View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
30-08-2021, 04:10 PM
Hmm any signings today? Wonder if it’s going to the last day. Still need a striker and a CB.
Not seen us linked with another attacker yet
I love a rumour more than most but it’ll be good if they can pull a signing out nobody has heard of before though.
Bit of an anti climax when you sign someone you already know is coming in.
In terms of the PR they’re probably better waiting until tomorrow to announce signings as folk get excited about signings on transfer deadline day and if it doesn’t happen people go radge at the club Twitter person.
30-08-2021, 04:18 PM
I love a rumour more than most but it’ll be good if they can pull a signing out nobody has heard of before though.
Bit of an anti climax when you sign someone you already know is coming in.
In terms of the PR they’re probably better waiting until tomorrow to announce signings as folk get excited about signings on transfer deadline day and if it doesn’t happen people go radge at the club Twitter person.
Aye I agree. Rather something left field.
Hopefully leaving it for tomorrow for the banter
30-08-2021, 04:20 PM
Doig to Roma. 16 million with add ons. Barisic to Hibs as a makeweight but dependant on a medical as he has a twitchy left gonad. Heard it on Central Hibs. Or somewhere.
Nevi_SOL
30-08-2021, 05:34 PM
I’d imagine this late in the window it would take 6-7 million for KN to leave, especially if we value him at £5 million. But we’ll have very little time to replace him
Exactly, we're going to have to pay over the odds to bring in a replacement so anyone coming in for him should have to pay over the odds.
Still Smiling
30-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Just had a couple of emails saying Doig to Sevco for £4m if Barasic passes medical at Roma! Any other info flying about?
30-08-2021, 05:53 PM
Just had a couple of emails saying Doig to Sevco for £4m if Barasic passes medical at Roma! Any other info flying about?
Pretty sure we've already told clubs we value him at 5 mil. Don't see why we'd accept 4 from them. Also surely Barasic isn't going to Roma?! He's not that good.
30-08-2021, 05:53 PM
Read it on Twitter so taking it with a pinch of salt.
30-08-2021, 05:55 PM
If true there should also be a 33 percent sell on clause We had to pay that to st Mirren when we sold Mcginn so should make sure we have that as well
With the Norwegian guy lined up that would probably be best we could get
Will Rangers pay that though four million should be up front
30-08-2021, 05:58 PM
False
cubehindthegoal
30-08-2021, 06:02 PM
Having supported and watched Hibs for many a year, we are actually doing ok the last few of years or so … it will always be a roller coaster, you know … even those with money (eg, Celtic, the new Rangers, Man Utd, etc) have ups and downs rw want to their financial status. We are on an upward slope of the coaster … worry less and enjoy more my fellow Hibees. Remember 2016 … wasn’t that long ago … relatively.
cubehindthegoal
30-08-2021, 06:03 PM
False
Throw the The Rangers defender in on the deal and it’s a starting point to negotiate.
cubehindthegoal
30-08-2021, 06:04 PM
… and up the £4m at the same time.
Hope this is a false one.
30-08-2021, 06:09 PM
£4 million plus 25% sell on
Plus Katic and I’d even take barker on loan with no wages on hibs.
Would say that’s a starting point and wouldn’t accept anything less than £4 million up front from them!
30-08-2021, 06:12 PM
If that’s up front then that’s a pretty phenomenal deal. We’ve clearly planned for Doig to leave this window so take the £4m and the covering defender we need for the season.
30-08-2021, 06:15 PM
If that’s up front then that’s a pretty phenomenal deal. We’ve clearly planned for Doig to leave this window so take the £4m and the covering defender we need for the season.
No chance of huge debt Sevco paying 4M upfront
30-08-2021, 06:25 PM
£4M plus Katic? Hahaha no chance
30-08-2021, 07:22 PM
£20M plus Katic and it’s a deal :aok:
darwenhibby
30-08-2021, 07:30 PM
Doig doesn’t have the criteria to go to the Huns
Kevhun Thompshun
Ihun Murray
Stevehun Whittaker
Craig Pattershun
Coll hun Stein
Josh Doig doesn’t fit
Stonewall
30-08-2021, 07:38 PM
No chance of huge debt Sevco paying 4M upfront
Given their finances we’d be mad to accept instalments.
30-08-2021, 07:41 PM
£30m for Daniel James to Leeds from Man Utd?!? 🤣
Magpie
30-08-2021, 07:45 PM
United selling him for almost double the amount they paid for him. Bielsa must really rate him.
30-08-2021, 07:49 PM
Hibs clearly want an entertaining TDD.
What we thinking then, a quadruple?
David Mitchell
Nathan Wood
Kristoffer Tonnesson
????
Final one being an attacking player, last minute swoop for LG?
Gullan, Campbell and Brydon to go out on loan?
30-08-2021, 07:50 PM
Hibs clearly want an entertaining TDD.
What we thinking then, a quadruple?
David Mitchell
Nathan Wood
Kristoffer Tonnesson
????
Final one being an attacking player, last minute swoop for LG?
Gullan, Campbell and Brydon to go out on loan?
Maybe Bradley out on loan too? Who knows maybe someone a bit more experienced may leave too.
30-08-2021, 07:52 PM
Given their finances we’d be mad to accept instalments.
Is their credit history good enough for finance?
dchibs
30-08-2021, 07:53 PM
Kevhun Thompshun
Ihun Murray
Stevehun Whittaker
Craig Pattershun
Coll hun Stein
Josh Doig doesn’t fit
You forgot jashun Cummhuns
Silky
30-08-2021, 07:56 PM
You forgot jashun Cummhuns
Florihun khunberi?
30-08-2021, 07:56 PM
£30m for Daniel James to Leeds from Man Utd?!?
freakin horrendous fee, not a lot of leeds fans overjoyed, leeds obviously not learnt from the astonishing waste of £15m paid to wolves for helder costa who they're desperately trying to offload, the man would struggle for a place on the Edinburgh city bench
mcfly
30-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Reading these pages is all a bit depressing
Hopefully all rumours and hibs don’t sell our best players and bring in players for the first team
Sorry but we don’t need players to fill the bench.
HopefullY I’m wrong but all a bit underwhelming tonight.
30-08-2021, 07:57 PM
And Russell LaFTPy?
30-08-2021, 07:59 PM
Andy Gorhun
30-08-2021, 07:59 PM
Hopefully all rumours and hibs don’t sell our best players and bring in players for the first team
We already have a very good starting 11. While we might get someone in to move ahead of those already there, it’s rather unlikely without a decent bit of cash. Our bench due to injuries is short, especially at centre half and centre forward. If a striker is worse than Nisbet but better than Gullan surely that improves us, if a defender is worse than Hanlon but better than mcgregor, that improves us.
30-08-2021, 08:03 PM
Doig isnt signing for rangers ffs😂😂😂 they couldn't afford 4 million and we value him at 5 million.
Paper talk.
30-08-2021, 08:03 PM
And Russell LaFTPy?
Not for the first time, Peevemor wins 😂
JXM73
30-08-2021, 08:05 PM
Kevhun Thompshun
Ihun Murray
Stevehun Whittaker
Craig Pattershun
Coll hun Stein
Josh Doig doesn’t fit
Josh dug***** sorta works...
