View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 08:54 AM
Im not fussed about his hair. But he dresses like he's just rolled out of bed when he turns up on match days etc. Maybe I'm just an old fart but I;d rather standards included looking like you are proud to be wearing that Hibernian tracksuit. But obv nobody would care if he was good.So nobody would care if he was good, he so far hasnt proven to be good enough so we will just rip him for his dress sense instead, yeah fair game 🤣
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 08:54 AM
The recently beatified on here, Heckingbottom, said that the Scottish Premiership was League One standard. "Lower half of League One".
Not a chance imo.
You’ve already got two teams that would romp that league with record points totals and they’d probably have a good chance of winning the league above it. From the EFL League One team of the season I know about 5 of them and not one of them would get a game at either of the Old Firm. I’d hazard a guess the rest of them are much the same.
Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would all be way above lower half of league one and would be challenging for promotion imo. The other teams, possibly somewhere around that level, but the league as a whole is considerably better than bottom half league one.
29-06-2023, 08:57 AM
So nobody would care if he was good, he so far hasnt proven to be good enough so we will just rip him for his dress sense instead, yeah fair game 🤣
Nobody cares about anything if we are winning. :greengrin
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 09:00 AM
Nobody cares about anything if we are winning. :greengrinAye thats true mate 🤣
29-06-2023, 09:13 AM
Thought Cardiff had a transfer ban, or has this been lifted
Not a clue Billy, just took it from here
Dylan Levitt has Dundee United exit option as Cardiff City could 'swoop' for midfielder
⬇️⬇️⬇️
bit.ly/3XnEqrF
29-06-2023, 09:14 AM
Not a chance imo.
You’ve already got two teams that would romp that league with record points totals and they’d probably have a good chance of winning the league above it. From the EFL League One team of the season I know about 5 of them and not one of them would get a game at either of the Old Firm. I’d hazard a guess the rest of them are much the same.
Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would all be way above lower half of league one and would be challenging for promotion imo. The other teams, possibly somewhere around that level, but the league as a whole is considerably better than bottom half league one.
I agree with most of that and I thought Heckingbottom's comments underestimated our league, if not a direct insult.
I think that if we had equal access to the funds in English football, we'd easily hold our own in the Championship, but there's the rub, we don't.
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 09:18 AM
I agree with most of that and I thought Heckingbottom's comments underestimated our league, if not a direct insult.
I think that if we had equal access to the funds in English football, we'd easily hold our own in the Championship, but there's the rub, we don't.
Definitely agree with your last point :agree:
Does anyone remember the last day of last summer's transfer window? At one stage it appeared the McKirdy transfer had fallen through. Our Club was berated all over social media, including I'm sure on here. Now he's the worst signing ever and it's an example of our poor recruitment policy last year. Damned if we do, damned if we don't!
29-06-2023, 09:23 AM
Is Baccus even any good?
I’ve never seen him and thought wow what a player he is, but often see him getting praised.
He’s 25 now, is he much better than a JDH?
29-06-2023, 09:25 AM
Does anyone remember the last day of last summer's transfer window? At one stage it appeared the McKirdy transfer had fallen through. Our Club was berated all over social media, including I'm sure on here. Now he's the worst signing ever and it's an example of our poor recruitment policy last year. Damned if we do, damned if we don't!
Not sure if it was an example of poor recruitment policy, or poor recruitment strategy.
We needed a striker and had (for all sorts of reasons) waited until the last minute to sign one. That may have resulted in us buying a guy we wouldnt ordinarily have pushed the boat out for, and possibly paying him inflated wages.
I am hoping that this closed season we do what we need as early as possible - signing guys at the last minute doesnt often work out (Boyle excepted, imo).
29-06-2023, 09:30 AM
i've lost track of our signings, who have we already brought in?
As in confirmed signings or loans, not potential or on the cards.
Thanks.
29-06-2023, 09:31 AM
Not a clue Billy, just took it from here
Dylan Levitt has Dundee United exit option as Cardiff City could 'swoop' for midfielder
⬇️⬇️⬇️
bit.ly/3XnEqrF
A two-year deal was unusual and risky. United really have to sell this summer and probably won't make much of a profit.
He's a good player but he'll be on decent wages and might want out of Scotland after last season's disappointment.
Cardiff are challenging the EFL embargo but I don't think they are allowed to pay fees as things stand.
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2023, 09:34 AM
Thanks.
Le Fondre, Wollacott, Boruc, Youan, Obita
Think that’s it so far
29-06-2023, 09:35 AM
Thanks.
See page 1
hibsforeurope
29-06-2023, 09:35 AM
Could the level of frustration and ill feeling on social media at the thought that another transfer had fallen through on deadline day due to timings and/or other issues with the deal. It wasn't too long since we lost out on McGrath in this way.
In hindsight the McKirdy deal would have been better falling through completely.
29-06-2023, 09:37 AM
Le Fondre, Wollacott, Boruc, Youan, Obita
Think that’s it so far
See page 1
Thanks folks.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 09:38 AM
Thought Cardiff had a transfer ban, or has this been lifted
There was a transfer ban which was eased on them were they could sign free agents or loan players though they were banned from paying a transfer fee for players . Wonder has anything changed since .
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/64902237#:~:text=A%20three%2Dwindow%20embargo%20wa s,against%20that%20ruling%20by%20Fifa.
29-06-2023, 09:39 AM
See page 1
That first page is really handy. I always go to the last pages of threads, never even thought to look there.
Nice work from the OP keeping it up to date.
29-06-2023, 09:44 AM
Ginnelly leaving the Yams
29-06-2023, 09:46 AM
The recently beatified on here, Heckingbottom, said that the Scottish Premiership was League One standard. "Lower half of League One".
I fall into this trap all the time BUT can someone point me in the direction of this quote as I honestly can't remember him ever saying this.
29-06-2023, 09:51 AM
I fall into this trap all the time BUT can someone point me in the direction of this quote as I honestly can't remember him ever saying this.
Think Graham Spiers claimed that PH had said that to him when he first interviewed him as Hibs manager, IIRC.
29-06-2023, 09:55 AM
Big loss for them.
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 09:58 AM
He left 4 weeks ago.
A good player that they will struggle to replace which is good for us.
29-06-2023, 10:05 AM
I can't find the quote, but I'm 100% certain that he did. I'm sure it was a videod interview.
Matured a lot over the last couple of years, grape wee player.
Hopefully he doesn't suffer the wrath of the fans.
Plenty of players out, have they got any confirmed in yet? 🤔
29-06-2023, 10:13 AM
Big loss for them based on his recent form.
Scored a few goals for them towards the end of the season
29-06-2023, 10:17 AM
I can't find the quote, but I'm 100% certain that he did. I'm sure it was a videod interview.
He definitely said it was League One standard outside the Old Firm, don't think he said "lower half" though.
He was right.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 10:23 AM
Noticed that a Aussie players been mentioned a lot by the Yam's " Sam Silvera " plays with the same Aussie team Jason Cummings was at .
Edinburgh Green
29-06-2023, 10:41 AM
A two-year deal was unusual and risky. United really have to sell this summer and probably won't make much of a profit.
He's a good player but he'll be on decent wages and might want out of Scotland after last season's disappointment.
Cardiff are challenging the EFL embargo but I don't think they are allowed to pay fees as things stand.
Thought it was a bizarre transfer at the time. A 2 year deal with a rumoured £300k transfer fee and high wages.
I'd imagine that with the fee paid Dundee Utd would have been looking to tie him down to a long term contract with the aim to either sell him for a large profit or build a team around him.
The fact he's on a 2 year deal suggests to me that his team pushed for it with a view or staying for 1 season then progressing to a higher league. A fair bit of desperation for Dundee Utd to accept that.
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 10:42 AM
Big loss for them based on his recent form.
Scored a few goals for them towards the end of the season
I think hearts could really struggle next season. They were pish second half of last season, a couple of their more solid players like Smith and Gordon are a year older (smith may have actually left?) and there’s a good chance Gordon won’t be the same keeper when he comes back. Ginnelly has left who was one of their better players.
I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see them mid table.
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 10:47 AM
Noticed that a Aussie players been mentioned a lot by the Yam's " Sam Silvera " plays with the same Aussie team Jason Cummings was at .
They club will sell the player, Hearts have apparently made a bid for him that was knocked back so will have to up their offer if really interested.
