View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

06-06-2023, 10:02 AM
I was thinking he would be away as well, I did think macgregor as well but didn’t realise he was 30, I read something on twitter last night that hatate and kyogo had release clauses no idea how much substance is in it don’t think it was from anyone reputable but said 3m for hatate which is a steal and 6m for kyogo

Think every chance they would have a clause re EPL interest would be one of the big sells to them for signing for Celtic in the first place.

06-06-2023, 10:27 AM
The fans don't pick the team.

SJM is adored by Villa fans. He wasn't used properly by Gerrard and his form dipped, but he's as valuable to them as anyone else now.

He missed half a dozen games or so because of injury but has been an ever present since. He played 34 league games this season, only 2 less than their world cup winning goalkeeper.

Squad player he is not.

The fans don't pick the team, but they will watch Villa more than us and the general feeling was he wasn't playing well enough to be in the team, let alone be first pick as you claimed.

There is a Villa fan on here who watches then regularly and will have a handle on how he is viewed, happy to be proved wrong if that's not the case

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2023, 10:30 AM
I never really got it with Edouard. I know he scored goals but I thought he looked like he couldn’t be arsed. I’m not surprised at all he’s struggled with the step up. He’s got the ability but not the attitude, not what you can say about the other guys from Celtic.

Also unfair to hand pick one signing that didn’t work out, there’s been a lot more unsuccessful signings from other countries than Scotland. Scotland must be the best value for money league for English clubs to target.

Much like McGinn was a cert to do well down there, Edouard to me was a cert to be poor.

You need to have some ridiculous ability to get away with playing in his lazy looking style down there. He doesn’t have that.

06-06-2023, 10:30 AM
Good players in Scotland are good players in England. While the overall quality is obviously on a different stratosphere, individuals who do well here will do well down south, that’s been proven time and time again.

Kyogo and Hatate are both really excellent players imo, both would be good squad players down south. That’s not being disrespectful to them by saying they’re just squad players either, it’s just the reality that it’s a squad game now and all teams need strong depth of squad.

The work rate of those two and Maeada would stand them in good stead down south but I can’t see him taking the three of them. He’ll sign Kyogo though I think.

Fwiw Callum McGregor would easily be good enough for them too, he’s a top player. SJM and McTominay both played a decent number of minutes for teams that finished above Spurs last season, CM has proven on the field net rational stage he’s at least on a par with them.

Not necessarily sure I agree with the point of good players in Scotland being good players in England. For instance Mcgeough was absolutely outstanding in the top league in Scotland, and mediocre in League 1 in England.

Like everything, there's levels, so I don't quite agree it's as simple as that.

Mainstandman
06-06-2023, 10:37 AM
I watched the FA cup final followed by the Scottish Cup final. The difference in class was clearly visable, the touch, speed and vision of the celtic players was way below the english teams, of course players may step up. EPL players have a high level of consistent performance with moments of excellence, having poor games but some brilliance will get your dropped down there i think.

06-06-2023, 10:39 AM
The fans don't pick the team, but they will watch Villa more than us and the general feeling was he wasn't playing well enough to be in the team, let alone be first pick as you claimed.

There is a Villa fan on here who watches then regularly and will have a handle on how he is viewed, happy to be proved wrong if that's not the case

I said that he is first pick. He is.

Whether that was the case in the fans' minds under Gerrard, I don't know, but he kept getting picked.

You said he's a squad player. He's clearly not. That's the disagreement, not what the fans may or may not have thought.

06-06-2023, 10:44 AM
I watched the FA cup final followed by the Scottish Cup final. The difference in class was clearly visable, the touch, speed and vision of the celtic players was way below the english teams, of course players may step up. EPL players have a high level of consistent performance with moments of excellence, having poor games but some brilliance will get your dropped down there i think.

The Celtic players didn't get out of 2nd gear, tbf, they didn't have to.

United v City was a different beast altogether so it's not really comparing like for like.

You're right, of course, there definitely is a big difference in class, but I don't think Saturday's games were a true reflection of it

06-06-2023, 10:46 AM
I said that he is first pick. He is.

Whether that was the case in the fans' minds under Gerrard, I don't know, but he kept getting picked.

You said he's a squad player. He's clearly not. That's the disagreement, not what the fans may or may not have thought.

You said he was the first name on the team sheet, not a first pick.

He's clearly not been the first name on the teamsheet this season as he was pretty woeful for the first half of it. Anyway, I'll leave it at that and not divert the thread any further.

06-06-2023, 10:50 AM

He's clearly not been the first name on the teamsheet this season as he was pretty woeful for the first half of it. Anyway, I'll leave it at that and not divert the thread any further.

I don't know what the difference between first pick and first name on the teamsheet is. In case you do see a difference, they're the same thing to me.

Do you stand by your remark that he's a squad player?

McGruber
06-06-2023, 10:57 AM
Morgan Feeney sounds like a good player at a good age. Hopefully get Fish back too and that would be a solid start.

chippy
06-06-2023, 11:05 AM
Morgan Feeney sounds like a good player at a good age. Hopefully get Fish back too and that would be a solid start.
Is he a lefty or righty?

EGL2000
06-06-2023, 11:08 AM

Good age at 24 anyway. I always just end up getting the fear with players from League 2 and below. We have signed some people who were stand outs in league 1 and turned out extremely poor. Obviously each player is very different though and looks to have played well this season.

EGL2000
06-06-2023, 11:09 AM

Do you think he would be seen as a starter or more a squad option?

EGL2000
06-06-2023, 11:09 AM
Is he a lefty or righty?

Right footed.

HFC93
06-06-2023, 11:21 AM

Tbf you did say he was a squad player is complete nonsense. Cleary a starter for Villa.

hibsforeurope
06-06-2023, 11:21 AM

Without masses of cash to spend, we should be signing people who are ready made starters this summer.

06-06-2023, 11:24 AM
Tbf you did say he was a squad player is complete nonsense. Cleary a starter for Villa.

Squad players are also starters, they are just not necessarily first picks automatically.

I'd argue for the majority of this season McGinn fell into that category.

Look at his brother for example, Paul, when he played with us he started and played in the majority of our games but I think he'd have been described as a squad player.

MagicSwirlingShip
06-06-2023, 11:50 AM
35 starts as a squad player is good going. Also good for a first pick.

Braw Fitba player.

06-06-2023, 12:17 PM
35 starts as a squad player is good going. Also good for a first pick.

Braw Fitba player.

Certainly not bad for a squad player: The Captain of his club who gave 8 MoM performances in a row, and who played 34 out 38 league games despite being missing a few through injury early in the season, and who the manager said was a great example to the other players.

Villa are going to be superb when they find a regular starter.

06-06-2023, 12:37 PM
Any hibs chat?

06-06-2023, 12:47 PM
So McGinn chat aside, any further news on Nisbet or potential players we are looking at, shipping some we already have?

McGruber
06-06-2023, 12:51 PM
Good age at 24 anyway. I always just end up getting the fear with players from League 2 and below. We have signed some people who were stand outs in league 1 and turned out extremely poor. Obviously each player is very different though and looks to have played well this season.

Yeah, I get that - especially with McKirdy fresh in the mind. Would take peace of mind in that Johnson has worked with him at Sunderland so should know what he has to offer as a player and character. Also having been at Sunderland he'll have been involved at a big club that sets high standards.. even though they haven't met them most of the time!

McGruber
06-06-2023, 12:53 PM

Imagine he'd be viewed as a starter/starting option. If we got Fish back we should be starting where we left off with him though and he would be starting right side CB

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2023, 12:57 PM
Any hibs chat?
Pretty quiet on the transfer rumours . Transfer window opens in 8 days time and players back at HTC on the 22 . Would be nice if we could get a few in early. Key dates here.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/key-dates-for-summer-2023

jakeshibs
06-06-2023, 01:13 PM
Any hibs chat?

Great question

06-06-2023, 01:17 PM
Great question

Its a general transfer thread, not Hibs specific.

Also, wouldn't we be talking about it if there was?

06-06-2023, 01:18 PM
Any hibs chat?

Wasn’t sure when we started to sign players last summer, remember Bojang being one of the first so just checked and see that was the 8th June. Feels like we should mark that anniversary in some way.

Incidentally, saw that Gambia got through to the last 16 of the under 20 World Cup, they must have a few good young Bojangs coming through the system, maybe a market we should keep an eye on.

06-06-2023, 01:18 PM
Great question

What's the answer? 🤔

06-06-2023, 01:23 PM
Wasn’t sure when we started to sign players last summer, remember Bojang being one of the first so just checked and see that was the 8th June. Feels like we should mark that anniversary in some way.

