View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

14-06-2023, 11:00 AM
That's highly reductive,

we had one of the lowest conversion rates of big chances of any team in the league.

Pretty sure we also underperformed our xG worse than any other side as well.

Our lack of composure, and inability to be clinical, in the final third cost us a decent amount of points last season, more than most other sides in the league according to the stats.It's a bit flippant to blame any one part of the team, though the missed chances are typically the most glaring.

I wouldn't be blaming the forwards in the Motherwell and Dundee Utd (2-2) home games when we pretty much scored every chance we created. Or the Ross County game, which was utterly appalling.

Shipping the last minute penalty at Dundee Utd, barely getting over the halfway line at Ibrox after leading... Keeper, defence, midfield, forwards - throw in manager too, and referees - have all contributed to the dropped points. Ultimately we weren't good enough in too many games, and couldn't rely on parts of the team is bail us out often enough when it mattered. Whole standard of the team needs to improve, front to back.

Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk

18Craig75
14-06-2023, 11:02 AM
It’s official. Lewy has seen off another Left Back.

ElginHibbie
14-06-2023, 11:03 AM
Čabraja away officially

hibby rae
14-06-2023, 11:05 AM

The only certainties in life, death, taxes, and Lewis Stevenson seeing off LBs

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 11:06 AM
Yep , new left back now needed too.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/marijan-%C4%8Dabraja-joins-hnk-rijeka

Paulie Walnuts
14-06-2023, 11:10 AM
Glad Cabraja is away. Wasn’t good enough.

14-06-2023, 11:11 AM
Plenty more still to clear out.

Good start though

14-06-2023, 11:12 AM
Good luck to Cabraja, never worked out for him, a few decent games but never looked settled in the team.

Gives us room to replace and improve as well.

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 11:16 AM
Glad Cabraja is away. Wasn’t good enough.
Thought he looked good at the start , after losing his dad his form dipped ( understandably) maybe homesick too . Not a bad player imo . Good luck to the guy . Quite possible we could see him again soon too .

14-06-2023, 11:17 AM
Good start if Fish coming in is confirmed as well as Mirjan leaving

14-06-2023, 11:19 AM
Aye Cabraja noticeably fell away after his dad passed, he started out well and remember thinking we’d managed to replace Doig with a better player.

Good luck to him

14-06-2023, 11:20 AM
Jim, all I can say is refer to post 2025 on this thread…..

I went and checked. Post deleted.

14-06-2023, 11:22 AM
Jim, all I can say is refer to post 2025 on this thread…..

What did post 2025 say before it was deleted:greengrin

Happy to take pm

badabing67
14-06-2023, 11:24 AM
Aussie?

Maclaren please ......

14-06-2023, 11:26 AM
Maclaren please ......

Tell us what your deleted post said please.:greengrin

14-06-2023, 11:26 AM
What did post 2025 say before it was deleted:greengrin

Happy to take pmWas hinting we were signing that striker that Aberdeen were meant to be getting - Slovakian maybe

Edit - Ester Sokler

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

14-06-2023, 11:27 AM
Time for Oscar McIntyre to step up, deserves a chance to prove himself.

14-06-2023, 11:28 AM
Yep , new left back now needed too.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/marijan-%C4%8Dabraja-joins-hnk-rijeka

Interesting that the official announcement for Cabraja makes reference to him making one assist "for Mikola Kukharevych at Dundee United"

I would be delighted if this is a hint that we will have Youan, Boyle & Kukharevych as our front three for the season ahead...

Was hinting we were signing that striker that Aberdeen were meant to be getting - Slovakian maybe

Edit - Ester Sokler

Ester Sokler?

badabing67
Tell us what your deleted post said please.:greengrin

Eh... No

14-06-2023, 11:31 AM
Ester Sokler?Yes, ester Sokler

Slovenian actually

Frogga
14-06-2023, 11:33 AM
The only certainties in life, death, taxes, and Lewis Stevenson seeing off LBsI would love for Lewis to get the all-time appearance record.

Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk

14-06-2023, 11:38 AM
Time for Oscar McIntyre to step up, deserves a chance to prove himself.

Would love to see some more youngsters involved next season. :aok:

McGruber
14-06-2023, 11:40 AM
Yes, ester Sokler

Slovenian actually

Being reported Aberdeen move as good as done, fee and personal terms agreed

14-06-2023, 11:41 AM
Veteran incoming.

Jackwalker92
14-06-2023, 11:42 AM
Adam Le fondre incoming, 36 year old coming from Sydney Fc on a free 👀

badabing67
14-06-2023, 11:43 AM
Veteran incoming.

Who

Jackwalker92
14-06-2023, 11:44 AM
Who
See above

14-06-2023, 11:45 AM
Are you kidding, we're ACTUALLY signing Adam Le Fondre? The memes came true???

14-06-2023, 11:45 AM
Veteran incoming.

The only veteran i can think of that would be a good move is Fletcher.

14-06-2023, 11:46 AM
I went and checked. Post deleted.

I found it ok earlier.

14-06-2023, 11:47 AM
I found it ok earlier.

I guess he deleted it because you referred to it.

14-06-2023, 11:48 AM
Are you kidding, we're ACTUALLY signing Adam Le Fondre? The memes came true???Just wait until LG comes back [emoji38]

14-06-2023, 11:48 AM
Steven Caulker is one im going to guess we bring in. Loads of experience and played at the top level which could be key for Europe and the league, free agent and is really close to mcderrmot.

14-06-2023, 11:50 AM
Veteran incoming.

Is that the same as experienced?

I’ll ask Stephen Fletcher😂

14-06-2023, 11:52 AM
Steven Caulker is one im going to guess we bring in. Loads of experience and played at the top level which could be key for Europe and the league, free agent and is really close to mcderrmot.

I'd be happy with that

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 11:57 AM
Interesting that the official announcement for Cabraja makes reference to him making one assist "for Mikola Kukharevych at Dundee United"

I would be delighted if this is a hint that we will have Youan, Boyle & Kukharevych as our front three for the season ahead...
Slight concern over the time he spent out injured though if we could keep him fit he would be a excellent signing. Very good player indeed 👍

14-06-2023, 12:03 PM

I would be delighted if this is a hint that we will have Youan, Boyle & Kukharevych as our front three for the season ahead...Your forgetting ALF [emoji38]

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 12:16 PM
I will guess Aden Flint . Don't know what his contract status is though.

14-06-2023, 12:18 PM
McDermott would’ve been at Reading when Le Fondre was there I think.

14-06-2023, 12:24 PM
Billy Sharp wife family from Musselburgh I think would take him no sure his age now tho

14-06-2023, 12:24 PM
Don't know if anyone remembers Ikechi Anya's goal for Scotland vs Manuel Neuer in Germany, away? The build up was a ball to feet to Steven Fletcher inside his own half, in the centre circle.

One touch to kill the ball, the other to whip a brilliant ball into space for the pacy wide man to skin his marker (Philip Lahm?) draw the keeper, and one touch finish.

That's how to get the best out of Boyler & Youan (thinking also of Nisbet's slide-rule assist at Hampden for Boyler's second of three vs The Rangers in the LC Semi)

badabing67
14-06-2023, 12:26 PM

Is he left sided

thebausburst
14-06-2023, 12:28 PM
Is there talk of us being interested in him?

