View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
16-06-2023, 04:42 PM
He scores goals
Exactly. A proven goalscorer. I'm just going to ignore the noise and enjoy what he brings to the squad and the team when he gets his chance. Le Fondre or McKirdy coming off the bench with 15 minutes to go chasing a game? I know who I'd prefer.
16-06-2023, 04:42 PM
McPartlin saying we're now looking elsewhere in relation to McGrath earlier on I'm sure
Also sounds like Fish isn’t a done deal yet going by what he’s said.
16-06-2023, 04:44 PM
Maybe we are only paying a tanner a week for ALF.
One for the auld yins.
16-06-2023, 04:52 PM
Maybe because it's the first signing of the season as well? Think folk might have been a bit more forgiving if we'd already announced a few good first team players.
All the contacts and scouting knowledge and McDermott's first signing is someone he managed almost a decade ago haha! Potentially a smart move.We signed Youan for pretty big money
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
16-06-2023, 04:52 PM
Le Fondre was/is a terrific striker. I thought we might’ve learnt our lesson with McGeady last season,the demands of the Scottish game especially on the pitches we play on come October is a far cry from Sydney in the sun playing on good grass pitches.at 36 ask Aiden how it feels.
Not a great start imo to our new summer recruitment.
What a strange take. He’s not McGeady and he doesn’t have his recent injury record prior to signing. He’s been playing and scoring.
16-06-2023, 04:58 PM
Adam Le Fondre
Matthew Hoppe
Elias Melkersen
Jair Tavares
I know who I’d want to come on in one of the front 3 positions to get a goal from that list.
He won’t be the only striker too, we’ll go big to replace Nisbet imo
16-06-2023, 05:01 PM
Interesting we’re no longer interested in McGrath and the Fish deal isn’t as done as some thought, with it being a loan and not permanent
16-06-2023, 05:02 PM
#announcewalcott
16-06-2023, 05:05 PM
Interesting we’re no longer interested in McGrath and the Fish deal isn’t as done as some thought, with it being a loan and not permanent
I don't mind Fish on loan.
Means we can spend more on a centre forward.
Bridge hibs
16-06-2023, 05:15 PM
Adam Le Fondre
Matthew Hoppe
Elias Melkersen
Jair Tavares
I know who I’d want to come on in one of the front 3 positions to get a goal from that list.
He won’t be the only striker too, we’ll go big to replace Nisbet imo
Hoppe will be away back to his parent club wont he ?
16-06-2023, 05:17 PM
Hoppe will be away back to his parent club wont he ?
Yeah he will, I was more meaning it’s a stronger option that were used to.
Bridge hibs
16-06-2023, 05:19 PM
Yeah he will, I was more meaning it’s a stronger option that were used to.
Ah got ye 👍
My memory is he came back from Greece a much improved player from the Dundee United version hold up play and positional awareness were excellent loads of experience and chipped in with goals and assists while helping to bring along the younger players
Went on to join Dunfermline Athletic who offered him a better deal and he did well for them bringing on a young Stevie Crawford
Signed for Dundee United at 39 in a transfer costing 340k
crawford was in his late 20s
16-06-2023, 06:14 PM
Lewis Fiorini is a name I have heard a couple of times…part of the city group too !!!
We must have been watching the same games as my recollection of him is the same as yours. I thought he was really poor.
I’m the same as you and TD, thought Brewster was poor when he was here, never took to him at all, felt like he didn’t want to be here at all
16-06-2023, 06:20 PM
I’m the same as you and TD, thought Brewster was poor when he was here, never took to him at all, felt like he didn’t want to be here at all
I really liked him and was disappointed when he left.
He didn't score a lot but he held the ball up brilliantly and brought others into play.
16-06-2023, 06:29 PM
Lewis Fiorini is a name I have heard a couple of times…part of the city group too !!!
Said the same yesterday that I heard about him, meant to be a really good player so would be happy with him!
Hibees1973
16-06-2023, 06:32 PM
Appears these Walcott rumours are gaining substance.
Fabrizio Romano who is a well established football journo tweeting it's a done deal.
16-06-2023, 06:33 PM
Fabrizio Romano who is a well established football journo tweeting it's a done deal.
Fake account mate
16-06-2023, 06:34 PM
Still playing at Enfield
Just retired this summer.
16-06-2023, 06:45 PM
16-06-2023, 06:58 PM
Hahahahaha. Surely you didn’t fall for that
16-06-2023, 07:00 PM
My mates a Blackpool fan and he says he's a huge upgrade on Johnny Williams.
Perhaps why we ended that one? :dunno:
16-06-2023, 07:08 PM
Interesting regarding McGrath as it seemed he was a cert going from reports, maybe a deal couldn't be agreed or we have had second thoughts. Probably see a new name linked next week.
More than happy that McGrath won’t sign. He’s not better than we already have.
JamesHFC
16-06-2023, 08:06 PM
Was certainly close to an agreement apparently. The new Wigan takeover may have had something to do with it.
CL0762
16-06-2023, 08:24 PM
Magennis away to Kilmarnock.
16-06-2023, 08:29 PM
Where you see that?
Loan or permanent?
16-06-2023, 08:29 PM
frees up an injury table
but seriously though, hope he gets his career back on track
16-06-2023, 08:31 PM
Surely no? How's he passing a medical?
16-06-2023, 08:31 PM
Where you see that?
Loan or permanent?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230616/af6e24cbdce72250c5f6141fa82f05b0.jpg
16-06-2023, 08:34 PM
Thanks Killie.
16-06-2023, 08:35 PM
Thanks Killie.
Probably never be injured again now [emoji23]
16-06-2023, 08:36 PM
Cheers.
Hard to make my mind up on this one, has shown he’s a good player in glimpses and you’ll always hold on to that “what if” especially since he’s supposedly had alot of treatment this year to get to the bottom of the treatment.
I’d imagine he’ll be on a decent wage though.
You just know he’ll start every week at killie and stay fit all season.
JamesHFC
16-06-2023, 08:40 PM
Thought playing on astro would have been even worse for his injury problems. It's a shame he couldn't stay fit because there is a very good player in there. Probably best he moved on though. Good luck Kyle.
16-06-2023, 08:41 PM
Probably, but it will be tough playing on their plastic pitch every other week.
I’m a bit torn about this one too.
I was convinced he had to go when he was injured again but he did show glimpses of how good he could be for us
Like others are saying, he’ll never be injured again no doubt
supermcginn
Fantastic news.
16-06-2023, 08:43 PM
He’s been a very expensive mistake. Maybe only a loan to see if he can get back playing every week? If it’s permanent I doubt we’ll get any sort of decent fee.
Willis1875
16-06-2023, 08:43 PM
Best for all concerned
Mikey_1875
16-06-2023, 08:47 PM
I’d be happy if that’s true. A run of 10 or so decent games in three years isn’t enough. Injuries not his fault of course but it will hopefully allow us to bring in a good replacement and move on.
16-06-2023, 08:49 PM
If it’s a permanent deal I suspect we’ll have agreed to pay some of his Killie wage. Otherwise I can’t see why the player, or Killie, would sign him.
Stokesy's on fire
16-06-2023, 08:50 PM
Kyle Magennis..so unfortunate with injuries what a player when fit
MountcastleHibs
16-06-2023, 08:50 PM
If it’s a permanent deal I suspect we’ll have agreed to pay some of his Killie wage. Otherwise I can’t see why the player, or Killie, would sign him.
