View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51

31-08-2021, 05:05 PM
Thought he was a leftie

He looks right footed in that CBeebies thing he was in (yes, I admit it, I watched a bit of it.)

31-08-2021, 05:06 PM
The goalie signing just seems weird to me.

I read his wiki page and it mentions that we were interested in him in 2014-2015. That was the first season in the Championship iirc, so it would have been the first season with the current "recruitment structure" in place.

Maybe he's a player that Mathie has felt might be due a shot at a higher level? It looks like he signed for Dundee a year or so after that, a time when they must have been in the Premier League so playing at a higher level than us. He didn't get much of a game for them though.

Signing someone who is 31 just to sit miles out of the first team picture just seems peculiar. Is there a reason why Craig Samson couldn't continue to do that job?

I'm not incensed about it. Just find it a bit of a weird use of a wage.

Was he receiving rave reviews? Was he even playing?

Why is it weird? As you say the guy is signing to be, by default, out of the first team picture completely - not sure any young up and comers would be prepared to do that.

Of course Mitchell may be an injury and a sending off away from getting a shot, so there is incentive there, as well as being able to be a Hibs player.

Don’t see anything weird about it at all.

Sioux
31-08-2021, 05:06 PM
Gullan to Killie been agreed for days. Perm deal rather than loan. Hold up is Hibs end.

Cant see Nisbet leaving today. No official bids yet.

Clyde keeper is a done deal.

I recon that will be our lot today - may get a free agent/journeyman in coming weeks

Maybe we're holding out for another striker before allowing Gullan to leave.

31-08-2021, 05:07 PM
That’s brutal for the lad

Big hibby tae

Orchard_Hibs
31-08-2021, 05:07 PM
The point is, if he's basically never going to play why have we had to wait until end of transfer window. He'd be perfect 3rd choice weeks ago surely? I know there is a chain event thing here but a third choice goalkeeper on deadline day, come on...

I agree with you here, no disrespect to the guy but a 3rd choice keeper shouldn’t have that much fanfare and shouldn’t really take that long to sort out, it does defiantly feel like we drag our feet sometimes.

31-08-2021, 05:08 PM
Gullan to Killie been agreed for days. Perm deal rather than loan. Hold up is Hibs end.

Cant see Nisbet leaving today. No official bids yet.

Clyde keeper is a done deal.

I recon that will be our lot today - may get a free agent/journeyman in coming weeks

Appreciate the info, hopefully we can pull something else off.

Gullan leaving gives us just Scott and Nisbet (who has a knock).

Obviously others can fill in but it takes away from their main position.

I’d imagine this is the case. If we don’t get anyone he’ll stay.

Destroying his career.

31-08-2021, 05:09 PM
You are our sunshine
Our little sunshine
You are unhappy
On deadline day

31-08-2021, 05:10 PM
I think that’s exactly what you do.

If your important players are out injured then you need to replace them or risk the standard dropping.

Doidge is an absolutely massive loss. He offers so much offensively and defensively and we don’t have a player even close to similar to him

How do you fund it?

31-08-2021, 05:11 PM
I’d imagine this is the case. If we don’t get anyone he’ll stay.

Why though? He never gets on anyway.

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2021, 05:12 PM

Incase Nisbet gets injured ?

31-08-2021, 05:13 PM

We’re one injury away from having one fit striker left. Sure even he would get a shot in those circumstances.

Dundee are going to have a hell of a Christmas team party with those 2

Just need Gary O'Conner to sign for them now.

Don't forget Deeks!

Why is it weird? As you say the guy is signing to be, by default, out of the first team picture completely - not sure any young up and comers would be prepared to do that.

Of course Mitchell may be an injury and a sending off away from getting a shot, so there is incentive there, as well as being able to be a Hibs player.

Don’t see anything weird about it at all.

Weird because - we had Craig Samson who was doing the "in case of dire emergencies" thing. Is there a reason why he couldn't continue to do so?

How often have we had 3 senior keepers at the club in the past, other than at times when our recruitment has been slapdash and ridiculous (Yogi's goalie school, why have one decent one when you can have 4 pish ones?)

Are there no goalkeepers out there who might command a similar wage, maybe aged 18-21 who might develop into someone who could challenge for a first team place eventually?

Is there nobody within our development squad who could fulfil this role? If not, why not?

I guess the other thing is - can we justify having more competition for the goalkeeper position than for the centre forward one, as it looks like it is going to be? Could this wage being spent on a 3rd choice goalkeeper have been the deciding factor in bringing in one of the players we've supposedly been interested in bringing in to strengthen elsewhere?

It just seems a peculiarly cautious use of funds. It's not "Darryl Duffy on loan to replace Anthony Stokes" levels of late window daftness but I just find it a bit strange to be signing a player in his thirties on deadline day to basically never play, unless there is something about him I don't know.

31-08-2021, 05:17 PM
No chance he was on 5k at St J...not a chance

Exactly

31-08-2021, 05:19 PM
Are there no goalkeepers out there who might command a similar wage, maybe aged 18-21 who might develop into someone who could challenge for a first team place eventually?

How much development you expecting from them as a 3rd choice goalkeeper getting zero gametime? There’s a reason teams go for older third choice keepers who are at the tail end of their careers. They are happy to sit around, picking up a wage knowing game time will be limited. See Scott Carson at Man City.

Weird because - we had Craig Samson who was doing the "in case of dire emergencies" thing. Is there a reason why he couldn't continue to do so?

How often have we had 3 senior keepers at the club in the past, other than at times when our recruitment has been slapdash and ridiculous (Yogi's goalie school, why have one decent one when you can have 4 pish ones?)

Is there nobody within our development squad who could fulfil this role? If not, why not?

I guess the other thing is - can we justify having more competition for the goalkeeper position than for the centre forward one, as it looks like it is going to be? Could this wage being spent on a 3rd choice goalkeeper have been the deciding factor in bringing in one of the players we've supposedly been interested in bringing in to strengthen elsewhere?

It just seems a peculiarly cautious use of funds. It's not "Darryl Duffy on loan to replace Anthony Stokes" levels of late window daftness but I just find it a bit strange to be signing a player in his thirties on deadline day to basically never play, unless there is something about him I don't know.Why does it matter when we signed him?

When did Clyde get there replacement in?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

We’re one injury away from having one fit striker left. Sure even he would get a shot in those circumstances.

I know he would which means we would be playing a striker the manager clearly thinks isn't good enough.
Be amazed if we don't get someone in tonight.

31-08-2021, 05:20 PM

It just seems a peculiarly cautious use of funds. It's not "Darryl Duffy on loan to replace Anthony Stokes" levels of late window daftness but I just find it a bit strange to be signing a player in his thirties on deadline day to basically never play, unless there is something about him I don't know.

I’d much rather have someone who is experienced and played hundreds of games as third choice, than an inexperienced youngster - the young Finnish keeper and David Grof spring to mind as youngsters who have stepped into the breach in the past and cost us. What we have done with Dabrowski to build his experience is a much better plan IMO.

Samson is 37 and I can’t imagine he plays many games at any level at all now. Some folk were up in arms when he was listed as a sub for us, and thought it was shocking that we were so thin in terms of goalkeepers. Having three of the age and experience that we have, who are clearly first, second and third choice is pretty common really.

The striker situation is a whole other discussion.

31-08-2021, 05:20 PM
Daz - past it

Doig - possibly away

Cadden - crocked

Murphy - crocked

Gogic - horrendous

Hallberg - Houdini

Wright - sheeeiite

Nisbet - possibly away

Doidge - Injured until at least December

Gullane - signed for Killy has he not?

Someone please convince me this isn’t just trolling?

31-08-2021, 05:22 PM
Why does it matter when we signed him?

