View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:01 PM
Could be a loan with option/obligation to buy at the end of it.
That would make sense. We seem to do that a lot more often now
babahibs
15-06-2023, 06:02 PM
A wee birdie tells me Henderson's had an offer from MLS
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:03 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-club-aims-to-land-jamie-mcgrath-by-july-date-as-push-continues-for-loan-duo-4184814
Moria with an update, albeit can’t see what all is being said
Subscriber article🙃. Anyone able to see what's said/if there's anything worth it in there?
15-06-2023, 06:06 PM
A wee birdie tells me Henderson's had an offer from MLS
Please be true.
15-06-2023, 06:10 PM
Please be true.
FFS you would think he was Rowan Vine the way folk talk about him.
15-06-2023, 06:12 PM
Totally agree part of a team that lost to Darvel yet hailed by Aberdeen fans as some form of God. If that's the level of player they are after that should suit us fine. My hope is they foolishly wasted a large amount of money on him.
Son seems to think they have paid about 1.3m for him
15-06-2023, 06:15 PM
Agree think he is way over criticised. Clearly still young and talented but very inconsistent.
15-06-2023, 06:15 PM
We need better mate. Technically good but no heart.
15-06-2023, 06:17 PM
Not really. Absolutely nothing against the boy. Just not good enough for Hibs. If we can get a fee for him then we'll be doing well.
15-06-2023, 06:28 PM
He's not significantly better IMO. Plays the odd decent pass now and again but is slow, has no engine, is weak and has no dig about him at all. Final pass/cross is often poor and for an attacking midfielder he offers zero goal threat. Apart from that, he's great. It would be a bonus to get him off the wage bill.
Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 06:29 PM
Chronic eh
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:30 PM
He's not significantly better IMO. Plays the odd decent pass now and again but is slow, has no engine, is weak and has no dig about him at all. Final pass/cross is often poor and for an attacking midfielder he offers zero goal threat. Apart from that, he's great. It would be a bonus to get him off the wage bill.
He's not good enough, but absolute nonsense to say he's not significantly better than Vine. He is miles better for us, still not good enough though.
Vine truly was one of, if not the worst players to ever play for us, Hendo is just an average player who won't cut it here.
He's chipped in with some goals and assists, few good games but too often goes missing, and it's more annoying given how obviously talented a footballer he is, he just can't get it going.
To compare him and Vine though is mental, not even close to the same level of crap
15-06-2023, 06:32 PM
He's not good enough, but absolute nonsense to say he's not significantly better than Vine. He is miles better for us, still not good enough though.
Vine truly was one of, if not the worst players to ever play for us, Hendo is just an average player who won't cut it here.
He's chipped in with some goals and assists, few good games but too often goes missing, and it's more annoying given how obviously talented a footballer he is, he just can't get it going.
To compare him and Vine though is mental, not even close to the same level of crap
He's not miles better than Vine. Not even close. They are obviously different players, but their overall impact on the team has been similar.
He's been poor since he signed, just like Vine.
Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 06:32 PM
To compare him and Vine though is mental, not even close to the same level of crapVine was a striker wasnt he ? Henderson is a midfielder, how can anyone compare
Torto7
15-06-2023, 06:33 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-club-aims-to-land-jamie-mcgrath-by-july-date-as-push-continues-for-loan-duo-4184814
Moria with an update, albeit can’t see what all is being said
No names just speculation about a gk and and a left back as well as wanting Fish, McGrath and Riley back. Anybody on here could've written the article.
15-06-2023, 06:36 PM
No names just speculation about a gk and and a left back as well as wanting Fish, McGrath and Riley back. Anybody on here could've written the article.
Sounds as good as the one the DR wrote about our potential line up based on nothing whatsoever and in a 343 formation where we had next to 0 protection for the back 3.
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:44 PM
Theo Walcott to hibs? Wtf
NGoloGrantie
15-06-2023, 06:47 PM
Where did you see that? Surely no
15-06-2023, 06:48 PM
Think that’s one guy at the wind up 🤣
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:48 PM
He's not miles better than Vine. Not even close. They are obviously different players, but their overall impact on the team has been similar.
Nonsense, he's miles ahead of Vine. Vine was a striker that didn't score or anything, Hendo is a midfielder with a few goals and good games. Vine didn't have a single decent game for us, hendo has had a decent amount, just no consistency.
15-06-2023, 06:49 PM
What does Harry Kane think?🤔
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:49 PM
Where did you see that? Surely no
Folk tweeting, can't see it myself but one of the more random rumours lol
Stokesy's on fire
15-06-2023, 06:50 PM
Please be true that will be a great waste of the wee sheeps resources and a complete waste of money
NGoloGrantie
15-06-2023, 06:51 PM
Folk tweeting, can't see it myself but one of the more random rumours lol
That’s up there with the bas dost rumour a few years back [emoji1787]
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 06:52 PM
That’s up there with the bas dost rumour a few years back [emoji1787]
Aye its a belter tbf 😂.
15-06-2023, 06:53 PM
Arfield heading to MLS
This seems more likely: https://twitter.com/SteveBrown_sb/status/1669396039541850113?t=bPWohB59aq-iVwCxn3rbOg&s=19
15-06-2023, 06:59 PM
Nonsense, he's miles ahead of Vine. Vine was a striker that didn't score or anything, Hendo is a midfielder with a few goals and good games. Vine didn't have a single decent game for us, hendo has had a decent amount, just no consistency.
You're definition of "miles better" is different to mine then. That would suggest an absolute chasm in terms of their contribution to the club, one being outstanding and the other poor.
I don't think Henderson has got close to even being a good signing for us, let alone anymore than that. By most people's opinion he's been poor and needs moved on.
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 07:04 PM
You're definition of "miles better" is different to mine then. That would suggest an absolute chasm in terms of their contribution to the club, one being outstanding and the other poor.
I don't think Henderson has got close to even being a good signing for us, let alone anymore than that. By most people's opinion he's been poor and needs moved on.
Hendo has been an average to poor player for us. Vine was one of if not the single worst player we've had. That to me is a big difference. Being miles better than Vine doesn't say much though.
15-06-2023, 07:07 PM
Hendo has been an average to poor player for us. Vine was one of if not the single worst player we've had. That to me is a big difference. Being miles better than Vine doesn't say much though.
Vine is not even close to being literally the worst player we've ever had. You've not watched Hibs for long if you actually think that.
15-06-2023, 07:09 PM
Arfield heading to MLS
That's a shame. Quality player I'd have loved to see at ER next season (could have put aside him being a hun for a year)
15-06-2023, 07:12 PM
Henderson sums up the Maloney era for me. All fart and nae jobbie. Talented enough lad but powderpuff. I can't think of a single game he's impacted. Maybe Bonnyrigg away.
15-06-2023, 07:13 PM
Vine is not even close to being literally the worst player we've ever had. You've not watched Hibs for long if you actually think that.
Of the hundreds of players to play for Hibs, he is one of the very worst, no doubt about that. He was absolutely dreadful for us. Nothing to do with watching Hibs for long.
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 07:18 PM
Only in my twenties so not as long as some, but my dad is nearing 60 and thinks he's the worst he's ever seen, as does his older cousins we went to games with. He's absolutely one of the worst we've ever had.
15-06-2023, 07:18 PM
Of the hundreds of players to play for Hibs, he is one of the very worst, no doubt about that. He was absolutely dreadful for us. Nothing to do with watching Hibs for long.
Thanks for proving my point.
15-06-2023, 07:19 PM
Theo Walcott to hibs? WtfJersey Joe Walcott seems more likely.
Matty Jack role....
15-06-2023, 07:20 PM
Henderson sums up the Maloney era for me. All fart and nae jobbie. Talented enough lad but powderpuff. I can't think of a single game he's impacted. Maybe Bonnyrigg away.
He had a few decent games around February (?) when our form had picked up a bit.
Another player who is hopelessly inconsistent though and his worst performances can be reasonably talked about alongside some of our worst ever players.
