View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Silky
30-07-2023, 09:49 PM
Did the medical find something that means he’s no to get on planes anymore?

Maybe he's scared of flying, like Bergkamp was, and drove here.

30-07-2023, 09:54 PM
He was back in the Netherlands over the weekend.

just picking up a few last minute things ? :greengrin

30-07-2023, 09:56 PM
Did the medical find something that means he’s no to get on planes anymore?

Cat Stanton
30-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Is he any good?

(not being funny - have obviously never heard of him, and don't know much about him)

30-07-2023, 10:00 PM
Is his brother still following Hibs on instagram?

30-07-2023, 10:02 PM
Is his brother still following Hibs on instagram?

Do you care ?

30-07-2023, 10:03 PM
Do you care ?

Not entirely sure why you think I would have asked otherwise?

30-07-2023, 10:07 PM

I imagine he’s been picking up a lot of things. He’s about to move to Scotland for 3 years and players don’t tend to bring all their worldly possessions along with them when they fly in to do a medical.

30-07-2023, 10:07 PM
Not entirely sure why you think I would have asked otherwise?

What difference does it make?

30-07-2023, 10:11 PM

It would be very weird if his brother started following Hibs, before Dylan signed for us, and has now unfollowed Hibs. Why would he unfollow after his brother had signed?

30-07-2023, 10:12 PM

Hiya Morrissey. 👋🏻

Green Reaper
30-07-2023, 10:21 PM

If it means the Vente deals off, then heaven knows I'm miserable now

30-07-2023, 10:23 PM
If it means the Vente deals off, then heaven knows I'm miserable now

Please, please, please, no more Smiths puns

30-07-2023, 10:25 PM

Can he also be effective on the right wing?

30-07-2023, 10:29 PM
Some posters really need to shut their mouths. Totally going about things the wrong way.

bringbackbenny
30-07-2023, 10:31 PM

Yes! that joke isn't funny anymore (:

30-07-2023, 10:34 PM

Bigmouth strikes again.

30-07-2023, 11:07 PM

Forgot his togs 😆

30-07-2023, 11:08 PM
Some posters really need to shut their mouths. Totally going about things the wrong way.

30-07-2023, 11:09 PM
Hiya Morrissey. 👋🏻

🤣I wish I had his sense of humour

30-07-2023, 11:10 PM
Mon the hibees though

30-07-2023, 11:14 PM
This better be a Vente Monday or I’ll take to the streets. Not sure what Norwich City Council will be able to do about it mind, but that won’t stop me.

30-07-2023, 11:26 PM
I wasn't a big Myko fan but I think someone of his build would be useful when our main threats are going to be Boyle and Youan. Would rather we kept Doidge if we can't bring another like that in.

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 02:15 AM
Yes! that joke isn't funny anymore (:

It’s too close to home and it’s too near the bone.

WeAreHibs
31-07-2023, 04:24 AM
Forgot his togs 😆

Togs and clogs

31-07-2023, 05:15 AM

Dont panic

Clarence
31-07-2023, 06:06 AM
Was there not a tweet from someone from a Roda point of view saying Vente and his family were travelling today?

When you say it's gonna happen now
When exactly do you mean?

31-07-2023, 06:21 AM
Dream forward line

Boyle Vente Youan

Make it happen Hibs

🙏

31-07-2023, 06:27 AM
Another thread marred by **** puns.

31-07-2023, 06:48 AM

It gets Marred every Sumner

BigKev
31-07-2023, 06:48 AM

Aye, all the comedians are up early. Wouldn’t be so bad if they were decent but they’re not. Pish patter.

Clarence
31-07-2023, 07:06 AM
Aye, all the comedians are up early. Wouldn’t be so bad if they were decent but they’re not. Pish patter.

This is the most Morrissey post of all. Warning May contain traces of whoosh.

31-07-2023, 07:21 AM
Apparently Fish went through Boyle in training with a really heavy tackle.
He was terrified that he had hurt him badly but Boyler just jumped back up and told him "William it was really nothing."

31-07-2023, 07:23 AM

What a Charming Man

31-07-2023, 07:24 AM

I was getting confused with the Bond puns from the other thread (also crap), wondering how they morphed into Smith's ones.

The Smith's were bad enough. To try and have fun with puns about them is, as you say, pish patter.

Generally you know a thread has run its course when it gets to this stage.

147lothian
31-07-2023, 07:25 AM
Gone are the days when we sold the golden generation and the money made wasn't invested back into finding replacements. Hats off to the club for looking for Kevin Nisbet's replacement, hopefully we can get this one over the line before the season starts

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-hopeful-of-sealing-dylan-vente-transfer-ahead-of-league-curtain-raiser-4236967

31-07-2023, 07:26 AM
I was getting confused with the Bond puns from the other thread (also crap), wondering how they morphed into Smith's ones.

The Smith's were bad enough. To try and have fun with puns about them is, as you say, pish patter.

Generally you know a thread has run its course when it gets to this stage.
Tells you that the season needs to start.

31-07-2023, 07:34 AM
Gone are the days when we sold the golden generation and the money made wasn't invested back into finding replacements. Hats off to the club for looking for Kevin Nisbet's replacement, hopefully we can get this one over the line before the season starts

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-hopeful-of-sealing-dylan-vente-transfer-ahead-of-league-curtain-raiser-4236967

I get what you're saying, but the season has already started.

31-07-2023, 07:39 AM
Tells you that the season needs to start.

The season needs to start immediately but how soon is now?

31-07-2023, 07:45 AM

This is why I don't mind puns 🙂

31-07-2023, 07:50 AM

I know. That joke isnt funny anymore.

31-07-2023, 07:57 AM
The season needs to start immediately but how soon is now?What difference does it make how soon it is?

31-07-2023, 08:27 AM

See, I'm guessing that's a pretty clever pun, but not knowing any Smith's tunes I kinda feel left out!

HIBS NUTS
31-07-2023, 08:31 AM
I love the smiths 👍🏻
but heaven knows i’m miserable now.

31-07-2023, 08:36 AM

My favourite is when someone comes on to strop about puns, and replies to a ‘pun post’ thinking they’re agreeing with someone’s moan..

I know these things take time but the Vente thing is going nowhere fast so why not let “the comedians” enjoy themselves in the meantime?

