View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
02-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Anyone ITK got any info on Fish?
Been awfy quiet. Starting to get concerned that we will end up gazumped.
They swim in the sea and rivers and lochs
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2023, 07:08 PM
They swim in the sea and rivers and lochs
Nice battered with a few chips too 😂
02-07-2023, 07:09 PM
Looks like East Kilbride are going to be the next team to attempt to sign Goodwillie.
02-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Looks like East Kilbride are going to be the next team to attempt to sign Goodwillie.
Why bother at this stage? Or if you do just stick with it. Can' be a surprise the rightful reaction the signing will get from your own fans and folk in general.
DJ HIBBY
02-07-2023, 07:14 PM
More likely they will sign Kyle Lafferty.
02-07-2023, 07:22 PM
Why bother at this stage? Or if you do just stick with it. Can' be a surprise the rightful reaction the signing will get from your own fans and folk in general.
He put a long winded message up on his social media page last week, sort of apologising but also sort of pleading for forgiveness and to be allowed to move on. He’ll be hoping that will have gone some way to people forgiving him.
02-07-2023, 07:31 PM
He put a long winded message up on his social media page last week, sort of apologising but also sort of pleading for forgiveness and to be allowed to move on. He’ll be hoping that will have gone some way to people forgiving him.
But also denying that he is a rapist, which is what most think and without him coming out and saying it happened and taking steps I doubt many would except any form of apology as he’s denying it.
Even without any form of criminal conviction.
02-07-2023, 07:39 PM
Stories in Israeli press linking Aberdeen and Hibs with striker Osma Khalaila at Maccabi Tel Aviv. No interest from either Scottish club.
Scott Burns on twitter
02-07-2023, 07:40 PM
But also denying that he is a rapist, which is what most think and without him coming out and saying it happened and taking steps I doubt many would except any form of apology as he’s denying it.
Even without any form of criminal conviction.
At the risk of opening a can of worms, he obviously doesn’t feel what he did was rape, he’s said that from day 1. If he came out now and said sorry for that, IMO it would look insincere and like he was just saying that so he could sign for a club.
I wasn’t there that night, I don’t know what happened so I personally don’t think I can judge him either way. I do think he’s past the point of just changing his story to calm down the masses though. If he feels what he did wasn’t rape, he shouldn’t just say it was so he can say sorry for it.
02-07-2023, 07:42 PM
At the risk of opening a can of worms, he obviously doesn’t feel what he did was rape, he’s said that from day 1. If he came out now and said sorry for that, IMO it would look insincere and like he was just saying that so he could sign for a club.
I wasn’t there that night, I don’t know what happened so I personally don’t think I can judge him either way. I do think he’s past the point of just changing his story to calm down the masses though. If he feels what he did wasn’t rape, he shouldn’t just say it was so he can say sorry for it.
Yeah as you say probably for the best opening this chat up on a forum, especially the transfer thread 🤣
Things can be easily misconstrued for such a sensitive topic.
02-07-2023, 07:42 PM
Stories in Israeli press linking Aberdeen and Hibs with striker Osma Khalaila at Maccabi Tel Aviv. No interest from either Scottish club.
Scott Burns on twitter
Certainly not prolific. Judging him purely on his Wikipedia, I’d be surprised if we were interested in him.
02-07-2023, 07:44 PM
I get what you're saying without necessarily agreeing with it. But the whole Goodwillie thing has been done to death on here and I imagine every football forum across the country. He must be getting on in age now? Hopefully he just retires and it can all end.
02-07-2023, 07:46 PM
I get what you're saying without necessarily agreeing with it. But the whole Goodwillie thing has been done to death on here and I imagine every football forum across the country. He must be getting on in age now? Hopefully he just retires and it can all end.
I think the difference now is he posted a public sort of apology. It’s whether that’s enough or not.
He’s only 31 I think.
02-07-2023, 07:50 PM
If he did apologise it would be an admission of guilt and he could be liable to criminal charges.
02-07-2023, 07:54 PM
They swim in the sea and rivers and lochsWhen you say "they" , how many are we talking here?
If he did apologise it would be an admission of guilt and he could be liable to criminal charges.
The admission of guilt is not enough to convict someone in Scotland!
I would add unless they had specialist knowledge of the crime!
xqnq1875
02-07-2023, 07:58 PM
Apparently very close to agreeing a fee with Dundee United for levitt, unveiling him in the away kit perhaps [emoji102]??
02-07-2023, 07:58 PM
Apparently very close to agreeing a fee with Dundee United for levitt, unveiling him in the away kit perhaps [emoji102]??
****ing yaaaassssssss!!!! Ecstatic if this happens
02-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Reliable source?
02-07-2023, 08:01 PM
Any idea of the fee?
****ing yaaaassssssss!!!! Ecstatic if this happens
Daffy and Kermit lined up.
Fingers crossed we get this over the line asap
02-07-2023, 08:05 PM
Won’t be the unveiling of the away kit. That photo shoot was on Wednesday last week and if Levitt was signed then we would have heard about it by now.
02-07-2023, 08:06 PM
https://twitter.com/DiMarzio/status/1675562160808755207?t=kJ6KDM1CxA***YW4Hkybeg&s=19
1.8 million followers so presumably someone who would know.
02-07-2023, 08:12 PM
Aw, doesn’t sound very good. Any idea what it was That went wrong?
Huh? Doesn't it say (Google translate mind you) he's signing for Torino early next week?
02-07-2023, 08:13 PM
I don’t know if it’s the translation but is it not meant to be a positive and they’re hoping to finalise the deal next week?
Won’t be the unveiling of the away kit. That photo shoot was on Wednesday last week and if Levitt was signed then we would have heard about it by now.
Doesn’t take much to fling on a strip and get your photo taken [emoji6]
02-07-2023, 08:14 PM
https://twitter.com/DiMarzio/status/1675562160808755207?t=kJ6KDM1CxA***YW4Hkybeg&s=19
1.8 million followers so presumably someone who would know.
link didn’t work for me, what was it saying?
HFC93
02-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Article says he is signing for Torino at the beginning of next week.
02-07-2023, 08:18 PM
Article says he is signing for Torino at the beginning of next week.
Who is?
HFC93
02-07-2023, 08:21 PM
Who is?
Josh Doig.
02-07-2023, 08:30 PM
Scott Burns on twitterThink Maccabi are one of the clubs who`ll be at Marbella Football Centre when we are .
ElginHibbie
02-07-2023, 08:34 PM
No, it said ‘something has gone wrong’.
:-)
“For a few days now, Torino has been overtaking Bologna in the race to Josh Doig, left fielder of Hellas Verona, and in these hours he is further advancing the operation
In fact, new contacts have taken place during these hours and the company of ds Vagnati and President Cairo plans to finalize the deal by the beginning of next week, closing for the arrival of the Scottish class of 2002.“
02-07-2023, 08:50 PM
When you say "they" , how many are we talking here?
More than two unless a single fish wants to be identified as gender neutral.🐠
02-07-2023, 09:11 PM
Surprised there’s not been any mention re Jair and McKirdy since they weren’t in the squad yesterday.
02-07-2023, 09:29 PM
Rumours on Twitter and United pages
Hibs proposing a swap deal for levitt with Melkerson from hibs going the other way.
Hibees1973
02-07-2023, 09:34 PM
Hibs proposing a swap deal for levitt with Melkerson from hibs going the other way.
