View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
22-07-2021, 12:55 PM
Bumped into him in the car park at Easter road and said we are just about to announce a new player. Not sure if it’s on the pre contract or signing straight away. the guy is an absolute gentleman, took time to chat with my 8 year old daughter for ages[emoji3]Is it Mcrorie? [emoji848][emoji848][emoji51][emoji51]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
22-07-2021, 12:56 PM
I watch a lot of mls and listen to mls podcasts and if we pull this off then it will be a great signing. I would actually be surprised as he is one of the better players in the league and see his level as a Celtic/ Rangers more than us. He isn’t really a Boyle or Nisbet type, more of a Murphy type inside forward on the left but can play as a 10 or a 9 too. Not prolific but dynamic and dangerous. Really good player and only 24!
The standard of the MLS is easily better than in Scotland. Squads don’t have depth but there are some very good players both homegrown and imported from South America. It’s an interesting move from the player and the club. Let’s see how it pans out.
Great bit of business by the club. He sounds like a really exciting signing. How does he compare with Ramirez the striker that the sheepies have signed?
BegbieHSC
22-07-2021, 12:58 PM
Brilliant reading that. The second coming to second rate in four pages
They’ve now hit the despair and depression stage of their transfer rumour progression:
“ Am I the only one happy we aren’t signing anyone? I don’t want us bringing anyone in whilst Neilson has a say in it.
This season for me is get rid of a lot of the dross, hopefully finish about 9/10th, get rid of neilson and the rest of the dross. Then move forward with a new manager and some signings next season.
No point bringing in yet another raft of ***** players on big deals that our new manager will be lumbered with. ”
Absolute magic.
22-07-2021, 12:59 PM
:hyper
22-07-2021, 12:59 PM
They’ve now hit the despair and depression stage of their transfer rumour progression:
“ Am I the only one happy we aren’t signing anyone? I don’t want us bringing anyone in whilst Neilson has a say in it.
This season for me is get rid of a lot of the dross, hopefully finish about 9/10th, get rid of neilson and the rest of the dross. Then move forward with a new manager and some signings next season.
No point bringing in yet another raft of ***** players on big deals that our new manager will be lumbered with. ”
Absolute magic.
It’s quite incredible they continue to plough money in through FoH and ST’s for the return they’ve had in recent years
22-07-2021, 01:00 PM
Bumped into him in the car park at Easter road and said we are just about to announce a new player. Not sure if it’s on the pre contract or signing straight away. the guy is an absolute gentleman, took time to chat with my 8 year old daughter for ages😀
Love that.
22-07-2021, 01:06 PM
Can we agree that Mueller would tick both the 'from left field' and 'marquee signing' boxes? ✅
Greenworld
22-07-2021, 01:07 PM
Aye and they only want to give us Half a Loaf
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI would not be adverse to 3 million up front with add ons getting it up to closer to the 5 .
I would not be happy of loosing the chance of going to one of these clubs if i was doig .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
swin82
22-07-2021, 01:07 PM
Is it Mcrorie? [emoji848][emoji848][emoji51][emoji51]
Hahahaha 🤭🤣 he definitely confirmed it was meuller 😃
1875er
22-07-2021, 01:08 PM
If we sign Mueller will he be on "corners"....
Sorry....:rolleyes:
22-07-2021, 01:11 PM
Hibs twitter USA flag and pen. It's happening 😁
🇺🇸🖊️
22-07-2021, 01:11 PM
Yassss! It's happening.
RAC1875
22-07-2021, 01:16 PM
Looks like Mueller is about to be announced. I guess Louis is ITK.
Souter96Mac
22-07-2021, 01:16 PM
Probably the most excited I've been for a signing, especially having no knowledge of the lad 24hrs ago
22-07-2021, 01:17 PM
Hibs twitter USA flag and pen. It's happening [emoji16]
[emoji631][emoji2768]Back of the net!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210722/4873bbd6a9fa7058a4ab227452e8e5a4.jpg
22-07-2021, 01:18 PM
Did they tweet about it before or after it was posted on here? If it's after they've clearly just lifted it from here and tried to pass it off as their own which is a bit pathetic.
22-07-2021, 01:20 PM
I know we are trying to sign an American player but just don’t know if it’s this keeper or someone else.
I did say a couple weeks ago we were trying to sign an American. But this would make sense from the info given at the time by the source.
22-07-2021, 01:21 PM
I did say a couple weeks ago we were trying to sign an American. Wasn’t aware it was a Scottish player playing in MLS but this would make sense from the info given at the time by the source.
He isn’t Scottish?
RAC1875
22-07-2021, 01:22 PM
Did they tweet about it before or after it was posted on here? If it's after they've clearly just lifted it from here and tried to pass it off as their own which is a bit pathetic.
Definitely before mate
Earlydelivery
22-07-2021, 01:22 PM
I put it up about 100% signed … then seen his Twitter account about it 10 minutes later 😂
22-07-2021, 01:23 PM
He isn’t Scottish?
Sorry - makes even more sense now.
I was told American player at the time.
22-07-2021, 01:24 PM
Back of the net!
13 minutes now since that was posted. Aren't these teasers usually followed up just a couple of minutes later with the announcement?
:top marksFair play to the lad!
You just said you didn’t realise it was a Scottish player playing in the MLS but would make sense based on the info you were given
But now that he’s back to being an American it makes even more sense?
None of that makes sense. Anyway, none of that matters. Very exciting signing
22-07-2021, 01:27 PM
You just said you didn’t realise it was a Scottish player playing in the MLS but would make sense based on the info you were given
Who cares? He could be North Korean. Big deal. Great bit of business from hibs.
HibsGW
22-07-2021, 01:28 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1418201266488967177?s=21
22-07-2021, 01:29 PM
Who is Louis? And when did he say we were signing him?
Not that it matters.
22-07-2021, 01:29 PM
Pre contract confirmed.
22-07-2021, 01:30 PM
:hyper
Steve88
22-07-2021, 01:31 PM
Mueller's value on TransferMarket is £3.1 million - I know there's a bit of give and take with these values, but still... Hibs just signed a £3 million player on a free..
BegbieHSC
It would be brilliant if we could get him in early.
Wonder if we’ll continue to try and sign him now
If we managed that and brought in McCart we’d be ready to rock, providing we didn’t lose anyone
22-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Well I am shocked that we’ve managed to get him. Thought he’d be well outwith our reach.
A very, very exciting signing.
22-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Fantastic from Hibs, the lad clearly had a lot of interested parties and we must have done a hell of a lot to get it over the line.
Welcome Mueller and looking forward to seeing you in the green and white. Hopefully we can get a deal agreed to get you in now instead of January.
Maybe I should listen to my mate more often that text me 😂
The Sundance Kid
22-07-2021, 01:33 PM
Any idea on the length of contract?
22-07-2021, 01:34 PM
No mention of the contract length?
22-07-2021, 01:34 PM
Any idea on the length of contract?
A4
22-07-2021, 01:35 PM
Sorry in all the excitement I put Scottish.
I posted on this thread - 02:17 PM 10-07-2021 that we were looking at an American.
