View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
19-05-2023, 07:43 AM
There was enough "experts" on here saying Shankland was piss, doesn't score in the top division, etc. If he comes in, I'd prefer to keep an open mind, we have had too many, perceived, world beaters, who have turned out to be anything but.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBxireWPRBk&ab_channel=LivingstonFootballClub
Had he had scored this goal for us, rather than against, I don't think we would have been so critical!
To be fair, that was all on Hanlon. His feet got stuck in the "turf" and he let him waltz past.
19-05-2023, 07:43 AM
I'm sure our new DoF will be looking a little further afield than Livi. Well at least I hope so.
Aye, like Sporting Reserves! :wink:
Last Minute
19-05-2023, 07:54 AM
Van Veen would be a great signing for us imo
Nouble would be more of a risk but the guy has a bit class in the games I’ve seen him play.
Van Veen is Aberdeen bound . :agree:
19-05-2023, 07:59 AM
Surely not? Nouble is miles ahead of Doidge now, who can barely run
Nouble isn’t good enough to be anything but a bit part player off the bench for us imo. I don’t see the point in spending a few hundred thousand on him when Doidge still has time on his contract. Let him sit on the bench and come on to try and win a flick on or two if we are desperate.
GreenGray
19-05-2023, 08:06 AM
Nouble isn’t good enough to be anything but a bit part player off the bench for us imo. I don’t see the point in spending a few hundred thousand on him when Doidge still has time on his contract. Let him sit on the bench and come on to try and win a flick on or two if we are desperate.
He’s actually a very good technical player if you watch him and he’s only 27, still young in the grand scheme of things. I’m not saying we should sign him and he wouldn’t be a priority for me, but you’d have him over Doidge every day of the week.
19-05-2023, 08:18 AM
Way too soon to judge McLelland. Suspect he'll play a role next season, albeit as cover and from the bench, he was signed as one for the future.
Henderson has had his opportunities, and unfortunately he's not been consistent enough. Agree his time may be up.
If McLelland is anywhere near the first team next season I'd be amazed. Couldn't get a game at Cove, loan cancelled early, their fans don't rate him but he has a role at a bigger club at a higher level? Don't think so.
It's nonsense.
Cameron's just having a laugh to see how many Hibbies he can catch.
Childish behaviour.
Exactly.
19-05-2023, 08:21 AM
What we need to do is get Mykola to stay another year and keep him fit. Been very frustrating that he has been out so much as a quality player
19-05-2023, 08:49 AM
There was enough "experts" on here saying Shankland was piss, doesn't score in the top division, etc. If he comes in, I'd prefer to keep an open mind, we have had too many, perceived, world beaters, who have turned out to be anything but.
Had he had scored this goal for us, rather than against, I don't think we would have been so critical!
Don't need to be an expert to think someone's pish. Not saying I'm right either, just don't rate the guy.
19-05-2023, 08:49 AM
What we need to do is get Mykola to stay another year and keep him fit. Been very frustrating that he has been out so much as a quality player
I agree. Getting him back needs to be a priority. Luckily his injuries have probably masked how good he is from other clubs.
I think a fit Nisbet, Youan, Boyle, Mykola would be one of the best attacks in the division. I have a hunch Nisbet will be gone though.
19-05-2023, 08:55 AM
I had a dream last night that we re-signed Dom Malonga. We can pretend it’s a real rumour if you’d like.
19-05-2023, 08:57 AM
I think he’s class and if we can keep him we should
How do we keep him fit though and if there’s an answer to that why didn’t we just do it this season?
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 09:17 AM
How do we keep him fit though and if there’s an answer to that why didn’t we just do it this season?
I don’t think there’s any doubting he’s a good player but I’m not sure I’d be in a rush to sign him. He’s not been close to being reliable this season and we need reliable players going forward.
19-05-2023, 09:30 AM
The only way to guarantee keeping a player from getting injured is to not play him.
19-05-2023, 09:32 AM
The only way to guarantee keeping a player from getting injured is to not play him.
We’ve done that pretty well so far to be fair.
19-05-2023, 09:46 AM
I had a dream last night that we re-signed Dom Malonga. We can pretend it’s a real rumour if you’d like.
Make it happen, Hibs.
To be fair, that was all on Hanlon. His feet got stuck in the "turf" and he let him waltz past.
The cool finish wasn't Hanlon.
Donegal Hibby
19-05-2023, 10:12 AM
Squirrel had just been on loan at Montrose as he was out of favour at Dundee. Nizzy didn't succeed at the Jags and played for Raith & Dunfermline, sometimes players just click later, Vardy was non-league, it's what they can offer now.
Boyle scored over 20 goals for Montrose and picked up a player award . Nisbet was banging in goals galore for Raith , moved to the pars and continued scoring which is why we picked him up . Vardy finished top goalscorer for FC Halifax with 25 goals and was voted player of the year . At Fleetwood he was again scoring goals for fun 31 I think and was top scorer in the conference premier .
All 3 players had showed potential. Joel nouble has played at clubs I've never even heard of and has never achieved or shown potential of the likes of the squirrel, Nizzy or Vardy . In order for nouble to hit 20 or 30 goals he'd need 3 or 4 seasons and with him coming 28 he's hardly going to improve now imo .
19-05-2023, 10:15 AM
The cool finish wasn't Hanlon.
It wasn't a cool finish IMO. A cool finish would be low and placed. It ballooned slowly off his instep and almost went wide.
I like him, but that goal wasn't a strikers run and finish it was terrible defending.
19-05-2023, 10:46 AM
Make sure he doesn’t get injured :greengrin
19-05-2023, 10:51 AM
Make it happen, Hibs.
He's now plying his trade in the Icelandic 2nd tier. Seems to have had a very nomadic career has big Dom.
19-05-2023, 10:59 AM
Shankland has been playing well for Hearts this season and I've been especially impressed by his link up play and all-round game.
But if you take away penalties his goal scoring rate has been really poor - Nisbet in comparison has over 3 times as many open play goals per 90 minutes.
Nisbet, Van Veen, Duk, Miovski, Ginelly all have significantly higher scoring rates from open play this season.
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 11:06 AM
Shankland has been playing well for Hearts this season and I've been especially impressed by his link up play and all-round game.
But if you take away penalties his goal scoring rate has been really poor - Nisbet in comparison has over 3 times as many open play goals per 90 minutes.
Nisbet, Van Veen, Duk, Miovski, Ginelly all have significantly higher scoring rates from open play this season.
I never understand the ‘if you remove goals from penalties’ chat. They’re goals. They count the same as any other goal.
He's now plying his trade in the Icelandic 2nd tier. Seems to have had a very nomadic career has big Dom.
Was that deliberate? Nomadic an anagram of Domanic. 🙂(I know his is spelled differently).
In all games he has 26 goals this season, half of them penalties. Saturday is proof enough how important it is to score penalties.
19-05-2023, 11:22 AM
I never understand the ‘if you remove goals from penalties’ chat. They’re goals. They count the same as any other goal.
I never understand the people who don’t recognise that it’s a lot easier to score from a penalty than it is from open play.
If you’re talking about how much you get from a penalty then of course you are correct, they’re worth the same. If you are using goals as a metric for judging a player, there has to be consideration for the fact it takes a lot more skill and talent to score from open play than it does from the penalty spot.
Shankland deserves credit for how successful he is at taking penalties, it’s no always easy to score them, as Nisbet proved last week. That said, if two strikers both score the same number of goals, one scores them all from open play and the other scores them all from penalties, I know what striker I want.
19-05-2023, 11:30 AM
It wasn't a cool finish IMO. A cool finish would be low and placed. It ballooned slowly off his instep and almost went wide.
I like him, but that goal wasn't a strikers run and finish it was terrible defending.
It was a good goal, a great run from the boy and a perfect finish, straight into the back of the net, let's not get silly about it. |He's still not a player \I want to see at Hibs, we need better.
19-05-2023, 11:32 AM
It was a good goal, a great run from the boy and a perfect finish, straight into the back of the net, let's not get silly about it. |He's still not a player \I want to see at Hibs, we need better.
It hits the post first not the back of the net.
Anyway, I agree.
19-05-2023, 11:38 AM
I never understand the people who don’t recognise that it’s a lot easier to score from a penalty than it is from open play.
If you’re talking about how much you get from a penalty then of course you are correct, they’re worth the same. If you are using goals as a metric for judging a player, there has to be consideration for the fact it takes a lot more skill and talent to score from open play than it does from the penalty spot.
Shankland deserves credit for how successful he is at taking penalties, it’s no always easy to score them, as Nisbet proved last week. That said, if two strikers both score the same number of goals, one scores them all from open play and the other scores them all from penalties, I know what striker I want.
Boyle scored 7 penalties last season, and also the season before that, in all competitions. Which were half of his 14 and 15 goal totals. I never saw it mentioned in the same way as it is with Shankland. There’s definitely a valid point to be made about totals and penalties. However it seems to, generally, be made through tribalism and a way to talk down Shankland, as much as objective analysis.