This deal really is a bit random.
Don't believe it for a minute.
02-07-2023, 09:38 PM
This deal really is a bit random.
Don't believe it for a minute.
Would prefer a doidge / Henderson / Tavares
Think Melkerson has something else.
But yeah you’re right can’t see it happening - just thought I’d post as seen it
Hibees1973
02-07-2023, 09:39 PM
Surprised there’s not been any mention re Jair and McKirdy since they weren’t in the squad yesterday.
Really.
Who on earth would want this pair. Likely to be a loan in the hope, for the buying club, that they will miraculously morph into a semi decent player.
It's more likely Hibs will need to pay this pair off, at a substantial cost, to get them out of the club.
Just hope that these types of aimless punts are a thing of the past.
Hibees1973
02-07-2023, 09:40 PM
Would prefer a doidge / Henderson / Tavares
Think Melkerson has something else.
But yeah you’re right can’t see it happening - just thought I’d post as seen it
I cannot think of one reason why Melkersen would want to go to Dundee Utd and play in the Championship.
PHeffernan
02-07-2023, 09:45 PM
I cannot think of one reason why Melkersen would want to go to Dundee Utd and play in the Championship.
1. To play football
02-07-2023, 09:52 PM
1. To play football
Think a lot of people are forgetting he’ll not want to sit about a bench which ultimately is what he’d be doing with us
Hibees1973
02-07-2023, 09:56 PM
1. To play football
Yeah, but there is desperate, then there is Dundee Utd.
How is he going to improve his career working with Jim Goodwin as a manager.
I would prefer we persist with him rather than the likes of Henderson, Tavares & McKirdy. But, I'm just not sure Melkersen has the physicality to play in a central attacking role or has the pace to play out wide in the SPFL.
Seems more like a penalty box player, which is a bit of a luxury in Scotland. A player such as this may only be able to thrive at the uglies.
Melkersen's time at Hibs is at a crossroads.
Not really sure how it will end up, but my money is on he just won't cut it at Hibs which is a shame.
PHeffernan
02-07-2023, 10:10 PM
I would prefer we persist with him rather than the likes of Henderson, Tavares & McKirdy. But, I'm just not sure Melkersen has the physicality to play in a central attacking role or has the pace to play out wide in the SPFL.
Seems more like a penalty box player, which is a bit of a luxury in Scotland. A player such as this may only be able to thrive at the uglies.
Not really sure how it will end up, but my money is on he just won't cut it at Hibs which is a shame.
He is still only 20. Time yet to make his mark.
If he goes on loan to a club like Dundee Utd he would play regular football and score goals.
It's what he needs to progress and mature as a player.
Tavares at 22 is reaching a critical time and McKirdy at 26 is probably already down the rapids.
Their non appearance in the massive match squad yesterday would suggest moves are afoot.
02-07-2023, 10:45 PM
It sounds like the ideal place for him to actually develop to me.
The sort of move that makes sense for all parties.
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2023, 10:52 PM
1. To play football
Are we talking about a loan deal with melkersen to Dundee Utd?
03-07-2023, 01:07 AM
Are we talking about a loan deal with melkersen to Dundee Utd?I wouldn't be against him going on loan there but not perm as part of the deal.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 05:23 AM
I wouldn't be against him going on loan there but not perm as part of the deal.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using TapatalkI would be surprised if Melkerson was part of any deal, just my thoughts but Im sure Doidge would probably be more on their wanted list as an experienced striker to help them get back to the SPL
Melkerson needs games too though so you never know, either way I hope we manage to get Levit whatever it takes
03-07-2023, 05:46 AM
Dundee United would be a brilliant move for Melkersen, if it was a loan. You'd imagine they'll dominate the ball and create lots of chances. Hopefully with it being a lower level he'd start finding the net.
03-07-2023, 06:57 AM
All depends whether Melkerson wants to make it work at Hibs really.
Does he like Scotland? If it's looking unlikely he'll ever be a regular for Hibs, he might well rather go back home then be sent out round our lower leagues?
McGruber
03-07-2023, 07:24 AM
Would doubt that tbh. United will be looking for proven goalscorers. Doubt in trying to guarantee promotion they will want young project players with no goalscoring track record at any level in Scotland. You never know though.
03-07-2023, 07:29 AM
I’d rather we paid the fee for Levitt and kept Melkersen. He’s got something about him.
03-07-2023, 07:56 AM
Elias Melkersen ready for Hibs fight as striker reflects on nightmare Sparta Rotterdam loan stint
📎 footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-…
Paulie Walnuts
03-07-2023, 08:03 AM
He’s not improved his career at Hibs so I don’t think we can really ask the question how he’s going to improve under Goodwin.
DU would be a very good move for him imo whether it’s permanently or on loan.
03-07-2023, 08:17 AM
I’d be happy for Melkerson to have a season on loan playing every week in the championship, but if I was a Dundee Utd fan I’d not be happy with going into the season with him as the striker expected to take them up.
03-07-2023, 08:18 AM
I'b be offering them Mckirdy before Melk.
03-07-2023, 08:25 AM
Elias Melkersen ready for Hibs fight as striker reflects on nightmare Sparta Rotterdam loan stint
📎 footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-…
Here's the link: https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/elias-melkersen-ready-hibs-fight-27243488
03-07-2023, 08:42 AM
Melkersen is thekind of "too nice" striker that needs to find a ruthless streak
I'd be well up for a "motivating" clause for him, that said we;re selling you to Dundee United, with a buy-back price agreed - go make us buy you back in 2024
03-07-2023, 08:53 AM
I'b be offering them Mckirdy before Melk.
Melkersen is a young laddie. As much as i'd like it to happen, i think we'd struggle to convince a 26 year old to join a Championship team. Especially one that was given substantial game time last season. McKirdy will see himself as better than them.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 08:54 AM
I would be surprised if Melkerson was part of any deal, just my thoughts but Im sure Doidge would probably be more on their wanted list as an experienced striker to help them get back to the SPL
Melkerson needs games too though so you never know, either way I hope we manage to get Levit whatever it takes
I'm guessing Dundee Utd would be after cash for Levitt as they've lost a few players and have plenty of recruiting to do too . I think if it's cash plus Melkersen on loan for a season it would really be a good move for the lad . If it was permanent I'd be disappointed tbh as I still think he could come good yet for us though I do hope we sign Levitt as he'd improve our midfield.
03-07-2023, 09:03 AM
Tait away on loan to Hamilton
03-07-2023, 09:03 AM
Did we not spend a lot on Melks when we bought him?
03-07-2023, 09:04 AM
Tait away on loan to Hamilton
Clearly not in the plans for the future at all then.
03-07-2023, 09:04 AM
Encouraged by the Dundee United fans opinion on Levitt up here at work this morning. A better version of Scott Allan. United forwards struggled to read his passes. Brilliant vision. Only negative comment was on his fitness but apparently they all struggled with that and Goodwin was raging about it when he joined. They all seemed to agree that he'd prefer a move to Cardiff but that would only be a loan.
Keyser Sauzee
03-07-2023, 09:09 AM
Dylan Tait to Hamilton on loan for the season.
03-07-2023, 09:10 AM
Did we not spend a lot on Melks when we bought him?
Over 400k
03-07-2023, 09:12 AM
Over 400k
Is that official? Seen loads of speculation. If that's confirmed fair enough.
