View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

05-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Watching his highlights reel now - quick feet, good passing, loves a Stevie Mallan style raker. Welcome aboard Dylan

05-07-2023, 05:06 PM
I suppose they can have McGrath if they want.

MelbourneHibees
05-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Welcome lad.

Do we think we gave them their 500k and 7k a week?

05-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Genuinely though well done to all at Hibs, that’s a fantastic signing.

I thought we would have had no chance getting him.

Great start to the window so far - still plenty to do but really impressed so far.

05-07-2023, 05:09 PM
Genuinely though well done to all at Hibs, that’s a fantastic signing.

I thought we would have had no chance getting him.

Great start to the window so far - still plenty to do but really impressed so far.

Def appear to be more of a plan in place this year rather than the shambles of last summer.[emoji1696]

badabing67
05-07-2023, 05:10 PM
WHO'S NEXT !?

More more more

Terry Taylor please

05-07-2023, 05:12 PM
Looking like our strike force will be heading off to Spain for our big european campaign with 36 year old Le Fondre and a host of guys out of favour/ looking to be on the way out. So much work to do still

You can pop your sheets in the dryer now. :wink:

£300k fee apparently

Direct link to article for those having issues with twitter

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/dylan-levitt-is-a-hibee

That deepens our pool of talent in the middle of the park, it's been too shallow for too long. Hopefully another one or two before they fly to Spain tomorrow!!

05-07-2023, 05:13 PM
If there's a loose ball in the midfield and he's going for it and another player fancies picking it up, you know what they are going to shout...

Earlydelivery
I’m getting auld I’ve no idea what it means
Snap 😂😂😂😂😂

AllyT
Notice no mention of player plus deal just undisclosed fee!

£300k according to Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sign-dylan-levitt-fee-revealed-the-names-of-clubs-they-beat-for-signature-length-of-deal-4208953

What a ****ing signing

05-07-2023, 05:14 PM
Can I just say that I am very happy indeed with the start Hibs have made to this window?

It feels like the Stubbs era - going out and getting the business done on players who appear to have exactly the credentials we're looking for and in plenty of time to be ready for when the big games come around.

The departures were generally well handled too.

Top notch stuff, really.

Sheffhibee
05-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Quality signing, well done

MelbourneHibees
05-07-2023, 05:16 PM
£300k fee apparently

A steal!

1875M
Very good signing. Well done LJ & Hibs. Next targets for me would be a quality centre half (Fish), and a proven goal scorer to replace Nisbet.

£300k fee apparently

Brilliant business if true, no mention of a sell on % either.

EGL2000
A steal!

Imagine there is a large sell on with that, still great business though!

05-07-2023, 05:18 PM
You can pop your sheets in the dryer now. :wink:
Can he play up front? :greengrin Exciting signing. But the point stands. Get a proper striker in and then we will mean business.

https://twitter.com/ReservesUtd/status/1518527549869072384?t=JcqX6ajghPEbhmQgJI7VjA&s=19

More of this :wink:

Fanforlife
Safe to say Finlay knows 0 ex football players.
Recommend a visit to the darksides summer tranfers thread, guy bongo is something else , deluded don't even touch it,he must spend hours searching for videos of players HE is recommending to Hearts and totally believes they listen to him ,guy is wired to the moon🤣🤣

Bridge hibs
05-07-2023, 05:20 PM
https://twitter.com/ReservesUtd/status/1518527549869072384?t=JcqX6ajghPEbhmQgJI7VjA&s=19

Cracker, more of the same v the Gorgie mingers please 👍

Absolutely chuffed with this signing, exactly the type of signing that has brought us success more often than not over recent years.

Quality player too, very happy with our business so far this summer, more of the same please!

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Jakhog1
I suppose they can have McGrath if they want.

Funny if we got him too

Hibees1973
Most of you on here know I'm a miserable old sod.

But I like this one. Levitt is a good age, proven at this level and good business to cherry pick the best of the rest in Scotland.

Up to the young lad to kick on and prove himself at Hibs.

Hopefully four or five more to come like this.

05-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Good signing. I know we’ve had our fingers burnt giving players long term deals and unable to move them on. However I’d have liked to have seen him get 4 years. 3 year deal and we might might end up in a Nisbet situation at the end of next season. Worry about that if the time comes.

05-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Recommend a visit to the darksides summer tranfers thread, guy bongo is something else , deluded don't even touch it,he must spend hours searching for videos of players HE is recommending to Hearts and totally believes they listen to him ,guy is wired to the moon🤣🤣😂

05-07-2023, 05:22 PM
The seethe is up there with some of the best I’ve seen.

Relegation fodder. Kio and Grant cost less between them (£700k combined for both) both are better and on less wages. [emoji38][emoji38]

Excuses excuses.

Quality signing.

Jakhog1
See the pen is back in the signing photo, trolling at its very best again, well done hibs, well done

Hibiza
Welcome to our club Dylan .

05-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Team so far:

Marshall / Wallacott (not sure who’s no1 but I reckon Marshall)

Miller / Megwa / (Cadden INJ)
Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / Campbell
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / JDH

Boyle / Melkerson
Doidge / ALF / McKirdy(Doidge until a new no9)
Youan / Mackay

05-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Team so far:

Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / Campbell
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / JDH

Boyle / Melkerson
Youan / Mackay

Still fills me with a bit of the fear

BlackSheep
05-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Team so far:

Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / Campbell
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / JDH

Boyle / Melkerson
Youan / Mackay

I’d think this is more likely…

Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / JDH
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / Campbell

Boyle / McKirdy
Melkerson / ALF / Doidge (until a new no9)
Youan / Mackay

badabing67
05-07-2023, 05:33 PM
(445) Welcome To Hibs, Dylan Levitt! | Best Goals | Hibernian FC - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qibFwC4W9-4)

05-07-2023, 05:36 PM
Team so far:

Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / Campbell
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / JDH

Boyle / Melkerson
Youan / MackayTo me that highlights that we need a starting CB in place of Rocky, and a starting CF in place of Doidge with Mells and ALF off the bench

05-07-2023, 05:36 PM
Snap 😂😂😂😂😂

Same!! Absolutely no idea but I'm buzzing!! Love the fact McGrath was an option on the cards. Rubs it in even more if hearts end up going for him 😂

05-07-2023, 05:38 PM
This is a brilliant laugh from this Jambo on twitter

Dundee Utd didn't want a fee just wanted him of their wages. Hibs offered a fee to stop it coming down to a choice

https://twitter.com/Hertz_1874/status/1676565876793913345?t=8m8DCO5RVSEHL9tVORFW2A&s=19

05-07-2023, 05:38 PM
Said it earlier, but circa 750k spent between Youan and Levitt is massive

One gripe if I may. Would have preferred 4 year deal, or 3 plus 1 option but to counter that I guess we did get burnt with a long term deal for Magennis

05-07-2023, 05:45 PM
To me that highlights that we need a starting CB in place of Rocky, and a starting CF in place of Doidge with Mells and ALF off the bench

That's ridiculously close to where we need it to be, considering it's the first week in July.

Donegal Hibby
05-07-2023, 05:45 PM
Well done to everyone at Hibs for getting this done .
Fantastic signing .

https://youtu.be/_8jVLcQhNcE

05-07-2023, 05:46 PM
I’d think this is more likely…

Rocky / New CB
Hanlon / Back up CB
Obita / Stevenson

Newell / JDH
Jeggo / Kenneh
Levitt / Campbell

Boyle / McKirdy
Melkerson / ALF / Doidge (until a new no9)
Youan / Mackay

Where’s Hendo [emoji12]

05-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Looking at Levitts showreel the speed he gets his pass away and how many balls he is playing into strikers is very impressive. That seems right of LJs street and should work really well with Youan and Boyle. A Striker that runs the channels and is good for a few goals would be really useful. Levitts goal contribution is excellent too so he is pretty much exactly what we need in midfield.
So far so good in the window but still some work to do

05-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Levitt and Newell are two really good midfielders for us.

