View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
06-07-2023, 08:01 PM
Ellis simms (former jambo) heading to Coventry for 8M. Insane. Decent enough player but mental money
Steven79
06-07-2023, 08:09 PM
Ellis simms (former jambo) heading to Coventry for 8M. Insane. Decent enough player but mental money
17 games and 5 goals for Hearts a few years ago.
If he was Scottish and still playing for Hearts they would be doing well to get a million for him.
06-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Made a few appearances for Everton and scored a goal I think. Automatically means there’s millions of premier league tax attached 🙄
To be fair he looked fairly useful and I’ve seen more outrageous fees down there! But yeah, a whack of money!
06-07-2023, 08:20 PM
Correct.
Bojang from FC Rainbow, was probably the worst of the lot but at least he was a loan.
It puzzles me why we gave Tavares a 4 year deal. Was it because other clubs wanted him. He played very few 1st team games and it makes me think someone in recruitment, or Johnson thought he was the 100% real deal. Big mistake now given the money Tavares is rumoured to be on.
I understand why Hibs take loans. Almost a try before you buy with untested, inexperienced players. In hindsight players such as Tavares, Kenneh & Melkersen should have initially been taken on loan. If the player or the selling club didn't want a loan then you go for a different player. If they are a success and you cannot keep them, for example the likes of Fish, then that's just how it is. The club at least have not taken a financial hit.
From the players signed so far in this window they have all had a good number of 1st team games. Clearly a strategy that McDermott has implemented, but not rocket science.
Much as we have moved some players on, I agree with a previous poster that the squad it still substantially short of one which will achieve 3rd in the league and the Europa Conference Group stages.
We stlll need to move 5 or 6 players out and get quality replacements in soon. It will be difficult to move some players on given the contracts we have handed out and it must have restricted recruitment. We are still paying for bad decisions made over the last couple of years. But there is still time.
Aye, should have taken Doig and Nisbet on loan as well. They were untested at this level.
We didn’t even pay a fee for Kenneh or Tavares so it’s hardly gonna bankrupt us. Signings that are questionable for sure but it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t sign players of a similar profile again.
Paulie Walnuts
06-07-2023, 08:21 PM
He’s a very good player imo. The real travesty is that Coventry can afford to pay £8m, what would be one of the highest fees in Scottish football history, for a player.
cameronw-hfc
06-07-2023, 08:23 PM
He’s a very good player imo. The real travesty is that Coventry can afford to pay £8m for a player.
I'm in the middle on him, don't rate him nearly as high as some hearts fans, but defo not as bad as some of our lot make out. He's a good high end Championship player who may do a job at low prem level.
Don't think he'll be anything better and can't see him dropping down levels anytime soon. 8m though shows how mental prices are down south
06-07-2023, 08:23 PM
He’s a very good player imo. The real travesty is that Coventry can afford to pay £8m, what would be one of the highest fees in Scottish football history, for a player.
Think they’re about to bank £20m+ for Gyokeres. So £8m for Simms is good business I’d say.
06-07-2023, 08:24 PM
Think Coventry are selling their star striker Viktor Gyokeres for something like 20m
Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 08:25 PM
Aye, should have taken Doig and Nisbet on loan as well. They were untested at this level.
We didn’t even pay a fee for Kenneh or Tavares so it’s hardly gonna bankrupt us. Signings that are questionable for sure but it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t sign players of a similar profile again.
Get what you say, but Doig & Nisbet wouldn't have been handed a £4k-£5k a week.
Doig & Nisbet would I reckon have been scouted thoroughly and were significantly less of a risk.
The signings of the likes of Tavares and Bojang just don't have any logic.
06-07-2023, 08:27 PM
The team is looking good on paper and we seem to have abit of depth now aswell
Marshall
Miller Bushiri Hanlon Obita
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan
Bench
Cadden, Stevenson, Campbell, Melkerson, Mackay, Newell, Wollacott, Kenneh
Only really need a centre back now and id be very optimistic for the season.
Swap out Jeggo and bring in Newell, and add at least another striker to the squad and I'm with you.
MagicSwirlingShip
06-07-2023, 08:36 PM
Swap out Jeggo and bring in Newell, and add at least another striker to the squad and I'm with you.
Not a fan of Newell sitting so deep, he is better as a CM IMO. Jeggo’s done OK for me so would keep him in with Newell taking JDH place. Kenneh and JDH on the bench with Campbell. Lots of games coming up so can utilise the squad, keep each other on their toes.
Midfield looking promising for first time in a while, which is nice.
As you say a good number 9 in and we are looking good middle to front.
06-07-2023, 08:46 PM
I'm in the middle on him, don't rate him nearly as high as some hearts fans, but defo not as bad as some of our lot make out. He's a good high end Championship player who may do a job at low prem level.
Don't think he'll be anything better and can't see him dropping down levels anytime soon. 8m though shows how mental prices are down south
Think they’re about to bank £20m+ for Gyokeres. So £8m for Simms is good business I’d say.
Simms was the major difference between the teams in the two derbies in a week in April 2022 unfortuneately.
xqnq1875
06-07-2023, 08:59 PM
Heard Ewan Henderson could be on his way out in the coming weeks, really doesn’t surprise me at all only shows up a couple times a season and has overall looked poor at his time at hibs
Get what you say, but Doig & Nisbet wouldn't have been handed a £4k-£5k a week.
Doig & Nisbet would I reckon have been scouted thoroughly and were significantly less of a risk.
The signings of the likes of Tavares and Bojang just don't have any logic.
The signing of Tavares had plenty logic. He was more highly rated at Benfica than Duk. What about Youan?
06-07-2023, 09:14 PM
Think Doidge will be heading out soon
06-07-2023, 09:15 PM
Talk of Doidge to United isn’t finished yet. A loan this time - anyone heard the same?
Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Heard Ewan Henderson could be on his way out in the coming weeks, really doesn’t surprise me at all only shows up a couple times a season and has overall looked poor at his time at hibs
Nothing against the lad but he's nowhere near good enough for us and probably best if he moves on tbh . Wonder were he will end up ? My money's on Wigan.
06-07-2023, 09:43 PM
Not a name I've heard before, so did a Google search. More mentions of Peter Andre than Andre Green.
Not got a great track record. To be honest, it's all a bit mysterious.
I signed him on Football Manager once and he was excellent for me, so for me it's a big thumbs up. :agree::greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-07-2023, 09:49 PM
I signed him on Football Manager once and he was excellent for me, so for me it's a big thumbs up. :agree::greengrin
Same, signed him from Burnley I think? Was decent
Talk of Doidge to United isn’t finished yet. A loan this time - anyone heard the same?
I was talking to a knowledgeable Arab fan in Portugal tonight. Think he has some connections to the club. Firstly he says we should be done for grand larceny, getting Levitt at that price, but he says he's pleased he's gone to us and we have a great player. Secondly he heard Dun U were still hoping to get a Hibs player in return but was not one we were willing to let go for now.
06-07-2023, 09:58 PM
I was talking to a knowledgeable Arab fan in Portugal tonight. Think he has some connections to the club. Firstly he says we should be done for grand larceny, getting Levitt at that price, but he says he's pleased he's gone to us and we have a great player. Secondly he heard Dun U were still hoping to get a Hibs player in return but was not one we were willing to let go for now.
That’s interesting 👍 I don’t think it’s unlikely a Doidge loan might still be to follow, whether it’s officially part of the Levitt deal or not.
ElginHibbie
06-07-2023, 09:59 PM
If it is Doidge that would make sense, with McKirdy news if we let him go now that leave us with only ALF and Melkerson, so could be waiting to get another couple strikers in and then Doidge can go
06-07-2023, 10:13 PM
Made a few appearances for Everton and scored a goal I think. Automatically means there’s millions of premier league tax attached 🙄
To be fair he looked fairly useful and I’ve seen more outrageous fees down there! But yeah, a whack of money!
Did very well at Sunderland in the 1st half of last season. So well that Everton recalled him early. 7 goals in 14 starts.
06-07-2023, 10:26 PM
Strange comparisons. Dunno who we could have loaned Doig from. He was without a club. We the signed him for hee haw and then paid him buttons.
We did pay a fee for Tavares. We also gave him a whacking great 4 year contract on big wages.
You can sign players that are untested at this level but at least be sensible about it.
06-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Strange comparisons. Dunno who we could have loaned Doig from. He was without a club. We the signed him for hee haw and then paid him buttons.
We did pay a fee for Tavares. We also gave him a whacking great 4 year contract on big wages.
You can sign players that are untested at this level but at least be sensible about it.
I read an LJ interview quite some time back in which he was asked about Tavares. He said something to the effect that a big part of a signing like that was protecting the player for the first year or two to allow him to develop physically for the Scottish game but also to allow him to come to terms with the pace and style of our football. I think he may even have said that the most important thing was to make sure he wasn't over exposed too early.
I remember reading it at the time and thinking that either he'd been sold a pup and this was his defence for not playing him, or that he'd willingly gone for the guy but then realised that he'd never make it in the Scottish game (and given that he's also said previously that he'd tracked Tavares for a number of years this explanation seems likely) or that it was all correct and Johnson was seeing something that no-one else could in which case we'd be starting to see Tavares gradually get more game time this year.