Shankland is a good player at our level, I’d not swap him for Nisbet but he would be a very good replacement IMO. Putting to one side the fact he’s not a realistic target.
19-05-2023, 12:02 PM
It hits the post first not the back of the net.
Anyway, I agree.
It goes straight in, hits the side of the net, not the post?
But either way, it was a good goal.
FWIW, that pitch is a shocker, the ball doesn't even roll properly with Nouble's run, taking wee bounces all the time. Utter joke that it's allowed in our top league
Donegal Hibby
19-05-2023, 12:12 PM
If Shankland has scored 13 penalties has he actually missed many ?
Torto7
19-05-2023, 12:24 PM
Shankland is a big huddy. Nisbet's goals to minute ratio is far superior, as is his link work and pressing. Shankland is also completely unable to lead a press as he's a slow huddy. Once the mini Lodgers don't get the second most amount of penalties he'll go back to being the bottom six dross that he is scoring a couple of tap ins and a header or two.
19-05-2023, 12:58 PM
Do you class Tavernier as a better striker or forward than Nisbet, Boyle, Duk, Jota, Abada or Ginelly then?
19-05-2023, 01:11 PM
Van Veen is on unbelievable form (scored in all of his last 8 games, 11 goals in total), but he’s not a great player. Last season he was distinctly average.
Surely we’ve seen with McKirdy that a great goalscoring season doesn’t always translate after a move.
It wasn’t so long ago that folk were convinced that Tony Watt would be a great signing after his good spell at Motherwell. He went to Dundee Utd and was *****, then St Mirren and was *****.
As for Nouble…he’s just *****. That’s no happening. No chance.
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 01:15 PM
Do you class Tavernier as a better striker or forward than Nisbet, Boyle, Duk, Jota, Abada or Ginelly then?
I’ve never seen Tavernier play striker. In fact I’d hazard a guess he never has, so no.
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 01:16 PM
Is a penalty easier than a tap in from 2 yards? Probably not. Why do we not discount those ones as well?
7 of Haalands goals this season have been pens. Why does nobody obsess over them?
19-05-2023, 01:24 PM
7 of Haalands goals this season have been pens. Why does nobody obsess over them?
Quite a small percentage of his!
19-05-2023, 01:33 PM
Yes, they count the same when deciding the score in a football match. They shouldn’t count the same when comparing the goalscoring ability of a regular penalty taker and non-regular penalty taker.
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 01:40 PM
Yes, they count the same when deciding the score in a football match. They shouldn’t count the same when comparing the goalscoring ability of a regular penalty taker and non-regular penalty taker.
Why not? It’s still scoring a goal and as we’ve seen with Nisbet, it takes a level of skill to succeed with them.
It takes less goal scoring ability to score from 2 yards than it does 18. Id expect all our players to score from 2 yards, it doesn’t really take any goalscoring ability to put the ball in the net from there, I wouldn’t expect them all to score from 18 though, so why don’t we wipe out the tap ins as well to really separate the wheat from the chaff?
19-05-2023, 01:41 PM
Is a penalty easier than a tap in from 2 yards? Probably not. Why do we not discount those ones as well?
Because it’s difficult to find space when you’re getting a tap in from 2 yards out. If that was easy, every striker would just score hundreds of them.
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 01:41 PM
Because it’s difficult to find space when you’re getting a tap in from 2 yards out. If that was easy, every striker would just score hundreds of them.
And it’s difficult to score penalties or else every player would just score them all.
As someone else said, it’s telling that nobody ever uses the penalty chat when it’s your own player. It’s a daft argument that’s used to discredit rival players with no real merit.
19-05-2023, 01:46 PM
And it’s difficult to score penalties or else every player would just score them all.
Can you really not see the difference between someone winning a penalty and you getting a free shot from 12 yards compared to finding the space to score one from open play?
Each to their own and I’ll clearly not convince you otherwise but I find that surprising.
FWIW I said Shankland deserves credit for the penalties he’s scored, just not as much as he would have got if he scored more from open play.
19-05-2023, 01:47 PM
As someone else said, it’s telling that nobody ever uses the penalty chat when it’s your own player. It’s a daft argument that’s used to discredit rival players with no real merit.
Something like 85% of penalties are scored , 11 % are saved.
On another note if your team goes first in a penalty shootout you have around a 60% of winning.
19-05-2023, 01:48 PM
Why not? It’s still scoring a goal and as we’ve seen with Nisbet, it takes a level of skill to succeed with them.
It takes less goal scoring ability to score from 2 yards than it does 18. Id expect all our players to score from 2 yards, it doesn’t really take any goalscoring ability to put the ball in the net from there, I wouldn’t expect them all to score from 18 though, so why don’t we wipe out the tap ins as well to really separate the wheat from the chaff?
That’s a great point, if you ignore the skill in being in the right place at the right time to make a tap in. It’s no coincidence that top strikers find themselves in the right positions to convert these opportunities when they present themselves.
Nisbet - 0.23 goals per shot.
Shankland - 0.10 goals per shot.
19-05-2023, 01:50 PM
Van Veen is Aberdeen bound . :agree:
Not doubting you, but Kettlewell said no club in Scotland can afford him, including Rangers and Celtic
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Can you really not see the difference between someone winning a penalty and you getting a free shot from 12 yards compared to finding the space to score one from open play?
Each to their own and I’ll clearly not convince you otherwise but I find that surprising.
FWIW I said Shankland deserves credit for the penalties he’s scored, just not as much as he would have got if he scored more from open play.
I can see the difference, I just think the idea that one holds more weight than the other is daft.
What if Shankland won the penalty that he scored? That would have taken a degree of skill to win the penalty. Do we then add that penalty back onto his tally? Surely if we’re counting tap ins from 2 yards because their play before the tap in was good then we have to count penalties where they’ve won the penalty themselves from good play? What if he plays a defence splitting pass to a player who wins a pen? Thats good play in the build up to winning the penalty, surely that should be considered if tap ins are considered due to you finding space in the box before the opportunity comes your way.
The point I’m making isn’t Shankland specific btw. It’s always been an argument that I’ve thought is stupid.
badabing67
19-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Steve Kean away
Kean departs Hibs - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/cnl9v28zdkzo)
Juice-Terry
19-05-2023, 01:56 PM
Steve Kean away
Kean departs Hibs - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/cnl9v28zdkzo)
Wow! That came out of nowhere. Wonder if this has anything to do with McDermott's appointment?
Penalties count the same as a 2 yard sclaff or a 40 yard worldly, but they’re valid to talk when comparing players.
A player getting first dibs at a free go at goal from 12 yards, several times a season, is getting better opportunities than another who isn’t.
if we look at non-penalty goals, nisbet is outperforming shankland. Yes the penalties still count, but over the piece, penalties are transient, we’ve all said how many flukey/dodgy penalties hearts got early in the season, when shankland was scoring for fun and the media were drooling over him. Since those penalties have dried up, so has he. And at the same time, so has hearts surge to be the greatest bestest bigliest team since Brazil 70. So for all the guff in the media about what a terrific signing he’s been, the numbers would say the biggest reason hearts form looked so decent was because they were getting penalties on a rangers scale, not shankland. Since the penalties mostly went away, he’s hardly scored.
but, equally, at the end of the season, shankland will, rightly, be near the top of the scoring table, because he’s scored those goals, and deserves credit for the efficiency at which he dispatches them. However, the context says he’s been handed a lot of those goals, not by hearts good play or his own Haaland level abilities, but by happenstance and poor officiating.
badabing67
19-05-2023, 01:59 PM
Wow! That came out of nowhere. Wonder if this has anything to do with McDermott's appointment?
He has got a job in Georgia I didn't think he was going to be around much longer anyway. Surprised he wasn't linked to the Dundee job which he was previously
Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2023, 02:06 PM
Penalties count the same as a 2 yard sclaff or a 40 yard worldly, but they’re valid to talk when comparing players.
A player getting first dibs at a free go at goal from 12 yards, several times a season, is getting better opportunities than another who isn’t.
if we look at non-penalty goals, nisbet is outperforming shankland. Yes the penalties still count, but over the piece, penalties are transient, we’ve all said how many flukey/dodgy penalties hearts got early in the season, when shankland was scoring for fun and the media were drooling over him. Since those penalties have dried up, so has he. And at the same time, so has hearts surge to be the greatest bestest bigliest team since Brazil 70. So for all the guff in the media about what a terrific signing he’s been, the numbers would say the biggest reason hearts form looked so decent was because they were getting penalties on a rangers scale, not shankland. Since the penalties mostly went away, he’s hardly scored.
but, equally, at the end of the season, shankland will, rightly, be near the top of the scoring table, because he’s scored those goals, and deserves credit for the efficiency at which he dispatches them. However, the context says he’s been handed a lot of those goals, not by hearts good play or his own Haaland level abilities, but by happenstance and poor officiating.
