View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2021-22 transfer thread
07-08-2021, 08:14 PM
I really don’t think i understand how Financial fair play works. Some of the spending going on surely cannot be within these clubs and means without huge owner cash injections. (PSG being the prime example right now)?
Tbf I don’t think the ****wits that wrote the rules understand, don’t be too hard on yourself.
07-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Is Lukaku the most expensive player in terms of combined fees? 97 million to Chelsea; was he about 85 million to Man United? How much did Inter pay, and Everton before that?
07-08-2021, 08:33 PM
Fully expecting to read about bids for Doig, Nisbet, Porteous and Boyle later this evening as we have a game tomorrow.
07-08-2021, 08:36 PM
I really don’t think i understand how Financial fair play works. Some of the spending going on surely cannot be within these clubs and means without huge owner cash injections. (PSG being the prime example right now)?
PSG will need to sell some players who are on longer contracts to be within financial fair play.
07-08-2021, 08:40 PM
PSG will need to sell some players who are on longer contracts to be within financial fair play.
but they won’t, and nothing will happen
07-08-2021, 08:41 PM
Is Lukaku the most expensive player in terms of combined fees? 97 million to Chelsea; was he about 85 million to Man United? How much did Inter pay, and Everton before that?
Romelu Lukaku - Player profile 21/22 | Transfermarkt (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/romelu-lukaku/profil/spieler/96341)
07-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Fully expecting to read about bids for Doig, Nisbet, Porteous and Boyle later this evening as we have a game tomorrow.
Honestly don't think any of them are going anywhere this window thankfully!
But if there's one of them we can't do without it's Boyle. The guy has come on so much as a player it's unreal. It's gotten to the stage where he's that good other teams fans are starting to boo him. We need to try and get that contract extended again.
Highwayman
07-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Its Ross County we’re playing tomorrow,not one of the Ugly Sisters.
07-08-2021, 09:48 PM
That should bring us in just under £400m in the current market then 🤣
07-08-2021, 09:55 PM
At least they made £28m for him first time round. Pogba left Utd on a free before him signing him back for £90m [emoji1787]
Hibs had Keith Wright as a youngest before we had to buy him back from Dundee. Not quite £100m right enough but worth just as much. 😁
Chip shop Joe
07-08-2021, 11:17 PM
Hibs had Keith Wright as a youngest before we had to buy him back from Dundee. Not quite £100m right enough but worth just as much. 😁
He certainly was worth that. Loved the guy👍
08-08-2021, 12:07 AM
We are ok just now and we all know what we need to add especially if we progress in Europe which we don’t plan for and would be a big bonus if we did. We are trying to add the right players but fans need to be realistic that we might very well be suckered at the end of the window and lose a couple of certain players. It would be hard to bare for me as I think we are on the verge of being a right proper team but that’s football we have to roll with it. What I do take from being a Hibs fan is what an absolutely brilliant position we are in as a club, too many years as a nothing purpose or no strategy, we are building, the manager is doing his part and we are actually a really good side and could be so much better by the end of the window.
dchibs
08-08-2021, 12:21 AM
There must be some development fee to be paid down the line.
hibs#1
08-08-2021, 10:15 AM
We are ok just now and we all know what we need to add especially if we progress in Europe which we don’t plan for and would be a big bonus if we did. We are trying to add the right players but fans need to be realistic that we might very well be suckered at the end of the window and lose a couple of certain players. It would be hard to bare for me as I think we are on the verge of being a right proper team but that’s football we have to roll with it. What I do take from being a Hibs fan is what an absolutely brilliant position we are in as a club, too many years as a nothing purpose or no strategy, we are building, the manager is doing his part and we are actually a really good side and could be so much better by the end of the window.
I agree I think we're in a pretty strong position obviously not just signing players for the sake of it.
If any players are sold I have faith that we'll have plans in place already as far as replacements go.
08-08-2021, 10:46 AM
My only worry is Nisbet and porteous are subjects of bids in the eleventh hour that hibs are forced to sell and left scrapping around for numbers rather than a quality replacement
Agree re position.
If window closed today we would probably say we are a CH short and maybe another striker but we wouldn’t be out with the pitch forks.
I still think we will sell Doig and this will fund McCart, Mueller early and a LB but also rebalance books a little and give us flex for Jan window.
Fair amount of chat that edouard playing his last game today I think a bid for Nisbet will come from Celtic
08-08-2021, 11:08 AM
My only worry is Nisbet and porteous are subjects of bids in the eleventh hour that hibs are forced to sell and left scrapping around for numbers rather than a quality replacement
Years on their deals, Hibs will not be forced to sell them. Remember January.
