View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
cameronw-hfc
21-07-2023, 11:30 PM
Yeah Im sure I read on here he was fit near end of season but LJ preferred Cadden. Hope he goes on to have a solid season, there is a player in there
He was on the bench most weeks as well. Don't blame people for thinking he's injury prone but reastically we don't actually know, he's just not had many opportunities.
21-07-2023, 11:32 PM
Perpetually injured Miller ? The lad was fit and ready for the season start until he was clattered v Europa, a game in which he was playing well in. Thats the price we pay playing v pub teams in friendlies, Youan almost copped it too in that game
Yeh fair enough, the way I worded that was a tad harsh, no player goes out to get injured. Just my frustration that following last seasons seemingly never ending injury woes at this club that the guy we really will be relying on to hold down that position having been injured for most of last season is injured again and has missed the last two warm up games as a result.
Not to mention Obita and Newell .. and you can chuck in Boyle, who I had kind of hoped to see maybe get a half before the real action begins, it's just so bloody frustrating to see before we have even started our season proper.
On a positive note .. if we can get Boyle back close to his best, given the way Youan played tonight with him on the left and Boyle on the right we are going to be a bloody handful for any defence in this league ... If we can get a striker who can make the most of the chances they are going to create.
Bridge hibs
21-07-2023, 11:55 PM
Yeh fair enough, the way I worded that was a tad harsh, no player goes out to get injured. Just my frustration that following last seasons seemingly never ending injury woes at this club that the guy we really will be relying on to hold down that position having been injured for most of last season is injured again and has missed the last two warm up games as a result.
Not to mention Obita and Newell .. and you can chuck in Boyle, who I had kind of hoped to see maybe get a half before the real action begins, it's just so bloody frustrating to see before we have even started our season proper.
On a positive note .. if we can get Boyle back close to his best, given the way Youan played tonight with him on the left and Boyle on the right we are going to be a bloody handful for any defence in this league ... If we can get a striker who can make the most of the chances they are going to create.
Oh I know mate, I think we are all as frustrated, especially injuries before the season has started which adds to the frustration, add that to Caddens injury season end too
These games are a risk but they are needed so we just have to hope for the best and that we come out of them unscathed, which is never the case for us, that bitch lady luck needs to get the finger out
Im not sure of the extent of Newell or Obitas injuries but like Boyle I just hope it was a case of a risk too far tonight and we may see them, along with Miller feature in Europe next week
22-07-2023, 12:07 AM
Oh I know mate, I think we are all as frustrated, especially injuries before the season has started which adds to the frustration, add that to Caddens injury season end too
These games are a risk but they are needed so we just have to hope for the best and that we come out of them unscathed, which is never the case for us, that bitch lady luck needs to get the finger out
Im not sure of the extent of Newell or Obitas injuries but like Boyle I just hope it was a case of a risk too far tonight and we may see them, along with Miller feature in Europe next week
No, I get that absolutely ... I would rather see Boyle miss even the first few games of the season rather than be brought back too soon. I don't know if Hibs have given updates on any of the players currently out, but considering pretty well every one of them is a potential regular first team starter it would be nice if they would give an update on their progress, or heaven forbid, lack of it.
Bridge hibs
22-07-2023, 12:11 AM
No, I get that absolutely ... I would rather see Boyle miss even the first few games of the season rather than be brought back too soon. I don't know if Hibs have given updates on any of the players currently out, but considering pretty well every one of them is a potential regular first team starter it would be nice if they would give an update on their progress, or heaven forbid, lack of it.I agree about the updates, even to just give us an idea, for example Henderson, he just seems to have vanished into thin air, Im concerned now 😃
22-07-2023, 06:18 AM
I spoke to Boyle and Miler last night they were sitting together in the West Upper. Both are fine but not risked last night. Boyle doesn’t think he will be involved away on Thursday but hopes to be back for home leg and St Mirren.
Miller fine for Andorra.
Trinity Hibee
22-07-2023, 06:39 AM
I spoke to Boyle and Miler last night they were sitting together in the West Upper. Both are fine but not risked last night. Boyle doesn’t think he will be involved away on Thursday but hopes to be back for home leg and St Mirren.
Miller fine for Andorra.
👍🏼
My old man
22-07-2023, 07:51 AM
Miller fine for Andorra.
So just checked BBC sport Hibs page and it has us @ home next week?
GG2TH
22-07-2023, 08:11 AM
No, I get that absolutely ... I would rather see Boyle miss even the first few games of the season rather than be brought back too soon. I don't know if Hibs have given updates on any of the players currently out, but considering pretty well every one of them is a potential regular first team starter it would be nice if they would give an update on their progress, or heaven forbid, lack of it.
We've had plenty updates, Newell was expected to be out for 2 weeks and last update on Boyle was we were hopeful he would feature in 2nd leg of Europa tie against Andorrans
22-07-2023, 08:55 AM
Don't think or see Fletcher happening lol
Think it's been said as a joke in WhatsApp groups and folk have taken it seriously
Can't see it. Fletch wanted to come last season and we knocked him back so he ended up signing for Utd. Go figure 🤔.
Paul1642
22-07-2023, 09:23 AM
Can't see it. Fletch wanted to come last season and we knocked him back so he ended up signing for Utd. Go figure 🤔.
Having signed ALF I don’t think there’s space for both. One older striker is fine but two wouldn’t be ideal. Our number 9 should be young and improving or approaching their peak.
22-07-2023, 09:52 AM
Having signed ALF I don’t think there’s space for both. One older striker is fine but two wouldn’t be ideal. Our number 9 should be young and improving or approaching their peak.
That’s the ideal but if we’re struggling to find one, it would make sense to go with a safer option than a younger player, just because they’re younger.
Paul1642
22-07-2023, 09:58 AM
That’s the ideal but if we’re struggling to find one, it would make sense to go with a safer option than a younger player, just because they’re younger.
True but is Fletcher any better than Doidge, ALF and Melkerson. We do need a new CF but no point in signing one who’s no better than what we currently have.
22-07-2023, 09:59 AM
True but is Fletcher any better than Doidge, ALF and Melkerson. We do need a new CF but no point in signing one who’s no better than what we currently have.
Was thinking the exact same thing, if we were considering Fletch I'd prefer we just went with Doidge. Actually think he's looked good and a wee bit quicker this pre-season.
Hope to God we sign a better player to start though. I'm sure we will.
22-07-2023, 10:01 AM
Yes, I think he is. I’d say he’s considerably better than those by a fair stretch actually.
SickBoy32
22-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Aye fletch is levels above all of those IMO
He was an obvious signing last summer though, with another year in the legs, we should be aiming for better
22-07-2023, 10:34 AM
We can’t be going for fletcher or nouble to replace Nisbet surely
We must have better than that on the list of targets
22-07-2023, 10:39 AM
I've been trying to work something out with Plesiosaur.
To be honest, I'm struggling.
Dino even go there
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
22-07-2023, 11:46 AM
Just don't give Fletch the number 9 then. :greengrin
22-07-2023, 11:47 AM
Dino even go there
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
That deserves raptorous applause.
22-07-2023, 11:55 AM
Would be amazed if we signed either.
Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 12:07 PM
I don't think Fletcher is a bad player though both him and Nouble are certainly not what we need in our team . We really need a good quality goalscorer who will get us 15 goals plus this season.
Gordy M
22-07-2023, 12:39 PM
Aiden McGeady signs a 2 yeat deal with Ayr United.
22-07-2023, 12:45 PM
I don't think Fletcher is a bad player though both him and Nouble are certainly not what we need in our team . We really need a good quality goalscorer who will get us 15 goals plus this season.
Aye someone like Kevin Nisbet, not going to happen reckon we will bring in a loan or 2. Not able to afford the type we need, we may be able to get some young guy in but it would also take him time to get used to the team and league etc.
So I am waiting on a good loan player from Citee or one of them teams.
22-07-2023, 12:54 PM
Indeed. Have to say I would wonder about our recruitment team if that was the best they could come up with in the search for a striker.
i would presume we have spent a serious wedge of the Nisbet money signing Youan and Levitt .... I wonder just how vital the Doig transfer saga is to this striker search, even if Hibs don't have the money in the bank before the window closes, if we were sure it was coming, say a total of 2.5 million including the million Verona still owe us, that would significantly widen the pool of players we would be able to look at.
Perhaps Hibs don't want to jump the gun at this point ... of course, the risk of that is it doesn't happen and we have to make do before the window closes.
22-07-2023, 01:09 PM
Fish is going to have evolved limbs by the time we sign him
Verra good........:wink:
22-07-2023, 01:25 PM
Can’t see us in for Fletcher now but on all recent evidence he’d absolutely be a significant upgrade on Doidge. But it’s not a Doidge replacement we need, it’s someone to take over from Nisbet.
HIBS NUTS
22-07-2023, 02:06 PM
Not his greatest fan, but doidge looked good this morning, he definitely looks fitter than last season
Bridge hibs
22-07-2023, 02:07 PM
Not his greatest fan, but doidge looked good this morning, he definitely looks fitter than last season
Who were we playing ?
HIBS NUTS
22-07-2023, 02:11 PM
Who were we playing ?
Full team played GRONINGEN, again, on grass, 2x 30 minutes.
10.30am
Bridge hibs
22-07-2023, 03:13 PM
10.30amAh, cheers mate, wonder why we played them twice
22-07-2023, 03:14 PM
Ah, cheers mate, wonder why we played them twice
They're so good...?
Ah, cheers mate, wonder why we played them twice
A decent team and both sets of players are needing match fitness.
22-07-2023, 03:50 PM
10.30am
On grass? Pretty relaxed game then🤔
22-07-2023, 04:03 PM
I guess it makes sense why he didn’t make more changes last night then, assume they played this morning Hibs Nuts?