Let’s hope it is permanent and not a loan as I can’t see him playing on astro every second week ending well.
16-06-2023, 08:51 PM
Obviously no idea, but will he be on big money here? Don't think he's ever signed an extension and signed from St Mirren. I wouldn't have thought he'd be on a huge wage?
16-06-2023, 08:51 PM
Thanks Killie.
Amazed they're taking a chance on him with his record. Isn't he injured now?
Willis1875
16-06-2023, 08:52 PM
Amazed they're taking a chance on him with his record. Isn't he injured now?
Was back on grass just before the season finished I think
aberhibsfc
I really liked him and was disappointed when he left.
He didn't score a lot but he held the ball up brilliantly and brought others into play.
Same here. I'm hoping Le Fondre brings the kind of experience Brewster shared. I understood he didn't bang in the number of goals we hoped for, but his experience was welcome. I think we could have had him on the books for a further year or two.
Hibees1973
Fake account mate
Of course I knew it was fake. :cb
aberhibsfc
16-06-2023, 08:53 PM
Agree, lost opportunities. Could have been a great player for us. Hope he doesn't niggle us in the future. Wotherspoon still sticks in my craw.
16-06-2023, 08:58 PM
Obviously no idea, but will he be on big money here? Don't think he's ever signed an extension and signed from St Mirren. I wouldn't have thought he'd be on a huge wage?
Think we signed him for a decent fee so he is probably on a good, if not top, wage. Wish him well, but someone we needed to move on.
With the start to the window it certainly feels like we’ve now got a proper experienced DOF in.
ElginHibbie
16-06-2023, 08:59 PM
Yup, wish him all the best though, hope he can kick on and only gets minor injuries that means he doesn't play against us going forward!
16-06-2023, 08:59 PM
Quite easily I'd imagine. Medicals look for unknown problems, not ones that are well documented and he's already getting treatment for.
16-06-2023, 09:00 PM
Quite surprising re Magennis but at the end of the day if we think he won't be fit enough then we are right to cut our losses
Need some serious quality into the squad though
Paulie Walnuts
16-06-2023, 09:01 PM
Thank ****.
You’d have to expect he’ll be on good money. Id actually not be surprised if the overall deal we offered him upfront was one of the largest in our history between fee and wages.
Hopefully not too big a pay off.
Heard a while ago we were trying to cut our losses on Magennis, but then it all went a bit quiet. He’s been a disaster of a signing unfortunately, shown in glimpses that he could be a good player but he’s never stayed fit long enough. Agree with the comments re astro, can’t imagine that will help him.
Quite easily I'd imagine. Medicals look for unknown problems, not ones that are well documented and he's already getting treatment for.
He just had another operation at the end of the season. Had no idea he was back training.
16-06-2023, 09:03 PM
Gutted for him, yes he will have been well compensated for his time with us, and we will probably have to pay a percentage of his wage, but when fit he was a good player, and he doesnt want to be injured.
All the best Kyle.
16-06-2023, 09:06 PM
Oldbutdim called it spot on btw
Even he referred to himself as a veteran
Hibees1973
16-06-2023, 09:06 PM
Will be very interesting to see if Kilmarnock manage to get him fit and playing 20+ games a season on their aberration of a plastic pitch.
16-06-2023, 09:07 PM
Get the feeling Johnson will live up to his comments about getting the most out the squad for the budget we’ve got.
Less money on injury prone players like Magennis and McGeady who will be on decent wages.
Those 2 and Nisbet will be a lot per week we’re now saving.
ALF now in and has proven quality and will be a lot less of a gamble than most forwards we had last season
Hopefully we see some real quality come in all over the park
Start of the 21/22 season though Kyle looked the real deal, was our main man those first two months. But since then he's had a never-ending run of injuries and we haven't seen him hit those standards again. Shame for the guy but we need to cut our losses.
cameronw-hfc
16-06-2023, 09:08 PM
Oldbutdim called it spot on btw
Even he referred to himself as a veteran
Thought that myself, was wondering who it was that posted it the other day. He nailed it👍
badabing67
16-06-2023, 09:09 PM
Thanks Killie.
Are they taking Doidge as well
cameronw-hfc
16-06-2023, 09:14 PM
He's missed 613 days days of football at hibs. That's scary considering he's only been here 3 seasons.
Steven79
16-06-2023, 09:22 PM
He's missed 613 days days of football at hibs. That's scary considering he's only been here 3 seasons.I think he will have one season at Killie then probably go down the leagues or retire as I can't see him staying fit.
It's a shame as he looked like he was going to become a decent player (when fit)
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
16-06-2023, 09:27 PM
People big up Magennis far too much considering he's had barely a handful of good games for us. He's objectively been a shockingly bad signing with no excuse considering he was injured when we signed him.
Will be chuffed if we manage to offload him, nothing against the guy, just looking at it from the point of view of our club.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
16-06-2023, 09:35 PM
Exactly. A proven goalscorer. I'm just going to ignore the noise and enjoy what he brings to the squad and the team when he gets his chance. Le Fondre or McKirdy coming off the bench with 15 minutes to go chasing a game? I know who I'd prefer.
Well said
16-06-2023, 09:54 PM
Should have been punted a year ago
We’re far to kind as a club
Time to be ruthless
16-06-2023, 10:16 PM
Time to be ruthless
Goes both ways. Could've punted Boyle during his injury problems. Could've avoided Scott Allan due to his health conditions. Could've punted McGeouch when he was struggling.
Magennis is the type of player we should be after. Young, Scottish, potential. Our best sides have always had those guys in them. Sadly this time it hasn't worked out.
Just a daft thing to say that ''we're far too kind as a club''. Like, what are you even talking about? Because we kept and supported one of our employees while he was injured?
16-06-2023, 10:20 PM
Will be very interesting to see if Kilmarnock manage to get him fit and playing 20+ games a season on their aberration of a plastic pitch.
I have this horrible feeling that we will regret letting him go, but yeah… seems unlikely he’ll take to that surface well.
16-06-2023, 10:20 PM
Goes both ways. Could've punted Boyle during his injury problems. Could've avoided Scott Allan due to his health conditions. Could've punted McGeouch when he was struggling.
Magennis is the type of player we should be after. Young, Scottish, potential. Our best sides have always had those guys in them. Sadly this time it hasn't worked out.
Just a daft thing to say that ''we're far too kind as a club''. Like, what are you even talking about? Because we kept and supported one of our employees while he was injured?
Boyle, mcgeouch and Allan are completly different gravy compared to Magennis.
All featured far far more than Kyle.
I like Magennis but he has not been fit since we actually signed him, whoever authorised a five year deal at hibs is hopefully long gone.
Get what your saying but I’ll stand strong and say if we are serious about being European contenders in the league each year we can’t be paying big wages on a player who features very little over a season.
Willis1875
16-06-2023, 10:21 PM
I have this horrible feeling that we will regret letting him go, but yeah… seems unlikely he’ll take to that surface well.
They would have to get him on the surface first and foremost
plhibs
16-06-2023, 10:24 PM
That was the first thought that i had, plays a lot of games and, of course, scores big goals against us. I'm always optimistic :rolleyes:
16-06-2023, 10:28 PM
Boyle, mcgeouch and Allan are completly different gravy compared to Magennis.
All featured far far more than Kyle.
I like Magennis but he has not been fit since we actually signed him, whoever authorised a five year deal at hibs is hopefully long gone.
Get what your saying but I’ll stand strong and say if we are serious about being European contenders in the league each year we can’t be paying big wages on a player who features very little over a season.
