View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

04-05-2021, 06:33 PM
Anyone know if the possible link up with Brighton is a goer Saw it reported earlier somewhere
Mentioned three possible players that could come to Hibs on loan

Who were the 3 players mentioned?

They signed a highly rated young South American in January but he’s not had a look in as they want him to settle in before throwing him into first team football.

From a completely biased perspective I think a loan to us first of all would be the ideal introduction to British football.

04-05-2021, 06:34 PM

They signed a highly rated young South American in January but he’s not had a look in as they want him to settle in before throwing him into first team football.

From a completely biased perspective I think a loan to us first of all would be the ideal introduction to British football.

He was mentioned

04-05-2021, 06:37 PM

Caicedo is another exciting prospect
Caicedo could be another extremely interesting option for both clubs to consider.

The 19-year-old Ecuadorean internationalist made his move to England in January and has failed to register a first team appearance since. However, there are signs that he could be a Premier League star of the future if he is developed correctly.

04-05-2021, 06:41 PM

Khadra has the least first team experience on the list but he's a player that has shown impressive form at youth level for the club since arriving midway through the season from Borussia Dortmund.

The 19-year-old has dual German-Lebanese nationality and has represented the German national side at youth level.

The other one was a left back Kraboski or something like that but was mentioned as replacement for Doig so skipped over that one lol
Didn’t say any tie up was finalised but must be something we are looking at

04-05-2021, 06:43 PM
Fashion Sakala: KV Oostende striker to join Rangers on four-year deal - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56983418)

KV Oostende striker Fashion Sakala says it is a "dream come true to join Rangers" after agreeing a four-year deal with the Scottish champions.
The 24-year-old Zambia international has signed a pre-contract to move to Ibrox this summer, subject to a work permit and international clearance.

Sakala has scored 13 times in 29 games for Oostende in the Belgian top flight this season.
He described Rangers as "one of the greatest clubs in the world".

Behave ffs man, one of the newest yes, as for "Dream come true" stop it yer killing us

04-05-2021, 07:35 PM
Left winger sorted

Now go sign Declan Gallagher and Leigh Griffiths please hibs

04-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Hearts sign Ross Stewart from Livingston on a 2 year deal from Livingston. Ross Stewart was in goals for Hearts when they were unlucky to lose to Brora in the cup 😅

Hibs sing promising youngster Daniel McKay from ICT who was wanted by a number of clubs

04-05-2021, 07:42 PM
Hearts sign Ross Stewart from Livingston on a 2 year deal from Livingston. Ross Stewart was in goals for Hearts when they were unlucky to lose to Brora in the cup 😅

Hibs sing promising youngster Daniel McKay from ICT who was wanted by a number of clubs

No sure those lyrics really fit into the Efe Ambrose song, good effort though.

04-05-2021, 07:43 PM
No sure those lyrics really fit into the Efe Ambrose song, good effort though.
Yip needs a bit tinkering with 🎵🎵😅

04-05-2021, 08:00 PM
Apart from Doidge, yeah.

Andy, I admire your love for Christian, and I'm a fan also, but honestly, Nisbet is (IMO) a far better player, with far greater potential.

04-05-2021, 08:14 PM
Andy, I admire your love for Christian, and I'm a fan also, but honestly, Nisbet is (IMO) a far better player, with far greater potential.

I’m a big fan of Christian but Nisbet is a far better technical player and is very good (and confident) at coming short looking for the ball and playing others in from there.

Both bring a lot of different attributes to the team but would agree re Nisbet!

04-05-2021, 08:15 PM

That may be but I was responding to the suggestion we didn’t have any other athletic, mobile goalscorers. We do. Doidge.

04-05-2021, 08:24 PM

You're right - it's 'honestly' only your opinion and one that probably a lot of people would disagree with.

Anyone who thinks we couldn't replace Nisbet if we were to get £3 million for him is seeing something I'm not.

04-05-2021, 08:34 PM
Reda Khadra
Moises Caicedo
Michal Karbownik

were the three players mentioned.

C_hendo04
04-05-2021, 08:38 PM
Out of the 3 Brighton players rumoured this is my opinion on them:

Michal Karbownik - The most likeliest of the 3, likely to join if Josh Doig leaves in the summer, potentially in a deal that sees Doig move the other way

Moises Caicedo - The highest profile of the 3, could join if Irvine fails to sign a new contract or would allow for Hallberg to be moved on

Reda Khadra - The unlikeliest of the 3, with the signing of Daniel MacKay confirmed there’s no real need for another Left Winger

Also I’m not sure on the number of players a team can have on loan from a single club in a season

CD69
04-05-2021, 09:11 PM
Out of the 3 Brighton players rumoured this is my opinion on them:

Michal Karbownik - The most likeliest of the 3, likely to join if Josh Doig leaves in the summer, potentially in a deal that sees Doig move the other way

Moises Caicedo - The highest profile of the 3, could join if Irvine fails to sign a new contract or would allow for Hallberg to be moved on

Reda Khadra - The unlikeliest of the 3, with the signing of Daniel MacKay confirmed there’s no real need for another Left Winger

Also I’m not sure on the number of players a team can have on loan from a single club in a season

Was increased from 2 players to four players for this particular season. Not sure if it will revert back to 2 or not.

04-05-2021, 09:53 PM
Gallagher joining Aberdeen

Their rebuild starting me thinks.

04-05-2021, 09:57 PM
Gallagher joining Aberdeen

Their rebuild starting me thinks.

I’m pleased about that.

Think he’s suited to a team defending deep and willing to header the ball all day long.

Against a striker with genuine pace or ask him to come out with the ball and he’s struggling IMO.

04-05-2021, 09:59 PM
I’m pleased about that.

Think he’s suited to a team defending deep and willing to header the ball all day long.

Against a striker with genuine pace or ask him to come out with the ball and he’s struggling IMO.

We could’ve done with our CB hoofing it up the park on Saturday as oppose to trying to play out

Really think we need a no nonsense CB in there

04-05-2021, 10:04 PM
We could’ve done with our CB hoofing it up the park on Saturday as oppose to trying to play out

Kerr and Porto 😍

04-05-2021, 10:08 PM
Kerr and Porto 😍

Kerr is a player I’d really like to see us bring in. I’ve yet to see him have a bad game against us. Dealt with anything we’ve thrown at him easily

Ken apart from the 4-1 game. Haha.

04-05-2021, 10:10 PM
Kerr is a player I’d really like to see us bring in. I’ve yet to see him have a bad game against us. Dealt with anything we’ve thrown at him easily

Ken apart from the 4-1 game. Haha.He's a saints players though so he'll look class for them and then turn out a dud for us

04-05-2021, 10:11 PM
It’s a funny one because individually I think our three centre backs we’ve played this season in McGinn, Porteous and Hanlon are very good for this level.

All 3 have been called up to the SNT this season.

Porteous makes the most obvious mistakes, the other 2 don’t make many. I appreciate they’ll make some but no more than others in the league.

We also take a lot more risk in our play which exposes the back 3 more. They play with big gaps between them on the ball and all step into play when the opportunity arises.

Compare that to St Johnstone who play Rooney, Kerr, Gordon, McCourt and Tansey as 352/541. They’re a lot more defensive minded and as such they look more defensively solid.

If Hibs played the way Davidson did our fans would be raging and say it’s brutal

I think Porteous will be the only to leave so I’d love to see us go for Kerr, despite him playing on the right of a back 3. Gordon plays central too and impressed and McCourt is very good and comfortable on the ball. I just think McGinn and Hanlon will be here to stay another couple of years yet.

04-05-2021, 10:17 PM
Kerr and Porto 😍

Is there a chance?

04-05-2021, 11:20 PM
Is there a chance?

I can’t see it. Kerr is an obv replacement for Porto. We need a good left sided CB to replace Hanlon in due course.

04-05-2021, 11:24 PM
Jamie McCart would be the left sided CB. Any other stand out young LCBs

05-05-2021, 06:39 AM

Caicedo is from Ecuador.

Ordinarily I’d say there’s no chance of us getting him and he’ll be off to the Championship. He’s 19 and already has 4 Ecuador caps.

If we can win the cup and be guaranteed a good number of European games I think we’d be a much more attractive proposition for getting they sort of guys on loan.

05-05-2021, 06:51 AM
I see Ivan Toney at Brentford is linked with moves to Everton and Leicester.

Signed last summer for an initial fee of £5m, scored 30 goals so far this season

I wouldn’t be surprised if he made Brentford close to £200m profit when you consider he’ll probably be sold for £40-50m and they’re favourites to go up in the playoffs, pretty much because of him and his goals.

Why am I posting this? Because he wanted to go to Celtic last summer but Celtic were pissing about putting in insulting bids so missed out :greengrin

Celtic signed Ajeti instead who has scored 6 goals.

05-05-2021, 07:16 AM

Possibly but you wouldn't swap Gallagher for Porteous.

05-05-2021, 07:23 AM

On that occasion you are right, I think the novelty of a centre half doing that all the time would soon wear off though.

05-05-2021, 07:39 AM

Signed last summer for an initial fee of £5m, scored 30 goals so far this season

I wouldn’t be surprised if he made Brentford close to £200m profit when you consider he’ll probably be sold for £40-50m and they’re favourites to go up in the playoffs, pretty much because of him and his goals.