31-07-2023, 08:46 AM
My favourite is when someone comes on to strop about puns, and replies to a ‘pun post’ thinking they’re agreeing with someone’s moan..

I know these things take time but the Vente thing is going nowhere fast so why not let “the comedians” enjoy themselves in the meantime?

I see what you did there.

31-07-2023, 08:49 AM
Yes we all need to get back to the old house watching the team play otherwise these puns will go on and on.

31-07-2023, 08:53 AM
I know. That joke isnt funny anymore.

What she said.

31-07-2023, 08:56 AM
Just heard about potential overnight activity at East Mains.

Apparently there is a light that never goes out.

31-07-2023, 08:58 AM
These are all going over my head.

For any other non-Smith's fans, my post doesn't contain any puns, so no point trying to figure it out.

Edit - I don't even know if you guys are posting puns or not now.

31-07-2023, 09:01 AM

:agree: I really can't fault the board. This will be the most expensive transfer window in our history in terms of transfer fees paid. The board/owners are doing their bit, it's over to the management team to make it come together.

31-07-2023, 09:06 AM
Come on, Hibs. Announce Vente or some other striker and let this thread go off track to discuss transfers for five minutes! :greengrin

31-07-2023, 09:09 AM

For any other non-Smith's fans, my post doesn't contain any puns, so no point trying to figure it out.

Rank.

31-07-2023, 09:11 AM
Rank.

Oh here he is, the boy with the thorn in his side.

31-07-2023, 09:14 AM
This website has ruined puns for me.

31-07-2023, 09:14 AM
Oh here he is, the boy with the thorn in his side.

:applause:

Almost a LoB connection too. Well played, sir.

31-07-2023, 09:15 AM

31-07-2023, 09:18 AM

The contrived ones are awful but you can't help but chuckle when you get one that fits Hand in Glove with the other posts around it.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 09:22 AM
Dream forward line

Boyle Vente Youan

Make it happen Hibs

🙏
These things take time.

31-07-2023, 09:22 AM

I think the smiths fans should be admired. Even anonymously on here I wouldn't admit to listening to the smiths.

Fuzzywuzzy
31-07-2023, 09:23 AM
I see ventes wiki page has already been updated 😂

31-07-2023, 09:24 AM
The contrived ones are awful but you can't help but chuckle when you get one that fits Hand in Glove with the other posts around it.

Every day is, like, pun day.

31-07-2023, 09:26 AM
Dream forward line

Boyle Vente Youan

Make it happen Hibs

🙏

🤞🤞🤞

If you don't ask, you don't get.

#announcevente

147lothian
31-07-2023, 09:31 AM
:agree: I really can't fault the board. This will be the most expensive transfer window in our history in terms of transfer fees paid. The board/owners are doing their bit, it's over to the management team to make it come together.

Me too, I was highly critical of the excuses for penny pinching that went on before but I have to say credit is due here in going for a replacement for Nisbet, all we can hope for is a 2 goal win within 90 minutes on Thursday and Vente and maybe even Boyle being ready for the next round.

31-07-2023, 09:33 AM

It's brilliant eh? These days were always going to come, once the foundations were laid - HTC, the stadium... But I can't deny that it's great to see the club genuinely pushing the boat out on players now.

Hopefully we see that translated into a great team to watch.

31-07-2023, 09:34 AM

I hope the puns stop now. But then, just how soon is now?

31-07-2023, 09:34 AM
How comparable is Dutch football to Scottish football in terms of quality, speed and physicality. His record is excellent the last couple of seasons but he didn't play too many games as a teen or first couple of years of his twenties. He strikes me as a similar type of signing to Nisbet. I had no doubt he would be a success but my lack of knowledge on Dutch football means I don't have the same vibe about Velde. No doubting the ambitions of the club though

31-07-2023, 09:42 AM
There's an easyJet flight from Amsterdam arriving in Edinburgh at 13.45 today.

There are several other airlines arriving too, and there are several other airports in the Netherlands, but I'm going for that one.

31-07-2023, 09:45 AM

There are several other airlines arriving too, and there are several other airports in the Netherlands, but I'm going for that one.

I suspect we are a KLM kind of club these days

31-07-2023, 09:47 AM

There are several other airlines arriving too, and there are several other airports in the Netherlands, but I'm going for that one.Just as long as the club don't put him on one of those planes with propellers, not wanting him falling out with LJ before he even arrives :greengrin

31-07-2023, 09:48 AM
I think the smiths fans should be admired. Even anonymously on here I wouldn't admit to listening to the smiths.

Depressed enough following Hibs thanks :greengrin

31-07-2023, 09:49 AM

Tammy Wynette been linked with us too?

31-07-2023, 09:49 AM
Tammy Wynette been linked with us too?

Fully Justified

31-07-2023, 09:51 AM
Fully Justified
And ancient

31-07-2023, 09:53 AM
How comparable is Dutch football to Scottish football in terms of quality, speed and physicality. His record is excellent the last couple of seasons but he didn't play too many games as a teen or first couple of years of his twenties. He strikes me as a similar type of signing to Nisbet. I had no doubt he would be a success but my lack of knowledge on Dutch football means I don't have the same vibe about Velde. No doubting the ambitions of the club though

I'd say hibs are a somewhere between NEC and Twente.

Not Even Close to winning the league and at least Twente points behind the winners.

et_hibby
31-07-2023, 09:53 AM
I hope the puns stop now. But then, just how soon is now?
You’re the one for me, Matty!

31-07-2023, 09:54 AM

In which case, they land at 12.40, 16.40 and 22.40.

31-07-2023, 09:56 AM
Just as long as the club don't put him on one of those planes with propellers, not wanting him falling out with LJ before he even arrives :greengrin

31-07-2023, 09:59 AM
I need a coffee.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 10:02 AM
🛬
https://youtu.be/nJMeENk3t74

31-07-2023, 10:08 AM

Not miserable enough for you? :greengrin

31-07-2023, 10:11 AM
In which case, they land at 12.40, 16.40 and 22.40.

Keep out of this Radge, plane-spotting isn't your forty.

31-07-2023, 10:19 AM
Keep out of this Radge, plane-spotting isn't your forty.

Don't you know What time is, love?

31-07-2023, 10:25 AM
Depressed enough following Hibs thanks :greengrin

Come on William, It was really nothing ...

