View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

McGruber
16-07-2023, 11:57 AM
Surely Boyle and Youan will be either side of ALF.

Wonder if the first European tie come too soon for Boyle - obviously not featured yet in pre season games

JammyDoidger
16-07-2023, 12:04 PM
Known for 7 months Nisbet was away and known for a year getting Myko back wasn't a sure thing. Need a forward in, scoring against the European diddies and getting confidence up imo.

Boyle and Youan through the middle is a really bad way to be starting the season imo. Not their best positions, leaves us without our best wide players, and very little physical presence up top.

Exactly this. Replacement should have been lined up before letting Nisbet go anywhere for me.

16-07-2023, 12:06 PM
Wonder if the first European tie come too soon for Boyle - obviously not featured yet in pre season games

Think LJ has said second leg is the best bet but if we’re totally comfortable he’s likely not to be risked

16-07-2023, 12:06 PM

Suspect he will have to be involved on Friday.

PHeffernan
16-07-2023, 12:11 PM

No real info on when Boyler will return to playing but not required for that first European tie.
3 weeks until the league season starts and the 3rd round of the European Conf are the real start.

Saw photos of Boyler in Spain and he is uber thin so minimum weight going through that previously injured knee.

16-07-2023, 12:13 PM
Flopped at St Gallen, Aberdeen, Winterhur, Huddersfield, Sheffield Wednesday

His career is only going one way.

Genuinely forgot he went to Aberdeen. They were delighted when they signed him as well.

16-07-2023, 12:14 PM
Why? Livingston haven't been relegated with him in their team.

Not saying he is for us but really?

If we started signing players the quality of Nouble I'd be worried. A journeyman player if ever there was one.

16-07-2023, 12:21 PM
If we started signing players the quality of Nouble I'd be worried. A journeyman player if ever there was one.

I don't want him either just thought your relegated comment was a bit much.

16-07-2023, 12:24 PM

8th permanent team off his career aged 27, granted he's had a load of loan deals.

Nisbet is at his 5th permanent club.

I don't believe Hibs are interested in Nouble anyway.

badabing67
16-07-2023, 12:51 PM
He wouldn’t get in our midfield. He’d be a poor signing. He’d be behind JDH for me, and I already want better than JDH.

Not sure why so many here are down on JDH. I think he is a valuable member of our 1st team squad, and I think he will show it this season. From what I have seen of him so far in pre-season it looks like he is also trying to add goals to his game and was unlucky against Bournemouth. I rate JDH and still think there is improvement in him. I for one hope he kicks on a bit. For what its worth if he was at Hertz or Aberdeen he'd get a game for either of them no problem. Imo

badabing67
16-07-2023, 12:57 PM
Probably. Think I'd prefer Doidge than ALF tbh.

Hard to say until we get a proper look at ALF. We should create a lot of chances in the first Euro tie so I reckon ALF gets the nod as the better goalscorer.
Of course we might have someone in by then.

What about Dan MacKay I think he is going to surprise a few people this season..... Hopefully

16-07-2023, 12:58 PM
I don't want him either just thought your relegated comment was a bit much.

Probably was to be fair

16-07-2023, 12:59 PM
What about Dan MacKay I think he is going to surprise a few people this season..... Hopefully

I agree. Be a good bench option hopefully.

chippy
16-07-2023, 01:08 PM
I agree. Be a good bench option hopefully.

I agree, think he’ll start quite a few games. Looks to me that he can play through the middle possibly

16-07-2023, 01:40 PM
Wolfsburg now in the race to sign Josh Doig. I thought Torino as a done deal?

16-07-2023, 01:48 PM

Looks as though Verona are determined to get the best deal possible which obviously benefits us in turn.

EGL2000
16-07-2023, 01:53 PM

Hopefully so, got cash to splash after selling nmecha for 30mil.

16-07-2023, 01:53 PM
Looks as though Verona are determined to get the best deal possible which obviously benefits us in turn.

Hopefully it gets done asap, otherwise it may be too late in the window to make use of it.

16-07-2023, 01:55 PM
Known for 7 months Nisbet was away and known for a year getting Myko back wasn't a sure thing. Need a forward in, scoring against the European diddies and getting confidence up imo.

Boyle and Youan through the middle is a really bad way to be starting the season imo. Not their best positions, leaves us without our best wide players, and very little physical presence up top.

Goalscorers are at a premium, and I've not seen anyone move so far that I've thought "We should really have went for him." We've signed a striker as part of next seasons plans and had talks break down over one who would have been real top quality. We've also signed Youan, who is quality as well.

If the market we operate in is dry, then we can either stick with what we have, move quickly for someone who can "do a job", or see what the business end of the transfer window throws up in terms of opportunities.

I'd sign Nouble because he'd give players across the front 3 competition, give us a uniquely physical dimension, and is still on the way up. However, I wouldn't break the bank or try and make him a marquee signing - he's the "do a job" bracket with potential to be an unexpected hit.

EGL2000
16-07-2023, 02:02 PM
Goalscorers are at a premium, and I've not seen anyone move so far that I've thought "We should really have went for him." We've signed a striker as part of next seasons plans and had talks break down over one who would have been real top quality. We've also signed Youan, who is quality as well.

If the market we operate in is dry, then we can either stick with what we have, move quickly for someone who can "do a job", or see what the business end of the transfer window throws up in terms of opportunities.

I'd sign Nouble because he'd give players across the front 3 competition, give us a uniquely physical dimension, and is still on the way up. However, I wouldn't break the bank or try and make him a marquee signing - he's the "do a job" bracket with potential to be an unexpected hit.

These days with the ability to scout all over the world I would say a market can never be fully dry. Unless your are looking for something very specific. The first options we looked at might not be available, but that does not mean there isn't the same quality out there that we haven't identified/ spoke to yet.

16-07-2023, 02:05 PM

Hopefully the price is going up and Verona aren't just accepting £5 million from everyone.

16-07-2023, 02:13 PM
Hopefully the price is going up and Verona aren't just accepting £5 million from everyone.

If we know that they’ve accepted £5m from a team, then surely other clubs know that and why would other teams offer more?

16-07-2023, 02:13 PM

Am pretty sure an Italian journalist with over 1 million followers on Twitter said the personal terms were agreed with Torino but they were still apart on the fee so fingers crossed.

16-07-2023, 02:14 PM
If we know that they’ve accepted £5m from a team, then surely other clubs know that and why would other teams offer more?

They didn't accept it.

16-07-2023, 02:17 PM
Lucas Joao available

16-07-2023, 02:17 PM
They didn't accept it.

I didn’t realise that. Good to know they’re holding out for a better deal then.

16-07-2023, 02:18 PM
Lucas Joao available

He’ll be too expensive for us.

16-07-2023, 02:22 PM

Are goalscorers at a premier? Hibs have had as many good goalscorers as they have central midfielders, fullbacks, center half's etc over the last 20 years.

The business end of the transfer window means coming in half fit, not used to our playstyle, could already be up against it with a rocky league start and out of Europe. Too often does this happen when we need a sharp start. Its boring. Even a quality player can end up like Myko did last season. Stop start.

Not interested in Nouble myself. No better than the current Doidge.

16-07-2023, 02:31 PM
Lucas Joao available

Something you’ve heard or just putting 2 and 2 together as a suggestion?

Green Reaper
16-07-2023, 03:08 PM
Lucas Joao looks interesting but, as said above, probably outwith our finances, although he is without a club at present. Transfer mkt says he was bought by Reading for €5.4m in 2019 but only valued at €1.2m now which is surprising as he has a good strike rate.6'4" centre forward but can play both left and right wing and a good age at 29. You would think a few Championship clubs would be interested.

16-07-2023, 03:22 PM
Lucas Joao looks interesting but, as said above, probably outwith our finances, although he is without a club at present. Transfer mkt says he was bought by Reading for €5.4m in 2019 but only valued at €1.2m now which is surprising as he has a good strike rate.6'4" centre forward but can play both left and right wing and a good age at 29. You would think a few Championship clubs would be interested.

He was on about 700k a year.

16-07-2023, 03:34 PM
Something you’ve heard or just putting 2 and 2 together as a suggestion?

Not heard anything but notice he is available decent scoring record

16-07-2023, 03:36 PM
Would love a really good striker rumour to kick the week off tomorrow.

Desperately need a Nisbet replacement.

16-07-2023, 03:38 PM
Wonder what Laidlaw is thinking seeing those from the development team away with us for pre season or out on loan and getting games whilst he’s without a club.

He’ll get a club no bother, but even if it is coming back to us, you’d think he’d be so far behind due to not training or playing (I know he’s been doing his own stuff and rumoured to have trained with a couple of teams).

Getting a chance this pre season could have been what he needed, all the young boys have shown up well and he could have made a decent should got getting a chance on the wing.

Hibstrooper
16-07-2023, 03:59 PM
I wonder if the slowing down of rumours is that we are now looking to explore the loan market. It’s a market that LJ has spoken of a lot and using the contacts he has, most loans are generally done later in the window as teams decide who they can let go or need to keep.

Could see us looking to bring in another up & coming striker ala Myko on loan.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 04:13 PM
I wonder if the slowing down of rumours is that we are now looking to explore the loan market. It’s a market that LJ has spoken of a lot and using the contacts he has, most loans are generally done later in the window as teams decide who they can let go or need to keep.

Could see us looking to bring in another up & coming striker ala Myko on loan.I think a bit of both, perm and loan. There must be literally hundreds of players in the Uk available just now and I can imagine our recruitment team will have stacks of emails from agents etc and probably similar to players abroad too

We have done ok so far with signings and the recent loans were a step above the norm so the guys know what to look for. I suppose really it depends on who else is fishing in our pond

16-07-2023, 04:15 PM
Wonder what Laidlaw is thinking seeing those from the development team away with us for pre season or out on loan and getting games whilst he’s without a club.