If we can add one more quality DM and then have Jeggo as back up along with Campbell/JDH then that’s really good.

Boyle and Youan on the wings.

Central striker needed bit exciting times

Hibs4185
05-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Looking at Levitts showreel the speed he gets his pass away and how many balls he is playing into strikers is very impressive. That seems right of LJs street and should work really well with Youan and Boyle. A Striker that runs the channels and is good for a few goals would be really useful. So far so good in the window but still some work to do

Could suit melkerson with balls in behind

05-07-2023, 05:49 PM
This is a brilliant laugh from this Jambo on twitter

Dundee Utd didn't want a fee just wanted him of their wages. Hibs offered a few to stop it coming down to a choice

https://twitter.com/Hertz_1874/status/1676565876793913345?t=8m8DCO5RVSEHL9tVORFW2A&s=19

Best one yet. Delusional as ever.

They are hurting after this!

thebausburst
05-07-2023, 05:58 PM
[QUOTE=Bridge hibs;7385811]If you dont mind me asking, any links to any of the strong rumours ? 😃[/QUOTE

thebausburst
05-07-2023, 05:59 PM
What’s your definition of a strong rumour?
This….

Hibees1973
05-07-2023, 05:59 PM

Pardon?

05-07-2023, 06:01 PM
—————————— Wollacot —————————

Miller ———— Rocky——— Hanlon———— Obita

—————————— Jeggo———————————

———— Levitt————————— Newell————

Boyle—————————————————— Youan

——————————— ALF ———————————

Best starting 11 so far. Not bad for the Euro tie coming up with us adding in another CB and CF as priorities.

05-07-2023, 06:03 PM
We must be spending more money than we have in a very long time.

We’ve sold a couple of good players this year but there is no lack of investment to replace as we’ve seen in the past.

badabing67
05-07-2023, 06:07 PM
Levitt and Newell are two really good midfielders for us.

If we can add one more quality DM and then have Jeggo as back up along with Campbell/JDH then that’s really good.

Boyle and Youan on the wings.

Central striker needed bit exciting times

I guess that Terry Taylor would be to much to ask for

Hibees1973
05-07-2023, 06:08 PM
We must be spending more money than we have in a very long time.

We’ve sold a couple of good players this year but there is no lack of investment to replace as we’ve seen in the past.

That's never been in doubt since the Gordon's got involved.

Money spent on the stadium, hospitality and now a brand new hybrid pitch at ER and EM.

There have just been too many wobbly signings and managers up until now. Time will tell if they have now got this right.

HendoDelivered
05-07-2023, 06:12 PM
Anyone reckon we will still sign another CM? I’d imagine we may need to move on someone like Hendo or Kenneh (maybe someone else) before being able to justify doing so.

Ps. Top signing Hibs, well done!

Sheffhibee
05-07-2023, 06:12 PM
Quality signing, well done

JammyDoidger
05-07-2023, 06:13 PM
—————————— Wollacot —————————

Miller ———— Rocky——— Hanlon———— Obita

—————————— Jeggo———————————

———— Levitt————————— Newell————

Boyle—————————————————— Youan

——————————— ALF ———————————

Best starting 11 so far. Not bad for the Euro tie coming up with us adding in another CB and CF as priorities.

Defence worry's me, nothing to suggest we can rely on Miller at right back, and we can't rely on Rocky either, hopefully we get fish in before Europe, im sure we will.

05-07-2023, 06:16 PM
That's never been in doubt since the Gordon's got involved.

Money spent on the stadium, hospitality and now a brand new hybrid pitch at ER and EM.

There have just been too many wobbly signings and managers up until now. Time will tell if they have now got this right.

We certainly seem far more willing to reinvest money taken for players back into the team, with fairly substantial outlays.

You could argue that the prudent Petrie years laid the foundations for us being able to now do so but it isn't as galling seeing good players leave when you see realistic but ambitious arrivals shortly afterwards.

There would be a certain irony if this activity helped us sink Naismith's career as a manager, after JC had suggested him as such an arrival all those years ago when we were losing players for big bucks.

05-07-2023, 06:16 PM
£300k according to Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sign-dylan-levitt-fee-revealed-the-names-of-clubs-they-beat-for-signature-length-of-deal-4208953

Daylight robbery. Well done to everyone involved.

05-07-2023, 06:18 PM

Well, depends on the sell on %

05-07-2023, 06:22 PM
Pity we let Dylan Tait go out on loan. Could have had a midfield that rises above the ground Levitt Tait.

Silky
05-07-2023, 06:24 PM
Pity we let Dylan Tait go out on loan. Could have had a midfield that rises above the ground Levitt Tait.

Would certainly have taken us up a level

05-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Thinking back to the Motherwell game he scored two in, that type of ball would suit him perfectly. The good thing is we know he is more than capable at this level. It is like a SJM signing where as long as he stays fit he will do well

Fanforlife
05-07-2023, 06:33 PM

🤣🤣👍👍

05-07-2023, 06:36 PM
Best one yet. Delusional as ever.

They are hurting after this!

Love it … and love they know how much we are paying them [emoji23] maybe we should thank them and say it was due to their kindness in giving us Doig that we can now afford the big wages.

Shame they never had the similar sell on for Hickey [emoji16]

cameronw-hfc
05-07-2023, 06:39 PM
I guess that Terry Taylor would be to much to ask for

As much as I'd love him, I'd agree. A very good player probably just outwith our reach.

cameronw-hfc
05-07-2023, 06:40 PM
Well, depends on the sell on %

Either way, they only get big money if we do, I'll take that.

05-07-2023, 06:48 PM
300k and a 3 year deal seems good business from Hibs, will no doubt be add one etc though.

I'm sure he can't wait to get involved and impress his players, gaffer and most importantly the fans.

Jeggo/Kenneh
Newell/JDH
Levitt/Campbell/Henderson

Should be good enough to compete for the season and if we can get Boyle back to his best, Youan providing what he done last year or more, along with a replacement for Nisbet's goals then we should be ok for the upcoming season.

If we was able to offload Kenneh and Henderson and improve on Jeggo would be dream world.

There is a small catch with the Fish deal though.

05-07-2023, 06:51 PM
As much as I'd love him, I'd agree. A very good player probably just outwith our reach.

Seems to still be training with Burton despite being out of contract.

cameronw-hfc
05-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Seems to still be training with Burton despite being out of contract.

I'd be asking the question, I thought he'd be off to a top champ club or something and we'd be outpriced on wages but I'd still be asking the question at least.

Donegal Hibby
05-07-2023, 06:59 PM
Anyone reckon we will still sign another CM? I’d imagine we may need to move on someone like Hendo or Kenneh (maybe someone else) before being able to justify doing so.

Ps. Top signing Hibs, well done!
We might take in another another midfielder if we move a couple on though i think the priority now is a good defender (hopefully fish ) and a good quality striker who will get us 15 to 20 goals.

Hibiza
05-07-2023, 07:00 PM
Pardon?

😂😂😂

05-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Some players just fit certain clubs, and I’m convinced Levitt is the right type for Hibs.

Very classy in how he plays, skilful, great range or passing, vision and can score a goal.

If we confirm him, it’s some signing.