Occasionally shows something though. I'm not a huge fan but even I find some of the more extreme criticism here to be harsh.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 07:21 PM
Not really. Absolutely nothing against the boy. Just not good enough for Hibs. If we can get a fee for him then we'll be doing well.
Totally agree. Haven't anything against Henderson either though the facts are he simply isn't good enough for Hibs and for his own career he would be better moving as I think next season is game time going to be very limited at Hibs .
15-06-2023, 07:25 PM
Thanks for proving my point.
I didn't, I disagreed with it. He is certainly up there as one of the worst to play for Hibernian.
I'm sure you'll have no problem listing 50 worse ones if he isn't even close.
15-06-2023, 07:28 PM
Rowen vine was pele compared to mickirdy. Great beard
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 07:28 PM
Article I can't get in the Scotsman that Hibs want McGrath in before trip to Spain and push continues for loan duo . Anyone read it ?
15-06-2023, 07:33 PM
So who, is going to be the rabbit out of the hat, big signing this summer, perhaps the trip to Spain may produce a surprise.
15-06-2023, 07:33 PM
Article I can't get in the Scotsman that Hibs want McGrath in before trip to Spain and push continues for loan duo . Anyone read it ?
When do they go to Spain?
Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 07:36 PM
Rowen vine was pele compared to mickirdy. Great beardAye of course he was 🤣
15-06-2023, 08:36 PM
Only in my twenties so not as long as some, but my dad is nearing 60 and thinks he's the worst he's ever seen, as does his older cousins we went to games with. He's absolutely one of the worst we've ever had.Given his age would have thought your old man would have seen Stuart Turnbull, to be worse than him would take some beating.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 08:42 PM
When do they go to Spain?
Last bit in article I can't get says the beginning of July. This article I can get says we go to Spain on the 6th and back on the 14th .
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/hibs-pre-season-plans-take-27105476
badabing67
15-06-2023, 08:43 PM
Agreed. Henderson does have talent. We just don’t see enough of it enough of the time. People talk about him being weak and lightweight but he has a bit of dig about him. I hope he stays - if we can get more out of him and consistently. Plenty potential.
He has been here 18 months and we are still talking about potential and not progress. I don't think he has "kicked on" or progressed any since he arrived, he is more or less the same player that came in the door. As far as I'm concerned he's messed up to many really good opportunities to score, he hardly ever goes in to or comes out of a challenge with the ball and has a tenancy just to drift in and out of a game. If he had shown more in the 18 months he's been here he'd be a starter... but he isn't and tbh I don't see him as as starter moving forward. And when he comes on from the bench I just don't see him as a game changer I just see him blocking the younger guys. I would like to see him moved on. I think it would be best for both parties.
15-06-2023, 08:49 PM
I did say near the end of the season that I was looking forward to this summer transfer window and Fish is permanent deal then that would be amazing piece of business for Hibs.
Some good names being linked today though even if a few could be fake.
15-06-2023, 08:51 PM
So who, is going to be the rabbit out of the hat, big signing this summer, perhaps the trip to Spain may produce a surprise.
Wonder if Theo Walcott has an in date passport?
15-06-2023, 08:54 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/hibs-keen-move-jamie-mcgrath-27127486
Mentions close to Fish on a permanent
15-06-2023, 09:00 PM
Would be an excellent investment. Fish has a bright future in the game and with regular first team football will go from strength to strength, hopefully bringing in a big fee in future after a few years of consistent performances.
15-06-2023, 09:04 PM
Would be an excellent investment. Fish has a bright future in the game and with regular first team football will go from strength to strength, hopefully bringing in a big fee in future after a few years of consistent performances.
Likewise, I’d be delighted if we pulled it off.
He’s got everything for a centre half and I think we’d earn a fair bit off him too
15-06-2023, 09:04 PM
Clearly Fish enjoyed it here if he's willing to move permanently.
15-06-2023, 09:09 PM
Clearly Fish enjoyed it here if he's willing to move permanently.
Had a whale of a time apparently.....
15-06-2023, 09:25 PM
What nonsense. Vine contributed nothing for us. Henderson has created and scored for us. More than a few times. Your assessment is Trumpesque.
15-06-2023, 09:30 PM
Given his age would have thought your old man would have seen Stuart Turnbull, to be worse than him would take some beating.
Stuart Turnbull wasn’t one of the best but I don’t think he was even the worst player from that era. Rowan Vine was rank for us. Despite looking good against us the previous season.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Youan signed permanently.
McGrath in.
Fish permanently.
Wouldn't be a bad start at all by us :greengrin
15-06-2023, 09:32 PM
Youan signed permanently.
McGrath in.
Fish permanently.
Wouldn't be a bad start at all by us :greengrin
That and getting quite a few out the door early on and you’re right, verg good start!
The then let’s hope/pray we can keep Boyle and Magennis fit 🤣
I still have a bad feeling if it’s perm then Aberdeen will step in and offer more.
15-06-2023, 09:38 PM
Although I like fish and he has improved he is still only 20.
Saw on sky today highlights of United v hibs at Easter and fletcher totally played him.
Still a lot to learn.
Hope we get him but by no means the finished article.
No fish puns here they’ve been battered enough!
15-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Saw on sky today highlights of United v hibs at Easter and fletcher totally played him.
Still a lot to learn.
Still young like you say and it was Fletcher! He’s done that to far better players than Fish!
EEN saying we are weighing up move for Adam Le Fondre
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1669459878698532864?s=46&t=KQxCdT4HU58YyVv_hqKvFA
Looks like we are very active in the market in and out if you believe the media rumours.
15-06-2023, 09:42 PM
Still a lot to learn.
He’s learning every minute with Hanlon. Great move for him and us. If he develops he will go onto much bigger things.
15-06-2023, 09:42 PM
No way is it happening
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-consider-move-for-striker-after-a-league-stint-as-search-for-nisbet-replacement-ramps-up-4184617
JamesHFC
15-06-2023, 09:47 PM
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1669459878698532864?s=46&t=KQxCdT4HU58YyVv_hqKvFA
Looks like we are very active in the market in and out if you believe the media rumours.
I genuinely thought this was a joke and that he retired years ago 🤣🤣 imagine if it finally happens 😭
15-06-2023, 09:49 PM
Jeez
15-06-2023, 09:50 PM
How do people feel about ALF signing?
36 years old but still managed 12 goals in 21 games last season in the A League.
Probably a handy option to have off the bench as he has the ability to score, wouldn’t want him as a starter.
But the overall quality of the squad needs improved and especially options off the bench.
15-06-2023, 09:52 PM
Maybe paranoid but Pat is normally spot on and he mentioned McGrath but not fish?
15-06-2023, 09:52 PM
No way is it happening
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-consider-move-for-striker-after-a-league-stint-as-search-for-nisbet-replacement-ramps-up-4184617
I don’t mind it. We need 2 strikers. He’s a good option. Like Holt.
15-06-2023, 09:53 PM
36 years old but still managed 12 goals in 21 games last season in the A League.
Probably a handy option to have off the bench as he has the ability to score, wouldn’t want him as a starter.
But the overall quality of the squad needs improved and especially options off the bench.
Fine, is long as it's not our only striker signing.
JamesHFC
15-06-2023, 09:55 PM
If he was to sign I'd be doubtful Mykola returns, unless he is chosen as the Nisbet replacement.
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 09:58 PM
Maybe paranoid but Pat is normally spot on and he mentioned McGrath but not fish?
He gets his info straight from the club a lot of the time so it could be he's been told not to say anything as it's closing stages of the deal etc. There's been a few times I've noticed we've been rumoured to sign someone and hes not said anything then it's been announced by the club.
15-06-2023, 10:00 PM
Le Fondre as a back up and to help Josh O’Connor etc then fine, shouldn’t be our main striker and Nisbet replacement.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 10:01 PM
Not against the idea of signing him even at 36 though if he was signed as Nisbet's replacement I'd be disappointed tbh. If we signed him and another striker as Nisbet's replacement would that mean we are moving a striker on possibly?.