22-07-2023, 04:33 PM
Yes he is and by a distance. Was excellent last season
badabing67
22-07-2023, 04:37 PM
10.30am
Well what was the score..... BTW can't believe i have had to ask
22-07-2023, 04:42 PM
Yes he is and by a distance. Was excellent last season
Would absolutely have preferred Fletcher over ALF, though maybe being a bit unfair as I've only seen ALF in the flesh once, last night. However based on last night I'd have Doidge in front of ALF as well.
22-07-2023, 04:43 PM
Would absolutely have preferred Fletcher over ALF, though maybe being a bit unfair as I've only seen ALF in the flesh once, last night. However based on last night I'd have Doidge in front of ALF as well.
Completely different style of players surely.
22-07-2023, 04:46 PM
Completely different style of players surely.
All three (ALF, Doidge or Fletcher) players would be playing through the middle for us. They have different strengths, sure.
HendoDelivered
22-07-2023, 04:58 PM
ST, CM/DM, RB & CB still needed for me
22-07-2023, 05:00 PM
2-2 I think. Doidge double.
JamesHFC
22-07-2023, 05:18 PM
ST, CM/DM, RB & CB still needed for me
Wouldn't be against a RB on loan. I think we should give Megwa & Delf a chance though, they are only going to improve through game time.
HIBS NUTS
22-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Sorry watching the golf .
2-2 doidge penalty
and mabye the second goal too.
MEGWA played centrehalf, he’s better at that position.👍🏻
badabing67
22-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Sorry watching the golf .
2-2 doidge penalty
and mabye the second goal too.
MEGWA played centrehalf, he’s better at that position.👍🏻
Good info thanks
badabing67
22-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Hibernian boss Lee Johnson says he expects Manchester United defender Will Fish to join his club on a season-long loan next Saturday.
Hibernian manager names date he expects Will Fish to leave Manchester United on loan - Manchester Evening News (https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/will-fish-hibernian-transfer-united-27374740)
22-07-2023, 06:26 PM
Hibernian boss Lee Johnson says he expects Manchester United defender Will Fish to join his club on a season-long loan next Saturday.
Hibernian manager names date he expects Will Fish to leave Manchester United on loan - Manchester Evening News (https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/will-fish-hibernian-transfer-united-27374740)
Thanks for that. Info on that link explains the conflicting reports of him being in the Man United US tour squad or not. Seems that he has travelled, but only as part of a United XI side, not the full side. Hopefully he's back here soon as he'll definitely improve the back line. Hopefully a striker and right back to come soon.
uwxm07
22-07-2023, 08:09 PM
Would rather Marlin Brando at this rate
That would be Marlon
22-07-2023, 08:13 PM
So he misses the first leg against Inter? Not brilliant.
the_ginger_hibee
22-07-2023, 08:16 PM
Would miss both games unless we register him before 1st leg. Hopefully available for next round.
badabing67
22-07-2023, 08:17 PM
To be fair it shouldn't matter in that game anyway
22-07-2023, 08:23 PM
That would be MarlonWhoosh....
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
22-07-2023, 08:25 PM
Whoosh....
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Swam right over his heid that one.....
Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 08:28 PM
To be fair it shouldn't matter in that game anyway
Think we will have more than enough to take care of them without Fish or a new striker tbh . Going by what I watched I think there RB area is a weakness in there team .
22-07-2023, 09:02 PM
We’ll be absolutely fine with Harbottle and Hanlon at the back.
andrew70
22-07-2023, 09:21 PM
We’ll be absolutely fine with Harbottle and Hanlon at the back.
Why Harbottle and not Rocky?
I don’t mind either tbh but think Rocky would be picked first, no?
Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 09:37 PM
Why Harbottle and not Rocky?
I don’t mind either tbh but think Rocky would be picked first, no?
I would be very surprised if Harbottle starts ahead of Rocky TBH.
22-07-2023, 09:44 PM
I would be very surprised if Harbottle starts ahead of Rocky TBH.
Do you think if we started both we’d have hit Rock Bottlom?
22-07-2023, 10:27 PM
Nope cos we'd be stuck beween a Rock and a Hardbottle!
'It doesn't matter what you think...'
Donegal Hibby
22-07-2023, 11:12 PM
Both are ' GONNA FLY NOW ' this season.
PHeffernan
22-07-2023, 11:58 PM
Fortunately, neither are they.
Fish, Boyle etc not really required until the St Mirren game
andrew70
23-07-2023, 12:09 AM
I see Alex Lowry has opted to play for Rangers B rather than sit on the bench for the first team. Now I am not one for doing business with them but I’d be enquiring about his availability.
He’s a creative midfielder and we need one of those. He takes the ball and drives with it, can pass and more importantly has a good shot on him.
Thoughts?
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-07-2023, 12:12 AM
I see Alex Lowry has opted to play for Rangers B rather than sit on the bench for the first team. Now I am not one for doing business with them but I’d be enquiring about his availability.
He’s a creative midfielder and we need one of those. He takes the ball and drives with it, can pass and more importantly has a good shot on him.
Thoughts?
If he’s available for a permanent transfer then yes, if on loan then no
andrew70
23-07-2023, 12:18 AM
If he’s available for a permanent transfer then yes, if on loan then no
That’s where I’d probably stand too. Unless there was an exclusive option to buy included in the loan.
Aside from all that definitely a talented individual.
23-07-2023, 02:01 AM
'It doesn't matter what you think...'
😁
Ah, back when wrestling was cool!
23-07-2023, 09:10 AM
https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1683040361516548096?t=pRiq2t7x0J9gawfAow8qgA&s=19
Might be something in it.......
Bridge hibs
23-07-2023, 09:14 AM
https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1683040361516548096?t=pRiq2t7x0J9gawfAow8qgA&s=19
Might be something in it.......Link not opening mate
23-07-2023, 09:14 AM
I think Myko would be the best option for us. Knows the club, knows the players, excellent player. Hope something is happening there
23-07-2023, 09:19 AM
Link not opening mate
Sorry it does for me. Just Kuharevich hinting he would like to come back this season.
23-07-2023, 09:21 AM
Link not opening mate
Transfer news LIVE: Mykola Kukharevych open to Hibs 'possibility' after social media pleas from punters
⬇️⬇️⬇️
10:00BEN BANKS
Hibs 'possibility' for striker
Hibernian's Mykola Kukharevych celebrates
By Mark Walker
Mykola Kukharevich has pleaded for Hibs to come in and sign him again.
The striker scored five goals in ten league starts for the capital club last season while on loan from French club Troyes, where he still has another three years left of his deal.
Rakow Czestochowa want to sign the striker on loan, but the Ukrainian has now made clear he's waiting for Hibs to make their move first.
He said:
Hibs fans write to me on social media every day. My situation is not sorted yet. There is still a possibility I could stay at Hibs for the new season too.
The support is insane. It was the first time I saw fans like that. They travel in big numbers away from home too. I was shocked to see so many of them
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 09:22 AM
Link not opening mate
Try this . Mighten work but worth a try mate .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-30481326
Trinity Hibee
23-07-2023, 09:25 AM
Link not opening mate
The striker scored five goals in ten league starts for the capital club last season while on loan from French club Troyes, where he still has another three years left of his deal.
Rakow Czestochowa want to sign the striker on loan, but the Ukrainian has now made clear he's waiting for Hibs to make their move first.
He said: Hibs fans write to me on social media every day. My situation is not sorted yet. There is still a possibility I could stay at Hibs for the new season too.
The support is insane. It was the first time I saw fans like that. They travel in big numbers away from home too. I was shocked to see so many of them
Bridge hibs
23-07-2023, 09:26 AM
Cheers guys, interesting 👍
23-07-2023, 09:28 AM
Does anyone know if Myko is fit and/or if he’s been taking part in pre season with Troyes?
After his injury problems last season would give me concerns if he was still unfit and did come back.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 09:31 AM
Quality striker who would score 15 plus goals for us . Mykola fits the bill . Make it happen Hibs :hyper
23-07-2023, 09:32 AM
Does anyone know if Myko is fit and/or if he’s been taking part in pre season with Troyes?
After his injury problems last season would give me concerns if he was still unfit and did come back.
There was a photo of him doing pre-season training with Troyes.
23-07-2023, 09:37 AM
There was a photo of him doing pre-season training with Troyes.
Just had a look at their results and he doesn’t look to have been involved in their game yesterday. Can’t see the lineups for their other two friendlies, just the results.
Whether it’s him or someone else, we really need a player coming in who is good to go. With him I think he’s a really good player but would just be concerned we were in for more of the same as last season if still trying to get fit etc.
23-07-2023, 09:40 AM
He said: Hibs fans write to me on social media every day. My situation is not sorted yet. There is still a possibility I could stay at Hibs for the new season too.
I'm sure I read he had signed for that Polish team last week
23-07-2023, 09:42 AM
All feels very Kamberi'ish to me! Pleading for us to come get him, why? Alarm bells are ringing for me.
23-07-2023, 09:45 AM
All feels very Kamberi'ish to me! Pleading for us to come get him, why? Alarm bells are ringing for me.
A bad thing that someone really enjoyed being here, is praising the fans, and stating he would be open to a return?!
Jeez Louise.
Halmyre Hibee
23-07-2023, 09:48 AM
As long as he’s fit and ready to go and passes medical then Myko is a no brainier. Anyone can get injured during the season so fingers crossed.
23-07-2023, 09:50 AM
Maybe because he enjoyed it here?
Not sure I can see where you’re coming from, why would him wanting to come back be a bad thing?
A bad thing that someone really enjoyed being here, is praising the fans, and stating he would be open to a return?!
Jeez Louise.