Hearts trying to get him in on the cheap with them saying they won’t be held to ransom. Read somewhere that CCM are after more than £1 million for him. Sunderland and Plymouth are reported interested as are others in Europe!
29-06-2023, 11:02 AM
Hope they don’t get him.
Pacey left/right winger with a fair bit skill and regularly hits the net.
London born so no visa problems to stop him coming.
Hit a bit of a purple patch towards the end of his season.
Possibly out of their price range if the Mariners are fair dinkum on holding out for what they want though..or say they want.
Would be a better acquisition imho than Tillio who is about to sign for Celtic
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 11:03 AM
I think hearts could really struggle next season. They were pish second half of last season, a couple of their more solid players like Smith and Gordon are a year older (smith may have actually left?) and there’s a good chance Gordon won’t be the same keeper when he comes back. Ginnelly has left who was one of their better players.
Wishful thinking.
They will be stronger than last season and will be favourites to finish 3rd if they recruit well.
Ginnelly is their only real loss from last season.
Of the other leavers Smith and Gary Mackay Stevens were both past it and young Henderson not good enough.
Clarke is a more than good enough replacement for Gordon who will be 41 before the end of the year and was already starting to go backwards when he was injured.
They will also have 3 good players returning from long term injuries, Baningime, Boyce and Halkett.
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 11:09 AM
Wishful thinking.
They will be stronger than last season and will be favourites to finish 3rd if they recruit well.
Of the other leavers Smith and Gary Mackay Stevens were both past it and young Henderson not good enough.
Clarke is a more than good enough replacement for Gordon who will be 41 before the end of the year and was already starting to go backwards when he was injured.
They will also have 3 good players returning from long term injuries, Baningime, Boyce and Halkett.
Will they be stronger? They’ve not even signed anyone yet.
Ginnelly is a very big loss and Clark is a downgrade on Gordon. Barry Mackay started the season well but then his form fell off a cliff and he was as good as a man down. If he doesn’t find that form again then they’ve essentially lost their two most creative players from last season
Their manager is inexperienced and had an average to crap record at the end of last season and their performances didn’t point to a good side. I’m not sure there’s anything about them just now that screams stronger than last season or favourites for third other than possibly Shankland. Infact from what I can see everything right now would point to the opposite.
As for the guys coming back, they’re no more than decent Scottish Premiership players imo. I certainly wouldn’t be worried if they were signing others of that calibre.
29-06-2023, 11:15 AM
Yeah, announced that him, Ross Stewart and Mackay-Stevens were all leaving at the end of last season (22/23)
29-06-2023, 11:21 AM
Wishful thinking.
Out of the three clubs realistically looking at third place, Hearts have the biggest budget due to their Euro exploits last season, but they have not spent any of that yet. That does leave them in an uncertain position. Along with having the angry testicle as manager, someone with 3 months experience as a manager, then they out the three clubs have the most uncertainty going into next season. Weirdly Hibs have the most settled squad, the manager with the most experience but the smallest budget. I think it will be a really interesting battle for 3rd and thats without even thinking about challenges from outside Hibs, hearts and the sheep.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 11:27 AM
Hope they don’t get him.
Possibly out of their price range if the Mariners are fair dinkum on holding out for what they want though..or say they want.
Just after watching some highlights of him and I hope they don't get him , looks a very good player what I seen of him. Didn't know hertz had bid rejected for him already , hopefully as other poster said there's other clubs interested and he goes somewhere else 🤞
29-06-2023, 11:28 AM
Wishful thinking.
They are currently weaker.
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 11:31 AM
Wishful thinking.
They will also have 3 good players returning from long term injuries, Baningime, Boyce and Halkett.Baningame had a few decent games before he got his long term injury, no guarantee he will be as effective if he does make it back, Boyce can be a handful on his day but there are other times he has been so far off it, and Halkett ? Sorry but I think he is a big huddy, gets his massive head onto a lot in both boxes but very average and limited defender
In my opinion anyway
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 11:39 AM
Hope they don’t get him.
Your highlighted point is very interesting.
Aussie teams are starting to wake up to the value of their talent after a lot of their best players arrived in Scotland cheaply last summer. The World Cup and Guol going to Newcastle being further evidence of their ability and value.
For me Lewis Miller could easily be Hibs break through star this season if his hamstrings hold up.
I remember you saying Hibs should sign Atkinson months before Hearts did as well as thinking McLaren may struggle at Hibs. Both were fair opinions.
Do you think Hibs should be trying to sign Baccus from St Mirren for the apparent £250k they were willing to accept from Bolton?
Ryan Strain had a great season at St Mirren and along with Baccus was a big reason for their success.
Lastly, were you surprised at how bad Birighitti was for Dundee Utd, although it must be said the defence on front of him were equally as bad.
29-06-2023, 11:48 AM
Your highlighted point is very interesting.
Aussie teams are starting to wake up to the value of their talent after a lot of their best players arrived in Scotland cheaply last summer. The World Cup and Guol going to Newcastle being further evidence of their ability and value.
For me Lewis Miller could easily be Hibs break through star this season if his hamstrings hold up.
I remember you saying Hibs should sign Atkinson months before Hearts did as well as thinking McLaren may struggle at Hibs. Both were fair opinions.
Do you think Hibs should be trying to sign Baccus from St Mirren for the apparent £250k they were willing to accept from Bolton?
Ryan Strain had a great season at St Mirren and along with Baccus was a big reason for their success.
Lastly, were you surprised at how bad Birighitti was for Dundee Utd, although it must be said the defence on front of him were equally as bad.
Ryan Strain is former Hibs player Gerry Baker’s …brother of Joe….grandson.
He struggled to get a run of games at Adelaide United…got a move to Israel of all places and surprised me by ending up at St Mirren.
By all accounts he has improved……as most Aussie players do when they move to Europe.
Birghitti was never really a star here, but certainly wasn’t as bad as reports I read about him at Dundee United and I can only assume his confidence is shot to bits.
He moved to the UK partly because his wife is from the UK and was missing her family…hopes it comes good for him.
29-06-2023, 11:51 AM
He definitely said it was League One standard outside the Old Firm, don't think he said "lower half" though.
He was right.
I remember him saying it HV.
29-06-2023, 11:58 AM
I remember him saying it HV.
Don’t listen to radge, he’s m-m-m-maaaaaadd, sir.
29-06-2023, 11:59 AM
Sorry, I don’t understand? City did come in and they had a bid of nearly £100m knocked back?
Are you talking about Harry Kane?
No Rice
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 12:04 PM
Baningame had a few decent games before he got his long term injury, no guarantee he will be as effective if he does make it back, Boyce can be a handful on his day but there are other times he has been so far off it, and Halkett ? Sorry but I think he is a big huddy, gets his massive head onto a lot in both boxes but very average and limited defender
In my opinion anyway
Similarly folk don't rate Hanlon but they are wrong.
Both players are good Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen level central defenders. As such Hibs struggle without Hanlon and Hearts without Halkett.
Halkett's loss was easily the single biggest issue with their poor defence last season and cost them 3rd.
They made it worse by bringing him back far too early not once but twice rather than crashing the cash and replacing him with quality.
I would now put him in the Kyle Magennis fragile box now and it remains to be seen if he can sustain a run of games.
Has been out for 6 months now with a cruciate ligament injury so could be out for a while yet.
As for Beningime, we have a similar situation with Boyle and only time will give us the answers. I reckon both players will come back strong.
ACL injuries are bad but players are making good recoveries from them as we saw with Nisbet last season.
I noticed online (think it was the bbc gossip page) a few days ago stating that Ginnelly hadn’t turned up for pre season training at hearts, the club have offered a new deal.
I thought, no **** Sherlock, he’s no longer employed by hearts, why would he turn up?
another example of hearts friendly media descriptions
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 12:29 PM
EEN saying HIBS are leading the chase along with a English championship team for Keanu Bacchus , can't say I'm overly excited about him as I've never really noticed him when watching St mirren in fairness.
29-06-2023, 12:33 PM
EEN saying HIBS are leading the chase along with a English championship team for Keanu Bacchus , can't say I'm overly excited about him as I've never really noticed him when watching St mirren in fairness.
I'm not sure that's what it says? The report I read in the EEN said a report In his homeland is linking him to Hibs. Maybe there is an updated story!
That was just the standard his team played at when he was in charge. :greengrin
Could offer St.Mirren Henderson in return?
