View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
16-05-2021, 09:14 PM
Not a higher level per se, though he did NEARLY win the league and was a massive pain in our arse...john robertson...?
Gordon Strachan appreciate that is years ago
16-05-2021, 10:00 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Aberdeen reject £2million Watford bid for Lewis Ferguson - with Rangers on hand to potentially rival EPL side
https://t.co/GBzPKP79G9 https://t.co/kP8cxEYFCA
16-05-2021, 10:03 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Aberdeen reject £2million Watford bid for Lewis Ferguson - with Rangers on hand to potentially rival EPL side
If they lose him they are struggling for next season.
Torto7
16-05-2021, 10:37 PM
Another pathetic bid from an English club for a Scottish talent. Good on the sheep and us in Jan for saying no.
17-05-2021, 02:00 AM
:hyper
17-05-2021, 02:02 AM
Another pathetic bid from an English club for a Scottish talent. Good on the sheep and us in Jan for saying no.
English clubs will be trying to poach more from up here due to Brexit... All Scottish clubs should stand firm and force them to pay
17-05-2021, 05:54 AM
Found it interesting in McGregor interview he commented on the keeper situation how we have ready made replacements in Macey and Dabrowski and he expects us to add another.
3 keepers would surely be excessive? Unless we’re thinking between Europe, League and cups it’s needed.
17-05-2021, 06:02 AM
Found it interesting in McGregor interview he commented on the keeper situation how we have ready made replacements in Macey and Dabrowski and he expects us to add another.
3 keepers would surely be excessive? Unless we’re thinking between Europe, League and cups it’s needed.
Would be normal I would think for 3 goalies plus a decent youth back up. If only got 2 goalies and one gets injured you have no back up. Personally fully expect a goalie to come in and challenge Macey for number one spot.
17-05-2021, 07:27 AM
Jason Kerr seems very keen to extend his stay at St Johnstone and would love to experience European football with them.
17-05-2021, 08:04 AM
Ross pretty much said the same himself a while back.
I think Macey is seen as good fall back and back up but we’d be looking for a new first choice.
17-05-2021, 08:20 AM
I think Macey is seen as good fall back and back up but we’d be looking for a new first choice.
Macey will be first choice
17-05-2021, 08:21 AM
Jason Kerr seems very keen to extend his stay at St Johnstone and would love to experience European football with them.
What’s the captain of the side playing the side he’s linked with going to say in the run upto the Scottish cup final? Nothing to see here
17-05-2021, 08:28 AM
Surely Dabrowski is ready to be backup, if he’s not now I’m not sure what the point of giving him a new deal was. If he is I’d like us to go with the young keeper that was on trial with a few premiership teams as our 3rd choice. Both keepers ahead of him are on 2 year deals and in 2 years he might be ready to become our number 1.
17-05-2021, 08:46 AM
What’s the captain of the side playing the side he’s linked with going to say in the run upto the Scottish cup final? Nothing to see here
Could quite easily say he's only concentrating on the cup final, certainly doesn't have to come out with the fact he's wanting to open negotiations on a new contract.
17-05-2021, 08:59 AM
Kerr is/was a Hibs man so I have no doubt if we could afford the fee he would come to us.
Playing for your boyhood club, in Europe and a better wage is a no brainer
badabing67
17-05-2021, 09:46 AM
Bang right Journalists will put a spin on anything to a story out. Beginning think anyone could be a Journo.
badabing67
17-05-2021, 09:56 AM
Could quite easily say he's only concentrating on the cup final, certainly doesn't have to come out with the fact he's wanting to open negotiations on a new contract.
Not all footballers and football agents are stupid and know how to play games. If you read between the lines you can see all sorts. This could easily be interpreted as a come get me before its to late call to Hibs, if your serious. If you see what I mean. That's how I see that anyway.
nlandsafchibee
17-05-2021, 11:21 AM
Interestingly the goalkeeper from Portsmouth who won the Checkatrade trophy at Wembley v JR s Sunderland with the penalty save is out of contract and even though player of season is set to leave .Scotsman Craig Mac Gillivary
badabing67
17-05-2021, 11:53 AM
Interestingly the goalkeeper from Portsmouth who won the Checkatrade trophy at Wembley v JR s Sunderland with the penalty save is out of contract and even though player of season is set to leave .Scotsman Craig Mac Gillivary
Has he been is Scotland squads
Leitherhibs
17-05-2021, 12:09 PM
Has he been is Scotland squads
Aye, at least a few under McLeish/Clarke, don't think he's played though..
17-05-2021, 01:26 PM
Not all footballers and football agents are stupid and know how to play games. If you read between the lines you can see all sorts. This could easily be interpreted as a come get me before its to late call to Hibs, if your serious. If you see what I mean. That's how I see that anyway.
If that's the case, bit of a dick move the week before he captains his team against us, no matter how much he might want to come here.
Souter96Mac
17-05-2021, 02:31 PM
Partnership with Brighton announced. I heard we're asking for one of their centre backs on loan. S. Duffy I think
badabing67
17-05-2021, 02:59 PM
If that's the case, bit of a dick move the week before he captains his team against us, no matter how much he might want to come here.
it won't be a dick move if it works out for him and us. I'd forgive him anyway.
17-05-2021, 03:17 PM
https://scotsabroadpod.com/stevie-mallan/ nice wee podcast with Stevie if anyone fancies listening.
nlandsafchibee
17-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Aye, at least a few under McLeish/Clarke, don't think he's played though..
I am pretty sure in article I read, he was looking for a move North and be under spotlight to give him more chance getting back in International squad .
Torto7
17-05-2021, 07:50 PM
Partnership with Brighton announced. I heard we're asking for one of their centre backs on loan. S. Duffy I think
17-05-2021, 07:55 PM
it won't be a dick move if it works out for him and us. I'd forgive him anyway.
True
17-05-2021, 09:43 PM
Oh that’s the media going into hibs players leaving overdrive
Supposedly boyles got a clause in his contract that will let him leave for £500k (surely that’s pish) & that Aberdeen are after Irvine 😂
skyehibee
17-05-2021, 09:43 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Hibs face fight to keep Martin Boyle and Jackson Irvine beyond Scottish Cup final - with Aberdeen keen on the latter ✍️ https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7126430/hibs-boyle-irvine-scottish-cup-final-aberdeen-transfer/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1621287419
Magpie
17-05-2021, 09:47 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Hibs face fight to keep Martin Boyle and Jackson Irvine beyond Scottish Cup final - with Aberdeen keen on the latter ✍️ https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7126430/hibs-boyle-irvine-scottish-cup-final-aberdeen-transfer/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1621287419
£500k buy out clause on Boyle, interesting.
I think Irvine would choose us over Aberdeen unless they offer him silly money.
17-05-2021, 09:48 PM
Supposedly boyles got a clause in his contract that will let him leave for £500k (surely that’s pish) & that Aberdeen are after Irvine 😂
Can see this being the case. Players in the last year of their contract that sign a new deal when they could bugger off regularly add in a clause that leaves the door open for them to get their move on a fee much lower than their true value but gives their club a bump in cash still. I believe Jason Cummings did the same when he signed his last contract before heading off.