Could it be we wanted him but wages were too much so we're looking elsewhere, anything he was hoping for didn't materialise and he's changed his mind.
23-07-2023, 09:52 AM
**** me man. Let’s sign someone instead who doesn’t want to be here
23-07-2023, 09:58 AM
Interesting take on it. To be fair, I was thinking about Kamberi as well, but I get the complete opposite feeling.
23-07-2023, 09:59 AM
Aw, cute. He likes us!
Hopefully we can sort something out.
He wants to come here and if it’s true he is waiting for us it makes me think we must have some level of interest.
Assuming Troyes want to sell not loan, are we maybe needing to wait for Doig sale to conclude? All guess work but my gut feeling is he is our top target and we are still determined to get him hence no other strikers being linked.
He wants to come here and if it’s true he is waiting for us it makes me think we must have some level of interest.
Assuming Troyes want to sell not loan, are we maybe needing to wait for Doig sale to conclude? All guess work but my gut feeling is he is our top target and we are still determined to get him hence no other strikers being linked.
I've had same feeling from start but may be I'm just hoping. i rate Myko highly!
I've had same feeling from start but may be I'm just hopin i rate Myko highly!
To be fair we do tend to get our man when we have strong interest. The club will know so much about him and he is probably the perfect addition to what we need even though he doesn’t have huge experience )but if he did we wouldn’t be able to afford him)
23-07-2023, 10:33 AM
It could be, we called his bluff and won.
If rumours are true that he wanted to much wages earlier on in the window and have now moved on. Maybe he does want to come and now lowered his demands and wants to get hibs back in talks.
Or its his agent trying to drum up more interest
23-07-2023, 10:54 AM
If Myko is in our budget we should be all over it!
23-07-2023, 11:05 AM
Could it be Troyes pricing us out of it permanently?
I’m sure I read an article before where LJ says we were only paying 30% of his wage which I was surprised at. Obviously no idea what he’s on but I can’t imagine it being a ridiculous amount compared to what we play going by what he done before Troyes signed him.
23-07-2023, 11:13 AM
It’s odd that Troyes don’t want to keep him.
23-07-2023, 11:21 AM
It could be, we called his bluff and won.
If rumours are true that he wanted to much wages earlier on in the window and have now moved on. Maybe he does want to come and now lowered his demands and wants to get hibs back in talks.
Or its his agent trying to drum up more interest
I think that's the big difference between having someone like Brian McDermott in. Last summer and the window before we appear to have overspent massively (either on transfer fee or wages) on a few players - Mueller, Melkersen, Jair, Kenneh, McKirdy, Henderson, and probably more too. Most of them arrived with the fanfare of several clubs wanting them, that they were something of a coup for the club and from the outside looking in, it looks as if we were played like a fiddle.
I'm impressed with the window so far this time around.
23-07-2023, 11:22 AM
Just get it done Hibs
23-07-2023, 11:40 AM
Can say the exact same thing for Boyle
I’m sure he would have been giving hibs the heads up he’s not happy and wanted to come home
Think he would be just the ticket for us.
Saying that I’d only sign him on a permanent transfer
23-07-2023, 11:42 AM
Can say the exact same thing for Boyle
I’m sure he would have been giving hibs the heads up he’s not happy and wanted to come home
Think he would be just the ticket for us.
Saying that I’d only sign him on a permanent transfer
I'd take on loan though if that was the only option
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 11:53 AM
If there's any chance of getting Mykola back we should be all over it tbh . Guys a quality player .
Frontline of Youan , Mykola and Boyle would as good as anything outside the old firm .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/mykola-kukharevych-issues-hibs-transfer-27378156
23-07-2023, 11:57 AM
I'd take on loan though if that was the only option
Yeah to be fair I’d take him back on loan
I just think hibs should be seeking the permanent route which I’m sure they are
Hibees1973
23-07-2023, 12:11 PM
Becoming clear now that previous transfer errors are halting progress of bringing new players in. Sadly some players exercising their right to sit on their lucrative and frankly ridiculous three/four year deals Hibs handed out.
Yes, we should get past the Andorran minnows but it's highly likely we are going to be outclassed by the vast majority of sides in the following Conference League round. Sheer fantasy that this squad can reach the group stages.
For the last couple of years it's been a revolving door of a lot of players coming in (mostly dross), then trying to move a load on less than 2 years later. A well run club should really just be moving four or five, maximum in and out.
23-07-2023, 12:11 PM
If there's any chance of getting Mykola back we should be all over it tbh . Guys a quality player .
Frontline of Youan , Mykola and Boyle would as good as anything outside the old firm .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/mykola-kukharevych-issues-hibs-transfer-27378156
Rate him highly. He has the potential to go on and be a top player. Ironically i don't think getting him back would even be a remote possibility if he stayed injury free last season. May have actually worked to our advantage.
Hibees1973
23-07-2023, 12:12 PM
It’s odd that Troyes don’t want to keep him.
Why, he's always injured.
23-07-2023, 12:16 PM
Personally think it would be the best outside the uglies, that is if Boyle has come back from injury the same player he was, nothing to say he hasn't done that!
Have to think all three will miss games with injury through the season though, especially with the amount of times Youan and Boyler get kicked about the place. If one or two drop out with injury it's much weaker. Same for every team though I guess.
Becoming clear now that previous transfer errors are halting progress of bringing new players in. Sadly some players exercising their right to sit on their lucrative and frankly ridiculous three/four year deals Hibs handed out.
Yes, we should get past the Andorran minnows but it's highly likely we are going to be outclassed by the vast majority of sides in the following Conference League round. Sheer fantasy that this squad can reach the group stages.
For the last couple of years it's been a revolving door of a lot of players coming in (mostly dross), then trying to move a load on less than 2 years later. A well run club should really just be moving four or five, maximum in and out.
Which players are sitting out their contracts?
23-07-2023, 12:21 PM
That would be Marlon
23-07-2023, 12:24 PM
It’s not clear at all. We’ve paid transfer fees for four players already this summer. There surely comes a point where you stop harping back to the mistakes of the previous transfer windows and accept that it’s been recognised and we’re now working to fix it. The fantasy is expecting every one of those errors to have been resolved by this point of the window.
I don’t think anyone can argue we have a complete squad good to go (I don’t think anyone does at this point). But I certainly don’t think that’s down to the issues we’ve had previously.
HIBS NUTS
23-07-2023, 12:24 PM
Personally think it would be the best outside the uglies, that is if Boyle has come back from injury the same player he was, nothing to say he hasn't done that!
Have to think all three will miss games with injury through the season though, especially with the amount of times Youan and Boyler get kicked about the place. If one or two drop out with injury it's much weaker. Same for every team though I guess.
Boyle is champing at the bit, he was sprinting up and down the side of the pitch, at a ridiculous fast pace, on saturday morning.
Apparently he has had that injury for a couple of years but has played throughout it.
He certainly looked up to full pace now.
23-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Boyle is champing at the bit, he was sprinting up and down the side of the pitch, at a ridiculous fast pace, on saturday morning.
Apparently he has had that injury for a couple of years but has played throughout it.
Buzzing at that! Cheers for sharing.
Can't wait to see Boyle tear teams apart again.
Hibees1973
23-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Which players are sitting out their contracts?
Tavares, Henderson, Doidge are the first three that come to mind. JDH we wanted to move on in the winter window but he rejected the move. There are others.
23-07-2023, 12:45 PM
I'm not saying we shouldn't be all over it but the will he, wont he, signs for another club (allegedly), wants to much wages (allegedly), injury prone, now he wants to sign on? I'm just being cautious and this scenario reminds me of Kamberi.
Tavares, Henderson, Doidge are the first three that come to mind. JDH we wanted to move on in the winter window but he rejected the move. There are others.
Doidge by all accounts has come back well up for it and if he can reclaim pre Covid form then he’s an asset imho! Attitude is spot on and that won’t go unnoticed by the management team. However if they deem him surplus to requirements. Have to admit he was decent pre injury etc.
JDH will prove this season what a good player he actually is with the right players around him.
We’ve already moved on others and you do realise other teams do exactly the same.
Mistakes are made but you seem to have written us off before a ball has been kicked. We are 2/3 players off a very good team imho. If we move more out we may bring more in.
Quality over quantity!
Henderson's injured, Doidge already went on loan and Tavares is frustrated at not getting a game. As for JDH he preferred to stay at ER and fight for his place and it now looks like that was a good decision. Absolutely no indication these players, or any others are sitting out contracts.
23-07-2023, 01:06 PM
Doidge by all accounts has come back well up for it and if he can reclaim pre Covid form then he’s an asset imho! Attitude is spot on and that won’t go unnoticed by the management team. However if they deem him surplus to requirements. Have to admit he was decent pre injury etc.
JDH will prove this season what a good player he actually is with the right players around him.
We’ve already moved on others and you do realise other teams do exactly the same.
Mistakes are made but you seem to have written us off before a ball has been kicked. We are 2/3 players off a very good team imho. If we move more out we may bring more in.
Quality over quantity!
We’ll still be looking to move Doidge on IMO. We need a centre forward who is going to get us goals and you’re really going back to 2019/20 since Doidge scored with any real regularity.
JDH I’m cautiously optimistic that he is going to show a bit more but we have been here with him before and he’s not really kicked on.
We’ll still be looking to move Doidge on IMO. We need a centre forward who is going to get us goals and you’re really going back to 2019/20 since Doidge scored with any real regularity.
JDH I’m cautiously optimistic that he is going to show a bit more but we have been here with him before and he’s not really kicked on.
As I mentioned if that’s the case with CD then so be it.