They only seem to have signed Neil Parry as his replacement a couple of days ago.

31-08-2021, 05:22 PM
I know he would which means we would be playing a striker the manager clearly thinks isn't good enough.

The longer it goes on the more I think we won’t. Hopefully I’m wrong.

31-08-2021, 05:23 PM
If we did as griffiths say make a last minute bid to sign him that is truly awful planning from hibs.

Beyond awful in fact

31-08-2021, 05:23 PM
How much development you expecting from them as a 3rd choice goalkeeper getting zero gametime? There’s a reason teams go for older third choice keepers who are at the tail end of their careers. They are happy to sit around, picking up a wage knowing game time will be limited. See Scott Carson at Man City.

Why does it matter when we signed him?

I’d much rather have someone who is experienced and played hundreds of games as third choice, than an inexperienced youngster - the young Finnish keeper and David Grof spring to mind as youngsters who have stepped into the breach in the past and cost us. What we have done with Dabrowski to build his experience is a much better plan IMO.

Samson is 37 and I can’t imagine he plays many games at any level at all now. Some folk were up in arms when he was listed as a sub for us, and thought it was shocking that we were so thin in terms of goalkeepers. Having three of the age and experience that we have, who are clearly first, second and third choice is pretty common really.

Three striker situation is a whole other discussion.

All fair points.

31-08-2021, 05:24 PM
Can I just be the first to say

Disgrace!

31-08-2021, 05:25 PM

Sounds pretty much like Kevin Dabrowski.

31-08-2021, 05:25 PM

If we don't and Nisbet aggravates his injury playing for Scotland we'll have 1 fit striker (Scott) going into the derby. That would be a shambles from a recruitment perspective.

31-08-2021, 05:26 PM
Hearts sign Cammy Devlin from Newcastle Jets on 3 year contract

Dundee United sell Jamie Robson to Lincoln City for 500k

Ryan Christie has switched his interest from Burnley to Bournemouth

STV News

31-08-2021, 05:28 PM
If we don't and Nisbet aggravates his injury playing for Scotland we'll have 1 fit striker (Scott) going into the derby. That would be a shambles from a recruitment perspective.

Agree, and I’m not sure Scott is the answer, at least not yet anyway.

31-08-2021, 05:28 PM
I can understand the disappointment of some, seeing LG going to Dundee but I honestly feel it will be short lived. If there was lasting potential there, he would still be at Parkhead. If we hang on to Nisbet, maybe bring in a short term back-up, the return of Doidge and arrival of Mueller will set us up well for the second half of the season.

31-08-2021, 05:29 PM
If we did as griffiths say make a last minute bid to sign him that is truly awful planning from hibs.

Beyond awful in fact

Was it Griffiths that said it?

31-08-2021, 05:30 PM

It was a dundee paper which the BBC rubbished saying it was an Israeli side

Has the Hibs Net Fact that we made a late bid for Griffiths replaced the £150k Griffiths Hibs Net Fact? I really can't get outraged about something that, almost certainly, no one on here knows to be true or not.

Agree, and I’m not sure Scott is the answer, at least not yet anyway.

He's certainly not match fit judging on Saturday's performance.

31-08-2021, 05:31 PM
I can understand the disappointment of some, seeing LG going to Dundee but I honestly feel it will be short lived. If there was lasting potential there, he would still be at Parkhead. If we hang on to Nisbet, maybe bring in a short term back-up, the return of Doidge and arrival of Mueller will set us up well for the second half of the season.

I think Griffiths would have been a great short term option instead of no short term option, IF that’s what it turns out to be?

31-08-2021, 05:31 PM
Maybe with a bit justification?

I don’t know if meltdown is the right word but it doesn’t look great if we wait until a couple of days before the transfer window closes to try and hijack a deal that would have been firmly on our radar for a long time before that.

We make a big deal about our scouting and player identification systems but we’re not pro-active enough to make the first move for a player who’s a Hibs fan and been available for a while.

I say that as someone who isn’t fussed for him coming back but it doesn’t give me a great amount of faith in the people at Hibs looking for players.
Perhaps targets 1,2 &3 didn’t happen fir whatever reason and Griffiths wasn’t that far up the pecking order if indeed on it at all.

31-08-2021, 05:33 PM
Has the Hibs Net Fact that we made a late bid for Griffiths replaced the £150k Griffiths Hibs Net Fact? I really can't get outraged about something that, almost certainly, no one on here knows to be true or not.

It’s being reported in the media so it’s not something that posters have just made up.

31-08-2021, 05:34 PM
I wasn’t dead against Griffiths signing, but was definitely put off by recent events. How he reacts to what will be coming at him from the stands at every away game (or a big away support at Dens) will be a big factor with regards to how successful he will be - along with his fitness.

All in all I’m happy with him going to Dundee. If the furore around his recent indiscretions dies down whilst he’s there, and he hits a rich vein of form, we’ll be in a great position to sign him at the end of the season.

31-08-2021, 05:34 PM
If Griffiths couldn’t see the light and get a grip of himself to earn a new contract with Celtic, and the money that entails, could someone explain why he would do it for Dundee or Hibs?

Mr. Wonderful
31-08-2021, 05:37 PM
If Griffiths couldn’t see the light and get a grip of himself to earn a new contract with Celtic, and the money that entails, could someone explain why he would do it for Dundee or Hibs?

He did get a new contract at Celtic..

31-08-2021, 05:39 PM
It’s being reported in the media so it’s not something that posters have just made up.

Reported on only one media source. The local Dundee paper. All they are doing is trying to make it a bugger deal for them than it is. I don't think Hubs were in for him

ElginHibbie
31-08-2021, 05:39 PM

He did get a new contract at Celtic..

And they still punted him, somehow seems worse

31-08-2021, 05:42 PM
Does anyone really think that Griffith’s wouldn’t come to Hibs if we had expressed an interest? Ffs let it go.

31-08-2021, 05:42 PM
Reported on only one media source. The local Dundee paper. All they are doing is trying to make it a bugger deal for them than it is. I don't think Hubs were in for him

I wouldnt go that far.

31-08-2021, 05:44 PM
Just noticed Oli Shaw has gone to Killie. Can't believe we got a fee for him.

31-08-2021, 05:46 PM
I wouldnt go that far.

Fat fingers and autocorrect. Never a good combo

31-08-2021, 05:47 PM
I don’t believe Hibs were in for Griffiths, but I’d be seriously unimpressed if we were, for several reasons.

31-08-2021, 05:48 PM
I wasn’t dead against Griffiths signing, but was definitely put off by recent events. How he reacts to what will be coming at him from the stands at every away game (or a big away support at Dens) will be a big factor with regards to how successful he will be - along with his fitness.

All in all I’m happy with him going to Dundee. If the furore around his recent indiscretions dies down whilst he’s there, and he hits a rich vein of form, we’ll be in a great position to sign him at the end of the season.

Exactly where I’m at stevie and no doubt he will think this to a degree as he wants to be at Hibs I don’t doubt. Probably aware of the abuse from some corners of the fans aswell tho

31-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Griffiths can’t be a short term option because he’s not fit and ready to go!

If we sign a striker, and I hope we do, they need to be able to come and play, from the get go. No point adding someone just to ride the bench.

31-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Daz - past it

Doig - possibly away

Cadden - crocked

Murphy - crocked

Gogic - horrendous

Hallberg - Houdini

Wright - sheeeiite

Nisbet - possibly away

Doidge - Injured until at least December

Gullane - signed for Killy has he not?

I wouldn't have phrased things like this, but when I first looked at the squad list I was thinking similar :greengrin

I think we're light in all areas and am really hoping there's more to come, however unlikely it's looking.

