View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

10-07-2023, 10:34 AM
Think that would be an unprofessional move on Hibs part. Would be better just being honest with him and help him to find a way out or offer a compromise payment.

Think we probably have been honest by the sounds.

Agree it’s very unprofessional but my point is if he tries to stick it out then I could see that happening.

Maybe should have explained that in my original post [emoji16][emoji106]

10-07-2023, 10:51 AM
We will seriously struggle to get someone to take on Jair's wages.

We don't need to. If he goes on a season loan then every penny we get from the receiving club is a bonus.

10-07-2023, 10:58 AM
Dundee United about to announce a welsh player…..Doidge?

BlackSheep
10-07-2023, 11:01 AM

Oli Denham, defender.

10-07-2023, 11:01 AM

Ollie Denham announced.

BoyledEgg
10-07-2023, 11:23 AM
Myko’s girlfriend has posted a video of her in Scotland

10-07-2023, 11:24 AM
Looks like Dundee Utd are hinting about signing a keeper from Luton. Wonder if it's Matt Macey.

Unbelievable - as things stand, Matt Macey will be playing in the english Premier League next season. Wild.

Dmas
10-07-2023, 11:25 AM
Apparently interest in Hauge and he could be away this week.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-attacker-set-to-leave-club-this-week-after-lee-johnson-exit-admission-4212804

I didn’t think it would be difficult to move Hague on I think he had a decent loan spell in Ireland.

be very surprised if it’s that easy to move Tavares on possibly going to need to get him a loan move and hope he does well, need to find a less physical league I think he doesn’t look upto our championship or further down the English leagues

10-07-2023, 11:26 AM
Unbelievable - as things stand, Matt Macey will be playing in the english Premier League next season. Wild.

Not surprised. He was a good keeper for us with a higher save percentage than Marshall. Distribution was poor but nothing wrong with his basics.

10-07-2023, 11:33 AM
Macey is a decent keeper. Got an unnecessarily hard time from a lot of people because he wasn't Marciano. Macey was fine.

10-07-2023, 11:36 AM

Looks like outside the high court in edinburgh too.

She’s just teasing us now 🤣

10-07-2023, 11:40 AM

Could be that he's still on holiday/recovering so just taking in all Edinburgh has to offer?

Hibby-G
10-07-2023, 12:39 PM
Macey is a decent keeper. Got an unnecessarily hard time from a lot of people because he wasn't Marciano. Macey was fine.

Actually agree with this. He even managed to push Marciano out the team, which showed a lot. Had a few errors in him, but what keeper doesn’t? Especially at this level.

10-07-2023, 12:51 PM
Actually agree with this. He even managed to push Marciano out the team, which showed a lot. Had a few errors in him, but what keeper doesn’t? Especially at this level.

He did not push Marciano out of the team. He was fine though. Better than Marshall imo.

10-07-2023, 12:54 PM

He’ll be playing nae football in the Premier League next season.

10-07-2023, 01:04 PM
Macey's penalty save in the cup final should have been the catalyst for us going on to win the cup. Sadly our players never responded that day.

10-07-2023, 01:23 PM
Not surprised. He was a good keeper for us with a higher save percentage than Marshall. Distribution was poor but nothing wrong with his basics.

Distribution is a basic

10-07-2023, 01:33 PM
Distribution is a basic

I'd say saving is slightly more important.

Paloschi
10-07-2023, 01:37 PM
Here we go with a who's a better keeper Marshall or Macey debate on the transfer thread. Let's get back to discussing Joe Newell's stats!

10-07-2023, 01:42 PM
I'd say saving is slightly more important.

As well as

10-07-2023, 01:43 PM
Here we go with a who's a better keeper Marshall or Macey debate on the transfer thread. Let's get back to discussing Joe Newell's stats!

Looks like we will no be getting the guy Florini, as Man City dont want to loan him, so Joe could move back to the left wing, for a bit. build up his stats like.

10-07-2023, 01:55 PM

LJ out!

10-07-2023, 02:03 PM

Decent keeper and would have been better than David Marshall last season imo.

BlackSheep
10-07-2023, 02:10 PM
https://twitter.com/manutd/status/1678404456755470336?s=48&t=ocz9ukRjD3SD98XaKrLJnw

Will fish training at Man U today.

10-07-2023, 02:48 PM
He’ll be playing nae football in the Premier League next season.

i don't think he was even playing much in the championship last season

badabing67
10-07-2023, 02:51 PM
https://twitter.com/manutd/status/1678404456755470336?s=48&t=ocz9ukRjD3SD98XaKrLJnw

Will fish training at Man U today.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F0rU3lRWAAUgAoA?format=jpg&name=medium

10-07-2023, 02:56 PM

Bit of a culture shock taking the step down to train with Man United

10-07-2023, 02:57 PM
Good chinwag with a pal about the transfer market and he told me Hibs are in for Dane Nathan Mutch.

10-07-2023, 03:01 PM
Good chinwag with a pal about the transfer market and he told me Hibs are in for Dane Nathan Mutch.

Is that no Hearts? Along with Nae Thin Hapnin, a Thai international.

at last 61
10-07-2023, 03:01 PM
Always thought macey didn't look as comfortable as a lot of players, might just be me, but I'm normally good at reading people, and still angry, when you're into the last minute of a cup final and are a goal down,and knowing you are the tallest person on the pitch, you do not come up for a corner

10-07-2023, 03:19 PM
Always thought macey didn't look as comfortable as a lot of players, might just be me, but I'm normally good at reading people, and still angry, when you're into the last minute of a cup final and are a goal down,and knowing you are the tallest person on the pitch, you do not come up for a cornerYou are not alone. The most frustrating match I've watched as a Hibby.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

10-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Bit of a culture shock taking the step down to train with Man United

Wont we save him from his Old Trafford hell?

10-07-2023, 04:18 PM

Apparently Mount never stopped asking Fish to get a signed Joe Newell shirt

10-07-2023, 05:41 PM
Apparently Mount never stopped asking Fish to get a signed Joe Newell shirt

told Mount that he’s no Martin Boyle

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 05:54 PM
told Mount that he’s no Martin Boyle
Run along mount before I phone my pal Lewy .

10-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Told Mason Mount he was a poor man's Josh Campbell
Mason Mount sounds like a phrase used by those with the funny handshakes will say to their wife when they want nookie

10-07-2023, 07:00 PM
Bit of a culture shock taking the step down to train with Man UnitedShowing Harry Maguire the ropes I heard.

Not sure it will make much difference though

10-07-2023, 07:14 PM
Is this still the Sumer transfer thread ?

10-07-2023, 07:22 PM
Looking out the window I'm not sure it's summer.

10-07-2023, 08:19 PM
Looking out the window I'm not sure it's summer.

stuart-farquhar
10-07-2023, 08:20 PM

Indeed. Summer football eh!

10-07-2023, 08:27 PM
sorry not saw it mentioned but i see that Tom Silvera dude signed for Middlesbrough

10-07-2023, 08:29 PM
Jeggo and Hanlon come across very well on the pitch in this mic'd up video.

https://youtu.be/W-4stIR8kEQ

cameronw-hfc
10-07-2023, 08:38 PM

Jeggo does seem like a very good communicator on the pitch. Hanlon very good also.