It struck me as a pretty odd discussion at the time to be honest.
Do we know why Mykola Kuharevich chances of coming to Hibs is unlikely (EEN mentioned it but didn’t give an answer)?
07-07-2023, 12:06 AM
Do we know why Mykola Kuharevich chances of coming to Hibs is unlikely (EEN mentioned it but didn’t give an answer)?
Asking for too much money is the likeliest scenario here, or he would be with us.
07-07-2023, 05:58 AM
I’d imagine it’d be price.
07-07-2023, 06:03 AM
I read an LJ interview quite some time back in which he was asked about Tavares. He said something to the effect that a big part of a signing like that was protecting the player for the first year or two to allow him to develop physically for the Scottish game but also to allow him to come to terms with the pace and style of our football. I think he may even have said that the most important thing was to make sure he wasn't over exposed too early.
I remember reading it at the time and thinking that either he'd been sold a pup and this was his defence for not playing him, or that he'd willingly gone for the guy but then realised that he'd never make it in the Scottish game (and given that he's also said previously that he'd tracked Tavares for a number of years this explanation seems likely) or that it was all correct and Johnson was seeing something that no-one else could in which case we'd be starting to see Tavares gradually get more game time this year.
It struck me as a pretty odd discussion at the time to be honest.
It was very odd. The way he was talking you’d think he was 18. He’s not a youth player. He’s 22 and most pros who end up having a career are usually well established by that age.
On top of that, if you look at his announcement, he wasn’t signed as a development player. He was signed to be 1st team ready.
07-07-2023, 06:03 AM
I’m hoping we’ve just leaked to the press we have cooled our interest to try and get a fairer price
07-07-2023, 06:59 AM
It was very odd. The way he was talking you’d think he was 18. He’s not a youth player. He’s 22 and most pros who end up having a career are usually well established by that age.
On top of that, if you look at his announcement, he wasn’t signed as a development player. He was signed to be 1st team ready.
He was also given the number 10, probably the most iconic number in football. LJ is definitely trying to put a positive spin on things as they haven't worked out.
07-07-2023, 07:42 AM
Wish we could all have Fish on Friday.
07-07-2023, 08:19 AM
From Fabrizio Romano
Understand Leeds United have agreed a deal worth £200k with Aberdeen to sign Scottish rising star Lewis Pirie, born in 2007. ⚪️🏴 #LUFC
Pirie scored 51 goals for club & country last season and will join Leeds on a contract to 2026.
07-07-2023, 08:21 AM
From Fabrizio Romano
Understand Leeds United have agreed a deal worth £200k with Aberdeen to sign Scottish rising star Lewis Pirie, born in 2007. ⚪️🏴 #LUFC
Pirie scored 51 goals for club & country last season and will join Leeds on a contract to 2026.
Born 2007. Makes me feel ancient seeing that and I'm still in my 30s.
07-07-2023, 08:29 AM
There's not really anyone in performing in Scotland last season jumping out to me as a striker to bring in. Van Veen would have been the one.
Or anyone that's went down south for cash and may come back up maybe more likely - like a Sam Cosgrove.
Interested to see who we get. Get a quality striker in with Boyle and Youan either side Levitt in the centre and we will really be onto something.
Cuikyhibs
07-07-2023, 08:49 AM
hibs instagram, countdown added to the story for a couple hours time.....any ideas?
07-07-2023, 08:51 AM
hibs instagram, countdown added to the story for a couple hours time.....any ideas?
Purple away strip reveal I'd imagine.
Cuikyhibs
07-07-2023, 08:52 AM
ah yes, that makes sense
07-07-2023, 09:18 AM
Europa FC wear green so it might get its debut in tomorrows friendly match.
07-07-2023, 09:20 AM
Ah but who's wearing it........
badabing67
07-07-2023, 09:31 AM
Europa FC wear green so it might get its debut in tomorrows friendly match.
Is that game live on Hibs TV YouTube channel
07-07-2023, 09:32 AM
Yeah it’s supposed to be
07-07-2023, 09:38 AM
Born the year I went to university. **** sake!!
badabing67
07-07-2023, 10:15 AM
Yeah it’s supposed to be
Cuikyhibs
07-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Yeah it’s supposed to be
we should get the official confirmation later today
07-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Some on here will have underwear older than that.
07-07-2023, 10:35 AM
Five years after I finished university. **** sake!!
Thinking of John Collins crying on the Hampden pitch and this guy not being born yet.
07-07-2023, 10:42 AM
Haven’t seen it announced anywhere yet though.
From Fabrizio Romano
Southampton ready to pay 10.5m rising to 15m for some Man City youngster and aberdeen have to settle for 200k is all that’s wrong with modern football
supermcginn
07-07-2023, 10:52 AM
Southampton ready to pay 10.5m rising to 15m for some Man City youngster and aberdeen have to settle for 200k is all that’s wrong with modern football
Southampton paid 10.5m for Lavia from Man city last season after he hadn't even played once for city, he's now going for at least 50million to Arsenal or Liverpool, not a huge surprise they are trying the same approach.
07-07-2023, 10:55 AM
Shea Charles is 19. Has 1 appearance for City and 9 NI caps. The boy from Aberdeen is 15/16.
Not saying that the City boy is worth all that money but there is a little difference.
Southampton paid 10.5m for Lavia from Man city last season after he hadn't even played once for city, he's now going for at least 50million to Arsenal or Liverpool, not a huge surprise they are trying the same approach.
It’s not the approach that’s wrong it’s how these guys are valued in the millions without being tested in full time football, I didn’t realise the guy at aberdeen was so young but It’s not right that they can come up here and take there pick for a big of peanuts and have the possibility to sell them on for tens of millions a couple years later without kicking a first team ball
badabing67
07-07-2023, 11:10 AM
Leyland sculptor magnificently recreates Hibs Famous Five after visit from club director | Lancashire Evening Post (lep.co.uk) (https://www.lep.co.uk/news/people/leyland-sculptor-magnificently-recreates-hibs-famous-five-after-visit-from-club-director-4210880?page=3)
07-07-2023, 11:11 AM
Leyland sculptor magnificently recreates Hibs Famous Five after visit from club director | Lancashire Evening Post (lep.co.uk) (https://www.lep.co.uk/news/people/leyland-sculptor-magnificently-recreates-hibs-famous-five-after-visit-from-club-director-4210880?page=3)
That looks fantastic to be honest.
a new colleague has just started at my work, turns out she was born 3 months after I left school :wtf:
Wish it had been 1965, would have enjoyed watching them!. Mind you, the 65 team IIRC included Pat Quinn, Willie Hamilton, Neil Martin, Jim Scott, Eric Stevenson, Pat Stanton, big bad John etc etc. Should have won league!
07-07-2023, 12:20 PM
BREAKING! Orestis Kiomourtzoglou leaves Hearts for German outfit as Jambos bank 'six-figure fee' 💰
HendoDelivered
07-07-2023, 12:23 PM
BREAKING! Orestis Kiomourtzoglou leaves Hearts for German outfit as Jambos bank 'six-figure fee' 💰
Should free up some money for them to try and get Levitt… sorry what? 🤭
Paulie Walnuts
07-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Who?
Should free up some money for them to try and get Levitt… sorry what? 🤭
It's McGrath they all want, much better than Levitt
Aye £1000.32p
07-07-2023, 12:28 PM
£6
Paulie Walnuts
07-07-2023, 12:29 PM
Think they refer to him as Kio.
Ah ok. Still don’t know anything about him but I have heard the name.
BREAKING! Orestis Kiomourtzoglou leaves Hearts for German outfit as Jambos bank 'six-figure fee' [emoji383]
They paid a reported £350k for him and at the time stated he would be up there with the best in league taking them to another level. File under the Greek Ballack!
07-07-2023, 01:31 PM
They paid a reported £350k for him and at the time stated he would be up there with the best in league taking them to another level. File under the Greek Ballack!
Ah, I mind that. They were hyping up a storm about Tziolis, the type of player who would ordinarily do well in a derby, and then he was absolutely dire. Good times all around.
07-07-2023, 01:33 PM
Who?
One of their famous "big name" signings.
07-07-2023, 01:39 PM
While it's true that at 22 Jair is not THAT young, he was definitely NOT signed to go straight into the 1st team. I remember distinctly at the time of his signing, reading that he was one for the future and fans would need to show patience.
Given that background it was a bit bizzare to hand him the no 10 shirt and I bet that's confused a lot of fans.
Still a bit surprising he's not been taken to the training camp - he's been here a full season now and I'd hope to see him pushing to get onto the pitch at this stage.
07-07-2023, 01:47 PM
Who?
