View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

09-07-2021, 01:15 PM
Just waiting for that club statement, Jack Ross is happy with the current squad 🙄

Very Aberdeenesque...their manager comes away with that every window just before signing three more players. If you haven't realised by now its s negociating tactic used by clubs to force agents, and other clubs, hands you haven't been paying attention😉

09-07-2021, 01:17 PM
If we reach the group stages of the Conference League we're guaranteed 3 million euros/£2,5million with 5 days of transfer window left.

After that it's 500,000 euros/£425,000 for a group stage win, 166,000 euros/£142,000 for a draw.

The problem is reaching the group stages with big teams dropping into our qualifying path from the big tournaments above after the first easy tie.

09-07-2021, 01:28 PM
Paddy Martin signs for Falkirk on a 2 yeard deal.

09-07-2021, 01:30 PM
Paddy Martin signs for Falkirk on a 2 yeard deal.

And he’s doing some coaching at Hibs too
Was speaking to him at the game on Tuesday night
Great move for him

09-07-2021, 01:31 PM
The problem is reaching the group stages with big teams dropping into our qualifying path from the big tournaments above after the first easy tie.

There’s a separate path for teams knocked out of the Champions League so we can’t be drawn against them.

09-07-2021, 03:13 PM
Pretty negative way to see things and miles away from the truth of the matter
It's called satire 🙄

Bad Habits
09-07-2021, 04:20 PM
The Hibs Instagram earlier was making a lot of noise about Doig being given #3 for the next season, seems odd to go on about it if we're expecting him to leave this window.

09-07-2021, 04:24 PM
QUOTE=hibbyfraelibby;6614854]Very Aberdeenesque...their manager comes away with that every window just before signing three more players. If you haven't realised by now its s negociating tactic used by clubs to force agents, and other clubs, hands you haven't been paying attention😉[/QUOTE]
If you didn't realise it was satire, perhaps you weren't paying attention 😏

09-07-2021, 04:25 PM
The Hibs Instagram earlier was making a lot of noise about Doig being given #3 for the next season, seems odd to go on about it if we're expecting him to leave this window.

Could be a tactic to drive his value up ie he’s first choice left back so if you want him then pay up

09-07-2021, 04:30 PM

I’m not expecting him to leave.

147lothian
09-07-2021, 04:41 PM
Could be a tactic to drive his value up ie he’s first choice left back so if you want him then pay up

That's how I see it. Brinksmanship is always at play during the transfer window.

09-07-2021, 04:50 PM
That's how I see it. Brinksmanship is always at play during the transfer window.

That isn't how I see it. In fact, until we receive a significant bid there is nothing to see.

He is our first choice left back and one of our real success stories from last season. Of course we're talking him up ahead if the new season. We would have been anyway.

09-07-2021, 04:57 PM
I see PSG have signed Ramos, Hakimi, Wijnaldum and will be signing Donnarumma for a combined fee of £60m.

That’s really quite incredible business.

09-07-2021, 04:58 PM

I don’t see the Jersey number is going to make any difference….he started about 30 games last season..that defines his first choice status,not what number he wears…will simply have been available

09-07-2021, 05:22 PM
I see PSG have signed Ramos, Hakimi, Wijnaldum and will be signing Donnarumma for a combined fee of £60m.

That’s really quite incredible business.

Donnarummas agent wanted 20 million commision I think. It will have cost PSG a good bit more than that all in.

Orchard_Hibs
09-07-2021, 05:27 PM
Donnarummas agent wanted 20 million commision I think. It will have cost PSG a good bit more than that all in.

Football is ******

09-07-2021, 05:58 PM

I should have become an agent!

09-07-2021, 05:59 PM
Odoffin starts for Hamilton tonight, beside Ben Stirling
Do we have a thread for match up dates on non Hibs games, for this season?

09-07-2021, 06:56 PM
Football is ******
Ruined by money & greedy players & agents

09-07-2021, 07:45 PM

The fans are disconnected.It can all crash at anytime.

Keyser Sauzee
09-07-2021, 07:48 PM

Who was No.3 before Doig??

09-07-2021, 07:51 PM
Who was No.3 before Doig??

Whittaker

09-07-2021, 07:57 PM

It's a constant fight between the elite players, agents, elite European club owners and shareholders to grab as big a share of the vast sea of money as possible.
Money supplied by supporters in the form of tickets and TV subscriptions, replica straps etc.
As we saw earlier in the year enough is never enough for these ****ers they would steal your eyes and come back later for the sockets. Nasty capitalism.

Orchard_Hibs
09-07-2021, 08:11 PM
The fans are disconnected.It can all crash at anytime.

I wish it would crash, I actually feel that the ‘elite’ are playing a different sport to the game I grew up loving.

badabing67
09-07-2021, 09:34 PM
Odoffin starts for Hamilton tonight, beside Ben Stirling
Do we have a thread for match up dates on non Hibs games, for this season?

That's him cup tied for the league cup then

09-07-2021, 09:37 PM
Still think a keeper will be on the list. Don't think the highlights today were brilliant for Macey.

09-07-2021, 09:41 PM
That's him cup tied for the league cup then

Might be wrong but think the group games don't impact knockout games in terms of cup tie.

09-07-2021, 09:43 PM
Still think a keeper will be on the list. Don't think the highlights today were brilliant for Macey.

I’ve only seen the Hibs goal.

Had a look on Twitter but can’t see the Stoke goal, any chance you are able to post a link?

09-07-2021, 09:49 PM
I’ve only seen the Hibs goal.

Had a look on Twitter but can’t see the Stoke goal, any chance you are able to post a link?

It’s on the training camp thread.

TelaStella
09-07-2021, 09:58 PM
Tom James apparently moving on according to Twitter. I’m struggling to remember a player coming in, only to become as alienated for as long as he has. Going by his start in the team it wasn’t so much of a surprise, but feels almost mental he’s never been given at least a sniff since.

09-07-2021, 10:03 PM

I hope for your sake this happens Andy- it’s becoming pathological…😂

09-07-2021, 10:13 PM
Tom James apparently moving on according to Twitter. I’m struggling to remember a player coming in, only to become as alienated for as long as he has. Going by his start in the team it wasn’t so much of a surprise, but feels almost mental he’s never been given at least a sniff since.

Nope. I honestly took one look at him BEFORE he even kicked a ball and couldn’t work out how he was even a footballer! He looked like someone from a works 5 a side team that had been handed a strip to fill in for the day.

He just looked wrong and sadly my totally inexpert analysis was proven to be correct as soon as he did try and kick a ball.

Never in a million years good enough for Hibs and I seriously wonder just how on earth we managed to scout and sign him for a 3 year deal.

And yeah I get some work and some don’t but if ever one was destined to fail…

09-07-2021, 10:18 PM
It’s on the training camp thread.

Fwiw I agree with you.

I can’t be bothered going over old ground but I’m far from convinced about him.

Time will tell however in my opinion if we go into next season as our first choice keeper my prediction is it won’t be too long before we realise that was a mistake.

Appreciate not everyone will agree and that’s fine, just my opinion.

09-07-2021, 10:18 PM
I hope for your sake this happens Andy- it’s becoming pathological…😂

It's a key position and I think in most cases anyway if we replaced a first choice with a back up player then we would hope that we actually do try and get closer to the quality of the first choice again.

Hallberg hasn't done a lot wrong when called upon but not many would be that happy if he just came in for Irvine and we hadn't looked at getting a replacement instead.

10-07-2021, 05:28 AM

I read this and thought he must have had a howler then watched the highlights and think your being over critical. He probably could have done better with the goal ball seemed to dip tho after coming through a crowd of players. Other than that I didn’t see him do anything wrong and I’d be very surprised if he doesn’t start the season as number 1

10-07-2021, 07:01 AM

Fwiw I agree with you.

I can’t be bothered going over old ground but I’m far from convinced about him.

Time will tell however in my opinion if we go into next season as our first choice keeper my prediction is it won’t be too long before we realise that was a mistake.

Appreciate not everyone will agree and that’s fine, just my opinion.

I’ve not even seen the goal from yesterday but he’s a bit of a downgrade on Marciano. Now that’s not a surprise, we were unlikely to get someone that good again but I’d have expected us to have went for someone who is somewhere between the two.

I expect we’ll be on the hunt for another goalie soon enough as well if we’re not already.

Mr. Wonderful
10-07-2021, 07:15 AM

I’ve not even seen the goal from yesterday but he’s a bit of a downgrade on Marciano. Now that’s not a surprise, we were unlikely to get someone that good again but I’d have expected us to have went for someone who is somewhere between the two.

I expect we’ll be on the hunt for another goalie soon enough as well if we’re not already.

Not having that. We signed Marciano and kept him here for years too. Nowt stopping us unearthing another Marciano, keeping in mind that he's hardly Buffon himself.

10-07-2021, 07:24 AM

Usually agree with your posts but not that one. Marciano lost his place to two keepers during his time with us because of poor performances. He was far from perfect. Not seen anything to worry me about Macey yet.