10-07-2023, 08:41 PM

Great video

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 09:25 PM
sorry not saw it mentioned but i see that Tom Silvera dude signed for Middlesbrough
Hertz didn't want him anyhow he's s**** .

10-07-2023, 09:27 PM

But if they did though, if they actually wanted him, he'd be theirs. No one ever chooses another club over them.

10-07-2023, 09:28 PM

tbf Levitt would have been as well if he had signed for them :wink:

10-07-2023, 09:43 PM
Indeed. Summer football eh!
Well it is warm rain :confused:

10-07-2023, 10:08 PM

How the **** can they get through that without ****ing swearing? When I'm on the pitch at walking football every second ****ing word is a swear word :greengrin

10-07-2023, 10:27 PM
How the **** can they get through that without ****ing swearing? When I'm on the pitch at walking football every second ****ing word is a swear word :greengrin

No doubt they'll have been swearing but we only heard 3 minutes from them each. ****ing pair of sweary *****. 😀

JammyDoidger
10-07-2023, 10:39 PM
Anyone else hearing big myk is a done deal?

10-07-2023, 10:58 PM

Only from some twitter chat, but pretty sure the same guys were giving it Fish emoji a week or so ago.

yonder1875
10-07-2023, 11:00 PM
Seen something on Twitter but just as vague as ever. People just like the attention.

KeithWright9
10-07-2023, 11:34 PM

I heard it was done, and that he would be back

badabing67
10-07-2023, 11:51 PM
I heard it was done, and that he would be back

Where is everybody hearing it don't see it anywhere

King Cosell
10-07-2023, 11:59 PM

Usual suspects messing about on social media. Same every window. Not saying it won't happen but if you look at the Troyes squad they don't have much up front and they've just loaned a striker to Cardiff City for 2023/24.

11-07-2023, 12:10 AM
If we assume we have a few quid for a new no 9 (as per BK chat in Spain), we have not been linked with anyone for a while who plays that position.

That gives me some hope that we are trying to get Myko back as first priority before we have to move on and more hope that a few fans and on twitter playing transfer market bingo

11-07-2023, 04:06 AM
Usual suspects messing about on social media. Same every window. Not saying it won't happen but if you look at the Troyes squad they don't have much up front and they've just loaned a striker to Cardiff City for 2023/24.

Hope they still have nothing up front when the season kicks off.

Manager is ex Jambo Patrick Kisnorbo

11-07-2023, 06:33 AM
But if they did though, if they actually wanted him, he'd be theirs. No one ever chooses another club over them.

Gotta love it when they come out with that.

11-07-2023, 08:26 AM
Newell and miller miss remainder of training camp.

Bridge hibs
11-07-2023, 08:27 AM
Newell and miller miss remainder of training camp.Ffs Miller too 😤

11-07-2023, 08:27 AM

Miller seems to be another one that’s really struggled with staying fit.

11-07-2023, 08:28 AM
Speculating

Bridge hibs
11-07-2023, 08:29 AM
Miller seems to be another one that’s really struggled with staying fit.To be honest though the way Europa players were lunging into tackles Im surprised more hibs players werent injured, ****ing dirty *******s 🤬

11-07-2023, 08:33 AM

Just read that, that's frustrating. Hope they ate one of those '2 week' injuries.

11-07-2023, 08:34 AM
That’s a worry re Miller He could be a big player for us if fit and getting a run of games ,but his history to date suggests that’s going to be difficult .If last seasons pattern continues we can’t rely on him
Really hope he can get over these niggling injuries and play a part

11-07-2023, 08:36 AM
So who starts on the 27th at right back? Megwa?

11-07-2023, 08:40 AM

Think miller is only out for 4 or 5 days

11-07-2023, 08:41 AM

Few options but other than megwa it would be playing someone out of position.

Can swap Lewis over and play Obita LB. Or Campbell can play there. Alan Delferier also

11-07-2023, 08:48 AM
Bad news due to timing and wanting everyone feeling 100% for the season starting.

Thankfully both hopefully won’t miss too much time and be back soon.

Megwa looks capable of stepping in for a short period and deserves a chance.

Midfield we have plenty to do a couple of weeks.

MikeyS
11-07-2023, 08:49 AM

In the latest video posted on YouTube with the players mic'd up, he took a real dull one in the lead up to ALF's goal. You can hear him scream as he was stood beside Hanlon who had the mic.

No his fault if its a contact injury from the challenge

11-07-2023, 08:52 AM
I wonder if we’ve considered moving for Bruce Anderson. Livingston accepted a bid from Steve Kean’s team in Georgia but the player rejected the move.

If he could be bought for £2/300k I think we could do worse. Good age and experience of the league. Would get a lot more chances with us.

We could defo do better as well but no guarantees there

11-07-2023, 08:56 AM
In the latest video posted on YouTube with the players mic'd up, he took a real dull one in the lead up to ALF's goal. You can hear him scream as he was stood beside Hanlon who had the mic.

Your last sentence is what we used to hear all the time about magennis.

Miller really needs to prove his fitness this season

11-07-2023, 08:59 AM

Don't remember reading anything about Magennis and contact injuries tbh. Non-contact aye.

MikeyS
11-07-2023, 09:02 AM

Magennis was entirely different though given that he had multiple long term injuries and even the medical staff didn't have a clue what was wrong at times!

Miller just got clattered! same as McGeady last year incidentally but that didn't stop folk piling on and insisting he needed to prove his fitness.

All players surely need to prove their fitness anyway, bit of a daft statement really.

11-07-2023, 09:21 AM
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAa

JammyDoidger
11-07-2023, 09:21 AM
We can't really rely on miller and megwa at right back I said it weeks ago, none of them proven, and miller just seems to be injured constantly, still so much work to be done this window.

11-07-2023, 09:23 AM
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAa

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
You ok mate? Cat walk over the keyboard or something

11-07-2023, 09:24 AM
We can't really rely on miller and megwa at right back I said it weeks ago, none of them proven, and miller just seems to be injured constantly, still so much work to be done this window.

I think Megwa looks ready for at least a chance.

Miller is out for 5-7 days so I wouldn’t be rushing out to sign another right back.

We have Cadden when he is back too which will be a while, but we can’t just constantly sign cover and not give the young lads a chance if they seem ready.

If we did however look to bring someone in, it’s got to be Ryan strain from St Mirren imo.

11-07-2023, 09:25 AM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
You ok mate? Cat walk over the keyboard or something

Injuries getting me down mate.

11-07-2023, 09:38 AM
I wonder if we’ve considered moving for Bruce Anderson. Livingston accepted a bid from Steve Kean’s team in Georgia but the player rejected the move.

If he could be bought for £2/300k I think we could do worse. Good age and experience of the league. Would get a lot more chances with us.

We could defo do better as well but no guarantees there

I hope we’re not even considering spending £200-300k on Bruce Anderson.

That’d be a terrible use of that money.

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 09:45 AM

Agree.

Megwa might well be good but given Millers injury history last year could leave him as our only option and that isn’t enough imo.

We need a new RB, whether it’s a starting one or an experienced backup.

