View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
04-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Didn’t Liverpool let him go on a free? I’m still surprised Southampton let him leave… they seem to be offloading some decent players and might really struggle this season.
He cost Saints 18 million. And with only a year left, they probably needed to get something for him.
04-08-2021, 09:04 PM
Not sure if this has been posted before so apologies if it has. Ben Kensell giving a good interview to the Not The Old Firm guys and talk of work on and off the park including big screens
https://youtu.be/T0iEFV2GtuI
He mentions big screens this season? Anyone heard anymore about this ?!
04-08-2021, 09:28 PM
If Doig is fit and no fee has been agreed he should be in the squad. Madness to dump one of our more important players out the team for weeks because there is interest. If they want him they’ll meet our valuations, until then he’s our players and this is a huge tie for our club. As said before, see SJM 3 years ago.
Numptie
04-08-2021, 09:32 PM
I hear that the Seagulls haven’t left.
hibee1875
04-08-2021, 09:32 PM
Danny Ings to Villa for £25M... surely a decimal point missing....
Do you watch English football?
04-08-2021, 09:35 PM
That’ll be the same as every other week you’ve told us absolutely nothing. :aok:
Spot on. An absolute Rod Laver so he is.
04-08-2021, 09:36 PM
If Doig is fit and no fee has been agreed he should be in the squad. Madness to dump one of our more important players out the team for weeks because there is interest. If they want him they’ll meet our valuations, until then he’s our players and this is a huge tie for our club. As said before, see SJM 3 years ago.
I agree with that, got it for the Motherwell game if a deal was about to be done but it appears that’s not the case so he should be available for selection.
Only thing I’d say is I personally think Lewis is a better defensive LB so for this game I’m quite happy if Lewis plays. Longer term we will need to replace him if he leaves as IMO Stevenson doesn’t offer enough going forward.
04-08-2021, 09:59 PM
I hear that the Seagulls haven’t left.
Brighton in for Doig presumably?
04-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Let’s see if Queen B and Benny Factor step up giving their supposed cash plus player bid (well itk jambos reckon)
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkFund it from Foundation of Flumps money?
Win win, Duncan's get to sign someone that makes them feel all big and fuzzily warm again and Mrs doctor Budge gets to kick the mythical fan ownership ball further down the road at someone else's expense, again.
Allisbarry.
04-08-2021, 10:16 PM
100 million for Grealish. How many times over could you buy Hibs for 100 million?
04-08-2021, 10:19 PM
100 million for Grealish. How many times over could you buy Hibs for 100 million?Grealish in that bubble is worth what they'll pay but the soul of our club should remain beyond that, so currently priceless [emoji6]
04-08-2021, 10:22 PM
Josh Doig trained today according to JR on STV News and is quite happy here
04-08-2021, 10:32 PM
Danny ings is a very good striker. He’ll score Atleast 15 premier league goals for them this season.
£25m is a fair price imo
Good signing for Villa. Surprised there weren’t better teams (Spurs?) interested.
04-08-2021, 10:32 PM
Josh Doig trained today according to JR on STV News and is quite happy here
That doesn’t really tell us anything we don’t know. Think this one is going to burn slowly for a bit then combust.
04-08-2021, 10:38 PM
That doesn’t really tell us anything we don’t know. Think this one is going to burn slowly for a bit then combust.
He also went on to say HIBS come first we won’t wait forever for nonexistent bids or bids that don’t match our valuation
May as well just play him he is our player as long as his head is right of course 😃
Potty78
04-08-2021, 10:41 PM
Not sure Josh will go now to be honest, personally think he has plenty talent but to me anything 2million plus is great business. Tin hat on I know!
04-08-2021, 10:43 PM
He also went on to say HIBS come first we won’t wait forever for nonexistent bids or bids that don’t match our valuation
May as well just play him he is our player as long as his head is right of course 😃
An injury could scupper a transfer, though. He's leaving, I just want a fair fee that could improve the team.
Torto7
04-08-2021, 11:09 PM
Not sure Josh will go now to be honest, personally think he has plenty talent but to me anything 2million plus is great business. Tin hat on I know!
2million or anything below 4 is a pile of pish and an awful deal for us. Smalltime in the extreme. It isnt 2003 anymore. Inflation for transfers has happened everywhere but Scotland its time we caught up.
04-08-2021, 11:09 PM
What makes Grealish worth £100m?
Anything under £4m shouldn't even be getting discussed tbh.
If teams aren't willing to pay good money for Josh he'd be silly to go there, he'll just be a number - English teams buy talent on the cheap and don't really care if they succeed or not. A young player that fails to make it at Chelsea still gets sold on for millions just by association.
If these English teams have no risk driving their desire to see Josh succeed then he'll just be another one in their nets.
We should get Hibs the best money and, therefore, Josh the best money and assurances. He needs to move to a club that genuinely wants him not just talent scouting and vast player acquisition.
04-08-2021, 11:11 PM
2million or anything below 4 is a pile of pish and an awful deal for us. Smalltime in the extreme. It isnt 2003 anymore. Inflation for transfers has happened everywhere but Scotland its time we caught up.
Because their is so little money in the Scottish game our players can be picked up on the cheap. English clubs in particular know we need the money. Villa robbed us for McGinn; he could end up moving for fifty million.
04-08-2021, 11:25 PM
Because their is so little money in the Scottish game our players can be picked up on the cheap. English clubs in particular know we need the money. Villa robbed us for McGinn; he could up moving for fifty million.
Don't sell the player then. Would you want to move to a club that is trying to get you on the cheap?
I would seriously question what I mean to them especially at Josh's age - if Sheffield United can spend £23m on Brewster (a Liverpool U23 player) and £17m on McBurnie you need to question why these English teams are squabbling over a couple of million. They throw millions away with expensive record breaking poor signings, get relegated and lose millions through mismanagement and yet squabble over a couple of million for a talented driven youngster from Scotland.
Josh should stay at Hibs if this is their attitude. He'll be a number and nothing else. Tell them to gtf if they don't pay the going rate and properly show their interest in Doig (not just treat him as another catch in their net).
04-08-2021, 11:33 PM
If an employer was trying to poach me and was offering 3, 4, 5, maybe ten times my salary I wouldn't care a jot
Near enough every one on earth would think the same
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
04-08-2021, 11:46 PM
If an employer was trying to poach me and was offering 3, 4, 5, maybe ten times my salary I wouldn't care a jot
Near enough every one on earth would think the same
That’s exactly why so many players fail down south. Too much money far too soon. Ravel Morrison is a classic example. Skill and talent and a complete car crash of a career. I’m sure his bank balance is ok as long as he’s not been an idiot but his career is insignificant and pretty pointless.
Closer to home, Garry O’Connor.
Can’t always be driven by money and too much money too soon, especially with footballers, can be very very damaging without proper care.
04-08-2021, 11:54 PM
That’s exactly why so many players fail down south. Too much money far too soon. Ravel Morrison is a classic example. Skill and talent and a complete car crash of a career. I’m sure his bank balance is ok as long as he’s not been an idiot but his career is insignificant and pretty pointless.
Closer to home, Garry O’Connor.
Can’t always be driven by money and too much money too soon, especially with footballers, can be very very damaging without proper care.The other side of the coin is its generally short career that can be ended by injury at any point
Again I'd wager almost anyone on this board would move to another UK based company for double there salary.
I'd imagine Doig will get more than that thrown at him
05-08-2021, 12:18 AM
The other side of the coin is its generally short career that can be ended by injury at any point
Again I'd wager almost anyone on this board would move to another UK based company for double there salary.
What if this UK based company treated you like garbage or sent you to work with one of their business partners who are complete amateurs?
Doig should do what is right for his football. He should continue to enjoy and improve his football.
Tainting a dream with money.
I’d wager many on this board grew up wanting to play for Hibs or Scotland or some football team and most didn’t think about money.
Most lose their way when money becomes their main focus. Number of very talented players that go to the EPL and fall away to nothing. Many sad stories of players burning through their wealth and being left with nothing after their short football career.
There is a reason the club have mentioned welfare for Josh multiple times. He has to be mentally ready for that and not let the money consume him.
05-08-2021, 05:07 AM
Don't sell the player then. Would you want to move to a club that is trying to get you on the cheap?
I would seriously question what I mean to them especially at Josh's age - if Sheffield United can spend £23m on Brewster (a Liverpool U23 player) and £17m on McBurnie you need to question why these English teams are squabbling over a couple of million. They throw millions away with expensive record breaking poor signings, get relegated and lose millions through mismanagement and yet squabble over a couple of million for a talented driven youngster from Scotland.
Josh should stay at Hibs if this is their attitude. He'll be a number and nothing else. Tell them to gtf if they don't pay the going rate and properly show their interest in Doig (not just treat him as another catch in their net).