He’ll get a club no bother, but even if it is coming back to us, you’d think he’d be so far behind due to not training or playing (I know he’s been doing his own stuff and rumoured to have trained with a couple of teams).

Getting a chance this pre season could have been what he needed, all the young boys have shown up well and he could have made a decent should got getting a chance on the wing.

To be honest I'm getting a wee bit fed up of hearing about Laidlaw. Watching him against Dortmund it was clear to see he is very promising, he looked strong and athletic and pretty good on the ball as well, there's no doubting the kid is a prospect and I get that he is frustrated not to have been given a shot at the first team.

But the fact is nobody really got a shot last season and it has to be said if Hibs couldn't see him replacing anybody in a team that misfired a lot in 22/23 in what way does he thing the likes of Watford in a league just as, if not more, physical than the Scottish premiership would be willing to give him a game.

Given that, you cant help thinking this is all about money and he'll be willing to sit around at another club for another season for more cash but just as little game time, with even less chance in the long run of making a breakthrough than he did at Hibs. IMO if he doesn't reappear at East Mains before the start of this season it's the last anybody outside of EFL 1 and 2 or maybe the likes of Ross County will see of Ethan Laidlaw ... and that would be a shame.

Paulie Walnuts
16-07-2023, 04:36 PM
To be honest I'm getting a wee bit fed up of hearing about Laidlaw. Watching him against Dortmund it was clear to see he is very promising, he looked strong and athletic and pretty good on the ball as well, there's no doubting the kid is a prospect and I get that he is frustrated not to have been given a shot at the first team.

But the fact is nobody really got a shot last season and it has to be said if Hibs couldn't see him replacing anybody in a team that misfired a lot in 22/23 in what way does he thing the likes of Watford in a league just as, if not more, physical than the Scottish premiership would be willing to give him a game.

Given that, you cant help thinking this is all about money and he'll be willing to sit around at another club for another season for more cash but just as little game time, with even less chance in the long run of making a breakthrough than he did at Hibs. IMO if he doesn't reappear at East Mains before the start of this season it's the last anybody outside of EFL 1 and 2 or maybe the likes of Ross County will see of Ethan Laidlaw ... and that would be a shame.

He’s stuck between a rock and a hard place now. Hibs apparently offered him a deal to stay I think? And he wants to go but teams will have to stump up a development fee for him. He’s not ready for first team football at Hibs imo so I’d be surprised to see anyone desperate to pay the money.

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2023, 04:59 PM

Maybe we are waiting on a certain striker or negotiation's are taking longer as the club don't want to lose the player (not ITK BTW) but there's numerous reason why maybe we haven't a striker in yet .

The attackers we have should be enough to deal with our opening European game and imo there's no need to rush into getting one either . It's really important we get a good quality striker who knows how to score goals TBH .

Potty78
16-07-2023, 07:43 PM

Youan and Boyle certainly ain't a bad way to start the season through the middle. Pace and goals 🤷*♂️

16-07-2023, 07:50 PM
Youan and Boyle certainly ain't a bad way to start the season through the middle. Pace and goals 🤷*♂️

Well, it didn't really work last season. Don't hold the ball, could both be bullied, both struggle a bit against defenses that sit in. What formation do you play with those 2 as strikers? 442? Who plays wide if those 2 are up front? A diamond? What width do we have then?

Brilliant pairing up front on FIFA. Think they'd struggle in reality.

16-07-2023, 07:57 PM
Well, it didn't really work last season. Don't hold the ball, could both be bullied, both struggle a bit against defenses that sit in. What formation do you play with those 2 as strikers? 442? Who plays wide if those 2 are up front? A diamond? What width do we have then?

Is there any reason you are excluding ALF from our attackers or am I missing something

16-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Is there any reason you are excluding ALF from our attackers or am I missing something

ALF has looked poor the two pre-season games I've tuned in to. Prefer Doidge or Melks over him

16-07-2023, 08:02 PM
ALF has looked poor the two pre-season games I've tuned in to. Prefer Doidge or Melks over him

Thought he looked fine in the first game, 2nd game it's not like we played to his strengths.

He's played less than 180 minutes for us.

Potty78
16-07-2023, 08:02 PM

Did they play together last season as a 2? Not saying its perfect but no way it's a bad start🤷*♂️

16-07-2023, 08:06 PM
Thought he looked fine in the first game, 2nd game it's not like we played to his strengths.

He's played less than 180 minutes for us.

What are his strengths?

No doubt he's a brilliant player to have around the place.

King Cosell
16-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Aberdeen looking at Killian Phillips midfielder from Crystal Palace, on loan at Shrewsbury 2nd half of last season and won their young player of the year.

Paulie Walnuts
16-07-2023, 08:09 PM
Aberdeen looking at Killian Phillips midfielder from Crystal Palace, on loan at Shrewsbury 2nd half of last season and won their young player of the year.

Sounds like he’d be a very exciting signing on paper. Only there half the season but still won YPOTY. Cotterill described him as immense.

Potty78
16-07-2023, 08:09 PM
What are his strengths?

You're judging a player after 3 friendlies?

16-07-2023, 08:10 PM
What are his strengths?

Not balls shelled above his head.

No doubt he's a good player to have on the pitch.

Certainly going to give him more time than a couple of friendlies

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 08:12 PM
What are his strengths?

He scores goals, but obviously you knew that already, some strikers have a knack of being in the right place at the right time as he was when he scored v Europa. Bournemouth limited our chances, particularly in the first half so you surely cant pin anything on him during that game. If he plays in the premiership or in Europa league he will be better judged then

16-07-2023, 08:17 PM
What are his strengths?

Ffs what a place this is.

16-07-2023, 08:20 PM
He scores goals, but obviously you knew that already, some strikers have a knack of being in the right place at the right time as he was when he scored v Europa. Bournemouth limited our chances, particularly in the first half so you surely cant pin anything on him during that game. If he plays in the premiership or in Europa league he will be better judged then

Wasn't being facetious, just genuinely interested into what his strengths are. Of course he's scored goals in the past, recently as well in a poorer league.

Like I said I think he'll be class to have around the place for experience.

From what I've watched though he doesn't look anywhere near the level needed to be our main striker, which I'm hoping he won't be.

16-07-2023, 08:22 PM
Ffs what a place this is.

Aye, you're right

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 08:25 PM
Wasn't being facetious, just genuinely interested into what his strengths are. Of course he's scored goals in the past, recently as well in a poorer league.

Like I said I think he'll be class to have around the place for experience.

From what I've watched though he doesn't look anywhere near the level needed to be our main striker, which I'm hoping he won't be.Poorer league ? Granted not at top end of premiership standard but Im sure he would pick holes in most other defences. Even if its from the bench then good experience to bring on. Ammo from Boyle and Youan then Im sure he would get on the end of a few

davemcbain
16-07-2023, 08:25 PM
Would love a really good striker rumour to kick the week off tomorrow.

Desperately need a Nisbet replacement.

Peter Shalulili coming on loan from Sundowns - you heard it here first (and it's not even tomorrow). :greengrin

16-07-2023, 08:28 PM
Peter Shalulili coming on loan from Sundowns - you heard it here first (and it's not even tomorrow). :greengrin

Yes! Love it

16-07-2023, 08:28 PM

For real Dave or just a wee bit mischief?

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-07-2023, 08:29 PM

49 goals in 72 games, no idea what the South African league is like mind you

ShadesLongThrow
16-07-2023, 08:42 PM

Nice YouTube compilation with some neat finishing. The main lesson from the video though is never sign a South African keeper 😬

16-07-2023, 08:46 PM

Think he's just starting a rumour before tomorrow 😂

16-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Think he's just starting a rumour before tomorrow 😂

Successfully too.

16-07-2023, 08:49 PM
A Hibby Namibian. About time.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

davemcbain
16-07-2023, 08:52 PM

Source is a Saffer friend who supports the dodgers. Would trust his opinion as much as I'd trust Goram with my sisters virtue 20 years back, but it is the rumour he shared, fits the sort of left field signing Lee seems to go for and someone wanted a bona fide rumour.

SA league is very watchable btw - more showboating than skills though.

16-07-2023, 08:53 PM
Source is a Saffer friend who supports the dodgers. Would trust his opinion as much as I'd trust Goram with my sisters virtue 20 years back, but it is the rumour he shared, fits the sort of left field signing Lee seems to go for and someone wanted a bona fide rumour.

Excellent. Even if its bollocks its a top rumour.

davemcbain
16-07-2023, 08:54 PM

Was there earlier in the year - avoided the "Hibs in Namibs" social media post, but glorious place to holiday.

16-07-2023, 08:56 PM

I hope he's better than our last Gambian

PHeffernan
16-07-2023, 09:03 PM
49 goals in 72 games, no idea what the South African league is like mind you

He is 30 in 3 months so can't see it.
No transfer links for the player with other teams and no source for the link with Hibs other than Dave above.

16-07-2023, 09:11 PM
He is 30 in 3 months so can't see it.
No transfer links for the player with other teams and no source for the link with Hibs other than Dave above.

Does life stop at 30?

16-07-2023, 09:24 PM
Did they play together last season as a 2? Not saying its perfect but no way it's a bad start🤷*♂️They did a bit yeah.

Just not sure he's here to be first choice.

PHeffernan
16-07-2023, 09:29 PM
Does life stop at 30?

I can't remember.

16-07-2023, 09:36 PM

🎶
Shalulili li li li li
And Hibees who wait for me

16-07-2023, 09:38 PM

Absolutely love the rumour.

