View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
12-07-2021, 08:23 PM
Ross said: “We want some more players in soon. We want some new players in a couple of areas ideally, attack and defence. The attacking players did brilliant for us last season but we relied heavily upon them. It would be nice to have other options at times.
“We haven’t been able to do anything yet we feel would improve us but hopefully that is the case soon. We have kept the bulk of our squad from last season. Every manager wants to improve their squad but with the additions we have made to a team that was good last season, we are in a stable state. But a couple of quality additions would help us.”
Lools like another striker/centre half are on the list.
Positive
Hibiza
12-07-2021, 08:23 PM
We have another winger in the star Drey Wright.
12-07-2021, 09:06 PM
Murphy was one of only 11 Hibs players to play more than a thousand minutes of league football for Hibs last season and that is way more minutes than Leigh Griffiths has managed in the last 3 league campaigns and folk were desperate for him to come here until very recently.
Murphy not absent as often as folk think.
147lothian
12-07-2021, 10:12 PM
Ross said: “We want some more players in soon. We want some new players in a couple of areas ideally, attack and defence. The attacking players did brilliant for us last season but we relied heavily upon them. It would be nice to have other options at times.
“We haven’t been able to do anything yet we feel would improve us but hopefully that is the case soon. We have kept the bulk of our squad from last season. Every manager wants to improve their squad but with the additions we have made to a team that was good last season, we are in a stable state. But a couple of quality additions would help us.”
Lools like another striker/centre half are on the list.
It’s just a knock.
This is what I like to see, posters who bring good news.
12-07-2021, 10:12 PM
Murphy was one of only 11 Hibs players to play more than a thousand minutes of league football for Hibs last season and that is way more minutes than Leigh Griffiths has managed in the last 3 league campaigns and folk were desperate for him to come here until very recently.
Murphy also only played 90 mins twice and 89 mins once.
He completely missed 15 games.
Injuries are unfortunate and I rate the guy but it’s been well discussed on here about the number of players we have in the squad who just don’t contribute enough. I’m not saying get rid of players who are injured but I’m asking questions about recruitment and not finding robust players who can play regularly.
Greenio
12-07-2021, 10:14 PM
Good point.
Guy gets a knock and folk start calling him a waste of a wage! Rediculous
On another note.
What's happening with Cadden?
12-07-2021, 10:26 PM
thank goodness we have a midfielder back that can grab a few goals
12-07-2021, 10:32 PM
Tyreece John-Jules.
Hopefully with signing Macey and getting a friendly with Arsenal we can get a player like him on loan.
12-07-2021, 10:44 PM
Tyreece John-Jules.
Hopefully with signing Macey and getting a friendly with Arsenal we can get a player like him on loan.
Would rather have Danny John-Jules, I hear he’s a real Cat.
Mr. Wonderful
13-07-2021, 05:33 AM
Not hearing much but would anyone take any ex hearts CB's?
13-07-2021, 05:49 AM
Good point.
Guy gets a knock and folk start calling him a waste of a wage! Rediculous
On another note.
What's happening with Cadden?
Cadden played against Stoke
Happily take Dunne!
13-07-2021, 05:57 AM
Not really, no.
On the presumption it’s Dunne you’re suggesting then he’d maybe be ok but he’s hardly played many games since leaving Hearts so I’d rather avoid him. Other than that it’s a definite no.
13-07-2021, 06:24 AM
Jimmy Dunne seems to be going to QPR so might not be him.
13-07-2021, 06:47 AM
Jimmy Dunne seems to be going to QPR so might not be him.
Ozturk?
Don’t think I’ve got his name right but you know who I mean.
Ross signed him for Sunderland and he was signing Ross’s praises last summer.
13-07-2021, 06:57 AM
Ozturk?
Don’t think I’ve got his name right but you know who I mean.
Ross signed him for Sunderland and he was signing Ross’s praises last summer.
He's the only one I can think of as well. Can't even tell you if he's any good or not.
13-07-2021, 06:58 AM
Cadden played against Stoke
and got a knock. :greengrin
13-07-2021, 07:10 AM
Here's something very random.
When Mallan went to Turkey I wished him well on the Malatyaspor twitter account .One of their fans messaged me on twitter asking what type of player they were getting.
That fan has just messaged me and apologised to me as he has just told me they are signing him permanently for a fee.
Not sure if what he's hearing is true but thought is share
13-07-2021, 07:18 AM
When Mallan went to Turkey I wished him well on the Malatyaspor twitter account .One of their fans messaged me on twitter asking what type of player they were getting.
That fan has just messaged me and apologised to me as he has just told me they are signing him permanently for a fee.
Has Mallan been involved much on the pre-season games? I’ve not been paying too much attention.
Bangkok Hibby
13-07-2021, 07:19 AM
If true it's not a big surprise. I wish him well.
13-07-2021, 08:06 AM
Decent move for him. Certainly sounds more appealing than going to Ross County, St Johnstone, Dundee etc.
13-07-2021, 08:08 AM
Decent move for him. Certainly sounds more appealing than going to Ross County, St Johnstone, Dundee etc.
Think the pace of the game tends to be slower which should definitely suit him. His range of passing is excellent too.
13-07-2021, 08:09 AM
Cheaper hair and teeth transplants.
13-07-2021, 08:14 AM
Cheaper hair and teeth transplants.
Just don't let them wax your ears and nose. I was in tears for about three hours afterwards.
13-07-2021, 08:21 AM
Pretty random - thanks for sharing. Seems like Mallan is heading back to Turkey permanently.
13-07-2021, 08:35 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/stevie-mallan-on-verge-of-leaving-hibs-for-yeni-malatyaspor-return-reports-3305400
Good scoop 04Sauzee
Just don't let them wax your ears and nose. I was in tears for about three hours afterwards.
:faf: Loved getting that done, no amount of clippers of scissors can get the ear and nose hair out better than the wax. :greengrin
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/stevie-mallan-on-verge-of-leaving-hibs-for-yeni-malatyaspor-return-reports-3305400
Good scoop 04Sauzee
Unfortunately he's always going to play 2nd fiddle behind Allan for the attacking mid spot and his all round game isn't enough for a starting spot, if this is true then good luck to the guy, Turkey aint a bad place to ply your trade.
13-07-2021, 08:43 AM
Good scoop 04Sauzee
To be fair it was just some random boy from Turkey who I had spoken to before on twitter messaging me with the news 😁
13-07-2021, 08:46 AM
Good scoop 04Sauzee
Good luck to him. A good move from Hibs to move him on.
13-07-2021, 09:18 AM
Wonder if we’ll be looking to bring in another midfielder to cover for SM leaving or if having SA back will cover that
13-07-2021, 09:25 AM
Wonder if we’ll be looking to bring in another midfielder to cover for SM leaving or if having SA back will cover that
Still expect Hallberg to move on because I think he wants game time that Hibs can't guarantee him. Think there will still be one or two midfielders come in, not sure if they will be central or wide players.
13-07-2021, 09:28 AM
I dont see us replacing Mallan.
13-07-2021, 09:38 AM
When I was in Egypt I got mine "threaded". Really weird experience where the guy had bit of thread/ dental floss and used some weird technique involving his teeth and his fingers and the thread to whip all the hair out.