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10817666/hibs-line-up-next-season-kevin-nisbet-joel-nouble/?utm_campaign=native_share&utm_source=sharebar_native&utm_medium=sharebar_native

14-06-2023, 12:30 PM
I'm pleased to know we are the only club in Scotland who miss chances, if we ever manage to convert them, we could win the league.

Who said that?

For the first 5 or 6 months of the season we missing a massive amount of chances. That is a fact. We were way under our xG iirc

Caversham Green
14-06-2023, 12:34 PM
McDermott would’ve been at Reading when Le Fondre was there I think.

:agree: He was Reading's manager when ALF signed for them.

14-06-2023, 12:38 PM
Great news about Fish, really thought after his performances for us Man Utd would have been looking to loan him to an EFL championship club.

As for Cabraja, at the start he looked like he was gonna be the real deal, there's little doubt the loss of his father while he was just starting his career in a different country had a seriously negative effect on him. I hope he comes good at his new club and gets a chance at a bigger club later on, good luck to him.

Would certainly like to see us hold on to Kukharevych, if he can overcome his injury issues he could come good. I'm aware hes starting to fall into the 'the less he plays the better he gets' category, but he has shown in flashes that he could be a good striker at this level.

Caulker might be a good addition, massive experience and still only 31 though he has got a few relegations under his belt :greengrin

As for Le Fondre, his last gig was playing in the Indian super league which is very much a retirement league IMO but since 2018 with Sydney and Mumbai he has scored better than a goal every 2 games which is impressive at any level .... whether he could translate that to a good return at the age of 36 in a league of a higher standard than those two has to be open to question ... but his experience could be invaluable for what could be a strike force of Youan, Melkersen and Kukharevych unless we bring in another one.

14-06-2023, 12:40 PM
Great news about Fish, really thought after his performances for us Man Utd would have been looking to loan him to an EFL championship club.

As for Cabraja, at the start he looked like he was gonna be the real deal, there's little doubt the loss of his father while he was just starting his career in a different country had a seriously negative effect on him. I hope he comes good at his new club and gets a chance at a bigger club later on, good luck to him.

Would certainly like to see us hold on to Kukharevych, if he can overcome his injury issues he could come good. I'm aware hes starting to fall into the 'the less he plays the better he gets' category, but he has shown in flashes that he could be a good striker at this level.

Caulker might be a good addition, massive experience and still only 31 though he has got a few relegations under his belt :greengrin

As for Le Fondre, his last gig was playing in the Indian super league which is very much a retirement league IMO but since 2018 with Sydney and Mumbai he has scored better than a goal every 2 games which is impressive at any level .... whether he could translate that to a good return at the age of 36 in a league of a higher standard than those two has to be open to question ... but his experience could be invaluable for what could be a strike force of Youan, Melkersen and Kukharevych unless we bring in another one.

Le Fondre has been playing in Australia the last couple of seasons.

14-06-2023, 12:42 PM

You forgot Boyle, surely.
And Alfie only had about 6 months on loan in India for megabucks before returning to Sydney.

HIBS NUTS
14-06-2023, 12:50 PM
Others have said that LJ hasent given youth players a chance, i think it has been quite telling, that Oscar McIntyre has not been loaned out, it appears he may be given a chance at left back next season, especially with the recent news .

14-06-2023, 12:56 PM
Others have said that LJ hasent given youth players a chance, i think it has been quite telling, that Oscar McIntyre has not been loaned out, it appears he may be given a chance at left back next season, especially with the recent news .

think he was on the bench quite a bit towards the end of the season as well, so hopefully he’ll be getting a chance

has Megwa been out out on loan for next year?

also wonder if Jacob McIntyre might get a wee chance now and again this season, he seems to be very highly rated

14-06-2023, 01:06 PM
You forgot Boyle, surely.
And Alfie only had about 6 months on loan in India for megabucks before returning to Sydney.

No, I remembered Boyle, but I was thinking more of guys Hibs might play through the middle as a main striker, with Cadden out for possibly the whole season I cant see Boyle anywhere other than the right wing. Youan is a possibility, though I admit unlikely. I still think that would be Melkersen's best position, but I have a feeling Hibs would like a more physical presence in that area.

I stand corrected on Le Fondre, Mumbai was the last entry on his list of clubs in Wiki but that was a couple of seasons ago as it turns out.

14-06-2023, 01:09 PM
No, I remembered Boyle, but I was thinking more of guys Hibs might play through the middle as a main striker, with Cadden out for possibly the whole season I cant see Boyle anywhere other than the right wing. Youan is a possibility, though I admit unlikely. I still think that would be Melkersen's best position, but I have a feeling Hibs would like a more physical presence in that area.

I stand corrected on Le Fondre, Mumbai was the last entry on his list of clubs in Wiki but that was a couple of seasons ago as it turns out.

Fair enough.

I think if it were ever to happen, a front three of Boyle Le Fondre and Yuan would be a very difficult proposition for most SPFL defences.

hibby rae
14-06-2023, 01:14 PM
Don't know if anyone remembers Ikechi Anya's goal for Scotland vs Manuel Neuer in Germany, away? The build up was a ball to feet to Steven Fletcher inside his own half, in the centre circle.

One touch to kill the ball, the other to whip a brilliant ball into space for the pacy wide man to skin his marker (Philip Lahm?) draw the keeper, and one touch finish.

That's how to get the best out of Boyler & Youan (thinking also of Nisbet's slide-rule assist at Hampden for Boyler's second of three vs The Rangers in the LC Semi)

Remember it well, I was in the German end he scored into!

14-06-2023, 01:32 PM
James Milner 37 ? signs one year contract with Brighton on a free transfer from Liverpool

Live Score

14-06-2023, 01:36 PM
James Milner 37 ? signs one year contract with Brighton on a free transfer from Liverpool

Live Score

If your good enough ........................... :greengrin

14-06-2023, 01:40 PM
ALF's first name is actually Glenville which is excellent and reason enough to sign him.

badabing67
14-06-2023, 01:41 PM
ALF's first name is actually Glenville which is excellent and reason enough to sign him.

Who

14-06-2023, 01:41 PM
Who

Adam Le Fondre

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 01:42 PM
Clubs still in talks over Fish coming back according to reports.
Hopefully nothing goes wrong 🤞.

badabing67
14-06-2023, 01:42 PM
Adam Le Fondre

Right

BTW when does the transfer market open is it tomorrow

14-06-2023, 01:55 PM
Right

BTW when does the transfer market open is it tomorrow

today

14-06-2023, 02:29 PM
https://twitter.com/parkertanda/status/1668975019693572097?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Williams not far off being announced for Bradford but offered more money elsewhere and is taking it.

14-06-2023, 02:35 PM
https://twitter.com/parkertanda/status/1668975019693572097?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Williams not far off being announced for Bradford but offered more money elsewhere and is taking it.

Always enjoy your insight on these things UW and wanted to ask your view...

This strikes me as the kind of gazumping behaviour you see in the last panicky minutes of the transfer window, not on day one, when the out of contract player has had since January to be contactable by clubs.

Sounds like Bradford have been absolutely played ike a piano by someone - Wrexham maybe, with the money and the "closer to home" contacts maybe?

I can't remember any team being gazumped before on day one of the window - can you?

14-06-2023, 02:39 PM
Always enjoy your insight on these things UW and wanted to ask your view...

This strikes me as the kind of gazumping behaviour you see in the last panicky minutes of the transfer window, not on day one, when the out of contract player has had since January to be contactable by clubs.

