View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
30-06-2021, 04:17 PM
Doyle-Hayes and that's some training top btw
https://i.ibb.co/J7LXhzV/Screenshot-2021-06-30-17-15-58-41-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/vP52tJp)
30-06-2021, 04:20 PM
Got to say I’ve never once heard of this guy.
Why did he miss so many games last season?
30-06-2021, 04:21 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1410270655359057923
Confirmed.
30-06-2021, 04:23 PM
I don’t know the answer to that but I’m surprised you’ve not heard of him.
I’m pretty hopeless at paying attention to other teams players but I’d heard of him. Think there was a spell during the season he got loads of praise.
Can’t say it’s a particularly exciting signing but not everyone needs to be exciting. I’m guessing he’ll be replacing one of Hallberg, Irvine or Mallan
30-06-2021, 04:24 PM
I’m pretty hopeless at paying attention to other teams players but I’d heard of him. Think there was a spell during the season he got loads of praise.
Can’t say it’s a particularly exciting signing but not everyone needs to be exciting. I’m guessing he’ll be replacing one of Hallberg, Irvine or Mallan
To be fair I’m happy to admit I pay very little attention to other teams players.
He has also only played 19 league games though so there’s not been a lot of opportunity to actually see him.
30-06-2021, 04:25 PM
He’s a good age for a signing, lots of years ahead of him
Dazzjw1875
30-06-2021, 04:26 PM
Does it say how long the deal is? Can't see anything
30-06-2021, 04:29 PM
Think he only actually signed for St Mirren in November.
Brilliant, welcome to the Hibees JDH.
Hibs signings under JR have been positive, I can’t say I know to much about him but clearly United wanted him but Hibs gave him a better offer. I like we are signing players with Scottish Premiership experience and most have proven themselves in our league.
I think he only signed in November time so wasn't here for the whole season. Clearly wanted to put himself in the shop window and while I didn't see much of him myself either those who have seen him seem to like the look of him.
30-06-2021, 04:32 PM
St Mirren had some players I thought were pretty decent last season. Him being one.
30-06-2021, 04:33 PM
To be fair I’m happy to admit I pay very little attention to other teams players.
He has also only played 19 league games though so there’s not been a lot of opportunity to actually see him.
22 league appearances
4 league cup appearances
4 Scottish cup appearances
30-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Quite happy with this signing. He was always one of St Mirren's better players when I watched them last season. Small, left footed deep lying centre mid who is very good at retaining possession, decent technically and has a bit dig about him. He came through Aston Villa's youth sides and at 22 he's at a good age. He'll be hungry to kick on and get in the Irish side. Solid signing for me.
30-06-2021, 04:39 PM
How many years is it for?
30-06-2021, 04:40 PM
How many years is it for?
2 year deal.
30-06-2021, 04:40 PM
Heard his name but don’t know anything about how he plays etc.
A case of wait and see for me on this one. Clearly targeting relatively young players though.
30-06-2021, 04:41 PM
Quite happy with this signing. He was always one of St Mirren's better players when I watched them last season. Small, left footed deep lying centre mid who is very good at retaining possession, decent technically and has a bit dig about him. He came through Aston Villa's youth sides and at 22 he's at a good age. He'll be hungry to kick on and get in the Irish side. Solid signing for me.
I can't pretend to know much about him but if what you say above in bold is true then I'm delighted.
This is probably the number one area that I'd say we've still been needing to improve and in fairness to Jack Ross and the recruitment team they have consistently tackled the areas most needing improvement early on in windows.
I'm cautiously optimistic and pleased with the early moves we've made.
For me the big challenge now will be to replace any of the more important first team players who choose to leave. As it stands, we've got a pretty solid squad.
30-06-2021, 04:42 PM
2 year deal.
Cheers. That more than likely means 1-2 centre mids are leaving. Can't have this many that play in same area.
MagicSwirlingShip
30-06-2021, 04:47 PM
Decent pedigree coming through the ranks at Villa.
Hoping he’s a Mcgeough type, good in possession and comfortable taking the ball in tight and keeping the ball moving.
Nor me 😕
30-06-2021, 04:56 PM
He only joined St Mirren in November last year
mayo hibee
30-06-2021, 04:56 PM
JDH will be a good fit for us I think. Funnily enough I mentioned him on last year's summer transfer thread as a potential signing for us when he was on a free after leaving Villa. Did very well on loan at Cheltenham for his age as a 20/21 year old. A year later and he's here via St Mirren.
He's a good solid holding midfielder, bit of bite to him and more comfortable on the ball than Gogic. A good age for us as well. Not a "wow" signing by any means but a sensible one given he was on a free and has already shown he can perform in our league. Definitely not a goalscoring midfielder or a particularly creative player - he's a defensive, high workrate midfielder.
30-06-2021, 05:01 PM
22 league appearances
4 league cup appearances
4 Scottish cup appearances
It says 19 league appearances and only 1 in the Scottish cup on his Wikipedia.
If he only signed in November though then that’ll have played a big part in that!
Free transfer so hopefully he’s one of the less ‘glamourous’ signings.
30-06-2021, 05:02 PM
JDH will be a good fit for us I think. Funnily enough I mentioned him on last year's summer transfer thread as a potential signing for us when he was on a free after leaving Villa. Did very well on loan at Cheltenham for his age as a 20/21 year old. A year later and he's here via St Mirren.
He's a good solid holding midfielder, bit of bite to him and more comfortable on the ball than Gogic. A good age for us as well. Not a "wow" signing by any means but a sensible one given he was on a free and has already shown he can perform in our league. Definitely not a goalscoring midfielder or a particularly creative player - he's a defensive, high workrate midfielder.
I’d have preferred someone like Scott Brown with a winning mentality to kick out the loser mentality we currently have
30-06-2021, 05:06 PM
It says 19 league appearances and only 1 in the Scottish cup on his Wikipedia.
If he only signed in November though then that’ll have played a big part in that!
Free transfer so hopefully he’s one of the less ‘glamourous’ signings.
Never sure where wiki gets half it's stats from. This is where I got my stats from and likes up with Hibs saying he played 30 games last season.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jake-doyle-hayes/profil/spieler/340921
30-06-2021, 05:11 PM
From a post on KS, for what it’s worth:
Apparently Paul Cooney on the GoRadio football show said he will sign a new Celtic contract tomorrow or Friday.
30-06-2021, 05:16 PM
I’d have preferred someone like Scott Brown with a winning mentality to kick out the loser mentality we currently have
How did that winning mentality work out for him last season?