31-08-2021, 05:51 PM
Rangers and Celtic both with bids in for Ali McCann?

I can see St Johnstone really struggling this season

31-08-2021, 05:51 PM
Hearts sign Cammy Devlin from Newcastle Jets on 3 year contract

Dundee United sell Jamie Robson to Lincoln City for 500k

Ryan Christie has switched his interest from Burnley to Bournemouth

STV News
Why the hell does Christie want to go Bournemouth

31-08-2021, 05:52 PM
I don’t believe Hibs were in for Griffiths, but I’d be seriously unimpressed if we were, for several reasons.

Me too.

31-08-2021, 05:52 PM
I can see St Johnstone really struggling this season

A St Johnston fans account tweeted it but has since deleted it so looks like it may be rubbish .

31-08-2021, 05:53 PM

31-08-2021, 05:55 PM

Can only be money? I think he’s been keen to move on for a while but this seems like a massive backward step.

31-08-2021, 05:55 PM
Griffiths can’t be a short term option because he’s not fit and ready to go!

If we sign a striker, and I hope we do, they need to be able to come and play, from the get go. No point adding someone just to ride the bench.

Is there anything he won't ride? 9 months later and there'd be footstools.

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2021, 05:56 PM

Have you ever been? Magic place

31-08-2021, 05:56 PM

To earn £80k per week to hit shots into the English Channel.

Silky
31-08-2021, 05:57 PM
Is there anything he won't ride? 9 months later and there'd be footstools.

😂😂😂.

31-08-2021, 05:57 PM

Maybe been told he is not in the Celtic managers plans?

31-08-2021, 05:58 PM
Personally think Griffiths signing for Hibs would have been a bit of a PR disaster for the club after recent events.

31-08-2021, 05:58 PM
PSG turn down 189 million for Mbappe who will join Real Madrid for free next year

Surley that's insanity?

31-08-2021, 05:59 PM
Celtic sign Giorgos Giakoumakis striker from VVV Venlo on 5 year deal

31-08-2021, 06:00 PM
Celtic sign Giorgos Giakoumakis striker from VVV Venlo on 5 year deal

Some stats he had last season ….

Seem to remember that JR was saying he would be disappointed if he didn't have another 2 or 3 in at the end of the transfer window, well 2 loans & a 31 year old keeper maybe that's it.

AFAIK it was only the Dundee Courier. I'm really just surprised so many posters seem to accept it as a Fact!!

Torto7
Im glad creepy Leigh isnt coming here. Reading some of the comments you would think we were struggling in the bottom six or similar rather than being top of the league and resigning our best player whilst bringing in an exciting overseas signing and a highly rated forward from the championship, not to mention JDH etc. Do we have Hearts/Aberdeen bots trying to stir pish or something? Im baffled. If we get another in then great, hopefully no one leaves as well, but Im over the moon with the squad and very optimistic.

AFAIK it was only the Dundee Courier. I'm really just surprised so many posters seem to accept it as a Fact!!

The sun are reporting it too.

31-08-2021, 06:01 PM

Because people love to moan

We desperately need one but I think we see James Scott as this.

For all the chat on here, we've not been linked to anyone other than LG I don't think?

I was told about it last night, way before the Dundee Courier.

31-08-2021, 06:02 PM
AFAIK it was only the Dundee Courier. I'm really just surprised so many posters seem to accept it as a Fact!!I'm not. Not at all sadly.

davhibby

The sun are reporting that it was reported in the Dundee Courier.

Exactly where I’m at stevie and no doubt he will think this to a degree as he wants to be at Hibs I don’t doubt. Probably aware of the abuse from some corners of the fans aswell tho

I agree with this. In reality, with Dundee, he’s not going to cause us a lot of damage in the short term, and in fact might occasionally do us a favour. If he does a turn for Dundee, he’ll return to Parkhead or might be ripe for a return to ER.

31-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Because people love to moan

It’s a Hibs forum and they’re discussing something that’s being reported in the media about Hibs.

Maybe we are too quick to believe the other side but I think it’s pretty normal to take a story in a newspaper at face value. Especially when it’s a story that would make a lot of sense.

hibee1875

Decent money

Nice part of the country

Likely get promoted to the PL next season whilst playing attacking football.

I’d choose Bournemouth over Burnley too.

PSG turn down 189 million for Mbappe who will join Real Madrid for free next year

Surley that's insanity?

When you've got multiple billions it really doesn't matter, does it?!

How the hell can Real afford that though? Cheats, the lot of them.

31-08-2021, 06:04 PM
Griffiths has played a blinder. New contract on good money then loaned to his old stomping ground where he has done as much damage off the park as on it.

31-08-2021, 06:04 PM
Some stats he had last season ….
Yip 26 goals from 30 appearances with VVV

Kyogo is nae slouch as well :greengrin

31-08-2021, 06:05 PM
Personally think Griffiths signing for Hibs would have been a bit of a PR disaster for the club after recent events.

Signing no other striker isn’t going to be great PR either. If we end up with only Scott and Nisbet, supporters have every right to be dissatisfied.

31-08-2021, 06:05 PM
Really hoping we can get an attacker in before the window closes. We need one.

31-08-2021, 06:06 PM
It’s a Hibs forum and they’re discussing something that’s being reported in the media about Hibs.

Maybe we are too quick to believe the other side but I think it’s pretty normal to take a story in a newspaper at face value. Especially when it’s a story that would make a lot of sense.Does it make sense though? Hibs could easily have moved for him before given the there's no transfer fee involved, but above all Griffiths couldn't be more at odds with the profile of player we've been recruiting (apart from the 3rd choice keeper).

31-08-2021, 06:07 PM

How the hell can Real afford that though? Cheats, the lot of them.
SSN were suggesting one last bid of 200m to do a deal today if not they will get him next season anyways

Magpie
31-08-2021, 06:08 PM
Really hoping we can get an attacker in before the window closes. We need one.

I think so too. Murphy and Nisbet already picking up injuries this season. Gullan likely to leave and no Doidge or Mueller until new year. Even a loan until January would be fine.

31-08-2021, 06:09 PM
Meanwhile on planet Sevco, have they failed to sell any of their, ahem, superstars for big money? Again? How can it be so? :faf:

31-08-2021, 06:09 PM

How the hell can Real afford that though? Cheats, the lot of them.They've also just bought a midfielder, Camavinga, from Rennes for a reported 40-45m€.

31-08-2021, 06:11 PM
Meanwhile on planet Sevco, have they failed to sell any of their, ahem, superstars for big money? Again? How can it be so? :faf:

Sad really. And I'm not sure their Ugly Sister is going to do them the favour of either making poor signings or failing to compete this season either.

31-08-2021, 06:12 PM
Does it make sense though? Hibs could easily have moved for him before given the there's no transfer fee involved, but above all Griffiths couldn't be more at odds with the profile of player we've been recruiting (apart from the 3rd choice keeper).

I agree, it doesn't really make sense. Only possibility I can think of is we didn't want to give Celtc any encouragement 're Nisbet.

31-08-2021, 06:13 PM

You’ve never been to Bournemouth then Billy?

31-08-2021, 06:13 PM

No he didn’t. It’s a load of pish but yet another reason for grown men to act like wee bairns

31-08-2021, 06:14 PM
Does it make sense though? Hibs could easily have moved for him before given the there's no transfer fee involved, but above all Griffiths couldn't be more at odds with the profile of player we've been recruiting (apart from the 3rd choice keeper).

I think it does.

We need a striker, he’s a very good one when he is at it and I’m sure Ross would back himself to get the most out of him.

I wasn’t bothered about him coming back but I think it would make sense if we weren’t able to get our first choice targets in.

