View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2023
05-08-2023, 08:32 PM
You shouldn’t have to not listen to it though. It should be a show where football experts discuss the games, league season and controversial decisions in a balanced way. This isn’t a programme that is bought by punters, it’s a National broadcast paid for by all BBC licence holders and should always be neutral, which they aren’t. The sheer amount of Hearts supporters they now have employed across their various shows constantly having digs at Hibs is ridiculous.
Agree mate as the format currently stands I won’t be tuning in
coco mc
05-08-2023, 08:33 PM
He has played less than 20 league games in 4 seasons and is currently without a club. Those facts are connected.
Number 2 to the club captain . And never made an error when called in to action . Fit and ready but also knows his time is certainly at an end . As a previous poster mentioned was at HTC yesterday which was preplanned as he is wanting to look in to the business side of football and basically needs to do an internship he and his family would move to Edinburgh tomorrow…… but never say never lol
badabing67
05-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Is that a transfer market valuation? I doubt he would cost half of that but with the amount we’ve already spent I’d be surprised if we wanted to part way with that much money - probably more likely a loan.
McGrath is still without a club, interesting to see what happens there given ourselves and hearts were supposedly interested. Sounds a lot like agents trying to promote him though.
Yes that is what he is valued at on Transfer Market. I still think it would be a sizable fee to sign him now, he is still quite young and could have more development to come. Defo one to keep an eye on in the next few months.
Donegal Hibby
05-08-2023, 09:16 PM
Is that a transfer market valuation? I doubt he would cost half of that but with the amount we’ve already spent I’d be surprised if we wanted to part way with that much money - probably more likely a loan.
McGrath is still without a club, interesting to see what happens there given ourselves and hearts were supposedly interested. Sounds a lot like agents trying to promote him though.
Yan Dhanda did have a good game today though do wonder if he's the type of player we need in midfield tbh . I was one that wouldn't mind McGrath as he's free agent though don't know what kind of signing on fee and wages he'd want . Might be looking for to much though if he wasn't he'd be a handy player to have as he can play LW , AM , RW .
Keepthefaith
05-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Yan Dhanda did have a good game today though do wonder if he's the type of player we need in midfield tbh . I was one that wouldn't mind McGrath as he's free agent though don't know what kind of signing on fee and wages he'd want . Might be looking for to much though if he wasn't he'd be a handy player to have as he can play LW , AM , RW .
why would we want to take a player like McGrath though? both our young players Rudi and Reuben would then potentially be denied opportunities in midfield and from what I've seen, I'd much rather we promoted their developement than take on McGrath. with the emergence of them both, I'm not sure we need another midfielder, unless they're more of a winger and therefore an upgrade on McKay who we have let out on loan?
Donegal Hibby
05-08-2023, 09:50 PM
why would we want to take a player like McGrath though? both our young players Rudi and Reuben would then potentially be denied opportunities in midfield and from what I've seen, I'd much rather we promoted their developement than take on McGrath. with the emergence of them both, I'm not sure we need another midfielder, unless they're more of a winger and therefore an upgrade on McKay who we have let out on loan?
I'd still like to see Rudi and Reuben get some game time though do think maybe we will have to be careful in throwing them in against some of the more physical sides in our league tbh . Rate both players highly btw .
If Henderson goes and McGrath wasn't costing to much I'd be quite happy with him as a replacement tbh . The republic of Ireland team are really poor at the minute though I watched games were McGrath's been quite good in , last one he was playing as a LW .
Campbell is the only AM we have and that is McGrath main position though he can cover LW and RW which we are also probably needing cover for too . Probably won't sign McGrath though I wouldn't be totally against the idea either tbh .
06-08-2023, 07:11 AM
Craigan has despised us for a long, long time.
Guy's a weirdo.
Just another in the BBC Scotland fan pundity category.
06-08-2023, 07:17 AM
How naïve. Scotland is a sectarian cesspit. They're scared of slagging off Celtic these days(plus they win all the time) Hibs are fair game.
I’m anything but naive torto. Some people just need to put the tinfoil away. Btw she played for Celtic 😂
06-08-2023, 12:01 PM
He has played less than 20 league games in 4 seasons and is currently without a club. Those facts are connected.
He is the quintessential back up goalie. Good enough for a higher level, but outshone by really good 1st choice keepers.
06-08-2023, 01:27 PM
Lewis Morgan has just arrived at Easter Road.
HendoDelivered
06-08-2023, 01:28 PM
Lewis Morgan has just arrived at Easter Road.
Wouldn’t read too much into it, used to play for saints so probably just taking in the game. Would take him as back up though
06-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Looks like we might need more midfielders after all...
147lothian
06-08-2023, 07:52 PM
Now that Fulham have opened talks with Josh Doig, if he does go to the Premier League team will it be for a higher fee?
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/huge-transfer-boost-back-on-the-cards-for-hibs-as-fulham-linked-with-move-for-josh-doig-4240274
06-08-2023, 08:00 PM
Now that Fulham have opened talks with Josh Doig, if he does go to the Premier League team will it be for a higher fee?
https://www.hammyend.com/index.php/2023/08/fulham-open-goig-discussions/ (http://www.https://hammyend.com/index.php/2023/08/fulham-open-goig-discussions/)
But If we can’t identify the right players we need to improve the team all we do is waste money signing players and don’t improve
07-08-2023, 12:46 PM
:hyper
07-08-2023, 02:18 PM
Ryan Fraser from Newcastle loan deal anyone heard this rumour
07-08-2023, 02:19 PM
Ehm yes please.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2023, 02:26 PM
Attitude is ****in stinking but he’d tear the league up, can’t see it though with McDermott talking about bringing in the right characters etc
Bushwoof
07-08-2023, 02:27 PM
No thanks. Ratted big style on his club, team-mates and fans at Bournemouth. Makes Kamberi look more loyal than King Billy himself.
#2 Double Tap
07-08-2023, 02:30 PM
another winger, so we can put the guy we just signed, or all our fav player on the bench. be a top move so it would.
give us a CM with a bit bite. or a left footed CB....or a goalie....or a rb or a left back.
07-08-2023, 02:31 PM
Not the position we need to be recruiting for. LB/RB as a priority now.
Unless Fraser is more of a RB these days
07-08-2023, 02:31 PM
He's on £2,000,000 a year with two years to run on his contract.
We'd need to fork out £7,700 a week to cover 20% of his salary and LJ might stick him in at right-back!
07-08-2023, 02:32 PM
😂😂 think we would afford him for 1 week.
I’ll commit to the classic “if he signs I’ll sit in a tub of beans”.
07-08-2023, 02:37 PM
We'd need to fork out £7,700 a week to cover 20% of his salary and LJ might stick him in at right-back!
He's probably on more than 2 million a year. That's 40kna week sure it was closer to 60k when he signed.
07-08-2023, 02:42 PM
Way, way out our budget. Celtic or Rangers would be more likely.
He's probably on more than 2 million a year. That's 40kna week sure it was closer to 60k when he signed.
Well if that's the case then he's out of our range. 😀
Article from yesterday says £70k p.w.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/other-football/ryan-fraser-dealt-final-newcastle-27467667
07-08-2023, 02:54 PM
Missed this, what did he do?
chippy
07-08-2023, 03:02 PM
Well if that's the case then he's out of our range. 😀
Article from yesterday says £70k p.w.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/other-football/ryan-fraser-dealt-final-newcastle-27467667
Getting mixed up with Scott Fraser of Charlton perhaps.We were linked with him a year or 2 back but he’s under contract till 2025. Decent midfielder
07-08-2023, 04:21 PM
5'4 to small
07-08-2023, 06:07 PM
Bojang signs for kawkab marrakech good luck major
07-08-2023, 06:10 PM
Kawkab Marrakesh? Pretty sure I tried that once but too spicy for me.....
07-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Is that the same as Taxi For Bojang?
07-08-2023, 06:15 PM
See Stuart Findlay was getting praised after his display vs rangers
Thought it was a no brainer to try being him in here
07-08-2023, 06:17 PM
Fire engine.
07-08-2023, 06:18 PM
If he does a better job of keeping a cool head there than he did with us then he might prove to be a decent signing.
Start by changing the 3 to a 5. 🤔
07-08-2023, 06:21 PM
I thought Deas might have been a decent shout too - freed by Celtic, picked up by ICT and did well up there for them.
MotM on Saturday.
Good young player.
They've done some good transfer business this summer and if they can get Magennis playing regularly they've won a watch.
Think I read on BBC pages that his £70k wages were a problem and the reason they're struggling to get rid of him, huge fall out with Howe and not played since last October.
Torto7
07-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Watching Fraser for Scotland he never seemed any better than Forrest or Boyle to me.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2023, 09:04 PM
Rumour Celtic trying to get James McAtee from Man city though Sheff Utd want him too . Excellent player .
