View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

16-08-2021, 10:11 PM
Regardless of what Boyle wants there’s no chance we’d sell him to a direct rival

I don’t have any issue with Hibs selling to Aberdeen, if they’re willing to pay what we value him at.

Clearly this £500k contract clause either doesn’t exist, or doesn’t apply to Scottish teams. Whichever it is…if Rangers or Celtc or Aberdeen want to sign him for multiple millions, then i wouldn’t expect the board to reject it.

16-08-2021, 10:11 PM
He's a penalty box striker. I'm not sure his build up play is enough for us, and not convinced he can play up top on his own. I'd be ok with him coming back but wouldn't be jumping for joy.

We have Magennis plugging the hole between midfield and attack currently, as well as balls coming in from the wing so Maclaren would get plenty service and that's what he thrives off. Doesn't have to be a second striker.

I suspect he'd do well with the current set up.

16-08-2021, 10:15 PM
Would be happy with Maclaren, he's done exceptionally well in Australia.

16-08-2021, 10:16 PM
If the £500k clause exists then what’s to stop a club in England buying and selling him on straightaway to Aberdeen for £600k?

16-08-2021, 10:17 PM
We have Magennis plugging the hole between midfield and attack currently, as well as balls coming in from the wing so Maclaren would get plenty service and that's what he thrives off. Doesn't have to be a second striker.

I suspect he'd do well with the current set up.

Look at our strikers and the link up and work they do dropping deep trays not JM IMO he’s a penalty box striker and wouldn’t work for me in our system. Play a 2 up top and he may fit but equally don’t feel he offers enough all round and nowhere near what doidge and Nizzy offer the team.

Don’t expect it to be anything other than lazy journalism tbh

16-08-2021, 10:17 PM
If the £500k clause exists then what’s to stop a club in England buying and selling him on straightaway to Aberdeen for £600k?

Limit to the number of teams you can be registered for in 1 season I think.

Mr. Wonderful
16-08-2021, 10:18 PM

It doesn't exist. He's set to pocket 500k from playing for. Australia though so perhaps that's where the mixup is.

16-08-2021, 10:18 PM

Do you honestly think things like this happen? Maybe if it’s a club owned by the same owners but no random club is going to sign him and sell him straight away to Aberdeen 😂

16-08-2021, 10:20 PM

https://twitter.com/robacopeland/status/1427391620954087424?s=21

Some other DR journo saying it doesn’t apply to Scottish clubs but mentions a similar scenario to your suggestion (mainly seems in jest from him tbf). Not sure anything stops that kind of scenario playing out right enough.

16-08-2021, 10:21 PM
Do you honestly think things like this happen? Maybe if it’s a club owned by the same owners but no random club is going to sign him and sell him straight away to Aberdeen 😂

Chris Cadden was signed by Columbus Crew and loaned straight to Oxford who had been after him but couldn't pay the development fee. The fee didn't apply to Columbus.

16-08-2021, 10:22 PM
I don’t have any issue with Hibs selling to Aberdeen, if they’re willing to pay what we value him at.

Clearly this £500k contract clause either doesn’t exist, or doesn’t apply to Scottish teams. Whichever it is…if Rangers or Celtc or Aberdeen want to sign him for multiple millions, then i wouldn’t expect the board to reject it.

I’d absolutely have an issue with us selling our best player to Aberdeen considering they’re our direct competition for 3rd place. It’s a different scenario selling to the old firm because realistically you aren’t challenging them.

16-08-2021, 10:23 PM

Just seen in the Twitter link above that Atlanta for £500k and loaned to Aberdeen. You can register for 3 clubs you just can’t play for 3 clubs in the 1 season

Mr. Wonderful
16-08-2021, 10:27 PM
Just seen in the Twitter link above that Atlanta for £500k and loaned to Aberdeen. You can register for 3 clubs you just can’t play for 3 clubs in the 1 season

Would count on Boyle being an absolute welt as well, which I very highly doubt would happen.

16-08-2021, 10:27 PM
Chris Cadden was signed by Columbus Crew and loaned straight to Oxford who had been after him but couldn't pay the development fee. The fee didn't apply to Columbus.

Totally different

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18513170.chris-cadden-getting-going-us-branded-rat-motherwell-fans/

16-08-2021, 10:30 PM
Would count on Boyle being an absolute welt as well, which I very highly doubt would happen.

Boyle will quite rightly look after number one.

If it’s in his interests to do that then he will. He’s also an Aberdeen fan so if he’s getting a big wage increase and the chance to play for his home town team he’d absolutely consider it.

16-08-2021, 10:30 PM
https://twitter.com/robacopeland/status/1427391620954087424?s=21

Some other DR journo saying it doesn’t apply to Scottish clubs but mentions a similar scenario to your suggestion (mainly seems in jest from him tbf). Not sure anything stops that kind of scenario playing out right enough.

If Aberdeen already knew the ins and outs of his contract(which they would if Boyles agent has been touting him out) then why bother putting in a bid in the first place?, just do it that way from the start, sounds like Aberdeen chanced their luck and got told to bolt

16-08-2021, 10:33 PM
If Aberdeen already knew the ins and outs of his contract(which they would if Boyles agent has been touting him out) then why bother putting in a bid in the first place?, just do it that way from the start, sounds like Aberdeen chanced their luck and got told to bolt

Because that’d be a huge amount of pissing about, if there’s ways to avoid it they will try them.

Take £500k from us now or we’ll come back and get him for £500k anyway through our other club. As much as it would be annoying there’s not really any point in saying no, we’d be as well getting it all wrapped up as quickly as possible.

16-08-2021, 10:38 PM
Because that’d be a huge amount of pissing about, if there’s ways to avoid it they will try them.

Take £500k from us now or we’ll come back and get him for £500k anyway through our other club. As much as it would be annoying there’s not really any point in saying no, we’d be as well getting it all wrapped up as quickly as possible.

I'm not sure Boyle would want the bad blood that went with that. He has a lot of history with us, so does his wife.

16-08-2021, 10:44 PM
I'm not sure Boyle would want the bad blood that went with that. He has a lot of history with us, so does his wife.

Agreed and unless they were paying him stupid money moving to Aberdeen is a sideways move at best.

16-08-2021, 10:44 PM
Totally different

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18513170.chris-cadden-getting-going-us-branded-rat-motherwell-fans/

Not really. Just the same in the short term, they just wanted him back after the loan.

Torto7
16-08-2021, 10:55 PM
Theres no clause. He has an agreement based around playing for Aus. Aberdeen are getting on my tits. I usually dont notice them but they are stinking of Jambo delusion just now. Hibs should retort by offering the same for Ferguson

16-08-2021, 10:57 PM
Not really. Just the same in the short term, they just wanted him back after the loan.

Yes really 😂. Very different to the point an English club buying him to sell him for a quick profit but ok

16-08-2021, 11:08 PM
Theres no clause. He has an agreement based around playing for Aus. Aberdeen are getting on my tits. I usually dont notice them but they are stinking of Jambo delusion just now. Hibs should retort by offering the same for Ferguson

A boring football club from a boring city but somehow the media darlings. Best ignored.

16-08-2021, 11:17 PM
Hibs should definitely retort with a 500k bid for Ferguson.

****ing Aberdeen.

Aye nae bother lads, we will surrender 3rd place and give you our best player for 500k.