10-07-2021, 07:27 AM
Usually agree with your posts but not that one. Marciano lost his place to two keepers during his time with us because of poor performances. He was far from perfect. Not seen anything to worry me about Macey yet.

10-07-2021, 07:39 AM

Agree, some posters get a view formed in their head then find it difficult to alter that looking for the most minor points to support that view.

The bottom line is that GOALKEEPERS MAKE MISTAKES.

How many examples of poor goalkeeping have we seen during the Euros? Loads! We've also seen Pickford, who has had many mistakes in the past and viewed as a liability by many, only concede one goal so far in the Euros yet some of the experts on here believe the next mistake is just around the corner.

It probably is, but why not accentuate the positives rather than focus on the negatives.

10-07-2021, 08:21 AM
Agree, some posters get a view formed in their head then find it difficult to alter that looking for the most minor points to support that view.

The bottom line is that GOALKEEPERS MAKE MISTAKES.

How many examples of poor goalkeeping have we seen during the Euros? Loads! We've also seen Pickford, who has had many mistakes in the past and viewed as a liability by many, only concede one goal so far in the Euros yet some of the experts on here believe the next mistake is just around the corner.

It probably is, but why not accentuate the positives rather than focus on the negatives.

Totally agree and the first paragraph is spot on it’s like folk form an opinion and won’t change that. Macey has hardly put a foot wrong in any of the games I’m happy with him as number 1. You just know as soon as he makes a mistake folk will be clambering for a new keeper. Give the lad a chance

10-07-2021, 08:32 AM

I’m certainly not worried about Macey, I think he’s decent. Out of the keeper we’ve had since we’ve been relegated I’d suggest he potentially looks better than them all except Rocky, although I would argue that Oxley, Logan and all the other bit part keepers haven’t been great.

I really rated Rocky and I think the move he’s ended up getting shows how good he is. Saying Macey isn’t of that standard isn’t really a criticism of him.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m fine with Macey being our goalie but I’d be surprised to see him in any teams of the season or winning us a massive amount of points. From what I’ve seen before I’d describe him as steady. A Hallberg of goalkeepers if you will :greengrin

10-07-2021, 08:35 AM
He got us to the cup final and saved a penalty that should of inspired us to go on and equalise
He hasn’t played much so I am assuming he will get better with more regular game time
It’s too early to be saying we need a new No 1 imo

10-07-2021, 08:38 AM
Jack Ross reported in the EEN saying we are short of Defensive options for the Arsenal game. Even although it's pre-season I wonder if Hibs will ramp up their persuit of McCart or other defensive options?

10-07-2021, 08:39 AM
Totally agree and the first paragraph is spot on it’s like folk form an opinion and won’t change that. Macey has hardly put a foot wrong in any of the games I’m happy with him as number 1. You just know as soon as he makes a mistake folk will be clambering for a new keeper. Give the lad a chance

The 2 goals he lost against Motherwell were debated quite a lot. I fall on the side of the argument that I think he was to blame for them, not everybody does but that’s fine.

I also think his positioning was poor for the goal conceded away against Celtic.

The thing that’s triggered this debate is then the mistake in yesterday’s pre-season game. Games like that mean nothing but we’ve not had a huge amount of games to judge him on and that’s a few mistakes I can think of already.

FWIW I also predicted a mistake coming as I thought he looked shaky at times without necessarily conceding goals.

Thought he was excellent in the cup final, I’ve no beef with the guy, if he comes in and does well then terrific. I’m not convinced though and I’d prefer us to sign another keeper to compete with him.

10-07-2021, 08:45 AM

Spot on. I have no qualms about Macey being our number 1. Him and Dabrowski are very good goalkeepers.

10-07-2021, 08:53 AM
Spot on. I have no qualms about Macey being our number 1. Him and Dabrowski are very good goalkeepers.

How have you seen enough of Dabrowski to say he’s very good?

I think Macey is fine, he’s not great. I don’t think he’s really any better than Mark Oxley though, who was also fine.

10-07-2021, 08:53 AM
Jack Ross reported in the EEN saying we are short of Defensive options for the Arsenal game. Even although it's pre-season I wonder if Hibs will ramp up their persuit of McCart or other defensive options?

Looks like McGinn and Hanlon struggling as neither featured yesterday. Not ideal preparation.

Sioux
10-07-2021, 08:55 AM

Between the two what?

10-07-2021, 08:55 AM

I think there’s been a bit of a desperation to confer number one status on Macey. For whatever reason a few people didn’t like Marciano and that’s encouraged it I think.

If folk think Marciano was dodgy then they’d also have to accept that already there’s been a few goals / chances where Macey has at the least looked suspect.

Yes, there has been a few things to worry about from him.

Like I said earlier every other part of the team we want and expect to add much better players if we can and we rarely accept the previous back up as the answer.

Souter96Mac
10-07-2021, 09:00 AM

I think Macey is fine, he’s not great. I don’t think he’s really any better than Mark Oxley though, who was also fine.

From even the limited appearances I've seen Macey have, I can confirm for sure he's better than Oxley. Never seen that lad make any saves

10-07-2021, 09:01 AM
Personally would prefer a better number one.

10-07-2021, 09:02 AM
Celtic sell Bayo to Gent for £1.4M. They do well selling their duds.

10-07-2021, 09:19 AM
Celtic sell Bayo to Gent for £1.4M. They do well selling their duds.

They paid £1.8m for him though

Highwayman
10-07-2021, 09:19 AM
This petty sniping at Matt Mackey is ridiculous.

If you want to micro analyse every goal a keeper lets in you could probably come up with something you could class as a mistake.

Give the lad a decent chance and see where he is when the seasons up and running.

10-07-2021, 09:20 AM
From even the limited appearances I've seen Macey have, I can confirm for sure he's better than Oxley. Never seen that lad make any saves

Nonsense

10-07-2021, 09:20 AM
Good to see we're getting our scapegoats in early this window.

10-07-2021, 09:22 AM

I’m with you on this ..Oxley was up there with Graeme Smith in my view ..keepers who barely made a save . Macey has a lot more about him

10-07-2021, 09:23 AM
Looks like McGinn and Hanlon struggling as neither featured yesterday. Not ideal preparation.

Not surprised when you see the state of the pitch they played on, earlier in the week

I've seen Dabrowski plenty times - in fact I've seen him play in the last week, he's a very good goalkeeper, excellent communicator, very agile and his distribution is miles better than Marciano.

Yep, Some seem to not rate Macey as our number one . He looks fine to me . I’ll trust Ross to make good decisions .

If you want to micro analyse every goal a keeper lets in you could probably come up with something you could class as a mistake.

Give the lad a decent chance and see where he is when the seasons up and running.

What petty sniping? All players have their mistakes micro analysed on here. Why should Macey be different?

10-07-2021, 09:24 AM

Dramatic much?

10-07-2021, 09:26 AM
I've seen Dabrowski plenty times - in fact I've seen him play in the last week, he's a very good goalkeeper, excellent communicator, very agile and his distribution is miles better than Marciano.

You’ve no seen him play plenty of times at a level that matters.

10-07-2021, 09:29 AM

Kev's been with us a long time and is an investment now coming to fruition. He'll be our next No1.

10-07-2021, 09:30 AM
Kev's been with a a long time and is an investment now coming to fruition. He'll be our next No1.

Do you see him breaking through this season ?

10-07-2021, 09:34 AM

He’ll be 24 before the end of the season, if he’s going to break through, it really has to be this season.

10-07-2021, 09:38 AM

Take a day off man.

10-07-2021, 09:40 AM
Nope. I honestly took one look at him BEFORE he even kicked a ball and couldn’t work out how he was even a footballer! He looked like someone from a works 5 a side team that had been handed a strip to fill in for the day.

He just looked wrong and sadly my totally inexpert analysis was proven to be correct as soon as he did try and kick a ball.

Never in a million years good enough for Hibs and I seriously wonder just how on earth we managed to scout and sign him for a 3 year deal.

And yeah I get some work and some don’t but if ever one was destined to fail…

What a load of pish. He’s playing at a higher level than any of us could dream.

10-07-2021, 09:47 AM

Beyond pathetic.

10-07-2021, 09:51 AM
Take a day off man.

Am I wrong?

10-07-2021, 09:54 AM

Yip agree, but then we have so many experts here that disagree.

10-07-2021, 09:56 AM
Yip agree, but then we have so many experts here that disagree.

That old chestnut, anyone who has an opinion is claiming to be an “expert”.

berwickhibee
10-07-2021, 09:59 AM

Same as josh Doig then😁

10-07-2021, 10:01 AM
That old chestnut, anyone who has an opinion is claiming to be an “expert”.
You certainly seem to have plenty opinions which seem to be posted as more fact than just an opinion

10-07-2021, 10:21 AM
You certainly seem to have plenty opinions which seem to be posted as more fact than just an opinion

Have I, aye?