03-07-2023, 09:14 AM
Dylan Tait to Hamilton on loan for the season.That's league 2 - a league lower than last year
We needs to show alot this year or he will be released end of season I think
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
03-07-2023, 09:15 AM
That's league 2 - a league lower than last year
League 1, but still a league lower than last season, and a league lower than where he came to us from.
03-07-2023, 09:16 AM
League 1, but still a league lower than last season.Yeah sorry I originally wrote the 2nd Division lol
League 1 you are correct
03-07-2023, 09:17 AM
I don’t think there’s any way he avoids that now.
He was a panic buy at the end of that truly abject summer transfer window when Hibs were in full blown “panic and buy anyone” mode.
Not really a surprise that his move has been about as successful as “about a year away from fitness” James Scott’s move was.
Keyser Sauzee
03-07-2023, 09:18 AM
I think that decision has probably already been made and he will be away at the end of the year.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 09:21 AM
With Tait away to Hamilton on loan , how many have left now ?
03-07-2023, 09:26 AM
Transfermrkt has us with a squad of 23 with Tait being away with 3 of them being goalkeepers.
Remembering we have Cadden injured for a fair chunk of the coming season.
03-07-2023, 09:31 AM
Having seen tait play for raith before we signed him in genuinely surprised at how poorly it’s turned out.
Last season when he went to Arbroath Ialong with Allan I didn’t expect both to hardly feature
I don’t know what’s not what right, whether it’s too many managers or attitude or any other reason. But he’s a talented boy.
Shows you need more than talent and why it’s so hard for recruitment teams to get it right
03-07-2023, 09:31 AM
I think that decision has probably already been made and he will be away at the end of the year.
You are probably right. I only watched him for 5 or 10 minutes for Arbroath. He was busy and always looking to get involved and liked a tackle too. I'd rather have him than Henderson to be honest.
03-07-2023, 09:35 AM
You are probably right. I only watched him for 5 or 10 minutes for Arbroath. He was busy and always looking to get involved and liked a tackle too. I'd rather have him than Henderson to be honest.
Based on 5/10 mins?
03-07-2023, 09:40 AM
Jeezy Peeps man
03-07-2023, 09:42 AM
Anyone think we could do a wee double announcement of Fish and Levitt?
Both young boys who know each other from being at Man Utd together?…
Aberdeen done similar when they announced Williams as they included clarkson
03-07-2023, 09:43 AM
Having seen tait play for raith before we signed him in genuinely surprised at how poorly it’s turned out.
Last season when he went to Arbroath Ialong with Allan I didn’t expect both to hardly feature
I don’t know what’s not what right, whether it’s too many managers or attitude or any other reason. But he’s a talented boy.
Shows you need more than talent and why it’s so hard for recruitment teams to get it right
Did he not start every game except 1 until he got injured at Arbroath? He has suffered bad injuries on both his loan deals at Kilmarnock and Arbroath which has probably stunted his development.
03-07-2023, 09:44 AM
Probably about as much as chance as somebody being announced as part of a new strip launch.
davhibby
03-07-2023, 09:46 AM
He barely got a sniff for a poor Arbroath side and now he’s going to playing a league below this season. I take it you want us to get relegated?
03-07-2023, 09:57 AM
Over 400k
Sure i remember that figure being floated around at the time. Huge amount to pay for a project type player. That's what i would expect us to pay for an experienced first team ready type. A good one at that. Cant help but feel Kensell's pal from Bodo Glimt pulled the wool over his eyes a bit.
GreenGray
03-07-2023, 10:06 AM
Sure i remember that figure being floated around at the time. Huge amount to pay for a project type player. That's what i would expect us to pay for an experienced first team ready type. A good one at that. Cant help but feel Kensell's pal from Bodo Glimt pulled the wool over his eyes a bit.
Not sure why he was involved in identifying players anyway?
03-07-2023, 10:11 AM
He barely got a sniff for a poor Arbroath side and now he’s going to playing a league below this season. I take it you want us to get relegated?
This isn't correct. He played loads and then got injured. I do think he has no chance at Hibs though. Maybe needs to decide if pubs are more important than football.
Would love that.
My Jambo chum reckons Levitt is a cert to sign for them with the lure of European football and more money than we can afford.
03-07-2023, 10:19 AM
Would love that.
My Jambo chum reckons Levitt is a cert to sign for them with the lure of European football and more money than we can afford.
There does seem to be a fair bit of chat amongs the Jambos that they are close to signing him.
We will hopefully find out sooner rather than later. They are so desperate to get one over on us!
03-07-2023, 10:22 AM
We will hopefully find out sooner rather than later. They are so desperate to get one over on us!
To be fair, would be a pretty sore one to take.
I’m pretty keen on levitt and would be a big signal of intent
To lose out now to our rivals would be *****
03-07-2023, 10:24 AM
Also a bit perspective needed as well though.
He didn’t play well last season at all. Had a couple of good games but not much more than that according to my Arab mate.
I’m not saying he’s not a good player, there’s clearly potential there, he’s probably not the messiah some think he is though.
Definitely would be a statement of intent.
Can only hope the poster last night was correct (no reason to doubt) and we find out this week.
He didn’t play well last season at all. Had a couple of good games but not much more than that according to my Arab mate.
I’m not saying he’s not a good player, there’s clearly potential there, he’s probably not the messiah some think he is though.
See where you are coming from Bingo but it’s that potential we need to harness.
Not looking for a messiah but another piece of the jigsaw that’ll make us better and improve us.
03-07-2023, 10:30 AM
Don’t think anyones claimed him to be the messiah? It would’ve been difficult for anyone in that dundee utd team to play well last season
He’s a good young player who’s only going to get better and fits into the mould of what we’re trying to do
No doubts about it, it’ll be a tough one if hearts beat us to signing him
I’m sure I seen one of the stattos come up with something for Levitt on Twitter and considering how bad his team were last year I’m sure his stats were still pretty decent
Don’t think anyones claimed him to be the messiah? It would’ve been difficult for anyone in that dundee utd team to play well last season
He’s a good young player who’s only going to get better and fits into the mould of what we’re trying to do
No doubts about it, it’ll be a tough one if hearts beat us to signing him
I’m sure I seen one of the stattos come up with something for Levitt on Twitter and considering how bad his team were last year I’m sure his stats were still pretty decent
Dundee U were awful at times last season but they came within a minute of whitewashing us!
03-07-2023, 10:38 AM
Dundee U were awful at times last season but they came within a minute of whitewashing us!
Aye we weren’t too far off where we wanted to be by the end but results against Dundee utd and teams down that end were our downfall
Has to be rectified this season
03-07-2023, 10:38 AM
Totally he was a key player in a team that was terrible last season. I wouldn't break the bank for him, and if the jumbos end up paying more for him cause we were interested more fool them.
Aye we weren’t too far off where we wanted to be by the end but results against Dundee utd and teams down that end were our downfall
Has to be rectified this season
Absolutely. Did we lose to every team last season and if so is that a first since SPFL? Actually it was a weird season with 3rd and 4th placed teams sacking their managers and Sheep finishing 3rd despite losing 4 games by an aggregate of 20-0!
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 11:04 AM
Would love that.
Not much mention of him on there forum now . Silvera still supposedly there top target with McGrath and Lowry getting mentioned. Also on about some club after Cochrane and Birmingham getting linked with Shankland .