Sounds like Bradford have been absolutely played ike a piano by someone - Wrexham maybe, with the money and the "closer to home" contacts maybe?

I can't remember any team being gazumped before on day one of the window - can you?

It's Gillingham.

johncrobertson@
14-06-2023, 03:04 PM
Kyle McClelland season long loan to Queen of the South

tug.lismore
14-06-2023, 03:08 PM
Kyle McClelland season long loan to Queen of the SouthHopefully points to Will Fish being done and dusted and another centre back in the pipeline

Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk

HIBS NUTS
14-06-2023, 03:11 PM
think he was on the bench quite a bit towards the end of the season as well, so hopefully he’ll be getting a chance

has Megwa been out out on loan for next year?

also wonder if Jacob McIntyre might get a wee chance now and again this season, he seems to be very highly rated
Really like watching jacob, but think he’s still under 18 next season, Rudi is excellent as well
Hibs had a very young under 18s last year, i think most of the squad can play again this year.
I would imagine that some of the previous under 18s like MEGWA at right back are more likely to appear on the bench.

McGruber
14-06-2023, 03:12 PM

That's about 18 out the door between perm and loan between the 2 squads - plenty space for incomings

HIBS NUTS
14-06-2023, 03:14 PM
That's about 18 out the door between perm and loan between the 2 squads - plenty space for incomings

Really like the way things are shaping up, the director of football has been busy.

14-06-2023, 03:22 PM
It's Gillingham.

Am surprised they can outspend anyone - 17th in league two.

That's a strange one

14-06-2023, 03:27 PM
Am surprised they can outspend anyone - 17th in league two.

That's a strange one

Maybe new owners. Maybe nearer his home and see more family and kids.

14-06-2023, 03:33 PM
Maybe new owners. Maybe nearer his home and see more family and kids.

Good point, especially on the Brad Galinson new American ownership

Still always associate the likes of the Gills with being England's equivalent of Montrose & Brechin - harmless enough wee teams who occasionally provide Hibs with a player (Roland Edge etc) but who never seem to rise up the food chain.

A few Gills fans are already expressing concern that Galinson is a poundland Glazers, ie has not put his own money in but has leveraged the deal (buying the club with borrowed money) and that their ground is the asset that's at risk.

And so it goes on....

thebausburst
14-06-2023, 03:54 PM

Why do we sign all these young/development players then loan them out and eventually move them on all. Hardly anything seems to come out the academy with huge investment when you include the training centre.

14-06-2023, 03:56 PM
Why do we sign all these young/development players then loan them out and eventually move them on all. Hardly anything seems to come out the academy with huge investment when you include the training centre.

It’ll only take one to make it and the investment is repaid. If two make it you’re in profit.

I guess…

14-06-2023, 04:04 PM
Good point, especially on the Brad Galinson new American ownership

Still always associate the likes of the Gills with being England's equivalent of Montrose & Brechin - harmless enough wee teams who occasionally provide Hibs with a player (Roland Edge etc) but who never seem to rise up the food chain.

A few Gills fans are already expressing concern that Galinson is a poundland Glazers, ie has not put his own money in but has leveraged the deal (buying the club with borrowed money) and that their ground is the asset that's at risk.

And so it goes on....

BK supports the Gills I think.

Dmas
14-06-2023, 04:05 PM

We have 5th biggest budget in the league if we’re to compete we need to find/uncover players far and wide, rangers and Celtic have a huge amount of young players through the door it’s inevitable they slip up here n there releasing players, Mclelland was identified as possibly one of those we’ll never know if he doesn’t play enough games so he is loaned out to get that, is there any other academy in the country churning out players for the first team consistently?

14-06-2023, 04:23 PM
Hopefully points to Will Fish being done and dusted and another centre back in the pipeline

Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk

He was never getting in the Hibs squad.

14-06-2023, 04:24 PM

Personally think we wasted a lot of cash in the dev squad last few years. Should have all been spent on first team starters to ensure we got 3rd.

14-06-2023, 04:26 PM

He's one im glad we cooled interest in.

14-06-2023, 04:50 PM
No hard feelings with Cabraja and I'm happy we have been able to move him on for an undisclosed fee, have a feeling Johnson will try send out Oscar on loan which might mean another LB.

Would love the fish to return asap and wonder who we will look at instead of Williams who looked a cert to come.

14-06-2023, 05:01 PM
Personally think we wasted a lot of cash in the dev squad last few years. Should have all been spent on first team starters to ensure we got 3rd.
There's no guarantee that first teamers would have worked out either. It was an attempt to make some money in the long term, perfectly logical thing to do in business.

thebausburst
14-06-2023, 05:05 PM

That’s how I feel, no way have we got value for money for the huge investment over the last decade probably.

badabing67
14-06-2023, 05:08 PM

We will see what happens with Mackay and Tait, this is a crucial time for both of them. I have my fingers crossed for them, hopefully they get a chance to prove themselves this preseason.

14-06-2023, 05:16 PM
There's no guarantee that first teamers would have worked out either. It was an attempt to make some money in the long term, perfectly logical thing to do in business.

It’s perfectly logical if you can afford to write off the money. Personally I don’t think we are a big enough club to have a development squad above and beyond our 18s. And we actually had to sign a bunch to create.

The difference in income with 3rd place was huge. For me that’s a missed opportunity. Obv any player we signed could have been poor but that’s where I’d have gambled the money.

14-06-2023, 05:16 PM
We will see what happens with Mackay and Tait, this is a crucial time for both of them. I have my fingers crossed for them, hopefully they get a chance to prove themselves this preseason.

Oddly Tait wasn’t even named on our retained list recently. No idea why.

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 05:22 PM
Wigan have been bought over .Wonder will Maloney try for Henderson now ?

14-06-2023, 05:26 PM

Let’s hope so. If we get money for him I’ll be gobsmacked

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 05:30 PM
I don't think we would be to hard to deal on this transfer 😉

14-06-2023, 05:36 PM
Straight swop for Kerr :rolleyes:

14-06-2023, 05:38 PM
It’s perfectly logical if you can afford to write off the money. Personally I don’t think we are a big enough club to have a development squad above and beyond our 18s. And we actually had to sign a bunch to create.

The difference in income with 3rd place was huge. For me that’s a missed opportunity. Obv any player we signed could have been poor but that’s where I’d have gambled the money.
What was the amount we missed on for finishing where we did as opposed to 3rd? Genuine question, I don't know the answer....

badabing67
14-06-2023, 05:38 PM

Kerr plus cash for him

14-06-2023, 05:45 PM
What was the amount we missed on for finishing where we did as opposed to 3rd? Genuine question, I don't know the answer....

Think it’s more the group stages that bring loads in.

£3M or something I think Hearts made after all costs were deducted.

14-06-2023, 05:46 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/spfl-combined-tv-and-prize-money-how-much-hearts-and-hibs-made-in-202223-compared-to-celtic-rangers-4171517

14-06-2023, 05:49 PM
Wow that's a lot of movement nice and early by the club.

Youan signed, Fish likely on the way and Cabraja and Nisbet burn both away.

And it's only 15th June.

BlackSheep
14-06-2023, 05:55 PM

Wigan have a transfer embargo…..

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 06:15 PM
Forgot about that tbh .Think Maloney was interested in him , he's going to be hard to move on now . Can't see many other clubs interested.