Any striker rumours? Bit concerned

Really strange because lots of clubs were interested according to the papers so it must be true. Can't believe no-one wanted the ugly striker yet again!

They must all want to stay for Sevco's tilt at the champions league.

They managed to get two players off the wage bill though.

Good business by the guardians of the biscuit tin getting top dollar for Edouard 15m

31-08-2021, 06:15 PM
Joe Ward as a swop for Magennis :greengrin

31-08-2021, 06:16 PM

There is actually nothing in the detail of the report that says Hibs were involved. Just a made up headline. The other team that offered to take him last night was from Israel.

hibee316
31-08-2021, 06:16 PM
I agree, it doesn't really make sense. Only possibility I can think of is we didn't want to give Celtc any encouragement 're Nisbet.

I think Peevemore is saying Hibs didn't want to sign him??

I don't think Hibs wanted to sign him personally. As Peevemore said, he doesn't really fit with the mould of players we are signing.

31-08-2021, 06:19 PM
I think it does.

We need a striker, he’s a very good one when he is at it and I’m sure Ross would back himself to get the most out of him.

I wasn’t bothered about him coming back but I think it would make sense if we weren’t able to get our first choice targets in.

If we were in for Griffiths last minute then it makes me think we’ve missed out on someone else we were looking at.

Nobody really knows what has happened for sure, including those who are saying there was no interest at all. But I don’t think it would be terribly unrealistic given Ross has spoken positively about him before.

31-08-2021, 06:19 PM
Good business by the guardians of the biscuit tin getting top dollar for Edouard 15m

40% goes to PSG

31-08-2021, 06:20 PM
You’ve never been to Bournemouth then Billy?

I’ve been a few times, lovely place. Just can’t why a current Scottish internationalist want to go there. It’s a step down playing wise
He’s had a really poor year or so though

31-08-2021, 06:21 PM

I don't think Hibs wanted to sign him personally. As Peevemore said, he doesn't really fit with the mould of players we are signing.

We can’t just sign young players with sell on potential all the time. Murphy and McGinn recent examples. Jackson Irvine as well.

31-08-2021, 06:23 PM
I’ve been a few times, lovely place. Just can’t why a current Scottish internationalist want to go there. It’s a step down playing wise

Stoney beach with loads of pigeons and retired people.

31-08-2021, 06:23 PM
I didn't particularly want LG but if the option was him or no striker I know which one I would have plumped for.? Officially concerned now that there is still no whisper of a forward coming in

31-08-2021, 06:24 PM

But we’ve signed Scott on loan and Hull have already said if his form picks up they’ll take him back in January. That doesn’t fit with signing young up and coming players to sell them on either. We are pretty desperate for another forward now, young, old or permanent . We have no cover up until January if we don’t get someone in. That is a very poor position to be in for a club like Hibs.

31-08-2021, 06:25 PM

Money?

31-08-2021, 06:26 PM

Jack Ross has asked for the free transfer list to be on his desk first thing in the morning! :wink:

But we’ve signed Scott on loan and Hull have already said if his form picks up they’ll take him back in January. That doesn’t fit with signing young up and coming players to sell them on either. We are pretty desperate for another forward now, young, old, permanent or long term. We have no cover up until January if we don’t get someone in. That is a very poor position to be in for a club like Hibs.

Ridiculous tbh considering Mathie told us way back in May we were targeting a defender and a striker yet the only defender and striker we've signed are loans 🤔

hibee316
We can’t just sign young players with sell on potential all the time. Murphy and McGinn recent examples. Jackson Irvine as well.

Think it might be the baggage he takes with him rather than his age. We appear to have a very tight bit squad, who all really put a shift in.

The worry is Griffiths upsets the apple cart.

Just hypothesizing though.

31-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Just noticed Oli Shaw has gone to Killie. Can't believe we got a fee for him.

Remember though, he was one of the best young strkers in Europe while at Hibs :rolleyes:

31-08-2021, 06:28 PM
Ridiculous tbh considering Mathie told us way back in May we were targeting a defender and a striker yet the only defender and striker we've signed are loans ��

If our business is done and fail bring in a striker then lose to the jumbos on the 12th, the sh@t will really hit the fan!

31-08-2021, 06:29 PM

After picking it up from the Courier...and anyway go wash your mouth out mentioning the Sun on a family forum😉

hibee316
But we’ve signed Scott on loan and Hull have already said if his form picks up they’ll take him back in January. That doesn’t fit with signing young up and coming players to sell them on either. We are pretty desperate for another forward now, young, old or permanent . We have no cover up until January if we don’t get someone in. That is a very poor position to be in for a club like Hibs.

As I said in my post above, maybe its due to the perceived baggage Griffiths brings which means he isn't wanted by Hibs.

All true.

I just can’t see LG turning down a chance to come to Hibs, even at the 11th hour.

This leaves two possibilities: either we didn’t make him an offer, or Celtc insisted that any negotiations with him were part of a deal for one of our players, and we said no.

Celtc have done bad business here… they signed him on for another season, and now have sent him out on a season loan! Presumably they are subsidising the deal somehow.

Souter96Mac
31-08-2021, 06:33 PM
40% goes to PSG

Think it's 40% of the profit. Can't quite remember but think they signed him for about £9m originally so they'll still receive around £12m

hibee316
31-08-2021, 06:33 PM
Ridiculous tbh considering Mathie told us way back in May we were targeting a defender and a striker yet the only defender and striker we've signed are loans 🤔

It very much seems that Hibs were expecting at least one big player to move on.

That hasn't happened yet. Probably will happen in the next 2 windows. Maybe Hibs are getting in stop gaps so when a player does go for big money we can reinvest in even better quality?

That's the way I see it anyway.

31-08-2021, 06:35 PM
I think it does.

Or we decided after Murphy got injured that another player who could play wide in the left position would be useful. Celtic might also not have made him available until the last few days.

31-08-2021, 06:36 PM
As I said in my post above, maybe its due to the perceived baggage Griffiths brings which means he isn't wanted by Hibs.
I think we were in for him as I got told last night from a trusted source. It’s not the fact it’s Griffiths as I was sceptical about him too. However, I would 100% rather have had Griffiths on loan than no cover whatsoever. We could have put up with the baggage for a season and he would have scored goals for us and will score goals for Dundee.

Remember though, he was one of the best young strkers in Europe while at Hibs :rolleyes:

Good luck to him. He hasn't really had enough game time anywhere but still has goals to show for it. He'll get plenty of goals in the championship if given the chance.

Silky
If our business is done and fail bring in a striker then lose to the jumbos on the 12th, the sh@t will really hit the fan!

Why? There's a whole season still to play. Why do we define our season on whether we beat them or not? If we beat them and then lose the next two, for the reason you say, is that not worse?

31-08-2021, 06:38 PM
Remember when Rangers and Hearts fans were claiming dodgy goings on when Dundee changed their vote to curtail the league supposedly in exchange for "favours". The nut job conspiracy theorists are probably wetting their pants about this saying Dundee are now cashing in a favour.

Griffiths to Dundee deal would have been agreed about 17 months ago. :cb

31-08-2021, 06:38 PM
I agree. I think we were expecting to sell at least 1 and then use the cash to buy 2 or 3.

Same problem Rangers encountered, no one came in with the money we were after.

So, i dunno whether to be pleased that we kept what we have or disappointed that we haven'g got more in!!

Gut feeling is, we scared clubs off with the asking prices. Hopefully it turns out to be the right move.

31-08-2021, 06:39 PM
Why?...

....and where?

Maybe more calls for protests?

Halmyre Hibee
I for one will be happy if after the deadline we still have Boyle, Porteous, Doig & Nisbet. Would be nice to have a couple of others in to cover for Doidge & Murphy though.