Incidentally, saw that Gambia got through to the last 16 of the under 20 World Cup, they must have a few good young Bojangs coming through the system, maybe a market we should keep an eye on.

I’d have expected some movement on the players that are out of contract. We could do with moving early for a change.

HFC93
06-06-2023, 01:29 PM
Any hibs chat?

Nope - hence the other chat.

06-06-2023, 01:31 PM
I’d have expected some movement on the players that are out of contract. We could do with moving early for a change.

We moved early last year did we not?

Just checked and Kenneh was the 23rd May, Bojang 8th June, Tavares 15 June, Marshall 23rd May.

Maybe better we take a bit more time this season 😂

06-06-2023, 01:33 PM
Van Veen being offered around 10k a week at Groningen. Think those that want him can quickly forget the idea given Motherwell will want a decent fee too.

EGL2000
06-06-2023, 01:35 PM
Van Veen being offered around 10k a week at Groningen. Think those that want him can quickly forget the idea given Motherwell will want a decent fee too.

Crazy a second division team can pay that.

06-06-2023, 01:47 PM

Just checked and Kenneh was the 23rd May, Bojang 8th June, Tavares 15 June, Marshall 23rd May.

Maybe better we take a bit more time this season ��

Definitely. I count eight players signed by mid-June last year (including Henderson). Four of them, McLelland, Tavares, Bojang and Kenneh have made zero impact - Henderson and Marshall (eventually) have been disappointing and I remain unconvinced about Rocky. Miller looks a player if he can stay fit, but we gained very little from moving quickly last year.

EGL2000
06-06-2023, 01:50 PM
Definitely. I count eight players signed by mid-June last year (including Henderson). Four of them, McLelland, Tavares, Bojang and Kenneh have made zero impact - Henderson and Marshall (eventually) have been disappointing and I remain unconvinced about Rocky. Miller looks a player if he can stay fit, but we gained very little from moving quickly last year.

More important to move quickly this year with Europe.

06-06-2023, 01:50 PM

To be fair, the story about Bojang setting his heid on fire entertained me far more than any of the football did last season.

We can’t have it all.

06-06-2023, 01:55 PM
More important to move quickly this year with Europe.

The league cup campaign began on 9 July last year - our first European tie isn't until 27 July this year. Happy to wait a few weeks for signings if we have a better hit rate than last year.

06-06-2023, 01:57 PM
To be fair, the story about Bojang setting his heid on fire entertained me far more than any of the football did last season.

We can’t have it all.

Every cloud, n'all that...

06-06-2023, 02:00 PM

Maybe better we take a bit more time this season 😂

Ok. Forgot that. No signings till July please. (I’ve not given up on Kenneh)

May21/05/216
06-06-2023, 02:08 PM
Messi the second best player ever to play football is going back to Barcelona
Some roasters on the post will say he's finished

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

06-06-2023, 02:26 PM
Messi the second best player ever to play football is going back to Barcelona

Surely he settled that debate at the world cup. Best ever, no question. Done it all.

HendoDelivered
06-06-2023, 02:29 PM
Messi the best player ever to play football is going back to Barcelona

Fixed that for ya

06-06-2023, 03:04 PM
Any hibs chat?

😁

May21/05/216
06-06-2023, 03:49 PM
Fixed that for yaDiego armando Maradona is number1

badabing67
06-06-2023, 03:53 PM
What's happening with Aberdeen and Liam Scales are they trying to keep him, get him back? Just thought if they are meant to be in for Will Fish I thought they might of tried getting Scales in perm, he done alright for them. Not sure he'd get much game time for Celtic though. Or do we just need to wait for a press link, linking Hibs, Aberdeen and them to him to find out.

06-06-2023, 04:13 PM
Diego armando Maradona is number1

Na, Messi has him beat in literally every way now.

06-06-2023, 04:35 PM
Rangers sign Jack Butland

Cat Stanton
06-06-2023, 04:36 PM

Literally how?

Has Messi single-handedly (metaphorically speaking) won Serie A (and a European trophy) with Napoli, a team that had been struggling woefully in what was at the time (arguably) the strongest league in Europe (at least financially)?

Trinity Hibee
06-06-2023, 04:43 PM

Messi is unarguably the best player ever now

06-06-2023, 04:43 PM
Rangers sign Jack Butland

Strange day to announce it😎

Cat Stanton
06-06-2023, 04:46 PM
Messi is unarguably the best player ever now

Obviously not 'unarguably' because people are currently arguing about it....

Trinity Hibee
06-06-2023, 04:46 PM
Literally how?

Has Messi single-handedly (metaphorically speaking) won Serie A (and a European trophy) with Napoli, a team that had been struggling woefully in what was at the time (arguably) the strongest league in Europe (at least financially)?

Not sure that Messi being the best player ever diminishes Maradona’s achievements but someone who has the record messi has over the number of years he has done it is enough for most football followers

06-06-2023, 04:48 PM
Messi is a great player but not even close to Maradona

Trinity Hibee
06-06-2023, 04:49 PM

That is an incredibly ridiculous statement

06-06-2023, 04:51 PM
I know there's basically no Hibs transfer news, but come on! Not another best player ever debate 😂

06-06-2023, 04:53 PM

You're right. It isn't close. Even won more with Argentina. Just no comparing anymore. Messi absolutely bodies him in any comparison. Just look at the goals ffs. 350 goals vs 850 goals.

Literally how?

Yes, Messi has won plenty of league titles as part of a team, just like Diego did. The Real Madrid sides Messi competed against for titles were vastly superior to anything Maradona faced.. Is Victor Osimhen better than Messi as well? He took Napoli to the title this season as well, scoring more goals than Diego did. Great achievement by Maradona, nothing close to what Messi has achieved over 15 years. Beats him in every way.

Its a pointless discussion because obviously people have their favorites, which is quite right. Far better to enjoy them all rather than comparing anyway.

Trinity Hibee
06-06-2023, 04:53 PM
I know there's basically no Hibs transfer news, but come on! Not another best player ever debate 😂

😂 sorry

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2023, 05:04 PM
Literally how?

Did Maradona score not a kick off 100 goals in a calendar year?

Did maradona score over 100 goals for Argentina?

Did maradona score over 800 career goals?

Messi doesn’t just beat him in every single measure, he absolutely blows him out the water.

06-06-2023, 05:06 PM
Obviously not 'unarguably' because people are currently arguing about it....

Some people argue the earth is flat...

Green Reaper
06-06-2023, 05:10 PM

It isn't?😬

06-06-2023, 05:14 PM
Anyway it's neither of them it's Pele.:wink:

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2023, 05:20 PM
Some people even pay for a argument 😂
https://youtu.be/ohDB5gbtaEQ

06-06-2023, 05:23 PM
Lewis Stevenson is the greatest footballer of all-time.

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Lewis Stevenson is the greatest footballer of all-time.
End of debate. We have a winner 😁

06-06-2023, 05:29 PM
That is an incredibly ridiculous statement

Lol 😆 🤣 just banter

06-06-2023, 05:48 PM
Jack Butland has joined Rangers on a four-year contract after the 30-year-old goalkeeper's release by Crystal Palace.

Not seen much of Feeney tbh, will be the first to be linked with Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen interested.

would love Fish back next season.

Stokesy's on fire
06-06-2023, 06:03 PM
Fish going to Aberdeen it seems

MagicSwirlingShip
06-06-2023, 06:04 PM

Does it?

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2023, 06:06 PM
What's happening with Aberdeen and Liam Scales are they trying to keep him, get him back? Just thought if they are meant to be in for Will Fish I thought they might of tried getting Scales in perm, he done alright for them. Not sure he'd get much game time for Celtic though. Or do we just need to wait for a press link, linking Hibs, Aberdeen and them to him to find out.
Fairly easy Hibs quiz . Got 9 out of 10 . Annoyed I got one wrong 😡
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/65826129

Cat Stanton
06-06-2023, 06:09 PM
Did Maradona score not a kick off 100 goals in a calendar year?

Did maradona score over 100 goals for Argentina?

Did maradona score over 800 career goals?

Messi doesn’t just beat him in every single measure, he absolutely blows him out the water.

Context is everything. Maradona played less games and in a different, deeper, position. Messi's stats include impressive feats in his 30s; Maradona was falling apart by then for all the reasons we know about. But at his peak, Maradona was an astonishing player. I've not seen Messi do what Maradona did in the 1986 world cup. So stats aren't everything - as Lee Johnson proves by talking mince about them every week.

Anyway, in the interests of getting the thread back on track and letting everyone talk about all the great signings Hibs are making, I'll shut up now.

Stokesy's on fire
06-06-2023, 06:10 PM
Does it?

