View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
29-08-2021, 06:34 AM
Aye the last thing we need is a young centre half on loan from an average championship side. Go get the right player in permanently hibs, someone that's going to put pressure on Hanlon and porteous, or better yet, start infront of them. That's what we need! Be nice to have an Absoloute bruiser that when we get a corner we fancy him for a goal, a rob jones type!
Nathan Wood is in England u20 squad.
29-08-2021, 06:41 AM
So we fail in our priority CH target, jack has been public in wanting a CH, then 2 days before the end of the window we are linked with a Youth Player loan from a below average championship side.
That’s pretty much what I see as panic.
If he wins is the cup, qualify for Europe etc then ofcourse a huge upside. But, in reality, he plays well and then goes back. No real upside of developing another teams player for a season.
And when he goes, our defenders are another year older and we need to sign again next summer. Repeat, miss targets, get another loan and the year is no 2046 before we actually sign a defender.
We get the shortish term benefit of a player that adds to the squad
Ofcourse thats an upside
If they don't see a defender that's available at a price they want to pay now, a loan makes perfect sense
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
29-08-2021, 06:51 AM
So we fail in our priority CH target, jack has been public in wanting a CH, then 2 days before the end of the window we are linked with a Youth Player loan from a below average championship side.
If he wins is the cup, qualify for Europe etc then ofcourse a huge upside. But, in reality, he plays well and then goes back. No real upside of developing another teams player for a season.
And when he goes, our defenders are another year older and we need to sign again next summer. Repeat, miss targets, get another loan and the year is no 2046 before we actually sign a defender.
If he comes in and does a turn though then come next summer the likes of McCart and Kerr are out of contract so we could do pre contracts in January.
Rome wasn't built in a day.
29-08-2021, 06:52 AM
Hibs just can't win with some posters kn here, we went back in for MCCart our no 1 target, cant get him for whatever reason so have moved on to make a stop gap signing who is full of promise - maybe to fill a squad gap until Jan/Summer until a more permanent solution appears - don't see the issue myself - why should we pay more for McCart if we don't think he's worth it
29-08-2021, 06:53 AM
Hibs just can't win with some posters kn here, we went back in for MCCart our no 1 target, cant get him for whatever reason so have moved on to make a stop gap signing who is full of promise - maybe to fill a squad gap until Jan/Summer until a more permanent solution appears - don't see the issue myself - why should we pay more for McCart if we don't think he's worth it
Spot on mate
JammyDoidger
29-08-2021, 06:55 AM
If he comes in and does a turn though then come next summer the likes of McCart and Kerr are out of contract so we could do pre contracts in January.
Rome wasn't built in a day.
The only issue I see with this is that come january we may get one of them in or on a pre or whatever but at the same time lose nisbet or the likes, so the squad isn't as strong as it could or should be. Would love us to just push the boat out on this occasion on a couple of players, particularly a centre half, as we are so close to having a very very strong squad!
29-08-2021, 06:57 AM
The only issue I see with this is that come january we may get one of them in or on a pre or whatever but at the same time lose nisbet or the likes, so the squad isn't as strong as it could or should be. Would love us to just push the boat out on this occasion on a couple of players, particularly a centre half, as we are so close to having a very very strong squad!
Thats life mate its called football...a squad will always evolve with good players signed, performing well and them move on - its what the Hibs model is all about. Would u rather we went back to days of Fenlon and Yogi etc when we signed duffers nobody else wanted??
JammyDoidger
29-08-2021, 06:58 AM
Thats life mate its called football...a squad will always evolve with good players signed, performing well and them move on - its what the Hibs model is all about. Would u rather we went back to days of Fenlon and Yogi etc when we signed duffers nobody else wanted??
That's what this signing reminds me of, all summer it's been about mccart then it's like we will just sign this young laddie on loan that'll do..it's so unlike us, as recruitment is usually spot on. Hopefully the boy turns out to be superb..Im not judging him as such, it's just the way it's come about.
Tully
29-08-2021, 06:59 AM
Have any one seen Nathan wood play? I have very accomplished player and gd footballer
I don't agree with the guy, but sure Ron did speak publicly that we were close to signing McCorie a few days before he went to Aberdeen, but think that really taught Ron a lesson as been basically no rumors until just before someone signs since
rangers started speaking publicly and mcrorie and Hibs, to which end Hibs started getting asked about the player, and were compelled to reply. So as I pointed out, Hibs didn’t start the public chat about him
McD glad we have done some deals diligently. The McKay one could've went wrong as well as we waited ages to finally sign the lad. Blackpool Hibs, I'd still gladly take McCrorie at Hibs now if we could. I just prefer us to go out and sign a player without weeks of the tedious will we/won't we.
nah mate, you said our transfer dealings were embarrassing because of public discussions, I just listed several transfers conducted in almost complete privacy, certainly to the point of signing. Now you’re shifting the goal posts
29-08-2021, 07:03 AM
That's what this signing reminds me of, all summer it's been about mccart then it's like we will just sign this young laddie on loan that'll do..it's so unlike us, as recruitment is usually spot on. Hopefully the boy turns out to be superb..Im not judging him as such, it's just the way it's come about.
But u are judging him really before he's even signed, he was clearly our back up option if we never got McCart - personally I've been a bit frustrated at our recruitment being a bit slow this summer but this is exactly what od ask of us, if we don't get a target, we move on and quickly to secure our next one. Why pay over the odds for McCart now when we could get him for nothing in a few months - he may not even be first pick given we have Hanlon and Porto
JammyDoidger
29-08-2021, 07:04 AM
I just found an article that said burnley were going to bid 9m for him a couple of years ago when he was 17, I'll give him a chance haha. Mon the hibs.
29-08-2021, 07:07 AM
There was one available for free in the summer? Declan gallagher..that's just off the top of my head.
You’d be saying how pish he is after 3 games with us.
Centreline/degenerated I put my hands up to being wrong if Hibs dealt with the McKay signing as well as reported but it was very similar to the McCrorie saga that ended with us being gazumped by Aberdeen at the last minute and was why I put that one forward. I'd prefer Hibs to keep targets under wraps and then announce the signing, that's all.
you mean like the several I listed before that you’ve ignored?
I get your general gist, but I think you’re twisting facts to suit a flawed argument that doesn’t stand up to scrutiny
How long has this lad been on Hibs radar?? Whose to say we have not been watching him for a while.
To me you are looking at any angle to have a pop at the club.
I am more than certain that due diligence has been done on a player and as others have mentioned we’re no longer in the you tube clip player recruitment.
What about the Norwegian lad. Is that a panic buy?? (Not sure it’s concluded). By all accounts we’ve been in talks with the club for a while. Transfers take time and to get the quality you want sometimes you have to wait and be patient.
If we can get a quality player in on loan and it benefits the club and it’s within our structure then we go for it.
I suspect you will never every be happy regardless!
andudare2
29-08-2021, 07:53 AM
And you know for a fact that Hibs haven't been looking at this lad for a good while?
29-08-2021, 07:55 AM
How long has this lad been on Hibs radar?? Whose to say we have not been watching him for a while.
To me you are looking at any angle to have a pop at the club.
I am more than certain that due diligence has been done on a player and as others have mentioned we’re no longer in the you tube clip player recruitment.
What about the Norwegian lad. Is that a panic buy?? (Not sure it’s concluded). By all accounts we’ve been in talks with the club for a while. Transfers take time and to get the quality you want sometimes you have to wait and be patient.
If we can get a quality player in on loan and it benefits the club and it’s within our structure then we go for it.