Just watched a few highlights on YouTube and as much as I’m trying to stay grounded, if we don’t sign him I’m no going back.

Would be my favourite signing of all time, no doubt about that.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-07-2023, 09:50 PM
Absolutely love the rumour.

Just watched a few highlights on YouTube and as much as I’m trying to stay grounded, if we don’t sign him I’m no going back.

Would be my favourite signing of all time, no doubt about that.

Not even bothering to watch highlight reels, his name is class and that’s good enough for me. Sign him up.

16-07-2023, 09:50 PM
Did they play together last season as a 2? Not saying its perfect but no way it's a bad start🤷*♂️

Never played together as a front 2.

They were both on the pitch for 665 minutes by my count.

Boyle: 3 goals + 1 assist
Youan: 3 assists + 1 goal

This was also the period pre-World Cup when Youan was clearly not adapted to Scottish football yet.

Dr_Regal
17-07-2023, 02:43 AM
Lucas Joao would be quality for us. Was on 15k a week at reading but won’t be expecting anything like that now. A much more refined player than Nouble, and scored goals pretty consistently in the championship. 6’4, should be able to handle the Scottish game. Might fancy it.

17-07-2023, 03:35 AM
Lucas Joao would be quality for us. Was on 15k a week at reading but won’t be expecting anything like that now. A much more refined player than Nouble, and scored goals pretty consistently in the championship. 6’4, should be able to handle the Scottish game. Might fancy it.

No chance we'll get him at age 29. I'm sure he'll have another big contract left. We only got ALF at 36!

CallumHibs07
17-07-2023, 03:40 AM
29 year old thats never stepped foot outside of Africa? thought we'd have moved on from these kind of signings with McDermott coming in

Bridge hibs
17-07-2023, 03:47 AM
29 year old thats never stepped foot outside of Africa? thought we'd have moved on from these kind of signings with McDermott coming in
We havent signed him, its a rumour, nothing more

17-07-2023, 04:00 AM
29 year old thats never stepped foot outside of Africa? thought we'd have moved on from these kind of signings with McDermott coming inWhat kind of signings? Folk from Africa?

Bit of a mad take after 1 poor young signing on loan from there

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

17-07-2023, 04:08 AM
Hearts signing Calem Nieuwenhof. Seen a few tweets raving about him.

Seen some other tweets describing him as another Cammy devlin.

I’m sure forza fred can shine some light.

Yes I copy and pasted the surname

17-07-2023, 04:25 AM
Does life stop at 30?

It does in Logan’s Run

17-07-2023, 04:29 AM
Hearts signing Calem Nieuwenhof. Seen a few tweets raving about him.

Seen some other tweets describing him as another Cammy devlin.

I’m sure forza fred can shine some light.

Yes I copy and pasted the surname

He’s ok, but as with most A Leaguers, may struggle with the harum scarum pace of the game in Scotland.

Certainly not a clogger like Devlin though.

17-07-2023, 05:50 AM

Should we have stopped signing players from England after Allan O’Brien?

No more players from Europe after Jair?

No more players from Scotland after Euan Henderson?

Brian McDermott is here to help us find these hidden gems, not to limit our scouting network.

17-07-2023, 05:50 AM
Rock bottom MLS side Inter Miami welcome Lionel Messi

17-07-2023, 07:08 AM
It does in Logan’s Run

One for the kids there Fred.

tonyrougier123
17-07-2023, 07:37 AM

Only Namibian I remember to play in Scotland was Shivute for Motherwell. Looked a decent player.ran us ragged at fir park one game.

17-07-2023, 09:13 AM
It does in Logan’s Run

This is when i don’t mind the thread going off track. 😂

bringbackbenny
17-07-2023, 09:16 AM

Jenny Agutter 💚

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 09:22 AM
It looks like that Namibian player can play anywhere across the front 3 . Though doubt very much there's anything to the rumor TBH .
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/peter-shalulile/profil/spieler/397937

Do wonder if JDH will be one we will try to move on this window too?

17-07-2023, 09:32 AM
It looks like that Namibian player can play anywhere across the front 3 . Though doubt very much there's anything to the rumor TBH .

I hope not.

17-07-2023, 09:33 AM
Jenny Agutter 💚

In the nip! A long way from the Railway Children.

17-07-2023, 09:38 AM

Where are those hypocrite puns when you need them? :na na:

badabing67
17-07-2023, 12:31 PM
it looks like that namibian player can play anywhere across the front 3 . Though doubt very much there's anything to the rumor tbh .

do wonder if jdh will be one we will try to move on this window too?

nah

17-07-2023, 12:45 PM
In the nip! A long way from the Railway Children.

And I thought she was a nun.

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 12:58 PM
nah
Good player if slightly similar in style to Newell though. We did accept a bid for him last season which has me wondering if we got a offer for him would he be one we'd be willing to part with tbh .

badabing67
17-07-2023, 01:39 PM
Good player if slightly similar in style to Newell though. We did accept a bid for him last season which has me wondering if we got a offer for him would he be one we'd be willing to part with tbh .

We did accept a bid but he didn't want to go there, he has also stated in an interview he wants to stay at Hibs, and from LJ's statements in interviews ect I get the impression he rates him.

jakeshibs
17-07-2023, 02:31 PM

we need better than JDH at hibs

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 03:29 PM
We did accept a bid but he didn't want to go there, he has also stated in an interview he wants to stay at Hibs, and from LJ's statements in interviews ect I get the impression he rates him.

I don't blame him for wanting to stay at Hibs over Forrest Green tbh . Not a difficult decision to have to make really though the reality is we weren't going to stand in his way of going which makes me wonder if he's as rated as some think he is by the manager.

Good player as I said before but I'm not keen on a both him and Newell in midfield together as I think they are similar types of players . I wouldn't be to disappointed if JDH moved to another club this window and allows us to get a different type of midfielder in along with Newell, Levitt and Campbell and I'd doubt very much if a offer came in again we would try to much to hold on to him TBH .

17-07-2023, 03:39 PM
I don't blame him for wanting to stay at Hibs over Forrest Green tbh . Not a difficult decision to have to make really though the reality is we weren't going to stand in his way of going which makes me wonder if he's as rated as some think he is by the manager.

Good player as I said before but I'm not keen on a both him and Newell in midfield together as I think they are similar types of players . I wouldn't be to disappointed if JDH moved to another club this window and allows us to get a different type of midfielder in along with Newell, Levitt and Campbell and I'd doubt very much if a offer came in again we would try to much to hold on to him TBH .

JDH and Newell couldn’t be less similar.

17-07-2023, 03:46 PM
we need better than JDH at hibs

Contracted till 2025, he'll be in no hurry to move on.

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 04:01 PM
JDH and Newell couldn’t be less similar.
I will be interested to hear how you think they are so different btw ?

17-07-2023, 04:05 PM
Imo JDH was looking good towards the end of the season but seems to struggle to stay fit. Seems to get injured pretty easily.
Not sure if he is worth keeping.

17-07-2023, 04:08 PM
Personally feel a midfield of Levitt, JDH and Newall would be the best outside of the gruesome twosome.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 04:31 PM
Kenneh away to Shrewsbury on loan.

17-07-2023, 04:33 PM
Personally feel a midfield of Levitt, JDH and Newall would be the best outside of the gruesome twosome.

I feel like I'd need to see it play before making my mind up if it would work.

On paper it probably should be the best outside of the gruesome twosome. Midfield seems to be funny though in that sometimes what works on paper doesn't work on the pitch. The much maligned JDH / Newell / Campbell combo has managed to stink the place out at Falkirk and dominate Rangers in a national cup semi final at Hampden.

I certainly like all 3 individuals though and see no reason why it shouldn't work.

King Cosell
17-07-2023, 04:38 PM
Kenneh off to Shrewsbury on loan.

17-07-2023, 04:38 PM

Not a bad move for him, and us.

Id have thought Scottish Championship or English League 2 was more likely.

17-07-2023, 04:39 PM
That's a good move for the lad, I think he will do well.

17-07-2023, 04:41 PM
It's good to get Kenneh away on loan but Johnson's comments about helping his development and whatever just highlight how much our recruitment process had to change. He was signed as a 1st team player and a year later we are sending him away to League One for a year to try and develop him. That suggests he was nowhere near ready for our 1st team when we signed him.

Thank god everything seems a bit more coherent now.

17-07-2023, 04:42 PM
Not a huge surprise re Kenneh.

A decent level so interesting to see how he gets on and if he progresses with them

17-07-2023, 04:42 PM
I will be interested to hear how you think they are so different btw ?

You have to start with how they are similar first. 2 legs is about it.

ElginHibbie
17-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Good move for Kenneh, hopefully kicks on

But surely means got incomings soon, more than just Fish

17-07-2023, 04:49 PM
Hopefully Kenneh can avoid accidentally liking Hearts posts while he's down there.

17-07-2023, 04:55 PM
Wonder how much of Kenneh's wages they're covering. Be good to get him off the wage bill for the season.

HendoDelivered
17-07-2023, 04:55 PM
How bad was our recruitment last summer, jeezo…

Hibs4185
17-07-2023, 05:03 PM
It's good to get Kenneh away on loan but Johnson's comments about helping his development and whatever just highlight how much our recruitment process had to change. He was signed as a 1st team player and a year later we are sending him away to League One for a year to try and develop him. That suggests he was nowhere near ready for our 1st team when we signed him.

Thank god everything seems a bit more coherent now.

It annoys me that people assume that an EPL youngster, championship player and even League 1 player will walk into a SPL side.

Time and time again there have been many English players come
Up here and struggle.

