View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51

Percy Vere
31-08-2021, 08:14 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kevin-nisbet-rangers-transfer-claims-24881010

Daily record saying Nisbet isn’t signing for Rangers.

Must be right then eh!

31-08-2021, 08:15 PM
I could have maybe got the Nisbet to Rangers chat if we were getting Itten.

If Nisbet leaves then we need 2 strikers in and of real quality

Correct. The bit in bold in your post is indeed the key to debunking this story.

31-08-2021, 08:16 PM
I must say if we don’t sign a striker we are asking for trouble

Thank goodness you’ve said that, as literally nobody else was saying it.

31-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Must be right then eh!

Well yes, I think they are 😂

If Nisbet was in talks with Rangers the media would Know about it.

31-08-2021, 08:17 PM
Mitchell deal is all done but we’re waiting to announce him with a striker.

Announcing him this close to the deadline would be a huge anti climax so waiting till the striker is done too and we’ll do two in one.

31-08-2021, 08:19 PM

Announcing him this close to the deadline would be a huge anti climax so waiting till the striker is done too and we’ll do two in one.

Is this a hunch, inside info or educated guess?

31-08-2021, 08:20 PM

Announcing him this close to the deadline would be a huge anti climax so waiting till the striker is done too and we’ll do two in one.A Mitchell and Callum Hendry double swoop!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Torto7
31-08-2021, 08:20 PM
With the financial implications of the pandemic and no benefactor willing to burn money like Aberdeen & Hearts have, it's now clear we had to sell before making any major purchases. Seems we tried to get McCart but only by paying in staggered instalments.

It appears to me that Hibs expected to sell Doig earlier in the window. This would have provided them with funds early enough to buy more players to get a better and more balanced squad.

We have now put last year's 3rd place and doing the same this season in more jeopardy by not getting experienced cover at right back, centre half and centre forward. Wood, a 19 year old centre half with no experience up here is a risk. The other big 4 clubs up here will target him when we play against them. The squads at Aberdeen and Hearts look deeper than ours. Time and injuries permitting will tell if ours has more quality.

The Hibs squad already looks really thin and imbalanced to me. We look weak at right back, centre half and centre forward. Doidge is already out until next year and if Nisbet, already injured, is not fit for the derby game Hibs are in trouble. We are powder-puff up front without this pair available for selection.

However, I fully understand this approach from Hibs and support these decisions. They have focused on getting key players such as Boyle & Newell on extended contracts and negotiating higher wages for Nisbet and Doidge to keep them on board.

While I am disappointed at no sexy signings, as mentioned at the start, Hibs will have been impacted financially by the pandemic and taken a pragmatic and safe approach in this transfer window.

I cant say Im seeing that myself. We kept Boyle and added quality(JDH,CM) to an already strong squad.

31-08-2021, 08:21 PM
I think we're done.

Not entirely happy about it but not exactly unhappy about it either.

We've kept a few players I didn't think we'd keep, and that's a huge positive. The signing of JDH looks to be an inspired bit of business.

Earlier in the window I made the point that the main priority this summer would be to adequately replace the players we'd lose, and then attempt once more to fix the midfield. The way it pans out we've not lost anyone, meaning nobody needed replaced and replacing someone like Boyle or Nisbet might have been very difficult. The signing of JDH and the emergence of Magennis looks like the midfield has been fixed, so it looks like the main 2 priorities I had have been met, and then some.

I'm as twitchy as everyone else about the lack of depth up front and tbh, getting in a good option (even just a decent loan one until January when we know we have players to either come back from injury or to join from the USA) this evening would be very welcome indeed.

I'm happy with the signing of Wood, I'm fairly neutral about a 3rd goalkeeper who we'll probably never see play.

Overall, it's not the worst.

However - I don't know if this has played out the way the recruitment team saw it playing out and it would be interesting to know what stories might lie behind any moves for McCart or Griffiths.

If we have a good season this season then we'll have Europe again next season and I think we need to give Jack Ross a fighting chance of progressing there, so the recruitment team need to have a good summer next year.

I also thought the crowd was pretty small on Saturday - and wonder whether or not that will have an effect on our spending power (whilst acknowledging all of the reasons why the crowd might have been what it was).

31-08-2021, 08:22 PM

If the striker is Hendry the anti climax will be even worse!

Gaffer1875
Mitchell and Jamie Mcgrath ?

If the striker is Hendry the anti climax will be even worse!

No it won't. He would do until Doidge is back.

31-08-2021, 08:24 PM
It's getting late in the day but I've been pretty sure all along we would get Mueller in this window. Still hoping....

Don’t see why we’ve held off announcing Mitchell. Could’ve had it announced this morning by the sounds of it. Everyone would’ve forgotten all about it by now.

I must say if we don’t sign a striker we are asking for trouble

.......... trouble it is then, from what I can gather. However, I think we’ll be fine.

31-08-2021, 08:25 PM

Mitchell will be part of the wrap up messages 5 mins after midnight.

What's Freddie white saying😲

I tell you what our strategic partnership with Brighton looks like it’s really coming together 👀

cloudy

Tom Eaves?

I agree, he didnt exactly fit into the St J system but Aberdeen fans thought he did "ok" in a pretty poor team.

