprised for Harbottle to sign permanent to be a backup player.
I know he wants 4 and Rocky seems injury prone so maybe will just be best man wins the spot
Paul Hanlon will be the first name on the team sheet if fit. He's so underrated by our support me included
18-07-2023, 07:46 PM
The comments by Mansfield and Forest fans are very encouraging. Will judge him when I see him in a Hibs shirt but rather see good things than negative.
18-07-2023, 07:46 PM
Played predominantly at left centre half last year. Chuffed with that! Interesting Hibs have mentioned it in the article. Get Fish on loan and we're looking better at CB now.
Never realised that, good he can play there and someone can give Hanlon some competition
18-07-2023, 07:47 PM
Are you genuinely righting off guys who have played about ten minutes for Hibs?
18-07-2023, 07:47 PM
kinda hoping there's still a place for Rocky in our defence, or will he be the back up now
does this stop the interest in will fish
18-07-2023, 07:50 PM
He’s maybe the new number 9 with those stats😏
18-07-2023, 07:51 PM
kinda hoping there's still a place for Rocky in our defence, or will he be the back up now
I'm sure we will still sign Fish, for me Rocky will then be 4th choice
Are you genuinely righting off guys who have played about ten minutes for Hibs?
Best ignored, never happy.
18-07-2023, 07:52 PM
Can’t see a mention of him playing LCB on the story on the Hibs website?
Welcome aboard Halfbottle. Rather have a half bottle than a Fish anyway.....
Bevvy.com will be delighted with this signing.
18-07-2023, 07:55 PM
With him and Fish we can probably forego a goalscoring midfielder. They'll get double figures between them!
18-07-2023, 07:56 PM
There is a second story with his career so far. 31/37 league starts last season at LCB
18-07-2023, 07:57 PM
On his career so far article 'The defender spent the whole of the 2022/23 campaign with the English League Two side making 37 appearances in total – including 31 starts predominantly at left-centre back.'
Why do you keep repeating the same post? Would seem fairly pointless unless of course it's just to increase your post count?
We’ve surely not signed a centre back worse than Rocky so presumably Harbottle plays ahead of him.
18-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Apart from the Europa conference games, he can’t play the first 3 League and League cup games
You’d have thought LJ a will be wanting a settled defence. Rocky will have to be patient
chippy
18-07-2023, 07:59 PM
He’s maybe the new number 9 with those stats😏
Googled his videos and a couple of cracking headed goals
18-07-2023, 08:00 PM
I'm sure we will still sign Fish, for me Rocky will then be 4th choice
looking like the pieces of the jigsaw are starting to fall in place
JammyDoidger
18-07-2023, 08:04 PM
Why do you keep repeating the same post? Would seem fairly pointless unless of course it's just to increase your post count?
I come on to speak Hibs, give my opinion, take peoples opinions, especially during pre season it's good to talk Hibs, I thought this was what it was about, there's always someone getting a hard time on here these days, seems unless your a total happy clapper your singled out. I accept people not agreeing with me or others but at times folk are just rude.
18-07-2023, 08:08 PM
Apart from the Europa conference games, he can’t play the first 3 League and League cup games
You’d have thought LJ a will be wanting a settled defence. Rocky will have to be patient
will be interesting to see what happens if fish does arrive, don't think the new dude has come to play 2nd fiddle
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 08:10 PM
27014 27015
If it runs out of ink you can can click on another one quick before the player changes his mind . Smart move from hibs 😂
18-07-2023, 08:11 PM
Hopefully there's a song for him to the tune of "The Life Of Riley" for the new lad. Criminally under-rated band.
18-07-2023, 08:13 PM
Hopefully there's a song for him to the tune of "The Life Of Riley" for the new lad. Criminally under-rated band.
Or there's this :crazy:
https://open.spotify.com/track/7r8cMrbvIzLKF3ac9iOTv6?si=VPvWgUdfRCuBoyvxFn2VKQ
18-07-2023, 08:14 PM
I still like the look of Thistle's Fitzpatrick. Impressed every time I've watched him.
18-07-2023, 08:18 PM
There is a second story with his career so far. 31/37 league starts last season at LCB
Ah nice, cheers!
18-07-2023, 08:19 PM
On his career so far article 'The defender spent the whole of the 2022/23 campaign with the English League Two side making 37 appearances in total – including 31 starts predominantly at left-centre back.'
Thanks man. Great that he can play there.
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 08:26 PM
We’ve surely not signed a centre back worse than Rocky so presumably Harbottle plays ahead of him.
If we sign Fish , it will be Fish and Hanlon starting with Rocky ahead of Harbottle while he settles in and gets use to the Scottish game . Maybe I'm in the minority but I don't think Rocky's anywhere near as bad as he's made out to be in all honesty . For me last season our 3 most improved players were Rocky , Campbell and Youan . I like Rocky and think he has potential to be a very good centre half for us .