:faf: Deusional wee sheep, must be in the wrong pen

BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 12:14 AM
I notice in the article there’s a hint we’re working on a new contract for Boyle.

Who do the sheep think they’re kidding? Absolutely no chance he’ll go. They’re a smaller team, smaller fan base, **** heap stadium, and on the decline.

17-08-2021, 12:54 AM
I saw someone at the game today sitting in the comfy seats whose name I couldn’t place at the time. I think it was Ian Pearce having had a look online. Presuming he was scouting, it says online he is with West Brom.

I'll ask him if he was there. Last time I spoke to him he was at WBA but it has been a while as I haven't been back to the UK for a while.

Surreyhibbie might be better placed actually.

17-08-2021, 05:22 AM
I notice in the article there’s a hint we’re working on a new contract for Boyle.

Who do the sheep think they’re kidding? Absolutely no chance he’ll go. They’re a smaller team, smaller fan base, **** heap stadium, and on the decline.

So Boyler agent squeezing Hibs for every penny.

Ploy to make Hibs act decisively?

17-08-2021, 05:50 AM
If a loan signing or Mclaren is the best our recruitment team can come up with then it's time for a new one imo.

17-08-2021, 05:53 AM
If a loan signing or Mclaren is the best our recruitment team can come up with then it's time for a new one imo.

We need to cover Doidge’s absence til Christmas so a 6 month loan signing is not a bad shout.

Jamie MacLaren however as a horrific shout.

17-08-2021, 05:57 AM

I think the many quality players we have are the best we can come up with.

17-08-2021, 06:09 AM
The Boyle thing doesn't bother me. We have probably bid way under the going rate for players this summer to unsettle them so no complaints about Aberdeen doing the same.
He is from there, supported them as a boy and most importantly he is a fantastic player so it's hardly shock of the century.
Maybe, with a young family, the thought of being close to people he cares about appeals to him. Again hardly an outrageous thought.
Interesting fortnight ahead.

Souter96Mac
17-08-2021, 06:10 AM
Would be happy with Scott coming in, think there's a player there.

Still think we need a more physical presence brought in to replace Doigde's aerial threat.

The club won't sell Boyle to Aberdeen, confident of that.

17-08-2021, 06:15 AM
EXCLUSIVE! James Scott wanted for Hibs loan to fill striker hole but Jamie Maclaren return a long shot | @ScottBurns75

bit.ly/2XxJTkN

Jamie MacLaren can't even leave Australia without a bloody good reason right now, so much nonsense!

17-08-2021, 06:25 AM
We need to cover Doidge’s absence til Christmas so a 6 month loan signing is not a bad shout.

Jamie MacLaren however as a horrific shout.

We already needed another striker, we should have been further down the road than this in identifying someone.

17-08-2021, 06:27 AM
Jamie MacLaren can't even leave Australia without a bloody good reason right now, so much nonsense!

Yep no way any player is leaving Australia especially for a short time loan give n how strict they are re travel. Thought he did well at Hibs and would score goals however probably more realistic loans. Actually think Scott is a decent player though has been injury prone and seemed more of a wider player but think has played up top and has a physical presence about him.

17-08-2021, 06:28 AM
We already needed another striker, we should have been further down the road than this in identifying someone.

Maybe we are but can't be done until nearer end of window.

17-08-2021, 06:48 AM
Is there actually anything in the Jamie Maclaren rumour or is it just paper talk?

Really liked him in his first spell, very average second time round. Wouldn’t be averse to having him back as an option however. Probably in the ‘backup and could do a job category’ but then again so is Simon Murray 😂

17-08-2021, 06:58 AM
Kevin Nisbet’s all round game is about 1000x better than Jamie McLaren’s - and we’ve occasionally struggled to get him into games enough with this formation.

I actually quite like McLaren but he’s a 1 dimensional player who needs a team built around his shortcomings and we’ve already got a few too many of them (and look stronger for having already shifted a couple).

Greenworld
17-08-2021, 07:09 AM
Lets be honest here Boyle is a player I could not understand teams not enquiring about.Top of his game at the moment.
500k though does not get you a Boyle 2 million might but I dont see it happening. Hibs and Boyle have been very good for each other I see him getting his last big pay day and that will be from hibs. New contract.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Greenworld
17-08-2021, 07:15 AM
One thing Hibs are in a precerious situation at the moment.
Imagine if bids do come in that match our valuation for;
Doig
Nisbet
Porteous
Boyle
Not that I think it will happen but its not beyond the realms of possibility.

Leitherhibs
17-08-2021, 07:41 AM
If Atlanta were to sign Boyle for 500k and loan him to Aberdeen I reckon that Ron and Dave Cormack's friendship could be over quite quickly. Unethical move to say the least.

17-08-2021, 07:44 AM
One thing Hibs are in a precerious situation at the moment.
Imagine if bids do come in that match our valuation for;
Doig
Nisbet
Porteous
Boyle
Not that I think it will happen but its not beyond the realms of possibility.

Depends how we’ve budgeted I guess. If, like Rangers, we were anticipating certain funding from Europe then I guess we may have to sell due to our early exit. Perhaps would explain Aberdeen’s cheeky bid as they may be anticipating some European riches.

Hopefully we haven’t been that stupid and can resist derisory bids. If big money is offered however, Hibs have a decision to make.

17-08-2021, 07:45 AM
Why on earth would Boyle want to sign for Atlanta? And then be loaned to Aberdeen …neither move seems good for him . he is much better than that . I’d say there is more chance of him signing a new deal with us ….

17-08-2021, 07:49 AM
If a loan signing or Mclaren is the best our recruitment team can come up with then it's time for a new one imo.Yeah, loan signings never work out

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

17-08-2021, 07:53 AM
If Atlanta were to sign Boyle for 500k and loan him to Aberdeen I reckon that Ron and Dave Cormack's friendship could be over quite quickly. Unethical move to say the least.

I’ve made this point on the PM board, why would we sell to Atlanta? You not think the club would realise what was going on if Aberdeen bid for him, we reject then all of a sudden Atlanta come in for him?

17-08-2021, 07:53 AM
I’ve made this point on the PM board, why would we sell to Atlanta? You not think the club would realise what was going on if Aberdeen bid for him, we reject then all of a sudden Atlanta come in for him?

If he has a release clause which they meet we’d have no choice.

17-08-2021, 07:54 AM
I’ve made this point on the PM board, why would we sell to Atlanta? You not think the club would realise what was going on if Aberdeen bid for him, we reject then all of a sudden Atlanta come in for him?If the supposed clause is anyone outside Scotland then Hibs wouldn't have a choice

It would be up to the player

17-08-2021, 07:54 AM
If he has a release clause which they meet we’d have no choice.

Yes. But Boyle would

17-08-2021, 07:56 AM
Yes. But Boyle would

That wasn’t the point of the question though.

17-08-2021, 07:57 AM
If the supposed clause is anyone outside Scotland then Hibs wouldn't have a choice

It would be up to the player

That’s if the clause exists at all.

I thought players can’t register with more than 2 clubs in one season?

Edit - think it’s 3.

17-08-2021, 07:57 AM
That wasn’t the point of the question though.

Fair enough, but quite important in the overall topic

17-08-2021, 07:59 AM
That’s if the clause exists at all.

I thought players can’t register with more than 2 clubs in one season?

Edit - think it’s 3.

They can, they just can’t play for 3 sides.