03-07-2023, 11:06 AM
Totally he was a key player in a team that was terrible last season. I wouldn't break the bank for him, and if the jumbos end up paying more for him cause we were interested more fool them.
Football isn’t a one man sport though so I’m not sure how relevant that is. John McGinn, John Souttar, Aaron Hickey, Glen Kamara, Kenny McLean and Jamie Lindsay were all key players for terrible teams that got relegated in recent years.
ChuckNor
The Dylan Tait affair is utterly bizarre. When he signed for us I genuinely thought he would be on the fringes of the first team, given his contribution at a decent Raith Rovers. For him to now be playing in League One with Hamilton is mad. I hate to speculate given he is very young, but could there be an attitude problem here?
Speaking of attitude problems, does anyone know what is going on with Harry McKirdy? If we lose out on Levitt and McGrath then could we be forced into persevering with him?
EGL2000
Absolutely. Did we lose to every team last season and if so is that a first since SPFL? Actually it was a weird season with 3rd and 4th placed teams sacking their managers and Sheep finishing 3rd despite losing 4 games by an aggregate of 20-0!
Pretty sure we didn't get beat by st Mirren?
Newcastle United sign Sandro Tonali from AC Milan
Live Score
03-07-2023, 11:07 AM
Pretty sure we didn't get beat by st Mirren?
They beat us 1-0 last August
03-07-2023, 11:09 AM
I can’t imagine Levitt picking hearts due to them being one round further on in Europe.
Still a hell of alot for them to do to get in the conference league group stage, and if they do that’s a hell of an achievement.
We’ve got to beat Vikingur or Inter Club d’Escalades to be in the same position they’re currently in.
Can the offer him more wages than us? Well maybe, but it comes down to how both clubs value the player. We’ve got rid of quite a few players, a couple of those high earners in Nisbet, McGeady and Magennis.
I’d imagine we’d make him one of our highest earners and make him feel like he’s one of the main men.
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 11:09 AM
They beat us 1-0 last August
Correct, had forgotten about that one.
Would love that.
I'm afraid I agree with your jambo pals, if it comes to money Hearts will out bid Hibs.
03-07-2023, 11:21 AM
Hibs won't pay over the odds for Levitt, the yams would.
03-07-2023, 11:26 AM
Hibs won't pay over the odds for Levitt, the yams would.
I really don’t know, they seem in quite an odd position right now with the whole managerial thing I.e Naismith is the unofficial manager because he’s not qualified.
Supposedly was the cheap option due to paying off Neilson and a key factor in appointing Naismith and co was to promote youth.
They’ve got a lot of players that will be on decent money and already have Haring, Halliday, Baningme, Grant, Kio and Devlin as first team centre mids.
But they’re not the brightest so you’re probably right 🤣
03-07-2023, 11:28 AM
I really don’t know, they seem in quite an odd position right now with the whole managerial thing I.e Naismith is the unofficial manager because he’s not qualified.
Supposedly was the cheap option due to paying off Neilson and a key factor in appointing Naismith and co was to promote youth.
They’ve got a lot of players that will be on decent money and already have Haring, Halliday, Baningme, Grant, Kio and Devlin as first team centre mids.
But they’re not the brightest so you’re probably right 🤣
Think they will be happy to offload Halliday, Kio and Grant. If managed properly Levitt could make someone some money.
03-07-2023, 11:32 AM
All the chat you hear about Hearts is they budgeted for back-to-back Group Stages of the Conference, and now have hit a few problems.
Their most effective player last year (Ginelly) has walked away for nothing.
They've signed the cheap option manager (sorry, director of football, in case UEFA are looking in, haha)
There's no bids in for any players they want/need to shift
And Ann Budge/Joe Savage/Andrew McKinley seem to be doing a passable impression of Rod Petrie and Peter Lawwell in their balance sheet days
I would not be surprised if we get Levitt and they sign McGrath
03-07-2023, 11:36 AM
I don't understand why this "if we're in direct competition for a player with one of our rivals for 3rd, they'll pay more and get him" notion is considered to be a good thing.
"Oh no we've paid more for this key player than what Hibs think they're worth. Oh no, we have better players than them now. This is terrible. Will be horrible when we beat them in a couple months knowing that we spent slightly over budget to get these great players."
I'm afraid I agree with your jambo pals, if it comes to money Hearts will out bid Hibs.
I’m not naive enough to think they won’t.
They’ve always paid more and used other folks money to do so.
With all their supposed millions their recruitment has been poor, especially the signings of Grant and Kio who were supposed to be players taking them to the next level.
As I’ve mentioned hopefully some news this week in the signings front!
Paulie Walnuts
03-07-2023, 11:38 AM
Would love that.
The European football will make no difference I wouldn’t think.
We’ve got what should essentially be a gimme through to the same round as Hearts.
03-07-2023, 11:54 AM
See if it is 500k United want, surely it can’t just be me that thinks that’s a good price even if it is only a year he’s got left on his contract?
He’s a really good young player and we’ve spent a lot of money on worse players lately.
I get negotiating but if it comes down to pay it or he goes elsewhere I’d be paying it.
If last year we signed him for 500k from Man United I’m sure people would have said good business.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 11:56 AM
Transfermrkt has us with a squad of 23 with Tait being away with 3 of them being goalkeepers.
Remembering we have Cadden injured for a fair chunk of the coming season.
A lot of work still to do , there's still a couple I wouldn't mind seeing moving on like Henderson and probably Kenneh , think Jeggo's a much better option and LJ's obviously not keen on him either. Probably need another 6 signing's yet .
03-07-2023, 12:08 PM
See if it is 500k United want, surely it can’t just be me that thinks that’s a good price even if it is only a year he’s got left on his contract?
He’s a really good young player and we’ve spent a lot of money on worse players lately.
I get negotiating but if it comes down to pay it or he goes elsewhere I’d be paying it.
If last year we signed him for 500k from Man United I’m sure people would have said good business.
I agree, if he’s available now for £500k then get it done. If we lose out on him for sake of £100k or so we’ll regret it IMO
03-07-2023, 12:08 PM
Not much mention of him on there forum now . Silvera still supposedly there top target with McGrath and Lowry getting mentioned. Also on about some club after Cochrane and Birmingham getting linked with Shankland .
Think Silvera is going to England.
At least that's the rumour here.
Should know soon.
03-07-2023, 12:09 PM
That's a few boys Hearts were supposedly after moved/moving elsewhere
@jamiekborthwick
Hearts are out of the running to sign Central Coast Mariners winger Sammy Silvera after the A-League side accepted rival bids for the player @STVSport
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 12:15 PM
Think Silvera is going to England.
At least that's the rumour here.
Should know soon.
Hope so , boy looks a good player imo .
This isn't correct. He played loads and then got injured. I do think he has no chance at Hibs though. Maybe needs to decide if pubs are more important than football.
He was involved in that nonsense outside a Glasgow pub with Nisbet and McGeady.
03-07-2023, 01:24 PM
https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1675847576636076033?t=K43B3er7y9WziB4fi7hAuA&s=19
Quite an interesting thread
03-07-2023, 01:38 PM
Not able to read it
McGruber
03-07-2023, 01:44 PM
I make it 20 left now, perm or loan, over the 2 groups so a lot of bodies. For some of the development boys though there is obviously the younger ones stepping up
03-07-2023, 01:45 PM
https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1675847576636076033?t=K43B3er7y9WziB4fi7hAuA&s=19
Can't read it. Can you give us the gist, please?