He’s scored 7 in his last 13 games. Before that he scored 15 in 21. The goals have unfortunately never really dried up.
ah, fair enough, I thought it was more like 3 rather than 7, and hadn’t been arsed to double check
19-05-2023, 02:21 PM
People take them away because some teams have had them dished out like sweeties this season, other teams not so much, open play is more of an even playing field to judge strikers on
w pilton hibby
19-05-2023, 02:22 PM
Update
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-injury-update-as-key-man-suffers-setback-ahead-of-rangers-clash-and-midfielders-chances-rated-4150180
19-05-2023, 02:42 PM
Steve Kean away
Had done a fantastic job. Shame.
Sergio sledge
19-05-2023, 03:15 PM
Which is one of the reasons that goals over expected (using the xG metric) are starting to be used as a measure of how well a striker is playing and their goal scoring ability over time. If they are consistently out performing their expected goals then (simplistically) you would expect them to be a better than average goal scorer, consistently underperforming against xG and perhaps they are not as good a goal scorer as their raw goals stats might suggest.
This is an interesting article:https://theanalyst.com/eu/2022/04/should-the-golden-boot-ignore-penalties/
On average penalty goals make up 9.4% of the EPL golden boot winning goal totals, Shankland is currently on 47% of his scottish premiership total this season from penalties. Take from that what you want.
Penalty awards are completely random and (if we use the EPL stats for the SPFL) each team should, on average, get 5 penalties a season. Hearts have so far 10 penalties so it is an above average season for them. In order to assess Shanklands performance that has to be taken into account when judging his goal scoring.
I don't get the comments that people only exclude penalty goals to try to downplay an opponent, it's pretty standard in lots of assessments of players performances to exclude penalty goals.
19-05-2023, 03:55 PM
If you're assessing how a striker is playing, then part of the striker's role is to be in goal scoring positions so winning the penalty would count. Scoring a penalty should be discounted as that is not the role of the striker but of the team's penalty taker who may not be a striker (eg Tavernier).
So the correct answer is that Nisbet is the better striker and Shankland the better penalty taker.
19-05-2023, 03:57 PM
Nicky Devlin signs for Aberdeen
19-05-2023, 04:05 PM
I think the fact Myko has been so injury prone this season will allow us to sign him permanently.
Pre season to get him fully fit and he’ll be brilliant
Donegal Hibby
19-05-2023, 04:08 PM
I think the fact Myko has been so injury prone this season will allow us to sign him permanently.
Pre season to get him fully fit and he’ll be brilliant
Johnny Williams still a target for us though has several options according to this .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jonny-williams-still-hibs-transfer-26952154
McGruber
19-05-2023, 04:20 PM
If you're assessing how a striker is playing, then part of the striker's role is to be in goal scoring positions so winning the penalty would count. Scoring a penalty should be discounted as that is not the role of the striker but of the team's penalty taker who may not be a striker (eg Tavernier).
So the correct answer is that Nisbet is the better striker and Shankland the better penalty taker.
Yes, that is the correct answer in a nutshell.
cameronw-hfc
19-05-2023, 04:52 PM
Johnny Williams still a target for us though has several options according to this .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jonny-williams-still-hibs-transfer-26952154
Last I heard Williams was all done and wrapped up a few weeks ago. The fact Johnson has name checked him I think means there's something in that, he's known for being diplomatic at times so don't think he'd come out and say it but also don't think he'd be openly talking about him if it wasn't at least nearly done.
Heard its done as of the start of May but won't be announced until the season is over.
19-05-2023, 05:40 PM
Last I heard Williams was all done and wrapped up a few weeks ago. The fact Johnson has name checked him I think means there's something in that, he's known for being diplomatic at times so don't think he'd come out and say it but also don't think he'd be openly talking about him if it wasn't at least nearly done.
Heard its done as of the start of May but won't be announced until the season is over.
He certainly has been up at HTC.
cameronw-hfc
19-05-2023, 05:53 PM
He certainly has been up at HTC.
Twice I think? Once in march/April and once start of May, I was told the second visit was to finish up the deal but it could be the guy who told me jumping the gun a bit.
19-05-2023, 06:36 PM
Which is one of the reasons that goals over expected (using the xG metric) are starting to be used as a measure of how well a striker is playing and their goal scoring ability over time. If they are consistently out performing their expected goals then (simplistically) you would expect them to be a better than average goal scorer, consistently underperforming against xG and perhaps they are not as good a goal scorer as their raw goals stats might suggest.
This is an interesting article:https://theanalyst.com/eu/2022/04/should-the-golden-boot-ignore-penalties/
On average penalty goals make up 9.4% of the EPL golden boot winning goal totals, Shankland is currently on 47% of his scottish premiership total this season from penalties. Take from that what you want.
Penalty awards are completely random and (if we use the EPL stats for the SPFL) each team should, on average, get 5 penalties a season. Hearts have so far 10 penalties so it is an above average season for them. In order to assess Shanklands performance that has to be taken into account when judging his goal scoring.
I don't get the comments that people only exclude penalty goals to try to downplay an opponent, it's pretty standard in lots of assessments of players performances to exclude penalty goals.
Excellent post.
19-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Love this.
19-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Dylan McGeouch leaves FGR, wonder where he will end up next.
19-05-2023, 07:20 PM
Left winger from Weymouth been linked
19-05-2023, 07:24 PM
Linked where?
Bridge hibs
19-05-2023, 07:26 PM
Left winger from Weymouth been linkedSo were still shopping in Aldis then 😃
19-05-2023, 07:26 PM
If its Akheem Rose he's got a 1 in 2 strike rate this season and apparently absolutely rapid. The new Sproule?
Bridge hibs
19-05-2023, 07:30 PM
Ahkeem Rose
19-05-2023, 07:34 PM
Admins, can a stall be set out early this summer and we impose beheadings for any poster that links a player with no further details of where they’ve been linked about. Same punishment if the source is given as Twitter.
Fully aware I’ve made this request before.
If beheadings are outwith your jurisdiction, a lifetime ban will do.
Thanks.
Bridge hibs
19-05-2023, 07:46 PM
Admins, can a stall be set out early this summer and we impose beheadings for any poster that links a player with no further details of where they’ve been linked about. Same punishment if the source is given as Twitter.
Fully aware I’ve made this request before.
If beheadings are outwith your jurisdiction, a lifetime ban will do.
Thanks.Can I be spared a beheading please, I just guessed a name, plus I havent had my tea yet 🫣
19-05-2023, 07:46 PM
Can I be spared a beheading please, I just guessed a name, plus I havent had my tea yet 🫣
That’s for the admins to decide, not me.
Bridge hibs
19-05-2023, 07:55 PM
That’s for the admins to decide, not me.
Thats cool, Ive just seen what my Wife has cooked for tea, admins, beheading please
So anyway, wonder who it is as I cant see any links to this rumour anywhere
19-05-2023, 07:57 PM
The source appears to be a random post from a hearts fan on the Pie and Bovril forum. Tom Blair is the players name.
19-05-2023, 08:01 PM
The source appears to be a random post from a hearts fan on the Pie and Bovril forum. Tom Blair is the players name.
Would be a real punt. This is his agent putting his name out there on twitter
https://twitter.com/Kevin__Davies/status/1658072396559970310?t=agB2pvjfJkOq9VhNSDSnzQ&s=19
19-05-2023, 08:07 PM
Things might not get better next season, he does seem to be injury prone.
cameronw-hfc
19-05-2023, 09:03 PM
Williams just posted a farewell message to Swindon fans on his insta a few hours ago.
19-05-2023, 09:04 PM
Williams just posted a farewell message to Swindon fans on his insta a few hours ago.
Johnson confirmed he is Still on our radar.
Hibs manager Lee Johnson has confirmed that former Wales international Jonny Williams remains on the club’s radar heading into the summer.
19-05-2023, 09:11 PM
Murray Aitken likes one of his posts
Mckirdy said see you soon Geez
All of which of course means nothing 😄
19-05-2023, 09:23 PM
https://instagram.com/jwills93?igshid=MmJiY2I4NDBkZg==
Posted a video of some clips at Swindon.
Looks pretty clinical and makes some great runs.
19-05-2023, 09:30 PM
Dylan McGeouch leaves FGR, wonder where he will end up next.
Yes please
20-05-2023, 06:19 AM
Yes please
Genuine question but how many games has he managed for them? If we could get back the McGeough from his previous spell at Hibs then 100% yes. But he's now 30 and hasn't exactly had a glittering career since he left us. Struggles big time at Aberdeen.
Steven79
20-05-2023, 06:25 AM
Yes pleaseWe should go for Scott Allan as well...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
20-05-2023, 06:36 AM
We should go for Scott Allan as well...
We’re getting the band back together.
w pilton hibby
20-05-2023, 07:09 AM
Genuine question but how many games has he managed for them? If we could get back the McGeough from his previous spell at Hibs then 100% yes. But he's now 30 and hasn't exactly had a glittering career since he left us. Struggles big time at Aberdeen.
Joined in November. Ever present in all 26 games since then.
Voted Player of the Year
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-mcgeouch-leaves-forest-green-26954035
20-05-2023, 07:50 AM
He’s played most games. But FGR is a poor level. Especially right now.