30-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Not for the first time, Peevemor wins [emoji23]It's the only thing that would work, apart from
Russell (Brihun Lara's mate) Latapy.
30-08-2021, 08:07 PM
It's the only thing that would work, apart from
Russell (Brihun Lara's mate) Latapy.
His middle name was Nigel which says it all.
30-08-2021, 08:09 PM
24 hours early with the bed wetting mate.
mcfly
30-08-2021, 08:10 PM
24 hours early with the bed wetting mate.
How original………boring
30-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Evening news reporting this
Nathan Wood Hibs update - and more fresh faces could be on the way
Hibs expect to have the loan signing of Middlesbrough defender Nathan Wood completed on Monday and are hoping to add a few more faces to the squad before the transfer window closes on Tuesday night.
30-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Burnley and Bournemouth both in for Christie of Celtic according to Alan Nixon. Both clubs would be strange choices for Christie. There is going to be loads of deals done in these last 24 or so hrs
30-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Hibs expect to have the loan signing of Middlesbrough defender Nathan Wood completed on Monday and are hoping to add a few more faces to the squad before the transfer window closes on Tuesday night.
Wood
Tonnessen
Mitchell
Wonder who else
30-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Nathan Wood is for the youth team, surely?
30-08-2021, 08:17 PM
Burnley and Bournemouth both in for Christie of Celtic according to Alan Nixon. Both clubs would be strange choices for Christie. There is going to be loads of deals done in these last 24 or so hrs
Burnley wouldn’t suit him and Bournemouth a huge step down. Strange move unless he’s being pushed.
30-08-2021, 08:18 PM
He’s 19 and hugely rated. We’re not bringing him on loan to play a couple of 20’s games.
Middlesbrough wouldn't loan him out to go in our youth team
Nathan Wood is for the youth team, surely?No chance
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
They say in that article he’s a right sided central defender. Everything I’ve read before that said he was a leftie?
30-08-2021, 08:19 PM
Aye our youth team is packed with guys who have had 9 million offered for them.
Magpie
30-08-2021, 08:20 PM
I see that Wood played alongside Bamba the other week, I’m sure big Sol would have had good things to say.
badabing67
30-08-2021, 08:21 PM
when does the window close for us
30-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Burnley and Bournemouth both in for Christie of Celtic according to Alan Nixon. Both clubs would be strange choices for Christie. There is going to be loads of deals done in these last 24 or so hrshttps://twitter.com/reluctantnicko/status/1432420218907860999?s=19
30-08-2021, 08:23 PM
Palace close to signing Eduoard
30-08-2021, 08:23 PM
when does the window close for us
11pm tomorrow evening I believe.
Magpie
30-08-2021, 08:24 PM
11pm tomorrow evening I believe.
11pm in England. Midnight in Scotland.
30-08-2021, 08:28 PM
With all the money Celtic have spent this summer they will still probably be in profit after selling Eduoard, Christie and Ajer , they also got a fair bit for Frimpong last season.
30-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Killie fans seem to think they are after Gullan.
30-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Apparently he has just started following Killie on twitter so that is probably happening.
Neily1982
30-08-2021, 08:52 PM
Apparently he has just started following Killie on twitter so that is probably happening.
If he goes we must be 100% gave another striker lined up
30-08-2021, 08:56 PM
That would be a good move for him. A chance of regular football and back in the SPL next season.
30-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Using that as my inspiration I thought I’d have a look to see if anybody was following Hibs on Instagram that could be of interest and came across Zoran Josipovic.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zoran_Josipovic
My previous scoop when scouting Twitter that Porteous was signing for Besiktas turned out to be rubbish but I’ve got a good feeling about this one.
I should probably put my phone down and go to bed now, big day tomorrow.
Mr. Wonderful
30-08-2021, 09:04 PM
Using that as my inspiration I thought I’d have a look to see if anybody was following Hibs on Instagram that could be of interest and came across Zoran Josipovic.
My previous scoop when scouting Twitter that Porteous was signing for Besiktas turned out to be rubbish but I’ve got a good feeling about this one.
Isn't he friends with Slivka from Juventus days?
30-08-2021, 09:06 PM
Isn't he friends with Slivka from Juventus days?
Dunno, never met the man. 😂
But aye, that probably makes more sense. Quite enough detective work for me for one night.
Mr. Wonderful
30-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Dunno, never met the man. 😂
But aye, that probably makes more sense. Quite enough detective work for me for one night.
Don't follow each other on insta, so maybe you're onto one there! Could've been in for a trial some point also I guess
30-08-2021, 09:14 PM
Don't follow each other on insta, so maybe you're onto one there! Could've been in for a trial some point also I guess
When I saw his name I wondered if he was Croatian and potentially linked to that Croatian boy who is helping with Hibs recruitment now.
Don’t think he is though.
30-08-2021, 09:16 PM
6 foot 3?
Sign him.
30-08-2021, 09:18 PM
Loving your work Bingo. Think we have this cracked between the two of us.
30-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Loving your work Bingo. Think we have this cracked between the two of us.
With over 24 hours to spare as well.
Let’s get the loyalty points sorted by lunch time tomorrow.
30-08-2021, 09:21 PM
So, to sum up, we have not signed anyone yet ?
Dazzjw1875
30-08-2021, 09:22 PM
Well he is a striker and a free agent 36 career goals in 145 games
30-08-2021, 09:23 PM
So, to sum up, we have not signed anyone yet ?
Well nothings been announced.
Souter96Mac
30-08-2021, 09:26 PM
Well he is a striker and a free agent 36 career goals in 145 games
6 ft 3, get the big lad in
Does SaulGoodman know you've been cutting his grass? 😀
Personal information
Full name: Zoran Josipovic
Place of birth: Mendrisio, Switzerland
Height: 1.91 m (6 ft 3 in)
Position(s): Striker
There is a striker, a big Swiss striker
His name is Josipovic...
30-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Frustration probably getting the better of me at this stage, but to only be getting in the CB cover we've been after all summer, in on transfer deadline day for me is disappointing. Totally respect that the McCart situation was outwith our control but frustrating nonetheless
Rest of the squad I'm delighted with. New deal for Boyler and Magennis is like a néw signing. JDH has been a fantastic signing so far too. Add some attacking power and we've done well overall
Plenty to feel positive about though
30-08-2021, 09:39 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7631439/hibs-5million-price-tag-kevin-nisbet-swansea-keen/
The Sun now saying we named our price for Nisbet at £5m.
Apologies if that’s been covered already but that’s different from the story I read earlier.
30-08-2021, 09:40 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7631439/hibs-5million-price-tag-kevin-nisbet-swansea-keen/
Apologies if that’s been covered already but that’s different from the story I read earlier.
Also he's a Doubt for Scotland?
1875Sean
30-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Ross said he just had some cramp and he will be fine for all the games, I would imagine they are just saying he is a doubt as he went off
30-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Aye he's been strapped to a chair in East Mains until 00:01 Wednesday morning and no direct flights to Copenhagen from Edinburgh or Glasgow
With Ronaldo coming in, James may as well just sit warming a bench for the rest of the season, he's a very good young player but not good enough to take Man U to the next level.