17-05-2021, 09:51 PM
I don’t think Boyle having some kind of clause is that unreasonable. I thought he would have run his contract down this season so if there is any clause I also think it would be fairly favourable to him.
Still not entirely convinced he’ll not be here next season though.
Can see this being the case. Players in the last year of their contract that sign a new deal when they could bugger off regularly add in a clause that leaves the door open for them to get their move on a fee much lower than their true value but gives their club a bump in cash still. I believe Jason Cummings did the same when he signed his last contract before heading off.
I’d have even just about accepted £1m buy out clause but £500k? Ridiculously low amount for our most exciting player
£500K is a dismal amount for a player like Boyle. Clearly it's better than nothing, which would have doubtlessly been his agent's negotiating stance.
If he is off, I just hope it's as a double cup winner.
Irvine to Aberdeen would be very, very annoying.
17-05-2021, 09:52 PM
With Irvine not having signed a new contract with us yet there is going to be speculation and am sure The Sheep may well want to consider him as they will be desperate to try and be third next season
I assumed he would probably go back down south if he doesn’t sign for us
17-05-2021, 09:53 PM
Sure Irvine has said before he’s got family from Aberdeen. Could see Cormack offering him silly money to sign for them over us.
Losing Boyle for 500k would be a sickener.
17-05-2021, 09:54 PM
I reckon our only chance of keeping Irvine is winning on Saturday
1875Sean
17-05-2021, 09:55 PM
I’d have even just about accepted £1m buy out clause but £500k? Ridiculously low amount for our most exciting player
I don’t think it was Hibs choice, would have been Boyle and his agent, from a Hibs point of view chance to get some cash rather than lose him for nothing, hope it’s not true but they wouldn’t just have made it up
17-05-2021, 09:55 PM
If it was between £500k or him leaving for nothing this summer i'd take the £500k. But I agree he is worth more than that, but we should have had his contract tied up quicker than this season if possible. It wasn't like he wasn't an important player for us or anything.
17-05-2021, 09:57 PM
I don’t think it was Hibs choice, would have been Boyle and his agent, from a Hibs point of view chance to get some cash rather than lose him for nothing, hope it’s not true but they wouldn’t just have made it up
Well whoever’s leaked that info, especially this week, needs shot.
Magpie
17-05-2021, 09:59 PM
Interesting that this information has been leaked. Agent trying to get him a move?
17-05-2021, 10:04 PM
Going to be some rebuild in the summer given that’s Boyle, Nisbet, Porteous and Doig sold plus Irvine away under freedom of contract. Chuck in Marciano as well.
One plus, and it’s something that has actually happened, is that we’ve at least already signed Boyle’s replacement.
17-05-2021, 10:06 PM
Going to be some rebuild in the summer given that’s Boyle, Nisbet, Porteous and Doig sold plus Irvine away under freedom of contract. Chuck in Marciano as well.
One plus, and it’s something that has actually happened, is that we’ve at least already signed Boyle’s replacement.
Daniel McKay? He’s a right footed left winger I thought?
In fact, do you mean Cadden? He’s no replacement for Boyle.
Going to be a huge rebuild needed though, no doubt about that.
17-05-2021, 10:07 PM
I reckon our only chance of keeping Irvine is winning on Saturday
Nah, that would no doubt help the cause, but it won’t be the determining factor. Money and the club will be more significant.
Not for you Stuart, but Aberdeen won’t be out-waging Hibs on this one. They’re broke.
17-05-2021, 10:08 PM
The Boyle contract clause could well be right.
We all expected him to leave last summer and were surprised when he didn't.
All things considered both party's have done okay with the arrangement if there is one.
As for Irvine he will stay at Hibs or will be leaving Scotland. No point in him moving sideways to Aberdeen.
17-05-2021, 10:09 PM
Nah, that would no doubt help the cause, but it won’t be the determining factor. Money and the club will be more significant.
Not for you Stuart, but Aberdeen won’t be out-waging Hibs on this one. They’re broke.
Aye you could well be right, the rest of their rumoured transfers certainly don’t point towards them chucking crazy money about.
Think a cup win opens big doors for us though in terms of finances and potentially being able to afford players we might not be able to
1875Sean
17-05-2021, 10:12 PM
Can’t be that broke, Scott Brown and Gallagher will be on a decent wage
17-05-2021, 10:13 PM
Daniel McKay? He’s a right footed left winger I thought?
In fact, do you mean Cadden? He’s no replacement for Boyle.
Going to be a huge rebuild needed though, no doubt about that.
McKay. Played as much on the right as the left this season. And is meant to be equally as quick.
To be fair, I was being a bit sarcastic with my post. When you’re doing all right there is always stories linking players with moves. No point in getting worked up about negative things that might happen when any transfer dealings, that have actually happened in 2021, have been positive.
17-05-2021, 10:14 PM
Kane wants to leave spurs
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
17-05-2021, 10:15 PM
Nisbet and Doig are on long contracts so Hibs can easily keep both.
2 years left on Porteous contract so again no pressure to sell until January or Summer 22
The other 3 are a different kettle of fish:
Boyle if there is a contract clause will be gone with a major bun fight for his signature
Irvine will sign for Hibs or leave Scotland for bigger bucks
Marciano is obviously gone after Saturday
17-05-2021, 10:15 PM
Marciano
Porteous
Doig
Boyle
Irvine
Nisbet
It’s going to be some window trying to replace all of them.
As far as the money goes we’d get from them, I really don’t want to see us spending 750k per player as I’m not sure we’d be guaranteed quality and more likely it would be overinflated prices of England.
Jason Kerr
Allan Campbell
Both of those would be a good start and be about 700k combined and you know exactly what you’re getting.
The main issue is goals. Obviously McKay has signed and we’ll have Allan and Mallan back but we need someone else to hit the ground running.
17-05-2021, 10:18 PM
Also worth saying that if all those leave, we will have millions of pounds to spend on sourcing replacements.
We may be able to outmuscle our immediate competition for signings. We also may have identified some already (as you mentioned).
Change is inevitable, it's not all bad. And if Boyle goes, it's with my best wishes.
HendoDelivered
17-05-2021, 10:19 PM
You’d think they were both away already with the amount of folk pishing the bed over this 😂
17-05-2021, 10:20 PM
McKay. Played as much on the right as the left this season. And is meant to be equally as quick.
To be fair, I was being a bit sarcastic with my post. When you’re doing all right there is always stories linking players with moves. No point in getting worked up about negative things that might happen when any transfer dealings, that have actually happened in 2021, have been positive.
From what I can see you are correct he has played both left and right almost as often
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/daniel-mackay/leistungsdaten/spieler/540516
17-05-2021, 10:20 PM
Can’t be that broke, Scott Brown and Gallagher will be on a decent wage
Gallagher the wrong side of 30 and Brown the wrong side of 35 so neither is on the way up.
Jackson Irvine is 28 so at his playing peak for a few years.
Hibs or leaving Scotland.
17-05-2021, 10:21 PM
The one bonus to having to lose Boyle, Nisbet, Doig, and Porteous is that the club should in reality be looking at the biggest chunk of money it has earned since the Golden Era. With all the infrastructure in place now and the "potential" of group stage European football on the horizon it would be a fantastic platform to build the club upwards from.