Where have I claimed somethings a fact? Where have I told someone they’re definitely wrong? I’ve given my opinions, that’s all. Is that not allowed?

Highwayman
10-07-2021, 10:25 AM
What petty sniping? All players have their mistakes micro analysed on here. Why should Macey be different?

Take your point,but surely keepers are subject to more critical analysis than outfield players.

Keepers mistakes are more visible and could lead to unfortunate consequences for their team.

10-07-2021, 10:26 AM
From even the limited appearances I've seen Macey have, I can confirm for sure he's better than Oxley. Never seen that lad make any savestotally agree regarding oxley.

10-07-2021, 10:26 AM
Same as josh Doig then😁

Absolutely, I’m no saying players cannae break through. I hope they do. Doig was 17 though, Dabrowski is 23.

Dabrowski though, when we signed Macey there were folk on here who watch the youth team saying there was no point in Dabrowski being here as number 2, so it was right to sign a keeper and send him on loan. What’s changed for now? He’s no played since December..

berwickhibee
10-07-2021, 10:33 AM
Absolutely, I’m no saying players cannae break through. I hope they do. Doig was 17 though, Dabrowski is 23.

Dabrowski though, when we signed Macey there were folk on here who watch the youth team saying there was no point in Dabrowski being here as number 2, so it was right to sign a keeper and send him on loan. What’s changed for now? He’s no played since December..

As we trusted the manager re Doig, I suggest we do the same with dabrowski??

Still need another keeper in, IMO.

10-07-2021, 10:52 AM
Between the two what?

Marciano and Macey.

10-07-2021, 10:53 AM
Dramatic much?

I think the worst thing that’s been said on this thread is that Macey may have done better with some goals and that someone hopes we’re looking for better or at least someone to really push him. Not unreasonable when we’ve lost probably our best keeper in 25 years.

How that translates into macey being this seasons scapegoat is anyone’s guess.

10-07-2021, 11:17 AM
As we trusted the manager re Doig, I suggest we do the same with dabrowski??

Still need another keeper in, IMO.

If we get another keeper then there is unlikely to be much trust getting shown in Dabrowski. Don’t think it’s similar to Doig who became first choice in his position when he was 5 years younger.

10-07-2021, 11:22 AM
Another keeper would be a total waste of money, unless they are a number 1. No more back up keeper loans. Just either give the kid a chance in cup ties etc, or bin him.

10-07-2021, 11:29 AM
Another keeper would be a total waste of money, unless they are a number 1. No more back up keeper loans. Just either give the kid a chance in cup ties etc, or bin him.

Agree. If Dabrowski isn’t good enough now then he needs moved on.

10-07-2021, 11:30 AM

We’ve had one on trial last 2 development games, so we must be looking at one
If either of our 2 keepers get an injured, we won’t have a goalie on the bench

Highwayman
10-07-2021, 11:33 AM

Agreed.If Dabrowski is now not ready to move up to another level,he never will be.

hhibs
10-07-2021, 11:40 AM

That sounds really positive would be really fantastic if he takes the number 1 jersey.

10-07-2021, 11:49 AM

Every single player gets judged and particularly if we lose a better player in their position.

Nothing to do with pettiness or sniping, it is whether or not we need another player in that position. Something Ross himself said he’d have to consider when talking about wanting Macey and Dabrowski to stay.

10-07-2021, 12:06 PM
Macey was signed to be our number one. He's played 8 competitive games for us and kept 4 clean sheets

He came in on a short-term deal at a time when Marciano was unavailable as we needed a strong keeper to replace him. When Marciano was available again he rightly went back into the team as our established number 1 and Macey was promised starts in the Scottish cup games in which he helped us get to the final, including winning a penalty shootout and saving a penalty in the final.

He only signed a longer term deal with it was confirmed Marciano would be moving on this summer and he would be first choice. He wasn't signed to be a back-up keeper and unless Dabrowski wants to go out on loan again then i doubt we will be signing another keeper as a priority.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion on him as a player but to have written him off already and then overanalyse every single thing he doesn't do perfectly to support a negative view and agenda against him is wrong and does nothing to benefit the team. At least give him the benefit of the doubt until he has played a reasonable number of games for us.

10-07-2021, 12:08 PM
Macey was signed to be our number one. He's played 8 competitive games for us and kept 4 clean sheets

He came in on a short-term deal at a time when Marciano was unavailable as we needed a strong keeper to replace him. When Marciano was available again he rightly went back into the team as our established number 1 and Macey was promised starts in the Scottish cup games in which he helped us get to the final, including winning a penalty shootout and saving a penalty in the final.

He only signed a longer term deal with it was confirmed Marciano would be moving on this summer and he would be first choice. He wasn't signed to be a back-up keeper and unless Dabrowski wants to go out on loan again then i doubt we will be signing another keeper as a priority.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion on him as a player but to have written him off already and then overanalyse every single thing he doesn't do perfectly to support a negative view and agenda against him is wrong and does nothing to benefit the team. At least give him the benefit of the doubt until he has played a reasonable number of games for us.

Excellent post

10-07-2021, 12:09 PM

Just keep Samson registered. How many times in history have we been down to a 3rd goalie because of injury? Its not worth it. There must be a keeper at u20 level or something who could sit on the bench?

10-07-2021, 12:09 PM

That’s all your opinion though.

It is not a fact he was signed to be our number one. Read what Ross had to say about it.

I find it a bit odd that discussion about the goalkeeper seems to have to have an agenda against it. Bizarre.

berwickhibee
10-07-2021, 12:18 PM
If we get another keeper then there is unlikely to be much trust getting shown in Dabrowski. Don’t think it’s similar to Doig who became first choice in his position when he was 5 years younger.

Similar in that we trust the manager to make the right call. Who is the last keeper we brought through?? Chris Reid??

The young lad who has been linked to man city must have something?? How old is he??

Souter96Mac
10-07-2021, 12:27 PM
Nonsense

Fair enough, just goes to show how differently people see the game.

Honestly thought Oxley was pretty unspectacular, verging on being a poor goalie. Obviously not a defining characteristic of being a goalie, but I don't think Oxley made any memorable saves during his time. Whereas Macey has already in his handful of games - that penalty save in the final especially.

10-07-2021, 12:28 PM

Everyone is entitled to their opinion on him as a player but to have written him off already and then overanalyse every single thing he doesn't do perfectly to support a negative view and agenda against him is wrong and does nothing to benefit the team. At least give him the benefit of the doubt until he has played a reasonable number of games for us.Well said.

10-07-2021, 12:28 PM
What a load of pish. He’s playing at a higher level than any of us could dream.

Absolutely right. I think James is actually a decent footballer, his goal against Alloa was stunning. He has however one major flaw,he has no pace at all and you can't be a fullback with that flaw. I do however think he could play the holding midfielder role, but probably not at our level.

10-07-2021, 12:30 PM
Absolutely right. I think James is actually a decent footballer, his goal against Alloa was stunning. He has however one major flaw,he has no pace at all and you can't be a fullback with that flaw. I do however think he could play the holding midfielder role, but probably not at our level.I've posted before that I thought he looked fine in the few games that he played for us. He didn't look very fast but he was comfortable with the ball.

10-07-2021, 12:33 PM

It is not a fact he was signed to be our number one. Read what Ross had to say about it.

I find it a bit odd that discussion about the goalkeeper seems to have to have an agenda against it. Bizarre.

I have read what Ross has had to say about it but i've also seen actions including Macey only signing on longer term once it was confirmed Marciano would be going. He wouldn't have signed for us to be a back-up so there must have been confirmation given to him that he would at least start the season as number one

JR sticking with him for the Semi & Final last season, if Macey wasn't going to be number one this season then there would be no reason for JR to have played him in those games where having our established number one in goals would have given us an advantage in trying to win the competition. Winning a trophy surely takes precedence over the feelings of a back-up keeper? Only reason to have done that was if he trusted and considered Macey our ongoing number one after Marciano left and to keep him happy going into this season.

And the fact he has been allocated the number 1 for the season. If he was just the back-up he would still be using the same number he had last season with the number 1 being saved for whoever we are signing as first choice. Same thing has happened to Doig, he is now established as a first choice player and has been given number 3.

10-07-2021, 12:36 PM
Macey is fine in my experience of keepers. Logan had one incredible game for us. Largely hopeless in the rest and leaves a legend. Oxlely was a steady pair of hands but completely overshadowed by Logans heroics in the Dundee United game after losing his contact lens at Inverness, in my opinion he was far better than Logan. The boy Maxwell was slated by a lot of fans mainly because he wasn't Marciano, despite Marciano making far too many mistakes around that time. Bogdan imo was better than both of those two. Macey had done nothing wrong but folk were wanting Marciano in for the final despite him never having a good game for Hibs there and Macey getting all the cup games then going on to be the only Hibs player that day who could walk out of Hampden with their head held high. Now folk don't think he's a number one. The bizarre world of Hibs and goalkeepers. Give the guy a chance.