Hertz
Paulie Walnuts
07-07-2023, 01:55 PM
Hertz
Sheffhibee
07-07-2023, 01:56 PM
It's McGrath they all want, much better than Levitt
Brilliant how they turned that around in 24hrs on there transfer thread , wouldnt want him anywhere near their club , Levitt was far superior ,
They lose out to us and Mc Grath is suddenly a far better player than Levitt..... Hilarious :confused:
07-07-2023, 01:57 PM
top work there :aok:
07-07-2023, 02:01 PM
While it's true that at 22 Jair is not THAT young, he was definitely NOT signed to go straight into the 1st team. I remember distinctly at the time of his signing, reading that he was one for the future and fans would need to show patience.
Given that background it was a bit bizzare to hand him the no 10 shirt and I bet that's confused a lot of fans.
Still a bit surprising he's not been taken to the training camp - he's been here a full season now and I'd hope to see him pushing to get onto the pitch at this stage.
I don't think it bizarre at all, he's absolutely murder.
07-07-2023, 02:02 PM
This is what hearts wrote about him joining, his stats are
Played 23, Scored 0, assists 0, yellow cards 0, red cards 0
Hearts have completed the signing of German midfielder Orestis Kiomourtzoglou from Dutch side Heracles Almelo BV.
The 24-year-old joins the Jambos – subject to international clearance and visa approval – on a three-year-deal for an undisclosed fee.
A former Germany U21 international, Orestis cuts an imposing figure in the middle of the park at 6’2” tall.
Born in Munich, he made his way through German outfit SpVgg Unterhaching’s youth system before making his senior debut in 2015.
He would go on to help SpVgg to the Regionalliga Bayern league title in 2016/17 and make a total of 110 first team appearances, scoring 15 goals, before the Netherlands came calling in 2019 and he moved to Heracles.
Orestis would spend three seasons in the Dutch top flight until Heracles’ relegation at the end of last season via the play-offs, featuring 82 times and scoring five goals.
He’ll now begin the next chapter of his career at Tynecastle Park and speaking to the Official Hearts Website, manager Robbie Neilson said: “I’m delighted we’ve managed to get Orestis in on a permanent deal.
“He’s one we’ve had our eye on for a while so to be able to bring him here ahead of the window closing is great news.
“He’ll bring a real presence to our midfield and his style of play will be well suited to the system we implement here.
“We’re building a squad capable of challenging on two fronts – domestically and in Europe – and to have Orestis be a part of it is a big plus.”
Sporting Director Joe Savage said: “We’ve made no secret of our ambitions to supplement our squad but it’s always been about quality over quantity and we’ve got that in Orestis.
“Our recruitment department, lead by Will Lancefield, do a fantastic job in sourcing potential targets and they identified Orestis some time ago as someone who could come in and improve the team.
“We’ve had to be patient to get him in but we’re all really happy that he’s going to be pulling on the maroon jersey and once again I have to give my thanks to the board of directors for their faith and backing in us to take this club to the next level.”
07-07-2023, 02:02 PM
a new colleague has just started at my work, turns out she was born 3 months after I left school :wtf:
My pals brother who I took to his first Hibs game when he was 10 turned 50 last year and has two kids in their 20s ... and you feel auld :greengrin
He's still a Hibs ST holder as is his oldest daughter :flag:
07-07-2023, 02:07 PM
He did go straight in to the team though. As soon as his work permit was through he was in the side. It was just that we quite quickly discovered that he wasn’t very good.
There is a big difference between a player being signed to develop whilst playing and a player being signed as a development player. He was signed to play, no doubt about that IMO.
07-07-2023, 02:08 PM
Hearts have completed the signing of German midfielder Orestis Kiomourtzoglou from Dutch side Heracles Almelo BV.
The 24-year-old joins the Jambos – subject to international clearance and visa approval – on a three-year-deal for an undisclosed fee.
A former Germany U21 international, Orestis cuts an imposing figure in the middle of the park at 6’2” tall.
Born in Munich, he made his way through German outfit SpVgg Unterhaching’s youth system before making his senior debut in 2015.
He would go on to help SpVgg to the Regionalliga Bayern league title in 2016/17 and make a total of 110 first team appearances, scoring 15 goals, before the Netherlands came calling in 2019 and he moved to Heracles.
Orestis would spend three seasons in the Dutch top flight until Heracles’ relegation at the end of last season via the play-offs, featuring 82 times and scoring five goals.
He’ll now begin the next chapter of his career at Tynecastle Park and speaking to the Official Hearts Website, manager Robbie Neilson said: “I’m delighted we’ve managed to get Orestis in on a permanent deal.
“He’s one we’ve had our eye on for a while so to be able to bring him here ahead of the window closing is great news.
“He’ll bring a real presence to our midfield and his style of play will be well suited to the system we implement here.
“We’re building a squad capable of challenging on two fronts – domestically and in Europe – and to have Orestis be a part of it is a big plus.”
Sporting Director Joe Savage said: “We’ve made no secret of our ambitions to supplement our squad but it’s always been about quality over quantity and we’ve got that in Orestis.
“Our recruitment department, lead by Will Lancefield, do a fantastic job in sourcing potential targets and they identified Orestis some time ago as someone who could come in and improve the team.
“We’ve had to be patient to get him in but we’re all really happy that he’s going to be pulling on the maroon jersey and once again I have to give my thanks to the board of directors for their faith and backing in us to take this club to the next level.”
Good find.
Hibiza
07-07-2023, 02:11 PM
He did go straight in to the team though. As soon as his work permit was through he was in the side. It was just that we quite quickly discovered that he wasn’t very good.
There is a big difference between a player being signed to develop whilst playing and a player being signed as a development player. He was signed to play, no doubt about that IMO.
👍
And there you have it.
Thanks for trawling to get that.
07-07-2023, 02:16 PM
Did they have to be patient to find a buyer as well ?
badabing67
07-07-2023, 02:29 PM
did they have to be patient to find a buyer as well ?
lol
badabing67
07-07-2023, 02:37 PM
Aberdeen are interested in out of contract Burton Albion defender Tom Hamer, reports Alan Nixon.
Burton Albion have offered an extension to the full-back, as detailed on their retained list (https://www.burtonalbionfc.co.uk/news/2023/may/1705-retainedlist/), but he is yet to put pen-to-paper on an extension with the League One side with his deal now expired.
Terry Taylor on that list
Bridge hibs
07-07-2023, 02:38 PM
Aberdeen are interested in out of contract Burton Albion defender Tom Hamer, reports Alan Nixon.Burton Albion have offered an extension to the full-back, as detailed on their retained list (https://www.burtonalbionfc.co.uk/news/2023/may/1705-retainedlist/), but he is yet to put pen-to-paper on an extension with the League One side with his deal now expired.Cant remember hibs being linked to him 😃
07-07-2023, 02:51 PM
The boy Savage is a roaster. All this chat about next level and splitting the Old Firm. Fud.
My pals brother who I took to his first Hibs game when he was 10 turned 50 last year and has two kids in their 20s ... and you feel auld :greengrin
He's still a Hibs ST holder as is his oldest daughter :flag:
ahh, you’ve done your work well there NN :greengrin
The boy Savage is a roaster. All this chat about next level and splitting the Old Firm. Fud.
We all know what he’s doing. Feeding the big team ego pish.
50 million pissed up the wall. Couple of relegations. 1 trip to Europe and a tiny wee stadium.
King Cosell
07-07-2023, 03:28 PM
I've been meaning to get down to a Carlisle Utd game for ages, so I'm going to the Fleetwood game on Aug 5th. They've just signed Dylan McGeouch!
Hibees1973
07-07-2023, 03:35 PM
The signing of Tavares had plenty logic. He was more highly rated at Benfica than Duk. What about Youan?
Ah well fair enough. Whatever logic you or Hibs had doesn't seem to have come to fruition.
The difference between Youan and Tavares is that Youan was initially signed on loan. Should always do this when signing players who have played either zero or very few 1st team games at their age.
07-07-2023, 03:36 PM
Hibs interested in taking Lewis fiorini on loan
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1677340393623416834?t=RVVoqI9EH29St4XnyfmG9w&s=19
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lewis-fiorini-earns-hibs-loan-27271085
Torto7
07-07-2023, 03:39 PM
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1677340393623416834?t=RVVoqI9EH29St4XnyfmG9w&s=19
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/lewis-fiorini-earns-hibs-loan-27271085
He's a similar player to Levitt I think. I'm guessing this won't happen now as he was second choice if we couldn't get Dylan.
1875Sean
07-07-2023, 03:40 PM
I’d be surprised after getting levitt in, isn’t he another centre midfielder?
07-07-2023, 03:42 PM
More attacking I think
07-07-2023, 04:01 PM
I've been meaning to get down to a Carlisle Utd games ages, so I'm going to the Fleetwood game on Aug 5th. They've just signed Dylan McGeouch!
I’m going but in the Fleetwood end.
Ah well fair enough. Whatever logic you or Hibs had doesn't seem to have come to fruition.
The difference between Youan and Tavares is that Youan was initially signed on loan. Should always do this when signing players who have played either zero or very few 1st team games at their age.
That's fine in an ideal world but a loan isn't always possible. Firstly it has to be agreed by 3 parties, we can't just force the issue. Secondly there's a limit on number of loanees, think it's 7 this season and we must have been about that last season.