Might work well in a 2 with Nisbet.

Torto7
31-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Seeing some of the opinions on here I hope a defeat at Tynecastle doesnt see the gloomy brigade getting their claws out. We're in a good place as a club overall.

Mitchell and Jamie Mcgrath ?

Thought McGrath was Sunderland or Middlesbrough bound?
Don't expect to see him at ER

That might be the reality but in terms of the perception and reaction on here, we’d be as well not signing anyone.

FWIW if we sign Hendry I’ll be having to tuck my bottom lip in as I’d be really unhappy with that.

In the cold light of day he’d be better than signing nobody but I’d still be disappointed tonight.

itslegaltender
31-08-2021, 08:27 PM
A few West Ham Twitter accounts have started talking about a late bid for Doig. (last 30 mins).

NC1875
31-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Still think we’ll get Mueller

31-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Seeing some of the opinions on here I hope a defeat at Tynecastle doesnt see the gloomy brigade getting their claws out. We're in a good place as a club overall.

Haha. And I thought I was an optimist?

It will be total carnage on here if we get beat at Tynie. Definitely best avoided.

31-08-2021, 08:30 PM
We usually put out a Tweet saying biz is done with a list of ins / outs etc.

No Tweet = more news to come? :greengrin

31-08-2021, 08:30 PM
What's Freddie white saying😲
LG is on the train to Edinburgh probably.

BegbieHSC
31-08-2021, 08:31 PM
Jamie McGrath to Boro’ has apparently fallen through…

possible?

31-08-2021, 08:31 PM

This is my only hope. Would be delighted and will go back and delete most of my posts tonight 🤣🤣🤣

31-08-2021, 08:32 PM
A few West Ham Twitter accounts have started talking about a late bid for Doig. (last 30 mins).

Seems to be gaining traction.

31-08-2021, 08:33 PM
BBC TDD thingy for Scotland has just asked if Hibs fans are still paying attention - do they know something?

31-08-2021, 08:34 PM
BBC TTD thingy for Scotland has just asked if Hibs fans are still paying attention - do they know something?

I think they must, and I am hoping it is not Doig leaving

I've never thought we'd get Mueller this window.

The registration system over there is unusual, Orlando don't hold it so there isn't really an asking price we need to match to make it happen early.

He'll pitch up in January as planned.

Doig to West Ham

31-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Hibernian are still hopeful of one more deal to be completed before the midnight deadline.

The Easter Road club have already signed Middlesbrough defender Nathan Wood on loan today.

Head coach Jack Ross has secured the services of Chris Mueller from Orlando City in January on a pre-contract, could the attacker however be making his his move to Leith this transfer window?

From the BBC

31-08-2021, 08:35 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/58387771?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=612e91843fa7c437236bb752%26%262021-08-31T20%3A33%3A05.706Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:a5deeb03-eedb-492e-a634-022ae19b88b0&pinned_post_asset_id=612e91843fa7c437236bb752&pinned_post_type=share

31-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Doig to West Ham

Where are you seeing this

hibbydog
If we get Muller in now I’d be delighted

Brian McLaughlin has just raised the issue of Mueller coming to us in this window.

31-08-2021, 08:37 PM
If we get Muller in now I’d be delighted

We’re defo a bit light.

I tell you what our strategic partnership with Brighton looks like it’s really coming together 👀

Was just about to post similar

What a waste of time this was

Desperate for players and sweet FA

I've never thought we'd get Mueller this window.

The registration system over there is unusual, Orlando don't hold it so there isn't really an asking price we need to match to make it happen early.

He'll pitch up in January as planned.
I've thought the opposite all along....

Yeah, it doesn't say in or out

Mueller now would be perfect. Match fit, powerful, plays upfront but can also play wider.

All would be good in the world if this happens!!

If Doig goes surely we need a LB too

Mueller in now with his versatility across the front 3 would be great

Souter96Mac
31-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Doig to West Ham

Hopefully we've got that Norwegian on speed dial

31-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Announce Mueller and Peep Show without losing any of our key players and I'll be buzzing.

31-08-2021, 08:39 PM
Aye would be happy with mueller in now. Would be chuffed with our window if we could manage that.

If not Rons a con

31-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Jamie McGrath to Boro’ has apparently fallen through…

possible?

Is he a left or centre midfielder?

Magpie
Edouard will be earning £70,000 a week at Palace with add ons 🤯

Is he a left or centre midfielder?Winger/attacking mid

31-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Announce Mueller and Peep Show without losing any of our key players and I'll be buzzing.

Tbf I’m putting two and two together as got a text from a West Ham supporting mate saying they’re signing a young Scottish defender.

He’s just text again though saying it might be a lad from Dundee United who is about 16.

mal
31-08-2021, 08:42 PM
I get that. Relying on selling to sign players is worrying though. Unless you find a way to add quality each year you'll end up stagnating. It's what happens outside of the OF on a cyclical basis. Aberdeen have been quite good at staving it off but even they reached the critical point last season.

Aberdeen have signed more senior attackers in this window than we have at the club. Fit or otherwise. This might not affect our season but I can't help but look at their squad and be impressed with a few players they have - granted though they are ageing.