King Cosell
14-06-2023, 06:18 PM

Wigan have got new owners, announced an hour ago, don't know if that means embargo will be lifted.

BlackSheep
14-06-2023, 06:33 PM
Wigan have got new owners, announced an hour ago, don't know if that means embargo will be lifted.

I’m aware of the take over, just reminding that the embargo still stands currently… I think the new owners need to clear a certain amount of salary debt before any transfer ban is lifted.

badabing67
14-06-2023, 06:37 PM
I’m aware of the take over, just reminding that the embargo still stands currently… I think the new owners need to clear a certain amount of salary debt before any transfer ban is lifted.

They were talking about it on 5 live the debt has been cleared and the players have been paid. Also now saying Brenda's on his way back

14-06-2023, 06:40 PM
After seeing pictures Mcleish and De la Cruz are hibs hinting at a record transfer in coming.

JasonC1875
14-06-2023, 07:07 PM
After seeing pictures Mcleish and De la Cruz are hibs hinting at a record transfer in coming.

Where you seeing this?

14-06-2023, 07:08 PM
Sam Cosgrove available on a free this summer. Hasnt done much since departing Aberdeen, i'd take him.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2023, 07:08 PM

Both of them would probably improve our defence to be fair

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 07:14 PM
Sam Cosgrove available on a free this summer. Hasnt done much since departing Aberdeen, i'd take him.
I'd like to think we could to better than Sam Cosgrove tbh .

Silky
14-06-2023, 07:15 PM
I'd like to think we could to better than Sam Cosgrove tbh .

Stuart Cosgrove!

King Cosell
14-06-2023, 07:17 PM

Played 40 times in 2022/23 for Plymouth, they won League One with over 100 points.

14-06-2023, 07:20 PM
Played 40 times in 2022/23 for Plymouth, they won League One with over 100 points.

Exactly, and he only started 13 games, and only managed 8 league goals.

14-06-2023, 07:22 PM

8 goals in 13 starts is quite good going

14-06-2023, 07:23 PM
8 goals in 13 starts is quite good going

But when you come off the bench 20 times in addition to those starts...

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 07:24 PM
Stuart Cosgrove!
Probably just as good 😂

14-06-2023, 07:28 PM

That's a bit of stretch is it not Sherlock? 😂

14-06-2023, 07:50 PM

One of our much maligned strikers would kill for that record.

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 08:12 PM
Is there a reason why Sam Cosgrove only had 13 starts out of 40 games for Plymouth ? . I was on there forum and there doesn't seem to be much chat about signing him now he's free either! Scott arfield name mentioned a few times and Will Fish mentioned once or twice too .

Hibstrooper
14-06-2023, 08:15 PM
Williams confirmed at Gillingham. You’d have to think we’ve pulled the plug there, hopefully another attacking / creative midfielder lined up.

14-06-2023, 08:53 PM
@anthonyRjoseph

UPDATE: FC Groningen are close to agreeing a deal for Motherwell forward Kevin van Veen.

It’s understood a fee of around £500k, plus add-ons, is being discussed & Groningen are hopeful the transfer can be finalised next week.

Personal terms are not expected to be an issue

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 09:02 PM
Williams confirmed at Gillingham. You’d have to think we’ve pulled the plug there, hopefully another attacking / creative midfielder lined up.
The rumour on the Bradford forum that he's getting 5 grand a week!. I'd doubt we'd have given him that tbh .

14-06-2023, 09:11 PM
@anthonyRjoseph

UPDATE: FC Groningen are close to agreeing a deal for Motherwell forward Kevin van Veen.

It’s understood a fee of around £500k, plus add-ons, is being discussed & Groningen are hopeful the transfer can be finalised next week.

Personal terms are not expected to be an issue

There goes the “life changing money” kettlewell was taking about for Motherwell

14-06-2023, 09:33 PM
We got any idea about the fee received for Cabraja?

14-06-2023, 09:37 PM
Jamie McGrath linked with us.

14-06-2023, 09:39 PM
Anything further on the "veteran/experienced" player from earlier?

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 09:42 PM
Jamie McGrath linked with us.
Swap deal for Henderson and it's a improvement imo .

14-06-2023, 09:44 PM
If maloney was dishing out 3 year deals for Henderson he should be all over a wee swap deal surely

Dr_Regal
14-06-2023, 09:45 PM

Lyndon Dykes

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2023, 09:45 PM
Lyndon Dykes

Pish, surely

14-06-2023, 09:46 PM
https://twitter.com/record_sport/status/1669095972775837698?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Wonder what it is LJ has seen of him that he likes as I doubt he saw much of him before this season. Couple of United fans opinions I’ve read aren’t massively positive either.

That said, I really rated him at st Mirren and Ireland when I saw him. A 10 who is really comfortable on the half then and can thread a pass and score from distance.

Would improve our midfield in the attacking midfield position.

Hopefully one that will be better with others around him, must be a dream having Boyle and Youan out wide if you’re in that position

14-06-2023, 09:57 PM
Pish, surely

That would be great business if it’s true.

14-06-2023, 09:57 PM
Swap deal for Henderson and it's a improvement imo .

We should be trying to get Kerr if he’s released from his contract.

14-06-2023, 09:58 PM
Pish, surely

Not a chance. Stoke, Milwall and Blackburn all interested and he’s worth about 2 million.

McGrath is a player we have been after for a while.

Given Williams deal fell through, this feels like a good addition if we make it happen. Good age, decent experience, very good at St Mirren but dipped and United last season were a basket case (still
Managed to take lot of points from us mind).

ErinGoBraghHFC
That would be great business if it’s true.

And that is why it’s pish [emoji16]

ElginHibbie
Lyndon Dykes

Had been linked with Millwall and still being linked to Rangers so I am agreeing with the pish suggestion

14-06-2023, 09:59 PM
And that is why it’s pish [emoji16]

Nice to get excited for a minute mate [emoji16]

14-06-2023, 10:04 PM
jamie mcgrath linked with us.

ffs 🤦🏻

ElginHibbie
14-06-2023, 10:05 PM
Wouldn't be breaking the bank for McGrath, but he'd bring something we've been sorely lacking as an option in midfield so I am all for it

14-06-2023, 10:06 PM
Wouldn't be breaking the bank for McGrath, but he'd bring something we've been sorely lacking as an option in midfield so I am all for it

What would that be?

ElginHibbie
14-06-2023, 10:09 PM
What would that be?

More attack minded options, be a big improvement on Henderson anyway

HFC93
14-06-2023, 10:11 PM
Mcgrath give me Stevie Mallan vibes. Great at set pieces/pens but anonymous in open pay.

14-06-2023, 10:17 PM
We need a creative midfielder who makes things happen.

I’m not massively against signing McGrath, but I’d see it as a bit of a waste of budget, thats probably better spent elsewhere.

HendoDelivered
14-06-2023, 10:18 PM
We need a creative midfielder who makes things happen.

I’m not massively against signing McGrath, but I’d see it as a bit of a waste of budget, thats probably better spent elsewhere.

Agree with this

14-06-2023, 10:21 PM
Mcgrath give me Stevie Mallan vibes. Great at set pieces/pens but anonymous in open pay.

He’s a myth; a reputation built on scoring a lot of penalties a couple of seasons ago for St Mirren. He’s been in Scotland for 3.5 years and has a grand total of 4 open play league assists - Nohan Kenneh managed 4 assists just this season and he often struggles to pass the length of himself.