Why am I posting this? Because he wanted to go to Celtic last summer but Celtic were pissing about putting in insulting bids so missed out :greengrin

Hmmmmm now where have we heard that before from Celtic???

05-05-2021, 07:53 AM

Thanks Calum, I would never have known otherwise. Biscuit tin club.

05-05-2021, 07:59 AM

Thanks Calum, I would never have known otherwise. Biscuit tin club.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ivan-toney-wanted-celtic-transfer-23122707.amp

05-05-2021, 08:22 AM

Celtic actually had him in their training ground last summer and never managed to get it done.

05-05-2021, 08:38 AM
Hmmmmm now where have we heard that before from Celtic???
The club who's fans said sjm would be a squad player not guaranteed a start, despite being told by Hibs fans he would be the best player at the club,and they also said £1.5m is a good deal for Hibs.🤔🤔🤔

05-05-2021, 08:41 AM
The club who's fans said sjm would be a squad player not guaranteed a start, despite being told by Hibs fans he would be the best player at the club,and they also said £1.5m is a good deal for Hibs.

Playing every week in the Premiership and scored 10 goals in his last 19 from midfield to help Scotland qualify for their first tournament in over 20 years.

Wouldn’t get a game for Celtic though, no way.

05-05-2021, 08:47 AM
Kerr and Porto 😍

Would have to be a 3 at the back, because neither is ahead of Hanlon.

05-05-2021, 08:53 AM
Would have to be a 3 at the back, because neither is ahead of Hanlon.

Arguable. Porto certainly has the potential to be a level above PH.

05-05-2021, 08:56 AM

He does but he is totally right footed. We really need a left sided player to replace PH.

05-05-2021, 08:56 AM

I'm sure many guys do. When he shows it we can discuss hanlon moving out the side.

05-05-2021, 09:01 AM
He does but he is totally right footed. We really need a left sided player to replace PH.

I'm not sure we need a left sided player to replace Hanlon. Celtic for years had 2 right sided center halfs when dominating the league and Rangers have predominantly player with 2 right sided center halfs whilst Katic has been injured.

05-05-2021, 09:05 AM
I'm not sure we need a left sided player to replace Hanlon. Celtic for years had 2 right sided center halfs when dominating the league and Rangers have predominantly player with 2 right sided center halfs whilst Katic has been injured.

If we want to be able to go to a back 3 sometimes then a left footed centre back definitely helps.

05-05-2021, 09:10 AM
If we want to be able to go to a back 3 sometimes then a left footed centre back definitely helps.

Yeah, it's definitely preferable but I don't think it's a requirement.

Doig would fit into that left side of a back 3 quite well IMO.

05-05-2021, 09:11 AM

You really limit your defensive options and ability to play out comfortably from the back if you dont have left sided players in there. If we played Daz or Porto as our LCB we would get mullered.

05-05-2021, 09:15 AM
You really limit your defensive options and ability to play out comfortably from the back if you dont have left sided players in there. If we played Daz or Porto as our LCB we would get mullered.

Celtic seemed to manage fairly well by winning 13 trophies in a row and a quadruple treble.

05-05-2021, 09:21 AM

I agree completely. I was just having a pop at the King of Certainty.

05-05-2021, 09:22 AM
Celtic seemed to manage fairly well by winning 13 trophies in a row and a quadruple treble.

In an ideal world you’d have a right and left footer centre half and a right and left footed centre mid and probably a right and left footed strike pairing.

It’s not massively essential though. If the players are decent they’ll be fine.

05-05-2021, 09:36 AM

If Celtic defenders were put under the same amount of pressure Hibs and lower teams are you'd have seen a much bigger impact. I'd need to go back and look at those Celtic players but i will assume they were relatively decent with both feet? Daz and Porto both really struggle with their left foot. Anyone who has played as a defender even at the lowest level will tell you how hard it is to have no left foot and play on the left side of defence.

I want us to sign Kerr as i think he is a quality young player but we really need to find a left sided player to replace PH (over the next couple of year)

05-05-2021, 09:45 AM
If Celtic defenders were put under the same amount of pressure Hibs and lower teams are you'd have seen a much bigger impact. I'd need to go back and look at those Celtic players but i will assume they were relatively decent with both feet? Daz and Porto both really struggle with their left foot. Anyone who has played as a defender even at the lowest level will tell you how hard it is to have no left foot and play on the left side of defence.

I want us to sign Kerr as i think he is a quality young player but we really need to find a left sided player to replace PH (over the next couple of year)

A lefty is not vital but a good player is, Van Dijk and Maguire are right footers but are comfortable on the left, important thing is to get a good player.

05-05-2021, 10:05 AM
I think 2 right footers is fine in 4 at the back as they’re more protected and have the out ball of the full back.

3 at the back is a different story though and I think your left sided should be left footed.

Wouldn’t want to waste Doig there.

McCart would be the standout but I can’t see us replacing Hanlon.

05-05-2021, 10:26 AM
Rumour on the PM board, posted with some certainty (but we've all been there before) that Doig will be offski this summer.

05-05-2021, 10:32 AM
Rumour on the PM board, posted with some certainty (but we've all been there before) that Doig will be offski this summer.

And that should have stayed on the PM board.

05-05-2021, 10:35 AM
Going to be difficult to pick up a lb/lwb. Scott Tanser would be a good shout although there is the St Johnstone effect 😁

05-05-2021, 10:40 AM
Where is Doig supposedly off to?

05-05-2021, 10:44 AM
I agree completely. I was just having a pop at the King of Certainty.

Sounds like an XTC track from the mid-80s.

05-05-2021, 10:47 AM
Personally think Doig was always leaving this summer.

Is there a possibility he could be loaned back though? Especially with the exposure to European football? Or the more likely option of on loan to a league 1/championship team.

Fwiw I think Mackie is a really good prospect too and could step in but has had an awful time with injuries. Scott Tanser and Jamie Robson have always impressed me but I’d be hoping Greg Taylor will be out the picture soon at Celtic and we can take him, even on loan.

Player swap Taylor for Doig? Plus some money and a sell on %.

05-05-2021, 10:48 AM

Is there a possibility he could be loaned back though? Especially with the exposure to European football? Or the more likely option of on loan to a league 1/championship team.

Fwiw I think Mackie is a really good prospect too and could step in but has had an awful time with injuries. Scott Tanser and Jamie Robson have always impressed me but I’d be hoping Greg Taylor will be out the picture soon at Celtic and we can take him, even on loan.

Don’t rate Taylor at all. Think he’s mince.

That’s my contribution haha.

05-05-2021, 10:52 AM

Really, the poster should have said so? It's not like there hasn't been speculation.

He didn't say to whom, nor offer any details, it was merely a statement. I think you might be being a bit precious about this.

https://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/josh-doig-leicester-arsenal-transfer-5284205

05-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Really, the poster should have said so? It's not like there hasn't been speculation.

He didn't say to whom, nor offer any details, it was merely a statement. I think you might be being a bit precious about this.

Then why did he post on the PM board and not the MB?

05-05-2021, 11:04 AM

In an ideal world you’d have a right and left footer centre half and a right and left footed centre mid and probably a right and left footed strike pairing.

It’s not massively essential though. If the players are decent they’ll be fine.

In an ideal world they'd all be two-footed ! rare commodity though, but when you find one :not worth #Roanaldo #Zico #Zidnae #Cruyff #Pele #Platini #bobbyjohnstone

TheHibernator
05-05-2021, 11:06 AM

Agree, Mackie has been almost forgotten about because Doig has had a great first season but liked what i seen from him earlier in the season. If Doig were to go I'd have no problem with giving him a run in the team.

05-05-2021, 11:22 AM
Then why did he post on the PM board and not the MB?

Who knows, why don't you PM him and ask.

Like as if posting on the PM board makes your word gospel?

If they wanted secrecy, they would have said that. As it is , saying Doig is premiership bound is hardly a new concept, is it? No substance or context offered, no team mentioned, no fee, just a statement saying he'll not be at Hibs next season.

05-05-2021, 11:28 AM
One of the reasons I came off the PM board was the amount of complete mince being posted by people pretending to have the inside track.

05-05-2021, 11:51 AM

https://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/josh-doig-leicester-arsenal-transfer-5284205

It is kinda of understood that you dont put PM board stuff on here..... otherwise whats the point of the PM board. You pay the tenner for the higher quality pish on there. :wink::greengrin

badabing67
05-05-2021, 12:00 PM
Going to be difficult to pick up a lb/lwb. Scott Tanser would be a good shout although there is the St Johnstone effect 😁

We still have Sean Mackie who if we can get fit will do a good job there. Imo

05-05-2021, 12:08 PM

Them are the rules, so I'm not being precious about it in the slightest.

05-05-2021, 12:14 PM
It is kinda of understood that you dont put PM board stuff on here..... otherwise whats the point of the PM board. You pay the tenner for the higher quality pish on there. :wink::greengrin

There is a higher quality of pish? 😶😁

05-05-2021, 12:49 PM
I'd still rather keep Doig a while yet. I think Sean Makie is a great prospect but he never seems to be fit long enough to get a run.

05-05-2021, 12:50 PM
Them are the rules, so I'm not being precious about it in the slightest.