JamesHFC
15-06-2023, 10:04 PM
Not against the idea of signing him even at 36 though if he was signed as Nisbet's replacement I'd be disappointed tbh. If we signed him and another striker as Nisbet's replacement would that mean we are moving a striker on possibly?.
We have lost Nisbet & Mykola. I expect Doidge will move on also.
15-06-2023, 10:07 PM
Strange the number of comments saying he is too old and maybe we should have gone for him 8 years ago but some are desperate for Steven Fletcher to come back.
15-06-2023, 10:08 PM
It’s actually happening.
ElginHibbie
15-06-2023, 10:09 PM
Fish be a great signing, improved a lot and still only 20. Getting Youan and him is the sort of business we should be doing rather than Bojangs of the world
Le Fondre I'd take but as others as have said not as Nisbet replacement, we'd still need to get a new main striker in
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 10:10 PM
Strange the number of comments saying he is too old and maybe we should have gone for him 8 years ago but some are desperate for Steven Fletcher to come back.
I'm fine with him as a squad option but different players. Fletch is a target man who has never really needed pace and target men tend to last longer than others. Le Fondre is about 5'9 and use to be quite quick. I imagine he's still a good poacher but would say it's fair to be sceptical of an older striker that isn't a big target man.
aberhibsfc
15-06-2023, 10:16 PM
Hibs chased him a couple of time years ago when he was a hot young talent. Couldn't compete with the lure of wealthier English clubs. Have no idea what his performance has been like since then. I didn't realise Lennon was taking an interest in him.
He reported yesterday that we are on the cusp of doing a deal for Fish.
JamesHFC
15-06-2023, 10:21 PM
Hibs chased him a couple of time years ago when he was a hot young talent. Couldn't compete with the lure of wealthier English clubs. Have no idea what his performance has been like since then. I didn't realise Lennon was taking an interest in him.
Lennon managed him at Bolton.
aberhibsfc
15-06-2023, 10:21 PM
Le Fondre as a back up and to help Josh O’Connor etc then fine, shouldn’t be our main striker and Nisbet replacement.
I thought O'Connor was going out on loan. But I'd rather he got some game time with us atm.
CentreForward
15-06-2023, 10:31 PM
Really not sure about ALF. Can’t imagine he will come cheap and do we really want to spend all those wages on a guy who might only just be coming off the bench. Looks like he certainly knows where the goals are but can he still produce it at the age of 36? If it’s presumably only for a year or two then it does sound awfully like the McGeady deal and we all know how that worked out. Just watched a video where he was banging them in for Sydney recently, but the standard wasn’t too great.
15-06-2023, 10:38 PM
Really not sure about ALF. Can’t imagine he will come cheap and do we really want to spend all those wages on a guy who might only just be coming off the bench. Looks like he certainly knows where the goals are but can he still produce it at the age of 36? If it’s presumably only for a year or two then it does sound awfully like the McGeady deal and we all know how that worked out. Just watched a video where he was banging them in for Sydney recently, but the standard wasn’t too great.
I’m not overly convinced about signing Le Fondre. But big difference with McGeady when he arrived was that he’d been out injured for six and a bit months. Le Fondre has been playing and scoring as recently as the last couple of weeks whereas McGeady arrived with a bit of a broken body and managed to break it even more.
Keepthefaith
15-06-2023, 10:41 PM
I guess it depends if he's a striker who is spacially aware/ can make intelligent runs? Age/ speed aren't always important, especially if we have youth/ pace elsewhere in the side
I'm open minded and will trust our DoF judgement 👍
CentreForward
15-06-2023, 10:42 PM
I’m not overly convinced about signing Le Fondre. But big difference with McGeady when he arrived was that he’d been out injured for six and a bit months. Le Fondre has been playing and scoring as recently as the last couple of weeks whereas McGeady arrived with a bit of a broken body and managed to break it even more.
Thanks B.H and yes I was thinking that about McGeady. Suppose was maybe just thinking that given his age ALF might be more prone to injury, though agree nothing in his current record to suggest that. If he does sign for us then fingers crossed that LJ can get the best out of him. Certainly wouldn’t want to see him as main replacement for Nisbet so hopefully someone else lined up as well.
15-06-2023, 10:46 PM
Feels like it’s happening ten years too late.
Happy enough if he’s to be an option from the bench but can’t come in as a starter
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 10:57 PM
How would folk feel with Mykola and Le fondre as our two striker signings ?
cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 11:06 PM
Would like to keep Hoff around as well if that's the case. 3 decent options. Myk to start, Melk and Alf as the backups depending on if we need a goalscorer or some pace.
15-06-2023, 11:17 PM
I guess it depends if he's a striker who is spacially aware/ can make intelligent runs? Age/ speed aren't always important, especially if we have youth/ pace elsewhere in the side
I'm open minded and will trust our DoF judgement ��
Alfie, as he gets called, will be a good signing.
We have went down the road of recruiting ‘promising young players’ before, only to lose focus on the ‘here and now’.
Alfie is ‘instant coffee’ and knows the route to goal better than anyone else at Easter Road.
Yes, he’s 36, and probably Lewis will be his ‘roomie’ but he will score goals.
He scores with his left foot, his right foot and with his head..despite being under 6 foot.
He’s a nippy wee bugger, and certainly has a good history, not only in Oz, but in the EPL too.
To me, he is an excellent short/mid term signing until the likes of Josh O’Connor gets weekly experience of playing against seasoned pros at Airdrie, and is ready to come back and stake his claim at Hibs.
His goal tally will, barring unforeseen injury, I would expect to be in double figures.
15-06-2023, 11:18 PM
Reckon it would be a bit risky.
No guarantee myko stays fit all season, same with ALF given his age tbh
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 11:19 PM
Would like to keep Hoff around as well if that's the case. 3 decent options. Myk to start, Melk and Alf as the backups depending on if we need a goalscorer or some pace.
I'd go along with you on this in fairness . Mykola would start and I also think melkersen could learn a lot of Alf as well tbh . As you say 3 decent options imo as well .
PHeffernan
15-06-2023, 11:21 PM
Le Fondre will be 37 before the end of the year and has been playing in a pub league for 5 years.
I trust the DOF is brighter than living in his distant past.
He should probably give his heid a wobble if he is thinking about this as a viable option.
Top Tip - don't be signing any outfield player over 34. You will only cry when they get injured.
JammyDoidger
15-06-2023, 11:22 PM
File under Chris Dagnall for me, 10 years too late. We need a proper quality striker in the door, for me it would be a main man, myko and Melkersen pushing.
ErinGoBraghHFC
15-06-2023, 11:47 PM
File under Chris Dagnall for me, 10 years too late. We need a proper quality striker in the door, for me it would be a main man, myko and Melkersen pushing.
Chris Dagnall was 30 when he signed for Hibs
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 11:54 PM
Le Fondre will be 37 before the end of the year and has been playing in a pub league for 5 years.
He should probably give his heid a wobble if he is thinking about this as a viable option.
Top Tip - don't be signing any outfield player over 34. You will only cry when they get injured.
What pub league has he been in for 5 years? . I also trust our DOF , Manager , medical team and every one at Hibs to make the right decision if we are interested in Le fondre . Your TOP TIP btw of not signing outfield player's over 34 isn't something I agree with as I could give you a few I wouldn't mind signing tbh .
16-06-2023, 12:27 AM
A lot of English fans refer to the SPL as a pub league….
However, I have always felt most of them fell into the trap of stereotypical ignorance
JammyDoidger
16-06-2023, 12:29 AM
Chris Dagnall was 30 when he signed for Hibs
Dagnall signed from some diddy Indian side after scoring goals down south, similar paths albeit dagnall sacked it off a bit earlier than ALF, 36 year old that's basically been on holiday for the last few years doesn't cut it for me like, had far too many managers underestimating Scottish football.