Or we decided after Murphy got injured that another player who could play wide in the left position would be useful. Celtic might also not have made him available until the last few days.

Maybe but it’s not looking likely we will get either a striker or left sided winger. On face value it looks like we tried for Griffiths but failed. We know we tried for McCart but failed. We know we need another striker (JR continuously saying that) but we have 3 hours to secure a last minute probably 3rd or 4th choice.

31-08-2021, 06:42 PM
If we get another striker in and don’t lose any players I think it’s been a great window. Don’t think we should underestimate what a great thing it was getting Martin Boyle to sign a new deal.

31-08-2021, 06:43 PM
What difference does selling Nisbet or Doig for millions make to our targets?

If we sell a player for £5m, we will sign a player for £200-500k. It will be a while before we smash our transfer record.

If we sell a player for £5m everyone will know we have money and our market is primarily Scotland so every team will add £200-300k to price to the player they are selling.

Waiting to sell in order to buy is definitely a risky route. We should be identifying youth prospects as we have a gap in quality in the 19-21 year old range. Essentially we are waiting for 16-17 year olds to be old enough while keeping 19-21 year olds that will never make it. I mean, what age is Innes Murray now?

31-08-2021, 06:44 PM
I for one will be happy if after the deadline we still have Boyle, Porteous, Doig & Nisbet. Would be nice to have a couple of others in to cover for Doidge & Murphy though.Isn't Daniel Mackay cover for Murphy?

31-08-2021, 06:45 PM
Remember when Rangers and Hearts fans were claiming dodgy goings on when Dundee changed their vote to curtail the league supposedly in exchange for "favours". The nut job conspiracy theorists are probably wetting their pants about this saying Dundee are now cashing in a favour.

That's brilliant , you really are 007

Dundee United 'set to sign' Scott McMann from Hamilton Accies as replacement for Jamie Robson

https://t.co/Re8qlZw5qV https://t.co/SohQTtrvNY

Why? There's a whole season still to play. Why do we define our season on whether we beat them or not? If we beat them and then lose the next two, for the reason you say, is that not worse?

Read the room.

We definitely do need another striker. What would be the point of managing to retain the players we have - and make the additions we have - only to be at risk from an injury to one of our front two? That would be extremely short sighted.

31-08-2021, 06:46 PM
Still no rumours other than Mitchell coming in?

Looks as if Tonnesson was only if Doig was to leave.

Hoping we pull something out the bag.

Maybe but it’s not looking likely we will get either a striker or left sided winger. On face value it looks like we tried for Griffiths but failed. We know we tried for McCart but failed. We know we need another striker (JR continuously saying that) but we have 3 hours to secure a last minute probably 3rd or 4th choice.

Did Jack not say, depending on Murphy’s injury, might need someone in the middle to front area. I’d say this isn’t an out and out striker. If Gullan’s gone, and I think he has, could be looking at a left sided attacker, if we can get one

Silky
Read the room.

?

31-08-2021, 06:47 PM
I keep saying it but we were short up front last season and now Doidge is injured we are still short. Scott fine but we need another - a Keatings finisher type or a Grant Holt hold up and bully type - if we stick we what we have we will be relying a lot on Boyle / KN and Magennis to score our goals.

If we get another striker in and don’t lose any players I think it’s been a great window. Don’t think we should underestimate what a great thing it was getting Martin Boyle to sign a new deal.

Keeping Boyle and Nisbet is the best business we’ve done this summer.

JDH is an improvement on what we had. Other than that I’m not convinced we’ve strengthened enough but time will tell on that.

Agree with others, I think we were expecting a few quid in fees that we would have reinvested a fair chunk of. The amount we talked up Doig and his worth, it almost felt like we wanted to sell to me.

Still no rumours other than Mitchell coming in?

Looks as if Tonnesson was only if Doig was to leave.

Hoping we pull something out the bag.

So do I but I think it’s looking very positive that nobody else is leaving.

If anyone was leaving we’d have heard about it by now.

31-08-2021, 06:48 PM
?

have you read through the majority of posts over the last few days?

31-08-2021, 06:51 PM

Absolutely. Him signing that new deal last season was a huge bonus, even with the clause - to get him tied down again, minus the clause, in the form he’s in, is amazing business.

1875Sean
31-08-2021, 06:52 PM
It’s been very quiet on the attacker front

31-08-2021, 06:52 PM
We definitely do need another striker. What would be the point of managing to retain the players we have - and make the additions we have - only to be at risk from an injury to one of our front two? That would be extremely short sighted.

We've done this more than once in recent seasons and got away with it, which is what worries me a bit.

2nd half of last season - realistically only had Nisbet and Doidge.

2nd half of first season back up - only had Kamberi and McLaren.

Funnily enough, these were both actually good spells for the team.

Part of my concern is that one of the players is Scott, who is unproven at best. I didn't fancy the fact that he didn't even jump for a header the whole time he was up there. Whilst we're not a long ball team, we do play the odd long ball and we could do with having someone who at least makes it moderately difficult for defenders, he just wasn't interested in contesting them, and the ball was coming straight back at us again.

We need another striker, if for no reason other than to put a rocket under Scott so you can say to him that if he doesn't change that then he'll be out of the team.

1875Sean
31-08-2021, 06:53 PM
40% goes to PSG

It’s 40% of the profit sky are saying so only about £2mill

hibee316
31-08-2021, 06:54 PM

If we sell a player for £5m, we will sign a player for £200-500k. It will be a while before we smash our transfer record.

If we sell a player for £5m everyone will know we have money and our market is primarily Scotland so every team will add £200-300k to price to the player they are selling.

Waiting to sell in order to buy is definitely a risky route. We should be identifying youth prospects as we have a gap in quality in the 19-21 year old range. Essentially we are waiting for 16-17 year olds to be old enough while keeping 19-21 year olds that will never make it. I mean, what age is Innes Murray now?

Selling Doig or Nisbet gives us a huge wedge to play with and frees up our biggest wage/s as well.

The 19 to 21 range still costs money, of which a lot of ours is probably tied up in our big hitters.

And I'm not sure you are going to convince the best youngsters to come to us if they are not guaranteed some game time, which might not happen if our best players are still here.

We don't have the money to have the best players sitting on our bench.

31-08-2021, 06:54 PM

JDH is an improvement on what we had. Other than that I’m not convinced we’ve strengthened enough but time will tell on that.

Agree with others, I think we were expecting a few quid in fees that we would have reinvested a fair chunk of. The amount we talked up Doig and his worth, it almost felt like we wanted to sell to me.

Maginnis is like a new signing this season.

1875Sean
31-08-2021, 06:55 PM
Jack Wilshere training with a Seria B team but got told they can’t sign him as he has a non eu passport, good old brexit

31-08-2021, 06:56 PM

More likely that Gordon Strachan negotiated the deal with Gordon Strachan so Gordon Strachan could do a consultancy role at Celtic.....

31-08-2021, 06:57 PM
Jack Wilshere training with a Seria B team but got told they can’t sign him as he has a non eu passport, good old brexit

If that is true you'd think the team concerned might have considered that factor before having him train with them...

31-08-2021, 06:59 PM

Holding on to players and not having to replace them at all is by far the least risky short term strategy.

31-08-2021, 07:01 PM
We really need to be bringing a striker in

31-08-2021, 07:01 PM

Add in Magennis who looks like a totally different player and I still hope Scott and MacKay will contribute. Yes I’d liked to have seen another right back come in, but don’t think that was ever going to happen. Ross rates McGinn and Cadden should provide competition soon.