Magpie
30-08-2021, 10:00 PM
I was watching Sky Sports News this afternoon and he was training with the rest of the squad, certainly didn’t look like anything was wrong.
30-08-2021, 10:08 PM
With Ronaldo coming in, James may as well just sit warming a bench for the rest of the season, he's a very good young player but not good enough to take Man U to the next level.
Man Utd signed him for c.£15m 2 years ago. Is he a significantly better player now? Nope. Just shows that the badge on the shirt has as big an effect on a players value as anything else.
30-08-2021, 10:12 PM
A month ago I’d take that. But unless we have a quality replacement lined up and ready to sign I’d say it’s now too late in the window.
I genuinely do think KN will benefit as a player from another season with us though. If he can score as many goals as last season, now that he’s a known quantity in this league, it will prove his quality as a striker and he will get some very attractive offers from other clubs.
30-08-2021, 10:25 PM
A month ago I’d take that. But unless we have a quality replacement lined up and ready to sign I’d say it’s now too late in the window.
I genuinely do think KN will benefit as a player from another season with us though. If he can score as many goals as last season, now that he’s a known quantity in this league, it will prove his quality as a striker and he will get some very attractive offers from other clubs.
Agree with this however I’m not convinced even if he does we will get any more than 5m for him. I’d take him bringing us success and going for no more in a year to be honest.
ElginHibbie
30-08-2021, 10:30 PM
Agree with this however I’m not convinced even if he does we will get any more than 5m for him. I’d take him bringing us success and going for no more in a year to be honest.
Even him going in January when we will have Mueller in and Doidge back could be tolerated, but losing him tomorrow would have disaster written all over it
I'm confident/hopeful that's not gonna happen though!
30-08-2021, 10:31 PM
We are so much about greedy footballers, but Willian has voluntary cancelled his Arsenal contract, which would have earned him another £20 million (£240,000 per week) so he can return to Brazil, taking a 70% pay cut in the process. I'm sure very few players would have done that, preferring to sit on their erse and count their money instead.
30-08-2021, 10:37 PM
[QUOTE=Souter96Mac;6676017]6 ft 3, get the big lad in[/QUOTE
Potters transfer policy in his first stint at hearts big? Have you played at least once before?
Deal. Welcome to hearts
30-08-2021, 10:43 PM
Be interesting what the fee is. Notice they have signed a Greek guy for £2.5m
Wonder if they will bid for Kevin tomorrow.
Block
30-08-2021, 10:44 PM
[QUOTE=Souter96Mac;6676017]6 ft 3, get the big lad in[/QUOTE
Potters transfer policy in his first stint at hearts big? Have you played at least once before?
Deal. Welcome to hearts
Malaury Martin has to be his best ever. Free kick specialist. Spotted sitting drinking coffee in George Street on a 3 year deal while his team mates were dying a death at the PBS.
Miss you Potter. Total opposite of the Midas Touch. Rank rotten. Hearts deserved ya.
30-08-2021, 10:48 PM
Around £15m apparently
30-08-2021, 10:49 PM
Wouldn't surprise you, would it? Expecting a few bids tomorrow for both Doig and Nisbet. Really hope Nisbet is still with us come Wednesday.
Not in the know in the slightest, just expecting bids.
30-08-2021, 11:21 PM
We are so much about greedy footballers, but Willian has voluntary cancelled his Arsenal contract, which would have earned him another £20 million (£240,000 per week) so he can return to Brazil, taking a 70% pay cut in the process. I'm sure very few players would have done that, preferring to sit on their erse and count their money instead.
True.
But he did get a signing on fee of £10m and earned that in that last season where he may as well have just sat on his arse so he did OK for one year of non work!
Block
30-08-2021, 11:27 PM
True.
But he did get a signing on fee of £10m and earned that in that last season where he may as well have just sat on his arse so he did OK for one year of non work!
And he was on 240 000 pounds a week. Hardly a paupers wage :greengrin
If he'd donated half his wealth to say a Christian charity that supports the poor and impoverished I'd have been very impressed but the fact he's decided to go back to his home country with a massive warchest of money doesn't to say the least.
Huge day for the club.
CH a must and looks certain.
We need another striker.
And if Doig or Nisbet go we are a lot weaker so need to replace and strengthen overall.
All by 11pm 😀
30-08-2021, 11:45 PM
No Jim White this year.
Block
30-08-2021, 11:48 PM
No Jim White this year.
No Stephen Hendry either thank the ducks. :greengrin
Jambo pwick.
30-08-2021, 11:58 PM
Nisbet on international duty and away to Denmark, so think highly unlikely he is going anywhere.
31-08-2021, 01:20 AM
I know I shouldn’t be but I can’t help feel a little bit underwhelmed by our business so far. Whilst we’ve definitely added good players a lot of them are based on potential.
I think it’s partly because I thought the way Ross, Mathie and Gordon spoke we’d be really looking to take things to the next level and sign players to do that. A lot was said about adding quality when you’re already strong.
Dan McKay - Big fan of his based on time at ICT but will take a period to settle in.
JDH - Brilliant and a missing piece of the jigsaw.
Scott - Loan. Was really impressed with him at Motherwell but probably a bit similar to McKay because of his age and returning from injury, he’s also not played as an out
and out forward much.
Mueller - Obviously he sounds brilliant but no one knows what we’re getting and he won’t join until January. The few games I’ve watched though I’ll be honest and say I don’t know how he fits into our system as he seems to play right wing.
Obviously Macey and Murphy joined permanently too but we them them last season.
I think I was just expecting a bit more of a wow signing or two, someone that would give that clear ‘statement of intent’. Not for a second suggesting those that have came in aren’t good as I think they are, and have the potential to be really good.
But guys like Kerr and McCart were linked and I think going and getting folk like that would have been brilliant and really strengthened us.
Of course it seems likely that Tonnesson, Mitchell and Wood will be joining but again they’re quite young (clearly not Mitchell) and you don’t know exactly what you’re getting. Wood sounds like a real coup in fairness but not many first team games. I was hoping for a slightly more experienced centre half especially when you consider we have Doig and Porteous back there and we need to be more solid.
I suppose the biggest plus point for the club is being able to keep Boyle, Nisbet, Doig, Porteous etc which they have done so far and deserve massive credit for. Especially giving Boyle a new deal, it really is fantastic business and shows how far we’ve came.
They might be able to pull off something on the final day but I’m not going to get my hopes up, I don’t want it to sound like a criticism but I just think we need something else, especially up front.
Our squad is good overall especially when you consider those to come back from injury but for me I want guys to come in that put real pressure on the pretty settled starting eleven, so far only JDH is doing that and now Scott because Doidge and lately Murphy got injured.
Hopefully the club are able to jiggle a couple of things around tomorrow and get real quality in. Like I said I’m not going to criticise them yet as Tonnesson and Wood could prove to be brilliant signings.
I fully expect guys like Brydon, Bradley, Gullan and Campell to go out on loan. I think Dabrowski too if we do sign Mitchell.
I think part of my frustration if you like is because I think we’re very close to something special, I just want that final push to get us there. But like I’ve done since Ross has walked in I trust him and will continue to do so, he’s been spot on with just about everything.