We just have to hope to god we get that right and it doesn't become another 5 years of Alan O'Briens and James Collins' type signings.
You’d think they were both away already with the amount of folk pishing the bed over this 😂
Think we can safely assume that if the £500k clause is correct boyle will 100% be offski in the summer as that’s an absolute steal
Are folk pishing the bed?
Seems a reasonable enough thing to be discussion on a Hibs transfer thread I would have thought!
17-05-2021, 10:22 PM
To come to Hibs. What a madman!
17-05-2021, 10:23 PM
Also worth saying that if all those leave, we will have millions of pounds to spend on sourcing replacements.
We may be able to outmuscle our immediate competition for signings. We also may have identified some already (as you mentioned).
Change is inevitable, it's not all bad. And if Boyle goes, it's with my best wishes.
Aye I agree. I’d rather keep them and build the team but it doesn’t work like that for clubs like us when players do well.
Feel differently about our ability to actually invest and replace them these days. And January showed we won’t just sell for the sake of it.
17-05-2021, 10:23 PM
Are folk pishing the bed?
Seems a reasonable enough thing to be discussion on a Hibs transfer thread I would have thought!
No but it’s more exciting to exclaim that people are pishing the bed as oppose to getting involved in the debate
mayo hibee
17-05-2021, 10:24 PM
The one bonus to having to lose Boyle, Nisbet, Doig, and Porteous is that the club should in reality be looking at the biggest chunk of money it has earned since the Golden Era. With all the infrastructure in place now and the "potential" of group stage European football on the horizon it would be a fantastic platform to build the club upwards from.
We just have to hope to god we get that right and it doesn't become another 5 years of Alan O'Briens and James Collins' type signings.
Funnily enough Collins is out of contract this summer but would be well outside our price range. Championship clubs in England queueing up for him.
17-05-2021, 10:25 PM
:aok: agreed.
Aberdeen will lose their whole front line as they are loans, bids rejected already for Ferguson, bids in for McCrorie, and losing Ash Taylor.
We'll lose players, but we have recruited well last two windows and have the basis of a good squad. Win on Saturday we become a very exciting option next season for any player looking to make the step up (or stay) :aok:
17-05-2021, 10:26 PM
Funnily enough Collins is out of contract this summer but would be well outside our price range. Championship clubs in England queueing up for him.
He's definitely a better player than he showed for us and his since had a really good career. I got the impression that once the chips were down at us he had no interest anymore.
17-05-2021, 10:26 PM
Marciano
Porteous
Doig
Boyle
Irvine
Nisbet
As far as the money goes we’d get from them, I really don’t want to see us spending 750k per player as I’m not sure we’d be guaranteed quality and more likely it would be overinflated prices of England.
Jason Kerr
Allan Campbell
Both of those would be a good start and be about 700k combined and you know exactly what you’re getting.
The main issue is goals. Obviously McKay has signed and we’ll have Allan and Mallan back but we need someone else to hit the ground running.
Jason Kerr and Campbell would be fantastic signings,Tanser from St Johnstone and Griffiths. There is a young Australian I have seen a few times Luca Prso reminds me of Irvine ,not sure what his contract situation is.
I'm sure our recruitment team will already have a few new faces lined up.
17-05-2021, 10:29 PM
Hmmm.
A tabloid running an anti-Hibs transfer story.
Do we have a big game coming up?
17-05-2021, 10:30 PM
Jason Kerr and Campbell would be fantastic signings,Tanser from St Johnstone and Griffiths. There is a young Australian I have seen a few times Luca Prso reminds me of Irvine ,not sure what his contract situation is.
I'm sure our recruitment team will already have a few new faces lined up.
If we lose out on Irvine and Porteous leaves for more than it would cost to sign up Campbell and Kerr it's an absolute no brainer to go for them I feel.
Torto7
17-05-2021, 10:32 PM
If we lose Irvine, Boyle and Doig then the athleticism in our team takes a serious nose dive.
I can't stomach losing Irvine to the Sheep. If we are selling all these players then there should be more than enough to give him a new deal.
17-05-2021, 10:35 PM
If we lose Irvine, Boyle and Doig then the athleticism in our team takes a serious nose dive.
I can't stomach losing Irvine to the Sheep. If we are selling all these players then there should be more than enough to give him a new deal.
I'm far more worried we lose Doidge that Irvine if honest.
Torto7
17-05-2021, 10:45 PM
I'm far more worried we lose Doidge that Irvine if honest.
Yeah Doidge is very important as well, I've not seen him linked with anyone yet so hopefully we'll retain him. I can accept our better players moving to bigger clubs not the sheep though. Hibs will be flush with cash this summer judging by all these reports, Europe and strong season ticket sales. We can't lose an important player to Aberdeen it sends the wrong message imo.
17-05-2021, 10:48 PM
Kyle Turner, Dunfermline. Out of contract this summer. Were we in for him in January?
Torto7
17-05-2021, 10:58 PM
Kyle Turner, Dunfermline. Out of contract this summer. Were we in for him in January?
We got linked with Murray the CH but I can't remember anything about Turner.
17-05-2021, 11:06 PM
We got linked with Murray the CH but I can't remember anything about Turner.
Murray got a load of headlines for scoring headers but isn't much of a player.
Torto7
17-05-2021, 11:12 PM
The Pars fans I know have mixed opinions. I've never seen him apart from that one game against Hearts.
RossScott1991
17-05-2021, 11:18 PM
I’m honestly unfazed by all the transfer talk. I just want Boyle, Irvine etc to perform this Saturday and bring that cup home. Worry about their futures after.
17-05-2021, 11:22 PM
Marciano
Porteous
Doig
Boyle
Irvine
Nisbet
Jason Kerr
Allan Campbell
Don’t think we would retain both Allan and Mallan Mallan wants first team football regularly and that’s not guaranteed at Hibs so he could well want to move on
badabing67
17-05-2021, 11:35 PM
They haven't even finished least summers deals they need to Hayes his wages & still have to pay for McCrorie. Plus how many have they got out of contract
17-05-2021, 11:50 PM
I was told MB had a clause in his contract when he signed his new deal, for the figure being quoted in the press. The disappointing thing is it has been leaked now which can only be coming from his agent IMO. Doesn’t sound hopeful, of all our players he’s probably the one I want to lose least of all.
17-05-2021, 11:56 PM
They haven't even finished least summers deals they need to Hayes his wages & still have to pay for McCrorie. Plus how many have they got out of contract
Was the fee for McCrorie not settled by Wright going in the other direction in January?
TheHibernator
18-05-2021, 12:14 AM
We should move for Campbell if Irvines keeping us waiting imo, nobody bigger than the club.
Robbo6-2
18-05-2021, 04:33 AM
The clause is probably correct but very poor from the Sun and his more than likely his Agent for this to come out 4days before cup final.
18-05-2021, 04:34 AM
We're not going to lose them all. Nisbet isn't leaving 1 year into a 4 year deal until its for silly money. Irvine was without a club for 6 months, will he risk that again? Doig will also stay unless silly money, same with Ryan.
Boyle would stay if he valued football over money, but he may not.
We'll lose a few but we'll also bring in some real quality as well.
18-05-2021, 05:36 AM
Back up for Doidgenaldo?