King Cosell
14-06-2023, 10:38 PM
He’s a myth; a reputation built on scoring a lot of penalties a couple of seasons ago for St Mirren. He’s been in Scotland for 3.5 years and has a grand total of 4 open play league assists - Nohan Kenneh managed 4 assists just this season and he often struggles to pass the length of himself.

Take the pens and the 7 caps for a really poor Ireland side away and there's nothing there.

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 10:42 PM
We should be trying to get Kerr if he’s released from his contract.

He's definitely one we should try and get I think . When he left St Johnstone Mccart didn't look nearly as good . Very good defender and a good Hibby too which is a plus .👍.

As to signing Jamie McGrath I've watched him at St mirren and Ireland and he's been very good . Good goalscoring record from midfield for most clubs he's been at and can play a few positions too . I also think our manager would get the best out of him like he did Campbell.

If Maloney is still interested in Henderson I'd definitely try a swap deal . McGrath over Henderson would be a good upgrade imo .

14-06-2023, 11:13 PM
More attack minded options, be a big improvement on Henderson anyway

Take away his ability to tuck away penalties there isn’t much between them

14-06-2023, 11:42 PM
I think certain players fit certain teams/managers playing style. Wouldn't be so fast to write off mcgrath. Open to giving him a chance.

Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 11:50 PM
Jamie McGrath isn't very good because he only scores penalties and yet some on here think we should have signed Shankland because he's scored 24 goals ! . How many were penalties again ? 🤔

JamesHFC
15-06-2023, 12:44 AM

I thought McDermott would have put a stop to that interest like Williams. McGrath likely to be in for the Spain camp though.

15-06-2023, 12:56 AM

Leigh Griffiths, he's experienced, proven goalscorer in the league, supports Hibs and is available for free.

cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 01:07 AM
Leigh Griffiths, he's experienced, proven goalscorer in the league, supports Hibs and is available for free.

15-06-2023, 01:49 AM

Too early I think

cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 04:23 AM
Was told yesterday fish might be a permanent deal. Can't see anyone reporting that though so could be rubbish, just a random text from a pal though so not itk just a strange one considering I didn't think a permanent deal was on the table for us. Probably isn't but I'm gonna choose to believe it purely because I want it to be true 😂

15-06-2023, 04:47 AM
Jamie McGrath isn't very good because he only scores penalties and yet some on here think we should have signed Shankland because he's scored 24 goals ! . How many were penalties again ? 🤔

Shankland scored 13 non-penalty goals and made 4 assists in the league this season.

McGrath has averaged 2 non-penalty goals and 1 assist in the league per season since coming to Scotland.

Wigan wanted shot of him after a few months.
Dundee United fans don’t want him back.
Aberdeen are no longer interested.
He no longer gets a game for a poor Ireland side.

15-06-2023, 05:32 AM
McGrath is a midfielder and Shankland a number 9 so I don't see any validity in comparing them.

McGrath would improve our midfield IMO.

He's good on the ball, composed and is fairly athletic from what I've seen of him. He's not going to be a marquee signing but he's better than JDH and Campbell, again IMO, and about the same level as Newell, so I'd not be against him coming in.

Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 05:39 AM
McGrath is a midfielder and Shankland a number 9 so I don't see any validity in comparing them.

He's good on the ball, composed and is fairly athletic from what I've seen of him. He's not going to be a marquee signing but he's better than JDH and Campbell, again IMO, and about the same level as Newell, so I'd not be against him coming in.Yeah I agree, I will be honest and say I havent seen much of him recently though but who knows, he might just step up when surrounded with better players such as Boyle, Youan etc

JammyDoidger
15-06-2023, 05:50 AM
Hibs should go for that boy Macauley Langstaff at Notts county, scored 42 goals or something from open play last season, seen Ipswich and Plymouth are linked surely we could give them a run for their money?

15-06-2023, 05:57 AM

He's good on the ball, composed and is fairly athletic from what I've seen of him. He's not going to be a marquee signing but he's better than JDH and Campbell, again IMO, and about the same level as Newell, so I'd not be against him coming in.

My impression of Dundee Utd last season was a team that punted it long hoping that Fletcher would either hold it up or create something out of nothing. That wouldn’t suit McGraths style of play from what o remember of him. Playing for a team with more possession and asking him to create for the likes of Boyle and Youann could be a different proposition for him.

I’m really no expert though, I just remember the St Mirren fans loved him and took the piss out of people on twitter that suggested he was only good for penalties. They saw a lot more of him than I did so happy to give the guy the benefit of the doubt if our management team and the Irish national team see something in him.

15-06-2023, 06:01 AM
Take the pens and the 7 caps for a really poor Ireland side away and there's nothing there.

Don't think Ireland are really poor.

15-06-2023, 06:02 AM
Hibs should go for that boy Macauley Langstaff at Notts county, scored 42 goals or something from open play last season, seen Ipswich and Plymouth are linked surely we could give them a run for their money?

Ipswich spent £1m on Harry Clarke, they just got promoted to the championship

JammyDoidger
15-06-2023, 06:05 AM
Ipswich spent £1m on Harry Clarke, they just got promoted to the championship

It's time to break the transfer record😎

15-06-2023, 06:22 AM
Wigan are out of the brown stuff, bought by local ‘billionaire’ who has paid off all their debts and put them back on track. Could scupper any McGrath deal or at least any chance of his contract being nullified and us picking him up as a free agent anyway!

15-06-2023, 06:26 AM
Don't think Ireland are really poor.

They only have 1 win against nations in the Top 90 of the rankings since Kenny became manager in 2020.

15-06-2023, 06:32 AM

Totally agree. Have never seen it with McGrath at all

Steven79
15-06-2023, 06:32 AM
They only have 1 win against nations in the Top 90 of the rankings since Kenny became manager in 2020.That will be Scotland...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

15-06-2023, 06:33 AM
They only have 1 win against nations in the Top 90 of the rankings since Kenny became manager in 2020.

He's right they aren't very poor, that's absolutely dug*****.

15-06-2023, 06:47 AM
I'd definitely take McGrath. Always room for good players. I'd be keen for Henderson to move on though, loan or permanent.

15-06-2023, 07:00 AM
I'd definitely take McGrath. Always room for good players. I'd be keen for Henderson to move on though, loan or permanent.

Season 22/23

McGrath - 37 apps, 9 goals (of which 6 were penalties), 3 assists (2770 mins)
Henderson - 35 apps, 4 goals, 4 assists (1474 mins)

Henderson outscored and outassisted McGrath in open play in almost half the minutes over the course of the season.

15-06-2023, 07:03 AM
So in my opinion the players hibs should be open to bids for or trying to release are

I can’t see much bids coming in for any of the below in all honesty.

It’s a good start with the players that have already left, getting there with the bloated, dead wood being moved out the club. The list below, I don’t think they’ll play ten games between them if they stayed at hibs next season.

Hague
Melkerson
Tavares
Doidge
Henderson
Magennis
McKirdy

15-06-2023, 07:06 AM
Season 22/23

McGrath - 37 apps, 9 goals (of which 6 were penalties), 3 assists (2770 mins)
Henderson - 35 apps, 4 goals, 4 assists (1474 mins)

Henderson outscored and outassisted McGrath in open play in almost half the minutes over the course of the season.

Stats don’t tell the whole story though.

Henderson was playing in an attacking team that scored a decent amount of goals.

McGrath was in a poor team that got relegated and didn’t play a style of football that suited him.