I suspect you will never every be happy regardless!
The recruitment team will have a shortlist of players for every position we need. He'd have been on it. These things are never done on a whim.
29-08-2021, 07:57 AM
Have any one seen Nathan wood play? I have very accomplished player and gd footballer
Is he rapid as is being suggested?
The recruitment team will have a shortlist of players for every position we need. He'd have been on it. These things are never done on a whim.
That’s my point. Not a panic loan etc!
Tully
29-08-2021, 08:08 AM
Is he rapid as is being suggested?
Saw him v blackpool carabo cup reads the game well good in the air good distribution and yes he is fast on his feet
Aye the last thing we need is a young centre half on loan from an average championship side. Go get the right player in permanently hibs, someone that's going to put pressure on Hanlon and porteous, or better yet, start infront of them. That's what we need! Be nice to have an Absoloute bruiser that when we get a corner we fancy him for a goal, a rob jones type!
Yep, because it's now been nearly a week since one of our centre backs scored from a corner! :wink:
NC1875
29-08-2021, 08:32 AM
I posted a link about him further up the page. Have also been on twitter talking to Boro fans who all rate him very highly.
Next.
Jeezo, the boys in the under 20 England squad, would any of our current ch’s be in that squad at 19 ?
He’s also apparently been linked with a 9 million pound move.
And your moaning ? Who do you expect us to sign ?
29-08-2021, 08:42 AM
Jeezo, the boys in the under 20 England squad, would any of our current ch’s be in that squad at 19 ?
He’s also apparently been linked with a 9 million pound move.
And your moaning ? Who do you expect us to sign ?
Exactly. He's coming in to bolster our numbers and give us another option. We're not looking for a new first choice CB. Porteous and Hanlon will still be that.
JammyDoidger
29-08-2021, 08:46 AM
Exactly. He's coming in to bolster our numbers and give us another option. We're not looking for a new first choice CB. Porteous and Hanlon will still be that.
So have we just accepted that Hanlon and Porteous are the best we can do in that position? I personally feel it's the weakest area of the team, so we need folk to come in and take their place..same with McGinn could be doing with someone to come in and move him out the way, that's the only way we will improve, need boys to come in and be better than what we have.
29-08-2021, 08:53 AM
So have we just accepted that Hanlon and Porteous are the best we can do in that position? I personally feel it's the weakest area of the team, so we need folk to come in and take their place..same with McGinn could be doing with someone to come in and move him out the way, that's the only way we will improve, need boys to come in and be better than what we have.
That seems to be a fairly popular opinion but it baffles me.
Admittedly our first few league games haven’t been against the strongest of opposition but the centre halves have been adequate at worst in all of them. Yesterday they were very good.
And that’s been with an understudy playing almost every week.
Obviously if an opportunity to improve came along then I’d be happy but it’s not a place I’d necessarily be prioritising.
I still think the squad lacks a bit of depth, with limited options off the bench (although it was good to see Scott Allan make his mark on the game yesterday). If possible, that’s best addressed by improving your starting line up and your first picks drop down the pecking order, but the main thing I’d want to see Hibs do over the last few days of the window would be to give Jack Ross a few more options in some key areas, areas where I think we’re still a bit light.
29-08-2021, 09:02 AM
That seems to be a fairly popular opinion but it baffles me.
Admittedly our first few league games haven’t been against the strongest of opposition but the centre halves have been adequate at worst in all of them. Yesterday they were very good.
And that’s been with an understudy playing almost every week.
Obviously if an opportunity to improve came along then I’d be happy but it’s not a place I’d necessarily be prioritising.
I still think the squad lacks a bit of depth, with limited options off the bench (although it was good to see Scott Allan make his mark on the game yesterday). If possible, that’s best addressed by improving your starting line up and your first picks drop down the pecking order, but the main thing I’d want to see Hibs do over the last few days of the window would be to give Jack Ross a few more options in some key areas, areas where I think we’re still a bit light.
Exactly. It’s just a totally wrong take. All stats prove that to be the case.
I just found an article that said burnley were going to bid 9m for him a couple of years ago when he was 17, I'll give him a chance haha. Mon the hibs.
Sounds like you gave him 1 hour 42 minutes before deciding. 😀
29-08-2021, 09:50 AM
There was one available for free in the summer? Declan gallagher..that's just off the top of my head.
I thought Gallagher was a possibility at the time but for whatever reason we didn't go for him.
He is only a year younger than Hanlon and would have been at the top of our wage structure with Aberdeen probably offering him more than we thought he was worth. Doesn't fit in with our playing style. Both Hanlon and Porteous are good with the ball at their feet and like Daz, Gallagher isn't. It should be noted that no English Championship side tried to sign him in the summer either so they probably see the same deficiency.
FWIW I think Kerr of St Johnstone is the best CH outside the Old Firm and Hanlon is not far behind him.
If Kerr was amenable I would be getting him on a pre contract on as high a wage as it takes especially if we are selling Porteous next summer.
This loan guy Wood would do the job in the meantime.
The big thing for me is that the recruitment team have done a remarkable job since they have been left to do their job. They will have a half dozen targets for each position. Nathan Wood will be on that list and based on the post Hecky signing run I am almost certain he will fit the bill and Daz will move to 4th choice.
29-08-2021, 09:56 AM
Saw him v blackpool carabo cup reads the game well good in the air good distribution and yes he is fast on his feet
Everything we want. What's not to like?
29-08-2021, 10:35 AM
Is it definitely a loan? Reading quotes from Jack Ross this morning and he doesn't mention loan
29-08-2021, 10:45 AM
Is it definitely a loan? Reading quotes from Jack Ross this morning and he doesn't mention loan
Looks like it is a year long loan. Boro have also just loaned out another defender called Jack Robinson to Yeovil.
CJHibby
29-08-2021, 10:54 AM
McD I credit Hibs with good transfer dealings and wasn't ignoring anything you'd said. I just thought we could secure a player from the likes of St. Johnstone without the public back and forth deal or no deal.
29-08-2021, 11:18 AM
McD I credit Hibs with good transfer dealings and wasn't ignoring anything you'd said. I just thought we could secure a player from the likes of St. Johnstone without the public back and forth deal or no deal.
What have hibs or St johnstone said publicly about the deal?
29-08-2021, 11:36 AM
Some talk from Dundee fans about Jordan Marshall to Hibs? He's a left back and tbh haven't heard off him before?
Probably nonsense
29-08-2021, 11:41 AM
Bates to Aberdeen - 3 year deal.
Lost count how many players Aberdeen and Hearts have signed this window.
29-08-2021, 11:48 AM
Think it's 6 permanent and 3 loan deals for Aberdeen so far. Not sure about Hearts but they have been linked today with another CB on loan from Everton.
29-08-2021, 11:49 AM
Aberdeen - 9
Hearts - 5
Hibs - 4
Aberdeen are rebuilding and for the last 5 or so years Hearts have been continually rebuilding for the last 5 or so years with their revolving door policy. I'm glad we've got continuity so don't need to do as much.
Aberdeen - 9
Hearts - 5
Hibs - 4
5 for Hearts is quite low by their normal standards.
29-08-2021, 11:51 AM
5 for Hearts is quite low by their normal standards.
Windows not closed yet haha
Hearts starting 11 could walk past me in the street and I'd only recognise Craig Gordon and slapped puss Haliday
Aberdeen - 9
Hearts - 5
Hibs - 4
Aberdeen needed that amount though to be fair. We only really needed a few in and a few for competition for places.