I think you are, given the context. No club, no fee, no anything, just someone saying he's a done deal. If there are rules, please show me where we find them? The unwritten rule is that if you don't want something posted on the main board, you say so.

There is a higher quality of pish? 😶😁

Naw, just more concentrated pish!

05-05-2021, 12:56 PM
I think you are, given the context. No club, no fee, no anything, just someone saying he's a done deal. If there are rules, please show me where we find them? The unwritten rule is that if you don't want something posted on the main board, you say so.

Surely if they wanted it posted on the main board they would’ve just posted it on the main board?

I would’ve thought it was pretty obvious that if someone’s posted something on the PM board they don’t want someone copying and pasting what they said on the main board.

05-05-2021, 01:07 PM
Where is Doig supposedly off to?
Off skiing apparently.

05-05-2021, 01:08 PM
If we were to be offered serious money for Doig which keeps this club healthy in these times then I would not be worried about trying Mackie along with the ever dependable Lewis for a bit.
Out of interest, how has Callum Booth played the last few seasons? I see he is out of contract and always thought he had something about him. I genuinely dont know if he developed further or found his level.

05-05-2021, 01:15 PM
One of the reasons I came off the PM board was the amount of complete mince being posted by people pretending to have the inside track.

Always find it funny when folk on a football forum pretend to be "in the know". Serious fantasy stuff.

05-05-2021, 01:17 PM
If doig does go we need to bring in as replacement. Wouldn’t want us reverting back to Stevenson. Think Doig has shown us how more dangerous we can be from the full back position if you’ve got someone out there not scared to get into the opposition box

05-05-2021, 01:19 PM
If doig does go we need to bring in as replacement. Wouldn’t want us reverting back to Stevenson. Think Doig has shown us how more dangerous we can be from the full back position if you’ve got someone out there not scared to get into the opposition box

Agreed. And even more so I wouldn’t want us going with Mackie.

There’s not many stand out left backs around just now so we’d probably be looking down south/abroad?

05-05-2021, 01:19 PM
Surely if they wanted it posted on the main board they would’ve just posted it on the main board?

I would’ve thought it was pretty obvious that if someone’s posted something on the PM board they don’t want someone copying and pasting what they said on the main board.

NO one copied and pasted, FFS. (At the risk of constantly repeating myself, people on the PM board generally ask for it not to be posted on here, if it's important). In fact, if it's that important, perhaps they shouldn't be posting it at all ?

Did you actually read any of the responses I made? Read the various easily available links which say there is interest from EPL clubs

Here's another rumour, completely unfounded. Wee Ron will give JR the bullet if he doesn't finish third and reach the cup final. See how that works? I made it up. Like most of the stuff on here and the PM board, it's unfounded gashy rumour.

Ok, I'm off to don the full hair shirt and matching pants, with added itching powder. I'll deny myself my dinner in protest at my own scurrilous actions and ask my lover to deny me conjugals as part of my penitence when we meet at the weekend. I'll also post a score that ruins my chances of winning the HIbs. Net prediction league......satisfied?:aok:

05-05-2021, 01:26 PM
Always find it funny when folk on a football forum pretend to be "in the know". Serious fantasy stuff.

Plenty of inside scoops have been posted on the private board, you've just got to filter out the real stuff from the nonsense.

Off the top of my head I remember the Malonga, Fontaine and Hallberg signings all being posted there at least a day or two before any rumours appeared on the main board or in the papers.

Mcpakeisgod
05-05-2021, 01:27 PM
Chill out kids eh ... all on the same team

05-05-2021, 01:27 PM
NO one copied and pasted, FFS. (At the risk of constantly repeating myself, people on the PM board generally ask for it not to be posted on here, if it's important). In fact, if it's that important, perhaps they shouldn't be posting it at all ?

Did you actually read any of the responses I made? Read the various easily available links which say there is interest from EPL clubs

Here's another rumour, completely unfounded. Wee Ron will give JR the bullet if he doesn't finish third and reach the cup final. See how that works? I made it up. Like most of the stuff on here and the PM board, it's unfounded gashy rumour.

Ok, I'm off to don the full hair shirt and matching pants, with added itching powder. I'll deny myself my dinner in protest at my own scurrilous actions and ask my lover to deny me conjugals as part of my penitence when we meet at the weekend. I'll also post a score that ruins my chances of winning the HIbs. Net prediction league......satisfied?:aok:

Can I post the rumour about Ross getting the sack on the PM board?

05-05-2021, 01:28 PM
If we were to be offered serious money for Doig which keeps this club healthy in these times then I would not be worried about trying Mackie along with the ever dependable Lewis for a bit.
Out of interest, how has Callum Booth played the last few seasons? I see he is out of contract and always thought he had something about him. I genuinely dont know if he developed further or found his level.

Seen some of the stats guys on twitter doing a statistical analysis on the best performing fullbacks/wingbacks in the league this season and Booth was right up there.

Think St Johnstone tend to use him as a more attacking alternative to Tanser at LWB for games that aren't against us, Aberdeen or the old firm.

05-05-2021, 01:29 PM

Always the chance some will get decent info though as you suggest if people genuinely make up they have info when they don't they need to get out more.

05-05-2021, 01:31 PM

Thing is, you say found his level - that's potentially 5th in the league and a cup double winner!

That's a decent level.

05-05-2021, 01:44 PM

Naw, just more concentrated pish!

Can't be bothered trying to make you see sense, virtually impossible task.

Maybe a kind admin could post on the matter.

05-05-2021, 01:45 PM
Can I post the rumour about Ross getting the sack on the PM board?

Fill your boots Calum, just don't mention the conjugals bit, she's on here sometimes :wink:

05-05-2021, 02:04 PM
Thing is, you say found his level - that's potentially 5th in the league and a cup double winner!

That's a decent level.

Yeah I agree. We often turn our nose up at those guys who play week in week out at "lesser"clubs, but often they mean solid performances every week. Eg Paul McgGinn.
Booth strikes me as that type but was also quite good going forward in what I remember.

05-05-2021, 02:24 PM

Is he desperately wanting away though I would of thought another year with us Improve further and then make the move them
I think he has all the attributes to be a Great Player but he needs to playing week in week out with the odd rest if needed
Not just a squad player earmarked fir the future

05-05-2021, 02:29 PM

Sounds like an XTC track from the mid-80s.
You have your senses working overtime.....

05-05-2021, 02:56 PM
Is he desperately wanting away though I would of thought another year with us Improve further and then make the move them
I think he has all the attributes to be a Great Player but he needs to playing week in week out with the odd rest if needed
Not just a squad player earmarked fir the future

Imagine being his age.....less than a year ago he was on £250 a week.....he's now on a bit more than that but still buttons in football terms. Then you have multiple english teams sniffing about and offering you all sorts. I think he will go - he has the makings of a top class player and has all the attributes they want down there. Very similar to when Andy Robertson went down. Oh and as JR pointed out in the recent podcast - he's going to have to make the most out of football as he didnt exactly stick in at school. :greengrin

05-05-2021, 03:05 PM
Whilst I’m not a member on the PM board I don’t see the big deal about the post.

He’s not said who said it or who he is going to etc. All he said is he’s rumoured to be leaving, something that everyone has seen on many papers.

For example, what if someone on the PM board saw it, told a friend and they put it on here?

If people aren’t wanting the rumour to get out of the sacred PM board surely just don’t post? It will surely be said one way or another whether it be on the forum or to a friend.

05-05-2021, 03:10 PM
Whilst I’m not a member on the PM board I don’t see the big deal about the post.

He’s not said who said it or who he is going to etc. All he said is he’s rumoured to be leaving, something that everyone has seen on many papers.

For example, what if someone on the PM board saw it, told a friend and they put it on here?

If people aren’t wanting the rumour to get out of the sacred PM board surely just don’t post? It will surely be said one way or another whether it be on the forum or to a friend.

Exactly. Mountain and molehill spring to mind.

05-05-2021, 03:15 PM

So there is really no point in a PM board then eh? Just charge everyone a tenner to join the general forum?

05-05-2021, 03:18 PM
So there is really no point in a PM board then eh? Just charge everyone a tenner to join the general forum?

That’s a brilliant idea, come on admins you know it makes sense😀

05-05-2021, 03:18 PM

The £10 isn’t for access to inside information..

05-05-2021, 03:25 PM
The £10 isn’t for access to inside information..

Its for access to the Private Members Board. I've no issue with doing away with Private part. Just make it a tenner for everyone. More funds for Hibs. Site runs faster. Removes trolls.

05-05-2021, 03:29 PM
Removes trolls.

It does discourage them. A few have coughed up in the past.

05-05-2021, 03:35 PM

That’s a hell of a meltdown over what I posted.

05-05-2021, 03:45 PM
That’s a hell of a meltdown over what I posted.

Aye, you just feel free to just make things up and not expect a response :rolleyes:

05-05-2021, 03:45 PM
Don’t rate Taylor at all. Think he’s mince.

That’s my contribution haha.A celtc fan rating their squad recently agrees[emoji3]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/b8411c61ef825f3c4d02c5b80cbb4635.jpg

05-05-2021, 03:46 PM
i don’t think Doig will be off this summer purely based on he will want first team experience and moving to a PL team, unless loaned back, won’t provide that.

If we were to sell him and get him loaned back i guess that would be a pretty good scenario still but i think he’ll stay. Glad he signed that new deal so we do get more when he leaves.