Hibs4185
07-07-2023, 04:16 PM
He's a similar player to Levitt I think. I'm guessing this won't happen now as he was second choice if we couldn't get Dylan.
I’d take all the creative midfielders we can get, it’s been our weakest area for a few seasons
07-07-2023, 04:19 PM
I posted this about a month ago due to the hearts fan at my work mentioning it.
It was the same one that said about Andre Green so interesting to see how that pans out
07-07-2023, 04:24 PM
Would definitely take that if we can get Henderson moved on
Even if we can I’d still take it
Hibiza
07-07-2023, 04:30 PM
Fiorini has a touch of class about him.
07-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Fiorini would be a real exciting capture and along with Levitt would massively enhance our midfield to what we've been used too. Seen the guy play a few times and I'll be honest I'll be surprised if we manage to pull that one off 🤞🤞🤞🤞
07-07-2023, 05:36 PM
Fiorini on top of already signing Levitt would be disgusting. Give other teams a chance ffs.
thebausburst
07-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Probably means Hendo is on the way out
07-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Boyle looking sharp
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1677372807791902721?t=9edQAiF62UwY9FJ1YTVM6g&s=19
Not a new signing but will feel like one.
Halmyre Hibee
07-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Fiorini would be a great signing. Good pedigree and chipping in with goals and assists. Make it happen Hibs.
07-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Really don't know anything about Fiorini but going by what others are saying I hope we sign him
Bridge hibs
07-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Boyle looking sharp
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1677372807791902721?t=9edQAiF62UwY9FJ1YTVM6g&s=19
Not a new signing but will feel like one.Did they borrow those goals from tinycastle 🤣
07-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Boyle looking sharp
He certainly looks leaner.
scm70nyd1973
07-07-2023, 06:03 PM
Boyle looking sharp
Where is this footage from ?
07-07-2023, 06:10 PM
Hibs 😂
07-07-2023, 06:13 PM
Marbella I think
badabing67
07-07-2023, 06:19 PM
More attacking I think
If we got him Henderson wouldn't get a game
MagicSwirlingShip
07-07-2023, 06:37 PM
If we got him Henderson wouldn't get a game
He’s not been getting a game, regardless
07-07-2023, 06:49 PM
I've no doubt Johnson will use the loan system again for some players, I would assume Egan-Riley would be one loan target and I think our new number 9 will be on loan.
I'm actually surprised we've not seen more rumours for centre backs after the Fish talk has gone quiet, a area we need a few first team bodies in asap.
I've no doubt Johnson will use the loan system again for some players, I would assume Egan-Riley would be one loan target and I think our new number 9 will be on loan.
I'm actually surprised we've not seen more rumours for centre backs after the Fish talk has gone quiet, a area we need a few first team bodies in asap.
Egan-Riley is out until the start of the year with a tear in his hamstring
PHeffernan
07-07-2023, 07:03 PM
Egan-Riley will be injured for a few months so that won't be happening.
We need to decide if Megwa is going to be back up right back or are we bringing in a loan.
We also lack a back up right winger for Boyle, could be a permanent or a loan.
Interesting to see what we end up with at centre half and centre forward. Could easily be a couple of loans in there.
Other issue in favour of loans is we have used much of our budget on Youan and Levitt.
1875Sean
07-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Probably means Hendo is on the way out
Sure hendo will be on his way anyway, just think he was a target but we got levitt, think it will be Jeggo, Newell and Levitt with Campbell, JDH and kenneh for cover
thebausburst
07-07-2023, 07:47 PM
Sure hendo will be on his way anyway, just think he was a target but we got levitt, think it will be Jeggo, Newell and Levitt with Campbell, JDH and kenneh for cover
Kenneh is surely on the list to go also.
07-07-2023, 07:49 PM
Kenneh is surely on the list to go also.
Be fine with another loan move.
Boys only 20 and has plenty room to improve, but if he's unlikely to feature much this season, a loan makes a lot of sense.
07-07-2023, 07:50 PM
We need to decide if Megwa is going to be back up right back or are we bringing in a loan.
Interesting to see what we end up with at centre half and centre forward. Could easily be a couple of loans in there.
Other issue in favour of loans is we have used much of our budget on Youan and Levitt.
Ah ok, I just thought he was hoping to be ready for after pre season so would give him untill the end of August and we would be using Megwa as cover for Miller until something like you say would be decided.
That's another area we've not seen many names linked after the Cadden injury, looking forward to seeing Miller and Megwa in pre season.
K-Zazu
07-07-2023, 08:48 PM
That’s a mid-table midfield collection of players for me, Levitt gets injured and it’s pretty hopeless
07-07-2023, 08:57 PM
That’s a mid-table midfield collection of players for me, Levitt gets injured and it’s pretty hopeless
Eh. Isn’t that the players from last year?
1875Sean
07-07-2023, 08:59 PM
I can’t see Fiorini coming and getting in ahead of Newell or Levitt.
I think we will focus on getting another centre back in if fish doesn’t come, a striker and even another winger before another central mid
cameronw-hfc
07-07-2023, 09:01 PM
I think we will focus on getting another centre back in if fish doesn’t come, a striker and even another winger before another central mid
I'd take him btw. Another creative player, maybe a younger player on loan like this one, a CB and a striker and I'd be quietly confident with our squad. 2 cbs would be ideal
scm70nyd1973
07-07-2023, 09:09 PM
Marbella I think
Sorry I should have been clearer 🫢I was wondering if it was where they were staying or if it was taken at the training area where the open training session is to be held.
HendoDelivered
07-07-2023, 09:21 PM
Fiorni would be an excellent addition. Would all but spell the end for Hendo I think
Donegal Hibby
07-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Could there be a possibility that if we are after Fiorini that maybe someone else might be leaving like Newell or Campbell and he's seen as there replacement rather than Henderson's? . Just a guess btw .
I agree that a CB and striker will probably be the priority now Id imagine. A winger might be needed now as maybe a RB probably is too .
07-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Could there be a possibility that if we are after Fiorini that maybe someone else might be leaving like Newell or Campbell and he's seen as there replacement rather than Henderson's? . Just a guess btw .
I agree that a CB and striker will probably be the priority now Id imagine. A winger might be needed now as maybe a RB probably is too .
Agreed, quite a few more required
CentreForward
07-07-2023, 09:37 PM
i did wonder about that and don’t think that’s impossible. I did see someone, who seems to be in the know, mentioning the other day here that someone would be leaving who would be a surprise to us all. I instantly thought of Newell and Campbell when I read that. That might make the signing of Fiorini seem more likely. As with yourself only a guess.
07-07-2023, 09:38 PM
If we had a midfield 3 of Newell, Levitt and Fiorini I genuinely don’t think the opposition would get a touch of the ball.
Which is a good thing because I’m not convinced we’d manage to win it back if they did🤣
07-07-2023, 09:51 PM
Was their an ‘enquiry’ about Newell knocked back from us a couple weeks back or was that just .net rumours?
07-07-2023, 10:14 PM
Dunno if its been mentioned but Dylan McGeouch signs for Carlisle. Loved watching him play for Hibs
07-07-2023, 10:21 PM
i did wonder about that and don’t think that’s impossible. I did see someone, who seems to be in the know, mentioning the other day here that someone would be leaving who would be a surprise to us all. I instantly thought of Newell and Campbell when I read that. That might make the signing of Fiorini seem more likely. As with yourself only a guess.
Better not be one of the players who my laddies got on the back of the new kits which cost me in the region of 150 notes
MagicSwirlingShip
07-07-2023, 10:24 PM
Dunno if its been mentioned but Dylan McGeouch signs for Carlisle. Loved watching him play for Hibs
Good luck to him.
07-07-2023, 10:41 PM
We won't be signing Fiorini.
badabing67
07-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Ok I'll bite..... Howzat
07-07-2023, 10:56 PM
If we had a midfield 3 of Newell, Levitt and Fiorini I genuinely don’t think the opposition would get a touch of the ball.
Which is a good thing because I’m not convinced we’d manage to win it back if they did🤣
Indeed mate, that's what kind of worries me too ... It's brilliant to have a bit of flair in midfield, which Newell and Levitt, if what folk say is accurate, can provide, but you also need a bit of steel as well ..... That cup winning team was a case in point .... Bartley fought for everything and McGinn never gave up on a ball, even McGeouch could put in a tackle. We have to be careful not to make the midfield too lightweight, which is why we need a Tiger in there in the mould of big Marv ... just a guy who can win the ball back and give it to the flair players.
League aside our only hope of something to polish by the end of the season is in the cups, and you simply cant do that without a solid defence ... we need at least one more no nonsense belligerent bugger of a defensive midfield player and at least one more centre half so nasty that only his mother could love him :greengrin
08-07-2023, 05:49 AM
Indeed mate, that's what kind of worries me too ... It's brilliant to have a bit of flair in midfield, which Newell and Levitt, if what folk say is accurate, can provide, but you also need a bit of steel as well ..... That cup winning team was a case in point .... Bartley fought for everything and McGinn never gave up on a ball, even McGeouch could put in a tackle. We have to be careful not to make the midfield too lightweight, which is why we need a Tiger in there in the mould of big Marv ... just a guy who can win the ball back and give it to the flair players.