Local radio up here in the shire..barry robson hoping to get the deal done they are doing their business early

06-06-2023, 06:17 PM
Local radio up here in the shire..barry robson hoping to get the deal done they are doing their business early

I'd be amazed if he went there when we've openly said we'd like him back, would be a slap in the chops for us

badabing67
06-06-2023, 06:18 PM
Fairly easy Hibs quiz . Got 9 out of 10 . Annoyed I got one wrong 😡
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/65826129

Your right that was easy i got

06-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Anyway it's neither of them it's Pele.:wink:

totally agree.

badabing67
06-06-2023, 06:24 PM

Where you seeing this, I only see McCrorie away to Bristol City for £2M

Stokesy's on fire
06-06-2023, 06:31 PM
Where you seeing this, I only see McCrorie away to Bristol City for £2M

On local radio up here in Aberdeenshire they covered it.

06-06-2023, 06:44 PM
I'd be amazed if he went there when we've openly said we'd like him back, would be a slap in the chops for us

Guaranteed group stage European football is a big draw you'd imagine. Play well in that tournament against big sides and you'll probably be looking at a big move next summer.

King Cosell
06-06-2023, 06:45 PM
The club just tweeted 'Which Hibs player are you looking forward to seeing more of in 2023/24?'. Lots of people saying Will Fish, they knew lots of people would say Will Fish. Is this a sign?

06-06-2023, 06:48 PM
The club just tweeted 'Which Hibs player are you looking forward to seeing more of in 2023/24?'. Lots of people saying Will Fish, they knew lots of people would say Will Fish. Is this a sign?

I did wonder if there was more to that tweet.

I think if anybody it’ll be big Myke.

06-06-2023, 06:54 PM
Don’t think there’s anything in the tweet.

They posted similar on Instagram servers hours ago with a photo of Miller.

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2023, 07:23 PM
Might be a load of tosh though some hertz fans seem to think they are signing arfield and saying if the are Naismith's probably got the job .

Stokesy's on fire
06-06-2023, 07:28 PM
Might be a load of tosh though some hertz fans seem to think they are signing arfield and saying if the are Naismith's probably got the job .

Arfield...good player... apparently interested in opening a sevco pub so maybe hearts suits him

Dublin07
06-06-2023, 07:35 PM
If he stays in Scotland then the diets would be the place most likely for arfield I would think.

06-06-2023, 08:17 PM

They’re not, he has an offer from the MLS that dwarfs anything we or they can offer.

06-06-2023, 08:46 PM

I think he'll end up there to be honest.

06-06-2023, 08:49 PM

Might not be Will's decision to make. Man United might want him to play European group stage football. 3rd place comes with a huge prize for a lot of reasons. Aberdeen now hold all the aces.

PHeffernan
06-06-2023, 08:52 PM
On local radio up here in Aberdeenshire they covered it.

Made up pish repeated by anyone including local radio is still made up pish.

06-06-2023, 08:57 PM
I think McGinn in general wasn't playing well, though. Its wrong to only blame Gerrard. He was being played central midfield and playing badly.

Pretty much everyone at Villa was playing badly at that time. He was dropped for 3 games in total.

06-06-2023, 09:08 PM
Pretty much everyone at Villa was playing badly at that time. He was dropped for 3 games in total.

Yeah, that is true.

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2023, 09:08 PM
Context is everything. Maradona played less games and in a different, deeper, position. Messi's stats include impressive feats in his 30s; Maradona was falling apart by then for all the reasons we know about. But at his peak, Maradona was an astonishing player. I've not seen Messi do what Maradona did in the 1986 world cup. So stats aren't everything - as Lee Johnson proves by talking mince about them every week.

Anyway, in the interests of getting the thread back on track and letting everyone talk about all the great signings Hibs are making, I'll shut up now.
He played less games but his goals per game (almost bang on 1 in 2) is a country mile off Messi’s (1 in 1.29 over nearly double the games).

Messi scored more goals at the last World Cup (7 compared to Maradonas 5), scoring 2 compared to Maradonas 0 in the final. Messi even has him comfortably beat on the World Cup front.

cameronw-hfc
06-06-2023, 09:20 PM
The fans don't pick the team.

SJM is adored by Villa fans. He wasn't used properly by Gerrard and his form dipped, but he's as valuable to them as anyone else now.

He missed half a dozen games or so because of injury but has been an ever present since. He played 34 league games this season, only 2 less than their world cup winning goalkeeper.

Squad player he is not.

In fairness he probably is this season. If Kamara and Luiz stay, and Emery gets his winger, there's no starting place for Mcginn, as good as he's been, and the form was from the last few months of Dean @Smith up until Emery joined. It wasn't a Gerrard thing as bad as Gerrard is.

The whole being used in the wrong position needs to stop with Mcginn. He was being used in centre mid. Where he's always played well for Villa, his form actually improved when Emery put him back in but as a makeshift winger, so it really wasn't a position thing with John. He just went through a torrid 12-18 month spell.

I know people will make out that because he's captian and has played every game that there's no way he can be a squad player, but with everyone fit and Emery wanting proper wingers, there's no starting slot for John.

He's behind Kamara and Luiz for the 2 cm roles, behind Buendia for the 10, would assume the wingers Villa bring in will be first choice in their positions given the lack of Wingers at Villa just now, so John would probably be the first backup in 2/3 roles for Villa, which will see him plenty gametime but he's not quite a guaranteed starter or a main player anymore.

He's a good player, but he's in a team looking to keep progressing and for the first time in his Villa career he's looking at having at least one better player than him in his positions.

Those apperances are with Bailey, Coutinho(who has been good for Villa bar a few months at the end of gerrard) and Kamara all missing a lot of games last season.

He's not going to be a makeshift winger forever and will probably end up as a very useful squad player who's only just behind a few players.

I've always said there's no chance he'd leave, but this is the first summer I've felt like there may be a chance soon. Probably not this window, but if Villa sign players to cover the roles they need, John loses his place. So a season of being a squad player may see him and Villa more willing to part ways especially of they can make a decent profit before he's too old.

Stokesy's on fire
06-06-2023, 09:37 PM
Aberdeen flop mccrorrie sold to Bristol

Cat Stanton
06-06-2023, 10:26 PM
He played less games but his goals per game (almost bang on 1 in 2) is a country mile off Messi’s (1 in 1.29 over nearly double the games).

Messi scored more goals at the last World Cup (7 compared to Maradonas 5), scoring 2 compared to Maradonas 0 in the final. Messi even has him comfortably beat on the World Cup front.

You're just ignoring my points now though... So enough!

hibbie02
06-06-2023, 10:33 PM

Wanna see Messi do what Maradona did in 1986?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAehMNYw0ig

or did you mean the handball one?

ElginHibbie
07-06-2023, 07:53 AM

Wish we had a flop we could sell for £2 million

07-06-2023, 07:55 AM
In fairness he probably is this season. If Kamara and Luiz stay, and Emery gets his winger, there's no starting place for Mcginn, as good as he's been, and the form was from the last few months of Dean @Smith up until Emery joined. It wasn't a Gerrard thing as bad as Gerrard is.

The whole being used in the wrong position needs to stop with Mcginn. He was being used in centre mid. Where he's always played well for Villa, his form actually improved when Emery put him back in but as a makeshift winger, so it really wasn't a position thing with John. He just went through a torrid 12-18 month spell.

I know people will make out that because he's captian and has played every game that there's no way he can be a squad player, but with everyone fit and Emery wanting proper wingers, there's no starting slot for John.

He's behind Kamara and Luiz for the 2 cm roles, behind Buendia for the 10, would assume the wingers Villa bring in will be first choice in their positions given the lack of Wingers at Villa just now, so John would probably be the first backup in 2/3 roles for Villa, which will see him plenty gametime but he's not quite a guaranteed starter or a main player anymore.

He's a good player, but he's in a team looking to keep progressing and for the first time in his Villa career he's looking at having at least one better player than him in his positions.

Those apperances are with Bailey, Coutinho(who has been good for Villa bar a few months at the end of gerrard) and Kamara all missing a lot of games last season.

He's not going to be a makeshift winger forever and will probably end up as a very useful squad player who's only just behind a few players.

I've always said there's no chance he'd leave, but this is the first summer I've felt like there may be a chance soon. Probably not this window, but if Villa sign players to cover the roles they need, John loses his place. So a season of being a squad player may see him and Villa more willing to part ways especially of they can make a decent profit before he's too old.

A lot of opinion and not really much substance to base it on. McGinn will play plenty as a first pick this season coming, no matter who Villa sign, stays, or whatever. However, nice it would be for Hibs to receive a windfall, I very much doubt we ever will.