05-05-2021, 04:00 PM
If doig does go we need to bring in as replacement. Wouldn’t want us reverting back to Stevenson. Think Doig has shown us how more dangerous we can be from the full back position if you’ve got someone out there not scared to get into the opposition boxCouldn't agree more, he's shown all season that an attacking fullback can have a significant positive impact on our team.

Bangkok Hibby
05-05-2021, 04:25 PM

Yes, probably a good idea.

05-05-2021, 04:47 PM
Before i joined the PM board and paid my £10, i always thought it was to help run the site and stop you receiving adverts. :greengrin

Sioux
05-05-2021, 05:04 PM
A celtc fan rating their squad recently agrees[emoji3]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/b8411c61ef825f3c4d02c5b80cbb4635.jpg

I've no idea of he's a hun or not, but the rest is accurate.

05-05-2021, 05:05 PM
Before i joined the PM board and paid my £10, i always thought it was to help run the site and stop you receiving adverts. :greengrin

I only joined for the initiation ceremony. Have let it lapse for a while so I have to go through it again!

05-05-2021, 05:05 PM

I thought you joined it so you can get info for your Hibs News Twitter account.

05-05-2021, 05:08 PM
I only joined for the initiation ceremony. Have let it lapse for a while so I have to go through it again!
:hyper

05-05-2021, 05:09 PM
I thought you joined it so you can get info for your Hibs News Twitter account.
:faf: I'm only on twitter for the womens football. :greengrin

05-05-2021, 05:13 PM

I only joined so I can pretend that it's a great source of ITK info and then grass anyone up who shares even the most generic sniff of a rumour:na na:

05-05-2021, 05:13 PM
:faf: I'm only on twitter for the womens football. :greengrin

05-05-2021, 05:15 PM
A celtc fan rating their squad recently agrees[emoji3]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/b8411c61ef825f3c4d02c5b80cbb4635.jpg

i was rather surprised sellick thought he was good enough in the first place

05-05-2021, 05:15 PM
Aye, you just feel free to just make things up and not expect a response :rolleyes:

Who’s making things up?

05-05-2021, 05:41 PM
i was rather surprised sellick thought he was good enough in the first placeFull of very similar ratings for the rest of their squad, but at least they never burst the biscuit tin for John McGinn or Ivan Toney[emoji23]

They did get Shane Duffy cheaply though.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210505/26257cd077125ca248190fd3a8c02ace.jpg

05-05-2021, 06:18 PM
i don’t think Doig will be off this summer purely based on he will want first team experience and moving to a PL team, unless loaned back, won’t provide that.

If we were to sell him and get him loaned back i guess that would be a pretty good scenario still but i think he’ll stay. Glad he signed that new deal so we do get more when he leaves.

I'd wager a considerable sum on him leaving in a few weeks.

05-05-2021, 06:35 PM

I wouldn’t

05-05-2021, 06:43 PM

Who’s making things up?

You are.

05-05-2021, 06:43 PM

I wouldn’t

Bath of beans anyone? Go, on, go on....

05-05-2021, 06:51 PM

Loser gives me fifty quid.

05-05-2021, 06:52 PM

I'll eat a tin of beans...

Any good?

05-05-2021, 08:01 PM
Norwich apparently interested in Ryan Gauld.

05-05-2021, 08:09 PM
Norwich apparently interested in Ryan Gauld.

Unless he’s improved massively he’ll be absolutely no use in the EPL.

05-05-2021, 08:15 PM
Do we still have some form of relationship with Man City? Infact did we ever? Or have I imagined it?

If we have we should be looking at Liam Delap.

Do we reckon group stage European football (especially if it’s Europa) could see English teams willing to loan us their very best young players rather than guys like Agyepong etc?

05-05-2021, 08:38 PM
Full of very similar ratings for the rest of their squad, but at least they never burst the biscuit tin for John McGinn or Ivan Toney[emoji23]

They did get Shane Duffy cheaply though.

i think we should call off this Brighton link-up :greengrin

Spudster
05-05-2021, 09:00 PM

I’d say a bundle of MOTM awards in the Portuguese top flight vs mostly injured during his spell with us is a massive improvement!

Juniper Greens
05-05-2021, 09:23 PM
I’d say a bundle of MOTM awards in the Portuguese top flight vs mostly injured during his spell with us is a massive improvement!

Portuguese top flight isn't a good level outside the top 4. As someone who has attended countless games over there. He is being overhyped at the moment.
If hibs drew any team from 5th onwards in their league, I'd be gutted if we didn't progress over 2 legs

05-05-2021, 09:47 PM
He is getting rave reviews at the moment and there is a few top English championship sides looking at him as well according to reports.

05-05-2021, 10:06 PM

There's more than a few probably thought of John McGinn too.....

05-05-2021, 10:16 PM
You are.

Sorry I didn’t realise you would take the phrase “copy and pasted” so literally.

It’s not even a big deal I was just trying to see from their point of view that if they posted it where they did they would’ve wanted it left there probably.

Did it require a sarcastic 4 paragraph reply where you go into great detail about itching powder, no eating dinner and refusing your hole? Probably not.

05-05-2021, 10:18 PM
There's more than a few probably thought of John McGinn too.....

I’m not sure about that. McGinn had all the tools to succeed down there.

At 5ft5, built like the side of a fiver and little pace, Gauld would appear to lack them imo. He’d have to have developed technique and awareness well beyond most others in that league to manage.

franck sauzee
05-05-2021, 11:34 PM
Portuguese top flight isn't a good level outside the top 4. As someone who has attended countless games over there. He is being overhyped at the moment.
If hibs drew any team from 5th onwards in their league, I'd be gutted if we didn't progress over 2 legs

Would have to agree with you based on seeing Maritimo Rio Ave a few years ago. Standard wasn't great apart from 2 real stand out players in Danilo Pereira and Moussa Marega.

Mr. Wonderful
06-05-2021, 06:00 AM

True but he's put in some immense displays against said top 4 too.

06-05-2021, 06:58 AM
I’m not sure about that. McGinn had all the tools to succeed down there.

At 5ft5, built like the side of a fiver and little pace, Gauld would appear to lack them imo. He’d have to have developed technique and awareness well beyond most others in that league to manage.

Loads of folk didn't realise what a good player SJM was. Remember he wouldn't get into the Celtic team never mind an EPL side! :rolleyes:

I remember talking him up on a Leeds fans forum and being met by total scepticism (I wanted him to sign for them so I could go and watch him).

Most fans don't really appreciate what players offer.

06-05-2021, 08:36 AM
Sorry I didn’t realise you would take the phrase “copy and pasted” so literally.

It’s not even a big deal I was just trying to see from their point of view that if they posted it where they did they would’ve wanted it left there probably.

Did it require a sarcastic 4 paragraph reply where you go into great detail about itching powder, no eating dinner and refusing your hole? Probably not.

You omitted the hair shirt and y-backs.

I thought my reply was a mixture of outrage and ironic sarcasm. Anyway, I accept your apology, return one back at you and refer you, in mitigation, to the posts that immediately preceded your own. I was getting a bit hacked off with the self righteous indignation that followed on from my "revelation".

Anyways, the lover did read my post and has declared a no go zone for Saturday night, unless the Hibees win....

06-05-2021, 09:17 AM
It's often weird seeing who survives, thrives and crashes and burns moving from Scottish to English football.

In my opinion it's very physical there, bordering on agricultural when you start to go down the leagues (alway quite funny considering how low esteem many people there hold Scottish football in). The ones who tend to do well are the ones who have the physical make-up to cope, less to do with skill or ability.

Ryan Gauld would, in my opinion, be a disaster in English football. Skilful as he is and as well as he might be playing in Portugal, he just doesn't have enough of what it takes to survive in England physically. You need to have either pace or strength in abundance, coupled with a cracking work ethic.

Funnily enough, for all you get the usual "my nan could play in Scotland" crap a lot, you've actually got a quieter but sizeable chunk who respect Scottish football and see it as a place where you can occasionally find a player who represents good value for money. Almost all English clubs have a very positive Scottish player story. There are many salt of the earth cracking folk there who it is a delight to talk football with. Then you've got the other ones who aren't worth wasting your time on.

ElginHibbie
06-05-2021, 01:47 PM
Macey signed a 2 year deal

06-05-2021, 01:50 PM
Macey signed a 2 year deal

Must be Rocky's replacement then. Not sure why he would sign a 2 year deal to sit on the bench.

Not sure what to make of that to be honest. Marciano was always going to be difficult to replace and I've not really been convinced by Macey so far.

06-05-2021, 01:50 PM
Must be Rocky's replacement then. Not sure why he would sign a 2 year deal to sit on the bench.

Not sure what to make of that to be honest. Marciano was always going to be difficult to replace and I've not really been convinced by Macey so far.

Yup, that'll be that. Hope Ross has made the right choice.

06-05-2021, 01:56 PM
Yup, that'll be that. Hope Ross has made the right choice.
Don’t think he really had the choice to be honest.

06-05-2021, 01:59 PM

I kinda thought he’d be with us at least another year :confused:

I’ve not been on the PM board and don’t want to open a can of worms if that’s what the argument on here has been about, but have you heard or read anything to make you think that?

Any idea where he might end up?