30-06-2021, 05:17 PM
Never sure where wiki gets half it's stats from. This is where I got my stats from and likes up with Hibs saying he played 30 games last season.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jake-doyle-hayes/profil/spieler/340921
Cheers.
30-06-2021, 05:23 PM
😂😂 what a negative comment, it’s a mew season fresh start chill out
30-06-2021, 05:23 PM
Since last season ended midfielders Irvine, Murray and McGinn have left and Mallan, Allan and Doyle-Hayes have arrived.
30-06-2021, 05:24 PM
Cheers. That more than likely means 1-2 centre mids are leaving. Can't have this many that play in same area.
Hallberg will be one defo going
30-06-2021, 05:29 PM
Decent pedigree coming through the ranks at Villa.
Hoping he’s a Mcgeough type, good in possession and comfortable taking the ball in tight and keeping the ball moving.
This is what I'm hoping for. It's not that we're lacking creative midfielders, it's that we don't have anyone to do the hard work to accommodate the ones we have doing what they do best. If this guy can retrieve/retain the ball and drive us forward before giving it to Allan/Mallan/Newall/McKay/Boyle then it's exactly what we need.
We tried using Newell and Irvine in that role just to fit them in but it didn't play to their strengths. Gogic is great but (in my opinion) more defensively minded.
Hopefully this is the missing (albeit unglamorous) missing piece of the puzzle.
Striker and defender next.
Leigh Griffiths not training with the Celtic squad today and removed any reference to Celtic from his Instagram bio.
Certainly sounds like he's on his way somewhere.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/leigh-griffiths-wipes-celtic-mentions-24430907
30-06-2021, 05:50 PM
That's the spirit
30-06-2021, 05:54 PM
We do not have a loser mentality. Scott Browns team were ***** last season. In what way did his winning mentality help then?
30-06-2021, 05:57 PM
Agree looks decent
mayo hibee
30-06-2021, 05:59 PM
I'd prefer the 22 year old with the potential for development myself. Brown's well past his best at this stage.
Weird that Doyle-Hayes was only signed by St Mirren 7 or 8 months ago as a direct replacement for Magennis and now they're both competing for a start here.
147lothian
30-06-2021, 06:07 PM
Cheers for this, I can't say I noticed him last season but the thing that I am most pleased about is that he is at a good age, and its a signing for the area we need to strengthen, midfield, if St Mirren wanted him to stay and Dundee Utd were after him than it's probably a shrewd signing.
30-06-2021, 06:11 PM
So we have a loser mentality because we were beaten in two cup competitions that were won by St Johnstone however Celtic (who went out both cups at an earlier stage that we did) have a winning mentality because they finished higher up the league than Hibs, however St Johnstone finished lower down the league than Hibs but that doesn't count because they did better in the cups therefore St Johnstone have a winning mentality.
Have I got that right?
30-06-2021, 06:15 PM
Welcome Jake.
A good player with plenty of potential.
30-06-2021, 06:24 PM
The kind of signings I like, young hungry players with a point to prove. A fit Magennis will also be like a new signing.
30-06-2021, 06:25 PM
Like a modern day Joe Keenan 😉
30-06-2021, 06:30 PM
I hope he scores more goals than Joe Keenan. :agree:
BonnieFitbaTeam
30-06-2021, 06:51 PM
Dinnae!
30-06-2021, 06:54 PM
Think the "happy with this?" Post on the official channels was asking for trouble in the comments...
Just have to trust the recruitment team here. Look at last season. Everyone thought "who?" When we signed Drey Wright and he turned out..... wait, maybe not that example....
Like a modern day Joe Keenan [emoji6]
Really Bingo! Did you have to bring that name up!
Reported!
WillowbraeHibby
30-06-2021, 06:56 PM
Think the "happy with this?" Post on the official channels was asking for trouble in the comments...
Just have to trust the recruitment team here. Look at last season. Everyone thought "who?" When we signed Drey Wright and he turned out..... wait, maybe not that example....
30-06-2021, 06:58 PM
https://t.co/jcEmq1OKKL
Not sure if the EEN are guessing or have been fed this info.
30-06-2021, 07:04 PM
Aye, that’s just daft from the Twitter guy.
30-06-2021, 07:09 PM
St Johnstone sign 19 year old Central Defender Hayden Muller on a season long loan from Millwall, he has made 3 first team appearances.
Be someone Davidson knows form his time there, must also mean there going to loose one of the 3 at the back soon
I would assume Irvine had been given a time to sign and it's maybe passed, time to move on.
30-06-2021, 07:17 PM
I liked Jackson Irvine to an extent but the guy wasn't a massive standout for us and he never quite hit the heights of his first 4/5 games after that start. He didn't bring us something we need to try our best to hold out for and if he's leaving us hanging then we need to move on, especially for the money I assume he probably wants.
30-06-2021, 07:22 PM
Hope we have moved on from Irvine. He is overrated. How many times did he have to do that lunge tackle/pass because of poor ball control? He is about our level but as the whole league strengthens as covid passes he'd struggle to stay with the top 4-5 teams in a year or two.
Good engine and can pick a pass now and then but his ball control and shooting are really quite poor. Definitely shouldn't be paying over the odds for him.
30-06-2021, 07:22 PM
Aye, that’s just daft from the Twitter guy.
Will give the lad a chance like every other signing that plays for the club.
30-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Deals off.. Griffiths has re-followed Celtic.
Un-hyper.
30-06-2021, 07:46 PM
Looking at transfermrkt, they have us having a squad of 30 but it's a bit out dated. Out of that 30 they have
Marciano
Samson
Gray
Irvine
S.McGinn
Murray
They also have Shanley who is away on loan and Bradley listed.
They don't however have McKay or Doyle-Hayes listed.
Still think we're going to be in for a busy few weeks
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903
30-06-2021, 08:50 PM
Suspect some might be interested in this, if only to think about how easily clubs throw money about these days.
BBC reporting that Man Utd have agreed a fee of 80m € (£73m) for Sancho with Dortmund
Bonkers money for a guy who only turned 21 a few months ago
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57673463
30-06-2021, 09:03 PM
Suspect some might be interested in this, if only to think about how easily clubs throw money about these days.
BBC reporting that Man Utd have agreed a fee of 80m € (£73m) for Sancho with Dortmund
Great player, though, and that's the modern game. If United get Sancho and Varane, I will be happy.
30-06-2021, 09:05 PM
Disagree. I think that's a great deal for Man United. He's a top top player, has many years ahead of him, knows the culture etc.