07-06-2023, 08:03 AM

Quite frustrating how much money they will be bringing in. That's now £7 million they know they have to play with. Sell Duk and they're shopping in a different market to us. 3rd place was massive.

07-06-2023, 08:03 AM
A lot of opinion and not really much substance to base it on. McGinn will play plenty as a first pick this season coming, no matter who Villa sign, stays, or whatever. However, nice it would be for Hibs to receive a windfall, I very much doubt we ever will.

It's times like this that you wish he was a bit more prima donna whose ego would likely to be bruised by losing some status rather than a model pro.

Dmas
07-06-2023, 08:08 AM
Quite frustrating how much money they will be bringing in. That's now £7 million they know they have to play with. Sell Duk and they're shopping in a different market to us. 3rd place was massive.

Stadium plans will swallow it up

07-06-2023, 08:11 AM
Stadium plans will swallow it up

Can't see that happening anytime soon.

07-06-2023, 08:14 AM
A lot of opinion and not really much substance to base it on. McGinn will play plenty as a first pick this season coming, no matter who Villa sign, stays, or whatever. However, nice it would be for Hibs to receive a windfall, I very much doubt we ever will.A clause for hitting games played for Villa might have been included?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

07-06-2023, 08:24 AM

It doesn’t work like that though, they can’t just increase their budget by £7m as there is no guarantee they’ll qualify for Europe again and have that same income again next season. They’ll be able to spend a bit more but they aren’t going to start shelling out massive fees and wages on the back of one successful league season.

07-06-2023, 08:25 AM
A clause for hitting games played for Villa might have been included?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

All the clauses have already been met and paid with the exception of sell on fee.

07-06-2023, 08:58 AM

The market they shopped in for their McCrorie replacement was Livingston........signing Nicky Devlin on a free. A player most folk would turn their nose up to if he signed for Hibs.

07-06-2023, 09:01 AM
The market they shopped in for their McCrorie replacement was Livingston........signing Nicky Devlin on a free. A player most folk would turn their nose up to if he signed for Hibs.

Wouldn't surprise me is that wasn't their McCrorie replacement. The Devlin signing reminds me of Hearts signing Forrest when they finished third, squad player for Europe and the league.

Think Aberdeen will spend big this summer. Hopefully not well!

07-06-2023, 09:04 AM
Dabrowski signing for Raith, good luck to him, hope he does well.

Scott Tiffoney signed for Dundee.

hibsforeurope
07-06-2023, 09:05 AM

Aberdeen spent big last summer to try and bridge the gap on Hibs and Hearts, maybe they have speculated in advance to get the money back from Europe. The money they have brought in from transfers might be the additional money that we can compete with.

07-06-2023, 09:08 AM

Yep. Similar noises to last year about how we’d not be able to compete with Hearts.

I’d much rather we had that money (we still have a chance to get it) but spending decent money hasn’t been our problem lately. It’s just that we’ve wasted loads of it.

07-06-2023, 09:33 AM
Aberdeen in for Will Fish on loan

Daily Ranger

hibby rae
07-06-2023, 09:45 AM
Aberdeen in for Will Fish on loan

Daily Ranger

Think they got it from Press and Journal.

Would hope we'd he first in line

07-06-2023, 09:52 AM
Think they got it from Press and Journal.

Would hope we'd he first in line

Surely we'd have to be.

Won't believe that Fish won't have a say in where he goes next and if he's going to the same league I'm sure he'd want back here.

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 10:00 AM
I think Mykola is a player we could see back.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mykola-kukharevych-ruled-out-of-u21-euros-as-hibs-remain-hopeful-of-extending-forwards-easter-road-stay-4172136

07-06-2023, 10:07 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mykola-kukharevych-ruled-out-of-u21-euros-as-hibs-remain-hopeful-of-extending-forwards-easter-road-stay-4172136

I really liked him as a player but surely his recent injury record is something we'd have to take into consideration?

Does anyone honestly see him playing more than 10-20 games next season, or scoring more than 5 goals or so?

We'd need robust backup if we went down that route.

07-06-2023, 10:11 AM
I really liked him as a player but surely his recent injury record is something we'd have to take into consideration?

Does anyone honestly see him playing more than 10-20 games next season, or scoring more than 5 goals or so?

When he joined Hibs in August, he hadn’t done a pre season
Make sure he’s fit, and then match fit, see what he can bring us

07-06-2023, 10:15 AM

I think if we sign him, we should sign an experienced alternative as well and they can share responsibility as well as allowing Myko to learn from them.

I really think Fletcher would be perfect if we were able to get him back.

07-06-2023, 10:16 AM
Aberdeen spent big last summer to try and bridge the gap on Hibs and Hearts, maybe they have speculated in advance to get the money back from Europe. The money they have brought in from transfers might be the additional money that we can compete with.

I think they have and dont think at present they are debt free.
So income from players leaving/transfers may be to sort that out.
Plus they will have to make a decision soon if its a new build on the sea front(along with council projects)
or heading out of town (fans dont want that)
On that topic

Oor not so noisy neighbours should have taken the option of new build at Sighthill.
But no,they squeezed up a bit to fit in the nearly finished stand in McLeod Street.
They could though have had a "bigger than hibs" 20.001 seater !:greengrin
The fans would have got used to leaving tiny and moving up the road a bit to Sighthill.

Just like we did,with the heart wrenching turmoil of a move from Bothwell Street to Albion Place :greengrin

07-06-2023, 10:19 AM
Dundee sign Scott Tiffoney.

Good signing for them imo.

07-06-2023, 10:32 AM
Myko was a useful player when we had him on the pitch, like Billy says if we can get him up to speed in the summer and he can play a good amount of games then I wouldn't be against another loan move.

07-06-2023, 10:43 AM
Dundee sign Scott Tiffoney.

Good signing for them imo.

That's a great signing for Dundee

07-06-2023, 10:44 AM
Myko was a good player looked a class act

At least he seemed to know what he was supposed to be doing

Worried by his injury record but would give him the benefit of the doubt

07-06-2023, 10:48 AM
I think if we sign him, we should sign an experienced alternative as well and they can share responsibility as well as allowing Myko to learn from them.

Yup. I'd like to see Fletcher sign. Could be a Craig Brewster type signing and help the likes of Melkersen. Wouldn't play every game but would be a good experienced addition to the squad.

07-06-2023, 11:05 AM
The issue I see with Fletcher is that LJ wants to play a dynamic front three. If Fletcher came in we would have to completely change our style when he's on the park as he won't be able to press as well as LJ would want.

Just a thought, might be wrong.

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 11:11 AM

He's only 21 and will get better Imo . 5 goals and 1 assist in 15 games I think he has for us . I'm sure the club would have him well assessed on his recent injuries and fitness and if they think he's worth taking back I'm all for it . Looked a very good player imo .

JamesHFC
07-06-2023, 11:20 AM

I think there is huge potential in him. I wouldn't be against bringing him in on a permanent. Only worry is the amount of injuries and setbacks he's had but if they aren't going to be a problem going forward then he could end up being a solid investment.

07-06-2023, 11:22 AM
He's only 21 and will get better Imo . 5 goals and 1 assist in 15 games I think he has for us . I'm sure the club would have him well assessed on his recent injuries and fitness and if they think he's worth taking back I'm all for it . Looked a very good player imo .

Puts McKirdy's record even more firmly in perspective.

On the subject of Kukharevych...

If we go into the season with a fit front three of Boyle, Kukharevych and Youan, that's 50 goals.

My top 3 signing targets this summer would be Kukharevych, Levitt & Behich

The issue I see with Fletcher is that LJ wants to play a dynamic front three. If Fletcher came in we would have to completely change our style when he's on the park as he won't be able to press as well as LJ would want.

Just a thought, might be wrong.

I think Fletcher is perfect for that role.

Playing that way doesn’t just mean having three fast mobile guys, we still need someone to hold the ball up and bring them and the midfielders into play. If we had someone of a similar mould to Boyle and Youann I think they could find themselves isolated a bit as the ball wouldn’t stick up front at all.

07-06-2023, 11:35 AM

Flop 😂😂

07-06-2023, 11:44 AM
I’d rather Fletcher over mckirdy and Magennis together

Stokesy's on fire
07-06-2023, 11:47 AM
Flop 😂😂

He was absolute disaster for them.

Trinity Hibee
07-06-2023, 11:49 AM

In what way? Curious as I thought he was just average

07-06-2023, 11:59 AM
I think Fletcher is perfect for that role.

Playing that way doesn’t just mean having three fast mobile guys, we still need someone to hold the ball up and bring them and the midfielders into play. If we had someone of a similar mould to Boyle and Youann I think they could find themselves isolated a bit as the ball wouldn’t stick up front at all.