17-08-2021, 08:02 AM
Scott Burns

“ Just to be clear, there is no automatic release clause that Aberdeen or any other Scottish team can trigger on this front.”

17-08-2021, 08:07 AM
So Boyler agent squeezing Hibs for every penny.

Ploy to make Hibs act decisively?

IMO thats exactly what this is tbh

17-08-2021, 08:08 AM

In fairness, if it twists our arm in giving him a new deal with more money I reckon it’d be worth it for us, especially if it gets rid of the release clause.

He’s certainly worth it and probably worthy of being our highest earner.

17-08-2021, 08:11 AM
MLS transfer window closed. So he can’t sign for Atlanta and then be loaned. He could technically sign for them but would have to wait until Jan to be loaned to Aberdeen (loaned to them). Aberdeen would known this and the likelihood of us throwing bid out. I wonder how much of this is in hope of player being unsettled and taking a punt he wants to come.

Most media outlets confirming clause not applicable in Scotland so I would assume we won’t seek to a Scottish team for anything less then £2m. So that’s the sheep out then.

EEN is saying player happy and not after a move.

My guess would be Boyle ends up with a brand new 3 year contract with a decent pay increase.

17-08-2021, 08:13 AM
In fairness, if it twists our arm in giving him a new deal with more money I reckon it’d be worth it for us, especially if it gets rid of the release clause.

I agree mate and hope that's what does happen from this as agreed he deserves to be our highest earner

17-08-2021, 08:14 AM
I agree mate and hope that's what does happen from this as agreed he deserves to be our highest earner

As long as they aren’t expecting anything OTT. Still find it hard to believe there’s not a team down south who fancy a punt on him. Could easily play top end of the championship down there

17-08-2021, 08:19 AM
I wouldn't mind Hibs giving Boyle a new improved contract. He's been outstanding for us recently.

Dmas
17-08-2021, 08:21 AM

He’s just signed a new deal and he’s had a release clause inserted into it to make it attractive to him, it’s my guess he’s at the top end of our pay structure now, the fact the clause that’s been inserted is for clubs outside of Scotland tells us all we need to know, he’s happy at hibs no other club in Scotland is for him and he fancys a shot in a different country if someone fancies him enough to pay the release clause.

Aberdeen can away and bolt they’ve no chance, we’ve started strong and they’ve chanced there arm to rock the boat.

17-08-2021, 08:23 AM
Depends how we’ve budgeted I guess. If, like Rangers, we were anticipating certain funding from Europe then I guess we may have to sell due to our early exit. Perhaps would explain Aberdeen’s cheeky bid as they may be anticipating some European riches.

Hopefully we haven’t been that stupid and can resist derisory bids. If big money is offered however, Hibs have a decision to make.

Absolutely no chance hibs will have budgeted for getting any further than we did in the conference league, based on some of the teams we could have drawn instead of Rijeka.

17-08-2021, 08:30 AM
Maclaren would be a very good signing at this point in time. It won’t happen as he continues to do well in Oz. Boyle won’t sign for Atlanta then go to Aberdeen. Zero chance of that ever happening.

17-08-2021, 08:31 AM
Scott Burns

“ Just to be clear, there is no automatic release clause that Aberdeen or any other Scottish team can trigger on this front.”

Scott Burns was the guy telling us there was a clause months ago.

I think he gets his Hibs stiff off here he is so far off the mark usually.

eta - its a moot point, if there was a £500k clause he would have been at Rantic already, and if its down south or abroad only, well cest la vie - lets see.

17-08-2021, 08:32 AM

All that says is that a Scottish team can't trigger the clause.

17-08-2021, 08:34 AM

In fairness he’s not saying there isn’t a clause, just that Scottish clubs can’t trigger it.

I’d believe what he says, always appears quite accurate with his information

17-08-2021, 08:36 AM

eta - its a moot point, if there was a £500k clause he would have been at Rantic already, and if its down south or abroad only, well cest la vie - lets see.

It wasn’t apparently (well according to some random person I don’t know on Twitter anyway)

It was the Sun that ran the story about a transfer clause, he works for the Daily Record.

17-08-2021, 08:41 AM
The sun article was the first mention I have seen of Jamie Maclaren. It ruled it out, but he is the striker I would be trying to get.
First priority is tying up Boyler though.

17-08-2021, 08:55 AM
It wasn’t apparently (well according to some random person I don’t know on Twitter anyway)

It was the Sun that ran the story about a transfer clause, he works for the Daily Record.

Sorry you are right - I was getting mixed up with another DR / Scott Burns pile of crap about Hibs a couple months back :aok:

17-08-2021, 08:57 AM

Tbf Scott Burns hasn’t been that far off the mark with his recent hibs stuff

17-08-2021, 08:59 AM

Would be totally up to the player, so unlikely to happen.

I believe there is a clause mate, but as is being reported now it doesn’t apply if a Scottish club comes in for him.

A clause but it doesn't apply to a Scottish team.

17-08-2021, 09:18 AM
He’s just signed a new deal and he’s had a release clause inserted into it to make it attractive to him, it’s my guess he’s at the top end of our pay structure now, the fact the clause that’s been inserted is for clubs outside of Scotland tells us all we need to know, he’s happy at hibs no other club in Scotland is for him and he fancys a shot in a different country if someone fancies him enough to pay the release clause.

Aberdeen can away and bolt they’ve no chance, we’ve started strong and they’ve chanced there arm to rock the boat.

How are you/plenty folk so certain that this clause exists? I am pretty much convinced that if said clause did exist Martin Boyle would be playing in the English Championship already on 3 or 4 times his current salary. 500k is peanuts for most of these clubs and a very affordable punt.

inglisavhibs
17-08-2021, 09:19 AM

Doubt it. Aberdeen lost 2 players on Sunday at Raith, both Hayes and Hedges look like they will be out for a while.. They still have a heavy schedule ahead of them and most likely are looking for the best players they can get to boost their squad, just like we would be doing.

17-08-2021, 09:39 AM

Yep agree. Doubt the agent will agree to removal of release clause but maybe now after his performance last season and beginning of this one that it is upped to £2 million out with Scotland

17-08-2021, 09:50 AM
MLS transfer window closed. So he can’t sign for Atlanta and then be loaned. He could technically sign for them but would have to wait until Jan to be loaned to Aberdeen (loaned to them). Aberdeen would known this and the likelihood of us throwing bid out. I wonder how much of this is in hope of player being unsettled and taking a punt he wants to come.

Most media outlets confirming clause not applicable in Scotland so I would assume we won’t seek to a Scottish team for anything less then £2m. So that’s the sheep out then.

EEN is saying player happy and not after a move.

My guess would be Boyle ends up with a brand new 3 year contract with a decent pay increase.

I don’t think any Hibs fan would disagree with that. The player has been excellent for us and carried us through games at times. He is well loved here by the fans and the rest of the squad. I’d say fully deserved.

Give him what he wants within the structure Hibs and keep him.

17-08-2021, 10:00 AM
Doubt it. Aberdeen lost 2 players on Sunday at Raith, both Hayes and Hedges look like they will be out for a while.. They still have a heavy schedule ahead of them and most likely are looking for the best players they can get to boost their squad, just like we would be doing.

Also an element of Aberdeen trying to appease the fans after a poor result on Sunday with putting in bids for decent players. No chance we are letting MB leave for a direct rival unless they treble the initial bid imo.