07-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Likewise, thought it would have been a good signing
07-08-2023, 09:56 PM
Rumour Celtic trying to get James McAtee from Man city though Sheff Utd want him too . Excellent player .
Cannae see why Man City would let him go to SPL when the options there for Premiership football this season with Sheff Utd.
Would make nae development sense at all.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2023, 10:34 PM
Cannae see why Man City would let him go to SPL when the options there for Premiership football this season with Sheff Utd.
You'd think they'd rather him playing in the premier league league tbh though maybe they think Sheff Utd will be getting beat most weeks and struggling at the bottom of the premier while Celtic will be going for a league , playing in Europe might be a better option for a season . Who knows mate . Really good player though.
07-08-2023, 11:37 PM
You'd think they'd rather him playing in the premier league league tbh though maybe they think Sheff Utd will be getting beat most weeks and struggling at the bottom of the premier while Celtic will be going for a league , playing in Europe might be a better option for a season . Who knows mate . Really good player though.
Most likely having the bigger share of possession so multiple repetitions.
And maybe Celtc give assurance that he'll be playing more minutes
WellingtonHibby
08-08-2023, 04:14 AM
We should be going after his Brother at Luton. Jason.
He was utterly sensational at Grimsby and can't buy a game for Luton
chippy
08-08-2023, 05:47 AM
Likewise, thought it would have been a good signing
I have to say I’m a bit concerned already re our signings. Levitt seems lightweight , Obita - is he a left back ?, Harbottle - not risked yet. Le Fondre - best of bunch so far. Vente- fingers crossed. Beyond me why we haven’t tried to get O’Hara, Bacchus , Findlay. Have we wasted even more dough ?
08-08-2023, 07:42 AM
I have to say I’m a bit concerned already re our signings. Levitt seems lightweight , Obita - is he a left back ?, Harbottle - not risked yet. Le Fondre - best of bunch so far. Vente- fingers crossed. Beyond me why we haven’t tried to get O’Hara, Bacchus , Findlay. Have we wasted even more dough ?
It’s far too early to be concerned by the signings. Levitt is quality, 13 caps for his country already, and proven in our league. He missed some preseason, so he’s no up to speed yet. Obita is a full back, he’s been playing there regularly before coming here, we’ll find out whether a full back from English League 1 isn’t good enough for SPL over the next few months I suppose. Harbottle was never signed as someone who’d come in to the team straight away.
How could we have got O’Hara anyway? Contracted there til 2026. They’d have been in nae rush to sell.
Can’t deny he’s been a great signing for them, but it came on the back of 3 seasons at Motherwell where he was average at best.
I'm Spartacus
08-08-2023, 08:01 AM
Rickshaw for Bojang
08-08-2023, 08:02 AM
No a magic Carpet for Bojang hope he does well there
chippy
08-08-2023, 08:40 AM
It’s far too early to be concerned by the signings. Levitt is quality, 13 caps for his country already, and proven in our league. He missed some preseason, so he’s no up to speed yet. Obita is a full back, he’s been playing there regularly before coming here, we’ll find out whether a full back from English League 1 isn’t good enough for SPL over the next few months I suppose. Harbottle was never signed as someone who’d come in to the team straight away.
How could we have got O’Hara anyway? Contracted there til 2026. They’d have been in nae rush to sell.
Can’t deny he’s been a great signing for them, but it came on the back of 3 seasons at Motherwell where he was average at best.
If we lose the next three games can I be concerned then? Not that I want that.
08-08-2023, 08:54 AM
If we lose the next three games can I be concerned then? Not that I want that.
I'm less concerned about the signings we've made than the clown that decides how they play.
08-08-2023, 09:02 AM
This. No chance
08-08-2023, 09:41 AM
Agree was he not at Blades last season
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2023, 09:43 AM
Agree was he not at Blades last season
Played over 30 games for them in the championship I think .
08-08-2023, 09:44 AM
Agree all I have seen of Levitt looks quality the two shots he had on Sunday being an example. Also heard he had missed some preseason so just a case a bit of patience with him looks a different level. Personally thought Obita looked good the longer he played Sunday Would start him Levitt and Miller on Thursday.
08-08-2023, 09:45 AM
Played over 30 games for them in the championship I think .
Seems the obvious place to go now in Premiership
08-08-2023, 03:32 PM
Agree all I have seen of Levitt looks quality the two shots he had on Sunday being an example. Also heard he had missed some preseason so just a case a bit of patience with him looks a different level. Personally thought Obita looked good the longer he played Sunday Would start him Levitt and Miller on Thursday.
Yep - seemingly Levitt missed a spell of preseason after suffering concussion whilst still at United. I am convinced he will be a very good signing for us.
Agree re Obita as well. He looked to be really struggling for the first while but improved as the game went on
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2023, 05:03 PM
Would any of these players out of contract be worth looking at ? Apart from the 2nd one !.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/nine-free-agents-that-hearts-or-hibs-could-still-target-including-former-celtic-leeds-united-and-sunderland-men-gallery-4247953?page=1
08-08-2023, 05:08 PM
Would any of these players out of contract be worth looking at ? Apart from the 2nd one !.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/nine-free-agents-that-hearts-or-hibs-could-still-target-including-former-celtic-leeds-united-and-sunderland-men-gallery-4247953?page=1
Kamberi. Could you imagine haha
08-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Johansen and Rogic were absolutely superb in their time in this league, and that kind of central creativity seems to be what we are crying out for. Would imagine both would command wages well outwith our reach though.
Always thought Chris Martin would do well in this league, decent target man. Can’t imagine we’ll bring in any more up top though.
08-08-2023, 05:56 PM
Can't remember Stefan Johansen, but Rogic would be a great signing for us.
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2023, 06:08 PM
Johansen and Rogic were absolutely superb in their time in this league, and that kind of central creativity seems to be what we are crying out for. Would imagine both would command wages well outwith our reach though.
Always thought Chris Martin would do well in this league, decent target man. Can’t imagine we’ll bring in any more up top though.
Don't really remember Johansen tbh . Think Rogic last club was WBA and seem to recall there was story's about his lack of fitness. A fit Rogic would certainly improve our midfield though.
08-08-2023, 07:49 PM
I thought Johansen was a good player at Celtic. That was a fair few years ago now.
NC1875
08-08-2023, 07:54 PM
This. No chance
Champions League football. Won’t get that at Sheff Utd
08-08-2023, 08:19 PM
Can't remember Stefan Johansen, but Rogic would be a great signing for us.
Forshaw and Danny Rose, yes please. Tom Rogic would be dreamland stuff
08-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Rose has played about 9 or 10 games in 2 years or so I'm sure.
Frogga
08-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Between an aging Chris Martin and Doidge, I think I'd rather stick with Doidgey.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
08-08-2023, 09:11 PM
Didn't play much last season in the championship, 32 and we have a fair Australian contingent in our squad already. Might be moving to move back home, but could very well feel home is Scotland after so long at Celtic.
K-Zazu
08-08-2023, 09:17 PM
That us done then? Think we are desperately needing to strengthen in the full back areas and in midfield but can’t see much else happening
JammyDoidger
08-08-2023, 09:53 PM
That us done then? Think we are desperately needing to strengthen in the full back areas and in midfield but can’t see much else happening
I'd imagine there will be a couple of loans to come in nearer the end of the window.
09-08-2023, 01:51 AM
Didn't play much last season in the championship, 32 and we have a fair Australian contingent in our squad already. Might be moving to move back home, but could very well feel home is Scotland after so long at Celtic.
Not having a go but interested as to why it would matter what nationality a player was, as long as they were good enough?
There is only 1 (Boyle) who may be called on by Oz for international purposes, so why would it matter that we also have Boyle, Miller and Jeggo, who are clearly different types of players to Rogic?
supermcginn
09-08-2023, 08:28 AM
Don't really remember Johansen tbh . Think Rogic last club was WBA and seem to recall there was story's about his lack of fitness. A fit Rogic would certainly improve our midfield though.
Johansen was Scottish PFA player of the year in 2015.
09-08-2023, 08:29 AM
Would take Johansen in a heartbeat. Surely have better offers than us though.
09-08-2023, 09:10 AM
Not having a go but interested as to why it would matter what nationality a player was, as long as they were good enough?
There is only 1 (Boyle) who may be called on by Oz for international purposes, so why would it matter that we also have Boyle, Miller and Jeggo, who are clearly different types of players to Rogic?
Because Australians are famously lazy, bad trainers and a bit thick.........
Not really, what I actually meant is he may well already have friends here which may be an attractive prospect for him, and last season may mean we have a more realistic chance of signing him without facing impossible competition.