We have a really good squad but I'm still fearful of our defence and upfront. Injury to Nisbet and we really are struggling. Scott looks more like a winger or 2nd striker to me. His hold up and aerial presence is not great.

Please can you list the senior attackers that Aberdeen have signed this window alongside the senior attackers on Hibs' books?

Unless I'm missing something, Aberdeen had 0 senior strikers and have signed 2, neither of whom is as good as our 2 senior strikers. They've also signed 1 senior winger, who isn't as good as our 2 senior wingers. If you're planning to include 20 year old Austin Samuels in your list you really also need to include Scott, Mackay and Gullan on the Hibs' side.

AdidasHibernian
Really hope Doig stays, far too late to lose a key player now.

McGrath would be a cracking signing but can't see it.

Chance would be a fine thing.

I think we'd be priced out of McGrath.

31-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Tbf I’m putting two and two together as got a text from a West Ham supporting mate saying they’re signing a young Scottish defender.

He’s just text again though saying it might be a lad from Dundee United who is about 16.

Now you mention that there has been a bit of noise about a very young Dundee Utd boy heading south over the last few weeks.

Edouard will be earning £70,000 a week at Palace with add ons 🤯

His much touted earlier move to Southampton stalled because he reportedly was after £85k per week!

Really hope Doig stays, far too late to lose a key player now.

McGrath would be a cracking signing but can't see it.Same, outwith our price now I'd imagine

AdidasHibernian
31-08-2021, 08:45 PM
Same, outwith our price now I'd imagine

Would imagine so mate, especially if moves down south had fell through as you'd think he would have been offered scary wages with a Championship club.

Where is the 'Mueller in early’ coming from? That possibility was dead in the water weeks ago. Forget it.

Maybe we are bring back Fletcher in a CR7 style signing

31-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Is there anything in McGrath that he’s being mentioned?

If that’s the case I’d imagine it would be Scott Allan going the other way

Where is the 'Mueller in early’ coming from? That possibility was dead in the water weeks ago. Forget it.

It was mentioned by Brian McLauchlin at the BBC.

Brian McLaughlin from the BBC apparently.

He’s not very active on Twitter so I’m guessing he said it on the radio.

Brian Mclauchlan just put a comment on the BBC live stream.

Doig to West Ham is alot of crap. The guy in the know who came out with it said the fee is about 2m at an educated guess. But we apprently rejected a 2.5m bid from them a few weeks back. Think its safe to say he's talking pish.

Was just about to post similar

What a waste of time this was

Desperate for players and sweet FA

You are aware that it's an academy initiative and nothing to do with signing or swapping players?

21sMay

Heard we definitely looked into this today

31-08-2021, 08:47 PM

Bit of chat on Twitter about him from normal fans. Just speculation I think.

Torto7

Id love that.

On BBC website https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/58387771?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=612e91843fa7c437236bb752%26%27Hibs%20h opeful%20of%20one%20more%20deal%27%262021-08-31T20%3A33%3A05.706Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:a5deeb03-eedb-492e-a634-022ae19b88b0&pinned_post_asset_id=612e91843fa7c437236bb752&pinned_post_type=share

We’re defo a bit light.

Is this really the kind of culture we want to see on .net?

31-08-2021, 08:48 PM

McGrath can sign for someone in the January window for nothing.
St Mirren may be looking to cash in, McGrath may like to see what's available in January or at the end of his contract where he may have a choice of clubs.

31-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Heard we definitely looked into this today

Seriously - i was only making an off the cuff remark

31-08-2021, 08:49 PM
Fletcher would be unbelievable business

31-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Please can you list the senior attackers that Aberdeen have signed this window alongside the senior attackers on Hibs' books?

Unless I'm missing something, Aberdeen had 0 senior strikers and have signed 2, neither of whom is as good as our 2 senior strikers. They've also signed 1 senior winger, who isn't as good as our 2 senior wingers. If you're planning to include 20 year old Austin Samuels in your list you really also need to include Scott, Mackay and Gullan on the Hibs' side.

JET
Ramirez
Watkins

Nisbet
Doidge (injured)

Might be mistaken but I've seen Watkins play through the middle more than a few times since he left ICT so I added him in as a striking option.

As it stands, out of our 2 senior strikers, 1 has pulled out of international duties seemingly due to injury and 1 has a long term injury.

21sMay
Seriously - i was only making an off the cuff remark

Supposedly asked about him . Heard we asked about a championship striker also. If it's true I'm guessing knocked back for both

You mean the Wireless?? [emoji15][emoji12]

31-08-2021, 08:52 PM
JET
Ramirez
Watkins

Nisbet
Doidge (injured)

Might be mistaken but I've seen Watkins play through the middle more than a few times since he left ICT so I added him in as a striking option.

As it stands, out of our 2 senior strikers, 1 has pulled out of international duties seemingly due to injury and 1 has a long term injury.

Scott started through the middle for us on Saturday so presumably you would include him too then?

davhibby
JET
Ramirez
Watkins

Nisbet
Doidge (injured)

Nisbet will be fit for Saturday

Supposedly asked about him . Heard we asked about a championship striker also. If it's true I'm guessing knocked back for both

Ha - if this comes off (which I seriously doubt as I only plucked SF's name from thin air, could have easily said Deeks), I'm gonna claim i was ITK all along!