I'm sure LJ said he wanted to be able to interchange the front 3. I may be talking *****.

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 12:12 PM

Not having a go at you btw but you've really surprised me here when debating Van Veen you said a couple of times he only had a year left in him at 32 ( coming 33) when I said you could get 2 or 3 season's out of him and yet you seem keen on fletcher who's 36 ( coming 37 ) . Find this a bit confusing tbh 😳

07-06-2023, 12:23 PM

How’s he been a disaster 😂 what a lot of nonsense

He’s just helped them to a 3rd place finishing and being sold for £2m-£3m.

In what ways that a disaster ffs?

See magennis for a “disaster” of a signing

supermcginn
07-06-2023, 12:29 PM

The Aberdeen fans loved him and aren't happy they only sold him for 2 million!

finished 3rd, bought for couple of hundred thousand, sold for 2+ million… would be happy if we had disasters like that… curious what you would define a success for them to be :dunno:

Not having a go at you btw but you've really surprised me here when debating Van Veen you said a couple of times he only had a year left in him at 32 ( coming 33) when I said you could get 2 or 3 season's out of him and yet you seem keen on fletcher who's 36 ( coming 37 ) . Find this a bit confusing tbh 😳

Van Veen would cost a lot of money and there’d be masses of competition to get him.

I believe Dundee Utd would be keen to get Fletcher off their pay role and there wouldn’t be as much competition for him. I’m suggesting Fletcher as a squad player where as the money required for Van Veen would mean he’d need to be a starter.

Ultimately, Fletcher is a realistic option IMO and Van Veen most definitely isn’t a realistic option is the shorter answer.

Hope that clears up the confusion 😂

07-06-2023, 12:30 PM
I didn't rate McCrorie at all. Any time i saw him he looked hopeless. £2 million looks an unreal bit of business by Aberdeen. Admittedly didn't watch him every week.

07-06-2023, 12:57 PM
I think there is huge potential in him. I wouldn't be against bringing him in on a permanent. Only worry is the amount of injuries and setbacks he's had but if they aren't going to be a problem going forward then he could end up being a solid investment.

Would be delighted to get him permanently.

07-06-2023, 12:58 PM
Van Veen would cost a lot of money and there’d be masses of competition to get him.

I believe Dundee Utd would be keen to get Fletcher off their pay role and there wouldn’t be as much competition for him. I’m suggesting Fletcher as a squad player where as the money required for Van Veen would mean he’d need to be a starter.

Ultimately, Fletcher is a realistic option IMO and Van Veen most definitely isn’t a realistic option is the shorter answer.

Would love Fletch back here also.

nickwhibs
07-06-2023, 01:06 PM
Ukrainian girl at my work says that Myko would love to stay at hibs (they’re part of the same group of friends). He said he was gutted to have been out injured and hopes it doesn’t affect his chances of signing again. Fingers crossed

07-06-2023, 01:08 PM
Ukrainian girl at my work says that Myko would love to stay at hibs (they’re part of the same group of friends). He said he was gutted to have been out injured and hopes it doesn’t affect his chances of signing again. Fingers crossed

I think the fact he was at the POTY event despite being injured at the end of the season told a story. I’m guessing it’s all agreed and we are just waiting until he’s fit and we can do a proper medical.

07-06-2023, 01:31 PM

In the Scotland squad and just been sold for £2m 😂. I wish we had disasters like that. He’d have been a great signing for us at the time. A better CDM than what we have and able to provide cover all over defence.

07-06-2023, 01:34 PM
Lionel Messi expected to sign for Inter Miami when he leaves PSG

BBC Sport

Steven79
07-06-2023, 01:35 PM
Lionel Messi expected to sign for Inter Miami when he leaves PSG

BBC SportJust taking his retirement since leaving Barcelona one step further...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

07-06-2023, 01:46 PM
Just taking his retirement since leaving Barcelona one step further...

Apparently being loaned to Barca for 6 months or a year then back to Inter Miami. Just a way around Barca's financial struggles really.

07-06-2023, 01:48 PM
I think the fact he was at the POTY event despite being injured at the end of the season told a story. I’m guessing it’s all agreed and we are just waiting until he’s fit and we can do a proper medical.

Purely on ability I’d love to see him back. His fitness is a big concern though……

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 02:08 PM

I get what your saying about the financial side of things and which is realistic and unrealistic though what I don't get is how you think a 33 year old footballer has only one year left to play before being finished yet you'd like us to sign a guy at 36 coming 37 . Not that we are going to get him though surely this proves that van Veen could indeed play for another 3 season's rather than just the one season you stated .

As to us signing fletcher I'd have had him in a heart beat 3 or 4 years ago though not now with him coming 37 , that ship has sailed for me . I must admit some of the names your putting forward as potential signings would worry me if we signed them like fletcher , Main , Dhanda and are nowhere near good for Hibs imo .

07-06-2023, 02:15 PM
Real Madrid agree to sign Jude Bellingham from Dortmund for 103m Euro

BBC Sport

07-06-2023, 02:26 PM
Real Madrid agree to sign Jude Bellingham from Dortmund for 100m Euro

BBC Sport

Great signing that.

07-06-2023, 02:40 PM
Great signing that.

Their midfield set for the next 15 years.

07-06-2023, 02:44 PM
Great signing that.

Got told by a good source get your house on him going to Man City 😱

07-06-2023, 02:45 PM
I get what your saying about the financial side of things and which is realistic and unrealistic though what I don't get is how you think a 33 year old footballer has only one year left to play before being finished yet you'd like us to sign a guy at 36 coming 37 . Not that we are going to get him though surely this proves that van Veen could indeed play for another 3 season's rather than just the one season you stated .

As to us signing fletcher I'd have had him in a heart beat 3 or 4 years ago though not now with him coming 37 , that ship has sailed for me . I must admit some of the names your putting forward as potential signings would worry me if we signed them like fletcher , Main , Dhanda and are nowhere near good for Hibs imo .

You’re putting too much emphasis on age imo.

Van Veen isn’t a realistic option for a number of reasons, one being no future sell on being possible which is linked to his age but that’s just one reason. Finances are also a hugely significant issue. A deal for Van Veen just simply isn’t going to happen, he’s being offered £10k a week by that Dutch club who want him.

Fletcher is a much more realistic possibility, I’ve no problem signing older players if they’re good, affordable and available.

With regards to the other names I’ve mentioned you’re not keen on, I don’t have access to a world wide scouting network so I can only suggest people I’ve heard of. Last season we signed players who didn’t know this league and it was said we should be signing players who are SPFL ready rather than projects or gambles. Players from unfashionable clubs can step up some times, they’re also likely to be affordable and realistic. When you’re throwing out names like Van Veen you’d be as well suggesting Kyogo or Callum McGregor, anybody can suggest names of good players from this league, for the purpose of this discussion though there should be a hint of realism about them otherwise it just gets a bit silly. The players I’ve suggested probably won’t sign for us but I felt they were at least worthy of discussion as players that have impressed that are playing in our league.

badabing67
07-06-2023, 03:16 PM
Naismith = Technical Director

Hearts: Steven Naismith named technical director, Frank McAvoy head coach - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65753157)

07-06-2023, 03:21 PM

Van Veen isn’t a realistic option for a number of reasons, one being no future sell on being possible which is linked to his age but that’s just one reason. Finances are also a hugely significant issue. A deal for Van Veen just simply isn’t going to happen, he’s being offered £10k a week by that Dutch club who want him.

Fletcher is a much more realistic possibility, I’ve no problem signing older players if they’re good, affordable and available.

With regards to the other names I’ve mentioned you’re not keen on, I don’t have access to a world wide scouting network so I can only suggest people I’ve heard of. Last season we signed players who didn’t know this league and it was said we should be signing players who are SPFL ready rather than projects or gambles. Players from unfashionable clubs can step up some times, they’re also likely to be affordable and realistic. When you’re throwing out names like Van Veen you’d be as well suggesting Kyogo or Callum McGregor, anybody can suggest names of good players from this league, for the purpose of this discussion though there should be a hint of realism about them otherwise it just gets a bit silly. The players I’ve suggested probably won’t sign for us but I felt they were at least worthy of discussion as players that have impressed that are playing in our league.

Yip remember Craig Brewster did an excellent job for us and went on to do an even better job at the pars at a ripe old age

Just_Jimmy
07-06-2023, 03:23 PM
Naismith = Technical Director

Hearts: Steven Naismith named technical director, Frank McAvoy head coach - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65753157)We got loads of top applications but the guy we had in place who didn't have the right qualifications was definitely the cheapest....I mean best, candidate..