Still think we'll finish third. We're looking good and playing some great football at times. Once Nisbet and Scott get used to each other think they'll be deadly.
I’m glad of that, lost count of the amount of summer rebuilds we’ve had with 7,8, 9 average signings which in turn led to very average league finishes. We don’t to scattergun that many signings
29-08-2021, 11:54 AM
Aberdeen are rebuilding and for the last 5 or so years Hearts have been continually rebuilding for the last 5 or so years with their revolving door policy. I'm glad we've got continuity so don't need to do as much.
Exactly. If you need to sign almost a whole team every window then there us something wrong with your recruitment policy. Remember we did that during the Butcher, Fenlon times. Scary stuff. Would rather identify good players and then keep them as we have done with Boyle and hopefully Nisbet. Give good players long deals, as we have with Magennis as well. I think we have got it right just now to be honest
29-08-2021, 11:54 AM
Aberdeen - 9
Hearts - 5
Hibs - 4
How many players did Aberdeen lose?
29-08-2021, 11:57 AM
Rebuilding? Amongst a few others these are some of the players they have signed, although most on free transfers
Scott Brown - 36
Markey Watkins -30
Declan Gallagher -30
JET - 30
Gary Woods - 30
Christian Ramirez -30
29-08-2021, 11:58 AM
And most of the Hearts signings are loans too very few permanent deals and we know that can be a slippery slope
29-08-2021, 12:02 PM
Rebuilding? Amongst a few others these are some of the players they have signed, although most on free transfers
Scott Brown - 36
Markey Watkins -30
Declan Gallagher -30
JET - 30
Gary Woods - 30
Christian Ramirez -30
There would be a meltdown on here if that was the age of our signings.
29-08-2021, 12:10 PM
How many players did Aberdeen lose?
29-08-2021, 12:18 PM
So not really any more when you consider Considine is injured and Ferguson maybe away.
29-08-2021, 12:46 PM
Hearts starting 11 could walk past me in the street and I'd only recognise Craig Gordon and slapped puss Haliday
I'm the same, don't know anything about any of them really but looking on kickback they seem pretty chuffed with the signings they've made so far.
They were honking last season so kinda figure they must better now. I've only seen them in the Celtic game though, so no idea really.
29-08-2021, 12:47 PM
I'm not sure there would be. Players at around 30 are pretty much at the peak of their abilities.
29-08-2021, 01:06 PM
Scott Brown - 36
Markey Watkins -30
Declan Gallagher -30
JET - 30
Gary Woods - 30
Christian Ramirez -30
To add to
Lewis - 33
Hayes - 34
McGinn - 34
Considine - 34
Sold 3 of their best players last season:
McKenna, Wright and Cosgrove
That leaves them with only Ferguson as a big saleable asset.
The interesting players at Aberdeen are the two young full backs Ramsey and Mackenzie
Ramsey looks very good.
They also have McCrorie and surprisingly Ojo is playing well under Glass.
It will be interesting to see how their loan signings go as well.
Good appearance at home in their 1st European game but outclassed by Qarabag last week.
If we match them to the winter window the addition of Doidge and Mueller will take us clear of them.
King Cosell
29-08-2021, 01:46 PM
Saw a pic of Peter Haring wearing a pair of Christopher Biggins glasses before last week's game. I'd recognise him.
29-08-2021, 01:59 PM
Scott Brown - 36
Markey Watkins -30
Declan Gallagher -30
JET - 30
Gary Woods - 30
Christian Ramirez -30
Is Ramirez genuinely 30? Richard Gordon was bigging him up first week of the season on the radio saying he could potentially have excellent resale value to the EPL/Championship.
29-08-2021, 02:04 PM
Exactly. If you need to sign almost a whole team every window then there us something wrong with your recruitment policy. Remember we did that during the Butcher, Fenlon times. Scary stuff. Would rather identify good players and then keep them as we have done with Boyle and hopefully Nisbet. Give good players long deals, as we have with Magennis as well. I think we have got it right just now to be honest
could be wrong but i don't think Butcher got the chance to sign anyone, he did though get shot of about a dozen players i think, none that we missed...maybe we could at least give him the slightest bit of credit for clearing the decks before he lost his job
Is Ramirez genuinely 30? Richard Gordon was bigging him up first week of the season on the radio saying he could potentially have excellent resale value to the EPL/Championship.
Richard Gordon is a sheep supporting erse.
29-08-2021, 02:28 PM
could be wrong but i don't think Butcher got the chance to sign anyone, he did though get shot of about a dozen players i think, none that we missed...maybe we could at least give him the slightest bit of credit for clearing the decks before he lost his job
Butcher did have a transfer budget ….but chose to keep the budget for the summer….another in a long line of appalling decisions from him
HibeeMackenzie
29-08-2021, 02:43 PM
A lot of talk from Dundee fans on Twitter that one of their players Marshall is coming to us
29-08-2021, 02:43 PM
If we have almost agreed a deal for Tonesson, seems odd to be going to Marshall too
Magpie
29-08-2021, 03:25 PM
So how many signings do we think we will make before the end of the window? Nathan Wood excluded.
29-08-2021, 03:25 PM
So how many signings do we think we will make before the end of the window? Nathan Wood excluded.
Magpie
29-08-2021, 03:27 PM
I can’t see Mueller joining until January, feel like that would have been done by now. I think a further striker/winger and defender, perhaps the left back we are apparently close to signing.
29-08-2021, 03:28 PM
I can’t see Mueller joining until January, feel like that would have been done by now. I think a further striker/winger and defender, perhaps the left back we are apparently close to signing.
Yeah the talk seems to be that Orlando have absolutely no interest in letting him go.
29-08-2021, 03:31 PM
I think Doig might be away
The rumours of the guy from Norway and now Jordan Marshall suggest we might expect him to go
29-08-2021, 03:35 PM
70 or 62, but not 51 🤣
29-08-2021, 03:43 PM
I take it the interest in Porteous has cooled and he's now staying this window.
29-08-2021, 03:45 PM
I reckon we need two but will get one in.
Think we need another striker option and acentre back option.
29-08-2021, 03:45 PM
The rumours of the guy from Norway and now Jordan Marshall suggest we might expect him to go
Strange for JR to say the interest had disappeared though.
We needed another LB/RB anyway so one makes sense. I agree being after 2 LBs is a bit strange unless Doig is gone or we've missed out on Norwegian lad.
Torto7
29-08-2021, 03:47 PM
Jack Ross said that its normal to agree fees as a backup in case a player leaves. He wasnt saying Doig would go. Just that we were ready if he did. So if Doig stays neither of these guys come in if he does leave then Id presume it would be Tonneson or Marshall rather than both.
Magpie
29-08-2021, 03:51 PM
I reckon we need two but will get one in.
Think we need another striker option and acentre back option.
I think we will prioritise an attacker over a defender once Wood is in.
calamitus
29-08-2021, 03:53 PM
Not sure if this has been covered already, but Omeonga signed for Livvy yesterday
https://instagram.com/stories/stephane.omeonga/2650943451856324400?utm_source=ig_story_item_share&utm_medium=share_sheet
29-08-2021, 03:55 PM
I think we will prioritise an attacker over a defender once Wood is in.
Same.
I get it with Daz playing so well yesterday which will give us four options, five as McGinn can play in a three.
Magpie
29-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Same.
I get it with Daz playing so well yesterday which will give us four options, five as McGinn can play in a three.
Do you think we will go for another target man like Doidge or someone similar to Boyle with pace? I would prefer another Boyle type.