Right, but that goes for any club. No one plans to do that?
Don't think we'll ever know how good Magennis could be or is.
16-06-2023, 10:40 PM
Time to be ruthless
Eh, he has a contract. You can't just punt a player for getting injured. Just like when folk bang on about how we 'stood by' players who got injured (like Dylan McGeouch). We're contractually obliged to 'stand by' them, are we not :dunno:
16-06-2023, 10:46 PM
Really sad it’s not worked out for Magennis at Hibs, but he’s exactly the kind of player we should be going for. He’s just had a horrendous time with injuries.
16-06-2023, 10:55 PM
He was fit for hearts hand but not match fit so should be fine
It’s keeping him fit and playing for any sustained period thst has been the problem
16-06-2023, 10:59 PM
Really sad it’s not worked out for Magennis at Hibs, but he’s exactly the kind of player we should be going for. He’s just had a horrendous time with injuries.
Agree with this. Was definitely worth going for at the time.
Similarly, it's the right time for him to move on now.
16-06-2023, 11:02 PM
Well said
Lester B
16-06-2023, 11:20 PM
Time to be ruthless
He can only be ‘punted’ if someone else wants to offer him an employment contract elsewhere but even then that’s not punting whatever you believe that means.
It’s not a matter of being too kind or not ruthless enough. He has a contract with us which can’t simply be torn up on a unilateral basis. This is pretty basic stuff.
Contracts can be terminated by mutual agreement or for reasons of conduct or capability.
I hope he does well but not too well if he goes.
Seems every time we’ve signed an injury prone player they always get a bad injury.
All the best to KM
17-06-2023, 12:33 AM
Seems every time we’ve signed an injury prone player they always get a bad injury.
All the best to KM
Indeed, I think that's the lesson here.
We aren't PSG, Man City etc. We have a finite budget and need to be careful with throwing big money (for us) at players with questionable fitness records.
The issue with Magennis was that his injury record was clear for all to see, and we signed him injured. Who knows how much it cost but it was a massive waste of money.
That's my big worry with resigning Myko. I think he looks a top player but how confident can we be that we'll get a season out of him?
badabing67
17-06-2023, 12:42 AM
Eh, he has a contract. You can't just punt a player for getting injured. Just like when folk bang on about how we 'stood by' players who got injured (like Dylan McGeouch). We're contractually obliged to 'stand by' them, are we not :dunno:
I see your point but Kyle has practically had a 3 year sick note. I know we are a club but we are also a business..... what other employer would accept that level of absence. Personally i think the injuries he has had to deal with, and how they have limited his progression, is a tragedy for him and for the club as we not seen him realise his true potential. If he remained injury free I think he could of had a career similar to Lewis Ferguson. Personally I think Kyle would have been better than him but is just my opinion.
I really hoped we could of got a tune out of this season but I guess that's not to be, and I wish him well.
17-06-2023, 01:25 AM
I see your point but Kyle has practically had a 3 year sick note. I know we are a club but we are also a business..... what other employer would accept that level of absence. Personally i think the injuries he has had to deal with, and how they have limited his progression, is a tragedy for him and for the club as we not seen him realise his true potential. If he remained injury free I think he could of had a career similar to Lewis Ferguson. Personally I think Kyle would have been better than him but is just my opinion.
I really hoped we could of got a tune out of this season but I guess that's not to be, and I wish him well.
What we think about his absence is irrelevant. He has a contract that we offered him. That's the beginning and end of the matter unless he agrees to leave.
17-06-2023, 02:23 AM
Just retired this summer.
Aww naw, wiki lied to me. I'll never trust it again.
17-06-2023, 06:25 AM
I'm a bit gutted by that to be honest. Real shame. I understand why though.
17-06-2023, 06:33 AM
I'm a bit gutted by that to be honest. Real shame. I understand why though.
Literally stunned that he’s signing for a club with a plastic pitch. He needs new advisors.
17-06-2023, 06:35 AM
Is it permanent?
I really wanted this to workout as I thought he’d been the missing link and the midfielder that was going to score 10 plus goals a season for us.
Shame really and have been hard on KM however we now need to move on and look forward to who comes in now.
Wish him all the best
I'm a bit shocked to be honest im not sure why either, he's obviously had issues, we're not getting anything like we should out him, I just think he def looks a player just unbelievably unlucky.
need guys in midfield now short on quality before this so if he's not planned in either hopefully a couple coming in
17-06-2023, 08:56 AM
Ester Sokler has agreed to join The Dons on a three year-deal from NK Radomlje for an undisclosed fee, subject to successful completion of the UK immigration process
17-06-2023, 10:02 AM
He has a contract. You can’t sack players for getting injured. Maybe he can ask for a pay off for lost earnings due to getting inured playing for Hibs? Maybe he can claim he’d be at a much higher level were it not for these injuries he sustained whilst doing his job.
Clearly that’s all bollocks but just as daft as suggesting we should have punted him coz he was injured.
Good luck on the plastic pitch especially with all his niggles.
17-06-2023, 10:14 AM
Has the Magennis chat been picked up anywhere else?
17-06-2023, 10:24 AM
That would be a pretty decisive move letting KM go. Just keen to see some bodies start coming in that are first team quality we have alot of work to do.
Bridge hibs
17-06-2023, 10:24 AM
Has the Magennis chat been picked up anywhere else?Was on Sky Sports news ticker tapey thing this morning
17-06-2023, 10:38 AM
He has a contract. You can’t sack players for getting injured. Maybe he can ask for a pay off for lost earnings due to getting inured playing for Hibs? Maybe he can claim he’d be at a much higher level were it not for these injuries he sustained whilst doing his job.
Clearly that’s all bollocks but just as daft as suggesting we should have punted him coz he was injured.
We have a wee bit of history with this, we did let a certain Gordon Smith go when he was injured, he went to the jambo's won the league, then went to Bob Shankleys Dundee to supply the crosses for Alan Gilzean to help Dundee win the league and also to the European Cup semi-final.
It is always a balancing act some will be right and some wrong, I hope the guy does go on to show just what a good player he is, although Hibs have to make decisions at times, shame but it is also a business.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 10:38 AM
Perfect summary. The idea put about by some here that we should be able to fire him because of his injuries is bizarre
big gogs
17-06-2023, 10:44 AM
I wonder ,how many times has a players contract been brought up,a contract must be honoured.when a player is transferred,he will receive a percentage of the fee,and part of his contract paid up front.he cannot be sacked because of injury.or in some cases because some fans don’t like them.in the real world an employer cannot sack an employee for being absent due to illness.
17-06-2023, 10:50 AM
I wonder ,how many times has a players contract been brought up,a contract must be honoured.when a player is transferred,he will receive a percentage of the fee,and part of his contract paid up front.he cannot be sacked because of injury.or in some cases because some fans don’t like them.in the real world an employer cannot sack an employee for being absent due to illness.
Unfortunately, employers can, and do, sack people for absence due to illness.
Donegal Hibby
17-06-2023, 10:51 AM
Dundee signed 27 year old Mexican defender ' Juan Antonio Portales ' . Never heard of him .
MartinfaePorty
17-06-2023, 10:56 AM
Unfortunately, employers can, and do, sack people for absence due to illness.But surely there's a difference if the injury is sustained whilst doing their job?
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
17-06-2023, 10:57 AM
I don't really think we could of been relying on Kyle to put in a good decent run of matches again for the up coming season and if can move him on then let's do it.