Anyway welcome and looking forward to seeing him play.
22-07-2021, 01:36 PM
Excited at this signing, as another poster said hopefully we can get him in sooner.
HibsGW
22-07-2021, 01:38 PM
A4
Do you mean 4 year deal?
22-07-2021, 01:40 PM
Back of the net!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210722/4873bbd6a9fa7058a4ab227452e8e5a4.jpg
The best thing about that is the Arsenal fan that has been hanging about our tweets since we beat them.
1875godsgift
22-07-2021, 01:40 PM
Do you mean 4 year deal?
Foolscap
HibsGW
22-07-2021, 01:41 PM
Just seeing from his instagram, it looks like he’s written a book on sporting mindset type of stuff, it’s called Bet on Yourself.
RAC1875
22-07-2021, 01:41 PM
Who is Louis? And when did he say we were signing him?
Not that it matters.
Just a young lad on twitter that is ITK.
22-07-2021, 01:43 PM
Just seeing from his instagram, it looks like he’s written a book on sporting mindset type of stuff, it’s called Bet on Yourself.
Foreword by Ian Black?
22-07-2021, 01:45 PM
Foreword by Ian Black?
I think he did the foreword in "Facepainting - the life of a ***** footballer"
thegaffer12
22-07-2021, 01:46 PM
Supposedly his nickname in Orlando is the Money Badger, taken from his University team mascot. Source - an Orlando fan on Twitter.
22-07-2021, 01:48 PM
I'm sure I'm not the first to say....
His corners will be good.
22-07-2021, 01:50 PM
This is very good news. Zero risk signing who could do very well.
We continue to progress slowly but very positively forward with the Gordon, Mathie & Ross combo.
Keep it moving in the right direction and we should be catching fire in a years time.
The seethe and bitterness from my Jambo chums is superb. They think there is a chance they will hijack this and if they don’t he’s a pish player!
Mon Hibs get this announced
22-07-2021, 01:51 PM
Lots of replies from fans of other teams on social media who have no idea how we’ve managed this.
22-07-2021, 01:52 PM
The seethe and bitterness from my Jambo chums is superb. They think there is a chance they will hijack this and if they don’t he’s a pish player!
It has been announced!
Unless your Hearts pals think they’re going to sign him until January of course.
NYHibby
22-07-2021, 01:53 PM
Who cares? He could be North Korean. Big deal. Great bit of business from hibs.
His nationality makes a big difference in if he qualifies for a visa to play here. Because he is not in the US’s Gold Cup squad, he will have played in a very small percentage of the USNT’s games over the preceding 12 months. I wonder if other teams were concerned that he won’t qualify.
Let them dig a bigger hole first, but…
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/chris-mueller-to-join-hibs-from-orlando-city
Fifer
Pre contact confirmation on the Hibs website:flag::flag::flag:
It has been announced!
Unless your Hearts pals think they’re going to sign him until January of course.
Let them dig a bigger hole first, but…
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/chris-mueller-to-join-hibs-from-orlando-city
Oops how did I miss it. I’ve forwarded the link to them and don’t expect a response!
22-07-2021, 01:56 PM
I'm going to buy his book just the now.
22-07-2021, 01:57 PM
I would not be adverse to 3 million up front with add ons getting it up to closer to the 5 .
I would not be happy of loosing the chance of going to one of these clubs if i was doig .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
He seems level headed and has stated he is happy with us .I personally think he would be happy to stay with us this season and move on next season to a team where he would get game time
But If we get big enough fee that allows us to bank money ,and bring in another player then he will probably move on
Souter96Mac
22-07-2021, 01:58 PM
No mention of the contract length?
Potentially a good sign the club is trying to bring him in this window and sort out the length of deal
22-07-2021, 01:59 PM
I'm going to buy his book just the now.
He has a book? :hyper :hyper
22-07-2021, 01:59 PM
When is Charleston (Charlie?) Battery joining us?
Is he a January signing, is he on a free or are we being charged? Could be a very positive signing and help energise our push got third place and maybe bring a trophy ohm?
1875er
22-07-2021, 02:02 PM
Foreword by Ian Black?
:not worth:not worth:not worth Bravo Sir!!!:top marks
22-07-2021, 02:04 PM
He posted about the guy after it was on here😂😂😂
22-07-2021, 02:06 PM
The discontent this signing is making amongst the hearts fans is fantastic..
Lets hope for some panic buying on their side..!!:agree:
Love to hear that [emoji16]
22-07-2021, 02:07 PM
A4
He drives an Audi?
22-07-2021, 02:15 PM
:greengrin:greengrin
22-07-2021, 02:16 PM
Money Badger
LOVE IT
What’s this Louis boys Twitter acct
22-07-2021, 02:18 PM
What’s this Louis boys Twitter acct
My guess would be @RAC1875…
22-07-2021, 02:21 PM
He drives an Audi?
That’s his signing on fee 😂
NYHibby
22-07-2021, 02:21 PM
His nationality makes a big difference in if he qualifies for a visa to play here. Because he is not in the US’s Gold Cup squad, he will have played in a very small percentage of the USNT’s games over the preceding 12 months. I wonder if other teams were concerned that he won’t qualify.
I'd be interested in someone explaining how he qualifies for a visa.
It is my understanding the SFA only counts World Cup and Gold Cup games and their qualifiers as competitive games for the US. Chris's two caps are only in friendlies. I don't see how playing in 0 competitive games qualifies him.
Are we taking a punt that he will play in enough World Cup qualifiers while he serves out his contract with Orlando?
22-07-2021, 02:23 PM
It is my understanding the SFA only counts World Cup and Gold Cup games and their qualifiers as competitive games for the US. Chris's two caps are only in friendlies. I don't see how playing in 0 competitive games qualifies him.
Are we taking a punt that he will play in enough World Cup qualifiers while he serves out his contract with Orlando?
Don't know the ins and outs, but I think it's a points system that considers more than just international caps. Presumably he qualifies in other ways.
You would think the club have looked into this and made the necessary enquiry as to his eligibility prior to him signing!
22-07-2021, 02:28 PM
Foolscap
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
22-07-2021, 02:29 PM
You would think the club have looked into this and made the necessary enquiry as to his eligibility prior to him signing!
Yeah, there's no danger we've signed him and are just hoping for the best on a work permit.
22-07-2021, 02:31 PM
When is Charleston (Charlie?) Battery joining us?
Is he a January signing, is he on a free or are we being charged? Could be a very positive signing and help energise our push got third place and maybe bring a trophy ohm?
Watt are you talking about?
22-07-2021, 02:33 PM
Still no idea on how many years Mueller has signed up for?
Yeah, there's no danger we've signed him and are just hoping for the best on a work permit.
You just can’t see that happening tbh!
I’m hoping we are in negotiations to get him in for a nominal fee before the season starts. No doubt he’ll be match fit anyway!
22-07-2021, 02:37 PM
I’d guess if the striker Aberdeen signed got a work permit Mueller will be ok too.