20-05-2023, 08:35 AM
Yes please
Have Dylan back yes
Voted Player of the Year
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/dylan-mcgeouch-leaves-forest-green-26954035
Captain as well. League one in England is a more than decent level. I would be absolutely delighted if he came to us. But if we are looking for Williams I can’t see McGeough being on the list.
20-05-2023, 09:37 AM
League one in England is a more than decent level.
Is it? Cripes, I didn't realise how far we'd fallen.
LeithMike
20-05-2023, 09:57 AM
Aberdeen didn’t play him as a holding midfielder (his best position).McGeouch would be a big upgrade for us on what we currently have. If available on a free then pretty much zero risk.
20-05-2023, 10:07 AM
Captain as well. League one in England is a more than decent level. I would be absolutely delighted if he came to us. But if we are looking for Williams I can’t see McGeough being on the list.
I wouldn't have thought Williams and McGeouch would compete for the same role. The only way they'd be competing would be for either a decent wage or maybe an age if Johnson wants to have his squad composed of certain numbers of players in each age bracket.
Williams is more Scott Allan iirc.
Would we want so many thirty something midfielders, by the time you take into consideration who we already have contracted? Not sure.
20-05-2023, 10:23 AM
Voted Player of the Year
I’d definitely take McGeough back or at least offer him pre season facilities with us to have a look
20-05-2023, 10:54 AM
Is it? Cripes, I didn't realise how far we'd fallen.
While he was our manager, I remember Heckingbottom saying we were League 1 standard, then he put the boot in by adding "Bottom half".
C***.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Absolutely love Dylan but I wouldn’t be going anywhere near him. Likewise Myko, wouldn’t go near him either.
We need to start signing players who are proven to be robust enough to deal with first team football. Dylan hasn’t really proven that and is now the wrong side of 30 and Myko has never shown it either.
We’ve already got Magennis who is permanently injured. We don’t need to be adding to him with guys like Dylan, Myko and Jonny Williams. Dylan and Williams especially seem like disasters waiting to happen if we go for them.
20-05-2023, 10:59 AM
Absolutely love Dylan but I wouldn’t be going anywhere near him. Likewise Myko, wouldn’t go near him either.
We need to start signing players who are proven to be robust enough to deal with first team football. Dylan hasn’t really proven that and is now the wrong side of 30 and Myko has never shown it either.
We’ve already got Magennis who is permanently injured. We don’t need to be adding to him with guys like Dylan, Myko and Jonny Williams. Dylan and Williams especially seem like disasters waiting to happen if we go for them.
Why is Williams a potential disaster?
He's played something like 80 games for Swindon in the last 2 years.
20-05-2023, 11:01 AM
When fit Myko has shown his capabilities if he was in full flow be some player
20-05-2023, 11:03 AM
Williams seems like a done deal to me, to be honest I've not really seen him that much in the past years. Would he be a good signing?
Going through his wiki and a lot of injuries but seems to have played a lot of games for Swindon.
Youan Nisbet Boyle
Williams
Newell Jeggo
Could be our midfield and forward line next season, Newell has been much better this season than last season so I've no problem with him starting next season if Williams can be that creative central player we are looking for.
Jeggo has kept things strong in midfield at times so I don't really see Johnson trying to upgrade there.
Going to depend on who we can offload also.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:04 AM
Why is Williams a potential disaster?
He's played something like 80 games for Swindon in the last 2 years.
Because he’s barely managed more than 20 games a season throughout his whole career other than the last two years.
He’s also missed 25% of Swindon’s games this season and appears to have missed the end of the season through injury.
I fully expect if we sign Williams we’ll have fans yet again complaining about our rotten ‘luck’ when it comes to injuries when in reality it’s not bad luck as the warning signs when it comes to signing guys like him are there for all to see.
20-05-2023, 11:05 AM
Because he’s barely managed more than 20 games a season throughout his whole career other than the last two years.
He’s also missed 25% of Swindon’s games this season and appears to have missed the end of the season through injury.
I have to admit the injuries did concern me going through his Wikipedia, Johnson seems to be really interested in him.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:09 AM
I have to admit the injuries did concern me going through his Wikipedia, Johnson seems to be really interested in him.
I find the idea that our manager who has bemoaned our luck with injuries this season being interested in a guy who has played 24 games a season in all competitions on average for his whole career mental.
He’s probably missed over 50% of games throughout his 12 year career seeing as he’s spent near enough every season at least partially in the Football League where you’re guaranteed at least 48 games a season. We simply shouldn’t be signing him imo.
20-05-2023, 11:11 AM
I fully expect if we sign Williams we’ll have fans yet again complaining about our rotten ‘luck’ when it comes to injuries when in reality it’s not bad luck as the warning signs when it comes to signing guys like him are there for all to see.
He's made 126 appearances in the last 3 seasons
30 in the 19/20 season
20-05-2023, 11:14 AM
He’s played 80% of Swindon’s league games this season.
He has missed 9 games:
- 3 games because he was at the World Cup
- 1 game playing in a friendly for Wales
- The final 3 games of the season after he rejected an extension to stay at Swindon.
20-05-2023, 11:16 AM
Has to be said that trying to fill the gap left by a consistently injured Magennis with Williams carries a bit more risk than usual given his own injury past.
20-05-2023, 11:16 AM
Is this incorrect? :dunno:
https://i.postimg.cc/zX3QkbWz/Screenshot-20230520-121417-Chrome.jpg
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:17 AM
He's made 126 appearances in the last 3 seasons
30 in the 19/20 season
30 games playing for teams that likely play over 50 games a season isn’t really something to write home about though, is it?
20-05-2023, 11:18 AM
30 games playing for teams that likely play over 50 games a season isn’t really something to write home about though, is it?
126/3 is 42
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:20 AM
126/3 is 42
It is. I was referring to the reference he made 30 appearances in 19/20 though.
20-05-2023, 11:21 AM
The season that was stopped early due to Covid?
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 11:22 AM
Looking forward to seeing Williams, certainly has good experience
20-05-2023, 11:22 AM
When it's for Charlton in the Championship and Wales in European qualifiers it's not that shabby
20-05-2023, 11:23 AM
FWIW, Marciano averaged 30 games a season for us over five years, and I don’t think his injury record was mentioned by anyone in the fairly extensive chats that have been had about him on here lately.
20-05-2023, 11:25 AM
I don't think an injury sustained 4 years ago should be taken into account when considering signing a player..
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:25 AM
The season that was stopped early due to Covid?
No it wasn’t. The Championship season was suspended for a month or so then restarted. All fixtures were completed.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:33 AM
I don't think an injury sustained 4 years ago should be taken into account when considering signing a player..
I do. Especially when it’s a player who has a history of injuries.
20-05-2023, 11:40 AM
I do. Especially when it’s a player who has a history of injuries.
Do you think we were daft to buy Martin Boyle back?
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/martin-boyle/verletzungen/spieler/140554
20-05-2023, 11:42 AM
We should go for Scott Allan as well...
Careful, or you'll have someone on here saying we should sign Leigh Griffiths
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:44 AM
Is this incorrect? :dunno:
https://i.postimg.cc/zX3QkbWz/Screenshot-20230520-121417-Chrome.jpg
At best it’s incomplete.
He missed the start of the 16/17 season through an injury that isn’t listed there so it can’t really be looked upon as a reliable source regarding his injuries.
20-05-2023, 11:45 AM
When fit Myko has shown his capabilities if he was in full flow be some player
Yeah, but so did Thomas Agyepong.
20-05-2023, 11:46 AM
At best it’s incomplete.
He missed the start of the 16/17 season through an injury that isn’t listed there so it can’t really be looked upon as a reliable source regarding his injuries.
Is that on top of the 16/17 injury that's listed?
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 11:50 AM
Is that on top of the 16/17 injury that's listed?
Yup. An ankle injury sustained in pre season.
https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/world-cup-blow-wales-midfielder-11747833.amp
Interesting that the assistant of Wales makes reference to ‘another injury’ for him and that they’d hoped he’d finally be able to kick on as if it was a recurring theme.
20-05-2023, 11:57 AM
Ok. That's your opinion, but it's a high bar you're setting, if you're going to use injuries that players sustained 7 years ago as evidence of their unreliability.
You haven't answered my question, but I take it you think similar about Martin Boyle given his repeated knee surgery.
Personally, if Williams is a good, creative midfielder that we can afford, I think we should welcome him.
20-05-2023, 11:58 AM
I find the idea that our manager who has bemoaned our luck with injuries this season being interested in a guy who has played 24 games a season in all competitions on average for his whole career mental.
He’s probably missed over 50% of games throughout his 12 year career seeing as he’s spent near enough every season at least partially in the Football League where you’re guaranteed at least 48 games a season. We simply shouldn’t be signing him imo.
Totally agree. Williams is a big no for me. You can accept, for want of a better word, a player who may have had a recent injury, but the stats you’ve listed would suggest he’s just one of those players who regularly misses games through various injuries. I’d have hoped after Magennis we’d have learned our lesson as a club. A creative midfielder is a priority this summer imo, I don’t want us pinning our hopes on a guy who is regularly injured.