Wonder if they will try for Doidge again who looked like he done ok for them near the end of the season.
We still have a few more Dev/Fringe players who we might move on Hauge, Tait etc.
I still think CJ will be targeted with Megwa as cover for Miller pre season but I'm not sure how long we will wait on a decision, Johnson did seem to sub the LB position so imo this is the perfect time to gel in MacIntyre for first team football.
It has been a good window so far on paper, more to come next week I would think.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 11:03 AM
But surely there's a difference if the injury is sustained whilst doing their job?
Usually there is. That’s a good point. He sustained injuries while doing the job he was contracted to do. Footballer’s contracts are more complex than most employment contracts. Things like sell on percentage clauses, the fact that there can be an amount which has to be considered if another club makes an offer, clauses which trigger extensions or pay increases based upon number of appearances. All players get injured at some point. The contract will always recognise this
17-06-2023, 11:03 AM
Dundee signed 27 year old Mexican defender ' Juan Antonio Portales ' . Never heard of him .
Very random signing. All his career in the Mexican leagues.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 11:04 AM
So basically we cannot ‘punt’ him.
17-06-2023, 11:18 AM
Unfortunately, employers can, and do, sack people for absence due to illness.
Kyle certainly wouldn't have been absent, though. Would've been at the training ground every day to do his recovery work even when injured.
Potty78
17-06-2023, 11:54 AM
Rumour has it Hibs terminated his current contract but offered him reduced terms with a new contract. Killie came in with an offer over his original contract with hibs🤷*♂️
17-06-2023, 11:58 AM
Rumour has it Hibs terminated his current contract but offered him reduced terms with a new contract. Killie came in with an offer over his original contract with hibs🤷*♂️
I doubt that would be legal?
Lester B
17-06-2023, 11:59 AM
Sorry, that doesn’t sound very credible.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 11:59 AM
It wouldn’t be
17-06-2023, 12:00 PM
But surely there's a difference if the injury is sustained whilst doing their job?
Not necessarily, was it Hibs that caused the injury?
17-06-2023, 12:00 PM
Fire rehire 🤪
Lester B
17-06-2023, 12:17 PM
Not necessarily, was it Hibs that caused the injury?
Causation is irrelevant. Do you think we would be justified in firing him or amending his contract?
17-06-2023, 12:27 PM
Hibs can't just end or reduce his contract. That's just silly talk, im surprised it's getting so much traction on here.
Potty78
17-06-2023, 12:30 PM
Hibs can't just end or reduce his contract. That's just silly talk, im surprised it's getting so much traction on here.
Clause in his contract? Just saying what I was told mate🤷*♂️
17-06-2023, 12:35 PM
There is zero chance of that being true, that last sentence in particular is not even close to being plausible.
17-06-2023, 12:37 PM
No. Footballers can’t have injury clauses in contracts. It’s a lose lose for the player. They may have offered to buy his contract out but they can’t do anything without the players agreement.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 12:39 PM
No one would be daft enough to agree that clause. Come to that no employer would be daft enough to offer it.
17-06-2023, 12:46 PM
👍
17-06-2023, 01:00 PM
Could see Hibs offering him new, reduced terms that he could take or leave. No chance the termination thing is true.
Donegal Hibby
17-06-2023, 01:09 PM
Could see Hibs offering him new, reduced terms that he could take or leave. No chance the termination thing is true.
Would be pretty pointless offering him reduced terms tbh
17-06-2023, 01:11 PM
Why would he ever accept reduced terms? That makes no sense at all
Hibs: Kyle, we have a legal obligation to honour your contract, but we'd like to pay you 40% less from now on. Take it or leave it.
Kyle: Eh?
17-06-2023, 01:18 PM
Hibs: Kyle, we have a legal obligation to honour your contract, but we'd like to pay you 40% less from now on. Take it or leave it.
Lower basic but with large bonuses, wage increases, extra years if he plays a certain amount of games.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 01:18 PM
No chance the first part is true either
17-06-2023, 01:23 PM
No chance the first part is true either
Could be. Lower basic, more bonuses. Could also add an extra year or 2 to the contract to offset the reduction in wages.
It's very unlikely, although it's actually possible unlike terminating and resigning. That's just nonsense.
17-06-2023, 01:25 PM
And he could say no, and continue with his current deal.
We do have an obligation to pay him, but no obligation to play him. I'd imagine he very much wants to play.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 01:31 PM
Could be. Lower basic, more bonuses. Could also add an extra year or 2 to the contract to offset the reduction in wages.
It's very unlikely, although it's actually possible unlike terminating and resigning. That's just nonsense.
Offset the reduction in wages?? What; we’ll pay the same basic amount over a longer period of time but you can supplement that with a higher bonus structure. What employer in their right minds would offer that and what employee would take it? A fixed term contract variation needs agreed by both parties and would mean more favourable terms. What you’ve outlined are not more favourable terms. At all. If Killie or anyone else want him the contract can be terminated by mutual agreement with clauses in there potentially which places financial settlements in there too.
17-06-2023, 01:43 PM
Kyle certainly wouldn't have been absent, though. Would've been at the training ground every day to do his recovery work even when injured.
Indeed.
I was answering Big Gogs' post.
17-06-2023, 01:46 PM
Maybe it's Mutual LJ cannot guarantee first team football and KM keen on fresh start
17-06-2023, 01:47 PM
Maybe it's Mutual LJ cannot guarantee first team football and KM keen on fresh start
It has to be mutual. Mageniss wouldn't be leaving the club if he didn't want to.
17-06-2023, 01:59 PM
Offset the reduction in wages?? What; we’ll pay the same basic amount over a longer period of time but you can supplement that with a higher bonus structure. What employer in their right minds would offer that and what employee would take it? A fixed term contract variation needs agreed by both parties and would mean more favourable terms. What you’ve outlined are not more favourable terms. At all. If Killie or anyone else want him the contract can be terminated by mutual agreement with clauses in there potentially which places financial settlements in there too.
There is nothing to say a new contract must be more favorable. Especially if you haven't been performing. Hibs may have wanted to keep him, but not for 5k per week. He'd be quite right to refuse this, as he is entitled to the money we agreed 3 years ago. Again, all hypothetical. You surely don't think every new contract ever given out was on improved terms? Older players take cuts to remain at clubs all the time.
Kyle appears to be moving on, which is probably a good thing for us. That's all that matters.
Donegal Hibby
17-06-2023, 02:03 PM
There's no way with the players previous injury history that we are going to give him a contract extension of a extra year or two when he's already got two years left on his deal . Your right it is very unlikely Which means it isn't possible just as terminating and resigning is .
17-06-2023, 02:06 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7374327You surely don't think every new contract ever given out was on improved terms?
[/QUOTE]
Of course not, but that will be for contracts expiring.
No player is ever going to agree to reduced terms in the middle of his contract when it has years to run.
17-06-2023, 02:09 PM
Yep not a chance Kyle would have signed a contract allowing that.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 02:18 PM
There is nothing to say a new contract must be more favorable. Especially if you haven't been performing. Hibs may have wanted to keep him, but not for 5k per week. He'd be quite right to refuse this, as he is entitled to the money we agreed 3 years ago. Again, all hypothetical. You surely don't think every new contract ever given out was on improved terms? Older players take cuts to remain at clubs all the time.
Kyle appears to be moving on, which is probably a good thing for us. That's all that matters.