18-05-2021, 05:46 AM
Think it shows the importance of winning the cup on Saturday, it could completely change our fortunes.
Get that and the 3 million and European football until Christmas would be a huge attraction for recruiting players and them choosing us over Aberdeen.
It’s stuff like this on Saturday that will help us consistently finish 3rd and win cups as well continue to grow and our targets will start coming to us or we’ll be able to recruit a better calibre of player.
18-05-2021, 06:00 AM
think you have more faith in the tabloid press than I do, they make stuff up all the time.
To be honest the build up to our biggest game of the season isn't really the time to discuss these things however if we win the cup and they then move pretty ok with it.
18-05-2021, 06:04 AM
The Boyle contract clause could well be right.
We all expected him to leave last summer and were surprised when he didn't.
All things considered both party's have done okay with the arrangement if there is one.
As for Irvine he will stay at Hibs or will be leaving Scotland. No point in him moving sideways to Aberdeen.
It was surprising when MB signed a new contract so there would have to be something in it for both parties. Personally would be relatively ok with it as long as he continues his brilliant form on Saturday. Irvine was always likely to leave however actually think he will stay if we win the cup.
18-05-2021, 06:07 AM
I’m honestly unfazed by all the transfer talk. I just want Boyle, Irvine etc to perform this Saturday and bring that cup home. Worry about their futures after.
Absolutely this.
18-05-2021, 06:08 AM
Was the fee for McCrorie not settled by Wright going in the other direction in January?
Pretty sure it was.
Chorley Hibee
18-05-2021, 06:23 AM
Think it shows the importance of winning the cup on Saturday, it could completely change our fortunes.
Get that and the 3 million and European football until Christmas would be a huge attraction for recruiting players and them choosing us over Aberdeen.
It’s stuff like this on Saturday that will help us consistently finish 3rd and win cups as well continue to grow and our targets will start coming to us or we’ll be able to recruit a better calibre of player.
The bad news is we're not guaranteed Group stage football by winning the cup.
Check out the thread about that on here.
18-05-2021, 06:27 AM
So in the run up to the cup final we have had the St Johnstone player Kerr saying he wants to sign an extension and lead them to Europe and then Hibs are losing Boyle and Irvine. Interesting from the tabloids. Every transfer window that comes round Hibs are on danger of losing our best players because that is where we are in the pecking order. Interesting thought when you put these stories side by side!
thegaffer12
18-05-2021, 07:04 AM
Replacement for Nisbet? Or backup if he stays?
18-05-2021, 07:04 AM
Unbelievable a bit of ropey speculation and the usual suspects on here are wetting their pants and have half the 1st team squad gone...
Stokesy's on fire
18-05-2021, 07:09 AM
Regarding our players this appears to be Agents stirring it up a bit towards the end of the season as they seek the best deal for their clients. But lets be blunt here if the club are to do well then retaining our best players within reason should be a key priority in order to take the club forward we have just made 3rd and we should be using that accomplishment as a springboard.
No Point bedwetting here. Whatever will be will be. They are all Hibs players this week and have given themselves a chance of winning the Scottish cup. That’s part of why we signed them all in the first place.
18-05-2021, 07:16 AM
We are awfully short of numbers for Saturday with all these players leaving, how will we cope?
18-05-2021, 07:19 AM
I don’t get this bed wetting nonsense.
There’s a story in a paper that two of our best players are leaving in the summer, it’s being discussed on the transfer thread, what’s wrong with that?
The story about Boyle makes complete sense and of course there’ll be other teams interested in Irvine.
MikeyS
18-05-2021, 07:25 AM
My Pars supporting cousin happens to think he has signed a pre contract with Aberdeen. Haven't seen anything to confirm that however.
18-05-2021, 07:31 AM
Unbelievable a bit of ropey speculation and the usual suspects on here are wetting their pants and have half the 1st team squad gone...
Who’s “wetting their pants” on this thread? Point them out.
All I see is folk talking about a story that has appeared in The Sun. As odious as that rag is, they have usually been pretty spot on with their Hibs info in the past
18-05-2021, 07:31 AM
Hibs announcing something at nine
Signing?
Sponsorship?
New Kit?
None of the above?
18-05-2021, 07:32 AM
Who’s “wetting their pants” on this thread? Point them out.
All I see is folk talking about a story that has appeared in The Sun. As odious as that rag is, they have usually been pretty spot on with their Hibs info in the past
Even if it turns out to be a lot of rubbish it’s still worthy of discussion on a transfer rumours thread on a Hibs message board.
18-05-2021, 07:33 AM
Signing?
Sponsorship?
New Kit?
None of the above?
Contract extension?
18-05-2021, 07:34 AM
There’s a story in a paper that two of our best players are leaving in the summer, it’s being discussed on the transfer thread, what’s wrong with that?
The story about Boyle makes complete sense and of course there’ll be other teams interested in Irvine.
People are chatting is if both of them plus nisbet, porteous and doig are all 100% leaving.
I highly doubt we'll have lost all 5 come September.
18-05-2021, 07:35 AM
People are chatting is if both of them plus nisbet, porteous and doig are all 100% leaving.
But it’s possible right?
18-05-2021, 07:36 AM
Because there’s rumours about all 5 leaving.
Of course that’s being discussed and the potential what it scenario if they are?
18-05-2021, 07:37 AM
I think most folk are just mentioning they might leave.
And most folk also seem to have a degree of confidence we’d reinvest any money we get well, unlike in years gone by.
18-05-2021, 07:43 AM
Don’t think anyone could begrudge a move for Boyle has been terrific for Hibs And improved so much as a player so deserves a crack at the English championship at least.
Would be disappointed if Irvine left for Aberdeen but trust Ross with the summer transfers.
What’s happened to Johnston at Celtic? Says he signed a 5 year deal in 2019 but not seen him much.
18-05-2021, 07:44 AM
Signing?
Sponsorship?
New Kit?
None of the above?
New chief exec?
18-05-2021, 07:45 AM
Signing?
Sponsorship?
New Kit?
None of the above?
Harry Kane? :greengrin
mayo hibee
18-05-2021, 07:49 AM
Harry Kane? :greengrin
Lockdown restrictions are easing. So probably a murder mystery night.
18-05-2021, 07:49 AM
I'm expecting Boyle, Nisbet, Porteous and Doig to leave. Can see a bid for Doidge too. It's inevitable and lets be honest, it's the business model we have. It would be disappointing to lose all of them at once but money talks.
18-05-2021, 07:50 AM
New chief exec?
Good shout very possibly
18-05-2021, 07:51 AM
Signing?
Sponsorship?
New Kit?
None of the above?
That the reporting of Irvine going to Aberdeen is pish and him and Boyle are staying
18-05-2021, 07:52 AM
New chief exec?
Good shout very possibly
Rod Petrie?
18-05-2021, 07:55 AM
This bed wetting chat is just nonsense.
All players being mentioned all have real potential to leave in the summer, will they all leave? Who knows.
For me Nisbet and Boyle will be away and Doig potentially but maybe loaned back.
But debating them leaving and potential replacements on a forum is surely normal?
18-05-2021, 07:55 AM
Back up for Doidge?
MagicSwirlingShip
18-05-2021, 07:58 AM
Rod Petrie?