We massively under sell ourselves, or probably England over sells itself.

17-07-2023, 05:09 PM
It annoys me that people assume that an EPL youngster, championship player and even League 1 player will walk into a SPL side.

Time and time again there have been many English players come
Up here and struggle.

We massively under sell ourselves, or probably England over sells itself.

Maybe it’s changing. Even the Scottish National team are starting to find performances and even qualify for tournaments again.

It suggests our level has raised somewhat, both domestically and internationally. It’s just that others don’t see it as it’s all about the Glasgow teams.

17-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Wonder how much of Kenneh's wages they're covering. Be good to get him off the wage bill for the season.

Id imagine a good portion of it. Should have freed up a few quid in wages and I still think Henderson will move. Definitely gives us room for bodies in

17-07-2023, 05:20 PM

It’s weird how nobody seems to talk about it!

King Cosell
17-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Kenneh seems like a really nice lad but he's not really settled up here, you don't see him goofing around with other players in training, maybe he's a bit shy. He's got all the attributes, wouldn't surprise me if he does really well at Shrewsbury and we get a tasty offer for him next summer.

Paul1642
17-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Good move for Hibs and Kenneh. If it works out and he’s one of their best players this season in English league 1 then he comes back next season ready to push for the 1st team.

If it doesn’t work out down there then probably time to consider moving him on.

17-07-2023, 05:27 PM
Kenneh seems like a really nice lad but he's not really settled up here, you don't see him goofing around with other players in training, maybe he's a bit shy. He's got all the attributes, wouldn't surprise me if he does really well at Shrewsbury and we get a tasty offer for him next summer.
That may well be the plan now, I'm pretty sure it wasn't when we signed him, good luck to him though I hope he has a great season

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 05:29 PM
You have to start with how they are similar first. 2 legs is about it.
I said that I felt both Newell and JDH were similar types of players which I didn't think worked well as a pairing in midfield for us , you actually contradicted this by saying they couldn't be less similar which is why I said I was interested to hear how ? . Your now are asking me to explain even though I asked first . Maybe the differences are harder to find between Newell and JDH than you first thought 🤔

17-07-2023, 05:34 PM
I didn't mind Kenneh and didn't think he was doing that badly for us.

He was exactly where you'd expect him to be - physically fit and ready, needing first team football but a bit short of experience at anything other than under age level. It showed with some of his decision making. He was only ever really going to get better from playing regularly somewhere, if Johnson decided that wasn't to be with us then fair enough.

Shrewsbury isn't that bad a level at all and he might be doing well to get that much of a game there. I hope this doesn't end up being a bit like Melkersen where we punt him anywhere just to get rid of his wage and he ends up doing nothing to further his development.

On the other hand - he lights it up there, we might end up getting a decent offer for him. Josh Vela did well there so you never know.

17-07-2023, 05:40 PM

It was poor.

I think LJ addressed this in January that the summer window wasn’t good enough.

Anyway, it’s surely time for a couple incomings

17-07-2023, 05:42 PM
I feel like I'd need to see it play before making my mind up if it would work.

On paper it probably should be the best outside of the gruesome twosome. Midfield seems to be funny though in that sometimes what works on paper doesn't work on the pitch. The much maligned JDH / Newell / Campbell combo has managed to stink the place out at Falkirk and dominate Rangers in a national cup semi final at Hampden.

I certainly like all 3 individuals though and see no reason why it shouldn't work.

My concern with that midfield is just how much heavy lifting Levitt would be required to do. JDH deep, Newell ahead of him but a tendency to drop deep as well. Neither with any drive, or press resistance as the modern parlance goes. Allan could get isolated playing with Gogic & Newel. Plus Levitt would provide the sole outfield goal threat (be it goals, assists, running ahead of the ball and getting into the box).

Newell or JDH deep, a new midfielder, and Levitt would be my preference. Or if Levitt is our best McGeough then two new midfielders or one to compliment the attributes Campbell has.

17-07-2023, 05:58 PM
My concern with that midfield is just how much heavy lifting Levitt would be required to do. JDH deep, Newell ahead of him but a tendency to drop deep as well. Neither with any drive, or press resistance as the modern parlance goes. Allan could get isolated playing with Gogic & Newel. Plus Levitt would provide the sole outfield goal threat (be it goals, assists, running ahead of the ball and getting into the box).

Newell or JDH deep, a new midfielder, and Levitt would be my preference. Or if Levitt is our best McGeough then two new midfielders or one to compliment the attributes Campbell has.

You don't think Newell has drive or is resistant to getting pressed?

I'd be stunned if Levitt was better when getting pressed than Newell. He certainly wasn't vs Bouremouth.

17-07-2023, 06:03 PM

I'd be stunned if Levitt was better when getting pressed than Newell. He certainly wasn't vs Bouremouth.

Yes, Newell has his attributes. Picking the ball up and then driving us up the park isn’t one of them. We haven’t had that drive since McGinn or, briefly, Docherty and it continues to be a major hole in our midfield IMO.

17-07-2023, 06:03 PM

I was asking a United-supporting mate about Levitt and he wasn't a fan. He said he was lightweight, easily brushed off the ball and very much overhyped after his loan spell.

That does seem to be an outlier opinion amongst United fans tbf, and my mate is most certainly scunnered with football life at the minute but I thought it worth passing on.

The midfield has certainly needed something and Levitt looks like he'll add something new. In spite of liking all our current midfielders I've felt like we've been more than one player off fixing it and that may well still be the case.

17-07-2023, 06:11 PM
I was asking a United-supporting mate about Levitt and he wasn't a fan. He said he was lightweight, easily brushed off the ball and very much overhyped after his loan spell.

That does seem to be an outlier opinion amongst United fans tbf, and my mate is most certainly scunnered with football life at the minute but I thought it worth passing on.

The midfield has certainly needed something and Levitt looks like he'll add something new. In spite of liking all our current midfielders I've felt like we've been more than one player off fixing it and that may well still be the case.

Our midfield is a strange phenomenon in that there has been near universal agreement that it has been an issue since Jack Ross was here, and arguably before that, yet if you criticise almost any individual from within it then there are a parade of people telling you how great they are and how clueless you are.

I include myself in that as I'll wax lyrical about Joe Newell and find myself really mystified that people don't see what he brings to the team . Others are the same about Jeggo, Campbell or JDH. We can't all be correct yet all of our favourites have been part of a midfield that has regularly misfired, the lack of creativity and edge at Tynecastle on the last day of last season being a clear example.

Maybe Levitt is the missing link but that still means at least one of the other favourites being deemed the 'problem' by the coaching team.

17-07-2023, 06:17 PM
Our midfield is a strange phenomenon in that there has been near universal agreement that it has been an issue since Jack Ross was here, and arguably before that, yet if you criticise almost any individual from within it then there are a parade of people telling you how great they are and how clueless you are.

I include myself in that as I'll wax lyrical about Joe Newell and find myself really mystified that people don't see what he brings to the team . Others are the same about Jeggo, Campbell or JDH. We can't all be correct yet all of our favourites have been part of a midfield that has regularly misfired, the lack of creativity and edge at Tynecastle on the last day of last season being a clear example.

Maybe Levitt is the missing link but that still means at least one of the other favourites being deemed the 'problem' by the coaching team.

Re Newell - Hibs posted a clip yesterday of the 4 youngsters where they asked them various questions.

One of them was who is your role model in the first team, McAllister, Rudi and McIntyre all answered Newell whilst Megwa said Rocky.

I think that speaks volumes.

Really highly rated by those at the club, I’m a massive fan and think he’d be a huge loss and walk into every midfield outwith the old firm

17-07-2023, 06:22 PM
The harder part of any transfer window is shipping players out (2 different categories)

1. You want to get your high value outgoings done early (ie Nisbet) or else if its 5pm on deadline day theres no way you're replacing in a steady planned strategic manner

2. You want to get your underperformers out the door to free up wages without other teams feeling they are buying a dud

Fair play to the club, they're playing a blinder on both aspects

Greenwich_Hibby
17-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Still very light up front.

17-07-2023, 06:37 PM
Good to see them realising mistakes from last year, just unfortunate we have wasted money. Kenneh clearly wasn't good enough despite a couple of good games, hopefully he impresses on loan and we get him off the wage bill permanently, tavares next would be good and hopefully a few more quality players in

17-07-2023, 06:54 PM
Re Newell - Hibs posted a clip yesterday of the 4 youngsters where they asked them various questions.

One of them was who is your role model in the first team, McAllister, Rudi and McIntyre all answered Newell whilst Megwa said Rocky

I think that speaks volumes

Really highly rated by those at the club, I’m a massive fan and think he’d be a huge loss and walk into every midfield outwith the old firm

I noticed that as well, good to see. Joe gives a lot to our club on and off the park.

17-07-2023, 06:55 PM
Still very light up front.

What's Christian Nadè up to

17-07-2023, 06:55 PM
Young lads Kenneh, Jair, Hauge etc are always going to be a massive punt. They've never played 1st team football and are away from friends and family probably for the 1st time in their career, there's no surprise when it doesn't work out.

17-07-2023, 06:56 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Louis Moult a Dundee United transfer target as Jim Goodwin closes in on former Motherwell star

#DUFC

bitly.ws/LCyS

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 07:01 PM
I think over the course of the season there will be quite a few debates on were Levitt's best position is just like on the Dundee Utd forum were some say he's better in a deeper role and others say he's better further forward . I don't think he's a attacking midfielder though and I'm hoping he will add something different to what we already have .

I think Campbell's a important player for us this year as he's probably our best chance of scoring a few goals from midfield and probably our most improved midfielder . Only attacking midfielder we have at the minute too.