20-05-2023, 12:00 PM
https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/world-cup-blow-wales-midfielder-11747833.amp
Interesting that the assistant of Wales makes reference to ‘another injury’ for him and that they’d hoped he’d finally be able to kick on as if it was a recurring theme.
Again, that's 7 years ago.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 12:03 PM
Ok. That's your opinion, but it's a high bar you're setting, if you're going to use injuries that players sustained 7 years ago as evidence of their unreliability.
You haven't answered my question, but I take it you think similar about Martin Boyle given his repeated knee surgery.
Personally, if Williams is a good, creative midfielder that we can afford, I think we should welcome him.
It’s not a high bar at all. And he’s had numerous injuries since then, so it’s a bit disingenuous to suggest that’s what I’m basing it on.
As for Boyle, he’s played over 464 games in his career. Williams has managed 327 despite spending near enough 10 seasons in leagues where they play significantly more games than up here and they’re much the same age. They’re not really comparable.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 12:03 PM
Again, that's 7 years ago.
Again, it’s one in a long list, not the sole reason I wouldn’t sign him. The point was your stats posted were completely unreliable.
Following on from that injury he never managed 20 games in 3 seasons. He then upped it a bit to manage 57 in 2 seasons of around 100 games.
20-05-2023, 12:05 PM
It’s not a high bar at all. And he’s had numerous injuries since then, so it’s a bit disingenuous to suggest that’s what I’m basing it on.
As for Boyle, he’s played over 464 games in his career. Williams has managed 327 despite spending near enough 10 seasons in leagues where they play significantly more games than up here and they’re much the same age. They’re not really comparable.
I said you're using it as evidence that he's unreliable. You are otherwise you wouldn't have pointed it out.
You have your opinion. We're not going to agree so it's up to the manager and DoF now.
20-05-2023, 12:06 PM
Totally agree. Williams is a big no for me. You can accept, for want of a better word, a player who may have had a recent injury, but the stats you’ve listed would suggest he’s just one of those players who regularly misses games through various injuries. I’d have hoped after Magennis we’d have learned our lesson as a club. A creative midfielder is a priority this summer imo, I don’t want us pinning our hopes on a guy who is regularly injured.
I’m less sure about Williams the player than anything else. He’s shown enough last few seasons to suggest that any consistent injury problems are in the past. But over the course of his career he’s not been particularly creative. Got the same number of goals and assists in his time at Swindon as he has in the rest of his career combined. We know from experience it’s easier to do it in League Two for Swindon.
20-05-2023, 12:07 PM
It might also be tempting to take more of a risk on injury prone players if we had a few youngsters on low wages on the fringes of the squad who we’d be confident could provide cover for those injury prone layers for fairly sustained periods.
Could it be argued that Magennis’ absences have allowed Campbell to properly emerge?
Could it be expected that Aiken play such a role on the fringes of the first team, or O’Connor?
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 12:08 PM
I said you're using it as evidence that he's unreliable. You are otherwise you wouldn't have pointed it out.
You have your opinion. We're not going to agree so it's up to the manager and DoF now.
It’s part of plenty other evidence. It’s not the sole piece of evidence which is what your post appeared to allude to seeing as it’s the only injury you mentioned.
20-05-2023, 12:10 PM
I’m less sure about Williams the player than anything else. He’s shown enough last few seasons to suggest that any consistent injury problems are in the past. But over the course of his career he’s not been particularly creative. Got the same number of goals and assists in his time at Swindon as he has in the rest of his career combined. We know from experience it’s easier to do it in League Two for Swindon.
Sure, but for all there are players who struggle up here after doing well down there, there are others who do well up here after struggling there (what were van Veen and Nouble’s credentials prior to arriving in Scotland?)
Williams has been capped by Wales on merit. He’s a good player who has probably only been playing in league 2 due to teams at a higher level than that being concerned about his injury history prior to him signing for them.
20-05-2023, 12:16 PM
It’s part of plenty other evidence. It’s not the sole piece of evidence which is what your post appeared to allude to seeing as it’s the only injury you mentioned.
It's the specific injury you mentioned and you used it as evidence of his unreliability. That's what I said, nothing else.
We disagree about whether we should sign him. I'm delighted we didn't apply such strict criteria to Martin Boyle though.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 12:20 PM
It's the specific injury you mentioned and you used it as evidence of his unreliability. That's what I said, nothing else.
We disagree about whether we should sign him. I'm delighted we didn't apply such strict criteria to Martin Boyle though.
Martin Boyle has made about 150% of the appearances Williams has made through his career despite probably having at least 60-70 less games available to him to appear in due to playing in leagues that play considerably less games than Williams has played in. I’m not sure how you seem to find that fact so hard to comprehend.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 12:22 PM
Sure, but for all there are players who struggle up here after doing well down there, there are others who do well up here after struggling there (what were van Veen and Nouble’s credentials prior to arriving in Scotland?)
Williams has been capped by Wales on merit. He’s a good player who has probably only been playing in league 2 due to teams at a higher level than that being concerned about his injury history prior to him signing for them.
A bit from former Swindon Manager Garner when he signed Williams
“We worked really hard – both Ben [Chorley] and I – and full credit to Jonny because he could have gone abroad, he could have gone to a higher league and earned a lot more money than what he’s going to earn here with us.
“But it came to a footballing decision – I’ve known him since he was 12 years old, and he’s a wonderful player. Just as important, he’s a great person.
“We worked really hard on that deal, and we were absolutely delighted when we got it over the line.
“He’s a wonderful talent, he’s still only 27, so he’s got a long way to go in his career.
“I think he’s at the point where he wants to play in a style and a position that will suit him, and he wants to enjoy his football.
“We’re confident we can get him doing that, and I think he’ll be a fan’s favourite here.”
20-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Tbh I’ve not seen enough of him to comment on his ability, but your post makes me want to say no to his signing even more. I’d like to see what names our new DoF can come up with first.
20-05-2023, 12:49 PM
Martin Boyle has made about 150% of the appearances Williams has made through his career despite probably having at least 60-70 less games available to him to appear in due to playing in leagues that play considerably less games than Williams has played in. I’m not sure how you seem to find that fact so hard to comprehend.
You wouldn't have given him the chance because you'd have written him off due to previous injuries.
That's my point. We'll see what happens with Williams. He might sign for someone who can pay him more anyway so we might be watching from afar.
20-05-2023, 12:56 PM
Big no for me also but I think it’s already done. You don’t tend to come up to the training centre if it’s not already agreed. I don’t think he will have the pace or quick enough feet now to play at this level.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 12:58 PM
Big no for me also but I think it’s already done. You don’t tend to come up to the training centre if it’s not already agreed. I don’t think he will have the pace or quick enough feet now to play at this level.
What makes you think that ?
He is 29 ffs no 59 🤣
20-05-2023, 01:01 PM
I don’t get the urgency tbh. We’ve appointed a DoF, who on paper looks to be a great addition. Why not let him come in and use his contacts to identify new signings. Who is behind the Williams signing ? Ian Gordon and/or Johnson ?
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:05 PM
I don’t get the urgency tbh. We’ve appointed a DoF, who on paper looks to be a great addition. Why not let him come in and use his contacts to identify new signings. Who is behind the Williams signing ? Ian Gordon and/or Johnson ?
Urgency ? Folk on here used to moan their paps off because we left signings late, I dont think its a problem getting players in early. The manager knows what we need and is trying to secure signings now. Williams could be one of many and I hope we can get most in early so we can get planning for next season, hopefully with europe in mind
20-05-2023, 01:05 PM
Because LJ wants him and he’ll have other options. If we don’t act quickly he will go somewhere else.
BM will have plenty opportunity to use his contacts.
20-05-2023, 01:06 PM
What makes you think that ?
He is 29 ffs no 59 🤣
He’s had a good season after dropping down 2 levels. The speed of the game in league 2 compared to championship is markedly less. It’s a major reason why he dropped down. He’s a 5k a week player. So he’s got to be a starter for us. I just want something better than what I’ve seen from him.
20-05-2023, 01:06 PM
The Johnson “mini mafia” 😂
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:11 PM
He’s had a good season after dropping down 2 levels. The speed of the game in league 2 compared to championship is markedly less. It’s a major reason why he dropped down. He’s a 5k a week player. So he’s got to be a starter for us. I just want something better than what I’ve seen from him.
No problem with that mate, but although he is stepping up (if he signs) its not like he hasnt played at this level and higher before so Im sure our league wouldnt faze him
Its funny because there are one or two would have McGeouch back, this place is radgeness personified 🤣
20-05-2023, 01:15 PM
Eh? Why would he be a £5k a week player?
20-05-2023, 01:18 PM
Urgency ? Folk on here used to moan their paps off because we left signings late, I dont think its a problem getting players in early. The manager knows what we need and is trying to secure signings now. Williams could be one of many and I hope we can get most in early so we can get planning for next season, hopefully with europe in mind
Aye urgency. It’s May. We’ve just appointed a DoF who has lots of experience and great contacts. Why not give him time to see who he comes up with before rushing to bring in another guy from Swindon, one with a patchy fitness record at best.