29-06-2023, 12:34 PM
Definitely more mobile than Jeggo but wouldn't say he's a massive upgrade or even an upgrade at all. Especially not for what we'd likely have to spend to get him. Imagine St Mirren would want more seeing as we're in the same league.
29-06-2023, 12:38 PM
He looked very good in the recent final they won. Wide player skilful. Think he was born in England but moved to Oz when young.
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 12:40 PM
They are currently weaker.
So are we and so are Aberdeen but all three teams will be signing more players before the window closes.
As it stands significant losses from last season,
Hearts are down 2 - Ginnelly and Humphreys.
Aberdeen are down 2 - McCrorie and Pollock.
Hibs are down 5 - Nisbet, Fish, CJ, Magennis and Cadden.
As for significant players returning from long injury,
Aberdeen got off very lightly with injuries last season so no returnees
Hibs will be up 1 - Boyle
Hearts will up 3 - Beningime, Boyce and Halkett
So overall from last season Hearts are currently up by 1 player, Aberdeen are down by 1 and Hibs down by 4
Of our new players to date. We have upgraded our back up goalkeeper and left back whilst adding a goal scoring veteran striker.
The most glaring current gaps in our squad are on the right side of the team and at centre half.
Right Back- We have Miller and need to decide whether to use Megwa as back up or get a seasons loan in
Right Wing - We only have Boyle with no back up
Centre Half - We only have 2. McClelland is going on loan which leaves Blaney as a possible 4th choice and a starter needing to be signed.
Much work to be done to even stand still.
29-06-2023, 12:41 PM
Will they be stronger? They’ve not even signed anyone yet.
Ginnelly is a very big loss and Clark is a downgrade on Gordon. Barry Mackay started the season well but then his form fell off a cliff and he was as good as a man down. If he doesn’t find that form again then they’ve essentially lost their two most creative players from last season
Their manager is inexperienced and had an average to crap record at the end of last season and their performances didn’t point to a good side. I’m not sure there’s anything about them just now that screams stronger than last season or favourites for third other than possibly Shankland. Infact from what I can see everything right now would point to the opposite.
As for the guys coming back, they’re no more than decent Scottish Premiership players imo. I certainly wouldn’t be worried if they were signing others of that calibre.
Clark is bang average imo. No doubt they will be half decent though and good signings will come in soon.
29-06-2023, 12:43 PM
Deal
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 12:48 PM
Similarly folk don't rate Hanlon but they are wrong.
Both players are good Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen level central defenders. As such Hibs struggle without Hanlon and Hearts without Halkett.
Halkett's loss was easily the single biggest issue with their poor defence last season and cost them 3rd.
They made it worse by bringing him back far too early not once but twice rather than crashing the cash and replacing him with quality.
I would now put him in the Kyle Magennis fragile box now and it remains to be seen if he can sustain a run of games.
Has been out for 6 months now with a cruciate ligament injury so could be out for a while yet.
As for Beningime, we have a similar situation with Boyle and only time will give us the answers. I reckon both players will come back strong.
ACL injuries are bad but players are making good recoveries from them as we saw with Nisbet last season.Dont agree Halketts injury cost hearts 3rd, Gordons injury was pivotal and whilst his replacement is decent he is never going to save hearts the amount of points Gordon did. Hearts were a bit of a mess all over the pitch and not just in defence, if Shankland wasnt scoring from the spot they had to rely on goals from elsewhere. McKay is good on his day but again he went missing in too many games, Ginnely hit a golden spot and earned them a few points and it even got to desperation stages when they had to play midfield maestro Haring in the last few games
29-06-2023, 12:49 PM
I'm not sure that's what it says? The report I read in the EEN said a report In his homeland is linking him to Hibs. Maybe there is an updated story!
The Oz report is by a reporter who is UK based.
Haven’t seen anything over here other than his report so far and the EEN article
Greenio
29-06-2023, 12:54 PM
I cant understand why folk (not you btw) get worked up about a players hair 🤣 his hair whether pink, orange, green or multi coloured has absolutely no bearing on his footballing abilities. I have “silver” hair and my standard of work has been the same since I went from a mohican (green) to skinhead to grey and now to a thin shimmering silver 😃
I just meant that his character (his hair dying etc being one part of being a player that stands out a bit more) has kind of blinkered folk into being more bias towards their judgment of him as a player. It's not happened for him at Hibs and we cant hold out thinking that that might change. IMO of course. I'd love for him to become a prolific goal scorer/provider here, but, nah, there comes a time when you have to say no. Like i said, i wish him all the best, but we need to get another option on the go for this coming season
Definitely more mobile than Jeggo but wouldn't say he's a massive upgrade or even an upgrade at all. Especially not for what we'd likely have to spend to get him. Imagine St Mirren would want more seeing as we're in the same league.
Maybe more mobile but is he actually better quality??
Tbh having only seen highlights of him I’m not sure I’d be spending the money quoted on him.
I think we can get better quality for that kind of money!
HibeesLittleHel
29-06-2023, 01:02 PM
Keanu Baccus?
29-06-2023, 01:05 PM
Keanu Baccus?
Aye he’s already been discussed on the thread
29-06-2023, 01:07 PM
https://youtu.be/HBBtXDFpjPQ
Some clips of Baccus
29-06-2023, 01:09 PM
I’m no sure, hearts have managed to find decent attacking players in the past few years so wouldn’t be surprised if they managed it again
Reckon they’ll be in the fight for Europe though as opposed to mid table
It’ll be interesting to see who looks the strongest out of us them and Aberdeen come the end of the window.
Aberdeen have been out the traps pretty quickly to strengthen without any noticeable departures (unless I’ve missed some players)
We’ve brought in a few but also a few notable departures
Hearts have lost a couple/few (I think) but not brought anyone in yet.
As long as we’re ready and have a couple more in before Europe I’ll be happy, preferably our no.9 and an attacking mid.
29-06-2023, 01:10 PM
So are we and so are Aberdeen but all three teams will be signing more players before the window closes.
As it stands significant losses from last season,
Hearts are down 2 - Ginnelly and Humphreys.
Aberdeen are down 2 - McCrorie and Pollock.
Hibs are down 5 - Nisbet, Fish, CJ, Magennis and Cadden.
As for significant players returning from long injury,
Aberdeen got off very lightly with injuries last season so no returnees
Hibs will be up 1 - Boyle
Hearts will up 3 - Beningime, Boyce and Halkett
So overall from last season Hearts are currently up by 1 player, Aberdeen are down by 1 and Hibs down by 4
Of our new players to date. We have upgraded our back up goalkeeper and left back whilst adding a goal scoring veteran striker.
The most glaring current gaps in our squad are on the right side of the team and at centre half.
Right Back- We have Miller and need to decide whether to use Megwa as back up or get a seasons loan in
Right Wing - We only have Boyle with no back up
Centre Half - We only have 2. McClelland is going on loan which leaves Blaney as a possible 4th choice and a starter needing to be signed.
Much work to be done to even stand still.
Magennis as a significant loss? I don’t think so.
I also think Miller will end up being better at right back for us this season than Cadden, and I’m a big fan of Cadden.
jingler1954
29-06-2023, 01:13 PM
Jay Idzes are Hibs showing an interest in him? I spoke to a friend in Holland who watches Go Ahead Eagles and he said Jay came a few years ago as a midfielder and then a defender very technical player but he is not sure he is ready for Mans football, his words.
Bad Habits
29-06-2023, 01:21 PM
Jay Idzes are Hibs showing an interest in him? I spoke to a friend in Holland who watches Go Ahead Eagles and he said Jay came a few years ago as a midfielder and then a defender very technical player but he is not sure he is ready for Mans football, his words.
Signed for an Italian team, no?
Bad Habits
29-06-2023, 01:22 PM
Signed for an Italian team, no?
Just looked, seems like nothings signed yet!
HFC93
29-06-2023, 01:27 PM
He is 23 so if he's not ready for men's football now I'm not sure he ever will be.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 01:42 PM
I'm not sure that's what it says? The report I read in the EEN said a report In his homeland is linking him to Hibs. Maybe there is an updated story!Maybe the same report it does say reports from his homeland right enough . Its in the daily record too though they are saying the players preferred choice would be to go to England.https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-linked-with-scottish-premiership-star-after-turning-down-move-to-england-4201536
Hibiza
29-06-2023, 02:10 PM
Or JDH
JammyDoidger
29-06-2023, 02:21 PM
Hurry up and sign a couple of decent players, boring waking up every day to nowt.