31-07-2023, 10:27 AM
Not miserable enough for you? :greengrin

Am I actually considered a miserable poster? I don't think I'd make a top 25 on here after a defeat.

31-07-2023, 10:28 AM
Am I actually considered a miserable poster? I don't think I'd make a top 25 on here after a defeat.

Now please support that statement by name dropping all 25.

31-07-2023, 10:30 AM

:greengrin:greengrin

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 10:30 AM
I see ventes wiki page has already been updated 😂

Good spot. Below is an extract from his wiki page.

Dylan Vente (born 9 May 1999) is a Dutch professional footballer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) who plays as a forward (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward_(association_football)) for Hibernian Football Club (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_Football_Club).

Does seem a bit odd before it has been announced. I'm not really sure how authentic wiki is. My daughter uses wiki a lot for her studies and she is now at Uni so may be a good sign.

31-07-2023, 10:31 AM
Anyone heard anything on Henderson?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

31-07-2023, 10:31 AM

Dylan Vente (born 9 May 1999) is a Dutch professional footballer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) who plays as a forward (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward_(association_football)) for Hibernian Football Club (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_Football_Club).

Does seem a bit odd before it has been announced. I'm not really sure how authentic wiki is. My daughter uses wiki a lot for her studies and she is now at Uni so may be a good sign.

Anyone can update wiki.

31-07-2023, 10:34 AM

There are league ranking for all leagues in Europe. Scottish Premiership ranks 40th the Championship is 104th. In the Netherlands Eredivisie is 11th and Eerste Divisie is 64th. Roda are top end Eerste Divisie so probably rank the same or better than most of the Premiership.

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 10:35 AM
Anyone can update wiki.

Ah.

Cheers Brightside.....I'm not that bright with that kind of stuff.

Remember looking at Boris Johnson's wiki page a few years back which said the children he had was '6 or 7'. :greengrin

31-07-2023, 10:36 AM
Had never heard of Vente before the weekend and no idea if he'll be good for us or not but i'm close to going AWOL from work when he's announced and going on a celebratory drink binge. It'll be like the Sunday after we won the Scottish cup. I'll go down to the stadium to solo clap at the main stand, hurl slurfull abuse at random pedestrians and wake up on a bench in Leith Links with Vente's name tattoo'd on my arse. Get it done Hibs.

31-07-2023, 10:37 AM

Does seem a bit odd before it has been announced. I'm not really sure how authentic wiki is. My daughter uses wiki a lot for her studies and she is now at Uni so may be a good sign.Anyone can alter it

Happens all the time with joke entries

31-07-2023, 10:37 AM
Groningen are in the same division as Roda if that helps gauge anything.

31-07-2023, 10:44 AM

There is no shame in admitting to listening to Jonny Marr's creations. One of the most influential bands of all time with one of the greatest albums of all time (as per NME poll), but each to their own.:greengrin

On Vente, he is at the perfect age for us to be signing him. Just read Arsene Wengers book one of his key things about building a winning team was having a core of players between ages of 24-28, as that is when most players excel. Hopefully we get 2 brilliant years out of him then can cash in start of year 3.

31-07-2023, 10:51 AM
A little bit analysis on Vente by irvinganalysis on twitter

https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1685958424431849472?t=wgp3szYRCYD9LcPgOsFdRA&s=19

HIBS NUTS
31-07-2023, 10:57 AM
There is no shame in admitting to listening to Jonny Marr's creations. One of the most influential bands of all time with one of the greatest albums of all time (as per NME poll), but each to their own.:greengrin

On Vente, he is at the perfect age for us to be signing him. Just read Arsene Wengers book one of his key things about building a winning team was having a core of players between ages of 24-28, as that is when most players excel. Hopefully we get 2 brilliant years out of him then can cash in start of year 3.
Johnnie Marr is a guitar genius,
The Smiths are renowned for some of the most ingenious lyrics .
But Vente is a very exciting prospect, please bring him in
It would be hibs most expensive front 3 ever, Boyle,Vente,and Youan .

HIBS NUTS
31-07-2023, 11:00 AM

https://twitter.com/IrvingAnalysis/status/1685958424431849472?t=wgp3szYRCYD9LcPgOsFdRA&s=19

Fantastic info, if i could understand it.

31-07-2023, 11:01 AM
Fantastic info, if i could understand it.

Read the comments below, he explains the stats.

31-07-2023, 11:01 AM

As he says, I wonder why Vente wasn't picked up by teams in their top division.

31-07-2023, 11:05 AM
As he says, I wonder why Vente wasn't picked up by teams in their top division.

Could ask that of any signing really.

Why did better clubs than Hibs not sign any of our succesful signings over the years?

HIBS NUTS
31-07-2023, 11:07 AM
Read the comments below, he explains the stats.

Cheers that’s good.👍🏻

31-07-2023, 11:11 AM
Johnnie Marr is a guitar genius,
The Smiths are renowned for some of the most ingenious lyrics , since the Beatles .
But Vente is a very exciting prospect, please bring with in
It would be hibs most expensive front 3 ever, Boyle,Vente,and Youan .

Can't wait until the release of the first album. 💿🎶 😀

31-07-2023, 11:14 AM

Why did better clubs than Hibs not sign any of our succesful signings over the years?

Very sensible comment, will never catch on :greengrin

31-07-2023, 11:16 AM

Yeah, I suppose so. I guess I just can't believe our good fortune. Assuming he really is as good as we hope.

31-07-2023, 11:20 AM

Thanks, I always enjoy those sort of analyses. It has defensive aerial duels won but it doesn't tell you what they are like scoring with their head. I noticed from Vente's Youtube clips that he seems to have scored a reasonable amount, which I was pleased to see, albeit it there was some fairly poor defending.

31-07-2023, 11:26 AM
albeit it there was some fairly poor defending.

Fortunately that is something there is plenty of in SPFL :greengrin

31-07-2023, 11:29 AM
Yeah, I suppose so. I guess I just can't believe our good fortune. Assuming he really is as good as we hope.

Good fortune would be picking him up as a free transfer. We are paying a sizeable fee for him.

31-07-2023, 11:35 AM
I guess I just can't believe our good fortune.

Well good luck to them - yes they’re very pretty!