08-08-2021, 11:13 AM
Fair amount of chat that edouard playing his last game today I think a bid for Nisbet will come from Celtic
If it does, it will be of the biscuit tin variety as usual and laughed out of town.
With media campaign talking about the “poor kid just wants to play for his boy hood heroes”. First bid will be £1.25m to “test our resolve”. Meanwhile on here we will debate 24/7 if LG is part of the deal, should he come back, what about the off field stuff...
08-08-2021, 11:51 AM
And we will know that they have cash on the hip.
Minimum of £3m for starters.
08-08-2021, 12:39 PM
Minimum of £3m for starters.
If it's Celtic I'd be asking for £5m as an opening offer.
Selling to a team in the same league should mean we ask for more.
Greenio
08-08-2021, 12:41 PM
No chance Hibs would want LG as part of the deal. Rightly or wrongly
08-08-2021, 12:46 PM
It's an awful lot for the Belgian Emile Heskey...
Dearie me!
08-08-2021, 01:44 PM
Dearie me!
Wasn't a serious comment 😁
08-08-2021, 01:56 PM
R
The only player we can be forced to sell is Boyle if it’s true there’s a figure in his contract.We won’t sell anyone at the last minute unless we already have a replacement.
08-08-2021, 01:59 PM
If it's Celtic I'd be asking for £5m as an opening offer.
Selling to a team in the same league should mean we ask for more.
Personally £5m would test my resolve. But I’d still be inclined to say no.
badabing67
09-08-2021, 12:12 PM
When does the Summer transfer window close
Greenworld
09-08-2021, 12:28 PM
Personally £5m would test my resolve. But I’d still be inclined to say no.There is the reality that 5 million bids if up front wont be refused by Hibs .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
09-08-2021, 12:31 PM
Not sure how reliable 90min.com are ?⬇️
Exclusive - Dundee United are set to sell star striker Lawrence Shankland to Belgian outfit Beerschot, 90min understands.
The Antwerp-based outfit have already had bids rejected for the 25-year-old, but now we understand that a deal worth £1m has been agreed.
09-08-2021, 12:35 PM
Not sure how reliable 90min.com are ?⬇️
Exclusive - Dundee United are set to sell star striker Lawrence Shankland to Belgian outfit Beerschot, 90min understands.
The Antwerp-based outfit have already had bids rejected for the 25-year-old, but now we understand that a deal worth £1m has been agreed.
Beerschot are no big shots so for £1 million read £500k tops with a shed load of add ons which will never come to fruition.
Dundee Utd simply have to get him off their wage bill and recoup a chunk of the mental wages they have been paying him. £500k transfer would steady the ship whilst blocking a £6k a week leak.
Beerschot are no big shots so for £1 million read £500k tops with a shed load of add ons which will never come to fruition.
Dundee Utd simply have to get him off their wage bill and recoup a chunk of the mental wages they have been paying him. £500k transfer would steady the ship whilst blocking a £6k a week leak.
Aye but he’s heading to Tiny though!
09-08-2021, 12:46 PM
^^ Shows that you've got to be careful when shelling out big contracts.
Utd fans were probably delighted when he signed and the club would all have thought they would sell him on for a few million after a couple of successful seasons.
Well, the player's got to perform for that plan to work out. He hasn't, so they'll get way less than they hoped / need.
09-08-2021, 01:20 PM
^^ Shows that you've got to be careful when shelling out big contracts.
Utd fans were probably delighted when he signed and the club would all have thought they would sell him on for a few million after a couple of successful seasons.
Well, the player's got to perform for that plan to work out. He hasn't, so they'll get way less than they hoped / need.
He has performed pretty well for United. 40 goals in 74 games. Its just the other 10 that are dreadful.
09-08-2021, 01:27 PM
He has performed pretty well for United. 40 goals in 74 games. Its just the other 10 that are dreadful.
Thought they performed much better as a team on Saturday, without him
09-08-2021, 02:07 PM
Yup. He’s been far from a bad signing at DU.
09-08-2021, 02:18 PM
Agree think Shankland has been pretty average certainly last season. Yet to prove himself at premier level imo.
09-08-2021, 02:25 PM
Agree think Shankland has been pretty average certainly last season. Yet to prove himself at premier level imo.
Correct , All these goals but nearly them all in the Championship , This is what some hibs fans used to say about Cummings , Proven at Championship but could he do it in the SPL , Which imo he 100% can (Cummings)
09-08-2021, 02:29 PM
I like him as a player.
But Utd's plan of paying big wages to get him there with a view to selling him on for a big profit isn't looking too great right now.
09-08-2021, 02:30 PM
I like him as a player.
But Utd's plan of paying big wages to get him there with a view to selling him on for a big profit isn't looking to great right now.