15-06-2023, 07:07 AM
Stats don’t tell the whole story though.

Henderson was playing in an attacking team that scored a decent amount of goals.

McGrath was in a poor team that got relegated and didn’t play a style of football that suited him.

I was just providing a comparison, wasn't saying what was right either way. Agree that it matters which team you're in.

15-06-2023, 07:08 AM
So in my opinion the players hibs should be open to bids for or trying to release are

I can’t see much bids coming in for any of the below in all honesty.

It’s a good start with the players that have already left, getting there with the bloated, dead wood being moved out the club. The list below, I don’t think they’ll play ten games between them if they stayed at hibs next season.

Hague
Melkerson
Tavares
Doidge
Henderson
Magennis
McKirdy

That's a fair amount of wages. I think Tavares, Magennis and McKirdy will stay though. They'll probably give Magennis one last pre-season to prove his fitness.

15-06-2023, 07:14 AM
I wonder if Dylan Levitt is on anyone's radar

Cant see him staying in the Scottish championship

15-06-2023, 07:14 AM

He is nowhere near the same level as Newell. Hopefully if he comes he does well but if you asked any other club supporter who they eould take, Joe or McGrath, most would take your hand off for Newell.

Fortunately, as supporters player of the year votes proved, most Hibs fans do understand how good he is.

15-06-2023, 07:16 AM

You can surely see the difference between those 2 players. I’m also not sure why people are saying McGrath would be a better option than Henderson? Henderson is a poor squad player. We don’t need any more like that. Jamie McGrath had a decent spell at St Mirren. But there is nothing in recent form to suggest he’d add anything to a starting line up. We don’t need filler. We’ve got loads of that already.

15-06-2023, 07:23 AM
You can surely see the difference between those 2 players. I’m also not sure why people are saying McGrath would be a better option than Henderson? Henderson is a poor squad player. We don’t need any more like that. Jamie McGrath had a decent spell at St Mirren. But there is nothing in recent form to suggest he’d add anything to a starting line up. We don’t need filler. We’ve got loads of that already.Based on our bench at the tail end of the season we do need better depth

McGrath improves our squad over Hendo I'd imagine

15-06-2023, 07:28 AM
You can surely see the difference between those 2 players. I’m also not sure why people are saying McGrath would be a better option than Henderson? Henderson is a poor squad player. We don’t need any more like that. Jamie McGrath had a decent spell at St Mirren. But there is nothing in recent form to suggest he’d add anything to a starting line up. We don’t need filler. We’ve got loads of that already.

What do we do if Boyle or Youann get injured?

I like the idea of McGrath playing in an attacking number 10 role however he has also played on the wing, think that was where he was at his most effective at St Mirren actually.

The idea that we should only sign starters is correct in theory and it’s a nice idea, I don’t think it’s realistic with our budget. There will be signings we have to box a bit smarter.

15-06-2023, 07:37 AM

15-06-2023, 07:40 AM
I wonder if Dylan Levitt is on anyone's radar

Cant see him staying in the Scottish championship

Would rather him than McGrath

mhathorn1
15-06-2023, 07:47 AM
Was told yesterday fish might be a permanent deal. Can't see anyone reporting that though so could be rubbish, just a random text from a pal though so not itk just a strange one considering I didn't think a permanent deal was on the table for us. Probably isn't but I'm gonna choose to believe it purely because I want it to be true 😂

I have heard exactly the same thing. But we shall see what happens.

15-06-2023, 07:49 AM

To be fair, if Newell was linked with a club you'd have people that would say the same stuff despite it being nonsense.

I haven't seen enough of McGrath to know either way, but the club has far more in depth analysis on players than the goals and assists stats I've provided.

15-06-2023, 07:49 AM
There’s danger in the thinking that because Henderson has been pish that we should take just anyone to replace him as they’re bound to be an improvement.

The bar needs to be “good enough” and not simply “an upgrade on Henderson”.

Not sure where McGrath fits into that, but I’d be sceptical about taking anyone who was considered partially culpable for United’s poor season last season.

15-06-2023, 07:54 AM
To be fair, if Newell was linked with a club you'd have people that would say the same stuff despite it being nonsense.

I haven't seen enough of McGrath to know either way, but the club has far more in depth analysis on players than the goals and assists stats I've provided.

You’d also find plenty people with positive things to say about Newell, I haven’t seen anything positive from Dundee Utd fans on his time at the club.

Stats should be used to supplement what people see with their eyes not replace it. The recruitment analysts at Hibs thought Henderson was a good signing based on their in depth analysis whereas those of us who had watched him play before he joined knew he wasn’t good enough.

15-06-2023, 07:54 AM
We should never have signed John Mcginn for being partly culpable for getting St Mirren relegated

Steven79
15-06-2023, 07:59 AM
We should never have signed John Mcginn for being partly culpable for getting St Mirren relegatedWhatever happened to him? [emoji1787]

15-06-2023, 08:07 AM

Had a we troll through some of McGrath's tweets and most times he tweets the fans seem to give him alot of praise, in saying that he doesn't tweet alot so perhaps he picks his moments 😁

15-06-2023, 08:50 AM
What do we do if Boyle or Youann get injured?

I like the idea of McGrath playing in an attacking number 10 role however he has also played on the wing, think that was where he was at his most effective at St Mirren actually.

The idea that we should only sign starters is correct in theory and it’s a nice idea, I don’t think it’s realistic with our budget. There will be signings we have to box a bit smarter.

If we can sign 5 starters - then some current starters can move to the bench, then was have all the youth that we were told would be integrated with match day squads.

Goalkeeper
CM
AM
Winger
Striker

Get 5 of them that start for us and we will improve hugely. we then have a bench with Marshall, JDH, Campbell, O Mac, Megwa, rocky, - all good competent players. McGrath will be a on a decent wage - so I have this argument again that we shouldn't have decent wage players as filler. It may well be unrealistic but I'm going to stay unrealistic until the window "slams shut"

15-06-2023, 08:54 AM
Henderson has loads of ability and potential, the issue is he shows it about 20% of the time.

He can probably do everything McGrath can and I think if he played a full season in the SPFL, starting week in week out he would get decent stats.

Every game I see him, even when I think he’s really poor, I always think he’s going to have a chance or provide someone a chance.

For where we’re at now, McGrath is probably a more trustworthy option though and able to show his ability alot more consistently.

Said it before but I think having better players around him will make a huge difference too.

15-06-2023, 09:00 AM
Was told yesterday fish might be a permanent deal. Can't see anyone reporting that though so could be rubbish, just a random text from a pal though so not itk just a strange one considering I didn't think a permanent deal was on the table for us. Probably isn't but I'm gonna choose to believe it purely because I want it to be true ��

I'd be very surprised, purely because of the English market and what they value their players at, even the youngsters. I'd imagine he'd be way out our budget. Would obviously love it to be a permanent deal.

15-06-2023, 09:05 AM
We should never have signed John Mcginn for being partly culpable for getting St Mirren relegated

Was he considered to be partly culpable or a good player in a poor team?

Sometimes teams get relegated in spite of the decent efforts of certain players.

There are a few players the United fans appear to be less critical of, I wouldn’t be against signing Fletcher for example.

I’d be wary of signing anyone who has been singled out for not contributing enough during a car crash of a season.

15-06-2023, 09:08 AM
Was he considered to be partly culpable or a good player in a poor team?