31-08-2021, 08:54 PM
Scott started through the middle for us on Saturday so presumably you would include him too then?

No cos then it would be 3-3 and that doesn’t work as a moan.

K-Zazu
31-08-2021, 08:54 PM
Cummings or Griffiths would have been a great signing

31-08-2021, 08:55 PM
Fletcher would be unbelievable business

Who?

AdidasHibernian
31-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Who?

Steven Fletcher I'm guessing?

31-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Doctor

31-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Doctor

We're trying to sign Dr Fletcher?

31-08-2021, 08:58 PM
We're trying to sign Dr Fletcher?

Norman Stanley

31-08-2021, 08:58 PM

I wouldn't personally, no. The idea of playing Scott upfront on his own in a derby, Aberdeen or against OF does not fill me with confidence. He reminds me a little bit of Kamberi. Player with good feet, no aerial presence and likely to get bullied by big physical CBs.

In my opinion he looks more like a wide player.

31-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Jambo McLaughlin is talking through a hole in his big fat erchie. He’s got nothing to say so spouts nonsense to keep some Hibby’s hanging on. Mueller is part of our January tonic.

31-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Should have signed griffiths or Cummings

Big mistake hibs

31-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Norman Stanley

'You will go to Hibernian for five years'

31-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Should have signed griffiths or Cummings

Big mistake hibs

It’s far to early to say if that was a mistake, LG aye Cummings no chance

31-08-2021, 09:02 PM
I wouldn't personally, no. The idea of playing Scott upfront on his own in a derby, Aberdeen or against OF does not fill me with confidence. He reminds me a little bit of Kamberi. Player with good feet, no aerial presence and likely to get bullied by big physical CBs.

In my opinion he looks more like a wide player.

Would the thought of playing Marley Watkins upfront on his own in a derby or against OF fill you with confidence?

31-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Interesting…

https://mobile.twitter.com/Football___Hub/status/1432810588271517698

31-08-2021, 09:03 PM
You mean the Wireless?? [emoji15][emoji12]

Naw he means the tranny :wink:

31-08-2021, 09:04 PM
Interesting…

I need my kip! Get on with it, transfer people!

Silky
31-08-2021, 09:04 PM

What position do they play?

31-08-2021, 09:05 PM
Interesting…

Just repeating the BBC updates I think. Did the same for the Jambos.

What position do they play?

One for anyone older than 35 I guess. 😉

Would the thought of playing Marley Watkins upfront on his own in a derby or against OF fill you with confidence?

Probably not but he is 10 years more experienced than Scott which should probably help him with game management type stuff at the very least.

[emoji12]

I actually love and hate transfer deadline day. Ow to be a fly on the wall at EM right now

mal
JET
Ramirez
Watkins

Nisbet
Doidge (injured)

You missed the bit where I said that if you included Watkins you would also need to include Scott, Mackay and Gullan? You said "attackers", not "strikers". You also specifically said "Fit or otherwise".

It’s far to early to say if that was a mistake, LG aye Cummings no chanceSets him up nicely for an "I told you so" though.

K-Zazu
31-08-2021, 09:06 PM
I actually love and hate transfer deadline day. Ow to be a fly on the wall at EM right now

Probably away hame

31-08-2021, 09:07 PM
Probably away hame

Working from home 😁

AdidasHibernian
31-08-2021, 09:08 PM
So are we expecting an announcement late on?

Exclusive by Robert Martin

Hibs have made a late attempt to prise Dylan Tait from Raith Rovers before the window closes.

According to our favourite Jambo reporter at the Beeb Brian McL Hearts business is complete but Hibs are still looking to sign a striker before midnight. Sounds like an Abba song :rolleyes:

31-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Dylan Tait from Raith.

Very good young player but not what we need.

https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/status/1432811921158381576

You missed the bit where I said that if you included Watkins you would also need to include Scott, Mackay and Gullan? You said "attackers", not "strikers". You also specifically said "Fit or otherwise".

Did I? "If you're planning to include 20 year old Austin Samuels in your list you really also need to include Scott, Mackay and Gullan on the Hibs' side."

I left all of those players out (both sides). Don't count 20 year olds with very little game time as senior pros.

Yes, I said fit or otherwise hence why I included Doidge who is injured.

I know id love to have been a spy in the camp at EM today

I don't think we need a fourth keeper and think Jim has retired by now ..

31-08-2021, 09:10 PM

Hibs have made a late attempt to prise Dylan Tait from Raith Rovers before the window closes.

Another midfielder? Really not what we need right now.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/2392465/dylan-tait-verdict-hibs-and-scotland-kevin-nisbet-raith-rovers-regan-hendry/amp/

An actual signing is beginning to look....improbable.

Dylan Tait from Raith.

Very good young player but not what we need.Why not if he's very good?

31-08-2021, 09:11 PM

Gullan in opposite direction??

21sMay
31-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Maybe looking to push magennis further forward

31-08-2021, 09:12 PM
According to our favourite Jambo reporter at the Beeb Brian McL Hearts business is complete but Hibs are still looking to sign a striker before midnight. Sounds like an Abba song :rolleyes:

Possibly won't due to the lack of Money, Money, Money.