10-07-2021, 12:42 PM
After Hibs history with goal keepers over the last decade or so I can’t believe we are actually being picky with a young keeper who I think will only get better. Like Porteous, Doig etc aye they will make mistakes but stick with them unless it’s clangers every week which it won’t be

10-07-2021, 12:43 PM
After Hibs history with goal keepers over the last decade or so I can’t believe we are actually being picky with a young keeper who I think will only get better. Like Porteous, Doig etc aye they will make mistakes but stick with them unless it’s clangers every week which it won’t be

Exactly. Could have a Zibi or Simon Brown in goals.

10-07-2021, 12:45 PM
I have read what Ross has had to say about it but i've also seen actions including Macey only signing on longer term once it was confirmed Marciano would be going. He wouldn't have signed for us to be a back-up so there must have been confirmation given to him that he would at least start the season as number one

JR sticking with him for the Semi & Final last season, if Macey wasn't going to be number one this season then there would be no reason for JR to have played him in those games where having our established number one in goals would have given us an advantage in trying to win the competition. Winning a trophy surely takes precedence over the feelings of a back-up keeper? Only reason to have done that was if he trusted and considered Macey our ongoing number one after Marciano left and to keep him happy going into this season.

And the fact he has been allocated the number 1 for the season. If he was just the back-up he would still be using the same number he had last season with the number 1 being saved for whoever we are signing as first choice. Same thing has happened to Doig, he is now established as a first choice player and has been given number 3.

That’s your interpretation of a number of different things, not facts.

We might not sign another keeper, that’s fair enough, but suspect we will be trying.

10-07-2021, 12:50 PM

We might not sign another keeper, that’s fair enough, but suspect we will be trying.

Why do you suspect we will be?

10-07-2021, 12:55 PM
Have I, aye?

Where have I claimed somethings a fact? Where have I told someone they’re definitely wrong? I’ve given my opinions, that’s all. Is that not allowed?
By all means carry on, I love reading your "opinions" you seem to have so many it's the shoot gun approach your bound to hit something sometime.

Dmas
10-07-2021, 01:04 PM
That’s your interpretation of a number of different things, not facts. We might not sign another keeper, that’s fair enough, but suspect we will be trying.Sign another keeper and relegate debrowski to 3rd choice for me sends the wrong message, the guys had successful loan spells and different levels in the country and for me deserves the opportunity to fight for the position and get the cup ties as Macey did last year, what does it show the guys below debrowski in younger age groups if a guy who's followed the path set out by hibs doesn't even get an opportunity?

SloopJB
10-07-2021, 01:11 PM
I take it Greggs is shut just now.

Bangkok Hibby
10-07-2021, 01:16 PM

To be honest its you who normally brings up Macey being a back up keeper. Have to say it comes across like you have the agenda.

10-07-2021, 01:17 PM

I know we are trying to sign an American player but just don’t know if it’s this keeper or someone else.

10-07-2021, 01:17 PM

I'm not disagreeing, it is my interpretation of the way Macey's signing and time with us so far has been handled because I have zero knowledge of Jack Ross thoughts and opinions on the matter. In much the same way that your opinion is informed by your interpretation of those same things unless Jack Ross has shared his thoughts on Macey's status with you or there are some other facts that i'm unaware of that confirms what your saying about us actively looking for another first choice keeper.

The main concern i have is the overly negative approach to a player that, as things stand, will be our first choice keeper for the season when he has done very little wrong so far to deserve being written off as not good enough.

It's very hard for people to move from a pre-conceived negative opinion like that to a positive one, every little thing will be viewed as an error and evidence that supports the negative argument while he will have to perform miracles in order to come close to changing that opinion when the reality is he is human and a player at our level will never be perfect so it's unlikely that the negative opinion someone has already formed of him as a player will be changed.

That's the type of thing that can destroy a players confidence if they are reading it online and having it shouted at them in the stadium long enough and loud enough and it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

10-07-2021, 01:24 PM
To be honest its you who normally brings up Macey being a back up keeper. Have to say it comes across like you have the agenda.

There’s an unusual amount of people who want to state that he is clearly going to be our number one keeper.

I just don’t think it is as clear as that. He’s here now and obviously played the cup games but the fact was that he was our second choice keeper last season.

It only seems to be this position that some people don’t appear to want to be open to improving. As it stands we are going with a player who wasn’t a first choice last season.

10-07-2021, 01:27 PM
I know we are trying to sign an American player but just don’t know if it’s this keeper or someone else.

It’s an American who’s been playing in the development games, Ben Roach

Picture also looks like the person I saw at the games
https://www.ucsbgauchos.com/sports/m-soccer/2019-20/bios/roach_ben_a1mg

Bridge hibs
10-07-2021, 01:30 PM
There’s an unusual amount of people who want to state that he is clearly going to be our number one keeper.

I just don’t think it is as clear as that. He’s here now and obviously played the cup games but the fact was that he was our second choice keeper last season.

It only seems to be this position that some people don’t appear to want to be open to improving. As it stands we are going with a player who wasn’t a first choice last season.He was our second choice keeper because Rocky was our no1, Ross wasnt just going to bin Rocky but knew due the contractual issues he needed to bring someone in, Macey has done nothing wrong in his appearances so far, he earned his place when Rocky was injured and performed well. If he is No1 and Dabrowski his understudy then I will be happy with that, there are bigger concerns in the team to be worrying about Goalkeepers

10-07-2021, 01:30 PM
Agreed.If Dabrowski is now not ready to move up to another level,he never will be.

Could end up playing the cup games.

Greenworld
10-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Can someone just make up some transfer news please

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

dunfyhibby
10-07-2021, 01:38 PM
Can someone just make up some transfer news please

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Yip, this is boring and tedious!

Bangkok Hibby
10-07-2021, 01:48 PM
Yip, this is boring and tedious!

Welcome to football forums...this is a good one.

10-07-2021, 01:59 PM
Absolutely right. I think James is actually a decent footballer, his goal against Alloa was stunning. He has however one major flaw,he has no pace at all and you can't be a fullback with that flaw. I do however think he could play the holding midfielder role, but probably not at our level.

James looks like he can play to me, but I’ve never figured out where he fits into a team.

He stands off his man too much, looks like he lacks pace and aggression in the tackle and that just won’t cut it at fullback in Scottish football. His touch is decent and he has a good shot on him.

If we’d stumbled across a formation that had Stevie Mallan and his shot as an integral part of it then James might be ok as an understudy to him.

As it is, it’s hard to see where he would fit into a decent Hibs team. If we were going into a season like last season with a very small squad then it might be worth having someone around who can play so many positions.

Ultimately though, if we’re serious about improving on a decent season then we just have to accept that he’s not good enough.

Blurhibee
10-07-2021, 02:02 PM
From what I am hearing we are talking to the goalkeeper from Sligo rovers.

10-07-2021, 02:03 PM
He was our second choice keeper because Rocky was our no1, Ross wasnt just going to bin Rocky but knew due the contractual issues he needed to bring someone in, Macey has done nothing wrong in his appearances so far, he earned his place when Rocky was injured and performed well. If he is No1 and Dabrowski his understudy then I will be happy with that, there are bigger concerns in the team to be worrying about Goalkeepers

So he was back up because we had a better keeper.

Goalkeeper isn’t a position we just settle for taking a chance on. I think looking at the team other than some more options up front and at the back it is crucial we get as close to the standard of keeper we had as possible.

10-07-2021, 02:08 PM

Yeah I’m aware of that but not sure if it’s him or an outfield player we are looking to sign.

dunfyhibby
Welcome to football forums...this is a good one.

😊😊👍🏻

If we sign another keeper then Kevin has to go. We may bring in another young lad but i doubt it. Alway emergency loans if we lost our first choice. We aren’t looking for someone to take Macey’s place.

Bridge hibs
10-07-2021, 02:10 PM

Goalkeeper isn’t a position we just settle for taking a chance on. I think looking at the team other than some more options up front and at the back it is crucial we get as close to the standard of keeper we had as possible.He more or likely was signed as our ‘new no1’ to replace our outgoing no1, risky ? Possibly but thus far has done well, in my opinion anyway

10-07-2021, 02:14 PM

Goalkeeper isn’t a position we just settle for taking a chance on. I think looking at the team other than some more options up front and at the back it is crucial we get as close to the standard of keeper we had as possible.

I respect your opinion on this and don’t think you’re saying anything outrageous but I’ve not seen anything from Macey that suggests he’s not good enough.

He got a few opportunities, looked decent, and earned the chance to become the number one. It might work, it might not, but the same could be said for any signing. If it doesn’t work then we’ve got Dabrowski (highly rated by many) to come in and if we need to get someone else in then so be it.

Every transfer is a risk. If I’d seen enough of Macey to suggest he wasn’t good enough then I’d be in agreement, but I’m relaxed about the idea of going into the season with our 2 current goalkeepers. That’s not to downplay the importance of having someone strong in that position.