Brenda will be trying to get him to Celtic within a year.

I think you might be right👍 Brenda bit I’m not too sure, but if he is then Dylan will have been on fire!

05-07-2023, 07:22 PM

It's not really robbery.

United were relegated which immediately lessens his value, they're skint so need to offload wages, and I'm pretty certain that they paid £300k to buy him.

05-07-2023, 07:29 PM
Love it … and love they know how much we are paying them [emoji23] maybe we should thank them and say it was due to their kindness in giving us Doig that we can now afford the big wages.

Shame they never had the similar sell on for Hickey [emoji16]

Just brilliant.

They didn’t want him (so I’ve been told a dozen times since he was announced) it’s really that simple. Our signings have been piss and we are relegation fodder. Blah blah blah!

Priceless

05-07-2023, 07:33 PM
300k and a 3 year deal seems good business from Hibs, will no doubt be add one etc though.

I'm sure he can't wait to get involved and impress his players, gaffer and most importantly the fans.

Jeggo/Kenneh
Newell/JDH

Should be good enough to compete for the season and if we can get Boyle back to his best, Youan providing what he done last year or more, along with a replacement for Nisbet's goals then we should be ok for the upcoming season.

If we was able to offload Kenneh and Henderson and improve on Jeggo would be dream world.

Any idea what the small catch is ? Don’t say a tiddler [emoji12]

05-07-2023, 07:39 PM

Jeggo/Kenneh
Newell/JDH

Is the catch with the Fish deal that we have to take Maguire as well?

05-07-2023, 07:40 PM
Is the catch with the Fish deal that we have to take Maguire as well?

If it is then we should tell them to ram it

05-07-2023, 07:47 PM

Yes please!!!

05-07-2023, 07:48 PM
A CB and a striker and we should nearly be there.

I’d probably take another winger as well

King Cosell
05-07-2023, 07:50 PM
Had a look on a Birmingham City fans forum to see what they were saying about Will Fish. Not much enthusiassm. Said he'd done well at Hibs, got in the side after Porteous left, good backup, a fee of 400k was mentioned. Last seven seasons Birmingham have finished 19th, 19th, 17th, 20th, 18th, 20th & 17th. He's still very young, I think he'd be better off here. I'm sure Hibs are doing everything they can t get it over the line.

05-07-2023, 07:50 PM

Jeggo/Kenneh
Newell/JDH

Is the small Fish catch something to do with EU quotas? :greengrin

05-07-2023, 08:01 PM
Any idea what the small catch is ? Don’t say a tiddler [emoji12]

A poor attempt at a pun.

Johnson has always said he wanted most of his new players in before the training camp, can we afford to wait on Fish/Man United to agree a deal? It's a key area that we need bodies in, we might even spend some cash in that area.

05-07-2023, 08:06 PM
Still to tap into the City Group 😃

05-07-2023, 08:09 PM
Still to tap into the City Group 😃

I think that's where our new number 9 will be from, no idea who if it's not Mykolo

05-07-2023, 08:32 PM
Transfer news LIVE: Bruce Anderson 'rejects' Georgia move as striker opts to stay at Livingston after bid accepted

GreenGray
05-07-2023, 08:35 PM
Buzzing with that.

Get a centre back (hopefully Fish) and a quality striker and I’ll be very happy with our window. Definitely can’t say Johnson hasn’t been backed.

05-07-2023, 08:56 PM
Fish, Jamie MacLaren and a few outs. A carlsberg window right there!! 😁

GreenGray
05-07-2023, 09:10 PM
Is there actually any truth in the 8k a week or is that just the comfort blanket being pulled out by hearts fans?

Trinity Hibee
05-07-2023, 09:10 PM
Is there actually any truth in the 8k a week or is that just the comfort blanket being pulled out by hearts fans?

No indication it’s anywhere near that

05-07-2023, 09:16 PM

I hope it's true.

05-07-2023, 09:23 PM

To be honest, and I say this without wanting to sound like a dick, but nobody here can give you confirmation of it either way.

Up to you whether you want to believe it or not. I know you didn’t ask but personally I don’t care. None of my business what other people earn. Even if we are paying more than usual, it’s an asset that could earn us a lot more in the future so it’s not the same as paying too much for an older player.

05-07-2023, 09:48 PM
Strongest team now, as things stand:

Wollacott

Miller Bushiri Hanlon Stevenson

Jeggo

Doyle-Hayes Newell

Levitt

Boyle Youan

Bench: Marshall, Obita, Delferriere, Campbell, Kenneh, Le Fondre, Melkersen

A centre half, striker and centre mid and we're good to go.

05-07-2023, 09:58 PM

Wollacott

Jeggo

Doyle-Hayes Newell

Levitt

Boyle Youan

Can't see it but I'd say 2 CB's and another wide player on top of a CM and striker

05-07-2023, 10:00 PM
Can't see it but I'd say 2 CB's and another wide player on top of a CM and striker

Agreed. With the caveat being we’ll need more outgoings to see that happen.

Keepthefaith
05-07-2023, 10:04 PM

Wollacott

Jeggo

Doyle-Hayes Newell

Levitt

Boyle Youan

Given that obita has said his favourite position is wingback I have a feeling well play more with him and miller pushed up and play 3 at the back? Definitely think we'll be bringing in another CB

05-07-2023, 10:10 PM
Marshall

Miller Rocky Hanlon Obita

Jeggo

Levitt Newell

Boyle ALF Youan

Seen worse

aberhibsfc
05-07-2023, 10:35 PM
What's the script with Tait. I think he could be a useful wee player, but is constantly trapped in a revolving door of loans.

Are we banking on him for the future, if not, should we be moving him on?

HendoDelivered
05-07-2023, 10:42 PM
What's the script with Tait. I think he could be a useful wee player, but is constantly trapped in a revolving door of loans.

Currently away out on loam to Hamilton. What happens after that? Who knows. Probably end up moving on.

05-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Marshall

Miller Rocky Hanlon Obita

Jeggo

Levitt Newell

Boyle ALF Youan

Seen worse

I like it, still would like to see a centre half replace Hanlon though..

Benny Brazil
05-07-2023, 10:53 PM

Surely you mean Rocky?

05-07-2023, 11:00 PM
Surely you mean Rocky?

If I'm being completely honest, either or. It goes against the grain because there's alot of Hanlon and Rocky fans out there but if I had it my way we'd 100% have two new centre's halfs and neither of them would play for Hibs again. Paul has been a great servant but gets caught out far too much these days and Rocky just doesn't install confidence and instead of a centre half having a mistake in him every now and then it's almost every game for him.

We should be looking for much much better in that area.

JammyDoidger
05-07-2023, 11:27 PM
Given that obita has said his favourite position is wingback I have a feeling well play more with him and miller pushed up and play 3 at the back? Definitely think we'll be bringing in another CB

This would be madness. Hanlon is getting on and probably shouldn't be relied upon every week, Rocky from what I've seen up to this point shouldn't be starting every week for Hibs, so why would you want to play 3 centre half's to accommodate Obita's favoured position. Obita will be cover if he's not any better than Stevenson. For me it would be 2 new centre half's(Fish and another), or Fish and Hanlon if we really must. I wouldn't want to play Fish and Rocky as a 2 if Hanlon gets injured though so aye we need 2. I'm not convinced Miller will be out starting right back either, think there's a bit of chopping and changing yet to go.

05-07-2023, 11:51 PM
If I'm being completely honest, either or. It goes against the grain because there's alot of Hanlon and Rocky fans out there but if I had it my way we'd 100% have two new centre's halfs and neither of them would play for Hibs again. Paul has been a great servant but gets caught out far too much these days and Rocky just doesn't install confidence and instead of a centre half having a mistake in him every now and then it's almost every game for him.