Well put. Like Mathie said, if Doig was playing in league one down there which is probably a lower level than the Premiership, he'd be worth 10 million plus. English clubs take the utter piss out of non old firm clubs because they know money is tight for us.
05-08-2021, 05:54 AM
Interesting, almost feels like Hibs were trying to start a bidding war
05-08-2021, 05:59 AM
An injury could scupper a transfer, though. He's leaving, I just want a fair fee that could improve the team.
Might never happen though the longer this drags oot the more and more unlikely a move looks
Remember John McGinn at Asteras cared not a jot just went out and played his heart out
HIBS come first if they want him just pay the going rate
JR says the boy is quite happy and he probably just wants to play fitba
Remember what it was like being 19?
Fu#k them and play him especially if there are no offers that are acceptable
05-08-2021, 06:04 AM
JR still saying it’s likely Doig will go and it’s just the “final part that matters”. Whatever that means.
https://t.co/QsQ6tVyXcH
05-08-2021, 06:20 AM
I reckon we are trying to sort out a loan back.
05-08-2021, 06:42 AM
The other side of the coin is its generally short career that can be ended by injury at any point
Whilst I fully agree with the sentiment, I can say with a degree of certainty I wouldn’t move to some backwater town in middle England for double my salary. I’m always surprised to see footballers go to these **** places for slightly more astronomical sums of money than they would get by moving somewhere decent.
If I was Josh I’d be telling my agent it’s London or nothing. **** going to live in Burnley or Hull or the like when you’re 19.
05-08-2021, 07:13 AM
JR still saying it’s likely Doig will go and it’s just the “final part that matters”. Whatever that means.
https://t.co/QsQ6tVyXcH
I would guess it means fee and salary being agreed and Josh making a decision.
05-08-2021, 07:31 AM
https://t.co/QsQ6tVyXcHI guess it's getting the deal with the buying club completed
Not sure why it's not progressed since the weekend.
My guess would be its been verbally agreed in principle with no progress from there
Magpie
05-08-2021, 07:33 AM
I would have liked him to still be part of the squad for our games this week but understandable they don’t want to risk injury etc if it’s a big money move.
Blurhibee
05-08-2021, 07:33 AM
I reckon we are trying to sort out a loan back.
From what I’ve heard of it’s either West Ham or Bournemouth he’s going straight to Nottingham forest on loan for the season
05-08-2021, 07:34 AM
Whilst I fully agree with the sentiment, I can say with a degree of certainty I wouldn’t move to some backwater town in middle England for double my salary. I’m always surprised to see footballers go to these **** places for slightly more astronomical sums of money than they would get by moving somewhere decent.
If I was Josh I’d be telling my agent it’s London or nothing. **** going to live in Burnley or Hull or the like when you’re 19.
I'd move near enough anywhere for double my salary
Never mind triple or more [emoji23]
Maybe the London clubs aren't keen?
A year or 2 in a 'backwater' town playing for Premier league Burnley would do your career (and Bank balance) no harm at all
Hull was also a stepping stone to get Andy Robertson where he is now
It will be very interesting where Josh ends up
05-08-2021, 07:40 AM
A year or 2 in a 'backwater' town playing for Premier league Burnley would do your career (and Bank balance) no harm at all
I’ve never been to the places mentioned but I’m pretty sure even the worst of places in England have got nice areas close enough by that’ll be commutable.
Guys already at these clubs and earning £20k plus a week aren’t living in slums.
I guess it's getting the deal with the buying club completed
Not sure why it's not progressed since the weekend.
My guess would be its been verbally agreed in principle with no progress from there
I would assume Hibs have let any other interested parties know where they are and allowing them time to either get back or lose out, there's been at least 4 clubs mentioned one way or another.
Thing is you don't have to live in these towns, there's some really nice little towns and villages outside they can live, many of the top Man U and city players all live in the Cheshire area.
05-08-2021, 08:11 AM
Whatever happens with Doig is really apparent that very little comes out of Hibs these days
Its annoying not getting info ahead of time but I'm glad it's the way we are being run
05-08-2021, 08:15 AM
I just hope Hibs are actually doing the right thing by him and not just talking a good game.
We wouldn’t force him out, would we?
I mean - of our best players, the ones being linked with moves away, he’s arguably the most dispensable given we’ve got cover for his position. The money for him could be earmarked for anything from strengthening the team to helipads etc.
I hate to think of us effectively forcing a young lad out who has given us his all and is happy playing for us.
(FWIW I don’t think this is likely, just putting it out there as a possible alternative explanation for what is going on, something none of us seem to know much about.)
05-08-2021, 08:24 AM
I just hope Hibs are actually doing the right thing by him and not just talking a good game.
I mean - of our best players, the ones being linked with moves away, he’s arguably the most dispensable given we’ve got cover for his position. The money for him could be earmarked for anything from strengthening the team to helipads etc.
I hate to think of us effectively forcing a young lad out who has given us his all and is happy playing for us.
(FWIW I don’t think this is likely, just putting it out there as a possible alternative explanation for what is going on, something none of us seem to know much about.)
I think it is highly unlikely!
Also, he's hardly going to have to be forced into the eyes of moves being discussed. Absolutely life changing.
05-08-2021, 08:31 AM
Whatever happens with Doig is really apparent that very little comes out of Hibs these days
Its annoying not getting info ahead of time but I'm glad it's the way we are being run
You reckon? I was thinking hibs have let more slip about Doig potentially leaving than I’ve heard hibs letting slip in the past
05-08-2021, 08:37 AM
I think it is highly unlikely!
Also, he's hardly going to have to be forced into the eyes of moves being discussed. Absolutely life changing.
I’d agree - however, the phrase “life changing” is banded about as if it is a positive.
What if he felt his life was pretty much perfect and didn’t need changing? Earning more than enough to afford everything he needs, playing well at a good level, knows he could probably benefit from playing at that level for a little bit longer before moving to a higher level, maybe he has a girlfriend he wouldn’t want to move away from?
For all it’s a short career etc, not everyone is driven totally by money.
05-08-2021, 08:40 AM
You reckon? I was thinking hibs have let more slip about Doig potentially leaving than I’ve heard hibs letting slip in the past
I think Hibs have let slip what they decided to let slip.
There may have been one or two who want him and Hibs decided that draggin on is unfair on him (and us) and have given the situation a wee nudge.
It seems pretty deliberate to me, and if it gets us the best possible deal then thats just dandy.
I think he means coming from inside sources and not as is now, coming directly from the club itself, we get very few in the know posters posting real titbits. I used to get stuff from ex players and from Tam McCourt but that all seems to have been tightened up this past couple of years.
05-08-2021, 08:47 AM
I’d agree - however, the phrase “life changing” is banded about as of it is a positive.
What if he felt his life was pretty much perfect and didn’t need changing? Earning more than enough to afford everything he needs, playing well at a good level, knows he could probably benefit from playing at that level for a little bit longer before moving to a higher level, maybe he has a girlfriend he wouldn’t want to move away from?
For all it’s a short career etc, not everyone is driven totally by money.
That might be true but he is comfortable at the moment in the sense that a mid level manager at a financial services company might be comfortable, which is lovely but a move to the type of clubs being discussed would transform his life into comfortable for a millionaire territory and beyond that if he develops well.
It is also, career wise, something that will help challenge and develop him so not entirely about the reward side of it.
But yes, he may be someone who doesn't care about any of that but I would say anyone turning down that type of opportunity would be hard to find.
05-08-2021, 08:48 AM
Absolutely not.
Mathie gave an interview the other week and basically said he wants to make sure it’s not the easy option I.e gets a move but goes straight into the 23’s and is never seen again.
He was quite adamant that the club want Josh to get the best possible deal and that the club he goes to have their best intentions for him.
05-08-2021, 08:56 AM
That might be true but he is comfortable at the moment in the sense that a mid level manager at a financial services company might be comfortable, which is lovely but a move to the type of clubs being discussed would transform his life into comfortable for a millionaire territory and beyond that if he develops well.
It is also, career wise, something that will help challenge and develop him so not entirely about the reward side of it.
But yes, he may be someone who doesn't care about any of that but I would say anyone turning down that type of opportunity would be hard to find.
I’m not sure his situation necessarily equates to that of a middle aged man with a “conventional” career.
It’s more about the different “ages” of a footballer (or arguably any young man).
At the moment he’s still effectively a teenage laddie. He’ll have different priorities by 22/23, then again as he gets towards his later 30, then again as he gets into his early to mid thirties.
I just think that the value of having piles of cash but all sorts of negative stuff might be lost on someone at 19 who hadn’t played in the first team a year ago.
05-08-2021, 08:57 AM
I think he means coming from inside sources and not as is now, coming directly from the club itself, we get very few in the know posters posting real titbits. I used to get stuff from ex players and from Tam McCourt but that all seems to have been tightened up this past couple of years.