03-07-2023, 01:58 PM
It’s a thread analysing our 7 of our signings from last summer.
Showing what their stats were before us and performances with us.
Goes in depth with a lot of different stats for each player
Interesting read
Silky
03-07-2023, 02:18 PM
It's happening all the time, folk posting twitter links which don't work. No point if folk can't access, just post the text!
Basically in the main it looks like they seem to be no better or worse than before they joined.
03-07-2023, 02:22 PM
It's happening all the time, folk posting twitter links which don't work. No point if folk can't access, just post the text!
Anybody with a Twitter account can view it and this link is a long thread containing numerous graphical statistics, so the OP can hardly ‘just post the text’.
Paloschi
03-07-2023, 02:23 PM
Marlon Mustapha update: No progress, player due to sign new contract at Mainz and this is stalling the deal as % of new wage would be payable during the loan. Recruitment team remain fond of him. Apparently LJ hasn't approved a move for the player yet.
Another name I have been made aware of is Antonin Rusek, a Czech International who would command a higher fee but loan and option to buy deal being explored. He is a very tall target man so would be the clubs plan if we can't sign Myko or is the clubs preferred choice to Myko.
Dimitri Oberlin - no contact made, we are just monitoring for now.
I can't say if any of these will happen or are even close, just a few players identified by the recruitment team using their scouting package. No word on whether McDermott or LJ are keen on these players.
03-07-2023, 02:24 PM
Marlon Mustapha update: No progress, player due to sign new contract at Mainz and this is stalling the deal as % of new wage would be payable during the loan. Recruitment team remain fond of him. Apparently LJ hasn't approved a move for the player yet.
Another name I have been made aware of is Antonin Rusek, a Czech International who would command a higher fee but loan and option to buy deal being explored. He is a very tall target man so would be the clubs plan if we can't sign Myko or is the clubs preferred choice to Myko.
I can't say if any of these will happen or are even close, just a few players identified by the recruitment team using their scouting packages. No word on whether McDermott or LJ are keen on these players.
Three players I literally hadn't heard of before this post. Cheers for the info.
Paloschi
03-07-2023, 02:30 PM
I can't say if any of these will happen or are even close, just a few players identified by the recruitment team using their scouting package. No word on whether McDermott or LJ are keen on these players.
Also, nothing on Levitt, I just got a chuckle when I asked about it.
03-07-2023, 02:47 PM
Any news on Doig to Torino? Seems to have gone a bit quiet. Hope we're not waiting on that to happen to release funds for our targets.
Paloschi
03-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Any news on Doig to Torino? Seems to have gone a bit quiet. Hope we're not waiting on that to happen to release funds for our targets.
Close to joining Torino. Will happen soon.
03-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Close to joining Torino. Will happen soon.
03-07-2023, 02:49 PM
His link works fine, sometimes if you need to copy and paste the url to get it instead of it being clickable
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 02:49 PM
I think the Czech player " Antonin Rusek came on late against Scotland in the 2-1 game . Seem to think he near scored with a header or shot that hit the bar , might be wrong though.
03-07-2023, 02:51 PM
Also, nothing on Levitt, I just got a chuckle when I asked about it.
Nothing as in we won’t be getting him or a chuckle in a positive way 🤣
03-07-2023, 02:54 PM
His link works fine, sometimes if you need to copy and paste the url to get it instead of it being clickable
In this case I think people are referring to the fact that you can no longer read tweets without being logged in.
Paloschi
03-07-2023, 02:55 PM
Nothing as in we won’t be getting him or a chuckle in a positive way 🤣
To be honest they probably don’t know. My source works within Hibs but not closely with the manager/dof. I can’t say more as it could identify them.
If they did know, I don’t think they would say either if a deal was at an advanced stage.
03-07-2023, 02:57 PM
To be honest they probably don’t know. My source works within Hibs but not closely with the manager/dof. I can’t say more as it could identify them.
If they did know, I don’t think they would say either if a deal was at an advanced stage.
No worries , cheers mate 👍🏻
03-07-2023, 03:15 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1675885391881043969?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Unsure if this is a tease but I don’t get it…
Would seem an odd way/time to ask fans for random videos
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 03:15 PM
I think the Czech player " Antonin Rusek came on late against Scotland in the 2-1 game . Seem to think he near scored with a header or shot that hit the bar , might be wrong though.
Looks like he struggles to score goals. Only scored 3 last season in 24 appearances. Wouldn't really want us to be paying any significant fee for a striker with that ratio.
Souter96Mac
03-07-2023, 03:18 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1675885391881043969?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
It's part of a recent twitter trend, quite a few teams have done it to get fans to repost old videos.
Could still be a transfer tease though!
03-07-2023, 03:21 PM
Think it's just a twitter post, can't see what they would be teasing at?
03-07-2023, 03:22 PM
Think it's just a twitter post, can't see what they would be teasing at?
Maybe they have something exciting to show us?
Silky
03-07-2023, 03:25 PM
Anybody with a Twitter account can view it and this link is a long thread containing numerous graphical statistics, so the OP can hardly ‘just post the text’.
Ahh, OK. I've never had twitter and used to see them no bother. Must have changed. I'll just bow out of the thread then, sadly.
03-07-2023, 03:33 PM
It's part of a recent twitter trend, quite a few teams have done it to get fans to repost old videos.
Could still be a transfer tease though!
Ah not seen that anywhere, makes sense though!
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 03:37 PM
Looks like he struggles to score goals. Only scored 3 last season in 24 appearances. Wouldn't really want us to be paying any significant fee for a striker with that ratio.I'd rather get Mykola back if we can . Think he's a quality player TBH . Any halfdecent striker should score goals for us with Youan and Boyle on either flank thoughhttps://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anton%C3%ADn_R%C5%AFsek
03-07-2023, 03:47 PM
I'd rather get Mykola back if we can . Think he's a quality player TBH . Any halfdecent striker should score goals for us with Youan and Boyle on either flank thoughhttps://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anton%C3%ADn_R%C5%AFsek
Looks like he has played as a striker,2nd striker (whatever that is) attacking midfielder and CM. Has scored a few goals although not sure what quality the opposition etc.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/antonin-rusek/leistungsdaten/spieler/318112
03-07-2023, 04:27 PM
I'd rather get Mykola back if we can . Think he's a quality player TBH . Any halfdecent striker should score goals for us with Youan and Boyle on either flank thoughhttps://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anton%C3%ADn_R%C5%AFsek
I really like him as a player and would like to get him back, but having had so many good players have injury-ravaged seasons in recent years I can't help but think it would be madness signing a player who has missed so much football lately. All the bad signs are there that it feels like we should be heeding with him.
03-07-2023, 04:28 PM
https://twitter.com/El_Tanque_25/status/1675885151962759170?t=mFq1Pt8zPAL_eVBmJs08lQ&s=19
Show us the money!!
Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 04:34 PM
https://twitter.com/El_Tanque_25/status/1675885151962759170?t=mFq1Pt8zPAL_eVBmJs08lQ&s=19
Show us the money!!What does it say mate, linky no worky
03-07-2023, 04:35 PM
What does it say mate, linky no worky
Basically a 7 million euro deal agreed to be concluded by Wednesday.