31-08-2021, 09:12 PM
Maybe looking to push magennis further forward

Any further forward and he will spend the 2nd half in behind the goals

hibbydog
31-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Kris Boyd trying to look comfortable on the couch next to Paul Merson.

Doesn’t have the wit or the playing credentials to lace the guys boots, never mind try to be a pundit next to him.

Complete weapon

itslegaltender
Dylan Tait from Raith? https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7491600/transfer-deadline-day-live-celtic-rangers-news-hibs-hearts-spfl/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1630443956

I suggested Tait back at the start of the window as someone I liked but never thought we’d be signing him based on the midfielders we already have.

Magennis
Allan
Newell
Gogic
JDH
Hallberg
Campbell

All can play centre mid already.

Probably the last position we need.

21sMay
Kris Boyd trying to look comfortable on the couch next to Paul Mersin.

Doesn’t have the wit or the playing credentials to lace the guys boots, never mind try to be a pundit next to him.

Complete weapon

Can't stand watching him . He doesn't even have the knowledge to mix it with the guys he sitting with .

31-08-2021, 09:14 PM
12 hours ago I was raging at the thought of Calum Hendry. Now it seems like a decent option.

And in the last hour we are getting excited by that BBC balloon McLaughlin mentioning Mueller when it looks like it might be a young Raith midfielder 🤣🤣🤣

Complete weapon

Sorry but Merson seems to get away with just waffling absolute gibberish

Mr. Wonderful
I suggested Tait back at the start of the window as someone I liked but never thought we’d be signing him based on the midfielders we already have.

Magennis
Allan
Newell
Gogic
JDH
Hallberg
Campbell

All can play centre mid already.

Probably the last position we need.

Unless one of those is heading out..

Yes please

Why not if he's very good?

I love the type of singing like Daniel Mackay and Dylan Tait but if I can moan for the sake of it, why is it a last ditch attempt to sign him? We’re not desperate for someone in that position and surely going for him this late won’t be welcome by Raith who have no time to replace him?

I just mean in terms of what we need right now.

He’s a very good young player but as I said before we have lots of options in centre mid but desperately lacking upfront.

Gaffer1875
31-08-2021, 09:15 PM

Complete weapon

Surprised Sky haven’t poached Michael Stewart, arguably the best Scottish pundit we have.

Surely we can’t go with just Scott and Nisbet until Christmas

berwickhibee
Superb v Aberdeen.

He's a mobile, aggressive talented boy.
Jamie Gullan will be going to raith as part of the deal I would think.

Happy with this, always room for talented Scottish players, and plenty time for improvement.

I would take Callum Hendry.

Big strong boy who puts himself about and is decent in the air.

31-08-2021, 09:16 PM

Exactly, if he's good then get him in

31-08-2021, 09:16 PM

He’s mince

31-08-2021, 09:17 PM

Watched a 20 second YouTube clip of his St Johnstone goals earlier. Not sure he's very good tbh.

HendoDelivered
We aint signing no striker troops.

Why do we urgently need a 19 year old midfielder at his time?

Superb v Aberdeen.

He's a mobile, aggressive talented boy.
Jamie Gullan will be going to raith as part of the deal I would think.

Happy with this, always room for talented Scottish players, and plenty time for improvement.

Stood out against us in preseason too.

31-08-2021, 09:18 PM
We aint signing no striker troops.

Yes, I agree, we’ll definitely be getting a striker in.

31-08-2021, 09:19 PM

Maybe we don't urgently want him, maybe we are chancing our luck with a last minute bid or throwing in Gullane for a highly rated young player

Surprised Sky haven’t poached Michael Stewart, arguably the best Scottish pundit we have.

Yes but he didn't play for either Rangers or Celtic, so not a chance Sky would consider him - they only want pundits who can talk about the Gruesome twosome, no other Scottish clubs are on their radar.

I think we're trying to sign the full set of every centre mid in Scotland.

31-08-2021, 09:20 PM
Why do we urgently need a 19 year old midfielder at his time?Maybe because we rate him and we think we can get him now?

31-08-2021, 09:20 PM
Maybe we don't urgently want him, maybe we are chancing our luck with a last minute big or throwing in Gullane for a highly rated young player

Can't see us including Gullan as it's looking like we're not signing another striker.

31-08-2021, 09:21 PM

We don’t. I think he’s one for the future. Good to see JR thinking ahead.

He's very good and might fit into some kind of transfer jigsaw. A bit late right enough as you'd assume we'd be trying to get the likes of Wright out on loan considering how many midfielders we've got.

Watched a 20 second YouTube clip of his St Johnstone goals earlier. Not sure he's very good tbh.

I don’t think he’s brilliant by any stretch.

But the season before COVID he started doing well then for whatever reason last he never got a game but got a move to Aberdeen.

He’d be a good, cheap option to have off the bench incase anything happened to Nisbet and Scott and would fill the Doidge void.

Even 6 months until Doidge is back and Mueller is in

31-08-2021, 09:22 PM
All a bit Meh! Bed time!

31-08-2021, 09:22 PM
Maybe Jack has been on the phone to Pep and decided a strikerless formation is an option if Nisbet gets injured?