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

badabing67
07-06-2023, 03:25 PM
We got loads of top applications but the guy we had in place who didn't have the right qualifications was definitely the cheapest....I mean best, candidate..

I thought they were rolling in it

07-06-2023, 04:14 PM
Dabrowski looks like heading to Raith

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 04:16 PM

Van Veen is unrealistic now especially if someone is offering him 10k a week and that's not happening though when I mentioned he was one we should try the 10k a week wasn't offered at the time and even though it would have been extremely hard to get him I thought there might have been a chance and I'm surprised anyone's offering him that much money tbh . Mentioning kyogo and McGregor is more than a bit silly tbh as both are on another level from van Veen.

I'm putting emphasis on a players age as to trying to understand why you think van Veen at 33 has only one season left in him which you stated twice btw and yet you think a 37 year old still has something to offer us ! This is what's got me totally baffled btw and it seems you have moved the goal posts on a player's age and how long he can continue to play for :confused: .

The player's you mentioned that are worthy of discussing that have impressed in our league are fletcher who was a extremely good player in his day though coming 37 I think he's well past his best and his clubs just got relegated who wouldn't be a first team player at us imo . Main was at Aberdeen one of our rivals and didn't impress and imo if he's not good enough for them he's not good enough for us.

St mirren got him back from Shrewsbury were he didn't do a lot and has hit abit of purple patch though in general he's been poor at most clubs he's been at and as you yourself said would be another squad player .

Dhanda I watched plenty of this season and most of the time you'd hardly know he was playing tbh with you . Is he a first team player ? Don't think so , is he any better than our current midfield players ? Don't think so . None of these 3 players would improve us or get into our current team as it stands. We must be looking at a higher calibre of player than these mate in all fairness 👍

Paulie Walnuts
07-06-2023, 04:28 PM
Van Veen is unrealistic now especially if someone is offering him 10k a week and that's not happening though when I mentioned he was one we should try the 10k a week wasn't offered at the time and even though it would have been extremely hard to get him I thought there might have been a chance and I'm surprised anyone's offering him that much money tbh . Mentioning kyogo and McGregor is more than a bit silly tbh as both are on another level from van Veen.

I'm putting emphasis on a players age as to trying to understand why you think van Veen at 33 has only one season left in him which you stated twice btw and yet you think a 37 year old still has something to offer us ! This is what's got me totally baffled btw and it seems you have moved the goal posts on a player's age and how long he can continue to play for :confused: .

The player's you mentioned that are worthy of discussing that have impressed in our league are fletcher who was a extremely good player in his day though coming 37 I think he's well past his best and his clubs just got relegated who wouldn't be a first team player at us imo . Main was at Aberdeen one of our rivals and didn't impress and imo if he's not good enough for them he's not good enough for us.

St mirren got him back from Shrewsbury were he didn't do a lot and has hit abit of purple patch though in general he's been poor at most clubs he's been at and as you yourself said would be another squad player .

Dhanda I watched plenty of this season and most of the time you'd hardly know he was playing tbh with you . Is he a first team player ? Don't think so , is he any better than our current midfield players ? Don't think so . None of these 3 players would improve us or get into our current team as it stands. We must be looking at a higher calibre of player than these mate in all fairness 👍

Van Veen wasn’t realistic before the 10k a week. He would have cost way too much money for someone with no future sell on value at an age where he could decline at any moment now.

Fletcher has had a season this season similar to when he was here previously. The suggestion of Fletcher is based on the presumption DU would want rid and the presumption he wouldn’t be all that difficult to deal with wages wise. Both those things don’t apply to Van Veen. If Fletcher came in and was crap next season it’s not been an expensive gamble. Van Veen would be a gamble at a level I’d never seen from Hibs before.

Players with no sell on value are fine. Players with no sell on value that you need to be the one paying around £1m and £10k a week for arent.

Fletcher also isn’t ‘coming up 37’ like you keep saying to try make your point more valid. He turned 36 about 2 and a half months ago.

That being said, I don’t want Fletcher, or Main, but they’re realistic options, unlike Van Veen.

07-06-2023, 04:31 PM
Just saw on SSN that Millwall have bid £2m for Lyndon Dykes.

Different destination for Nisbet maybe?

07-06-2023, 04:35 PM

With regards to your second paragraph, it comes down to a value for money thing. He ‘could’ only have one season left, he might have more but the older they are the bigger the gamble it is. He might go on and have a few more years but I wouldn’t like to bet a lot of money on it which is what the club would be asked to do.

You are suggesting that he’s unrealistic now because someone is offering him £10k a week, I’m saying to prize him away from Motherwell it was always going to be funny money required, either to him, to Motherwell and/or to both of them. Just because the £10k a week thing is a new development I think it’s always been obvious he wasn’t a realistic target.

In relation to the other players I mentioned, I don’t think Hibs will sign them, they’re just players I’ve quite liked when I’ve seen them, signing them is not a hill I’m prepared to die on. I just thought they were alright and could potentially be ok squad players. Despite what people say, realistically, it’s very unlikely that all new signings will be better than we’ve already got, we do need to improve the bench too. I know the best way to do that is to improve the first team so current first team players become the bench players, I’m just a realist and know it rarely works like that.

07-06-2023, 04:41 PM
We were rumoured to be paying 10k a week for Owl man, i wonder how much of that kind of money is left for a star signing?

Paulie Walnuts
07-06-2023, 04:49 PM
We were rumoured to be paying 10k a week for Owl man, i wonder how much of that kind of money is left for a star signing?

Maybe spent on Boyle?

07-06-2023, 05:27 PM

It's amazing how quickly you can forget about someone, I'd forgotten he'd even existed.

Trinity Hibee
07-06-2023, 05:53 PM
We got loads of top applications but the guy we had in place who didn't have the right qualifications was definitely the cheapest....I mean best, candidate..

😂😂😂

07-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Would be delighted to get him permanently.

I doubt there is any chance of that unless we are prepared to smash our transfer record. He is a top prospect. I’m sure LJ has said in the past that he’s one we wouldn’t be able to sign perm.

07-06-2023, 06:31 PM

I’d believe the earth was flat before I believed that was what he was getting paid

07-06-2023, 06:32 PM
Just saw on SSN that Millwall have bid £2m for Lyndon Dykes.

Different destination for Nisbet maybe?

Dykes contract expires end of the coming season too. I think Nisbet is a better player, but they should go for around the same price.

07-06-2023, 07:09 PM
It's amazing how quickly you can forget about someone, I'd forgotten he'd even existed.

He's done very little since he returned to the US

07-06-2023, 07:12 PM
Surely we'd have to be.

Won't believe that Fish won't have a say in where he goes next and if he's going to the same league I'm sure he'd want back here.

Fish will definitely have a say, and if he believes Johnson helped him improve as a player and brought on his development that's got to count for something over 8 guaranteed game 8n Europe under a, rookie manager you don't know and could quite easily see you getting hammered in every game.

I'd be surprised to see Fish there over Hibs.

07-06-2023, 07:14 PM
Fish will definitely have a say, and if he believes Johnson helped him improve as a player and brought on his development that's got to count for something over 8 guaranteed game 8n Europe under a, rookie manager you don't know and could quite easily see you getting hammered in every game.

I'd be surprised to see Fish there over Hibs.

It will depend on what auld bassa Fergie says.

07-06-2023, 07:48 PM

Me too, thats why i called him owl man, ive forgotten his name? :greengrin

Trinity Hibee
07-06-2023, 07:49 PM
He's done very little since he returned to the US

Probably released another book on how to never give up. Pathetic

badabing67
07-06-2023, 07:52 PM
Aberdeen trying to get Clarkson from Liverpool on perm apparently Reading and OF in for him as well

Steven79
07-06-2023, 07:54 PM
Probably released another book on how to never give up. Pathetic[emoji1787]

07-06-2023, 07:57 PM
Aberdeen trying to get Clarkson from Liverpool on perm apparently Reading and OF in for him as well

We should be trying for him.

07-06-2023, 08:07 PM
We should be trying for him.

Absolutely no chance we can compete with Aberdeen financially if they want him.

badabing67
07-06-2023, 08:09 PM

I doubt Aberdeen can compete with Reading or OF don't think they will get him either

07-06-2023, 08:12 PM

I’d be surprised if our top earner is on less than Aberdeen’s top earner so not convinced we can’t compete with them for one player.

07-06-2023, 08:16 PM

Seeing this mentioned a lot but I don’t think it’s as straightforward as that.

We’ve just shelled out half a million for a player. I’ll be surprised if Aberdeen pay a bigger fee than that this summer.

We are prepared to pay these days. Trick is to not waste what we do spend. Instead of paying 4 players who aren’t going to contribute, sign 1 or 2 on better money who will.