30-06-2021, 09:06 PM
Disagree. I think that's a great deal for Man United. He's a top top player, has many years ahead of him, knows the culture etc.
Agreed, brilliant signing for United. :agree:
30-06-2021, 09:13 PM
Looks like Irvine has done a Fraser Fyvie. Thanks for your contribution, Jackson, but the club is bigger than any individual.
30-06-2021, 09:18 PM
Brilliant signing.
30-06-2021, 09:44 PM
Taken from the Aberdeen Fans Forum
“Hibs have offered Kerr less than Shaughnessy is on St Mirren so has told them to poke it. No fee agreed between clubs yet either.”
Don’t know how much Shaughnessy is on at St Mirren or how that would come about being mentioned.
Seems random for it to be posted on the AFC forum with no other comments on it.
Hopefully we can get Kerr signed up though.
30-06-2021, 09:52 PM
“Hibs have offered Kerr less than Shaughnessy is on St Mirren so has told them to poke it. No fee agreed between clubs yet either.”
Don’t know how much Shaughnessy is on at St Mirren or how that would come about being mentioned.
Not really sure how transfer business works. Do we talk to a player and agree terms before agreeing a fee with the selling club? Seems strange but if that's what happens ?
30-06-2021, 09:52 PM
Yeah, sounds like nonsense doesn't it? No idea why Shaughnessy's wage would be discussed alongside Kerr's possible transfer either. Wishful thinking obviously, but I would like to think we are in discussions for Jason Kerr. He's exactly what we need and he's another one at a good age with great potential.
BegbieHSC
30-06-2021, 09:57 PM
Few fans rival the delusions of the old firm and jambos, but Aberdeen fans come close. Talking utter pish. Hope we’re in for Kerr though, but that chat on the Dons forum is a crock of ****.
30-06-2021, 10:05 PM
Aye I’m sure an aberdeen fan has been privy to terms we’ve offered a player that we haven’t even put a bid in for yet
Load of pish.
I hope we do mind you
30-06-2021, 10:09 PM
Not really sure how transfer business works. Do we talk to a player and agree terms before agreeing a fee with the selling club? Seems strange but if that's what happens ?
I actually think it’s common now for clubs to advise what a player would be getting through his agent beforehand although not convinced it’s technically allowed.
But agents tend to send the feelers out, clubs say a wage and it normally helps push transfers/requests through.
Not saying this is what’s happened in this occasion though.
I also don’t think we’d be daft enough to offer him a low wage or him telling us to poke it.
30-06-2021, 10:31 PM
Id like to see us bring in Chris Maguire. Not all players we recruit need to be in the mould if JDH and DM in terms of young to sell on. We also need to add experience and players that have had a decent track record if we can afford them obviously.
30-06-2021, 10:43 PM
Aye I’m sure an aberdeen fan has been privy to terms we’ve offered a player that we haven’t even put a bid in for yet
Load of pish.
I hope we do mind you
Exactly, some sheep fan seems to have access to Hibs financial dealings
Bollox
30-06-2021, 10:43 PM
Sky sports news will be devastated the speculation over that transfer has been going on for two years or so. :greengrin
Is he that good? Watched a few Dortmund games at start of lockdown and thought he was a bit meh.
30-06-2021, 10:44 PM
Don't think he is left footed
30-06-2021, 10:49 PM
Don't think he is left footed
He's a Protestant then? :greengrin
Potty78
30-06-2021, 10:56 PM
Think we'll try sign a St Johnstone player next🤔
30-06-2021, 11:35 PM
Think we'll try sign a St Johnstone player next🤔
That Liam Craig looks decent
30-06-2021, 11:57 PM
They had a boy once called rowan vine who i always wanted to see in a hibs shirt
01-07-2021, 12:14 AM
:hyper
Saint Hibee
01-07-2021, 05:59 AM
Slightly off topic, but I never thought Liam Craig was quite as bad for us as some on here make out.
Tha Cabbage Kid
01-07-2021, 06:14 AM
Sparky nowhere to be seen at Celtic.......
Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk
01-07-2021, 06:31 AM
01-07-2021, 06:38 AM
Lionel Messi officially now a free agent
Cmon Ron :greengrin
Bridge hibs
01-07-2021, 06:44 AM
Lionel Messi officially now a free agent
Cmon Ron :greengrinCan we not sign his boots on a pay as you display deal, should give the season tickets a boost, can do a third strip reveal with socks in boots 🤭
01-07-2021, 06:46 AM
Id like to see us bring in Chris Maguire. Not all players we recruit need to be in the mould if JDH and DM in terms of young to sell on. We also need to add experience and players that have had a decent track record if we can afford them obviously.
I agree with your logic G but I'm not so sure about Chris Maguire.
He's always flattered to deceive in my opinion and never fulfilled his early promise when at Aberdeen, I would be classing him in the underwhelmed / journeyman category.
Always happy for you to prove me wrong however.:greengrin
01-07-2021, 07:04 AM
Wonder if we will start to see signs of movement out the club in the next few days.
We can't possibly be keeping all our central midfielders.
01-07-2021, 07:08 AM
Wonder if we will start to see signs of movement out the club in the next few days.
We can't possibly be keeping all our central midfielders.
Can we not hang on a wee bit longer to see if Jackson Irvine gets a better offer first ? :greengrin
Greenworld
01-07-2021, 07:15 AM
We can't possibly be keeping all our central midfielders.Youve got to imagine there will be a bit of a clear out although not always easy to do. Ironically selling
Nisbet , doig and porteous would make that a little easier with money available to pay a little to move guys on.
Doig aside very slow news on any bids for the others.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
01-07-2021, 07:26 AM
Youve got to imagine there will be a bit of a clear out although not always easy to do. Ironically selling
Nisbet , doig and porteous would make that a little easier with money available to pay a little to move guys on.
Doig aside very slow news on any bids for the others.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
I suppose what we know as fans compared to what is actually happening are two completely different things.
01-07-2021, 07:28 AM
I like the sound of that. Seen Maguire a few times at Sunderland. Very committed, very direct and can bang them in from anywhere. Worth a punt if he is available.
01-07-2021, 07:46 AM
The kind of signings I like, young hungry players with a point to prove. A fit Magennis will also be like a new signing.
:agree: Add Cadden to that too.
01-07-2021, 07:50 AM
Few fans rival the delusions of the old firm and jambos, but Aberdeen fans come close. Talking utter pish. Hope we’re in for Kerr though, but that chat on the Dons forum is a crock of ****.