31-08-2021, 02:32 AM
I know I shouldn’t be but I can’t help feel a little bit underwhelmed by our business so far. Whilst we’ve definitely added good players a lot of them are based on potential.
I think it’s partly because I thought the way Ross, Mathie and Gordon spoke we’d be really looking to take things to the next level and sign players to do that. A lot was said about adding quality when you’re already strong.
Dan McKay - Big fan of his based on time at ICT but will take a period to settle in.
Scott - Loan. Was really impressed with him at Motherwell but probably a bit similar to McKay because of his age and returning from injury, he’s also not played as an out
and out forward much.
Mueller - Obviously he sounds brilliant but no one knows what we’re getting and he won’t join until January. The few games I’ve watched though I’ll be honest and say I don’t know how he fits into our system as he seems to play right wing.
I think I was just expecting a bit more of a wow signing or two, someone that would give that clear ‘statement of intent’. Not for a second suggesting those that have came in aren’t good as I think they are, and have the potential to be really good.
But guys like Kerr and McCart were linked and I think going and getting folk like that would have been brilliant and really strengthened us.
Of course it seems likely that Tonnesson, Mitchell and Wood will be joining but again they’re quite young (clearly not Mitchell) and you don’t know exactly what you’re getting. Wood sounds like a real coup in fairness but not many first team games. I was hoping for a slightly more experienced centre half especially when you consider we have Doig and Porteous back there and we need to be more solid.
I suppose the biggest plus point for the club is being able to keep Boyle, Nisbet, Doig, Porteous etc which they have done so far and deserve massive credit for. Especially giving Boyle a new deal, it really is fantastic business and shows how far we’ve came.
They might be able to pull off something on the final day but I’m not going to get my hopes up, I don’t want it to sound like a criticism but I just think we need something else, especially up front.
Our squad is good overall especially when you consider those to come back from injury but for me I want guys to come in that put real pressure on the pretty settled starting eleven, so far only JDH is doing that and now Scott because Doidge and lately Murphy got injured.
Hopefully the club are able to jiggle a couple of things around tomorrow and get real quality in. Like I said I’m not going to criticise them yet as Tonnesson and Wood could prove to be brilliant signings.
I fully expect guys like Brydon, Bradley, Gullan and Campell to go out on loan. I think Dabrowski too if we do sign Mitchell.
I think part of my frustration if you like is because I think we’re very close to something special, I just want that final push to get us there. But like I’ve done since Ross has walked in I trust him and will continue to do so, he’s been spot on with just about everything.
I think we need to consider that in the not too distant past we’d have been having to make signings to replace our best players. If we get through the window with Nisbet, Boyle, Doig, and Porto then these are players that are worth millions that we’ve held on to.
Much better to keep those players than to lose and replace them, imho.
Greenio
31-08-2021, 04:03 AM
Could be wrong but Scott Allans last Instagram story (a pic of him on his own clapping the support) says a lot
31-08-2021, 05:24 AM
I think Nisbet's overall game has improved since he was away at the Euros. He's gone up a level. He's a 5 million pound player at the very least. I'd be very surprised if he left this late in the day though.
31-08-2021, 05:41 AM
If we can get a replacement, £5m is too big a fee to turn down for Nisbet.
31-08-2021, 05:42 AM
No Jim White this year.
There is on Talksport
Bridge hibs
31-08-2021, 05:56 AM
I think Nisbet's overall game has improved since he was away at the Euros. He's gone up a level. He's a 5 million pound player at the very least. I'd be very surprised if he left this late in the day though.I dont think he will leave, however thats the perils, or the excitement of the last day of the transfer window. If clubs lose their players they will want replacements and its no secret that a few clubs have been keeping tabs on Nisbet, and others for that matter such as Doig and Porteous.
If the inevitable happens, which again I doubt will, then I would hope that JR and his team have been working on replacements. Going to be a nervy or exciting few hours I think
31-08-2021, 05:57 AM
There's no chance we are negotiating with a buying club for Nisbet for terms that are acceptable to both parties, Nisbet agrees his new contract, has his medical whilst in Denmark on international duty and we then get in a suitable replacement and do his medical ect all in about 16 hours.
He won't be going anywhere is my best guess.
31-08-2021, 05:58 AM
There is on Talksport
Thanks for the warning.
31-08-2021, 06:07 AM
Nisbet hasn’t travelled to Denmark yet.
Decision to be made this morning as he is a doubt.
Never know the injury doubt might just be a way of saying we’ll see what interest is in him and if it likely he’ll move.
It would be near impossible to replace him on the last day of the window, 4/5 million or not.
31-08-2021, 06:09 AM
Think there might be a bit of a chain of events in Scottish football based on what some Aberdeen fans have told me.
St Mirren sign Connor Ronan.
Aberdeen sign Jamie McGrath.
Newcastle sign Lewis Ferguson.
Also expecting Matthew Kennedy to go to St Mirren.
31-08-2021, 06:15 AM
Think there might be a bit of a chain of events in Scottish football based on what some Aberdeen fans have told me.
Think McGrath is a good signing
31-08-2021, 06:20 AM
McGrath appears to be heading to Middlesbrough.
31-08-2021, 06:21 AM
Nisbet hasn’t travelled to Denmark yet.
Decision to be made this morning as he is a doubt.
Never know the injury doubt might just be a way of saying we’ll see what interest is in him and if it likely he’ll move.
It would be near impossible to replace him on the last day of the window, 4/5 million or not.
Yeah he appeared to be taking full part in Scotland training yesterday.
31-08-2021, 06:34 AM
and out forward much.
I think this is a fair post and I share similar views.
JDH is the only player to come in recently and take a previous players position to improve us.
Before Doidge was injured we were short of a striker - we have replaced him with Scott - but like Murphy doesn’t seem to score many goals going by his history. Of course time will tell but we rely on Boyle and Nisbet a lot currently.
Magennis has felt like a new signing also but we really need to add an aerial threat up front and someone to hold the ball up. Think Doidge / Holt type who scores some goals.
We need a right back also - Cadden isn’t a right back and while I’m not saying drop McGinn who is 2nd choice right back? Last season it was Gray but he’s retired.
Due to injures to Hallberg, Doidge, Cadden and Murphy I know it makes it harder as you don’t want a massive expensive squad. Maybe this is why short term loans have been used. I also trust the club but would love it if we added another starter or 2 and kept our current group together.
31-08-2021, 06:46 AM
Buckle yourselves in today, think it’ll be a day of many emotions with a fair bit of activity in and out. Quite exciting too.
31-08-2021, 06:50 AM
Some windows are more about holding what you have which we have done so far.
Doyle-Hayes has been outstanding and a fully fit Magennis is like a new signing too.
Add a central defender today (Wood), a striker and maybe a wee surprise and it would be a pretty good window for my cash.
Gullan, Bradley, Campbell and Dabrowski could all be away either permanently or on loan too.
Sadly I reckon Scott Allan could be off too but that's just a feeling I have.
Going to be one of the more unpredictable deadline days I think.