You don't go play in Australia and India at the end of your career then sign for Hibs, we aren't an old folks home.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-06-2023, 12:35 AM
Dagnall signed from some diddy Indian side after scoring goals down south, similar paths albeit dagnall sacked it off a bit earlier than ALF, 36 year old that's basically been on holiday for the last few years doesn't cut it for me like, had far too many managers underestimating Scottish football.
You don't go play in Australia and India at the end of your career then sign for Hibs, we aren't an old folks home.
Well we’ve tried being a crèche and it’s not worked out so maybe it’s time to sign some pensioners
Donegal Hibby
16-06-2023, 12:41 AM
However, I have always felt most of them fell into the trap of stereotypical ignorance
Well said mate 👍
JammyDoidger
16-06-2023, 12:47 AM
Would remind me of the signing of your namesake. Past it.
JammyDoidger
16-06-2023, 12:55 AM
16-06-2023, 12:58 AM
Points of view will differ, that’s fitba, and it’s no big deal …but on these pages definitely, there is a tendency to write players off before or without having actually seen the player in action.
Donegal Hibby
16-06-2023, 01:00 AM
Knows how to score goals .
https://youtu.be/ZIQrjgPTupo
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-06-2023, 01:00 AM
Knows how to score goals .
https://youtu.be/ZIQrjgPTupo
To be fair so do I, doesn’t mean I’m very good at it though [emoji16]
16-06-2023, 01:19 AM
Dagnall signed from the Indian league…..Le Fondre isn’t.
JammyDoidger
16-06-2023, 01:39 AM
I stand corrected he was on loan to the Indian league a couple year back.
16-06-2023, 02:09 AM
I stand corrected he was on loan to the Indian league a couple year back.
Yes, you are not the first to be confused by glancing at the source of knowledge called Wikipedia…can only assume they list any loans last.
He received an offer a couple of years back while with Sydney that was considered ‘life changing’ and Sydney agreed to let him go on loan for their short season as much as a show of good faith as anything,….unlike Jason who is signing up with his club on a ‘permanent’ basis to earn his retirement fund.
cameronw-hfc
16-06-2023, 04:07 AM
Dagnall was also nowhere near as bad as he seems to be remembered. He was probably the most unlucky player I've ever seen at Hibs. Seemed to have about 5 shots cleared off the line/hit the post etc. Always thought he worked his backside off and his link up was pretty decent when he got gametime.
Repeating yourself is a symptom of being too old and past it.
Tully
16-06-2023, 04:50 AM
Age means nothing remember Craig Brewster what age was he when at Hibs
JammyDoidger
16-06-2023, 05:15 AM
Hopefully if he comes in he scores goals at the same rate he has been, just think coming to a better league than your in at his age is a strange move but time will tell.
16-06-2023, 05:30 AM
What I find quite amusing is that some decrying Alfie because of his age..without seeing him play…..may well be some of the same people advocating recently for LJ to play youngsters…..their war cry was ‘If they are good enough they are old enough’……..
Well doesn’t that sentiment apply at the other end of the scale too….ie..if you are good enough, it doesn’t matter how old you are?
16-06-2023, 06:09 AM
I don’t imagine he’ll be coming in to start every week so could be worth a punt for a season as an option off the bench or if we want to play two strikers every so often.
16-06-2023, 06:13 AM
I don’t imagine he’ll be coming in to start every week so could be worth a punt for a season as an option off the bench or if we want to play two strikers every so often.
Kind of where I am. Proven quality finisher. Good option to have however we need another quality striker also. He will be good for young strikers to learn off.
16-06-2023, 06:14 AM
What I find quite amusing is that some decrying Alfie because of his age..without seeing him play…..may well be some of the same people advocating recently for LJ to play youngsters…..their war cry was ‘If they are good enough they are old enough’……..
Well doesn’t that sentiment apply at the other end of the scale too….ie..if you are good enough, it doesn’t matter how old you are?
Agree with that.
Paulie Walnuts
16-06-2023, 06:25 AM
Not comfortable at all.
One is 36 and one missed a barrel load of games last season.
Happy enough for either to sign, I would want neither of them to be our first choice striker though.
16-06-2023, 06:31 AM
Not comfortable at all.
One is 36 and one missed a barrel load of games last season.
Happy enough for either to sign, I would want neither of them to be our first choice striker though.
Even though we still have Youan and Boyle, plus Melks and McKirdy as back up.
16-06-2023, 06:41 AM
With Melkersen, Youan and Boyle buzzing around, McKirdy to kick on, O’Connor to come and Doidge to re discover some pre injury form I think we’d be set.
16-06-2023, 06:42 AM
Dagnall was also nowhere near as bad as he seems to be remembered. He was probably the most unlucky player I've ever seen at Hibs. Seemed to have about 5 shots cleared off the line/hit the post etc. Always thought he worked his backside off and his link up was pretty decent when he got gametime.
Scottish cup winning legend Chris Dagnall.
Autocorrect put that as dang all which is a bit funny.
16-06-2023, 06:43 AM
I’m guessing the Theo Walcott stuff flying around Twitter is a lot of *****?
16-06-2023, 06:44 AM
Brewster and Holt are two forwards that came in and did well in their 30's. With McGeady leaving we don't have much experience up there. I'm open to it.
16-06-2023, 06:44 AM
With Melkersen, Youan and Boyle buzzing around, McKirdy to kick on, O’Connor to come and Doidge to re discover some pre injury form I think we’d be set.
Don't think they will all be there next season. O'Connor is away on loan to Airdrie already.
Paulie Walnuts
16-06-2023, 06:45 AM
Youan and Boyle I’d really look at as wingers rather than strikers. Melkersen and McKirdy are miles short of the quality required imo. O’Connor is away out on loan next season.
I would be wanting us to sign a proper striker at a decent age, one whose history would suggest we can rely on them to play most weeks. At 36 I’d be wary of hoping that could be ALF and Myko’s previous spell at us would suggest he’s not that guy either.
The thought of going into games with McKirdy or Melkersen up top is really not great at all.
16-06-2023, 06:58 AM
Youan and Boyle I’d really look at as wingers rather than strikers. Melkersen and McKirdy are miles short of the quality required imo. O’Connor is away out on loan next season.
I would be wanting us to sign a proper striker at a decent age, one whose history would suggest we can rely on them to play most weeks. At 36 I’d be wary of hoping that could be ALF and Myko’s previous spell at us would suggest he’s not that guy either.
The thought of going into games with McKirdy or Melkersen up top is really not great at all.
Pretty fair point. Myko barely played since Xmas. Assume Melkersen and Harry will be away. If bringing Myko need someone else of decent quality imo.
16-06-2023, 07:04 AM
The names Jamie McGrath and Adam Le Fondre are giving me the fear for where we want to be for a third place finish next season
Hopefully our new DOF is busily working away behind the scenes and is still to play his hand
16-06-2023, 07:09 AM
The names Jamie McGrath and Adam Le Fondre are giving me the fear for where we want to be for a third place finish next season
Hopefully our new DOF is busily working away behind the scenes and is still to play his hand
Everything is going to be wonderful.
16-06-2023, 07:10 AM
If Le Fondre is happening then it’ll be one of the DOFs hands.
Le Fondre being quoted out the blue like this worries me this is his hand
16-06-2023, 07:22 AM
I feel like we've struggled to win games despite good possession and getting in to the final third a lot. While we might not lack ability in the final third, we are a bit naive. Le Fondre might be the clever goalscorer we need, and would be looking for Melkersen to become.
16-06-2023, 07:23 AM
I couldn't sleep last night with the stress of it all.
big gogs
16-06-2023, 07:26 AM
Le Fondre being quoted out the blue like this worries me this is his hand
This is yet another newspaper report,nothing has come from the club.if the media told me this was Friday ,I would check the calendar.when a player has his photo taken wearing a hibs jersey,holding a hibs scarf above his head ,and singing sunshine on leith ,then I would take it seriously.
16-06-2023, 07:27 AM
I couldn't sleep last night with the stress of it all.
Yip was expecting the new younger version of Kyogo
Ah well !