03-07-2023, 04:36 PM
Doig will be revealed tomorrow or Wednesday 7 mil + bonus whatever that bonus is hope we’re due a cut lol
Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 04:36 PM
Basically a 7 million euro deal agreed to be concluded by Wednesday.For Doig, to what team ?
03-07-2023, 04:38 PM
For Doig, to what team ?
Torino
03-07-2023, 04:39 PM
For Doig, to what team ?
Torino by the look of it
03-07-2023, 04:40 PM
For Doig, to what team ?
Torino.
03-07-2023, 04:45 PM
How much do we get
Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 04:46 PM
Cheers guys 👍
Steven79
03-07-2023, 04:49 PM
For Doig, to what team ?
Torino
03-07-2023, 04:49 PM
7 million euros is what? 6 million pounds?
That’s a very decent sell on % for us especially with the remaining amount over 1 million that we were due
Hopefully it’s the green light we need for fish and Levitt
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 04:50 PM
Looks like he has played as a striker,2nd striker (whatever that is) attacking midfielder and CM. Has scored a few goals although not sure what quality the opposition etc.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/antonin-rusek/leistungsdaten/spieler/318112
He seems to be able to play quite a few positions which is always useful in a player. Secondary striker is one that plays abit deeper behind a CF .
https://www.fifplay.com/encyclopedia/second-striker/
03-07-2023, 04:53 PM
7 million euros is what? 6 million pounds?
That’s a very decent sell on % for us especially with the remaining amount over 1 million that we were due
Hopefully it’s the green light we need for fish and Levitt
Plus €1m in add-ons too and hopefully a sell-on included too for when he gets his move to the EPL.
Sioux
03-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Joe Baker, Denis Law and Josh Doig.
:rockin:
03-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Ahh, OK. I've never had twitter and used to see them no bother. Must have changed. I'll just bow out of the thread then, sadly.
One of many of Elon Musk’s great ideas I’m afraid
Silky
03-07-2023, 05:17 PM
One of many of Elon Musk’s great ideas I’m afraid
I thought that! Doesn't surprise me either. It's just incredibly frustrating when post after post contain links to stories which dont open. But that's the price I pay for not signing up to Musk's empire I guess!
03-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Show us the money!!
Eccellente!
Now that's done I'm sure we'll see some more movement in.
Also, well done, Josh! Another step up the ladder and a derby against Juve to look forward to.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 05:28 PM
I really like him as a player and would like to get him back, but having had so many good players have injury-ravaged seasons in recent years I can't help but think it would be madness signing a player who has missed so much football lately. All the bad signs are there that it feels like we should be heeding with him.
I totally get were your coming from on the amount of time he missed with injury , could be he was just very unlucky in his time at us too .If we could I'd take him on loan for the season with the option to buy him if that were possible . I think he's a quality player TBH and would be very happy with him coming back as Nisbet's replacement.
Paulie Walnuts
03-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Agree.
If he’s coming back then it has to be as a back up to someone with a history of being available more often than he was. He cannot be our main striker.
03-07-2023, 05:34 PM
I’ve been saying this repeatedly as well. I’m not as desperate for myko back. He’s a good player and goalscorer but he was injured more often than not.
Would be a massive risk to sign him as our main striker for next season
03-07-2023, 05:36 PM
I’ve been saying this repeatedly as well. I’m not as desperate for myko back. He’s a good player and goalscorer but he was injured more often than not.
Aye, have to agree. Said a while back if we are signing him I'd much prefer it to be another loan with an option to buy so he can prove his fitness.
Clearly a talented boy, pointless if he's out injured though.
03-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Eccellente!
Now that's done I'm sure we'll see some more movement in.
Also, well done, Josh! Another step up the ladder and a derby against Juve to look forward to.
Agree think he will move again. Huge potential to get better also.
03-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Hear hear. Another loan as a backup striker perhaps. But not as a main striker given his season just past
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 05:51 PM
Agree.
If he’s coming back then it has to be as a back up to someone with a history of being available more often than he was. He cannot be our main striker.
Personally I think he's to good to be just a backup striker though maybe that's just me that thinks that 😁
03-07-2023, 05:54 PM
Personally I think he's to good to be just a backup striker though maybe that's just me that thinks that 😁
Nah mate, not at all. I think a fit Myko is probably the best striker in the league out with the uglies. It's the staying fit bit I worry about.
Think others have alluded that LJ wants Myko and sees him as his first choice. The lad is definitely a baller and if he’s over his injuries I agree he would be a superb signing for us!
03-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Basically a 7 million euro deal agreed to be concluded by Wednesday.
I think that says 7M Euros plus 1M in "bonus" which I take to mean add-ons. So potentially more for the Hibees down the line.
Earlydelivery
03-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Think others have alluded that LJ wants Myko and sees him as his first choice. The lad is definitely a baller and if he’s over his injuries I agree he would be a superb signing for us!
He'll have to lower his wage demands before he comes back
Depends if it’s another loan or not.
Hopefully that can get sorted asap if he’s our main target!
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 06:22 PM
I think he would be one of the best strikers in the league too , excluding the old firm. The staying fit bit has most of us concerned though as I said it could be he was just unlucky at us too . I'm sure the club will weigh everything up before trying to get him . We might go for someone totally different though if it's him we get he will be our main striker imo .
Gordy M
03-07-2023, 06:49 PM
Talk Sport reporting that Man City reserve keeper James Trafford signing for Burnley.....for £19 million! Ive never even heard of the guy......played in League One last year i think? English prices are just crazy!??
cameronw-hfc
03-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Talk Sport reporting that Man City reserve keeper James Trafford signing for Burnley.....for £19 million! Ive never even heard of the guy......played in League One last year i think? English prices are just crazy!??
19m and played in league one last year, and there's folk in here that would have you believe there's no good players in the English lower leagues!
Silly money. Good keeper, not sure he's going to be worth that in years to come though.
03-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Apparently excellent for Bolton last season, saw a clip of him making a tremendous save for England under 21s against Portugal yesterday too.
BobMilne
03-07-2023, 06:59 PM
He seems to be able to play quite a few positions which is always useful in a player. Secondary striker is one that plays abit deeper behind a CF .
https://www.fifplay.com/encyclopedia/second-striker/
I do believe we’ve established that
03-07-2023, 07:09 PM
You would hope some of, if not most of the money from the Doig transfer will be spent to improve the first team.
Johnson has always wanted most of the players in before the training camp, I'm sure there working hard and fingers crossed something can be announced this week.
Paul1642
03-07-2023, 07:10 PM
English teams have the luxury of paying for potential. £19 million for a young goalkeeper who could be England number 1 in years to come is very good business if it pays off, and if it doesn’t it’s probably no more costly to the club than Hibs signing a player for around £500k.
I do agree that prices are crazy but that’s just football these days.
03-07-2023, 07:17 PM
You would hope some of, if not most of the money from the Doig transfer will be spent to improve the first team.
Johnson has always wanted most of the players in before the training camp, I'm sure there working hard and fingers crossed something can be announced this week.
100%
Always funny to think as fans we don’t know all the details, for example that we’re still due over 1 million for the original Doig transfer.
But the fee were away to get, plus whatever we actually got upfront for Nisbet has to be reinvested in the team.
In fairness to the club I don’t think we can say they’ve not been spending money, it’s just unfortunately been poorly spent.
03-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Who is the Burnley manager? Doing his old mates a favor I think.
City and Chelsea have some extremely dodgy dealings. Some people still think Haaland was only 60 million or so.