29-08-2021, 03:58 PM
Three more in at least maybe four including Nathan Wood.
29-08-2021, 04:01 PM
Do you think we will go for another target man like Doidge or someone similar to Boyle with pace? I would prefer another Boyle type.
For me we need a target man similar to Doidgie- even if its just a 6 month loan till the big man is back
29-08-2021, 04:01 PM
Think the same as you and imagine we'd go for more of a footballer. Not meaning that as a dig at Doidge by the way. Cause I genuinely love the guy and think we miss him.
Just the way we seem to be playing this season is passing out from the back with Porto in particular fizzing passes into the strikers feet. So don't think we'll go for a target man.
Hibiza
29-08-2021, 04:03 PM
Martin Boyle is just fantastic.
29-08-2021, 04:06 PM
Should be the answer to every question.
29-08-2021, 04:09 PM
Couldn't agree with u more...delighted he's ours and got the new deal
Magpie
29-08-2021, 04:12 PM
Think the same as you and imagine we'd go for more of a footballer. Not meaning that as a dig at Doidge by the way. Cause I genuinely love the guy and think we miss him.
Just the way we seem to be playing this season is passing out from the back with Porto in particular fizzing passes into the strikers feet. So don't think we'll go for a target man.
I agree. I feel like we want to play more behind than route one. However, it is good to have someone like Doidge for certain types of games. The Hearts game would probably be more suitable for that type.
29-08-2021, 04:21 PM
I think we need another attacking option down the left as we can't rely on Murphy.
We have plenty options down the right-hand side but now very little on the opposite side.
29-08-2021, 04:25 PM
Hope our American chappie is as effective as Aberdeen's American chappie in terms of scoring goals......
29-08-2021, 04:35 PM
Hope our American chappie is as effective as Aberdeen's American chappie in terms of scoring goals......
It helps when keepers spill the ball right in front of him.
29-08-2021, 04:42 PM
Will James Scott, Drey Wright Daniel McKay battle it out for the left wing spot?
Or will we see a player of quality come in that’s not been mentioned yet.
Barrie McKay?
29-08-2021, 04:48 PM
Will James Scott, Drey Wright Daniel McKay battle it out for the left wing spot?
Barrie McKay?
Murphy position. Don't see us signing someone else. Big miss for the Derby on the five a side pitch.
29-08-2021, 04:50 PM
It helps when keepers spill the ball right in front of him.
So what? He's in the right place to take advantage no?
1875Sean
29-08-2021, 04:54 PM
Barrie McKay?
I don’t think James Scott looked great when moving out to the left, if we can punt Wright and get another player who can play on the left or upfront that would do
29-08-2021, 04:54 PM
If we are after 2 LBs, and if Doig isn't leaving, I wonder if one of these players has potential to play left wing...
JR likes to have a few versatile players.
29-08-2021, 05:14 PM
This weekend results have shown our squad isn't as bad as some seem to think. Cadden,hanlon,Newell doidge missing who would have started also hallberg and Murphy off injured. The Don's struggle today and st johnstone with 3 points shows we are in a good place. Cadden,hanlon and Newell should be back after the break and with 3 or 4 guys coming in to me we look to have a very good squad. Injuries can happen at any time and hearts aren't having theirs yet. It's a long season and I'm confident we will be around third come the business end.
29-08-2021, 05:15 PM
This weekend results have shown our squad isn't as bad as some seem to think. Cadden,hanlon,Newell doidge missing who would have started also hallberg and Murphy off injured. The Don's struggle today and st johnstone with 3 points shows we are in a good place. Cadden,hanlon and Newell should be back after the break and with 3 or 4 guys coming in to me we look to have a very good squad. Injuries can happen at any time and hearts aren't having theirs yet. It's a long season and I'm confident we will be around third come the business end.
Pretty decent summary I think
29-08-2021, 06:17 PM
All true, but centre forward and centre back still look light. The rest of the squad certainly looks decent.
Souter96Mac
29-08-2021, 06:50 PM
Barrie McKay?
I'd take McKay. Is this just a suggestion, or have you heard something?
29-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Watching Sportscene McGrath looks absolute quality for St Mirren. Were we linked with him earlier on in the summer?
29-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Watching Sportscene McGrath looks absolute quality for St Mirren. Were we linked with him earlier on in the summer?
Think he will go this summer, wondered if we would be interested but Aberdeen were priced out off a move earlier on this summer. I think he sees his future down South.
29-08-2021, 07:11 PM
I'd take McKay. Is this just a suggestion, or have you heard something?
McKay was on loan at Fleetwood last 2 seasons was good when he could be bothered
29-08-2021, 07:16 PM
And rightly so.
BlackSheep
29-08-2021, 07:25 PM
What about Boyle on the left and cadden on the right?
29-08-2021, 07:30 PM
What about Boyle on the left and cadden on the right?
Boyle is nowhere near as effective and Camden isn’t a winger
29-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Boyle is nowhere near as effective and Camden isn’t a winger
It can be done tho
29-08-2021, 07:46 PM
More likely scott or Mackay will play on the left, l just hope Hanlon and Newall are fit to start
I still think we will see Griffiths on loan until Jan.
We need another striker, he needs games, JR was on record saying (in summer) that we are aware of his contract situation before he signed extension.
We might have one last go at Mueller but it wouldn’t surprise me if we get him last minute on loan. Especially if Celtic sign the striker they are after.
29-08-2021, 08:31 PM
I’d take griffiths on Loan until January - if he does well sign him on a pre contract or extend loan
We are needing players in quickly
Murphy out again
Doidge out until new year realistically
It can be done tho
Caen doesn't have the pace for a winger, he's a good defensive wide midfielder/wingback.
29-08-2021, 08:51 PM
I’d take griffiths on Loan until January - if he does well sign him on a pre contract or extend loan
We are needing players in quickly
Murphy out again
Doidge out until new year realistically
He needs to go somewhere to play every week he wouldn’t get that at Hibs
andrew70
29-08-2021, 08:59 PM
He’d play every week in a two up top. Still think 352 is Jack Ross formation of choice. Even though we’ve done better, in an attacking sense, with a 4231 this season.
29-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Griff can do one.
Unless Nisbet goes.
My guess is that either Nisbet or Doig will go, hopefully they don't though.
andrew70
29-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Griff can do one.
We’d be daft to turn our nose up at him.
29-08-2021, 09:07 PM
Griff can do one.
Yep, I'd be amazed if we signed him, just does not fit into the mould that JR wants. Gone are the days of us being a charity for former players down on their luck.
29-08-2021, 09:15 PM
He’d play every week in a two up top. Still think 352 is Jack Ross formation of choice. Even though we’ve done better, in an attacking sense, with a 4231 this season.
It’s not really his best formation but agree he wants 2 up top he prefers a 4132 but 352 which we haven’t played this season is something we can play
29-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Yep, I'd be amazed if we signed him, just does not fit into the mould that JR wants. Gone are the days of us being a charity for former players down on their luck.Without knowing more about LG`s ( like any other player we`d sign ) fitness of course I`d have doubts about signing him but out of curiosity what do you think JR wants ? And when have we signed ex players for charitable reasons ? Griffiths , Riordan , Stokes and GOC were all fantastic players for us on first and second periods with us despite offfield events they got involved in . The managers who re signed them were fully aware of risks but decided it was worth it and I`m sure JR would be no different .