League aside our only hope of something to polish by the end of the season is in the cups, and you simply cant do that without a solid defence ... we need at least one more no nonsense belligerent bugger of a defensive midfield player and at least one more centre half so nasty that only his mother could love him :greengrin
Dont disagree with any of this. I'd also love us to sign a big bully of a #9, just someone to give opposition centre halves a torred time, make space for other players, and get on the end of balls from out wide.
Look how hard Nouble was to play against! I dont mean to sign him specifically, but a similar mould, just someone that's big and awkward.
Sent from my SM-S918B using Tapatalk
08-07-2023, 07:14 AM
He's been farmed out to Lincoln and Blackpool. More chance of him being farned out to us than getting anywhere near Man Citys first team squad. Sounds like the player wants to come. Could be rubbish I guess.
McGruber
08-07-2023, 08:00 AM
Dont disagree with any of this. I'd also love us to sign a big bully of a #9, just someone to give opposition centre halves a torred time, make space for other players, and get on the end of balls from out wide.
Look how hard Nouble was to play against! I dont mean to sign him specifically, but a similar mould, just someone that's big and awkward.
Sent from my SM-S918B using Tapatalk
That's exactly the type of striker we need to compliment the type we have, all smaller and nippy (Doidge apart but think he is done). 2 centre backs aswell, ideally Fish and another big, strong, nasty no nonesense type.
Maybe CJ can be added later if available when fit, tidy player and really liked his passion and fight
08-07-2023, 08:04 AM
That's exactly the type of striker we need to compliment the type we have, all smaller and nippy (Doidge apart but think he is done). 2 centre backs aswell, ideally Fish and another big, strong, nasty no nonesense type.
Maybe CJ can be added later if available when fit, tidy player and really liked his passion and fight
And an upgrade on Jeggo?
08-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Was their an ‘enquiry’ about Newell knocked back from us a couple weeks back or was that just .net rumours?
L J said in an interview early July we had a couple of offers for players pending and we will have decisions to make He obviously didn’t mention names
08-07-2023, 08:28 AM
And an upgrade on Jeggo?
I think Jeggo is enough - he’s good at breaking the play up and no-nonsense passing. CF and CB a priority. Does anyone else think that Melkersen could be the answer through the middle? I just have a feeling about him that with Boyle and Youan either side, he could flourish and would work well with both.
Paulie Walnuts
08-07-2023, 08:30 AM
I think Jeggo is enough - he’s good at breaking the play up and no-nonsense passing. CF and CB a priority. Does anyone else think that Melkersen could be the answer through the middle? I just have a feeling about him that with Boyle and Youan either side, he could flourish and would work well with both.
Not for me. If Melkersen was to be our first choice striker we’d be in real bother imo.
MagicSwirlingShip
08-07-2023, 08:30 AM
Not the answer in the short term but possibly medium to long term. Don’t think he needs the pressure of being our main striker just now. Hopefully he can come on in some games we are up and pitch in with a few goals off the bench, get his confidence up.
08-07-2023, 08:35 AM
And an upgrade on Jeggo?
We don't have millions to spend on one of them
08-07-2023, 08:48 AM
And an upgrade on Jeggo?
LJ loves Jeggo. Unfortunately
tug.lismore
08-07-2023, 09:00 AM
I think Jeggo is enough - he’s good at breaking the play up and no-nonsense passing. CF and CB a priority. Does anyone else think that Melkersen could be the answer through the middle? I just have a feeling about him that with Boyle and Youan either side, he could flourish and would work well with both.Jeggo is under appreciated.
If we are going to play with Boyle and Youan wide, push the fullbacks up and have an attacking midfielder like Levitt in the team then you need a player who does exactly what Jeggo does.
Protects the back line, breaks up opposition attacks and wins the ball back. Anything after that is a bonus.
LJ wants a team that has the ball a lot. Jeggo gets it for you.
Other areas need addressed first. Namely centre half and no 9.
Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk
08-07-2023, 09:03 AM
We don't have millions to spend on one of them
Did bartley cost millions?
08-07-2023, 09:04 AM
Jeggo is under appreciated.
If we are going to play with Boyle and Youan wide, push the fullbacks up and have an attacking midfielder like Levitt in the team then you need a player who does exactly what Jeggo does.
Protects the back line, breaks up opposition attacks and wins the ball back. Anything after that is a bonus.
The guy cant pass a ball 5 yards and isn’t all that he is cracked up to be by some at winning the ball back either. Caught wrong side far too often , which is the sign of a poor reader of the game
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-07-2023, 09:05 AM
The guy cant pass a ball 5 yards
He clearly can or he wouldn’t be a professional footballer, all this “can’t pass a ball” patter is shan and blatantly untrue
08-07-2023, 09:06 AM
The guy cant pass a ball 5 yards
But he can
08-07-2023, 09:06 AM
He clearly can or he wouldn’t be a professional footballer, all this “can’t pass a ball” patter is shan and blatantly untrue
His passing is very poor tbh
08-07-2023, 09:08 AM
It actually isnt .. its a real thing , and he pretty much fits the bill
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-07-2023, 09:09 AM
Once more, people who’s passing of a football is “very poor” are not professional footballers. His passing might not be as good as a Joe Newell or a Dylan Levitt or a Josh Campbell type player, but he isn’t that type of player and it doesn’t have to be.
08-07-2023, 09:09 AM
But he can
More often than not i see him doing this toe poke thing into mid air , rather than stay calm and keep possession
Just_Jimmy
08-07-2023, 09:12 AM
The guy cant pass a ball 5 yards and isn’t all that he is cracked up to be by some at winning the ball back either. Caught wrong side far too often , which is the sign of a poor reader of the gameAnd the yellow cards tell a story.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Once more, people who’s passing of a football is “very poor” are not professional footballers. His passing might not be as good as a Joe Newell or a Dylan Levitt or a Josh Campbell type player, but he isn’t that type of player and it doesn’t have to be.
The only credit id give your point , is that he has been used to playing in slower leagues , and not closed down as quickly. The point still stands thougj as he is playing in scotland
The guy cant pass a ball 5 yards and isn’t all that he is cracked up to be by some at winning the ball back either. Caught wrong side far too often , which is the sign of a poor reader of the game
Which is why he is booked most weeks. He’s a limited footballer. No reason we can’t get a 6 who can drive us forward as well as being a spoiler.
08-07-2023, 09:14 AM
Why does he not have to be. No reason to accept the limitations if you want the team to be better.
08-07-2023, 09:17 AM
Wasnt a great fan of gogic , but is he really any better than him for example?
08-07-2023, 09:17 AM
Which is why he is booked most weeks. He’s a limited footballer. No reason we can’t get a 6 who can drive us forward as well as being a spoiler.
Lewis Stevenson?
08-07-2023, 09:18 AM
Definitely agree , yes he helped us improve from a very bad position we were in .. But we need better , especially if it’s possession based that we are after as some are saying
jakeshibs
08-07-2023, 09:22 AM
Sorry but we need better that JDH in our team
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-07-2023, 09:23 AM
Why does he not have to be. No reason to accept the limitations if you want the team to be better.
Because what we need in a midfield three with two creative players is a disrupter who’s main role is to win the ball back, break up play and give the ball to the two playmakers. This is what he does, and he does it pretty well imo. He doesn’t have to be spraying World Cup passes into the channels
08-07-2023, 09:25 AM
Take 5 minutes to watch what JJ does when Paul Hanlon or Lewis Miller moves forward with the ball today.
He has the natural instinct to plug the gap, and, if our move breaks down, you can be sure to see Jeggo working in the right area of the pitch to stem any counter.
We didn't have that before & lost so many cheap goals without him
I like him (as a way to bring our back 4 into the attack)
08-07-2023, 09:25 AM
More often than not i see him doing this toe poke thing into mid air , rather than stay calm and keep possession
Yeah I've noticed that too, he often does those hopeless attempts at chipped through balls that end up nowhere near a Hibs player, anytime he's under the slightest bit of pressure without and easy pass on.
It's not just his passing ability, his composure and awareness of space when we're in possession are pretty poor.
JDH and Newell got absolutely slated on here for sideways passing when playing deep under Ross and Maloney, but jeggo often can't even manage that.
08-07-2023, 09:28 AM
Because what we need in a midfield three with two creative players is a disrupter who’s main role is to win the ball back, break up play and give the ball to the two playmakers. This is what he does, and he does it pretty well imo. He doesn’t have to be spraying World Cup passes into the channels
Couldn't agree more. Get the ball and move it on, that's his job. Aye, he misplaced a few passes last season, every player does, every player. Messi etc included.
Of course we could do better, same goes for every position on the pitch. But more than happy with Jeggo going into the season.
08-07-2023, 09:28 AM
Take 5 minutes to watch what JJ does when Paul Hanlon or Lewis Miller moves forward with the ball today.