100%
Always funny to think as fans we don’t know all the details, for example that we’re still due over 1 million for the original Doig transfer.
But the fee were away to get, plus whatever we actually got upfront for Nisbet has to be reinvested in the team.
In fairness to the club I don’t think we can say they’ve not been spending money, it’s just unfortunately been poorly spent.
Tbh I forgot about the Nisbet transfer and money we got for him.
Fair chunk so hopefully some of it invested wisely
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 07:20 PM
If the Doig is going for £6 million and with the money that's due too . What sort of figure are we looking at getting?
03-07-2023, 07:26 PM
100%
No doubt about the last part with the club spending money since Ron took over, would be interesting to actually see the total amount since( to lazy to Google it myself tonight)
The club seems to be doing much better financially behind the scenes also if I'm correct? I'm not really a businessman but I'm sure most also like to keep some money in the business from profits.
cameronw-hfc
03-07-2023, 07:40 PM
Morelos to Birmingham City lol. That would be comical if it happened. They're already a horrible mess of a club, with Morelos it becomes almost sitcom worthy.
03-07-2023, 07:43 PM
Morelos to Birmingham City lol. That would be comical if it happened. They're already a horrible mess of a club, with Morelos it becomes almost sitcom worthy.
Would actually be hilarious. Couldn't happen to a better player as well.
Paulie Walnuts
03-07-2023, 07:49 PM
I would agree, if you could guarantee his fitness.
As it is though, all we really have to go on is last season where his fitness was a huge issue. For that reason we would be mental to rely on him as our main man up top, much like it was mental to pin our hopes on Magennis.
03-07-2023, 07:50 PM
No doubt about the last part with the club spending money since Ron took over, would be interesting to actually see the total amount since( to lazy to Google it myself tonight)
The club seems to be doing much better financially behind the scenes also if I'm correct? I'm not really a businessman but I'm sure most also like to keep some money in the business from profits.
Yeah I think for all the stick Kensell gets, he has done a massive amount of good work behind the scenes to bring money into the club through various deals etc.
AltheHibby
03-07-2023, 07:54 PM
Him and Small Heath would be a perfect imperfect match.
03-07-2023, 07:58 PM
I would agree, if you could guarantee his fitness.
As it is though, all we really have to go on is last season where his fitness was a huge issue. For that reason we would be mental to rely on him as our main man up top, much like it was mental to pin our hopes on Magennis.
That’s all we as supporters have to go on but the clubs medical people can dig a bit deeper.
I like to think they were looking at what his injuries were, what caused them, the likelihood of that type of injury recurring, what sort of pre-season he had last season and how we could manage him better. From that I’m sure smarter people than me can make a forecast better than the average punter about whether he would be worth the gamble or not.
I hope the answers to the above questions would be positive as I think he could be a brilliant player for us, if he’s managed properly.
03-07-2023, 08:06 PM
Verona still due us £1m from original deal apparently and then the sell on. Hopefully £2/3 million coming our way shortly. Will come in very handy.
03-07-2023, 08:09 PM
Verona still due us £1m from original deal apparently and then the sell on. Hopefully £2/3 million coming out way shortly. Will come in very handy.
That’s if they give us it…think they’re struggling financially
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 08:10 PM
Jota confirmed away, Celtic going to have some rebuild. Wouldn't put it past them spending 50mil +.
03-07-2023, 08:12 PM
Jota confirmed away, Celtic going to have some rebuild. Wouldn't put it past them spending 50mil +.
No chance Celtic will spend £50m+
Not a chance
03-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Not a chance
There's just no need for them to spend that amount of money. Absolutely need a wee rebuild. But could do that on £20 mil easily and pocket the rest.
Then Champions League group stage money. Absolutely ridiculous the amount of money they've made the past while.
Steven79
That’s if they give us it…think they’re struggling financiallyWon't we make sure the money comes directly to us?
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
EGL2000
Not a chance
Really don't see why not. Spent 30 last year. This year they are going to make a significant amount in transfer fees, Ange comp, champions league group stage (this season and last). Also the board have said they are giving largest ever budget.
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 08:17 PM
There's just no need for them to spend that amount of money. Absolutely need a wee rebuild. But could do that on £20 mil easily and pocket the rest.
Then Champions League group stage money. Absolutely ridiculous the amount of money they've made the past while.
I think if they want to take the step up they need to start paying 15mil for some players. That fabian rieder they are linked with looks the real deal, priced at 15.
03-07-2023, 08:19 PM
I think if they want to take the step up they need to start paying 15mil for some players. That fabian rieder they are linked with looks the real deal, priced at 15.
But what's the point in that realistically? Step up to what? They already skoosh the league. Even now they still have the best squad and best manager.
Just can't see them *****ing money they don't need to to get a stage further in the Champions League.
03-07-2023, 08:22 PM
Won't we make sure the money comes directly to us?
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
I don’t think we can do that?
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 08:25 PM
But what's the point in that realistically? Step up to what? They already skoosh the league. Even now they still have the best squad and best manager.
Just can't see them *****ing money they don't need to to get a stage further in the Champions League.
I get you in the league sense totally, but I do feel they have a bit more ambition in Europe now. For example an extra round or 2 could be the coefficient difference to keep them in the champions league for another 5 years. That's worth 100's of millions.
Trinity Hibee
03-07-2023, 08:26 PM
Is David Turnbull someone we could be looking at?
03-07-2023, 08:28 PM
I get you in the league sense totally, but I do feel they have a bit more ambition in Europe now. For example an extra round or 2 could be the coefficient difference to keep them in the champions league for another 5 years. That's worth 100's of millions.
You could well be right man, they might decide now is the time to go big. Just can't see it personally.
One thing Celtic have been fantastic with in the past decade or so, is spending their money well and turning a profit. Can't see that model changing any time soon.
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 08:29 PM
Would be a brilliant signing, but out our reach. Even a loan I think he would most likely get a move to the championship.
03-07-2023, 08:30 PM
Was he someone that Rodgers liked in his previous spell?
03-07-2023, 08:34 PM
Think 1st team squad players are probably put of our reach now, think it would have to be a young player who's potentially not going to make the break through or someone who's maybe coming towards the end of their career, someone like Forrest, even then he probably has something to offer at Celtic and has a fairly long contract at Celtic.
03-07-2023, 08:38 PM
It’s funny when you see the money going into Celtic and some get really worked up when we lose (convincingly) to them.
On the flip if we lost to a team near the bottom they’re also raging as we should be beating them comfortably despite our budget being a lot closer to there’s than Celtic.
Shows how tough it is
03-07-2023, 08:45 PM
Who is the Burnley manager? Doing his old mates a favor I think.
City and Chelsea have some extremely dodgy dealings. Some people still think Haaland was only 60 million or so.
How much was Haaland? Why would dortmund collude with city to say the fee was lower than it was?
PS not doubting you, just curious.
03-07-2023, 08:57 PM
BBC reporting £15M but still mental. Think City have made circa £40M from selling youth keepers in the last few years (Gunn, Bazunu and this guy) - think Gunn was the only one not loaned below Championship level. Crazy money.
03-07-2023, 08:58 PM
How much was Haaland? Why would dortmund collude with city to say the fee was lower than it was?
PS not doubting you, just curious.
Its not the transfer fee, its the amount paid to agents and Haaland himself. You don't think every club in the world would've been on him for 60 million?