EGL2000
29-06-2023, 02:52 PM
Jota linked with a Saudi Arabian team. Got to imagine the fees gonna be North of 20mil with the money they have and him having 4 years left on his deal. Also spent 6.5 mil on him so will be wanting significantly more.
JamesHFC
29-06-2023, 03:02 PM
Jota linked with a Saudi Arabian team. Got to imagine the fees gonna be North of 20mil with the money they have and him having 4 years left on his deal. Also spent 6.5 mil on him so will be wanting significantly more.
Assume that Benfica will have a sell on clause included too.
chippy
29-06-2023, 03:10 PM
Assume that Benfica will have a sell on clause included too.
Tavares to replace him
JamesHFC
29-06-2023, 03:14 PM
Tavares to replace him
They couldn't afford him.
29-06-2023, 03:15 PM
Hurry up and sign a couple of decent players, boring waking up every day to nowt.
Don't think the club post on here.
badabing67
29-06-2023, 03:16 PM
Rocky gets 2 match ban for Tynie dust up
29-06-2023, 03:27 PM
The Sun reporting both us and Hearts want Dylan Levitt. Typical. I expect a Patrick McPartlin article before the night is out to confirm we aren’t actually interested at all.
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 03:30 PM
Magennis as a significant loss? I don’t think so.
I also think Miller will end up being better at right back for us this season than Cadden, and I’m a big fan of Cadden.
Magennis is a significant loss in that we are going to have to spend a good chunk of our budget to replace him with a quality player. Previously we made do with our perfunctory midfield hoping he would eventually start playing regularly. Obviously if we find the right guy and he plays regularly it will improve us.
Our defensive mid is Jeggo with Kenneh as back up. Our centre mid are 2 from 3 of JDH, Newell and Campbell. We only have one offensive mid and that is Henderson so there is a space now for a midfielder with creative quality and that will cost a good fee and wages or just the latter.
I also see Miller as an improvement on Cadden given his enhanced physical capability. What I was saying was that we need a back up given Cadden will be out for most of the season with what is a hellish injury. The question is will that back up be Megwa or a loan signing.
Torto7
29-06-2023, 03:43 PM
The Sun reporting both us and Hearts want Dylan Levitt. Typical. I expect a Patrick McPartlin article before the night is out to confirm we aren’t actually interested at all.
He met Hearts yesterday, I've not heard of any interest from us though. Interestingly the Sun are taking something directly from Boakback. Great journalism.
29-06-2023, 04:08 PM
Interesting a journo has already said there’s no interest in Levitt from hearts https://twitter.com/rosspilcher/status/1674447619790077953?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
He also works for Daily Record so bit of an odd one.
Would love to see Levitt at Hibs
29-06-2023, 04:10 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-30321128
Updated their website now
29-06-2023, 04:14 PM
Interesting a journo has already said there’s no interest in Levitt from hearts https://twitter.com/rosspilcher/status/1674447619790077953?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Ross Pilcher is a big Jambo and well connected to people who work for Hearts so he’ll be in the know.
JamesHFC
29-06-2023, 04:26 PM
Would prefer him to Baccus.
29-06-2023, 04:36 PM
He met Hearts yesterday, I've not heard of any interest from us though. Interestingly the Sun are taking something directly from Boakback. Great journalism.
No he never
That’s two journos now came out saying hearts aren’t interested 😂
Interesting if we’re the only ones in the running
cameronw-hfc
29-06-2023, 04:36 PM
Would prefer him to Baccus.
Two different players, would take both.
Torto7
29-06-2023, 04:45 PM
No he never
That’s two journos now came out saying hearts aren’t interested 😂
Interesting if we’re the only ones in the running
That was the boakback rumour, I'm not saying I'm itk. It looked like the Sun lifted the rumour from over there. I'd love him here as I think he is quality.
29-06-2023, 04:56 PM
Baccus Newell
Levitt
No bad at all
29-06-2023, 04:58 PM
Baccus Newell
Levitt
No bad at all
I’m just not convinced I want to pin all my hopes on le fondre and myko (if he returns)
One being 36 and the other missing the majority of last season through injury
Hibiza
29-06-2023, 05:02 PM
Magennis is a significant loss in that we are going to have to spend a good chunk of our budget to replace him with a quality player. Previously we made do with our perfunctory midfield hoping he would eventually start playing regularly. Obviously if we find the right guy and he plays regularly it will improve us.
Our defensive mid is Jeggo with Kenneh as back up. Our centre mid are 2 from 3 of JDH, Newell and Campbell. We only have one offensive mid and that is Henderson so there is a space now for a midfielder with creative quality and that will cost a good fee and wages or just the latter.
I also see Miller as an improvement on Cadden given his enhanced physical capability. What I was saying was that we need a back up given Cadden will be out for most of the season with what is a hellish injury. The question is will that back up be Megwa or a loan signing.
Unfortunately Kyle won't be a loss because quite simply he hardly played . Class footballer - all the best .
29-06-2023, 05:02 PM
Baccus Newell
Levitt
No bad at all
Levitt isn’t an attacking midfielder and that midfield is still devoid of creativity.
Would definitely take Levitt though.
29-06-2023, 05:14 PM
Levitt is exactly the sort of footballer we should be buying. Please find a way Hibs.
29-06-2023, 05:15 PM
Levitt isn’t an attacking midfielder and that midfield is still devoid of creativity.
Would definitely take Levitt though.Isn't Levitt creative and a goal threat?
5 goals 3 assists in 24 games last year on what was a pretty rank utd side
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
29-06-2023, 05:15 PM
Would definitely take Levitt though.
Levitt can be anything he wants to be.
He’s done some acting and had a part in bugsy malone
29-06-2023, 05:24 PM
Isn't Levitt creative and a goal threat?
I didn’t mention anything about not being a goal threat, he is a great striker of the ball.
In terms of creativity, I wouldn’t describe 2 open play assists in 62 games since coming to Scotland as creative.
Clarence
29-06-2023, 05:27 PM
I don’t know much about Levitt. Which ex Hibs player is he most like? Could he be the next next Pat McGinlay?
29-06-2023, 05:30 PM
I didn’t mention anything about not being a goal threat, he is a great striker of the ball.
In terms of creativity, I wouldn’t describe 2 open play assists in 62 games since coming to Scotland as creative.Creativity isnt always linked to assists though?
Anyways, he seems pretty decent,.would add quality to our midfield
29-06-2023, 05:34 PM
Creativity isnt always linked to assists though?
Anyways, he seems pretty decent,.would add quality to our midfield
100%
King Cosell
29-06-2023, 05:38 PM
Lots of talk of Josh Doig to Bologna for 6M Euros on Twitter.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 05:39 PM
I don’t know much about Levitt. Which ex Hibs player is he most like? Could he be the next next Pat McGinlay?
Some highlights of him . I'd be happy if we signed him , looks a good player.
https://youtu.be/TzJO-pV78b0
29-06-2023, 05:40 PM
Lots of talk of Josh Doig to Bologna for 6M Euros on Twitter.
$6M isn't great but more money is always a bonus. Didn't Kensell manage to get a really good sell on fee arranged? Over 30% I'm sure I heard.
So potentially just over £1.5 to us.
PHeffernan
29-06-2023, 05:49 PM
$6M isn't great but more money is always a bonus. Didn't Kensell manage to get a really good sell on fee arranged? Over 30% I'm sure I heard.
So potentially just over £1.5 to us.
Sell on fee will be a percentage of the profit only.
Selling fee from Hibs was undisclosed but the guess in the press was €3 million.
If Verona sell for €6 million Hibs will get the agreed sell on percentage of the €3 million profit.
If for example our sell on is 20% Hibs will receive €600k
29-06-2023, 05:49 PM
Don’t listen to radge, he’s m-m-m-maaaaaadd, sir.
And that's Capricorn, is it?
29-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Selling fee from Hibs was undisclosed but the guess in the press was €3 million.
If Verona sell for €6 million Hibs will get the agreed sell on percentage of the €3 million profit.
Good point.
We never really seem to get any huge money from these sell on fees these days do we!
Hopefully Nisbet changes that in a year or two.
29-06-2023, 05:59 PM
Isn't Levitt creative and a goal threat?