I saw some fan on their forum claim they were bigger than both capital clubs.
Leitherhibs
01-07-2021, 08:01 AM
I like the sound of that. Seen Maguire a few times at Sunderland. Very committed, very direct and can bang them in from anywhere. Worth a punt if he is available.
Absolutely no. He’s never been a great player, even at League 1 level down south he hasn’t set the heather alight. If he wasn’t Scottish and familiar to some, i.e an English journeyman who ended up at Sunderland then nobody would want him near Hibs.
01-07-2021, 08:18 AM
:agree: Add Cadden to that too.
Is CC back training after his back injury?
A potentially massive season for him if he can nail down a regular place.
01-07-2021, 08:20 AM
Is CC back training after his back injury?
A potentially massive season for him if he can nail down a regular place.
He is indeed.
01-07-2021, 08:35 AM
Absolutely no. He’s never been a great player, even at League 1 level down south he hasn’t set the heather alight. If he wasn’t Scottish and familiar to some, i.e an English journeyman who ended up at Sunderland then nobody would want him near Hibs.
Tend to disagree he has always had decent talent and good for a goal and assist. Good on set pieces also and has a bit of attitude about him which personally I like. Think he had a good season under JR so may be an option for a year or so imo depending on his physical wellbeing. Wouldn't be against this sort of signing.
01-07-2021, 08:37 AM
Maguire is a decent player but I’m not sure he brings much to the table that Mallan and Allan don’t - a bit of a maverick, capable of settling tight games with moments of skill but a a wee bit suspect on the fitness / mobility / work rate side, meaning teams have to be built to accommodate him or he has to be used sparingly. We’ve probably already got a few candidates for that attacking midfield / deep striker position who are going to be unhappy if they’re not playing every week.
Cat Stanton
01-07-2021, 08:48 AM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/19410893.leigh-griffiths-way-celtic-odsonne-edouard-welcomed-back-lennoxtown/
(headline: Leigh Griffiths on way out of Celtic as Odsonne Edouard welcomed back to Lennoxtown)
01-07-2021, 08:51 AM
I’ve always quite liked him. He was pacy and had a bit of dig. Did he play under Ross at Sunderland?
01-07-2021, 08:54 AM
Our signing policy definitely seems to be targeting the younger, more mobile player
Both signings so far under 23
Hopefully a busy few weeks ahead
01-07-2021, 09:04 AM
I’ve always quite liked him. He was pacy and had a bit of dig. Did he play under Ross at Sunderland?
Yes he did. Had a pretty good season I think scored 9 goals with a few assists.
01-07-2021, 09:09 AM
Would not complain if the HSL money was just used to pay for Griffiths.
01-07-2021, 09:17 AM
If hibs signed Griffiths even if you were not sure off re-signing him
Once you saw him at the presser wearing the correct shade of green again you would know that it was a sensational move
Over to you Ron
01-07-2021, 09:23 AM
LG has signed new deal with Celtic.
01-07-2021, 09:27 AM
MagicSwirlingShip
01-07-2021, 09:35 AM
Yes he did. Had a pretty good season I think scored 9 goals with a few assists.
Was at the game at Easter Road when he scored direct from kick off, for Scotland under 21’s v Iceland.
01-07-2021, 09:41 AM
Here's hoping.
Just_Jimmy
01-07-2021, 09:43 AM
Here's hoping.why?
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
01-07-2021, 09:49 AM
Here's hoping.
?
green with envy
01-07-2021, 09:53 AM
Breaking... He's been released.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-target-leigh-griffiths-now-a-free-agent-as-is-ex-easter-road-loanee-on-verge-of-huge-deal-3292597
01-07-2021, 09:54 AM
why?
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Probably so people stop going on about him signing.
If he signs then great, I can’t be bothered with it dominating the rumours all summer though.
Even when we signed the boy yesterday, the Twitter comments were mostly about signing Griffiths.
Folk become obsessed about him and it’s boring.
IMO of course.
BlackSheep
01-07-2021, 09:55 AM
A friend of mine was playing golf with Allan Preston yesterday and his insight was that Porteous won’t be going to Turkey, Griffiths isn’t staying at Celtic and Irvine will sign for Aberdeen.
Just passing on second hand info.
BlackSheep
01-07-2021, 09:57 AM
Ikechi Anya is available on a free… 29 years old, LB/LWB…. I’d take him in heartbeat if we lose Doig
01-07-2021, 10:00 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-target-leigh-griffiths-now-a-free-agent-as-is-ex-easter-road-loanee-on-verge-of-huge-deal-3292597
That’s not what that says.
01-07-2021, 10:01 AM
Ikechi Anya is available on a free… 29 years old, LB/LWB…. I’d take him in heartbeat if we lose Doig
He’s 33 and hasn’t played a game since 17/18 and hasn’t had a team since the end of the 19/20 season.
Great news.
Thats a dreadful piece of journalism. There is literally no news in that report at all. He's got a journalism degree and he basically patches together stuff from twitter for a living.
green with envy
01-07-2021, 10:02 AM
That’s not what that says.
Correct! My apologies... It pays to read the article in full.
01-07-2021, 10:03 AM
Great news.
Have you read it? LGs contract with Celtic ended ages ago. He hasnt been released. He's a free agent and can sign for Celtic or anyone else he gets an offer from.
TheHibernator
Same here, always liked the look of him when he played for Scotland, scored against Neuer too.
Jozo Simunovic also a free agent, can't remember if he had injury problems but wouldn't be against giving him a year deal
If he signs then great, I can’t be bothered with it dominating the rumours all summer though.
Even when we signed the boy yesterday, the Twitter comments were mostly about signing Griffiths.
IMO of course.
It's boring beyond compare. I have serious reservations as it is. If he couldn't be arsed at Celtic am not convinced coning here will bring about some miraculous transformation.
01-07-2021, 10:04 AM
A friend of mine was playing golf with Allan Preston yesterday and his insight was that Porteous won’t be going to Turkey, Griffiths isn’t staying at Celtic and Irvine will sign for Aberdeen.
He'd have been better asking about Doig who he would actually know something about.
01-07-2021, 10:04 AM
Have you read it? LGs contract with Celtic ended ages ago. He hasnt been released. He's a free agent and can sign for Celtic or anyone else he gets an offer from.
I know.
01-07-2021, 10:06 AM
He's signed a new deal with Celtic that article is a load of bollocks.
01-07-2021, 10:12 AM
I do have a feeling Irvine is going to do us over and sign for someone else in the league like Aberdeen or Hearts.