Yeah definitely. They needed promotion though, so he's likely been worth it.
09-08-2021, 02:40 PM
That could easily be more to do with the rest of the team getting their fingers out rather than thinking they can leave it to be Shankland to get them out of a hole.
09-08-2021, 03:00 PM
I’ve got no sympathy for Dundee United in this one. If that repeated wage of £6k p/w is true that’s an obscene amount for a club like theirs (or even us tbf).
09-08-2021, 03:02 PM
I trust the club enough to think they wont allow that to happen. I'm actually pretty relaxed about the whole transfer situation. The club is in good hands and we wont be selling unless it's on our terms.
09-08-2021, 04:04 PM
I trust the club enough to think they wont allow that to happen. I'm actually pretty relaxed about the whole transfer situation. The club is in good hands and we wont be selling unless it's on our terms.
Yeah, the club have repeatedly said for years that we now have a plan in place for scenarios like this. We don’t just react, we are proactive with what we are doing and have plans in place accordingly.
09-08-2021, 04:05 PM
Jack Ross has stated to the board on several occasions that if players are to be sold then it has to be quick so they have time to act.
If we sell late in the window we will have a very unhappy manager.
09-08-2021, 04:15 PM
Jack Ross has stated to the board on several occasions that if players are to be sold then it has to be quick so they have time to act.
Rightly so, if we were to allow that. Yogi lost Stokes near the end of the window and ending up scraping the bottom of the barrel (was it Daryl Duffy and Valda Trakys who came in ?) to replace him.
Maybe Hibs will have to compromise a bit on the fees sought, if we are to try and replace anyone going out?
09-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Sky Sports reporting on Shankland ⬇️
👀Lawrence Shankland is set to join top-flight Belgian club Beerschot, subject to a medical. The deal could be worth up to £1m.
Thoughts on the news, Dundee United fans?👇
09-08-2021, 08:21 PM
Correct , All these goals but nearly them all in the Championship , This is what some hibs fans used to say about Cummings , Proven at Championship but could he do it in the SPL , Which imo he 100% can (Cummings)
Cummings is a fixture on the Dundee bench so Martindale 2 must have some doubts about him as a top league starter.
09-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Cummings is a fixture on the Dundee bench so Martindale 2 must have some doubts about him as a top league starter.
Agreed. Even tho it’s the wrong coach. 😂
King Cosell
09-08-2021, 08:29 PM
During the Livi/Aberdeen highlights on Sportscene you could hear Martindale shouting something like 'Get up his arse!'. Lovely stuff.
09-08-2021, 08:31 PM
Agreed. Even tho it’s the wrong coach. ��
No, McPake is Martindale and Martindale is McPake.
To be fair to McPake he has toned down the gadje accent.
09-08-2021, 10:09 PM
Celtic splashing the cash on a Striker
EXCLUSIVE: Celtic on brink of winning transfer chase for £7million striker Thomas Henry from OH Leuven
https://t.co/bNapo9RzBN https://t.co/NpMF8sJrFv
09-08-2021, 10:11 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Celtic on brink of winning transfer chase for £7million striker Thomas Henry from OH Leuven
Would suggest Edouard is a goner. Was pretty clear anyway, and more so after the managers comments at the weekend, and then this. Wonder how much someone will pay for them, I’d guess somewhere between £10-15m
09-08-2021, 10:15 PM
https://t.co/bNapo9RzBN https://t.co/NpMF8sJrFv400k to £7 million
Not a bad wee profit there
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Hope it means they're not after Nisbet. Bet that guy isn't as good either.
09-08-2021, 10:37 PM
To be honest I don't think he would be. He is well in the loop and the player sale won't come as a surprise to him.
Having been kept abreast of the situation all along he will be aware of the issues and the effort the club has gone to in ensuring we get the right deal.
Our project is longer term than one window so, as long as some of the money gets reinvested at some point, I suspect he'll be happy enough.
09-08-2021, 10:38 PM
Unsure about that, superb goal scoring record in the past two seasons. 42 goals and 12 assists in 2 seasons is good going for any striker.
10-08-2021, 05:40 AM
👀Lawrence Shankland is set to join top-flight Belgian club Beerschot, subject to a medical. The deal could be worth up to £1m.
Daylight robbery. I’d imagine that full fee will not get paid as it’ll be full of performance based add ins. It’s odds on he’ll be back in Scotland on loan this time next year.
DetroitHibs
10-08-2021, 06:00 AM
The Belgian league is not that much better than our own league. I'd rather have Nisbet or Doidge over that huddy they just signed.