As for the manager knowing what we need, that will be the same manager who watched us before being appointed and bar a youngster who’d never played a first team game thought our midfield of Newell, Campbell and JDH would be good enough. You’ll excuse me if I’m not filled with confidence at that endorsement.
20-05-2023, 01:19 PM
Because LJ wants him and he’ll have other options. If we don’t act quickly he will go somewhere else.
BM will have plenty opportunity to use his contacts.
Is Williams such a great player that him going elsewhere would be such a bad thing ?
20-05-2023, 01:22 PM
Eh? Why would he be a £5k a week player?
That’s his ball park and I don’t think you take a wage drop to come up to Scotland. He was highest paid at Swindon apparently.
20-05-2023, 01:26 PM
That’s his ball park and I don’t think you take a wage drop to come up to Scotland. He was highest paid at Swindon apparently.
Given what we are paying a couple of others, one of whom is out on loan, the other having contributed heehaw, £5k for Williams wouldn’t be outrageous.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:26 PM
Aye urgency. It’s May. We’ve just appointed a DoF who has lots of experience and great contacts. Why not give him time to see who he comes up with before rushing to bring in another guy from Swindon, one with a patchy fitness record at best.
As for the manager knowing what we need, that will be the same manager who watched us before being appointed and bar a youngster who’d never played a first team game thought our midfield of Newell, Campbell and JDH would be good enough. You’ll excuse me if I’m not filled with confidence at that endorsement.Its one ****ing possible signing which thus far has not even been concluded or may not be so why get your knickers in a twist 🤣
Im sure McDermot will also be looking at signings too so I would assume areas of the pitch that need identified will be. If McDermot identifies another signing next week will that be urgency too or do we reduce that level of urgency ?
Go have a beer and chill mate, have a good weekend 👍
20-05-2023, 01:32 PM
Is Williams such a great player that him going elsewhere would be such a bad thing ?
The manager thinks so,
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:41 PM
The manager thinks so,
Yep, the manager has a system and thinks Williams may be suited to that system, nowt wrong with that
20-05-2023, 01:42 PM
Its one ****ing possible signing which thus far has not even been concluded or may not be so why get your knickers in a twist 🤣
Im sure McDermot will also be looking at signings too so I would assume areas of the pitch that need identified will be. If McDermot identifies another signing next week will that be urgency too or do we reduce that level of urgency ?
Go have a beer and chill mate, have a good weekend 👍
I’m hardly getting my knickers in a twist by saying I don’t see the urgency in signing someone identified by the same individuals who brought in Bojang and Tavares, when we have just appointed a DoF. I’d like to think with his contacts and experience BM will be able to identify someone better than Williams.
20-05-2023, 01:44 PM
The manager thinks so,
I don’t need to remind you what I think of his opinion :greengrin
And without really wanting to restart the discussion about who identified McKirdy initially he was a signing that Johnson wanted, to the extent that we ended up paying double what Swindon had originally agreed on.
20-05-2023, 01:48 PM
I’m hardly getting my knickers in a twist by saying I don’t see the urgency in signing someone identified by the same individuals who brought in Bojang and Tavares, when we have just appointed a DoF. I’d like to think with his contacts and experience BM will be able to identify someone better than Williams.
What if he was identified by LJ? Is that different? It is also the same individuals who brought in Youan and Marshall and Fish and CJ and Jeggo and Myko etc etc
20-05-2023, 01:50 PM
What if he was identified by LJ? Is that different? It is also the same individuals who brought in Youan and Marshall and Fish and CJ and Jeggo and Myko etc etc
Then why even bother with a DoF if we are going to let the same individuals continue to identify signings ?
20-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Then why even bother with a DoF if we are going to let the same individuals continue to identify signings ?
Maybe McDermott has approved the signing?
Not that we’ve actually signed him yet anyway.
20-05-2023, 01:53 PM
Maybe McDermott has approved the signing?
Not that we’ve actually signed him yet anyway.
If we don’t sign him I’ll take back everything I’ve said.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:54 PM
I suggested the same mate, he is one player and one player only that perhaps the manager has identified as fitting into a system he wants to play. Im sure our DOF will have a large part in supporting the manager in who he wants to bring in, we know where we are weak and where can be improved, I dont see it as an urgency and I honestly dont give a toss who identifies them, now a year in post I trust the manager, he knows what he has to do and whats required, he has a good grasp of our league now
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 01:58 PM
Did you listen to McDermots interview, have a listen and it might give you a better understanding of his previous roles and what he can do to support everyone at the club
20-05-2023, 02:00 PM
I suggested the same mate, he is one player and one player only that perhaps the manager has identified as fitting into a system he wants to play. Im sure our DOF will have a large part in supporting the manager in who he wants to bring in, we know where we are weak and where can be improved, I dont see it as an urgency and I honestly dont give a toss who identifies them, now a year in post I trust the manager, he knows what he has to do and whats required, he has a good grasp of our league now
Fair enough. Your faith in Johnson is greater than mine :greengrin
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:03 PM
Fair enough. Your faith in Johnson is greater than mine :greengrinDont judge me mate, Im still on the fence 🤣
Seriously though, lessons hopefully will have been learnt, we live in hope 🫣
20-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Did you listen to McDermots interview, have a listen and it might give you a better understanding of his previous roles and what he can do to support everyone at the club
Yes I did, thought he came across really well.
The thing about a DoF is the role can vary from club to club - from supporting a manager to being in overall control of all footballing matters. He has an excellent CV, but I think I’m right in saying it’s his first time as a DoF, so while having some baring his previous roles were not the same. With us I don’t know exactly what his remit/power actually is.
20-05-2023, 02:06 PM
Dont judge me mate, Im still on the fence 🤣
Seriously though, lessons hopefully will have been learnt, we live in hope 🫣
Your last four words sum up what it is to be a Hibby :greengrin
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:09 PM
Yes I did, thought he came across really well.
The thing about a DoF is the role can vary from club to club - from supporting a manager to being in overall control of all footballing matters. He has an excellent CV, but I think I’m right in saying it’s his first time as a DoF, so while having some baring his previous roles were not the same. With us I don’t know exactly what his remit/power actually is.
I dont think anyone knows his defined role to be honest. He mentions community stuff, hibs Women amongst much more. I dont think, just listening to his interview that he will be a traditional DOF but will be far more flexible, next season may give us more definitive answers
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:10 PM
Your last four words sum up what it is to be a Hibby :greengrin
We share the same pain mate 🤣
20-05-2023, 02:25 PM
Maybe he just adds another layer of experience and insight to ensure we sign more like Youan and Fish and CJ in future?
20-05-2023, 03:17 PM
It might also be tempting to take more of a risk on injury prone players if we had a few youngsters on low wages on the fringes of the squad who we’d be confident could provide cover for those injury prone layers for fairly sustained periods.
Could it be argued that Magennis’ absences have allowed Campbell to properly emerge?
Could it be expected that Aiken play such a role on the fringes of the first team, or O’Connor?
Aiken and O'Connor will both be on season-long loans to Airdrie next year. Slightly surprised at that, as they only signed two year extensions and we don't exactly have a big squad as it is.
Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2023, 03:20 PM
You wouldn't have given him the chance because you'd have written him off due to previous injuries.
That's my point. We'll see what happens with Williams. He might sign for someone who can pay him more anyway so we might be watching from afar.
No, I wouldn’t have ‘not given him a chance’ because he’s not had anywhere near the level of injuries Williams has. You’re completely making that up. I’m not sure I can make that any clearer than I have previously. Boyle has played loads of career games.
Martin Boyle is closing in on 500 appearances at 30 years old. That’s quite impressive. Just to put that into perspective, there will likely be very few players that have played for Hibs in my lifetime who have played as many career games as Martin Boyle is likely to end up playing, which just shows how ridiculous your point is.
You seem to be mistaking the fact Williams has had a career absolutely littered with injuries, not appearing in around 50% of games throughout his career with the fact Boyle has missed a small amount of games in the grand scheme of things.
The comparison/‘point’ you’re determined to make between the two is simply laughable.
Hibiza
20-05-2023, 03:23 PM
Can't anyone stop our manager for waffling on / story telling at interviews , it's cringe worthy and embarrassing.
20-05-2023, 03:27 PM
Can't anyone stop our manager for waffling on / story telling at interviews , it's cringe worthy and embarrassing.Are you genuinely embarrassed?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 03:27 PM
Can't anyone stop our manager for waffling on / story telling at interviews , it's cringe worthy and embarrassing.
Dont listen to them then, its not rocket science, try it 👍
20-05-2023, 03:30 PM
Would take the lad Thierry Small that’s on loan at St Mirren.
18 year old left back who has a year left on his deal at Southampton, obvious quality and an absolute unit.
Looks like the type that would be in the first team for a year or two and leave for millions.
Doubt it will happen with us having McIntyre but he looks like he’d be well well clear of him.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 03:30 PM
Are you genuinely embarrassed?