Total agony but felt magic for while after.
Until the hair all grew back in, and I'd swear it was about a million times thicker than before...
13-07-2021, 09:39 AM
He was effectively away last season so we have already replaced him.
13-07-2021, 09:39 AM
I dont see us replacing Mallan.
Do you think we'll go with just Hallberg, Allan, Gogic and Newell vying for central midfield places? I can't imagine that will be the case.
13-07-2021, 09:40 AM
Do you think we'll go with just Hallberg, Allan, Gogic and Newell vying for central midfield places? I can't imagine that will be the case.
Doyle-Hayes and even Cadden?
When I was in Egypt I got mine "threaded". Really weird experience where the guy had bit of thread/ dental floss and used some weird technique involving his teeth and his fingers and the thread to whip all the hair out.
Total agony but felt magic for while after.
Until the hair all grew back in, and I'd swear it was about a million times thicker than before...
The other way is burning the hairs with a cotton bud and a wee bit alcohol, scary at 1st but fine, just a horrible smell of burning hair.
13-07-2021, 09:45 AM
Doyle-Hayes and even Cadden?
And Magennis.
Hard to know whether to expect further central midfield signings without knowing how JR sees the current players – is JDH expected to be a starter or a squad player? Does he think Magennis will play a bigger role? Etc etc.
13-07-2021, 09:47 AM
We have about 3 others...
13-07-2021, 09:51 AM
We have about 3 others...
I'd forgotten about Magennis and Jake D-H, not sure who the third would be though?
Magennis will hopefully show why he was handed a 5 year contract over the course of the season.
13-07-2021, 09:53 AM
I'd forgotten about Magennis and Jake D-H, not sure who the third would be though?
Magennis will hopefully show why he was handed a 5 year contract over the course of the season.
I presume Magennis is fit for tonight?
It’ll be interesting to see if he starts. I know it’s a pre season friendly but I’d imagine the expectation when we signed him would have been that he’d start every week. With that in mind, I’d expect if he doesn’t start tonight that expectation may have been altered a bit.
WillowbraeHibby
13-07-2021, 09:54 AM
Don't know if it is just me, but thought a 5 year contract was a bit too much at the time.. Not looking to cause grief, just my personal thought.
13-07-2021, 09:56 AM
Don't know if it is just me, but thought a 5 year contract was a bit too much at the time.. Not looking to cause grief, just my personal thought.
Yip last one was Billy Findlay
That worked out well ?
Magennis, Doyle-Hayes & Campbell all in the current squad also competing for the 2/3 places in central midfield assuming Mallan leaves.
Campbell & Hallberg also leaving would probably open up a space for another player to come in
The other way is burning the hairs with a cotton bud and a wee bit alcohol, scary at 1st but fine, just a horrible smell of burning hair.
That's the way I go, all these other techniques sound like forms of torture 🙄
13-07-2021, 10:06 AM
Yip last one was Billy Findlay
That worked out well ?
Was Callum Booth not the last one?
13-07-2021, 10:06 AM
To be fair it was just some random boy from Turkey who I had spoken to before on twitter messaging me with the news 😁
FWIW and without wanting to go overboard I thought it was a good scoop (even if it doesn’t come off) however the honesty in how you got the rumour was also appreciated.
Far better than “my sources are telling me…..” type pish that seems to come about thanks to Jim White on SSN transfer deadline day.
‘Mon the direct messages from random Turkish people.
13-07-2021, 10:08 AM
The worst bit about that is sitting for a few mins with cotton buds up your nose whilst everyone behind you in the shop is s******ing.
Not had that on the ears though, they usually just use a mini flame thrower thing.
13-07-2021, 10:11 AM
FWIW and without wanting to go overboard I thought it was a good scoop (even if it doesn’t come off) however the honesty in how you got the rumour was also appreciated.
Far better than “my sources are telling me…..” type pish that seems to come about thanks to Jim White on SSN transfer deadline day.
I’ve had a few emails from random Turkish folk in my junk mail but I’m no too sure info on how to enlarge my boaby constitutes as transfer gossip
13-07-2021, 10:21 AM
I’ve had a few emails from random Turkish folk in my junk mail but I’m no too sure info on how to enlarge my boaby constitutes as transfer gossip
If we sign a Turkish guy called Big Willie and you’ve no passed the message on here you’re getting dogs abuse from me.
hhibs
13-07-2021, 10:30 AM
Interesting stat,thanks for that .
Key West
13-07-2021, 10:35 AM
I don't see Murphy as a first pick, he's past his best, still something to offer in certain fixtures and as an impact player.
13-07-2021, 10:35 AM
I'm just waiting on the usual hibs twitter pages giving it the "I'm hearing Mallan is away to Turkey" 😂
13-07-2021, 11:04 AM
I presume Magennis is fit for tonight?
It’ll be interesting to see if he starts. I know it’s a pre season friendly but I’d imagine the expectation when we signed him would have been that he’d start every week. With that in mind, I’d expect if he doesn’t start tonight that expectation may have been altered a bit.
I really hope so. He was surely a costly signing, in terms of the fee and wages/length of contract. I had high expectations for Magennis and last season was more or less written off for him.
I was also anticipating the Hallberg would be offski and half expected Allan to be released.
13-07-2021, 11:09 AM
Do you have a link for this Murphy stat ? Curious to see other players minutes also. Thanks
13-07-2021, 11:24 AM
Do you have a link for this Murphy stat ? Curious to see other players minutes also. Thanks
This is the SPFL stats.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/leistungsdaten/verein/903/plus/1?reldata=SC1%262020
Lendo
13-07-2021, 11:32 AM
This is the SPFL stats.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/leistungsdaten/verein/903/plus/1?reldata=SC1%262020
Didn't know Marcinano had duel Israeli/Portuguese citizenship
Cat Stanton
13-07-2021, 11:36 AM
Good scoop 04Sauzee
it's the evening news - it's more likely they got the scoop from 04sauzee..
13-07-2021, 12:27 PM
This is the SPFL stats.
That's the one.
It shows we heavily relied on 9 players for league games, all of whom played between 2200 and 3000 league minutes
13-07-2021, 12:32 PM
Good scoop 04Sauzee
Good to see it looks like he enjoyed himself over there, you hear far too many horror stories of players going over to Turkey and not getting paid etc.
13-07-2021, 12:53 PM
If we sign a Turkish guy called Big Willie and you’ve no passed the message on here you’re getting dogs abuse from me.
Hahaha. If so I can confirm i have no inside knowledge of any Big Willie
I’ve no idea, that’s why we employ a recruitment department.
Agreed, but you make it sound so simple. The reality is every team, many with bigger pockets than us, are looking for the same thing. We won a prize with Nisbet last season, the chances of us repeating that success are, unfortunately, fairly remote. If Nisbet goes it almost certainly leaves us with a poorer strikeforce than last season & we hardly had an embarrassment of riches then!
hhibs
13-07-2021, 04:33 PM
No Doig tonight,surprising or deliberate ,pending transfer ?
13-07-2021, 04:43 PM
Still recovering from covid/catching up on preseason training
13-07-2021, 04:45 PM
Really excited to see Bradley play. Think he looks a great wee player.