Petrie!!!!!!
18-05-2021, 07:59 AM
So in the run up to the cup final we have had the St Johnstone player Kerr saying he wants to sign an extension and lead them to Europe and then Hibs are losing Boyle and Irvine. Interesting from the tabloids. Every transfer window that comes round Hibs are on danger of losing our best players because that is where we are in the pecking order. Interesting thought when you put these stories side by side!
I noticed that too. The mail on Saturday suggested Doig could be bought for £1.2m(oh ma sides),speculation on Nisbet even though Kennedy made it quite clear it’s up to the new manager who he wants and now boyler alleged contract situation. It’s not as if we have a cup final to look forward to where speculation might distract the squad. Oh wait. The same old nonsense. I doubt those in contract will go unless we get a very good offer plus we have replacements lined up.
18-05-2021, 08:00 AM
Ok so it's a friendly Vs arsenal
mayo hibee
18-05-2021, 08:01 AM
Wouldn't have minded if it was someone good.
18-05-2021, 08:01 AM
They do themselves no favours sometimes
18-05-2021, 08:03 AM
Pre season friendly announcement.
Underwhelming!
18-05-2021, 08:04 AM
Friendly against Arsenal. Fans back et ER.
Not overwhelming but could be worse.
mayo hibee
18-05-2021, 08:04 AM
Will be nice for Arsenal to get the chance to play a team that has qualified for Europe all the same. Hopefully we can help them improve.
18-05-2021, 08:05 AM
Good stuff. Big side who'll bring fans and should get a good hibs crowd if we're allowed.
18-05-2021, 08:06 AM
They do themselves no favours sometimes
Who does? Surely you're not expecting a signing with absolutely zero rumours?
18-05-2021, 08:07 AM
Friendly against Arsenal. Fans back et ER.
Not overwhelming but could be worse.
There's still no guarantee that fans will be allowed back, especially pre season and early season. If any are allowed back probably in the 1,000 - 2,000 range to start with?
18-05-2021, 08:08 AM
There's still no guarantee that fans will be allowed back, especially pre season and early season. If any are allowed back probably in the 1,000 - 2,000 range to start with?
It's a start.
18-05-2021, 08:09 AM
Will be nice for Arsenal to get the chance to play a team that has qualified for Europe all the same. Hopefully we can help them improve.
I can see it being a typical friendly - training match pace, players getting 30 - 45 minutes, millions of substitutions...
18-05-2021, 08:11 AM
It's a start.
TBH, I can't see big numbers being allowed back all at once. maybe staggered increases in attendances allowed over a few months, with ongoing monitoring to ensure no significant infection increases.
18-05-2021, 08:11 AM
Wish they hadn't announced this match at all. Just play it at the training ground.
18-05-2021, 08:15 AM
Wish they hadn't announced this match at all. Just play it at the training ground.
Lap of honour with the Scottish Cup better at Easter Road than East Mains Flash. :greengrin
18-05-2021, 08:16 AM
Pre season friendly with Arsenal? Meh
James Stephen
18-05-2021, 08:18 AM
Its almost as if the press are trying really hard to attract readers from clubs whose seasons have just finished.
badabing67
18-05-2021, 08:26 AM
They will if they leave with Josh Doig in their back pocket
18-05-2021, 08:30 AM
They will if they leave with Josh Douglas in their back pocket
Happy with that if it means Doig stays [emoji6]
18-05-2021, 08:31 AM
Lap of honour with the Scottish Cup better at Easter Road than East Mains Flash. :greengrin
Absolutely. I would love to see Arsenal at ER.
18-05-2021, 08:31 AM
Josh Douglas?
18-05-2021, 08:32 AM
Who does? Surely you're not expecting a signing with absolutely zero rumours?
I was promised “exciting news” :greengrin
18-05-2021, 08:36 AM
Wonder if we’ll be in the stadium by then? Away fans have been ruled out already.
18-05-2021, 08:37 AM
Exactly, but why does there have to be the doomsday scenario with everything Hibs? We could keep everyone and sign Leigh Griffiths. :greengrin
We lose players every season, this is nothing new, and if anyone thinks we are going to lose all our good players in one, they are obviously completely mad.
People must think we have morons running the club. :rolleyes:
18-05-2021, 08:37 AM
I was promised “exciting news” :greengrin
Saul you need to get your detective hat on again. 😁
18-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Pre season friendly with Arsenal? Meh
I don't get all these "underwhelming" and "meh" comments.
If Hibs fans are saying that then what are the Gunners fans saying?!
18-05-2021, 08:41 AM
It’ll be the biggest team we’ve played since Barcelona in 2008 I think it was?
18-05-2021, 08:42 AM
This is a great friendly to have, i just dont get it? :confused:
18-05-2021, 08:42 AM
Arsenal are very attractive opposition for a friendly - don’t understand the negativity being expressed.
18-05-2021, 08:43 AM
It is exciting news to be playing Arsenal at ER. One of the biggest clubs in Europe no matter how poor they've been lately. Would folk rather be playing Berwick or Forres Mechanics?
18-05-2021, 08:43 AM
It’ll be the biggest team we’ve played since Barcelona in 2008 I think it was?
You’re forgetting that we’ve played a few games against Heart of Midlothian in that time, so Arsenal the second biggest.
18-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Nisbet, Doig, Porto to Brighton then loaned back to us until the end of the year?
18-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Decent announcement imo arsenal is definitely a game to look forward to.
18-05-2021, 08:45 AM
Exactly, but why does there have to be the doomsday scenario with everything Hibs? We could keep everyone and sign Leigh Griffiths. :greengrin
We lose players every season, this is nothing new, and if anyone thinks we are going to lose all our good players in one, they are obviously completely mad.
Bloody happy clappers 😂
18-05-2021, 08:46 AM
Nisbet, Doig, Porto to Brighton then loaned back to us until the end of the year?
No
18-05-2021, 08:48 AM
You’re forgetting that we’ve played a few games against Heart of Midlothian in that time, so Arsenal the second biggest.
RossScott1991
18-05-2021, 09:01 AM
Let’s face it if Boyle , Nisbet , Irvine etc don’t show up on Saturday and we lose half this forum worrying about their futures will want them to leave anyway!!! Haha
I just want the focus to be solely on all the above and others linked with moves to go win a 2nd Scottish cup in 5 years.
If they do that then whatever will be will be, I will be a happy man and if they want to move on and get the club more ££ then so be it. Let’s just bring the cup home
18-05-2021, 09:04 AM
The "underwhelming" comment was in response to Hibs tweeting about an announcement being made as if something important was being announced and then it turns out to be a pre season friendly. Well correct me if I'm wrong, but we have pre season friendlies every pre season, don't we? Why the breathless trailers on Twitter for that?
18-05-2021, 09:06 AM
The "underwhelming" comment was in response to Hibs tweeting about an announcement being made as if something important was being announced and then it turns out to be a pre season friendly. Well correct me if I'm wrong, but we have pre season friendlies every pre season, don't we? Why the breathless trailers on Twitter for that?
The teaser was just a bit of fun. Lighten up!
18-05-2021, 09:07 AM
Playing Arsenal at ER is a big deal. I'd love to see that game but as it's a Tuesday, I won't come up for it so I'll have to hope it's on Hibs TV.