09-08-2023, 09:15 AM
I strangely have no recollection of him at all!
09-08-2023, 10:33 AM
I strangely have no recollection of him at all!
Me neither, likely as we were in the Championship that year.
Paulie Walnuts
09-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Johansen is easily the pick of the bunch from that list imo.
Donegal Hibby
09-08-2023, 04:52 PM
Thought Moyes had more sense tbh . A fee of £30 million has been agreed for Maguire who is on a reported £200,000 a week at Utd according to this .
https://www.footballfancast.com/west-ham-premier-league-transfer-news-harry-maguire-update/
Thought Moyes had more sense tbh . A fee of £30 million has been agreed for Maguire who is on a reported £200,000 a week at Utd according to this .
https://www.footballfancast.com/west-ham-premier-league-transfer-news-harry-maguire-update/
Maguire is still a decent CH just not for a top 4 team, maybe his confidence is shot and Moyes putting the arm around him will get him playing well again. Remember he was a top player for Leicester and England only a few years ago, not worth the money Man U paid though.
09-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Maguire would be a good signing for West Ham. He’s a decent player just nowhere near good enough for the top teams. Same with McTominay if they can sign him as well.
McTominay is more than just a decent player.
09-08-2023, 10:32 PM
All went very quiet on the signings front
Really hope we’re not done. Midfield and defence still needing a bit of work
10-08-2023, 02:12 AM
Poor midfield got Ross and maloney sacked
LJ went with no new signings Sunday
I’ve lost faith he realises how bad these 3 are together especially after saying they can’t play again or roughly saying that last season
Sign no one and he will be gone by the derby
JammyDoidger
10-08-2023, 05:29 AM
I’ve lost faith he realises how bad these 3 are together especially after saying they can’t play again or roughly saying that last season
We need a LB, RB and ideally a better CM than we have, I wouldn't trust us to bring in the right players though, recruitment overall isn't good enough clearly. Need to try and move the likes of Delferrierre, Henderson, Melkerson etc on, I'd move Miller on aswell if we could get a decent RB like the boy strain from st Mirren.
10-08-2023, 06:03 AM
Covid out break got Ross sacked and a general lack of creativity got Maloney sacked, as well as various tactical masterstrokes.
Rick Rude
10-08-2023, 07:06 AM
Covid out break got Ross sacked and a general lack of creativity got Maloney sacked, as well as various tactical masterstrokes.
I'd say covid did Ross some favours as meant we could play a less exciting style of football (especially at home) without the fans getting too het up.
10-08-2023, 07:11 AM
I'd say covid did Ross some favours as meant we could play a less exciting style of football (especially at home) without the fans getting too het up.
Not when he was down to eight uninfected players in November and sacked on the 9th of December.
10-08-2023, 07:27 AM
If he just picked the players he has signed it would be a vast improvement on those three together.
Jeggo, Newell and Levitt would be a big improvement for me. Jeggo is far from perfect but gives us a bit balance and Levitt when properly up to speed will be a good player for us.
I still can’t believe those three started our first league game.
If he just picked the players he has signed it would be a vast improvement on those three together.
Jeggo, Newell and Levitt would be a big improvement for me. Jeggo is far from perfect but gives us a bit balance and Levitt when properly up to speed will be a good player for us.
I still can’t believe those three started our first league game.
It was poor play by two of those players that lost us the third goal on Sunday, Levitt has the excuse that he was up and down the pitch and chasing back, Jeggo to leave their only player in the box, unmarked, was criminal.
10-08-2023, 10:04 AM
It was poor play by two of those players that lost us the third goal on Sunday, Levitt has the excuse that he was up and down the pitch and chasing back, Jeggo to leave their only player in the box, unmarked, was criminal.
There were 2 St Mirren players in the box. Jeggo watching the man in front of him and the boy who scored came in behind. Could he have done better? Of course, but I wouldn’t put all the blame on him
10-08-2023, 10:11 AM
Me neither, likely as we were in the Championship that year.
Aye good point
10-08-2023, 10:20 AM
Genuinely thought Rose had retired
10-08-2023, 11:18 AM
Does anyone think we will get more in?
10-08-2023, 11:20 AM
Aye, 100%. Was always going to slow down on the back of the money spent on Vente. A couple to move on and a couple to come in I reckon.
We simply have to.
I thought we'd get another forward in, but if Doidge is staying, that would now seem unlikely.
I think I read someone saying that there needed to be outs before anyone else was recruited.
10-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Probably couple of loans. Depend who leaves also
10-08-2023, 11:23 AM
We simply have to.
My thoughts exactly, but concerned we won’t
10-08-2023, 11:24 AM
Why does Newell get a pass? It was his awful cross straight to their keeper that began the counter attack. Add that to his awful attempt at a tackle to give away the penalty and his positioning on the 2nd goal and it really was a poor day at the office e for him.
10-08-2023, 11:35 AM
It’s odd. Most on here seemed really happy with the squad after we signed Vente. Now we need a a load more? I’d guess if we play a slightly tighter style of football people will be a lot less worried about squad quality. It’s certainly a much better squad than st mirren. Just need to be drilled and played accordingly.
10-08-2023, 11:46 AM
It’s odd. Most on here seemed really happy with the squad after we signed Vente. Now we need a a load more? I’d guess if we play a slightly tighter style of football people will be a lot less worried about squad quality. It’s certainly a much better squad than st mirren. Just need to be drilled and played accordingly.
Maybe some people didn’t realise how much certain players had regressed over the summer.
10-08-2023, 11:52 AM
Maybe some people didn’t realise how much certain players had regressed over the summer.
Have they actually regressed though?
The Tubs
10-08-2023, 11:56 AM
Why does Newell get a pass? It was his awful cross straight to their keeper that began the counter attack. Add that to his awful attempt at a tackle to give away the penalty and his positioning on the 2nd goal and it really was a poor day at the office e for him.
Newell did commit mistakes in the game but, after a sleepy performance in the first half like most of his teammates, he and Hanlon joined Doidge in injecting a bit of urgency in our performance.
Which players have regressed?
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 01:03 PM
I’ve felt we’ve needed a few others all summer.
We’re still short of a couple of starters at right back and centre midfield and a squad player out wide imo.
badabing67
10-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Yes I also think 1 or 2 will still leave. We will definitely get loan players in again.
10-08-2023, 01:19 PM
Yes I also think 1 or 2 will still leave. We will definitely get loan players in again.
Hope so
10-08-2023, 02:01 PM
Which players have regressed?
My assumption would be he means Stevenson, hanlon and people expecting more from Miller.
Hibees1973
10-08-2023, 02:01 PM
There is no way this squad is prepared enough to cope with playing a Euro game midweek, then a league game at the weekend. We are miles away.
It was always going to be well nigh impossible to qualify for the European Conference Group stages given the draw we were likely to have in the 3rd qualifying and play off round. This has now been proven that we ain't going to qualify now given we have Villa, if we even get past Luzern.
You wonder if Hibs would have thrown even more money at buying players if we were in Aberdeen's position, guaranteed European football up until Christmas and £3m - £4m just for participating.
I am concerned that some of the new faces signed have not at present been able to take the position of a current 1st team player, it is early but the initial 1st team selections have been lamentable. However, what has and will continue to burden us is the poor players signed in the previous two or three transfer windows and lengthy contract extensions handed out.
Much as Hibs have signed new players, there are at least 4 or 5 that need to be shipped out as they have contributed nothing.
10-08-2023, 02:31 PM
After Sunday I think hibs should be active in getting another midfielder and parting company or looking to move JDH, Henderson, Tavares, out either loan, permanent.
10-08-2023, 02:31 PM
My assumption would be he means Stevenson, hanlon and people expecting more from Miller.
Miller has played one game? Hanlon hasn't regressed. and Stevenson just looks a year older. I personally didn't see any regression from any of the players. We just didn't look energised for the game and then struggled to control a dominant st Mirren midfield.
10-08-2023, 02:35 PM
After Sunday I think hibs should be active in getting another midfielder and parting company or looking to move JDH, Henderson, Tavares, out either loan, permanent.
On his day JDH is one of our best midfielders tidy on the ball energetic and not afraid to put the boot in needs to stop the stupid fouls though only puts himself and the team under pressure
10-08-2023, 02:37 PM
On his day JDH is one of our best midfielders tidy on the ball energetic and not afraid to put the boot in needs to stop the stupid fouls though only puts himself and the team under pressure
Those days are few and far between
davhibby
10-08-2023, 02:42 PM
We’re probably looking at a couple of loans and that will be us however if we beat Luzern then the money we’d make out of the Villa tie might help us if there’s a player or two we’d like on a permanent
EGL2000
10-08-2023, 03:29 PM
That's exactly the problem he only shows this in 1 out of 5 games if you are lucky.