A change mid contract has to be on more favourable terms. Why offer it otherwise; there’s absolutely no point in offering it if it’s clear it wouldn’t be accepted. Older players is a different thing. That’s an extension or basically a new contract running consecutively with the old one. A veteran might be offered less favourable terms on what is in effect their last contract but even then I doubt it.
17-06-2023, 02:25 PM
A change mid contract has to be on more favourable terms. Why offer it otherwise; there’s absolutely no point in offering it if it’s clear it wouldn’t be accepted. Older players is a different thing. That’s an extension or basically a new contract running consecutively with the old one. A veteran might be offered less favourable terms on what is in effect their last contract but even then I doubt it.
Exactly.
The idea that an employer would offer a less favourable contract during a fixed term agreement and then an employee would accept it is nonsensical.
It would only happen if the business was under severe financial strain and it was to fend off insolvency. That isn't the care here.
Donegal Hibby
17-06-2023, 02:27 PM
It's in football Scotland though nothing about what kind of deal. I would be very surprised if it was a permanent deal tbh, much more likely to be a loan deal imo.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/kyle-magennis-close-hibs-transfer-27144397
I think they've spoken to Kyle explaining the situation to him that he won't be getting game time until he proves his fitness long term, there may be a contract clause stating if X amount of games are missed in a season the club can reduce his contract but I doubt it. Whatever the conversation he's been told he can leave and find another club by the sounds of it, it's not worked out and good luck to the guy.
17-06-2023, 02:32 PM
The definition is favorable is subjection, though. Someone may prefer a longer, more secure contract that makes them more money over time. Samuel Umtiti did this at Barcelona. Took a lower basic wage, over a longer period to help them out. He isn't alone in doing that there. Quite often players take 2 or 3 year deals at new clubs on less wages, than the 1 year offered by their current club.
Again, this isn't and has not happened, so I've no idea why its still being discussed. I simply said it was more likely than any termination happening.
Bridge hibs
17-06-2023, 02:40 PM
Oh for gods sake, is he away yet ? 🤣
17-06-2023, 02:44 PM
Oh for gods sake, is he away yet ? [emoji1787]Yes
Oh for gods sake, is he away yet ? 🤣
2 weeks!
17-06-2023, 02:45 PM
Just before Hearts game L Jess waxing Lyricsl about him again snd saying how good he looked in training
I wonder if new D of F has come in snd is taking a no nonsense pragmatic look at the squad , realises we need a good number of quslity players in , snd is clearing the decks as much as he can with that in mind
17-06-2023, 02:50 PM
Just before Hearts game L Jess waxing Lyricsl about him again snd saying how good he looked in training
I wonder if new D of F has come in snd is taking a no nonsense pragmatic look at the squad , realises we need a good number of quslity players in , snd is clearing the decks as much as he can with that in mind
The team have been on holiday. McDermott won't even have seen him in training.
He'd also not have the ability to get him out the club unless LJ wanted to.
17-06-2023, 02:51 PM
Hmm, I'd honestly be a bit worried if the DoF was coming in and getting rid of players the manager wanted to keep. Can't possibly end well.
17-06-2023, 02:53 PM
You can clear the decks Ronnie, but it will cost the club a lot of money in the short term
Maybe Hibs/KM have come to an agreement on the last 2 years of his contract, but he won’t be going for free
Keyser Sauzee
17-06-2023, 02:54 PM
You can clear the decks Ronnie, but it will cost the club a lot of money in the short term
Maybe Hibs/KM have come to an agreement on the last 2 years of his contract, but he won’t be going for free
If he is offered similar wages elsewhere he may well go for free, we terminate his deal and he signs new deal at another club on similar terms, win win for everyone.
17-06-2023, 03:14 PM
Yep not a chance Kyle would have signed a contract allowing that.
Exactly, the football world is full of players wanting less money.:faf:
badabing67
17-06-2023, 03:19 PM
Off topic why is the Non Hibs Matches Thread Closed
17-06-2023, 03:19 PM
Off topic why is the Non Hibs Matches Thread Closed
New thread has opened for coming season.
badabing67
17-06-2023, 03:20 PM
It's ok i have spotted it
Lester B
17-06-2023, 04:03 PM
The definition is favorable is subjection, though. Someone may prefer a longer, more secure contract that makes them more money over time. Samuel Umtiti did this at Barcelona. Took a lower basic wage, over a longer period to help them out. He isn't alone in doing that there. Quite often players take 2 or 3 year deals at new clubs on less wages, than the 1 year offered by their current club.
Again, this isn't and has not happened, so I've no idea why its still being discussed. I simply said it was more likely than any termination happening.
I think it’s still being discussed because you seem determined that you have a valid point and you don’t. Sorry.
17-06-2023, 04:28 PM
I think it’s still being discussed because you seem determined that you have a valid point and you don’t. Sorry.
I do have a valid point. Pretty easy to understand if you actually read it. I've said it's rare and unlikely, and I've also given an example of it happening at the top level recently, to a player with a very similar situation injury wise. Literally in the post you quoted. Carry on though.
17-06-2023, 04:43 PM
Maybe they have Billy .I guess all will become clearer when he officially moves
17-06-2023, 04:44 PM
The team have been on holiday. McDermott won't even have seen him in training.
He'd also not have the ability to get him out the club unless LJ wanted to.
Point taken
17-06-2023, 04:45 PM
Nothing wrong with MW’s point. He’s not saying it’s likely, just a possibility.
I have no idea why you are labouring it so much. Actually, I do… it’s Hibs.net!
Lester B
17-06-2023, 04:50 PM
I do have a valid point. Pretty easy to understand if you actually read it. I've said it's rare and unlikely, and I've also given an example of it happening at the top level recently, to a player with a very similar situation injury wise. Literally in the post you quoted. Carry on though.
Carry on though and actually read it? I’ve read it. It’s not analogous. At all.
You want to know why this is continuing? Because you need to have the last word. You still don’t have a valid point. You’re admitting something didn’t happen but saying it’s more likely than something else which didn’t happen. Neither are remotely likely. At all. Didn’t happen? Couldn’t happen.
The Barcelona analogy? Much more complex situation than that. Had to do with another player registration, he had additional release clauses built in and he was a multi millionaire even taking 10% cut for base salary. It was a PR move by the player for all intents and purposes. It’s a different world for Hibs than Barcelona. Negotiations with a player who would walk away tomorrow, never work again and still live on the lap of luxury is not analogous.
I do love the point about older players signing longer contracts for other clubs. Apart from the fact that it’s a different employer and a different contract therefore by definition a new contract rather than either than an extension let alone a mid contract renegotiation it really works.
17-06-2023, 04:59 PM
Carry on though and actually read it? I’ve read it. It’s not analogous. At all.
You want to know why this is continuing? Because you need to have the last word. You still don’t have a valid point. You’re admitting something didn’t happen but saying it’s more likely than something else which didn’t happen. Neither are remotely likely. At all. Didn’t happen? Couldn’t happen.
The Barcelona analogy? Much more complex situation than that. Had to do with another player registration, he had additional release clauses built in and he was a multi millionaire even taking 10% cut for base salary. It was a PR move by the player for all intents and purposes. It’s a different world for Hibs than Barcelona. Negotiations with a player who would walk away tomorrow, never work again and still live on the lap of luxury is not analogous.
I do love the point about older players signing longer contracts for other clubs. Apart from the fact that it’s a different employer and a different contract therefore by definition a new contract rather than either than an extension let alone a mid contract renegotiation it really works.
It happened with Umtiti. He took a longer contract on a lower basic. That's a fact. The point I was clearly trying to make is that it's possible and it has happened. Not that it's likely.