Ah right, that makes more sense
05-08-2021, 09:10 AM
I’m not sure his situation necessarily equates to that of a middle aged man with a “conventional” career.
It’s more about the different “ages” of a footballer (or arguably any young man).
At the moment he’s still effectively a teenage laddie. He’ll have different priorities by 22/23, then again as he gets towards his later 30, then again as he gets into his early to mid thirties.
I just think that the value of having piles of cash but all sorts of negative stuff might be lost on someone at 19 who hadn’t played in the first team a year ago.
I wasn’t talking about middle age. His financial and lifestyle level of comfort won’t be beyond getting a decent job at a bank. That’s great but we are talking transformative.
I can’t imagine a 19 year old thinking that he’s fine with that life when the alternative gets you much more aligned with the mansion and Ferrari set up. That’s the reality of going from a first contract at Hibs to the teams being mentioned.
He might be quite happy not wanting any of those things but I’d doubt it. That’s before you factor the actual football opportunity.
05-08-2021, 09:29 AM
Zero details tho.
Spudster
05-08-2021, 09:42 AM
Most lose their way when money becomes their main focus. Number of very talented players that go to the EPL and fall away to nothing. Many sad stories of players burning through their wealth and being left with nothing after their short football career.
Don't move for money cos you might then spend all that money?
Reminds me of Terry Butchers thinking
"Sometimes maybe it's a good thing if you lose an early goal because it takes away the threat of conceding because you have conceded"
Great post! Another classic is Solanke. Liverpool pay £3m for him, he makes 27 appearances in 3 years, mostly as a sub, scores 1 goal & suddenly he's worth £19m!! You would have thought the success of SJM may have persuaded more English clubs to offer a reasonable price for Scottish talent.
05-08-2021, 09:44 AM
"Sometimes maybe it's a good thing if you lose an early goal because it takes away the threat of conceding because you have conceded"
I also don't think 'most' lose their way. Most people with money get on with their lives just fine and live well and conformably.
05-08-2021, 09:48 AM
John Collins springs to mind.
05-08-2021, 10:08 AM
These days you’d be incredibly unlucky to suffer a career-ending injury.
If both Doig and Nesbit complete two seasons in the Scottish top flight with us they will be better players and will attract better offers. Of course there’s a good chance that won’t happen.
Cat Stanton
05-08-2021, 10:47 AM
Meanwhile, Hearts sign an Australian I've never heard of: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-agree-deal-to-sign-australian-olympic-internationalist-but-face-a-wait-for-him-to-arrive-in-edinburgh-3334991.
Although to be fair, I haven't heard of many current Australian footballers except Martin Boyle - and he's not really Australian.
05-08-2021, 10:50 AM
Great post! Another classic is Solanke. Liverpool pay £3m for him, he makes 27 appearances in 3 years, mostly as a sub, scores 1 goal & suddenly he's worth £19m!! You would have thought the success of SJM may have persuaded more English clubs to offer a reasonable price for Scottish talent.
Tbf to Solanke, he was out of contract, knocked back several excellent offers from Chelsea and had just won the Golden Ball/Player of the Tournament at the u20 World Cup
05-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Some more thoughts from Jack Ross on Doig, Mueller and signings
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/interview/josh-doig-situation-will-determine-what-hibs-do-in-defence-says-jack-ross-as-he-pursues-chris-mueller/
05-08-2021, 11:04 AM
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/interview/josh-doig-situation-will-determine-what-hibs-do-in-defence-says-jack-ross-as-he-pursues-chris-mueller/
Doesn’t quite align with the previous comments about looking for another striker and defender regardless of what happens with Mueller and players going out.
05-08-2021, 11:13 AM
Possible good news on Hallberg if he doesn't need surgery? I do think not having him as an option is a miss in European games.
Doesn’t quite align with the previous comments about looking for another striker and defender regardless of what happens with Mueller and players going out.
I think we are looking for a centre-half regardless and the sale of Doig will determine if we also sign a left-back.
Tbf to Solanke, he was out of contract, knocked back several excellent offers from Chelsea and had just won the Golden Ball/Player of the Tournament at the u20 World Cup
That was when he went to Liverpool, not when he went for £19m to Bournemouth.
05-08-2021, 11:30 AM
I’ve never been to the places mentioned but I’m pretty sure even the worst of places in England have got nice areas close enough by that’ll be commutable.
Guys already at these clubs and earning £20k plus a week aren’t living in slums.
You do want a bit of culture and heritage. Basically Edinburgh or London.
05-08-2021, 11:31 AM
To me that reads if we don’t get Mueller in now we will try get someone else, still trying for a centre half and a left back will depend on Doig staying or leaving.
Most managers undersell how much work the club are trying to do, to me I think we’ll be working on quite a few options.
Think we’ll still see quite a few leave;
Gullan - Permanent
Bradley - Loan
Campbell - Loan
05-08-2021, 11:32 AM
I think we are looking for a centre-half regardless and the sale of Doig will determine if we also sign a left-back.
That's how I read it.
05-08-2021, 11:40 AM
To me that reads if we don’t get Mueller in now we will try get someone else, still trying for a centre half and a left back will depend on Doig staying or leaving.
Most managers undersell how much work the club are trying to do, to me I think we’ll be working on quite a few options.
Think we’ll still see quite a few leave;
Gullan - Permanent
Bradley - Loan
Campbell - Loan
Zero point in sending Campbell out on another loan. Happy to keep him around as cheap squad depth.
Mr. Wonderful
05-08-2021, 11:46 AM
Zero point in sending Campbell out on another loan. Happy to keep him around as cheap squad depth.
I think there's potential that hibs see something more than just a squad player there with him. He's had minutes in each of our competitive matches this season, sometimes ahead of other more household names like Allan or Wright.
05-08-2021, 12:10 PM
McNulty maybe heading back to Dundee Utd.
I agree, has done fairly well when he's played and should have a bit of experience with the loans he's had, didn't look out of place at all and a decent squad player like Hallberg.
05-08-2021, 12:28 PM
I never said don't move for money because you may spend all the money.
People can trivialise this as much as they want but money can destroy lives. Seems a silly notion as you get older and wiser but even that isn't always the case.
We get lottery winners complaining about it damaging their lives and them feeling lost without genuine friends etc.
Money isn't all its made out to be. Certainly shouldn't spend your life chasing it constantly. Football career is short. Life is short too.
Josh will earn well in football without moving for money constantly. If he does well on the pitch it'll come to him naturally. He needs to be ready for it when it comes.
05-08-2021, 01:17 PM
You reckon? I was thinking hibs have let more slip about Doig potentially leaving than I’ve heard hibs letting slip in the pastDefinitely. Hibs let's this out from official means
We hardly have any 'ITK' posts now that actually come to fruition
Torto7
05-08-2021, 01:29 PM
Shankland seems to be on the move. Bids of half a million turned down but likely to go due to the arabs financial situation.
Torto7
05-08-2021, 01:31 PM
I agree, has done fairly well when he's played and should have a bit of experience with the loans he's had, didn't look out of place at all and a decent squad player like Hallberg.
He's an interesting one. He was moved further forward at Edinburgh City and really took to it, he's got a fine shot on him as well as a good engine. I could see him surprising some people this season as he looks like he's more than capable of playing at this level.
05-08-2021, 01:34 PM
He's an interesting one. He was moved further forward at Edinburgh City and really took to it, he's got a fine shot on him as well as a good engine. I could see him surprising some people this season as he looks like he's more than capable of playing at this level.
Yeah. Think he will offer more than Halberg.
05-08-2021, 03:07 PM
Meanwhile, Hearts sign an Australian I've never heard of: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-agree-deal-to-sign-australian-olympic-internationalist-but-face-a-wait-for-him-to-arrive-in-edinburgh-3334991.
Although to be fair, I haven't heard of many current Australian footballers except Martin Boyle - and he's not really Australian.
Devlin did really well for the Phoenix and they tried to keep hold of him, could be a good signing for Hearts if he settles in.
05-08-2021, 03:12 PM
They're getting in a flap about possibly losing Souttar for nothing next year.
Si Ferry saying Celtic should buy him for £8m.
Yup, seriously.
chippy
05-08-2021, 03:15 PM
Yeah. Think he will offer more than Halberg.
I hope he makes it , sounds promising, Hibs fan too apparently. I’m liking the way Mathie, Ross and the back room team are working. I really like the look of Bradley too.
05-08-2021, 03:15 PM
Is Ferry saying Celtic should buy him for £8m.
Yup, seriously.
They won't get £1m for him. Decent, but yet another seriously overrated jambo
05-08-2021, 03:35 PM
Si Ferry saying Celtic should buy him for £8m.
Yup, seriously.
He'll be embarrassed when he realises italian lira isn't legal tender.