16-06-2023, 07:31 AM
I can't see there being any truth in this Le Fondre stuff. The A League is dreadful IMO but there are definitely good young players starting their career who are worth signing. Not a 36 year old.
Also Craig Brewster was bang average for Hibs. He's not a great example of an older player coming in and being a big success.
Up-the-slope
16-06-2023, 07:40 AM
Christian Doidge - Will he come back and play? or another loan or sold?
The pre injury level Doidge would be fantastic - can't forget his team mates reaction when he scored after drought of missed chances and then went on that great run
16-06-2023, 07:49 AM
I really liked Grant Holt and was disappointed we never kept him on another year
16-06-2023, 07:53 AM
What worries me every pre-season is players looking better than what they are, it happened last year with a few and when they played against top flight Scottish teams they were no where to be seen.
Tavares and miller being prime examples. Miller took a year to settle and injuries didn’t help
I hope LJ doesn’t fall into the trap of seeing a couple of players, who are tried and tested in not working giving them an opportunity thinking they’ve turned the corner and then fail on match day 1.
We need to be flying out the blocks and not chasing again for the majority of the season.
16-06-2023, 07:57 AM
Sometimes we sign older guys that just fit our style of play. Holt was exactly what we needed for the championship.
You could see how frustrated Nisbet would get trying to link with Youan at times. Maybe we just need somebody in that 6 yard box to convert after Youan and Boyle do the hard work...
Every player we sign is given fair chance. Let's see
SickBoy32
16-06-2023, 07:59 AM
Haha Melkerson and McKirdy #goals
We need better than both of those guys if we're looking to improve on 5th place
Probably worth noting that Holt played in a better Hibs team, in a lower league too - not convinced Le Fondre will be a good signing for us given his career trajectory of recent years.
If we're looking for an experienced front man - Fletcher is a no brainer (should've got him last summer really)
Sproule Three
16-06-2023, 08:00 AM
This is yet another newspaper report,nothing has come from the club.if the media told me this was Friday ,I would check the calendar.when a player has his photo taken wearing a hibs jersey,holding a hibs scarf above his head ,and singing sunshine on leith ,then I would take it seriously.
It’s not out the blue . I’m based in Sydney .Initially sceptical but not when I found out the source Heard it last week - now it’s reached the news there suspect theres something in it
16-06-2023, 08:01 AM
Age means nothing? That’s a new one!
It’s consistently mentioned whenever a player signs for any club, anywhere. Managers regularly talk about having a balance of older heads and younger players.
It’s one of the first things that anyone talks about when discussing a potential signing or when talking a player’s injury, confidence etc.
”He’s only 20, give him a break”, “at 34 he’ll help develop the youngsters”, for example.
So, far from age meaning nothing, it’s one of the most important things to consider when building a squad.
16-06-2023, 08:03 AM
Age means nothing? That’s a new one!
It’s consistently mentioned whenever a player signs for any club, anywhere. Managers regularly talk about having a balance of older heads and younger players.
It’s one of the first things that anyone talks about when discussing a potential signing or when talking a player’s injury, confidence etc.
”He’s only 20, give him a break”, “at 34 he’ll help develop the youngsters”, for example.
So, far from age meaning nothing, it’s one of the most important things to consider when building a squad.
Experience and emotional maturity go along with that (in most cases) when we’re signing an older player.
16-06-2023, 08:07 AM
Christian Doidge - Will he come back and play? or another loan or sold?
The pre injury level Doidge would be fantastic - can't forget his team mates reaction when he scored after drought of missed chances and then went on that great run
I could see him going to Dundee. They are short of players and the new manager has just worked with Doidge at Killie.
He'll go to a bottom 6 team for sure.
16-06-2023, 08:18 AM
Haha Melkerson and McKirdy #goals
We need better than both of those guys if we're looking to improve on 5th place
Probably worth noting that Holt played in a better Hibs team, in a lower league too - not convinced Le Fondre will be a good signing for us given his career trajectory of recent years.
If we're looking for an experienced front man - Fletcher is a no brainer (should've got him last summer really)
Those were my back up options from the bench to be fair. I’d say we’d have goals in a front three of ALF Youan and Boyle. The space alone from having the latter two on either wings will be interesting as at times, both players have been doubled up on from teams we have played against. They can’t double up on both of them at the same time.
Leaves a lot of space for a clever forward to take advantage of and an attacking midfielder.
16-06-2023, 08:23 AM
ALF was a terrific goalscorer, and when he was younger was way out of our league. He's fit and still knocking the goals in, a years contract is fine by me.
Is he any less mobile than Shankland? Players these days if they are any good will leave for more money, a punt on someone like him, who's still scoring, still fit and known to the management should be good.
And he will not be the only player we sign, short term signings to help us get to where we want can work.
Percy Vere
16-06-2023, 08:23 AM
I don’t see Youan as a winger
I’d rather see him through the middle or just behind striker/s
He gets a little list at times on the wing
I like him more direct
He causes defenders more problems.
I don’t see Youan as a winger
I’d rather see him through the middle or just behind striker/s
He gets a little list at times on the wing
I like him more direct
He causes defenders more problems.
Played properly as a front 3 Youan and Boyle play as attacking forwards, either out wide or cutting in.
16-06-2023, 08:38 AM
Signing at 1000 this morning
16-06-2023, 08:40 AM
Signing at 1000 this morning
New strip
Maybe Will Fish will be wearing it
16-06-2023, 08:42 AM
New strip
Yeah now I look at the photo it may well be just that
Lendo
16-06-2023, 08:51 AM
New strip
Maybe Will Fish will be wearing it
That would be supper good news
16-06-2023, 08:53 AM
I agree, they're nowhere near the level required to improve us. We've already got plenty squad fillers. We need players to come in and improve us between the sticks, at left back, central midfield and up top.
SickBoy32
16-06-2023, 08:53 AM
Those were my back up options from the bench to be fair. I’d say we’d have goals in a front three of ALF Youan and Boyle. The space alone from having the latter two on either wings will be interesting as at times, both players have been doubled up on from teams we have played against. They can’t double up on both of them at the same time.
Leaves a lot of space for a clever forward to take advantage of and an attacking midfielder.
Yeah I'd totally agree with you that both our wide players will cause teams a lot of bother next year - an exciting prospect
Just think with the departure of a quality centre forward, the club should really be pushing the boat out to bring in the best possible replacement - I just don't think ALF is that man personally
Welcome to the 2 new signings.
https://i.ibb.co/G9xYHcs/Screenshot-20230616-101029-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/xYC9FJm)
https://i.ibb.co/9bXHQQF/Screenshot-20230616-101124-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/wSHh559)
16-06-2023, 09:18 AM
https://i.ibb.co/G9xYHcs/Screenshot-20230616-101029-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/xYC9FJm)
https://i.ibb.co/9bXHQQF/Screenshot-20230616-101124-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/wSHh559)
Still a better forward line than James Collins and Rowan Vine.
16-06-2023, 09:25 AM
Is be absolutely delighted if we kept Myko though. He is quality. Injuries a slight worry but he is a top player.
16-06-2023, 09:28 AM
Is be absolutely delighted if we kept Myko though. He is quality. Injuries a slight worry but he is a top player.
Yes. He's clearly a very good player. His goals return is good considering the stop start nature of his game time. Not only that but he's a big physical presence, quick too. Could go on to be a top player. Got all the attributes.
16-06-2023, 09:29 AM
100% agree with this
Fwiw I always thought of Nisbet as an excellent 10 (not a natural 9)
With Youan and Boyle on either flank, it will stretch any defence that plays 4 at the back, and should see a lot of teams play 5 at the back, and what we'll need is a Jamie Maclaren type rather than a Nisbet style forward. I think Kukharevych has that natural no9 instinct, plus a bit more physicality about him too.
16-06-2023, 09:30 AM
I’m guessing the Theo Walcott stuff flying around Twitter is a lot of *****?
You're not guessing.