JDH will show and I think given the right balance he will thrive
tonyrougier123
23-07-2023, 01:39 PM
If Myko is proven fit I’d be all for his return. Good striker but needs to be kicking on if it’s hibs he signs for. A fully fit hibs with two or three more in and a couple outs we could be a very decent side this season.
23-07-2023, 01:42 PM
Why, he's always injured.
Is he?
23-07-2023, 01:43 PM
As I mentioned if that’s the case with CD then so be it.
JDH will show and I think given the right balance he will thrive
As long as LJ doesn’t chop him in half again JDH will be an excellent squad player for us.
23-07-2023, 01:55 PM
Cant wait for Boyler to return! Although according to Kevin Nisbets cousin on Instagram boyle isnt good enough lol
Sounds like a little bit more love bombing from us might be all that's needed to get a deal over the line. 🤔
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Rate him highly. He has the potential to go on and be a top player. Ironically i don't think getting him back would even be a remote possibility if he stayed injury free last season. May have actually worked to our advantage.
When we had him and Hoppe it was plain to be seen Mykola was clearly a better player even though Hoppe had moved for something like 3 mill in the past . I agree his injury could work to our advantage . Really hope there's some truth in this as he's exactly the type of player I'd like to see us sign as Nisbet's replacement tbh.
As long as LJ doesn’t chop him in half again JDH will be an excellent squad player for us.
Let’s hope that’s the case.
23-07-2023, 02:06 PM
Sounds like a little bit more love bombing from us might be all that's needed to get a deal over the line. 🤔
What's his address?
23-07-2023, 02:18 PM
Cant wait for Boyler to return! Although according to Kevin Nisbets cousin on Instagram boyle isnt good enough lol
Oh no ... really? I wait every close season for Kevin Nisbet's cousin's assessment of our players, disappointed someone with his vast knowledge of the game doesn't rate Boyle, what does he say about everybody else? :greengrin
Would be great if we could get Mykola back, he certainly looked like he knows the way to goal last term, but that kind of has to be tempered with his lack of game time. If he could replicate his performances while he was on the pitch over a season we would have won a watch. As usual I won't get excited about it until I see him with the now world famous multi coloured pen in his hand.
Said it before .... I wish the Doig situation would get sorted, it could make the difference to who we do end up signing before the window closes :confused:
What's his address?
🤷 Can't see one on Twitter or Instagram.
Garymcl
23-07-2023, 02:44 PM
Whatever we need a starting cf + ch this week don’t wait until day before first game St Mirren like we’ve done in the past expecting guys to slot in right away doesn’t work fingers crossed :thumbsup:
JDH won't be a squad player. He'll be in the team.
Starting trio of Levitt, JDH and Newell
23-07-2023, 03:12 PM
I want the squad to all be potential starters or subs that actually make a difference. Far too much filler last season
23-07-2023, 03:12 PM
I still think he has a lot to prove.
Levitt has been signed for a lot of money (by our standards) and is going to play. We all know Newell is pretty much guaranteed to play when he’s available and I don’t see that changing. That then leaves a straight fight for the final place in midfield between JDH and Campbell. I’m not one of those that thinks Campbell is a £4m player or anything like that, but he does do things that the other midfielders don’t.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 03:30 PM
Not having a go but where's the goals going to come from midfield with that starting trio ?
I see where you are coming from however they are all capable of scoring it’s a case of them taking their chances or creating for others!
HendoDelivered
23-07-2023, 03:47 PM
I’m still not sold on Levitt at a 6 tbh, much better being an 8. Time will tell but I feel we might get bulldozed if we persist with that. On paper though, it is a decent midfield. Hopefully get another in the door and move Hendo on!
23-07-2023, 03:50 PM
I’m still not sold on Levitt at a 6 tbh, much better being an 8. Time will tell but I feel we might get bulldozed if we persist with that. On paper though, it is a decent midfield. Hopefully get another in the door and move Hendo on!
I think he will play as a 6 against the lesser teams and then Jeggo comes in against old firm etc. he also repeated what LJ said about rotations in midfield. That’s the plan rather than pigeon holing players.
23-07-2023, 03:52 PM
I'm gutted that Henderson is injured, same with McKirdy, it just ruins any chance of getting shot of them which deals a big blow to our budget.
Any idea what Henderson's injury is or when he's due back? Wonder if we can get him offloaded before the window shuts, he must know he's not got a future here.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
HendoDelivered
23-07-2023, 03:53 PM
I think he will play as a 6 against the lesser teams and then Jeggo comes in against old firm etc. he also repeated what LJ said about rotations in midfield. That’s the plan rather than pigeon holing players.
Fair enough then.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 04:00 PM
I see where you are coming from however they are all capable of scoring it’s a case of them taking their chances or creating for others!
Probably are capable of chipping in with a couple of goals each in the season though both Newell and JDH have never been what you'd call goalscoring midfielders and I can't honestly remember them being all that creative in the past either TBH .
I'D definitely have Newell in my team though when it comes down to Campbell or JDH , Campbell would get my vote every day of the week as he offers far more than JDH . I think Campbell will score double figures for us this season if we can keep him and probably the only one we have who can unless we move Levitt further forward imo .
Probably are capable of chipping in with a couple of goals each in the season though both Newell and JDH have never been what you'd call goalscoring midfielders and I can't honestly remember them being all that creative in the past either TBH .
I'D definitely have Newell in my team though when it comes down to Campbell or JDH , Campbell would get my vote every day of the week as he offers far more than JDH . I think Campbell will score double figures for us this season if we can keep him and probably the only one we have who can unless we move Levitt further forward imo .
Fair dos and I hope he does. Thing is as Brightside has mentioned. With a few more quality signings we have a bit of depth on the bench so players will have to be on their game.
Good position to be in
23-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Hopefully
babahibs
23-07-2023, 04:07 PM
Levitt scores a few
Yet the arse fell out the game at the PBS in May when JDH went off? Campbell replaced him in incidentally.
King Cosell
23-07-2023, 04:14 PM
There's going to be healthy compitition for places this season. If everyone's fit, the only players guaranteed a start are Boyle, Youan & Fish if he signs.
JamesHFC
23-07-2023, 04:16 PM
I hope that's what we go with. I wonder if LJ might even try Campbell at RB again.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 04:17 PM
Levitt best position is a mystery tbh , Dundee Utd fans were still debating were was best to play him before we signed him .
On paper it is a decent midfield as they are all good midfielders though I'm probably in the minority as I just don't think Newell and JDH are a good combination to be playing together .
If we could get Henderson moved on and get in another midfielder in that would add something different to what we have already that would be excellent .
I hope that's what we go with. I wonder if LJ might even try Campbell at RB again.
I hope not. He would be wasted there imho.
Hopefully a few goals from MF from Josh this coming season!
23-07-2023, 04:20 PM
Yet the arse fell out the game at the PBS in May when JDH went off? Campbell replaced him in incidentally.
Did they not put Campbell to right back and Delfierrie ahead of him?
Bizarre tactics from Johnson
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 04:22 PM
Levitt scores a few
I actually think Levitt would be our best chance of scoring a few goals from midfield even if he's playing deep over Newell and JDH tbh
23-07-2023, 04:26 PM
Bloody hope not, square peg in a round hole, about as good a defender as Cadden IMO
23-07-2023, 04:28 PM
I actually think Levitt would be our best chance of scoring a few goals from midfield even if he's playing deep over Newell and JDH tbh
JDH might be a goal threat if he can get his act together. Newell can't shoot to save his life.
Did they not put Campbell to right back and Delfierrie ahead of him?
Bizarre tactics from Johnson
I think he was on the right wing at the end but not 100% sure.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Bloody hope not, square peg in a round hole, about as good a defender as Cadden IMO
I'll second that btw , Campbell's wasted as a RB and I don't think both Campbell and Cadden are great at defending at all. I always prefer Cadden played further forward were I think it suits him better and Campbell playing as a attacking midfielder. Caddens going to be a player we will miss a lot this season imo .
23-07-2023, 04:46 PM
I think he was on the right wing at the end but not 100% sure.
With McKirdy out injured I actually think we still need to bring in a right winger. Aye Youan and MacKay can play there, probably Obita too, but they're left sided players.
We don't really have any natural cover for Boyle at right wing. Melkersen is never a winger in a million years.
23-07-2023, 05:09 PM
Not a midfield I’d like. 3 similar players who all do a similar role. Who will drive forward with the ball? Who will run ahead of the ball? Who will get in the box?
Assuming Levitt has been bought to play, and play deep. We simply have to play Campbell. He has many faults but scores goals and the only midfielder to get in the box and run ahead of the ball. Not as good technically but I’d argue he makes our midfield more than the sum of its parts more than Newell or JDH does. That leaves a straight fight between JDH & Newell for the place inbetween Levitt & Campbell IMO. I’d prefer JDH if he can stay fit, but in an ideal world would sign a new player for that position with different attributes to Newell and JDH.
*caveated with not knowing much about Levitt but based on the early signs it looks like we Intend to play him deep.
23-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Not a midfield I’d like. 3 similar players who all do a similar role. Who will drive forward with the ball? Who will run ahead of the ball? Who will get in the box?
Assuming Levitt has been bought to play, and play deep. We simply have to play Campbell. He has many faults but scores goals and the only midfielder to get in the box and run ahead of the ball. Not as good technically but I’d argue he makes our midfield more than the sum of its parts more than Newell or JDH does. That leaves a straight fight between JDH & Newell for the place inbetween Levitt & Campbell IMO. I’d prefer JDH if he can stay fit, but in an ideal world would sign a new player for that position with different attributes to Newell and JDH.
*caveated with not knowing much about Levitt but based on the early signs it looks like we Intend to play him deep.