22-07-2021, 02:39 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:top marks
22-07-2021, 02:43 PM
This looks a very exciting and imaginative signing by Hibs. Something to look forward to.:thumbsup:
22-07-2021, 02:43 PM
I wonder what the reason for no announcement on contract length is? Possibly because we are trying to get him in this window which would make it a longer deal.
22-07-2021, 02:45 PM
NHC
Kai Kennedy has signed for Dunfermline on loan from Rangers
A tiny wee hamster of a guy from the Jimmy Johnstone, Willie Henderson mould.
Dunfermline getting ready for the fight.
Will be a competitive league this season with Dunf, Killie, Hamilton, Inverness, Raith etc.
Think Killie will win it based on recruitment.
Will the arse fall out of Hamilton?
22-07-2021, 02:46 PM
Heard we are trying to sign Declan Rice too so we can have the Mueller Rice combo.:greengrin
22-07-2021, 02:51 PM
There’s a new points based system which has come in post-Brexit. It’s quite complicated and there are lots of factors involved. Plenty information on google if you want to try and calculate how many points he has.
22-07-2021, 02:52 PM
Heard we are trying to sign Declan Rice too so we can have the Mueller Rice combo.:greengrin
NYHibby
22-07-2021, 02:55 PM
I’d guess if the striker Aberdeen signed got a work permit Mueller will be ok too.
The difference is that the USNT had not played a competitive match in the 12 months (23 months if CONCACAF's Nations League doesn't count) before Aberdeen's signing was announced. Where as the Gold Cup is going on right now and Mueller is not playing in those games.
Pace, pace & more pace! Defenders hate forwards running right at them! Seems that's way forward (literally) for us. A very exciting signing & I thought the poster who referenced the similarity to Jamie Mackie was spot on. Well done Hibs!
22-07-2021, 03:04 PM
When will Ron the Con start delivering? Taking us for a ride and all us Hobos are delusional
22-07-2021, 03:07 PM
Easy with the puns, lads. The way some folk react here, you’ld think their sense of humour had desserted them.
22-07-2021, 03:08 PM
I wonder what the reason for no announcement on contract length is? Possibly because we are trying to get him in this window which would make it a longer deal.
He seems very highly rated. I'd guess (guess being the word) that he's on a short contract with the option of leaving if a bid is placed for him. If you believe Hearts fans he was an EPL player in the making, that's before we signed him right enough.
22-07-2021, 03:09 PM
Correct
22-07-2021, 03:12 PM
Easy with the puns, lads. The way some folk react here, you’ld think their sense of humour had desserted them.
:faint: :greengrin
Green_one
22-07-2021, 03:18 PM
All very well but if it has upset the Hearts fans then I am unhappy
I do hope they reassure me the guy is rubbish anyway
22-07-2021, 03:50 PM
Hopefully this guy isn't another Emerson Hyndman. Technically he was very good, but just didn't compete well enough. I've watched a couple of MLS games, and it always seemed like it was played at a friendly pace.
22-07-2021, 03:56 PM
More excited than I should be about a player I've never heard of.
Seems like the real deal, he's not a youngster surplus to Orlando's requirements, they wanted to keep him.
I'm confident he'll be with us before January, just need to agree a figure I guess.
Well played Hibs.
BegbieHSC
22-07-2021, 03:57 PM
I see weirdo jambos have been editing his Wikipedia already.
Welcome to Edinburgh, kid. Our neighbours are ****** fannies.
22-07-2021, 04:00 PM
More excited than I should be about a player I've never heard of.
Seems like the real deal, he's not a youngster surplus to Orlando's requirements, they wanted to keep him.
I'm confident he'll be with us before January, just need to agree a figure I guess.
Well played Hibs.
Exactly my thinking....
SloopJB
22-07-2021, 04:01 PM
A4
'Like' button battered to hell and back.
22-07-2021, 04:02 PM
I see weirdo jambos have been editing his Wikipedia already.
Welcome to Edinburgh, kid. Our neighbours are ****** fannies.
They’re weirdos by default, you could have just said jambos.
Glad they’re spewing about this signing.
22-07-2021, 04:14 PM
Still no idea on how many years Mueller has signed up for?
Until he is sold
22-07-2021, 04:15 PM
Mueller has been a fan favorite in Orlando since being drafted sixth overall in the 2018 MLS SuperDraft. The Money Badger is among the most accomplished players in Orlando’s MLS history, scoring 21 goals and providing 18 assists in 108 appearances across all competitions.
What This Means for Orlando CityIt’s unfortunate that a deal couldn’t be reached and that Mueller will leave the club on a free transfer. Orlando City has addressed winger depth in the past few seasons, with both Alexander Alvarado and Silvester van der Water arriving in recent transfer windows. The Lions also have Homegrown Players Benji Michel and Jordan Bender, with the latter currently on loan with the Charlotte Independence in the USL Championship.
Aside from the disappointment in seeing a fan favorite leave without Orlando receiving anything for it, it’s an exciting possibility for Mueller. If there was ever a chance for him to try his hand in Europe, it was now, and he’s taking that leap. Let’s all enjoy Mueller’s last few months in purple as the club hopes to make a deep run in the postseason.
22-07-2021, 04:18 PM
Until he is sold
Not as strong as somone previous 'A4' effort. But thanks anyway.
22-07-2021, 04:28 PM
Hopefully this guy isn't another Emerson Hyndman. Technically he was very good, but just didn't compete well enough. I've watched a couple of MLS games, and it always seemed like it was played at a friendly pace.
Emerson Hyndman had never played in the MLS before joining Hibs.
Hibs07p
22-07-2021, 04:34 PM
Orlando City v phillidelphia at 00.30 on sky sports mix.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
22-07-2021, 04:39 PM
Ron the Con at it again by putting his hand in his pocket.
22-07-2021, 04:39 PM
Orlando City v phillidelphia at 00.30 on sky sports mix.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
good call
22-07-2021, 04:51 PM
I think Mueller is a very exciting signing, but is this paving the way for the departure of Martin Boyle ?
If it is then it's an excellent piece of business and great to see the club being proactive in replacing him...if it's not, then it's going to be some fight for the right wingers jersey !!
BegbieHSC
22-07-2021, 04:54 PM
I think Mueller is a very exciting signing, but is this paving the way for the departure of Martin Boyle ?
If it is then it's an excellent piece of business and great to see the club being proactive in replacing him...if it's not, then it's going to be some fight for the right wingers jersey !!
Absolutely. I’m assuming Cadden will be mainly considered as a RB now, and not a winger.
22-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Watching his YouTube videos he looks like he's also really comfortable on the left, so no reason he couldn't play in the same team as Boyle.
Wee Effen Bee
22-07-2021, 05:19 PM
Yogurt to hand it to the pun masters though.
Ron the Con at it again by putting his hand in his pocket.
Poor show indeed.
22-07-2021, 05:32 PM
When will Ron the Con start delivering? Taking us for a ride and all us Hobos are delusional
I definitely saw him at the club shop last week stuffing our hard earned cash into his pockets!
Someone who looked like him anyhow. Actually, come to think of it he was unpacking a box. And it was in my local supermarket.