Its more embarrassing admitting on a football forum that you are actually embarrassed when your manager gives interviews, in fact, I cant imagine anything more embarrassing, other than being a jambo obviously 🤣
Donegal Hibby
20-05-2023, 04:13 PM
Johnny Williams has played at a good level for some big clubs and earning 33 caps for Wales would suggest to me that he'd be a decent signing in fairness. It's a bit funny that we shouldn't sign a guy that's played for crystal palace , Sunderland etc though we should signing a guy that's played for concord rangers, Gray Athletic 😂.
https://youtu.be/4m8lzH-P3SU
I remember Goodwin's how easy it is to fix the defence speech.Robbie neilson talking about challenging for the league before he got sacked and Barry Robson claiming emotions brought on his players hamstring injuries. Glad we have a manager like LJ doing the talking compared to these 🤭
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Johnny Williams has played at a good level for some big clubs and earning 33 caps for Wales would suggest to me that he'd be a decent signing in fairness. It's a bit funny that we shouldn't sign a guy that's played for crystal palace , Sunderland etc though we should signing a guy that's played for concord rangers, Gray Athletic 😂.
I remember Goodwin's how easy it is to fix the defence speech.Robbie neilson talking about challenging for the league before he got sacked and Barry Robson claiming emotions brought on his players hamstring injuries. Glad we have a manager like LJ doing the talking compared to these 🤭
Who is suggesting we sign a player from Concord and Grays ? Who is the player ?
20-05-2023, 04:23 PM
People suggesting we sign Nouble presumably
Donegal Hibby
20-05-2023, 04:24 PM
Joel nouble .
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 04:25 PM
Ah right enough, forgot about him .. who is he ? 🤣
20-05-2023, 04:25 PM
Played at a good level. He isn't any more.
Really not keen on the signing at all, obviously back him and will want him to prove me wrong if he does sign with us though.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 04:28 PM
Played at a good level. He isn't any more.
Really not keen on the signing at all, obviously back him and will want him to prove me wrong if he does sign with us though.
What level of player should we be signing ? Bearing in mind we most likely wont have a massive budget, English Championship or Premiership ?
20-05-2023, 04:33 PM
Mikey Devlin and Jason Kerr seeing each other today.
Hopefully selling the Hibees to him
20-05-2023, 04:35 PM
What level of player should we be signing ? Bearing in mind we most likely wont have a massive budget, English Championship or Premiership ?
We only allowed to sign players from England?
League two in general is a poor standard, Swindon finished 10th in that league.
20-05-2023, 04:39 PM
We’re not buying Swindon though. Where would they have finished without Williams?
20-05-2023, 04:40 PM
We aren’t signing players “in general” though, we have identified one player we want to sign. The Scottish Championship in general is a poor standard, doesn’t mean that you can’t find good players in that league like we did with Nisbet.
As an aside, our last 2 cup winning captains were signed from League 2, I doubt you’d find many Hibs fans who wished we hadn’t signed players from that division.
20-05-2023, 04:44 PM
People need to relax.
Williams has a good CV and I’m sure has more than enough quality to be a good signing.
But let’s just judge him on how he plays in a Hibs shirt.
Look at our signings this season and our expectations for some of them compared to others and what the outcome has been.
Some will work, some won’t. Some will surprise us.
Who had heard of Kuharevych, Fish, CJ and Youan before we signed them? They all turned out very good signings. Tavares and Mckirdy had more expectations than most and neither of them have looked great.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 04:50 PM
We sign players from clubs below us in the SPFL or even lower, we can sign potential too, its allowed, Nisbet hasnt done too bad since he signed from Dunfermline eh ?
Sproule wasnae too bad either and we signed him from who ?
Aw **** it, that laddie Boyle can be a bit of a player too
20-05-2023, 04:55 PM
We sign players from clubs below us in the SPFL or even lower, we can sign potential too, its allowed, Nisbet hasnt done too bad since he signed from Dunfermline eh ?
Sproule wasnae too bad either and we signed him from who ?
Aw **** it, that laddie Boyle can be a bit of a player too
Aye, they were all nearly 30 year old when they signed right enough.
I don't think it'll be a good signing, don't think he has pace or physicality to play up here. Like I've already said plenty times I quite obviously hope I'm wrong and he becomes a key player for us.
Not going to keep going on about it though, especially when he hasn't even signed yet.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 04:59 PM
Aye, they were all nearly 30 year old when they signed right enough.
I don't think it'll be a good signing, don't think he has pace or physicality to play up here. Like I've already said plenty times I quite obviously hope I'm wrong and he becomes a key player for us.
Not going to keep going on about it though, especially when he hasn't even signed yet.
So if he was 20 and we signed him from Swindon that would make you feel better ? Williams has a wealth of experience at a level well above ours, folk are wanting youth players promoted, the likes of Williams will be good for the young guys breaking through
20-05-2023, 05:07 PM
So if he was 20 and we signed him from Swindon that would make you feel better ? Williams has a wealth of experience at a level well above ours, folk are wanting youth players promoted, the likes of Williams will be good for the young guys breaking through
100%
Motherwell signed Van Veen from Scunthorpe and he’s sitting on 23 league goals.
There’s 100% quality in the English lower leagues that can do a job up here. Over the course the SPFL probably is mid championship to about League 1/2.
JamesHFC
20-05-2023, 05:17 PM
A bit from former Swindon Manager Garner when he signed Williams
“We worked really hard – both Ben [Chorley] and I – and full credit to Jonny because he could have gone abroad, he could have gone to a higher league and earned a lot more money than what he’s going to earn here with us.
“But it came to a footballing decision – I’ve known him since he was 12 years old, and he’s a wonderful player. Just as important, he’s a great person.
“We worked really hard on that deal, and we were absolutely delighted when we got it over the line.
“He’s a wonderful talent, he’s still only 27, so he’s got a long way to go in his career.
“I think he’s at the point where he wants to play in a style and a position that will suit him, and he wants to enjoy his football.
“We’re confident we can get him doing that, and I think he’ll be a fan’s favourite here.”
Will probably be trying to take him to Colchester.
20-05-2023, 05:19 PM
Has played at levels above in his career. Sounds an interesting signing.
badabing67
20-05-2023, 05:31 PM
Mikey Devlin and Jason Kerr seeing each other today.
Hopefully selling the Hibees to him
What are they meeting for?
20-05-2023, 05:33 PM
What are they meeting for?
Saw the other day Devlin is the new PFA chairman. Wigan players not been getting paid, obviously that’s in England but maybe relating to that.
badabing67
20-05-2023, 05:33 PM
Saw the other day Devlin is the new PFA chairman. Wigan players not been getting paid, obviously that’s in England but maybe relating to that.
Gotcha
Donegal Hibby
20-05-2023, 07:03 PM
Has played at levels above in his career. Sounds an interesting signing.
Wee bit of footage of Johnny Williams.
badabing67
20-05-2023, 08:54 PM
This is an interesting article in the EEN, by the sound of it Harry McKirdy is going nowhere
Which players will get a clean slate at Hibs next season as Lee Johnson makes 'proper start' claim | Edinburgh News (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/which-players-will-get-a-clean-slate-at-hibs-next-season-as-lee-johnson-makes-proper-start-claim-4150682)
21-05-2023, 07:57 AM
This is an interesting article in the EEN, by the sound of it Harry McKirdy is going nowhere
Which players will get a clean slate at Hibs next season as Lee Johnson makes 'proper start' claim | Edinburgh News (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/which-players-will-get-a-clean-slate-at-hibs-next-season-as-lee-johnson-makes-proper-start-claim-4150682)
Honestly, I'm okay with this. McKirdy hasn't set the heather alight but there's been5a fair few match threads when he has got on with people commenting he's put the effort in and been unlucky not to score.
The guys a radge, no doubt about it, but when he signed plenty were loving that fact. I don't get this "disrespectful to Hibs" sentiment just because he's not posting about Hibs 24/7 on his social media. The fact he's posting about Chelsea, who are commonly associated with the blue half of Glasgow up here possibly doesn't help but that association isn't really McKirdy's probably. We love it when other players are supporters and/or have an affinity to Hibs.
Let's see what he does next season.
21-05-2023, 07:58 AM
That worries me a little, we need to be ruthless this summer in getting rid of the dross, keeping McKirdy suggests to me he's not going to be as ruthless as we need to be.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
21-05-2023, 07:59 AM
That worries me a little, we need to be ruthless this summer in getting rid of the dross, keeping McKirdy suggests to me he's not going to be as ruthless as we need to be.
Let's see what happens it may suit Hibs to say this so teams don't expect to get him at a bargain.
21-05-2023, 08:16 AM
That’s my concern too. Giving everyone a clean slate is fine in itself. However we have a bloated squad with far too many offering little to nothing. The following will all still be here in the summer.
Magennis
Tavares
Henderson
Melkerson
Mckirdy
Miller
Mackay
Hague
Delfierre
Tait
Doidge
Kenneh
The midfield
21-05-2023, 08:17 AM
That’s my concern too. Giving everyone a clean slate is fine in itself. However we have a bloated squad with far too many offering little to nothing. The following will all still be here in the summer.