EGL2000
10-08-2023, 03:30 PM
We’re probably looking at a couple of loans and that will be us however if we beat Luzern then the money we’d make out of the Villa tie might help us if there’s a player or two we’d like on a permanent
I would be more than happy with a couple loans if they are of the quality of CJ and Myko.
10-08-2023, 03:58 PM
That's exactly the problem he only shows this in 1 out of 5 games if you are lucky.
Always tends to be in the bigger games too imo when there is more an emphasis on winning the ball back.
Week to week against the lesser teams in the league I don’t think he does enough.
If he could play the 6 then fine, and I did think he could but he’s shown he steuggles
10-08-2023, 05:26 PM
damn, that one weakness in the sellick defence has joined Celta Vigo, Starfelt
Dazzjw1875
10-08-2023, 05:35 PM
Think as a minimum we 100% need a LB and another strong DM to allow Levitt to play further forward. Being greedy a winger also to cover..
Paul1642
10-08-2023, 08:35 PM
Think as a minimum we 100% need a LB and another strong DM to allow Levitt to play further forward. Being greedy a winger also to cover..
A good LB would be the biggest improvement we could make right now. Looks like Obitia is going to be cover on the left wing as much as a LB.
babahibs
10-08-2023, 09:58 PM
Yeah totally agree, Obita is not a left back, a priority signing has to be a left back imo.
10-08-2023, 10:05 PM
Got the start of a good squad as we have seen so far this season.
If we can move on guys like Tavares, Henderson, Delferierre, Melkersen etc and bring in guys like we have so far then it’s looking good
10-08-2023, 10:07 PM
Got the start of a good squad as we have seen so far this season.
If we can move on guys like Tavares, Henderson, Delferierre, Melkersen etc and bring in guys like we have so far then it’s looking good
Don't think delferierre or melkersen will be going anywhere
10-08-2023, 10:26 PM
Tonight showed that what we have done in this window is not the issue. It’s just that we had so much to do, then couldn’t get them on the park quickly enough. But we have signed some good players.
All the new signings that played tonight made big contributions and showed a lot of quality.
JammyDoidger
10-08-2023, 10:37 PM
The only negative tonight was Melkerson, brutal. Half hearted, pulling out challenges, Johnson was going mad at him.
7heaven
10-08-2023, 10:41 PM
The only negative tonight was Melkerson, brutal. Half hearted, pulling out challenges, Johnso was going mad at him.
Sorry to say
Melkerson is junior level.
JammyDoidger
10-08-2023, 10:43 PM
Sorry to say
Wouldn't even want him in my junior team. Johnson was on about cowards, there's one for you.
JamesHFC
10-08-2023, 10:51 PM
The only negative tonight was Melkerson, brutal. Half hearted, pulling out challenges, Johnson was going mad at him.
I can't remember the last time where I left a game and thought he played well. Think it's best he moved on personally and replace him with another winger.
10-08-2023, 10:55 PM
I can't remember the last time where I left a game and thought he played well. Think it's best he moved on personally and replace him with another winger.
Feel really sorry for the laddie, obviously want him to do well, he's a Hibs player, but there just seems to be nothing there.
So so weak.
10-08-2023, 11:01 PM
Same players........its all there.
10-08-2023, 11:10 PM
I think of offers came in for either they’d be off (if they agree obviously)
10-08-2023, 11:22 PM
Certainly didn’t do himself any favours being half hearted in a couple of challenges but he looked a little lost and unsure whether to play deep or play high.
A loan would be a very good move for him, but if he’s staying I’d be looking at getting in Derek Riordan or Kenny Miller to work with him at EM for a few weeks and ‘coach’ him how to play to his strengths and learn being a forward. He’s young and naive but I genuinely think we need to show faith in him and develop him much much better (and quicker).
JamesHFC
11-08-2023, 12:30 AM
Liverpool paying a British record fee of £110m for Caicedo 🤯
11-08-2023, 12:33 AM
Yeah, he was terrible. Every time the ball came to him he lost it almost immediately. Too slow, not enough technique and just not strong enough for this level of football. I was so excited when we signed him, we have to cut our losses though.
11-08-2023, 12:37 AM
Yeah, he was terrible. Every time the ball came to him he lost it almost immediately. Too slow, not enough technique and just not strong enough for this level of football. I was so excited when we signed him, we have to cut our losses though.
He is only 20 though to be fair to him.
A good loan that lets him play and develop then who knows. That loan to Sparta was an absolute shocker.
JamesHFC
11-08-2023, 12:40 AM
He is only 20 though to be fair to him.
A good loan that lets him play and develop then who knows. That loan to Sparta was an absolute shocker.
From the lack of game time it seems they probably regretted it themselves.
11-08-2023, 03:11 AM
Sorry to say
Don't be ridiculous. He may or may not prove to be a success at Hibs but statements like that make you look daft.
Big90inOz
11-08-2023, 03:24 AM
Melkerson looked like he was playing with lead boots on, he looked so slow. Needs to get into the gym and build up his strength, just brushed aside everytime.
Dazzjw1875
11-08-2023, 05:25 AM
Melkerson looked like he was playing with lead boots on, he looked so slow. Needs to get into the gym and build up his strength, just brushed aside everytime.
If and this is a big if, he is gonna try make it into Hibs 1st team then this season we really need to send him out on loan to a championship club where he will play most weeks and hopefully toughen him up give him confidence... As for selling him and others it's tough to do especially when there not really playing much, and it'll be too much money to mutual agree release for any of these players due to the long contracts they still have I would think.
11-08-2023, 06:35 AM
A loan to Championship or high end League 1 like Falkirk or Hamilton to get game time and confidence back is definitely needed.
Still think he has potential but is way off it just now
K-Zazu
11-08-2023, 09:41 AM
We need cover in the full back areas desperately for me, we can’t rely on Miller and Stevenson playing every week they will need a rest/rotated. Not sure when Cadden will be back either.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 09:53 AM
A loan to Championship or high end League 1 like Falkirk or Hamilton to get game time and confidence back is definitely needed.
Still think he has potential but is way off it just now
I really do think League One is probably the best level to send him out to.
He’d have most of the same issues in the Championship with physicality imo. Obviously physicality will still be a thing in League One but his technique should be good enough to still allow him to do well at that level.
A season of scoring 15+ for an Edinburgh City or something would be good for him. If he goes to the Championship I expect he’d end up a sub at most teams. Would maybe get a game for a relegation struggler but he’d toil with that imo.
Potty78
11-08-2023, 10:15 AM
No way is Melkerson going to championship or league one. No team could afford his wages. Not ruling out a other spl club though. He defo needs game time and confidence back.
11-08-2023, 10:18 AM
I always think its so nice that out players can find so many complimentary remarks about themselves on here.
🙄
Aye right.
11-08-2023, 10:21 AM
No way is Melkerson going to championship or league one. No team could afford his wages. Not ruling out a other spl club though. He defo needs game time and confidence back.
They don't have to cover all his wages.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 10:22 AM
We’ll need to contribute a significant chunk. He’s no use to us here. The last roll of the dice from a Hibs POV would be loaning him out and hoping he comes on massively.
Either way we’ll be paying the vast majority of his wages but we’d stand a better chance longer term of getting something from him by loaning him out.
11-08-2023, 10:24 AM
Hibs win 3-1 in Europe against a wealthier and technically superior team. 99% of the team played magnificently.
"Aye but what about the guy that didn't play good for ten mins"
Caversham Green
11-08-2023, 10:30 AM
Yeah totally agree, Obita is not a left back, a priority signing has to be a left back imo.
Obita was first choice left back at Reading for four or five seasons. He won player of the year in one of those seasons and was consistently short-listed in the others. He was a very good left back if a bit raw given his age at the time.
babahibs
11-08-2023, 11:33 AM
Obita was first choice left back at Reading for four or five seasons. He won player of the year in one of those seasons and was consistently short-listed in the others. He was a very good left back if a bit raw given his age at the time.
Really?
I didn't know that.
It's a funny old game isn't it? because he doesn't look it to me, he looks far better attacking than defending.
Bridge hibs
11-08-2023, 12:31 PM
Really?
I didn't know that.
It's a funny old game isn't it? because he doesn't look it to me, he looks far better attacking than defending.
VITAL STATISTICS
Born: 8th December 1993
Nationality: English
Position: Left-back
Royals first team debut: Torquay 0-1 Reading – 11/08/10
Appearances: 165(+26)
Goals: 7
OBITA'S STORY
Initially a central midfielder, Obita homed in on his talents in his favoured left wing role and has become one of several Reading Academy players that have gone on to represent the first team.
He had trials with Oxford United, his hometown club, before instead opting to join the Royals in 2002 at the age of eight.