22-07-2021, 05:34 PM
I’d like to think Hyndman was a total anomaly. He even had decent experience in England so should have been great for us, but somehow just wasn’t.
BegbieHSC
22-07-2021, 05:35 PM
Samson on the bench tonight 🙈. Wee bit short in bodies then, so could do with getting this lad in early.
Jambos really are a very strange bunch. My first thought when I saw the story was that it wouldn't be us he was signing for. Too leftfield, too much money etc. Their first thought is that he is definitely signing for them. Where the **** does this arrogance and complete lack of self awareness come from?
Watching his YouTube videos he looks like he's also really comfortable on the left, so no reason he couldn't play in the same team as Boyle.
He looks comfortable in the middle too tbh, if we were playing a 4-2-3-1 type set up.
22-07-2021, 05:36 PM
Samson on the bench tonight 🙈. Wee bit short in bodies then, so could do with getting this lad in early.
He won’t be playing in goals. 😂
22-07-2021, 05:40 PM
Jambos really are a very strange bunch. My first thought when I saw the story was that it wouldn't be us he was signing for. Too leftfield, too much money etc. Their first thought is that he is definitely signing for them. Where the **** does this arrogance and complete lack of self awareness come from?
The Famous will have signed at least 20 world class talents by the end of the window. We will just have to bow to their magnificence.
et_hibby
22-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Yogurt to hand it to the pun masters though.
Indeed, some of them McGinn-esque (Matt, not John 😉)
Rumble de Thump
22-07-2021, 06:03 PM
Decades of spending other people's money.
Indeed. He went from superstar to utter dug***** in a couple of hours!
22-07-2021, 06:33 PM
Jack Ross confirms we are continuing to try and get Mueller in sooner rather than later
22-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Jack Ross confirms we are continuing to try and get Mueller in sooner rather than later
Glad to hear it!
22-07-2021, 09:00 PM
I wonder what that will cost, maybe the Fare is Mueller's Pay Off? 😁
22-07-2021, 09:18 PM
That is outstanding 👏
LeithMike
22-07-2021, 09:25 PM
I wonder what that will cost, maybe the Fare is Mueller's Pay Off? [emoji16]We in for Cameron too?
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Percy Vere
22-07-2021, 09:41 PM
Some saying he’s a little light, but great at corners
Mr. Wonderful
22-07-2021, 09:43 PM
Someone with a 50/50 record on itk stuff told me tonight he's not the only American based player we're trying to sign.
22-07-2021, 09:48 PM
Someone with a 50/50 record on itk stuff told me tonight he's not the only American based player we're trying to sign.
Like the cut of your jib Mr Oagwibble.
That did cross my mind too when it was mentioned before it was a market we are keeping a close eye on.
Benny Brazil
22-07-2021, 10:03 PM
🤣 You win - that is outstanding!
22-07-2021, 10:05 PM
Outstanding :thumbsup:
22-07-2021, 10:17 PM
He won’t be playing in goals. 😂
22-07-2021, 10:21 PM
Chapeau!
23-07-2021, 07:00 AM
Apparently Levy has agreed to sell Kane to Man City
£160 million
Kane to get £400,000 per week
Paul Pogba appears to have rejected a new contract at Man Utd and could be PSG bound forn around £50 million
23-07-2021, 07:05 AM
£160 million
That's two signings in two days Hearts have missed out on, they will be fuming on Kickback - again.
23-07-2021, 07:06 AM
£160 million
Great signing for city. One that will see them win the league comfortably again imo
Souter96Mac
23-07-2021, 07:08 AM
£160 million
I wonder if this could create a bit of a knock on effect transfer wise.
Dream would be for a team, whether it's Spurs or someone else, to put in a handsome bid for SJM.
23-07-2021, 07:16 AM
I wonder if this could create a bit of a knock on effect transfer wise.
Dream would be for a team, whether it's Spurs or someone else, to put in a handsome bid for SJM.
Whilst McGinn is also a far better player, he could easily go to Spurs as a replacement/improvement on Sissoko who is nearly 32 now. If you want a powerful, mobile, all action midfielder in England then McGinn is your man.
23-07-2021, 07:17 AM
Chris Mueller 2020 highlight reel. Just have a watch of this (and he’s apparently even better this season):
https://youtu.be/2A5vHRHosgc
Looks like an astonishing signing tbh. He’s still only 24 as well. Can’t wait to see him play for us, hopefully we get him in this window!
23-07-2021, 07:24 AM
£160 million
Paul Pogba appears to have rejected a new contract at Man Utd and could be PSG bound forn around £50 million
I dont get the Pogba thing, he is lazy and half arsed player who has fleeting moments where he can be bothered. Man Utd supposedly offered him £350k a week! :confused:
£160 million
Man U need shot of Pogba, undoubtedly a superb player on his day but those days are few and far between for someone on his wage.
23-07-2021, 07:33 AM
I dont get the Pogba thing, he is lazy and half arsed player who has fleeting moments where he can be bothered. Man Utd supposedly offered him £350k a week! :confused:
I think Pogba would do well in a slower more technical league.
He’s an incredible footballer technique wise who doesn’t seem to want to run about daft like everyone else does in England. I don’t think it really suits him.
If he went to PSG I’d suspect he’d be more like the Pogba from Juve and France.
I think Pogba would do well in a slower more technical league.
He’s an incredible footballer technique wise who doesn’t seem to want to run about daft like everyone else does in England. I don’t think it really suits him.
If he went to PSG I’d suspect he’d be more like the Pogba from Juve and France.
He left Man U the 1st time after Fergie said he'd been disrespectful to the club in the way he moved to Juve, seemingly he'd organised the deal long before his contract was up without letting the club know his intentions.
My old man
23-07-2021, 07:51 AM
He left Man U the 1st time after Fergie said he'd been disrespectful to the club in the way he moved to Juve, seemingly he'd organised the deal long before his contract was up without letting the club know his intentions.
Personally I think he joins the list of very overrated players (tin hat on)
GG2TH
23-07-2021, 07:56 AM
Man U need shot of Pogba, undoubtedly a superb player on his day but those days are few and far between for someone on his wage.
His return to Utd has not worked out. Probably best for all parties for him to move on.
My old man
23-07-2021, 08:00 AM
Chris Mueller 2020 highlight reel. Just have a watch of this (and he’s apparently even better this season):
https://youtu.be/2A5vHRHosgc
Looks like an astonishing signing tbh. He’s still only 24 as well. Can’t wait to see him play for us, hopefully we get him in this window!
Just watched the tubereel boy is comfortable with both feet looks really really promising
GG2TH
23-07-2021, 08:00 AM
It’s mctominey and Fred that they need to replace more urgently.
BlackSheep
23-07-2021, 08:08 AM
It’s mctominey and Fred that they need to replace more urgently.
Nothing wrong with McTominey…. I’ll agree on Fred though.
23-07-2021, 08:15 AM
Nothing wrong with McTominey…. I’ll agree on Fred though.
Decent premier league player but not top end for a team wanting the title. Would Man City keep him in their team? No chance.
23-07-2021, 08:29 AM
Decent premier league player but not top end for a team wanting the title. Would Man City keep him in their team? No chance.