I think the two of them could work pretty well together over a season actually. Mean this in a non-arsey way, but when was the last time you seen Rocky make a mistake that cost us a goal/gilt-edged chance? Or do you just mean he does things that you think don’t look entirely comfortable or could have been punished under different circumstances?

I like Rocky. And I thought he had done a lot to turn most of our fans round after a lot of hyperbole around his performances and bull**** surrounding his return. Not that I wouldn’t really like to see a guaranteed starting centre half come in mind you.

Donegal Hibby
05-07-2023, 11:52 PM

I actually thought Hanlon was excellent last season TBH and really helped Will Fish settle in . Fish for me was outstanding and I hope we get him back . He was much less a risk taker than Porteous who was our best defender and much more solid and reliable .

Rocky I agree does have a mistake in him like Porto , similar styles imo in both like to get forward with or without the ball though disagree that he makes a mistake every game just like I don't think Porto did .

Towards the last few months of Porto's time at us I actually thought Rocky was our best defender before he got injured .

We do need a centre half and possibly somebody like a Egan -Riley who can cover RB position which is were I think we need cover in .

I've no problems tbh going with Hanlon who is a experience defender or Rocky who I think has improved and will continue to do so . Priority area now for me is CB and a quality striker.

06-07-2023, 06:07 AM

You mean Rocky? Absolutely nothing wrong with Hanlon at the moment.

06-07-2023, 06:15 AM
You mean Rocky? Absolutely nothing wrong with Hanlon at the moment.

Rocky is a weird one for me.

Last season when he played I thought individually he was really good. Defended brilliantly, won battles in the air, read the game well, good tackles etc.

However, as well as he plays the defence just always seems a bit more chaotic when he is in it imo.

06-07-2023, 06:22 AM
Another good thing about Levitt signing is that other players might think to themselves Hibs are building something good I want to go there. It's a signing of intent by Hibs.

Trinity Hibee
06-07-2023, 06:36 AM
Steven Naismith when he sees Lee Johnson:

https://twitter.com/famousfivescout/status/1676660650829926420?s=46&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA

06-07-2023, 06:48 AM
I think people seem to be quickly forgetting how good Rocky Bushiri was before his injury - he easily was, consistently, one of our best players. I’m happy with him as starting CB. If we could get Will Fish in, with Hanlon as back-up, that would be massive and core of our defence sorted. After that, the priority would be mobile CF - I do wonder though if Melkersen might be the answer (but don’t want to rely on this though).

06-07-2023, 06:56 AM
I think people seem to be quickly forgetting how good Rocky Bushiri was before his injury - he easily was, consistently, one of our best players. I’m happy with him as starting CB. If we could get Will Fish in, with Hanlon as back-up, that would be massive and core of our defence sorted. After that, the priority would be mobile CF - I do wonder though if Melkersen might be the answer (but don’t want to rely on this though).

We conceded most of our goals last season with Bushiri in the team. Someone posted Goals Against figures the other day with the various partnerships. Rocky was the weak link.

06-07-2023, 06:59 AM
On another note, Doig to Torino has gone quiet. Wasn't it supposed to be done yesterday?

06-07-2023, 06:59 AM
I think the two of them could work pretty well together over a season actually. Mean this in a non-arsey way, but when was the last time you seen Rocky make a mistake that cost us a goal/gilt-edged chance? Or do you just mean he does things that you think don’t look entirely comfortable or could have been punished under different circumstances?

I like Rocky. And I thought he had done a lot to turn most of our fans round after a lot of hyperbole around his performances and bull**** surrounding his return. Not that I wouldn’t really like to see a guaranteed starting centre half come in mind you.

Against Edinburgh City on Saturday.

06-07-2023, 07:00 AM
Transfer windows are much better without Derek McInnes hiding in the bushes at East Mains.

06-07-2023, 07:01 AM

Last season when he played I thought individually he was really good. Defended brilliantly, won battles in the air, read the game well, good tackles etc.

However, as well as he plays the defence just always seems a bit more chaotic when he is in it imo.

Spot on. Hopefully Fish signs with Rocky and another CB as backup. If Rocky is our first choice we’re in for a long season

06-07-2023, 07:01 AM
On another note, Doig to Torino has gone quiet. Wasn't it supposed to be done yesterday?

Reports are he'll sign for Torino next week.

06-07-2023, 07:08 AM

However, as well as he plays the defence just always seems a bit more chaotic when he is in it imo.Totally agree, he looked individually very good for a period of time last season but we were losing almost every week at that point.

The defence as a whole was definitely improved last season when he wasn't in it, for that reason I'd be nervous relying on him as a starting CB this year

Stokesy's on fire

Every defender in our league gets caught out these days but in terms of Hanlon I thought last season he was one of our best and most consistent players.

McGruber

That's exactly how I see it. He was our best defender for that period though you felt we were more vulnerable when he was playing. I don't think the feeling was justified, but it was there. Hard to put my finger on why It's like my fear of flights, never had an incident and know it's an illogical fear so I don't let it stop me, just do it with a grimace.

Rocky is good as a starting centre back, I'd prefer Hanlon and Fish however. Feels more like getting a train for me.

06-07-2023, 07:15 AM
Rocky was excellent before his injury. Our best defender. Fish came in and did well but I think Jeggo was a big reason for our defence looking more comfortable. Thought he was a brilliant signing and don't understand the flack he gets. Does the dirty work well. More than happy with Rocky coming back in the team with Jeggo in front of him. I'd obviously love Fish to return also.

06-07-2023, 07:22 AM
Rocky was excellent before his injury. Our best defender. Fish came in and did well but I think Jeggo was a big reason for our defence looking more comfortable. More than happy with Rocky coming back in the team with Jeggo in front of him. I'd obviously love Fish to return also.

He wasn’t excellent, he was part of a defence that was conceding goals at a higher rate than any Hibs team in my lifetime. In the 12 games between his 2 injuries we conceded 29 goals while he was on the pitch. Jeggo played in his final game before injury and we were still a shambles at the back conceding 3 against Hearts despite probably being the dominant team.

06-07-2023, 08:01 AM
Every defender in our league gets caught out these days but in terms of Hanlon I thought last season he was one of our best and most consistent players.

After a ropey period coming back from injury he was outstanding as verified by his team-mates, some of who thought he was our best player.

What people are seeing I have no idea, unless they're expecting Maldini running out at ER. The micro criticisms are becoming unbearable.

SickBoy32
06-07-2023, 08:09 AM
Bushiri should absolutely not be starting the season at centre half for us, stunned to read folk thinking he was good last year

And to think Porto and Hanlon got / get slated !! :confused:

A good quality centre half and centre forward and we won't be far away

06-07-2023, 08:22 AM
You can't just go by the goals against stats to determine how bad our CHs are. What about the goalkeepers loss of form, fullback errors, midfielders not picking up men at corners, dodgy ref decisions etc.

Rocky was fine last season when he played. Considering how much abuse he was getting from fans and press alike.

06-07-2023, 08:23 AM
Ah, are we back to "Rocky's *****" now? I must have missed that memo.

Dmas
06-07-2023, 08:27 AM

Away to Hamilton for the season, can’t see him making it with us now even if he has a successful loan it’s in league 1 should have been sent to a promotion chasing championship team or lower prem to see if he could make an impact

06-07-2023, 08:29 AM

He just needs another leaked story about being upset that the fans don’t like him, then people will change their minds and say hes good again.