18-05-2021, 09:16 AM
I wouldn't be getting angry or anything about it, but I also don't know how people think a pre season friendly is exciting. Yes friendlies are needed for players to get up to fitness, but the results mean absolutely nothing. It's paying money to watch a training session really. Win 2-0, lose 2-0, means not a thing.
18-05-2021, 09:18 AM
We are awfully short of numbers for Saturday with all these players leaving, how will we cope?
I believe Scot Allen is available as his loan at ICT has ended.
18-05-2021, 09:24 AM
I believe he is cup tied
18-05-2021, 09:24 AM
Loving the ignorance of the Arsenal ‘fans’ on their Twitter announcement about the friendly against us - I say fans, overseas clueless donuts would be a more accurate description and the closest they’ve ever been to the emirates is watching it on tele from a distance of 5000 miles
18-05-2021, 09:25 AM
Is it just me who doesn't give a **** who will be here next season? We have a cup final to win, then we can start worrying about the squad.
18-05-2021, 09:27 AM
Is it just me who doesn't give a **** who will be here next season? We have a cup final to win, then we can start worrying about the squad.
:agree: bigger fish to fry. We've got the whole summer to think about the squad.
18-05-2021, 09:28 AM
Probably just you. :agree:
Edit: And Jones and Bingo. :greengrin
And just about everyone bar me! :faf:
18-05-2021, 09:28 AM
That’s exactly where I am.
I don’t think this speculation will have any impact whatsoever on the match. After this weekend I’m not really arsed.
All the players linked with moves have done really well but I back the club to replace them well.
Players leaving don’t bother me now, just part of the process now.
18-05-2021, 09:30 AM
Exactly how I feel. Europe and next seasons squad can wait until after Saturday
ElginHibbie
18-05-2021, 09:30 AM
:agree: Win on Saturday, see what European place we actually end up with and can then worry about who's coming or going
Dazzjw1875
18-05-2021, 09:32 AM
I think if moves were going to happen, Hibs are not daft and will already have wheels in motion regarding replacements being spoken to. Let's get Saturday done 1st then we worry about the summer departures.
h185forever
18-05-2021, 09:36 AM
I think if moves were going to happen, Hibs are not daft and will already have wheels in motion regarding replacements being spoken to. Let's get Saturday done 1st then we worry about the summer departures.
Well said !!
18-05-2021, 09:43 AM
I believe Scot Allen is available as his loan at ICT has ended.
I dunno if this is a windup at this point but Scott Allan cannot play for hibs again this season.
18-05-2021, 09:44 AM
Well said !!
Yes, the new Hibs will have all bases covered, not worried in the slightest.
I dunno if this is a windup at this point but Scott Allan cannot play for hibs again this season.
Scot Allen can play though.
Hoped the spelling would make it obvious, maybe not.
18-05-2021, 09:50 AM
Scot Allen can play though.
Didn't someone say he was in Germany with Mrs Marciano?
Magpie
18-05-2021, 09:57 AM
Loving the ignorance of the Arsenal ‘fans’ on their Twitter announcement about the friendly against us - I say fans, overseas clueless donuts would be a more accurate description and the closest they’ve ever been to the emirates is watching it on tele from a distance of 5000 miles
There won’t be many teams that Arsenal face around Europe next season.
18-05-2021, 10:02 AM
People who follow premier league clubs (this is a very sweeping statement and doesn't particularly apply to English football fans) have a really poor knowledge of anything away from the premier league IMO.
18-05-2021, 10:15 AM
Nope.
May - look forward to cup final month.
Every July I pish my bed because we've still not sorted the midfield.
We don't need to put the cart before the horse, we'll get there.
18-05-2021, 10:20 AM
I don't want Martin to leave, he is just one of those players that you'd love to see staying and finishing his career at ER. Seems to get Hibs and is a very good, exciting player. Sadly modern football very seldom sees players stay for years, Lewis and Paul are exceptions. But if he does go I am sure that we will have a suitable replacement already on the radar. Anyway he's still here and hopefully will have another winners medal in his pocket come Saturday evening
NthCarolinaHibs
18-05-2021, 10:41 AM
Didn't someone say he was in Germany with Mrs Marciano?
He was at the sellick game on Saturday..
18-05-2021, 10:53 AM
He was at the sellick game on Saturday..
18-05-2021, 11:33 AM
Arsenal are very attractive opposition for a friendly - don’t understand the negativity being expressed.
Agree not sure it could get much more exciting for us.
18-05-2021, 11:36 AM
Agree not sure it could get much more exciting for us.
Without a doubt. Barca friendly would probably be the last time we had such a big club.
Definitely going to try and be one of the miniscule number of fans that are no doubt allowed to attend.
18-05-2021, 11:51 AM
I was told MB had a clause in his contract when he signed his new deal, for the figure being quoted in the press. The disappointing thing is it has been leaked now which can only be coming from his agent IMO. Doesn’t sound hopeful, of all our players he’s probably the one I want to lose least of all.
If true it’s a bad piece of business If it’s the amount quoted plus add on s that would be slightly better
But fir a player with his pace goals snd assists that’s a bargain basement price and guaranteed to encourage bids
18-05-2021, 11:57 AM
If true it’s a bad piece of business If it’s the amount quoted plus add on s that would be slightly better
But fir a player with his pace goals snd assists that’s a bargain basement price and guaranteed to encourage bids
What if the player insisted on the clause?
Robbo6-2
18-05-2021, 11:58 AM
Its not a bad bit of business as he could of walked away after Saturday game for free.
If we have upped wages for Boyle for 6months it may of been an additional 75k for the 6month period.
425k in our bank account is better than 0.
500k is an absolute steal though for a player of his quality.
18-05-2021, 11:59 AM
Its not if its the only way he would sign the new contract. It's clever from Boyles agent. His client can now command a bigger signing on deal in the event of a sale.
Bad Habits
18-05-2021, 12:03 PM
First instinct is this is related to Doig. Could have been included in the offer that Arsenal are to play us in a Freindly with the cash going to us. I know this because it happens on football manager all the time and the line between the game and real life is very blurred for me sometimes! :greengrin
18-05-2021, 12:53 PM
The alternative was that he was walking away for nothing after Saturday. Struggling to understand why people don't grasp this.
Boyle got a better wage and job security, with a proviso that he could leave the club once a fee was met. If he's had a shan season, no one would have been interested. As it is, he's played his heart out, scored the goals, helped us to third place and a cup final. Sadly, he's earned a move and he's done the business, thus far. It's not rocket science :na na:
18-05-2021, 12:57 PM
The alternative was that he was walking away for nothing after Saturday. Struggling to understand why people don't grasp this.
Boyle got a better wage and job security, with a proviso that he could leave the club once a fee was met. If he's had a shan season, no one would have been interested. As it is, he's played his heart out, scored the goals, helped us to third place and a cup final. Sadly, he's earned a move and he's done the business, thus far. It's not rocket science :na na:
18-05-2021, 12:57 PM
First instinct is this is related to Doig. Could have been included in the offer that Arsenal are to play us in a Freindly with the cash going to us. I know this because it happens on football manager all the time and the line between the game and real life is very blurred for me sometimes! :greengrin
I doubt it to be honest. The amount of money the friendly will raise will be so small and insignificant to Arsenal I think they'd have just paid us if it needed.