I think Levitt is quality and would improve us or Hearts
29-06-2023, 06:02 PM
Peterborough fans seem to think Fuchs is coming back to Scotland.
29-06-2023, 06:03 PM
Always thought he was energetic but poor on the ball
Totally depends on the clause. Its likely this, but by no means certain.
Yes please! Him over Baccus. Sign Levitt as well and that's big improvements midfield.
kentao
29-06-2023, 06:04 PM
He looks like the perfect #10 we have been missing. Great feet and beats players with ease as shown in the highlight reel when he sat the hearts defence down :na na:, decent range of passing with playing balls in behind and spreading the play and finally ... isn't afraid to have a shot when the chance comes up some cracking finishes from outside the box.
If we do sign him i feel he will be our POTY next season.
29-06-2023, 06:05 PM
He looks like the perfect #10 we have been missing. Great feet and beats players with ease as shown in the highlight reel when he sat the hearts defence down :na na:, decent range of passing with playing balls in behind and spreading the play and finally ... isn't afraid to have a shot when the chance comes up some cracking finishes from outside the box.
If we do sign him i feel he will be our POTY next season.
How did he do at United last season? Not great assuming
29-06-2023, 06:08 PM
I’d take levitt and baccus personally
Know the league, potential sell on, younger and hungry.
Know if they do well they can go bigger.
I’d take them both and move on Henderson, Jeggo for example.
29-06-2023, 06:08 PM
Always thought he was energetic but poor on the ball
Like wise, not seen a huge amount of him but when I did I never really got the fuss.
Unsure if he’d be that big an upgrade on Jeggo.
Rick Rude
29-06-2023, 06:10 PM
Those clips make me think of Stevie Mallan. Can obviously strike a ball and like a long pass/crossfield ball. Guess if he's picking it up deep and able to go long for Boyle/Youan to run on to then could be useful? Would rather see someone who's going to dominate a midfield though.
29-06-2023, 06:11 PM
What's the chat with jonny williams
Thought that was a sure thing.
29-06-2023, 06:12 PM
What's the chat with jonny williams
Thought that was a sure thing.
Hibs cooled our interest and he signed for some league two team.
29-06-2023, 06:13 PM
Would we be able to get Levitt from utd? Appreciate they're in the championship but they'd probably be asking for a fair chunk of cash to let him go I would have thought?
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
chippy
29-06-2023, 06:16 PM
I’d rather have Taylor and Fiorini
29-06-2023, 06:18 PM
I’d rather have Taylor and Fiorini
Obviously never seen him play, but really like the sound of Taylor going by stats and various other reports. He'd be the sitting midfielder I'd want most as well.
29-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Theo Walcott on trial with Reading, BM used to manage Reading, it's only a matter of time before we sign him now.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2023, 06:34 PM
Would we be able to get Levitt from utd? Appreciate they're in the championship but they'd probably be asking for a fair chunk of cash to let him go I would have thought?
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
I was surprised at the time when Dundee Utd signed him tbh . I did read ( might be wrong ) that he cost Dundee Utd around about 350k .l suppose we could offer them someone like Henderson permanently and maybe melkersen on loan for a season
sean04
29-06-2023, 06:37 PM
Wonder if we would offer melkersen, taveres delferriere on loan to dundee utd to sweeten the deal.
29-06-2023, 06:46 PM
Wonder if we would offer melkersen, taveres delferriere on loan to dundee utd to sweeten the deal.
I’ll guess a small fee, Henderson permanently and a sell on %.
badabing67
29-06-2023, 06:57 PM
Would we be able to get Levitt from utd? Appreciate they're in the championship but they'd probably be asking for a fair chunk of cash to let him go I would have thought? Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
They need to reduce their wage bill, he won't be there next season anyway
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 07:00 PM
I’ll guess a small fee, Henderson permanently and a sell on %.
Doidge would be a good makeweight too as they need a striker to replace Fletcher
Or McKirdy ..
29-06-2023, 07:16 PM
In terms of creativity, I wouldn’t describe 2 open play assists in 62 games since coming to Scotland as creative.
He'd get assists playing advanced in our system imo, has great passing technique and can beat players one on one
29-06-2023, 07:17 PM
Doidge would be a good makeweight too as they need a striker to replace Fletcher
Or McKirdy ..Are you trying to get them relegated to division one with those options.
Bridge hibs
29-06-2023, 07:41 PM
Are you trying to get them relegated to division one with those options.🤣 nah I think Doidge would actually do ok at that level, sadly I dont think he will be at hibs next season, I like the big yin
29-06-2023, 07:44 PM
He'd get assists playing advanced in our system imo, has great passing technique and can beat players one on one
He probably would but I think it would be a waste having him play advanced. He’s one of the best long passers in the league, especially amongst central midfielders. Having his passing range from deep would be great asset for us to utilise Boyle and Youan’s pace on the break.
29-06-2023, 07:45 PM
🤣 nah I think Doidge would actually do ok at that level, sadly I dont think he will be at hibs next season, I like the big yin
I expect he will one wanting to stay in the central belt. He's engaged to a local girl now. I agree I don't see him being at hibs much longer. St Mirren might work for him.
29-06-2023, 07:57 PM
Baccus Newell
Levitt
No bad at all
Agree
29-06-2023, 08:03 PM
I was surprised at the time when Dundee Utd signed him tbh . I did read ( might be wrong ) that he cost Dundee Utd around about 350k .l suppose we could offer them someone like Henderson permanently and maybe melkersen on loan for a season
No danger will it’s want Hendo. They need players prepared to scrap for everything to get them back up !!
Sergio sledge
29-06-2023, 08:04 PM
Not necessarily. I'm pretty sure Fletcher had a straightforward sell-on clause where Hibs received a percentage of any future fees, not a percentage of profit.
When Jack Harper went from Brighton to Malaga this was the clause in his contract:
“2.2 Should the Player’s registration be transferred on a permanent basis by Malaga at any time in the future then Malaga will pay to Brighton 12.5% (twelve and a half per cent) of any transfer fee received by Malaga (deducting the amount corresponding to solidarity contribution) up to a maximum sum of €750,000 (seven hundred and fifty thousand euros).”
Reality is we'll likely never know whether it is percentage of fees received or percentage of profit unless Hibs make it clear in future accounts when he is eventually sold.. I don't think it is unusual for the clause to be a straight percentage of any fee received.
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 08:07 PM
No danger will it’s want Hendo. They need players prepared to scrap for everything to get them back up !!
That league is full of players that’ll scrap for everything. They need talent as well. I would say though that I don’t think that Henderson is good enough to be the main creative force to get them back up.
29-06-2023, 08:36 PM
Celtic's Jota off to Saudi
Reckon Kyogo and Hatate will move on as well. Quality players
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2023, 08:39 PM
Celtic's Jota off to Saudi
Reckon Kyogo and Hatate will move on as well. Quality players
Rumours he’ll be getting £10m a year tax free. Nearly £200k a week, he’d have to be getting paid about £350k-£400k a week over here to come out with that.
Madness.
29-06-2023, 08:41 PM
Rumours he’ll be getting £10m a year tax free. Nearly £200k a week, he’d have to be getting paid about £350k-£400k a week over here to come out with that.
Madness.
Wow. Insane!
xqnq1875
29-06-2023, 08:42 PM
We’re 100% in for levitt not just paper talk can expect us to make a bid within the Coming days same as well for keanu Baccus be massive if we can get both over the line
29-06-2023, 08:49 PM
We’re 100% in for levitt not just paper talk can expect us to make a bid within the Coming days same as well for keanu Baccus be massive if we can get both over the line
If we can get this Levitt then he'd be a fantastic signing
https://youtu.be/_8jVLcQhNcE
I know it's just a show-real, in saying that I can't remember him having a great season last seaso. Still not sure about Baccus, don't know what type of player he is.
Paloschi
29-06-2023, 08:56 PM
Both would be exciting but don’t address our lack of steel in midfield. Where would it leave Joe Newell?
29-06-2023, 09:02 PM
I know it's just a show-real, in saying that I can't remember him having a great season last seaso. Still not sure about Baccus, don't know what type of player he is.
My Arab mate tells me he was excellent when up on loan but really disappointing once he signed permanently. Maybe to do with the managerial changes?
Not sure he gets many goals from midfield for an attacking midfielder does he?
29-06-2023, 09:04 PM
Both would be exciting but don’t address our lack of steel in midfield. Where would it leave Joe Newell?