31-07-2023, 11:38 AM
There are league ranking for all leagues in Europe. Scottish Premiership ranks 40th the Championship is 104th. In the Netherlands Eredivisie is 11th and Eerste Divisie is 64th. Roda are top end Eerste Divisie so probably rank the same or better than most of the Premiership.

I find it hard to believe there are 40 better leagues than the Scottish Premier in Europe.

Our standard isn't brilliant, but that's seems very low to me.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 11:39 AM
I do wonder what kind of standard the league Vente has been playing in compared to our own?

Paulie Walnuts
31-07-2023, 11:40 AM
I find it hard to believe there are 40 better leagues than the Scottish Premier in Europe.

England likely have a better standard top 2 leagues. After that I’d be very surprised if any other country has 2 that are better.

I’d have put Scotland probably about top 15-20.

HFC93
31-07-2023, 11:40 AM

What are the 39 league's better than the Scottish Premiership?

Fuzzywuzzy
31-07-2023, 11:44 AM
Ah.

Cheers Brightside.....I'm not that bright with that kind of stuff.

Remember looking at Boris Johnson's wiki page a few years back which said the children he had was '6 or 7'. :greengrin

Some folk us into have great fun with the rangers and lee Wallace page😂😂

31-07-2023, 11:48 AM
40th does seem far too low, particularly when our co-efficient is 9th.
https://www.uefa.com/nationalassociations/uefarankings/country/#/yr/2024

Numptie
31-07-2023, 11:49 AM
Different sites have Scottish Premiership as 14th or 15th

The 5th best team in our league has just been beaten by the team that finished 2nd in last season's Andorran league. :cb

ErinGoBraghHFC

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

How can anyone be annoyed at that ffs, 10/10

31-07-2023, 11:52 AM
40th does seem far too low, particularly when our co-efficient is 9th.
https://www.uefa.com/nationalassociations/uefarankings/country/#/yr/2024

Here you go. We're 40th, just above English League One.

https://www.teamform.com/en/league-ranking/europe

31-07-2023, 11:54 AM

SPFL is ranked 9th by UEFA, just below the Belgian league and just above the Austrian league. That’s why we get 2 teams in the Champions League and 2 in the Europa league

31-07-2023, 11:55 AM
Here you go. We're 40th, just above English League One.

Thanks

Cyprus 1st division 25th.

Would be interesting to know how they calculate it all.

31-07-2023, 11:57 AM
Thanks

The Cypriot champions could probably give Celtic a game.

31-07-2023, 11:57 AM
Thanks

They use "a unique and sophisticated algorithm".

Whatever that is.

31-07-2023, 11:58 AM

It was like that last week when his name was first mentioned. I looked it up on Thursday.

I was wondering how his stats compared with Edwin de Graaf, so had a look.

Edwin de Graaf - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_de_Graaf)

The above includes the sentence "His later performances were not as productive, however, as he missed clear goalscoring chances in games against The Rangers, Inverness and Kilmarnock." Obviously, the 'author' knows his history.

Let's hope that Vente doesn't end up as productive as de Graaf.

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-07-2023, 11:58 AM
Thanks

Some good sides in Cyprus nowadays, decent amount of money floating about from Russian owners etc

31-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Boyle, Vente and Youan between them would have cost us >£2 million. Better ****in' be worth it!

31-07-2023, 11:59 AM
It was like that last week when his name was first mentioned. I looked it up on Thursday.

I was wondering how his stats compared with Edwin de Graaf, so had a look.

Edwin de Graaf - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_de_Graaf)

The above includes the sentence "His later performances were not as productive, however, as he missed clear goalscoring chances in games against The Rangers, Inverness and Kilmarnock." Obviously, the 'author' knows his history.

Let's hope that Vente doesn't end up as productive as de Graaf.

Lmao I actually remember writing part of that back in the day, someone else added the "The" though.

31-07-2023, 12:00 PM
Is it prounounced Vent (like Tent) or Venty (like twenty)?

31-07-2023, 12:00 PM
SPFL is ranked 9th by UEFA, just below the Belgian league and just above the Austrian league. That’s why we get 2 teams in the Champions League and 2 in the Europa league

Yes, but that's the counties' coefficients.

Leagues below the top divisions, eg English Championship, don't have European qualification so don't feature in that list.

31-07-2023, 12:03 PM
Some good sides in Cyprus nowadays, decent amount of money floating about from Russian owners etc

Fair enough, surprising their co-efficient is only 23rd.

31-07-2023, 12:05 PM

It’s pronounced Vente

31-07-2023, 12:06 PM
Yes, but that's the counties' coefficients.

Leagues below the top divisions, eg English Championship, don't have European qualification so don't feature in that list.

The maths don’t add up, if there are 9 leagues ranked above ours and if every one of those leagues second tier is better than the SPL (which they are not, realistically only the English Championship is better) that would make our league 18th

31-07-2023, 12:09 PM

That seems unbelievable to me. Absolutely no danger the Scottish Top League has 39 leagues above it imo. I'd be with other posters and say it is between 8 and 15th. I wouldn't rank the teams top end of our Championship as the same quality as Premiership teams so no idea why you would do that in Holland particularly when there are 18 teams in their top league and none seem to be wanting to buy a prolific scorer in the league below. Looking at the team he plays for they were 15th in that League so scoring that many goals in a relatively poor side is a good sign but it will still be a massive jump up in quality and speed of play coming to Hibs.

This signing reminds me a bit of the Mueller signing. Fingers crossed it ends up more like the signing of Nisbet and that a lower league scorer can continue that against more athletic, better organised and better technically defenders. If it is the sum being quoted it seems like a massive risk to me but if he scores 20 for us we will get that back easy enough. One thing for sure the board are not holding back in terms of supporting the Coaching Team

31-07-2023, 12:10 PM
The maths don’t add up, if there are 9 leagues ranked above ours and if every one of those leagues second tier is better than the SPL (which they are not, realistically only the English Championship is better) that would make our league 18th

I don't know how it's calculated, but we're 40th in the list I posted.

31-07-2023, 12:11 PM

Our coefficient is essentially based on the performance of 2 teams, it isn’t a representation of the strength of our league as a whole. For that to to be true, every team in the league would be a comparable standard to the Old Firm.