He has the natural instinct to plug the gap, and, if our move breaks down, you can be sure to see Jeggo working in the right area of the pitch to stem any counter.
That’s what I think too.
He’s got his limitations but we are a better team defensively when he plays. He does a pretty good job at what he’s asked to do IMO.
There’s no question better will be out there, nowhere near a priority position for me though.
08-07-2023, 09:30 AM
Jeggo is under appreciated.
I don't think anything after that is a bonus. That player has to be able to do those things and comfortably distribute the ball from defense. Especially with small, quick forwards, getting the ball into them is vital. He needs to be able to consistently take the ball under pressure and keep it, and move it forward. Hoofing it because Jeggo cant distribute the ball is how we lose games. The match turns into a mud slinging contest and we cant control it. It means Newell has to drop deep to get it or our fullbacks do.
Jeggo is fine for top 6. He will do a solid job. To be competing and achieving 3rd, an upgrade would help us a lot.
08-07-2023, 09:33 AM
That’s what I think too.
He’s got his limitations but we are a better team defensively when he plays. He does a pretty good job at what he’s asked to do IMO.
There’s no question better will be out there, nowhere near a priority position for me though.
That’s my view too. If we can get better than any current player then great. But our priorities for now must be a 1st choice centre half and striker
08-07-2023, 09:34 AM
Wasnt a great fan of gogic , but is he really any better than him for example?
I liked Gogic, and think he could be effective alongside the players we have now.
Limited for sure, but had huge strengths as a player as well as weaknesses.
We seemed to discard him a bit quickly for my liking.
Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 09:37 AM
Jimmy Jeggo does exactly what he's meant to do in our team in breaking up attacks and getting stuck in , he also seems to be good at organising others around him and we don't need him to be driving us forward or a excellent passer , that's for our other midfielders to do and just leave Jeggo to what he's good at.
08-07-2023, 09:40 AM
That’s what I think too.
Agree with all of this.
I'd also take an upgrade if one was obviously available on our budget but I don't think it's as easy as that.
There were a few variables at play at the time but it wasn't a coincidence that our defensive record improved when he arrived and settled, and sometimes you need to forgive the odd bit of poor distribution if he's bringing other stuff to the table.
08-07-2023, 09:41 AM
It is frightfully poor.
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-07-2023, 09:45 AM
It is frightfully poor.
Not a whole lot worse than the boy wonder Josh Campbell, who I also like btw. If hibs can afford an upgrade on Jeggo once the other glaring issues in the squad have been recruited for then so be it, great. Until then, let’s keep in mind if he could organise and defend like he does as well as pass the ball around like Busquets then he wouldn’t be at Hibs.
08-07-2023, 09:46 AM
People using jeggo's yellow cards as a stick to beat him.
For how long have we needed a player who would take a yellow card to stop dangerous counter attacks? Too often over the last few seasons the midfield were just walked through.
Now we've got someone who puts a tackle in and folk are still moaning.
08-07-2023, 09:49 AM
Not a whole lot worse than the boy wonder Josh Campbell, who I also like btw. If hibs can afford an upgrade on Jeggo once the other glaring issues in the squad have been recruited for then so be it, great. Until then, let’s keep in mind if he could organise and defend like he does as well as pass the ball around like Busquets then he wouldn’t be at Hibs.
Campbell’s passing also leaves a lot to be desired but playing in advanced position he will be making riskier passes. We are being told all Jeggo is doing is winning the ball and keeping it simple by giving it to a team mate but more than a quarter of his short passes don’t make it to a teammate.
08-07-2023, 09:51 AM
If a players passing % is very high I’d be thinking they don’t take enough risk with their passing.
Obviously that’s to a certain degree.
But I remember a De Bruyne interview where he said if his passing is up at high 90% then he must not be taking enough risk and is playing too safe.
I don’t think Jeggo takes much risk tbf when passing and whilst it’s not the best, it’s not terrible. He’s comfortable enough on the ball and far more than a Gogic, Kenneh or Bartley imo.
His ability on the ball along with his defensive and leadership qualities make him good in that position imo.
If we could get better then great.
08-07-2023, 09:54 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/josh-doig-hibs-seven-figure-27282581
08-07-2023, 10:01 AM
Campbell’s passing also leaves a lot to be desired but playing in advanced position he will be making riskier passes. We are being told all Jeggo is doing is winning the ball and keeping it simple by giving it to a team mate but more than a quarter of his short passes don’t make it to a teammate.
It would be interesting to compare his passing to that of other players in the same position/role.
Could it be the case that because he often wins the ball in a challenge, he's immediately under pressure from his opponent trying to win it back, so passing accurately is more difficult? :dunno:
Stats are great, and your access to them is genuinely impressive, but they don't always give the whole picture.
08-07-2023, 10:02 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/josh-doig-hibs-seven-figure-27282581
Lovely.
Thanks again, Hearts. 👍
08-07-2023, 10:03 AM
For how long have we needed a player who would take a yellow card to stop dangerous counter attacks? Too often over the last few seasons the midfield were just walked through.
But it’s a poor tackle yeh. It’s not a stick to beat him with. But his tackles are often mistimed and he gets booked due to that. His reactions aren’t great.
08-07-2023, 10:05 AM
That’s not a natural instinct. It’s exactly what every DM should do. It’s coached behaviour. I’ve seen 10 year old kids doing it for years.
08-07-2023, 10:09 AM
Ryan Fraser told he has no future at Newcastle banished to the u21s.Could be a loan option?
08-07-2023, 10:10 AM
Ryan Fraser told he has no future at Newcastle banished to the u21s.Could be a loan to buy option
Aye could see him ending up at one of the uglies, probably Celtic.
Ryan Fraser told he has no future at Newcastle banished to the u21s.Could be a loan to buy option
He’s on about 65k a week at Newcastle, if not more!
08-07-2023, 10:14 AM
It would be interesting to compare his passing to that of other players in the same position/role.
Could it be the case that because he often wins the ball in a challenge, he's immediately under pressure from his opponent trying to win it back, so passing accurately is more difficult? :dunno:
Stats are great, and your access to them is genuinely impressive, but they don't always give the whole picture.
Passing should be mid 80s in his position. All those other guys play further forward and are under more pressure than he is on the ball.
08-07-2023, 10:17 AM
Jimmy Jeggo does exactly what he's meant to do in our team in breaking up attacks and getting stuck in , he also seems to be good at organising others around him and we don't need him to be driving us forward or a excellent passer , that's for our other midfielders to do and just leave Jeggo to what he's good at.
This is such an old fashioned opinion. Like when people want CBs that just punt the ball away, or strikers that just score goals. DMs are no long just spoilers. We should have a 3 midfield that are capable of rotation not just stuck in their safe area. Jeggo was brought in to stabilise now we improve by getting something more.
08-07-2023, 10:18 AM
The non-old firm players who played the most minutes as a defensive midfield during 22/23 according to Opta.
Short passing accuracy:
08-07-2023, 10:22 AM
If a players passing % is very high I’d be thinking they don’t take enough risk with their passing.
Obviously that’s to a certain degree.
But I remember a De Bruyne interview where he said if his passing is up at high 90% then he must not be taking enough risk and is playing too safe.
I don’t think Jeggo takes much risk tbf when passing and whilst it’s not the best, it’s not terrible. He’s comfortable enough on the ball and far more than a Gogic, Kenneh or Bartley imo.
His ability on the ball along with his defensive and leadership qualities make him good in that position imo.
If we could get better then great.
De Bruyne plays behind the striker and is his teams main creative player.
Rodri sits back and shields the defense and starts attacks. His pass success last season is 91%
08-07-2023, 10:25 AM
Did bartley cost millions?
I don't think Bartley was any better than Jeggo. He's another player that seems to get better the longer he's been away. Bartley was completely ineffective against teams we dominated the ball against. Jeggo is still able to contribute in those games.
08-07-2023, 10:26 AM
This is such an old fashioned opinion. Like when people want CBs that just punt the ball away, or strikers that just score goals. DMs are no long just spoilers. We should have a 3 midfield that are capable of rotation not just stuck in their safe area. Jeggo was brought in to stabilise now we improve by getting something more.
At our level 3 midfielders capable of rotation leaves us with the Jack of all trades master on none midfield we’ve had for years. One of which less than the sum of its parts.
Jeggo is limited but limited players, utilised correctly in a balanced midfield set up to compliment the other roles can work effectively.
08-07-2023, 10:30 AM
I don't think Bartley was any better than Jeggo. He's another player that seems to get better the longer he's been away. Bartley was completely ineffective against teams we dominated the ball against. Jeggo is still able to contribute in those games.
You cannot be serious? That bartley wasnt better than jeggo..
08-07-2023, 10:32 AM
That’s not a natural instinct. It’s exactly what every DM should do. It’s coached behaviour. I’ve seen 10 year old kids doing it for years.
I’ve also seen professional footballers playing for Hibs against other professionals demonstrate variable ability or willingness to do that something a 10 year old can do.
Cat Stanton
08-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Could we maybe get him for a fortnight?