I’m the case of Clarkson I don’t think we’d get him if we were in for him (which I don’t think we will be) but I think we can compete for individual players if we chose to do so. Doesn’t mean we’ll always get them but I think we’ve shown a willingness to spend if we think it’s worth it.

07-06-2023, 08:21 PM
Jordan Thorniley, defender.
Out of contact.
LJ connection.
Just saying.

07-06-2023, 08:24 PM
Jordan Thorniley, defender.
Out of contact.
LJ connection.
Just saying.

What is the LJ connection?

07-06-2023, 08:29 PM

Struggling with that one myself

07-06-2023, 08:30 PM

Don't know any more, just a rumor.

07-06-2023, 08:30 PM

We’ve just shelled out half a million for a player. I’ll be surprised if Aberdeen pay a bigger fee than that this summer.

We are prepared to pay these days. Trick is to not waste what we do spend. Instead of paying 4 players who aren’t going to contribute, sign 1 or 2 on better money who will.

I’m the case of Clarkson I don’t think we’d get him if we were in for him (which I don’t think we will be) but I think we can compete for individual players if we chose to do so. Doesn’t mean we’ll always get them but I think we’ve shown a willingness to spend if we think it’s worth it.

I don't fully disagree, but look at what happened with mcrorie, terms were all agreed and Aberdeen swooped in at last minute with much more money, this was after gordon had increased our budget as well.

Their wage bill was already much higher than ours, and now they have the European group stage money so if both teams really want a player they'll get him

Fuzzywuzzy
07-06-2023, 08:44 PM
Ruari Paton, bring him in.....

07-06-2023, 08:45 PM
Ruari Paton, bring him in.....

Seems to be going about his career in a very Nisbet like fashion now.

Probably still too big a jump to come back here but can see championship or teams like St Johnstone or Livi taking a gamble on him

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 08:54 PM
Whatever happened to Conor Ronan that us and a few teams were linked with?

ElginHibbie
07-06-2023, 08:56 PM
Whatever happened to Conor Ronan that us and a few teams were linked with?

Went to MLS

07-06-2023, 09:02 PM
Well done west ham.

1875Sean
07-06-2023, 09:05 PM

They shelled over £1m between Miovski and Duk, they have guaranteed group stage football which is like £4m-5m, when it comes to wages and budget they will be way ahead

07-06-2023, 09:09 PM
They shelled over £1m between Miovski and Duk, they have guaranteed group stage football which is like £4m-5m, when it comes to wages and budget they will be way ahead

I’m not disputing their overall budget will be bigger than ours. I just don’t think that makes it a straightforward case of them getting a player over us if we’re both in for one.

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 09:11 PM
Went to MLS
Cheers , surprised he went there .

random sub
07-06-2023, 09:23 PM
Any decent rumours of players heading out the door, beyond Nisbet of course?

JamesHFC
07-06-2023, 09:25 PM
Any decent rumours of players heading out the door, beyond Nisbet of course?

Cabraja be away.

Cat Stanton
07-06-2023, 09:29 PM
Cabraja be away.

Is that an order?

07-06-2023, 09:32 PM
I don't fully disagree, but look at what happened with mcrorie, terms were all agreed and Aberdeen swooped in at last minute with much more money, this was after gordon had increased our budget as well.

Their wage bill was already much higher than ours, and now they have the European group stage money so if both teams really want a player they'll get him
That was at the time we were getting pipped at the post a few times by them - Ojo another. Was that not on Mathie’s watch? Different times now.

Donegal Hibby
07-06-2023, 09:48 PM
LJ would love to have CJ and Fish back .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-names-hibs-loans-he-would-love-to-have-back-as-he-outlines-summer-recruitment-plans-4173820

JamesHFC
07-06-2023, 09:52 PM
LJ would love to have CJ and Fish back .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-names-hibs-loans-he-would-love-to-have-back-as-he-outlines-summer-recruitment-plans-4173820

CJ's injury boosts our chances of getting him back I think.

07-06-2023, 11:09 PM
I’d be surprised if our top earner is on less than Aberdeen’s top earner so not convinced we can’t compete with them for one player.

I don't doubt we could compete with them, but if he's already been there I could see it being hard to convince him we're a preferential destination. I feel the same about Aberdeen's chances of signing Fish instead of us.

Our clubs are similar in size, budget (compared to where these players are coming from) and ambition. Chances are they'll go to where they know in the hope of continuing to progress and getting a bigger move in the near future rather than gamble on an unknown.

King Cosell
07-06-2023, 11:09 PM

Wouldn't rule out his chances of playing for Burnley this season but he definitely won't play for them before January, so it's a loan to the Championship or Hibs and I can't see a Championship club taking an injured player on loan.

Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 12:05 AM
[QUOTE=JamesHFC;7367914]CJ's injury boosts our chances of getting him back I think.[/QUOTE

I think we will try and bring back both tbh . My take on it is Fish will be loaned out again and it seems us and Aberdeen are interested in Scotland and I'd like to think he'd choose us over Aberdeen . There's also a chance he will go to a another English club in the championship or league 1 though the last time at a English club ( Stockport ) he was recalled by man U possibly due to lack of game time . He knows what he's getting at Hibs in a manager that rates him highly and will play him consistently . Hopefully a advantage in getting him over other clubs .

CJ is the one of the two I'm least hopeful of in fairness with his injury and his comments about he can play in the premier League . I admire his confidence though I don't think he's anywhere near ready for the English premier and with his ambitious attitude he might want to join a English championship club even with his injury though will a club in the championship take a chance on him though.

Stokesy's on fire
08-06-2023, 06:16 AM

Aberdeen wanted Boyle...We got him.

08-06-2023, 06:32 AM
Aberdeen wanted Boyle...We got him.

To be fair with Boyle, there's obviously an emotional connection with the club.

I don't think it's a crazy suggestion to say Aberdeen pay more in wages than we do.

They have a higher turnover than us by millions and have since I can remember. The also have guaranteed group stage European football this year which guarantees another £3-£4 million.

They'll have a higher budget for the playing squad than us, so they'll have more wages to spend across the team.

Rumble de Thump
08-06-2023, 06:47 AM

I don't think it's a crazy suggestion to say Aberdeen pay more in wages than we do.

They have a higher turnover than us by millions and have since I can remember. The also have guaranteed group stage European football this year which guarantees another £3-£4 million.

They'll have a higher budget for the playing squad than us, so they'll have more wages to spend across the team.

Don't they have an £80m stadium to pay for?

08-06-2023, 07:10 AM

That's been shelved, they're stuck at Pittodrie.

08-06-2023, 07:15 AM

Are they cutting back on the upcoming season's team budget because of the stadium?

badabing67
08-06-2023, 09:51 AM
Wouldn't surprise me if Moyes turns up at Celtic now

08-06-2023, 09:59 AM
If United have any interest in progressing Fish they’ll put him to Aberdeen and the certainty of European football.Another reason for us to get our act together this season.

08-06-2023, 10:13 AM
If United have any interest in progressing Fish they’ll put him to Aberdeen and the certainty of European football.Another reason for us to get our act together this season.

He only has a certainty of European football if Aberdeen are certain to play him.

If he comes to Hibs I think he's 1st choice I have no idea what Aberdeen's CH situation is.

08-06-2023, 10:15 AM

Not sure about that. Aberdeen have three CBs that’ll play every week*, Fish would be a backup to them, like he was at the start for us. We have only 2 senior CBs at the club and he’d be more likely to get game time with us than them, imho obviously.
*If they get Scales back on loan

08-06-2023, 10:18 AM
Not sure about that. Aberdeen have three CBs that’ll play every week, Fish would be a backup to them, like he was at the start for us. We have only 2 senior CBs at the club and he’d be more likely to get game time with us than them, imho obviously.

Who are the Aberdeen center halfs who would start ahead of him?

08-06-2023, 10:28 AM

That's where i am with it. Guaranteed European football until Christmas will probably swing it for Man United. The thing that might go in our favour is the obvious improvement in Will under the Hibs coaching team. Man United might be happy for him to continue progressing under LJ. Over to you Brian.

badabing67
08-06-2023, 10:40 AM
Not sure about that. Aberdeen have three CBs that’ll play every week*, Fish would be a backup to them, like he was at the start for us. We have only 2 senior CBs at the club and he’d be more likely to get game time with us than them, imho obviously.
*If they get Scales back on loan

I thought they would try and get him perm but maybe Celtic have other ideas, not sure if he can step up there

badabing67
08-06-2023, 10:43 AM
That's where i am with it. Guaranteed European football until Christmas will probably swing it for Man United. The thing that might go in our favour is the obvious improvement in Will under the Hibs coaching team. Man United might be happy for him to continue progressing under LJ. Over to you Brian.