Agree.
I like McTominay and he’s by no means a bad player but he wouldn’t get into Chelsea, City or Liverpool’s team. If that’s who Man Utd want to compete with then they need better.
23-07-2021, 08:38 AM
Man City have players who wouldn't get in Uniteds team tbf. Zinchenko an obvious example. Mctominay fits United well and does a good job.
Agree.
I like McTominay and he’s by no means a bad player but he wouldn’t get into Chelsea, City or Liverpool’s team. If that’s who Man Utd want to compete with then they need better.
McTominay is a very decent central mid and would be a 1st team pick for almost every team in the EPL, is he a top 1st team Man U pick maybe not and Man U probably do need a couple of world class players in there. McTominay and Fred are perfectly good top EPL squad players and very good 1st team pick for any other team in that league.
23-07-2021, 08:48 AM
Man City have players who wouldn't get in Uniteds team tbf. Zinchenko an obvious example. Mctominay fits United well and does a good job.
Zinchenko doesn’t get in the Man City team very often either though.
Mr. Wonderful
23-07-2021, 10:16 AM
McTominay is a very decent central mid and would be a 1st team pick for almost every team in the EPL, is he a top 1st team Man U pick maybe not and Man U probably do need a couple of world class players in there. McTominay and Fred are perfectly good top EPL squad players and very good 1st team pick for any other team in that league.
Football isn't as simple as just chucking in the best players you need leaders and a good balance.
The best Man U teams of the last 2 decades had players like Fletcher, Park Ji Sung etc in them who made the team better as a whole. Mctominay is better than Fletcher was at this age.
23-07-2021, 10:51 AM
Football isn't as simple as just chucking in the best players you need leaders and a good balance.
The best Man U teams of the last 2 decades had players like Fletcher, Ji Sung Park etc in them who made the team better as a whole. Mctominay is better than Fletcher was at this age.
Dunno if I agree he’s better than Fletcher was at this age.
By McTominays age Fletcher had won the champions league, 3 league titles, an FA cup and a club World Cup. All in a team that was much harder to get a place in, than this current side.
Mr. Wonderful
23-07-2021, 11:27 AM
By McTominays age Fletcher had won the champions league, 3 league titles, an FA cup and a club World Cup. All in a team that was much harder to get a place in, than this current side.
Circumstantial really. Fletch came through with Sir Alex and SM has come through into a pale imitation of Man U as they were.
I agree. Whilst I think McTominay is a decent player, Fletcher is a step above imho!
23-07-2021, 11:33 AM
Two footed. Looks more like a striker than a winger in those clips.
berwickhibee
23-07-2021, 11:34 AM
Hope the Premier league goes tits up soon.
Obscene.
23-07-2021, 11:38 AM
No idea why the transfer thread is talking about Man Utd McTominay. We (HIBS) are in for McCart again - player exchange offered and cash.
23-07-2021, 11:40 AM
No idea why the transfer thread is talking about Man Utd McTominay. We (HIBS) are in for McCart again - player exchange offered and cash.
Nice! Another rumour.
Any idea of the player we've offered in exchange.
23-07-2021, 11:43 AM
St J manager was at the game last night
Great signing for city. One that will see them win the league comfortably again imo
Frankly the money involved is obscene, no other way to describe it.
23-07-2021, 12:01 PM
Maybe that’s why Wright was fired on at HT...
23-07-2021, 12:07 PM
McCart would be a fantastic addition, would be interesting where we would fit him in the squad.
David Bates would also be a good addition….
23-07-2021, 12:08 PM
Whilst McGinn is also a far better player, he could easily go to Spurs as a replacement/improvement on Sissoko who is nearly 32 now. If you want a powerful, mobile, all action midfielder in England then McGinn is your man.
If McGinn signs a contract extension with Villa, would our sell-on still apply you think?
I’m assuming it would and the only way we get nowt is if he simply walks away from Villa at the end of his contract?
23-07-2021, 12:13 PM
McCart would be a fantastic addition, would be interesting where we would fit him in the squad.
Can’t say I agree about Bates. Always thought he was a bit overrated.
23-07-2021, 12:14 PM
Is Bates available?
I agree that he'd be a good addition, not sure he'd be within our price range though.
I thought for a while that he and Porteous would end up being Scotland's centre half pairing for a good few years...
Is there a rumour about Bates UW!
Did someone else not mention last night that Mueller might not be the one not American we are looking at??
Nice one, thanks!!
23-07-2021, 12:23 PM
Glad to hear that
Wonder who the player we’ve offered is
23-07-2021, 12:30 PM
We definitely need another defender - still felt at times last night we got cut open a few times. We need more competition for places.
Midfield / Striker.
Being greedy I want another central midfielder- I can’t decide whether we need a player who has loads of energy getting in opposition faces and will be needed to mix it up or a flair player to rotate with Allan - even an experienced player who comes on and dictates the game / can chip in with some goals or an assist every so often. Maybe I’m dreaming of Latapy.
Another striker to go alongside what we have also - whether it’s an all round player or a fast nippy player like Ivan Sproule to go with Boyles speed or a Grant Holt type to hold up and link play..
23-07-2021, 12:36 PM
Not sure if this is an elephant in the room, blaspheme or just me talking ***** but anyone think we need a creative central midfielder to put a bit pressure on Scott Allans position?
I love the man and so much respect for what he’s come back from, not just the heart condition but his diabetes as well. It blows my mind he can be a professional sportsman while dealing with that condition.
That said though, taking the emotion out of it, I think he’s looked a good bit off the Scott Allan of old when I’ve seen him play. I’m not writing him off, I’m just not sure I’d like to be relying on him to be the player we all want him to be and I’m not seeing many other attacking creative central midfielders at the club just now?
23-07-2021, 12:39 PM
Glad to hear that
Wonder who the player we’ve offered is
Mackie, Gullan or Wright are the only 3 I can see it realistically being. Everyone else is an important first team squad member or a fringe youth player.
23-07-2021, 12:44 PM
Noticed there was a car sponsoring St Johnstone in the car park last night.
23-07-2021, 12:44 PM
Mackie, Gullan or Wright are the only 3 I can see it realistically being. Everyone else is an important first team squad member or a fringe youth player.
Darren Mcgregor is rumoured to have been offered to other clubs?
Would certainly do a job for a premier league side short term.
23-07-2021, 12:45 PM
Not sure if this is an elephant in the room, blaspheme or just me talking ***** but anyone think we need a creative central midfielder to put a bit pressure on Scott Allans position?
I love the man and so much respect for what he’s come back from, not just the heart condition but his diabetes as well. It blows my mind he can be a professional sportsman while dealing with that condition.
That said though, taking the emotion out of it, I think he’s looked a good bit off the Scott Allan of old when I’ve seen him play. I’m not writing him off, I’m just not sure I’d like to be relying on him to be the player we all want him to be and I’m not seeing many other attacking creative central midfielders at the club just now?
This was slightly my point - he rarely plays 90 which is understandable so we need someone to bring on late on in goals to add more creativity or see it the game by keeping the ball / showing experience under pressure.