1875Sean
08-07-2023, 10:36 AM
Sorry but we need better that JDH in our team
I agree which is why I said for cover
08-07-2023, 10:37 AM
The non-old firm players who played the most minutes as a defensive midfield during 22/23 according to Opta.
Short passing accuracy:
Thanks
08-07-2023, 10:39 AM
That soft midfield chat is a complete myth, under Ross and Maloney both Newell and JDH were in the top 10 or so players in the league for tackles per game, both were far tidier on the ball than jeggo as well.
Playing them together as a deep double pivot often stifled our creativity but our midfield was absolutely not easy to walk through, our defensive record compared to other non old firm teams has been excellent the few seasons before last.
Hibees1973
08-07-2023, 10:42 AM
In the current climate with OPTA and all these other stat companies pulling information, you would hope and expect our recruitment team to be actually going out to watch potential signings in the flesh. Not just relying on Whyscout & OPTA.
It makes me wonder what the recruitment team do, given some of the signings in the door previous to the current transfer window. I read on hibs.net before that when the Gordon's came in a lot of the scouting network was binned, i.e scouts employed by Hibs in various areas of the UK and Europe were told they were surplus to our requirements. This would give credence to signing the likes of Tavares, Bojang and various others who played very little 1st team games at a comparable level to the SPFL. So on what basis were they recruited. Know each team is entitled to the odd punt but there have been far too many at Hibs previously.
Our transfer window this season does appear to be a bit more sensible. Kensall & Ron, before he passed away did say mistakes have been made and they have learned from it. Recruitment being the obvious one.
There is still 5 or 6 players in the squad that must be moved on to make room for higher quality players. It may be at some point our recruitment will plateau because we are unable to get the poor signings previously made off the wage bill.
08-07-2023, 10:42 AM
At our level 3 midfielders capable of rotation leaves us with the Jack of all trades master on none midfield we’ve had for years. One of which less than the sum of its parts.
Jeggo is limited but limited players, utilised correctly in a balanced midfield set up to compliment the other roles can work effectively.
We can be more regimented against the top teams but we must be more open and expansive against the rest.
Could we maybe get him for a fortnight?
[emoji1787] couple of hours more like
MagicSwirlingShip
08-07-2023, 10:45 AM
Doing big Marv a massive disservice there, we dominated the ball against most teams in the Championship.
08-07-2023, 10:48 AM
I know he will be on a big wage at Newcastle but better them paying a wage and putting him in the shop window
Totally. Tbh he’s been the hide and seek champion at SJP for most of his time there barring a handful of games.
08-07-2023, 10:53 AM
Doing big Marv a massive disservice there, we dominated the ball against most teams in the Championship.
Think championship is the key part to that sentence.
I really liked Marv, however remember there would often be moans about his ability on the ball and the trio from Allan, Mcgeouch, McGinn and Fyvie was preferred.
Some games he was perfect and exactly what we needed, same as Jeggo.
But in the premier league his minutes seemed to drop quite a bit
Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 11:01 AM
Probably is mate though I do like a DM to do what he's primarily there for and that's to break up attacks and organise others around him which Jeggo does .
It's been said that Jeggo's alright for achieving top 6 and if we want to be challenging fop 3rd we need better , 5 points we ended up behind the 3rd place team and maybe if we had Jeggo in earlier we might have achieved this .
I noticed on the passing stats CC put up that kenneh has also better passing yet I think most of us would pick Jeggo over kenneh as he's does what a DM is supposed to a lot better even though is passing is poorer .
I wouldn't be against upgrading on Jeggo position though not at the minute when there's far more important area's in the team that need sorting first .
MagicSwirlingShip
08-07-2023, 11:08 AM
I really liked Marv, however remember there would often be moans about his ability on the ball and the trio from Allan, Mcgeouch, McGinn and Fyvie was preferred.
I know, I was there. He played most of his games for us in the Championship, when we had most of the ball, and he didn’t struggle.
By the time we got to the Prem he was more of a bit part player. Good player for Hibs who was a fan favourite and played well in many big matches for us.
08-07-2023, 11:13 AM
Just want to add a wee bit perspective to the James Jeggo passing stats. JJ joined us in January and therefore hasn’t had a full season - unlike the others mentioned - to improve his accuracy stats. So for half a season, coming into a challenging league, I think he has done quite well actually and I’m a fan! I am also certain we will see the best of him next season.
08-07-2023, 11:18 AM
Bartley well underrated if this thread anything to go by. His passing was decent as well, certainly way better than Jeggo.
I genuinely cant believe anyone thinks Jeggo is better than Bartley was. Bartley was instrumental in some huge games for us. Jeggo hasn't come close to putting in perfomances like that. And his distribution is amongst the worst I've ever seen at ER from a Hibs midfielder.
08-07-2023, 11:19 AM
Just want to add a wee bit perspective to the James Jeggo passing stats. JJ joined us in January and therefore hasn’t had a full season - unlike the others mentioned - to improve his accuracy stats. So for half a season, coming into a challenging league, I think he has done quite well actually and I’m a fan! I am also certain we will see the best of him next season.
His stats should be better with a smaller sample size. Like JDHs are.
I know, I was there. He played most of his games for us in the Championship, when we had most of the ball, and he didn’t struggle.
By the time we got to the Prem he was more of a bit part player. Good player for Hibs who was a fan favourite and played well in many big matches for us.
When he had most of the ball, we either won or Marv was the first one hooked. He wasn't what we needed when trying to control a game. He served his purpose as a big smasher when we needed it, and a great guy to have around, but his ability on the ball held him back. Fyvie and McGeouch were a lot better.
08-07-2023, 11:20 AM
Bartley well underrated if this thread anything to go by. His passing was decent as well, certainly way better than Jeggo.
I genuinely cant believe anyone thinks Jeggo is better than Bartley was. Bartley was instrumental in some huge games for us. Jeggo hasn't come close to putting in perfomances like that. And his distrubtion is amongst the worst I've ever seen at ER from a Hibs midfielder.
Interesting though that we’ve won Edinburgh derbies with both of them in midfield - and a very long spell with zero success in between.
Rick Rude
08-07-2023, 11:23 AM
Think Marv also benefitted from having better plays around him that constantly wanted the ball and moved for it. There was almost always an easy 5 yard pass available.
Not sure the team last season were of quite the same attitude and especially when things weren't going well.
Exactly right. Also following up on your earlier yellow card comment. Many red cards nowadays seem to result from a poor 1st touch and then a desperate lunge to get the ball back. IMO, JJ is an accident waiting to happen in that regard. We cannot afford to be a man short.
MagicSwirlingShip
08-07-2023, 11:23 AM
When he had most of the ball, we either won or Marv was the first one hooked. He wasn't what we needed when trying to control a game. He served his purpose as a big smasher when we needed it, and a great guy to have around, but his ability on the ball held him back. Fyvie and McGeouch were a lot better.
I agree Fyvie and Dylan were a better pairing, but he was a great option to have. Fyvie also underrated among the Hibs support IMO.
08-07-2023, 11:24 AM
Stats are funny things, how many games did JDH play last season?
MagicSwirlingShip
Interesting though that we’ve won Edinburgh derbies with both of them in midfield - and a very long spell with zero success in between.
Very interesting.
I thought he became surplus to requirements whenever we played 3 at the back, as that left us with too many players who were primarily defensive. We started to play that way a bit more often around that time.
No matter who you’re playing, I think you need 3 central players with a defensive focus, either a back 3 or a 2 and a CM who will drop if either of the centre halves push on. I think that’s the case even if you’re playing a team you expect to dominate (although all other players will need to be fairly attacking).
08-07-2023, 11:26 AM
Stats are funny things, how many games did JDH play last season?
Stats aren't funny things. They are quite simple and important when comparing very similar players. They aren't painting a good picture for Jeggo as a player who can pass and dictate the game.
JDH 19 appearances, Jeggo 16
08-07-2023, 11:29 AM
The 2-0 Boyle derby was without either. Hallberg and Silva played centre mid that day, and skooshed it.
08-07-2023, 11:30 AM
The owners have really been backing us well, but how do you know what our budget is and that a large chunk has already been spent on two players? Its guesswork.
08-07-2023, 11:31 AM
Bartley played in 8 Edinburgh derbies. We won 4, drew 3 and the only one we lost was with a last minute goal after Bartley had to leave the pitch injured following a disgraceful challenge from Soutar.
In his time on the pitch in those games we conceded only 3 goals.
Jeggo was woeful in his first and last derbies (we lost as many goals against Hearts in Jeggo's first game as Bartley did in 8 games) and had a decent one in the middle where we scraped a 1 nil win. Long way to go before any meaningful comparison on that front.
Frankly, Bartley has an outstanding derby record for any Hibs player.
supermcginn
08-07-2023, 11:32 AM
I don't even think Jeggo is half the player.
Greenio
08-07-2023, 11:45 AM
Dont we have to sign Jegoo for next season? Thought he was a short term loan?
08-07-2023, 11:48 AM
Dont we have to sign Jegoo for next season? Thought he was a short term loan?