16-06-2023, 09:32 AM
[QUOTE=Tyler Durden;7373176]I can't see there being any truth in this Le Fondre stuff. The A League is dreadful IMO but there are definitely good young players starting their career who are worth signing. Not a 36 year old.
Also Craig Brewster was bang average for Hibs. He's not a great example of an older player coming in and being a big success.[/…
I respectfully suggest your opening sentence suggests a lack of vision then.
LeithMike
16-06-2023, 09:41 AM
Who said age doesn’t matter?
andrew70
16-06-2023, 10:17 AM
[QUOTE=Tyler Durden;7373176]I can't see there being any truth in this Le Fondre stuff. The A League is dreadful IMO but there are definitely good young players starting their career who are worth signing. Not a 36 year old.
Also Craig Brewster was bang average for Hibs. He's not a great example of an older player coming in and being a big success.[/…
Yeah the A League has improved immeasurably in last few years. ALF has used his ability and his nous to be one of the top forwards in the A League.
16-06-2023, 10:26 AM
From what I've seen of the A League it's a level below the Scottish Premier. Difficult to say how far below but there's definitely a gap between the leagues IMO.
16-06-2023, 10:45 AM
I can't see there being any truth in this Le Fondre stuff. The A League is dreadful IMO but there are definitely good young players starting their career who are worth signing. Not a 36 year old.
Also Craig Brewster was bang average for Hibs. He's not a great example of an older player coming in and being a big success.
Brewster was very good for us. Think we went without a win for 18 league games that season, and he missed 13 of them, IIRC. We were much better as soon as he came back.
O’Connor started banging them in playing alongside him, though McManus and Luna also scored when paired with him, as far as I can remember.
16-06-2023, 10:54 AM
A different level, but I remember playing for a junior team in the top possible league for the set up and we signed a 35 year old striker similar to ALF in build in etc who had played league 2 and lowland league for years.
Quite a few thought he would be past it.
It took about 2 minutes of a training session to see he was the best player and had an abundance of quality.
Not as mobile as he once was, but still really fit and his quality in games was second to none. Also had the quality and experience of when to drop deep, when to drift wide and just how to hold on to the ball. He was also clinical and finished our top goal scorer for the next 2 seasons in a row.
I think for younger players, having that guy up top to take the ball when things aren’t going well really helped.
I’m not saying ALF will be the same, but it looks like he keeps himself fit and some of his finishes are pure quality.
Let’s not write him off just yet.
100% Freddie! :thumbsup:
16-06-2023, 11:01 AM
Brewster was very good for us. Think we went without a win for 18 league games that season, and he missed 13 of them, IIRC. We were much better as soon as he came back.
O’Connor started banging them in playing alongside him, though McManus and Luna also scored when paired with him, as far as I can remember.
My memory is he came back from Greece a much improved player from the Dundee United version hold up play and positional awareness were excellent loads of experience and chipped in with goals and assists while helping to bring along the younger players
Went on to join Dunfermline Athletic who offered him a better deal and he did well for them bringing on a young Stevie Crawford
Signed for Dundee United at 39 in a transfer costing 340k
Exactly this. He's a proven scorer and bringing him on in final 30 is a great equaliser against tired legs. Better Alf than Mikey Devlin!!
16-06-2023, 11:04 AM
Imagine Twitter was around then...
AllyRae
16-06-2023, 11:06 AM
Brewster was a very intelligent player and brought O'Connor on leaps and bounds. His hold up play and positioning was superb!
16-06-2023, 11:08 AM
100% Freddie! :thumbsup:
Unfortunately the stereotypical ignorance is not just an English thing…..
16-06-2023, 11:09 AM
Le Fondre would be a shrewd signing in addition to another striker.
MartinfaePorty
16-06-2023, 11:11 AM
[QUOTE=Forza Fred;7373298]
Brewster was a very intelligent player and brought O'Connor on leaps and bounds. His hold up play and positioning was superb!Seem to remember at Ian Murray's testimonial that him and John Collins were the best players. Obviously looked after himself very well.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
16-06-2023, 11:12 AM
A different level, but I remember playing for a junior team in the top possible league for the set up and we signed a 35 year old striker similar to ALF in build in etc who had played league 2 and lowland league for years.
Quite a few thought he would be past it.
It took about 2 minutes of a training session to see he was the best player and had an abundance of quality.
Not as mobile as he once was, but still really fit and his quality in games was second to none. Also had the quality and experience of when to drop deep, when to drift wide and just how to hold on to the ball. He was also clinical and finished our top goal scorer for the next 2 seasons in a row.
I think for younger players, having that guy up top to take the ball when things aren’t going well really helped.
I’m not saying ALF will be the same, but it looks like he keeps himself fit and some of his finishes are pure quality.
Let’s not write him off just yet.
Not that anyone on Hibsnet would write a player off without having seen him play😂
Sheep_Nae_Mair
16-06-2023, 11:20 AM
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/irish-league/lee-bonis-scottish-premiership-side-joins-list-of-teams-chasing-larne-and-ni-striker/a1834827991.html?fbclid=IwAR33C5F94fZfck9JA14Q5IGl 5hapKgA8n4_yXIQgZweuCiOrw34rGdQrMg4
16-06-2023, 11:21 AM
My memory is he came back from Greece a much improved player from the Dundee United version hold up play and positional awareness were excellent loads of experience and chipped in with goals and assists while helping to bring along the younger players
Went on to join Dunfermline Athletic who offered him a better deal and he did well for them bringing on a young Stevie Crawford
Signed for Dundee United at 39 in a transfer costing 340k
And scored the winning goal in the Scottish Cup final
16-06-2023, 11:45 AM
Grant Holt was a decent signing for a season, added experience and guile and although past his peak managed a handful of goals, which is more than what can be said for our backup strikers for a lot of this season.
I think it’s a shrewd addition if Le Fondre can emulate that.
SickBoy32
16-06-2023, 11:50 AM
Yeah the A League has improved immeasurably in last few years. ALF has used his ability and his nous to be one of the top forwards in the A League.
ALF could only manage a lower number of total goals and goals per game, than both Cummings and Maclaren (should add that I'm not sure on the relative quality of teams that they were each playing in)
Personally would be happy with either of them back ahead of ALF - but think we can and should be targeting better for our Nisbet replacement, especially given the cash received for KN
24 goals in 26 games by Jamie Mac would suggest that regardless if the league has apparently improved recently, it is still a long way short of SPL standard
16-06-2023, 11:56 AM
Not that anyone on Hibsnet would write a player off without having seen him play😂
Unusual certainly, our learned posters usually give the new players at least 20mins from the subs bench before offering their esteemed judgements.
16-06-2023, 12:07 PM
'Adam Le Fondre close to joining' according to the Scotsman. Really not sure what to make of it.
McDermott did go on about getting the right characters in, so must feel ALF fits that criteria and will help around the place.
Coming from the A-league and 36 so won't command a high wage you'd imagine.
MagicSwirlingShip
16-06-2023, 12:08 PM
Brewster was a very intelligent player and brought O'Connor on leaps and bounds. His hold up play and positioning was superb!
And went on to do it for a few more seasons for the Pars. IIRC we couldn’t afford to keep him at the time
Spudster
16-06-2023, 12:08 PM
Grant Holt was a decent signing for a season, added experience and guile and although past his peak managed a handful of goals, which is more than what can be said for our backup strikers for a lot of this season.
I think it’s a shrewd addition if Le Fondre can emulate that.
Don't think that's very fair metric. Holt played alot of games and even played up top by himself at times. Most of our backup strikers this season have played 10mins here and there and often on the wing.
Holt played 30 games, starting 22 of them and scored 5 goals.