17-08-2021, 10:01 AM
If Ross wants us to play 4231, then McLaren is a no go as he's never be able to play as a lone striker.

Boyle may be an Aberdeen fan but he bleeds green now, the club stood by him during his two bad injuries, settled here, wife plays for Hibs ladies and the fans love him, a new 3 year deal with a bigger wage will show how much he means to us.

17-08-2021, 10:10 AM
Also an element of Aberdeen trying to appease the fans after a poor result on Sunday with putting in bids for decent players. No chance we are letting MB leave for a direct rival unless they treble the initial bid imo.

I’d be looking for at least double what you’re suggesting tbh.

Torto7
17-08-2021, 10:28 AM
How are you/plenty folk so certain that this clause exists? I am pretty much convinced that if said clause did exist Martin Boyle would be playing in the English Championship already on 3 or 4 times his current salary. 500k is peanuts for most of these clubs and a very affordable punt.

Theres no clause. The contract has an agreement over his use for international games.

17-08-2021, 10:33 AM
Tammy Abraham completes 34m move from Chelsea to Roma

BBC Sport

BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 10:40 AM
Tammy Abraham completes 34m move from Chelsea to Roma

BBC Sport

What’s possessed Roma to pay that kind of money for him? He’s barely worth £10m. English teams seem to get away with FFP because some teams are daft enough to overpay for their dross.

Mourinho doing Chelsea a favour or something?

Mikey_1875
17-08-2021, 10:47 AM
What’s possessed Roma to pay that kind of money for him? He’s barely worth £10m. English teams seem to get away with FFP because some teams are daft enough to overpay for their dross.

21 Goals in 58 for Chelsea and 25 in 37 for Villa. Sign me up for that kind of dross every week!
Maybe not quite the finished article for the very elite clubs but can see him doing well over there, certainly a fair price I think for a proven goalscorer.

17-08-2021, 10:57 AM

They might not want to take the punt when he is quite old for a winger and has only really been a standout in the league the past 2/3 years or so.

They love to look down their nose at the Scottish game in England, so can see why most championship teams might not have gone for him when he has only been playing in the Scottish league his whole career and was a very late developer for a pacey winger.

17-08-2021, 11:02 AM
21 Goals in 58 for Chelsea and 25 in 37 for Villa. Sign me up for that kind of dross every week!
Maybe not quite the finished article for the very elite clubs but can see him doing well over there, certainly a fair price I think for a proven goalscorer.

Chelsea changed their system after Lampard left, Abraham's doesn't fit into it, he plays better in a 433/4231.

17-08-2021, 11:03 AM
As others have said I can’t imagine MacLaren as a lone striker.

He’s very good in the penalty box and is a poacher, but I can’t imagine him holding it up and bringing others into play the way Doidge and Nisbet do, it’s not his game at all.

I wouldn’t be against him coming in the slightest but he would need someone along side him who was capable of taking it in to feet.

17-08-2021, 11:08 AM
Theres no clause. The contract has an agreement over his use for international games.

That makes sense to me! Gotta love Hibs Net. For months it was a HIbs Net FACT that Boyle had a £500k release clause. A few weeks ago someone said it didn't apply to Scottish clubs & that became a Hibs Net FACT. There's about a dozen recent posts on here assuring us this is the case. I suspect that just like me most of these posters have NFI about exactly what's in Boyle's contract.
It may seem fanciful however but just as so many "journos" seem to get their info from here, I wonder if Aberdeen did the same & tried it on. They can BOLT! FACT! :greengrin

17-08-2021, 11:08 AM

He’s very good in the penalty box and is a poacher, but I can’t imagine him holding it up and bringing others into play the way Doidge and Nisbet do, it’s not his game at all.

I wouldn’t be against him coming in the slightest but he would need someone along side him who was capable of taking it in to feet.

Agree, losing Doidge means we really need a replacement centre forward with experience(even on loan). We need someone who can hold the ball up and is good in the air, we also need another striker as we’ve been one short for a while. If Nisbet was to leave, we’d be in all sorts of bother.

17-08-2021, 11:19 AM
Not a clue how reliable this lot are but they are saying Boyle is close to signing a new deal with us:

https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-star-boyle-in-advanced-contract-talks-after-aberdeen-bid/

Manxhibs
17-08-2021, 11:21 AM
www.si.com/soccer/manchestercity/.amp/transfer-rumours/manchester-city-monitor-progress-of-non-league-striker-kyle-hudlin-interest-labelled-as-surprise-amid-links-to-harry-kane

No link obviously but could be worth a look given the platform we can offer

17-08-2021, 11:22 AM
Not a clue how reliable this lot are but they are saying Boyle is close to signing a new deal with us:

https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-star-boyle-in-advanced-contract-talks-after-aberdeen-bid/

"All parties are confident a deal can be done before the window shuts at the end of August."

What difference does that make? He can sign an extension to his current deal anytime!

17-08-2021, 11:26 AM
"All parties are confident a deal can be done before the window shuts at the end of August."

What difference does that make? He can sign an extension to his current deal anytime!

Makes a difference if it gets rid of the supposed 500k clause in his current deal…

17-08-2021, 11:39 AM
If the news about a new contract is true, then it seems as though Aberdeen caught wind and stuck a bid in just incase it turned his head?

17-08-2021, 11:43 AM
Anyone know what's the latest with respect to us signing some defenders?

17-08-2021, 11:43 AM

Yep utter nonsense.

17-08-2021, 11:54 AM
That makes sense to me! Gotta love Hibs Net. For months it was a HIbs Net FACT that Boyle had a £500k release clause. A few weeks ago someone said it didn't apply to Scottish clubs & that became a Hibs Net FACT. There's about a dozen recent posts on here assuring us this is the case. I suspect that just like me most of these posters have NFI about exactly what's in Boyle's contract.
It may seem fanciful however but just as so many "journos" seem to get their info from here, I wonder if Aberdeen did the same & tried it on. The can BOLT! FACT! :greengrin

Not so sure about that brog. Was told about his release clause at the time he signed his new deal. Didn’t post it at the time as didn’t see the benefit in it becoming public. Same person told me quite recently that it didn’t apply if a Scottish club came in for him. Now I’m not saying it’s FACT, but I trust the person who told me. I’m certainly not in the habit of making things up. I also hear quite a few other snippets I would never post on here.

Greenworld
17-08-2021, 11:57 AM
If the news about a new contract is true, then it seems as though Aberdeen caught wind and stuck a bid in just incase it turned his head?
Yep utter nonsense.I think Hibs decided to look at Boyles contract a while back and talks have been ongoing.perhaps our new ceo is bringing his experiance to the table and looking at contracts overall. Theres nothing wrong with ripping up a contract and giving an improved one which May be more years rather than more money. Security for him and his family.

17-08-2021, 12:02 PM
I'll ask him if he was there. Last time I spoke to him he was at WBA but it has been a while as I haven't been back to the UK for a while.

Surreyhibbie might be better placed actually.

Nah, wasn't him. He was at the West Ham game with his son.

17-08-2021, 12:14 PM
Don't tell Aberdeen but the release clause is actually £500,000.01

17-08-2021, 12:29 PM
Not so sure about that brog. Was told about his release clause at the time he signed his new deal. Didn’t post it at the time as didn’t see the benefit in it becoming public. Same person told me quite recently that it didn’t apply if a Scottish club came in for him. Now I’m not saying it’s FACT, but I trust the person who told me. I’m certainly not in the habit of making things up. I also hear quite a few other snippets I would never post on here.