Totally agree, we expected to sell Doig, Ross himself suggested he was close to leaving. I honestly don’t know how we got that one so wrong. I believe we had a good, concrete bid, but nowhere close to the £5M we appear to be wanting for him.

I’m happy enough with the young Boro centre back coming in. Was never that mad on McCart and didn’t want us paying decent money to then go to a back three - I don’t think he’s better than Paul Hanlon or a focussed Ryan Porteous.

31-08-2021, 07:03 PM
Holding on to players and not having to replace them at all is by far the least risky short term strategy.

Maybe not when you have a balance sheet like Sevco's though...

Bournemouth sign Ryan Christie

Has anyone emailed the club to let them know we need a new striker? I’m not sure they know what they’re doing.

31-08-2021, 07:04 PM
Quite interesting watching SSN with the Portsmouth chairman I think it is

31-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Has anyone emailed the club to let them know we need a new striker? I’m not sure they know what they’re doing.

We don't need to as our manager has stated it after every match this season...no need for sarcasm mate everyone just identifying the possibility of going till Jan with Nisbet and an unproven Scott as our 2 strikers

31-08-2021, 07:06 PM

Scottish international squad is full of players playing at that level and has been for years, can’t see that being an issue.
Edouard is heading to the backwaters of Crystal Palace after all!

31-08-2021, 07:06 PM
Selling Doig or Nisbet gives us a huge wedge to play with and frees up our biggest wage/s as well.

The 19 to 21 range still costs money, of which a lot of ours is probably tied up in our big hitters.

And I'm not sure you are going to convince the best youngsters to come to us if they are not guaranteed some game time, which might not happen if our best players are still here.

We don't have the money to have the best players sitting on our bench.

I get that. Relying on selling to sign players is worrying though. Unless you find a way to add quality each year you'll end up stagnating. It's what happens outside of the OF on a cyclical basis. Aberdeen have been quite good at staving it off but even they reached the critical point last season.

Aberdeen have signed more senior attackers in this window than we have at the club. Fit or otherwise. This might not affect our season but I can't help but look at their squad and be impressed with a few players they have - granted though they are ageing.

We have a really good squad but I'm still fearful of our defence and upfront. Injury to Nisbet and we really are struggling. Scott looks more like a winger or 2nd striker to me. His hold up and aerial presence is not great.

31-08-2021, 07:07 PM
We've done this more than once in recent seasons and got away with it, which is what worries me a bit.

2nd half of last season - realistically only had Nisbet and Doidge.

2nd half of first season back up - only had Kamberi and McLaren.

Funnily enough, these were both actually good spells for the team.

Part of my concern is that one of the players is Scott, who is unproven at best. I didn't fancy the fact that he didn't even jump for a header the whole time he was up there. Whilst we're not a long ball team, we do play the odd long ball and we could do with having someone who at least makes it moderately difficult for defenders, he just wasn't interested in contesting them, and the ball was coming straight back at us again.

We need another striker, if for no reason other than to put a rocket under Scott so you can say to him that if he doesn't change that then he'll be out of the team.

That’s my concern too without pre judging Scott. He is not proven and he will now become part of our first choice strike pairing because we have no one else. I agree with your assessment of him too. He was easily brushed off the ball and largely anonymous for the most part of the game. If he does come good, he’ll be away in January anyway.

31-08-2021, 07:08 PM
Stoney beach with loads of pigeons and retired people.

That’s Musselburgh you’re thinking of.

Keyser Sauzee
We don't need to as our manager has stated it after every match this season...no need for sarcasm mate everyone just identifying the possibility of going till Jan with Nisbet and an unproven Scott as our 2 strikers

Ad Infinitum

Hypothetically, what do we think the club would do if we got a £5-6m offer for Nisbet? Also, are we confident we'd sign an able replacement at this point in the window?

31-08-2021, 07:10 PM
Quite interesting watching SSN with the Portsmouth chairman I think it is

Peterborough. Very interesting. He had a loan deal for West Ham player agreed 7 weeks ago, only happened today after WH got someone else in. Also was trying for a back up striker all day, went to 7 figures but goalposts kept moving so walked away. A great insight into the complexities of the transfer window.

31-08-2021, 07:12 PM

3 times a day every day.

Hypothetically, what do we think the club would do if we got a £5-6m offer for Nisbet? Also, are we confident we'd sign an able replacement at this point in the window?

We'd knock it back at this late stage.

No chance we'd find someone in time if we sold.

Delighted it seems we are keeping hold of all key players. Relying on a good amount of luck with injuries if we don’t sign another striker. We’ll obviously be more full compliment come January but the run until then and through a busy Christmas schedule is worrying.

Third choice keeper hasn’t been announced by the club that I’ve seen yet?

31-08-2021, 07:13 PM
3 times a day every day.

If we can't say it in the transfer thread on transfer deadline day, when can we? :confused:

31-08-2021, 07:13 PM
I get that. Relying on selling to sign players is worrying though. Unless you find a way to add quality each year you'll end up stagnating. It's what happens outside of the OF on a cyclical basis. Aberdeen have been quite good at staving it off but even they reached the critical point last season.

Aberdeen have signed more senior attackers in this window than we have at the club. Fit or otherwise. This might not affect our season but I can't help but look at their squad and be impressed with a few players they have - granted though they are ageing.

We have a really good squad but I'm still fearful of our defence and upfront. Injury to Nisbet and we really are struggling. Scott looks more like a winger or 2nd striker to me. His hold up and aerial presence is not great.

Yes, but Hibs haven't been reliant on selling players to sign new players, have they? They will have been smart enough to understand that selling Doig and Nisbet was going to alter the potential budget for replacements and the overall transfer business though. It didn't happen, and I'm personally delighted with that.

I'm not particularly impressed by Aberdeen's signing either, but I'll grant you that a couple of more injuries in key positions would be potentially quite damaging. That said, the same would apply to any other SPFL club.

31-08-2021, 07:14 PM

I think we'd bite their hand of then look to the free agent market.

Not sure we should, but I think we would.

If Doidge wasn't injured it would probably be a no brainer but right now we'd probably pause to think first.

I reckon the owner would probably be prepared to face up to some angry fans and weather a dodgy half season for the extra cash, especially given that season ticket sales aren't going to depend on it.

A smart January and we could possibly weather it.

I would disagree, but I don't have the financial savvy to get into a position where I can own a football club.

21sMay
31-08-2021, 07:15 PM
I'd imagine that's our business done for another window .

Secretly hoping it's not

Mr. Wonderful
Delighted it seems we are keeping hold of all key players. Relying on a good amount of luck with injuries if we don’t sign another striker. We’ll obviously be more full compliment come January but the run until then and through a busy Christmas schedule is worrying.

3rd keeper in as a backup with a view to getting involved in the coaching?

We'll have to rely on young players rather than luck. Given the squad size when our injured players return, that could be healthy.

31-08-2021, 07:16 PM
EEN headline on Wednesday “Ross hasn’t given up on Striker hunt”

(open market search)

Silky
31-08-2021, 07:17 PM

(open market search)

Noel Hunt?

31-08-2021, 07:18 PM
We'd knock it back at this late stage.

No chance we'd find someone in time if we sold.

We’d take £6m. Replacement ready or not.

NC1875
31-08-2021, 07:19 PM

(open market search)

What’s Rowan Vine upto these days ?

HendoDelivered
31-08-2021, 07:19 PM

(open market search)

Probably end up with Callum Hendry

31-08-2021, 07:20 PM
I’ve never seen so much angst around signing a striker that’s more than likely to sit on the bench every week. I could understand if Nisbet was leaving or we hadn’t signed Scott. We had two strikers last season and did alright. We have Boyle who can play through the middle as well as Mackay. We’ll be absolutely fine in that department.