Paulie Walnuts
31-07-2023, 12:12 PM

The list you’ve posted is an absolute pile of ***** imo.

That’s not a go at you btw but there’s no chance the majority of those leagues are above ours.

31-07-2023, 12:16 PM

That’s not a go at you btw but there’s no chance the majority of those leagues are above ours.

Andorran League is ranked 155 :greengrin

BlackSheep
31-07-2023, 12:19 PM
No transfer news today then...?

PHeffernan
31-07-2023, 12:21 PM

Finished well away from the top end last season, 15th out of 20 teams

31-07-2023, 12:22 PM

I don't know much about a few of the leagues listed above us, but there aren't many I'd immediately say were definitely worse than us.

That's not to say it's 100% an accurate list, but I don't have any stats to counter their calculations.

31-07-2023, 12:23 PM
No transfer news today then...?
People on here will be Venting their anger at the lack of any news today.

PHeffernan
31-07-2023, 12:26 PM

we get 1 in the Europa League and 2 in the Europa League

31-07-2023, 12:27 PM

Still injured was last update I saw but likely to be back before Obita Assume we will get an update on injured players before European Game

31-07-2023, 12:29 PM
People on here will be Venting their anger at the lack of any news today.

Dilannae you start!

31-07-2023, 12:30 PM
Dylan Vente's 7 days

Got announced on Monday
Trained with the lads on Tuesday
Was banging them in by Wednesday
And on Thursday and Friday and Saturday
We lost on Sunday

PHeffernan
31-07-2023, 12:31 PM

He is injured hence he hasn't been in the recent match day squads.
If you mean an injury update, nothing has been forthcoming from Hibs.
Hopefully we get an update on Obita and Henderson in the pre match presser for the St Mirren game.

31-07-2023, 12:35 PM
I do wonder what kind of standard the league Vente has been playing in compared to our own?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230731/b730484debfbee6ae6225c27094751ce.png
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230731/6f8f7f348c11eaa446c2c26fcc4400a4.png

Not factual obviously, but based on transfermarkt squad/player values, the top half of the Dutch second division is similar to our league outwith the old firm.

K-Zazu
31-07-2023, 12:39 PM
Dylan Vente's 7 days

Got announced on Monday
We lost on Sunday

Oh dear

31-07-2023, 12:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230731/b730484debfbee6ae6225c27094751ce.png
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230731/6f8f7f348c11eaa446c2c26fcc4400a4.png

Not factual obviously, but based on transfermarkt squad/player values, the top half of the Dutch second division is similar to our league outwith the old firm.

It doesn’t really matter on the standard of league though, see Ivan Sproule, it’s about the quality of the scout and assessment of the player compared to whether they will add value to our team or not.

31-07-2023, 12:47 PM
It doesn’t really matter on the standard of league though, see Ivan Sproule, it’s about the quality of the scout and assessment of the player compared to whether they will add value to our team or not.

Oh I know. Just answering the question.

31-07-2023, 12:48 PM

I hate to mention his name, and this was a long time ago, but I think that Mark De Vries came to Scotland from the Dutch second division.

31-07-2023, 12:56 PM

I'd be amazed if the Dutch second tier was any / much worse than the Scottish second tier, and that's where Nisbet and Shankland were banging them in before earning their moves to a higher level.

There's not really been anyone standing out in the Scottish one for a few years since then.

I'm happy with the idea of a player playing well, scoring loads and getting an opportunity to test himself at a higher level.

Players who are proven at our level or higher are automatically out of our price range so punts of varying degrees of risk / uncertainty are what we're left to choose from.

Donegal Hibby
31-07-2023, 01:04 PM
Oh I know. Just answering the question.
Top half teams in league look to be similar standard to our own . Thanks 👍

I hate to mention his name, and this was a long time ago, but I think that Mark De Vries came to Scotland from the Dutch second division.
I think he did . Hopefully we get Vente signed and he rattles in the goals too.

31-07-2023, 01:05 PM
Dylan Vente's 7 days

Got announced on Monday
We lost on Sunday

That was mildly amusing, 6/10.

31-07-2023, 01:06 PM

We're also ranked 9th in the country ranking for the UEFA coefficient, so don't see how we can be 40th when there will be very few second divisions ranked higher.

31-07-2023, 01:07 PM

Vent-uh

31-07-2023, 01:10 PM

I'd trust the Uefa coefficient more than the algorithm on that website.

No way are we poorer than the Belarusian, Bosnian, Georgian or Bulgarian leagues.

It also ranks Turkey well below leagues like Norway, Croatia, Sweden, Israel which seems nonsense to me.

31-07-2023, 01:11 PM
We're also ranked 9th in the country ranking for the UEFA coefficient, so don't see how we can be 40th when there will be very few second divisions ranked higher.

Our coefficient is based on the performances of Celtic and Rangers in Europe, it isn’t a measure or the total strength of all 12 teams in the league.

Hibees1973
31-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Our coefficient is based on the performances of Celtic and Rangers in Europe, it isn’t a measure or the total strength of all 12 teams in the league.

If our league is ranked 40th in strength, performances & results like ours last Thursday is an accurate reflection then.

We are kind of dragging the league down.

Oh the embarassment.

31-07-2023, 01:18 PM
That was mildly amusing, 6/10.

👍 Exactly what I was aiming for. 😀

31-07-2023, 02:11 PM
I'd be amazed if the Dutch second tier was any / much worse than the Scottish second tier, and that's where Nisbet and Shankland were banging them in before earning their moves to a higher level.

There's not really been anyone standing out in the Scottish one for a few years since then.

I'm happy with the idea of a player playing well, scoring loads and getting an opportunity to test himself at a higher level.

Players who are proven at our level or higher are automatically out of our price range so punts of varying degrees of risk / uncertainty are what we're left to choose from.

The boy from Ayr was excellent last year but York signed him for £450K.

Velte's club finished in 33rd place in Dutch football last year so more akin to our 1st Division. As said though it is more about the player than the club. Knowing the standard he has been excelling in though does allow us to have reasonable expectations. I am nowhere near as enthused as most given the level he has played at, the move to another country and the lack of competition for his signature in his own nation. It might be a masterstrokeand I hope it is. However, like most signings it is as much to do with how the player fits a system than just the player's ability. Hopefully his style of play complements that of Youan and Boyle.