Playing as a 6 or a “deep lying playmaker” doesn’t mean Levitt will just sit in front of the back 4 like a traditional defensive midfielder. It means he’ll receive the ball in deep positions and initiate our attacking play. He will still get forward, carrying the ball if necessary.
23-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Playing as a 6 or a “deep lying playmaker” doesn’t mean Levitt will just sit in front of the back 4 like a traditional defensive midfielder. It means he’ll receive the ball in deep positions and initiate our attacking play. He will still get forward, carrying the ball if necessary.
That’s a fair point, but doesn’t wholly allay my fears about Levitt playing behind Newell & JDH, both of whom have a tendency to drop deep themselves. I’m not sure Levitt, playing deepest, but as you fairly point out not shackled to in front of our defence, is the missing piece to getting a balanced midfield containing Newell & JDH. Those two are still 2/3rds of a midfield unit we never want to see again (Newell, JDH & Campbell).
23-07-2023, 05:52 PM
That’s a fair point, but doesn’t wholly allay my fears about Levitt playing behind Newell & JDH, both of whom have a tendency to drop deep themselves. I’m not sure Levitt, playing deepest, but as you fairly point out not shackled to in front of our defence, is the missing piece to getting a balanced midfield containing Newell & JDH. Those two are still 2/3rds of a midfield unit we never want to see again (Newell, JDH & Campbell).
Thats is my worry too, although if they interchange it could work?
23-07-2023, 05:54 PM
I’m not convinced LJ wants to play with a ‘10’ this season, and tbf I think they’re almost going out the game a bit now.
From what I’ve seen and how I interpret the team being set up, he wants a midfield 3 that are all comfortable on the ball, mobile and can win the ball back quick.
I see a midfield 3 of Levitt sitting, JDH and Newell either side as being effective in that formation with the plan to win it back asap and then play in the Youan’s, Boyles etc so they can isolate the defenders and create chances. JDH and Newell are really good imo of pressing the opponent’s and winning the ball back.
Campbell could easily play either side of Levitt too and has the advantage of having a real ability to get on the end of crosses in the box and score goals.
Don’t get me wrong I would like a ‘10’ to sign to replace Henderson as I think there’s a need for them.
Trinity Hibee
23-07-2023, 06:08 PM
I’m not convinced LJ wants to play with a ‘10’ this season, and tbf I think they’re almost going out the game a bit now.
From what I’ve seen and how I interpret the team being set up, he wants a midfield 3 that are all comfortable on the ball, mobile and can win the ball back quick.
I see a midfield 3 of Levitt sitting, JDH and Newell either side as being effective in that formation with the plan to win it back asap and then play in the Youan’s, Boyles etc so they can isolate the defenders and create chances. JDH and Newell are really good imo of pressing the opponent’s and winning the ball back.
Campbell could easily play either side of Levitt too and has the advantage of having a real ability to get on the end of crosses in the box and score goals.
Don’t get me wrong I would like a ‘10’ to sign to replace Henderson as I think there’s a need for them.
Thing is if we only play with one upfront and 2 wide players, is a number 10 type not essential? I’m a traditionalist and prefer to see 2 strikers playing together but understand that is moving out of the game now. However, surely you still need a central player to support the lone centre forward?
23-07-2023, 06:10 PM
But were also 2/3 of a very good midfield along with Magennis
23-07-2023, 06:12 PM
Thing is if we only play with one upfront and 2 wide players, is a number 10 type not essential? I’m a traditionalist and prefer to see 2 strikers playing together but understand that is moving out of the game now. However, surely you still need a central player to support the lone centre forward?
Surely the majority of 4-3-3 playing teams will be without a number 10?
Flat midfield three, or maybe one sitting with two in the middle and a LW-ST-RW?
23-07-2023, 06:15 PM
But were also 2/3 of a very good midfield along with Magennis
I looked into it before and think Newell, Magennis & JDH only played together something like 4 times at the start of Ross’s last season when we were playing well before Magennis got injured. The midfield was rarely the same week to week with the league and Europe, with Gogic and Allan often starting in different variations.
BlackSheep
23-07-2023, 06:23 PM
Some of our strongest performances towards the end of the season were the games against Celtic, albeit the second match Celtic didn't seem to be in any rush to compete, but the game prior to that i felt we set up in a fantastically strong fashion.... with our current squad it could look like this if set up similarly
GK - Marshall
LWB - Obita
LCB - Hanlon
CB - Rocky
RCB - Fish*
RWB - Miller
CM - Levitt
CM - Newell
LW - Youan
ST - ALF / Whoever we sign
RW - Boyle
With the LWB/RWB forming a 4 in the midfield as we go forward and dropping back to create a 5 at the back when we were being defensive with the wingers also dropping back to form an overall 541 style set up. This style subdued Celtic at both ends of the park and had them thinking twice about how to break us down. The 5 in defence squeezed their attacks to tight spaces and our speedy wingbacks caused their full backs problems when doubling up with our wingers.
I think playing to our squad strengths in this way would be a great set of tactics... yes it leaves us with players who should probably be starters on the bench but thats what Plan B, C, etc are for when the set up isn't working.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 06:25 PM
JDH and Newell are really good imo of pressing the opponent’s and winning the ball back.
I'd agree that both have similar styles in pressing the opponent's and winning the ball back though I don't see them as players that drive forward with the ball or are particularly creative in midfield when they do win it back TBH and having two of them playing together imo means we are lacking Drive and creativity from midfield unless Levitt or Campbell can provide it of course .
23-07-2023, 06:26 PM
I think midfielders that make a genuine attempt to get in the box like Campbell are essential, I think JDH and Newell have both commented that Johnson is always saying to them to get in the box more.
I mean more like a Scott Allan type that doesn’t offer a huge amount defensively or winning the ball back.
23-07-2023, 06:26 PM
Like when he set up a goal on Friday with a good pass.
Too much made of being a 6 or an 8 or a 10 or whatever it might be. Midfielders just need to be midfielders at times and do a bit of everything. Think it’s quite clear from the way they are talking is that it’s going to be a case of ‘rotating’ which IMO is just the modern way of saying that if one goes, one needs to sit in.
For some reason I think quite a number of people thought Levitt was coming in to play a position he’s never really actually played.
23-07-2023, 06:35 PM
I think Levitt signing means their roles are changing. They’re going to have to do things differently to previously and if they don’t, they probably won’t play.
To be fair, towards the end of last season when they were playing higher up the park with Jeggo sitting in, I thought they both looked better. They’re going to need to chip in with goals though. I think Campbell will continue to play and it’ll be one of JDH or Newell come St Mirren on the opening day.
Trinity Hibee
23-07-2023, 06:41 PM
I think midfielders that make a genuine attempt to get in the box like Campbell are essential, I think JDH and Newell have both commented that Johnson is always saying to them to get in the box more.
I mean more like a Scott Allan type that doesn’t offer a huge amount defensively or winning the ball back.
Absolutely. Prefer a Scott Allan type myself and I thought levitt might be that. We are definitely going to need more from a midfield 3 in terms of goals if that is how we plan to play this season
23-07-2023, 06:49 PM
Some of our strongest performances towards the end of the season were the games against Celtic, albeit the second match Celtic didn't seem to be in any rush to compete, but the game prior to that i felt we set up in a fantastically strong fashion.... with our current squad it could look like this if set up similarly
GK - Marshall
LWB - Obita
LCB - Hanlon
CB - Rocky
RCB - Fish*
RWB - Miller
CM - Levitt
CM - Newell
LW - Youan
RW - Boyle
With the LWB/RWB forming a 4 in the midfield as we go forward and dropping back to create a 5 at the back when we were being defensive with the wingers also dropping back to form an overall 541 style set up. This style subdued Celtic at both ends of the park and had them thinking twice about how to break us down. The 5 in defence squeezed their attacks to tight spaces and our speedy wingbacks caused their full backs problems when doubling up with our wingers.
I think playing to our squad strengths in this way would be a great set of tactics... yes it leaves us with players who should probably be starters on the bench but thats what Plan B, C, etc are for when the set up isn't working.
Interesting you mention the 2 games against Celtic as being standout midfield performances but then leave our best midfielder in those 2 matches out your proposed starting XI. JDH was excellent in both games against Celtic while Newell didn’t play at Parkhead and was subbed off at Easter Road when we were 2-1 down.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 08:17 PM
The defender ( Fish ) situation we know Man United want him for pre season games and it's just about waiting till we get him according to reports. Makes you wonder about the striker situation why it's taking so long and not a lot of speculation about it . Hopefully because we haven't given up on getting Mykola back possibly.
hibsforeurope
23-07-2023, 08:34 PM
GK - Marshall
LWB - Obita
LCB - Hanlon
CB - Rocky
RCB - Fish*
RWB - Miller
CM - Levitt
CM - Newell
LW - Youan
RW - Boyle
I like the 3 at the back, with the players we currently have I don’t think we could play that often enough to make it effective.
Plus the fact we’ve not have the 3rd centre half or miller and obita fit it’s not given any chance to try it in pre season .
Has anyone heard what’s kept obita out? Not seen it mentioned, unless it be missed it.
HendoDelivered
23-07-2023, 09:45 PM
Jack Hendry joining Stevie G’s team in Saudi
23-07-2023, 09:51 PM
Spot on. Exactly how I see it happening. But also with Newell or JDH dropping in but only when required. We did it in the past.
1875Sean
23-07-2023, 09:51 PM
Interesting you mention the 2 games against Celtic as being standout midfield performances but then leave our best midfielder in those 2 matches out your proposed starting XI. JDH was excellent in both games against Celtic while Newell didn’t play at Parkhead and was subbed off at Easter Road when we were 2-1 down.
Someone’s a fan of Newell
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Yams signing Frankie Kent, decent centre half unfortunately
Frankie Kent who?