Why no Gullan?
13-07-2021, 04:46 PM
Why no Gullan?
Not listed but I'm sure he's out warming up?
13-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Not listed but I'm sure he's out warming up?
Aye I saw the clip of him running out with the team so found it a bit odd.
13-07-2021, 04:57 PM
That squads in dire need of additions. Few injuries and we’re struggling.
13-07-2021, 05:12 PM
That squad should show the club that we are in need of freshening a few areas up
No depth imo
13-07-2021, 05:15 PM
Was Callum Booth not the last one?
Maybes aye maybes naw
Didnae check took a flier
Standards slipping :greengrin
13-07-2021, 05:17 PM
Donnarumma to be announced by PSG as Buffon returns to parent club
Apologies if already posted 4 weeks old news
13-07-2021, 05:34 PM
That squad should show the club that we are in need of freshening a few areas up
No depth imoWe are missing quite a few of the 1st team Squad
Doig
Mcgregor
Jake Doyle hayes
Murphy
Doidge
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
1875Sean
13-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Why no Gullan?
Surprised considering no doidge or Murphy, maybe the likes of Mallan and Gullan got told the can leave
Keyser Sauzee
13-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Macey and Dabrowski will fight it out for No.1, we won’t sign another keeper.
13-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Macey and Dabrowski will fight it out for No.1, we won’t sign another keeper.
Certainly can’t ask for any more from Dabrowski.
Juice-Terry
13-07-2021, 06:54 PM
Superb.
Hibiza
13-07-2021, 07:00 PM
Agreed, but you make it sound so simple. The reality is every team, many with bigger pockets than us, are looking for the same thing. We won a prize with Nisbet last season, the chances of us repeating that success are, unfortunately, fairly remote. If Nisbet goes it almost certainly leaves us with a poorer strikeforce than last season & we hardly had an embarrassment of riches then!
No we won't .
hibee316
13-07-2021, 07:00 PM
Really strong save from the penalty. It was hit with pace and he got it clear.
No we won't .
Did you watch tonight? Nisbet was excellent IMO.
13-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Really strong save from the penalty. It was hit with pace and he got it clear.
And great save in top corner from free kick
13-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Yep thought he had some great touches and link up play
13-07-2021, 07:36 PM
Looked superb hope he stays for another season then get his move.
13-07-2021, 08:07 PM
That squads in dire need of additions. Few injuries and we’re struggling.
😂😂
13-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Least fans can now say they saw him play live !!
Tully
13-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Basically need anther centre half and forward
13-07-2021, 08:15 PM
Being away with Scotland and training with some top players will have done him the world of good.
13-07-2021, 08:24 PM
Hammy strain, so I heard from Marvin. (Gaye).
chippy
13-07-2021, 09:18 PM
Looks like we’ve got 2 good big uns. If Kevin gets a run in the 1st team, he might be hard to displace. Looks class
13-07-2021, 09:29 PM
😂😂
Still stand by this. We need to add another couple quality signings. A friendly win against arsenal isn’t changing my mind
13-07-2021, 09:37 PM
Still stand by this. We need to add another couple quality signings. A friendly win against arsenal isn’t changing my mind
We definitely do. Could do with them soonish as well for European games.
13-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Ross has said he is looking to bring in two quality players that will improve us
13-07-2021, 09:45 PM
Liel Abada agrees Celtic transfer as deal could open the signing floodgates for Ange Postecoglou
https://t.co/2vRd3PTmnA https://t.co/hzF1RzGVmE
13-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Ross has said he is looking to bring in two quality players that will improve us
That’s good news
My only worry was the lack of quality from the bench, I understand we had few out with niggly injuries but if we get that too often it'll be a problem. Good seeing some youngsters getting game time but it looked like we needed cover at CH and up front.
14-07-2021, 06:18 AM
Liel Abada agrees Celtic transfer as deal could open the signing floodgates for Ange Postecoglou
https://t.co/2vRd3PTmnA https://t.co/hzF1RzGVmE
Lil Abner? :greengrin
14-07-2021, 06:35 AM
My only worry was the lack of quality from the bench, I understand we had few out with niggly injuries but if we get that too often it'll be a problem. Good seeing some youngsters getting game time but it looked like we needed cover at CH and up front.
I’m actually quite laid back about that for the reason you said.
McGregor
Doig
Mackie
Cadden
Mallan
Jake Doyle Hayes
Murphy
Doidge
That is some list of players to all be out at the one time. Considering the squad we put out to start the game and the subs we made I think we’re in a very good position.
Obviously some will leave but I also think as Ross said another 2 or so of quality will come in.
14-07-2021, 08:24 AM
We had 5 players on the sidelines. We dont have a weak sqaud right now. I agree 100% that we need another CB for cover and to push for a starting place. I also think Gullan will go and we will get another forward.
14-07-2021, 08:30 AM
We had 5 players on the sidelines. We dont have a weak sqaud right now. I agree 100% that we need another CB for cover and to push for a starting place. I also think Gullan will go and we will get another forward.
Sounds about right to me ..I guess the unknown factor is if we lose any first teamers. I’d like to see us have another season with this squad ..fingers crossed !
14-07-2021, 08:39 AM
Sounds about right to me ..I guess the unknown factor is if we lose any first teamers. I’d like to see us have another season with this squad ..fingers crossed !
I'd be amazed if the 4 guys linked with moves are all here for the first league game. I actually think we'll lose more than one.
14-07-2021, 08:41 AM
I'd be amazed if the 4 guys linked with moves are all here for the first league game. I actually think we'll lose more than one.
So do I..but would be great to keep them . Think they and us would benefit from another season here. You could see last night that Nisbet (for example) has matured a lot in a season
14-07-2021, 08:44 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57829602
Wonder who’s been bidding for McGrath
14-07-2021, 09:11 AM
I think it was the "dire need" bit mate. We are not in dire need of signings. We have a strong squad who can compete right now. Scott Allan is like a new signing. The two lads brought in will add something. Rocky and Irvine are not huge losses.
We will bring in others, but the dire need thing was OTT.
hibIBZ
14-07-2021, 09:52 AM
I think it was the "dire need" bit mate. We are not in dire need of signings. We have a strong squad who can compete right now. Scott Allan is like a new signing. The two lads brought in will add something. Rocky and Irvine are not huge losses.
We will bring in others, but the dire need thing was OTT.
Definitely not in dire need, jack Ross has already said he wants a striker and a defender, which I think we can all agree is the areas that need looked at. There is a good core of players, a couple of quality additions and I think we will be looking strong
14-07-2021, 09:58 AM
The lad James Scott is leaving Hull to come back to Scotland
He was quite a prospect, so don’t know what happened to him, maybe left too early
Think Dundee Utd and Hearts are interested in him. Think he plays wide, so maybe not a position we need
14-07-2021, 10:06 AM
He was quite a prospect, so don’t know what happened to him, maybe left too early
Think Dundee Utd and Hearts are interested in him. Think he plays wide, so maybe not a position we need
Think he's always listed as a striker but like you say always looks like he's played out wide. Big strong lad with bags of pace. I'd be happy with him at Hibs
14-07-2021, 10:11 AM
McCart, Odoffin and another forward in and i think we'd be in very good shape for the season, providing we don't lose anyone of course.