I think Baccus would add that although I don’t agree we have a lack of steel, it was a lack of quality on the ball in midfield that was our problem I think.
29-06-2023, 09:06 PM
Would be stunned if we managed to get both.
Would love to see us get Levitt, Baccus I’m not so sure about.
For some reason I really want the lad Terry Taylor despite having never seen him play 🤣
29-06-2023, 09:07 PM
Would be stunned if we managed to get both.
Would love to see us get Levitt, Baccus I’m not so sure about.
For some reason I really want the lad Terry Taylor despite having never seen him play 🤣
Same, probably cause he sounds like an 80' wrestler for me.
MagicSwirlingShip
29-06-2023, 09:11 PM
First time I’ve seen that clip. Exactly what we need
29-06-2023, 09:13 PM
My Arab mate tells me he was excellent when up on loan but really disappointing once he signed permanently. Maybe to do with the managerial changes?
Not sure he gets many goals from midfield for an attacking midfielder does he?
I’ve never really viewed him as an attacking midfielder. Not as in a 10 or a Scott Allan type or however you want to define it. More just an old school midfielder who does a wee bit of everything and chips in here and there.
29-06-2023, 09:23 PM
I’ve never really viewed him as an attacking midfielder. Not as in a 10 or a Scott Allan type or however you want to define it. More just an old school midfielder who does a wee bit of everything and chips in here and there.
A Scott Allan/Dylan Mcgeouch hybrid.
29-06-2023, 09:29 PM
Mason Greenwood going out on loan. Hypothetically, would we hold our nose if he was to come to us on loan? Easy to be principled, especially on a football messageboard, myself included. Would the fact a player of his ability playing for us, which would be unlikely to ever happen again, overrule the clear morale negatives to this hypothetical scenario.
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2023, 09:32 PM
Mason Greenwood going out on loan. Hypothetically, would we hold our nose if he was to come to us on loan? Easy to be principled, especially on a football messageboard, myself included. Would the fact a player of his ability playing for us, which would be unlikely to ever happen again, overrule the clear morale negatives to this hypothetical scenario.
I wouldn’t be back
Edit: fully aware everyone says things like this, but I’ve women close to me in my life who have been sexually assaulted and victims of domestic abuse and it wouldn’t sit with me at all, I would not be back.
MagicSwirlingShip
29-06-2023, 09:32 PM
What happened with his case? Were charges dropped?
29-06-2023, 09:33 PM
Would be an absolute PR disaster for the club
Steven79
29-06-2023, 09:36 PM
Mason Greenwood going out on loan. Hypothetically, would we hold our nose if he was to come to us on loan? Easy to be principled, especially on a football messageboard, myself included. Would the fact a player of his ability playing for us, which would be unlikely to ever happen again, overrule the clear morale negatives to this hypothetical scenario.No and thankfully we couldn't afford him.
May as well go for Goodwillie at the same time....
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
29-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Absolutely not, the voice notes and photos were horrible to listen to and see
29-06-2023, 09:46 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/dylan-levitt-transfer-race-led-30355396
Sounds quite promising
29-06-2023, 09:51 PM
I'd support edinburgh city.
HendoDelivered
29-06-2023, 09:57 PM
Levitt would be a top signing IMO. Hope it happens!
Not necessarily. I'm pretty sure Fletcher had a straightforward sell-on clause where Hibs received a percentage of any future fees, not a percentage of profit.
When Jack Harper went from Brighton to Malaga this was the clause in his contract:
“2.2 Should the Player’s registration be transferred on a permanent basis by Malaga at any time in the future then Malaga will pay to Brighton 12.5% (twelve and a half per cent) of any transfer fee received by Malaga (deducting the amount corresponding to solidarity contribution) up to a maximum sum of €750,000 (seven hundred and fifty thousand euros).”
Reality is we'll likely never know whether it is percentage of fees received or percentage of profit unless Hibs make it clear in future accounts when he is eventually sold.. I don't think it is unusual for the clause to be a straight percentage of any fee received.
Fletch's was 100% a % of the profit on the transfer. I've never known a routine transfer which wasn't. The Harper one, IIRC was because no fee was involved in his move from Brighton and therefore any future fee was profit.
29-06-2023, 10:05 PM
HMS Skoosh the League will be setting sail once again if we manage to bag Levitt and Baccus
29-06-2023, 10:12 PM
HMS Scoosh the League will be setting sail once again if we manage to bag Levitt and Baccus
Those 2, Fish, a striker and our current signings would be a huge statement of intent.
What a difference it makes going for players with known quality and with experience.
I’m all for a random punt, promising younger from abroad but you need to have a solid squad for them to come in to. Too many and no stability and it’s a recipe for disaster.
tonyrougier123
29-06-2023, 10:13 PM
Is Levitt actually any good? Or is this similar to the stevie mallan chat before. Would we not have been better keeping and playing laidlaw?
29-06-2023, 10:20 PM
Is Levitt actually any good? Or is this similar to the stevie mallan chat before. Would we not have been better keeping and playing laidlaw?
I think he's good.
He was excellent on loan, then average last season (when they had absolutely zero pace ahead of and around him in their team).
Personally, I think he'd be a revelation with Boyle, Youan and the right number 9.
29-06-2023, 10:23 PM
Keeping Laidlaw (which we tried to do and he turned down) in order to play him out of position in central midfield?
I like it
29-06-2023, 10:23 PM
Really good player and a completely different type/position to Laidlaw
cameronw-hfc
29-06-2023, 10:53 PM
Josh Doig to Bologna for $6m close supposedly, been a few italian journos tweet about it.
29-06-2023, 11:05 PM
Those 2, Fish, a striker and our current signings would be a huge statement of intent.
What a difference it makes going for players with known quality and with experience.
I’m all for a random punt, promising younger from abroad but you need to have a solid squad for them to come in to. Too many and no stability and it’s a recipe for disaster.
Agree but if Levit is being pursued by several clubs and it turns into a bidding war we may not get him Am always a it wary when things go public so quickly
HFC93
29-06-2023, 11:20 PM
Do you watch Scottish football?
davhibby
29-06-2023, 11:37 PM
Agree but if Levit is being pursued by several clubs and it turns into a bidding war we may not get him Am always a it wary when things go public so quickly
Everyone will know United need to cash in on him now so will lowball them. Giving them a decent sell on would be a good help probably.
29-06-2023, 11:39 PM
Wonder what ‘significant’ is
https://twitter.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1674562427701153798?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Good thing is Bologna seem to do really well at developing players and selling them on for even more. Hopefully we have a Fletcher esque deal where we get a % of future fees
30-06-2023, 03:55 AM
Never heard of Levitt tbh…pardon my ignorance but aware of Baccus.
Playing really well at international level…..Oz’s best player against Argentina in a friendly three weeks ago.
Appears to have a long international career ahead of him which will substantially increase his value.
Nothing in Oz press about Hibs being interested other than the report from the London based journo of our SBS television channel….so the ‘homeland’ story was penned in London.
30-06-2023, 05:51 AM
https://twitter.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1674562427701153798?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Good thing is Bologna seem to do really well at developing players and selling them on for even more. Hopefully we have a Fletcher esque deal where we get a % of future fees
Supposedly 27.5% sell on
30-06-2023, 06:00 AM
Supposedly 27.5% sell on
So something like 600k. Not to be sniffed at. Hopefully that percentage remains for subsequent transfers.
30-06-2023, 06:05 AM
Supposedly 27.5% sell on
It's no great news at all. He had a very good first season. Fee quoted is apparently £5.2m. We'll be getting 27.5% of Verona's profit which will be nearer £600k.
Decent money, but after a very encouraging first season, i'd reckon they'd get double that in a year from one of the big boys, which would be nearer £2m.
I'd be very surprised if our board are happy with this.
Think it would need Verona to have a similar deal, so if they take a sell on % we’d take 27.5 of that as well as they still profiting
30-06-2023, 06:13 AM
It's no great news at all. He had a very good first season. Fee quoted is apparently £5.2m. We'll be getting 27.5% of Verona's profit which will be nearer £600k.
Decent money, but after a very encouraging first season, i'd reckon they'd get double that in a year from one of the big boys, which would be nearer £2m.
Tend to agree assume fee would have been higher however hopefully the sell on percentage follows on to future transfers also.