18-05-2021, 01:06 PM
Livingston provide update on players moving on.
Returning/Returned to Parent Club
Ciaron Brown
Djibril Diani
Robby McCrorie
Julien Serrano
Released
Efe Ambrose
Raffaele De Vita
Jay Emmanuel-Thomas
Steve Lawson
Alan Lithgow
Scott Robinson
Ross Stewart
Aaron Taylor-Sinclair
Scott Tiffoney (Terms Offered)
Transfer Listed
Jon Guthrie – Has asked to be placed on the transfer list due to family reasons.
18-05-2021, 01:37 PM
Ciaron Brown
Djibril Diani
Robby McCrorie
Julien Serrano
Released
Efe Ambrose
Raffaele De Vita
Jay Emmanuel-Thomas
Steve Lawson
Alan Lithgow
Scott Robinson
Ross Stewart
Aaron Taylor-Sinclair
Transfer Listed
Jon Guthrie – Has asked to be placed on the transfer list due to family reasons.
Heard Jet pretty certain to be going to Aberdeen appreciate was in the news recently but apparently he confirmed it.
I'd be willing to bet he did, have to say I was a bit surprised when he signed his new contract, but it makes sense now.
18-05-2021, 01:49 PM
Ciaron Brown
Djibril Diani
Robby McCrorie
Julien Serrano
Released
Efe Ambrose
Raffaele De Vita
Jay Emmanuel-Thomas
Steve Lawson
Alan Lithgow
Scott Robinson
Ross Stewart
Aaron Taylor-Sinclair
Transfer Listed
McCrorie the goalie that Hibs were interested in a couple of years ago? Could that be back on if we still want another GK?
Club goes to Boyle and say sign a new deal, Boyle says he's thinking of going at the end of the current deal, they agree an extension so he moves and we get some money as we've been good and fair to him as a player,both parties win.
18-05-2021, 02:07 PM
McCrorie the goalie that Hibs were interested in a couple of years ago? Could that be back on if we still want another GK?
He will be back at Rangers i assume.
18-05-2021, 02:13 PM
I wouldn't think so, lost his place in the Livi team. The boy who took his place looked decent mind.
badabing67
18-05-2021, 02:21 PM
When the players break for summer when do they return for pre season, because when they do break this effectively means the bubble is broken. So I expect there will need to be a quarantine period before they return to from a new bubble. No idea what will happen with the International players that make the squad for the Euro's. If Nizzy makes it he may return much later.
18-05-2021, 02:29 PM
#BringBackEfe
18-05-2021, 02:30 PM
Aberdeen will be much improved next season with Brown and the other 3 rumoured signings of JET, Griffiths and Irvine. I hope they remain rumours.
18-05-2021, 02:34 PM
In a nutshell accurately and sadly for us.
18-05-2021, 02:35 PM
#BringBackEfe
I've heard worse suggestions.
Exactly this! And to add, if MB signed a new contract with a buy out clause then fine. We've had his excellent service for an additional year & he's helped us to a 3rd place finish & a Cup Final. Those alone are probably worth another £500k minimum. There's also a lot of short memories around. It was only a few months ago MB was receiving regular criticism on here.
Spudster
18-05-2021, 02:45 PM
Aberdeen will be much improved next season with Brown and the other 3 rumoured signings of JET, Griffiths and Irvine. I hope they remain rumours.
Aberdeen won't be signing Griffiths.
badabing67
18-05-2021, 02:49 PM
I never really seen much of Efe this season. Not sure how well he has been playing tbh
18-05-2021, 02:51 PM
I never really seen much of Efe this season. Not sure how well he has been playing tbh
Very well when Livingston were playing very well.
Not sure how he's coped when their form tailed off.
18-05-2021, 02:59 PM
Aberdeen won't be signing Griffiths.
Yes, the club has said they won’t so I suppose it must be true. :greengrin
18-05-2021, 02:59 PM
He was hooked the last time we played them IIRC.
18-05-2021, 03:06 PM
19 appearances and in the starting 11 48% of the time according to transfermrkt
badabing67
18-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Efe could be a good signing and i think he would be good support for Porto
18-05-2021, 03:18 PM
I wouldn't think so, lost his place in the Livi team. The boy who took his place looked decent mind.
Yes thought Stryek (sp?) looked very good brave and commanding
18-05-2021, 03:20 PM
It’s the amount I disagree with the rest I get
18-05-2021, 03:23 PM
Wonder how may will end up at Hearts?
18-05-2021, 03:28 PM
Transfers in and particularly out don't really bother me as much as they used to. I fully trust the club to do what's best. They've earned my trust over the last few years so what will be will be.
18-05-2021, 03:29 PM
It’s the amount I disagree with the rest I get
He may well not have signed up Ronnie. The low fee with give Boyle a much higher signing up fee/wages with any new employer. I would imagine it'll broaden the number of would be suitors too.
It's gash, but thanks to tv money and the like, that's the modern way.
18-05-2021, 03:59 PM
Efe could be a good signing and i think he would be good support for Porto
Just after he broke into the team, Porto was asked about our other CH’s and what it was like to play with them - he was gushing about Daz, positive enough about Hanlon but reading between the lines I don’t think he thought Efe helped him all that much.
I still loved Efe as a player for us, he was class. I’d be more positive about him coming back now he’s got a bit more football behind him again, I didn’t know how he might come back from his wee break.
18-05-2021, 04:06 PM
jet confirmed by Aberdeen.
Meh.
18-05-2021, 04:37 PM
From Edinburgh live
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/martin-boyle-rubbishes-hibs-transfer-20625935.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Hibs star Martin Boyle has rubbished any suggestion he is looking to leave the club this summer.
Reports suggested Hibs faced a fight to keep him at Easter Road due to a £500k clause in his contract but Boyle has laughed it off.
And while he admits he was delighted to see his name linked with any move, he insists he has no real interest in moving on but is flattered by the talks.
He was heavily linked with Celtic in the past and the Australia international is just focusing on the Scottish Cup Final and then returning for a European trip next season.
18-05-2021, 04:39 PM
jet confirmed by Aberdeen.
Meh.
One down, two to go. :greengrin :worried:
18-05-2021, 04:46 PM
From Edinburgh live
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/martin-boyle-rubbishes-hibs-transfer-20625935.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Hibs star Martin Boyle has rubbished any suggestion he is looking to leave the club this summer.
Reports suggested Hibs faced a fight to keep him at Easter Road due to a £500k clause in his contract but Boyle has laughed it off.
And while he admits he was delighted to see his name linked with any move, he insists he has no real interest in moving on but is flattered by the talks.
He was heavily linked with Celtic in the past and the Australia international is just focusing on the Scottish Cup Final and then returning for a European trip next season.
Good stuff from Boyler, very respectful to the club - which is no surprise given his character and commitment.
Of course it doesn't mean he won't be off, that'd be a naive position to take, however it's nice to see one of these tabloid rumours squashed at source rather quickly.