17-06-2023, 05:00 PM
Nothing wrong with MW’s point. He’s not saying it’s likely, just a possibility.
I have no idea why you are labouring it so much. Actually, I do… it’s Hibs.net!
Yep. No doubt it'll be my fault for keeping it going though :faf:
17-06-2023, 05:01 PM
Time will show that MWHIBBIES is not far away from what has actually happened.
17-06-2023, 05:02 PM
Time will show that MWHIBBIES is not far away from what has actually happened.
Imagine the scenes.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 05:26 PM
Imagine the scenes.
Indeed.
You’ll have to explain the the sentence ‘again this isn’t and has not happened’ for starters 🤣🤣🤣🤣
17-06-2023, 05:30 PM
Indeed.
You’ll have to explain the the sentence ‘again this isn’t and has not happened’ for starters 🤣🤣🤣🤣
I don't believe it's exactly what has happened here. Trust me mate, if that's what I'm wrong about, I won't mind :faf:
Run along now. Conversation was over hours ago.
17-06-2023, 05:31 PM
I've no idea why it’s still being discussed.
😂 real mystery that one.
17-06-2023, 05:32 PM
😂 real mystery that one.
Indeed. Similar theme to most threads this one.
17-06-2023, 05:33 PM
😂 real mystery that one.
Yes, I'm replying to myself, you're right.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 05:34 PM
I don't believe it's exactly what has happened here. Trust me mate, if that's what I'm wrong about, I won't mind :faf:
Run along now. Conversation was over hours ago.
Aw. Condescension. How sweet.
Have a good evening.
Sorry I argue for a living. About employment terms and conditions. Hard to switch off 😉
Lester B
17-06-2023, 05:49 PM
I suspect the reason people, including me, get into lengthy debates is that this is a signing thread and unless we sign someone every couple of days we’re all wandering about virtually waiting for something to actually happen.
Could be worse though. Could be puns.
17-06-2023, 05:52 PM
I suspect the reason people, including me, get into lengthy debates is that this is a signing thread and unless we sign someone every couple of days we’re all wandering about virtually waiting for something to actually happen.
Could be worse though. Could be puns.
We can agree there.
Lester B
17-06-2023, 05:55 PM
We can agree there.
😎
He can only be ‘punted’ if someone else wants to offer him an employment contract elsewhere but even then that’s not punting whatever you believe that means.
It’s not a matter of being too kind or not ruthless enough. He has a contract with us which can’t simply be torn up on a unilateral basis. This is pretty basic stuff.
Contracts can be terminated by mutual agreement or for reasons of conduct or capability.
I hope he does well but not too well if he goes.
it’s funny, some folk are quick to complain when players are perceived to be less than loyal, yet there’s fans who’ll happy see a player ‘punted’ for having the temerity to be injured - often while on club duty (playing or training)
it’s hardly a good look if players see fans chasing a player out the club just becuase they were injured
Hibiza
17-06-2023, 07:41 PM
It's pretty obvious that KM is all too injury prone. If he stays or goes I wish him all the best. We signed him whilst injured. If memory serves.
17-06-2023, 07:43 PM
it’s funny, some folk are quick to complain when players are perceived to be less than loyal, yet there’s fans who’ll happy see a player ‘punted’ for having the termite to be injured - often while on club duty (playing or training)
it’s hardly a good look if players see fans chasing a player out the club just becuase they were injured
Bugs a lot of people to be sure.
17-06-2023, 07:50 PM
It's pretty obvious that KM is all too injury prone. If he stays or goes I wish him all the best. We signed him whilst injured. If memory serves.
Don't think we did he had a preseason with St Mirren
Bugs a lot of people to be sure.
:greengrin Bloody autocorrect
Donegal Hibby
17-06-2023, 09:19 PM
Real shame it hasn't worked out for Magennis at us after we paid a substantial fee for him . He's arguably our best midfielder imo though injuries he's had we've really not seen enough of him in 3 years he's been here . If he is going I wish the guy well and hope he has better luck in the future .
17-06-2023, 09:34 PM
Fairly clearing the decks for a few incomers
17-06-2023, 09:38 PM
Main point here is we can’t just punt a contracted player because he’s injured. A ludicrous suggestion.
17-06-2023, 09:54 PM
Jamie MacLaren has said many times he took a massive wage cut to come to Hibs from his German club, Darmstadt.
He wasn’t getting a game there so took the decision to move.
Keyser Sauzee
17-06-2023, 10:13 PM
Jamie MacLaren has said many times he took a massive wage cut to come to Hibs from his German club, Darmstadt.
He wasn’t getting a game there so took the decision to move.
Not sure how that would work, he was only ever on loan here so his original salary from Darmstadt would be honoured, Hibs would only have been paying a percentage of it but he’s still be getting his normal pay.
17-06-2023, 11:12 PM
Imagine the scenes.
When Griffiths signs :hyper :hyper :hyper
18-06-2023, 02:52 AM
Not sure how that would work, he was only ever on loan here so his original salary from Darmstadt would be honoured, Hibs would only have been paying a percentage of it but he’s still be getting his normal pay.
Can only assume Darmstadt said ‘ you can go, but only if you accept a cut while you are away’’…….He did say that though, so I’ll try and find out exactly what the story was.
At the time he wasn’t getting any game time at Darmstadt and was desperate to play to get into the Oz World Cup squad.
Greenio
18-06-2023, 05:40 AM
Theo Walcott?
Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 05:47 AM
Theo Walcott?Fake mate, Ive got more chance of signing for hibs and Im old and knackered
Greenio
18-06-2023, 05:57 AM
Fake mate, Ive got more chance of signing for hibs and Im old and knackered
Thought as much.
18-06-2023, 06:55 AM
https://twitter.com/irishtransfers/status/1670323656386400258?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Getting sick of McGrath and this chat every window.
18-06-2023, 07:03 AM
https://twitter.com/irishtransfers/status/1670323656386400258?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Alan Nixon was adamant Hibs were signing Cole Stockton last summer
18-06-2023, 07:07 AM
Quite happy for him to pick Aberdeen. I doubt we are even after him anymore to be fair, if Patrick McPartlin says we are looking elsewhere then I’d trust that.
18-06-2023, 08:06 AM
Thought as much.
What , you though he was old and knackered 😆
18-06-2023, 08:19 AM
It’s not as simple as that Billy, lots of players move mid contract and don’t get a pay off so won’t necessarily cost hibs a lot of money. Example being player A told he’s not going to feature and not in the plans for whatever reason, has x left on his contract. Player wants to move but no club will pay the transfer fee, club agrees with player we will allow him to move on for free therefore no severance pay etc. You could argue the loss of a fee would cost money but if no club is willing to pay anything it’s really irrelevant.
A player will often ask to get away for free so the new club can give them a bigger wage or signing on fee if no transfer fee is involved.
Some players will sit tight and dig in their heels and the club may decide a pay off is better for all parties but that’s again not in ever case.
I’d go as far as saying I’d be surprised looking at any of our players at the moment who we want to move on if we have to pay any of them to leave. At this level players want to play, generally they will get a wage of similar level elsewhere it’s not like elite footballers where we are talking about millions in lost wages.
18-06-2023, 08:31 AM
Wonder if we're still after the Larne striker. Probably for the best if he doesn't get any game time for NI over this international break. The minute we're competing with EFL clubs it'll be difficult
18-06-2023, 08:43 AM
When we signed Magennis there was a break clause inserted in his contract as we had concerns over his injury record. We’ve chosen to activate it now. Just found this out.
Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 08:47 AM
What , you though he was old and knackered 😆I will accept that 🤣
Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 09:21 AM
Wonder if we're still after the Larne striker. Probably for the best if he doesn't get any game time for NI over this international break. The minute we're competing with EFL clubs it'll be difficult
I'd doubt if he's a signing target for us now with le fondre signing tbh .
18-06-2023, 09:31 AM
I'd doubt if he's a signing target for us now with le fondre signing tbh .
Do you think Le Fondre will be the only striker we sign?
18-06-2023, 09:37 AM
Nope
18-06-2023, 09:38 AM
I will accept that 🤣
Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 09:40 AM
No , I think we will sign another striker though don't think it will be the guy from larne who I'd consider to be a bit of a gamble tbh .
18-06-2023, 09:47 AM
No , I think we will sign another striker though don't think it will be the guy from larne who I'd consider to be a bit of a gamble tbh .
Where are you expecting us to find a striker that wouldn’t be a gamble?
18-06-2023, 10:00 AM
Good question.
Every signing is a bit of a gamble, but ‘ known proven’ goal scorers are usually highly in demand, and they cost probably more than we can afford.
Think more of our signings in the future may not be from Scotland, but further afield where the locations are generally accepted as cheaper market places?
18-06-2023, 10:08 AM
Good question.
Every signing is a bit of a gamble, but ‘ known proven’ goal scorers are usually highly in demand, and they cost probably more than we can afford.
Think more of our signings in the future may not be from Scotland, but further afield where the locations are generally accepted as cheaper market places?
Yes and even then, they’re a gamble as they’re not used to Scottish football which is played at a different pace from other countries. Rantic spend millions on players who should on paper guarantee goals and it doesn’t always work. We’re doing it on a fraction of their budget so players doing well from supposed lesser leagues would seem to be as close to a sure thing as we can realistically hope for.
18-06-2023, 10:29 AM
I think Mycho will be back
18-06-2023, 10:56 AM
Johnson likes him and when he was fit and playing he looked a useful player, 5 goals in 15 appearances in which a lot of those appearances was from the bench. I'm sure he also scored 2 disallowed goals one which was no var at the time?
If we can keep him fit for at least 80% of the season then I would be happy with him returning on loan.
Had a little look over at there transfer thread and a few seem to think they are after Akinyemi.
Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 10:57 AM
I think every signing is a bit of a gamble in fairness though signing a guy from a league well below the quality of our own like the one Lee Bonis is in will probably mean he's going to need plenty time to adjust to it and is a bigger gamble imo .
I'm delighted with Le fondre though I don't think he will be playing every week at 36 and we need another good striker who we can rotate with Le Fondre and not a long-term project from larne . Where do we get one that's less of a gamble? That's were Brian McDermott comes in though as a fan I wouldn't be against the idea of Mykola coming back if the club have no issues with him either.
18-06-2023, 10:57 AM
Good question.
I’d argue that any player who has been playing regularly and playing well, provided the standard is something even remotely recognisable is going to be much less of a risk than a youngster with no / very little track record of playing senior football.
I like the sound of the Larne chap.
18-06-2023, 11:16 AM
I’d argue that any player who has been playing regularly and playing well, provided the standard is something even remotely recognisable is going to be much less of a risk than a youngster with no / very little track record of playing senior football.
I like the sound of the Larne chap.
I’d agree with that.
Don’t know anything about the Larne guy though.
Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 12:01 PM
I wouldn't be against him coming back , good player imo . I see hertz getting linked with Akinyemi who has scored a good few goals like Lee bonis has . Both would have to improve in the Scottish premier though . If given a choice between Akinyemi, bonis or Mykola I'd definitely pick Mykola tbh .
18-06-2023, 01:42 PM
I hope so. I think he's got everything needed to be a top class striker, and not just in our league.
I actually liked him more than Kevin Nisbet because he seemed to have an air of urgency about him, whereas Kevin just waited for things to happen.
KN was excellent, of course, I just preferred to watch Kukharevych.
18-06-2023, 02:05 PM
If Kukharevych could stay fit I think he's about as good a number 9 we could realistically hope to get. That is a big if though.
It would be a gamble but others have said, pretty much every signing at our level is a gamble to one degree or another.
Potty78
18-06-2023, 03:20 PM
When we signed Magennis there was a break clause inserted in his contract as we had concerns over his injury record. We’ve chosen to activate it now. Just found this out.
I don't know about contracts and stuff but what I was told about Kyle's situation I believe.
Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 03:29 PM
If Kukharevych could stay fit I think he's about as good a number 9 we could realistically hope to get. That is a big if though.
It would be a gamble but others have said, pretty much every signing at our level is a gamble to one degree or another.
Don't know if Mykola's had other injuries or not . Think it was a medial ligament he had at Hibs towards the end of the season. Hopefully he's just been unlucky at us and we get him back .
Guys a really good player and probably a lot better than some of the other players that's getting suggested or we are getting linked with . Hard to believe he's only 21 too .
18-06-2023, 03:30 PM
We'll be bringing in a striker who will be our first pick. A Nisbet replacement so to speak. I'd put my mortgage on it. Le Fondre will be back up.
18-06-2023, 05:04 PM
I think we will be buying a mid 20s experienced striker, and fully expect it to be our biggest signing for a while
18-06-2023, 05:07 PM
Wolves have agreed a 55m euro (£47m) deal to sell captain Ruben Neves to Saudi Arabia's Al Hilal.
The 26-year-old Portuguese midfielder Neves had a year left on his contract.
He said at the end of last season he was ambitious amid interest from Barcelona.
However, Barca have not been able to come up with an acceptable offer and Neves has taken the option of becoming the latest big-name player to join the Saudi league.
how the heck can he say he is ambitious then move to an Arab side
18-06-2023, 05:09 PM
I think we will be buying a mid 20s experienced striker, and fully expect it to be our biggest signing for a while
Any idea who?
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:10 PM
Any idea who?
Lyndon Dykes [emoji102]
18-06-2023, 05:13 PM
Lyndon Dykes [emoji102]
18-06-2023, 05:14 PM
What am I missing with Arsenal trying to sign Havertz for £70m odd? Technically a very good player but largely infective and a bit of a nothing player whenever I see him.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:16 PM
Could be you know, mid 20s experienced striker would definitely be our record signing and only a year left on his contract so we might be able to afford the transfer fee….
18-06-2023, 05:18 PM
You should start your posts with "I'm speculating" instead of "I think" and change "fully expect" to "I hope" .
Otherwise people will think that you know something.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:20 PM
You should start your posts with "I'm speculating" instead of "I think" and change "fully expect" to "I hope" .
Otherwise people will think that you know something.
Nah **** that, announce Dykes
18-06-2023, 05:26 PM
What am I missing with Arsenal trying to sign Havertz for £70m odd? Technically a very good player but largely infective and a bit of a nothing player whenever I see him.
Exceptional talent, just not a goal scoring 9. Get him playing no10, and he'll flourish.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Exceptional talent, just not a goal scoring 9. Get him playing no10, and he'll flourish.
Yep very good player played out of position, says a lot about Chelsea’s expensive scattergun approach to signing players that he’s their starting number 9
18-06-2023, 05:39 PM
He won't play 10 for Arsenal. Odegaard will. Theory is he'll replace Xhaka who is leaving. Fee is nothing like 70 million for Havertz either.