31-08-2021, 07:21 PM
We’d take £6m. Replacement ready or not.

Agreed, but we'd knock back £5m :wink:

31-08-2021, 07:22 PM
Celtic sign Jota on loan from Benfica with option to buy

21sMay
31-08-2021, 07:22 PM
I’ve never seen so much angst around signing a striker that’s more than likely to sit on the bench every week. I could understand if Nisbet was leaving or we hadn’t signed Scott. We had two strikers last season and did alright. We have Boyle who can play through the middle as well as Mackay. We’ll be absolutely fine in that department.

An injury to nisbit and we would be struggling . Scott looks more like a inside forward , not an out and out striker

31-08-2021, 07:23 PM
If we don't sign an Air Fryer in this window there's no way we'll make top six. We need to stop thinking we can get by with just the traditional deep fat approach.

31-08-2021, 07:25 PM
An injury to nisbit and we would be struggling . Scott looks more like a inside forward , not an out and out striker

He looked much more comfortable through the middle than on the left against Livi

31-08-2021, 07:27 PM
He looked much more comfortable through the middle than on the left against Livi

He seems to have split opinion on where he was best.

I thought the opposite, although I've seen a few people agree with you and a few agree with me.

He definitely looked best with the ball at his feet and running. I guess where he does that doesn't matter so much.

31-08-2021, 07:28 PM

He would have been as well just sitting on the bench than playing on the left. He hardly touched the ball from that point. I’m giving him the benefit of match fitness though.

21sMay
31-08-2021, 07:29 PM
He seems to have split opinion on where he was best.

I thought the opposite, although I've seen a few people agree with you and a few agree with me.

He definitely looked best with the ball at his feet and running. I guess where he does that doesn't matter so much.

This is my also my opinion . From what I remember of his at motherwell, he was played wide

31-08-2021, 07:29 PM
Scott McMann signs for Dundee hibs, were we not linked with him?

31-08-2021, 07:30 PM

I thought he was quite poor against Livi in all honesty. I’m not writing him off and it may just take him a while to get going, based on his first two appearances though I wouldn’t like to be relying on him.

Strikes me as a squad player to come off the bench rather than an automatic starter, well that’s my first impressions anyway.

31-08-2021, 07:30 PM
We’ll be far weaker if Nisbet gets an injury whether we bring in a striker or not. Any striker brought in would be a cheap stop gap till January and probably not up to much. Even with a third striker the chances are we’d go with Boyle in the event of an injury. We’ve secured the services of a player with a good pedigree that’s arriving in January, there’s no way we’re pushing the boat out now for a player we might not be needed. I think there needs to be a degree of realism on who’s likely to be brought in, if we don’t get someone tonight we’ll get someone who’s been released in the next few days.

31-08-2021, 07:31 PM
Quite a few Rangers fans thinking they’re getting Nisbet.

Be absolutely stunned if that happened.

If we don't sign an Air Fryer in this window there's no way we'll make top six. We need to stop thinking we can get by with just the traditional deep fat approach.

Are you trying to cook up a storm?:greengrin

Celtic sign Jota on loan from Benfica with option to buy

They aren't messing around. On paper they are bringing in the players they'll need to challenge for the title.

Souter96Mac
Scott McMann signs for Dundee hibs, were we not linked with him?

Think he was mentioned, maybe as a potential signing if Doig left. He's replaced Robson who's gone to Lincoln

expresso
31-08-2021, 07:32 PM
Nisbet to Huns latest rumour online, please Noooooooo

False

Quite a few of them thought they were getting Doig yesterday so I wouldn’t worry about that.

Souter96Mac

Highly unlikely unless they're selling some of their players

31-08-2021, 07:33 PM
Does look like a striker isn’t happening

31-08-2021, 07:33 PM

No chance. Would cost any of the Old Firm more than he is worth for us to sell to them currently.

31-08-2021, 07:34 PM

I would be more than stunned. If they sell Nisbet at this point with no decent replacement they could lock the doors.

31-08-2021, 07:35 PM
We’ll be far weaker if Nisbet gets an injury whether we bring in a striker or not. Any striker brought in would be a cheap stop gap till January and probably not up to much. Even with a third striker the chances are we’d go with Boyle in the event of an injury. We’ve secured the services of a player with a good pedigree that’s arriving in January, there’s no way we’re pushing the boat out now for a player we might not be needed. I think there needs to be a degree of realism on who’s likely to be brought in, if we don’t get someone tonight we’ll get, someone who’s been released in the next few days.

That's what I was thinking, we'll end up with someone who is currently unattached if cover is needed, that can't be filled by someone we already have.

Greenworld
31-08-2021, 07:36 PM
Nisbet to Huns latest rumour online, please NooooooooLol [emoji38] that's not a very good try

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

berwickhibee
31-08-2021, 07:37 PM
Does look like a striker isn’t happening

Bit of time left😁 big mistake if we don't add to the strikers.

Nissy to huns hahahahahahaha not a chance.

The poster on the Rangers fans forum is supposedly ‘ITK’ with many of the posters believing it since it came from him.

“Club trying to get a deal done with Kevin Nisbet at the moment.Player wants to sign but the 2 clubs need to sort out a fee.But time getting on though.”

If Nisbet goes to Celtic or Rangers he's nailed on to get them 20 league goals or so if he starts. Would that be enough to win either the league and get them guaranteed CL football?

I really hope it doesn't happen but they might speculate to accumulate. A £4 million bid and it puts us in a tricky position, as much with the ongoing management of KN if it was turned down as much as anything.

31-08-2021, 07:38 PM
At this stage of proceedings, £10m and a good player on loan. No less.

Magpie
31-08-2021, 07:41 PM
Any truth in Nisbet to The Rangers would have been leaked to the media before someone on a fans forum who sat back and watched their club die.

Nisbet going to Rangers would be a bizarre move. They're hardly light up front with Morelos, Roofe, Sakala and I'm sure Defoe is still there? Surely nonsense.

Could easily see some truth to the Rangers rumour. Only thing giving me some comfort is he's a Celtic fan. Probably wouldn't stop him when he realises the pay increase and being back through the West though.

Hopefully nonsense.

Yes, its entirely likely that Hibs will - requiring a striker anyway as Doidge is out til Christmas - sell Nisbet to the Huns and Gullan to Killie with mere minutes left in the window and replace them with...........Callum Hendry.

Its absolutely happening..........................:rolleyes:

Nisbet rumours on line are gathering pace. Guess it only takes one tadger to start s rumour right enough.

The poster on the Rangers fans forum is supposedly ‘ITK’ with many of the posters believing it since it came from him.

“Club trying to get a deal done with Kevin Nisbet at the moment.Player wants to sign but the 2 clubs need to sort out a fee.But time getting on though.”

That doesn't sound far fetched and I could well believe that that might be the situation.

Only issue I could see would be that a fee and structure of deal agreeable to both Hibs and Rangers tonight simply doesn't exist.

Lee Marvin
31-08-2021, 07:42 PM
Think folk would start sending back their season tickets if Nisbet went to the huns at this stage :greengrin

31-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Nisbet going to Rangers would be a bizarre move. They're hardly light up front with Morelos, Roofe, Sakala and I'm sure Defoe is still there? Surely nonsense.

They don’t need him unless they’re moving players on tonight.

At this stage of proceedings, £10m and a good player on loan. No less.

I would take Morelos if he didn’t have such a soor pus. :greengrin

However, Nisbet to Rangers ...... :faf::faf::faf:

Maybe hibs will offer £50 for Morelos

31-08-2021, 07:45 PM
Christie to Bournemouth for £2.5m, was he in his last year at Celtic if not that's a low figure.