And I will be fuming, really good player who would only get better after a full ore season and settling into the squad.
We cannot allow this to happen, if he goes outwith Scotland for more money then fine.
But not the same league.
It's boring beyond compare. I have serious reservations as it is. If he couldn't be arsed at Celtic am not convinced coning here will bring about some miraculous transformation.
Couldn’t agree more.
If he signs I’ll look at the positives as he’s a great player on his day.
I’m not convinced we’d get peak Leigh Griffiths though.
Irvine going to Aberdeen would be the most sideways move of all time if it happens. He’s clearly not interested in staying with us and it seems we’ve moved on with the signing of JDH.
01-07-2021, 10:13 AM
I do have a feeling Irvine is going to do us over and sign for someone else in the league like Aberdeen or Hearts.
And I will be fuming, really good player who would only get better after a full ore season and settling into the squad.
We cannot allow this to happen, if he goes outwith Scotland for more money then fine.
But not the same league.
Not sure how he is doing us over. We have made him an offer. He hasnt signed it. We have singed a player yesterday. We will continue to sign players. FOr all we know he may have already said no deal to us.
01-07-2021, 10:16 AM
Couldn’t agree more.
If he signs I’ll look at the positives as he’s a great player on his day.
I’m not convinced we’d get peak Leigh Griffiths though.
We’re definitely not getting peak Leigh Griffiths but we never would. Peak Leigh Griffiths is one of the best strikers in Scottish football in my life time. He was never going to be playing for us at his peak.
If he signs then I have no doubt that at worst he’ll be a decent signing.
IMO of course.
Reminds of the Deek saga 😕
01-07-2021, 10:34 AM
But not the same league.
We can easily allow this to happen if he wants more than we are willing to pay. If someone else wants to pay it then that’s up to them.
01-07-2021, 10:44 AM
Not sure how he is doing us over. We have made him an offer. He hasnt signed it. We have singed a player yesterday. We will continue to sign players. FOr all we know he may have already said no deal to us.
Just in terms of us giving him a deal to the summer after he was out the game for 9 months and we clearly wanted him for longer
If he was to then leave to Aberdeen for an extra couple of hundred a week it would be a huge slap in the face imo
01-07-2021, 10:45 AM
We can easily allow this to happen if he wants more than we are willing to pay. If someone else wants to pay it then that’s up to them.
It’s an uncomfortable truth that Aberdeen and Hearts pay more than we do.
If we’ve made him an offer and he chooses to go there then we just need to accept that. And then boo the f*** out of him every time he plays at Easter Road.
Decent player, worth making an offer to, not so good that we embarrass ourselves by pathetically letting him mess us around.
I’m with Hibs on this one tbh.
01-07-2021, 10:45 AM
Very meh about Irvine to be honest.
He’s not good enough to be dicking us about wanting more cash.
If that’s his aim we move on to someone else. He’s really not worth the hassle.
He’s decent but not much more than that.
01-07-2021, 10:48 AM
But not the same league.
And we stop this happening how?
We've made an offer which he hasn't taken up and he can go wherever he wants and we can't do a thing about it.
In say April I would have been fuming if he had went to Aberdeen or Hearts but now I couldn't care less, doesn't strike me as someone who would be committed to a club.
Thought he was signing for celtc after having good talk with incoming manager last week.
I'd be surprised if Irvine stayed in Scotland after being with us. Sounded like he might fancy travelling a bit.
Blurhibee
01-07-2021, 10:51 AM
Leigh will sign a new deal today at Celtic unfortunately
01-07-2021, 10:51 AM
He's signed a new deal with Celtic that article is a load of bollocks.
Twice you have posted that within an hour, I take it you have decent information on that.
01-07-2021, 10:53 AM
Jadon Sancho agrees to join Man Utd from Dortmund for 73m subject to medical
SSN
01-07-2021, 10:59 AM
Raman Bhardwaj tweets
Leigh Griffiths signs one year contract with Celtic.
01-07-2021, 10:59 AM
Twice you have posted that within an hour, I take it you have decent information on that.
The Sun saying he has signed a one year deal at celtc.
01-07-2021, 11:00 AM
Very meh about Irvine to be honest.
He’s not good enough to be dicking us about wanting more cash.
If that’s his aim we move on to someone else. He’s really not worth the hassle.
He’s decent but not much more than that.
📝 We are pleased to announce we have agreed a one-year contract extension with #CelticFC striker @Leighgriff09! 🙌🍀
https://www.celticfc.com/news/2021/july/Celtic-sign-Leigh-Griffiths-on-one-year-extension/
got this off Kerrydale Street.
the lesser greens are far from happy :greengrin
01-07-2021, 11:02 AM
That'll be that then.....
Till next year 😁
01-07-2021, 11:03 AM
📝 We are pleased to announce we have agreed a one-year contract extension with #CelticFC striker @Leighgriff09! 🙌🍀
This was always going to happen really. They can pay him les than they were no doubt which is still more than anyone else could afford.
01-07-2021, 11:06 AM
The year is 2051. 60 year-old Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths' one-year contract at Celtic comes to an end, having had no playing time last season.
Fans speculate on hibs.net whether he will finally come home, as he is clearly no longer welcome at the Parkhead side. Griffiths even posts on Twitter saying "CELTIC CAN GET ****ED I ****IN HATE THEM NOW", further fueling the excitement.
After positive talks with the new Celtic manager, Griffiths' youngest son, a one-year extension is signed for the 29th consecutive year. The ritual begins anew.
01-07-2021, 11:10 AM
Good we can move on to Omeonga now.
01-07-2021, 11:12 AM
Till next year 😁
Unless they use him as a make weight in their bid for Kevin Nisbet:greengrin
badabing67
01-07-2021, 11:16 AM
Don't forget about Brandon Barker
01-07-2021, 11:17 AM
https://www.celticfc.com/news/2021/july/Celtic-sign-Leigh-Griffiths-on-one-year-extension/
got this off Kerrydale Street.
the lesser greens are far from happy :greengrin
Just had a wee read, if Angie doesn’t get of to a good start this signing may come back to haunt him, can only think the GB are scribbling some nonsense on a few banners and heading to lennoxtown some time this afternoon, :greengrin not a happy bunch.
01-07-2021, 11:17 AM
It's not over till it's over.
01-07-2021, 11:30 AM
But not the same league.
Good, serves them right.
GreenPJ
01-07-2021, 11:35 AM
I think signing Griffiths is relatively low risk for them and am sure the new terms will be significantly less.