I know and totally understand & I always appreciate your info. I'm the same, though I don't hear very much nowadays! However I doubt if all of the posters on here and social media have been privvy to the same info. It's just impossible to stop a bandwagon developing unfortunately.

mcfly
17-08-2021, 12:37 PM
Clause or no clause we need good players in and fast.

Not selling our best performers

17-08-2021, 12:54 PM

I would imagine this is the case. Football is a small world.

gegs70
17-08-2021, 01:01 PM
Don't tell Aberdeen but the release clause is actually £500,000.01

I assume that the contract details were released by himself or his agent? Is his agent trying to get a move somewhere else. Also seems short sighted by hibs to put such a low release amount in his contract????

17-08-2021, 01:04 PM
I assume that the contract details were released by himself or his agent? Is his agent trying to get a move somewhere else. Also seems short sighted by hibs to put such a low release amount in his contract????

Sure it was discussed at the time, Boyle and his agent held all the cards. It was accept their terms or they could speak to other clubs about pre-contracts that Jan meaning we risked losing him for nothing. Nothing short sighted about it, arguably they did a great job getting him re-signed.

17-08-2021, 02:09 PM

Well worth that money at his age. Far from dross.

andrew70
17-08-2021, 02:15 PM
Well worry that money at his age. Far from dross.

He’s terrible.

17-08-2021, 02:39 PM

I dunno, he’s definitely better than a £10m striker. He’s not great, but you don’t get a great striker for £34m nowadays. It’s probably about the right price for him.

Roma letting Dzeko go and replacing him with Abraham is a down-grade for Roma.

17-08-2021, 02:53 PM

Plus makes it seem even more likely the agent put word around that Boyle was in talks with Hibs about an improved contract, to attract interest and improve the negotiating position.

17-08-2021, 03:01 PM
Nah, wasn't him. He was at the West Ham game with his son.

Just looking back to see if you had replied. Stumped as to who is was again.

17-08-2021, 03:05 PM
I dunno, he’s definitely better than a £10m striker. He’s not great, but you don’t get a great striker for £34m nowadays. It’s probably about the right price for him.

Roma letting Dzeko go and replacing him with Abraham is a down-grade for Roma.

I think Abraham will score more goals than Dzeko did last season. I think Dzeko is something like 18 serie a games without a goal right now.

17-08-2021, 03:09 PM
Well worth that money at his age. Far from dross.

167 League apps with 74 goals so far in his career ain't to shabby.

Willis1875
17-08-2021, 03:16 PM

We put a hell of alot of crosses into the box

Bangkok Hibby
17-08-2021, 03:27 PM
We put a hell of alot of crosses into the box

Most of which are missed. Not saying we should bring him in but a poacher type is maybe just what we need, at least short term.

17-08-2021, 03:28 PM
Are we looking at MacLaren or is it just speculation?

Bangkok Hibby
17-08-2021, 03:30 PM

I would assume pure speculation

BegbieHSC
17-08-2021, 03:37 PM
MacLaren is highly unlikely, but I’d be delighted if he came back.

His stats since leaving are sensational (I know the quality of league, but still - to maintain that consistency goal scoring wise is very impressive.)

Feel like he was treated harshly during his second spell here, with Lennon being extremely harsh with him over his injury - felt like we really jumped the gun ending his loan spell early.

17-08-2021, 03:41 PM
MacLaren is highly unlikely, but I’d be delighted if he came back.

His stats since leaving are sensational (I know the quality of league, but still - to maintain that consistency goal scoring wise is very impressive.)

Feel like he was treated harshly during his second spell here, with Lennon being extremely harsh with him over his injury - felt like we really jumped the gun ending his loan spell early.

Wouldn't mind him back either. Scoring for fun in Australia just now. Loads of players kinda went to pot around that time and it's probably more to do with Lennon than anything else. Definitely worth another try. Though like everyone else, probably just speculation with a former player.

Most of which are missed. Not saying we should bring him in but a poacher type is maybe just what we need, at least short term.

There was one beauty in particular from Boyle against Ross County that was just aching for a proper poacher to get on the end of.

Although - that afternoon Christian Doidge put in one of the most complete "number 9" type performances I've seen in a Hibs shirt for a while. He was immense that day (sadly the last one before his injury).

My point being - it would be nice to get the poachery stuff, but would we be sacrificing a whole lot more in order to get that?

Can’t see any way it could come about anyway, but I’d welcome McLaren back with open arms.

Is Jamie McLaren not likely on huge wages compared to what we can offer?

cameronw-hfc
17-08-2021, 03:55 PM
He very openly fell in love with the club also. Plays a huge part in a player wanting to return.

EDIT- quoted wrong post, was referring to Jamie McLaren

17-08-2021, 04:08 PM
His goal scoring record in the A League is unbelievable. He's scored 54 goals in 55 games in a league probably not far off the Scottish Premiership standard.

17-08-2021, 04:09 PM
https://www.sportingnews.com/au/football/news/jamie-maclaren-backed-for-england-move-following-unbelievable-a-league-form/ini5ghze67ue1tyl9wbzvm2rf

Interesting piece on Maclaren and his form last year. Always though he had great movement and positional sense as well as being a real finisher.

17-08-2021, 04:11 PM
https://www.sportingnews.com/au/football/news/jamie-maclaren-backed-for-england-move-following-unbelievable-a-league-form/ini5ghze67ue1tyl9wbzvm2rf

Interesting piece on Maclaren and his form last year. Always though he had great movement and positional sense as well as being a real finisher.

Thought he was superb at creating space in the box. Fantastic movement

17-08-2021, 04:15 PM
His goal scoring record in the A League is unbelievable. He's scored 54 goals in 55 games in a league probably not far off the Scottish Premiership standard.

Not having a pop at ypu, but if he scoring for fun why would his club let him come to us on loan ?

17-08-2021, 04:16 PM
Not having a pop at ypu, but if he scoring for fun why would his club let him come to us on loan ?

Think the Aussie season has finished, that’s probably why

17-08-2021, 04:20 PM
Think the Aussie season has finished, that’s probably why

Good point, well made. Every day is a school day.

17-08-2021, 04:22 PM
Selling our best player to our direct rivals for 3rd will lose us more money than it will make. Fans will also be raging. It won't happen.

17-08-2021, 04:27 PM
https://youtu.be/dUgQRl2XNb4?t=11

17-08-2021, 04:29 PM

Love it , Me and my kids in the backgroond :top marks

17-08-2021, 04:32 PM
Good point, well made. Every day is a school day.

New season starts at the end of October, so you wouldn’t have him for long, which might rule it out

17-08-2021, 04:32 PM
Love it , Me and my kids in the backgroond :top marks

:not worth class

17-08-2021, 04:35 PM
New season starts at the end of October, so you wouldn’t have him for long, which might rule it out

Doesn't particularly seem worth it if that is the case.

17-08-2021, 04:40 PM

He always seemed to at least hit the target and work the goalkeeper.

Loved this goal.

https://youtu.be/dUgQRl2XNb4

Particularly the image of them all going the wrong way with Souttar falling on his erse and Berra falling on top of him.

https://i.ibb.co/kgSnTn0/Screenshot-20210817-173643-You-Tube.jpg (https://ibb.co/JRsLTL2)

Would be happy to see him come back.