The young midfielder fine-tuned his talents while on loan spells with Barnet, Gillingham, Portsmouth, Oldham and finally Nottingham Forest. His first senior goal came during his time at the Gills, scoring in a 3-1 win over Barnet in League Two.
He joined back with the Royals for the start of the 2013/14 season, with Nigel Adkins handing him his home debut as a substitute for Garath McCleary in our 2-0 win over Birmingham City three games into the season.
However, it was much earlier when he first made his bow in a Reading shirt – back in August 2010, he emerged from the bench in extra-time to play a part in our Carling Cup success away to Torquay United.
It was during the 2013/14 season that a breach in the left-back spot prompted a switch in position for Obita. His efforts within the defensive line impelled Reading fans to vote him as their Player of the Season that year.
Consistency personified, he retained the left-back spot for the 2014/15 season, providing solid last-ditch tackles as well as danger for the opposition going forward.
By the end of 2015/16 Obita had made over 100 league appearances for the Royals and he continued to be a regular first team star in 2016-17, scoring a vital goal at Craven Cottage to take the play-off semi-final into a second leg with Fulham and Reading all square; he rifled low inside the bottom right corner to earn Reading a 1-1 draw in the first leg having scored two other spectacular efforts against Ipswich and Burton Albion earlier in the season.
Torto7
11-08-2023, 12:37 PM
Hibs win 3-1 in Europe against a wealthier and technically superior team. 99% of the team played magnificently.
"Aye but what about the guy that didn't play good for ten mins"
:agree: I'm not sure they are technically superior that's just Scottish navel gazing but I agree on your general point. Some folk seem to be unable to enjoy a great performance for some reason.
11-08-2023, 12:54 PM
I really do think League One is probably the best level to send him out to.
He’d have most of the same issues in the Championship with physicality imo. Obviously physicality will still be a thing in League One but his technique should be good enough to still allow him to do well at that level.
A season of scoring 15+ for an Edinburgh City or something would be good for him. If he goes to the Championship I expect he’d end up a sub at most teams. Would maybe get a game for a relegation struggler but he’d toil with that imo.
O'Connor is playing most weeks for Airdrie and he never got near our first 11. Watched him last weekend and Melkerson is easily as good as him. I think an attacking team in the Championship would be a good loan deal. Too big a jump from League 1 so it wouldn't tell us enough given how long he has left on his contract. If he can't cut it in the Championship then he needs to be moved on and maybe he is just a lad that needs to be near home
babahibs
11-08-2023, 12:58 PM
VITAL STATISTICS
Born: 8th December 1993
Nationality: English
Position: Left-back
Royals first team debut: Torquay 0-1 Reading – 11/08/10
Appearances: 165(+26)
Goals: 7
OBITA'S STORY
Initially a central midfielder, Obita homed in on his talents in his favoured left wing role and has become one of several Reading Academy players that have gone on to represent the first team.
He had trials with Oxford United, his hometown club, before instead opting to join the Royals in 2002 at the age of eight.
The young midfielder fine-tuned his talents while on loan spells with Barnet, Gillingham, Portsmouth, Oldham and finally Nottingham Forest. His first senior goal came during his time at the Gills, scoring in a 3-1 win over Barnet in League Two.
He joined back with the Royals for the start of the 2013/14 season, with Nigel Adkins handing him his home debut as a substitute for Garath McCleary in our 2-0 win over Birmingham City three games into the season.
However, it was much earlier when he first made his bow in a Reading shirt – back in August 2010, he emerged from the bench in extra-time to play a part in our Carling Cup success away to Torquay United.
It was during the 2013/14 season that a breach in the left-back spot prompted a switch in position for Obita. His efforts within the defensive line impelled Reading fans to vote him as their Player of the Season that year.
Consistency personified, he retained the left-back spot for the 2014/15 season, providing solid last-ditch tackles as well as danger for the opposition going forward.
By the end of 2015/16 Obita had made over 100 league appearances for the Royals and he continued to be a regular first team star in 2016-17, scoring a vital goal at Craven Cottage to take the play-off semi-final into a second leg with Fulham and Reading all square; he rifled low inside the bottom right corner to earn Reading a 1-1 draw in the first leg having scored two other spectacular efforts against Ipswich and Burton Albion earlier in the season.
👍
I think we have a very decent player on our hands
11-08-2023, 01:20 PM
👍
I think we have a very decent player on our hands
I think you are right, quite impressive
11-08-2023, 08:07 PM
i was reading wee willy Gnonto had made himself unavailable for Leeds in the cup game on Wednesday to try force their hand into allowing him to go to Everton for a cut-price £20m, he's only 19 and a very decent young player but i think he's got stations well above just how good he thinks he is, only one year into a 5-year contract and he's been stirring for a move for several months now, he's one of the very few Leeds players that clown Victor Orta didn't allow a loan clause on so Leeds at least hold the cards on this one and they're holding out for £25m seeing as FC Zurich apparently have at least a 30% sell-on clause, Leeds were all set to lose their only good midfielder(Tyler Adams) after Chelsea triggered a £20m release clause but talks between Chelsea and Adams broke down today, diddums :) the new owners 49ers must be wondering WTAF Orta and ex-owner Radrizanni were allowing to happen in regards to all the loan clauses all their best players had, good luck Sampdoria with Radz.
11-08-2023, 08:35 PM
i was reading wee willy Gnonto had made himself unavailable for Leeds in the cup game on Wednesday to try force their hand into allowing him to go to Everton for a cut-price £20m, he's only 19 and a very decent young player but i think he's got stations well above just how good he thinks he is, only one year into a 5-year contract and he's been stirring for a move for several months now, he's one of the very few Leeds players that clown Victor Orta didn't allow a loan clause on so Leeds at least hold the cards on this one and they're holding out for £25m seeing as FC Zurich apparently have at least a 30% sell-on clause, Leeds were all set to lose their only good midfielder(Tyler Adams) after Chelsea triggered a £20m release clause but talks between Chelsea and Adams broke down today, diddums :) the new owners 49ers must be wondering WTAF Orta and ex-owner Radrizanni were allowing to happen in regards to all the loan clauses all their best players had, good luck Sampdoria with Radz.
Apparently wee willy has already agreed personal terms with Everton
How does that work? Is that not tapping up? Transfer dealings is a murky business these days. Look at Chelsea. Splurged in January. And apparently on the brink of signing Caceido and lavia for combined 160M having already spent well in excess of 150M already on multiple players this summer. Surely that breaches "FFP" !?
Spent an absolute fortune last summer as well, must be north of 3 quarters of a billion since boehly took over just over a year ago
11-08-2023, 09:40 PM
:agree: I'm not sure they are technically superior that's just Scottish navel gazing but I agree on your general point. Some folk seem to be unable to enjoy a great performance for some reason.
Probably because they are not Hibs fans………
11-08-2023, 10:01 PM
man city have over 100 charges against them for breaching financial regulations, they'll probably end up getting a token £75 fine :rolleyes: payable in £25 instalments. EPL,and lower league clubs, are finding ways around the rules anyway, it's a joke, i'm kinda hoping the saudi clubs take all the best players and play them in a middle east super league or sommit like that ;) as for Everton they really should have been docked points last season but it's a rather slow process
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/story/_/id/37698153/manchester-city-premier-league-title-win-comes-looming-charges
from May this year
But City are also under the cloud of more than 100 Premier League charges for allegedly breaching financial regulations (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/story/_/id/37636124/man-city-charged-multiple-ffp-breaches). The club vehemently deny all charges and have committed to fighting to overturn each of them, but the charge sheet is so lengthy and comprehensive that nobody outside of the Etihad is prepared to toast Guardiola's team as being simply the best.
City are accused of 50 breaches of providing inaccurate financial information, eight breaches in relation to manager remuneration from 2009 to 2013, 12 breaches in relation to player remuneration from 2010 to 2015, five breaches linked to UEFA financial regulations, 25 profitability and sustainability breaches and 30 breaches of assisting the Premier League investigation, which dates back to March 2019. If found guilty, City face punishments ranging from fines and points deductions to expulsion from the league, making the stakes incredibly high.
12-08-2023, 08:07 AM
Harry Kane announced by Bayern Munich
BBC Sport
‘Ange’ up against it already. How’d you replace Kane!
12-08-2023, 08:13 AM
Vente. They’re not getting him though.
12-08-2023, 08:30 AM
Kanes exit video reminds me of Boyler when he went to Saudi, close to tears , could tell he didn't want to go and was only going for the money (with Kane its trophies and ambition). But like with Boyler - u just kind of know he will be back.