30-06-2023, 06:20 AM
🚨 Celtic midfielder Aaron Mooy has announced his retirement from football with immediate effect
30-06-2023, 06:33 AM
🚨 Celtic midfielder Aaron Mooy has announced his retirement from football with immediate effect
Wow a strange one that. Assume serious injury or maybe personal issue. Played really well last season. Seems very sudden.
30-06-2023, 06:37 AM
Wow a strange one that. Assume serious injury or maybe personal issue. Played really well last season. Seems very sudden.
He’s a very introverted character who is uncomfortable in the limelight and I think he’s just had enough.
His wife is Scottish, but think he’ll return to Oz.
tonyrougier123
30-06-2023, 06:52 AM
Keeping Laidlaw (which we tried to do and he turned down) in order to play him out of position in central midfield?
I like it
I’ll be honest with you I thought Laidlaw was an attacking mid. I also thought the same of Levitt. The sentiment remains,is Levitt really any better than we have?is he worth forking out for.
Corstorphine Hibby
30-06-2023, 06:53 AM
So, for those of us not up to speed on how the sell on fees work, like me, why would Hibs not get 27.5% of the 5.2 mil being quoted ?
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 06:59 AM
So, for those of us not up to speed on how the sell on fees work, like me, why would Hibs not get 27.5% of the 5.2 mil being quoted ?
They could. It depends what’s in the contract and nobody knows the answer to that I presume.
30-06-2023, 07:03 AM
Depends if it's 27.5% of the gross sale or the net profit from the transfer.
30-06-2023, 07:12 AM
Confirmed in (5):
Maksymilian Boruc, two year contract (goalkeeper, Slask Wroclaw)
Adam Le Fondre, one year contract (striker, Sydney)
Jordan Obita, two year contract (defender, Wycombe)
Jojo Wollacott, three year contract (goalkeeper, Charlton)
Elie Youan, three year contract (striker, St Gallen)
Hadn't realised that we had signed Maksymilian Boruc. Big thanks for Diclonius for taking the effort in keeping the page up to date.
I'm sure it's already been discussed by I don't think that Wollacott and Boruc are coming to Hibs as back up to Marshall.
30-06-2023, 07:19 AM
Hadn't realised that we had signed Maksymilian Boruc. Big thanks for Diclonius for taking the effort in keeping the page up to date.
I'm sure it's already been discussed by I don't think that Wollacott and Boruc are coming to Hibs as back up to Marshall.
Wollacott has been brought in to compete with Marshall for the no.1 starting position. How that pans out we’ll need to wait and see.
30-06-2023, 07:20 AM
I’ll be honest with you I thought Laidlaw was an attacking mid. I also thought the same of Levitt. The sentiment remains,is Levitt really any better than we have?is he worth forking out for.
Presumably the management team think so, and they will have all his performance data.
Stairway 2 7
30-06-2023, 07:21 AM
They could. It depends what’s in the contract and nobody knows the answer to that I presume.
Nobody knows, but it being based on profit would make it very very unusual, so you would assume its based on fee like most deals
Clarence
30-06-2023, 07:30 AM
https://media2.giphy.com/media/10Jpr9KSaXLchW/200w.gif?cid=6c09b9528jgt7ery6wl8z8h7cl1t4lytruor7 9gp8vu6jnos&ep=v1_gifs_search&rid=200w.gif&ct=g
sean04
30-06-2023, 07:51 AM
Watched motherwell vs dundee utd at the end of last season, think it was the game that confirmed utds relegation. Levitt was superb, range of passing was great, bring him into a better team and he should thrive
30-06-2023, 08:05 AM
Do you watch Scottish football?
Never noticed Levitt, just like most opposition players, I’m not that interested in them.
I’d be happy to see any of Kenneh, Campbell, JDH, Jeggo depart our central midfield. It’s the weakest pert of our team.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 08:06 AM
Never noticed Levitt, just like most opposition players, I’m not that interested in them.
I’d be happy to see any of Kenneh, Campbell, JDH, Jeggo depart our central midfield. It’s the weakest pert of our team.
I’m the same as you. Unless someone is very, very good against us then I probably won’t take any notice of them.
30-06-2023, 08:09 AM
So something like 600k. Not to be sniffed at. Hopefully that percentage remains for subsequent transfers.
Both Hibs and Hearts will receive an additional ~€90k on top of this in FIFA solidarity payments as part of the deal.
30-06-2023, 08:09 AM
I’m the same as you. Unless someone is very, very good against us then I probably won’t take any notice of them.
I'm not sure he played against us last season. I'm sure he was injured for most of it
30-06-2023, 08:10 AM
IMO yes - he’s also different to our current options, especially with Magennis out the door. Would be a great capture for us.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 08:14 AM
I'm not sure he played against us last season. I'm sure he was injured for most of it
Looks like he played against us when they beat us 1-0 at Tannadice. Missed the other two.
30-06-2023, 08:15 AM
He played the first game at Tannadice and set up the only goal of the game.
30-06-2023, 08:25 AM
Nobody knows, but it being based on profit would make it very very unusual, so you would assume its based on fee like most deals
Aren’t they all based on profit? Anything else would make no sense to the club selling on.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 08:42 AM
Aren’t they all based on profit? Anything else would make no sense to the club selling on.
Why would it make no sense?
If they paid £3m for him as suggested and they sell him for £6m then they’ve made £4m, £1m profit if we’re due 33%, again, as suggested. They’ve also got to use him for a year.
It’s a poorer deal for them, but it still makes sense.
I’m sure when Fletcher was sold our cut was reported as a percentage of the total fee and not profit.
the_ginger_hibee
30-06-2023, 08:46 AM
No. More common to be total % than profit. We'll find out soon enough or at AGM possibly.
If they paid £3m for him as suggested and they sell him for £6m then they’ve made £4m, £1m profit if we’re due 33%, again, as suggested. They’ve also got to use him for a year.
I’m sure when Fletcher was sold our cut was reported as a percentage of the total fee and not profit.
How do get buying at £3m and selling at £6m a £4m profit? I'm no genius but I make it £3m profit 6-3=3.
Corstorphine Hibby
30-06-2023, 09:06 AM
No. More common to be total % than profit. We'll find out soon enough or at AGM possibly.
Slightly off topic, but was it ever confirmed that the Covid insurance that we had in place paid out? That was reported as being 7 figures iirc?
30-06-2023, 09:09 AM
How do get buying at £3m and selling at £6m a £4m profit? I'm no genius but I make it £3m profit 6-3=3.
I think they meant that if we got 33% of the £6m (£2m for us), then they would get £4m total, meaning £1m profit.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 09:09 AM
Yeah you’re right I have no idea how I’ve managed that either :faf:
Edit: nonshinyfish has reminded me how I done it!
30-06-2023, 09:10 AM
You buy a player for 10m with 20% sell on. You sell him for £8m. In your idea you’d give the original club another 2 million. Therefore you lose more money when you sell the player. That’s a mental deal and surely not many clubs do that.
30-06-2023, 09:13 AM
You buy a player for 10m with 20% sell on. You sell him for £8m. In your idea you’d give the original club another 2 million. Therefore you lose more money when you sell the player. That’s a mental deal and surely not many clubs do that.
It's usually a percentage of the total fee not the profit.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 09:16 AM
You buy a player for £10m and sell him for £18m then you’ve made a profit.
You buy a player with no sell on for £10m and he’s crap and you sell him for £8m then you lose £2m anyway. On the face of it that seems a mental deal as well but it happens.
There’s always a way to lose money in a deal, usually if a signing doesn’t work out.
30-06-2023, 09:17 AM
I agree with your logic that it's risky and the club would be gambling on the player's value go up rather than down. But that said, football clubs regularly do risky and desperate things in the transfer market.
(Not saying it will be the case with Doig, but it wouldn't surprise me if it's more common than logic might suggest.)
Stairway 2 7
30-06-2023, 09:17 AM
Pretty much every deal is a % of the full price.
Caversham Green
30-06-2023, 09:29 AM
Slightly off topic, but was it ever confirmed that the Covid insurance that we had in place paid out? That was reported as being 7 figures iirc?
Yes - £2.2m reported in the 20/21 accounts.
Rumble de Thump
30-06-2023, 09:36 AM
The club wouldn't be losing money. They would just be making the final payment for the player. Without the sell on included in the deal the original price would be higher.
Depends if it's 27.5% of the gross sale or the net profit from the transfer.