Leitherhibs
14-07-2021, 10:29 AM
I would want us to be all over this if he's available, very fine prospect.
14-07-2021, 10:39 AM
James Scott would be a fantastic addition.
Normally plays in the right or left of a front 3 so not a position we’re crying out for but he could easily play up top in a 2.
Very direct, skilful and can score out of nothing.
We should be all over this.
14-07-2021, 11:09 AM
McCart, Odoffin and another forward in and i think we'd be in very good shape for the season, providing we don't lose anyone of course.
You reckon we need Odoffin? I'm not sure we need another defensive midfielder. We dont use that role every game and when we do, gogic does the role well. Nice to have cover of course but creativity is what was lacking last season and with Scotty back in the team, I hope we are more expressive this season.
14-07-2021, 11:14 AM
He's been given squad number #3 so hopefully that's a sign he's staying. If a transfer was in process I imagine we'd have just left it at #25.
14-07-2021, 11:18 AM
You reckon we need Odoffin? I'm not sure we need another defensive midfielder. We dont use that role every game and when we do, gogic does the role well. Nice to have cover of course but creativity is what was lacking last season and with Scotty back in the team, I hope we are more expressive this season.
Tbf I'm not even sure what will be our favoured formation? We have played a 4-2-3-1 in most of our friendlies so far , that may just be down to personnel available. If oddofin is better than we have? Then happy to have him on board.
Certainly will be interesting to see what his favoured formation will be and what he will see as our strongest 11.
14-07-2021, 11:41 AM
Tbf I'm not even sure what will be our favoured formation? We have played a 4-2-3-1 in most of our friendlies so far , that may just be down to personnel available. If oddofin is better than we have? Then happy to have him on board.
Certainly will be interesting to see what his favoured formation will be and what he will see as our strongest 11.
Yeah. Good point. I just get nervous when I see too many defensive midfielders piling up. The centre of the park was very unadventurous and slow last year and we very much relied on Boyle and the strikers for a bit of spark.
I am hoping JR did what needed to be done to get 3rd last year and will open things up a bit this season.
14-07-2021, 12:09 PM
Which are the two areas he has said he is looking to bring the two quality players he is looking for Although we know he likes versatile players that can play a number of positions
14-07-2021, 12:11 PM
I’m actually quite laid back about that for the reason you said.
McGregor
Doig
Mackie
Cadden
Mallan
Jake Doyle Hayes
Murphy
Doidge
That is some list of players to all be out at the one time. Considering the squad we put out to start the game and the subs we made I think we’re in a very good position.
Obviously some will leave but I also think as Ross said another 2 or so of quality will come in.
Is Mallan not about to leave
Mcgregor will get limited game time based on how little he was used last season
14-07-2021, 12:12 PM
I am hoping JR did what needed to be done to get 3rd last year and will open things up a bit this season.
I am hoping JR does what is needed to be done to get 3rd this year too.
davhibby
14-07-2021, 12:16 PM
Yeah. Good point. I just get nervous when I see too many defensive midfielders piling up. The centre of the park was very unadventurous and slow last year and we very much relied on Boyle and the strikers for a bit of spark.
Scott Allan will play every week as he always has since Ross arrived and that makes a huge difference to the midfield
badabing67
14-07-2021, 12:16 PM
Might be the formation Jack Ross thinks will get us through the Europa Conference qualifiers. So I agree with your observation but we will need a striker who can play up front on there own. Though I am beginning think Nisbet could adapt to that role so we really need to keep him especially if we can get to group stage.
14-07-2021, 12:17 PM
Would like to see a CB and a CM of real quality coming in for first team places. Looks like Mallan could be away and maybe try to offload Hallberg.
Don't think Wright will move on and with the signing of Mackay don't see us making moves for another wide player.
Unless Nisbet moves on Don't see us going big time in striker department either give Laidlaw a chance or take on someone on loan. Sorry just don't see Gullan making the step up like Shaw and Murray but hope I'm proved wrong.
Will be a tough season with Aberdeen always up there and who knows how hearts will perform but 3rd place with this squad is achievable.
14-07-2021, 12:21 PM
As things stand, we are in very good shape squad wise, and we will sign more players before the window closes.
I like that we are targeting other clubs better players, they know the league, they know how to perform in the league, and they know their ability and how good they are in this league.
Playing with better players should help us and help them improve.
14-07-2021, 12:41 PM
Still can’t see the window closing without 1 or 2 of our better players being sold
14-07-2021, 12:43 PM
Bradley may well have a significant role this season so I can't see another wide player coming in unless Boyle left
14-07-2021, 12:51 PM
We won’t have a strongest 11. The team and formation will depend on the opposition.
14-07-2021, 02:13 PM
I’m hoping Wright can kick on this season. I do think there’s a player in there which we’ve unfortunately not seen yet, other than small glimpses.
Bradley could have a big season ahead aswell, very impressive last night.
14-07-2021, 02:26 PM
I’m hoping Wright can kick on this season. I do think there’s a player in there which we’ve unfortunately not seen yet, other than small glimpses.
Bradley could have a big season ahead aswell, very impressive last night.
Opinions eh, I’d happily see him leave right now after a season where he was a massive disappointment and I don’t have anything to base a hope he will be something better this season. I know it’s a friendly and early doors but he was at fault for the goal last night standing watching rather than go to the danger, no excuses he wasn’t long on and can’t have been tired, that’s just layziness or lack of awareness both of which aren’t good enough.
Cat Stanton
14-07-2021, 02:34 PM
Still can’t see the window closing without 1 or 2 of our better players being sold
Bit of a nothing story in the EEN (there's a surprise), but saying that JR will be meeting Ron for a chat about signing targets etc:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-jack-ross-to-meet-owner-ron-gordon-for-squad-strengthening-transfer-talks-3307069
14-07-2021, 02:38 PM
Opinions eh, I’d happily see him leave right now after a season where he was a massive disappointment and I don’t have anything to base a hope he will be something better this season. I know it’s a friendly and early doors but he was at fault for the goal last night standing watching rather than go to the danger, no excuses he wasn’t long on and can’t have been tired, that’s just layziness or lack of awareness both of which aren’t good enough.
Aye thought that at the time watching it as well. Was standing in no-mans land at the edge of the box marking no-one with his hands up
badabing67
14-07-2021, 03:02 PM
Bradley could have a big season ahead as well, very impressive last night.
So do I Drey he had a very tough time in the Covid lockdown, he and his partner had a child and all their family support network was in London. Hopefully life is a bit easier now and he can kick on. Hopefully the support will back him. I will be anyway. Mon Drey
14-07-2021, 03:13 PM
Yeni Malatyaspor about to announce a signing. Doubt it's Mallan but that rumours isn't going away
🚨O senin için geliyor! 🔥 https://t.co/HYEpOUkVpq
Edit... It was a guy called Tetteh who they had on loan last season ,signed a permanent deal.