Newell on his day is simply a classy midfielder and rightly got POTY . No need to say anymore.

JDH I genuinely think is a good player . I just don't like both Newell and him in midfield together . There not goalscorers, I don't think they are that creative or drive us forward tbh which is why I think we accepted the bid last year for JDH in order to mix the midfield up abit .

With kenneh away and probably Henderson going too maybe we will add another midfielder without one going . Drive and creativity is something I think we lacked tbh

King Cosell
17-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Louis Moult to Dundee Utd. Shambles of a club, there'll be an administrative error and they'll end up with Ted Moult.

Another good out

It’s like hibs know what we’re up too

Genuianly quite excited we have a recruitment structure in place with a plan at last.

The harder part of any transfer window is shipping players out (2 different categories)

1. You want to get your high value outgoings done early (ie Nisbet) or else if its 5pm on deadline day theres no way you're replacing in a steady planned strategic manner

2. You want to get your underperformers out the door to free up wages without other teams feeling they are buying a dud

Fair play to the club, they're playing a blinder on both aspects

We’re doing far better than I expected us to be doing at this point in terms of getting folk out the door. Getting the likes of Magennis out the door was an unexpected bonus for me.

As it stands I think it has the makings of being the best window we’ve had in a long time. I know there are still positions to fill, hopefully reports are right and Fish is in this week which will make a big difference. Good thing is he’s going to come in having been training and playing so will be good to go. We’re not far away from having a good 11 with him and a striker. We’re definitely on the right track although we’ll need more depth.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 07:09 PM

Good post.

I’m not all that sure about any of our midfield tbh. I don’t see what others see in Newell. I think he’s decent. No more, no less. I think we’d be a better side with someone like a Greg Docherty in there in his place. I don’t think Campbell’s a great player. Think he’s lacking technically and his effort masks some pretty big failings of his. I think JDH is decent enough but I think he’d only really be effective with better players around him. Don’t really rate Jeggo but I can see why he’d be useful at times. For all the talk of how good some people claim Newell is, how Campbell’s a multi million pound player etc they’ve all been part of numerous poor midfield units.

But at the same time I don’t think any of them are terrible. A Docherty type would transform our midfield imo.

17-07-2023, 07:11 PM
I’m hoping we’ll sign another midfielder with Kenneh gone.

17-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Good post.

I’m not all that sure about any of our midfield tbh. I don’t see what others see in Newell. I think he’s decent. No more, no less. I think we’d be a better side with someone like a Greg Docherty in there in his place. I don’t think Campbell’s a great player. Think he’s lacking technically and his effort masks some pretty big failings of his. I think JDH is decent enough but I think he’d only really be effective with better players around him. Don’t really rate Jeggo but I can see why he’d be useful at times. For all the talk of how good some people claim Newell is, how Campbell’s a multi million pound player etc they’ve all been part of numerous poor midfield units.

But at the same time I don’t think any of them are terrible. A Docherty type would transform our midfield imo.

The same Greg Docherty that kacked his breeks against Hearts at ER 1-3 ?

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 07:15 PM

Docherty was an excellent player for us imo. One game doesn’t define his ability.

Our whole team kacked their breeks 3-0 twice in a couple of weeks against hearts last season.

I’m not suggesting it has to be Docherty anyway as he’s not available. Someone with similar attributes would transform us though imo.

HIBS NUTS
17-07-2023, 07:15 PM
I noticed that as well, good to see. Joe gives a lot to our club on and off the park.

Not surprised that Newell is held in high regard by the young players at the club.
Most developement games, and under 18 games.
The 2 current players you see at the games, are Boyle and Newell, they both seem to take an interest in how the young guys are playing . 👍🏻

SonOfDavidFrancey
17-07-2023, 07:16 PM
I think over the course of the season there will be quite a few debates on were Levitt's best position is just like on the Dundee Utd forum were some say he's better in a deeper role and others say he's better further forward . I don't think he's a attacking midfielder though and I'm hoping he will add something different to what we already have .

I think Campbell's a important player for us this year as he's probably our best chance of scoring a few goals from midfield and probably our most improved midfielder . Only attacking midfielder we have at the minute too.

Newell on his day is simply a classy midfielder and rightly got POTY . No need to say anymore.

JDH I genuinely think is a good player . I just don't like both Newell and him in midfield together . There not goalscorers, I don't think they are that creative or drive us forward tbh which is why I think we accepted the bid last year for JDH in order to mix the midfield up abit .

With kenneh away and probably Henderson going too maybe we will add another midfielder without one going . Drive and creativity is something I think we lacked tbh

I think there will be a debate about how good he is. I’m worried he is being greeted as the messiah and he too is still quite a young boy and will have ups and downs.

17-07-2023, 07:17 PM

Playing alongside Scott Allan, Paul Hanlon, Martin Boyle, Lewis Stevenson and Ofir Marciano. Does that one result define all those players as well?

17-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Playing alongside Scott Allan, Paul Hanlon, Martin Boyle, Lewis Stevenson and Ofir Marciano. Does that one result define all those players as well?

I liked Docherty got off to a good start but totally disappeared that night was like a rabbit in the headlights true no one covered themselves in glory that night against the worst Hearts team in living memory but got the feeling his heart wasn’t in it at Hibs

17-07-2023, 07:23 PM
I’d take the oz from st Mirren

He would be a useful addition.

portycabbage
17-07-2023, 07:24 PM
What's Christian Nadè up to

Probably about 25 stone

17-07-2023, 07:25 PM
Docherty was an excellent player for us imo. One game doesn’t define his ability.

Our whole team kacked their breeks 3-0 twice in a couple of weeks against hearts last season.

I’m not suggesting it has to be Docherty anyway as he’s not available. Someone with similar attributes would transform us though imo.
Agree we need a SJM type to grab the game by the scruff of the neck and drag us over the line kicking and screaming

Sorry I just wasn’t impressed with Docherty that night among others and got the impression he didnae want to be here

17-07-2023, 07:25 PM
Young lads Kenneh, Jair, Hauge etc are always going to be a massive punt. They've never played 1st team football and are away from friends and family probably for the 1st time in their career, there's no surprise when it doesn't work out.

I’d like to,think it surprised the people at Hibs that wasted most of our transfer budget on them. If not ,they knowingly threw it away. Sign one or two like that fine but what we did was criminally stupid.

17-07-2023, 07:30 PM
I’d take the oz from st Mirren

He would be a useful addition.

Baccus? Strain?

TheGreenMan
17-07-2023, 07:30 PM
Probably about 25 stone

😂😂

17-07-2023, 07:31 PM
Moult would be a good signing for United. Or us, tbh.

17-07-2023, 07:38 PM
Louis Moult to Dundee Utd. Shambles of a club, there'll be an administrative error and they'll end up with Ted Moult.

Showing your age there mate 🤣

17-07-2023, 07:38 PM

2 goals in the last 2 years

17-07-2023, 07:49 PM

Looked knackered at his latest Motherwell stint. Be interesting to see how he gets on but looks to be a downgrade on Fletch to me and I'd be less than convinced if we were bringing Moult in as our starting striker.

17-07-2023, 07:49 PM

5 years ago maybe.

badabing67
17-07-2023, 07:52 PM
Good to see them realising mistakes from last year, just unfortunate we have wasted money. Kenneh clearly wasn't good enough despite a couple of good games, hopefully he impresses on loan and we get him off the wage bill permanently, tavares next would be good and hopefully a few more quality players in

I don't get this. If he impresses out on loan then we haven't wasted any money and would it not be better if came back us?

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 08:03 PM
Agree we need a SJM type to grab the game by the scruff of the neck and drag us over the line kicking and screaming

Sorry I just wasn’t impressed with Docherty that night among others and got the impression he didnae want to be here

I actually just had a quick look at Dochertys stats at us. 3 goals and 5 assists in 8 games. That’s outstanding.

17-07-2023, 08:05 PM
I actually just had a quick look at Dochertys stats at us. 3 goals and 5 assists in 8 games. That’s outstanding.

Agree his last two games were not so good doings from the yams and the sheep but will give him a pass overall

17-07-2023, 08:10 PM
Rather than being replaced by a Docherty, I reckon Newell has been crying out for a Docherty type to help him out.

Docherty type, Newell/ JDH / Jeggo / Campbell and Levitt and I think you’ve got a good midfield.

If only Docherty types grew on trees.

badabing67

One of them was who is your role model in the first team, McAllister, Rudi and McIntyre all answered Newell whilst Megwa said Rocky.

I think that speaks volumes.

Joe Newell done the co-commentary for the Bournemouth game and what he was saying about Dan MacKay was interesting. Joe Newell obviously rates him

DU are welcome to him

I don't get this. If he impresses out on loan then we haven't wasted any money and would it not be better if came back us?

You don't get how we have wasted money, we have just spent a wage on a guy that clearly wasn't ready to play first team football, can't remember if we paid a fee but that has been a year's wage down the drain

17-07-2023, 08:11 PM
I liked Docherty got off to a good start but totally disappeared that night was like a rabbit in the headlights true no one covered themselves in glory that night against the worst Hearts team in living memory but got the feeling his heart wasn’t in it at Hibs

Omeonga was was worse. If it's the same game I'm thinking of.

Musselbound
17-07-2023, 08:12 PM
Looked knackered at his latest Motherwell stint. Be interesting to see how he gets on but looks to be a downgrade on Fletch to me and I'd be less than convinced if we were bringing Moult in as our starting striker.

Agree. But I would take Fletcher on a one year contract. Would be better than gambling on a loan signing imo.