Permanent 18 month contract IIRC.
jws1875
08-07-2023, 11:48 AM
The owners have really been backing us well, but how do you know what our budget is and that a large chunk has already been spent on two players? Its guesswork.
I also thought by the wording in the Youan announcement he was bought with investment from the Gordon family rather than from the budget.
Bartley wasn't the best passer and got his fair share of yellows but he was what we needed at the time, the midfield 3 we had after January under Lennon was almost perfect but getting that combination again is almost impossible. A good solid dependable ball winning midfielder with 2 flair players infront of him is what's needed.
08-07-2023, 11:51 AM
Bartley was a better player than jeggo in every way shape and form. His influence on the team took him to a another level above , to suggest otherwise is absolutely mental
Bartley played in 8 Edinburgh derbies. We won 4, drew 3 and the only one we lost was with a last minute goal after Bartley had to leave the pitch injured following a disgraceful challenge from Soutar.
Jeggo was woeful in his first and last derbies (we lost as many goals against Hearts in Jeggo's first game as Bartley did in 8 games) and had a decent one in the middle where we scraped a 1 nil win. Long way to go before any meaningful comparison on that front.
I’m certainly not going to take up any sort of argument that involves arguing against Bartley as a Hibs player who I liked, defended, thought we underused towards the end of his time with us and then missed after he left.
I also think that Jeggo is useful though. Imperfect for sure and I’d take an upgrade if an obvious one was available but I think he’s one of these much mocked “unseen work” types who makes 5 or 6 players around him look better and the team’s results improve as a result.
The 2-0 Boyle derby was without either. Hallberg and Silva played centre mid that day, and skooshed it.
Actually they are because percentages can be manipulated very simply to make stats look different. One game can be the difference between a low, mid or high percentage stat. So, JDH played three more games and is only a few percent higher, what if JDH was terrific in those games and mediocre in some other, see my point and issue with stats?
08-07-2023, 11:53 AM
I’m certainly not going to take up any sort of argument that involves arguing against Bartley as a Hibs player who I liked, defended, thought we underused towards the end of his time with us and then missed after he left.
I also think that Jeggo is useful though. Imperfect for sure and I’d take an upgrade if an obvious one was available but I think he’s one of these much mocked “unseen work” types who makes 5 or 6 players around him look better and the team’s results improve as a result.
100 percent were I am too!
08-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Actually they are because percentages can be manipulated very simply to make stats look different. One game can be the difference between a low, mid or high percentage stat. So, JDH played three more games and is only a few percent higher, what if JDH was terrific in those games and mediocre in some other, see my point and issue with stats?
I think stats are useful in giving some objectivity to a subjective view. We might think Jeggo's passing is poor and the stats could back that viewpoint up so you could be pretty confident that your subjective view is right.
However, going back to an earlier point, what if he takes more risks with his passes and so while he doesn't compete as many, the ones he does complete are better than a higher percentage of completed safe passes?
I don't think these days you can rely on either just what your eyes tell you it what the stats say - you need to use both to get a complete view, ace you usually need more than one metric when using the stats.
Have covered this before but simple things like "we concede more goals when Rocky plays therefore he shouldn't play" or "we win more games when Newell doesn't play therefore he weakens the team" are far too simplistic to hold any merit in the conversation.
08-07-2023, 12:00 PM
Agree with this completely.
h18eeynick
08-07-2023, 12:01 PM
Dylan McGeoch has signed a 2 year deal with my local side Carlisle United. They got promoted in the play off final
Hibees1973
08-07-2023, 12:02 PM
Indeed he did.
It has been debated already and while Bartley was not a technical player he was strong, neat and tidy. Which are the basic qualities a defensive mid should have. If you were to add on a great engine, more quality and a goal or two then these players tend to move to a forward midfield position.
I remember fondly immense displays from Bartley in derbies, particularly at tiny. He was superb.
Rick Rude
08-07-2023, 12:06 PM
I don't even think Jeggo is half the player.
Loved Marv for his attitude, strength and leadership and not sure Jeggo has those to the same level but the idea his ability to pick passes and play was much different is wishful thinking. I'm sure I can recall a couple of shocking games in the championship when we had to play him and Fyvie as a 2 and created next to nothing.
Hopefully next season Jeggo plays a similar role to Marv and deployed for certain games when we need a bit more dig. Come games against the lesser teams play a JDH type in that position.
raeburnhibs
08-07-2023, 12:18 PM
The use of sample size calculation directly influences research findings. Very small samples undermine the internal and external validity of a study. Ergo bigger is typically more accurate.
08-07-2023, 12:30 PM
The use of sample size calculation directly influences research findings. Very small samples undermine the internal and external validity of a study. Ergo bigger is typically more accurate.
Jeggo has had enough games to provide a meaningful sample size. And as MW pointed out, JDH has played a similar number of games
I’m a massive advocate for stats in football. In the case of Jeggo, people can simply trust their eyes. He’s obviously not a great passer and quite often he kicked the ball directly out of play.
I think there is a consensus on him. He’s done pretty well and should keep his place until we sign better. We can and should definitely be capable of finding an upgrade on him.
08-07-2023, 12:31 PM
Dylan McGeoch has signed a 2 year deal with my local side Carlisle United. They got promoted in the play off final
I'm friends with one of the Sky Sports commentators who regularly covers Carlisle games. I'll hitch a lift from him sometime this season to see DM so it might be good to meet up for a pint beforehand.
Cat Stanton
08-07-2023, 12:36 PM
Any update on Fish?
Or is it not happening?
h18eeynick
08-07-2023, 12:39 PM
I'm friends with one of the Sky Sports commentators who regularly covers Carlisle games. I'll hitch a lift from him sometime this season to see DM so it might be good to meet up for a pint beforehand.
Yeah that would be good
08-07-2023, 12:40 PM
10% is not ''a few percentage'' higher. Its a massive difference.
Jeggo played 400 more minutes than JDH, so thats actually in Jakes favor IMO, as he's had less time to **** up, certainly came on when we were in winning positions a few times to see out games too. Newell played far more minutes than Jeggo in a more advanced role and was still much better passing wise.
Again, there is really no way to paint this that shows Jeggo is good at passing.
Paulie Walnuts
08-07-2023, 12:40 PM
Bartley was a better player than jeggo in every way shape and form. His influence on the team took him to a another level above , to suggest otherwise is absolutely mental
I can’t actually quite believe there’s a comparison being made between the two.
08-07-2023, 12:43 PM
Didn’t realise I opened the defensive mid discussion thread
08-07-2023, 12:44 PM
10% is not ''a few percentage'' higher. Its a massive difference.
Jeggo played 400 more minutes than JDH, so thats actually in Jakes favour, as he's had less time to **** up. Newell played far more minutes than Jeggo in a more advanced role and was still much better passing wise.
Again, there is really no way to paint this that shows Jeggo is good at passing.
As per the post above if there's a small sample size then each instance good or bad has a bigger impact on the percentage than it does in a bigger sample size (1 bad pass in ten versus 2 bad passes in ten gives you a ten percent difference but it's just one pass).
08-07-2023, 12:51 PM
I'm pretty sure Jeggo only met his teammates for the first time the day before his first derby. The 1-0 win we scraped was 1-0 going on 5-0. We were very good that day.
08-07-2023, 12:52 PM
As per the post above if there's a small sample size then each instance good or bad has a bigger impact on the percentage than it does in a bigger sample size (1 bad pass in ten versus 2 bad passes in ten gives you a ten percent difference but it's just one pass).
Yeah, I do agree with that, although Newell plays far riskier passes than Jeggo and still comes up better. I don't think passing is Jeggos strength at all, and good football teams need guys infront of the back 4 who can pass.
08-07-2023, 12:53 PM
We scraped nothing. We won comfortably 1-0. It was much more comfortable than the 1-0 replay SC win for example.
Hallberg is available
08-07-2023, 01:03 PM
Bartley had the fortune of a settling period in a very poor championship playing with one of the best midfields in Scotland. Jeggo had to adjust very quickly mid season in a new country playing with a midfield who had been much criticised. I thought Bartley was extremely limited but served a purpose and I'm greatful for his contribution, but I genuinely think Jeggo is a better all round footballer. Just my opinion mind.
08-07-2023, 01:04 PM
Jeggo attempted 415 short passes and 111 failed to find a teammate. How many passes does he need to attempt before the sample size would be considered large enough to determine that his passing is not good.
raeburnhibs
08-07-2023, 01:09 PM
Jeggo has had enough games to provide a meaningful sample size. And as MW pointed out, JDH has played a similar number of games
I’m a massive advocate for stats in football. In the case of Jeggo, people can simply trust their eyes. He’s obviously not a great passer and quite often he kicked the ball directly out of play.
I think there is a consensus on him. He’s done pretty well and should keep his place until we sign better. We can and should definitely be capable of finding an upgrade on him.
I was responding to MW claiming smaller was better; wrong! nothing else
08-07-2023, 01:18 PM
I was responding to MW claiming smaller was better; wrong! nothing else
Yes my reply needn’t have quoted your post 👍🏻