Hoppe played 9, started 3, scored 1
Tavares played 8, started 2, scored 0
Myko played 15, started 10, scored 5
Melkerson played 13, started 5, scored 0
McKirdy played 22, started 5, scored 0
COMBINED started 25, scored 6
badabing67
16-06-2023, 12:09 PM
Sounds like Celtic want rid of Stephen Welsh
Bridge hibs
16-06-2023, 12:12 PM
Sounds like Celtic want rid of Stephen WelshWould take him, decent experience with 30 odd games for celtc
16-06-2023, 12:14 PM
[QUOTE=AllyRae;7373361]
And went on to do it for a few more seasons for the Pars. IIRC we couldn’t afford to keep him at the time
Yup played over 100 games for Dunfermline as they finished 5th and then 4th while we were languishing about in the bottom 6.
16-06-2023, 12:16 PM
Don't think that's very fair metric. Holt played alot of games and even played up top by himself at times. Most of our backup strikers this season have played 10mins here and there and often on the wing.
While the comparison is fair, I’d imagine the combined cost of those 6 players in fees and wages is multiples of what Holt cost us.
16-06-2023, 12:17 PM
So one player managed 5 goals in 22 starts vs 5 players who scored 6 goals in 25 starts? It's a bit apples and oranges and ignores a shed load of other factors but Holt came in and done a decent job considering his age. I expect more from our million pound plus group of 'backup strikers'. Melkerson might still come on to a game at this level but other than Myko I'd be looking for better.
NC1875
16-06-2023, 12:21 PM
Can’t believe we’re actually going to sign ALF. Seems like every transfer window for about the last 10 years he’s been mentioned.
EGL2000
16-06-2023, 12:45 PM
Would take him, decent experience with 30 odd games for celtc
Good European experience as well. Played in a number of qualifiers over the years.
16-06-2023, 12:50 PM
From what I've seen of the A League it's a level below the Scottish Premier. Difficult to say how far below but there's definitely a gap between the leagues IMO.
I watch a lot of it on Saturday morning. The standard is way below our standard. Le Fondre is well past it. He's more Kuqi than Brewster
Hibiza
16-06-2023, 01:16 PM
Be better than Mckirdy or Tavares ( if he's still here ).
[QUOTE=andrew70;7373329]
ALF could only manage a lower number of total goals and goals per game, than both Cummings and Maclaren (should add that I'm not sure on the relative quality of teams that they were each playing in)
Personally would be happy with either of them back ahead of ALF - but think we can and should be targeting better for our Nisbet replacement, especially given the cash received for KN
24 goals in 26 games by Jamie Mac would suggest that regardless if the league has apparently improved recently, it is still a long way short of SPL standard
I doubt very much if ALF is Nisbets replacement. He's a cheap back up option who brings a number of things to the table.
Sproule Three
16-06-2023, 01:24 PM
[QUOTE=andrew70;7373329]
Jamie Mac and Cummings were with the top two teams in the league .
Sydney were poor and were nowhere till ALF came back from 6 weeks out and nearly made the final .
He improved them immensely .
Cannae take penalties though so probably ideal replacement for Nissy
Torto7
16-06-2023, 01:34 PM
ALF just needs to stay fit and he'll be a better signing than McGeady.
16-06-2023, 01:38 PM
I recognise my view of Brewster would fall into the unpopular opinions category. But for me it's a myth - I watched him at Hibs and he simply wasn't that great. 30 odd games and 5 goals I think.
The stuff about "bringing on O'Connor". Again it's bollocks. That is the job of any experienced player/striker. The season after Brewster left O'Connor scored the same amount of goals (fewer than 10) as he had with Brewster there. O'Connor was regressing for 2 years until Mowbray arrived - a coach who improved players and set us up to play to O'Connor's strengths.
People go on about Brewster at Dunfermline...it's irrelevant. In his season AT HIBS - he was totally average as one of the highest earning players.
16-06-2023, 01:40 PM
I watch a lot of it on Saturday morning. The standard is way below our standard. Le Fondre is well past it. He's more Kuqi than Brewster
No - you must just be ignorant. A League is great apparently :rolleyes:
16-06-2023, 01:46 PM
No - you must just be ignorant. A League is great apparently :rolleyes:
It’s not the quality of the league, it’s the quality of the player.
badabing67
16-06-2023, 01:52 PM
Hibs’ pre-season friendly against Watford (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topic/watford) appears to be in doubt after Hornets (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topic/hornets) chiefs, speaking at a fans’ forum, explained the club’s plans for the summer following the appointment of new manager Valérien Ismael to succeed Chris Wilder (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topic/chris-wilder).
It was revealed that a friendly match between the two teams had been pencilled in as part of the transfer that took Ryan Porteous to Vicarage Road during the January window, with the expectation that the fixture would take place during the off-season as part of both clubs’ preparations for the upcoming campaign. But the match may now have to take place at a later date
Spudster
16-06-2023, 02:07 PM
So one player managed 5 goals in 22 starts vs 5 players who scored 6 goals in 25 starts? It's a bit apples and oranges and ignores a shed load of other factors but Holt came in and done a decent job considering his age. I expect more from our million pound plus group of 'backup strikers'. Melkerson might still come on to a game at this level but other than Myko I'd be looking for better.
Seems like we are actually saying the same thing then. So many backup players getting so few minutes it's difficult to see which/if any of them could make it at the club.
16-06-2023, 02:10 PM
ALF was a terrific goalscorer, and when he was younger was way out of our league. He's fit and still knocking the goals in, a years contract is fine by me.
Is he any less mobile than Shankland? Players these days if they are any good will leave for more money, a punt on someone like him, who's still scoring, still fit and known to the management should be good.
And he will not be the only player we sign, short term signings to help us get to where we want can work.
Good post. Agree no brainer in a short term deal.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-06-2023, 02:11 PM
This must be the 5th summer over his career that we’ve been linked with Le Fondre
McGruber
16-06-2023, 02:25 PM
If McDermott thinks Le Fondre can come in and do a job that's good enough for me. One thing the team and squad is top heavy of project and young players. A bit of an older head paired with the likes of Youan, Myko, Melkerson sounds like a good idea.. as long as he has the legs for another year. Personally think McGrath is a good player aswell. Also, no doubt they will bring in another striker
Weird that many on here said they'd take JC or McLaren back, both playing in the A league but a recognised scorer in the same league with years of experience and some are saying nope.
16-06-2023, 02:36 PM
Weird that many on here said they'd take JC or McLaren back, both playing in the A league but a recognised scorer in the same league with years of experience and some are saying nope.
I'm guessing that's down to the fact he is a lot older
Obviously but my point is he's doing it in the same league as the other 2, if he still has it in him, then get him signed.
16-06-2023, 02:48 PM
I recognise my view of Brewster would fall into the unpopular opinions category. But for me it's a myth - I watched him at Hibs and he simply wasn't that great. 30 odd games and 5 goals I think.
The stuff about "bringing on O'Connor". Again it's bollocks. That is the job of any experienced player/striker. The season after Brewster left O'Connor scored the same amount of goals (fewer than 10) as he had with Brewster there. O'Connor was regressing for 2 years until Mowbray arrived - a coach who improved players and set us up to play to O'Connor's strengths.
People go on about Brewster at Dunfermline...it's irrelevant. In his season AT HIBS - he was totally average as one of the highest earning players.
We must have been watching the same games as my recollection of him is the same as yours. I thought he was really poor.
16-06-2023, 03:13 PM
This must be the 5th summer over his career that we’ve been linked with Le Fondre
Go for double and sign Jamie Cureton 😆
16-06-2023, 03:16 PM
Obviously but my point is he's doing it in the same league as the other 2, if he still has it in him, then get him signed.
Personally would rather we went for someone a bit younger, we can't afford to keep rebuilding, if we sign a 36 year old its not long term so next season potentially have to start looking again, that's just my preference though
16-06-2023, 03:19 PM
Go for double and sign Jamie Cureton 😆
Still playing at Enfield
16-06-2023, 03:24 PM
Personally would rather we went for someone a bit younger, we can't afford to keep rebuilding, if we sign a 36 year old its not long term so next season potentially have to start looking again, that's just my preference though
We will always have to that no matter If it's players out of contract or loan players returning to their parent club. O'Connor may rip it up at Airdrie and come back 1st team ready? It's just what happens in football.
tonyrougier123
16-06-2023, 03:36 PM
Le Fondre was/is a terrific striker. I thought we might’ve learnt our lesson with McGeady last season,the demands of the Scottish game especially on the pitches we play on come October is a far cry from Sydney in the sun playing on good grass pitches.at 36 ask Aiden how it feels.