12-08-2023, 08:37 AM
Would be something ironically funny if Kane's first game for Bayern was to win the German super cup :greengrin
12-08-2023, 09:36 AM
Kanes exit video reminds me of Boyler when he went to Saudi, close to tears , could tell he didn't want to go and was only going for the money (with Kane its trophies and ambition). But like with Boyler - u just kind of know he will be back.
I just dinnae see the big appeal to go win the Bundesliga. Big deal. If you’re not German, why would you care? It’s barely even an achievement with Bayern. They win it all the time.
Kane is a great player, but a couple of Bundesliga winners medals won’t make his career look much better to me. I dinnae see him winning a champions league with Bayern.
12-08-2023, 09:40 AM
I just dinnae see the big appeal to go win the Bundesliga. Big deal. If you’re not German, why would you care? It’s barely even an achievement with Bayern. They win it all the time.
Kane is a great player, but a couple of Bundesliga winners medals won’t make his career look much better to me. I dinnae see him winning a champions league with Bayern.
Plays in the champions league. Atmospheres in Germany are brilliant. No doubt Spurs didn't want to sell to English team. Likely back in a season. Good imo he is trying a different environment
12-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Plays in the champions league. Atmospheres in Germany are brilliant. No doubt Spurs didn't want to sell to English team. Likely back in a season. Good imo he is trying a different environment
I do think he’s right to leave Spurs, prob should have done that a few years ago. I’m not even sure where would have been a good move for him, but moving to a lower quality league? To a team that wins the league all the time? Nah. Not for me.
EGL2000
12-08-2023, 09:52 AM
For me it's a great move Germany is the best country to play football in for me, Passion is unmatched. Also a very legitimate chance of winning champions league.
12-08-2023, 10:01 AM
I do think he’s right to leave Spurs, prob should have done that a few years ago. I’m not even sure where would have been a good move for him, but moving to a lower quality league? To a team that wins the league all the time? Nah. Not for me.
Fair enough his options are limited if his club didn't let him move in England. Good for him to try something different maybe. Still a very good league with amazing atmospheres and he will make them more competitive in champions league
Donegal Hibby
12-08-2023, 10:02 AM
Will be very hard to replace Kane if at all . Ange is certainly up against it . Thought he should have stayed at Celtic another year while Spurs is a big job I don't think it was a good job for him to take right now TBH .
12-08-2023, 10:08 AM
Will be very hard to replace Kane if at all . Ange is certainly up against it . Thought he should have stayed at Celtic another year while Spurs is a big job I don't think it was a good job for him to take right now TBH .
Does he get a bit of leeway down there now that they’re considerably weaker without Kane?
Even with Kane they’d have struggled to get into the Champions League, without him I’d imagine they have nae chance.
Donegal Hibby
12-08-2023, 10:22 AM
Does he get a bit of leeway down there now that they’re considerably weaker without Kane?
Even with Kane they’d have struggled to get into the Champions League, without him I’d imagine they have nae chance.
Managers don't get much leeway in football now . I'd put 6 clubs to finish ahead of them in the League this season and wouldn't rule out the likes of Villa , Brentford or Brighton finishing ahead of them either . Would they stick with Ange if they finish in 7,8 or 9 position? I'm not so sure TBH .
12-08-2023, 10:24 AM
Managers don't get much leeway in football now . I'd put 6 clubs to finish ahead of them in the League this season and wouldn't rule out the likes of Villa , Brentford or Brighton finishing ahead of them either . Would they stick with Ange if they finish in 7,8 or 9 position? I'm not so sure TBH .
I think Brentford will struggle without Toney while he’s suspended, and Brighton will be considerably weaker this season. They’ve lost good players.
Villa look easily as good, if not better, than Spurs though.
You make it sound a bit like the SPFL :rolleyes:
12-08-2023, 11:12 AM
If we have a sell on clause, then Spurs need to spend a sizeable part of the Kane fee on signing Nisbet in January.
supermcginn
12-08-2023, 11:16 AM
Bayern have won as many European cups as Man utd, Arsenal, Chelsea and man city combined, one of the 5 biggest clubs in the world. It's a brilliant move for him and they'll have a great chance of winning the champions league especially now tuchel has had a pre season with them.
12-08-2023, 11:19 AM
Was talking to a mate who's a season ticket holder. Made a good point, there's no point in joining Bayern from spurs, it's not money because Spurs can match whatever he's offered. By leaving he's potentially giving up the chance to be the greatest ever goal scorer in the Premier league, for what. A German league winners medal
franck sauzee
12-08-2023, 11:27 AM
I think Richarlison will do well under Ange, bring in a back up to him and strengthen midfield and on the wings with the Kane money. Will be a very different Spurs team by the end of August
Willis1875
12-08-2023, 11:29 AM
Was talking to a mate who's a season ticket holder. Made a good point, there's no point in joining Bayern from spurs, it's not money because Spurs can match whatever he's offered. By leaving he's potentially giving up the chance to be the greatest ever goal scorer in the Premier league, for what. A German league winners medal
I reckon he’ll go for a couple of years,win some silverware and then come back to the Premier League at 32 and have a stab at beating Shearers record….2 20+ goals a season gets him pretty close
12-08-2023, 11:36 AM
Being the highest scorer in the PL is a sham. He has s ores almost exactly half of the goals that Jimmy Greaves scored. Football didn't start when the PL began! I would rather win trophies far outweighs having a tag like highest goalscorer. I'm sure Shearer would swap 10 goals each to have won the two FA Cup finals he lost in
12-08-2023, 11:37 AM
Medals worth more than a record. Medals can’t ever be taken away, records can be surpassed. He’s also moved to one of the elite clubs in the world from a team that just finished mid table in the Premier League. He’s also guaranteed to be in the latter stages of the Champions League every year which gives him a realistic chance of winning that.
12-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Players play football to win medals. He isn't going to do that at Tottenham. Bayern win the league even season. Good player Kane but he would be in danger of retiring with no medals if he stayed there.
12-08-2023, 11:46 AM
Bayern have won as many European cups as Man utd, Arsenal, Chelsea and man city combined, one of the 5 biggest clubs in the world. It's a brilliant move for him and they'll have a great chance of winning the champions league especially now tuchel has had a pre season with them.
Ajax have won as many European cups Chelsea, Man City, Arsenal and Juventus combined. Big deal.
Dunno why you sneaked Arsenal in there though…they’ve never won it.
12-08-2023, 11:46 AM
Players play football to win medals. He isn't going to do that at Tottenham. Bayern win the league even season.
Not sure if he signed in time, but he could win a medal tonight in his first game for Bayern. Playing RB Leipzig in the German Supercup.
Bayern are easily one of the biggest clubs in the world and it's a huge move for any player. Hope Kane does well there, really likeable guy and a class player.
12-08-2023, 11:49 AM
If Kane wins the champions league then it’s been an incredible move for him, if he doesn’t…meh.
Stairway 2 7
12-08-2023, 11:59 AM
Not sure if he signed in time, but he could win a medal tonight in his first game for Bayern. Playing RB Leipzig in the German Supercup.
Bayern are easily one of the biggest clubs in the world and it's a huge move for any player. Hope Kane does well there, really likeable guy and a class player.
Supercup is as low as the charity shield. German league isn't impressive, I bet Messi doesn't put the French league near the top of his achievements list.
Thought he might have went to Real
12-08-2023, 11:59 AM
If Kane wins the champions league then it’s been an incredible move for him, if he doesn’t…meh.
Does the same go for man city then, they have won the league 7 times in the last 10 years, will likely do the same this season, a league win in Germany will be the most kane has ever won, not to be sniffed at
Donegal Hibby
12-08-2023, 12:12 PM
I think Richarlison will do well under Ange, bring in a back up to him and strengthen midfield and on the wings with the Kane money. Will be a very different Spurs team by the end of August
Spurs scored 70 goals last season with Kane there top scorer on 30 goals . If these are all league goals that's nearly half of all there goals scored by one player there losing. I do agree they will strengthen there team though Kane leaving them is obviously a massive blow . I think the best they can finish this season is 7th TBH.
JamesHFC
12-08-2023, 12:13 PM
It was the right time for him to leave, Spurs were never going to match his ambition so he had to do what's best for him. He deserves to be playing in the late stages of the CL, he's one of the best players I've watched.
If he wins the CL & Euros next summer then he will probably even win the Ballon d'Or.
A 4 year contract which I doubt he will extend on so he will probably be back at Spurs or the PL at the age of 34 to beat Shearer's record, elite footballers these days can play up to about 38 at a top level so I wouldn't be surprised if he did it.