05-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Tricky one for Hearts.
They'll be trying to get him to sign a new contract now but if he has a sniff of big money come next summer he might decide to hold off.
Guess they could offer him an improved deal now with a promise of a move in the summer if they get a bid if £x.
Gut feeling is he'll see out his contract. That's more the norm over there.
05-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Souttar is a decent defender and you cannot deny that the lad has tremendous attitude and fortitude given his horrendous injury record. But it's the latter that will always follow him and deter big bids. There is already an unreliability due to his injury record.
As for Shankland - has only really proven himself in the Championship, not a player that I worry about when we've come up against him, but can see him going to Hearts to try and 'resurrect' his career here in Scotland - his issue will be that Neilson favours playing one striker and two wide players. Not a player I would want to see at Hibs to be truthful.
I'll be honest :cb and for all his 'failings' off the field of late, I'd happily see us put in a wee bid to Dundee for Jason. His goals to games record up here is up with the best and I honestly think he would thrive with the likes of Boyle, Murphy, MacKay and Doidge. His best football was with Holt alongside. Plus I think he's still a good age to give us a few good seasons. As for derbies, he scares the life out of them too :greengrin
05-08-2021, 03:44 PM
They won't get £1m for him. Decent, but yet another seriously overrated jambo
I disagree. Guys been unlucky with injuries but I think he’s a cracking CB when fit
Would be funny if he seen out his contract considering how long he’s been out injured
Souttar is a decent defender and you cannot deny that the lad has tremendous attitude and fortitude given his horrendous injury record. But it's the latter that will always follow him and deter big bids. There is already an unreliability due to his injury record.
As for Shankland - has only really proven himself in the Championship, not a player that I worry about when we've come up against him, but can see him going to Hearts to try and 'resurrect' his career here in Scotland - his issue will be that Neilson favours playing one striker and two wide players. Not a player I would want to see at Hibs to be truthful.
I'll be honest :cb and for all his 'failings' off the field of late, I'd happily see us put in a wee bid to Dundee for Jason. His goals to games record up here is up with the best and I honestly think he would thrive with the likes of Boyle, Murphy, MacKay and Doidge. His best football was with Holt alongside. Plus I think he's still a good age to give us a few good seasons. As for derbies, he scares the life out of them too :greengrin
He hasn't even been first pick at Dundee recently. Started on the bench on Saturday and didn't get a single minute of their vital playoff tie. And most of his excellent goals to games ratio was in the Championship, same as Shankland.
I disagree. Guys been unlucky with injuries but I think he’s a cracking CB when fit
Would be funny if he seen out his contract considering how long he’s been out injured
Agree but some Jambo chums reckon they’ll get big bucks for him! He can sign a prenup contract in Jan do doubt they’ll get more than 1-1.5 million for him.
DetroitHibs
05-08-2021, 04:39 PM
I hope Hibs are holding out for the 4-5 million asking price for Doig. I know the Huns if it was there RB Patterson would be asking 7-8 million for him. Doig is a far better prospect.
05-08-2021, 04:54 PM
Ron seems to understand the benefit of keeping good players as long as possible. I don’t think this is a concern.
cameronw-hfc
05-08-2021, 05:15 PM
I read the situation as more Hibs don't want to mess about with will he/wont he for the rest of the window so we've decided to let him go to the teams that matched our asking price. Don't think it's us pushing him out, more making a quick decision rather than letting the debacle of will he go or not go on. Could be wrong though
Magpie
05-08-2021, 05:50 PM
Lionel Messi is leaving Barcelona.
05-08-2021, 05:53 PM
Doig on subs bench tonight.:confused:
05-08-2021, 05:59 PM
Doig on subs bench tonight.:confused:He is
05-08-2021, 06:00 PM
Lionel Messi is leaving Barcelona.Would not be surpirsed to see some twists and turns yet but I'd love to see him in the EPL
huggie1875
05-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Jason Cummings? please mate lets move on theres a reason hes a dundee player
Lionel Messi is leaving Barcelona.
Imagine the scenes…….
05-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Grealish confirmed at Citee
100m
BBC
05-08-2021, 07:09 PM
Ali McCann has been outstanding for St Johnstone tonight. Surely be away soon.
05-08-2021, 07:15 PM
Grealish confirmed at Citee
100m
BBC
A good young player, but 100 million quid. Transfer fees and wages in the EPL are truly obscene.
05-08-2021, 08:51 PM
A good young player, but 100 million quid. Transfer fees and wages in the EPL are truly obscene.26 next month isn't that young
Still, young player or not he's just a cracking player
05-08-2021, 09:11 PM
26 next month isn't that young
Still, young player or not he's just a cracking player
I actually thought he's younger than that: 22 or so. Yes, he's a very good player.
05-08-2021, 09:12 PM
Tonight shows why we definitely need another striker in sooner rather than later. That falls to a striker in the last minute it’s in
05-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Tonight shows why we definitely need another striker in sooner rather than later. That falls to a striker in the last minute it’s inEven Doidge? [emoji848][emoji23]
05-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Tonight shows why we definitely need another striker in sooner rather than later. That falls to a striker in the last minute it’s in
I think the other end of the park is where we need to strengthen first tbf - and badly.
05-08-2021, 09:22 PM
I think the other end of the park is where we need to strengthen first tbf - and badly.
I would agree. Too soft from McGinn again, easily beaten to get the cross in for their goal tonight and no one challenging the header.
Selkirkhibs
05-08-2021, 09:23 PM
A good young player, but 100 million quid. Transfer fees and wages in the EPL are truly obscene.
Bargain. Great player who will only get better at City.
Its all relative anyway. A club like Stenhousemuir would likely call Celtic or Rangers transfer fees obscene. You pay for what you can afford and can get within your own individual budget. Its the way of the world.
05-08-2021, 09:24 PM
I would agree. Too soft from McGinn again, easily beaten to get the cross in for their goal tonight and no one challenging the header.
McGinn was excellent last season but has had quite a few sloppy moments this season already. As it stands just now though he has no competition for his place.
MagicSwirlingShip
05-08-2021, 09:27 PM
First rule of defending cross balls into your box; stop the cross. A nothing challenge from Mcginn
Gordy M
05-08-2021, 09:28 PM
Another striker would be nice but our front three scored almost 50 goals last year, they are all still here, we have averaged over 2 goals a game so far this season. Because we missed a couple of chances doesnt mean that bringing in a 3rd striker, who will pribably be a back up will change anything radically.
05-08-2021, 09:29 PM
I would agree unless Kevin's going to miss time
05-08-2021, 09:30 PM
McGinn was excellent last season but has had quite a few sloppy moments this season already. As it stands just now though he has no competition for his place.
Do you think that McGinn is unprofessional enough to let his standards fall because he has no competition? Seriously?
05-08-2021, 09:30 PM
Agree both.
And we can add Gogic to the "was ok last season but isnae really good enough" list............
We have now lost a soft headed goal Scottish Cup Final, Two soft headed goals on Sunday and one tonight.
We simply dont have a commanding presence in the middle................so might as well add Hanlon to that list too.
I dont want to sound like Mr Doom, as we have great midfield and attacking options now, but we are soft as my first ***** at the back.
Selkirkhibs
05-08-2021, 09:32 PM
Yip. He was probably my worst man of the match tonight. Some poor play and decision making by him. He failed to control an easy enough pass to him and it went straight out of play which is criminal against european sides. Has to pull his socks up in the games ahead which he is capable of as we've seen in the past.
05-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Do you think that McGinn is unprofessional enough to let his standards fall because he has no competition? Seriously?
It wasn’t really the point I was making, more so even if he has poor games he’s not going to be dropped. But to answer your question no, not intentionally, but having competition for your place is never a bad thing.
05-08-2021, 09:40 PM
Agree both.
And we can add Gogic to the "was ok last season but isnae really good enough" list............
We have now lost a soft headed goal Scottish Cup Final, Two soft headed goals on Sunday and one tonight.
We simply dont have a commanding presence in the middle................so might as well add Hanlon to that list too.
I dont want to sound like Mr Doom, as we have great midfield and attacking options now, but we are soft as my first ***** at the back.
Gogic has looked really poor the past few games, he has his strengths but to me although a different type of player JDH plays instead of him. Bar the goal I thought PH was good tonight, but thought Porto was excellent, a really measured mature performance from him.
We definitely need another centre back though. I don’t think we’ll sign another striker unless we lose one of Boyle or Nisbet, I think Mueller will provide that cover assuming we can get him in early.
05-08-2021, 09:42 PM
Yip. He was probably my worst man of the match tonight. Some poor play and decision making by him. He failed to control an easy enough pass to him and it went straight out of play which is criminal against european sides. Has to pull his socks up in the games ahead which he is capable of as we've seen in the past.Criminal?