31-08-2021, 06:54 AM
Buckle yourselves in today, think it’ll be a day of many emotions with a fair bit of activity in and out. Quite exciting too.
Don’t take it the wrong way, but I hope you’re completely wrong and we have a massive, boring non event with little or no movement, except maybe the odd loan, in or out.
31-08-2021, 06:54 AM
Think it’ll be Wood and Mitchell in and a few fringe/younger players out today. Not sure we’ll get another striker.
31-08-2021, 06:57 AM
and out forward much.
Good analysis but it's a bit like JB posting his This Is How It Feels when there is still 10mins to play! :wink: We could still get a late goal, but could also still lose a goal with no time to get one back, or it could end up as it is. Using TIHIF as an analogy for our business this window I feel we are 1-0 up at the mo but with the opposition posing a threat.
Souter96Mac
31-08-2021, 07:02 AM
As a Toon fan, I would be surprised to see them spend any more money on players. Unless it's a loan.
Key West
31-08-2021, 07:02 AM
I’d be very surprised if we lost anybody at this stage and Wood should be a more than adequate addition to our squad. On paper it would look a very good squad with the return of injured players also.
Greenworld
31-08-2021, 07:05 AM
We hear a lot about lists of names and how if we don't get the first we move on down the list.
You've got to believe Nisbet is somewhere on a few teams lists and Hibs will get a offer.
Like most now I hope not 5 million or not ive changed my tune and hope he stays for 1 more season .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
31-08-2021, 07:13 AM
As a Toon fan, I would be surprised to see them spend any more money on players. Unless it's a loan.
Need that cash to pay off their manager soon enough!
31-08-2021, 07:13 AM
Doyle-Hayes has been outstanding and a fully fit Magennis is like a new signing too.
Add a central defender today (Wood), a striker and maybe a wee surprise and it would be a pretty good window for my cash.
Gullan, Bradley, Campbell and Dabrowski could all be away either permanently or on loan too.
Agree.
I think we still need another centre half and centre forward and if we don’t get them then we’ll be really short up top especially.
That being said, managing to hold on to every one of our players from last season other than Irvine who imo wouldn’t be starting anyway due to the signing of JDH is a better outcome than any of us could have expected 3 months ago. With that in mind, it’s been a very good transfer window overall imo.
31-08-2021, 07:16 AM
You absolute tease.
31-08-2021, 07:20 AM
Agree.
I think we still need another centre half and centre forward and if we don’t get them then we’ll be really short up top especially.
That being said, managing to hold on to every one of our players from last season other than Irvine who imo wouldn’t be starting anyway due to the signing of JDH is a better outcome than any of us could have expected 3 months ago. With that in mind, it’s been a very good transfer window overall imo.
There's always a temptation as a supporter to want to sell somebody even though you know they would be hard to replace.
It seems more exciting bringing new players in but it often fails spectacularly.
If it ain't broke don't try to fix it.
mayo hibee
31-08-2021, 07:20 AM
Not sure it necessarily matters but McGrath is in Portugal at the moment with the Ireland squad.
31-08-2021, 07:22 AM
There's always a temptation as a supporter to want to sell somebody even though you know they would be hard to replace.
It seems more exciting bringing new players in but it often fails spectacularly.
If it ain't broke don't try to fix it.
It does. Even though I knew it would be an impossible task there was a part of me was thinking about how exciting it would have been selling Doig, Porto and Nisbet and throwing £10m around :greengrin
31-08-2021, 07:25 AM
It does. Even though I knew it would be an impossible task there was a part of me was thinking about how exciting it would have been selling Doig, Porto and Nisbet and throwing £10m around :greengrin
£10m buys a lot of St Mirren players after all 😁
31-08-2021, 07:29 AM
£10m buys a lot of St Mirren players after all 😁
And the stadium!
31-08-2021, 07:31 AM
I think you may be a tad underwhelmed by today.
31-08-2021, 07:37 AM
I'd settle for "dull" today.
No stars leaving, a few players brought in to provide cover, a couple of folk maybe going out on loan = almost perfect transfer window in total.
31-08-2021, 07:38 AM
Today will be a damp squib
31-08-2021, 07:39 AM
I'd settle for "dull" today.
No stars leaving, a few players brought in to provide cover, a couple of folk maybe going out on loan = almost perfect transfer window in total.
I’d hope for more than dull in terms of the striker coming in. We need a really decent quality forward to either play with or provide competition to Nisbet.
Other than that though I’d agree.
31-08-2021, 07:40 AM
A lot of people employing the "move along nothing to see hrre" method to convince themselves not much is happening today.
Personally am not so sure.
31-08-2021, 07:41 AM
I’d hope for more than dull in terms of the striker coming in. We need a really decent quality forward to either play with or provide competition to Nisbet.
Other than that though I’d agree.
I suspect the quality striker may have been Mueller. We’ll just have to be patient till January.
31-08-2021, 07:44 AM
I suspect the quality striker may have been Mueller. We’ll just have to be patient till January.
We must sign a striker today even if its a loan to cover us till Mueller and Doidge are available again in Jan- if we don't it reflects very poorly on our recruitment team tbh - we've known we needed a striker for weeks since Doidges injury
31-08-2021, 07:48 AM
If we don't get everything we want done today there will always be out of contract players. There are usually a few good ones in there.
31-08-2021, 07:48 AM
We must sign a striker today even if its a loan to cover us till Mueller and Doidge are available again in Jan- if we don't it reflects very poorly on our recruitment team tbh - we've known we needed a striker for weeks since Doidges injuryWe signed James Scott
I'm not overly sure we need another striker, certainly could manage through until January without one I reckon
The Count
31-08-2021, 07:50 AM
I suspect it will be a exciting day but will we end up in a better place is the question i am asking myself.
31-08-2021, 07:50 AM
Today could go down as one of those moments years later "If we had kept this or that player who knows what we could have reached."
Hopefully we keep our key players and move on the dead wood. While bringing in targets we have set.
31-08-2021, 07:54 AM
We signed James Scott
I'm not overly sure we need another striker, certainly could manage through until January without one I reckon
The manager wants one in.
31-08-2021, 07:54 AM
A lot of people employing the "move along nothing to see hrre" method to convince themselves not much is happening today.
Personally am not so sure.
I would say, on the basis of the last ten years or so, that it will likely be a couple of minor signings then a few players released or sent out on loan.
Rarely, if ever, can I remember Hibs losing one of their prized assets on deadline day and subsequently lots of signings falling into place like dominoes.
It is, of course, a new owner, there may be a different transfer strategy but I just don’t see Hibs being that reckless unless somebody offers silly money for a player.
31-08-2021, 07:56 AM
We signed James Scott
We definitely need a striker. If Nisbet needs to sit out we don’t have anyone.
Scott isn’t a goal scorer. He’ll play a part for us, but we cannae rely on someone who doesn’t have a history of scoring goals to score us goals.
He got 3 last season, in 27 games, and 2 of those were in that English Football League Trophy cup that nobody cares about.
JXM73
31-08-2021, 07:56 AM
Is no one got the day off that can hang about HTC all day sky sports style?
31-08-2021, 07:58 AM
I would say, on the basis of the last ten years or so, that it will likely be a couple of minor signings then a few players released or sent out on loan.