14-07-2021, 03:17 PM
Maybe im just living in hope but there surely has to be something that made us sign him.
badabing67
14-07-2021, 04:36 PM
Leigh Griffiths: Police say 'no criminality' over Celtic's striker's online messages to teenage girlsCeltic striker Leigh Griffiths has been cleared of criminality over alleged inappropriate social media messages to teenage girls.
The 30-year-old was sent home (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57757971) this month from the Scottish Premiership club's training base in Wales after allegations were made about one girl.
It then emerged that by Police Scotland were investigating a second case. (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57788204)
"A full assessment has been carried out and it's been established there is no criminality," Police Scotland said.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57838098
14-07-2021, 04:41 PM
Leigh Griffiths: Police say 'no criminality' over Celtic's striker's online messages to teenage girlsCeltic striker Leigh Griffiths has been cleared of criminality over alleged inappropriate social media messages to teenage girls.
The 30-year-old was sent home (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57757971) this month from the Scottish Premiership club's training base in Wales after allegations were made about one girl.
It then emerged that by Police Scotland were investigating a second case. (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57788204)
"A full assessment has been carried out and it's been established there is no criminality," Police Scotland said.
Dilemma for Angela and Celtic. Popcorn time.
14-07-2021, 04:42 PM
Lionel Messi to extend his stay at Barca on reduced deal
BBC
14-07-2021, 04:48 PM
Dilemma for Angela and Celtic. Popcorn time.
I don’t want him anywhere near our club. Couldn’t care less what Celtic do.
14-07-2021, 04:50 PM
I’m confused...cos I read from a lot of posters on here that he was a nonce.
It didn’t matter if LG knew what age she was or not, cos mistakes are for children, adults can’t make mistakes. If you think otherwise you were told that you “don’t get it” and you’re a “victim blamer”...
14-07-2021, 04:53 PM
Can we keep this thread for transfer talk please.
Many thanks. :thumbsup:
14-07-2021, 04:55 PM
I’m confused...cos I read from a lot of posters on here that he was a nonce.
It didn’t matter if LG knew what age she was or not, cos mistakes are for children, adults can’t make mistakes. If you think otherwise you were told that you “don’t get it” and you’re a “victim blamer”...
Just because she is of a legal age doesn't make it right
14-07-2021, 04:55 PM
I don’t want him anywhere near our club. Couldn’t care less what Celtic do.
Neither do I but it will be intriguing to see what they do in view of the total condemnation of Griffiths by the Celtic fans.
14-07-2021, 04:56 PM
Seconded! Please!
Isn't there a thread in The Holy Ground for this chat?
14-07-2021, 04:59 PM
Just because she is of a legal age doesn't make it right
What’s “right”? If she’d been 18? 19? 20? 21...would that be “right”.
He didn’t know how old she was.
Being a creep behind your partners back isn’t an admirable quality, but the level of muck being chucked at LG on here last week was out of order.
14-07-2021, 05:19 PM
I will assume everyone had seen this now. I don’t want it be on here deleting posts when it’s such a nice night out. Thanks all.
14-07-2021, 05:41 PM
Kilmarnock sign Dylan McGowan on a 2 year deal.
That's Killies 14th signing of the summer.
14-07-2021, 05:42 PM
BREAKING: Celtic have signed Liel Abada on a 5-year deal from Maccabi Petah Tikva subject to international clearance.
14-07-2021, 05:44 PM
BREAKING: Celtic have signed Liel Abada on a 5-year deal from Maccabi Petah Tikva subject to international clearance.
They like the Israeli market do the lessers
14-07-2021, 05:48 PM
Wikipedia suggests he's a centre forward whereas BBC reporting he's a midfielder.
Hibiza
14-07-2021, 05:53 PM
Yeni Malatyaspor about to announce a signing. Doubt it's Mallan but that rumours isn't going away
🚨O senin için geliyor! 🔥 https://t.co/HYEpOUkVpq
Edit... It was a guy called Tetteh who they had on loan last season ,signed a permanent deal.
Hope it is
14-07-2021, 05:56 PM
Is he related to abadabadu...played for rockville ? 😇
14-07-2021, 06:04 PM
What’s “right”? If she’d been 18? 19? 20? 21...would that be “right”.
He didn’t know how old she was.
Being a creep behind your partners back isn’t an admirable quality, but the level of muck being chucked at LG on here last week was out of order.
Hear hear ,, thought I had mistakenly logged on to keek back .
Anyway back on track ,, hearing yesterday that Mallan is away back to Turkey as they are invoking the deal to sign him .
14-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Would like to see a CB and a CM of real quality coming in for first team places. Looks like Mallan could be away and maybe try to offload Hallberg.
Don't think Wright will move on and with the signing of Mackay don't see us making moves for another wide player.
Unless Nisbet moves on Don't see us going big time in striker department either give Laidlaw a chance or take on someone on loan. Sorry just don't see Gullan making the step up like Shaw and Murray but hope I'm proved wrong.
Will be a tough season with Aberdeen always up there and who knows how hearts will perform but 3rd place with this squad is achievable.
Agree 100% about the CM. I'm delighted to have Allan back - we missed him massively at times last season. However, he's unlikely to play 90 mins every week and my worry is we don't have anyone that can change a game from midfield like him.
I realise we won't get someone as good as him to sit on the bench but I still feel our midfield is lacking a bit of spark and provide goals and assists. Guys like Newell, Gogic, Magennis and the new guy don't look like a group of players that will be getting amongst the goals week in, week out.
14-07-2021, 06:20 PM
Is he related to abadabadu...played for rockville ? 😇
Nah. Lil Abner, boyfriend of Daisy Mae. :greengrin
14-07-2021, 06:20 PM
:hyper
14-07-2021, 08:00 PM
:hyper
Your posts with this emoji annoys me far more than it should 😂
14-07-2021, 08:08 PM
I do apologize, I just can't contain my excitement during the transfer window
14-07-2021, 08:46 PM
Given the total lack of rumours at the moment its probably as interesting as the other posts on this thread (mine included.
14-07-2021, 10:37 PM
I do apologize, I just can't contain my excitement during the transfer window
No need to apologise that’s my problem not yours 😂
15-07-2021, 04:40 AM
Striker and defender wanted by JR according to SSN
The Athletic reporting that Watford’s interest in Doig is almost certainly over, West Ham and Nottingham Forrest remain interested but West Ham have made a loan offer for another LB
Highwayman
15-07-2021, 10:48 AM
Might be a long shot,but note that Edinburgh City have parted company with Blair Henderson.
Henderson is 26 years old and scored 54 goals in 89 appearances for City.
Possibly similar to the “Good Doctor” Kenny Deuchar who scored plenty goals in the lower leagues but couldn’t cut it when moving higher up.
Probably not on Hibs radar and don’t know if he’s found another club,but would he be worth a punt if he was available.
15-07-2021, 10:50 AM
Striker and defender wanted by JR according to SSN
If we hold on to everyone else then I'd be happy with that tbh.
Souter96Mac
15-07-2021, 11:05 AM
Might be a long shot,but note that Edinburgh City have parted company with Blair Henderson.
Possibly similar to the “Good Doctor” Kenny Deuchar who scored plenty goals in the lower leagues but couldn’t cut it when moving higher up.