31-07-2023, 02:16 PM
we get 1 in the Europa League and 2 in the Europa League

3 then 🤔😁
2 in the Champions league you mean

31-07-2023, 02:16 PM

England likely have a better standard top 2 leagues. After that I’d be very surprised if any other country has 2 that are better.

I’d have put Scotland probably about top 15-20.

Sorry at work today so couldn't respond. The rankings do have a methidology behind them but it they come from a betting site and is weighted for the bigger matches. They include the methodology in their website though and it is consistant. I agree that the Premiership is probably higher ranked than 40, but if you use the same method to rank teams/leagues across Europe you get a comparison that has some substance to it. The Premiershp falls down due to only Celtc and the huns doing anything in Europe. Anyway not worth me explaining, I have linked the site below for your own perusal.

31-07-2023, 02:17 PM

Velte's club finished in 33rd place in Dutch football last year so more akin to our 1st Division. As said though it is more about the player than the club. Knowing the standard he has been excelling in though does allow us to have reasonable expectations. I am nowhere near as enthused as most given the level he has played at, the move to another country and the lack of competition for his signature in his own nation. It might be a masterstrokeand I hope it is. However, like most signings it is as much to do with how the player fits a system than just the player's ability. Hopefully his style of play complements that of Youan and Boyle.

Did they really pay £450k for him? Their previous highest fee paid was £140k in 1995. It's a fair amount to shell out.

CentreForward
31-07-2023, 02:23 PM
Think one of the best ways to get an idea of how good he might be and what sort of standard that league is is to look at the various videos of him on YouTube. I know these videos can be deceptive, but he certainly looks very good on there. As for the standard hard to tell. A lot of the games seem to be in front of fairly small crowds in small stadiums.

Having said that you never know with YouTube as I remember watching Melkerson on there after we had just signed him and he did look really good, although the standard he was playing at in Norway looked worse than second division Holland.

31-07-2023, 02:23 PM

If it's Dipo Akinyemi you're referring to, I don't think York paid anything like £450k for him. I thought I'd read that it was £100k but I can't find confirmation of that as the reports just say "undisclosed".

Their most expensive signing to date was only £140k and that was in 1995. They have got new owners who are spending a bit, but not to that level.

31-07-2023, 02:24 PM

Most leagues outside the top 5 or 6 have the bulk of their coefficient coming from only a couple of teams.

There's several leagues on that list that was posted that are ranked higher than Scotland which pay less wages than the Scottish league and have most of their sides outside of the biggest 2 or 3 faring similar to us Hearts and Aberdeen in Europe.

31-07-2023, 02:36 PM
Kensell told someone in Blackpool yesterday that a new striker was coming on Monday.

He has previous for telling people things doesn't he?
And don't happen :wink:

JammyDoidger
31-07-2023, 02:45 PM
Currently at East mains..

147lothian
31-07-2023, 02:46 PM
I'm not sure how good a source Jack Herrall is? But he says Dylan Vente will be in the squad for the first game against St Mirren on Sunday.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-vente-transfer-timeline-revealed-27423679

Pytheas
31-07-2023, 02:54 PM
Currently at East mains..

:hyper

31-07-2023, 02:56 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Major update on Hibs' transfer pursuit of Dylan Vente as Lee Johnson chases 21-goal hitman as his NINTH summer signing

thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football…

31-07-2023, 02:56 PM
:hyper

….he never said who🤔😂

31-07-2023, 03:00 PM
£700k is a huge fee for us

Buzzing with that

31-07-2023, 03:05 PM
If it's Dipo Akinyemi you're referring to, I don't think York paid anything like £450k for him. I thought I'd read that it was £100k but I can't find confirmation of that as the reports just say "undisclosed".

Their most expensive signing to date was only £140k and that was in 1995. They have got new owners who are spending a bit, but not to that level.
I must have read Market Value as fee paid. Point stands though there was a player in the league below who was banging them in. It could have been a one season thing but if he was 100K then far less risk given he was already at the speed of Championship football in Scotland

31-07-2023, 03:09 PM
Our Chums along the road cannot fathom how such a wee team can afford such a fee and the debt is apparently building!

GGTTH07
31-07-2023, 03:09 PM
Striker incoming soon. Dutch second division, decent cash paid.

Done deal

31-07-2023, 03:10 PM
£700k is a huge fee for us

Buzzing with that

We are minted

31-07-2023, 03:12 PM
Our Chums along the road cannot fathom how such a wee team can afford such a fee and the debt is apparently building!

Nowt else to spend our money on . Everything’s finished 😜

31-07-2023, 03:13 PM
I'm not sure how good a source Jack Herrall is? But he says Dylan Vente will be in the squad for the first game against St Mirren on Sunday.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-vente-transfer-timeline-revealed-27423679

He's just regurgitating previous reports, nothing new in that article.

Sorry - I was directed to an article earlier this afternoon. It's now been updated and there is indeed more news. Vente apparently at EM just now!

31-07-2023, 03:14 PM
One of them was at the game on Saturday, he said they’ve nowt to worry about if that’s the best we can do 😂

31-07-2023, 03:14 PM

Did we no just sell Kevin Nisbet for more?
Funny bunch they are.

Silky
31-07-2023, 03:17 PM

Best ignored. Until they provide proof of this alleged ever mounting debt, they will be treated with the contempt they deserve.

Edinburgh Green
31-07-2023, 03:18 PM
Done deal

Nice scoop! :applause:

Funny bunch they are.

Rather than just baffle them with talk of taking more money in for players than you then shell out being healthy business sense, just spraff a whole load of drivel about borrowing it from ourselves and I'm sure they'll get it.

I must have read Market Value as fee paid. Point stands though there was a player in the league below who was banging them in. It could have been a one season thing but if he was 100K then far less risk given he was already at the speed of Championship football in Scotland

Did you ever watch Akinyemi? He wasn’t that good. The likes of Oli Shaw, Brian Graham and Simon Murray have all been amongst the top scorers in the Championship in recent seasons.

The 2nd tier in the Netherlands is a higher standard than our Championship. This summer, teams in that league have sold players for over €6m in fees.