Not a great start imo to our new summer recruitment.
16-06-2023, 03:40 PM
Hoping he has a similar effect as to how Grant Holt did, albeit it in the premiership this time.
Surely would only be coming in as an option?
Fitness may be the issue
16-06-2023, 03:45 PM
Alf
16-06-2023, 03:46 PM
Le Fondre incoming
Here we go
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1669732685210681349?t=8SWZ8itNKiSlJmfvLlKbpA&s=19
Love a Friday 5pm announcement
16-06-2023, 03:47 PM
They’re being generous having FM23 loading up 🤣
16-06-2023, 04:00 PM
Confirmed
16-06-2023, 04:02 PM
Hope these training tops are in the shop soon
16-06-2023, 04:04 PM
ALF confirmed:
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1669736512341127172
16-06-2023, 04:06 PM
Looking forward to people losing their **** thinking this is the Number replacement.
16-06-2023, 04:06 PM
Looking forward to people losing their **** thinking this is the Number replacement.
16-06-2023, 04:07 PM
The boy knows where the goals are. Sign Myko and have ALF and Melkersen as back up.
16-06-2023, 04:07 PM
To be fair, at this stage it is. Until we sign another striker (which I'm absolutely sure we will!) It's ALF up top.
Don’t forget Christian!
Devonhibs
16-06-2023, 04:10 PM
Alf signed - Hibs youtube
16-06-2023, 04:11 PM
Don’t forget Christian!
Honestly forgot all about Doidge! Surely he'll be off though.
Think we'll get another striker in, probs Myko, then we'll have Myko, Melkersen, ALF as options and a few who can play through the middle if needed.
16-06-2023, 04:14 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Gs3RxD6/IMG-1647.png (https://ibb.co/1sJTvNg)
Welcome aboard Alfie!
Hopefully he can prove me wrong and he has my backing from now
ElginHibbie
16-06-2023, 04:15 PM
Good to see McGeady didn't take the pen with him
16-06-2023, 04:15 PM
Hoping he has a similar effect as to how Grant Holt did, albeit it in the premiership this time.
Surely would only be coming in as an option?
Fitness may be the issue
I'm hoping he scores goals. Holt never impressed me as he played far too far away from the opposition goals to cause them that much bother. I'd much rather he had the same impact as Brewster or Mixu, albeit Mixu was a good bit younger when he joined. Not the type of signing I immediately gravitate to as I always want players who are on an upward trajectory or have plateaued and we can let them recover their career. However we have had a few over teh years where it has worked out and a good deal more like McGeady where it was money poorly spent. You could say that about all types of signings though
Honestly forgot all about Doidge! Surely he'll be off though.
Think we'll get another striker in, probs Myko, then we'll have Myko, Melkersen, ALF as options and a few who can play through the middle if needed.
You would think. We had a couple of Killie ST holders in our company last weekend and whilst Doidge has set up a few this season he lacks mobility. Think he’ll be away.
Hope we get Myko as I think he’s quality and a handful. Hopefully Fish to be announced next then a proper No10
Bronson
16-06-2023, 04:18 PM
Sorry, not having that le fondre signing. Absolutely bizarre.
16-06-2023, 04:19 PM
Welcome ALF
Keeps us in the 4-8-8-4 squad set up.
4 youngsters
8 approaching prime
8 in prime
4 elders (ALF, Stevenson, Hanlon, Marshall)
16-06-2023, 04:21 PM
It's finally happened. Jordi Cruyff next?
Laced1875
16-06-2023, 04:21 PM
Is he coming in as a coach ?
16-06-2023, 04:22 PM
He's not going to be first choice. Good experience to have in the squad. Think it's a really shrewd signing.
McGruber
16-06-2023, 04:22 PM
Welcome ALF
Keeps us in the 4-8-8-4 squad set up.
4 youngsters
8 approaching prime
8 in prime
4 elders (ALF, Stevenson, Hanlon, Marshall)
Would be looking to replace Marshall tbh
16-06-2023, 04:25 PM
Le Fondre was/is a terrific striker. I thought we might’ve learnt our lesson with McGeady last season,the demands of the Scottish game especially on the pitches we play on come October is a far cry from Sydney in the sun playing on good grass pitches.at 36 ask Aiden how it feels.
Not a great start imo to our new summer recruitment.
McGeady had bad injuries, that he was still recovering from, prior to coming. Le Fondre hasn’t. There isn’t a direct comparison for that reason, IMO.
16-06-2023, 04:26 PM
Too late
Bronson
16-06-2023, 04:26 PM
He's not going to be first choice. Good experience to have in the squad. Think it's a really shrewd signing.
Understand that but I’d expect a 36 year old to have played more top level football than 1 season 10 years ago if we are signing him. Mcgeady I understood, this one I just don’t get.
16-06-2023, 04:29 PM
That was my gut reaction too but scratching beneath the surface a bit I think it could work out alright.
He’s younger than Fletcher who played well last season in a poor team and he’s younger than James Milner who has just joined a premiership club renowned for their recruitment.
He’s still been scoring goals and while some would argue it’s not the best standard league he’s been in, I personally find that a bit disrespectful when you look at the number of success stories there’s been from that league. Not many would have complained if we signed Cummings or McLaren.
I’m not 100% convinced it’ll be a good signing however as long as we’re not expecting 40+ games out of him next season he might just be a smart signing.
16-06-2023, 04:30 PM
Understand that but I’d expect a 36 year old to have played more top level football than 1 season 10 years ago if we are signing him. Mcgeady I understood, this one I just don’t get.
He scores goals
16-06-2023, 04:34 PM
We need experience but holy moly 36???
Hope he has a role to play and can fill in but it’s not really getting the juices flowing. How are ST SALES BTW?
P.S. I wish I was 36 again 😂
This transfer window better no reflect my user name!!!
That was my gut reaction too but scratching beneath the surface a bit I think it could work out alright.
He’s younger than Fletcher who played well last season in a poor team and he’s younger than James Milner who has just joined a premiership club renowned for their recruitment.
He’s still been scoring goals and while some would argue it’s not the best standard league he’s been in, I personally find that a bit disrespectful when you look at the number of success stories there’s been from that league. Not many would have complained if we signed Cummings or McLaren.
I’m not 100% convinced it’ll be a good signing however as long as we’re not expecting 40+ games out of him next season he might just be a smart signing.
Maybe because it's the first signing of the season as well? Think folk might have been a bit more forgiving if we'd already announced a few good first team players.
All the contacts and scouting knowledge and McDermott's first signing is someone he managed almost a decade ago haha! Potentially a smart move.
16-06-2023, 04:39 PM
I wonder if Johnson will still be interested in Myko? If we can create chances and keep both fit then hopefully some goals between the 2 of them.
McGrath looks like it will happen and I did see Lewis Fiorini's name mentioned a few times this week so not sure who would be the better and if that one is just internet talk.
Youan ALF Boyle
McGrath
Newell Jeggo
Lewis Hanlon Fish Miller
Marshall
Is this a decent enough first team to be a consistent challenge for 3rd? I do feel last season the option off the bench killed us at times.
16-06-2023, 04:41 PM
I wonder if Johnson will still be interested in Myko? If we can create chances and keep both fit then hopefully some goals between the 2 of them.
McGrath looks like it will happen and I did see Lewis Fiorini's name mentioned a few times this week so not sure who would be the better and if that one is just internet talk.
Youan ALF Boyle
McGrath
Newell Jeggo
Lewis Hanlon Fish Miller
Marshall
Is this a decent enough first team to be a consistent challenge for 3rd? I do feel last season the option off the bench killed us at times.
McPartlin saying we're now looking elsewhere in relation to McGrath earlier on I'm sure