I think he’s a decent enough squad player, but wouldn’t be happy about him being a regular starter.

06-07-2023, 08:38 AM
He just needs another leaked story about being upset that the fans don’t like him, then people will change their minds and say hes good again.

I think he’s a decent enough squad player, but wouldn’t be happy about him being a regular starter.

Do you think he is wrong to be upset about the abuse he got?

06-07-2023, 08:40 AM
Away to Hamilton for the season, can’t see him making it with us now even if he has a successful loan it’s in league 1 should have been sent to a promotion chasing championship team or lower prem to see if he could make an impact

I think we need to guarantee him game time to get him back to full fitness. He got injured at both Killie and Arbroath and didn’t get avrun after them. I think he is one of these players who needs to get a run to get his fitness completely up to scratch.

Obviously on a different level but Charlie Adam played every and was outstanding. As soon as he dropped out and onto Liverpool bench he struggled to main fitness.

So my point is let’s get him as match fit as is possible by playing every week and then decide next preseason whether he has the fitness and discipline to play at top league level.

He came on second half for Hamilton the other night and was excellent according to a Hamilton fan I know …. Who is normally mega critical of everyone !

06-07-2023, 08:44 AM
Do you think he is wrong to be upset about the abuse he got?

Don’t care either way. He wasn’t getting abuse from me.

Footballer gets abuse from fans isn’t a new story though, or one that’s not going to happen a million times in the future.

I don’t think people should change their minds about someone’s ability just because they’ve cried about it.

06-07-2023, 08:53 AM

Footballer gets abuse from fans isn’t a new story though, or one that’s not going to happen a million times in the future.

I don’t think people should change their minds about someone’s ability just because they’ve cried about it.

Don't trivialise it. He didn't cry about anything. That level of abuse on his social media isn't acceptable. The fact it happens to other people past and future don't make it any less horrible. It hurt and effected him personally. That isn't good enough and shouldn't happen, regardless of any ability. We as fans should care if our players are struggling because of abuse fellow fans give them. We should call it out and report it if possible.

The guy is a decent, yet inexperienced, player. Potential to be good for us imo. All the physical attributes certainly. My opinion didn't change. I thought he was decent at first and improved a good bit last season as he played more.

06-07-2023, 08:54 AM

I think there’s a fine balance between airing views and bullying. We are all entitled to our views but think for me his calling out how he felt was refreshing and showed there’s a human being at the other end not just an inanimate object. Doesn’t mean views on his football ability need to change but the impact of how we display them might change the way they are put across.

06-07-2023, 08:57 AM
Don't trivialise it. He didn't cry about anything. That level of abuse on his social media isn't acceptable. The fact it happens to other people past and future don't make it any less horrible. It hurt and effected him personally. That isn't good enough and shouldn't happen, regardless of any ability. We as fans should care if our players are struggling because of abuse fellow fans give them. We should call it out and report it if possible.

The guy is a decent, yet inexperienced, player. Potential to be good for us imo. All the physical attributes certainly. My opinion didn't change. I thought he was decent at first and improved a good bit last season as he played more.

Great post.

06-07-2023, 08:57 AM

Actually agree with just about every word. And the post immediately below yours.

06-07-2023, 09:00 AM

I’ve already said the guys decent, and that I didn’t abuse him. You dinnae have to get all Trisha off the telly with me.

Paulie Walnuts
06-07-2023, 09:00 AM

Agree with your first paragraph completely.

That being said, I do think peoples opinions of him have been way over the top since that stuff came out. Nice to see fans backing him, but his performances were nowhere near as good as people made them out to be imo. We’ve got people claiming he was excellent/best defender/best player etc. To me he was still our weak link in the defence when he was playing this year.

Not a terrible player by any means but I wouldn’t want him as first choice.

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 09:19 AM

I think there’s a fine balance between airing views and bullying. We are all entitled to our views but think for me his calling out how he felt was refreshing and showed there’s a human being at the other end not just an inanimate object. Doesn’t mean views on his football ability need to change but the impact of how we display them might change the way they are put across.
:agree:. :top marks

06-07-2023, 09:25 AM

I agree that opinions on his performances changed (in part) as a result of what had went on. He improved but I don’t want to be going in to the season with him as a first pick.

What I would say is that his attitude was really good as he clearly came back determined to change opinions. And I thought the crowd showed him a lot of support as well.

06-07-2023, 09:27 AM
What i admire Rocky for is he came back from the abuse he got, worked hard, played well and shut the vast majority of them up. That's exactly the type of character and mentality i want players at Hibs to have. Great attitude at 23.

06-07-2023, 09:29 AM
Nice to see that this thread, after a brief intermission to discuss a rumour about signing a player and the eventual signing, has resumed its main purpose of slagging off our existing players. :greengrin

06-07-2023, 09:31 AM
Do we think anyone will join up with us in Spain or is that us until we come back?

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 09:31 AM
He wasn’t excellent, he was part of a defence that was conceding goals at a higher rate than any Hibs team in my lifetime. In the 12 games between his 2 injuries we conceded 29 goals while he was on the pitch. Jeggo played in his final game before injury and we were still a shambles at the back conceding 3 against Hearts despite probably being the dominant team.
Must admit towards the last couple of months before Porto left I thought Rocky was our best defender in all honesty. Porto's form had tipped badly , that and the the fact we moved him into midfield a couple of games because we lacked any drive there . In Rocky's 12 games were we conceded 29 goals how many of them did we have Jeggo or Egan-Riley for ?

Heedersnvolleys
06-07-2023, 09:36 AM
Back to transfers, out of the loans last year I would much prefer CJ back out of all of them. I realise it is probably not the positions we are desperate to fill but he impressed me the most especially when in the midfield role in his early games. Surprised there has not been more talk about that.

06-07-2023, 09:43 AM
Back to transfers, out of the loans last year I would much prefer CJ back out of all of them. I realise it is probably not the positions we are desperate to fill but he impressed me the most especially when in the midfield role in his early games. Surprised there has not been more talk about that.

CJ was great but he has a long term injury.

06-07-2023, 09:50 AM
Quite hard to know exactly what to make of our defence last season as there were so many variables at play that may have contributed to it being ropey at some points and excellent at others.

All I’ll say is that I think Fish, Rocky and Hanlon are all excellent players for this level and I’d be very confident going into the season with those 3.

06-07-2023, 09:55 AM
Yip, all the experts are out in force today.

06-07-2023, 09:57 AM
Hopefully Rocky continues to improve, i'm happy with him being in the squad, but i would like better for a starting place.

06-07-2023, 09:58 AM
I’ve already said the guys decent, and that I didn’t abuse him. You dinnae have to get all Trisha off the telly with me.
You brought it on yourself, what Rocky was subjected to was bullying plain and simple.

ElginHibbie
06-07-2023, 10:00 AM
McKirdy out for up to 6 months, so he won't be going anywhere this window

06-07-2023, 10:04 AM
McKirdy out for up to 6 months, so he won't be going anywhere this window

"While the club are unable to reveal the exact nature of the issue due to medical confidentiality and the player’s desire for privacy, they have assured the player, who is just one year into a three-year deal, of their full support."

That doesn't sound good. I hope the lads ok.

06-07-2023, 10:07 AM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/harry-mckirdy-ruled-out-for-significant-period-of-time

Sounds something possibly serious there

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

06-07-2023, 10:09 AM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/harry-mckirdy-ruled-out-for-significant-period-of-time

Sounds something possibly serious there

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Horrible news for him regardless of what your opinion on him is

Lendo
06-07-2023, 10:12 AM
"While the club are unable to reveal the exact nature of the issue due to medical confidentiality and the player’s desire for privacy, they have assured the player, who is just one year into a three-year deal, of their full support."