23-07-2021, 12:48 PM
Maybe the only ones we would want it to be ….i expect other teams managers will want to trade for players who are also in or around our first team ..rather than only want the ones who are less likely to get game time
23-07-2021, 12:50 PM
You just know if Drey Wright goes back to St J he will score the winner against us and turn back into a decent player.
23-07-2021, 12:52 PM
Zinchenko doesn’t get in the Man City team very often either though.
He plays a good number of games. Top teams always have these kinds of players. Milner, Wes Brown, Edu, Joe Cole, Gareth Barry. Someone who comes in and does a good job.
23-07-2021, 12:52 PM
Would certainly do a job for a premier league side short term.I hope Hibs go for him[emoji6]
23-07-2021, 12:54 PM
Hallberg is the type of player I could see St Johnstone signing and us thinking he looks brilliant and shouldn’t have let go.
Don’t think we’d let him go though.
Wright, Gullan, Campbell and Bradley are the ones I could see.
23-07-2021, 12:54 PM
I think we need someone who can play when Allan is unavailable but we'd need to move at least one on I'd say. In an ideal world Newell could play there ahead of Magennis and Gogic, but not convinced that's the answer.
23-07-2021, 12:56 PM
Possibly, but I think Darren has his eye on a coaching role at Hibs at the end of this season. If he and Hibs came to an agreement that he could return to the club on that basis next year then it could be a goer.
23-07-2021, 12:57 PM
Maybe the only ones we would want it to be ….i expect other teams managers will want to trade for players who are also in or around our first team ..rather than only want the ones who are less likely to get game time
True but I suppose it also depends how much cash we are offering. If it's decent money plus someone like Gullan who has potential then it might interest them.
23-07-2021, 12:59 PM
True but I suppose it also depends how much cash we are offering. If it's decent money plus someone like Gullan who has potential then it might interest them.
Could do. They have Alistair Stevenson running their academy ..he will know our young players well ..anyone they want will be well considered and assessed ….
Hallberg is the type of player I could see St Johnstone signing and us thinking he looks brilliant and shouldn’t have let go.
Don’t think we’d let him go though.
Wright, Gullan, Campbell and Bradley are the ones I could see.
No chance we'll offer Bradley unless on loan. Conversely i think Hallberg would be the #1 option but as he's injured that probably rules that out.
23-07-2021, 01:09 PM
Mueller might play centrally?
Last season we often played a more orthodox 4-4-2 without a central attacking midfielder. The signing of Mackay made me think we were going back to playing with two wingers although I quite like the midfield 3.
23-07-2021, 01:14 PM
Possibly, but I think Darren has his eye on a coaching role at Hibs at the end of this season. If he and Hibs came to an agreement that he could return to the club on that basis next year then it could be a goer.
When he played, he was our best defender last season! Shouldn’t be going anywhere
23-07-2021, 01:17 PM
When he played, he was our best defender last season! Shouldn’t be going anywhere
Think the same. Even at his age he's a complete athlete and 100% has something to still offer at first team level. Even if that is only as cover when needed.
23-07-2021, 01:37 PM
On his day he probably is still our best centre half but he won't be able to play every week. If he stays we'll probably get 10-15 appearances from him.
23-07-2021, 01:49 PM
I think we need someone who can play when Allan is unavailable but we'd need to move at least one on I'd say. In an ideal world Newell could play there ahead of Magennis and Gogic, but not convinced that's the answer.
Always liked the look of that Stevie Mallan, wonder where he is now and could he do a job for us?
23-07-2021, 01:51 PM
I'm wondering if Ross sees Murphy as the back up /rotation option for the 'number 10' role. As we already have Boyle, Mackay, Wright, Bradley and potentially the American guy as options out wide.
23-07-2021, 01:53 PM
We definitely need another defender - still felt at times last night we got cut open a few times. We need more competition for places.
Midfield / Striker.
Being greedy I want another central midfielder- I can’t decide whether we need a player who has loads of energy getting in opposition faces and will be needed to mix it up or a flair player to rotate with Allan - even an experienced player who comes on and dictates the game / can chip in with some goals or an assist every so often. Maybe I’m dreaming of Latapy.
Another striker to go alongside what we have also - whether it’s an all round player or a fast nippy player like Ivan Sproule to go with Boyles speed or a Grant Holt type to hold up and link play..
Definitely the latter for me, could probably do with an alternative option to Allan to play behind the striker.
For the two deeper central midfield positions we already have Newell, Magennis, Gogic, Hallberg and Doyle-Hayes as options. Even if Hallberg goes I'm not sure we'll sign another central midfielder.
23-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Mmmm, I'd probably disagree. I think he done well in those 4/5 games. Its too small a sample size, though. I think Hanlon is clearly out best central defender.
Can't see Daz going anywhere, he's working with the kids and will move into the backroom team like Gray when he retires, great experience to have around the club.
I'd like McCart to come in, Hanlon won't last forever and we need plan B if he get either injured or he gets older like Gray and Daz, we have enough games this season where the squad will be needed. If St Johnstone are looking for a player/players in exchange possible Gullan and Campbell or possibly Wright.
23-07-2021, 02:19 PM
Mmmm, I'd probably disagree. I think he done well in those 4/5 games. Its too small a sample size, though. I think Hanlon is clearly out best central defender.
Clearly.
23-07-2021, 02:25 PM
He plays a good number of games. Top teams always have these kinds of players. Milner, Wes Brown, Edu, Joe Cole, Gareth Barry. Someone who comes in and does a good job.
I agree and if McTominey was that for Man U it might be ok but not a first pick. Man U need someone of the quality of ****e in there to bring out the best in Pogba.
23-07-2021, 02:26 PM
I hope not but you might well be correct. If Saints are possibly losing McCart and Rooney then they must be looking for defensive replacements.
23-07-2021, 02:27 PM
I agree and if McTominey was that for Man U it might be ok but not a first pick. Man U need someone of the quality of ****e in there to bring out the best in Pogba.
The wee French holding mid that plays for Chelsea.[emoji23]
23-07-2021, 02:27 PM
On his day he probably is still our best centre half but he won't be able to play every week. If he stays we'll probably get 10-15 appearances from him.
I don’t think there’s anything between the 3 centre halves, they’re as good as each other.
I’d be inclined to play McGregor more than we have been though, he has other attributes he can bring to the table when he does play, and I think the other 2 should be prepared to sit out the odd game when our schedule gets tight.
Is that meant to be Kan te, can't believe it starred out Kan t. :greengrin
23-07-2021, 02:29 PM
If we allow Darren McGregor to leave when there is every chance Porteous could move on if a good offer came in, then someone would really have to explain the logic in that.
23-07-2021, 02:32 PM
Always liked the look of that Stevie Mallan, wonder where he is now and could he do a job for us?
Probably out of our price range
23-07-2021, 02:34 PM
If we allow Darren McGregor to leave when there is every chance Porteous could move on if a good offer came in, then someone would really have to explain the logic in that.
Fair chance Daz will want to play more.
Mr. Wonderful
23-07-2021, 03:03 PM
Is there a rumour about Bates UW!