10-07-2021, 02:15 PM
He more or likely was signed as our ‘new no1’ to replace our outgoing no1, risky ? Possibly but thus far has done well, in my opinion anyway

Totally this. I'm baffled why anyone would think otherwise.

10-07-2021, 02:16 PM
If we sign another keeper then Kevin has to go. We may bring in another young lad but i doubt it. Alway emergency loans if we lost our first choice. We aren’t looking for someone to take Macey’s place.

100% agree with this, and I’ve seen KD play many many games
At his age he needs to play every week, and if he’s no going to play much at Hibs, needs to go out on loan

badabing67
10-07-2021, 02:24 PM

The game that I remember him most for was the Dundee Utd Scottish Cup replay at ER. He was played at right back and in the second 1/2 he never put a single challenge in. All he did was try to channel/guide his opponent down the touchline to the corner flag. Was a diabolical performance. So not only does he not have much pace he avoids tackles. Not great attributes for a fullback. Though he does have good shot on him on a positive note.

10-07-2021, 03:28 PM

I just don’t think it is as clear as that. He’s here now and obviously nplayed the cup games but the fact was that he was our second choice keeper last season.

It only seems to be this position that some people don’t appear to want to be open to improving. As it stands we are going with a player who wasn’t a first choice last season.

Let me think. Macey joined us on a short term contract last season. He came in as a #2 to an established international keeper. However he played in all our cup games,including the final where he was only Hibs player to perform. Rocky has gone, Macey has a new, extended contract & has been handed #1 jersey. It's not an 'unusual' # of people thinking he'll be our #1, it's pretty much everyone except you.

10-07-2021, 03:44 PM
Let me think. Macey joined us on a short term contract last season. He came in as a #2 to an established international keeper. However he played in all our cup games,including the final where he was only Hibs player to perform. Rocky has gone, Macey has a new, extended contract & has been handed #1 jersey. It's not an 'unusual' # of people thinking he'll be our #1, it's pretty much everyone except you.

None of those things means it is guaranteed that he would be first choice either.

An established international keeper sounds good to me as a target to get us back to the standard we had last year.

That’s what we’d normally want when a good player leaves isn’t it?

10-07-2021, 03:52 PM

Me too - he’s down nothing wrong and a lot right. Mental for him to be questioned at this stage.

10-07-2021, 04:08 PM
This Matt Macey chat is tedious, we need a rumour.

I hear we're after Chris Cadden's brother Nicky from Forrest Green Rovers to play on the left in preparation for Doig leaving in the next year or so.

I'll leave you lot to decide if I made that up or not..

10-07-2021, 04:08 PM

Well Jack Ross thought it was still worth debating..

“If we were able to keep both of them then that would give me some comfort and even with Ofir leaving, and before this season has even ended, we would still have a goalkeeping department that is looking healthy.

“And then we can debate whether we need to continue strengthening it in any way over the coming weeks and months.”

10-07-2021, 04:20 PM

He’d be a good catch.

10-07-2021, 04:34 PM
The game that I remember him most for was the Dundee Utd Scottish Cup replay at ER. He was played at right back and in the second 1/2 he never put a single challenge in. All he did was try to channel/guide his opponent down the touchline to the corner flag. Was a diabolical performance. So not only does he not have much pace he avoids tackles. Not great attributes for a fullback. Though he does have good shot on him on a positive note.

Motherwell away was as bad a performance as I’ve seen from a Hibs full back. A really dreadful footballer.

10-07-2021, 05:24 PM
Motherwell away was as bad a performance as I’ve seen from a Hibs full back. A really dreadful footballer.

The League Cup Semi v Celtic trumps that in my view

I would expect my 2 year old grandson to put in more challenges than he did that day.

10-07-2021, 05:40 PM
He’d be a good catch.

But folk would soon be carping about this and that, of which they know very little.

10-07-2021, 06:00 PM
But folk would soon be carping about this and that, of which they know very little.
No carping from me, I'll just skate by....

10-07-2021, 06:24 PM
No carping from me, I'll just skate by....

,,,,,, only because you can be a miserable old trout sometimes :greengrin

10-07-2021, 06:34 PM
,,,,,, only because you can be a miserable old trout sometimes :greengrin

Ach it happens when your sole ages......

10-07-2021, 06:36 PM
This or next.

10-07-2021, 06:40 PM
Just keep Samson registered. How many times in history have we been down to a 3rd goalie because of injury? Its not worth it. There must be a keeper at u20 level or something who could sit on the bench?

Young Murray would cope just fine...

10-07-2021, 07:08 PM
I respect your opinion on this and don’t think you’re saying anything outrageous but I’ve not seen anything from Macey that suggests he’s not good enough.

He got a few opportunities, looked decent, and earned the chance to become the number one. It might work, it might not, but the same could be said for any signing. If it doesn’t work then we’ve got Dabrowski (highly rated by many) to come in and if we need to get someone else in then so be it.

Every transfer is a risk. If I’d seen enough of Macey to suggest he wasn’t good enough then I’d be in agreement, but I’m relaxed about the idea of going into the season with our 2 current goalkeepers. That’s not to downplay the importance of having someone strong in that position.

Looked a bit shabby and leaden footed for that goal against Motherwell. Apart from that…

10-07-2021, 07:11 PM
Young Murray would cope just fine...

He’s incredibly young still to be pitched in to the first team.

10-07-2021, 07:14 PM
Not a transfer but Robbie Stockdale has been appointed the new manager at Rochdale.

10-07-2021, 07:19 PM

Some very good management from Jack Ross to bring in Macey on a short term deal, to get him used to the club and then get him signed up so we aren't dealing with a brand new keeper coming in cold this season perhaps?

10-07-2021, 07:24 PM
Some very good management from Jack Ross to bring in Macey on a short term deal, to get him used to the club and then get him signed up so we aren't dealing with a brand new keeper coming in cold this season perhaps?

Possibly, he's made absolutely no noises to that extent though - it has so far been about how it is good to at least have that strength in the keeper department already signed up.

I think the goal yesterday was certainly a mistake so we will see if he is comfortable to leave it at those 2 just now or not in the coming weeks.

10-07-2021, 07:27 PM
None of those things means it is guaranteed that he would be first choice either.

An established international keeper sounds good to me as a target to get us back to the standard we had last year.

That’s what we’d normally want when a good player leaves isn’t it?

We’re not getting one, we were damn fortunate to have had one for the last 5 years.

Think about it

If every country in Europe has 2 established international keeps, that’s still only 100 or whatever to choose from. How the hell do we get one of them when every other club in Europe also wants them?!

Macey will be fine.

10-07-2021, 07:33 PM
Not a transfer but Robbie Stockdale has been appointed the new manager at Rochdale.

From what I heard, Robbie was very popular/respected at Hibs
So good luck to him

10-07-2021, 07:38 PM
I think the goal yesterday was certainly a mistake so we will see if he is comfortable to leave it at those 2 just now or not in the coming weeks.

Every goal Macey loses is going to be an error for you Andy - totally irrational from a poster I always though was one of the most measured.

Your argument always seems to be that Macey was ‘a back up goalie’ just because he didn’t displace Marciano. Marciano had the gloves before Macey arrived and did little wrong in the last few months of the league season. Ross did trust him to play massive cup games and his overall record has been superb and his performances have been solid. People keep bringing up the Motherwell game - which is ridiculous IMHO, but there is not much else to suggest he’s not our new number 1.

I’m sure an alleged error in a pre season game isn’t likely to change much but you seem utterly determined that it just can’t be so! It’s bizarre.

10-07-2021, 07:39 PM
From what I heard, Robbie was very popular/respected at Hibs
So good luck to him

10-07-2021, 07:41 PM
Reports are that Celtic have turned down £12m up front from Brentford for Ajer with a possible £3m in add ons 👀👀👀

Last year of his contract.

10-07-2021, 07:44 PM

I thought I had erased that game from my memory but it appears not…he was indeed truly awful that day.

Oh and thanks for the memories, not [emoji1787][emoji12]

10-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Every goal Macey loses is going to be an error for you Andy - totally irrational from a poster I always though was one of the most measured.

Your argument always seems to be that Macey was ‘a back up goalie’ just because he didn’t displace Marciano. Marciano had the gloves before Macey arrived and did little wrong in the last few months of the league season. Ross did trust him to play massive cup games and his overall record has been superb and his performances have been solid. People keep bringing up the Motherwell game - which is ridiculous IMHO, but there is not much else to suggest he’s not our new number 1.

I’m sure an alleged error in a pre season game isn’t likely to change much but you seem utterly determined that it just can’t be so! It’s bizarre.

I think you maybe need to read what I'm saying - I'm not slating him and it isn't really my style as you have pointed out. I'll be supportive of him when he plays.

I'm not at the point of settling for what we have on the goalkeeping front though. Whatever way you want to position it he was back up last year, behind a better keeper. We got that standard of keeper in the first place, we can get it again hopefully. There really aren't any other positions were folk are happy just to fall back on guys who couldn't get past their competition last year.