Stairway 2 7
12-08-2023, 12:19 PM
Does the same go for man city then, they have won the league 7 times in the last 10 years, will likely do the same this season, a league win in Germany will be the most kane has ever won, not to be sniffed at
Club revenues of the epl is now double the bundesliga and la liga and its going to get wider the next 5 years. The top 10 biggest spenders bar one in Europe this summer is in epl. Its becoming the European super league sadly. In January Chelsea alone spent more than all the top-tier clubs in Italy, Spain, Germany and France combined. The bottom premier team this season will earn 130 million from TV if Bayern win the league they will get 85. I think the Epl will start to pull away
City will probably dominate the epl but 5 clubs in 10 years won the EPL, Bayern are going for 12 in a row. Newcastle aren't going to mess about I'd bet too
12-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Would be hilarious if Bayern didn't win the league this year.
12-08-2023, 12:21 PM
It’s a pointless comparison. No team has ever won 4 English premier leagues on the bounce. City will break that record this season, but the competition they have is far greater than Bayern have in Germany. Bayern have won 11 on the bounce.
Kane is one of the absolute best strikers in the world, still in his prime. What other world class players move to the Bundesliga in their prime?
12-08-2023, 12:42 PM
It’s a pointless comparison. No team has ever won 4 English premier leagues on the bounce. City will break that record this season, but the competition they have is far greater than Bayern have in Germany. Bayern have won 11 on the bounce.
Kane is one of the absolute best strikers in the world, still in his prime. What other world class players move to the Bundesliga in their prime?
So if City win it again this season, that's 4 on the bounce and 8 in 12, so not really much competition either. What world class players go to England in their prime? Can't remember the last truly world class player I seen come to England in their prime. Haaland possibly but he is only going to get better so not in his prime
12-08-2023, 12:45 PM
So if City win it again this season, that's 4 on the bounce and 8 in 12, so not really much competition either. What world class players go to England in their prime? Can't remember the last truly world class player I seen come to England in their prime. Haaland possibly but he is only going to get better so not in his prime
If you’re trying to argue that the Bundesliga is of high a standard as the EPL then I’m no gonnae waste my time bothering.
12-08-2023, 12:49 PM
If you’re trying to argue that the Bundesliga is of high a standard as the EPL then I’m no gonnae waste my time bothering.
Where did I say that? you sound like a very typical EPL fan boy. Kane was right to leave and go to one of the biggest clubs in the world, he clearly thought the same. I notice you didn't name a world class player in his prime who has went to the English premier league
12-08-2023, 12:52 PM
Where did I say that? you sound like a very typical EPL fan boy. Kane was right to leave and go to one of the biggest clubs in the world, he clearly thought the same. I notice you didn't name a world class player in his prime who has went to the English premier league
My “English team” if I had to have one is Bradford. I couldn’t be less of an EPL fanboy 😂
Gvardiol to Man City last week? How many do you want me to name?
12-08-2023, 12:55 PM
My “English team” if I had to have one is Bradford. I couldn’t be less of an EPL fanboy 😂
Gvardiol to Man City last week? How many do you want me to name?
If you think a 21 Yr old is in his prime then I'll bow out now
12-08-2023, 12:57 PM
If you think a 21 Yr old is in his prime then I'll bow out now
Martinez to Man Utd last season work better for you?
You make it sound a bit like the SPFL :rolleyes:
To be fair, bayern have won the eleven leagues in a row
12-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Martinez to Man Utd last season work better for you?
If you think he would make a world select then no problem👍
Supercup is as low as the charity shield. German league isn't impressive, I bet Messi doesn't put the French league near the top of his achievements list.
Thought he might have went to Real
real are now waiting for Mbappe. Had this happened a month ago (prior to mbappe making it known he’ll leave (by) next summer, I think they would have pushed for Kane
12-08-2023, 01:05 PM
wee willy Gnonto tells his club he still feels unable to play today, he's working his ticket
Leeds should just say they feel unable to pay him then
i've really went of this young man if this is how he treats employers, a lesson for possible future employers
deal wae it willy
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F3RdQSdW8AAMC4a?format=jpg&name=large
12-08-2023, 01:06 PM
If you think he would make a world select then no problem👍
Dunno why you’re such a Bundesliga fanboy to be honest
12-08-2023, 01:08 PM
Kane, like every other footballer in the history of the professional game, would like to win a trophy. He’s rich, famous and hugely successful yet has won SFA as a player, beyond individual awards.
I don’t pay much attention to football elsewhere, but there are probably only a handful of clubs that could afford him. I would imagine he prefers not to play against Spurs (?) in league football and some of the other mega rich sides don’t need him.
A few medals, the chance to play at a world famous club, seems like a good choice.
12-08-2023, 01:08 PM
Dunno why you’re such a Bundesliga fanboy to be honest
I'd suggest watching some games as you clearly don't, I'll bow out now as its going off topic
12-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Bayern are one of the biggest clubs in the world. Probably only Barcelona, Real Madrid and Man Utd can claim to be bigger, and Man Utd are rank just now.
Seems a bit odd to be slagging off Kane going there IMO.
Bayern are one of the biggest clubs in the world. Probably only Barcelona, Real Madrid and Man Utd can claim to be bigger, and Man Utd are rank just now.
Exactly sky sports brain washing I think, it’s an absolutely cracking move for him
Kane, like every other footballer in the history of the professional game, would like to win a trophy. He’s rich, famous and hugely successful yet has won SFA as a player, beyond individual awards.
I don’t pay much attention to football elsewhere, but there are probably only a handful of clubs that could afford him. I would imagine he prefers not to play against Spurs (?) in league football and some of the other mega rich sides don’t need him.
A few medals, the chance to play at a world famous club, seems like a good choice.
Probably easier to move to Bayern as supposed another EPL team. Keeps him ‘in favour’ with the Spurs fans by going abroad and like you say nit playing or scoring against them!
Think it’s a superb choice. Huge club and also means he won’t break Shearers EPL goalscoring record…..
12-08-2023, 02:31 PM
I agree they are, it’s the Southern reporters crying they’ve lost their star striker to a German club
12-08-2023, 03:04 PM
Agreed. Not a huge Kane or Bayern Munich fan but he’s going to one of the biggest, best and most successful teams around. Nobody would be criticising or questioning his decision if Bayern Munich were English.
12-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Being the highest scorer in the PL is a sham. He has s ores almost exactly half of the goals that Jimmy Greaves scored. Football didn't start when the PL began! I would rather win trophies far outweighs having a tag like highest goalscorer. I'm sure Shearer would swap 10 goals each to have won the two FA Cup finals he lost in
Very good point
12-08-2023, 03:45 PM
The German league used to be held up as a good example of how things should be done, compared with England, Italy or Spain for example.
How did Bayern manage to pull so far ahead? Did something change over there?
They have plenty of clubs with huge fanbases so I don't get how Bayern now dominate so much and for so long?
12-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Vente. They’re not getting him though.
😁
JamesHFC
12-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Liverpool paying a British record fee of £110m for Caicedo 🤯
Chelsea hijack the deal for £115m on an 8 year contract.
12-08-2023, 05:55 PM
Anyone any idea what the FFP rules are? :greengrin
12-08-2023, 05:57 PM
Why would they pay £115 mil when Liverpool had an offer of £110 mil accepted?
Coach Jon
12-08-2023, 06:00 PM
Why would they pay £115 mil when Liverpool had an offer of £110 mil accepted?
Its called Gazumping! :wink:
12-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Its called Gazumping! :wink:
Pointless gazumping. Brighton have already accepted an offer and if the player wants to go to Liverpool, Chelsea can offer £150m but they wouldn't get him.
it’s looking like the player (or his agent!) has had his head turned by Chelsea’s chequebook :rolleyes:
12-08-2023, 07:13 PM
David Tirado who I think we played as a trialist in a development game has signed for Roda , although I think he's in their U19's
StarMan10
12-08-2023, 07:16 PM
Transfers are mess nowadays so It’ll have something to do with how the fee is paid. An extra 5 million pound so that they can stretch the payments til Caicedo’s had two grandkids.
12-08-2023, 07:22 PM
it’s looking like the player (or his agent!) has had his head turned by Chelsea’s chequebook :rolleyes:
Possibly, but London is a big draw too.
12-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Not sure what this means, if it actually means anything 🤣
https://twitter.com/redherma/status/1690460503233937408?t=M4Vui4ZowowGkSn65mTAnA&s=19
Translates to
Melkersen from Hibs current for the estate
12-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Not sure what this means, if it actually means anything [emoji1787]
https://twitter.com/redherma/status/1690460503233937408?t=M4Vui4ZowowGkSn65mTAnA&s=19
Translates to
Melkersen from Hibs current for the estate
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230812/2e01fe673dce27702c28ebb149e3ab14.png
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230812/07f7df0792a371d20512b356acdbe6c6.png
12-08-2023, 09:04 PM
Hopefully a deal that works for both parties and we move on. A strange one that hasn't worked out. Announced on twitter like he was a main man and we were splashing the cash, then put in the dev squad. Scores the goals to send us through the scottish cup semis 'Hibs have found their new hero' the commentator says, and then shows so little and in and out of the team. Now seems devoid of all confidence and maybe time to say just not up to it. Disappointing one, wish him well if it happens.