31-07-2023, 03:19 PM
Done deal

Unreal

Earlydelivery
31-07-2023, 03:20 PM
Hearing it’s a 4 year deal

31-07-2023, 03:20 PM
Done deal

Well played :aok:

31-07-2023, 03:22 PM

That sounds more like it than the previously reported 3. Gotta secure an investment this large.

Funny bunch they are.

We've also signed Youan for £500k and Levitt for £350k. £1.5 million on three players is massive for any non old firm team and thats not including the nominal fees for the rest of our summer signings. If we've just reinvested the Nisbet money then fair play to the board.

Funny bunch they are.

Yep sold a few players and spent some of that money.

If I'm not wrong we seem to be doing well getting sponsorship etc since Ron took over.

Not worried about what they are saying about debt.

Club also confident the Doig deal will go through?

Hope so - £700k for three years was unrealistic for Hibs, as it meant we would probs have to sell him after 12/18 months to get a decent profit (assuming he's any good, that is).

31-07-2023, 03:23 PM
Yep sold a few players and spent some of that money.

If I'm not wrong we seem to be doing well getting sponsorship etc since Ron took over.

Not worried about what they are saying about debt.

Yep the commercial side has developed quite a bit, plus the new hospitality suites seem to be successful.

31-07-2023, 03:25 PM
his name is Dylan Vente
he's only just turned twenty
he's going to score us plenty
he's going to score for fun

Copyright C&R lyrical genius

31-07-2023, 03:25 PM
Absolutely no excuses now. Should be consistently good this season with so much Dosh spent. No 10 good games, 10 **** ones Lee.

31-07-2023, 03:27 PM

He will be called Venty by LJ regardless.

Silky
31-07-2023, 03:29 PM

Really? I never heard him say that. Any links?

31-07-2023, 03:30 PM

Paul Han-Lon

147lothian
31-07-2023, 03:30 PM
He's just regurgitating previous reports, nothing new in that article.

Sorry - I was directed to an article earlier this afternoon. It's now been updated and there is indeed more news. Vente apparently at EM just now!

The word is he's at EM on a 4 year deal, if this is true it's a real statement of intent after Nisbet's departure and we can be sure that the club is going in the right direction with a willingness to invest in where it matters for the first team, exciting times.

31-07-2023, 03:32 PM
Done deal

Excellent info - and a great signing - top job:aok:

Mikey_1875
31-07-2023, 03:33 PM
Huge signing if we get it done. Brings with it a lot of pressure and expectation for the player and management at the club but it’s a much better position than scrambling around last minute.

If he is the real deal then that is a phenomenal front three we have.

31-07-2023, 03:35 PM
Huge signing if we get it done. Brings with it a lot of pressure and expectation for the player and management at the club but it’s a much better position than scrambling around last minute.

If he is the real deal then that is a phenomenal front three we have.

Yip think I'm going to start calling him David Dickinson. Dickie for short

31-07-2023, 03:38 PM
I'm a real greedy *******, would it be too much to get Myko back on loan for a year as well. We need strength in depth for the challenge of the quadruple!!

31-07-2023, 03:39 PM
A bold move by the club Here's hoping we've fully researched the player and know exactly what we're getting.

I'm assuming he's fit, available to play from the start of the season, and won't be anywhere near the development squad!

Ideally more of a Nisbett type signing than a Melkerson or Mueller one!! :thumbsup:

Torto7
31-07-2023, 03:40 PM
Very exciting signing. The Dutch Eerste division is a far higher standard than our championship. He'll need to adjust to the speed of the game here but he's essentially Nisbet in terms of his profile when we signed him but he's scoring goals at a higher level than Kevin was at the Pars. LJ is getting backed thats for sure. Hopefully we can navigate the early rounds and get some cohesion going because our first 11 looks strong. GGTTH.

31-07-2023, 03:40 PM
Is he injured yet? 🤔

Silky
31-07-2023, 03:43 PM
Is he injured yet? 🤔

Aye, hurt his hand signing the contract. Will be two weeks!😉

31-07-2023, 03:47 PM
The seethe on Sickback thought Bene Anderson was the main man

Absolutely no excuses now. Should be consistently good this season with so much Dosh spent. No 10 good games, 10 **** ones Lee.

Definitely this. There should be no patchy form anymore. We’ve spent serious cash for us so far this window.

No more we should be good to go 5/6/7 games in either

What are they seething about? They have made a few signings.

Silky
31-07-2023, 03:48 PM

It's natural. I'd seethe if I was a Jumbo as well.

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2023, 03:49 PM
Morelos linked with a move to Watford! :wink::take that :faf:

It upsets their big team theory

It's natural. I'd seethe if I was a Jumbo as well.

Fair point well made 😁

31-07-2023, 03:50 PM
So the no 9 looks to be a done deal, what does everyone think we still need.

I have been banging on about a number 10 the past week which I think we still need, no idea who though.

I have also been a bit concerned with the defence at times, looks like it will Fish and Hanlon if we play a back 4. A lot of expectations for Fish but I'm sure some said he has played good for United pre-season.

If we can get a quality CAM/no 10 and RB in then we have a really good team on paper, will be up to the players and staff to perform.

31-07-2023, 03:52 PM
Morelos linked with a move to Watford! :wink::take that :faf:

Him and Porteous should get on really well! :greengrin

31-07-2023, 03:53 PM
The word is he's at EM on a 4 year deal, if this is true it's a real statement of intent after Nisbet's departure and we can be sure that the club is going in the right direction with a willingness to invest in where it matters for the first team, exciting times.

I'm glad it's 4 years, as I thought the 3 years that was being talked about was too short for Hibs to commit a fee in excess of £700k.

31-07-2023, 03:55 PM
When can we boo him.

Gordy M
31-07-2023, 03:56 PM
I'm a real greedy *******, would it be too much to get Myko back on loan for a year as well. We need strength in depth for the challenge of the quadruple!!

Thing is, we would all like Myko back im sure, but how much are we going to pay to have him, or Yohan, or Boyle on the bench? Think this is sometimes the issue buying strength in depth, how much do you pay for a guy to not start? Not sure we can pay big wages for back ups?

31-07-2023, 03:56 PM
It's been a very good transfer window. Best ever? Huge pressure on now to deliver. A poor 10 game run really isn't going to wash now. To be honest I think that's a good thing. Drives up standards.