18-07-2023, 08:29 PM
Has no-one pointed out that league 2 is terrible, and that we shouldn't be signing players at that level, yet?
Hibs net has changed.
HIBS NUTS
18-07-2023, 08:30 PM
I still like the look of Thistle's Fitzpatrick. Impressed every time I've watched him.
Fitzpatrick has been fantastic, and only 21
If we sign Fish , it will be Fish and Hanlon starting with Rocky ahead of Harbottle while he settles in and gets use to the Scottish game . Maybe I'm in the minority but I don't think Rocky's anywhere near as bad as he's made out to be in all honesty . For me last season our 3 most improved players were Rocky , Campbell and Youan . I like Rocky and think he has potential to be a very good centre half for us .
I’m no sure we’re paying a fee and giving a three year deal out for Harbottle to be fourth choice.
With the way things are dragging on the one to suffer could be Fish. If Harbottle comes in and gets off to a good start, he might not get his place back of/when he re-signs.
I come on to speak Hibs, give my opinion, take peoples opinions, especially during pre season it's good to talk Hibs, I thought this was what it was about, there's always someone getting a hard time on here these days, seems unless your a total happy clapper your singled out. I accept people not agreeing with me or others but at times folk are just rude.
It was the multiple repetition of the same opinion/post I was taking issue with, didn't actually refer to the content & certainly wouldn't consider my response rude.
I'll draw a line here though, no interest in personalising things, hopefully we both get to see Hibs have a great season.
K-Zazu
Rocky has played about 4 mins since January.
18-07-2023, 08:31 PM
Has no-one pointed out that league 2 is terrible, and that we shouldn't be signing players at that level, yet?
Hibs net has changed.
Nottingham Forest are a Premier League team to be fair 😉
ElginHibbie
18-07-2023, 08:41 PM
Hibs net has changed.
Waiting to see how Kenneh gets on in League 1 first
18-07-2023, 08:42 PM
We’re not going down the too over experienced route in the league previously then…
18-07-2023, 08:43 PM
It’s there, on the ‘career so far’ piece.
He’s got a great name and this looks like a good bit of business for us. Paul Hanlon has been great for us but now there is real competition for that position.
badabing67
18-07-2023, 08:44 PM
Or there's this :crazy:
https://open.spotify.com/track/7r8cMrbvIzLKF3ac9iOTv6?si=VPvWgUdfRCuBoyvxFn2VKQ
Boy there's some weirdo's on this site
Hibeewilly
18-07-2023, 08:45 PM
Paul Hanlon will be the first name on the team sheet if fit. He's so underrated by our support me included
100% agree. Our defence is far better when Hanlon plays. He was instrumental in Fish's improvement at the end of the season for sure.
We certainly missed him when he didn't play
Cat Stanton
18-07-2023, 08:49 PM
Riley Harbottle signed
Riley Harbottle?
Is he an anagram?
FifeHibs
18-07-2023, 08:54 PM
I think Rocky will be 4th choice and will be out the door by January / next summer. He needs to play to develop and he won’t do that now.
18-07-2023, 08:56 PM
Hibs net has changed.
Feels similar to the Heckingbottom summer …
portycabbage
18-07-2023, 08:57 PM
Has anyone asked how tall he is yet?
18-07-2023, 09:06 PM
Feels similar to the Heckingbottom summer …
Does it? In what way?
18-07-2023, 09:12 PM
Does it? In what way?
Players from lower leagues in England. Hopefully better quality this time
18-07-2023, 09:12 PM
Does it? In what way?
Heckingbottom sounds vaguely similar to harbottle?
Bridge hibs
18-07-2023, 09:16 PM
Nottingham Forest lower league ? Think you need to check again
18-07-2023, 09:16 PM
Except of course he isn't. He's been signed from an EPL team who gave him a contract extension last year.
tug.lismore
18-07-2023, 09:17 PM
Players from lower leagues in England. Hopefully better quality this timeGenuinely, where else do you expect Hibs to sign players from?
Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk
cameronw-hfc
18-07-2023, 09:19 PM
Nothing wrong with that. David Gray came from English lower leagues, Fontaine, Newell, Doidge. Its not about avoiding lower leagues, its about signing the right players from those leagues which we often don't do.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 09:19 PM
Genuinely, where else do you expect Hibs to sign players from?
Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk
PSG
18-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Can I ask you with the budget we have where do you seriously think we should be looking for players. No fantasy stuff just a realistic reply
cameronw-hfc
18-07-2023, 09:24 PM
Can I ask you with the budget we have where do you seriously think we should be looking for players. No fantasy stuff just a realistic reply
Furious we let Miami sign messi. Absolutely no excuse, they're tiny compared to us. Add Busquets and Alba to that as well. Raging.