Settle down
05-08-2021, 09:45 PM
Yip. He was probably my worst man of the match tonight. Some poor play and decision making by him. He failed to control an easy enough pass to him and it went straight out of play which is criminal against european sides. Has to pull his socks up in the games ahead which he is capable of as we've seen in the past.
Very over the top. Not his best game but nobody let themselves down tonight.
An extra couple of options across the back in this window and a striker and I’m happy.
05-08-2021, 09:47 PM
Still think we will have a busy few weeks in the transfermarket, we currently have a squad of 24 according to transfermarket
Out of the 24 there are a few mid to long term injury concerns, Makie, Cadden and Hallberg.
There are a few who are struggling to get into the 1st team I-e Gullan, Bradley, Wright and McGregor.
Obviously some of the above give is some depth and can help from the bench but still expect 3 more in maybe 4 if we can get Mueller in.
Enjoyed what is seen tonight to be fair.
05-08-2021, 09:49 PM
Daily Record ⬇️
Glenn Middleton to leave Rangers on loan again as St Johnstone cup hero primed for Perth return
The winger provided a spark at Saints in their run to the Scottish Cup and Callum Davidson is about to land him for a second spell.
05-08-2021, 09:52 PM
Another striker would be nice but our front three scored almost 50 goals last year, they are all still here, we have averaged over 2 goals a game so far this season. Because we missed a couple of chances doesnt mean that bringing in a 3rd striker, who will pribably be a back up will change anything radically.
But if you go with 2 up top which I think we might do for the rest of the season (don’t think one up there suits us or Kev) you’ve got no-one to bring on off the bench. Bringing on Mackay tonight and putting him up top highlighted that. A striker finishes his chance
AL-Qaholik
05-08-2021, 09:53 PM
Still think we need:
A first choice left back (assuming Doig goes)
A good back up RB to keep McGinn’s standards up.
A genuinely commanding centre half.
A keeper who can deal with crosses (it is no coincidence we lost headed goals in the cup last year when Rocky didn’t play. Macey is decent but does not command his area.)
A nasty defensive mid who can break the play up and wind up opponents.
A “number 10” attacking mid.
A decent back up striker option.
A left winger.
Best of luck, Hibs. 🤣
05-08-2021, 09:54 PM
Still think we need:
A keeper who can deal with crosses (it is no coincidence we lost headed goals in the cup last year when Rocky didn’t play. Macey is decent but does not command his area.)
A left winger.
Best of luck, Hibs. 🤣
You’re well off the mark here. A left winger? We’ve got Murphy and Mackay for left wing. Agree with maybe LB if doig goes, striker and a CB but not the rest
Gordy M
05-08-2021, 09:55 PM
But if you go with 2 up top which I think we might do for the rest of the season (don’t think one up there suits us or Kev) you’ve got no-one to bring on off the bench. Bringing on Mackay tonight and putting him up top highlighted that. A striker finishes his chance
Do they? How do you know that? So no striker has missed a one on one?This is getting silly now, first we have if Hanlon and Stevenson werent playing then it would have been 2-0 and if a 'striker' was playing instead of McKay then it would have been 2-1??
inglisavhibs
05-08-2021, 09:57 PM
Agree both.
Hanlon and Porteous were absolutely immense tonight and even played 3 against 3 for the last 15 minutes. Yes McGinn was too easily beaten but mistakes happen. To criticise our central defenders tonight in any way is way out of line. Porteous in particular I thought was probably the best player on the park.
05-08-2021, 09:59 PM
Do they? How do you know that? So no striker has missed a one on one?This is getting silly now, first we have if Hanlon and Stevenson werent playing then it would have been 2-0 and if a 'striker' was playing instead of McKay then it would have been 2-1??
I’d have fancied a striker more in that position than a winger aye, of course I don’t know for certain.
There’s nout silly about what I’ve said. We need another striker to bring on and have done since last season
I’ve not said **** all either about Stevenson or Hanlon not playing would’ve meant it was 2-0 😂
05-08-2021, 09:59 PM
And has to play most games There were times last season he needed rested
05-08-2021, 10:02 PM
I’d have fancied a striker more in that position than a winger aye, of course I don’t know for certain.
There’s nout silly about what I’ve said. We need another striker to bring on and have done since last season
I’ve not said **** all either about Stevenson or Hanlon not playing would’ve meant it was 2-0 😂
You never said you’d fancy a striker more, you said a striker would finish that. There’s a big difference, would a striker have peeled off to the left and had the pace for it? Mackay has scored plenty of goals, we could do with another but I’ve no issue whatsoever with Boyle and Mackay being able to go play up there if our two first choice are out for whatever reason.
05-08-2021, 10:04 PM
You never said you’d fancy a striker more, you said a striker would finish that. There’s a big difference, would a striker have peeled off to the left and had the pace for it? Mackay has scored plenty of goals, we could do with another but I’ve no issue whatsoever with Boyle and Mackay being able to go play up there if our two first choice are out for whatever reason.
Aye because I think a striker would finish that chance. In fact i think any player with a bit more composure would’ve finished that.
Na I’d rather we brought in a striker who plays as a striker as oppose to moving in winger in there. So does our manager it would seem as he wants one in
Mantis Toboggan
05-08-2021, 10:04 PM
Still think we need:
A left winger.
Best of luck, Hibs. 🤣
At least the username is honest
Gordy M
05-08-2021, 10:05 PM
I’ve not said **** all either about Stevenson or Hanlon not playing would’ve meant it was 2-0
I never said you said anything about hanlon or stevenson so calm down pettel, you said another striker would have scored which you cant know, like a another poster who said we wouldve won 2-0 if PH and LS werent playing which they cant know.
05-08-2021, 10:07 PM
Aye because I think a striker would finish that chance. In fact i think any player with a bit more composure would’ve finished that.
Na I’d rather we brought in a striker who plays as a striker as oppose to moving in winger in there. So does our manager it would seem as he wants one in
‘A striker finishes that’ to ‘of course I don’t know for certain’ to ‘I think a striker would finish that’… impressive.
He is trying to bring one in, it would be handy, but it’ll be difficult to find a third choice striker who is better in that position that Boyle for example who has been outstanding there at times.
05-08-2021, 10:08 PM
I never said you said anything about hanlon or stevenson so calm down pettle, you said another striker would have scored which you cant know, like a another poster who said we wouldve won 2-0 if PH and LS werent playing which they cant know.
I think you’re the one who needs to relax mate, I’d fancy a striker in that situ.
You keep bringing up this Stevenson Hanlon 2-0 debate which has nothing to do with my post. Weird.
05-08-2021, 10:09 PM
‘A striker finishes that’ to ‘of course I don’t know for certain’ to ‘I think a striker would finish that’… impressive.
He is trying to bring one in, it would be handy, but it’ll be difficult to find a third choice striker who is better in that position that Boyle for example who has been outstanding there at times.
Aye, a striker finishes that as in I’m confident a striker would finish that chance. Christ, incredibly pedantic.
05-08-2021, 10:11 PM
Just back home from the game and thought I’d log on to see what was being said about a good European performance against a side with a much better recent pedigree.
Did not expect to see infighting about players who were immense individually and as a unit. Pretty poor, in my opinion of course.
Gordy M
05-08-2021, 10:12 PM
I think you’re the one who needs to relax mate, I’d fancy a striker in that situ.
You keep bringing up this Stevenson Hanlon 2-0 debate which has nothing to do with my post. Weird.
Thats not what you said initially but crack on. If you cant underdtand the relevance of what another poster wrote and what you wrote......then what can i tell you. The 2 of you seem to have a crystal ball as to what would have happened if different players were playing.
05-08-2021, 10:13 PM
Aye, a striker finishes that as in I’m confident a striker would finish that chance. Christ, incredibly pedantic.
Nothing pedantic about it, you made a statement that you then agreed that you don’t really believe. I don’t think a striker makes the movement Mackay makes or has the pace Mackay does to get there. It was a good save and he was obviously disappointed but I’ve seen our own two first choice strikers Miss far easier chances than that, and plenty of them! Nisbet couldn’t hit a barn door tonight.
05-08-2021, 10:14 PM
Nothing pedantic about it, you made a statement that you then agreed that you don’t really believe. I don’t think a striker makes the movement Mackay makes or has the pace Mackay does to get there. It was a good save and he was obviously disappointed but I’ve seen our own two first choice strikers Miss far easier chances than that, and plenty of them! Nisbet couldn’t hit a barn door tonight.
It had nothing to do with pace, Allan laid the ball on a plate for Mackay he’s not had to get a sprint on to get there
I disagree it was a good save, it was a really poor miss imo. Opportunities you can’t really be missing at this level.