Magennis
Tavares
Henderson
Melkerson
Mckirdy
Miller
Mackay
Hague
Delfierre
Tait
Doidge
Kenneh
The midfield
Aye won't be many on that list still here by September.
21-05-2023, 08:24 AM
If Williams comes in surely he'll be given the number 10 shirt or someone else for that matter, we cannot have Tavares sitting as a spectator with 10 on his back all season
badabing67
21-05-2023, 08:26 AM
If Williams comes in surely he'll be given the number 10 shirt or someone else for that matter, we cannot have Tavares sitting as a spectator with 10 on his back all season
10 should be given back to Boyle
21-05-2023, 09:25 AM
10 should be given back to Boyle
Yup.
21-05-2023, 09:29 AM
If he is here he will, as he should, get a clean slate to start the season with all places up for grabs. Excited to see how we reshape the squad in the summer as we have good bones to build from.
Keeping Fish, CJ, Myko and/or Nisbet will be a good starting place.
21-05-2023, 09:59 AM
Yup.
If he's still here. 🤔
Just_Jimmy
21-05-2023, 10:05 AM
Sent from my Pixel 7 using TapatalkIf hibs or mckirdy get an offer he'll be off. There's no point publicly slating him.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
21-05-2023, 10:17 AM
LJ has to say that. You don’t sell a second hand car and describe it as a heep of junk do you.
Smart move.
Him plus the list above are all players that can go. Time to be ruthless hibs.
21-05-2023, 10:21 AM
If he's still here. [emoji848]You think Boyle might leave?
Cant see that after his injury
21-05-2023, 10:36 AM
You think Boyle might leave?
Cant see that after his injury
Just something I heard. Probably nonsense.
21-05-2023, 10:38 AM
Just something I heard. Probably nonsense.What did you hear? I cant see it but you never know
PHeffernan
21-05-2023, 10:54 AM
Magennis
Tavares
Henderson
Melkerson
Mckirdy
Miller
Mackay
Hague
Delfierre
Tait
Doidge
Kenneh
The midfield
Just as happened this season with Bushiri, Campbell and Fish some of the above guys will come of age next season.
21-05-2023, 11:00 AM
I’m surprised so many folk think we need a clear out.
Yes, we’ll need some to move on and some to come in but I think we’ve got a fairly solid base to build on.
Replacing departing players and this year’s loan players will be our biggest challenge.
21-05-2023, 11:52 AM
Jason Kerr at the game today
21-05-2023, 12:05 PM
We could end this game with JDH Campbell and Newell in the midfield 👹 (no stiring pot or devil's advocate emoji)
21-05-2023, 12:17 PM
We could end this game with JDH Campbell and Newell in the midfield 👹 (no stiring pot or devil's advocate emoji)
The only time they’ve looked the part together has been against Rangers though, a strange quirk.
21-05-2023, 12:22 PM
We need to clear out close to 7-8 players. Our subs tell you that. Our 11 aren't brilliant but we have no way to change a game.
21-05-2023, 01:04 PM
The only time they’ve looked the part together has been against Rangers though, a strange quirk.
It was more the fact that in the past few season there has been many posts about them, it didn't happen but its clear to see we need to improve in that area.
21-05-2023, 01:53 PM
Was Marciano at the ground today?
21-05-2023, 03:06 PM
Was Marciano at the ground today?No . He was on the bench for Feyenoord . In same league , Melkersen also an unused sub .
NC1875
21-05-2023, 03:14 PM
Can we sign a new manager ?
cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 03:20 PM
Shelley still liking loads of Hibs fans posts. I've tweeted her saying if she likes my tweet she's hinting he's coming back😂.
God, I'm that desperate for another keeper I'm tweeting a former keepers wife clutching at straws😂. Strange times.
#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 03:22 PM
Shelley still liking loads of Hibs fans posts. I've tweeted her saying if she likes my tweet she's hinting he's coming back😂.
God, I'm that desperate for another keeper I'm tweeting a former keepers wife clutching at straws😂. Strange times.
haha. tbf you could be stalking much worse ;)
badabing67
21-05-2023, 03:55 PM
Did she like it
cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 03:59 PM
Did she like it
It's been half an hour and not yet :(
1875Sean
21-05-2023, 04:17 PM
Can’t see it happening unless Marshall goes
21-05-2023, 04:21 PM
Shelly clearly wants to come back.
Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 07:36 PM
If someone wants Campbell for a decent fee I’d move him on.
Regressing back to the player of last season. We need better. Cash in while we can imo.
21-05-2023, 07:39 PM
Regressing back to the player of last season. We need better. Cash in while we can imo.
Definitely.
He’s not one of our biggest problems but he’s just no that good IMO. Need better imo.
Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 07:41 PM
Definitely.
He’s not one of our biggest problems but he’s just no that good IMO. Need better imo.
Yeah. If he’s here next season then fair enough, I’d be fine with having him. With the chat about teams down south having wanted him in January etc though I’d move him on if they’re still interested enough to pay for him.
People were on here the other week claiming he’s a £3m player and anything less than that would be bad business for Hibs. We’d be doing great business to get £500k imo.
21-05-2023, 07:42 PM
Definitely.
I still think he has a lot of really good attributes but he really doesn’t play with a lot of maturity at times. Bad decisions, rash challenges and lots of waving his arms about and thumping the turf when something goes wrong. Also barely notice him when we’re struggling in a game.
21-05-2023, 07:45 PM
Definitely.
Agree. I can’t believe folk have been talking about getting £3 million for him. He’s been improved this season but a decent fee that we could re invest would be accepted I think.
HibeeMackenzie
21-05-2023, 07:48 PM
I’d imagine/hope we’ll cash in on Nisbet, Campbell, Cabraja and Cadden
21-05-2023, 07:51 PM
Agree. I can’t believe folk have been talking about getting £3 million for him. He’s been improved this season but a decent fee that we could re invest would be accepted I think.
Anything north of £1m is a great deal, around £700k ish more realistic imo.
He does have some really positive attributes and his goal return this year isn’t bad, I’m really not convinced though. Needs to impose himself on more games more often.
How many games has he scored in this season?
Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 07:55 PM
He does have some really positive attributes and his goal return this year isn’t bad, I’m really not convinced though. Needs to impose himself on more games more often.
4 in the league and 1 in the league cup groups.
21-05-2023, 08:02 PM
That’s no great really.
Not a bad option to have in reserve but need someone who impacts games more regularly.
21-05-2023, 08:04 PM
Absolutely. He's undoubtedly improved but if we can get anything north or a million for him we should be all over it.
21-05-2023, 08:05 PM
He's scored 5 against Aberdeen alone
Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 08:08 PM
He's scored 5 against Aberdeen alone
Yeah, the poster asked how many games he’s scored in.
Are we now trying to diminish a player's goalscoring record because they're not spread over enough games? We're now resorting to coming up with a new stat of games scored in just to have pop, FFS. Only on here.
21-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Are we now trying to diminish a player's goalscoring record because they're not spread over enough games? We're now resorting to coming up with a new stat of games scored in just to have pop, FFS. Only on here.
Not difficult to follow the logic to be fair.
I’m suggesting there’s too many games he doesn’t contribute enough.
He absolutely deserves credit for the goals he’s scored, he’s about our only midfielder that does score, we need midfielders who contribute every week though. IMO when Campbell isn’t scoring, he doesn’t offer enough of the other stuff.
21-05-2023, 08:50 PM
Yeah, the poster asked how many games he’s scored in.
It’s at least 5 games in the league
Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 08:52 PM
It’s at least 5 games in the league
Apologies you’re right, it’s 5. Missed the very first game of the season.
21-05-2023, 08:59 PM
Apologies you’re right, it’s 5. Missed the very first game of the season.
👍🏻
I think he has a good amount of goals/assists this season. But that needs tempered by the fact that he’s often played as virtually a second forward. It literally is his job to score/assist. It’s not like a box to box midfielder getting 10 goals a season.
Really tailed off at a bad time form wise
21-05-2023, 09:06 PM
Campbell is a really strange one. I might be being harsh but I'm genuinely unsure if he can run with the ball at his feet..
He's decent enough at passing and has a good engine but he oddly looks incapable of running with the ball.
The way he closes his man frustrates me as well. Again, maybe being harsh but he gets close to them and tends to do a little skip/hop, ends square-on and lands on his heels. He's really easy to get past.
Not only him but we need better quality of players. Understand managerial pressure but having no youngsters with any meaningful gametime this season is quite sad given how poor we are.
1875Sean
21-05-2023, 11:16 PM
I’d imagine/hope we’ll cash in on Nisbet, Campbell, Cabraja and Cadden
Who is going to pay a fee for any of those players apart from Nisbet?
22-05-2023, 12:22 AM
I’d be surprised if there was any interest in Campbell other than possibly Wigan.
If they offer around $500,000 I’d take it
22-05-2023, 12:37 AM
I still think Cadden is ok.
Most on here don’t I guess, but I do.