He really hasn't been superb though and I'm surprised so many people who ordinarily slate anything that moves in a Hibs jersey are so keen to go out on a limb for him - he's only played a handful of games and there are question marks over 2 or 3 goals already.

Ross was quoted after Macey signed and Rocky had said he was leaving that it was still up for debate whether they needed to add more - so I'm debating it too.

Dmas
10-07-2021, 08:03 PM
Robbie stockdale new Rochdale manager interesting that didn’t come across as the management type when he was here

10-07-2021, 08:11 PM
I think you maybe need to read what I'm saying - I'm not slating him and it isn't really my style as you have pointed out. I'll be supportive of him when he plays.

I'm not at the point of settling for what we have on the goalkeeping front though. Whatever way you want to position it he was back up last year, behind a better keeper. We got that standard of keeper in the first place, we can get it again hopefully. There really aren't any other positions were folk are happy just to fall back on guys who couldn't get past their competition last year.

He really hasn't been superb though and I'm surprised so many people who ordinarily slate anything that moves in a Hibs jersey are so keen to go out on a limb for him - he's only played a handful of games and there are question marks over 2 or 3 goals already.

Ross was quoted after Macey signed and Rocky had said he was leaving that it was still up for debate whether they needed to add more - so I'm debating it too.

You’re spot on Andy and I’m surprised that any sort of criticism is now being reacted to in this way.

There’s been nothing harsh about him said, maybe some differing opinions about whether he was at fault for some goals or not but that’s pretty normal for a football forum I’d have thought.

Ironically enough if he does start as number 1 and makes a few mistakes, or one against Hearts, some of the people being so defensive about him now will no doubt become some of the irrational posters about him.

I think he has looked quite decent at times, quite suspect at times and nowhere near above criticism like some posters are suggesting.

The fact he’s looked suspect at times (in my opinion) in such a few amount of games combined with fans of his previous loan club not giving him a glowing reference says to me we should be looking for someone else to compete with him for first choice keeper. I can’t see what’s unreasonable about that.

10-07-2021, 08:13 PM
Robbie stockdale new Rochdale manager interesting that didn’t come across as the management type when he was here

I think he’ll be a poor manager.

Very dour and nothing assertive or authoritative from his tone of voice when speaking to the media.

Dmas
10-07-2021, 08:18 PM

Very dour and nothing assertive or authoritative from his tone of voice when speaking to the media.

Yeah I’m the same didn’t come across inspiring in the slightest, came with a reputation of being a good coach didn’t give me the impression he could lead a team though

10-07-2021, 08:33 PM
Yeah I’m the same didn’t come across inspiring in the slightest, came with a reputation of being a good coach didn’t give me the impression he could lead a team though

And we didn’t look particularly well coached either!

10-07-2021, 09:43 PM
Well Jack Ross thought it was still worth debating..

“If we were able to keep both of them then that would give me some comfort and even with Ofir leaving, and before this season has even ended, we would still have a goalkeeping department that is looking healthy.

“And then we can debate whether we need to continue strengthening it in any way over the coming weeks and months.”

I think you are reading that last paragraph wrong Andy. It doesn’t read to me that he’s talking about a new number 1. Clearly weather he needs to add to the dept. Macey is our number 1.

10-07-2021, 10:29 PM
I think you are reading that last paragraph wrong Andy. It doesn’t read to me that he’s talking about a new number 1. Clearly weather he needs to add to the dept. Macey is our number 1.

To be fair, it wasn't one of Ross's most articulate moments. That said, most people understand the idea of having an incoming goalkeeper signed and ready to replace the previous goalkeeper who had clearly decided he wasn't hanging around once the season was over. Good work all round by Hibs I think. Macey has shown enough to suggest he is capable.

11-07-2021, 07:26 AM
We’re not getting one, we were damn fortunate to have had one for the last 5 years.

Think about it

If every country in Europe has 2 established international keeps, that’s still only 100 or whatever to choose from. How the hell do we get one of them when every other club in Europe also wants them?!

Macey will be fine.

Hearts have got one.

11-07-2021, 08:49 AM

Id agree Macey was back up this year but I also think he's going to be this years number one (personally I think he performed well enough to earn this although we will wait and see how it goes). What I cant get my head around is because he was back up last year it rules him out as first choice this year (I may have picked you up incorrectly)? Is that due to performances or as you mention because he wasnt deemed good enough to take over number one slot?

If its down to the second reason would that not just stop the need for any succession planning or player development to work up the levels? Rather than moving players up to the level of first team regular, when we can, we need to go out and buy a replacement every time? Although Ive no proof thats how I viewed the. Macey signing a chance to look at him in training, give him. exposure in cup games & make an informed decision about the season ahead.

11-07-2021, 09:10 AM

To be fair he was nowhere near fit. Dreadful management from Hecky to throw him in there. Got absolutely hung out to dry I thought. I thought he did well at the same ground just after Jack Ross came in.

11-07-2021, 09:16 AM
Hearts have got one.

One less available to us :greengrin

BS44
11-07-2021, 09:30 AM

I couldn't think of a worse set of criteria to judge a football manager.

11-07-2021, 09:37 AM
Reports are that Celtic have turned down £12m up front from Brentford for Ajer with a possible £3m in add ons 👀👀👀

They’ll prob be offered more, I think even if Brentford paid £20m for him, they’d still be able to sell him on for a profit in a year.

11-07-2021, 09:38 AM
You’re spot on Andy and I’m surprised that any sort of criticism is now being reacted to in this way.

There’s been nothing harsh about him said, maybe some differing opinions about whether he was at fault for some goals or not but that’s pretty normal for a football forum I’d have thought.

Ironically enough if he does start as number 1 and makes a few mistakes, or one against Hearts, some of the people being so defensive about him now will no doubt become some of the irrational posters about him.

I think he has looked quite decent at times, quite suspect at times and nowhere near above criticism like some posters are suggesting.

The fact he’s looked suspect at times (in my opinion) in such a few amount of games combined with fans of his previous loan club not giving him a glowing reference says to me we should be looking for someone else to compete with him for first choice keeper. I can’t see what’s unreasonable about that.

That is where I am also. The games I have seen to me hasn't looked the most convincing and personally would like someone better. Completely appreciate it is early days however personally not totally convinced.

11-07-2021, 09:52 AM

Absolutely astonishing the money Celtic rake in for players

11-07-2021, 09:53 AM
and I'm surprised so many people who ordinarily slate anything that moves in a Hibs jersey are so keen to go out on a limb for him - he's only played a handful of games and there are question marks over 2 or 3 goals already.

Our defensive record last season was really good, but there are a lot of folk on here who slate 3 of the back 4 as not being good enough.

Macey is beyond even questioning though for some reason.

11-07-2021, 09:56 AM
Celtic turning down £12 million for Ajer shows how mad football is. He's looked average every time I've seen him.

11-07-2021, 09:59 AM
Celtic turning down £12 million for Ajer shows how mad football is. He's looked average every time I've seen him.

I think Ajer looks like the sort of player who can make the step up.

11-07-2021, 10:18 AM

Blind folk said the same about Van Dijk when he was at Celtic.
IMO there are 3 great players currently playing in Scotland and Ajer is one of them.
The team that buys him will be able to sell him on for a big profit.

11-07-2021, 10:18 AM

11-07-2021, 10:57 AM
I think Ajer looks like the sort of player who can make the step up.

I reckon Ajer is the player Porteous should aspire to become. Strong and commanding defensively and comfortable when stepping out with the ball.
Porto has a lot of these attributes already and has a real chance of going far if he sorts out his concentration lapses.

11-07-2021, 10:58 AM
Re Macey I thought the situation was straight forward.
Hibs were almost certain Marciano would leave this summer.

Accordingly they scouted for a potential replacement and found and brought Macey to the club in January on a contract to the end of the season to give themselves that time to check him out and decide if he was good enough to be the new No.1
In that time they saw enough and offered a contract to Macey which he accepted and Marciano as expected moved on to bigger and better things.

I don't think that Macey would stay at Hibs as No.2
He is at an age that he needs to play and there may have been a clause in the contract which allowed Macey to move on if Marciano made a last minute decision to stay.

People forget that when Marciano came to Hibs he did so on the back of a failure to break through on loan period at a Belgian club from Ashdod in his homeland.

Hibs transfer limit at the moment appears circa £300k with wages of less than £5k so we will always struggle to ring a Rolls Rovce in on Fiesta money.
That means taking risks and only Macey is the latest along with McKay, Doyle-Hayes, Magennis etc

11-07-2021, 11:04 AM

Accordingly they scouted for a potential replacement and found and brought Macey to the club in January on a contract to the end of the season to give themselves that time to check him out and decide if he was good enough to be the new No.1
In that time they saw enough and offered a contract to Macey which he accepted and Marciano as expected moved on to bigger and better things.

He is at an age that he needs to play and there may have been a clause in the contract which allowed Macey to move on if Marciano made a last minute decision to stay.

When Marciano came to Hibs he did so on the back of a failure to break through on loan period at a Belgian club from Ashdod in his homeland.