Probably not on Hibs radar and don’t know if he’s found another club,but would he be worth a punt if he was available.
Think he's signed for Spartans
15-07-2021, 11:07 AM
If we hold on to everyone else then I'd be happy with that tbh.
Ditto but I am assuming we took a financial hit last season and that if the price is right we would probably feel the need to move one player on this window
007 Mickey Weir
15-07-2021, 11:23 AM
Huge Hibs fan that is happy as a part time footballer due to having a good job. If Hibs came a calling on sure he would sack that in though.
Not at our level in my opinion
Key West
15-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Hearts like a slow immobile centre forward surprised they are not in for him.
15-07-2021, 02:08 PM
Sun reports
Brentford 'agree £13.5million fee' with Celtic over transfer of Kristoffer Ajer
https://t.co/tYoSnv6PIg https://t.co/3C1lXr8YIV
15-07-2021, 07:15 PM
Ross says he is expecting interest for Doig, Porteous and Nisbet over the summer.
Not thinking about it to much but if I was a manager I would want new signings in as quick as possible and not many bids have been made that I'm aware of but will see what happens.
Porto says he's happy at Hibs.
Doig says he is looking forward to the new season with Hibs.
Souter96Mac
15-07-2021, 07:21 PM
Ross says he is expecting interest for Doig, Porteous and Nisbet over the summer.
Not thinking about it to much but if I was a manager I would want new signings in as quick as possible and not many bids have been made that I'm aware of but will see what happens.
As things currently stand, I'm feeling fairly confident we'll keep the 2 you've specifically mentioned.
Reckon Nisbet will get sold later in the window to Celtic after they sell Eduoard, and we'll then try to bring in Shankland
15-07-2021, 08:08 PM
As things currently stand, I'm feeling fairly confident we'll keep the 2 you've specifically mentioned.
Reckon Nisbet will get sold later in the window to Celtic after they sell Eduoard, and we'll then try to bring in Shankland
Couple of Jambos I know reckon they’re trying to ‘put a package together’ to land Shankland ! However think they’ve read it on brokeback so wouldn’t believe a word of it !
15-07-2021, 09:27 PM
So Nisbet if the price is right will be possibly the only one to move
16-07-2021, 04:54 AM
Mallan is getting on a plane on his Instagram stories
Souter96Mac
16-07-2021, 06:12 AM
Mallan is getting on a plane on his Instagram stories
Would definitely suggest he's away. Doubt he's been allowed just to leave for a holiday.
Wonder if his departure will help spark any incomings
16-07-2021, 06:21 AM
Celtc spending £5m on a Japanese striker. Seems to be highly rated. Potentially rules them out of a move for Nisbet.
16-07-2021, 07:04 AM
Good if mallan is off no point keeping on to players that aren’t going to threaten first eleven
First few months he was dangerous and then nothing sadly
Souter96Mac
16-07-2021, 07:23 AM
Celtc spending £5m on a Japanese striker. Seems to be highly rated. Potentially rules them out of a move for Nisbet.
Sounds like he's more of a winger from the reports
16-07-2021, 07:41 AM
Celtic confirm
✍️ We have reached agreement to sign Japanese internationalist, @Kyogo_Furuhashi subject to the satisfaction of usual conditions and international clearance! 🍀
#WelcomeKyogo 😍🇯🇵
16-07-2021, 08:06 AM
Good luck to Stevie. Hopefully we’ve got some cash for him.
16-07-2021, 08:20 AM
Lots of Rumours from Rangers fans that Katic is about to be loaned out to St Johnstone.
Wonder if McCart could be on the move somewhere.
Souter96Mac
16-07-2021, 08:36 AM
Lots of Rumours from Rangers fans that Katic is about to be loaned out to St Johnstone.
What a signing that would be for St Johnstone. Has he been injured?
skyehibee
16-07-2021, 08:39 AM
150k being reported by the sun for Mallan.
16-07-2021, 08:40 AM
McCart not likely as St J looking for £500k
16-07-2021, 08:42 AM
Would be too much for him I think.
16-07-2021, 08:42 AM
That doesn’t mean that’s all they’ll accept though.
£350k plus add ons etc that could end up taking it well above that figure would be in the right ball park I’d have thought.
16-07-2021, 08:43 AM
They won’t get it. I’m very hopeful he will be joining us.
16-07-2021, 08:47 AM
That doesn’t mean that’s all they’ll accept though.
£350k plus add ons etc that could end up taking it well above that figure would be in the right ball park I’d have thought.
I believe that ship has sailed.
16-07-2021, 08:49 AM
Stevie Mallan gone on a two year deal to Yeni Malatyaspor with 150k coming our way according to HIBS News
Thanks for your contribution to the Hibees Stevie and all the best for the future
16-07-2021, 08:55 AM
From the Sun
EXCLUSIVE: Stevie Mallan seals permanent Hibs exit with club set to pocket six-figure sum 💰
https://t.co/mmL0hl4cAJ https://t.co/wj8t0WOYj8
16-07-2021, 09:15 AM
Money we get for Mallan should get put straight towards trying to get McCart
16-07-2021, 09:21 AM
Getting a chunk of our money back for Mallan is a good bit of business. Was happy when we signed him and it's the kind of signing I'm happy we tried but it just didn't work out.
I have a lot of faith in Ross with his judgement on players.
badabing67
16-07-2021, 09:37 AM
Money we get for Mallan should get put straight towards trying to get McCart
I think Barnsley get a percentage but not sure how much though. I think we payed 250K for him but not sure.
16-07-2021, 09:38 AM
I think Mallan would have worked well with a McGinn style player behind him. He’s scored some wonderful goals for us, all the best SM
badabing67
16-07-2021, 09:41 AM
Could be Kerr or even McCann to Rangers
16-07-2021, 09:53 AM
I think Mallan would have worked well with a McGinn style player behind him. He’s scored some wonderful goals for us, all the best SM
Personally I will miss him..you can improve players ability to track back, close down and do the dirty work, but it's pretty much impossible to teach a player to strike the ball like Mallan can. While I trust JR's judgement, I would loved to have seen us coach SM into a more complete midfielder, but keep his goal scoring ability and passing range. Feels like a missed opportunity. Good luck SM and thank you for some of the finest goals we have seen from a midfielder for many years.
16-07-2021, 10:03 AM
Personally I will miss him..you can improve players ability to track back, close down and do the dirty work, but it's pretty much impossible to teach a player to strike the ball like Mallan can. While I trust JR's judgement, I would loved to have seen us coach SM into a more complete midfielder, but keep his goal scoring ability and passing range. Feels like a missed opportunity. Good luck SM and thank you for some of the finest goals we have seen from a midfielder for many years.
You can teach players those things, but some just don't have it. He was slow, couldn't beat a man, had no positional awareness, gave the ball away far too much. Without his shooting ability, which is very good, he'd be at a much lower level than he is.
16-07-2021, 10:07 AM
You can teach players those things, but some just don't have it. He was slow, couldn't beat a man, had no positional awareness, gave the ball away far too much. Without his shooting ability, which is very good, he'd be at a much lower level than he is.
Jack Ross didnt want him to leave. But the player didnt want to be on the bench every week. Your negatives may have a bit of truth but are way over the top imo.