17-08-2021, 04:42 PM
I liked JM too, but it was almost as if it came as a surprise to Lennon when he signed permanently that he was much better with a partner.

17-08-2021, 04:53 PM
I think I’d take JM if it was possible.

One feature of our play in the last couple of years is guys like Doig, Boyle, and Murphy skimming great low crosses in that never quite seem to get tucked away. I reckon he has that nose for goal where they find him.

Clarence
17-08-2021, 05:04 PM
I think I’d take JM if it was possible.

One feature of our play in the last couple of years is guys like Doig, Boyle, and Murphy skimming great low crosses in that never quite seem to get tucked away. I reckon he has that nose for goal where they find him.

I thought that too.

17-08-2021, 05:06 PM
I liked MacLaren but I think that ship has sailed

17-08-2021, 05:21 PM

That Maclaren I'd take in a heartbeat, the second loan version not so much.

17-08-2021, 05:22 PM
Nae good to us all he did was score goals :rolleyes:

17-08-2021, 05:24 PM
Hearts hoping to get Liverpool forward Ben Woodburn on loan

HIBS talking to MB tonight with a view to extending his contract

STV Sport

17-08-2021, 05:27 PM
Hearts hoping to get Liverpool forward Ben Woodward on loan

STV Sport

Hopefully he's as good as that last guy they had from Liverpool. Ngoo.

17-08-2021, 05:32 PM
I would take Maclaren back for sure. His goal record speaks for itself and I am absolutely certain there were bigger factors at play as to why his second loan spell wasn't as successful.

I think in this current team with the chances we would create for him he would be an excellent rotational option with Nisbet or even with him.

BigKev
17-08-2021, 05:40 PM
Hearts hoping to get Liverpool forward Ben Woodburn on loan

STV Sport

He’d be some coup for that lot.

17-08-2021, 05:48 PM

Been on loan the last few years at Oxford United and Blackpool.

17-08-2021, 05:50 PM

Thankfully no.

17-08-2021, 05:51 PM

Was a promising youngster for sure. Was ahead of Ryan **** in the pecking order at Liverpool.

Think he might be a member of welsh squad

17-08-2021, 05:51 PM
He’d be some coup for that lot.Looking at his track record he seems to have done very little at club level though did alright for Wales when breaking through but has dropped out of the picture.
31 games on loan at Sheffield wed, Oxford and Blackpool with 1 goal, doesn't scream coup to me.

17-08-2021, 05:53 PM
Thankfully no.
Boo! :greengrin

17-08-2021, 05:55 PM
Looking at his track record he seems to have done very little at club level though did alright for Wales when breaking through but has dropped out of the picture.
31 games on loan at Sheffield wed, Oxford and Blackpool with 1 goal, doesn't scream coup to me.

People see he played for Liverpool and get excited. His recent record is more telling

17-08-2021, 05:55 PM

I’m not so sure. He’s had 3 loans at Sheffield United in the Championship, Oxford & Blackpool in League 1 and he’s not ripped up any trees. I doesn’t look like Liverpool have any plan to keep him as his contract is up at the end of the season. I also don’t think they’d be sending him up here if they did.

17-08-2021, 05:56 PM
Have Brighton not got anyone they might want to loan us?

17-08-2021, 06:02 PM
Edouard hopefully :greengrin

17-08-2021, 06:27 PM
Nae good to us all he did was score goals :rolleyes:

Potty78
17-08-2021, 06:48 PM
I really liked Jamie Maclaren as a striker, his stats I thought were better though. 9 goals in 27. 4 vs rangers too. Genuinely thought he scored more🤦*♂️

King Cosell
17-08-2021, 07:00 PM
I really liked Jamie Maclaren as a striker, his stats I thought were better though. 9 goals in 27. 4 vs rangers too. Genuinely thought he scored more🤦*♂️

Suffering from a back injury during his second spell. Marvin Bartley done a really good 30-minute interview with him on YouTube. Still up, worth a watch.

Torto7
17-08-2021, 07:31 PM

Connolly if Celtic dont get him in the Edourd deal.

17-08-2021, 07:42 PM
The Brighton deal seems good and worth while so far …..

Tobias Funke
17-08-2021, 07:51 PM
Thankfully no.

And thankfully your football knowledge can be comprehensively collated onto the back of a postage stamp in HUGE letters.

17-08-2021, 07:52 PM
The Brighton deal seems good and worth while so far …..

It
Was
Never
About
Players

Ffs

17-08-2021, 07:55 PM

He only got a total of 1427 minutes so the equivalent of 16 games and 77 mins. He was only given a full 90 minutes 3 times and one of those was for the hat-trick v Rangers.

Mr. Wonderful
17-08-2021, 07:58 PM
He only got a total of 1427 minutes so the equivalent of 16 games and 77 mins. He was only given a full 90 minutes 3 times and one of those was for the hat-trick v Rangers.

All great stuff but he's still a limited player. We'd be cheaper putting an offer in for Clark, he'd score for fun on Oz too.

17-08-2021, 08:55 PM
All great stuff but he's still a limited player. We'd be cheaper putting an offer in for Clark, he'd score for fun on Oz too.

McLaren is on a completely higher level ..no chance Clark would be an Aussie international if roles were reversed …

17-08-2021, 09:21 PM
It
Was
Never
About
Players

Ffs

Until we sign Maupay, I’m going to be raging.

Mr. Wonderful
17-08-2021, 09:28 PM
McLaren is on a completely higher level ..no chance Clark would be an Aussie international if roles were reversed …

We'll need to agree to disagree on that one. Maclaren is basically just Clark with hype, a tidy bird and a hat trick against Rangers.

Potty78
17-08-2021, 09:46 PM
We'll need to agree to disagree on that one. Maclaren is basically just Clark with hype, a tidy bird and a hat trick against Rangers.

Winner at Ibrox, goal vs hearts in a win, goal vs celtic in a win and goal vs Dons in a win. His second spell he was injured and rarely played. He's miles ahead of Clark

17-08-2021, 09:52 PM
Jamie Mac is probably best judged on his first season 7 goals from 7 starts and a pressure penalty against the Hun off the bench at Ibrox that was lucky to go in but we will take it especially as it gave us all three points

God knows what happened in his second season injury ? Lenny? a major disappointment

Legend

:cb

Who is Clark?

I hope you don’t mean Nicky?

tonyrougier123
17-08-2021, 09:53 PM
Winner at Ibrox, goal vs hearts in a win, goal vs celtic in a win and goal vs Dons in a win. His second spell he was injured and rarely played. He's miles ahead of Clark

Boy was class 👍🏻. It would be some signing if we could tempt him back here like.

tonyrougier123
17-08-2021, 09:55 PM

Who’s Clark?

tonyrougier123
17-08-2021, 10:03 PM
Brandon barker might be worth a wee bid,I’d think his time at sevco must be up,done well at Oxford last season.we need to have some left sided cover with the inevitable Murphy injuries.time we had depth if we want to really kick on

17-08-2021, 10:23 PM
Jamie Mac is probably best judged on his first season 7 goals from 7 starts and a pressure penalty against the Hun off the bench at Ibrox that was lucky to go in but we will take it especially as it gave us all three points

God knows what happened in his second season injury ? Lenny? a major disappointment

Legend

:cb

Who is Clark?