18-05-2021, 04:49 PM
One down, two to go. :greengrin :worried:
Big physical signings so far
18-05-2021, 04:58 PM
Maybe McInnes is still there after all 😁
18-05-2021, 05:11 PM
So far, all the wrong side of 30
Torto7
18-05-2021, 05:14 PM
From Edinburgh live
Good. Mischief making by someone then.
18-05-2021, 05:26 PM
From Edinburgh live
How dare someone smear the fine reputation of the Scottish Sun by providing them with fake news. On the Boyle to Celtic issue, and with respect to Martin, Celtic will have to set their sights a bit higher if they want to challenge Rangers and have a run in Europe next season.
18-05-2021, 05:27 PM
From Edinburgh live
Standard "keeping options open" response. Good to see he's open to staying, but I suspect he will go if the clause is met.
18-05-2021, 05:44 PM
It seems to me Boyle has always done the right thing by Hibs and I hope he is one of the highest paid players at the Club
I have no. issue with any of this apart from the amount being quoted
He is clearly worth far more than that imo If there are add ons then it would soften the blow
Just my view
18-05-2021, 05:46 PM
Its not a bad bit of business as he could of walked away after Saturday game for free.
If we have upped wages for Boyle for 6months it may of been an additional 75k for the 6month period.
425k in our bank account is better than 0.
500k is an absolute steal though for a player of his quality.
Your last point is the bit that I agree with
18-05-2021, 05:47 PM
Standard "keeping options open" response. Good to see he's open to staying, but I suspect he will go if the clause is met.
To be honest I didn't get that from his quotes at all. He IS happy here and his quotes about hibs and his family life back that up. He comes across as really happy with his lot. I don't see him moving.
badabing67
18-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Just after he broke into the team, Porto was asked about our other CH’s and what it was like to play with them - he was gushing about Daz, positive enough about Hanlon but reading between the lines I don’t think he thought Efe helped him all that much.
I still loved Efe as a player for us, he was class. I’d be more positive about him coming back now he’s got a bit more football behind him again, I didn’t know how he might come back from his wee break.
When Porto and Boyler did there Caribou challenge the way they spoke about Efe you could tell they both held Efe in high regard as footballer. Well that was the impression i got from it from it. So I'm surprised by that.
18-05-2021, 05:58 PM
How dare someone smear the fine reputation of the Scottish Sun by providing them with fake news. On the Boyle to Celtic issue, and with respect to Martin, Celtic will have to set their sights a bit higher if they want to challenge Rangers and have a run in Europe next season.
MB didn't deny the clause existed.
18-05-2021, 06:01 PM
JET is a big upgrade on Kamberi for Aberdeen
badabing67
18-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Good stuff from Boyler, very respectful to the club - which is no surprise given his character and commitment.
Of course it doesn't mean he won't be off, that'd be a naive position to take, however it's nice to see one of these tabloid rumours squashed at source rather quickly.
Starman can't tell you how happy that has made me. I have been a bit down all day thinking about this and the Euro situation. Much more positive now. You gotta luv that guy. bring it back home Boyler.
18-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Both much worse than Cosgrove who is really the one they're trying to replace.
18-05-2021, 06:17 PM
He's hardly set the heather on fire at Livvy, they're welcome to him :confused:
18-05-2021, 07:25 PM
Bruce Anderson joins Livingston from Aberdeen on a pre-contract
18-05-2021, 07:33 PM
Yep couldn't agree more mate...if that's the standard Aberdeen are signing...il take it deffo
18-05-2021, 07:34 PM
Think he’s a decent squad addition - not likely to be their main number 9..but will get some goals and add a bit of quality to their bench ....
18-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Think he’s a decent squad addition - not likely to be their main number 9..but will get some goals and add a bit of quality to their bench ....
Aye he’s a decent back up. We definitely need to bring another striker in. 2 if nisbet leaves. Absolutely cannot leave ourselves with only 2 strikers to choose from
18-05-2021, 08:49 PM
Wouldn’t go that far, a couple of flashes of excellence other than that I’ve not seen anything from him that stands out. Gifted is a goal at Livi which was nice and actually quite Kamberiesq
18-05-2021, 09:03 PM
Been saying for ages to anyone who'll listen (which isn't many when it's me talking) that Aberdeen are reigning in their spending. They are going to experience what we did for a few years....
18-05-2021, 09:35 PM
Is the correct answer.
18-05-2021, 09:41 PM
Maybe he wasn’t asked?
18-05-2021, 09:47 PM
Maybe he wasn’t asked?
Aye, maybe.
However, given that the reason he was interviewed was because of a story about a release contract, I can't imagine the journalist forgot to mention it.
18-05-2021, 09:56 PM
They have done the easy bit, signed a guy who used to be a good player and now a statue with good feet.
Saying that, it will be interesting to see the fitness level of JET when the season starts given it appeared to take him until April to get up to speed for Livingston. The new Aberdeen striker coach must think he can get a tune out of the big guy.
Gallagher is a good signing. Not much cope on the ball but a good tough defender.
Irvine will be staying at Hibs or leaving Scotland.
The Griffiths drama will be some watch this summer and next season if he doesn't sign for Hibs or Celtic. Would predict an implosion.
18-05-2021, 10:08 PM
Maybe he wasn’t asked?
More likely it was agreed that question would not be asked.
18-05-2021, 10:15 PM
Apparently a very professional guy but sadly that hasn't translated into good performances for the young man
18-05-2021, 10:24 PM
Your last point is the bit that I agree with
So, what’s your actual take on the rest of the point, which I happen to think is pretty much hard to disagree with. Should we have just let him run down his contract and got nothing :confused: Maybe you can enlighten us about a hard reality that seems to have been accepted by just about every other poster commenting.
18-05-2021, 10:25 PM
Ciaron Brown
Djibril Diani
Robby McCrorie
Julien Serrano
Released
Efe Ambrose
Raffaele De Vita
Jay Emmanuel-Thomas
Steve Lawson
Alan Lithgow
Scott Robinson
Ross Stewart
Aaron Taylor-Sinclair
Transfer Listed
Predictably their squad is decimated.
Ciaron Brown was recalled to his club Cardiff early and Scott Robinson I presume refused to sign another contract so was dropped. The loss of both these players seemed to send them into freefall.
The possible further loss of Jon Guthrie will also hurt them
Efe no longer appears to be the fantastic player that left Hibs. Just seems to have been going through the motions.
Scott Tiffoney won't save their ass next season!
Show time for Martindale. Can you build a new team David? The new Hamilton.
18-05-2021, 10:43 PM
So, what’s your actual take on the rest of the point, which I happen to think is pretty much hard to disagree with. Should we have just let him run down his contract and got nothing :confused: Maybe you can enlighten us about a hard reality that seems to have been accepted by just about every other poster commenting.
My only point was if there is a get out clause and if the figure being quoted is accurate , then the fee should of been higher He is at present in my opinion our most valuable player to the team When on form
18-05-2021, 10:47 PM
My only point was if there is a get out clause and if the figure being quoted is accurate , then the fee should of been higher He is at present in my opinion our most valuable player to the team When on form
I really don’t get how people are still questioning this, Hibs didn’t have the power in this situation the player and agent did. He’s not going to be advised to sign a new 2 year deal in the prime of his career and add in a 1m buy out clause. 500k is better than him leaving for nothing which I honestly can’t get my head around people not seeing it like that.