I think they have signed him on the basis that he will be a squad player. He is good enough to be first team regular but it will be up to him to prove it when he gets the chance.
01-07-2021, 11:43 AM
https://youtu.be/-8ADnkO2Q3E
01-07-2021, 11:47 AM
Just watched this as well. Seems like a good guy who has his head screwed on. Hopefully turns out to be a great addition to the team.
01-07-2021, 11:53 AM
I reckon that's exactly what they're going to do.
There will be a fair amount of pissed off folk when we tell them to gtf, but the only one that will be of significance to us will be Nisbet himself.
01-07-2021, 12:22 PM
We will be able to sign LG in January on a pre-contract when he is fed up warming the bench.
01-07-2021, 12:47 PM
I reckon that's exactly what they're going to do.
There will be a fair amount of pissed off folk when we tell them to gtf, but the only one that will be of significance to us will be Nisbet himself.
You really think that having signed for Celtic to earn more money Griffiths is going to allow himself to be offered to Hibs so that he can earn less?
01-07-2021, 12:48 PM
Preston off to a good start 😁
01-07-2021, 12:50 PM
We will be able to sign LG in January on a pre-contract when he is fed up warming the bench.
LG speculation is unkillable :hyper
01-07-2021, 12:57 PM
You really think that having signed for Celtic to earn more money Griffiths is going to allow himself to be offered to Hibs so that he can earn less?
No - when I said "pissed off folk" I included Griffiths in there. He'll probably be the main one who'll be pissed off.
I just don't really like Celtic or the way they do things and I expect them to try to stiff a few folk to capture Nisbet for a lot less than he's worth.
It's what they do.
01-07-2021, 01:34 PM
Now you're talking! What do you know???
JXM73
01-07-2021, 01:37 PM
Thank **** for that
01-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Now you're talking! What do you know???
Belgian apparently.
01-07-2021, 02:25 PM
Tavernier being linked with Arsenal and Man Utd according to the BBC. :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf: Wallopers......
01-07-2021, 02:33 PM
Tavernier being linked with Arsenal and Man Utd according to the BBC. :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf: Wallopers......Could see him at an Arsenal to be honest
Man Utd not so much
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
01-07-2021, 02:38 PM
Could see him at an Arsenal to be honest
Man Utd not so much
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
You really think Tavernier is the height of Michael Arteta's ambitions for Arsenal? Lol. That's nothing more than Sevco friendly journo's pimping him around.......
01-07-2021, 02:43 PM
You really think Tavernier is the height of Michael Arteta's ambitions for Arsenal? Lol. That's nothing more than Sevco friendly journo's pimping him around.......
Gerrard has turned JT in to a very good all round player. A million miles from the player Stokesy used to toy with
Till next year 😁
Past his best now, will be past his sell by date next year, last hurrah for Leigh.
01-07-2021, 02:46 PM
Good interview seems a really decent lad.
01-07-2021, 02:54 PM
Gerrard has turned JT in to a very good all round player. A million miles from the player Stokesy used to toy with
Yup.
I could see him settling in at both of them quite comfortably.
Stand out player? Maybe not. Decent squad player/potential starting RB? Definitely.
01-07-2021, 02:59 PM
Any improvement in the player will have come from being well coached by Beale.
Gerrard has been a decent figurehead for them in finding a few decent players elsewhere in the team so the fact that Tavernier is an absolutely garbage defender isn't shown up as much as it used to be.
He'll be lucky to stay ahead of Patterson next season. This is Rangers trying to whip up interest so they can cash in on a player whose value is only likely to go down the way from here.
Just watched this as well. Seems like a good guy who has his head screwed on. Hopefully turns out to be a great addition to the team.
He certainly comes over as a modest, well mannered young man, handled the interview very well.
01-07-2021, 03:07 PM
Preston off to a good start 😁
Preston is a roaster but the info on Ryan is very much what I've heard too.
01-07-2021, 03:18 PM
....... well he certainly got his Griffiths’ info wrong, so I hope the rest is mince.
Of the three bits of info, Griffiths re-signing for Celtic was the obvious certainty so maybe Preston is way off with the rest.
01-07-2021, 03:38 PM
Any improvement in the player will have come from being well coached by Beale.
Gerrard has been a decent figurehead for them in finding a few decent players elsewhere in the team so the fact that Tavernier is an absolutely garbage defender isn't shown up as much as it used to be.
He'll be lucky to stay ahead of Patterson next season. This is Rangers trying to whip up interest so they can cash in on a player whose value is only likely to go down the way from here.
Exactly, signing for Arsenal or Man U my erchie lol......
Fuzzywuzzy
01-07-2021, 03:53 PM
Four trialists for the civil service strollers game
01-07-2021, 03:54 PM
Four trialists for the civil service strollers game
2 boys from that college academy?
Fuzzywuzzy
01-07-2021, 04:16 PM
2 boys from that college academy?
Didn't say
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-announce-2021-22-pre-season-schedule?fbclid=IwAR1yDimXo8sNSSl0VSrRk7UnrMdl5f0T Mo16PiWue7LYospAQryphMsHggA
01-07-2021, 05:02 PM
Tavernier being linked with Arsenal and Man Utd according to the BBC. :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf: Wallopers......Well, if Middlesbrough can go out and spend a million on Uche Ikpeazu, who knows what's possible [emoji23]
Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk
Caversham Green
01-07-2021, 05:20 PM
Leigh would still get his full year's pay from Celtc, either by way of a severance lump sum or by making it a loan similar to what happened with Murphy at Hibs and McRorie at Aberdeen. Celtc would just view the expense as part of the cost of obtaining Nisbet.
I can't see it happening but it's not impossible.
01-07-2021, 05:21 PM
Bring back The Cat
Hibiza
01-07-2021, 05:55 PM
Allan Preston - " the font of all knowledge " .
01-07-2021, 06:07 PM
Messi a free agent now....... :hmmm:
01-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Well, if Middlesbrough can go out and spend a million on Uche Ikpeazu, who knows what's possible [emoji23]
Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk
Ha Ha
Still cracks me up
https://youtu.be/wTpG56PlUdY
01-07-2021, 07:08 PM
All the ins and outs so far this season by club in the Scottish top flight. There has been a fair amount of movements so far.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57459445
inglisavhibs
01-07-2021, 07:12 PM
I hope Porteous is in his usual right centre back position come the start of the season. Although he had many fine games for us he needs to improve his decision making to become a really top player. If we lose him the replacement won’t be as good.