31-08-2021, 07:46 PM
The Rangers chat has been going a while, nothing new.

What would be new is if they actually make a bid this late. That would be a real test for our board.

Behave guys. No chance Hibs are letting him go there with 3 hours of the window left. We're not that daft.

I would take Morelos if he didn’t have such a soor pus. :greengrin

However, Nisbet to Rangers ...... :faf::faf::faf:

You’ve taken that too far.

Nisbet rumours on line are gathering pace. Guess it only takes one tadger to start s rumour right enough.

Not from any credible source though I don’t think.

Christie to Bournemouth for £2.5m, was he in his last year at Celtic if not that's a low figure.

:agree: Out of contract with Celtic in January

31-08-2021, 07:47 PM
Maybe hibs will offer £50 for Morelos
Hope we wouldn't pay as much as that for the fat git......

31-08-2021, 07:48 PM
:agree: Out of contract with Celtic in January

Magpie
31-08-2021, 07:48 PM

6 months left and Inverness got a sell on fee.

31-08-2021, 07:49 PM
I don’t think we will sign anyone else prior to midnight.

We’ve done our business early and if we can keep hold of all our players I would say we’ve done really well. Especially getting Boyle to sign and extended contract!

I’d like us to get Nisbet on an extended contract and Doidge too!

31-08-2021, 07:50 PM
I could have maybe got the Nisbet to Rangers chat if we were getting Itten.

If Nisbet leaves then we need 2 strikers in and of real quality

31-08-2021, 07:53 PM
Not from any credible source though I don’t think.

Just folk on twitter who seem to have heard things. Probably absolutely nothing in it.

Hibees1973
With the financial implications of the pandemic and no benefactor willing to burn money like Aberdeen & Hearts have, it's now clear we had to sell before making any major purchases. Seems we tried to get McCart but only by paying in staggered instalments.

It appears to me that Hibs expected to sell Doig earlier in the window. This would have provided them with funds early enough to buy more players to get a better and more balanced squad.

We have now put last year's 3rd place and doing the same this season in more jeopardy by not getting experienced cover at right back, centre half and centre forward. Wood, a 19 year old centre half with no experience up here is a risk. The other big 4 clubs up here will target him when we play against them. The squads at Aberdeen and Hearts look deeper than ours. Time and injuries permitting will tell if ours has more quality.

The Hibs squad already looks really thin and imbalanced to me. We look weak at right back, centre half and centre forward. Doidge is already out until next year and if Nisbet, already injured, is not fit for the derby game Hibs are in trouble. We are powder-puff up front without this pair available for selection.

However, I fully understand this approach from Hibs and support these decisions. They have focused on getting key players such as Boyle & Newell on extended contracts and negotiating higher wages for Nisbet and Doidge to keep them on board.

While I am disappointed at no sexy signings, as mentioned at the start, Hibs will have been impacted financially by the pandemic and taken a pragmatic and safe approach in this transfer window.

Magpie
Are Rangers even in a financial position to be spending £5m+ on a player? They have only done that once since their reincarnation and that was Kent.

31-08-2021, 07:54 PM

Yesterday Doig today Nisbet …. 100% deluded or at the wind up

Hibeesforever
31-08-2021, 07:57 PM
With the financial implications of the pandemic and no benefactor willing to burn money like Aberdeen & Hearts have, it's now clear we had to sell before making any major purchases. Seems we tried to get McCart but only by paying in staggered instalments.

It appears to me that Hibs expected to sell Doig earlier in the window. This would have provided them with funds early enough to buy more players to get a better and more balanced squad.

We have now put last year's 3rd place and doing the same this season in more jeopardy by not getting experienced cover at right back, centre half and centre forward. Wood, a 19 year old centre half with no experience up here is a risk. The other big 4 clubs up here will target him when we play against them. The squads at Aberdeen and Hearts look deeper than ours. Time and injuries permitting will tell if ours has more quality.

The Hibs squad already looks really thin and imbalanced to me. We look weak at right back, centre half and centre forward. Doidge is already out until next year and if Nisbet, already injured, is not fit for the derby game Hibs are in trouble. We are powder-puff up front without this pair available for selection.

However, I fully understand this approach from Hibs and support these decisions. They have focused on getting key players such as Boyle & Newell on extended contracts and negotiating higher wages for Nisbet and Doidge to keep them on board.

While I am disappointed at no sexy signings, as mentioned at the start, Hibs will have been impacted financially by the pandemic and taken a pragmatic and safe approach in this transfer window.

Disappointingly pragmatic but tend to agree that this is the reality for Hibs. Ron not investing further at this stage...I think k it is a mistake as we should build now but the club needs to be managed strategically...keep the powder dry for a January push....

31-08-2021, 07:59 PM

I think you are probably right with this summary to be honest, think the club were desperate to flog Doig and for whatever reason it hasn't happened- I think they also thought we'd get Mueller this month and that hasn't happened neither. But we've jeopardised our chances of 3rd I fear between now and Jan - if anything happens to Nisbet or Boyle between now and Jan we are struggling big time

31-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Just folk on twitter who seem to have heard things. Probably absolutely nothing in it.

If they’d heard things so would daily record or sun journalists.

31-08-2021, 08:01 PM

Well put.

31-08-2021, 08:02 PM
I think you are probably right with this summary to be honest, think the club were desperate to flog Doig and for whatever reason it hasn't happened- I think they also thought we'd get Mueller this month and that hasn't happened neither. But we've jeopardised our chances of 3rd I fear between now and Jan - if anything happens to Nisbet or Boyle between now and Jan we are struggling big time

They don't even need to get injured, just a lean spell would be damaging. And never mind the injury insurance, we could do with more variety and options up front to keep teams guessing and be able to offer different types of threat.

31-08-2021, 08:03 PM
If they’d heard things so would daily record or sun journalists.

I'm not saying they wouldn't 👀

31-08-2021, 08:03 PM
They don't even need to get injured, just a lean spell would be damaging. And never mind the injury insurance, we could do with more variety and options up front to keep teams guessing and be able to offer different types of threat.

No arguments from me mate

31-08-2021, 08:05 PM
I think we've done some really good business. But looking at where we are in terms of league position and performances and the injuries we've racked up in the first few weeks already I don't think it's unrealistic to think we should add a few more names to make sure we're in as strong a position as possible to do something this season, at least until January when Mueller and Doidge are back.

I was hoping we would be linked with one or two coming in tonight but I'm starting to think our business is done.

Lee Marvin
31-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Hibs still haven't said they are finished, but I'd be amazed if something happens now

31-08-2021, 08:09 PM
Hibs still haven't said they are finished, but I'd be amazed if something happens now

They haven't that last few windows and nothing has happened late on...pretty sure that's been the case mate...I fear we are done tbh

31-08-2021, 08:09 PM
Still think we’re short a striker. In injury to nisbet or Scott and we’re really struggling if it’s any time before January

31-08-2021, 08:10 PM
Still think we’re short a striker. In injury to nisbet or Scott and we’re really struggling if it’s any time before January

Especially since Nisbet already has a knock and has had a couple this season.

Murphy being injured too also means Scott might get played on the left.

JXM73
31-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Anyone checked if Callum Hendry's following hibs on bebo yet?

😃

They haven't that last few windows and nothing has happened late on...pretty sure that's been the case mate...I fear we are done tbh

Looking like it unfortunately. We’ll get the info leaked to the EEN shortly that’ll confirm no more signings as usually happens on deadline day.

Nothing in Nisbet to Rangers rumours.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kevin-nisbet-rangers-transfer-claims-24881010

Daily record saying Nisbet isn’t signing for Rangers.

31-08-2021, 08:13 PM
I must say if we don’t sign a striker we are asking for trouble