Getting a chunk of our money back for Mallan is a good bit of business. Was happy when we signed him and it's the kind of signing I'm happy we tried but it just didn't work out.
I am not sure about that. We got a good couple of years and a bag full of goals from him in midfield and we got a fee for him leaving too, we also got to see some stunning strikes. All in all I think it worked out well for Hibs and Stevie and I wish him all the best in Turkey
For all Mallan's attributes there were a few very glaring deficiencies and the overall package just wasn't good enough for where we want to be.
He couldn't run, couldn't tackle, didn't track runners and couldn't deal with folk right on top of him.
Sadly we aren't good enough to dominate games to the extent that these deficiencies could be accepted and it is best for all that he moves on.
I am sorry that things didn't work out and he leaves with my best wishes and thanks for some great memories.
16-07-2021, 10:12 AM
Jack Ross didnt want him to leave. But the player didnt want to be on the bench every week. Your negatives may have a bit of truth but are way over the top imo.
You answer it yourself. The manager wanted to keep him, probably for his great shooting and decent dead balls, and he's a good flat track bully for cup ties, but rarely wanted to play him against any good sides. I think the reason for that is the glaring weaknesses I pointed out.
16-07-2021, 10:21 AM
The main thing Mallan lacked was that wee burst of acceleration over short distances. It's critical when it comes to taking the ball in to feet under pressure, making tackles and tracking runners.
When it comes to Scottish football and particularly playing for a team like Hibs, that ends up being a fatal flaw.
He does have his attributes and you could really see it working for him somewhere where you get a bit more time on the ball. Maybe Turkey is that place?
I disagree that Mallan could be taught though. I think Lennon bought him with the idea that you could work on his flaws and make him a better player. The problem is, his flaws cannot really be worked on - you've either got it or you've not.
Gordon Strachan would probably call it something to do with genetics, but instead of being 6 tf 5 and able to defend a set piece, it is another natural physical limitation.
hhibs
16-07-2021, 10:40 AM
I think Barnsley get a percentage but not sure how much though. I think we payed 250K for him but not sure.
I would have thought it is only on any profit on a fee,so probably nothing to pay Barnsley.
Key West
16-07-2021, 10:58 AM
You answer it yourself. The manager wanted to keep him, probably for his great shooting and decent dead balls, and he's a good flat track bully for cup ties, but rarely wanted to play him against any good sides. I think the reason for that is the glaring weaknesses I pointed out.
Every player has glaring weaknesses at Hibs not just Mallan.
16-07-2021, 11:04 AM
A bit meh about it. Still think he could’ve done a job for us played in the right position but he’s not as good as a fit Scott Allan and I doubt he’d want to sit on the bench.
Still think he would’ve had a better time of it for us if he was played in behind the strikers more regularly
16-07-2021, 11:17 AM
Every player has glaring weaknesses at Hibs not just Mallan.
Quite a difference between weaknesses stopping you from taking the step up, and weaknesses stop you even being good enough. I don't think anyone in our squad was as limited as Mallan. Great shot, decent set piece, pretty poor at everything else.
16-07-2021, 11:35 AM
Think Mallan will do well abroad.
Had his weaknesses but don’t think he was used properly in quite a number of his games here.
16-07-2021, 11:36 AM
Quite a difference between weaknesses stopping you from taking the step up, and weaknesses stop you even being good enough. I don't think anyone in our squad was as limited as Mallan. Great shot, decent set piece, pretty poor at everything else.
Except passing for one. He definitely isn't a poor passer.
16-07-2021, 11:42 AM
He's fine when he's given time to pick passes.
He struggles a bit more when he's pressed, which he almost always is when playing for us.
16-07-2021, 12:06 PM
He's fine when he's given time to pick passes.
He struggles a bit more when he's pressed, which he almost always is when playing for us.
Fair point.
16-07-2021, 12:15 PM
He didn’t improve on any of his weaknesses when being coached for the years he was here.
He was limited in his ability to cover ground and was too often posted missing when we didn’t have the ball.
Some rare qualities for sure and a great strike but for the run of the mill SPFL league game just didn’t have the right balance.
16-07-2021, 12:32 PM
He is actually. Hits the odd great diagonal, but his short passing and through balls are generally poor.
16-07-2021, 12:44 PM
He is actually. Hits the odd great diagonal, but his short passing and through balls are generally poor.
Not sure that's correct but it doesn't matter if he's away.
16-07-2021, 01:17 PM
£170k
Key West
16-07-2021, 01:40 PM
Must have made a wee bit of an impression in his loan spell at Turkey. No great expectations from me with the current midfield though I'd like to be proved way wrong!
16-07-2021, 01:44 PM
Great player, **** league
Key West
16-07-2021, 01:45 PM
Great player, **** league
Neither taking your sarcasm into account.
16-07-2021, 02:11 PM
Must have made a wee bit of an impression in his loan spell at Turkey. No great expectations from me with the current midfield though I'd like to be proved way wrong!
To be fair, with the exception of Jackson, the current midfield seen us finish 3rd last season.
Alongside Allan getting fit again & JDH added I’m not overly sure we’ll anymore midfielders come in. Hopefully magennis can stay fit as well as he’d also be like a new signing.
chippy
16-07-2021, 03:30 PM
To be fair, with the exception of Jackson, the current midfield seen us finish 3rd last season.
Alongside Allan getting fit again & JDH added I’m not overly sure we’ll anymore midfielders come in. Hopefully magennis can stay fit as well as he’d also be like a new signing.
Probably correct. Also think Steve Bradley is looking good. Footballer and seems to have a good physique , maybe he’ll end up up in a more central role.
16-07-2021, 03:36 PM
Alongside Allan getting fit again & JDH added I’m not overly sure we’ll anymore midfielders come in. Hopefully magennis can stay fit as well as he’d also be like a new signing.I know it's was 30 mins of a friendly but magennis looked 1/2 a yard quicker in everything he done
Hope that continues
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Highwayman
16-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Note that if Man Utd close the deal with Borussia Dortmund for Jadon Sancho in the sum of
£73 million,Man City due to a sell on clause will net around £11 million.
The rich just get richer.
Don't know how it didn't work out, he had a very good 1st season and was voted player of the year by fans and fellow pros, had a few injuries last season and struggled to get into a side which demanded a more all round type of midfielder. He like Allan are a bit of a luxury at times but Allan when fit will be a 1st pick every week, so it would be more bench for Mallan. As someone said earlier, Turkish football is a bit slower paced which suits him, a good lifestyle over there so good luck to him, unlike one or two on here who have a deep hatred for him, I didn't mind him and would've been happy for him to stay.
Mr. Wonderful
16-07-2021, 04:27 PM
Don't know how it didn't work out, he had a very good 1st season and was voted player of the year by fans and fellow pros, had a few injuries last season and struggled to get into a side which demanded a more all round type of midfielder. He like Allan are a bit of a luxury at times but Allan when fit will be a 1st pick every week, so it would be more bench for Mallan. As someone said earlier, Turkish football is a bit slower paced which suits him, a good lifestyle over there so good luck to him, unlike one or two on here who have a deep hatred for him, I didn't mind him and would've been happy for him to stay.