06-05-2021, 03:41 PM
I kinda thought he’d be with us at least another year :confused:

I’ve not been on the PM board and don’t want to open a can of worms if that’s what the argument on here has been about, but have you heard or read anything to make you think that?

Any idea where he might end up?

The rumour is from someone who could well know. The team wasn't mentioned but it's EPL level.

06-05-2021, 03:45 PM
The rumour is from someone who could well know. The team wasn't mentioned but it's EPL level.
That would be a terrible move from the playing point of view as he would either waste time at U21 level or be farmed out somewhere.Much better staying put and getting some European experience.

06-05-2021, 03:55 PM

Cheers.

Would be gutted to see him leave so soon but I hope it’s to a decent club where he can really kick on.

06-05-2021, 04:06 PM
That would be a terrible move from the playing point of view as he would either waste time at U21 level or be farmed out somewhere.Much better staying put and getting some European experience.

With all due respect I completely disagree.

Football is a funny game and you never know what’s round the corner. If he gets a move to the EPL on let’s say a 4 year deal with a contract to match he should grab it Imo. Loans out wouldn’t be the worst for him either given he’s so young but he would have a better platform to become the best player possible.

He will have a decent contract at us for his age but he’s an injury or dip in form away from potentially not getting this opportunity again.

I’m not a money motivated kind of guy but I think in this sort of situation it’s life changing money for him and his family.

Worst case scenario he goes down there and doesn’t make an appearance, he’ll still be 22ish and able to come back to us and still be young, which is crazy when you think about it.

Kevin Kyle told an interesting story on open goal which was him deciding to accept 12k per week or try get 15k per week. He got injured the next day, was out for a year and got neither.

06-05-2021, 06:04 PM
Brentford being linked with Nisbet in the press.

JDT
06-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Nisbet hasn't been the same since his dad passed away and the whole Birmingham transfer thing. I can see him leaving in the summer

06-05-2021, 06:27 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/kevin-nisbet-brentford-enter-race-to-sign-hibs-striker-reports-3227468

06-05-2021, 06:30 PM

Wouldn't be too dissspointed if it's 3 million. In fact I'd be pretty happy with that

06-05-2021, 06:32 PM
Wouldn't be too dissspointed if it's 3 million. In fact I'd be pretty happy with that

Brentford would be a much better move for him than Birmingham would’ve been too. Think he’s a stick on to be away. Doig too.

WestStandhibee
06-05-2021, 06:45 PM

Brentford are expecting to sell Ivan Toney for anywhere between £25-35m, letting Nisbet go for £3m would be underselling him.

06-05-2021, 07:01 PM
Brentford are expecting to sell Ivan Toney for anywhere between £25-35m, letting Nisbet go for £3m would be underselling him.

Toney has proved himself in their championship, Nisbet has had 1 decent season in our premiership, unless you're from any of the ugly sisters, £3m is a very decent price.

06-05-2021, 07:15 PM
Toney has proved himself in their championship, Nisbet has had 1 decent season in our premiership, unless you're from any of the ugly sisters, £30m is a very decent price.

The point being they’ll have plenty money and we don’t have to sell. We should really be holding out for top dollar. Don’t think anyone is comparing Toney to Nisbet.

06-05-2021, 07:17 PM
Declan Gallagher has signed a pre-contract with Aberdeen, two years

06-05-2021, 07:23 PM
Declan Gallagher has signed a pre-contract with Aberdeen, two years

Only 30 ,, must have had a heavy paper round
Good signing tho

06-05-2021, 07:30 PM
Him and Brown. I’m happy with the way they are going.

06-05-2021, 07:31 PM
Only 30 ,, must have had a heavy paper round
Good signing tho

i only would have taken him if Ryan porteous was away

06-05-2021, 07:42 PM
With all due respect I completely disagree.

Football is a funny game and you never know what’s round the corner. If he gets a move to the EPL on let’s say a 4 year deal with a contract to match he should grab it Imo. Loans out wouldn’t be the worst for him either given he’s so young but he would have a better platform to become the best player possible.

He will have a decent contract at us for his age but he’s an injury or dip in form away from potentially not getting this opportunity again.

I’m not a money motivated kind of guy but I think in this sort of situation it’s life changing money for him and his family.

Worst case scenario he goes down there and doesn’t make an appearance, he’ll still be 22ish and able to come back to us and still be young, which is crazy when you think about it.

Kevin Kyle told an interesting story on open goal which was him deciding to accept 12k per week or try get 15k per week. He got injured the next day, was out for a year and got neither.

Yes I get all that and he could break a leg on Saturday.But injuries that put you out of the game are few and far between. If he goes to a premier club he’ll be lost with all the other 19/20 year olds and although at a top club his game may not progress.Stay at Hibs playing first team football and maybe some international recognition (a pity we’re drowning in left sided defenders)and a better transfer will come along.However:money talks.

WestStandhibee
06-05-2021, 07:43 PM
Toney has proved himself in their championship, Nisbet has had 1 decent season in our premiership, unless you're from any of the ugly sisters, £30m is a very decent price.

Toney had two good seasons in League 1 (which is a poor standard) and got a £5m move. Nisbet is having a good first season in our Premiership, been capped by Scotland and has a great chance of going to the Euros. £3m is not enough to get him

06-05-2021, 07:45 PM

You’ve got my attention now! Sold!

davhibby
06-05-2021, 07:54 PM
Him and Brown. I’m happy with the way they are going.

Yeah I’m happy we weren’t interested in Gallagher. No sell on value, spent this season throwing his toys out the pram at Motherwell and that’s before you get to his past outside of football

06-05-2021, 08:04 PM
Would be a bit disappointing if all 3 of Porteous, Nisbet and Doig all left in the summer from a supporters view but let just say 4 mil for Nisbet 2.5 for Doig and 2 for Ryan then that is a lot of money for Hibs.

berwickhibee
06-05-2021, 08:14 PM
Hate this talk now, hope the 3 lads are focused on a huge game on Saturday.

Need 3 big performances and a win and their stock rises more.

Robbo6-2
06-05-2021, 08:17 PM
I was told today from a normally reliable source that we are interested in Mikey Devlin from Aberdeen on a free.

06-05-2021, 08:18 PM
Would be a bit disappointing if all 3 of Porteous, Nisbet and Doig all left in the summer from a supporters view but let just say 4 mil for Nisbet 2.5 for Doig and 2 for Ryan then that is a lot of money for Hibs.

If one goes then fair enough. If there’s an offer for a second then imo that puts their price up that wee bit. If they go then the third one has to be an unreal bit imo.

06-05-2021, 08:21 PM
I was told today from a normally reliable source that we are interested in Mikey Devlin from Aberdeen on a free.

That was mentioned in the January transfer window as well.

06-05-2021, 08:24 PM

Decent player if he can keep himself fit.

Think he has 2 appearances this season,20 last season and 30 the season prior to that. Not sure what his injury issues have been?

06-05-2021, 08:29 PM
Decent player if he can keep himself fit.

Think he has 2 appearances this season,20 last season and 30 the season prior to that. Not sure what his injury issues have been?

He had an ankle ligament operation. Personally not worth the risk for me, we cant afford to pay someone to watch most of the season which he seems to have done for a couple of seasons. Feel sorry for the lad but there's no room for sentiment here.

C_hendo04
06-05-2021, 08:29 PM
Brentford would be a much better move for him than Birmingham would’ve been too. Think he’s a stick on to be away. Doig too.

If Nisbet and Doig did leave we would still have the potential to build a strong starting xi with a decent backup xi

GK - Macey / Dabrowksi
LB - Karbownik / Stevenson
LCB - Porteous / Hanlon
RCB - Kerr / Mcgregor
RB - McGinn / Gray
CDM - Caicedo / Gogic
CM - Hendry / Magennis
CM - Irvine / Newell
LW - MacKay / Murphy
ST - Griffiths / Doidge
RW - Boyle / Cadden

06-05-2021, 08:33 PM
If Nisbet and Doig did leave we would still have the potential to build a strong starting xi with a decent backup xi

GK - Macey / Dabrowksi
LCB - Porteous / Hanlon
RCB - Kerr / Mcgregor
RB - McGinn / Gray
CDM - Caicedo / Gogic
CM - Hendry / Magennis
CM - Irvine / Newell
LW - MacKay / Murphy
ST - Griffiths / Doidge
RW - Boyle / Cadden

Well yeah if we are including 5 players that we don’t have!

C_hendo04
06-05-2021, 08:38 PM
Well yeah if we are including 5 players that we don’t have!

I know that that’s why I said “potential”, obviously we aren’t going to sell Nisbet and Doig and bank about £5million and not bring any players in

06-05-2021, 08:51 PM
I know that that’s why I said “potential”, obviously we aren’t going to sell Nisbet and Doig and bank about £5million and not bring any players in

Caicedo was rumoured to have cost Brighton £5m and they apparently think he’s got more to his game than ****e. I suspect he will not be part of our rebuild.

06-05-2021, 09:04 PM
I think Boyle will be off too.