Rarely, if ever, can I remember Hibs losing one of their prized assets on deadline day and subsequently lots of signings falling into place like dominoes.
It is, of course, a new owner, there may be a different transfer strategy but I just don’t see Hibs being that reckless unless somebody offers silly money for a player.
I was thinking more on the incoming front.
31-08-2021, 07:59 AM
I would say the January window is about holding onto players mid season.
This window is much longer and we have had plenty time to improve the team. I think we have improved in areas but I’m not convinced we have added enough yet plus the injuries haven’t helped us.
We saw at the start of the season how we were looking but with Hanlon, Newell and Doidge being injured a spine has been ripped out the team.
The one thing it does mean that it gives others to step up but I always think a strength of a team is how strong the bench is. Currently our bench isn’t strong enough.
31-08-2021, 08:00 AM
Given we have a derby coming up I really, REALLY hope we don't sell any of the big hitters.
31-08-2021, 08:06 AM
I was thinking more on the incoming front.
Are you expecting lots of signings today? I suspect one or two players as backup to what we have already, not automatic starters. Unless we lose one of our top players
31-08-2021, 08:08 AM
Are you expecting lots of signings today? I suspect one or two players as backup to what we have already, not automatic starters. Unless we lose one of our top players
Not expecting more hoping. Depends who moves out I suppose.
31-08-2021, 08:09 AM
We signed James Scott
Not for me nor Jack Ross who has stated he wants another forward - don't think Scott will be a regular goalscorer tbh
31-08-2021, 08:10 AM
Given we have a derby coming up I really, REALLY hope we don't sell any of the big hitters.
The derby is one game. Although i’d love to keep our best players i’d like to think we’re planning further ahead than that.
31-08-2021, 08:10 AM
Jason Kerr heading to League One it seems, London club.
MikeyS
31-08-2021, 08:11 AM
If there is any truth that Nisbet hasn't yet gone to Denmark and is now a doubt even though he trained yesterday, then I think that might be a sign he will be off.
Hope I'm wrong but got a bad feeling about this one.
MikeyS
31-08-2021, 08:12 AM
Jason Kerr heading to League One it seems, London club.
Ah well, we can pick him up on loan next summer when it hasn't worked out for him.
Swansea just sold a striker to Bournemouth.
This is going to be a long day.
31-08-2021, 08:16 AM
For me, Nisbet, Doig and Porto for that matter must stay. It is surely far too late in the window to replace them with the quality needed.
Porto has impressed me this season in particular, seems more vocal, mistakes are few and far between, more composed overall, and his passing has improved and he is starting to prove to be an integral part of the team. The fact he looks really good, yet there is still a lot of room to improve just shows you how good he can be. He looks like a leader on the park, and a future Hibs captain if I ever saw one. We must try to get him signed up to an extension ASAP, and I'm honestly baffled why he hasn't been called up for the Scotland squad for these games. Those who don't rate him, will see the difference if he is ever out the team.
We needed another striker prior to Doidge injury and Scott signing, so we should definitely be in for one today, and if Nisbet somehow leaves that would be a disaster. I guess a left back depends on whether Doig goes or stays, I don't think any Hibs fan would begrudge him a move that earned the club 5 million quid and a chance to prove himself and grow as a player at a higher level, you could argue the same for Nisbet but he would be much more difficult to replace as proven goalscorers do not come cheaply. Maybe someone on the left to replace Murphy as whether folk like it or not, he does seem to be stop-start in terms of games.
I hope it's a relatively dull day, with nobody leaving.
31-08-2021, 08:17 AM
Baws.
31-08-2021, 08:18 AM
Fee looks to be £1.5m
31-08-2021, 08:18 AM
For how much? General consensus is they can't afford Nisbet
31-08-2021, 08:21 AM
Hopefully nobody out.
Centre back confirmed and a striker in.
That'd do me.
31-08-2021, 08:21 AM
Selling someone else to Burnley for £2.5m too…
31-08-2021, 08:22 AM
Hypothetical question but what happens if Nisbet threatens to do a Harry Kane and down tools? Do we take a lesser offer with bigger add ons? Someone mentioned before a possible gentleman’s agreement after the offer was rejected in January. Hope not.
Tying myself in knots here thinking about potential scenarios. I don’t think we’ll sell him though.
31-08-2021, 08:23 AM
Brighton just bought a left back for £13m, so Doig won’t be going there!
31-08-2021, 08:24 AM
They're also selling Connor Roberts to Burnley. He's a player. Wales first choice right back so i'd imagine that's going to raise the required cash.
31-08-2021, 08:26 AM
Hypothetical question but what happens if Nisbet threatens to do a Harry Kane and down tools? Do we take a lesser offer with bigger add ons? Someone mentioned before a possible gentleman’s agreement after the offer was rejected in January. Hope not.
Tying myself in knots here thinking about potential scenarios. I don’t think we’ll sell him though.
I'm hoping he'd see the pretty extreme situation his employer would be in, basically sabotaging their season by letting him go with next to no time for a replacement, and recognise it's not reasonable to agree to any sale.
You'd hope and think.
McGrath would be a good signing fir dons but they were determined not to sell him in this window Their fans won’t be happy
They played six defenders v st Johnstone and wonder why they couldn’t win
As always with st Mirren it’s a decent striker they need
Nisbet not joining Scotland squad until after Wednesday.
Bangkok Hibby
They're also selling Connor Roberts to Burnley. He's a player. Wales first choice right back so i'd imagine that's going to raise the required cash.
Hope I'm wrong but Swansea seem determined. Think he'll be off.
31-08-2021, 08:27 AM
Edinburgh Live I think it is are reporting that Nisbet is out the Denmark game and won't be traveling
Wouldn't worry too much about it, don't see him going anywhere. Hibs, unless they have serious quality lined up to replace him today, would be absolutely bonkers to sell him.
Not exactly a secret but Boro supporting mate is telling me Wood is a done deal.
31-08-2021, 08:28 AM
I wonder if we’ve got anyone lined up if Nisbet does leave.
31-08-2021, 08:30 AM
Strange that Nisbet isn't flying out as he definitely trained yesterday.
Wee bit concerned now.
MikeyS
31-08-2021, 08:32 AM
Wee bit concerned now.
Gonna be a long day now!!!
31-08-2021, 08:33 AM
Swansea's newfound riches and Nisbet's whereabouts are slightly unfortunate starts to the day. Couple of obstacles down, just Hibs to go really.
31-08-2021, 08:33 AM
Wee bit concerned now.
Maybe not going to use him tomorrow, be fit for Saturday’s match
31-08-2021, 08:35 AM
Saturdays match is at home though so there would be no need for him to fly out at all if that was the case.
Maybe but why would they do that?
Darryl Duffy on loan from Bristol Rovers.
Fuzzywuzzy
31-08-2021, 08:36 AM
Wee bit concerned now.
He looked liked he picked a calf strain on Saturday? Maybe aggrivated it?
31-08-2021, 08:36 AM
Hopefully nobody out.
Centre back confirmed and a striker in.
That'd do me.