05-08-2021, 10:16 PM
It had nothing to do with pace, Allan laid the ball on a plate for Mackay he’s not had to get a sprint on to get there
I disagree it was a good save, it was a really poor miss imo. Opportunities you can’t really be missing at this level.
Disagree, Allan played it to his feet but Mackay touch and pace got him across the defender and gave him the opportunity.
Poor finish but it was rushed, think he should have opened up and went with his right.
05-08-2021, 10:17 PM
Disagree, Allan played it to his feet but Mackay touch and pace got him across the defender and gave him the opportunity.
Poor finish but it was rushed, think he should have opened up and went with his right.
I’d maybe need to see it again then but I thought it was on a plate
Aye or low and hard to a corner.
05-08-2021, 10:18 PM
Just back home from the game and thought I’d log on to see what was being said about a good European performance against a side with a much better recent pedigree.
Did not expect to see infighting about players who were immense individually and as a unit. Pretty poor, in my opinion of course.
I’m the same mate.
We were the much better team and that’s a Rijeka team that are in Europe most seasons and so well.
It was a poor goal but I could see I weirdly saw it coming when it started over on the right. They upped the tempo and I don’t know if it’s just that Hibs fans feeling you get.
But on another night we score some of the great chances we created
They labelled us a long ball team and plenty fans moan about our style. We passed them off the park and we’re brilliant on the ball.
Nevi_SOL
05-08-2021, 10:20 PM
I’m the same mate.
We were the much better team and that’s a Rijeka team that are in Europe most seasons and so well.
It was a poor goal but I could see I weirdly saw it coming when it started over on the right. They upped the tempo and I don’t know if it’s just that Hibs fans feeling you get.
But on another night we score some of the great chances we created
They labelled us a long ball team and plenty fans moan about our style. We passed them off the park and we’re brilliant on the ball.
Agree 100% I don’t think people realise how good we actually are. Compared to not so long ago
inglisavhibs
05-08-2021, 10:41 PM
Well said mate, you can only despair at some of the criticism of individuals on here. Really enjoyed our performance against a very decent team.
05-08-2021, 11:12 PM
Agree 100% I don’t think people realise how good we actually are. Compared to not so long ago
I was thinking exactly the same at the game tonight. We are a proper attractive football team and a superb club at the moment but you'd think we were horrendous if you read half what's on social media and here.
Fenlon/Calderwood/Butcher days were only a few years ago when we could barely string 3 passes together and were an absolute shambles.
05-08-2021, 11:24 PM
Can strengthen all we want. Full backs kept getting left 2 vs 1 like they did on Sunday, it wont matter.
DetroitHibs
06-08-2021, 12:57 AM
This thread doesn't half get blown up with utter dross that has absolutely ZERO to do with transfers. Scrolling through pages and pages of bickering.
06-08-2021, 03:06 AM
This thread doesn't half get blown up with utter dross that has absolutely ZERO to do with transfers. Scrolling through pages and pages of bickering.
Thank god your contribution is getting the thread back on track.
06-08-2021, 05:08 AM
I was thinking exactly the same at the game tonight. We are a proper attractive football team and a superb club at the moment but you'd think we were horrendous if you read half what's on social media and here.
Fenlon/Calderwood/Butcher days were only a few years ago when we could barely string 3 passes together and were an absolute shambles.
People have short memories. We were in danger of relegation two years ago
tonyrougier123
06-08-2021, 06:13 AM
We could still really do with insulating this squad.need to really step up the signings now to progress and kick on under Ross.
I also find this team can play well on the good surfaces this time of year but we need a wee bit grit to get the job done in winter months.I feel that’s hampered us a bit last couple seasons.
06-08-2021, 06:29 AM
In fairness mate u r talking nonsense, I agree with u in the fact we need a 3rd striker, probably Mueller if we get him early but Doidge and Nisbet and Boyle have all missed plenty 1 on 1 s in their time...no guarantee they'd have scored that tonight.. their keeper actually done very well
06-08-2021, 06:45 AM
But ones that are missed virtually every game by teams and players of 0-100 on the ability scale?
06-08-2021, 07:18 AM
Hanlon and Porteous were absolutely immense tonight and even played 3 against 3 for the last 15 minutes. Yes McGinn was too easily beaten but mistakes happen. To criticise our central defenders tonight in any way is way out of line. Porteous in particular I thought was probably the best player on the park.
Correct. And if Jack didn’t think they were commanding CHs he would be playing Daz.
06-08-2021, 07:31 AM
I’m comfortable with our centre half options, not so much with our full backs.
Stevenson was excellent last night but we know his limitations going forward and McGinn was very poor last night. It may be a season too far for him.
A few going on about Mackay missing the 1on1 and wanting a striker, you realise Nisbet and Doidge have missed 1on1's, as has Boyle. If you look at recruitment Ross is wanting 3 up top with 1 through the middle and 2 either side, hence why Mueller has been signed as he plays across the front 3 position like Boyle and Mackay. My only worry is Murphy who looks half the player we were expecting to get, shows the odd glimpse but that's not nearly enough, add in Wright who has shown nothing since he came, I'd rather see Bradley on the bench instead of Wright.
Lewis did fine last night, slightly at fault for the goal but who was the midfielder that was meant to be tracking their player, just allowed him to run into the box unchallenged, Lewis should've been aware of him though. If and when Doig goes I'd expect another LB to be ready to come in asap.
06-08-2021, 08:32 AM
Nisbet is never a lone striker and I don't think one up front works for hibs.
I respect and like Gullan but as a few have said can't see him making that next step up, Laidlaw has so much hype about him but not been giving a chance yet.
Do we need another striker? I'd say yes.
06-08-2021, 08:33 AM
Can strengthen all we want. Full backs kept getting left 2 vs 1 like they did on Sunday, it wont matter.
Very true and we don't have cover for a RB since SDG retired
06-08-2021, 08:35 AM
Very true and we don't have cover for a RB since SDG retired
Well not one who is currently fit anyway.
Percy Vere
06-08-2021, 10:33 AM
Absolutely right
Great performance again
Much more confidence about this team
A few going on about Mackay missing the 1on1 and wanting a striker, you realise Nisbet and Doidge have missed 1on1's, as has Boyle. If you look at recruitment Ross is wanting 3 up top with 1 through the middle and 2 either side, hence why Mueller has been signed as he plays across the front 3 position like Boyle and Mackay. My only worry is Murphy who looks half the player we were expecting to get, shows the odd glimpse but that's not nearly enough, add in Wright who has shown nothing since he came, I'd rather see Bradley on the bench instead of Wright.
Lewis did fine last night, slightly at fault for the goal but who was the midfielder that was meant to be tracking their player, just allowed him to run into the box unchallenged, Lewis should've been aware of him though. If and when Doig goes I'd expect another LB to be ready to come in asap.
I think you’re being a bit harsh on Lewis JC. He was covering 2 players and no one followed the runner and I’m more than sure he was aware but what does he do?? Leave the man with the ball??
So how was Lewis at fault??
06-08-2021, 11:05 AM
I don't think the cross should have been allowed in, in the first place. Paul McGinn had plenty of time to make the block. I am not going to slate any of our players though because under all the circumstances it was an all round good performance even though we should have come away with more than one goal, those things happen.
06-08-2021, 11:14 AM
You’re well off the mark here. A left winger? We’ve got Murphy and Mackay for left wing. Agree with maybe LB if doig goes, striker and a CB but not the rest
I agree with you Stuart93. We will rely on Murphy to give us a bit of creativity in front of Lewis,and MacKay is still a bit inexperienced at this level but getting into the position he did last night to almost score should mean that when he settles he should do nicely. Chris Cadden will perhaps take Paul McGinns slot at RB, so if Josh does go then yes a LB is necessary, Mackie has the physique but not the creativity imo. CBs not easy to come by but if we have cash from JD sale and maybe Europe (we will see), then it should be doable.
06-08-2021, 11:31 AM
I don't think the cross should have been allowed in, in the first place. Paul McGinn had plenty of time to make the block. I am not going to slate any of our players though because under all the circumstances it was an all round good performance even though we should have come away with more than one goal, those things happen.
McGinn looked like he was simply skinned by a player with a decent burst of pace.
It’ll happen from time to time.
06-08-2021, 11:32 AM
I think you’re being a bit harsh on Lewis JC. He was covering 2 players and no one followed the runner and I’m more than sure he was aware but what does he do?? Leave the man with the ball??
Lewis was fantastic last night and it would have been brilliant if he had scored the shot off the post after starting the move however I would say the full back should be covering the back post area in that scenario and should have attacked the ball. I think the look on his face indicated he could have done a little better though other parts of the move we should have done better also primarily the cross itself.
In saying all that our performance was imo as good as this team has played under JR and way more positives than negatives in terms how we played frustrating as it was not to win.
06-08-2021, 11:34 AM
McGinn looked like he was simply skinned by a player with a decent burst of pace.