Fuzzywuzzy
https://twitter.com/scottmillar1/status/1678681098107191297?s=19

Saw this on twitter just now but ended up getting lost in a pallet bonfire htread

Miller is out for 5-7 days so I wouldn’t be rushing out to sign another right back.

We have Cadden when he is back too which will be a while, but we can’t just constantly sign cover and not give the young lads a chance if they seem ready.

If we did however look to bring someone in, it’s got to be Ryan strain from St Mirren imo.

I think Megwa looks the most first team ready of the development squad guys. Both ability wise and physically. Despite being a small guy he looks quite strong.

11-07-2023, 09:50 AM

So is it his fault if someone kicks him? How does his prove his fitness with a contact injury? Maybe we can blame the Hibs medical staff?

11-07-2023, 09:54 AM

Miller - only out for 5-7 days … 27 still 15 days away.

Could be longer of course but Delfierre or Megwa can step in there as well

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-07-2023, 10:24 AM
I hope we’re not even considering spending £200-300k on Bruce Anderson.

That’d be a terrible use of that money.

I hope not too. is Bruce Anderson any advance on Doidge? 7 goals in 36 games last year says he's not what we need.

Donegal Hibby
11-07-2023, 10:29 AM
Miller seemed to take a right dirty one just before Alf scored . Think he was on the ground holding his ankle .

11-07-2023, 10:31 AM
https://twitter.com/scottmillar1/status/1678681098107191297?s=19

Saw this on twitter just now but ended up getting lost in a pallet bonfire htread

Interesting but I think this will be to manage the buying of players whilst we wait for cash to arrive from sales and sell ons, specifically Doig. It is the same thing that happened for the refurb of the West stand, Ron put up the money and the club will pay that off over time. Having said all that, I am far from an expert (on anything!) and could be completely wrong!

scm70nyd1973
11-07-2023, 10:55 AM
Just back from the training session - spoke to Miller for a while - he’s fine 👍

11-07-2023, 10:56 AM

Good! Have a feeling he's going to be a standout for us this year.

11-07-2023, 10:59 AM

The een have done a piece about him and how he shows we don't need a right back.

I'd imagine that's been fed to them by the club, so I'd imagine we're looking to get him at least some game time.

McGruber
11-07-2023, 11:00 AM
Tbf - Miller was fit for a lot of the second half of the season, he just wasn't selected. Then when he was, came in played really well and shelved again. Yes he had a couple of injuries last year but he could have played a lot more - Cadden was just preferred

badabing67
11-07-2023, 11:01 AM

Thanx for sharing

BlackSheep
11-07-2023, 11:05 AM
Tbf - Miller was fit for a lot of the second half of the season, he just wasn't selected. Then when he was, came in played really well and shelved again. Yes he had a couple of injuries last year but he could have played a lot more - Cadden was just preferred

LJs usage of Miller seemed to be when we played a formation that used WBs over traditional RBs... Ironically for me Cadden is much better going forward than he is defensively in my opinion.

I think Miller should be our main RB/RWB going forward, he offers more defensively and offensively than most other players we have used in those positions in the last few years.

Miller's performances against Celtic in the latter end of the season show he is a fantastic player on his day.

11-07-2023, 11:07 AM

So we don't need to sell him then..... phew.

MikeyS
11-07-2023, 11:11 AM
So we don't need to sell him then..... phew.

No but I think we should all really ramp up the narrative that he is injury prone just so we have a ready made scapegoat should Marshall/JDH/Hanlon get injured! 😉

11-07-2023, 11:13 AM
Hibs already released official updates on injuries - both Newell and Miller will miss rest of the camp but only minor injuries and will be fine

scm70nyd1973
11-07-2023, 11:31 AM
Thanx for sharing

👍

11-07-2023, 11:37 AM
In the Megwa EEN article (Patrick McPartlin) I noticed this bit

“Having Megwa as back-up and competition for the right-back berth means Hibs can focus transfer activity on other areas of the squad – such as centre-back, with Hibs remaining hopeful of striking a deal to bring Will Fish back to Edinburgh”

Patrick will be closer to transfer activity than anyone else outside of the club so at least it’s still a reasonable chance re Fish.

BoyledEgg
11-07-2023, 11:52 AM
Myko’s girlfriend posted a video of flying out of Edinburgh airport

11-07-2023, 11:57 AM
Hibs already released official updates on injuries - both Newell and Miller will miss rest of the camp but only minor injuries and will be fine

I was going to ask them if they could make him a bit lame in one leg, during the middle of the week.

11-07-2023, 12:20 PM
Big Myk back training with Troyes

11-07-2023, 12:29 PM
I think your wrong in your assessment.

11-07-2023, 12:30 PM

No way he's coming to Hibs

11-07-2023, 12:50 PM
I was going to ask them if they could make him a bit lame in one leg, during the middle of the week.

Bloody do-gooder.

11-07-2023, 12:51 PM

His partner appears to have the unofficial role of his photographer. She documents his life everywhere he goes!

11-07-2023, 12:54 PM
No way he's coming to Hibs

I dinnae understand why there's "no way".

He's a good player, but last season his team came second bottom and were relegated with 4 wins in 38 games...and they were happy to loan him out.

I can see him being here next season.

hibee1875
11-07-2023, 01:43 PM

Exactly. Too many folk writing him off as a sick note after taking a dull yin

JamesHFC
11-07-2023, 02:31 PM
Will Fish included in Man Utd's 26 man squad travelling to Norway for a friendly v Leeds.

11-07-2023, 02:34 PM
Will Fish included in Man Utd's 26 man squad travelling to Norway for a friendly v Leeds.

Fair play to him. Hope he’s not there for long, though.

Donegal Hibby
11-07-2023, 03:14 PM
Article on Newell and Miller injuries.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/23648451.joe-newell-fitness-latest-hibs-face-race-clock/

11-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Hibs will still bring in a couple of loan deals that will be first team players from the off.

11-07-2023, 04:07 PM
Article on Newell and Miller injuries.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/23648451.joe-newell-fitness-latest-hibs-face-race-clock/

Miller said "Hopefully I can get regular game-time and I’ll be able to prove to the fans, the gaffer and myself that I can break the limits and be one of the best full-backs in the league.

“I truly believe that. That will come with consistent game-time.

“If I’m fit I think I can beat anyone on my day and I’m prepared to give 110 per cent this season.”

Miller showed what he can offer in the games at the end of last season. I particularly enjoyed his performance against Celtic and how he managed a much more experienced opponent. I really hope he can stay fit though, the poor form then long injury, hopefully that's behind him.

With the lack of cover there, hopefully Megwa can step up, I'd rather see him given a chance than Campbell shoehorned in at right back.

11-07-2023, 04:59 PM
Hibs will still bring in a couple of loan deals that will be first team players from the off.

I’m hoping for more than loans tbh

We need a striker on a permanent

cameronw-hfc
11-07-2023, 05:06 PM
I’m hoping for more than loans tbh

We need a striker on a permanent

2 loans 2 perms the plan I've heard. Could change if people get injured and if we can't move some on, but heard the club want 4 more and are planning for 2 loans 2 perms

11-07-2023, 05:14 PM
This guy is available. Make it happen, Hibs.

https://i.postimg.cc/3rBSFhxZ/FB-IMG-1689095543821.jpg

11-07-2023, 05:58 PM
2 loans 2 perms the plan I've heard. Could change if people get injured and if we can't move some on, but heard the club want 4 more and are planning for 2 loans 2 perms

I’d be happy with 2 perms and 2 loans if the 2 perms are a CB and striker

11-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Fair play to him. Hope he’s not there for long, though.