POTY in a relatively **** season of performers though. Most of our best ones turned up in the January.
Hibiza
16-07-2021, 04:28 PM
£170k
Great business.
POTY in a relatively **** season of performers though. Most of our best ones turned up in the January.
The point being at that time we as a support thought he was our best player, last season he was injured with niggly injuries which limited his time and fitness and when he got fit his style didn't suit what Ross was trying to play. Not the horrendous player some are trying to make out but didn't improve enough to be considered an important player, ditto Slivka and possibly Hallberg, decent squad players nothing more.
16-07-2021, 04:48 PM
Note that if Man Utd close the deal with Borussia Dortmund for Jadon Sancho in the sum of
£73 million,Man City due to a sell on clause will net around £11 million.
The rich just get richer.
I’m sure Utd will be delighted to help their neighbours land Kane!
16-07-2021, 04:55 PM
Good luck to Stevie Mallan,
Scored some cracking goals for us, I just wish that I had some of his weaknesses when I played the game, guid wee player.
He has gone for a far better life-style with better money so best of luck to him.
16-07-2021, 05:04 PM
Good luck to Stevie Mallan,
Scored some cracking goals for us, I just wish that I had some of his weaknesses when I played the game, guid wee player.
He has gone for a far better life-style with better money so best of luck to him.
100% and let’s ignore the ones who suddenly think he’s ***** cause he’s left and point out how bad and flawed he was rather than appreciate the player who have his all for us on and off the park and always represented the club with respect. Like all our players the have good and bad points but let’s boot extrapolate the bad just cause he’s left eh!
Thank god his short passing game was bang on for Horgans goal at Tyne.
Good luck SM and thanks for you time with Hibs.
The Count
16-07-2021, 05:18 PM
Mallan does not deserve any stupid juvenile abuse.He was a decent player for us and i agree not great.He also never
once disrespected the club.Seen hundreds of Hibs players a lot lot worse than Stevie Mallan.So good luck to him.
16-07-2021, 05:23 PM
Mallan does not deserve any stupid juvenile abuse.He was a decent player for us and i agree not great.He also never
once disrespected the club.Seen hundreds of Hibs players a lot lot worse than Stevie Mallan.So good luck to him.
Well said fella :agree::aok:
16-07-2021, 05:30 PM
I agree completely. He wasn't getting any abuse, though. We can discuss players flaws, though.
Mr. Wonderful
16-07-2021, 06:14 PM
The point being at that time we as a support thought he was our best player, last season he was injured with niggly injuries which limited his time and fitness and when he got fit his style didn't suit what Ross was trying to play. Not the horrendous player some are trying to make out but didn't improve enough to be considered an important player, ditto Slivka and possibly Hallberg, decent squad players nothing more.
I didn't.
16-07-2021, 06:30 PM
Mallan is the victim of Jack Ross wanting to build a team where 7-9 of the players are hard working and have attacking and defensive qualities.
Mallan has clear qualities but his defensive weaknesses make him more suited to football abroad. I mean Scott Allan can track a man and tackle better than Mallan.
Wish him all the best and football abroad will probably suit him. As I'm sure he'll know from his loan spell.
Hopefully a good sell on as he could do very well abroad tbh.
16-07-2021, 06:40 PM
If Katic is available, we should be interested
chippy
16-07-2021, 07:02 PM
If Katic is available, we should be interested
poster on St Js forum says rumour of us in for Melamed
16-07-2021, 07:46 PM
Player swap.
Dylan Tait for Jamie Gullan.
Dazzjw1875
16-07-2021, 07:54 PM
Player swap.
No chance doesn't make any sense
16-07-2021, 07:56 PM
Player swap.
He looked good, involved in a lot of Raith’s play and only 19.
Hibiza
16-07-2021, 08:13 PM
Yup good luck Stevie , never disrespected the club .who does ?
16-07-2021, 08:20 PM
No chance doesn't make any sense
In what way? Think it would make a lot of sense.
Gullan is far out the picture with us and they clearly rate him.
They also rated Gullan last season when he was on loan. It's up to him to force himself into the team, if he doesn't, he'll be off to somewhere like Raith.
The Count
16-07-2021, 08:33 PM
Yup good luck Stevie , never disrespected the club .who does ?
Nobody in particular. To me Mallan comes across as a nice guy and it pisses me off on here that when a player leaves us its seems fair game for some to give the players abuse probably from our younger posters.Why do we not show a bit class and wish the player well.Hibs net is good we dont want to end up like the Hearts Kickback.Anyway off my high horse and back on subject any Hibs signing rumours?
Block
16-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Nobody in particular. To me Mallan comes across as a nice guy and it pisses me off on here that when a player leaves us its seems fair game for some to give the players abuse probably from our younger posters.Why do we not show a bit class and wish the player well.Hibs net is good we dont want to end up like the Hearts Kickback.Anyway off my high horse and back on subject any Hibs signing rumours?
There were a lot of Hi bees who were very quick off the mark to criticise Stevie despite others in the team being worse than him during games who escaped any flak. He was the scapegoat for a number of the support and while at times deserved it due to his weakness at tackling the criticism bordered on undeserved frenzy much of the time. He was a player that never shirked from looking for the ball and some of his free kicks were sublime. Wish him all the very best in his future career and that he knows there was also a lot of support for him from many at Hibernian FC.
16-07-2021, 08:51 PM
Always liked Stevie. Hope his career goes well.
16-07-2021, 09:04 PM
19 and 3 years left on his contract, I'm sure they would want a pretty hefty transfer fee. Plus if Hibs are paying the kind of money they'd want then he'd have to be playing almost every week for us. Just can't see it.
16-07-2021, 09:08 PM
19 and 3 years left on his contract, I'm sure they would want a pretty hefty transfer fee. Plus if Hibs are paying the kind of money they'd want then he'd have to be playing almost every week for us. Just can't see it.
I can’t see them demanding a high transfer fee as he’s still relatively inexperienced.
Gullan, sell on % and a small amount and I think we’d get him.
16-07-2021, 09:12 PM
I can’t see them demanding a high transfer fee as he’s still relatively inexperienced.
Gullan, sell on % and a small amount and I think we’d get him.
I'm not as convinced as you 😁
On another note Vaughan looked decent for them
16-07-2021, 09:50 PM
Couple of folk saying we’re speaking to Guy Melamed and close to a deal with McCart.
16-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Couple of folk saying we’re speaking to Guy Melamed and close to a deal with McCart.
65 goals in around 230 professional appearances isn't overly prolific, about 1 goal for every 3.5 games?
16-07-2021, 10:03 PM
65 goals in around 230 professional appearances isn't overly prolific, about 1 goal for every 3.5 games?
He’s an out and out poacher. Play him between the posts and he will score goals. St Johnstone struggled to get him into their team / system.
16-07-2021, 10:05 PM
Hope we get McCart! Not impressed at all with Melamed though. 29 this year as well.
16-07-2021, 10:15 PM
Hope we get McCart! Not impressed at all with Melamed though. 29 this year as well.
You seen much of him aye?
16-07-2021, 10:16 PM
You seen much of him aye?
Enough to form an opinion. Obviously.