That was right in front of me I think he should have stopped the cross the guy didn't outspeed him or have a trick and imo should have been blocked or deflected behind.
Torto7
06-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Nisbet is never a lone striker and I don't think one up front works for hibs.
I respect and like Gullan but as a few have said can't see him making that next step up, Laidlaw has so much hype about him but not been giving a chance yet.
Do we need another striker? I'd say yes.
Nisbet has been fine as the lone striker in the first few games. He also played that role for the pars before getting his move. Doidge tends to play off the left when we play both of them.
06-08-2021, 12:14 PM
DONE DEAL! Ross County sign Coventry midfielder Jack Burroughs on a season long loan
⬇️ ⬇️ ⬇️
https://t.co/FH4jSGCH7r https://t.co/Yy3GcFUmbo
06-08-2021, 12:32 PM
I could be wrong but I’m fairly sure there wasn’t any other bodies anywhere near the back post? The scorer was the only one.
Whilst it’s all ifs and buts, if suburbs had followed the runner for the first cross we may not have conceded a goal. However someone should have been tucking in at the back post…. Lewis possibly but what about any midfielders!
After watching it again Newell is mostly at fault for allowing the guy to simply stroll past, Lewis was caught on the hop.
06-08-2021, 01:58 PM
After watching it again Newell is mostly at fault for allowing the guy to simply stroll past, Lewis was caught on the hop.
He could’ve went with him, but when there was a centre half, a left back and a big keeper in the 6 yard box already then I’m not sure he needed to. Stevenson had to do better once the ball came in but McGinn is the only one truly at fault for letting it come in. Said it for 2 years, we allow far too many crosses into our box, we don’t do enough to stop them. We knew their biggest danger, and didn’t stop it,
06-08-2021, 02:14 PM
Why has the match thread migrated to the transfer thread?
06-08-2021, 02:24 PM
You keep saying that, but did you see the chances Nesbit missed, have you seen the chances Doidge has missed 1 on 1 since signing?
Unless we sign a player who never misses, what you are saying is mince.
He was a bit at back post but offered are there too
06-08-2021, 03:41 PM
You could say that but Paul half heartedly lifts a foot to block the cross but its a half hearted effort, he could have stretched more. The best way to stop goals from in play crosses will always be to stop crosses being made. Once the cross is made anything can happen.
King Cosell
06-08-2021, 03:44 PM
Glenn Middleton back at St Johnstone. Season-long loan.
06-08-2021, 03:47 PM
⬇️Think we had this boy at ER for a trial?
Welcome to Ross County, Ben Paton🤝
Canadian midfielder Ben joins his older brother Harry in the County ranks...
06-08-2021, 03:48 PM
You could say that but Paul half heartedly lifts a foot to block the cross but its a half hearted effort, he could have stretched more. The best way to stop goals from in play crosses will always be to stop crosses being made. Once the cross is made anything can happen.
Drummed into you from a young age.
Tommy75
06-08-2021, 04:42 PM
My mate in Ireland reckons a few Scottish clubs are interested in Jamie Harney of Cliftonville. No idea if we would be one of those clubs.
06-08-2021, 05:07 PM
⬇️Think we had this boy at ER for a trial?
Welcome to Ross County, Ben Paton🤝
Canadian midfielder Ben joins his older brother Harry in the County ranks...
They've signed 3 players today I think
06-08-2021, 05:09 PM
I know the whole Doig saga might have put a spanner in the works. But I'm genuinely surprised we haven't signed a defender yet. Even with Doig we're short on numbers at the back.
06-08-2021, 05:14 PM
Exclusive
By Robert Thomson
Dundee United are closing in on Finnish winger Ilmari Niskanen.
SunSport understands the Tangerines have agreed a fee with Bundesliga 2 side Ingolstadt 04 for the 23-year-old.
Niskanen, who has six caps for his country, has been a long-term target for the Tannadice club but moved to Germany from KuPS last year.
06-08-2021, 05:38 PM
I heard we are after the Iclandic winger Crossitoverson
06-08-2021, 05:40 PM
Somebody will be searching Google or YouTube for him right now 😅
06-08-2021, 06:07 PM
"Hamilton have turned down an approach from Dundee United for defender Scott McMann. The Tannadice side made an offer for the 25-year-old but it was immediately rebuffed by Accies chiefs. Hamlton won't prevent McMann but will look for a sizable fee"👀✍️( @scotsunsport) | #DUFC https://t.co/jF1MvATkVM
06-08-2021, 06:11 PM
I tell ye something, they two absolute fannies on Sky Sports News at the moment do my box in (Dharmesh and Kaveh)
Talking at 1mph and trying to sound as if they’re in the know when in reality they are a couple of absolute slavers.
06-08-2021, 06:13 PM
I tell ye something, they two absolute fannies on Sky Sports News at the moment do my box in (Dharmesh and Kaveh)
Talking at 1mph and trying to sound as if they’re in the know when in reality they are a couple of absolute slavers.
That are a couple of Nigel Havers right enough, our sources this, I'm led to believe that 😅
06-08-2021, 06:14 PM
That are a couple of Nigel Havers right enough, our sources this, I'm led to believe that 😅
They’re basically Brightside with a microphone 😉
06-08-2021, 06:16 PM
Or the Icelandic international goalkeeper Tipitoversson?
06-08-2021, 06:19 PM
Also interested in his team mate Heiditinthenetson.
06-08-2021, 06:22 PM
Who was the Icelandic left back that played last night? For***sakestevenson
06-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Did Messi play against us at Murrayfield that time?
06-08-2021, 06:31 PM
Did Messi play against us at Murrayfield that time?I believe so
06-08-2021, 06:32 PM
Yes. That was the first time he wore the number 10 shirt.
MagicSwirlingShip
06-08-2021, 06:38 PM
Also interested in his team mate Heiditinthenetson.
Inthemixerson
yerauldda
06-08-2021, 06:42 PM
Spot on. The pair of them are unbearable. So smug as well. At least Dharmesh has stopped staring down the camera though..
06-08-2021, 06:46 PM
One of the reasons Paul Hanlon isn't able to jump for their headers 10 yards away is because he still has Messi in his pocket.
Highwayman
06-08-2021, 06:50 PM
Messi did play against us at Murrayfield
I remember him tormenting a young Paul Hanlon.
Apart from Messi that Barcelona team included some top quality players.
They were great to watch even although they thumped us 6-0.
Think Messi will be the only one playing for Barcelona that night still currently playing.
How about a season at ER Lionel ? Oh well no harm in asking.
06-08-2021, 07:07 PM
Think Messi will be the only one playing for Barcelona that night still currently playing.
You’d be surprised there is quite a few, Messi, Alves, Bojan, Pique, Pedro - possibly even Sergio Busquets?
Mr. Wonderful
06-08-2021, 07:18 PM
You’d be surprised there is quite a few, Messi, Alves, Bojan, Pique, Pedro - possibly even Sergio Busquets?
Think it was sergi buckets debut
06-08-2021, 07:27 PM
Somebody mentioned Kipre a fee days back, he's starting for WBA this evening.
Don't think it was a firm rumour just someone throwing a name as somebody we could look at.
06-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Tottenham have signed Argentina defender Cristian Romero from Atalanta for about £47m.
The fee is the second highest Spurs have paid for a player behind the £53.8m for Tanguy Ndombele in 2019. (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48841318)
Romero, 23, who won the Copa America with Argentina earlier in the summer, was voted the best defender in Serie A last season.
He becomes Spurs' third summer signing and takes their outlay leading up to the new season to nearly £70m.
maybe spending some of the fee they get when kane leaves :hmmm:
06-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Scott Burns ⬇️
Dundee United have opened talks with Reading to re-sign Marc McNulty and have agreed a deal for Finnish winger Ilmari Niskanen, subject to a work permit.
Lendo
06-08-2021, 10:22 PM
Did Thierry Henry play in that game too?
Think Fletcher should have put us 1 up in that game. Remember a golden chance for him to score but ****ed it as he’s the most one footed player we have ever had.
Mind Barry Robson scored a cracker for Dundee United in their Barca friendly the weekend before but it was chalked off for a foul that never was.
MagicSwirlingShip
06-08-2021, 10:59 PM
I remember clearly asking my brother who this guy was - Busquets, we hadn’t heard of him. Some career he’s had since.
06-08-2021, 11:53 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/josh-doig-back-in-the-fold-as-hibs-boss-jack-ross-says-club-is-taking-back-control-of-transfer-situation-3337561
hibbie02
07-08-2021, 07:18 AM
"West Ham United remain in talks with Fiorentina over a £14m deal for Serbia defender Nikola Milenkovic, 23, but could face competition from Juventus"
I wonder if they asked Fiorentina to drop the price to £7m, or even £2.5m.....