31-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Can't see us including Gullan as it's looking like we're not signing another striker.

Might not sign a striker tonight but that doesn't mean we haven't been trying, there will be plenty of them on a free from tomorrow and let's face it we only need a big lump who can hold the ball up and offer something a wee bit different until Doidge is back

Maybe because we rate him and we think we can get him now?

Maybe he'll stay at Raith on loan🤔

Maybe we don't urgently want him, maybe we are chancing our luck with a last minute bid or throwing in Gullane for a highly rated young playerCould be. Hibs are playing a long game here and this could be a great piece of business.

21sMay
I don’t think he’s brilliant by any stretch.

But the season before COVID he started doing well then for whatever reason last he never got a game but got a move to Aberdeen.

He’d be a good, cheap option to have off the bench incase anything happened to Nisbet and Scott and would fill the Doidge void.

Even 6 months until Doidge is back and Mueller is in

Totally agree . Still young and time to improve

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2021, 09:24 PM
These muppets on sky sports manage to give the required information, all the while giving the impression they haven’t heard of any of the players mentioned.

Really strange vibe.

Could we be signing him and loaning him back for the season if we don't need him now?

I quite like the idea of having new arrivals for the start of pre-season next summer.

He's not going to progress more by struggling to get into our team than he would playing for Raith every week.

Cheshire Hibee
Possibly one more deal according to the BBC??

Posted at 21:3321:33
'Hibs hopeful of one more deal'

Brian McLauchlin
BBC Sport Scotland
Hibernian are still hopeful of one more deal to be completed before the midnight deadline.

The Easter Road club have already signed Middlesbrough defender Nathan Wood on loan today.

Head coach Jack Ross secured the services of Chris Mueller from Orlando City on a pre-contract earlier this summer, with the American set to join the club in January.

However, could the attacker be making his move to Leith this transfer window?

SloopJB
31-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Treading carefully through this thread in case I stand on someone’s bottom lip.
Getting more difficult though.

31-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Please sign a striker Hibs. More fit goalkeepers than strikers is criminal.

31-08-2021, 09:27 PM

When you put it like that it really is crazy.

Maybe we don't urgently want him, maybe we are chancing our luck with a last minute bid or throwing in Gullane for a highly rated young player

Agree and maybe if we don’t get him just now he may be off elsewhere and this is a chance to secure him.

Definitely a good investment and Hibs type signing

BegbieHSC
Hopefully our social media team are currently stationed in the Edinburgh airport arrivals lounge, prepping a video of a plane touching down from the US…

31-08-2021, 09:29 PM
Celtic sign Jota on loan from Benfica with option to buy

Jota is a promising lad (21/22 cant remember which) he came through Benfica's youth system hes only played a handful of games for Benfica's first team and spent last season on loan at Vallalodid in Spain. Promise rather than proven.

31-08-2021, 09:29 PM

Yeah how dare we be covered in a totally different yet critical position, it's shocking!

31-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Hopefully our social media team are currently stationed in the Edinburgh airport arrivals lounge, prepping a video of a plane touching down from the US…

Can someone go to the airport now please 😂😂🙏🏼

31-08-2021, 09:31 PM

Ouch..

31-08-2021, 09:32 PM
The ultimate piss take would be a teaser that a big announcement was coming out and then…… tickets available to the next murder mystery night at ER

Really is piss poor if we don’t sign another striker tonight. JR has wanted one in for ages.

Jason Kerr to Wigan confirmed by St J.

Which will then disgorge an entire plane load of freshly signed central midfielders - one from each US state...

Magpie
31-08-2021, 09:33 PM
Jason Kerr to Wigan confirmed by St J.

Out of Europe and lost one of their best players. Brilliant.

Gaffer1875
31-08-2021, 09:34 PM
Can someone go to the airport now please [emoji23][emoji23][emoji1374]

I landed in EDI about 90 mins ago and can confirm it was dead [emoji38]

Where is The Cat ?

Jason Kerr to Wigan - CONFIRMED.

31-08-2021, 09:35 PM
I thought that we'd go for Kerr if we lost Porteous.

It'll be interesting to see how he gets on down there.

I think he's a cracking player.

Huge loss for St Johnstone.

SloopJB
31-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Really is piss poor if we don’t sign another striker tonight. JR has wanted one in for ages.

Must be equally piss poor that other clubs haven’t signed Nisbet, Boyle or Doig when they were reportedly wanted by other clubs.
Their fans must be dam well fizzing.

31-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Tait to be signed and loaned back. Doesn’t sound like anything else will happen.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/dylan-tait-in-late-night-dash-for-hibs-move-as-raith-kid-identified-as-one-for-future-3366468

Someone said earlier it would have to be via Dublin but a plane touching down is enough for me

Magpie
Tait would stay on loan at Raith if he was to come apparently.

He's very good and might fit into some kind of transfer jigsaw. A bit late right enough as you'd assume we'd be trying to get the likes of Wright out on loan considering how many midfielders we've got.

Once I stopped reacting and allowed my brain to function I also came up with the transfer jigsaw.
Here we go, we want the kid Tait and they want Gullan but won't do the deal unless we have another striker teed up. We now have another striker on the launch pad so are ready to do the deal with Raith at the same time as the other striker deal goes through. Tait to stay at Raith on loan.
What da ya reckon to them potatoes?