Did someone else not mention last night that Mueller might not be the one not American we are looking at??
Me. Don't think master Bates is a yank though?
23-07-2021, 03:11 PM
If we were to let McGregor go to bring in McCart it makes sense because we are bringing in a younger CB who could improve and we could sell on for profit
If we were to let Porteous go it would be for a good fee and to allow him to progress his career. We would then replace Porteous, using part of the money we received for him, with another young CB who we could improve and sell on for profit in the future.
I don’t see what’s not to get?
23-07-2021, 03:29 PM
Any chance of Efe ending up at Tincastle? They are apparently looking for a left sided centre half although whether they have any cash to spend to even offer up a contract is another matter.
What makes you think they can’t find money! They will just spend whatever and owe it to themselves!
I do however wonder if that’s the main reason they’ve not signed anyone of note!
23-07-2021, 03:55 PM
He's right footed and plays on the right side of the defence?
If we were to let McGregor go to bring in McCart it makes sense because we are bringing in a younger CB who could improve and we could sell on for profit
If we were to let Porteous go it would be for a good fee and to allow him to progress his career. We would then replace Porteous, using part of the money we received for him, with another young CB who we could improve and sell on for profit in the future.
I don’t see what’s not to get?
Isn't McCart a left footer, be silly to let Daz go and bring in a lefty who would be back up/challenger for Hanlon's side of the defence. Does anyone know if McGregor is happy not playing that much? he's doing his badges like Gray and has been working with the youth players, I'd imaging he sees himself doing what Gray has done and moving into the backroom team as a coach/mentor.
23-07-2021, 04:13 PM
I must have missed it, but someone last night said to me, that’s Hallberg is out for 2 months?
You wonder who else Davidson could be looking at from Hibs. Could be looking for a right wing back, and central midfielder, if Rooney and McCann were to move on
You don’t think Scott Allan would be allowed to leave?
What happened to Bradley last, thought he played well at Raith as well!
MagicSwirlingShip
23-07-2021, 04:20 PM
I must have missed it, but someone last night said to me, that’s Hallberg is out for 2 months?
You wonder who else Davidson could be looking at from Hibs. Could be looking for a right wing back, and central midfielder, if Rooney and McCann were to move on
You don’t think Scott Allan would be allowed to leave?
What happened to Bradley last, thought he played well at Raith as well!
Perhaps he just came to watch the match 🤷
Dazzjw1875
23-07-2021, 04:21 PM
Think I we manage to get a CB and possibly the guy from Hamilton in MF lus early agreement of mueller, and Retain what we have I would be verry happy but still think we will loose 1-2 big players.
23-07-2021, 04:31 PM
Perhaps he just came to watch the match 🤷
I was only replying to the rumour a few pages ok
23-07-2021, 04:36 PM
Isn't McCart a left footer, be silly to let Daz go and bring in a lefty who would be back up/challenger for Hanlon's side of the defence. Does anyone know if McGregor is happy not playing that much? he's doing his badges like Gray and has been working with the youth players, I'd imaging he sees himself doing what Gray has done and moving into the backroom team as a coach/mentor.
We'd just play 2 left footers. Nothing wrong with that.
MikeyS
23-07-2021, 04:47 PM
Correct, no excuse for professionals at our level not to be comfortable playing with both feet.
JimboHibs
23-07-2021, 05:02 PM
I was only replying to the rumour a few pages ok
The poster made a perfectly reasonable assumption.
OK
23-07-2021, 05:14 PM
I'd have been really happy to still have Mallan as the back up option. It's a position I think he'd have done well in and I think he'd have got a decent amount of game time as we rotated to keep Allan fresh.
23-07-2021, 05:16 PM
I'd have been really happy to still have Mallan as the back up option. It's a position I think he'd have done well in and I think he'd have got a decent amount of game time as we rotated to keep Allan fresh.
I don’t think we will always play that style of formation though.
If Allan isn’t playing he’d play Magennis, JDH or 2 in the middle with wingers.
Mallan would still not be getting enough time to justify being kept around.
23-07-2021, 05:30 PM
I don’t think we will always play that style of formation though.
If Allan isn’t playing he’d play Magennis, JDH or 2 in the middle with wingers.
Mallan would still not be getting enough time to justify being kept around.
I'm definitely hoping that Magennis comes good in the middle, the signs last night were positive. JDH I have high hopes for too. Fingers crossed we've the cover we need.
23-07-2021, 06:12 PM
I'm definitely hoping that Magennis comes good in the middle, the signs last night were positive. JDH I have high hopes for too. Fingers crossed we've the cover we need.
If Magennis can stay injury free we have player with huge potential on our books Which is why Jack Ross showed faith in him giving him a five year contract
23-07-2021, 06:24 PM
That's two signings in two days Hearts have missed out on, they will be fuming on Kickback - again.
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
23-07-2021, 06:31 PM
I'm wondering if Ross sees Murphy as the back up /rotation option for the 'number 10' role. As we already have Boyle, Mackay, Wright, Bradley and potentially the American guy as options out wide.
Agree re Murphy in free role. Very creative across the pitch
Unfortunately it usually doesn't work that well which is why you dont see it too often. When PH played with Fontaine then PH always had to play on right side as Liam was very uncomfortable on that side.
23-07-2021, 06:36 PM
Paul McGinn can play RCB and has regularly in a three.
Funny feeling Porto will be here at least another 6 months to a year
23-07-2021, 08:27 PM
The wheels probably won’t start turning till we sell someone. If Nisbet is sold them mueller will come in as well as McCart and another striker. That’s my reading of it and Mathie alluded to being movement late in the window. We seem to have players in mind if someone leaves so it looks like a matter of just wait and see what happens. Not ideal but I’m confident we won’t come out the window worse off.
Key West
23-07-2021, 08:45 PM
Unfortunately it usually doesn't work that well which is why you dont see it too often. When PH played with Fontaine then PH always had to play on right side as Liam was very uncomfortable on that side.
Agree with this, I'm not a fan at all of playing left sided players on the right and right sided players on the left.
23-07-2021, 10:57 PM
Correct, no excuse for professionals at our level not to be comfortable playing with both feet.
There is, players play with one foot from very early in their lives, it takes some amount of training your weak for to make it even comfortable. Centre halves are far less likely to work on that and more on heading, tackling, positioning etc. Wouldn’t expect a professional writer to be comfortable writing with both hands.
Just think how good Messi and Maradona could've been if they'd used their right foot.
24-07-2021, 06:10 AM
There is, players play with one foot from very early in their lives, it takes some amount of training your weak for to make it even comfortable. Centre halves are far less likely to work on that and more on heading, tackling, positioning etc. Wouldn’t expect a professional writer to be comfortable writing with both hands.
That hand writing comparison is a ridiculous point, writers don’t need to write with both hands to be good at their job. young players are taught now to use both feet from an early age. Any of them who are in the pro youth system will be taught regularly about this throughout their years. Any coach and parent should be wise enough to look for it to be developed. Most players should be comfortable on both feet by the time they are near the first team. Some are obviously not doing this, but for most this should be the case these days..it doesn’t take a huge amount to be comfortable with both feet. I ended up there growing up, without a massive effort. It just takes a consistent small amount of effort.