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Him and Porteous should get on really well! :greengrin

I would love to see Porto's face if he signs on :faf: Porto is definitely not a fan of his attitude

big gogs
31-07-2023, 03:58 PM
Aye, hurt his hand signing the contract. Will be two weeks!😉
You may be correct,using the multi coloured pen is a curse.

31-07-2023, 03:59 PM
When can we boo him.

Sunday afternoon :greengrin

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2023, 03:59 PM
When can we boo him.

as soon as he makes a misplaced pass i suppose!

Silky
31-07-2023, 04:01 PM
When can we boo him.

I was thinking more along the lines of when can we pile on here and label him as Tom Kite?

31-07-2023, 04:01 PM
Paul Han-Lon

Han-lawn 😂

31-07-2023, 04:02 PM
It's been a very good transfer window. Best ever? Huge pressure on now to deliver. A poor 10 game run really isn't going to wash now. To be honest I think that's a good thing. Drives up standards.

Probably a wee bit early to say, if you're talking about the quality of player signed.

Maybe one we've spent the most in though, certainly for a good number of years.

Let's see how the first few games go?

If Vente and Youane go the first 5 or 6 games without a goal, we will rightly be questioning the recruitment again and I doubt we'll be saying it was the best window ever!!

31-07-2023, 04:02 PM

Thing is they are so used to spending other folks money when other teams splash the cash they cannot understand where it comes from!

Wonder if they are feeling the pressure already as the supposed big team!

31-07-2023, 04:04 PM

I have been banging on about a number 10 the past week which I think we still need, no idea who though.

I have also been a bit concerned with the defence at times, looks like it will Fish and Hanlon if we play a back 4. A lot of expectations for Fish but I'm sure some said he has played good for United pre-season.

If we can get a quality CAM/no 10 and RB in then we have a really good team on paper, will be up to the players and staff to perform.

You could argue we still need a few more. CF, RB, CAM/winger

147lothian
31-07-2023, 04:08 PM
A bold move by the club Here's hoping we've fully researched the player and know exactly what we're getting.

I'm assuming he's fit, available to play from the start of the season, and won't be anywhere near the development squad!

Ideally more of a Nisbett type signing than a Melkerson or Mueller one!! :thumbsup:

What I think is a record fee is not going to be spent without research done first, what I like about the current board is they are willing to engage in big thinking, 700k for a player, on a 4 year deal if this is true, means the club either earn 700k back through league position etc and he see's out his contract or he gets sold for more than this amount, this is the type of big thinking I like and I've no doubt the fans buy into.

31-07-2023, 04:09 PM

Cover for the right wing and another creative midfielder and I think we're looking great.

Surely we won't be spending any more money! So probably loan players.

Hopefully a few more move on as well.

hibbyboy1
31-07-2023, 04:10 PM
Not gonna get excited till it's on official website

Torto7
31-07-2023, 04:12 PM
I'd keep Doidge as backup if big Myk isn't coming back. Melkerson is too similar to the other strikers we have. I'd try and sort a loan out for him to the bottom six or the Pars/Utd etc in the championship.

31-07-2023, 04:13 PM

He's now following Rocky on Instagram 😁

Northern Hibby
31-07-2023, 04:13 PM
I'm running a book on the game Dylan Vente gets injured and how long he's out for 🤔

31-07-2023, 04:14 PM
Number 9 sorted number 99 next please

31-07-2023, 04:15 PM

Won’t believe it until the Daily Record says “Celts/Huns swoop for Hibs Vente” (“And I can reveal they Glasgow giants have earmarked the Flying Dutchman to start their first English Premiership campaign which could be as soon as 2024-25 if a deal can be struck.”)

31-07-2023, 04:17 PM
Him and Porteous should get on really well! :greengrinhttps://images.app.goo.gl/VEpGM94qut2iu9ri6

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Northern Hibby
31-07-2023, 04:18 PM

Buying players and putting a team together are 2 different things.

31-07-2023, 04:19 PM
#announceventeffs

31-07-2023, 04:19 PM
Buying players and putting a team together are 2 different things.

It’s the managers job to put them together as a team though and ensure any signings are signed to fit his plans

31-07-2023, 04:24 PM
When can we boo him.

On Thursday as he could have been playing if he signed earlier

31-07-2023, 04:29 PM

How can it be described as the best ever? The team have had 1 competitive game so far and failed miserably. It’s always funny how folk say “great window” etc when barely anyone has actually seen the players play

Paulie Walnuts
31-07-2023, 04:33 PM
How can it be described as the best ever? The team have had 1 competitive game so far and failed miserably. It’s always funny how folk say “great window” etc when barely anyone has actually seen the players play

It’s going to take more than a defeat to an Andorran team before we can claim this is our best window ever.

On paper it looks good in terms of who we’ve brought in, still a bit short though imo.

31-07-2023, 04:34 PM

Obviously what people mean is it’s been a great window on paper as in the calibre of players we’ve signed should comfortably see us improve.

No-ones trying to predict how it’ll go. I’m struggling to understand if you don’t agree that it’s been a good window. Of course that’ll be re-evaluated as the season goes on

HendoDelivered
31-07-2023, 04:35 PM
Vente started following Rocky on Instagram today

31-07-2023, 04:38 PM
Obviously what people mean is it’s been a great window on paper as in the calibre of players we’ve signed should comfortably see us improve.

No-ones trying to predict how it’ll go. I’m struggling to understand if you don’t agree that it’s been a good window. Of course that’ll be re-evaluated as the season goes on

I’d say give it a round of fixtures before declaring it as a great window. Also see if we can get through on Thursday.

Paulie Walnuts
31-07-2023, 04:41 PM

On paper I’d suggest last summers was potentially better.

Cabraja probably looked a more exciting signing than Obita, Marshall was going to be our Craig Gordon and single handedly win us games and we signed Martin Boyle back. Aiden McGeady had signed with a bit of fan fare, Tavares was someone that the manager couldn’t quite fathom that we’d managed to sign, McKirdy came off the back of a prolific season down south, again to a lot of fan fare and Kenneh was the next Patrick Vieira.

As we all know though, football isn’t played on paper and that window wasn’t great at all. I’d suggest that any talk of whether it’s the best transfer window ever or not will be impossible to say for a good while yet and that last summers window should serve as a warning to anybody expecting all these signings we’ve made to do well.