Bobby Moore
01-07-2021, 08:48 PM
Some rumours of Jackson Irvine going back to Hull.
Anybody heard this?
01-07-2021, 09:02 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/jake-doyle-hayes-jackson-irvine-20943153
Interesting comparison of JDH and Irvine.
147lothian
I keep watching this tread for someone with a bit of in-side knowledge to post, but it's not appearing, bring back The Cat.
Anybody heard this?
Don’t get the clamour with Irvine tbh. Expected a lot more as there was a lot of hype
01-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Anybody heard this?
If he isn’t signing with us I’d prefer he went back down south
01-07-2021, 09:27 PM
Anybody heard this?
Pfft ok mate, see ya!
01-07-2021, 09:29 PM
I keep watching this tread for someone with a bit of in-side knowledge to post, but it's not appearing, bring back The Cat.
Indeed, he was always great at telling us who we were going to sign. Well up to the point that they didnae obviously...... :greengrin
01-07-2021, 09:41 PM
Yep and to be honest the money he will get at that level will dwarf what we can offer so no brainier if true.
01-07-2021, 09:41 PM
Agree totally
FifeHibs
01-07-2021, 09:44 PM
Indeed, he was always great at telling us who we were going to sign. Well up to the point that they didnae obviously...... :greengrin
It’s a bit shan slating someone who isn’t here to defend them self
147lothian
01-07-2021, 09:53 PM
True, it was all about who we were trying to sign, most of the time it never came off, but there was occasions that it did, the problem now is that we don't have another source providing rumors to ponder over.
01-07-2021, 09:56 PM
That’s hardly slating him is it , Jesus I hope he’s not that precious. :greengrin
01-07-2021, 10:04 PM
Didn't you see the smiley face? Or are you the Cat reincarnate?
01-07-2021, 10:23 PM
Didn't you see the smiley face? Or are you the Cat reincarnate?
Nah he’s no made up ***** about Leeann Dempster yet.
02-07-2021, 05:44 AM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/jake-doyle-hayes-jackson-irvine-20943153
Interesting comparison of JDH and Irvine.
That quite interesting. Especially the 'out of possession' bit.
02-07-2021, 05:48 AM
Mallan back to Turkey it would seem.
02-07-2021, 06:30 AM
Celtc after Nisbet (along with a few others). We want £4m.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-9747875/Celtic-eyeing-Hibernian-striker-Kevin-Nisbet-Edinburgh-club-holding-4m.html
02-07-2021, 06:34 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-9747875/Celtic-eyeing-Hibernian-striker-Kevin-Nisbet-Edinburgh-club-holding-4m.html
A bidding war wouldn’t be the the worst thing to happen
Would probably also be happy with £4m
My concern is players leaving and not being replaced before any European qualifiers.
02-07-2021, 06:53 AM
Mallan back to Turkey it would seem.
Where’s that from?
thebausburst
02-07-2021, 06:57 AM
if Hibs do cash in on Nisbet, now Griffiths is out of the picture, surely Shankland is a quality option? Playing in this Hibs team I would expect a LOT more goals from him.
02-07-2021, 07:01 AM
Where’s that from?
Yeni fansites on twitter seem to think it's happening.
02-07-2021, 07:01 AM
My concern is players leaving and not being replaced before any European qualifiers.
We also know Celtc are very unlikely to offer what we want. They had no issue shelling out £5m on ***** like Ajeti but watch them start the bidding at £1m with some dud on loan for the season thrown in.
02-07-2021, 07:06 AM
Teams will wait until we accept an offer then match it. The player will then decide on which club he goes to.
At least that's what usually happens.
StevieT
02-07-2021, 07:19 AM
That'll be another spelling of his surname then...Nsbet!
I think it’s clear from the January window that unless a team matches our evaluation they are going nowhere!
Celtic’s previous biscuit tin mentality involving Scottish based players will have to change too! SJM bids are a prime example!
Would also hope we have a replacement lined up
Dazzjw1875
02-07-2021, 07:36 AM
100% would try for shankland as a replacement in the right team creating chances I think he would score alot more that Nisbet.
02-07-2021, 07:44 AM
Hibs bidding for Jamie McCart according to reports. Very good left CB
St Johnstone kick out lowball 'late night bid' for Jamie McCart from Scottish Premiership rivals
https://t.co/natI3TURps https://t.co/tCmIIj6NLl
Crunchie
02-07-2021, 07:52 AM
We also know Celtc are very unlikely to offer what we want. They had no issue shelling out £5m on ***** like Ajeti but watch them start the bidding at £1m with some dud on loan for the season thrown in.
They won't want another SJM scenario where their biscuit tin mentality made them lose out.
100% would try for shankland as a replacement in the right team creating chances I think he would score alot more that Nisbet.
He's reportedly on a big wage, Utd would want a sizeable transfer fee, and he did nowt last year (or any of his previous years in the top flight) to suggest he's worth it. I'd look elsewhere for better value.
02-07-2021, 08:01 AM
He's reportedly on a big wage, Utd would want a sizeable transfer fee, and he did nowt last year (or any of his previous years in the top flight) to suggest he's worth it. I'd look elsewhere for better value.
8 goals for Dundee Utd V's Nisbets 14 goals for Hibs. I also believe Shankland would have got more than 8 goals in a Hibs team. As you say his wages would be an issue, but he's in his last year of his contract so he may look at the fact he may not get a deal like he's on at the end of his contract anyway?
Bridge hibs
02-07-2021, 08:02 AM
They won't want another SJM scenario where their biscuit tin mentality made them lose out.I can still see a pennies scenario plus a loan plus a fringe player such as Henderson, funnier things have happened though and Im sure they did pay the going rate for Brown many years ago so who knows. I wouldnt expect Griffiths to play any part of a deal especially as he ‘loves’ the club’ now 😆
02-07-2021, 08:03 AM
Hibs bidding for Jamie McCart according to reports. Very good left CB
St Johnstone kick out lowball 'late night bid' for Jamie McCart from Scottish Premiership rivals
https://t.co/natI3TURps https://t.co/tCmIIj6NLl
I’d be cautious of paying top dollar (400/500k upwards for us?) for any of the St J defenders.
Per Sky Sports (via BBC Goss)......
Former Hearts striker Uche Ikpeazu is on the verge of completing a move to Middlesbrough from Wycombe Wanderers for a fee of £750,000 fee rising to a possible £1m after Boro fended off interest from Nottingham Forest, Derby County and Millwall
It's bin day with me today. I've just been out to retrieve my wheelie bin before it gets picked up. Going to package up the contents and offer it to Middlesbrough for a few quid given their interest in buying rubbish.