I'm sure he was involved for one game last pre season for them, you wouldn't imagine him being involved in first team action for United in the up coming season.

All very quiet on Fish, I'm sure the club are trying to get him but how long can we really be waiting for?

Still a few weeks till Europe and the beginning of the season for something to happen.

11-07-2023, 06:33 PM
If he’s getting included in a 26 man team pre-season he won’t be thinking of hibs

BS44
11-07-2023, 06:38 PM
This guy is available. Make it happen, Hibs.

https://i.postimg.cc/3rBSFhxZ/FB-IMG-1689095543821.jpg

Has Jon Stark match winner for hire retired yet?

11-07-2023, 06:40 PM
If he’s getting included in a 26 man team pre-season he won’t be thinking of hibs

I’m sure he was away with them for pre season last season so not sure it really means too much. That said, I’m starting to think we won’t be seeing him back up here.

11-07-2023, 06:41 PM

I think their internationalists might still have to return, when they do he’ll be miles down the pecking order.

Probably means he won’t be signing in the next few days though

11-07-2023, 06:43 PM
I’m sure he was away with them for pre season last season so not sure it really means too much. That said, I’m starting to think we won’t be seeing him back up here.

Aye same, pretty sure he played a half as well during a tour of Asia or somewhere.

I really want him back but there does come a time when we need to move on to other targets. That time isn't yet though.

11-07-2023, 06:44 PM
Fair play to fish, that’s some going getting in their 26 man squad.

Think he’ll go on to have a too career, hopefully starting with us.

Championship clubs should be all over him though.

I think the good thing with him and Myko is that they never played the whole season for us, if they did I don’t think we’d stand a chance getting either back

11-07-2023, 06:46 PM
https://twitter.com/21_dougie/status/1678836838004412418?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Surely can’t be true about not seeing going a number 9 this window, would be criminal

11-07-2023, 06:52 PM
https://twitter.com/21_dougie/status/1678836838004412418?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Surely can’t be true about not seeing going a number 9 this window, would be criminal

Still think we’ll sign another out and out striker. But I wouldn’t rule out another wide player and seeing us going with Youan through the middle. Or is signing another player similar to him.

11-07-2023, 07:00 PM
Still think we’ll sign another out and out striker. But I wouldn’t rule out another wide player and seeing us going with Youan through the middle. Or is signing another player similar to him.

Youan and Boyle through the middle with Obita and Miller as wing backs? In a 532, that is

Similarly though, I can't see us not signing a "No 9" and a CB as a minimum

Looking at Utd travelling squad, it's predominantly youth or fringe players so only thing it tells us is nothing imminent regarding Fish

11-07-2023, 07:01 PM

Maybe Obita has made us reconsider and we plan on using him as left of the front 3 with Youan through the middle too?

We have quite a few options as we have versatile players, but I think they only works in spells.

I want to see Melkersen at least get a chance there as he’s never a winger imo, who knows ALF might be looking really sharp too

11-07-2023, 07:05 PM

I still think we’ve signed one with ALF.

I’d like us to sign another to provide cover but I’m not overly worried. I also think Melkerson is a player with masses of potential and will need s chance up front at some point.

11-07-2023, 07:05 PM
Need to give Melkerson a run playing in the middle to see if he's got it. No point just punting him out wide. Not just an LJ thing, for as long as I remember managers have been sticking cental players out wide just because they were fast or a bit slight.

11-07-2023, 07:09 PM
Youan and Boyle through the middle with Obita and Miller as wing backs? In a 532, that is

Similarly though, I can't see us not signing a "No 9" and a CB as a minimum

Looking at Utd travelling squad, it's predominantly youth or fringe players so only thing it tells us is nothing imminent regarding Fish

We’ll need 2 new starting centre backs if we are going 5-3-2

11-07-2023, 07:11 PM

I think we need 2 anyway tbh

We’ll not be playing 532 or 352 thankfully

Paloschi

This substantiates what I heard. The scouting team are busy identifying players but from what I was told Johnson is happy with ALF as the main striker. He may see Boyle as a forward and we also have Melkersen who may get a chance.

Silky
11-07-2023, 07:13 PM
Maybe Obita has made us reconsider and we plan on using him as left of the front 3 with Youan through the middle too?

We have quite a few options as we have versatile players, but I think they only works in spells.

I want to see Melkersen at least get a chance there as he’s never a winger imo, who knows ALF might be looking really sharp too

I'm the same. I'd like to see Melkersen get a chance as well. We might well be considering using Obita wide and Youan, or even Boyle, more centrally. We also have to make a decision on Dan Mackay, who can also play wide or cental. I imagine after last season he'll want games. Will he do a job? Who knows.

11-07-2023, 07:17 PM

Has LJ confirmed this?
I’m concerned about the centre back positions. Rocky is suspended for the first 2 league games, and 1st League cup game, although he can play in Europe
We are one injury away from having no centre backs for the League and cup campaign. We need 2 in pronto
Can we we rely on Lewis Miller, he just seems to go from one injury to another

11-07-2023, 07:17 PM

Good to know LJ 👍

11-07-2023, 07:22 PM
I'm the same. I'd like to see Melkersen get a chance as well. We might well be considering using Obita wide and Youan, or even Boyle, more centrally. We also have to make a decision on Dan Mackay, who can also play wide or cental. I imagine after last season he'll want games. Will he do a job? Who knows.

I had heard Ross county were interested in Dan Mackay, thought he may be given a chance but considering he was right back in the last friendly I’m not convinced

11-07-2023, 07:32 PM

Maybe there is a place for Doidge ?

11-07-2023, 07:35 PM
Surely the only reason we don’t sign a number 9 is if we are struggling to get rid of Doidge? Youan has many qualities but I don’t see him giving us what Nisbet and to a lesser extent Myk gave us.

11-07-2023, 07:39 PM
This substantiates what I heard. The scouting team are busy identifying players but from what I was told Johnson is happy with ALF as the main striker. He may see Boyle as a forward and we also have Melkersen who may get a chance.

Would be worried if Le Fondre is the only striker we sign.

11-07-2023, 07:41 PM
Maybe there is a place for Doidge ?

Therw probably is. Dundee or somewhere.

11-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Would be worried if Le Fondre is the only striker we sign.

It's not ideal but unless we shift folk we've got Alf, Doidge, Melkersen, Boyle, Youan, Mackay who are all forwards, plus McKirdy who's on the wage bill but unavailable.

If we don't move anyone on, I wouldn't be surprised to see us go for a loan to s supplement what's there.

Not the situation I'd want, but I can see it going that way.

Paloschi
11-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Surely the only reason we don’t sign a number 9 is if we are struggling to get rid of Doidge? Youan has many qualities but I don’t see him giving us what Nisbet and to a lesser extent Myk gave us.