King Cosell
23-07-2023, 10:00 PM
Aberdeen keen to get Liam Scales back. Don't know if this has been mentioned on here before, but I wonder if he's the first player to be sent off at the same away ground twice in one season.
23-07-2023, 10:01 PM
Jack Hendry joining Stevie G’s team in Saudi
Get the £'s while you can I guess. Surely anyone with half a brain cell knows how the Saudi League boom is going to end.
23-07-2023, 10:02 PM
Yams signing Frankie Kent, decent centre half unfortunately
Danny Dyers alias?
HendoDelivered
23-07-2023, 10:03 PM
https://t.co/JQ9XRNfoow
K-Zazu
23-07-2023, 10:09 PM
Get the £'s while you can I guess. Surely anyone with half a brain cell knows how the Saudi League boom is going to end.
How will it end? Can’t see the Saudis running out of money
23-07-2023, 10:20 PM
That’s not overly encouraging.
Again, to scream and scweam, we NEED another centre half (Fish sounds done) a CF and a CM.
I’d put the CF at the top of the list. Tightly run by the CB and then the CM. All are important. All needed asap.
23-07-2023, 10:33 PM
It'll end poorly. Probably in about a year or two like so may others have before it.
23-07-2023, 10:45 PM
Again, to scream and scweam, we NEED another centre half (Fish sounds done) a CF and a CM.
I’d put the CF at the top of the list. Tightly run by the CB and then the CM. All are important. All needed asap.
It’s all fine. Nothing negative about that report.
Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 11:07 PM
Signing a good CB and CF is very important though what's more important is we take our time and recruit wisely. 👍
davhibby
23-07-2023, 11:30 PM
Given how he’s spoken about Fish already I think it’s fair to assume that’s not included in what he’s talking about. A striker will be the next focus and we need movement on that in the next week. I think if we have those two sorted for the league starting then it gives us a few weeks to see what comes up as the window progresses, maybe a good quality loan or two
24-07-2023, 01:35 AM
It’s all fine. Nothing negative about that report.
“Enough to be competitive in our first 3 or 4 games” isn’t that encouraging. Sounds totally complacent to me tbh.
We’ll surely have enough to do fine in the European games but we have too many weaknesses to be going into competitive top level domestic matches for me.
I don’t think our current best XI is far from where it needs to be but I’d be concerned with our current team through the middle from back to front if we were to play Scottish Premier League games with it.
Fish, a decent CM and a decent CF and we’re there, albeit seeing if Marshall continues his shakiness of the 2nd half of last season. Without them I think we might struggle.
24-07-2023, 05:24 AM
They’ve launched more than a few such extravagant ‘projects’ in the recent past that ran out of steam, whether because they didn’t achieved the desired results or they moved onto something else.
It’s quite possible that, in a year or two’s time, they move on from this. Wasn’t that long ago that Chinese clubs were spending daft money…
24-07-2023, 05:37 AM
The Saudis are in this for the long haul, and they have the money to make it last.
This is not Golf, football is the biggest spectator sport in the world. Unfortunately, it think they are here to stay.
You'll see Saudi teams in some form of revamped "Champions" League in the next few years.
You've seen very negative views, if any at all, on Sky Sports News about Saudi involvement. Gary Neville was critical at first, but as far as I know he hasn't said anything the last few weeks when signings have really ramped up. Read into that what you will.
24-07-2023, 05:38 AM
Clearly a cryptic clue from Lee there saying Rome wasn't built in a day. Expect Lazio to sign Josh Doig for £10 Millon 😉
24-07-2023, 05:42 AM
I lived in Saudi for 4 years. The Arabs are too rich for this to fail and a huge part of it is encouraging sport tourism into the country and selling their clubs to Twitter virgins globally.
More and more people these days support players. Especially in America, Africa and Asia.
Stanton Spence
24-07-2023, 05:56 AM
I lived in Saudi for 4 years. The Arabs are too rich for this to fail and a huge part of it is encouraging sport tourism into the country and selling their clubs to Twitter virgins globally.
More and more people these days support players. Especially in America, Africa and Asia.
Sorry if I sound a bit daft but what is a twitter virgin and what are they offering to sell them?
For what it’s worth I can’t see the Saudi league going tits up or bust anytime soon either
24-07-2023, 06:06 AM
Sorry if I sound a bit daft but what is a twitter virgin and what are they offering to sell them?
For what it’s worth I can’t see the Saudi league going tits up or bust anytime soon either
Haha sorry that’s my bad explanation. Faceless Twitter accounts that change who they support based on who a player is playing for. For example Mason Mount accounts that now support Man Utd. They’ll buy all the new clubs memorabilia.
Stanton Spence
24-07-2023, 06:12 AM
Haha sorry that’s my bad explanation. Faceless Twitter accounts that change who they support based on who a player is playing for. For example Mason Mount accounts that now support Man Utd. They’ll buy all the new clubs memorabilia.
Ah I get you now H V social media is something I’m obviously aware of and I can now see how it can be used to drum up new business and help sell merchandise etc. I was just wondering what you meant by twitter virgins? and thought I might be one as I’ve got a twitter account but could count on the one hand the amount of times I’ve used it [emoji1]
The Saudis are in this for the long haul, and they have the money to make it last.
This is not Golf, football is the biggest spectator sport in the world. Unfortunately, it think they are here to stay.
You'll see Saudi teams in some form of revamped "Champions" League in the next few years.
You've seen very negative views, if any at all, on Sky Sports News about Saudi involvement. Gary Neville was critical at first, but as far as I know he hasn't said anything the last few weeks when signings have really ramped up. Read into that what you will.
Quality of life will come into it at some stage I think, it’s alright going over for the last year or 2 of your career banking a large some and heading off in to the sunlight but guys like Jota for example I can’t see lasting over there, homesick, missing the nightlife options, partner unhappy that sort of thing will be all too common, it will surely have an effect on international chances as well, any sort of ambition to still be considered for your national team or to break into the national team will see you not go or add to the list of things making you want to leave once there, Jack hendry seemingly going to Gerard’s team for example does he continue getting picked playing over there? It looked difficult enough for guys like hickey to get picked playing in Italy never mind over there
Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2023, 06:17 AM
Quality of life will come into it at some stage I think, it’s alright going over for the last year or 2 of your career banking a large some and heading off in to the sunlight but guys like Jota for example I can’t see lasting over there, homesick, missing the nightlife options, partner unhappy that sort of thing will be all too common, it will surely have an effect on international chances as well, any sort of ambition to still be considered for your national team or to break into the national team will see you not go or add to the list of things making you want to leave once there, Jack hendry seemingly going to Gerard’s team for example does he continue getting picked playing over there? It looked difficult enough for guys like hickey to get picked playing in Italy never mind over there
The more players that go over there though the higher the standard of league will be and then you’ll find players do get picked for their countries etc.
I’m not sure the Saudi league will be going anywhere tbh.
Paul1642
24-07-2023, 06:20 AM
The more players that go over there though the higher the standard of league will be and then you’ll find players do get picked for their countries etc.
So far it seems all players have been going to the same 4 teams though. The other 14 teams in the league are still going to be awful.
I don’t think it will go the same as the Chinese league but I do think it will become a bit of a retirement home after a while
BlackSheep
24-07-2023, 06:37 AM
Ah you see I didn’t say our strongest ‘midfield’ performances… I said our strongest overall performances.
I highly rate JDH and Campbell and wouldn’t be unhappy with either playing in place of Newell in the setup I proposed.
24-07-2023, 07:08 AM
“Enough to be competitive in our first 3 or 4 games” isn’t that encouraging. Sounds totally complacent to me tbh.
We’ll surely have enough to do fine in the European games but we have too many weaknesses to be going into competitive top level domestic matches for me.
I don’t think our current best XI is far from where it needs to be but I’d be concerned with our current team through the middle from back to front if we were to play Scottish Premier League games with it.
Fish, a decent CM and a decent CF and we’re there, albeit seeing if Marshall continues his shakiness of the 2nd half of last season. Without them I think we might struggle.
This is where I am.
HendoDelivered
24-07-2023, 07:10 AM
Agree with this
24-07-2023, 07:21 AM
Are we in that desperate a need for a CM?
Newall, JDH, Campbell, Levitt, Jeggo and Delf backed up by some of the youngsters is plenty for me unless we were moving a couple on.
24-07-2023, 07:33 AM
Newall, JDH, Campbell, Levitt, Jeggo and Delf backed up by some of the youngsters is plenty for me unless we were moving a couple on.
Numbers wise we're fine, but can you hand on heart pick a combination from those players and say with confidence that you'd be happy going into a league game with them?
I'd have reservations. Might work, might not. And again, it would probably be ok if we had the Fish / Hanlon combo of last season and "good day" Nisbet up front so it didn't show up so much and was only one part of the team. And we were playing weaker Scottish premier league teams. Wobbly Marshall, the combo of Hanlon and Rocky, 3 from those midfielders and Doidge / Melkerson through the middle doesn't strike me as being "enough to competitive", or anywhere like it, unless the extent of our ambitions is trying to make a game of it at home to St Mirren.
24-07-2023, 07:35 AM
Numbers wise we're fine, but can you hand on heart pick a combination from those players and say with confidence that you'd be happy going into a league game with them?
I'd have reservations. Might work, might not. And again, it would probably be ok if we had the Fish / Hanlon combo of last season and "good day" Nisbet up front so it didn't show up so much and was only one part of the team. And we were playing weaker Scottish premier league teams. Wobbly Marshall, the combo of Hanlon and Rocky, 3 from those midfielders and Doidge / Melkerson through the middle doesn't strike me as being enough, or anywhere like it.
It’s nowhere near ready.
They have got to get it sorted if they want any shot at third.