I hope you don’t mean Nicky?

Just a fun video....a song, some McLaren's goals and Lenny's areoplane. Only at Hibs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p23H-ODB4lI

Mr. Wonderful
17-08-2021, 10:34 PM

Supported by probably the best hibs side of the last 20 years. The following season he was awful with less support and it's very convenient for him to blame an injury for that in order to save his reputation.

All round game is very limited as he's not fast, not strong, his touch is terrible, he doesn't have an eye for a pass and he lacks the aggression to play at this level.

tonyrougier123
17-08-2021, 10:41 PM
Just a fun video....a song, some McLaren's goals and Lenny's areoplane. Only at Hibs.

Good highlight reel that,good season.

17-08-2021, 10:44 PM
Supported by probably the best hibs side of the last 20 years. The following season he was awful with less support and it's very convenient for him to blame an injury for that in order to save his reputation.

All round game is very limited as he's not fast, not strong, his touch is terrible, he doesn't have an eye for a pass and he lacks the aggression to play at this level.

****ing hell, this boy must be brutal 😂 Nae idea how he’s carved out a career at a decent level.

17-08-2021, 10:55 PM

Your hatred for maclaren is very real!! Wow!

He is twice the player of Nicky Clark by the way and judging him during Lennon's lost the plot season is totally harsh.

17-08-2021, 10:55 PM
****ing hell, this boy must be brutal �� Nae idea how he’s carved out a career at a decent level.

All he does is score goals.

https://youtu.be/bdUwyCln6vY

17-08-2021, 10:57 PM

I thought he was pretty nimble, with an excellent touch, especially in the box.

He won’t be winning many headers and his back to goal stuff outside the box wasn’t his strength, but we can’t be blind to the fact that he had enough attributes to play a part in one our best sides in living memory. He has to have something about him to score the number of goals he has in Australia.

17-08-2021, 10:58 PM

And also every one of your claims in your last para is wrong with perhaps the exception of eye for a pass. However that's why we have players like scott allan and joe newall.

tonyrougier123
17-08-2021, 11:09 PM
Your hatred for maclaren is very real!! Wow!

He is twice the player of Nicky Clark by the way and judging him during Lennon's lost the plot season is totally harsh.

Nicky Clark couldn’t lace maclarens boots man!

Hulk1875
17-08-2021, 11:56 PM
Never heard of him but just saw Cardiff not keeping Marley Watkins on 30 year old welsh forward

Hulk1875
17-08-2021, 11:57 PM
Just checked wiki
Not great return on goals

17-08-2021, 11:58 PM
Just checked wiki
Not great return on goals

Who?

Hulk1875
18-08-2021, 12:01 AM
Who?

Sorry should have linked my own reply to what I first said, Marley Watkins

berwickhibee
18-08-2021, 05:07 AM
Never heard of him but just saw Cardiff not keeping Marley Watkins on 30 year old welsh forward

Was he at Inverness?? Big strong mobile striker. Do a job short term

Dazzjw1875
18-08-2021, 05:13 AM
Was he at Inverness?? Big strong mobile striker. Do a job short term

I think it was aberdeen but hardly scored think he is a winger.

18-08-2021, 05:20 AM

He wasn't at Hibs last season 😉

I agree though. I remember him getting some serious stick in his second season. He wasn't the worst player we've ever had but I think as usual time makes him better than he was.

18-08-2021, 05:28 AM
I think it was aberdeen but hardly scored think he is a winger.

He was injured for most of last season I think. He started off the season well for the sheep, got a bad injury and I can't remember him featuring much after that.

He's always played well when I've seen him and I was hoping we'd sign him when he was at Inverness. Not sure if another injury prone 30 something is what we need though.

18-08-2021, 05:42 AM

That's just bollox

18-08-2021, 05:59 AM

He was a great poacher with great movement in the box but to say his all round game is limited is a massive understatement. He scored in 7 of his 27 games at Hibs so in the 20 games he didn’t score we were effectively playing with 10 men.

You can get away with carrying a player like that the lower down you go but in his second season here, he was found out.

18-08-2021, 06:05 AM
Pretty sure it won't be McLaren but hopefully a signing or two in for the weekend, particularly a striker.

18-08-2021, 07:18 AM
Not sure if it's been mentioned in here but Hibs are supposedly keeping tabs on a Norwegian left back according to Edinburgh Live who have picked up the story from the Norwegian press.
Kristoffer Tonnenssen is 24 and is captain of Start who play in the 2nd tier in Norway.

18-08-2021, 07:20 AM
Not sure if it's been mentioned in here but Hibs are supposedly keeping tabs on a Norwegian left back according to Edinburgh Live who have picked up the story from the Norwegian press.
Kristoffer Tonnenssen is 24 and is captain of Start who play in the 2nd tier in Norway.

Great rumour. Norway is a great place to find talent on FM :greengrin

18-08-2021, 07:34 AM

I see Niklas Gunnarsson's contract ends on 31.12.21, wonder if he's a possibility.

18-08-2021, 07:36 AM
I see Niklas Gunnarsson's contract ends on 31.12.21, wonder if he's a possibility.

I really liked him when he was here. Did us a turn when he came on in the Cup Final too.

The only reservation I would have is he looked a little limited, reminds me of P McGinn. Solid, but prone to getting beaten by a tricky winger.

18-08-2021, 07:43 AM

TBF, I think they picked that up from the Bounce.

18-08-2021, 07:47 AM

It came from a Norwegian guy who found the story in the Norwegian press and posted it on the Bounce, seems very plausible to me.

18-08-2021, 07:48 AM

Is this Ancient Hibee 2nd account, waiting for you to call him Gash.

18-08-2021, 08:25 AM
It came from a Norwegian guy who found the story in the Norwegian press and posted it on the Bounce, seems very plausible to me.

This is the type of transfer rumour we need.

Random tidbits from the Norwegian press about folk we've never heard of.

18-08-2021, 08:49 AM

I would suggest the ‘reporter’ at Edinburgh Live has been scouring The Bounce and the PM board on here

18-08-2021, 08:52 AM

Was a draw when he scored vs Aberdeen

18-08-2021, 08:56 AM

Ah I wasn't aware just seen it on Twitter this morning and seen they linked from a Norwegian news outlet. Good on the Norwegian boy on the bounce what a find 😁

18-08-2021, 09:11 AM
Ah I wasn't aware just seen it on Twitter this morning and seen they linked from a Norwegian news outlet. Good on the Norwegian boy on the bounce what a find 😁

Wasn't pulling you up in any way or form, I often wonder myself it that's where people are pulling things from.

Thought it was pretty good as well and probably has a fair chance of being correct:aok:

18-08-2021, 09:16 AM
Is it a good thing that a Hibs target is now all over the press?

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

18-08-2021, 09:35 AM
Guessing Maclaren would effectively be an emergency loan?

BegbieHSC
18-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Looking at his track record he seems to have done very little at club level though did alright for Wales when breaking through but has dropped out of the picture.

He couldn’t get a game for Blackpool in League 1 towards the end, and was sent back to Liverpool in the January.

They seem to think they’re signing a player who’ll win the league for them in 4 months 😂😂😂.

Can’t say I’d be too excited if we were signing him tbh. Hope they’re paying a considerable loan fee too.