Hibs are actively trying to move Doidge on

11-07-2023, 07:47 PM
Manchester Evening News reported only a few days ago that Hibs were interested in signing Will full time but would be more than haopy to have him back on loan.
From a United POV i dont think he will get much game time there next season so woukd it not be more beneficial to Will and indeed United to loan him out again? I actually think he might be back next season.

11-07-2023, 07:55 PM
Has Jon Stark match winner for hire retired yet?

One of my favourite players when I was a youngster.

Gordy M
11-07-2023, 07:58 PM
I think Le Fondre will score a barrowload this season....depending how much he plays. We create so many chances and have been crying out for an out and out finisher which his career shows he is. Ive high hopes for him......all depends on his longevity i suppose. Ive no worries about the quality.

11-07-2023, 08:00 PM
If we’re just rolling with a 36 year old

We have learned nothing from last season with mcgeady being the like for like example being one injury for an older player seems to be a potential season ending injury

This could be the same for any age of player but we need a younger more mobile number 9 up there to ease the load of ALF

11-07-2023, 08:04 PM
Heard we are after a young Austrian forward, Marlon Mustapha. Apparently a loan deal. Can play on the wing. A few clubs interested.

Has just signed for Como in Serie B for €900k.

11-07-2023, 08:09 PM
If we’re just rolling with a 36 year old

We have learned nothing from last season with mcgeady being the like for like example being one injury for an older player seems to be a potential season ending injury

This could be the same for any age of player but we need a younger more mobile number 9 up there to ease the load of ALF

We won’t be.

But simply comparing the situation to McGeady isn’t fair, in my opinion.

Paloschi
11-07-2023, 08:14 PM
Marlon Mustapha has joined Como on a permanent deal. Mainz must have decided to cash in. I can see the appeal of Como but we must have been in with a shout if they are who he has decided to join. I am not sure how advanced we were with this one as apparently we were exploring loan with option to buy and his contract needed renewed.

Paloschi
11-07-2023, 08:16 PM
Has just signed for Como in Serie B for €900k.

Beat me to it! Calciomercato?

CentreForward
11-07-2023, 08:18 PM
Can really see us now not signing a number 9. Despite the other possible permutations mentioned here still think not signing one would show a real lack of intent from the club. At least one CB, hopefully two, clearly absolutely imperative.

11-07-2023, 08:20 PM
Can really see us now not signing a number 9. Despite the other possible permutations mentioned here still think not signing one would show a real lack of intent from the club. At least one CB, hopefully two, clearly absolutely imperative.

Keep the faith fella. Im sure more signings coming in

HendoDelivered
11-07-2023, 08:22 PM
If we were trying to get Myko but but is now not happening, we are defo bringing another striker in, its common sense

11-07-2023, 08:24 PM
If we're not after a striker, they can find new careers, recruitment ain't for them.

CentreForward
11-07-2023, 08:28 PM
Keep the faith fella. Im sure more signings coming in

Hope you’re right !

11-07-2023, 08:28 PM
Honestly, despite the signings so far, I feel the squad is much weaker than last season. It would be absolutely criminal to not sign a replacement for Nisbet, and Fish for that matter if he isn’t coming.

I understand a few may need to move on from a wages perspective.

Can only hope there’s a few to come in especially a bit of quality up front and at the back.

11-07-2023, 08:35 PM
Has LJ confirmed this?
I’m concerned about the centre back positions. Rocky is suspended for the first 2 league games, and 1st League cup game, although he can play in Europe
We are one injury away from having no centre backs for the League and cup campaign. We need 2 in pronto
Can we we rely on Lewis Miller, he just seems to go from one injury to another

He’s already said he doesn’t like playing with a a back 3.

On top of that, he’s probably noticed all other teams that play it are pish

11-07-2023, 08:35 PM
Honestly, despite the signings so far, I feel the squad is much weaker than last season. It would be absolutely criminal to not sign a replacement for Nisbet.

We have lost Nisbet and Fish

But we have recruited Levit and Adam LF and kept Youan.

We have strenghted goalkeeping and arguably left back position.

Boyle is back as well but lost Cadden and McKirdy for 6 months.

Overall (right now) I would say we are net about the same stength. Assuming we replace Will Fish and Nisbet with two decent players I think we will go into next season stronger and a management team with a year under its belt and some stability.

11-07-2023, 08:38 PM
It would be absolutely mad not to sign a striker to replace nisbet.

To rely on a 36 year old, a striker who’s stopped scoring and a young striker would be absolutely mental.

11-07-2023, 08:38 PM
Honestly, despite the signings so far, I feel the squad is much weaker than last season. It would be absolutely criminal to not sign a replacement for Nisbet, and Fish for that matter if he isn’t coming.

I understand a few may need to move on from a wages perspective.

Can only hope there’s a few to come in especially a bit of quality up front and at the back.

we do need to move a few more players on if we can , But we have moved on and let go more players than we have brought in
We got money for Porto and Nisbet and are about to get money for Doig
So we will be bringing in a few more players even if no one else moves

JammyDoidger
11-07-2023, 08:42 PM
We have lost Nisbet and Fish

But we have recruited Levit and Adam LF and kept Youan.

We have strenghted goalkeeping and arguably left back position.

Boyle is back as well but lost Cadden and McKirdy for 6 months.

Overall (right now) I would say we are net about the same stength. Assuming we replace Will Fish and Nisbet with two decent players I think we will go into next season stronger and a management team with a year under its belt and some stability.

Our squad is weaker now we don't have Fish, Myko, Nisbet and Egan Riley that there is no doubt. le fondre, obita, and Levitt don't match what we've lost imo.

11-07-2023, 08:44 PM

To rely on a 36 year old, a striker who’s stopped scoring and a young striker would be absolutely mental.

Whilst I agree we need to sign a striker, I think the loss of Nisbet is offset a bit by the return of Boyle. As long as he’s fit, that’s guaranteed double figures, just from a different position.

But if we go and get a good quality striker in, that would have us looking pretty strong in the final third.

11-07-2023, 08:47 PM
Let’s all settle down troops, the transfer window is open until 1st September, plenty time for business.

11-07-2023, 08:47 PM
Our squad is weaker now we don't have Fish, Myko, Nisbet and Egan Riley that there is no doubt. le fondre, obita, and Levitt don't match what we've lost imo.

Can’t really count Myko, he didn’t make any meaningful contribution for months and wasn’t really part of our improvement in the latter part of the season. The other three are losses but I think we’re on the right track with the squad.

11-07-2023, 08:48 PM
Let’s all settle down troops, the transfer window is open until 1st September, plenty time for business.

Hopefully business done well before that to give us a proper shot at European qualification.

11-07-2023, 08:52 PM

I thought ALF scored in our last game?

11-07-2023, 08:53 PM
I think we’ll prioritise a new CB and we’ll get one in the next few weeks. I think we’ll then need to wait until near enough the deadline to get another 2 or 3 in on loan.

Probably facing Europe with the current squad

11-07-2023, 08:56 PM

Aye that’s fine.

But it’s a tough ask relying on a 36 year old to continue doing that throughout the season.

With regards to striker who’s stopped scoring I was referring to was Doidge

11-07-2023, 08:59 PM

think the striker who’s stopped scoring is a separate player to ALF (doidge I suspect)

ah, Stuart93 has confirmed lol

Willis1875
11-07-2023, 09:00 PM
Whilst I agree we need to sign a striker, I think the loss of Nisbet is offset a bit by the return of Boyle. As long as he’s fit, that’s guaranteed double figures, just from a different position.