24-07-2023, 07:37 AM
It’s nowhere near ready.
Another 5 or 6 in should cover it.
Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2023, 07:44 AM
I'd have reservations. Might work, might not. And again, it would probably be ok if we had the Fish / Hanlon combo of last season and "good day" Nisbet up front so it didn't show up so much and was only one part of the team. And we were playing weaker Scottish premier league teams. Wobbly Marshall, the combo of Hanlon and Rocky, 3 from those midfielders and Doidge / Melkerson through the middle doesn't strike me as being "enough to competitive", or anywhere like it, unless the extent of our ambitions is trying to make a game of it at home to St Mirren.
We’ve done what on the face of it looks like good work in terms of who we’ve brought in individually so far. There’s still quite some way to go for us to have a good side though.
24-07-2023, 07:49 AM
We’ve done what on the face of it looks like good work in terms of who we’ve brought in individually so far. There’s still quite some way to go for us to have a good side though.
The arrivals are good and I think we've done well with a few of the departures as well as getting them done early so we don't have sagas hanging over us all summer and doubts remaining over our budgets.
But Fish and Nisbet were big players for us and take a bit of replacing. That's before you get onto the depth of squad that ended up being cruelly exposed when it only really fell short during our final game.
24-07-2023, 08:06 AM
Another 5 or 6 in should cover it.
I would be satisfied with three starters.
Right through the spine.
24-07-2023, 08:09 AM
I would be satisfied with three starters.
Right through the spine.
I think three more is the most we can expect. As ever it depends greatly on who else leaves too.
24-07-2023, 08:11 AM
He’s going to have to be a standout CM to get into our starting lineup.
24-07-2023, 08:14 AM
I'm far less nervous as others seem to be
Even without fish this week we signed another centre half so I see us as pretty well covered
If fish goes through a strong number 9 is needed but out with that I can't see all that much else happening
Boyle already brings another dimension and quality to our attack
I'd like another CM/creative player probably but then don't we want to see our much praised youth players being given some form of opportunity?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
24-07-2023, 08:18 AM
I think the midfield is fine in numbers and quality. Levitt is the playmaker/Scott Allan style player that I think we've all been craving for the last couple of years. I really like Newall and JDH, and Jeggo is good for derbies and games against the Old Firm, Campbell is our much sought after goal-scoring midfielder and Delf has been someone I've like the look of, I think for him it's probably sink or swim this season so I would like to see him given opportunities when appropriate.
Unless we get decimated by injuries - not something I can ever remember happening :greengrin - then I think that midfield has options and quality for the league campaign. If we get in to group stage European football we might start to struggle. Can you build a team on the basis you've got 3 qualifying rounds to get through before you really need to use the whole squad? I don't know but if we are chucking transfer fees and wages about as we allegedly are I'd suggest not.
Strikers wise we need 1/2, maybe even 3 if Doidge were to leave. Youan could work through the middle but I prefer him on the left, Boyle similar and with Doidge doing the donkey work but theres a lack of depth with only Melkersen as back up.
We're light on center backs and Fish coming in would solve that issue.
Goalkeepers I think we will see Marshall give way to JW this season.
Marshall
Miller Bushiri Fish Stevenson
JDH Jeggo Campbell
Boyle Doidge Mackay
Wollacott
Megwa Harbottle Hanlon Obita
Levitt Delf Newell
ALF Melkersen Youan
My major concern about those two teams is the attacking line up of the second which I really fudged together, but I think with 2 teams as above thats the only real gaping hole.
ALF added, thanks Unseen Work for the reminder!
No doubt I'll be told otherwise.
24-07-2023, 08:22 AM
He’s going to have to be a standout CM to get into our starting lineup.
Or similar quality but with different attributes and who specifically compliments his other two midfield partners. Varying levels of quality, but I’d say Jeggo, Newell, JDH, Levitt & possibly Delfierre are all similar-ish players. Campbell is the only different type of midfielder we have and he’s a bit of a conundrum.
24-07-2023, 08:37 AM
Or similar quality but with different attributes and who specifically compliments his other two midfield partners. Varying levels of quality, but I’d say Jeggo, Newell, JDH, Levitt & possibly Delfierre are all similar-ish players. Campbell is the only different type of midfielder we have and he’s a bit of a conundrum.
Jeggo is an out and out spoiler. The only one in that group. JDH is the closest to a box to box. Levitt and Newell are playmakers. I disagree with the similar thing. For me the problem has been in how we setup in the past. 3 rotating midfielders with the quality to cover any role during a phase of play is the ultimate for me and hopefully Levitt helps towards that.
24-07-2023, 08:39 AM
I think the midfield is fine in numbers and quality. Levitt is the playmaker/Scott Allan style player that I think we've all been craving for the last couple of years. I really like Newall and JDH, and Jeggo is good for derbies and games against the Old Firm, Campbell is our much sought after goal-scoring midfielder and Delf has been someone I've like the look of, I think for him it's probably sink or swim this season so I would like to see him given opportunities when appropriate.
Unless we get decimated by injuries - not something I can ever remember happening :greengrin - then I think that midfield has options and quality for the league campaign. If we get in to group stage European football we might start to struggle. Can you build a team on the basis you've got 3 qualifying rounds to get through before you really need to use the whole squad? I don't know but if we are chucking transfer fees and wages about as we allegedly are I'd suggest not.
Strikers wise we need 1/2, maybe even 3 if Doidge were to leave. Youan could work through the middle but I prefer him on the left, Boyle similar and with Doidge doing the donkey work but theres a lack of depth with only Melkersen as back up.
Marshall
JDH Jeggo Campbell
Boyle Doidge Mackay
Wollacott
Levitt Delf Newell
Molotnikov Melkersen Youan
My major concern about those two teams is the attacking line up of the second which I really fudged together, but I think with 2 teams as above thats the only real gaping hole.
I don’t think LJ has any interest in using Levitt as an Allan type player.
Trinity Hibee
24-07-2023, 08:43 AM
I don’t think LJ has any interest in using Levitt as an Allan type player.
That’s my thoughts too. I understood levitt to be a link up player between midfield and forwards but maybe I’m wrong. Seems odd to have him in and playing the same role as newell. We only need one of those types of player
24-07-2023, 08:46 AM
Marshall
JDH Jeggo Campbell
Boyle Doidge Mackay
Wollacott
Levitt Delf Newell
Molotnikov Melkersen Youan
Not a fan of ALF?🤣
24-07-2023, 08:47 AM
Not a fan of ALF?🤣
Oh ****! Totally forgot about him.
24-07-2023, 08:49 AM
Jeggo is an out and out spoiler. The only one in that group. JDH is the closest to a box to box. Levitt and Newell are playmakers. I disagree with the similar thing. For me the problem has been in how we setup in the past. 3 rotating midfielders with the quality to cover any role during a phase of play is the ultimate for me and hopefully Levitt helps towards that.
Unless Levitt is going to carry the burden of goals and assists from midfield we won’t get many goals or assists from open play from Jeggo, Newel, JDH or Delfierre. Nor will they run ahead of the ball or get into the box. Having 3 nice footballers in Levitt, Newell & JDH all interchanging is fine in theory but the reality is possibly that we’ll have a one paced midfield that are neat and tidy but only play in front of the opposition, and closer to the half way line. Which then makes it easier to defend against the one real tactic of pinging it out to to either Youan or Boyle.
24-07-2023, 08:58 AM
It’s nowhere near ready.
Is anybody totally ready by the 24th of July? The squad every team has on the opening weekend of the season will be different come the 31st of August.
In fact I’d bet the squad we have today will be further improved by the time we kick off against St Mirren.
24-07-2023, 09:02 AM
Is anybody totally ready by the 24th of July? The squad every team has on the opening weekend of the season will be different come the 31st of August.
In fact I’d bet the squad we have today will be further improved by the time we kick off against St Mirren.
Yep. If he’s turning round now and saying that’s it. Then get worried. But he’s not saying that. More will come more will go.
hibsmad
24-07-2023, 09:14 AM
I'm far less nervous as others seem to be
Even without fish this week we signed another centre half so I see us as pretty well covered
If fish goes through a strong number 9 is needed but out with that I can't see all that much else happening
Boyle already brings another dimension and quality to our attack
I'd like another CM/creative player probably but then don't we want to see our much praised youth players being given some form of opportunity?
Absolutely where I am. I'm actually surprised at the amount of posts questioning how ready we are in midfield.
A midfield 3 from Newell, Levitt, JDH and Campbell, while also having Jeggo ready to step in for tougher matches, plus Delf if required is pretty strong!
Sure, I'd love another midfielder but LJ has constantly mentioned that we need to use our funds wisely and get our money out on the pitch.
Assuming we get Fish, bringing another centre forward in should be where we are focusing most, if not all, of those funds.
24-07-2023, 09:14 AM
This is our best shot at 3rd since we did it under Ross. It's there for the taking with Hearts and Aberdeen having inexperienced managers and midweek Euro games for the sheep until Xmas. Really need to get our side sorted and hit the ground running to put early pressure on them. I really hope everyone at the club is geared up for it and wont repeat the same disaster of the season after we last finished 3rd.
24-07-2023, 09:31 AM
This is our best shot at 3rd since we did it under Ross. It's there for the taking with Hearts and Aberdeen having inexperienced managers and midweek Euro games for the sheep until Xmas. Really need to get our side sorted and hit the ground running to put early pressure on them. I really hope everyone at the club is geared up for it and wont repeat the same disaster of the season after we last finished 3rd.
That's sort of how I see it - therefore I get a bit irked when I hear stuff like "should have enough for the first 3 or 4 games" rather than "ready to go in advance of the first game of the season".
I accept that the past 2 summers are going to take a bit of undoing but we do like dithering into repeating mistakes.