06-05-2021, 09:06 PM

GK - Macey / Dabrowksi
LCB - Porteous / Hanlon
RCB - Kerr / Mcgregor
RB - McGinn / Gray
CDM - Caicedo / Gogic
CM - Hendry / Magennis
CM - Irvine / Newell
LW - MacKay / Murphy
ST - Griffiths / Doidge
RW - Boyle / Cadden

Gray is on record saying he wants to play He isn’t going to get games at hibs so think he will move on next season even if just a loan move

06-05-2021, 09:10 PM

I would hope Ross fights to ensure we don’t lose four first team players in next window unless money is too good to turn down
If we finish third this season we need to push on and emulate that next season
Losing four key players in one window mAkes that difficult

06-05-2021, 09:18 PM

Man, I wish you would stop posting on this thread!

06-05-2021, 09:26 PM
Man, I wish you would stop posting on this thread!

Sorry buddy. If it's any consolation, that's just my own thoughts rather than a rumour.

Boyle's stock has never been higher but his main asset, his speed, isn't going to be with him for ever and if he wants to secure his financial future, now's probably the time to do it.

06-05-2021, 09:29 PM
Sorry buddy. If it's any consolation, that's just my own thoughts rather than a rumour.

Boyle's stock has never been higher but his main asset, his speed, isn't going to be with him for ever and if he wants to secure his financial future, now's probably the time to do it.

Nah, before he signed a new contract would have been the time for him.

06-05-2021, 09:41 PM

I agree. His pace is only going to decline over the next few seasons. I think his chance of a big move has come and gone .

06-05-2021, 09:42 PM

GK - Macey / Dabrowksi
LCB - Porteous / Hanlon
RCB - Kerr / Mcgregor
RB - McGinn / Gray
CDM - Caicedo / Gogic
CM - Hendry / Magennis
CM - Irvine / Newell
LW - MacKay / Murphy
ST - Griffiths / Doidge
RW - Boyle / Cadden

Think that squad would get anyone very excited :hyper

06-05-2021, 10:05 PM
He had an ankle ligament operation. Personally not worth the risk for me, we cant afford to pay someone to watch most of the season which he seems to have done for a couple of seasons. Feel sorry for the lad but there's no room for sentiment here.

Think he done his acl not long ago.

06-05-2021, 10:24 PM
Nah, before he signed a new contract would have been the time for him.

What's your thinking behind that?

He's scored more goals this season than he's ever managed before and his profile is at its highest.

If he wants a move, Hibs might try to persuade him to stay, but they won't stop him leaving if he's determined and s good offer comes in.

I hope you're right and he stays, but I wouldn't grudge him a move.

06-05-2021, 10:37 PM
You’ve got my attention now! Sold!

:greengrin That's what happens when you post without checking

06-05-2021, 10:40 PM

He's scored more goals this season than he's ever managed before and his profile is at its highest.

If he wants a move, Hibs might try to persuade him to stay, but they won't stop him leaving if he's determined and s good offer comes in.

And what’s to say he doesn’t have a release clause in his contract similar to Cummings.....

06-05-2021, 10:44 PM

If Boyle was going to go he’d have to go this window. I agree with that. I’m not sure he will go tbh. They seem happy here from a Scottish point of view and I don’t think he’d get into the prem down south. My worry would be he’d go to Oz but his young family will hopefully put him off that. Our 3 most sellable players at Doig, Niz and Porto and I will be delighted if we have any of them when the new season starts. On a positive if they do go we will have plenty money to improve the squad and cement the “best of the rest” that Ron wants.

06-05-2021, 10:47 PM

Without a fee he could have maximised his own earnings. Interested teams could have got him for nothing.

He was doing well for us and at international level and just think if there was a time to go then that would have been it.

Never say never but I think both player and interested clubs would have missed a big trick if he was to go this summer.

07-05-2021, 06:01 AM
Without a fee he could have maximised his own earnings. Interested teams could have got him for nothing.

He was doing well for us and at international level and just think if there was a time to go then that would have been it.

Never say never but I think both player and interested clubs would have missed a big trick if he was to go this summer.

Not really so though. We have a track record of giving better deals and then selling players.. increasing the players wage at Hibs also increases it when they move as well as our fee coming in.

I think we could sell Boyle, Doig, Nisbet and Porteous - and we will if fees suit and players want to go. All four are at least good enough for the English Champs and there's greater wealth/opportunity to be had there.

07-05-2021, 06:28 AM
Surely we won’t/can’t sell Porteous, Doig, Nisbet and Boyle. No chance.

Even if we took in 8 million they would be very very hard to replace. Money doesn’t guarantee good players, especially at SPFL level.

We’ve saw many players in the past come from down south or where ever with a good reputation and struggle up here.

Unless we went and got players like Jason Kerr, Jordan Jones and Shankland but you’re probably talking 1 million or close to it for each of them plus the wages to match which I can’t see.

LeithMike
07-05-2021, 06:32 AM
Not really so though. We have a track record of giving better deals and then selling players.. increasing the players wage at Hibs also increases it when they move as well as our fee coming in.

I think we could sell Boyle, Doig, Nisbet and Porteous - and we will if fees suit and players want to go. All four are at least good enough for the English Champs and there's greater wealth/opportunity to be had there.There's also the Brexit impact with restrictions on players coming from the EU now. That's going to inflate prices for players already in the English leagues and increase demand for players from Scotland and Ireland. If Martin wants to go then I don't see a problem in his agent finding a buyer south of the border. His CV will look great with continual improvement, international recognition and an explosiveness that is generally hard to find. I do, however, agree with Andy and think that last summer would have been the time for him to move, which suggests he might be happy here (although this could have been down to the problems in the market created by SARS CoV-2).

I'm sure he's on good money at Hibs and loves being a key player here but the money on offer in England might be too good to turn down even if it does hurt his career if he was to become a bench player.

Really glad we have had him for this season as, without him, we'd definitely be back in the pack and, if Hibs are going to win the Cup, he is going to be the main man.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

LeithMike
07-05-2021, 06:52 AM
Surely we won’t/can’t sell Porteous, Doig, Nisbet and Boyle. No chance.

Even if we took in 8 million they would be very very hard to replace. Money doesn’t guarantee good players, especially at SPFL level.

We’ve saw many players in the past come from down south or where ever with a good reputation and struggle up here.

Unless we went and got players like Jason Kerr, Jordan Jones and Shankland but you’re probably talking 1 million or close to it for each of them plus the wages to match which I can’t see.Hibs have to be careful here and remember back to when the Golden Generation were sold off/allowed to leave. The loss of Thomson, Brown, Riordan, O'connor, Fletcher, Murphy and Caldwell in a short space of time ripped the heart out of the club and it took relegation, the best part of a decade and the appointment of Stubbs to recover.

I don't think this team has the same talent though and the players (other than Boyle) are replaceable.

Doig- I've been very impressed with the improvement in Mackie since his return and if he can steer clear of injury, I think he could actually improve us defensively (if not quite offering the same attacking threat which may no longer be needed if Mackay comes in as a left winger).

Porteous - our defence hasn't been our strong suit and a more consistent and steady performer could actually improve us.

Nisbet - he does provide us with something different nd will be difficult to replace but a fit Leigh Griffiths would definitely give us another dimension.

Boyle - that's the tough one. Sounds like a big player in the dressing room as well as on the park and we would have an even bigger struggle to break teams down without him. It'll also be hard to find a winger of his attacking threat who is equally happy to work back in the other direction and play wing back. He is the most deserving of a move though and if RG was looking to limit the sales to one or two then he should be given first option if an acceptable offer comes in.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

07-05-2021, 07:24 AM
If we were to sell Nisbet, Doig, Porteous and Boyle in the summer it would be a disaster. That's almost half our outfield starting team including our best player and our top goalscorer.

I really can't see that happening.

07-05-2021, 07:33 AM
If we were to sell Nisbet, Doig, Porteous and Boyle in the summer it would be a disaster. That's almost half our outfield starting team including our best player and our top goalscorer.

I really can't see that happening.

If the right offers come in and the players want to go, theyll be away.

We just need to back ourselves to replace them well.

07-05-2021, 07:46 AM

I think we could sell Boyle, Doig, Nisbet and Porteous - and we will if fees suit and players want to go. All four are at least good enough for the English Champs and there's greater wealth/opportunity to be had there.

My big fear as well.

Would raise a lot of cash but we wouldn't invest it all.

Recruitment will be the determining factor, do it well and we could kick on but doing it poorly could lead to mid table mediocrity again.

I hope the club don't sell the four in the same window, that coupled with Rocky going would mean just short of half of our starting 11 would be gone in one foul swoop.

I don't think we will do that however but I can't see it being any less than two.

07-05-2021, 08:00 AM
If the right offers come in and the players want to go, theyll be away.

We just need to back ourselves to replace them well.

You would think that replacements, if some (or all) were to go, have been identified by the recruitment team!

We are in a great but strange position!

Laced1875
07-05-2021, 08:09 AM
Really annoying that there is so much speculation around our key players when we still have the most important game of the season coming up.

07-05-2021, 08:12 AM
Really annoying that there is so much speculation around our key players when we still have the most important game of the season coming up.

Nisbet is the only new speculation that I'm aware off? The other speculation is people speculating over speculation from earlier in the season 😁

Laced1875
07-05-2021, 09:21 AM
Nisbet is the only new speculation that I'm aware off? The other speculation is people speculating over speculation from earlier in the season 😁
Was Porteous not linked with QPR the other day ?