But if we go and get a good quality striker in, that would have us looking pretty strong in the final third.

Having Boyle back is great but it’s far from guaranteed double figures,he’s only done that twice at Hibs(once on league goals)

11-07-2023, 09:01 PM
We’re surely not going to start pretending we’d be okay with a no9 not coming in?

I don’t suspect it’s true and I reckon we will but worrying if that’s what coming from the hibs camp just now

11-07-2023, 09:04 PM
Aye that’s fine.

But it’s a tough ask relying on a 36 year old to continue doing that throughout the season.

With regards to striker who’s stopped scoring I was referring to was Doidge

Is it? Ibrahimovic was still scoring at 41. Ronaldo is still scoring at 38.
There are other examples of older players managing to stay fit and healthy, and contribute significantly to their team.

I'm not writing ALF off.

Keepthefaith
11-07-2023, 09:05 PM

This. If doige had been handed the number 9 shirt then we'd have room for concern. However given the club have reserved it, we need to trust the process. Our targets will have other offers, some more attractive...that's not a failure of the recruitment team, it's the reality of our budget and stature

So yeah, breathe, pause and trust that all is being done behind the scenes that is needed. The big change from last season is we now have a very capable DOF to oversee things

11-07-2023, 09:06 PM
Is it? Ibrahimovic was still scoring at 41. Ronaldo is still scoring at 38.
There are other examples of older players managing to stay fit and healthy, and contribute significantly to their team.

I'm not writing ALF off.

Fletcher was good for Dundee Utd too last season as well.

I know he was a bit younger but Kevin Van Veen falls into the older category as well and he did pretty well for Well last season.

I think Alf will be a good signing.

11-07-2023, 09:07 PM
By all accounts we wanted to spend a big chunk of our money on a striker.

For them to rip that up now that we are not getting Kuka would be beyond mad.

We need:
Two CB’s.
One CM.
One CF.

I would settle for a CB and CM being in on loan (if the squad stays as it is currently).

I expect there to be a lot more movement in both directions because it’s just nowhere near good enough.

We’re at absolute best, level with where we were last season, which saw us have an abysmal time in the cups and finish fifth which is not good enough.

I don’t personally think we are as good squad wise as we were last season so there really is work to be done.

I’m not one to panic with these things but I was really hoping they had targets lined up ready to go with Europe coming so soon, but that’s not happened to the extent it was needed.

We still have time for a few new players to come in and settle by the time we play the team we are most likely going to struggle against (next again round) but we are running out of it.

These rumours from the training session are not good. SURELY they’ve learned from last season. Surely they are reinvesting that £2M into the squad?!

11-07-2023, 09:10 PM
Having Boyle back is great but it’s far from guaranteed double figures,he’s only done that twice at Hibs(once on league goals)

And the twice he did it was his most recent, injury free seasons. 20/21 (15 goals) and 21/22 (14 goals despite leaving in January). He came back and was sitting on 5 in 12 games last season. He’d developed in to a totally different player to the one we had previously when he wasn’t hitting double figures. If he’s fit, he’ll comfortably get double figures IMO.

HFC93
11-07-2023, 09:13 PM
Surely the fact that we don't have a no 9 indicates that we'll sign a no 9. Too many panic merchants on here.

11-07-2023, 09:16 PM
Surely the fact that we don't have a no 9 indicates that we'll sign a no 9. Too many panic merchants on here.

I think we will too but I think the point is there’s no need to panic. If we can’t find anybody just now, we can probably get away with waiting to find the right person in January.

11-07-2023, 09:16 PM

No-ones blindly panicking.

The reactions is on the back of what someone’s been told at the open training day in marbella

11-07-2023, 09:18 PM
I think we will too but I think the point is there’s no need to panic. If we can’t find anybody just now, we can probably get away with waiting to find the right person in January.

Eh? Januarys notoriously difficult to try find the right players.

If we have already identified areas that need strengthening I’d prefer us to get them strengthened now and full steam ahead for this season

We went into last season underprepared with regards to signing and the first half cost us over the long run

I’m genuinely struggling to agree with the opinion that we’ll be fine heading into the season with what we’ve got striker wise. And more mental that you’d be comfortable waiting until January

hibsforeurope
11-07-2023, 09:21 PM
We’re now into the 5th, 6th(?) transfer window and we’re still no further forward with tackling the centre half area of the squad. This area is every bit as important as replacing nisbet. We need 2 CH so why not get 1 in now and then it takes the pressure off if we don’t end up getting fish. Partnerships take time to form, we’re losing valuable game time to form this.

11-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Ah the wonderful panic mode time as we get longer into the transfer window. Everything will be ok.

11-07-2023, 09:23 PM
Eh? Januarys notoriously difficult to try find the right players.

If we have already identified areas that need strengthening I’d prefer us to get them strengthened now and full steam ahead for this season

We went into last season underprepared with regards to signing and the first half cost us over the long run

I get that, the ideal is to finalise the squad just now.

I also just think ALF is being undervalued, I also think Melkerson could well be a good player if played up front in a team that creates chances.

I totally get your point of view, I’m just thinking if I’m the manager or the money man at Hibs just now I probably wouldn’t be held to ransom. Appreciate not everyone will agree though.

11-07-2023, 09:25 PM
I get that, the ideal is to finalise the squad just now.

I also just think ALF is being undervalued, I also think Melkerson could well be a good player if played up front in a team that creates chances.

I totally get your point of view, I’m just thinking if I’m the manager or the money man at Hibs just now I probably wouldn’t be held to ransom. Appreciate not everyone will agree though.

If I’m the manager at hibs I absolutely want a no9 in so we can be best placed in challenging for 3rd place and potentially on the European front. To go with ALF, Doidge and melkersen would be mad.

Again, I don’t suspect whatever the persons been told at the training camp will end up being true in the end.

babahibs
11-07-2023, 09:29 PM
How long is there to go until the transfer window slams shut?

11-07-2023, 09:30 PM

About 6 weeks :-)

hibsforeurope
11-07-2023, 09:31 PM

Midnight on the 1st September

11-07-2023, 09:31 PM
If I’m the manager at hibs I absolutely want a no9 in so we can be best placed in challenging for 3rd place and potentially on the European front. To go with ALF, Doidge and melkersen would be mad.

Again, I don’t suspect whatever the persons been told at the training camp will end up being true in the end.

What if you’ve found the number 9 you really want but it’s touch and go if you’ll get him this summer but have a great chance of getting him in January?

Would you take a punt on someone you’re not so sure of now?

Genuine question by the way, I’m not arguing for the sake of it.

babahibs
11-07-2023, 09:36 PM
You'd think the window was slamming shut tonight the way same folk are going on.
Calm down to a panic usual suspects
THERE'S 6 WEEKS TO GO

11-07-2023, 09:37 PM
No-ones blindly panicking.

The reactions is on the back of what someone’s been told at the open training day in marbella

It’s just panic. There are a handful of posters on the edge of panic all the time. Plenty more ins and outs.