We're close but also miles away (it seems to me) and I'm concerned we're going to be starting league games with players who have serious question marks over whether they're good enough to be squad players. That's not really acceptable.
The team that started the early season game at St Johnstone raises a few eyebrows with hindsight and having seen last season pan out. I'd like to have more confidence that we were going to be in better shape this season but after a great start to the window I'm starting to have doubts.
24-07-2023, 09:46 AM
That's sort of how I see it - therefore I get a bit irked when I hear stuff like "should have enough for the first 3 or 4 games" rather than "ready to go in advance of the first game of the season".
I accept that the past 2 summers are going to take a bit of undoing but we do like dithering into repeating mistakes.
We're close but also miles away (it seems to me) and I'm concerned we're going to be starting league games with players who have serious question marks over whether they're good enough to be squad players. That's not really acceptable.
The team that started the early season game at St Johnstone raises a few eyebrows with hindsight and having seen last season pan out. I'd like to have more confidence that we were going to be in better shape this season but after a great start to the window I'm starting to have doubts.
But we need to wait and get the right player. We clearly want Myko but that’s a waiting game. Same with fish. Would your rather they just signed 2 others. Need to trust the process.
24-07-2023, 09:48 AM
Completely agree.
This is why I keep saying I want to be ready and raring for the start.
People reply saying the window closes in Sept, it does, but we are already 4 games into the season by then.
Lets just get our house in order and be right at it from the start. Lets get to transfer deadline day and be able to say ‘we don’t need any ins or any outs’
24-07-2023, 09:58 AM
But we need to wait and get the right player. We clearly want Myko but that’s a waiting game. Same with fish. Would your rather they just signed 2 others. Need to trust the process.
I can't argue with any of the logic in what you say but whilst patience has it's place so does urgency, and "waiting for quality to become available" has been a mantra throughout our worst summer transfer windows.
24-07-2023, 10:10 AM
I can't argue with any of the logic in what you say but whilst patience has it's place so does urgency, and "waiting for quality to become available" has been a mantra throughout our worst summer transfer windows.
I think the difference this year is that we have already been very active. And we can’t be accused of trying to do things on the cheap having already paid out four transfer fees.
I still think a centre forward is absolutely critical but I think there are other things that offset the loss of Nisbet. Youan only turned up in the second half of last season so I expect more than the 9 goals he managed from him this season. I expect Boyle to come back and score a good number of goals. I also think ALF will chip in although I don’t want or expect him to be our main striker.
Overall I think we are in a much, much stronger position than this time last year and we’re clearly doing things differently. I just think it’s unrealistic to expect everything to be done and dusted at this point in time.
24-07-2023, 10:25 AM
I think the difference this year is that we have already been very active. And we can’t be accused of trying to do things on the cheap having already paid out four transfer fees.
I still think a centre forward is absolutely critical but I think there are other things that offset the loss of Nisbet. Youan only turned up in the second half of last season so I expect more than the 9 goals he managed from him this season. I expect Boyle to come back and score a good number of goals. I also think ALF will chip in although I don’t want or expect him to be our main striker.
Overall I think we are in a much, much stronger position than this time last year and we’re clearly doing things differently. I just think it’s unrealistic to expect everything to be done and dusted at this point in time.
All very fair points and I agree we're in a stronger position than this time last year. I'm not convinced we're in a better position than we were at the end of last season as "fit and interested" Nisbet is a big loss, as is Fish (who was all things said, an absolute revelation).
I guess I'm a bit anxious because we only fell short by the finest of margins last season. Whilst it's easy to put down to the final game and the lack of squad depth, it was probably more about what happened between the season kicking off and the world cup starting, you could even argue until Jeggo and Egan-Riley arrived. That's a long time to spend underprepared, something I find hard to stomach.
Not for a minute am I suggesting it's easy but it does feel like there is an opportunity there with Hearts being more underprepared than us, and Aberdeen facing a sort of 1st half to the season that Hearts showed just how hard it was to juggle all those games last season. We have a clear and tangible opportunity in front of us if we get our act together.
A lack of depth or a problem position needing addressed I could find excusable but unfortunately I just look down the spine of the team and think it looks a bit weaker than it should just a few weeks away from the big games starting.
CentreForward
24-07-2023, 10:29 AM
But remember that we’ll have midweek euro games until at least Xmas as well :wink::wink::cb:cb:flag:
24-07-2023, 10:38 AM
Celtic sign Hyunjun Yang on a 5 year deal
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2023, 10:44 AM
I read yesterday that Shaun Maloney has signed Celtic player Liam Shaw on a season loan , can't say I heard of him tbh . I'm still hoping he will try for Henderson 🤞
24-07-2023, 10:46 AM
I read yesterday that Shaun Maloney has signed Celtic player Liam Shaw on a season loan , can't say I heard of him tbh . I'm still hoping he will try for Henderson 🤞
If I remember correctly he was signed from Sheffield Wednesday, Wednesday fans loved him but he's done nothing since moving to Celtic. I think he even went to Motherwell in loan and it wasn't a huge success. I could have the wrong guy mind 😂
24-07-2023, 10:53 AM
Totally agree, it's a phrase repeated on here summer after summer, but it rarely pans out that way, it only results in us chasing our tail while the league season is well under way. We need to get a goal scoring striker capable playing on his own up front through the door asap.
24-07-2023, 10:54 AM
Al Hilal bid £259 million for Mbappe
24-07-2023, 10:55 AM
Was our best shot at 3rd not last season? Now hearts have what about 7m extra funds. Aberdeen also are spending loads. I’d expect us to have the 5th budget.
24-07-2023, 11:13 AM
It'll end poorly. Probably in about a year or two like so may others have before it.
There's no reason for it to end. They'll keep chucking money at players until even the younger ones start going there.
Someone called Frankie Kent signing for them from Peterborough centre half
24-07-2023, 11:34 AM
Someone called Frankie Kent signing for them from Peterborough centre half"Half decent league one player, for a big lad he needs to get stuck in more, but we have to sign better if we are going to get promoted, he was transfer listed at the end of last season"
Quote from my Posh supporting neighbour.
Was our best shot at 3rd not last season? Now hearts have what about 7m extra funds. Aberdeen also are spending loads. I’d expect us to have the 5th budget.
Makes no difference imho.
They are still signing players from the lower leagues in England. My Jambo chum was telling me last week we will be crap signing players from lower leagues. They will be spending millions on new players and breaking their transfer record!
Yeah yeah
24-07-2023, 11:45 AM
Last season was a bit of a transitional season for us but we ended it very strongly. We should be starting the season in a stronger position than last season. Hearts are a bit of a basket case by the looks of things (that isn't fooling me as they usually come up smelling of roses) and i'm far from convinced about Robson and Aberdeen in general. I think we have a great chance of 3rd. The prize is absolutely massive. We should be drumming that in to the players. I'm sure we are.
But waiting for Myko and Fish isn't just "waiting for quality to become available". It is waiting for 2 players that aren't just quality, they are quality that we know are a good fit for Hibs and that there should no requirement for them settle in / adjust to the style of play.
Sounds like you are saying urgency is now more important so we now need to move onto other targets, which I think is the wrong thing to do. Better to be without those 2 for the 1st few games than to run the risk of players who might not work out and be stuck with them for 2-3 years, just to have them in a few games earlier. Plus they may not even be ready to slot into the starting 11 as quickly as Fish and Myko would be anyway.
24-07-2023, 12:12 PM
Probably the year before when we didn't have to do all that much off the back of finishing 3rd the previous year, although the only time that really matters is the one right in front of us.
24-07-2023, 12:20 PM
Someone called Frankie Kent signing for them from Peterborough centre half
Frankie Kent the hearts management set ups bent
HendoDelivered
24-07-2023, 12:44 PM
“Johnson remains keen to add to his squad, with Will Fish set to return for a second season-long loan stint by the end of the month. However, there are other positions needing reinforcements that are very much on the club’s radar but rather than rush into signings, Hibs will assess the situation after the first handful of competitive games.”
EEN.
Madness if we don’t have a new striker in for the first league game IMO
SickBoy32
24-07-2023, 12:46 PM
“Johnson remains keen to add to his squad, with Will Fish set to return for a second season-long loan stint by the end of the month. However, there are other positions needing reinforcements that are very much on the club’s radar but rather than rush into signings, Hibs will assess the situation after the first handful of competitive games.”
EEN.
Madness if we don’t have a new striker in for the first league game IMO
Aye given that draw we absolutely need a quality centre forward in advance of the Swedish / Swiss tie
24-07-2023, 12:47 PM
Aye given that draw we absolutely need a quality centre forward in advance of the Swedish / Swiss tie
Very much so. 👍
24-07-2023, 12:53 PM
Should've been in weeks ago. Would love us to be fully prepared just once.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2023, 01:00 PM
Should've been in weeks ago. Would love us to be fully prepared just once.
I'd love it too if we had all our players in weeks ago as well though it's not always possible to do so . In Fish's case would fans rather we moved on and signed someone else quickly so we were fully prepared or would they rather wait to get a quality player like Fish ? . I know what I'd rather TBH.
24-07-2023, 01:06 PM
I'd like us to push the boat out for Myko. It's a massive ask though. Close to a million spent on Youan and Levitt alone.
24-07-2023, 01:28 PM
I'd like us to push the boat out for Myko. It's a massive ask though. Close to a million spent on Youan and Levitt alone.
Really? Was that reported? I thought we got Levitt pretty cheap and Youan was less than half a mill.
24-07-2023, 01:32 PM
Really? Was that reported? I thought we got Levitt pretty cheap and Youan was less than half a mill.
We also paid fees for Wollacott, Obita and Harbottle iirc. And we should add in the Youan fee