Just a curiosity but will it be Darren Fletcher that makes the decision.

GreenPJ
08-06-2023, 10:50 AM
Wouldn't rule out his chances of playing for Burnley this season but he definitely won't play for them before January, so it's a loan to the Championship or Hibs and I can't see a Championship club taking an injured player on loan.

And why should we?

Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 11:00 AM
Could this guy be a possible target for us ?.
https://the72.co.uk/2023/06/08/departing-charlton-athletic-man-emerges-as-transfer-option-for-hibernian/

08-06-2023, 11:02 AM
And why should we?

:agree: Signing an injured player on loan would be bizarre. I like CJ but we need fit players in now for our European games. If he's out injured for the foreseeable we need to look elsewhere.

08-06-2023, 11:09 AM
https://the72.co.uk/2023/06/08/departing-charlton-athletic-man-emerges-as-transfer-option-for-hibernian/

Sure we were linked with him in the last summer window. Name definitely rings a bell.

McGruber
08-06-2023, 11:17 AM

Could be just rehashing a story because we were rumoured to be interested in him in January.

Wonder if the targets will change now.

If we brought in all of Fish, CJ, Mykola, Johnny Williams, Feeney, Bonne then that would be us about done without much of McDermott's input/players.

Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 11:18 AM
Sure we were linked with him in the last summer window. Name definitely rings a bell.
Funny is name rings a bell with me too . I think he has been mentioned before . He's not had the best of times recently though he has been good before think he was at somebody like leyton Orient were he scored 25 goals in 52 games .
https://youtu.be/qgWMmX8rebw

Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 11:30 AM
Could be just rehashing a story because we were rumoured to be interested in him in January.

If we brought in all of Fish, CJ, Mykola, Johnny Williams, Feeney, Bonne then that would be us about done without much of McDermott's input/players.
Yeah it could be just a rehashing of the story though the player will be will known to McDermott and LJ and is out of contract. So could be something in it too. Some of the targets probably might change depending if we don't get the loan players we had back .

08-06-2023, 11:37 AM
Wouldn't surprise me if Moyes turns up at Celtic now

No chance.

He'll be on 3 times the money celtc could offer and he's a legend at West Ham now.

08-06-2023, 11:54 AM
No chance.

He'll be on 3 times the money celtc could offer and he's a legend at West Ham now.

He's definitely leaving West Ham, my mate knows his family.

K-Zazu
08-06-2023, 11:56 AM
After watching the game last night there is no way Rice is worth £120 million, maybe half that. Doesn’t score or assist enough goals.

08-06-2023, 12:00 PM
He's definitely leaving West Ham, my mate knows his family.

I bow to your superior knowledge. 👍

Must feel brilliant to leave on your own terms and as a hero, a legend.

NC1875
08-06-2023, 12:02 PM
After watching the game last night there is no way Rice is worth £120 million, maybe half that. Doesn’t score or assist enough goals.

Said it for ages. Another one so over hyped by the English media.

They done it with Harry Maquire as well, hyped him up that much Man Utd paid silly money for him and he’s a donkey.

08-06-2023, 12:05 PM

Like Stubbsy :greengrin

08-06-2023, 12:07 PM

There’s more to judge a player on than goals and assists though, he’s a defensive midfielder is he not?

I was at the West Ham Chelsea game last season that West Ham won 3-2 and he was absolutely outstanding in that game. Just one match I know but I changed my mind on him after that game.

Actually makes sense to leave on a high, he's never going to better that achievement as West Ham manager. Where he ends up will be interesting.

AL-Qaholik

Has a whiff of the McKirdys about him.
Not scoring goals and discipline issues on social media.

08-06-2023, 12:08 PM
Said it for ages. Another one so over hyped by the English media.

They done it with Harry Maquire as well, hyped him up that much Man Utd paid silly money for him and he’s a donkey.

They wonder why they have an embarrassing world cup drought for a country their size. Big their players up way too much.

badabing67
08-06-2023, 12:08 PM
No chance.

It wouldn't be about money he's been a manager for 25 years and some fans want him out despite winning a cup, he is a Celtic man, if he gets offered I think he'd take it

Cat Stanton
08-06-2023, 12:10 PM

Because we're really good at signing injured players?

08-06-2023, 12:11 PM
Has a whiff of the McKirdys about him.
Not scoring goals and discipline issues on social media.

He's scored two goals. That's prolific compared to McKirdy.

08-06-2023, 12:17 PM

He's only had half a season of regular football. I don't see why giving him the option of a full season playing week in and week out in domestic football would not be progress. Aberdeen will no doubt need to recruit a bigger squad and then rotate players.

08-06-2023, 12:17 PM

Did that to a degree at Everton

08-06-2023, 12:20 PM
It wouldn't be about money he's been a manager for 25 years and some fans want him out despite winning a cup, he is a Celtic man, if he gets offered I think he'd take it

Rodgers was apparently on 50k a week at Celtic so they can pay big wages. I highly doubt Moyes is on 150k a week at West Ham as has been suggested.

He'd have to take a pay cut undoubtedly, but he'll already be extremely wealthy and it's not as if he'd be on pennies at Celtic.

I think it's probably more likely that Celtic look elsewhere rather than him turning them down.

08-06-2023, 12:23 PM
There’s more to judge a player on than goals and assists though, he’s a defensive midfielder is he not?

I was at the West Ham Chelsea game last season that West Ham won 3-2 and he was absolutely outstanding in that game. Just one match I know but I changed my mind on him after that game.

He’s got more to his game than just a basic defensive midfielder, and he’s powerful. However I’m not sure he’s good enough to be much more than defensive midfielder. He’s not good enough in the final third to be as effective as someone like Yaya Toure was.

A good player, and he might well kick on again moving to a bigger club and playing with better players. However the kind of money he will cost is staggering, even allowing for the English premium. Someone like Guimares, as an example, at Newcastle cost £40m and is a better player IMO. Yet Rice looks like he will cost close to 3x that.

CentreForward
08-06-2023, 12:28 PM

Seem to remember him being linked with us a while ago. From what I’ve read about him no thank you and hope we’d be looking for better.

08-06-2023, 12:34 PM

We've gone through this many times before. It's impossible to definitively compare Aberdeen's playing budget with ours. This is mainly because Aberdeen's catering is in house, therefore their staff numbers and turnover are higher than ours. It was probably pre Covid last time there was a thread on this so may be out of date but at that time any advantage to the Sheep was at best marginal. Of course the main thing is what you do with your budget. Aberdeen did well with Duk but not so well with Ojo and others!

08-06-2023, 12:35 PM

Remember him being linked before and him being a bit of a laughing stock at his previous club as he was meant to be *****.

Not one I’d be excited about but then, is his CV any worse than Van Veens before he joined them? 😜

08-06-2023, 12:35 PM

Own terms? :wink:

08-06-2023, 12:43 PM
Rodgers was apparently on 50k a week at Celtic so they can pay big wages. I highly doubt Moyes is on 150k a week at West Ham as has been suggested.

He'd have to take a pay cut undoubtedly, but he'll already be extremely wealthy and it's not as if he'd be on pennies at Celtic.

I think it's probably more likely that Celtic look elsewhere rather than him turning them down.

I didn't know celtc paid as much as that. Moyes is reportable on £4m plus bonuses.

If money's not too important to him, you could be right.

08-06-2023, 12:45 PM
https://www.sportspayouts.com/football/david-moyes-salary-contract-deal/

08-06-2023, 01:24 PM
We've gone through this many times before. It's impossible to definitively compare Aberdeen's playing budget with ours. This is mainly because Aberdeen's catering is in house, therefore their staff numbers and turnover are higher than ours. It was probably pre Covid last time there was a thread on this so may be out of date but at that time any advantage to the Sheep was at best marginal. Of course the main thing is what you do with your budget. Aberdeen did well with Duk but not so well with Ojo and others!

last data I seen (which is now behind a paywall) was for the 21/22 season and had Aberdeen with nearly double our wage budget, with the difference being around a few million or so IIRC.

There's absolutely no chance that running catering staff for a few hours 19 times a year costs more than £1 million or so.

It's well documented that they have wealthy donors donating several million each year which makes up this difference.

Even with Gordon increasing our budgets, they'll still pay significantly more than us.

08-06-2023, 01:45 PM

I think his missus had a lot to do with that.

08-06-2023, 01:46 PM
I think his missus had a lot to do with that.

I guess that's what happens when you **** the *****...

08-06-2023, 02:13 PM

That list of players whilst losing nisbet doesn’t fill me of excitement for next season.

We need a big name/rabbit out the hat