18-06-2023, 05:40 PM
Wolves have agreed a 55m euro (£47m) deal to sell captain Ruben Neves to Saudi Arabia's Al Hilal.
The 26-year-old Portuguese midfielder Neves had a year left on his contract.
He said at the end of last season he was ambitious amid interest from Barcelona.
However, Barca have not been able to come up with an acceptable offer and Neves has taken the option of becoming the latest big-name player to join the Saudi league.
how the heck can he say he is ambitious then move to an Arab side
Maybe his ambition is to make millions and retire without ever lifting another finger. That's better than a la Liga title tbf.
18-06-2023, 05:40 PM
Exclusive: Ex #SAFC boss Lee Johnson is a name admired by Nick Hammond. Zoom call took place yesterday with positive talks between the two parties. #LUFC
Posted by some “sports journalist intern” on Twitter. Doesn’t look like a fake account but not sure how accurate it is.
cameronw-hfc
18-06-2023, 05:46 PM
He won't play 10 for Arsenal. Odegaard will. Theory is he'll replace Xhaka who is leaving. Fee is nothing like 70 million for Havertz either.
Much more chance of Odegaard moving back as he's played a lot as an 8 this season than Havertz imo. He's much more tactically aware and actually puts a shift in, Havertz is very talented but doesn't do a lot of defending and would get overrun at CM.
18-06-2023, 05:49 PM
Exclusive: Ex #SAFC boss Lee Johnson is a name admired by Nick Hammond. Zoom call took place yesterday with positive talks between the two parties. #LUFC
Posted by some “sports journalist intern” on Twitter. Doesn’t look like a fake account but not sure how accurate it is.
was it Phil Hay by any chance ?
and 49ers have just put Nick Hammond in for an initial 3 months for some experience to help get a new manager. DoF etc Hammond done the same role at Newcastle in jan 2022
it's looking like Daniel ****e is fav, with the bookies anyway
18-06-2023, 05:59 PM
That sounds exactly like a fake account to me.
NC1875
18-06-2023, 06:07 PM
Surely not any truth in the Dykes chat ? Seen it mentioned a few times now
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 06:09 PM
I should mention I’m not itk whatsoever just half kidding half speculating because of what folk have said previously. Would be an amazing signing but I can’t see it, it’s not totally implausible though
18-06-2023, 06:18 PM
Ofir's gone back to Israel.
18-06-2023, 07:10 PM
Much more chance of Odegaard moving back as he's played a lot as an 8 this season than Havertz imo. He's much more tactically aware and actually puts a shift in, Havertz is very talented but doesn't do a lot of defending and would get overrun at CM.
Yep. Haverts to replace Xhaka would be like us signing Shankland to play instead of Joe Newell.
Nae danger.
18-06-2023, 07:15 PM
Aberdeen papers rubbishing the McGrath to Aberdeen chat.
18-06-2023, 07:23 PM
More chance of Havertz sitting on the bench than moving Odegaard. He is the star. Havertz will fit in somewhere else. He wouldn't be playing central midfield. That is done by Partey (soon to be Rice) and Zinchenko who moves in there. Possibly a change of system, but I'd be very surprised if they move Odegaard back. You don't move a midfielder player than has just scored 15 goals.
EGL2000
18-06-2023, 07:24 PM
Marciano back to Israel
18-06-2023, 07:25 PM
Yep. Haverts to replace Xhaka would be like us signing Shankland to play instead of Joe Newell.
Nae danger.
Not watched much of Xhaka last season I see. Totally different, more offensive role than previously. Actually suits a lot of the things Havertz done well at Leverkusen. Pretty universal agreement among Arsenal fans that Havertz is coming in to replace Xhaka in some way.
Hibs4185
18-06-2023, 08:21 PM
Not watched much of Xhaka last season I see. Totally different, more offensive role than previously. Actually suits a lot of the things Havertz done well at Leverkusen. Pretty universal agreement among Arsenal fans that Havertz is coming in to replace Xhaka in some way.
Xhaka losing the plot whist 2-0 up at anfield cost arsena the title.
That was the turning point.
He may have performed better this year but he is a liability as proven against Liverpool
18-06-2023, 08:39 PM
Xhaka losing the plot whist 2-0 up at anfield cost arsena the title.
That was the turning point.
He may have performed better this year but he is a liability as proven against Liverpool
Christ, Gary Neville cooks it and folk just eat it up. You think Arsenal lost the title because Anfield shouted a bit when 2-0 down? Liverpool scored like 2 minutes after that because Gabriel made a mistake. I think that had a bit more impact. Watch Zinchenkos defending for the 2nd goal. That was actually important. Not Xhaka having a quick spat with TAA.
Also -
- their lack of experience and quality compared to City
- Dropping silly points to Southampton, Brighton, West Ham and really struggling in the last 10 games in general
- Losing twice to City
- Smith Rowe, Jesus, Saliba and Tomiyasu missing huge chunks of the season
- them competing against the best premier league side ever who won everything?
Arsenal would've been even further away from the title without Xhaka. Had a very good season. Drove them forward many times to important points. City were clearly the better side, as the 2 games between the teams showed.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 08:43 PM
Christ, Gary Neville cooks it and folk just eat it up. You think Arsenal lost the title because Anfield shouted a bit when 2-0 down? Liverpool scored like 2 minutes after that because Gabriel made a mistake. I think that had a bit more impact. Watch Zinchenkos defending for the 2nd goal. That was actually important. Not Xhaka having a quick spat with TAA.
Also -
- their lack of experience and quality compared to City
- Dropping silly points to Southampton, Brighton, West Ham and really struggling in the last 10 games in general
- Losing twice to City
- Smith Rowe, Jesus, Saliba and Tomiyasu missing huge chunks of the season
- them competing against the best premier league side ever who won everything?
Arsenal would've been even further away from the title without Xhaka. Had a very good season. Drove them forward many times to important points. City were clearly the better side, as the 2 games between the teams showed.
Best premier league side ever? Behave
18-06-2023, 08:49 PM
Best premier league side ever? Behave
Easily I think. Look at their points totals. Ferguson's united never came close. Although they werent backed by a state tbh. And have over 100 charges against them for financial breaches, that helps.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 08:51 PM
Easily I think. Look at their points totals. Ferguson's united never came close.
Nah not for me, Fergusons United were up against much more competitive opposition in a much more even playing field. All subjective anyway [emoji16]
18-06-2023, 08:55 PM
Nah not for me, Fergusons United were up against much more competitive opposition in a much more even playing field. All subjective anyway [emoji16]
They weren't. City were against Klopps liverpool, who had multiple 90 point seasons and reached 3 CL finals. The average premier League side is far better than 15 years ago too.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 09:12 PM
They weren't. City were against Klopps liverpool, who had multiple 90 point seasons and reached 3 CL finals. The average premier League side is far better than 15 years ago too.
Again, not for me. Klopps Liverpool were and are a soft touch apart from one season
18-06-2023, 09:39 PM
Liverpool need some midfield backbone. Milner gone,Henderson fading-send for McGinn.
18-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Haaland can only do one thing that Dykes can't do, speak Norwegian.
18-06-2023, 09:52 PM
Liverpool need some midfield backbone. Milner gone,Henderson fading-send for McGinn.
A player of SJMs ability needs to be joining a top four team
18-06-2023, 09:56 PM
A player of SJMs ability needs to be joining a top four team
Love mcginn but I’m still not sure he’s good enough consistently for a top four team down south.
Reckon they’d be aiming higher.