The young centre back will sign today so we won’t bring in another imo
So it leaves a striker
However Ross did say if Murphy injury is going to keep him out for another prolonged period that may mean he needs someone to play in that position
If Doig goes we have someone lined up and it gives us more scope to bring in others
Really don’t think we can let Nesbit go this window if we are serious about wanting to finish third
31-08-2021, 08:37 AM
Darryl Duffy on loan from Bristol Rovers.
Dinny
Tell him to suck it up unless any club comes in with our valuation, he's on a long contract.
31-08-2021, 08:38 AM
Saturdays match is at home though so there would be no need for him to fly out at all if that was the case.
I was only replying to flash, who said he wasn’t flying out!
31-08-2021, 08:38 AM
If you were in Gorgieland, the very last guy you'd want to be facing in the upcoming derby would be Leigh Griffiths.
I'm not saying anything about his baggage or all the reasons (valid) that folk have for being unsure of how wise a signing Leigh would be.
But if you are turning up at Tynecastle at the derby and Hibs get a free kick 25 yards out, I think Nisbet doesn't trouble the keeper while Griffiths scores a peach.
The young centre back will sign today so we won’t bring in another imo
So it leaves a striker
However Ross did say if Murphy injury is going to keep him out for another prolonged period that may mean he needs someone to play in that position
If Doig goes we have someone lined up and it gives us more scope to bring in others
Really don’t think we can let Nesbit go this window if we are serious about wanting to finish third
Murphy's continuing injury problems are quite annoying, 3-4 weeks and then injured.
31-08-2021, 08:42 AM
Jamie Robson Dundee Utd to Lincoln being touted by Allan Nixon
31-08-2021, 08:43 AM
If you were in Gorgieland, the very last guy you'd want to be facing in the upcoming derby would be Leigh Griffiths.
I'm not saying anything about his baggage or all the reasons (valid) that folk have for being unsure of how wise a signing Leigh would be.
But if you are turning up at Tynecastle at the derby and Hibs get a free kick 25 yards out, I think Nisbet doesn't trouble the keeper while Griffiths scores a peach.
Not that its a reason to sign him on its own but they’d be terrified of him if we signed him.
He’s got a brilliant record against them.
31-08-2021, 08:43 AM
Murphy's continuing injury problems are quite annoying, 3-4 weeks and then injured.
31-08-2021, 08:44 AM
Not half as annoying for us as they likely are for him.
Greenio
31-08-2021, 08:45 AM
Will be a long day for Hearts fans too with all the interest in their top international players.....oh wait.
31-08-2021, 08:51 AM
That's what I was thinking - a precaution not to take him to Denmark when maybe he is touch and go to play. Better to keep him here so he fully recovers for the other two games.
31-08-2021, 08:57 AM
Not half as annoying for us as they likely are for him.
Could see how disappointed he was on Saturday.
31-08-2021, 09:00 AM
Given Ross mentioned it he probably realises he can’t rely on him so it’s just another factor in the mix
It’s starting to feel like They expected Doig to go and have a replacement lined up and the surplus would of allied Ross to do other things including up Nisbet swages
Presumably without Doig going hard choices have to be made
With McKay not managing yet to break into team and Wright a bit part player Murphy injury was last thing he needed But yet was frustratingly predictable
31-08-2021, 09:02 AM
I’d take him till January if Nisbet goes.
31-08-2021, 09:03 AM
This is going to be a busy thread today 😂
31-08-2021, 09:04 AM
None of our big players will be moving today.
31-08-2021, 09:09 AM
None of our big players will be moving today.
:agree: I'd say it was extremely unlikely. Get the boy Wood in and another forward and i'd be pretty happy with our squad. In fact i'd be delighted with it.
31-08-2021, 09:09 AM
https://twitter.com/joelgrant_22/status/1432628108839038976?s=21
Griffiths to Dundee done then
31-08-2021, 09:10 AM
Maybe Nisbet picked up an injury in training and Hibs may announce his contract extension? Just maybe
Magpie
31-08-2021, 09:13 AM
Should keep them up.
31-08-2021, 09:16 AM
Should keep them up.
They’ll have no bother staying up with him in the team. Might even challenge for top 6.
31-08-2021, 09:18 AM
They’ll have no bother staying up with him in the team. Might even challenge for top 6.
Not sure he will make that much difference. He is well past his best.
Given Ross mentioned it he probably realises he can’t rely on him so it’s just another factor in the mix
It’s starting to feel like They expected Doig to go and have a replacement lined up and the surplus would of allied Ross to do other things including up Nisbet swages
Presumably without Doig going hard choices have to be made
With McKay not managing yet to break into team and Wright a bit part player Murphy injury was last thing he needed But yet was frustratingly predictable
It's looking a poor piece of business from Hibs, only 19 appearances last season, brought to be one of our key players and will be one if not the top earner. On his day he's extremely good but no guarantee over his fitness.
31-08-2021, 09:20 AM
Not sure he will make that much difference. He is well past his best.
Prime Griffiths didn't get Hibs in the top 6, he isn't dragging Dundee there now.
31-08-2021, 09:21 AM
Brilliant signing for Dundee.
Prime Griffiths didn't get Hibs in the top 6, he isn't dragging Dundee there now.
I reckon Dundee would have been in and around top 6 anyway. This could be enough to tip them over the edge.
It's looking a poor piece of business from Hibs, only 19 appearances last season, brought to be one of our key players and will be one if not the top earner. On his day he's extremely good but no guarantee over his fitness.
26 games last season, already 8 this one, and you've no idea on his wages.
Frustrating yes, but he is quality and been good so far this season. Injuries happen.
31-08-2021, 09:22 AM
It's looking like you're just not a fan of Murphy. A couple of posts today already about it.
HendoDelivered
31-08-2021, 09:22 AM
Not gonna lie, very jealous
31-08-2021, 09:23 AM
Likewise.
Hopefully we’ll see Hearts lose a lot of points to Dundee. Two strikers that love a goal against them up there now.
31-08-2021, 09:24 AM
I reckon Dundee would have been in and around top 6 anyway. This could be enough to tip them over the edge.
They'll be closer to 12th than 6th I think. 2 points from 4 games is a bad start too.
31-08-2021, 09:24 AM
Waste of money imo. Flashes of skill but rarely end product. Always plays with his head down, seems disinterested to me. Trudged off the park on Saturday, never looked up at the stands once, just straight down the tunnel.
Not a fan:greengrin
31-08-2021, 09:25 AM
26 games last season, already 8 this one, and you've no idea on his wages.
Frustrating yes, but he is quality and been good so far this season. Injuries happen.
They do happen but it’s hard to argue that he’s a tad injury prone? I reckon he’ll be moved on at the end of this season.
31-08-2021, 09:25 AM
Personally quite relieved as him here could have been a bit of a circus.
It's looking like you're just not a fan of Murphy. A couple of posts today already about it.
Didn't say I wasn't a fan, he's a very good intelligent footballer but his lack of appearances is becoming a worry and looks a poor bit of business, JR also sounds a bit frustrated with it too.
bringbackbenny
31-08-2021, 09:28 AM
Always plays with his head down
Genuinely don't see this, I'd always thought he was one of the few with his head up. Opinions eh:greengrin
31-08-2021, 09:29 AM
That is what it looked like didn't really buy the cramp line. May have aggravated it if so get his erse out the squad so a chance he can be fit for Derby. Could also of course be he may be transferred. If so Celtic will come in imo.