Hibs transfer limit at the moment appears circa £300k with wages of less than £5k so we will always struggle to ring a Rolls Rovce in on Fiesta money.

You’re right - he’s not going to have signed a 2 year deal without being number one choice . It’s fair that some people have some reservations . He’ll have to play well to remain number one - but he definitely is our number one - some seem to be in denial around that …

11-07-2021, 11:05 AM

Hope he stays another year and leaves for hee haw

11-07-2021, 11:08 AM

People forget that when Marciano came to Hibs he did so on the back of a failure to break through on loan period at a Belgian club from Ashdod in his homeland.

That means taking risks and only Macey is the latest along with McKay, Doyle-Hayes, Magennis etc

Good post and totally agree. Macey looks more than capable and I think will only improve now he's settled in, knows all his teammates properly and knowing he's got a vital role to play in the team this season. Only 26 too which is nothing for a keeper. His best years are ahead of him.

11-07-2021, 11:11 AM
Blind folk said the same about Van Dijk when he was at Celtic.
IMO there are 3 great players currently playing in Scotland and Ajer is one of them.
The team that buys him will be able to sell him on for a big profit.

Ajer is nowhere near Van Dijk standard. A blind man could see that.

Ajer isn't even the best centre half in the country nevermind the best player, which Van Dijk clearly was.

11-07-2021, 11:15 AM

Ajer isn't even the best centre half in the country nevermind the best player, which Van Dijk clearly was.

Who’s the centre half that’s better? Not Goldson. Ajer will do well in the EPL, Goldson would be brutal.

11-07-2021, 11:18 AM

Van Dijk was a cut above. Stuck out like a sore thumb at Celtic. He stuck out at Liverpool too so shows how good he is. Ajer has the build and athleticism to do well down there I think.

11-07-2021, 11:19 AM

I think this is true, but then VVD has developed into one of the best centre backs in the world.

Ajer is very decent, probably should have Celtc a year ago. English clubs have cottoned onto the potential value in players in Scotland, and Ajer looks ready for the EPL imo.

11-07-2021, 11:31 AM

Van Dijk wasn’t the finished article when he left Celtic but he was clearly an excellent player with the potential to improve.

Whilst I think anyone would find it a stretch to say that Ajer’s anywhere near as good as Van Dijk, I agree with the idea that whilst he’s already a good player, he has everything about him to improve further upon leaving Celtic.

Goldson is arguably a better player right now. Ajer (and FWIW Porteous) have the potential to become better players and play at a higher level than Goldson.

11-07-2021, 11:51 AM
Van Dijk wasn’t the finished article when he left Celtic but he was clearly an excellent player with the potential to improve.

Whilst I think anyone would find it a stretch to say that Ajer’s anywhere near as good as Van Dijk, I agree with the idea that whilst he’s already a good player, he has everything about him to improve further upon leaving Celtic.

Goldson is arguably a better player right now. Ajer (and FWIW Porteous) have the potential to become better players and play at a higher level than Goldson.

Goldson is definitely a better player than him at the moment. I don't think that's even a debate when you look at their performances over the past year.

11-07-2021, 11:59 AM
Goldson is definitely a better player than him at the moment. I don't think that's even a debate when you look at their performances over the past year.

It’s not even close in my opinion. I can’t see any EPL teams offering Rangers the same kind of money they’d offer Celtc for Ajer.

Goldson had a better season, in a better team, with better management. He’s not got the ability to step up from this level though.

11-07-2021, 12:05 PM
There’s not been too many signings in the Premiership so far, apart from teams who have lost a few players, like Aberdeen Livingston and Motherwell
Hibs have lost Marciano and Irvine from last season, and bright in Mackay and Doyle/Hayes and Murphy’s loan deal as a permanent

Celtic have brought in only 2 players, Hearts 1, if you exclude the loan signings being made permanent
It usually starts with the big clubs making signings, and then things move from their
Think Mathie said the window might be late for Hibs. Only worry just now is the amount of injured players we have, and with Europe and the Premiership just around the corner

11-07-2021, 12:06 PM

Yeah, I wouldn’t argue with any of that right now.

I wouldn’t mind betting that by the end of their respective careers though, that Ajer will have more medals and will have played at a higher level than Goldson.

11-07-2021, 01:44 PM

My first motor was a Fiesta, I got about a million miles to the gallon and I could park it between goalposts anywhere. Loved it.
When I got my first Roller it cost me a fortune in upkeep and I had to pay other people to park it.

Just saying.:greengrin

11-07-2021, 02:07 PM
My first motor was a Fiesta, I got about a million miles to the gallon and I could park it between goalposts anywhere. Loved it.
When I got my first Roller it cost me a fortune in upkeep and I had to pay other people to park it.

Hibs will soon have to pay someone to park Doig and Nisbet.
Re Fiesta's, I had 2, first some bar steward stole and burn't.
The 2nd an XR2 I crashed.
Like a **** version of Gary O'Connor :wink:

11-07-2021, 03:07 PM
Hibs will soon have to pay someone to park Doig and Nisbet.
Re Fiesta's, I had 2, first some bar steward stole and burn't.
The 2nd an XR2 I crashed.
Like a **** version of Gary O'Connor :wink:

Thankfully we have Jack Ross to park the bus when we go 1-0 up 😁

11-07-2021, 03:57 PM

It's a debate for me. I saw Goldson a few times at Brighton & IMO he was very limited. He's had a good season in a team whose defence was rarely tested. Ajer has been outstanding in an awful Celtc team. I'll take Ajer every time & I suspect that will be reflected in the demand for both players.

berwickhibee
11-07-2021, 04:03 PM
Any hibs rumours?? 😁

11-07-2021, 04:09 PM
It's a debate for me. I saw Goldson a few times at Brighton & IMO he was very limited. He's had a good season in a team whose defence was rarely tested. Ajer has been outstanding in an awful Celtc team. I'll take Ajer every time & I suspect that will be reflected in the demand for both players.

Ajer has been outstanding? Not going by the reaction of most Celtic fans I've seen online, who likely see him far more than you or me, most of them want rid.

11-07-2021, 04:14 PM
Ajer has been outstanding? Not going by the reaction of most Celtic fans I've seen online, who likely see him far more than you or me, most of them want rid.

Bit like the number of our fans wanting rid of Nisbet

11-07-2021, 05:04 PM
Who’s the centre half that’s better? Not Goldson. Ajer will do well in the EPL, Goldson would be brutal.

Agree

147lothian
11-07-2021, 05:05 PM
Bring back The Cat.

11-07-2021, 05:11 PM
R

Was the Roller a replacement or back up for the Fiesta?

11-07-2021, 05:30 PM

Goldson was kept out of the Brighton team by Shane Duffy!

11-07-2021, 05:36 PM
I think a lot of that is down to his attitude. I’ve watched him a few times and I get the impression he thinks he’s too good to be playing in Scotland, a bit like Eduard.

11-07-2021, 05:46 PM
Any hibs rumours?? 😁
Don't be silly too busy talking about goalkeepers. 🙄

11-07-2021, 05:59 PM
Don't be silly too busy talking about goalkeepers. 🙄

Too busy talking about OF defenders!!

11-07-2021, 06:23 PM

Ullo John gotta new motor

Hibiza
11-07-2021, 06:48 PM

Hibiza
11-07-2021, 06:51 PM
Any hibs rumours?? 😁

May as well start one ( perhaps come true ) - Johnny Russell.

11-07-2021, 07:54 PM
https://www.stmirren.com/teams/first-team/first-team-squad

Take yer pick.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

11-07-2021, 08:02 PM
https://www.stmirren.com/teams/first-team/first-team-squad

Take yer pick.

Curtis Main 😯

11-07-2021, 09:23 PM
Curtis Main ��

No him!

11-07-2021, 10:26 PM
Given Ross Jack and the double first names / reversible name signings it's got to be Fraser Marcus or Dennis Kristian...

goosefat
11-07-2021, 10:30 PM
Ullo John gotta new motor

I think you'll find it's 'mowtaah'

11-07-2021, 10:49 PM
I think you'll find it's 'mowtaah'

Motah, motah, motah, motah

12-07-2021, 07:20 AM
2 games for Hibs this week..

20 days till we play Motherwell..

Will we sign any more players this week to add to the 2 youngsters we have signed so far ?

12-07-2021, 07:22 AM

Will we sign any more players this week to add to the 2 youngsters we have signed so far ?

Fingers crossed we can keep the whole squad.

12-07-2021, 08:07 AM

Will we sign any more players this week to add to the 2 youngsters we have signed so far ?Youngsters? [emoji23][emoji23]

mal
12-07-2021, 08:19 AM

Strange use of the word "youngsters" to describe two players bought for the first team, one of whom will be 23 in December, meaning that he's older than Porteous and several of last night's England squad.

As a reminder, we've also completed Murphy's permanent deal and signed Macey long-term.