Sometimes teams get relegated in spite of the decent efforts of certain players.

There are a few players the United fans appear to be less critical of, I wouldn’t be against signing Fletcher for example.

I’d be wary of signing anyone who has been singled out for not contributing enough during a car crash of a season.

Anyone part of a team that gets relegated is partly culpable.

I’ll judge McGrath on how he performs for us (if he signs).

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 09:35 AM
If there's a deal to be done in swapping Henderson for McGrath it's definitely worth doing . Time and time again we have played Henderson and he's done nothing . McGrath would be a upgrade on Henderson.

He's a attacking midfielder who can play LW or RW too and has 8 goals last season in a struggling Utd team which is the same as Campbell as for us and before someone says a lot of them are penalties we have actually missed one or two important penalties this year . So having another good penalty taker mighten be a bad thing either.

One goal Campbell had when Maloney was manager , he's 8 under LJ . I think McGrath would improve Playing under LJ attacking style of football and with better players tbh .
https://youtu.be/upkrIhNwwr4

tonyrougier123
15-06-2023, 09:46 AM
Can anyone explain in detail what makes them think McGrath is a good player to sign? Hint of Stevie mallan about it for me personally.

I’ve seen him hit a few decent free kicks and an assist from a corner for Ireland. But I can honestly say in games he seems anonymous otherwise.

That’s my take anyway. 🤷*♂️

15-06-2023, 10:22 AM
You’d also find plenty people with positive things to say about Newell, I haven’t seen anything positive from Dundee Utd fans on his time at the club.

Stats should be used to supplement what people see with their eyes not replace it. The recruitment analysts at Hibs thought Henderson was a good signing based on their in depth analysis whereas those of us who had watched him play before he joined knew he wasn’t good enough.

The only reason Henderson was anywhere near Hibs was because Maloney had coached him at Parkhead.

15-06-2023, 10:30 AM
The only reason Henderson was anywhere near Hibs was because Maloney had coached him at Parkhead.

Thought he was contacted before Maloney was appointed

15-06-2023, 10:37 AM
Anyone part of a team that gets relegated is partly culpable.

I’ll judge McGrath on how he performs for us (if he signs).

I'd also add that whilst I'd be wary, I wouldn't be dead against it.

Were part of McGrath's/ United's struggles last season because they had absolutely f all pace in their team ahead of McGrath? I've heard it said that it was, that United had a few very decent players but a few fatal flaws in their team (as well as a few bad apples).

So it may well be that a player who plays his position could bomb at United yet thrive with Boyle, Youan and co.

15-06-2023, 10:45 AM

Being Liam's wee brother bought him a lot of time with the fans too. I remember his debut (think it was against Cove) and folk were saying he looked the part. To me he looked lightweight and his positional sense was all over the place. I don't think he's improved that much at all since then. In fairness to him i think he has ability, he can strike a ball etc but that isn't enough. At this level you need to have a bit of everything and be able to do the dirty parts or the game as well. Stevie Mallan found that out also.

Everyone views players differently but the way i think about it is if the likes of Henderson, McKirdy etc were lining up against us for Hearts or Aberdeen would you be even slightly concerned? I'd be rubbing my hands.

15-06-2023, 11:00 AM
West Ham reject Arsenal bid for Declan Rice

BBC Sport

EGL2000
15-06-2023, 11:21 AM
West Ham reject Arsenal bid for Declan Rice

BBC Sport

I can't be the only one who doesn't really see it with him. Decent enough player, but can't believe him and jude bellingham are going to move for a roughly similar fee.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 11:30 AM
Liam Henderson possibly moving to another Italian team .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/scots-abroad/liam-henderson-wanted-palermo-ex-27127643

EGL2000
15-06-2023, 11:44 AM
Clarkson confirmed on a permanent for the dons. Fair play must have been a fairly large fee.

15-06-2023, 11:45 AM
Clarkson confirmed on a permanent for the dons. Fair play must have been a fairly large fee.

Annoying. They'll make good money on him as well.

15-06-2023, 11:46 AM
I can't be the only one who doesn't really see it with him. Decent enough player, but can't believe him and jude bellingham are going to move for a roughly similar fee.

Not just you. A good player, and a bit of a machine. I’m not sure what you’re getting for 100m though. There’s a lot better and more technical defensive midfielders out there. He’s also not a Yaya Toure box to box type of player as not much more than competent in the final third IMO.

A good player, but not elite and £100m, even allowing for the English premium, is crazy IMO. Maybe he will kick on again in a better team though.

EGL2000
15-06-2023, 11:46 AM
Annoying. They'll make good money on him as well.

That European money probably allows them to go out and get him.

Steven79
15-06-2023, 11:49 AM
I can't be the only one who doesn't really see it with him. Decent enough player, but can't believe him and jude bellingham are going to move for a roughly similar fee.He's English and likely going from one English team to another which raises the price.

Just look at Harry Maguire...

Stokesy's on fire
15-06-2023, 11:50 AM

Hope they blasted a fortune on him

badabing67
15-06-2023, 11:51 AM
Just a thought, with Will Fish being a success here, wonder if Man Utd will offer other loan options to us and if we take them could this have any adverse affect with LJ's relationship with City Group

15-06-2023, 12:22 PM
I really hope there's nothing in the McGrath rumours. Not what we need, and has never stood out to me any time we've played against him.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

15-06-2023, 12:23 PM
Just a thought, with Will Fish being a success here, wonder if Man Utd will offer other loan options to us and if we take them could this have any adverse affect with LJ's relationship with City Group

Didn't damage our relationship with Brighton when Hearts got Cochrane on loan 👀

badabing67
15-06-2023, 12:27 PM
Didn't damage our relationship with Brighton when Hearts got Cochrane on loan ��

We don't hear much about the Brighton relationship though... Do we still have one

15-06-2023, 12:27 PM
We don't hear much about the Brighton relationship though... Do we still have one

He was being sarcastic.

badabing67
15-06-2023, 12:28 PM
He was being sarcastic.

It is still a valid point though

15-06-2023, 12:30 PM

I think the point is that there was no relationship to harm.

Paulie Walnuts
15-06-2023, 12:31 PM

Hibs offered him a deal before Maloney came in. It wasn’t a Maloney signing.

I suppose you’re partly right though because Henderson decided to sign due to Maloney being appointed.

15-06-2023, 12:51 PM

His goal per 90 minutes play is still very good. I don't think we can replace Nisbet and will have to think of a couple of players with different attributes to fill the void. Similar to SJM where there was no chance of replacing and there needs to be a plan to have a successful attack not just like for like with what has left. Cosgrove with good crosses coming in from Boyle and Youan will score plenty

15-06-2023, 01:16 PM

Like most of the “relationships” announced around that time, the only thing to see any benefit from it was Graeme Mathie’s LinkedIn profile.

Dmas
15-06-2023, 01:46 PM
Groningen signing van veen 500k and add ins, can’t actually believe that Motherwell must be rubbing there hands

15-06-2023, 02:00 PM
Groningen signing van veen 500k and add ins, can’t actually believe that Motherwell must be rubbing there hands

I'll be surprised if they're excited about losing 20 goals from last season. They'll struggle to replace him.

Dmas
15-06-2023, 02:31 PM
I'll be surprised if they're excited about losing 20 goals from last season. They'll struggle to replace him.