As I posted earlier it's invariably on the profit. Otherwise you could sell a player at a loss and still have to pay out an additional fee. That's not practical.
30-06-2023, 09:41 AM
As I posted earlier it's invariably on the profit.
Glad we've settled that.
30-06-2023, 09:47 AM
Things starting to pick up again on the transfer front, staff seem to working hard to get everything done as quick as they can.
Still a few more outs that we all want but still time left.
It's really not, for the reasons Brightside posted. As for the Fletch deal which keeps getting posted, that was 100% on profit. What was unusual, at the time, was that it was on total profit, not just on 1st sell on.
30-06-2023, 09:49 AM
There's absolutely no way you could know that with any degree of certainty at all. It's guesswork.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 09:53 AM
As I posted earlier it's invariably on the profit. Otherwise you could sell a player at a loss and still have to pay out an additional fee. That's not practical.
As Rumble De Thump said, it depends how you look at it.
With no sell on fee, what if we had said we’re not taking £3m for Doig? What if we said we wanted £4m? They’d have had to find £1m more upfront. That might have meant they couldn’t have afforded to go out and get a striker they so desperately needed.
If they sold him for £2m, making a £1m loss, they’d also owe us £666k. It’s essentially just the final payment for him of the £4m we wanted and you’ve kicked the can down the road so to speak but also paid less than if you’d paid £4m upfront. You hear about teams ‘amortising’ contracts and similar things to be able to afford signings all the time. There’s loads of financial fooling around in football.
30-06-2023, 09:54 AM
You hear about teams ‘immortalising’ contracts all the time.
Amortising?
An immortalising contract is what Lewis gets.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 09:55 AM
Amortising?
An immortalising contract is what Lewis gets.
Yes, that one :greengrin
30-06-2023, 10:02 AM
Amazing foresight from whoever at the club decided we needed that insurance
30-06-2023, 10:08 AM
Further off topic, but have we paid back the £2.8m we got from the government in interest free Covid loan? Have any clubs?
30-06-2023, 10:16 AM
Further off topic, but have we paid back the £2.8m we got from the government in interest free Covid loan? Have any clubs?
I think the deal with the gov is that it is repayable over 10 years. As the loan is interest free, I doubt the club will be rushing to pay it back earlier.
30-06-2023, 10:25 AM
I think the deal with the gov is that it is repayable over 10 years. As the loan is interest free, I doubt the club will be rushing to pay it back earlier.
Aye, it's actually 20 years. It does seem morally dubious to take an interest free loan to get through a time of strife then putting it in the bank to gain interest once the storm has past, so to speak.
Maybe clubs are paying back in instalments, I just haven't seen it mentioned anywhere.
Anyhoo, back to wild transfer speculation and gossip...
Caversham Green
30-06-2023, 10:25 AM
Nope. It's interest free and not yet due so the only effect repaying it would have would be to seriously damage our cash flow.
Interestingly, (or maybe not) it's shown at discounted value in the accounts - i.e. although the loan was £2,882,000 the balance sheet figure is only £1,448,395, which is what £2,882,000 is expected to be worth when repayment is due.
I'm already sorry I mentioned that last bit.
30-06-2023, 10:42 AM
Marco Tilio signs for Celtic.
Corstorphine Hibby
30-06-2023, 10:44 AM
Except for Hearts, who will assume their normal stance in these type of situations and not go to the bother of paying it back.
King Cosell
30-06-2023, 10:59 AM
There is some reports that Torino are also interested in Josh Doig.
30-06-2023, 11:01 AM
There is some reports that Torino are also interested in Josh Doig.
More the merrier… drive that price up! 😁
30-06-2023, 11:18 AM
I can’t see him getting much game time at Celtic.
He was called into the Socceroo squad as Boyler’s late replacement for the World Cup, but never got on the park in Qatar.
He’s ok, just not much more than that imho.
Problem is, to me, he’s neither a winger nor a centre forward, but someone who is still searching for his position on the field.
Maybe Celtic will improve him of course, and I wish the laddie all the best, but I would be surprised if he gets anything other than the odd game.
Paulie Walnuts
30-06-2023, 11:19 AM
On paper he doesn’t look like he’d be all that exciting for us never mind them.
30-06-2023, 11:21 AM
One of the EEN jambos saying Hearts are interested in Levitt despite reports to the contrary.
Donegal Hibby
30-06-2023, 11:29 AM
One of the EEN jambos saying Hearts are interested in Levitt despite reports to the contrary.
Read that too , think it was Craig Fowler said Dundee United were wanting 500k for Levitt and it was a stumbling block for Hibs .
30-06-2023, 11:38 AM
Read that too , think it was Craig Fowler said Dundee United were wanting 500k for Levitt and it was a stumbling block for Hibs .
I like Levitt and hope we get him. No way they can ask for 500k though. After the season he just had!
30-06-2023, 11:45 AM
Fowler is an absolute clown and along with Sked they try to be subtle in their undermining of Hibs at every opportunity they get. How they are employed by EEN says more about how far that paper has fallen.
30-06-2023, 11:46 AM
Surely a meet in the middle offer plus a Doidge, Henderson type swap can meet the accept button.
30-06-2023, 11:46 AM
We shouldn't be paying half a million for a player from the team that got relegated.
dunfyhibby
30-06-2023, 11:49 AM
I can’t see him getting much game time at Celtic.
He was called into the Socceroo squad as Boyler’s late replacement for the World Cup, but never got on the park in Qatar.
He’s ok, just not much more than that imho.
Problem is, to me, he’s neither a winger nor a centre forward, but someone who is still searching for his position on the field.
Maybe Celtic will improve him of course, and I wish the laddie all the best, but I would be surprised if he gets anything other than the odd game.
Forza, you will have seen much more of him than me, but I've never been impressed when seeing him in the A league. I'm very surprised Celtic have gone for him. I wouldn't have been that thrilled if he signed for us!
30-06-2023, 11:52 AM
Fowler is an absolute clown and along with Sked they try to be subtle in their undermining of Hibs at every opportunity they get. How they are employed by EEN says more about how far that paper has fallen.
Its astounding that he is the Hibs reporter....and why do they need so many of them. :greengrin
Groathillgrump
30-06-2023, 11:56 AM
We shouldn't be paying half a million for a player from the team that got relegated.
Would you be saying that if United had stayed up on goal difference? Just because you play in a relegated side doesn't make you a poor player.
Spurs just signed James Maddison from Leicester for £40 Million. :greengrin
30-06-2023, 12:00 PM
Dundee Utd currently have pretty mad delusions of grandeur.
30-06-2023, 12:01 PM
Forza, you will have seen much more of him than me, but I've never been impressed when seeing him in the A league. I'm very surprised Celtic have gone for him. I wouldn't have been that thrilled if he signed for us!
I agree.
They must see him as a WIP.
Certainly not adding anything to their squad this season, and not someone I would have wanted to sign for Hibs.
Problem is these days Hibs budget wouldn’t stretch to the top players in Oz, unless they are free agents and set on going to the UK.
30-06-2023, 12:04 PM
Dundee Utd currently have pretty mad delusions of grandeur.
Them and Aberdeen are both like Pat Sharp. Stuck in the 80's.
Donegal Hibby
30-06-2023, 12:17 PM
I like Levitt and hope we get him. No way they can ask for 500k though. After the season he just had!
I hope we get him too. Think he's a quality player that would really suit the way we play as well . Really can't see them getting 500K tbh .
They seem to be losing quite a few players and I'm hoping cash plus maybe one or two of our players might hopefully help get him .🤞
30-06-2023, 12:18 PM
[emoji599] Celtic midfielder Aaron Mooy has announced his retirement from football with immediate effectIs he going to Hearts?
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
30-06-2023, 12:30 PM
250k and possibly Melkersen on loan? I think he'd bag them the goals to get promoted at that level and he'd benefit from a very competitive level of football.
30-06-2023, 12:31 PM
Apologies if already mentioned but The Sun is reporting we'll get £1.4M if the Doig deal goes through.
30-06-2023, 12:36 PM
I’d offer Doidge Henderson and 150K for DL
Straight out of the FM handbook
Trinity Hibee
30-06-2023, 12:39 PM
I’d offer Doidge Henderson and 150K for DL
Straight out of the FM handbook
Henderson plus cash for levitt would be a superb deal
30-06-2023, 12:40 PM
Henderson plus cash for levitt would be a superb deal