Was easily double that, and his wages are apparently far higher than first reported.
03-07-2023, 09:05 PM
Its not the transfer fee, its the amount paid to agents and Haaland himself. You don't think every club in the world would've been on him for 60 million?
Was easily double that, and his wages are apparently far higher than first reported.
Haaland had a buyout clause that City activated.
Everyone of the big clubs were on him for £60m. He chose City.
03-07-2023, 09:09 PM
Haaland had a buyout clause that City activated.
Everyone of the big clubs were on him for £60m. He chose City.
He choose City because they paid him and his agents 10s of millions in ''fees''
Did anyone else even trigger the clause? I think they mostly just laughed at the ludicrous demands and walked away.
03-07-2023, 09:11 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
03-07-2023, 09:11 PM
Did anyone else even trigger the clause? I think they mostly just laughed at the ludicrous demands and walked away.
Aye, cause the likes of Chelsea, PSG and Real would have been priced out right enough.
MagicSwirlingShip
03-07-2023, 09:20 PM
So 60m transfer fee and 60m fee’s?
03-07-2023, 09:23 PM
So 60m transfer fee and 60m fee’s?
Who knows.
Was some reports a few weeks ago that his salary is as high as 800k pw. That would price everyone except PSG and Newcastle out really.
03-07-2023, 09:26 PM
Who knows. Was some reports a few weeks ago that his salary is as high as 800k pw. That would price everyone except PSG and Newcastle out really.
£800k a week?! Jesus Christ!! That is ridiculous.
So basically just PSG as an option then with Newcastle being new money so having to suffer from FFP for a few years.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 09:33 PM
Who knows.
Was some reports a few weeks ago that his salary is as high as 800k pw. That would price everyone except PSG and Newcastle out really.
Even if PSG and Newcastle had matched city on everything he'd probably is have chosen them because his dad had played for them . Not transfer news though I see Steven Gerrard is the new manager of Ettifaq FC .
03-07-2023, 09:37 PM
Christian Doidge could be Hibs key to Dylan Levitt transfer as Dundee United player plus cash option emerges | @ScottBurns75
bit.ly/43eL9oW
Story is Dundee Utd want Doidge and Hibs seem to be struggling to reach an agreement on a fee with Dundee Utd who want £500k for Levitt
03-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Christian Doidge could be Hibs key to Dylan Levitt transfer as Dundee United player plus cash option emerges | @ScottBurns75
bit.ly/43eL9oW
Story is Dundee Utd want Doidge and Hibs seem to be struggling to reach an agreement on a fee with Dundee Utd who want £500k for Levitt
Deal.
03-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Man Utd fans account mentioning on twitter that Birmingham are interested in Will Fish, only about 2k followers so no idea if there is anything in it or not.
bit.ly/43eL9oW
Ok Doidge plus 250/300k
bit.ly/43eL9oW
If United offer him 2-3 years then you have to think he will be keen to hear what they have to say. He's not getting another deal here.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 09:54 PM
More to leave ER with a couple of offers in for our players , Mckirdy surely one I'd imagine.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-reveals-offers-for-hibs-players-as-he-speaks-on-mckirdy-future-and-opportunities-4206119
EGL2000
03-07-2023, 09:55 PM
Jota confirmed away 25 mil. Possibly the most strange announcement video I have ever seen...
https://twitter.com/opengoalsport/status/1675969576746594309?t=V4CmeSk_3UWGf9IXKx2yGg&s=19
03-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Ok Doidge plus 250/300k
I’m not sure it’d be as much as that.
They can’t afford his wages and the only way they’ll make any money out of him is if they get a really decent sell on %. The higher the fee they get now, the lower the sell on % they’ll get.
Just my opinion but I think a deal closer to £150/200k, Doidge and 30% sell on will be enough to get a deal over the line, possibly with other add ons if we make group stages or qualify for Europe again next year. Absolute guess work of course though.
03-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Fare thee well, Doidge. We'll never forget you.
03-07-2023, 09:58 PM
Good thing with Doidge as United is probably one of the best teams to go in for him.
Scottish so he’s close to his fiancé.
Potentially won’t even need to move
Big club
Pay decent wages
I’m not sure it’d be as much as that.
They can’t afford his wages and the only way they’ll make any money out of him is if they get a really decent sell on %. The higher the fee they get now, the lower the sell on % they’ll get.
Just my opinion but I think a deal closer to £150/200k, Doidge and 30% sell on will be enough to get a deal over the line, possibly with other add ons if we make group stages or qualify for Europe again next year. Absolute guess work of course though.
You’re probably right Bingo and tbh as long as we get the player I’m not too concerned how it’s made up.
I do know this though. I want it sorted asap
03-07-2023, 10:04 PM
Good thing with Doidge as United is probably one of the best teams to go in for him.
Big club
Pay decent wages
Might be the other Dundee club
03-07-2023, 10:08 PM
I wonder if part of the issue with us wanting to pay a certain fee is the length of contract Levitt wants?
Everyone was surprised he signed for Dundee United on just a 2 year deal.
Maybe the club have spoke with him and he wants that 2 year deal again, so it’s not financially the best as we’ll likely not make the 500k back?
Just a thought.
03-07-2023, 10:10 PM
I reckon LJ will want the majority of his squad in for the games in Marbella. Of course a long time to go until the window slams shut but with Europe just around the corner there really is no time to wait.
Makes sense for one or two to be shifted out pronto to help free up funds for future incomings
King Cosell
03-07-2023, 10:10 PM
Big club
Pay decent wages
Still got a year left with us so his wages will stay the same, I imagine.
K-Zazu
03-07-2023, 10:13 PM
I wonder if part of the issue with us wanting to pay a certain fee is the length of contract Levitt wants?
Maybe the club have spoke with him and he wants that 2 year deal again, so it’s not financially the best as we’ll likely not make the 500k back?
Just a thought.
The way your going on this guy is the next John Mcginn, just don’t really get the hype tbh
03-07-2023, 10:48 PM
Just a thought.
I hope the club have learned lessons from dishing out long contracts (Magennis, Hendo, JDH etc)
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2023, 11:00 PM
The way your going on this guy is the next John Mcginn, just don’t really get the hype tbh
He's a good player who would improve our midfield and can play DM , CM , AM . If they are wanting doidge and some cash I'm hoping we get this done tbh .
HFC93
03-07-2023, 11:07 PM
He’s a cracking player. Do you not rate him?
Willie Ormond and Alec Cropley both suffered 3 broken legs and were wonderful players. How is it now this Board is full of medical experts who tell us Myko is too much of a risk after one injury? He would be a wonderful signing!
MagicSwirlingShip
03-07-2023, 11:12 PM
I’m sure the club will be hoping he is the next John Mcginn. Players we can sign and move on again for decent £ is exactly the transfer policy we should be aiming for
03-07-2023, 11:18 PM
Willie Ormond and Alec Cropley both suffered 3 broken legs and were wonderful players. How is it now this Board is full of medical experts who tell us Myko is too much of a risk after one injury? He would be a wonderful signing!
So you reckon it isn’t risky signing a player who missed the majority of last season out injured?
Don’t think anyone claims to be a medical expert, it’s just an important factor to take into account when you’re signing a player to be your main striker. The only evidence/experience we have to go on of him is last season
KdyHby
03-07-2023, 11:56 PM
For Doig, to what team ?
Torino