12-07-2021, 08:33 AM
Youngsters? [emoji23][emoji23]

Mackay just turned 20 recently (April) and JDH is 22 year old (23 in December) I would call them youngsters ?

Doig (19 - 20 in May) and Porto (23 in March) are similar ages and we call them youngsters ?

12-07-2021, 08:45 AM
Mackay just turned 20 recently (April) and JDH is 22 year old (23 in December) I would call them youngsters ?

Doig (19 - 20 in May) and Porto (23 in March) are similar ages and we call them youngsters ?What age don't you class as a youngster?

mal
12-07-2021, 08:45 AM

Doig (19 - 20 in May) and Porto (23 in March) are similar ages and we call them youngsters ?

What's your cut off for "youngsters"? I don't think many other people would use the term for established first team players who are over 21. Unless you're speaking relative to your own age of course, in which case I'd call Jack Ross a youngster.

Gloucester Hibs
12-07-2021, 08:48 AM
Fingers crossed we can keep the whole squad.

Exactly - the squad as it stands is fine and an improvement on last season with the new signings and returning SA.

My only fear is our saleable assets (Nisbet/Porto/Doig/Boyle) get sold late in the window with little time to find a viable replacement. Though you'd hope we already have players in mind should this come to pass.

12-07-2021, 08:57 AM
I'd like to see us sell Nisbet and Porteous and get a few in. Doig and Boyle I'd like to stay, the former maybe on a buy and loan back deal?

12-07-2021, 09:07 AM
What age don't you class as a youngster?

Wait till I quickly ask my mate Leigh.

12-07-2021, 09:08 AM
We need another striker to add to Nisbet and Doidge and another central defender too. Squad would be pretty good if the window closed with that but I highly doubt no one will leave.

12-07-2021, 10:41 AM
Nisbet will go, he will be desperate to join up with his pals at the smellies I reckon.

We should be looking for two strikers with that in mind

Another creative player for competition for mackay and Murphy isn’t fit enough.

I’d move on hallberg, Wright, mallan, Mackie,

12-07-2021, 11:24 AM
Nisbet will go, he will be desperate to join up with his pals at the smellies I reckon.

We should be looking for two strikers with that in mind

Another creative player for competition for mackay and Murphy isn’t fit enough.

I’d move on hallberg, Wright, mallan, Mackie,

I could be completely wrong here, but I think he'll contribute more and be more effective this season.

I know, wouldn't be hard. But, I'm focussing on the positives/

12-07-2021, 11:42 AM
I'd like to see us sell Nisbet and Porteous and get a few in. Doig and Boyle I'd like to stay, the former maybe on a buy and loan back deal?

Why?

mal
12-07-2021, 12:01 PM
I could be completely wrong here, but I think he'll contribute more and be more effective this season.

I know, wouldn't be hard. But, I'm focussing on the positives/

I think the cup final told us everything we need to know about the manager's confidence in Wright. We were desperate for creativity, Boyle was having an off-day, Cadden was out injured, but Wright stayed on the bench. He'd need to completely turn things around and I don't think he has it in him.

12-07-2021, 12:22 PM
Why?

I can’t speak for the poster you’ve quoted but I agree with him.

That’s our business model, sell players and then reinvest it wisely into the squad.

et_hibby
12-07-2021, 12:39 PM
Wait till I quickly ask my mate Leigh.
cruel!

12-07-2021, 04:49 PM
I can’t speak for the poster you’ve quoted but I agree with him.

That’s our business model, sell players and then reinvest it wisely into the squad.

And which striker(S) would we reinvest wisely in? Given LG now seems to be a a goner, there's only Shankland been mentioned on here. Replacing a proven scorer and an internationalist with similar quality will be very difficult.

12-07-2021, 04:53 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1414627387023708162?s=21

Jamie Murphy injured again. Good to see Doidge back but sounds like he won’t be rushed back in so could be very light up top for the first couple of Euro games.

12-07-2021, 04:55 PM
And which striker(S) would we reinvest wisely in? Given LG now seems to be a a goner, there's only Shankland been mentioned on here. Replacing a proven scorer and an internationalist with similar quality will be very difficult.

I’ve no idea, that’s why we employ a recruitment department.

Mikey_1875
12-07-2021, 05:04 PM

Jamie Murphy injured again. Good to see Doidge back but sounds like he won’t be rushed back in so could be very light up top for the first couple of Euro games.

Good to get an update on the players. Hopefully the covid absentees can catch up pretty quickly and be ready to go for the season starting.

12-07-2021, 05:16 PM

Hard to think we’ve now got Murphy on a permanent deal. Undoubtedly a great player on his day but he’s injured far too much. Seems to have spent the majority of his time in the treatment room since coming here.

12-07-2021, 05:22 PM
Hard to think we’ve now got Murphy on a permanent deal. Undoubtedly a great player on his day but he’s injured far too much. Seems to have spent the majority of his time in the treatment room since coming here.

We don’t know if it’s a reoccurrence, but we’ve picked up a few injuries since coming back

12-07-2021, 05:36 PM
We don’t know if it’s a reoccurrence, but we’ve picked up a few injuries since coming back

That’s kind of my point with regards to Murphy though, how many times has he been out with injury now? 4 times in just over a season? And it never seems to be only a one game miss either

WillowbraeHibby
12-07-2021, 05:36 PM

Unfortunately, your pretty spot on.

12-07-2021, 05:38 PM
Unfortunately, your pretty spot on.

Think he’s a great player on his day as well, just always seems to be one step forward then two back.

12-07-2021, 05:44 PM
That’s kind of my point with regards to Murphy though, how many times has he been out with injury now? 4 times in just over a season? And it never seems to be only a one game miss either

Thankfully we’ve got Daniel Mackay now too otherwise we’d be back to launching a centre mid on the left and hoping for the best.

12-07-2021, 05:47 PM
Murphy is now verging on being a waste of a wage. I think he brings a lot to the side when he's in it but he's just not there enough.

Even if he was available 50% of the time it's in one week out the next. Dylan McGeouch all over again, he was class when we got a full season out of him but the rest of the time it ends up disjointing the first 11 too much

12-07-2021, 05:48 PM
Murphy is now verging on being a waste of a wage. I think he brings a lot to the side when he's in it but he's just not there enough.

Even if he was available 50% of the time it's in one week out the next. Dylan McGeouch all over again, he was class when we got a full season out of him but the rest of the time it ends up disjointing the first 11 too much

Yup. It’s a shame as he’s clearly still a very good player.

We had too many players who never contributed nearly enough last year who were probably expected to be pushing for starts or be mainstays in the starting 11. Hopefully we don’t have as many offering nothing this coming season.

WillowbraeHibby
12-07-2021, 05:52 PM
Think he’s a great player on his day as well, just always seems to be one step forward then two back.

He is, but very injury prone it looks like.. Such a shame.

12-07-2021, 06:38 PM

It seems that way, but he was available for more games than he missed. Quite a few more actually

12-07-2021, 06:39 PM

If Murphy continues to be injury prone it’s a shame as fully fit he can influence games .
And with a small squad it’s not great news

12-07-2021, 06:57 PM

It’s just a knock.

12-07-2021, 06:57 PM
It’s just a knock.

Great to hear, I like Murphy

12-07-2021, 07:13 PM
Not great news for Mackie with a relapse in his injury.

Had rotten luck with injuries that guy, could have been pushing for a left back spot with Doig out the picture still feeling the effects of covid.

badabing67
12-07-2021, 07:32 PM

Had rotten luck with injuries that guy, could have been pushing for a left back spot with Doig out the picture still feeling the effects of covid.

Would like to know what this injury is. Is it a career threatening injury? Has anyone got any idea.

12-07-2021, 07:37 PM

If rumours about Doig possibly going, then this is a worry as we only have Lewis as a LB, unless we do a deal where Doig stays here on loan. Does anyone with inside info know what kind of injury Mackie has, it's very worrying the amount of football this laddie has missed.

12-07-2021, 07:54 PM
Ross said: “We want some more players in soon. We want some new players in a couple of areas ideally, attack and defence. The attacking players did brilliant for us last season but we relied heavily upon them. It would be nice to have other options at times.

“We haven’t been able to do anything yet we feel would improve us but hopefully that is the case soon. We have kept the bulk of our squad from last season. Every manager wants to improve their squad but with the additions we have made to a team that was good last season, we are in a stable state. But a couple of quality additions would help us.”

Lools like another striker/centre half are on the list.

12-07-2021, 08:00 PM
Ross said: “We want some more players in soon. We want some new players in a couple of areas ideally, attack and defence. The attacking players did brilliant for us last season but we relied heavily upon them. It would be nice to have other options at times.

“We haven’t been able to do anything yet we feel would improve us but hopefully that is the case soon. We have kept the bulk of our squad from last season. Every manager wants to improve their squad but with the additions we have made to a team that was good last season, we are in a stable state. But a couple of quality additions would help us.”

Lools like another striker/centre half are on the list.

Sounds good and what we need. We can start guessing at targets again just what a transfer thread should be 😁