C_hendo04
if Hibs do cash in on Nisbet, now Griffiths is out of the picture, surely Shankland is a quality option? Playing in this Hibs team I would expect a LOT more goals from him.
I don’t think Griffiths is completely out of the picture yet, knowing Celtic instead of offering £4m for Nisbet they’ll probably offer £3m plus Griffiths on loan with us signing him on a pre contract in January.
02-07-2021, 08:17 AM
I don’t think Griffiths is completely out of the picture yet, knowing Celtic instead of offering £4m for Nisbet they’ll probably offer £3m plus Griffiths on loan with us signing him on a pre contract in January.
So Hibs effectively paying a £1m transfer fee for Griffiths? That’s fantasy stuff. When was the last time you saw a players swap deal?
Potty78
02-07-2021, 08:18 AM
Hibs had a bid turned down for McCart earlier this week. Think he only has a year left so hopefully go back in for him.
02-07-2021, 08:22 AM
Why would Griffiths sign a new contract and then almost immediately agree to take a wage cut?
02-07-2021, 08:24 AM
Speaking in April, boss Jack Ross admitted a deal for Griffiths might be something the club would consider if the opportunity arose, and the 30-year-old could still emerge as a makeweight in any agreement for boyhood Hoops supporter Nisbet.
Cash + Griffiths for Nisbet looks like Celtic's game plan here. That may well be why they gave him a year contract.
HendoDelivered
02-07-2021, 08:25 AM
Speaking in April, boss Jack Ross admitted a deal for Griffiths might be something the club would consider if the opportunity arose, and the 30-year-old could still emerge as a makeweight in any agreement for boyhood Hoops supporter Nisbet.
Cash + Griffiths for Nisbet looks like Celtic's game plan here. Tha may well be why they gave him a year contract.
Griff plus 2M please :greengrin
02-07-2021, 08:26 AM
Griff plus 2M please :greengrin
Griffiths isn’t worth £2m just now. £4m and Griffiths please.
Leitherhibs
02-07-2021, 08:35 AM
Thank goodness, Hibs don’t leave the negotiations to the posters of .net - We’d be giving our squad away for peanuts. 2mil + Griffiths, do me a favour.
02-07-2021, 08:39 AM
Griffiths has signed a new deal with Celtic, there is no chance he is going to be used in a makeweight deal for Nisbet. If that happened Griffiths would be completely shat on by celtic
02-07-2021, 08:39 AM
Thank goodness, Hibs don’t leave the negotiations to the posters of .net - We’d be giving our squad away for peanuts. 2mil + Griffiths, do me a favour.
Can you imagine..... Here we go Leigh we have sorted out a one year ext....but do you mind going to Hibs now so we can use you for the Nisbet deal. :greengrin:greengrin
02-07-2021, 08:40 AM
Don't want LG if its a swap for KN, would rather keep KN. LG could have signed for us on a free. Don't want a striker with about 2 seasons left and done nothing last season for one of the best strikers in the league. eff. That.
02-07-2021, 08:46 AM
Jamie McCart would be a brilliant signing.
I’d be delighted if we managed to get him
02-07-2021, 08:55 AM
I’d tell them to bolt if they tried to make LG a make weight if I was LG. No chance of that happening it would be morally wrong and LG wouldn’t entertain it and rightly so. Fwiw I think it’s fantasy that folk actually think this would potentially happen
Caversham Green
02-07-2021, 09:06 AM
Why would Griffiths sign a new contract and then almost immediately agree to take a wage cut?
If it was a loan Celtc would still pay his contracted wage, if it was a transfer Celtc would have to pay the difference between his contracted wages and what he'd earn at Hibs for him to agree to the move. He'd still get what he signed up for either way.
02-07-2021, 09:15 AM
Hopefully we don’t lose out on McCart by trying to low ball them, that’s very Celtic-esque
Hate to put a dampener on things but is Tom James still a Hibs player?
MikeyS
Jamie McCart would be a brilliant signing.
I’d be delighted if we managed to get him
I think he is a better player than Kerr who everyone seems to be raving about.
02-07-2021, 09:16 AM
Hopefully we don’t lose out on McCart by trying to low ball them, that’s very Celtic-esque
We havent low balled them. First bid is a decent bid.
yerauldda
02-07-2021, 09:19 AM
Curious as to what decent might mean. They’ll surely be looking for at least 4/500k.
Caversham Green
02-07-2021, 09:25 AM
So Hibs effectively paying a £1m transfer fee for Griffiths? That’s fantasy stuff. When was the last time you saw a players swap deal?
Boyle and Allan both came to Hibs by way of player swap deals.
02-07-2021, 09:30 AM
When it comes to Nisbet the biggest consideration for me is does he still want to be a Hibs player?
I'm not close to convinced he does so I think it's best for all that we strike a deal that moves him on whilst making sure we get what we feel he is worth. I've every faith we will find an adequate replacement, be that as part of the deal or otherwise.
02-07-2021, 09:32 AM
Only going by what the article’s saying
Hopefully we’ll go back with a follow up
Tommy75
02-07-2021, 09:36 AM
But not the same league.
I've never really understood the clamour to sign Irvine. He was a solid enough player but he was never a stand out for me. I was disappointed a few seasons back when we didn't land Greg Docherty but certainly wouldn't have the same (if any) disappointment at losing out on Irvine. The 'full pre season' line gets banded about quite a bit, it might make him a bit sharper but I doubt it would make too much difference to his overall game.
That said, if he signs for Aberdeen and has an absolute blinder of a season I will happily take my dose of humble pie!
02-07-2021, 09:40 AM
If we get £3m plus Griffiths on a loan leading to signing, then I'd drive Nisbet there myself. Suits all parties.
02-07-2021, 09:44 AM
He’s got another left I believe
02-07-2021, 09:47 AM
When it comes to Nisbet the biggest consideration for me is does he still want to be a Hibs player?
I'm not close to convinced he does so I think it's best for all that we strike a deal that moves him on whilst making sure we get what we feel he is worth. I've every faith we will find an adequate replacement, be that as part of the deal or otherwise.
Yep i’m the same. Don’t think he’s got any interest in being here for next season.
02-07-2021, 09:54 AM
He is but i suspect he will leave in this window
He’s got another left I believe
Either you have missed the word year or left should be lift.
Hopefully the latter. 😁