Souter96Mac
07-08-2021, 07:28 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/josh-doig-back-in-the-fold-as-hibs-boss-jack-ross-says-club-is-taking-back-control-of-transfer-situation-3337561
Despite being young, I've got faith in Doig to be able to still perform if he is asked to play on Sunday and/or next week.
Lewis has played well, but with games coming thick and fast, rotation will be useful
07-08-2021, 07:38 AM
Despite being young, I've got faith in Doig to be able to still perform if he is asked to play on Sunday and/or next week.
Lewis has played well, but with games coming thick and fast, rotation will be useful
If we get through next Thursday there will have to be rotation or some players will tail off in performance or pick up injuries. We seem well covered in midfield and hopefully daz gets a run out but rb and striker we don’t have a lot of options.
07-08-2021, 07:51 AM
If we get through next Thursday there will have to be rotation or some players will tail off in performance or pick up injuries. We seem well covered in midfield and hopefully daz gets a run out but rb and striker we don’t have a lot of options.
We need another centre half. I have every faith in Daz filling in as he's still quality but if Porto or Hanlon get injured then I think it's going to be a big ask for him to be playing twice a week when the games start coming thick and fast.
I really do think we are a couple of players away from having a really good squad. I agreed we need another CH but if we can get Cadden fit, he’d would hopefully slot in at RB. .However we can’t wait forever for him to be fit!
That aside this does depend on who stays or goes during the transfer window.
If we do lose players I’d prefer it to be sooner rather than later to allow replacements to be found. We may end up keeping the squad together for another season and add more quality making us even stronger!
07-08-2021, 08:17 AM
I really do think we are a couple of players away from having a really good squad. I agreed we need another CH but if we can get Cadden fit, he’d be ideal in there. However we can’t wait forever for him to be fit!
That aside this does depend on who stays or goes during the transfer window.
If we do lose players I’d prefer it to be sooner rather than later to allow replacements to be found. We may end up keeping the squad together for another season and add more quality making us even stronger!
Cadden isn’t a centre half!
Doh. Meant RB. It’s early and only had one coffee [emoji85]
Highwayman
07-08-2021, 08:47 AM
Barcelona team that night:-
Valdes (Pinto),Corcoles,Marquez (Caceres),Pique,Alves (Abraham),Vazquez (Crosas),Sergio (Toure),
Pedro (Hleb),Messi (Jeffren),Henry (Bojan),Gudjohnsen (Eto’o)
I stand corrected,in that some others than Messi are still playing.
If Jack Grealish is currently valued at £100 million,what would these listed players be worth today.
07-08-2021, 09:13 AM
Barcelona team that night:-
Valdes (Pinto),Corcoles,Marquez (Caceres),Pique,Alves (Abraham),Vazquez (Crosas),Sergio (Toure),
Pedro (Hleb),Messi (Jeffren),Henry (Bojan),Gudjohnsen (Eto’o)
I stand corrected,in that some others than Messi are still playing.
If Jack Grealish is currently valued at £100 million,what would these listed players be worth today.
Dani Alves going for Olympic gold tonight I think.
07-08-2021, 09:47 AM
"West Ham United remain in talks with Fiorentina over a £14m deal for Serbia defender Nikola Milenkovic, 23, but could face competition from Juventus"
I wonder if they asked Fiorentina to drop the price to £7m, or even £2.5m.....
The owners of West Ham have zero class. They tried it on with us and we told them to bolt. Good.
King Cosell
07-08-2021, 09:54 AM
Mihai Popescu told he can leave Hearts when he finds a new club. Centre-back, 28 years old. Might fit the bill.
07-08-2021, 09:55 AM
Mihai Popescu told he can leave Hearts when he finds a new club. Centre-back, 28 years old. Might fit the bill.
Where? Certainly not here
07-08-2021, 09:59 AM
St Mirren fans loved him.
Hearts fans not so much so.
07-08-2021, 10:05 AM
Surely no for Hibs?
07-08-2021, 10:26 AM
Of he's no good enough for them, then he has no chance even making our bench. Need better class of player than him.
Souter96Mac
07-08-2021, 10:33 AM
No Shankland in the United squad
07-08-2021, 10:52 AM
Seemingly fans can’t get in either, turnstiles locked😎
07-08-2021, 11:12 AM
Think a Belgian side has been in for him
07-08-2021, 11:17 AM
Dundee Utd Manager on Shankland⬇️
Tam Courts explains Lawrence Shankland's absence from today's squad.
He says it's a knock for the striker and an injury that rules him out.
An injury. Not a bid.
07-08-2021, 11:20 AM
Dundee Utd Manager on Shankland[emoji3596]
An injury. Not a bid.I'm suspicious
I'm suspicious
Me too!
07-08-2021, 11:30 AM
An injury. Not a bid.
Fibtastic
07-08-2021, 11:31 AM
Me too!
Me three.
07-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Think a Belgian side has been in for him
Thats just more waffle from Tam Courts
07-08-2021, 11:45 AM
Aye right
07-08-2021, 02:25 PM
Sounds like Chelsea have agreed a £97m price for Lukaku...the football world has gone mad!
Highwayman
07-08-2021, 02:42 PM
An injury. Not a bid.
Aye right.That’s fitba speak for he’s on his way out the door.
Did I read it right that United are prepared to accept £500k for him.
07-08-2021, 02:43 PM
Aye right.That’s fitba speak for he’s on his way out the door.
Did I read it right that United are prepared to accept £500k for him.
He was in the stand watching though
07-08-2021, 03:34 PM
Barca were EVS ht-ft (or might've been to win both halves) IIRC.
07-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Sounds like Chelsea have agreed a £97m price for Lukaku...the football world has gone mad!
Are folk just gonna say that about every big transfer now?
07-08-2021, 03:57 PM
the football world has gone mad!!!!
07-08-2021, 04:08 PM
Great signing. I’d much rather have Lukaku for that money than Grealish, that’s for sure.
They’re building some squad.
07-08-2021, 04:09 PM
They will until fees for players in Scotland remain the same as they have for the last 30 years whilst every other country inflates beyond perody.
Clarence
07-08-2021, 04:25 PM
They’ve been saying it as long as I can remember and probably a lot longer than that. Imagine the uproar when Falkirk signed Puddefoot from West Ham for 5k in 1922.
07-08-2021, 04:26 PM
Was Lukaku not at Chelsea before? Might be wrong. £100 million to sign a player you had before?
The football world has gone mad
07-08-2021, 04:28 PM
Was Lukaku not at Chelsea before? Might be wrong. £100 million to sign a player you had before?
At least they made £28m for him first time round. Pogba left Utd on a free before him signing him back for £90m [emoji1787]
07-08-2021, 04:42 PM
Will make sure I do 😁
It's an awful lot for the Belgian Emile Heskey...
07-08-2021, 04:44 PM
Great signing. I’d much rather have Lukaku for that money than Grealish, that’s for sure.
They’re building some squad.
Agree completely. Money is scary but the top end of English football seems to be immune from any impact from the pandemic.
07-08-2021, 04:46 PM
Will make sure I do 😁
It's an awful lot for the Belgian Emile Heskey...
It's a bargain for a world class striker in today's game.
He's a slow burner, was very raw back in 2011-14, his game started to improve at Man U but has got even better and is still only 28.
Yep, the great triumvirate that Jose didn't fancy, Lukaku, De Bruyne and Salah!
1875Sean
07-08-2021, 05:00 PM
Lukaku Has no doubt improved and is a lot better than werner, still surprised they never spent a little more and went for a someone like haaland
Probably, because it's true.
Highwayman
07-08-2021, 07:53 PM
Lukaku Has no doubt improved and is a lot better than werner, still surprised they never spent a little more and went for a someone like haaland
The transfer fee paid for Grealish and that being touted for Lukaku,makes me wonder what one of the current hottest properties Haaland.will eventually go for..
What I’ve heard from hibbies who went to the second leg against Molde,Haaland was unplayable.
07-08-2021, 07:54 PM
Probably, because it's true.
Clubs are spending lower % of their revenues on transfers than they were 20/30 years ago. Zidane was like 80% of real Madrid turnover I think. Now that would be over 500 million. Football went mental long ago. Doesn't personally effect me, so I don't me much point getting hot and bothered over it. Just enjoy it, it's very entertaining.
07-08-2021, 07:55 PM
The transfer fee paid for Grealish and that being touted for Lukaku,makes me wonder what one of the current hottest properties Haaland.will eventually go for..
What I’ve heard from hibbies who went to the second leg against Molde,Haaland was unplayable.
Release clause active from next summer, think its 65 million. A bargain these days.
Paul1642
07-08-2021, 07:59 PM
I really don’t think i understand how Financial fair play works. Some of the spending going on surely cannot be within these clubs and means without huge owner cash injections. (PSG being the prime example right now)?