18-08-2021, 09:54 AM
He couldn’t get a game for Blackpool in League 1 towards the end, and was sent back to Liverpool in the January.

They seem to think they’re signing a player who’ll win the league for them in 4 months [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23].

Can’t say I’d be too excited if we were signing him tbh. Hope they’re paying a considerable loan fee too.Did they not stiff Liverpool the last time?

18-08-2021, 10:00 AM

? or even ????

Mr. Wonderful
18-08-2021, 10:05 AM
? or even ????

Just the usual story on here mate. If your opinion doesn't fall in line with the 'everything is awesome, ggtth, we are all hibs class' crew you're accused of being a troll or a duplicate account or a 'yam'

18-08-2021, 10:10 AM
Just the usual story on here mate. If your opinion doesn't fall in line with the 'everything is awesome, ggtth, we are all hibs class' crew you're accused of being a troll or a duplicate account or a 'yam'

There’s plenty folk on here that don’t have that opinion and they don’t get called out on it.

Think you’re more likely to get called out on making things up about a player you obviously don’t like..

Mr. Wonderful
18-08-2021, 10:16 AM
There’s plenty folk on here that don’t have that opinion and they don’t get called out on it.

Think you’re more likely to get called out on making things up about a player you obviously don’t like..

That's where you're wrong. I didn't dislike him, he seemed like a likeable chap, good in the dressing room. I just happen to think he's average at best at this level and his re-signing wouldn't fill me with any excitement at all.

Is there anything wrong with that? Is offering my opinion on his ability making up pish or something I observed with my own eyes?

18-08-2021, 10:16 AM

That was Speedway who called him that , was it not?

18-08-2021, 10:21 AM

Aye it was, another poster who had an inflated sense of his own importance.

I think J-C is due Ancient an apology!

dchibs
18-08-2021, 10:26 AM
Did they not stiff Liverpool the last time?

Yes all the more reason to send them a dud.:greengrin

18-08-2021, 10:30 AM

The goal against Hearts shows he has the natural aggression and the header against The Rangers was similar to the chance McNulty failed to convert for Scotland and against Celtic

A natural goal scorer

Why would he come back here in any case?

MikeyS
18-08-2021, 11:30 AM

They seem to think they’re signing a player who’ll win the league for them in 4 months 😂😂😂.

Can’t say I’d be too excited if we were signing him tbh. Hope they’re paying a considerable loan fee too.

If he was that good, he'd be at Ibrox with Gerrard instead of waiting on the Heriot Watt Quidditch team to finish so he can get his press photos taken!

18-08-2021, 12:26 PM

The goal against Hearts shows he has the natural aggression and the header against The Rangers was similar to the chance McNulty failed to convert for Scotland and against Celtic

A natural goal scorer

Why would he come back here in any case?

Has he not tweeted a reply to a Hibs fan to confirm he's not coming back?

Tully
18-08-2021, 12:34 PM
Boyle extends contract

18-08-2021, 12:37 PM
Has he not tweeted a reply to a Hibs fan to confirm he's not coming back?
Dunno don’t do Twitter

Cannae see it tbh 😃

MikeyS
18-08-2021, 12:38 PM
Boyle extends contract

Very clever announcement from the Twitter admin too!!

18-08-2021, 12:42 PM

I read this as admin tool😳

18-08-2021, 12:47 PM
? or even ????

Apologies Ancient, it was indeed Speedway that used the word Gash for McLaren, cheers mate for keeping me right. :aok:

MikeyS
18-08-2021, 01:33 PM
I read this as admin tool😳

I'm sure I've seen him called that previous Billy 😂

18-08-2021, 02:02 PM
Boyle is great news.

Would like to see us announce an extended one for Christian too!

18-08-2021, 02:06 PM
Boyle is great news.

Would like to see us announce an extended one for Christian too!

Assume that will likely be on hold now.

18-08-2021, 02:15 PM

Can’t keep it on hold too long. He can sign a pre contract with teams in January

18-08-2021, 02:18 PM
Someone from EEN reporting the deal for the Liverpool reject on loan to Hearts is being held up.

18-08-2021, 02:50 PM
Can’t keep it on hold too long. He can sign a pre contract with teams in January

He's got to get back to fitness first.

18-08-2021, 02:54 PM
Apologies Ancient, it was indeed Speedway that used the word Gash for McLaren, cheers mate for keeping me right. :aok:

Accepted. Speedway I seem to remember is even older than me.

18-08-2021, 03:17 PM
Accepted. Speedway I seem to remember is even older than me.

No by much though. :greengrin

18-08-2021, 03:23 PM
Someone from EEN reporting the deal for the Liverpool reject on loan to Hearts is being held up.

Maybe a decent team has asked about his availability.

18-08-2021, 03:27 PM
No by much though. :greengrin

I always assumed Speedway’s age wasn’t accurate.

18-08-2021, 03:28 PM

I very much doubt it, they guy is up there with Roy Donovan. :greengrin

18-08-2021, 03:32 PM

Agreed. I've had a wee moan about some of our social media output but I thought that was a great bit of content after the nonsense the sheep lovers have subjected us to the last few days.

18-08-2021, 03:37 PM
Someone from EEN reporting the deal for the Liverpool reject on loan to Hearts is being held up.Liverpool maybe just realised that they made it onto Hearts infamous creditor list when they bumped them for money last time around.

Special relationship [emoji23]

18-08-2021, 03:59 PM

Due to his injury. Hope not Jim. Guys an integral part of team moving forward. Hopefully an extended contract on its way!

Hibs4185
18-08-2021, 04:13 PM

I heard it was Brora Rangers that had enquired about him

18-08-2021, 04:43 PM

I'd be quite pleased if he went to Hearts. His stats are not impressive.

Seanm1875
18-08-2021, 05:51 PM
Hearing Griff linked with a loan return for 6 months option for a year and pre-contract (similar to Murphy last season)

Thoughts?

18-08-2021, 05:59 PM
Hearing Griff linked with a loan return for 6 months option for a year and pre-contract (similar to Murphy last season)

Thoughts?

OK, I'll be first - source??

18-08-2021, 06:00 PM

Thoughts?

Looking forward to your fourth post as well.

18-08-2021, 06:02 PM

Thoughts?

My thoughts are that you might be at it.

18-08-2021, 06:04 PM

Thoughts?

Wouldn’t be at all happy with that.

18-08-2021, 06:04 PM
Looking forward to your fourth post as well.

TBF I got told this last Saturday but didn't think it was worth posting as I thought it was unlikely, can't see Griffiths fitting in with Ross and the squad.

18-08-2021, 06:11 PM

Thoughts?

No no no no no no.

Well…maybe.

18-08-2021, 06:23 PM

Thoughts?

No thanks

18-08-2021, 06:23 PM
My thoughts are that you might be at it.

Love the way newbies always have the inside info......

18-08-2021, 06:26 PM
Wouldn’t be at all happy with that.

This is an odd one and should really be a no brainer however it would be a massive call by JR!

I’m not sure and really undecided on this if true!

dchibs
18-08-2021, 06:28 PM
See the celtic v heartz cup game is on sky free sports at 7-30, not seen the game so might watch it.

Love the way newbies always have the inside info......They sound self sufficient on the info front.

phoenixfire
This is an odd one and should really be a no brainer however it would be a massive call by JR!

I’m not sure and really undecided on this if true!

Would a hat trick at tyncastle help you decide😂