31-08-2021, 09:37 PM

If we didn't get one in then obviously my main concern would be for what it would mean for us on the park, but also of concern would be the effect that it might have on Ross.

He won't be happy.

Not resigning unhappy, but enough to sow a bit of doubt about whether or not the backing he receives matches the expectation we all have.

31-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Well let’s hope Nisbet or James Scott don’t pick up a serious injury

Not good enough hibs

King Cosell
Probably nothing in it but a few West Ham fans on Twitter think Josh Doig is on the cards.

Even a Craig Brewster type signing an auld heid someone like Steven Fletcher would pacify the masses
😃

kevinc
I think we're trying to sign the full set of every centre mid in Scotland.

Really?

Once I stopped reacting and allowed my brain to function I also came up with the transfer jigsaw.
Here we go, we want the kid Tait and they want Gullan but won't do the deal unless we have another striker teed up. We now have another striker on the launch pad so are ready to do the deal with Raith at the same time as the other striker deal goes through. Tait to stay at Raith on loan. What da ya reckon?

Hopefully that's the case

JammyDoidger
31-08-2021, 09:39 PM
If we didn't get one in then obviously my main concern would be for what it would mean for us on the park, but also of concern would be the effect that it might have on Ross.

He won't be happy.

Not resigning unhappy, but enough to sow a bit of doubt about whether or not the backing he receives matches the expectation we all have.

He got a striker? He got scott? And he kept nisbet and other key assets..he has to be pleased with that..not Ron Gordon's fault that doidge got injured.

Out of Europe and lost one of their best players. Brilliant.

Loving your single minded loathing.

Come on Hibs.

Ross had said he wants more defensive and striking options for a good while.

Not giving him much chance going into the season with 2 fit strikers. One of them being a 21 year old with about 30 first team appearances

Here we go, we want the kid Tait and they want Gullan but won't do the deal unless we have another striker teed up. We now have another striker on the launch pad so are ready to do the deal with Raith at the same time as the other striker deal goes through. Tait to stay at Raith on loan.
What da ya reckon to them potatoes?

Hope so

tonyrougier123
Terrible window if that’s it! Becoming a regular thing.

GreenPJ
31-08-2021, 09:40 PM
Probably nothing in it but a few West Ham fans on Twitter think Josh Doig is on the cards.

Well they only have 20 mins to get the deal done on their side. I would take it if they loaned him back for the season.

Wakeyhibee
Striker is a must but do people just want any old striker if we cant get the targets we're after? (I'm presuming we have)

There will be ones available on loan after tonight. The alternative is what sell KN and get 2 in?

St J replacement for Kerr coming from Brighton. Lars Dendoncker.

31-08-2021, 09:41 PM
Still hoping for a striker as well as Tait - Moira Gordon.

Signed a 31 year old goalie from Clyde
19 year old centre half from England on loan

Quite possibly the biggest anti climax in modern day era for hibs transfer deadline days

Jeez

https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/1432820399990050822?s=21

:hyper

Striker is a must but do people just want any old striker if we cant get the targets we're after? (I'm presuming we have)

There will be ones available on loan after tonight. The alternative is what sell KN and get 2 in?

Can't take players on loan after the window closes. We can only look at out of contract free transfers.

Not good enough hibs

And every other club in the league would also be hoping that 2 of their first team strikers don’t get injured too.

What are you looking for them to do, sign players on an ‘if players get injured’. Would those players be expected to be first team starts or just back up?

31-08-2021, 09:42 PM
Someone said earlier it would have to be via Dublin but a plane touching down is enough for me

He doesn’t actually need to be here.

Not good enough hibs

Let’s hope Scott can score some goals..

If I was playing against Hibs stop Boyle and Nisbet and you will probably beat us.

Magpie
Loving your single minded loathing.

Quite possibly the biggest anti climax in modern day era for hibs transfer deadline days

Jeez

Should we just slosh money about like confetti because it would be more exciting?

Mueller?

Hendry?

Fletcher?

31-08-2021, 09:43 PM

If someone said we’d keep Doig, Boyle, Porteous and Nisbet at the start of the window I wouldn’t have believed them. So hasn’t been terrible but definitely a striker short.

I’d like to have seen us try to sign Tony Watt

On no planet can it be considered terrible. Have kept all our players some of whom were expected to go. If we don't get striker we will pick up a journeyman target man I assume.

[emoji23]

https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/1432820399990050822?s=21

Shes the gob ***** that said we’d be seeing lots of movement.

And every other club in the league would also be hoping that 2 of their first team strikers don’t get injured too.

What are you looking for them to do, sign players on an ‘if players get injured’. Would those players be expected to be first team starts or just back up?

That’s generally what clubs do. Sign back ups or competition for places. If we only have two we don’t have back ups or competition

Is it? Seems like we've built a very good squad over the last couple of seasons.

31-08-2021, 09:44 PM
AnnounceBigScreens

Should we just slosh money about like confetti because it would be more exciting?

Well not so much money but other clubs are signing players

Ross has said for weeks if not closer to a month he needs a centre half and striker and yet here we are.