24-07-2021, 07:39 AM
That hand writing comparison is a ridiculous point, writers don’t need to write with both hands to be good at their job. young players are taught now to use both feet from an early age. Any of them who are in the pro youth system will be taught regularly about this throughout their years. Any coach and parent should be wise enough to look for it to be developed. Most players should be comfortable on both feet by the time they are near the first team. Some are obviously not doing this, but for most this should be the case these days..it doesn’t take a huge amount to be comfortable with both feet. I ended up there growing up, without a massive effort. It just takes a consistent small amount of effort.
I kick with my left peg every single training session, I still feel really uncomfortable and wouldn’t even dare trying to kick from hand with my left foot. You could count on one hand which players are very comfortable (enough to be able to receive it on the left side and play a firm 20 yard pass along the ground to the left back down the touchline) in our league that plays centre half. Young players may be taught that, however the vast majority will always go with their strong foot, and their weak foot will be miles behind. You are naive if you think all players coming through academies are genuinely spending enough time to make it comfortable on their weak side.
Footballers don’t need to kick with both feet comfortably to be good at their job either. That’s why the comparison was made. Paul Hanlon has made a career out of kicking with his left foot, Lewis likewise.
24-07-2021, 07:49 AM
I kick with my left peg every single training session, I still feel really uncomfortable and wouldn’t even dare trying to kick from hand with my left foot. You could count on one hand which players are very comfortable (enough to be able to receive it on the left side and play a firm 20 yard pass along the ground to the left back down the touchline) in our league that plays centre half. Young players may be taught that, however the vast majority will always go with their strong foot, and their weak foot will be miles behind. You are naive if you think all players coming through academies are genuinely spending enough time to make it comfortable on their weak side.
Footballers don’t need to kick with both feet comfortably to be good at their job either. That’s why the comparison was made. Paul Hanlon has made a career out of kicking with his left foot, Lewis likewise.
I was reacting to your handwriting point ..no one is saying that all players are fully comfortable..but it’s not hard . Start early enough and it’s easy …most players these days have a decent weaker foot. Hanlon and Lewis are both comfortable on their other side too , definitely much stronger on the left side , but can use the other effectively enough
24-07-2021, 08:00 AM
I was reacting to your handwriting point ..no one is saying that all players are fully comfortable..but it’s not hard . Start early enough and it’s easy …most players these days have a decent weaker foot. Hanlon and Lewis are both comfortable on their other side too , definitely much stronger on the left side , but can use the other effectively enough
They really aren’t. Remember Lewis playing right back? Couldn’t use his right foot. Paul couldn’t even attempt half his cross field diags with his right foot and half the time he gets in trouble it’s trying to get the ball back onto his left. Not sure what you class as decent, but if you think most players are decent (ie can put it exactly where they want it) then you must be meaning decent as a 5 yard pass. Very few players would be able to take a corner with either foot for example. Most could swing a cross in with their weak foot but it would be pure luck where it went.
24-07-2021, 08:02 AM
Confirmed in (3):
Jake Doyle-Hayes, two year contract (midfielder, St Mirren)
Daniel MacKay, four year contract (midfielder, Inverness)
Chris Mueller, pre-contract (midfielder, Orlando City)
You've have to be impressed by the quality of the signings that we've made. A decent central defender next please.
24-07-2021, 08:03 AM
They really aren’t. Remember Lewis playing right back? Couldn’t use his right foot. Paul couldn’t even attempt half his cross field diags with his right foot and half the time he gets in trouble it’s trying to get the ball back onto his left. Not sure what you class as decent, but if you think most players are decent (ie can put it exactly where they want it) then you must be meaning decent as a 5 yard pass. Very few players would be able to take a corner with either foot for example. Most could swing a cross in with their weak foot but it would be pure luck where it went.
Most could hit a corner , wouldn’t be great at times..but you’re under estimating the level of most players . Lewis and Paul can both use their right - of course not to the same standard, but again, you are under rating their ability. have watch. You will see them both use them fairly effectively in any match .
24-07-2021, 08:08 AM
Just think how good Messi and Maradona could've been if they'd used their right foot.
Messi's scored nearly 100 goals with his right foot.
Maradona? Far more one footed.
24-07-2021, 08:10 AM
Most could hit a corner , wouldn’t be great at times..but you’re under estimating the level of most players . Lewis and Paul can both use their right - of course not to the same standard, but again, you are under rating their ability. have watch. You will see them both use them fairly effectively in any match .
I have never watched Lewis and thought he was comfortable on his right foot. It’s for standing on.
Hanlon slightly more comfortable.
24-07-2021, 08:11 AM
That’s my point, everyone can make contact with the ball, but there’s a difference between that, and ‘being comfortable’. Comfortable to me would be the ball going where I want it, corners would be going everywhere. Doubt there would be 1% of footballers could score a direct free kick with their weak foot.
Messi's scored nearly 100 goals with his right foot.
Maradona? Far more one footed.
Messi, 501 left foot, 85 right foot, 55 with his head and 1 with his chest, I'd say that was predominantly one sided.
24-07-2021, 08:51 AM
Messi, 501 left foot, 85 right foot, 55 with his head and 1 with his chest, I'd say that was predominantly one sided.
I’d imagine 99% of those right footed goals would be inside the box, lots of his wee dinks etc (seen one yesterday in a game vs Real back in the day). Would be very impressed if many were well struck shots from outside the area.
24-07-2021, 08:56 AM
Messi right footed goals
https://youtu.be/PFKIPdLtrLs
24-07-2021, 08:58 AM
Was it the left or right side of his head?
24-07-2021, 08:59 AM
No one ever really queries about right footed players. Seems to come up mostly about left footed players being one footed because it is seen as wrong.
24-07-2021, 09:04 AM
That’s my point, everyone can make contact with the ball, but there’s a difference between that, and ‘being comfortable’. Comfortable to me would be the ball going where I want it, corners would be going everywhere. Doubt there would be 1% of footballers could score a direct free kick with their weak foot.
I’d think if you are setting the benchmark as being as good for one foot as the other that is a very high benchmark ..across the globe..but to be able to use it effectively to me is “comfortable “.
24-07-2021, 09:05 AM
No one ever really queries about right footed players. Seems to come up mostly about left footed players being one footed because it is seen as wrong.
It’s a fair point. Lots of our players always shape to get it on their right foot …
24-07-2021, 09:06 AM
My original point was about both left and right, just don’t think many footballers at all are really confident in their weak foot, majority can swing and put it into a rough area, but it requires far more thought and concentration than your ‘good’ foot.
24-07-2021, 09:09 AM
I’d think if you are setting the benchmark as being as good for one foot as the other that is a very high benchmark ..across the globe..but to be able to use it effectively to me is “comfortable “.
Not as good, just doing exactly what you are trying to do without the uncomfortableness (apologies if that’s the wrong word 😂). I find the majority of players will play the ball with their weak foot and it’ll just end up in an area rather than where they want it to go.