17-07-2023, 08:13 PM

I didn’t like that spell when we were doing loan business with the huns (Middleton, Docherty, Kamberi). The fans of the clubs dislike each other’s club so much that it heaps pressure on the players. Docherty made the best fist of it but these aren’t moves that we should be making.

17-07-2023, 08:15 PM
I didn’t like that spell when we were doing loan business with the huns (Middleton, Docherty, Kamberi). The fans of the clubs dislike each other’s club so much that it heaps pressure on the players. Docherty made the best fist of it but these aren’t moves that we should be making.

Shouldn’t deal with the Hun despicable club

Would ban their loathsome fans as well regardless of cost

17-07-2023, 08:16 PM
You don't get how we have wasted money, we have just spent a wage on a guy that clearly wasn't ready to play first team football, can't remember if we paid a fee but that has been a year's wage down the drain

We also got some of his wages back from Ross County. If he progresses to a good standard then if we have had somebody covering his wages for 18 months it’s not much of a risk.

17-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Shouldn’t deal with the Hun despicable club

Would ban their loathsome fans as well regardless of cost

Absolutely

chippy
17-07-2023, 08:19 PM

Omeonga , whilst not brilliant didn’t hide in that game.

17-07-2023, 08:21 PM

Yip was Omeonga’s horrible second spell

The whole team were out thought and out fought and allowed themselves to be bullied all over the park

In truth the better team on the night won

No complaints

17-07-2023, 08:22 PM
Still need to get Henderson and Tavarez off the books, albeit they are probably the hardest to get rid of as they're both mince and reportedly on much higher wages than their performances would justify.

Happy that the new recruitment structure seems to be working well though, I get the impression they are fully onboard with what the fans are thinking about the team.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 08:24 PM
Rather than being replaced by a Docherty, I reckon Newell has been crying out for a Docherty type to help him out.

Docherty type, Newell/ JDH / Jeggo / Campbell and Levitt and I think you’ve got a good midfield.

If only Docherty types grew on trees.
Here's one I'll ask you , without the Docherty type added , who in our current midfield players would you say has drive and creativity?

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2023, 08:25 PM
Still need to get Henderson and Tavarez off the books, albeit they are probably the hardest to get rid of as they're both mince and reportedly on much higher wages than their performances would justify.

Happy that the new recruitment structure seems to be working well though, I get the impression they are fully onboard with what the fans are thinking about the team.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Agree. The two of them are so far off it that I have no idea how anybody will take them off us.

17-07-2023, 08:42 PM
Agree. The two of them are so far off it that I have no idea how anybody will take them off us.

Malaga were willing to take Tavares on loan in January, he turned it down..:grr:

17-07-2023, 08:44 PM

I reckon someone will take Jair.

17-07-2023, 08:44 PM
Malaga were willing to take Tavares on loan in January, he turned it down..:grr:

Somebody will definitely take him. They will put his time here down to being at the wrong club.

badabing67
17-07-2023, 08:46 PM

I think its to early to say whether or not he was worth investing in. Personally I hope he does impress out on loan and comes back and plays for us. After all Jeggo's contract is up at the end of the season, who knows maybe Kenneh can come back and play the position. What I don't get is you saying that you want him to impress so he doesn't come back.

FWIW I think Hearts and Aberdeen waste way more money than we do, and on paper I think Kenneh was worth a punt and can still come good for us.

17-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Somebody will definitely take him. They will put his time here down to being at the wrong club.

I hope it’s permanent mate, I really can’t see him ever making it with us.

Hibees1973
17-07-2023, 08:47 PM

Kenneh is a prime example of a poorly scouted player by Hibs. Very little experience, naive and with zero 1st team games. There are still 5 or 6 others we must move on permanently, then replace with quality, to have any hope of progressing.

In Kenneh we have saddled ourselves with a player on a 3-4 year deal and a very good wage. Loaning him out is a poor solution, but all our recruitment team can do as no one wants to take on his contract. Hibs will still be paying a fair proportion of his wages which is really annoying.

A player of his limited ability isn't going to move to a very good level. With the wage he is on any prospective lower level club isn't going to match what Hibs are paying him. He is still going to be on our wage bill for a considerable amount of time, with no contribution to Hibs.

Hibs are still continuing to pay the price for previous recruitment disasters. It's halting our progress unfortunately.

chippy
17-07-2023, 08:53 PM

That’s why he didn’t go to the training camp and is playing with the laddies

Trinity Hibee
17-07-2023, 08:58 PM

I’m stunned Malaga would want him and even more stunned he turned it down.

17-07-2023, 09:06 PM
Kenneh is a prime example of a poorly scouted player by Hibs. Very little experience, naive and with zero 1st team games. There are still 5 or 6 others we must move on permanently, then replace with quality, to have any hope of progressing.

In Kenneh we have saddled ourselves with a player on a 3-4 year deal and a very good wage. Loaning him out is a poor solution, but all our recruitment team can do as no one wants to take on his contract. Hibs will still be paying a fair proportion of his wages which is really annoying.

A player of his limited ability isn't going to move to a very good level. With the wage he is on any prospective lower level club isn't going to match what Hibs are paying him. He is still going to be on our wage bill for a considerable amount of time, with no contribution to Hibs.

Hibs are still continuing to pay the price for previous recruitment disasters. It's halting our progress unfortunately.

Kenneh has played a full season of regular football in the Premiership and is going out on loan to a competitive League 1 team and is still only 20 years old. I wouldn't be writing him off when our manager is hardly guaranteed to see out the season.

TheGog
17-07-2023, 10:13 PM
Kenneh has played a full season of regular football in the Premiership and is going out on loan to a competitive League 1 team and is still only 20 years old. I wouldn't be writing him off when our manager is hardly guaranteed to see out the season.

This!!!!!

17-07-2023, 10:20 PM

On their own the stats do sound outstanding but when you look closer at them they are not as outstanding as they 1st appear. A goal and 3 assists were against BSC Glasgow, his other goals were against Killie and Inverness and assists were against Livi and Inverness. Not exactly against top opposition and, as pointed out by BILLYHIBS, not so good when he did come up against better opposition in Hearts and Aberdeen (that said, it was Whittaker's red card that killed the game at Pittodrie for us).

https://i.ibb.co/FwZTQRD/Docherty.jpg (https://ibb.co/0M4b0HG)

EGL2000
17-07-2023, 10:26 PM

Tbf Malaga are in real trouble right now. Currently playing 3rd division football in Spain. Crazy to think they were recently a few minutes away from a champions league semi.

Donegal Hibby
17-07-2023, 10:42 PM

Yeah , played about 15 times for us and pretty much failed to impress in that time and was loaned out to another premier club were he again failed to impress at a club that was nearly relegated ( Ross county showed no interest in getting him back aswell).

Loaned out again to a team that finished mid table in there league which is frankly well below the quality of our own so I'm sorry i just don't see what you see in kenneh and I also fail to see why you think the manager is hardly guaranteed see out the season either.

17-07-2023, 10:56 PM
On their own the stats do sound outstanding but when you look closer at them they are not as outstanding as they 1st appear. A goal and 3 assists were against BSC Glasgow, his other goals were against Killie and Inverness and assists were against Livi and Inverness. Not exactly against top opposition and, as pointed out by BILLYHIBS, not so good when he did come up against better opposition in Hearts and Aberdeen (that said, it was Whittaker's red card that killed the game at Pittodrie for us).

https://i.ibb.co/FwZTQRD/Docherty.jpg (https://ibb.co/0M4b0HG)

White's red card made things more difficult for us but it was our complete mental capitulation that cost us that game. We had a tendency around that time to double down on bad fortune and lacked the resiliency to see out results, not sure we've completely eradicated it yet but it's definitely better!

GreenPJ
18-07-2023, 06:17 AM
Yeah , played about 15 times for us and pretty much failed to impress in that time and was loaned out to another premier club were he again failed to impress at a club that was nearly relegated ( Ross county showed no interest in getting him back aswell).

Loaned out again to a team that finished mid table in there league which is frankly well below the quality of our own so I'm sorry i just don't see what you see in kenneh and I also fail to see why you think the manager is hardly guaranteed see out the season either.

Do you know that Ross County were not interested in taking him again?

18-07-2023, 06:21 AM

Absolutely on both counts. Bizarre

18-07-2023, 06:33 AM

It's a forum & you're entitled to your view

I would take a different slant on it, but that's ok too

I think taking a punt on a guy who has been capped by his country at all youth levels suggests there's something there (and our job is to see if we can bring that potential through)

I think the decision to loan him to County was the right one & now getting him to Shrewsbury is more good business in the circumstances (ie he's not going to develop with us)

Shrews pay wages that compare with most of the Scottish Prem due to the tv-inflated wage bubble down there

For what it's worth I agree we should always be looking to be more like the 2023 window (signing more proven talent like Youan & Fish, and fewer punts) but there's always room for the occasional punt if (like Kenneh) they have a full set of youth caps for a Germany a,Scotland a Croatia an Italy or an England etc as we'll always find a willing taketh if it doesn't work out

7Hero
18-07-2023, 06:55 AM
At least Kenneh has the sense to go out on loan which benefits him and the club, Tavares seems to have the billy big baws attitude and kicking his heels in, happy to swan about the club picking up a ridiculously large wage for the performances he has shown, sooner he is gone from the club the better.

18-07-2023, 07:02 AM
At least Kenneh has the sense to go out on loan which benefits him and the club, Tavares seems to have the billy big baws attitude and kicking his heels in, happy to swan about the club picking up a ridiculously large wage for the performances he has shown, sooner he is gone from the club the better.

Can we no just pay the guy off or stick him in bojangs flat

Chorley Hibee
18-07-2023, 07:11 AM

Malaga are a complete basket case and were just relegated to the third tier (regional leagues in Spain).