11-07-2023, 09:50 PM
Ah the wonderful panic mode time as we get longer into the transfer window. Everything will be ok.
Don't you just love it? All based on, well not a lot really.

hibsforeurope
11-07-2023, 09:51 PM
You'd think the window was slamming shut tonight the way same folk are going on.
Calm down to a panic usual suspects
THERE'S 6 WEEKS TO GO

There might be 6 weeks to go but we’re 2 weeks away from the 1st competitive game and we play 8 games before the window shuts. That’s a lot of games to play while still scrambling to assemble a squad.

CentreForward
11-07-2023, 10:18 PM
Bringing guys in before the first euro games might not happen but if it’s not before the St Mirren game then that’s not good.

11-07-2023, 10:46 PM
Don't you just love it? All based on, well not a lot really.

It’s what someone at Hibs has told someone at the training camp

It’s also not ok to wait until January for a target as half the season will be gone.

HFC93
11-07-2023, 11:28 PM
It’s what someone at Hibs has told someone at the training camp

It’s also not ok to wait until January for a target as half the season will be gone.

It's on the internet so it must be true.

11-07-2023, 11:42 PM
It’s just panic. There are a handful of posters on the edge of panic all the time. Plenty more ins and outs.

I see absolutely zero panic on here. This word gets used loads on this site and it leaves me genuinely wondering if posters have ever seen anyone actually panic before 🤔.

A few a voicing concerns based on hypothetical scenarios. Others are saying no issue with not signing a no. 9. There is a bit of debate. That's kinda it really. Pretty standard transfer thread chat.

I'm personally relaxed given how much time we have left in the window, but we need a no. 9 in before the season starts imo. Our current attacking options for that position are not good enough if we have ambitions to improve on last season.

I do wonder if the delay in the Doig transfer is holding us up though. We have a big windfall potentially coming, and it may be the club have targets dependant on that happening.

11-07-2023, 11:44 PM
It'll be fine

11-07-2023, 11:45 PM
It's on the internet so it must be true.

It's the summer transfer window thread - the whole thing is just wild speculation! Without that we'd just need to shut the thing down. Every time we are linked with a player it'll be because someone has mentioned it on the Internet. Mostly pish but it keeps us going over the long, footballless summer.

12-07-2023, 06:07 AM
Today's the day that Josh Doig is supposed to sign for Torino, is it not?

There's a brief glimpse of him here away with Verona for pre season, if it were a done deal with Torino would he be there?

https://twitter.com/HellasVeronaFC/status/1678815992435048450

12-07-2023, 06:29 AM
There might be 6 weeks to go but we’re 2 weeks away from the 1st competitive game and we play 8 games before the window shuts. That’s a lot of games to play while still scrambling to assemble a squad.

We have signed 6 players. Hardly scrambling.

12-07-2023, 06:36 AM
Today's the day that Josh Doig is supposed to sign for Torino, is it not?

There's a brief glimpse of him here away with Verona for pre season, if it were a done deal with Torino would he be there?

https://twitter.com/HellasVeronaFC/status/1678815992435048450
Pretty sure it's all still happening. Apparently he is there but won't play in any matches.

12-07-2023, 06:57 AM
What have I woken up to.

Last week the site was loving life after signing Levitt. Then there's one post that can't be verified by anyone else and the usual suspects are all over it digging into the club for "scrambling" about.

WILD.

12-07-2023, 07:00 AM
We are definitely looking for a no 9.

hibsforeurope
12-07-2023, 07:03 AM
We have signed 6 players. Hardly scrambling.

It’s not the amount we’ve signed, it’s the key positions we’ve still, after plenty of windows, not addressed.

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2023, 07:04 AM
I see absolutely zero panic on here. This word gets used loads on this site and it leaves me genuinely wondering if posters have ever seen anyone actually panic before 🤔.

A few a voicing concerns based on hypothetical scenarios. Others are saying no issue with not signing a no. 9. There is a bit of debate. That's kinda it really. Pretty standard transfer thread chat.

I'm personally relaxed given how much time we have left in the window, but we need a no. 9 in before the season starts imo. Our current attacking options for that position are not good enough if we have ambitions to improve on last season.

I do wonder if the delay in the Doig transfer is holding us up though. We have a big windfall potentially coming, and it may be the club have targets dependant on that happening.

Saying that “if” we don’t sign a number 9 then it’s poor from Hibs isn’t panicking.

Saying “if” we don’t sign a number 9 then it’s poor from Hibs isn’t digging out the club.

For all the usual punters can’t wait to line up to have a pop at other fans, nobody has slaughtered the club as they’d have you believe.

12-07-2023, 07:07 AM
It’s not the amount we’ve signed, it’s the key positions we’ve still, after plenty of windows, not addressed.

Which are?

12-07-2023, 07:15 AM
Which are?

Manager. :greengrin

12-07-2023, 07:15 AM

Stuart93 is in full panic mode. :greengrin

12-07-2023, 07:17 AM

Saying that “if” we don’t sign a number 9 then it’s poor from Hibs isn’t panicking.

Saying “if” we don’t sign a number 9 then it’s poor from Hibs isn’t digging out the club.

For all the usual punters can’t wait to line up to have a pop at other fans, nobody has slaughtered the club as they’d have you believe.

Stop panicking. :greengrin

12-07-2023, 07:17 AM
Manager. :greengrin

Oh aye forgot about him......:wink:

12-07-2023, 07:18 AM
Oh aye forgot about him......:wink:

I’m always here to remind you flash :greengrin

12-07-2023, 07:23 AM
I’m always here to remind you flash :greengrin

My current position is I am giving him time as I am happy with the Director of Football appointment and the new signings.
Throw in a number 9 and a couple more additions think we might be alright.

12-07-2023, 07:36 AM
I think we are in better shape than 2019/20 when we scooped 3rd

An additional CB & a no9 and we are set up well for the season

12-07-2023, 07:41 AM
I've been Mr rubber sheets over the past few summer windows when it's felt like we've been at times watching a slow motion car crash following on from the time we finished 3rd.

This year though I'm very happy with the business we've done. Yes, we've still got a few bits and pieces we need to address but we've still got time and resource on our side to do so, so I'm really pretty chilled out about it.

I think we're going to have a good season, I have a good feeling.

12-07-2023, 08:03 AM
We are definitely looking for a no 9.

Jeffers … thank you and hopefully your recent track record can settle the nerves of the doomsday branch [emoji16]

BlackSheep
12-07-2023, 08:05 AM
Jeffers … thank you and hopefully your recent track record can settle the nerves of the doomsday branch [emoji16]

Any names kicking around??

12-07-2023, 08:24 AM
I've been Mr rubber sheets over the past few summer windows when it's felt like we've been at times watching a slow motion car crash following on from the time we finished 3rd.

This year though I'm very happy with the business we've done. Yes, we've still got a few bits and pieces we need to address but we've still got time and resource on our side to do so, so I'm really pretty chilled out about it.

I think we're going to have a good season, I have a good feeling.