That doesn't sound good. I hope the lads ok.

Massively critical of him but if the boys got some serious issues going on it should go without saying that the supporters should get behind him.

Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 10:20 AM

Jason Kerr would be a significant upgrade on either of them, but as he was injured last season we cannot slot him in immediately.

A couple of Centre Halfs a Centre forward and an upgrade on Jeggo would make me a bit more comfortable going forward.

If either Hanlon or Bushiri (dislike him being called 'Rocky') get injured does this mean McGregor dusts off the zimmer again?

06-07-2023, 10:24 AM
Jason Kerr would be a significant upgrade on either of them, but as he was injured last season we cannot slot him in immediately.

A couple of Centre Halfs a Centre forward and an upgrade on Jeggo would make me a bit more comfortable going forward.

If either Hanlon or Bushiri (dislike him being called 'Rocky') get injured does this mean McGregor dusts off the zimmer again?

To be fair, his first name is Rocky.

06-07-2023, 10:27 AM
dislike him being called 'Rocky'

Bloody hell

BlackSheep
06-07-2023, 10:28 AM

I think we would look at youth or emergency loans should this happen.

Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 10:32 AM
To be fair, his first name is Rocky.

Really, is his first name Rocky?

Thought it was a nickname.

My apologies.

06-07-2023, 10:37 AM

My apologies.

That's ok 1973 :wink:

HFC93
06-07-2023, 10:40 AM

My apologies.

You'll need to take it up with Mr & Mrs Bushiri.

06-07-2023, 10:40 AM

The point is, you are totally trivialising the abuse he got. He wasn't "crying" about anything. This isn't the school playground and he's gone to the teacher because someone stole his pencil. It's quite serious, as suicide rates etc show. People should be commended for speaking out about things that are troubling them.

06-07-2023, 10:44 AM

Jason Kerr would not be a better LCB than Paul Hanlon. He would be a better RCB than Paul Hanlon.

06-07-2023, 10:58 AM
What's the latest with Laidlaw? I've still not seen anything confirmed that he has left the club.

inglisavhibs
06-07-2023, 11:07 AM
He was and it would cost us more money than we have to replace him with a better left sided centre half. Other position are more of a problem.

06-07-2023, 11:08 AM
When it comes to Rocky it cant be denied that as last season progressed he got better and better. He still had that Efe Ambrose feel about him, but his positioning and decision making was improving all the time. The injury came at just the wrong time for him, nae surprise it was against Hearts.

I often wondered if he had it in him to become a defensive midfield player in the mould of Marvin Bartley. He has a bit of pace, definitely has the physicality and his passing isn't bad.. possibly would need to learn a bit of discipline knowing when to stay and when to go, if he learnt that then who knows ... just a thought :greengrin

06-07-2023, 11:11 AM

My apologies.

Yeah, his full name is Rocky Bushiri Kisonga

What we need to remember is he is only 23 and not had many games in his career, so he will get better the more he plays, his development probably stalled a bit before he came to Hibs and there is no denying that he has improved since he arrived here. I am happy with him in the squad and in the side too, I think he will get better as he plays more games.

06-07-2023, 11:12 AM

My apologies.

Wasn't it you who didn't like calling Ian Gordon, Ian Gordon?

06-07-2023, 11:13 AM
Wasn't it you who didn't like calling Ian Gordon, Ian Gordon?

I don’t think it ought to be blasphemy.

Greenworld
06-07-2023, 11:19 AM
What's the latest with Laidlaw? I've still not seen anything confirmed that he has left the club.I think he's caught in limbo can't sign for someone else unless they pay the compensation fee as yet no one has. At least thats my reading of it . I dont know if deal is still on the table at hibs

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

06-07-2023, 11:34 AM
When it comes to Rocky it cant be denied that as last season progressed he got better and better. He still had that Efe Ambrose feel about him, but his positioning and decision making was improving all the time. The injury came at just the wrong time for him, nae surprise it was against Hearts.

I often wondered if he had it in him to become a defensive midfield player in the mould of Marvin Bartley. He has a bit of pace, definitely has the physicality and his passing isn't bad.. possibly would need to learn a bit of discipline knowing when to stay and when to go, if he learnt that then who knows ... just a thought :greengrin

As in, one of the best footballing centre halves we've ever had and who made few costly errors during his time with us?

:devil:

06-07-2023, 11:55 AM
Whatever the thoughts on any one individual, what's clear to me is that we need to have a more robust defensive unit than recently. You can do anything with stats, but it felt that we made some poor decisions that cost us goals in recent seasons. I'm no expert, so these could be down to individual errors or down to team shape or lack of tracking back etc, but it did feel many goals could have been avoided.

Without naming individuals, we need a more robust defensive shape. I don't believe one player alone is to blame or will resolve the shape instantly.

06-07-2023, 11:59 AM
The point is, you are totally trivialising the abuse he got. He wasn't "crying" about anything. This isn't the school playground and he's gone to the teacher because someone stole his pencil. It's quite serious, as suicide rates etc show. People should be commended for speaking out about things that are troubling them.

You can get all uppity about it if you want, I just don’t care.

I made a comment about folk changing their opinions on him based on him being upset. If you want to make that about suicide rates then, cool, you do that.

06-07-2023, 12:00 PM
I think he's caught in limbo can't sign for someone else unless they pay the compensation fee as yet no one has. At least thats my reading of it . I dont know if deal is still on the table at hibs

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

If he was realistically coming back here, he’d be training with us I’d imagine. Sure I read on here that he’s been training with a lower league Scottish team?

06-07-2023, 12:02 PM

I made a comment about folk changing their opinions on him based on him being upset. If you want to make that about suicide rates then, cool, you do that.

I don't think people changed their opinion on him because of what he said. They may have toned down their vitriol against him so that the voices of those of us who saw his attributes seemed louder.

If people changed their opinion about his ability, it's because a) they gave him a chance before leaping in with criticism, but mostly b) because he played well.

Dmas
06-07-2023, 12:02 PM
Whatever the thoughts on any one individual, what's clear to me is that we need to have a more robust defensive unit than recently. You can do anything with stats, but it felt that we made some poor decisions that cost us goals in recent seasons. I'm no expert, so these could be down to individual errors or down to team shape or lack of tracking back etc, but it did feel many goals could have been avoided.

Without naming individuals, we need a more robust defensive shape. I don't believe one player alone is to blame or will resolve the shape instantly.

Totally agree I don’t think we defend well as a team, could do with someone in the midfield who enjoys the physical side let’s say, we have ball players and a goal threat, the other side of the game lacks a bit and I think that causes too much pressure on the defence as a whole.

Boyle coming back will help he isn’t shy to track back from wide, youan def improved that side of his game as season went on just think either a Bartley type or someone with mcginn like engine to get about would help us

06-07-2023, 12:10 PM
I don't think people changed their opinion on him because of what he said. They may have toned down their vitriol against him so that the voices of those of us who saw his attributes seemed louder.

If people changed their opinion about his ability, it's because a) they gave him a chance before leaping in with criticism, but mostly b) because he played well.

Disagree.

06-07-2023, 12:11 PM
Disagree.

Actually, I disagreed with you. :wink:

06-07-2023, 12:11 PM

Nothing to do with him playing well? Purely because he was "upset" and "crying"

Yikes

06-07-2023, 12:12 PM
What's the latest with Laidlaw? I've still not seen anything confirmed that he has left the club.

Brentford ?