I can believe it.

Gordy M
18-07-2023, 07:15 AM
See Michael Rose has signed a 2 year deal with Stoke City, think couple folk had suggested we could be looking at him.

18-07-2023, 07:45 AM

Ironic, considering he moved on loan to a club at our level last season then?

In truth, you have no idea who will take Kenneh on or otherwise, or whether he will be at Hibs for the next three-four years. My guess is that he probably won't be but I also guess that at age 20, there is still improvement in him, I wouldn't be writing him off so totally just yet.

I'm not crying too much about recruitment either. We have plenty of time before the transfer window closes and the club is heading in the right direction with the business done so far.

We all know the club got it wrong at times, we can all see they are trying to remedy that, I don't think it's really holding back any progress.

18-07-2023, 07:55 AM
For me Kenneh was the biggest disappointment out of or signings last year.

Probably my high expectations more than anything where as I had no expectations for Bojang and then Tavares seemed a bit unorthodox from the clips I had saw

When we announced him Leeds fans seemed gutted, he was really highly rated and I was hopefully he was the defensive midfielder that we needed. I don’t know if it was because he was at leeds and their style but I assumed he would be all action, an athlete and good on the ball.

That first friendly last pre season I couldn’t believe how slow, cumbersome and just how poor on the ball he was - although was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Don’t get me wrong there’s been many games I’ve been impressed by him - his positioning, aerial ability and defensive side of his game are really good for his age and experience. But on the ball he was very poor at times, that game against Celtic at Parkhead where we got battered he genuinely looked terrified and done two fresh air swipes, one of which resulted in a goal.

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 07:58 AM
Ironic, considering he moved on loan to a club at our level last season then?

In truth, you have no idea who will take Kenneh on or otherwise, or whether he will be at Hibs for the next three-four years. My guess is that he probably won't be but I also guess that at age 20, there is still improvement in him, I wouldn't be writing him off so totally just yet.

I'm not crying too much about recruitment either. We have plenty of time before the transfer window closes and the club is heading in the right direction with the business done so far.

We all know the club got it wrong at times, we can all see they are trying to remedy that, I don't think it's really holding back any progress.

It’s still a wee bit early to say the club is heading in the right direction with regards to our recruitment I would say.

For all we know ALF for example could look every bit the 36 year old that’s spent 2 years playing at a lower level when he gets into competitive games. Wallacott could be hopeless and Obita hasn’t played up here, we’ve seen loads of guys come up with decent reputations from down south and fail.

We had people bigging up our signings last summer. Kenneh was an unreal signing apparently, Tavares was one we couldn’t quite believe we managed to sign, Cabraja had decent pedigree and Marshall was going to be our version of Craig Gordon. None of them worked out that way and were all varying degrees of poor to absolutely awful.

I like the look of most of our signings so far, but the proof will be in the pudding when we get playing games. I don’t think any of them can be looked at as guaranteed decent signings at this stage, although I’m certainly hopeful they will be.

18-07-2023, 08:10 AM
LJ confident of getting fish

18-07-2023, 08:12 AM
It’s still a wee bit early to say the club is heading in the right direction with regards to our recruitment I would say.

For all we know ALF for example could look every bit the 36 year old that’s spent 2 years playing at a lower level when he gets into competitive games. Wallacott could be hopeless and Obita hasn’t played up here, we’ve seen loads of guys come up with decent reputations from down south and fail.

We had people bigging up our signings last summer. Kenneh was an unreal signing apparently, Tavares was one we couldn’t quite believe we managed to sign, Cabraja had decent pedigree and Marshall was going to be our version of Craig Gordon. None of them worked out that way and were all varying degrees of poor to absolutely awful.

I like the look of most of our signings so far, but the proof will be in the pudding when we get playing games. I don’t think any of them can be looked at as guaranteed decent signings at this stage, although I’m certainly hopeful they will be.

I think we need to move on from using last seasons signings as a stick with which to beat the club, it was misguided to sign so many untested players and we got some of the more experienced ones wrong too. It happened, but I'm not going to wallow in misery about it too much for this coming season.

Like you, I like the look of what's got on board with us so far. I'm also pretty sure that there will be more incomers before things kick off.

Up-the-slope
18-07-2023, 08:19 AM

we seem to be saying a fair bit about this - not the usual Hibs way to talk specifics until its all sealed... hope the confidence is justified

Spudster
18-07-2023, 08:23 AM
For me Kenneh was the biggest disappointment out of or signings last year.

Probably my high expectations more than anything where as I had no expectations for Bojang and then Tavares seemed a bit unorthodox from the clips I had saw

When we announced him Leeds fans seemed gutted, he was really highly rated and I was hopefully he was the defensive midfielder that we needed. I don’t know if it was because he was at leeds and their style but I assumed he would be all action, an athlete and good on the ball.

Completely agree. There was Leeds fans talking about him being Kalvin Phillips replacement as he just signed for City for £45M! For someone to say he was poorly scouted is nonsense. He was probably the stand out player in the documentary Academy Dreams too. Shame it hasn't worked out as he seemed the most likely to succeed.

McGruber
18-07-2023, 08:23 AM

The tone of what LJ saying doesn't suggest we have anyone bar Fish lined up. Doesn't sound like deals are in the pipeline, especially for a striker. Bit weird for him to say strikers should be asking for more money. I'm sure that has no influence and they are all out for their coin anyway, just strange. Hopefully just the usual coy chat but would be disappointed given the amount of players out the door and money from Nisbet (hopefully Doig) if we don't bring in 2 CB (Fish + 1) and a quality striker minimum. Was half expecting another midfielder before Kenneh left too so even more so now.

18-07-2023, 08:25 AM

When does the slate get wiped clean in your eyes?

18-07-2023, 08:31 AM

I think taking a punt on a guy who has been capped by his country at all youth levels suggests there's something there (and our job is to see if we can bring that potential through)

I think the decision to loan him to County was the right one & now getting him to Shrewsbury is more good business in the circumstances (ie he's not going to develop with us)

Shrews pay wages that compare with most of the Scottish Prem due to the tv-inflated wage bubble down there

For what it's worth I agree we should always be looking to be more like the 2023 window (signing more proven talent like Youan & Fish, and fewer punts) but there's always room for the occasional punt if (like Kenneh) they have a full set of youth caps for a Germany a,Scotland a Croatia an Italy or an England etc as we'll always find a willing taketh if it doesn't work out

Please stop talking so much sense😂

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 08:42 AM
Do you know that Ross County were not interested in taking him again?
There didn't seem to be any rumours of it , didn't hear anything from Malky McKay either stating he'd like him back.

18-07-2023, 08:50 AM
There didn't seem to be any rumours of it , didn't hear anything from Malky McKay either stating he'd like him back.

So we still don't know for definite if Ross County would have liked him for another season or even enquired?

badabing67
18-07-2023, 08:52 AM

Hope he is on the pitch for us on Friday, talking about the pitch has anyone seen it lately would be good to see an up to date pic of the new pitch.

18-07-2023, 08:54 AM

In the same interview he also suggested any strikers should be holding out for big money. 😂

18-07-2023, 08:57 AM
I wonder if the Kenneh situation will finally teach some people not to get overly excited about an unknown signing until they have had time to prove themselves.

First mistake was people proclaiming him a great signing before we'd seen him play and assuming because he had come from Leeds he would be a standout.

Then we had people proclaiming after a few bang average games (some really poor ones and the odd decent one ) that we had a player who would make us money and play right at the top level!? Honestly was astounded to read this at the time on his displays.

And I think it is entirely fair to question the recruitment on this one. Of course you have to take risks on players, but we gave a 3 year contract on good wages to a player who now clearly isnt good enough for us. 3 year deals for him and Henderson are horrendous decisions that make it hard for us to get rid of them.

18-07-2023, 08:57 AM

So bit of a stretch to say they weren’t interested. More likely they couldn’t afford him. I’d be as well saying Ross County weren’t interested in taking Jeggo on loan.

18-07-2023, 08:58 AM
I reckon Ross County would have happily had Kenneh back. Shrewsbury are a bigger club than them with more resources. I think it's as good a move as Kenneh could get in all honesty, providing he gets the game time.

18-07-2023, 09:00 AM
I wonder if the Kenneh situation will finally teach some people not to get overly excited about an unknown signing until they have had time to prove themselves.

First mistake was people proclaiming him a great signing before we'd seen him play and assuming because he had come from Leeds he would be a standout.

Second mistak

I think we also failed to develop him in the time he was with us. He started very well and got plenty plaudits. Then had a few nasty errors. Dropped. Training ground bust up. Career at Hibs over. It’s a shame as I still believe he’s a proper talent that just needs to be developed. He was certainly better than any 19 year old we had in that area.

18-07-2023, 09:01 AM

Then we had people proclaiming after a few bang average games (some really poor ones and the odd decent one ) that we had a player who would make us money and play right at the top level!? Honestly was astounded to read this at the time on his displays.

His good games were well above bang average. Hibs went to town on his stats.

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 09:04 AM

I agree about taking a punt on a young guy capped at youth levels though imo there were to many taken in like Tavares , kenneh , Hauge in at our club .

Ross county was a good move for kenneh as is his move to Shrewsbury as well and should help in his development though from what I've seen of him he's never impressed me tbh and I just can't see him making it at us .

Hopefully he does well there though . Tavares ,Henderson and Doidge next hopefully and we've had more than a decent clear out.

18-07-2023, 09:05 AM
I agree about taking a punt on a young guy capped at youth levels though imo there were to many taken in like Tavares , kenneh , Hauge in at our club .