12-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Looks like it's getting reported in alot of the press in Norway.
JammyDoidger
12-08-2023, 09:12 PM
If melkerson is Offski, we must have replacements lined up, he's mainly used on the right hand side, other than Boyle we don't really have anyone, probably why he can on through the week.
12-08-2023, 09:16 PM
I still think we'll bring in a couple of players on loan that we would be unlikely to be able to afford permanently
12-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Youan is the replacement for Boyle on the right, with Obita coming in on the left.
But I'd like a young winger on loan to add depth.
cameronw-hfc
12-08-2023, 09:22 PM
Hopefully a deal that works for both parties and we move on. A strange one that hasn't worked out. Announced on twitter like he was a main man and we were splashing the cash, then put in the dev squad. Scores the goals to send us through the scottish cup semis 'Hibs have found their new hero' the commentator says, and then shows so little and in and out of the team. Now seems devoid of all confidence and maybe time to say just not up to it. Disappointing one, wish him well if it happens.
The dev squad myth is annoying. He was never a dev squad player, bar a few games to get up to speed. It was cleared up by Maloney and Patrick Mcp at the time that he was, and always has been a first team player for us. Hague was a development player, maybe not initially but in the end. Melk has been a first team player his whole Hibs spell.
JammyDoidger
12-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Youan is the replacement for Boyle on the right, with Obita coming in on the left.
But I'd like a young winger on loan to add depth.
So Obita is basically back up winger and back up full back? Better hope Stevenson and Boyle doesn't get injured at the same time..
We will bring in a couple more I'm sure of it.
GreenGray
12-08-2023, 09:37 PM
Melkersen is a frustrating one, think after that Motherwell debut we all thought we had a player on our hands and he clearly had the raw talent.
Would struggle to explain what has happened since then, just looks shot of confidence and miles off it. Loan move last season probably killed him.
12-08-2023, 09:41 PM
What's the story with Henderson? Can't see anything referencing him recently is it injury or just out the picture?
If we could move him Melkersen and Tavares on that would free up substantial cash
12-08-2023, 09:43 PM
Loads of them? Are you trolling?
Yaya Toure. Alexis Sanchez. De Bruyne. Allison. Thiago. Mesut Ozil. Varane.
Thiago literally left treble winning Bayern to join Liverpool.
12-08-2023, 09:43 PM
The German league used to be held up as a good example of how things should be done, compared with England, Italy or Spain for example.
How did Bayern manage to pull so far ahead? Did something change over there?
They have plenty of clubs with huge fanbases so I don't get how Bayern now dominate so much and for so long?
Extremely well run, while other big clubs like Schalke are a shambles.
12-08-2023, 09:48 PM
The dev squad myth is annoying. He was never a dev squad player, bar a few games to get up to speed. It was cleared up by Maloney and Patrick Mcp at the time that he was, and always has been a first team player for us. Hague was a development player, maybe not initially but in the end. Melk has been a first team player his whole Hibs spell.
He was announced as the main man and soon after we were told we'd need to manage his development, probably never served to help the expectation levels around him.
12-08-2023, 09:51 PM
Extremely well run, while other big clubs like Schalke are a shambles.
He probably has a point even given that mate. Of all the European leagues Germany has a pile of very big clubs with crowds in excess of 40,000 every weekend but they still can't lay a glove on Bayern. You can understand it in Portugal or Holland or even France and especially Scotland ... but it is a bit of a surprise that nobody has come through in Germany for over a decade.
12-08-2023, 10:10 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7425178]Loads of them? Are you trolling?
Thiago literally left treble winning Bayern to join Liverpool.[/QUOTE
Yeah I'm trolling you got me, toure yip I'd agree, sanchez certainly wasn't in his prime when he came to England which is what the point was, he was only in his early 20s, de bruyne was also about 24 so again not in his prime and has got much much better since he went to city, Becker I agree, thiago I also agree, ozil on his day was world class. Varane also I agree, so there you have about 4 or 5 world class players that came to england in their prime, not exactly loads as made out. You need to realise you aren't always correct about everything you post as much as you would like to think you are
12-08-2023, 11:01 PM
What's the story with Henderson? Can't see anything referencing him recently is it injury or just out the picture?
If we could move him Melkersen and Tavares on that would free up substantial cash
i think Ewan Henderson is injured at the mo
12-08-2023, 11:07 PM
i think Ewan Henderson is injured at the mo
He was on the bench the last two European games
12-08-2023, 11:11 PM
He was on the bench the last two European games
so he's got splinters then, maybe he was cheerleading :) i've been hoping he would be tucking in to big juicy steaks during the close season to bulk up a tad
i see he wasn't in the squad for the ST Mirren game
12-08-2023, 11:13 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7425178]Loads of them? Are you trolling?
Thiago literally left treble winning Bayern to join Liverpool.[/QUOTE
Yeah I'm trolling you got me, toure yip I'd agree, sanchez certainly wasn't in his prime when he came to England which is what the point was, he was only in his early 20s, de bruyne was also about 24 so again not in his prime and has got much much better since he went to city, Becker I agree, thiago I also agree, ozil on his day was world class. Varane also I agree, so there you have about 4 or 5 world class players that came to england in their prime, not exactly loads as made out. You need to realise you aren't always correct about everything you post as much as you would like to think you are
I managed to come up with 5 in the middle of a field at a music festival after thinking for all of 30 seconds. There are plenty. You couldn't think of any. You surely don't think you're correct here? De Bruyne was a world class player when he came to England. So was Sanchez. So was Eden Hazard, David Silva, Fabregas (to Chelsea), Cazorla, Partey, Aguero, Cancelo, Haaland.
It says plenty about the quality of scouting in England that they get so many guys who then turn into world class players. You're not making the point you think you are.
Donegal Hibby
12-08-2023, 11:22 PM
I'd imagine we are trying to move him on though do wonder who's going to take him . Another poor signing who's simply not good enough unfortunately.
1875godsgift
13-08-2023, 12:17 AM
[QUOTE=Allant1981;7425199]
I managed to come up with 5 in the middle of a field at a music festival after thinking for all of 30 seconds. There are plenty. You couldn't think of any. You surely don't think you're correct here? De Bruyne was a world class player when he came to England. So was Sanchez. So was Eden Hazard, David Silva, Fabregas (to Chelsea), Cazorla, Partey, Aguero, Cancelo, Haaland.
It says plenty about the quality of scouting in England that they get so many guys who then turn into world class players. You're not making the point you think you are.
Fair play.
If I had to come up with 5 things to think about in a field at a music festival I'd be going bands, bogs,booze,drugs,punani (not necessarily in that order)
13-08-2023, 06:51 AM
[QUOTE=Allant1981;7425199]
Cazorla would never make a world select and you said yourself, turned them into world class players, so thanks, and hope you festival is a bit more exciting so you don't need to be on a fans forum. As I said previously, it's taking the thread off track and I know you like to stick to the rules so I'll bow out.
13-08-2023, 06:52 AM
Fair play.
If I had to come up with 5 things to think about in a field at a music festival I'd be going bands, bogs,booze,drugs,punani (not necessarily in that order)
Plenty time for everything.
13-08-2023, 06:53 AM
Cazorla would never make a world select and you said yourself, turned them into world class players, so thanks, and hope you festival is a bit more exciting so you don't need to be on a fans forum. As I said previously, it's taking the thread off track and I know you like to stick to the rules so I'll bow out.
13-08-2023, 07:27 AM
Rumoured in:
N/A
Rumoured out:
Ewan Henderson
Elias Melkersen (Stromsgodset)
Jair Tavares
Is that the case at the moment, no rumours on anyone coming in. Still think we need a creative midfielder and cover at full-backs, possibly another wide player.
If we could move on the three mentioned above then we've managed to get rid of those that are IMO not good enough.
Rumble de Thump
13-08-2023, 07:50 AM
Kenny Miller has been touting Martin Boyle to Sevco :greengrin
Melkersen back to Norway is probably what's best for the lad, he came here as a top prospect but for whatever reasons it's just not worked out, maybe just not adapted to the more physical robust game here.
13-08-2023, 08:20 AM
He probably has a point even given that mate. Of all the European leagues Germany has a pile of very big clubs with crowds in excess of 40,000 every weekend but they still can't lay a glove on Bayern. You can understand it in Portugal or Holland or even France and especially Scotland ... but it is a bit of a surprise that nobody has come through in Germany for over a decade.
If Dortmund had won their last game of the season last season, they would have won the league, I'd call that close.