07-05-2021, 09:37 AM

GK - Macey / Dabrowksi
LCB - Porteous / Hanlon
RCB - Kerr / Mcgregor
RB - McGinn / Gray
CDM - Caicedo / Gogic
CM - Hendry / Magennis
CM - Irvine / Newell
LW - MacKay / Murphy
ST - Griffiths / Doidge
RW - Boyle / Cadden

Scott Allan???

07-05-2021, 09:43 AM
I don't think Boyle will go he's happy with a young family and his wife plays for the ladies, he recently signed an extension so he seems committed.

I can see Nisbet and Doig going but Porteous staying.

07-05-2021, 10:48 AM
Of all the players mentioned, i’d be pretty gutted if we sold Boyle. Really hope we can keep hold of him and maybe look at a new longer contract on improved terms.

07-05-2021, 10:59 AM
My big fear as well.

Would raise a lot of cash but we wouldn't invest it all.

Recruitment will be the determining factor, do it well and we could kick on but doing it poorly could lead to mid table mediocrity again.

I hope the club don't sell the four in the same window, that coupled with Rocky going would mean just short of half of our starting 11 would be gone in one foul swoop.

I don't think we will do that however but I can't see it being any less than two.

It's not really a 'fear' I have - we are and will always be a selling club.

We are also trying to buy those with ambition and move up from Hibs - e.g. SJM, Nisbet

If the players want to go they will.

Signing of ICT winger early is a sign of being prepared - he will either replace Boyle or give us balance with two fast wide men. I've got faith in Ron and JR :flag:

07-05-2021, 11:42 AM
There is no way we will sell four players at the same time.

07-05-2021, 11:44 AM
There is no way we will sell four players at the same time.

If they all want to go, they will go.

07-05-2021, 11:46 AM

Peak physical fitness and ripe for a big pay day move. Whether he would be a success or not I have no idea, but I think he'll want the opportunity.

Unlike previous seasons, however, I'm not as bothered as I would normally be at the prospects of losing quite a few players, as we will get good money for them and I'm confident our owner will invest in good replacements.

07-05-2021, 11:48 AM

We are also trying to buy those with ambition and move up from Hibs - e.g. SJM, Nisbet

Signing of ICT winger early is a sign of being prepared - he will either replace Boyle or give us balance with two fast wide men. I've got faith in Ron and JR :flag:

The loss of all four, plus Rocky and Irvine, That would be a serious bit of surgery on this team. The pressure would be on Ross and Hibs to ensure they are replaced by players good enough to maintain the current standard and take the team forward. I can't say that prospect fills me with joy. Endless team in transition scenario beckons.

That said, I can't see all four assets moving on this summer.

07-05-2021, 11:49 AM

Is there anything from any good sources at all? It's mainly folk on here linking them with moves.

07-05-2021, 12:46 PM
If they all want to go, they will go.

Just like Nisbet and Porteous did in January?

SonOfDavidFrancey
07-05-2021, 04:48 PM
I dare say winning the cup and a guarantee of 6-8 European games will help retention/ recruitment?

07-05-2021, 06:57 PM

We’ve not always been a selling club to the extent that we sell all 4 of our best players in one hit. Can’t say I recall anything like that at any time. Different times now I know but it’s not a precedent I know if or have ever read about.

07-05-2021, 06:59 PM

Peak physical fitness and ripe for a big pay day move. Whether he would be a success or not I have no idea, but I think he'll want the opportunity.

Unlike previous seasons, however, I'm not as bothered as I would normally be at the prospects of losing quite a few players, as we will get good money for them and I'm confident our owner will invest in good replacements.

I don’t think our owner will know a good player from a good fans forum so let’s hope his recruitment team do.

07-05-2021, 07:31 PM
We’ve not always been a selling club to the extent that we sell all 4 of our best players in one hit. Can’t say I recall anything like that at any time. Different times now I know but it’s not a precedent I know if or have ever read about.

I can't see us selling 4 as I think Boyle will stay but the precedent here is the fact that the 3 other lads are all young and very talented, the last time that happened we sold Thomson, Brown and Whittaker all at the same time.

07-05-2021, 07:37 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised in the case of Nisbet and Porteous in particular if they were told see out this season, get us into third/win the cup and if acceptable bids come in this summer we will let you go.

07-05-2021, 07:39 PM
I can't see us selling 4 as I think Boyle will stay but the precedent here is the fact that the 3 other lads are all young and very talented, the last time that happened we sold Thomson, Brown and Whittaker all at the same time.

Brown and Thomson didn’t leave at the same time so that’s that precedent unprecedented..

MagicSwirlingShip
07-05-2021, 07:44 PM
Brown and Thomson didn’t leave at the same time so that’s that precedent unprecedented..

Brown, Killen and Sproule all left the same summer. Harsh times

07-05-2021, 07:49 PM
Brown, Killen and Sproule all left the same summer. Harsh times

If you add Whittaker to that then maybe there is a precedent after all. Although Killen walked away didn’t he the ****, rather than being sold.

08-05-2021, 07:13 AM

I realise not at the same time but from the same successful team, Thomson went in January, Brown in May and Whittaker in August all in 2007.

08-05-2021, 07:27 AM
If we lost those players but made circa £8m+ for them, I’m far more confident of our ability to spend around half of that back into the squad now, and recruit well, than I was looking back at 2007. We have infrastructure and barrowloads of debt that the majority of the money went towards. We are actively loosening the purse strings just now even without that income, with it and I feel Ron will be very generous about how much he gives to the playing squad.

08-05-2021, 07:51 AM
Rocky apparently rejected a contract back in Israel and has offers to remain in Scotland. Only going to be one of the uglies.

Can't pretend I'm not disappointed in that, even if it makes total financial sense for him and his family.

08-05-2021, 07:52 AM

One left mid season, the other at the end of the season. The point is a good one - we had to replace both that summer and it wasn’t easy.

08-05-2021, 07:57 AM
Rocky apparently rejected a contract back in Israel and has offers to remain in Scotland. Only going to be one of the uglies.

Can't pretend I'm not disappointed in that, even if it makes total financial sense for him and his family.

Don't grudge him that to be honest. Been a good servant and deserves a payday at the end of his career.

scotiaf
08-05-2021, 08:06 AM
Cannot blame a guy for doubling his salary towards the end of his career

Laced1875
08-05-2021, 08:07 AM
Looks like (potentially) we will need a new GK, Centre Back, Left Back, Winger and a Striker - busy window ahead.

08-05-2021, 08:22 AM
Looks like (potentially) we will need a new GK, Centre Back, Left Back, Winger and a Striker - busy window ahead.

Jack has been saying they have contingency plans and targets in mind should players leave. I feel more confident in our recruitment these days and there seems to be a strategy in place.

08-05-2021, 08:34 AM
Hopefully some of our younger players will break through at the same time.

08-05-2021, 09:00 AM

GK - Macey has signed on for 2 years and Dabrowski has extended his deal. Paddy Martin is also still on the books, out on loan at the moment at Stenny. So I don't think another GK will be a priority, TBH

08-05-2021, 09:48 AM
I think it’s inevitable that Nisbet and Porteous will be sold in the summer and I wouldn’t grudge them their moves, don’t see the point in also selling Doig unless it’s a ridiculous offer. Doig needs to be playing first team football at this stage of his development, his value will not drop over a period of 1 year.

08-05-2021, 09:52 AM
I'd rather not see any go but that's unrealistic. Some will definitely go but I don't see all 5 leaving. Should the worst case occur I wouldn't be totally dismayed as I feel our recruitment over the last 4 or 5 seasons has been good and getting better each year.

I think the fact young players see our best young players getting bigger moves will help make us an attractive prospect to potential targets so unfortunately if the right amount is bid we need to accept otherwise we stop being able to attract players like John McGinn and Kevin Nisbet.

08-05-2021, 09:52 AM
Realistic outs

Mallan
Wright
Porteous
Nisbet
Halberg

Ins
McKay
Jason Kerr
I’d take a punt of the JET at Livi
Central midfielder
Scott Allan

08-05-2021, 09:55 AM
Realistic outs

Mallan
Wright
Porteous
Nisbet
Halberg

Ins
McKay
Jason Kerr
I’d take a punt of the JET at Livi
Central midfielder
Scott Allan

I read JET is potentially away to Asia or India in the close season.

Also worth noting he's now the wrong side of 30, so probably doesn't fit our profile.

08-05-2021, 10:29 AM
The loss of all four, plus Rocky and Irvine, That would be a serious bit of surgery on this team. The pressure would be on Ross and Hibs to ensure they are replaced by players good enough to maintain the current standard and take the team forward. I can't say that prospect fills me with joy. Endless team in transition scenario beckons.

Not a chance this will happen. Nisbet and maybe Porto and that’s it. I’m sure if we have a chance of Leigh coming back Kevin could be away. Also I’m sure we can get a decent replacement for Porto if he goes plus daz is still well capable for another season. The recruitment process is working superbly so no issues with mathie well on top of it. It will take a possible record fee for us to let Boyle go. Can’t see anyone we can afford who could replace him. Unplayable when on the money. All positive as far as o can see.

08-05-2021, 10:49 AM
One left mid season, the other at the end of the season. The point is a good one - we had to replace both that summer and it wasn’t easy.

Agreed but one of them stayed long enough to win a cup and should maybe have been two cups so the 6 months made a difference.
They were irreplaceable really.