Ross county was a good move for kenneh as is his move to Shrewsbury as well and should help in his development though from what I've seen of him he's never impressed me tbh and I just can't see him making it at us .

Hopefully he does well there though . Tavares ,Henderson and Doidge next hopefully and we've had more than a decent clear out.

Just out of curiosity what games did you watch Kenneh play in for Hibs.

18-07-2023, 09:07 AM
His good games were well above bang average. Hibs went to town on his stats.

Heres the other mistake people make. They make an early judgement wildly overestimating his performances. Then refuse to admit they got it wrong and double down on their early opinions of him.

Do you still think he will go right to the top of the game?

18-07-2023, 09:10 AM
Heres the other mistake people make. They make an early judgement wildly overestimating his performances. Then refuse to admit they got it wrong and double down on their early opinions of him.

Do you still think he will go right to the top of the game?

I think he will play at a higher level than Hibs. And it’s not doubling down. I saw enough to think he was a great signing for us at the time. Clearly he won’t have a future at Hibs whilst LJ is still here.

18-07-2023, 09:12 AM
I think he will play at a higher level than Hibs.

I agree with a lot of your posts on here but I couldn't disagree more strongly with your stance on Kenneh :greengrin

18-07-2023, 09:14 AM
I sometimes wonder how Lee Johnson managed to make a decent fist of last season after that abomination of a summer transfer window. I wondered if he'd be made a scapegoat at one point when our form was suffering. Thank goodness for January. I mean, they weren't all bad players, there just didn't seem to be any plan around it. Lessons learned hopefully hence the DoF. We had a very decent second half of the season so hopefully that continues.

18-07-2023, 09:14 AM
I agree with a lot of your posts on here but I couldn't disagree more strongly with your stance on Kenneh :greengrin

I know. The rock I’ll die on. 😂

18-07-2023, 09:15 AM
I sometimes wonder how Lee Johnson managed to make a decent fist of last season after that abomination of a summer transfer window. I wondered if he'd be made a scapegoat at one point when our form was suffering. Thank goodness for January. I mean, they weren't all bad players, there just didn't seem to be any plan around it. Lessons learned hopefully hence the DoF.

But he had final say on all players.

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 09:15 AM

There’s very little chance he’ll be playing above our level at any time in his career imo. He’s brutal and his performances for Hibs were crap as well.

18-07-2023, 09:17 AM
There’s very little chance he’ll be playing above our level at any time in his career imo. He’s brutal and his performances for Hibs were crap as well.

See that’s just a daft post. He’s far from brutal. Opinions are great but if you post that no one will pay any attention to a decent post you make.

18-07-2023, 09:18 AM
In 2 seasons of being a hibs player come end of the season

Kenneh will have played 3/4 of that 2 years away from his parent club

100% classic example of failed signing

Move on pronto permanently

18-07-2023, 09:21 AM
But he had final say on all players.

He would have had to put an element of trust in his recruitment team. They failed, not for the first time. To be fair they made up for it in January.

18-07-2023, 09:21 AM
In 2 seasons of being a hibs player come end of the season

Kenneh will have played 3/4 of that 2 years away from his parent club

100% classic example of failed signing

Move on pronto permanently

Or a failed development plan and a poor relationship between manager and player.

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 09:24 AM
See that’s just a daft post. He’s far from brutal. Opinions are great but if you post that no one will pay any attention to a decent post you make.

What? :faf:

He is brutal. He was way out his depth here and whenever I seen him at County he was poor there as well.

Remember when you posted last season that he was going to be a mega star etc? Now that was daft.

In terms of the level Hibs are at, he’s brutal. His technical ability is desperately poor and his effort level at times at Hibs was also questionable.

18-07-2023, 09:24 AM

Where has Tavares shown a billy big baws attitude exactly and how much is his ‘ridiculously large’ wage?

He may not be the answer at Hibs but there isn’t really any need to exaggerate and make up nonsense about him.

18-07-2023, 09:25 AM
I really think the criticism of some of last year's signings is way over the top. Yes, Bojang was ludicrous and Hauge questionable at best but Kenneh and Jair were highly regarded and in demand. As for Ewan Henderson I would say the great majority on here applauded that signing. Even now, posters want us to sign the likes of Welsh and Scales with similar pedigrees. (Cue a rash of posts comparing appearances for Celtc).
The fact is we can't afford to go out and buy established players or pay their wages in these inflated times. We have to take a chance whether it's on a lower league journeyman, Boyle, a top underperforming talent, Allan, a foreign unknown, Youan, or a young guy with potential, Levitt, Rocky, Fish. Realistically if 1 in 5 is successful then that's a similar ratio, or better than home grown talent and we'll have at worst broken even.
PS, FWIW, I posted concerns about Kenneh's game knowledge from the start but he has some skills and i believe he could work out ok.

18-07-2023, 09:26 AM

It boils down to how you slice up the budget cake. The financial reality is that Hibs will rarely be able to afford a player of proven talent who is going to slot straight into the team as a first choice and consume a large slice of the cake. We are always going to be a club that tries to identify players of potential who MIGHT prove to be good value and consume less of the cake. It's inevitable that some slices of cake will end up in the bin.

18-07-2023, 09:28 AM

Kenneh would have wanted to stay too. Every chance he didn't.

Donegal Hibby
18-07-2023, 09:28 AM
So bit of a stretch to say they weren’t interested. More likely they couldn’t afford him. I’d be as well saying Ross County weren’t interested in taking Jeggo on loan.

When we had our loan signing's of Fish, CJ and Mykola our manager in interviews , papers was praising there quality and how he'd like to have them back. It could have been about money or the player didn't want to go back but there wasn't the same positive vibes coming from Malky McKay about the player you'd get when a player on loan had done well and they fancied keeping TBH .

We'd never have let Jeggo go on loan btw much to a important player for us TBH . Sorry for asking did you come up with any differences yet between JDH and Newell when you contradicted me for saying they had similar styles play yet?.

18-07-2023, 09:29 AM
It boils down to how you slice up the budget cake. The financial reality is that Hibs will rarely be able to afford a player of proven talent who is going to slot straight into the team as a first choice and consume a large slice of the cake. We are always going to be a club that tries to identify players of potential who MIGHT prove to be good value and consume less of the cake. It's inevitable that some slices of cake will end up in the bin.

You just said pretty much what I posted above, only you were more concise!

18-07-2023, 09:30 AM
Where has Tavares shown a billy big baws attitude exactly and how much is his ‘ridiculously large’ wage?

He may not be the answer at Hibs but there isn’t really any need to exaggerate and make up nonsense about him.

Exactly.

If there’s one thing I’ve never thought when see Jair (whether playing or otherwise) it’s ‘he’s got a Billy big baws attitude’.

18-07-2023, 09:31 AM
I really think the criticism of some of last year's signings is way over the top. Yes, Bojang was ludicrous and Hauge questionable at best but Kenneh and Jair were highly regarded and in demand. As for Ewan Henderson I would say the great majority on here applauded that signing. Even now, posters want us to sign the likes of Welsh and Scales with similar pedigrees. (Cue a rash of posts comparing appearances for Celtc).
The fact is we can't afford to go out and buy established players or pay their wages in these inflated times. We have to take a chance whether it's on a lower league journeyman, Boyle, a top underperforming talent, Allan, a foreign unknown, Youan, or a young guy with potential, Levitt, Rocky, Fish. Realistically if 1 in 5 is successful then that's a similar ratio, or better than home grown talent and we'll have at worst broken even.
PS, FWIW, I posted concerns about Kennedy's game knowledge from the start but he has some skills and i believe he could work out ok.

Surely you would agree 3 year deals were not clever though? Obviously that could be a deal breaker over another club to entice a player to sign, but it hamstrings the club if the gambles dont work...

18-07-2023, 09:31 AM
When we had our loan signing's of Fish, CJ and Mykola our manager in interviews , papers was praising there quality and how he'd like to have them back. It could have been about money or the player didn't want to go back but there wasn't the same positive vibes coming from Malky McKay about the player you'd get when a player on loan had done well and they fancied keeping TBH .

We'd never have let Jeggo go on loan btw much to a important player for us TBH . Sorry for asking did you come up with any differences yet between JDH and Newell when you contradicted me for saying they had similar styles play yet?.

I don’t have to as they don’t have similar styles of play. You need to go and actually watch some games

18-07-2023, 09:42 AM
Surely you would agree 3 year deals were not clever though? Obviously that could be a deal breaker over another club to entice a player to sign, but it hamstrings the club if the gambles dont work...

It’s a lose lose though

if we signed them on a 2 year deal and they done brilliant after a season we’d be in a vulnerable position and wouldn’t get anywhere near his real value.

We all rated Porteous and look what he went for.

The club would then get slaughtered….again

Dmas
18-07-2023, 09:50 AM

And if they do work your up against it renewing on a longer deal and they walk for free after 1/2 year deals, it’s a tough gig to get right

18-07-2023, 10:01 AM
Where's the roomurs, duz naebody go tae Greggs any mair :confused:

18-07-2023, 10:08 AM
Where's the roomurs, duz naebody go tae Greggs any mair :confused:

You know things are bad when even you are reduced to one sentence.

GreenPJ
18-07-2023, 10:14 AM
I think he will play at a higher level than Hibs. And it’s not doubling down. I saw enough to think he was a great signing for us at the time. Clearly he won’t have a future at Hibs whilst LJ is still here.

👍

18-07-2023, 10:24 AM
Luke Jephcott reportedly signing for St Johnstone, looks like a decent signing for them.

18-07-2023, 10:31 AM
Luke Jephcott reportedly signing for St Johnstone, looks like a decent signing for them.

A third of the goals that McKirdy scored for the same side, wonder if he will make the grade up here.