06-07-2023, 12:18 PM
Nothing to do with him playing well? Purely because he was "upset" and "crying"

Yikes

Not everyone thinks he was playing well.

06-07-2023, 12:19 PM

He was sitting in the stand at the Edinburgh City game wearing a PSG tracksuit 🤔

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 12:24 PM
Now that we have lost Mckirdy and Cadden's out long term have we anyone that can cover for Boyle in the RW position?. That's if Boyle's ready in time too for the European games, might be we will have to sign a RW on loan now . Wish both Harry and Chris a speedy recovery btw .

Dmas
06-07-2023, 12:28 PM
Now that we have lost Mckirdy and Cadden's out long term have we anyone that can cover for Boyle in the RW position?. That's if Boyle's ready in time too for the European games, might be we will have to sign a RW on loan now . Wish both Harry and Chris a speedy recovery btw .

Jair, your time has come

Melkerson maybe also?

06-07-2023, 12:29 PM

Dan MacKay

06-07-2023, 12:40 PM
Laidlaw?

06-07-2023, 12:44 PM

I don’t know his contract situation at all, but I quite like the look of Danny Armstrong at Killie. Don’t think I’d want him starting every week for Hibs, but he’s be a good winger to have in the squad if we were missing Youan or Boyle.

He’s probably Killies best player, so a non-starter to get him here?

06-07-2023, 12:46 PM

Does daytime TV still have these kinda shows?

Guessing they’d be way different to what Jerry Springer and the likes brought us back in the day!!

06-07-2023, 12:46 PM
I don’t know his contract situation at all, but I quite like the look of Danny Armstrong at Killie. Don’t think I’d want him starting every week for Hibs, but he’s be a good winger to have in the squad if we were missing Youan or Boyle.

Me too easty. Think he’d be a good option

LEaston87
06-07-2023, 12:48 PM
Me too easty. Think he’d be a good option

We should have offered cash plus magennis for him

06-07-2023, 12:54 PM
Looking forward to getting my first transfer rumour from Threads 😄

06-07-2023, 01:01 PM
We should have offered cash plus magennis for him

Definitely

xqnq1875
06-07-2023, 01:01 PM

Second this, would definitely be a good option to have in the squad

Hibee Daft
06-07-2023, 01:02 PM
The team is looking good on paper and we seem to have abit of depth now aswell

Marshall
Miller Bushiri Hanlon Obita
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan

Bench
Cadden, Stevenson, Campbell, Melkerson, Mackay, Newell, Wollacott, Kenneh

Only really need a centre back now and id be very optimistic for the season.

06-07-2023, 01:05 PM
Not everyone thinks he was playing well.

Of course not. But surely their opinions won't have changed?

06-07-2023, 01:09 PM

Marshall
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan

Bench

Cadden out long term, snapped his achilles, had surgery recovery can take a long time, be next year before he is back in the squad probably

06-07-2023, 01:14 PM

Marshall
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan

Bench

JDH will never start ahead of a fit Newell and Cadden is out the game for months. I think the bench looks really weak.

06-07-2023, 01:18 PM
Hearts fan at work reckons we’re both after Andre Green.

He’s probably just mentioning us due to sour grapes of not getting Levitt and then making out they got one over on us.

But he mentioned it before the McKirdy news so you never know.

06-07-2023, 01:21 PM
JDH will never start ahead of a fit Newell and Cadden is out the game for months. I think the bench looks really weak.

For us to have lost the players we have and for it only being early July I think it looks fine.

Sure, we’re not done yet and we’ve got some big additions to make along with some depth but we’ve been here or hereabouts with days of the window to go before.

Dmas
06-07-2023, 01:30 PM
No Tavares in training camp squad

06-07-2023, 01:30 PM

I’d be sticking with McKay rather than paying a fee and probably a higher wage to Armstrong. The goal/assist numbers that McKay was putting up last season were better than what Armstrong was doing in the Championship at a similar age.

06-07-2023, 01:31 PM
No Tavares in trying camp squad

Or Oscar McIntyre, I wonder if there is a loan lined up for him.

06-07-2023, 01:33 PM

Marshall
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan

Bench

100% need a striker in. More investment required for that position too

I’d take a CB on loan

06-07-2023, 01:40 PM

Ouch

06-07-2023, 01:42 PM
Doyles-Hayes is back training already by the looks of that article

06-07-2023, 01:44 PM
I’d be sticking with McKay rather than paying a fee and probably a higher wage to Armstrong. The goal/assist numbers that McKay was putting up last season were better than what Armstrong was doing in the Championship at a similar age.

Only just.

Mackay last season, 5 goals and 8 assists in 40 games

Armstrong 3 year ago in Championship, 6 goals and 4 assists in 35 games.

06-07-2023, 01:44 PM

Nae surprise to me.

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 01:45 PM
Jair, your time has come

Melkerson maybe also?
I forgot about Jair TBH with you .Melkersen has played on the right side so I suppose he could be used there though I don't think it entirely suits him , think he's better more central.

The other names of Mackay I think is more a LW though could probably play there and Laidlaw as well . Armstrong guy I don't know much about him tbh and wonder would he be hard to get of killie .

I think it's definitely a opportunity for one of our younger players like Laidlaw, Mackay and even Jair to stake a claim in the squad . Though I wouldn't be surprised if we use the city group connection and take in a young RW on loan till we get Cadden or Mckirdy back either.

06-07-2023, 01:47 PM
I've posted this before but we tracked Armstrong for at least 2 seasons a while back. Think when he was at Raith a swap was suggested but fell through. I think he's a nice player but I agree 're giving McKay an opportunity.

McGruber
06-07-2023, 01:47 PM

Marshall
Jeggo
JDH Levitt
Boyle ALF Youan

Bench

I think we need 2 centre backs and a physical striker minimum (unless Doidge comes good again which is probably unlikely)

Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 01:59 PM

'Training camp must be missing an Angel'

06-07-2023, 02:05 PM
St Mirren Football Club is thrilled to announce the signing of Northern Ireland international Conor McMenamin from @Glentoran, subject to clearance, on a two-year deal with the club holding the option of a further year.

#OurStMirren #COYS

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2023, 02:15 PM
Effe Ambrose training with Cove . Player I liked when he was at us .

06-07-2023, 02:19 PM
St Mirren Football Club is thrilled to announce the signing of Northern Ireland international Conor McMenamin from @Glentoran, subject to clearance, on a two-year deal with the club holding the option of a further year.

#OurStMirren #COYS

Scored 1 in 2 in NI, could be a good signing.

06-07-2023, 02:37 PM

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji122][emoji122]

McGruber
06-07-2023, 02:46 PM
[QUOTE=Dmas;7387374]No Tavares in training camp squad[/QUOTE

That's harsh. The entire squad, plus kids, plus crocks and only one left out. Hopefully a move for him is already organised. Never done anything for us, not given much of a chance to either to be fair

06-07-2023, 02:47 PM

It only takes a minute to find out why

GreenGray
06-07-2023, 03:10 PM
Whilst I am happy with the signings so far looking at the training camp squad list does worry me slightly. Need some more quality and depth imo.

06-07-2023, 03:11 PM
Whilst I am happy with the signings so far looking at the training camp squad list does worry me slightly. Need some more quality and depth imo.

More to arrive and more to go for sure.

06-07-2023, 03:14 PM

Perhaps going out on loan?

Hibiza
06-07-2023, 03:22 PM

JDH , in my humble , shouldn't be starting at all ( sorry Jake) way below the standard we should be at .

06-07-2023, 03:38 PM
JDH , in my humble , shouldn't be starting at all ( sorry Jake) way below the standard we should be at .