He’s came nowhere close to that at any other stage in his career, no evidence to suggest he could replicate it anyway could as easily revert back to 4 goals a season, to get that amount for a guy at his age is a great deal imo

15-06-2023, 02:34 PM
So we have sell-ons in place for McGinn, Porteous, Nisbet, Doig and Cabraja? That could be some decent funds coming our way in the future although McGinn unlikely to go up they way now i wouldn't have thought.

15-06-2023, 04:04 PM

Think he is a little overrated. Many games imo struggling to know he is playing

15-06-2023, 04:06 PM
Would rather him than McGrath

Think mcgrath would do well in better team. Would be the sort of player we need assume deemed to be a better option than Williams

Stokesy's on fire
15-06-2023, 04:12 PM
Think he is a little overrated. Many games imo struggling to know he is playing

Totally agree part of a team that lost to Darvel yet hailed by Aberdeen fans as some form of God. If that's the level of player they are after that should suit us fine. My hope is they foolishly wasted a large amount of money on him.

15-06-2023, 04:24 PM
I think the lad clarkson is absolute quality and will only get better.

Some brilliant goals, assists and overall play this season.

If we can get a similar level of quality in that position I’ll be thrilled.

On a somewhat related note, a Jambo from work said we’re after the boy Lewis Fiorini on loan

15-06-2023, 04:40 PM
He’s came nowhere close to that at any other stage in his career, no evidence to suggest he could replicate it anyway could as easily revert back to 4 goals a season, to get that amount for a guy at his age is a great deal imo

He’s hit more than 10 goals in 4 of last 5 seasons so 4 is doing him a disservice.

15-06-2023, 04:43 PM
I think the lad clarkson is absolute quality and will only get better.

Some brilliant goals, assists and overall play this season.

If we can get a similar level of quality in that position I’ll be thrilled.

On a somewhat related note, a Jambo from work said we’re after the boy Lewis Fiorini on loan

Not seen him play, but my mate who's a season ticket holder at Bloomfield rd reckons he's terrific.

15-06-2023, 04:45 PM
Siegrest on loan

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-29082362

https://twitter.com/recrod_sport/status/1669384905799630857?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

BlackSheep
15-06-2023, 04:47 PM
Siegrest on loan

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-29082362

Link to an article from January….??

Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 04:49 PM
Link to an article from January….??

Yep, Wigan are after Nisbet too 😃

Rick Rude
15-06-2023, 04:50 PM
Siegrest on loan

https://twitter.com/recrod_sport/status/1669384905799630857?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Looks like a fake twitter account set up just for this one article.

15-06-2023, 04:50 PM
Siegrest on loan

Class if true, hopefully an option to buy added

tonyrougier123
15-06-2023, 04:51 PM

Absolute truth brother! The epitome of a one season wonder. A journeyman in his 30s they signed from obscurity netting them half a mill. Like winning the lottery for them.

15-06-2023, 04:52 PM
Siegrest on loan

Spoof site

15-06-2023, 04:54 PM
Apologies never noticed the Siegrest tweet account was a fake account, some weird people

badabing67
15-06-2023, 05:01 PM
Could we afford to buy Siegrest

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 05:02 PM
Yep, Wigan are after Nisbet too 😃
And Campbell too . For a club that couldn't pay its bills or there players wage's . I wonder were the money was coming from to buy two of our players 🤔

15-06-2023, 05:22 PM
Could we afford to buy Siegrest

Maybe a loan.

I’d be all for that

15-06-2023, 05:24 PM
Maybe a loan.

I’d be all for that

Surely the big man wants out! Third choice Celtic keeper.

Was he a Rodger’s signing? Maybe hoping for game time when he returns as manager.

BlackSheep
15-06-2023, 05:40 PM
My Celtic mate thinks Siegreist will be gone this summer… if so we should be all over it… he was fantastic pre Celtic.

Also just had a text from another mate saying he’s heard James Forrest on loan…. Anyone else hear anything about that?

Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 05:45 PM
My Celtic mate thinks Siegreist will be gone this summer… if so we should be all over it… he was fantastic pre Celtic.

Also just had a text from another mate saying he’s heard James Forrest on loan…. Anyone else hear anything about that?

The Forrest loan stuff was punted around last season wasnt it, or January window. Believe it or not I wouldnt be overly excited about him, a few years ago yeah but in watching him recently in the past few celtc games he has been very average

Isnt Seigrist celtcs no2 ? If so doubt we would get him, Bain more likely

15-06-2023, 05:46 PM

If James forrest could stay fit I reckon he be a big asset.

Probably past his best days but be more than good enough to do a job for us

BlackSheep
15-06-2023, 05:46 PM
The Forrest loan stuff was punted around last season wasnt it, or January window. Believe it or not I wouldnt be overly excited about him, a few years ago yeah but in watching him recently in the past few celtc games he has been very average

Isnt Seigrist celtcs no2 ? If so doubt we would get him, Bain more likely

Is seigreist injured? If not why didn’t he play against us last month?

cameronw-hfc
15-06-2023, 05:47 PM
Just had another text about fish being permanent although this one is adamant and it'll be announced over the weekend.

Personally thought it would be monday and the Manchester evening news seems to think its a loan so doubt it, interesting though that it seems to be going around.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2023, 05:50 PM
If James forrest could stay fit I reckon he be a big asset.

Probably past his best days but be more than good enough to do a job for us
I'd be really surprised if James Forrest came to Hibs tbh . Were would he play ?

badabing67
15-06-2023, 05:50 PM

He is third choice at Celtic

15-06-2023, 05:51 PM
Just had another text about fish being permanent although this one is adamant and it'll be announced over the weekend.

Personally thought it would be monday and the Manchester evening news seems to think its a loan so doubt it, interesting though that it seems to be going around.

Could be a loan with option/obligation to buy at the end of it.

15-06-2023, 05:52 PM

Can only play one goalie.

Stokesy's on fire
15-06-2023, 05:54 PM
He is third choice at Celtic

Surely Bain is now third choice?

15-06-2023, 05:54 PM
I'd be really surprised if James Forrest came to Hibs tbh . Were would he play ?

Easter Road for the home games 👍

15-06-2023, 05:57 PM
Henderson has loads of ability and potential, the issue is he shows it about 20% of the time.

He can probably do everything McGrath can and I think if he played a full season in the SPFL, starting week in week out he would get decent stats.

Every game I see him, even when I think he’s really poor, I always think he’s going to have a chance or provide someone a chance.

For where we’re at now, McGrath is probably a more trustworthy option though and able to show his ability alot more consistently.

Said it before but I think having better players around him will make a huge difference too.

Agreed. Henderson does have talent. We just don’t see enough of it enough of the time. People talk about him being weak and lightweight but he has a bit of dig about him. I hope he stays - if we can get more out of him and consistently. Plenty potential.

Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 05:58 PM
Is seigreist injured? If not why didn’t he play against us last month?Appears Bain is no2 and recently signed a new deal

Joe Hart is the undisputed No1 at Parkhead with former Dundee United keeper Benjamin Siegrist also on the books after his arrival last summer. But he has had a difficult campaign with injuries meaning Bain has found himself on the bench as back-up often. He hasn't featured at all this season with fellow keeper Siegrist making just two appearances in the League Cup in the early rounds against Ross County and Motherwell

15-06-2023, 05:58 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-club-aims-to-land-jamie-mcgrath-by-july-date-as-push-continues-for-loan-duo-4184814

Moria with an update, albeit can’t see what all is being said