29-08-2021, 09:32 PM
Without knowing more about LG`s ( like any other player we`d sign ) fitness of course I`d have doubts about signing him but out of curiosity what do you think JR wants ? And when have we signed ex players for charitable reasons ? Griffiths , Riordan , Stokes and GOC were all fantastic players for us on first and second periods with us despite offfield events they got involved in . The managers who re signed them were fully aware of risks but decided it was worth it and I`m sure JR would be no different .
I've no idea who JR wants. Wasn't it Petrie who was the prime mover in getting Deek and GOC back? Anyway I'm not getting into a debate about that, time to move on!
have you actually read what you posted?
you put the boot into Hibs transfer dealings, and you did ignore what I said. You implied that Hibs can’t get a signing done without it being dragged out and/or all over the press. I listed several signings that achieve one or both of those, which you haven’t acknowledged in regards to your claim, and are shifting the goalposts
29-08-2021, 10:06 PM
A lot of Rangers fans want and seen to think they might go for Doig with Barisic leaving.
29-08-2021, 10:06 PM
I thought Griff was going to Dundee if so The return of JC would be nice 👍
29-08-2021, 10:10 PM
A lot of Rangers fans want and seen to think they might go for Doig with Barisic leaving.
I’m not sure they could afford him
29-08-2021, 10:12 PM
Griff or jc in time for hearts game yes please !
Block
29-08-2021, 10:16 PM
Yep, I'd be amazed if we signed him, just does not fit into the mould that JR wants. Gone are the days of us being a charity for former players down on their luck.
Totally.
We just signed James Scott for a year who looks very decent, we have Chris Mueller arriving in due course, Jamie Gullan is still a really good prospect, obviously the very talented Kevin Nisbet, and we have Christian Doig to step back in after his recovery from injury. Oh, and anyway who needs a striker when we've got Martin Boyle scoring for fun :greengrin
No way is Leigh Griffiths coming back to Hibernian as a player. He'll always be welcome as a Hibee supporter but not as an employee player.
King Cosell
29-08-2021, 10:20 PM
I think we'll get very tempting bids for Porteous, more than double the £1m Millwall reportedly offered. He's been excellent this season. Still a bit rough round the edges but he's got all the attributes. Watched Wolves/Man U today and don't see any reason why can't reach that level.
Block
29-08-2021, 10:21 PM
I’m not sure they could afford him
Totally.
There's absolutely no danger they could afford to shell out 4 or 5 million. Much more likely to be moving down south for that kind of dough.
Block
29-08-2021, 10:25 PM
I think we'll get very tempting bids for Porteous, more than double the £1m Millwall reportedly offered. He's been excellent this season. Still a bit rough round the edges but he's got all the attributes. Watched Wolves/Man U today and don't see any reason why can't reach that level.
Porteous is a terrific player. 2 million is cheap for his signature. Don't want to see young Porto go but when he does I'd prefer he went down south and for over 2 million as he is young and is on the way to becoming a top class modern defender.
King Cosell
29-08-2021, 10:28 PM
I thought Griff was going to Dundee if so The return of JC would be nice 👍
I thank Jason for his contribution but he's not good enough for Aberdeen or Hearts (or Shrewsbury Town) and he's not good enough for us.
29-08-2021, 10:57 PM
So what's that we have left 48hrs?
Could be a nervous couple of days.
29-08-2021, 11:21 PM
So what's that we have left 48hrs?
Could be a nervous couple of days.
2 tomorrow possibly another 2 Tuesday all going well
29-08-2021, 11:23 PM
2 tomorrow possibly another 2 Tuesday all going well
Nothing more than a guess? Or something you have heard?
30-08-2021, 04:25 AM
Without knowing more about LG`s ( like any other player we`d sign ) fitness of course I`d have doubts about signing him but out of curiosity what do you think JR wants ? And when have we signed ex players for charitable reasons ? Griffiths , Riordan , Stokes and GOC were all fantastic players for us on first and second periods with us despite offfield events they got involved in . The managers who re signed them were fully aware of risks but decided it was worth it and I`m sure JR would be no different .
O'Connor was a joke 2nd time round. Scored a few goals but was overweight all season, missed big chucks of matches, and was never out the papers.
Griffiths will never play for Hibs again. We're no longer the joke we were in 2010.
30-08-2021, 06:00 AM
O'Connor was a joke 2nd time round. Scored a few goals but was overweight all season, missed big chucks of matches, and was never out the papers.
Griffiths will never play for Hibs again. We're no longer the joke we were in 2010.
There’s been debate in this but that stunning performance on 21st May aside, Stokes wasn’t very good second time around in the most part and even worse third time around.
Looking back with the sort of striker we seem to attract rarely works. Griffiths would be a big mistake.
30-08-2021, 07:14 AM
Would take Griffiths in a heart beat.
30-08-2021, 07:16 AM
I'm starting to warm to the idea of a season long loan, but I don't want us taking a punt on a 2/3 year contract at this time.
30-08-2021, 07:24 AM
I'm starting to warm to the idea of a season long loan, but I don't want us taking a punt on a 2/3 year contract at this time.
I’d agree with that. :agree:
A loan and if he does well then sign him up for a further year or 2.
Crunchie
30-08-2021, 07:28 AM
So would I :aok:
Bob1875
30-08-2021, 07:33 AM
Never mind the off field stuff he brings.
The guy hasn’t been able to get himself into a mediocre Celtic team, Infact he can’t even get in the squad. I thought it might have been Lennon but The new gaffer doesn’t fancy him either. If he can’t get himself fit at Celtic, why would he be able to here.
30-08-2021, 07:35 AM
The guy hasn’t been able to get himself into a mediocre Celtic team, Infact he can’t even get in the squad. I thought it might have been Lennon but The new gaffer doesn’t fancy him either. If he can’t get himself fit at Celtic, why would he be able to here.
Exactly. If last season wasn’t motivation enough after the help Celtic gave him then there’s no hope. Wouldn’t even look past the off field stuff but even if we did, the on field stuff is hopeless.
30-08-2021, 07:49 AM
Last season he had one of if not the best goals per minute in Scotland.
If he can do that half fit then I couldn’t really care less how fit he is.
30-08-2021, 07:53 AM
Exactly. If last season wasn’t motivation enough after the help Celtic gave him then there’s no hope. Wouldn’t even look past the off field stuff but even if we did, the on field stuff is hopeless.
I was desperate to get him back at the start of summer but now... meh. A loan seems a decent option but I certainly wouldn't want us throwing money at him. Will trust the club and JR on this.
All I'll say is that if he signs for another Scottish team, he's guaranteed to score against us. Then I'll be raging we didn't get him 😂😂
30-08-2021, 07:59 AM
I was desperate to get him back at the start of summer but now... meh. A loan seems a decent option but I certainly wouldn't want us throwing money at him. Will trust the club and JR on this.
All I'll say is that if he signs for another Scottish team, he's guaranteed to score against us. Then I'll be raging we didn't get him 😂😂
Whilst I’d expect him to score against us as well I’m sure he’s actually got a really poor record against us in proportion to the amount of goals he has scored at Celtic!
30-08-2021, 08:00 AM
When does the window close?
30-08-2021, 08:03 AM
When does the window close?
Tomorrow night
30-08-2021, 08:07 AM
Tomorrow night
A decent amount of business still be done in 2 days you’d like to think.
30-08-2021, 08:09 AM
Celtic signing that striker from VVV-Venlo
30-08-2021, 08:14 AM
A decent amount of business still be done in 2 days you’d like to think.
I hope so mate. Keep checking here hoping for news with nout happening!