I have the same feeling. Feeling very relaxed about the transfer window and think we'll have a good season ahead. There is no scatter gun approach and think we're being very strategic and meticulous with our signings. Obita looks a player, Levitt is a quality addition and Le Fondre gives us the experience we're missing. There will be a couple more at least. The coaching team all seem dialed in to what is required and it looks like we have a good squad with no disruptive influences. I am far from convinced about Robson/Naismith/McAvoy at our nearest rivals. Famous last words but think we will do well this season.

12-07-2023, 08:43 AM
What have I woken up to.

Last week the site was loving life after signing Levitt. Then there's one post that can't be verified by anyone else and the usual suspects are all over it digging into the club for "scrambling" about.

WILD.

“Usual suspects” hahaha.

There’s one poster who’s had a dig at the club.

And there’s a handful of others giving their opinion on us signing a no.9

This place would be a lot better if people actually posted about the topic of conversation instead of little sly digs at other posters.

12-07-2023, 08:44 AM
“Usual suspects” hahaha.

This place would be a lot better if people actually posted about the topic of conversation instead of little sly digs at other posters.

Don't take it to heart.

Also, this place would be a lot better if people weren't so bloody miserable.

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2023, 08:46 AM
“Usual suspects” hahaha.

There’s a band of posters who post purely in response to the person that’s posted rather than what’s actually been posted.

12-07-2023, 08:48 AM

There’s a band of posters who post purely in response to the person that’s posted rather than what’s actually been posted.

It’s a bit mad.

Like someone said the other day. People are more interested in reading the username than the post.

I’ve not seen anyone panicking. I’m pretty pleased with the business we’ve done so far but reckon it would be the wrong choice by the club not to recruit a no.9.

12-07-2023, 08:50 AM
My current position is I am giving him time as I am happy with the Director of Football appointment and the new signings.
Throw in a number 9 and a couple more additions think we might be alright.

That kind of sense will never fly with me mate. Joking aside, I think we have the setup in place to actually do quite well this coming season.

12-07-2023, 08:52 AM
Any names kicking around??

I don’t know any more than the positions we are looking to strengthen.

12-07-2023, 08:54 AM
It’s a bit mad.

Like someone said the other day. People are more interested in reading the username than the post.

I’ve not seen anyone panicking. I’m pretty pleased with the business we’ve done so far but reckon it would be the wrong choice by the club not to recruit a no.9.

THEY ARE GOING TO RECRUIT A NO.9. It would also be the wrong choice for the club to sell Easter Rd and play our games at Porty Beach.

12-07-2023, 08:55 AM
THEY ARE GOING TO RECRUIT A NO.9. It would also be the wrong choice for the club to sell Easter Rd and play our games at Porty Beach.

Imagine how slow Hanlon would look running on sand instead of grass!:greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2023, 08:56 AM

Maybe we will.

Someone has posted a tweet where it was suggested we wouldn’t. Someone else has said they’d heard the same. People are discussing that. It’s the point of the forum.

12-07-2023, 09:00 AM

You realise I haven’t just plucked that out of nowhere eh? I haven’t made up a hypothetical scenario where we don’t sign a no.9

I initially replied to a post that was a link to a tweet from someone who’s been at the open training day and been told we might not be signing a no.9

So if you could calm down a bit on the caps that would be grand.

12-07-2023, 09:01 AM
It’s a bit mad.

I like that. You've just called me "someone" as you didn't read my username. Good lad.

12-07-2023, 09:03 AM
I like that. You've just called me "someone" as you didn't read my username. Good lad.

There you go. Look beyond the username.

It had nothing to do with my memory

It was a fantastic point

12-07-2023, 09:04 AM
There you go. Look beyond the username.

It was a fantastic point

I really appreciate that. Always liked you. Whoever you are.

12-07-2023, 09:30 AM
Usual suspects spoiling another thread. Get a grip.

12-07-2023, 09:35 AM
Any transfer chat doing the rounds? Not been on a few days.

12-07-2023, 09:38 AM

There should be a thread pinned to the board solely for bickering, faux outrage, petty vendettas & trolling. The puns & Monty Python can go there too.

I’d ask on the thread if my good friend LeithMike still thinks Hibs should go for Colin Calderwood as manager….

12-07-2023, 09:38 AM
“Oh boy 4 new pages I wonder what the rumour is?”

Donegal Hibby
12-07-2023, 09:39 AM
Never had any doubts about us not bringing in a striker or defender tbh , two positions that we need players for . Think we will try to move on a couple too. We signed some good players in Youan , le fondre and Levitt and I'm quite confident we will get the players we need.

Joking a side . Talk of needing a new manager 2 or 3 weeks before our first competitive game is crazy and is nothing more then a personal agenda against the manager and not about what's beneficial in taking our football club forward this season.

12-07-2023, 09:51 AM
Never had any doubts about us not bringing in a striker or defender tbh , two positions that we need players for . Think we will try to move on a couple too. We signed some good players in Youan , le fondre and Levitt and I'm quite confident we will get the players we need.

Joking a side . Talk of needing a new manager 2 or 3 weeks before our first competitive game is crazy and is nothing more then a personal agenda against the manager and not about what's beneficial in taking our football club forward this season.

New manager? Where’s this came from?

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2023, 09:55 AM

Have I missed something regarding a new manager?

12-07-2023, 09:58 AM
New manager? Where’s this came from?

There wasn’t any. I made a joke about one of the positions needing strengthened was manager. Donegal Johnson has taken it to heart.

12-07-2023, 09:59 AM
There wasn’t any. I made a joke about one of the positions needing strengthened was manager. Donegal Johnson has taken it to heart.

A just about shat maself there.

12-07-2023, 09:59 AM
Stuart93 is in full panic mode. :greengrin

😂😂😂

McGruber
12-07-2023, 10:00 AM

If this is correct, what would be the 4 positions do we think. Like most saying, 2 CBs and big physical striker - what would be the 4th - winger, ACM, DCM 🤔
Personally would go with an out and out winger.

12-07-2023, 10:01 AM
Disappointed that Myko's gf seemed to be teasing with her Instagram posts.

We need another forward, whether its a 9, or someone who will allow us to play Youan through the middle, where I thought he played some of his best football last season.

12-07-2023, 10:02 AM
I hope we sign a number 9 too.

But I can’t help thinking the one we did sign…Le Fondre has been relegated in some people’s thoughts as a ‘break glass in case of emergency player’

Irrespective of whatever no 9 comes in I expect Alfie to be pushing to take his spot…if indeed we don’t see Alfie as first choice when the season starts

12-07-2023, 10:09 AM

Lee Johnson found the dressing room yet?

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2023, 10:11 AM

But I can’t help thinking the one we did sign…Le Fondre has been relegated in some people’s thoughts as a ‘break glass in case of emergency player’

Irrespective of whatever no 9 comes in I expect Alfie to be pushing to take his spot…if indeed we don’t see Alfie as first choice when the season starts

I just think it would be far too much of a gamble to have a 36 year old who has spent the last few years playing at a lower level as our main man.

I think he sounds like he’ll be a good back up but we should be looking for a proper no.9 to start every week imo.

McGruber
12-07-2023, 10:16 AM

I'm not doubting Le Fondre will score goals for us or that he can't be our main striker, just feel we need a target man type to compliment as he is a smaller guy, like Melkerson, McKirdy, Boyle. Even if it is an option to mix it up off the bench. Unless Doidge comes good again but can't see it