Have our EPL partners Brighton not got anyone they want to loan out to us for a bit of toughening up?

Is she any good?

AnnounceBigScreens

Is it a loan deal?

31-08-2021, 09:45 PM

Jeez

Signing Mueller early probably got folks hopes up. If he was last folk would be a little more excited.

Gaffer1875
Does Greg Stewart have a club yet?

Silky
Let’s hope Scott can score some goals..

If I was playing against Hibs stop Boyle and Nisbet and you will probably beat us.

Why has nobody done that yet this season?

GreenPJ
31-08-2021, 09:46 PM

Ross has said for weeks if not closer to a month he needs a centre half and striker and yet here we are.

And we have signed both (albeit one isn't scheduled to arrive until Jan)

Girls don't like boys girls like Simon Murray.....

Is it a loan deal?

Yeah, back to currys at the end of the season

BoyledEgg
Ali McCann to Preston

Magpie

Playing in India.

He got a striker? He got scott? And he kept nisbet and other key assets..he has to be pleased with that..not Ron Gordon's fault that doidge got injured.

Not blaming Ron Gordon here at all.

But we've got 2 fit strikers, if you could say at the moment that Nisbet is fit (he's carrying a knock). One of those is James Scott and the jury is out as to whether or not he's a wide player or a striker.

What if Jack Ross wants to play 2 up front? What if that doesn't go according to plan, or one of those strikers gets injured or plays utter keech?

This isn't a situation that is highly unlikely to happen over the course of a season.

I feel we've already let the manager down with what he had to choose from to change the game in Croatia.

We might get away with it, but I'd think we'd be hanging the manager out to dry a bit if we didn't help him out here.

We're a player short here. Just the one. A striker.

Is it a loan deal?

More likely to be a rental.....

sean04
31-08-2021, 09:47 PM
St Johnstone losing Kerr and McCann

Yes team in India

He’s brought in a striker and a centre half? Scott and Wood?

Other teams are chucking contracts about because they need the players, we have kept the squad together, something I would be astounded at if you suggested that at the end of last season.

It’s not over until the Hibs Twitter tweets.

Alan Nixon tweets

Preston. About to close a deal for Ali McCann at St Johnstone. Wants to come to England.

Shes the gob ***** that said we’d be seeing lots of movement.

She talks oot her erchie when in reality she hasn't got a clue what's going on

mayo hibee
St Johnstone losing Ali McCann now as well. Tough night for them.

He won't be happy.

Not resigning unhappy, but enough to sow a bit of doubt about whether or not the backing he receives matches the expectation we all have.Jack Ross isn't remote from the the recruitment process, he's a big part of it. There could well have been strikers available that he didn't want.

As long as the board didn't shift the goalposts in terms of budget, I don't think Ross will be angry. Probably just frustrated like the rest of us.

Silky
31-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Is she any good?

Better than Richard Gordon.

AugustaHibs
Mods boot the guests please. Site is painful tonight

Yep went to Indian Super League.

If we don’t get someone in up front then Boyle will be utilised there and a hopefully soon fit Cadden on the right.

Or Drey Wright getting a run out in his favoured position

Magpie
Ali McCann to Preston

St Johnstone losing Kerr and McCann? Keep them coming.

31-08-2021, 09:49 PM
Mods, can we make the board private, site is far too slow.

tonyrougier123
31-08-2021, 09:49 PM
If someone said we’d keep Doig, Boyle, Porteous and Nisbet at the start of the window I wouldn’t have believed them. So hasn’t been terrible but definitely a striker short.

I’d like to have seen us try to sign Tony Watt

I’m talking incomings bud.I get what your saying though.

31-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Not blaming Ron Gordon here at all.

But we've got 2 fit strikers, if you could say at the moment that Nisbet is fit (he's carrying a knock). One of those is James Scott and the jury is out as to whether or not he's a wide player or a striker.

What if Jack Ross wants to play 2 up front? What if that doesn't go according to plan, or one of those strikers gets injured or plays utter keech?

This isn't a situation that is highly unlikely to happen over the course of a season.

I feel we've already let the manager down with what he had to choose from to change the game in Croatia.

We might get away with it, but I'd think we'd be hanging the manager out to dry a bit if we didn't help him out here.

We're a player short here. Just the one. A striker.

Can’t disagree with that. Bad luck with the Doidge injury but we are definitely short. Don’t see us bringing anyone in now sadly.

Jack Ross is a big part of the recruitment process. There could well have been strikers available that he didn't want.

As long as the board didn't shift the goalposts in terms of budget, I don't think Ross will be angry. Probably just frustrated like the rest of us.

U tend to look on the positive side mate deep down I don't think JR will be happy if we don't sign another striker - he's been pretty clear about his desire to sign one for weeks now

21sMay
Even if we don't get the players in , it seems we have definitely tried our hardest to get signings in

Souter96Mac
31-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Anyone take Brian Graham back til January?

AnnounceBigScreens

Due to the financial implications of the pandemic, a wee screen is all we can afford. If it breaks we have no replacement in reserve 😂

St Johnstone losing Ali McCann now as well. Tough night for them.

Hope it gets worse for them