30-08-2021, 08:15 AM
Celtic signing that striker from VVV-Venlo
That’s good.
I was worried about Nisbet going there, that seems unlikely now though.
30-08-2021, 08:19 AM
Celtc would probably insist on him coming back as part of a deal for Nisbet.
In which case… no thanks.
30-08-2021, 08:26 AM
Celtc would probably insist on him coming back as part of a deal for Nisbet.
In which case… no thanks.
If they keep Edouard they will have him, Kyogo & This new boy. Doubt they will go for Nisbet too.
Willis1875
30-08-2021, 08:26 AM
If they keep Edouard they will have him, Kyogo & This new boy. Doubt they will go for Nisbet too.
And Ajeti
30-08-2021, 08:28 AM
And Ajeti
Forgot he even existed
Fuzzywuzzy
30-08-2021, 08:29 AM
£8m for Patterson allegedly turned down. Is he really that good?
30-08-2021, 08:31 AM
Surely Eduoard has to be away. He isn't remotely interested in being there.
Mr. Wonderful
30-08-2021, 08:39 AM
£8m for Patterson allegedly turned down. Is he really that good?
No better than our man JD.
30-08-2021, 08:43 AM
Last season he had one of if not the best goals per minute in Scotland.
If he can do that half fit then I couldn’t really care less how fit he is.
I don’t want a player who can’t be arsed being fit when he’s supposed to be a professional athlete. If he can’t be arsed doing that then what else can he not be arsed doing? It would be disrespectful to the likes of Nisbet who score a load of goals but also does the other parts of their job. This team works it’s arse off, Griffiths does not fit into that.
Add all the bad news headlines over the years too.
If Leigh didn’t support Hibs I don’t think there’s a person on here who would want to sign him.
Highwayman
30-08-2021, 08:49 AM
Was recently discussing the Leigh Griffiths situation with a fellow Hibbie.
I said I was puzzled that Celtic had given Griffiths a years extension to his contract,when after that it became clear that Postecoglou had no use for him.
His take on it was that Celtic saw the extension as way to get some gelt back on what they’d spent on wages in last couple of years without much return.In way of a transfer fee or funds from a loan.
Thought the proposed loan deal to Dundee was a done deal,but as usual with Celtic are they playing hardball with the loanee club as to what share of wages they should pay.
Also the more forwards Celtic seem to be accumulating make me more optimistic that they will not be trying to get Kevin Nisbet.
30-08-2021, 08:53 AM
Was recently discussing the Leigh Griffiths situation with a fellow Hibbie.
I said I was puzzled that Celtic had given Griffiths a years extension to his contract,when after that it became clear that Postecoglou had no use for him.
His take on it was that Celtic saw the extension as way to get some gelt back on what they’d spent on wages in last couple of years without much return.In way of a transfer fee or funds from a loan.
Thought the proposed loan deal to Dundee was a done deal,but as usual with Celtic are they playing hardball with the loanee club as to what share of wages they should pay.
Also the more forwards Celtic seem to be accumulating make me more optimistic that they will not be trying to get Kevin Nisbet.
That doesn't make sense to me.
No one is going to pay them a transfer fee for a player they could have signed on a free, and any club taking Griffiths on loan would only pay part of his wages.
So they're out of pocket by extending him regardless of what happens, unless he suddenly finds his missing form and scores twenty goals for Celtc.
30-08-2021, 08:57 AM
Griffiths is nothing like the player he was when he left us. I'm not convinced he'd do well at Scottish Championship level these days to be honest. Hasn't scored double figures in league since 2017 - and that season he only hit 12 in a title winning Celtic team.
30-08-2021, 09:00 AM
I don’t want a player who can’t be arsed being fit when he’s supposed to be a professional athlete. If he can’t be arsed doing that then what else can he not be arsed doing? It would be disrespectful to the likes of Nisbet who score a load of goals but also does the other parts of their job. This team works it’s arse off, Griffiths does not fit into that.
Add all the bad news headlines over the years too.
If Leigh didn’t support Hibs I don’t think there’s a person on here who would want to sign him.
Leigh is probably every bit as attractive a signing as Ambrose was based on the public opinion of both at the time Ambrose signed and LG now.
Both are seen as a bit unprofessional, not good enough for Celtic etc. Plenty folk still wanted Ambrose. I don’t think it’s a case of people wanting him because he supports Hibs. It’s because he’s a very good player and the fact he arguably isn’t good enough for Celtic doesn’t mean he isn’t good enough for us.
30-08-2021, 09:04 AM
There’s been debate in this but that stunning performance on 21st May aside, Stokes wasn’t very good second time around in the most part and even worse third time around.
Looking back with the sort of striker we seem to attract rarely works. Griffiths would be a big mistake.
Stokes 3rd spell was easily better than his 2nd, other than the cup final. He had a good start for us before the daft incident at the training camp. He scored 12 goals and got 4 assists in half a season.
30-08-2021, 09:04 AM
Surely Eduoard has to be away. He isn't remotely interested in being there.
True, it looks like he'll be gone before the deadline. Crystal Palace have made a bid.
30-08-2021, 09:06 AM
Ronaldo has completed his medical :hyper
Souter96Mac
30-08-2021, 09:09 AM
Sounds like Woods will be confirmed today.
30-08-2021, 09:11 AM
For Hibs?
Good cover until Murphy is fit I suppose.
30-08-2021, 09:12 AM
Leigh is probably every bit as attractive a signing as Ambrose was based on the public opinion of both at the time Ambrose signed and LG now.
Both are seen as a bit unprofessional, not good enough for Celtic etc. Plenty folk still wanted Ambrose. I don’t think it’s a case of people wanting him because he supports Hibs. It’s because he’s a very good player and the fact he arguably isn’t good enough for Celtic doesn’t mean he isn’t good enough for us.
There's the obvious Elephant in the room with Griffiths too which has put a lot of people off him
30-08-2021, 09:14 AM
For Hibs?
Good cover until Murphy is fit I suppose.
That would be :hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:h yper
30-08-2021, 09:15 AM
He is probably fitter than any player in the SPL
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6vtUUnv_MY&ab_channel=OhMyGoal-News
30-08-2021, 09:18 AM
There's the obvious Elephant in the room with Griffiths too which has put a lot of people off him
I’d take him on loan, for no reason other than I don’t see anything to lose.
If he’s not pulling his weight we send him back, simple as? And if he’s fit and playing he scores.
30-08-2021, 09:21 AM
If he’s not pulling his weight we send him back, simple as? And if he’s fit and playing he scores.
Yeah that’s pretty much my take on it. If it’s a straight loan, nothing to do with Nisbet then it’s a no brainer imo.
30-08-2021, 09:22 AM
Mitchell and Wood today.
30-08-2021, 09:30 AM
Mitchell and Wood today.
https://th.bing.com/th/id/OIP.MadQR1suWLRTW_eesVTMxAHaE8?w=263&h=180&c=7&r=0&o=5&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7
30-08-2021, 09:35 AM
Mitchell and Wood today.
Who's Mitchell? Must have missed that.
30-08-2021, 09:35 AM
Coming in to be 3rd choice from Clyde
ElginHibbie
30-08-2021, 09:37 AM
Imagine we'd need to pay fair chuck of his wage and I'd rather we spent money on someone we don't need to worry if they are gonna pull their weight or not. No need for us to make an expensive gamble
30-08-2021, 09:39 AM
Imagine we'd need to pay fair chuck of his wage and I'd rather we spent money on someone we don't need to worry if they are gonna pull their weight or not. No need for us to make an expensive gamble
Hibs will know his condition and whether or not the "gamble" is worth taking. We don't just sign players without knowing what we're getting anymore.