He'll actually probably take it as a compliment coming from you so wouldn't bother apologising.

06-07-2023, 04:09 PM
I like JDH. Be good to see how he gets on with a full pre season behind him. Hopefully he's over the injury.

Hibiza
06-07-2023, 04:12 PM
He'll actually probably take it as a compliment coming from you so wouldn't bother apologising.

No need to make things personal . All the best though.

Hibiza
06-07-2023, 04:21 PM

Explain to me Sur please, the attributes that Jake offers the team ,which I'm missing .

badabing67
06-07-2023, 04:25 PM

Wow I take it you didn't see him at Celtic away he was excellent that day.

06-07-2023, 04:31 PM
i'd keep JDH :agree:

Hibee Daft
06-07-2023, 04:35 PM
Id be surprised if ALF isnt the main striker this season, with the idea of Melkerson stepping up and becoming the main man through the season. Then hopefully next season O'connor comes back and kicks on.

06-07-2023, 04:36 PM

At the risk of sounding flippant I don’t care either way really.

I think he’s alright and I can see what he brings to the party. He helps keep possession, gets stuck in and does an alright job defensively.

In saying that he’s not that good I’d be bothered if he left. He’s maybe a bit of a jack of all trades, master of none in terms of the midfield positions.

An alright player that might get better with the right players around him but might not.

Hibiza
06-07-2023, 04:40 PM
Wow I take it you didn't see him at Celtic away he was excellent that day.

Don't visit Glasgow anymore for games, take it he was good that day (apologies again) to all who are easily offended. Just don't see what he's got in the times I've seen him. just seems " pedestrian. " In my humble .again in the times I've seen him. Strange that we apparently accepted a bid from Forest Green Rovers for him . just saying.

06-07-2023, 04:42 PM
At the risk of sounding flippant I don’t care either way really.

I think he’s alright and I can see what he brings to the party. He helps keep possession, gets stuck in and does an alright job defensively.

In saying that he’s not that good I’d be bothered if he left. He’s maybe a bit of a jack of all trades, master of none in terms of the midfield positions.

An alright player that might get better with the right players around him but might not.

i do agree with all of that, he's at least a very useful squad player to have

McGruber
06-07-2023, 04:42 PM
Id be surprised if ALF isnt the main striker this season, with the idea of Melkerson stepping up and becoming the main man through the season. Then hopefully next season O'connor comes back and kicks on.

Might be but we would need another in to give us a physical presence and some power, a big no. 9. Boyle, Youan, ALF, Melkerson - all mobile, good pace and movement. Need a different option up there. Sometimes you need the big fella up top

Keepthefaith
06-07-2023, 04:43 PM

The fact that there's nobody in the number 9 shirt might be a big clue that we're looking at another striker though??

06-07-2023, 04:47 PM

I think you’ll be surprised.

06-07-2023, 04:48 PM

We are 100% working on a main no9.

06-07-2023, 05:02 PM
Melkerson wasnt playing much when out on loan so don’t think we can rely on him to suddenly be our main striker yet .ALF we need to see how he copes week in week out ,but again don’t think we should be relying on someone his age as being the main striker all season
Both hopefully have a role to play especially with Mckirdy s injury but we defo need another proven striker in

06-07-2023, 05:05 PM
Don't visit Glasgow anymore for games, take it he was good that day (apologies again) to all who are easily offended. Just don't see what he's got in the times I've seen him. just seems " pedestrian. " In my humble .again in the times I've seen him. Strange that we apparently accepted a bid from Forest Green Rovers for him . just saying.
I don’t think we have seen the best of him consistently and injury has played a part in that

wazoo1875
06-07-2023, 05:26 PM

Curtis 😰

Steven79
06-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Curtis [emoji27]No chance it's him.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

06-07-2023, 05:48 PM

I thought we might go with Boyle and Youan upfront in a 442 diamond so that's good to hear

Hopefully get CJ-ER back too? Along with fish

Then a back up CB and striker and we're sorted

Pytheas
06-07-2023, 05:48 PM

Spill it.

Need another good rumour now Levitt is here.

06-07-2023, 06:07 PM
I don’t think we have seen the best of him consistently and injury has played a part in that

JDH, Newell and Magennis started the season two years ago very impressively.

Once Magennis got injured they struggled after that to get a similar balance.

JDH and Newell’s ball retention is very good and I would be happy to see Levitt come in alongside them.

As an earlier poster said his performances when he came back from injury towards the end of the season were very good.

06-07-2023, 06:58 PM
Spill it.

Need another good rumour now Levitt is here.

It was going to 99 but they’ve moved on now. No idea who it is. But someone will be coming in.

06-07-2023, 07:04 PM

What a disaster he’s been. Announced as our marque signing last year, paid a fee, gave him the number 10 and gave him a 4 yr deal.Barely kicked a ball for us and now looks like we’re binning him.

No doubt on decent money an aw. He will take a hell of a lot of shifting and I suspect we’ll likely sub his wages an aw.

06-07-2023, 07:06 PM
What a disaster he’s been. Announced as our marque signing last year, paid a fee, gave him the number 10 and gave him a 4 yr deal.Barely kicked a ball for us and now looks like we’re binning him.

No doubt on decent money an aw. He will take a hell of a lot of shifting and I suspect we’ll likely sub his wages an aw.

There will surely be some daft club somewhere in Europe willing to take him on based on his YouTube reel.

06-07-2023, 07:07 PM
Bring back Brian Graham

06-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Hearts fan at work reckons we’re both after Andre Green.

He’s probably just mentioning us due to sour grapes of not getting Levitt and then making out they got one over on us.

But he mentioned it before the McKirdy news so you never know.

Not a name I've heard before, so did a Google search. More mentions of Peter Andre than Andre Green.

Not got a great track record. To be honest, it's all a bit mysterious.

06-07-2023, 07:20 PM

Significant he was in the B / development team the other night.

Maybe left at home to play as many minutes as possible for them and see if he can show anything or get his confidence up

06-07-2023, 07:25 PM
No chance it's him.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkGriffiths :agree:

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

jakeshibs
06-07-2023, 07:33 PM

don't think he is good enough for Hibs

Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 07:36 PM

Correct.

Bojang from FC Rainbow, was probably the worst of the lot but at least he was a loan.

It puzzles me why we gave Tavares a 4 year deal. Was it because other clubs wanted him. He played very few 1st team games and it makes me think someone in recruitment, or Johnson thought he was the 100% real deal. Big mistake now given the money Tavares is rumoured to be on.

I understand why Hibs take loans. Almost a try before you buy with untested, inexperienced players. In hindsight players such as Tavares, Kenneh & Melkersen should have initially been taken on loan. If the player or the selling club didn't want a loan then you go for a different player. If they are a success and you cannot keep them, for example the likes of Fish, then that's just how it is. The club at least have not taken a financial hit.

From the players signed so far in this window they have all had a good number of 1st team games. Clearly a strategy that McDermott has implemented, but not rocket science.

Much as we have moved some players on, I agree with a previous poster that the squad it still substantially short of one which will achieve 3rd in the league and the Europa Conference Group stages.

We stlll need to move 5 or 6 players out and get quality replacements in soon. It will be difficult to move some players on given the contracts we have handed out and it must have restricted recruitment. We are still paying for bad decisions made over the last couple of years. But there is still time.

The Wireless
06-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Explain to me Sur please, the attributes that Jake offers the team ,which I'm missing .
Takes responsibility and gets on the ball. Keeps possession and very often than not plays the right pass. A tidy player and without a doubt a good squad player if not a starter.