18-07-2023, 09:30 PM
It’s not as if we’re only signing players from English lower leagues.
We’ve signed Youan who we know can play in our league. Levitt as well. And will likely get Fish back as well.
Not going to pretend that I know anything about the players we’ve signed from down south but one has played a lot at championship level, one is an international and one has actually signed from a Premier League team on the back of a good season on loan. So on paper, they all have something decent going for them.
babahibs
18-07-2023, 09:31 PM
I cannae believe we weren't in for Declan Rice.
Petrie.........
18-07-2023, 09:35 PM
Remember when we were underwhelmed about Will Fish because he couldn’t get a game for Stockport?
18-07-2023, 09:36 PM
Furious we let Miami sign messi. Absolutely no excuse, they're tiny compared to us. Add Busquets and Alba to that as well. Raging.
Delighted at nicking Archibald from under Liverpool’s nose though.
The finances of football will ebb and flow and hopefully the neoliberal late capitalist empire will crash and Hibs will stand tall amidst the wreckage poised for some serious action, like the Terminator in T2.
18-07-2023, 09:37 PM
27014 27015
Dunno why, but the second I saw him I was reminded of Greg McHugh's character Teddy McLean in 'Guilt' ..... If he's as mental as that radge he'll do for me :greengrin
Up-the-slope
18-07-2023, 09:40 PM
any fact / rumours on who trialist was playing for Dev team today?
Hibs net has changed.
Early days
18-07-2023, 09:47 PM
any fact / rumours on who trialist was playing for Dev team today?
Jordi Cryuff.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 09:53 PM
Jordi Cryuff.
Don’t talk ***** it was David Platt
CentreForward
18-07-2023, 09:54 PM
So apparently his full first name is Riley-Jay and for those asking about his height he is 1.87 metres which is a bit over 6’1”.
18-07-2023, 09:54 PM
Hibs net has changed.
To be fair, he's a young player from a big club that appeared to grab his opportunity at a lower level with both hands.
He's not someone who has had one good season of a mediocre career, or someone who has been on a downward trajectory.
Gloucester Hibs
18-07-2023, 09:58 PM
Don’t talk ***** it was David Platt
Kid Cantona? 😍
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 10:01 PM
18-07-2023, 10:20 PM
There is a chance your local shop may not have milk tomorrow. Will you sleep.
18-07-2023, 10:22 PM
Nisbet was agreed in Jan
Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 10:34 PM
Probably one of the reason for that is this though. Took a line from it . Rocky is an important player for us , and we felt he was getting better week on week . :agree:
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/rocky-bushiri-injury-update
K-Zazu
18-07-2023, 11:00 PM
Probably one of the reason for that is this though. Took a line from it . Rocky is an important player for us , and we felt he was getting better week on week . :agree:
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/rocky-bushiri-injury-update
We were absolutely brutal leading up to the World Cup and I’m sure he was a big part of that
yonder1875
18-07-2023, 11:03 PM
Fish will be announced tomorrow (well today technically).
ElginHibbie
18-07-2023, 11:14 PM
We were absolutely brutal leading up to the World Cup and I’m sure he was a big part of that
I don't think Rocky was a bigger part of that poor run than anyone else, for what I remember it was more LJ sticking with the 532 formation that did not suit us and us really missing Nisbet as we were not taking the chances we had to score
We did take a couple of humpings but to focus the blame of those onto Rocky wouldn't be fair imho
18-07-2023, 11:16 PM
:hyper
After the MUFC v Lyon game presumably.
yonder1875
18-07-2023, 11:33 PM
After the MUFC v Lyon game presumably.
Would be most logical. But I am passing on info here and not just guessing.
👍 Thanks. Will be good to get this one confirmed.
Donegal Hibby
19-07-2023, 12:31 AM
We did have some bad results before the world cup there's no doubt about that like the 1-0 defeat at killie ( penalty) Rocky didn't play in so who's fault was that one ? . What was a big part of our bad results before the world cup was like the 2-0 home defeat to Ross county were we had a team made up with players like Henderson and Kenneh and Mitchell .
cameronw-hfc
19-07-2023, 01:30 AM
Patrick Mcp seems to think otherwise going by his article earlier today.
JamesHFC
19-07-2023, 03:40 AM
Friday 👍
19-07-2023, 05:29 AM
So after 50 years of watching Hibs I should know better but I'm pretty optimistic about the coming season. Sign Will Fish and a decent striker and I think we'll have a pretty strong side.
19-07-2023, 05:35 AM
One Harbottle hanging on the wall ....!!! 😊