08-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Not a chance this will happen. Nisbet and maybe Porto and that’s it. I’m sure if we have a chance of Leigh coming back Kevin could be away. Also I’m sure we can get a decent replacement for Porto if he goes plus daz is still well capable for another season. The recruitment process is working superbly so no issues with mathie well on top of it. It will take a possible record fee for us to let Boyle go. Can’t see anyone we can afford who could replace him. Unplayable when on the money. All positive as far as o can see.

Well, I think you are underestimating the possibility that Doig will go. Equally, MacGregor is going to be around, but I reckon he’s not likely to play much. Our record fee is 4.5 million or so ( Brown), no one will pay that for Boyle. It’s possible that he will have a clause and fee in his contract. If someone meets that and trebles his wages, he’ll be offski. I fully agree, he would be a huge loss to the side.

Recruitment has been mixed, Nisbet has been a great signing, as has Gogic. S.McGinn, Wright, Murphy, Cadden and Magennis less so.

I named six players. I reckon we will do well to retain three of them.

They can go with my eternal gratitude, if they win the Scottish Cup.

08-05-2021, 11:10 AM
Is there anything from any good sources at all? It's mainly folk on here linking them with moves.

Exactly its the usual on here the only solid rumour is Nisbet the rest of folk on here selling off the crown jewels

08-05-2021, 11:11 AM

If they want to go they'll go, and I think they all will for various reasons.

08-05-2021, 11:14 AM
Exactly its the usual on here the only solid rumour is Nisbet the rest of folk on here selling off the crown jewels

Well, not really. There were bids for Porto and Nisbet in January and there have been persistent rumours about Doig going. I don’t think anyone wants to see these players transferred. In fact every post seems to say that they should stay at Hibs and progress their careers.

Out of curiosity which rumour about Nisbet and what makes that more solid than any of the others?

08-05-2021, 11:14 AM

Boyle seems happy where he is to meet...unless the uglies came in for him I don't see him leaving at all tbh - he's in the Oz squad and probably one of our higher earners

08-05-2021, 11:17 AM
Well, not really. There were bids for Porto and Nisbet in January and there have been persistent rumours about Doig going. I don’t think anyone wants to see these players transferred. In fact every post seems to say that they should stay at Hibs and progress their careers.

Out of curiosity which rumour about Nisbet and what makes that more solid than any of the others?

The Brentford one this week which seemed fairly realistic- Doig is really just paper talk nothing more imo and he's fairly grounded and I reckon will wanna stay another season at least. As for Boyle I don't see him leaving unless it's a life changing transfer for him and a great deal for us. Do think Porto and Nisbet will be offski - but both are very replaceable imo - we were in a great run of form in Feb when neither could get near the team. So it's all not all doom and gloom for me

08-05-2021, 11:22 AM
The Brentford one this week which seemed fairly realistic- Doig is really just paper talk nothing more imo and he's fairly grounded and I reckon will wanna stay another season at least. As for Boyle I don't see him leaving unless it's a life changing transfer for him and a great deal for us. Do think Porto and Nisbet will be offski - but both are very replaceable imo - we were in a great run of form in Feb when neither could get near the team. So it's all not all doom and gloom for me

So you see that replacing one of the league’s top scorers and a player who has been a cornerstone of one of the best defences will be easy?

08-05-2021, 11:27 AM
So you see that replacing one of the league’s top scorers and a player who has been a cornerstone of one of the best defences will be easy?
Won't be easy at and tbh I never said that I said I though both could be replaced and am confident they would be. I think they are both great players but it's pretty clear their heads were turned massively in Jan and their form has been patchy since. Hope they both play out of their skins for us today and if they win us the Cup they deserve their big moves

08-05-2021, 11:33 AM
There’s no way we can sell Porteous, Doig, Boyle and Nisbet in the same window especially when you consider the following might leave

Ofir Marciano - Out of contract and said he’s leaving
David Gray - Completely out of favour and wants games
Tom James - Out of favour and been on loan all season
Stephen McGinn - Was rarely used and now out on loan
Jackson Irvine - Out of contract, might want a bigger/more lucrative move
Melker Hallberg - Not used as regularly as I imagine he would like, don’t know if he will want moved on for more first team action?
Drey Wright - Similar to Melker and hasn’t set the Heather on fire
Stevie Mallan - Wanted a loan for more regular football. Can’t see that changing in summer.
Fraser Murray - Out of favour and out on loan all season
Jamie Gullan - Played well for Raith but seems similar to Mackay.

I appreciate some never played a big part but there’s a good chance some of them will be moved on too or the club might want offloaded, if the ones in demand all went that would be leaving us with a team of

Dabrowski
Macey

McGinn
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Mackie

Cadden
Magennis
Allan
Newell
Gogic
Mackay
Jamie Murphy

Doidge
Bradley
Shanley

Dr What If?
08-05-2021, 11:37 AM
Its part and parcel of being a club of our size in an undervalued league. We can offer players a fairly comfortable lifestyle, couple of grand a week is not to be sniffed at....what we can't offer is that life changing contract that even an average championship club can. The SPL is also not a bad standard so when a player looks good and we are doing well then we are ripe for the picking.
For that to change there is so much more needing done, not just at Easter Road, but in the game nationally. Business wise we need to be able to compete with the English second tier, the look and feel of the product must get better......Scottish football as a whole needs stronger USPs outside of just the rather limited 'we have the OF'.
Debate for another thread though so I'll just shut up for now :greengrin

08-05-2021, 11:45 AM

What makes you think Doig is paper talk and Nisbet isn't?

The Brentford / Nisbet was paper talk in the Sun this week.

08-05-2021, 11:48 AM
Whether folk liked it or not Farmer and Petrie had to sell Brown, Thomson, Whittaker etc because of our debt and to take the old hut down and build the East Stand in it's place. Today we have no debt and the East Stand is still in perfect nick whilst the players sold to pay for it are spent forces with no worth.

This time around with saleable assets we are under no real pressure to sell especially if we can win the Scottish Cup and need a decent sized and good quality squad to compete in Scotland and Europe every Thursday and Sunday for the rest of the year.

Both Nisbet and Doig are on long term contracts. It might be prudent to increase Nisbet's wage in view of his performances. When he came in he stated that as a result of the pandemic he had signed on for a lower wage than he would have received had he signed for us 6 months earlier. We should put that right and some more to prevent resentment in the player.

Porteous despite last weeks brain fart is continuing to progress and that eventually means a bigger transfer fee. As things stand selling Ryan would leave only Hanlon and 36 year old McGregor for next season so would be looking at having to sign 2 centre halfs.

Boyle is our only x factor player, brave and knows the way to goal. Biggest risk to holding Martin is we don't know if there is a low level release clause in the contract he signed last summer ala Cummings. Like Marciano I couldn't resent Martin a good move. He has given us everything this season.

Marciano almost certainly gone given his clear statement and Hibs signing our other 2 keepers to new contracts. A shame but he has given us 5 good years.

Jackson Irvine, good interview on open goal this week. Nice guy, sensible, stable sort. Win the Scottish Cup and I reckon he will sign up for another season. Has done well after not playing for 10 months. A pre season will move him up a level. Would be good if Ross could give him a free box to box role next season. Athlete.

So much of which players stay is riding on us winning the Scottish Cup. European football for the rest of the year would require squad size and quality and would return us a few million quid so no point or need to sell players. Could perhaps sell Porteous in the January window and Nisbet next summer and Doig the summer after that.

Fingers crossed we space the sales out to our own benefit with the cash brought in used to pay for the following seasons player purchases plus the new full size indoor pitch at East Mains.

08-05-2021, 11:51 AM

I agree, it’s a serious rebuild we’re facing this summer. In terms of various reasons, three times the wage and a big signing on fee will usually do it.

I suppose this is the way of the modern game. There’s so much money swilling around the big leagues and of course it filters down so that clubs like Hibs can’t even compete with clubs at the top end of the third tier of English football.

I have to say, much of what has become of football sickens me to the core.

w pilton hibby
09-05-2021, 09:36 AM
Hibs make St Johnstone captain Jason Kerr summer transfer target

https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/hibs-make-st-johnstone-captain-jason-kerr-summer-transfer-target/

09-05-2021, 09:37 AM

https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/hibs-make-st-johnstone-captain-jason-kerr-summer-transfer-target/

There’s no chance we’re paying £300k for Jason Kerr in the last year of his contract.

09-05-2021, 09:40 AM
There’s no chance we’re paying £300k for Jason Kerr in the last year of his contract.

If we get him that cheap I’ll be staggered.

09-05-2021, 09:42 AM

Lads only 24 and been very good all season. I happily pay that for him!

09-05-2021, 09:43 AM

£2m for Porteous and £300,000 for Kerr. Yes please.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-05-2021, 09:44 AM

If we sell Porto it’s not that unrealistic

09-05-2021, 10:02 AM

I don’t think it’s unrealistic. They’re not gonna sell him for next to nothing.

09-05-2021, 10:10 AM
I’d bit your hand of for Jason Kerr

Offering of mallan / Wright and a bit cash perhaps

09-05-2021, 10:12 AM
Kerr's a good solid pro and has been a mainstay at St Johnstone for the past 2-3 years so has a fair amount experience at this level. if Ryan leaves for around £2m then £300k for Kerr is a great piece of business.