30-08-2021, 09:41 AM
David Mitchell. 31 year old goal keeper from Clyde.
Can’t help but feel that means Dabrowski is going out on loan.
30-08-2021, 09:42 AM
Hibs will know his condition and whether or not the "gamble" is worth taking. We don't just sign players without knowing what we're getting anymore.
Yup.
If we sign him then I’d fully expect him to contribute a significant amount.
If we don’t then I’m not going to pretend I won’t be disappointed to see him go elsewhere in Scotland as I think he is still more than good enough. If we don’t though and he ends up crap at Aberdeen or Dundee then I’ll be delighted :greengrin
ElginHibbie
30-08-2021, 09:43 AM
And that's exactly why I don't expect to see him coming to us
Souter96Mac
30-08-2021, 09:44 AM
Hopefully so, he needs first games to keep developing.
30-08-2021, 09:45 AM
Coming in to be 3rd choice from Clyde
BlackSheep
30-08-2021, 09:48 AM
Can’t see Dabrowski going out… Mitchell will be cover for the first 2 keepers… one injury and we would have a 16 year old GK on the bench….
Willis1875
30-08-2021, 09:49 AM
Can’t see Dabrowski going out… Mitchell will be cover for the first 2 keepers… one injury and we would have a 16 year old GK on the bench….
Or Craig Samson 😳
Fuzzywuzzy
30-08-2021, 09:49 AM
Not being funny but if he's being brought in to be 2nd choice I'd hope we'd bring in better than the 3rd tier in scotland
30-08-2021, 09:50 AM
Is Samson not normally our go to 3rd keeper?
30-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Oli Shaw possibly going to Killie, Hamilton also sniffing about.
30-08-2021, 09:56 AM
Could see him doing really well at Killie as they create a lot of chances in the Championship.
30-08-2021, 10:02 AM
https://th.bing.com/th/id/OIP.MadQR1suWLRTW_eesVTMxAHaE8?w=263&h=180&c=7&r=0&o=5&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7
I expect a lot more of this when Mitchell signs. Don't let me down, .net.
30-08-2021, 10:20 AM
True, it looks like he'll be gone before the deadline. Crystal Palace have made a bid.
And I've been on the Place fans forum telling them how lazy and disinterested he has become. Being my home town team I hope this is just press/agent crap and we steer well clear. He came to Celtic to put himself in the shop window and now everyone is looking at him what does he do? Show everyone what he can do - no, he shows the petted lip.
30-08-2021, 10:25 AM
Noticed he wasn’t in the County squad yesterday, so thought he may be on the move
Dabrowski won't go on loan, most squads have 3 keepers, if either Macey or Dabrowski get injured we only have Samson as back up.
Noticed he wasn’t in the County squad yesterday, so thought he may be on the move
Championship probably his level tbh.
30-08-2021, 10:29 AM
I'd say we need one CB, one FB (two if Doig is away) and a striker (two if Gullan isn't getting game time). We're fine for wingers even if Murphy is out; Mackay was signed for that reason, Scott can fill in when needed and Wright isn't anywhere near as bad as people make him out to be.
30-08-2021, 10:32 AM
I expect a lot more of this when Mitchell signs. Don't let me down, .net.
https://i.postimg.cc/PqBfD4Cd/360.jpg
Key West
30-08-2021, 10:33 AM
If Jack Ross thought that Leigh would make a difference that is good enough for me.
30-08-2021, 10:34 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/footballleaguew/status/1432290045105483779?s=21
30-08-2021, 10:35 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/footballleaguew/status/1432290045105483779?s=21
Nah, too late. **** off, Swansea.
30-08-2021, 10:37 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/footballleaguew/status/1432290045105483779?s=21Theyve started poorly but that league would be a good move for him
30-08-2021, 10:57 AM
Would take Leigh back in a heartbeat. Think he would score for fun for us. No brainer imo.
30-08-2021, 10:58 AM
Theyve started poorly but that league would be a good move for him
Good league for him, but if he's in a struggling team not making many chances it's not a great platform for him. When you add the League 1 wage cap if they get relegated, it's probably not as enticing as some would think.
30-08-2021, 10:58 AM
A lot of their fans saying no chance they’d pay £5m.
Which is fine by me, just means you don’t get him.
Really hope there’s nothing in it, fills me with dread that if Nisbet goes we replace him with a loan at this stage.
30-08-2021, 11:01 AM
Championship probably his level tbh.
Scored enough at this level with the game time he has had. However, he needs to go where he'll get a game. Killie would be a great move if they plan to play him.
30-08-2021, 11:08 AM
Could really be doing without KN agitating for a move again at the end of another window
Especially with our next game at tynie. Need a focussed team
30-08-2021, 11:09 AM
Nah, too late. **** off, Swansea.
This x100.
30-08-2021, 11:10 AM
£5m is a OK opening bid. Ron has a different mindset to Rod Petrie when it comes to selling players.
Highwayman
30-08-2021, 11:15 AM
That doesn't make sense to me.
No one is going to pay them a transfer fee for a player they could have signed on a free, and any club taking Griffiths on loan would only pay part of his wages.
So they're out of pocket by extending him regardless of what happens, unless he suddenly finds his missing form and scores twenty goals for Celtc.
Fine,you’re entitled to your opinion.
But that doesn’t explain to me why Celtic offered him an extension to his contract when the new manager had no use for him.
Torto7
30-08-2021, 11:19 AM
£5m is a OK opening bid. Ron has a different mindset to Rod Petrie when it comes to selling players.
He does and Im no fan of Petrie but he was a tough cookie on transfers tbf.
mayo hibee
30-08-2021, 11:22 AM
If they offer £5m he'll be gone by tomorrow.
Fine,you’re entitled to your opinion.
But that doesn’t explain to me why Celtic offered him an extension to his contract when the new manager had no use for him.
The thing is, he was in bother again straight after he signed that contract.
I don't know any Celtic supporter who thought he hadn't already burned his bridges there, even prior to the latest scandal.
The new contract was a poor move by them and they'll do almost anything to shift him on now imo. His/ their best bet is likely going to be to punt him out on loan to one of his former clubs, even if they don't get much or any of a contribution towards his wages. I doubt it will be us but would expect to see him pitch up at either Dundee or Livingston then continue to have the same problems there that he's had over the past couple of years.
As good a player as he is/ was, for the past 2 years practically everything to do with Griffiths has been in the negative column rather than the positive one.
Griffiths deal close to completion with Dundee
30-08-2021, 11:24 AM
Good.
Will be a relief when we can move on and stop discussing him.
30-08-2021, 11:25 AM
Good.
Will be a relief when we can move on and stop discussing him.
Until he scores for them at ER :greengrin
30-08-2021, 11:27 AM
The closer he gets to signing for someone else the more I want him back at ER!
Souter96Mac
30-08-2021, 11:29 AM
Any thoughts on who we'd look to bring in, if we were to sell Nisbet at this stage of the window?
Ideally we don't, but if we're offered £5m, that'll be tough to turn down.
30-08-2021, 11:30 AM
Are you basing that on the BBC tweet?
Torto7
30-08-2021, 11:32 AM
If they offer £5m he'll be gone by tomorrow.
Maybe Im not aware of Rons mind. Once upon a time the gunts sold Gordon for 9million. International strikers at his age and ability usually go for more than 5million.