25 games last season.
Waste of money imo. Flashes of skill but rarely end product. Always plays with his head down, seems disinterested to me. Trudged off the park on Saturday, never looked up at the stands once, just straight down the tunnel.
Not a fan:greengrin
Guess he was a bit embarrassed having to go off again to he fair to him.
Not a fan:greengrinHe was devastated when he went off on Saturday and was punching the ground in anger when he realised his hammy had gone again.
I was meh a couple weeks ago. But the closer it's got to the deadline, and after hearing the news today, I'm changing my mind a bit. Probably more of wanting what we can't have. But I think he'll score goals in this league, regardless of who he plays for.
31-08-2021, 09:30 AM
I'd have taken Griff, not at the expense of Nisbet though
I wouldnt be against signing the LB we're linked with and pushing Doig further up
100% need another forward option
HibsGW
31-08-2021, 09:30 AM
Murphy is a great technical footballer but he’s injured an awful lot and doesn’t really provide any goals or assists which is what wingers are measured on. I’m not too fussed either way about him, he’s alright but we could probably do better.
25 games last season.
Was going by league appearances but yes 26 in total.
31-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Tommy Wright saying they have two lined up but are waiting for selling clubs to finalise replacements before confirming deals.
As one of them appears to be Gullan that would confirm we have a striker arriving today.
31-08-2021, 09:32 AM
They do happen but it’s hard to argue that he’s a tad injury prone? I reckon he’ll be moved on at the end of this season.
He has struggled a bit yeah. I don't think that means he'll always get injured though. Hopefully works itself out.
I doubt anyone is making any decisions for next season already.
Griffiths signing for Dundee makes me angry.
We really need another striker.
We better sign someone today.
A 19 year old (talented but untried) centre half after pissing about re McCart and a 3rd choice goalie will not be good enough. JR has asked for a defensive and striker additions for over a month (before Doidge injury).
Griffiths would have been a game changer.
CallumHibs07
31-08-2021, 09:37 AM
A 19 year old (talented but untried) centre half after pissing about re McCart and a 3rd choice goalie will not be good enough. JR has asked for a defensive and striker additions for over a month (before Doidge injury).
Exactly. We're looking around for a striker and Griff was available. WTF are we playing at? :confused:
31-08-2021, 09:37 AM
It ain't over til its over.
31-08-2021, 09:38 AM
This version of Griffith's is more likely to make headlines for Hibs off the pitch instead of on it, added to the fact he's clearly not fit I can't say I'm exactly bothered
Just been sent a photo of Leigh with a Dundee top on.
If Griffiths was worth having, a bigger club than Dundee would have come calling. Us, Aberdeen (with his mate Broony), Hearts could've offered a loan deal, even Dundee Utd or Motherwell. English League 1 or lower champ sides too.
Time to move on.
ElginHibbie
31-08-2021, 09:40 AM
Griffiths of 5 years ago would have been a game changer, Griffiths of today is a gamble at best
31-08-2021, 09:42 AM
Yet another example of people angry we didn’t sign a player from five years ago rather than considering who the player is now.
Dundee can have him. We need players who could become better than the level of Celtic, not their fourth choice rejects.
31-08-2021, 09:43 AM
Griffiths of 5 years ago would have been a game changer, Griffiths of today is a gamble at best
Did anyone ever think we’d see Cummings and Griffiths line up together at Dundee?
31-08-2021, 09:44 AM
Yet another example of people angry we didn’t sign a player from five years ago rather than considering who the player is now.
Dundee can have him. We need players who could become better than the level of Celtic, not their fourth choice rejects.
The player now scored more goals per minute than near enough every other player in the league last year.
People know he’s not Griffiths that scored 31 league goals in a season on the way to winning the title. Nobody is thinking Dundee are getting that. But players that aren’t wanted by Celtic aren’t automatically not good enough for Hibs.
Griffiths had a season last season which suggests to me he’d be less of a gamble on the pitch than players from lower league Scotland/England, abroad or loans from EPL teams.
I think he is a gamble but let’s see who we bring in. Quality proven strikers are not exactly readily available.
Would we prefer a Brighton reserve or Griffiths?
31-08-2021, 09:45 AM
https://twitter.com/fvnjorgensen/status/1432626622025375744?s=21
Tonnesson expected to join Hibs today according to foreign journalist.
tmb1875
31-08-2021, 09:45 AM
Disappointed, I hope we don’t regret not picking Griffiths up. A risk free loan and worth a try. He’ll score goals wherever he is.
31-08-2021, 09:46 AM
https://twitter.com/fvnjorgensen/status/1432626622025375744?s=21
Tonnesson expected to join Hibs today according to foreign journalist.
That's all Greek to me!! Any translation?
31-08-2021, 09:47 AM
Former Celtic defender Jack Hendry is in talks to sign with Club Brugge from Oostende. Club Brugge are in Manchester City’s Champions League group and the deal could be worth up to 10m euros.
The defender is currently with the Scotland squad and spent season on loan at Oostende before making the move permanent this summer. He is due to fly out to Denmark this afternoon with Steve Clarke’s side.
That's some development from the boy at Celtic a couple of years ago.
I have to agree especially now we have Porto on free kicks, why would we want Griffiths? 😁
That's all Greek to me!! Any translation?
There's a trnslate tweet button.
ElginHibbie
31-08-2021, 09:48 AM
I think he is a gamble but let’s see who we bring in. Quality proven strikers are not exactly readily available.
Think we'd prefer a player that we can relay on being able to play 90 minutes every week and that ain't Griffiths
RoscoHibby
31-08-2021, 09:48 AM
Would’ve loved to have griffiths back, the boys 30, hardly an old has been…
All this ‘5yrs ago griff’ has no weight in my eyes. He gets a run of games and peak fitness will come. He has a wand of a left foot, that’ll never leave you. But we make and miss so many chances, someone lethal in the box (and anywhere within 35yds) could’ve been a real game changer for us.
The fact he’s now at Dundee, you’d like to think we could’ve gotten him if we’d wanted…hope JR has a rabbit still to be pulled today….🙄
31-08-2021, 09:50 AM
Glad we were not interested in Griffiths. People saying he go more goals per minute is great but if you can only get fit for one or two games a season then it’s no good to us. Add to that the level of unprofessionalism he would be bringing to our dressing room and we have done well to avoid.
There's a trnslate tweet button.
Haha, so there is. Everyday is a school day. I am a Luddite so would never have got that myself ta
Are those the only two options available?
If Griffiths was worth having, a bigger club than Dundee would have come calling. Us, Aberdeen (with his mate Broony), Hearts could've offered a loan deal, even Dundee Utd or Motherwell. English League 1 or lower champ sides too.
Time to move on.
Does the same apply to Nathan Wood that we're signing on loan?
31-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Disappointed, I hope we don’t regret not picking Griffiths up. A risk free loan and worth a try. He’ll score goals wherever he is.
It wouldn’t have been risk free though.