30-08-2021, 11:35 AM
A lot of their fans saying no chance they’d pay £5m.
Which is fine by me, just means you don’t get him.
Really hope there’s nothing in it, fills me with dread that if Nisbet goes we replace him with a loan at this stage.
Is there anything that doesn't fill you with dread? I'm surprised you leave the house.
30-08-2021, 11:38 AM
Is there anything that doesn't fill you with dread? I'm surprised you leave the house.
30-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Stokes 3rd spell was easily better than his 2nd, other than the cup final. He had a good start for us before the daft incident at the training camp. He scored 12 goals and got 4 assists in half a season.
A lot of those are penalties and he wasted so many chances when he could have played in someone else. It was so common for him to get the back twenty yards out then mi**** it into the keepers arms.
To say he was frustrating was an understatement and we looked much more balanced and incisive once he left.
30-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Are you basing that on the BBC tweet?
I am yes 😁
30-08-2021, 11:46 AM
The last thing that filled me with dread was missing out on McCart and bringing in a CB on loan...and it just so happens 😉
Now I’m not saying I know it all but I can’t be far off
30-08-2021, 11:52 AM
30-08-2021, 12:00 PM
We can't sell Nisbet now not with Doidge out as long as he is - id be shocked and very disappointed if we do
30-08-2021, 12:00 PM
We can't sell Nisbet now not with Doidge out as long as he is - id be shocked and very disappointed if we do
For that reason it's a non starter for me.
30-08-2021, 12:08 PM
I am yes 😁
Aye i clicked the link too!
30-08-2021, 12:13 PM
Excellent, wasn't trying to make out that it was my story !
It's a fake account.
30-08-2021, 12:20 PM
It's a fake account.
Excellent how to make a twat of myself 😂😂
Anyway swiftly moving on 👀
The last thing that filled me with dread was missing out on McCart and bringing in a CB on loan...and it just so happens 😉
Now I’m not saying I know it all but I can’t be far off
Nobody likes a know-it-nearly-all. 😀
30-08-2021, 12:37 PM
Nobody likes a know-it-nearly-all. 😀
Hahaha, unless it’s me. Everyone loves me...
30-08-2021, 12:47 PM
Excellent how to make a twat of myself 😂😂
Anyway swiftly moving on 👀
Marvellous.:hibees
30-08-2021, 01:31 PM
https://twitter.com/plzsoccer/status/1432328293852848134?s=21
They are definitely just misreporting that other story aren’t they?
30-08-2021, 01:36 PM
https://twitter.com/plzsoccer/status/1432328293852848134?s=21
They are definitely just misreporting that other story aren’t they?
Edinburgh Live now running the same headline. Astounding if this all comes from them misreading the original, already questionable source.
OstKurve Hibs
30-08-2021, 01:59 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/swansea-city-make-5m-bid-24869516.amp
Here we go....
30-08-2021, 02:02 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/swansea-city-make-5m-bid-24869516.amp
Here we go....
well that would blow any bid from sellick out the water
twice
RossScott1991
30-08-2021, 02:03 PM
Seen a hibs page tweet about Doig to rangers for 4 million as Barisic is signing for Roma for 12mil
30-08-2021, 02:05 PM
Here we go....
It's funny how quickly a tweet from an obscure source that "Swansea are thinking of bidding for Nisber" followed by "Hibs are thought to want £5m for him" becomes "Swansea have bid £5m for Nisbet and he wants to go".
Laughable.
30-08-2021, 02:05 PM
Edinburgh Live now running the same headline. Astounding if this all comes from them misreading the original, already questionable source.
A few places have picked it up now, all from the same source. Seems like a load of nonsense.
30-08-2021, 02:07 PM
A few places have picked it up now, all from the same source. Seems like a load of nonsense.
Scott Burns from daily record confirming Swansea haven’t bid
30-08-2021, 02:08 PM
Seen a hibs page tweet about Doig to rangers for 4 million as Barisic is signing for Roma for 12mil
Never going to happen.
30-08-2021, 02:09 PM
It's funny how quickly a tweet from an obscure source that "Swansea are thinking of bidding for Nisber" followed by "Hibs are thought to want £5m for him" becomes "Swansea have bid £5m for Nisbet and he wants to go".
Laughable.
Was just thinking that … lazy lazy journalism
You’d think if your a decent journo you’d contact Swansea and ask.
Probably give no comment if anything in it but then you could say something along these lines I’m the story - click bait for sure
30-08-2021, 02:10 PM
Doig to Roma. 16 million with add ons. Barisic to Hibs as a makeweight but dependant on a medical as he has a twitchy left gonad. Heard it on Central Hibs. Or somewhere.
30-08-2021, 02:10 PM
I don’t think Nisbet will go anywhere this week. It’s too late in the day and he’s too important to us. I don’t think we can sell at this stage.
OstKurve Hibs
30-08-2021, 02:13 PM
Heres hoping it's a load of bullkeech
30-08-2021, 02:14 PM
I don’t think Nisbet will go anywhere this week. It’s too late in the day and he’s too important to us. I don’t think we can sell at this stage.
Don’t think he’ll go either. I’d think it more likely he’ll sign a new deal, although not convinced that will make a huge difference to us, but will reward his performances with an increase in wages.
30-08-2021, 02:20 PM
I seen a tweet from the Daily record saying Nisbet to Swansea for 5m but the tweet seems to have been depleted. Loads off Swansea fans now going on about the Record reporting that Swansea have bid £5m. Now not sure what's going on 😂
Just_Jimmy
30-08-2021, 02:23 PM
selling now would be a nightmare considering Doidge injury and time left in the window.
I'm not against selling and certainly not for 5mill but not now.
I'd bin the transfer window and bring back transfers at any time in the season.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
30-08-2021, 02:34 PM
I seen a tweet from the Daily record saying Nisbet to Swansea for 5m but the tweet seems to have been depleted. Loads off Swansea fans now going on about the Record reporting that Swansea have bid £5m. Now not sure what's going on 😂
Bit like their sales figures.
30-08-2021, 02:42 PM
A Swansea fan replied to the tweet that they don't have the money to pay that type of fee.
jonny
30-08-2021, 03:25 PM
Hibs have come out and said nothing received.
30-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Lazy journalism, Swansea don't have the cash, Hibs wouldn't sell this late on in the window especially considering the Doidge injury. That's a nothing story all round.
Was just thinking that … lazy lazy journalism
You’d think if your a decent journo you’d contact Swansea and ask.
Probably give no comment if anything in it but then you could say something along these lines I’m the story - click bait for sure
Yes, lazy "journalism". One source picks up a fake story and reports it and the rest just say that X source is reporting it and that gets them around any possible accusations of making stuff up.
30-08-2021, 03:39 PM
Maybe I should become a "journalist". Load of tosh, they just scroll about Twitter and fans forums making up any old nonsense and posting it as clickbait for ads.
Must be soul destroying for people who thought they were getting into it for the right reasons, just to turn up and become a copy and paste machine
Torto7
30-08-2021, 03:53 PM
If we remain a threat to the bigots then even when the window closes he'll be linked on a daily basis with whomever just to try and destabilise us.
Highwayman
30-08-2021, 04:01 PM
I’ll believe the Nisbet Swansea rumour is a load of BS once the transfer window is closed and nothing has materialised.Then I can stop my bum squeaking.
30-08-2021, 04:06 PM
Hmm any signings today? Wonder if it’s going to the last day. Still need a striker and a CB.
Not seen us linked with another attacker yet