Souter96Mac
10-08-2021, 07:20 AM
I suspect not, unless they sell Ajeti too. They would have this new lad Henry, Ajeti, Furuhashi, Griffiths for a position they only tend to play one upfront
10-08-2021, 07:22 AM
To be honest I don't think he would be. He is well in the loop and the player sale won't come as a surprise to him.
Having been kept abreast of the situation all along he will be aware of the issues and the effort the club has gone to in ensuring we get the right deal.
Our project is longer term than one window so, as long as some of the money gets reinvested at some point, I suspect he'll be happy enough.
The point was about a sale close to the closure of the window, not so much about a player leaving in general. If Hibs feel they need to sell, it would be very disappointing to wait until the last minute.
The loss of a key player would be a blow to our footballing aspirations, if the manager has no scope to adequately replace them.
147lothian
10-08-2021, 07:30 AM
The unfortunate thing about Shankland IMO is that he has been playing for a not very good Dundee United team. I don't think they have improved a great deal from the side that he was with in the championship when he pretty much carried them with his goals. I think he will do well if he gets better service, could be a good move for him.
10-08-2021, 08:01 AM
The point was about a sale close to the closure of the window, not so much about a player leaving in general. If Hibs feel they need to sell, it would be very disappointing to wait until the last minute.
The loss of a key player would be a blow to our footballing aspirations, if the manager has no scope to adequately replace them.
If Hibs sell on the last day of the window it won’t be because they’ve waited till the last minute to sell, it will be because they have had an offer they can’t refuse for the good of the club.
10-08-2021, 08:03 AM
I got that. However, the right price is the right price no matter how late. It wouldn't be ideal for the reasons you describe. I just disagree that the manager would be that unhappy. He gets what the club is doing and why. He gets the circumstances.
Greenworld
10-08-2021, 08:17 AM
The loss of a key player would be a blow to our footballing aspirations, if the manager has no scope to adequately replace them.I agree however its never that simple.the one thing is there are always good players who are out of contract after the closing date. What you do notice now though is Hibs are a much better run club,proffesionslism all through the club top to bottom. Dare I say even better than when LD was there. I get the feeling Hibs have prepared for whatever happens but clearly would not want last day movement.
10-08-2021, 08:18 AM
I got that. However, the right price is the right price no matter how late. It wouldn't be ideal for the reasons you describe. I just disagree that the manager would be that unhappy. He gets what the club is doing and why. He gets the circumstances.
He will be unhappy about it make no mistake.
If we sell Nisbet and Doig on the last day of the window, get no one in and lose at Tynecastle within a fortnight who gets the blame?
It will be another Jack Ross out poll from the doubters who are temporarily holding fire.
Jack Ross knows it is a result driven business he is employed in, its no good to him that his successor might have money to spend in the January window.
He has principles and will stick by them.
10-08-2021, 08:21 AM
If we sell Nisbet and Doig on the last day of the window, get no one in and lose at Tynecastle within a fortnight who gets the blame?
It will be another Jack Ross out poll from the doubters who are temporarily holding fire.
Jack Ross knows it is a result driven business he is employed in, its no good to him that his successor might have money to spend in the January window.
10-08-2021, 08:27 AM
Definitely, the club also showed in January that we were going to be bullied into late bids for our players which would then leave us short. Regardless if the price is right, the time also has to be right with a continuation plan in place and enough time for it to be executed.
10-08-2021, 08:28 AM
Yogi was scuppered at Hibs by similar circumstances.
Losing Stokes and bringing in Daryl Duffy and Trakys late in the window made his job much harder and we hit a slump he never recovered from.
Mr. Wonderful
10-08-2021, 08:32 AM
Losing Stokes and bringing in Daryl Duffy and Trakys late in the window made his job much harder and we hit a slump he never recovered from.
Think we'd have hit that slump with or without stokes. The test of the signings were just as bad
10-08-2021, 08:37 AM
Think we'd have hit that slump with or without stokes. The test of the signings were just as bad
I mean - I’m not going to argue the case for Michael Hart or Ed de Graaf…
But I didn’t think losing Stokes’ goals hurt us badly at that time. Final nail in the coffin stuff.
That remains the transfer window by which all abysmal transfer windows are measured.
10-08-2021, 09:08 AM
I mean - I’m not going to argue the case for Michael Hart or Ed de Graaf…
But I didn’t think losing Stokes’ goals hurt us badly at that time. Final nail in the coffin stuff.
That remains the transfer window by which all abysmal transfer windows are measured.
He had an awful end to the previous season with Stokes tbh. Yogi never lasts at clubs.
10-08-2021, 09:11 AM
If Hibs sell on the last day of the window it won’t be because they’ve waited till the last minute to sell, it will be because they have had an offer they can’t refuse for the good of the club.
It would need to be some offer now for us to do that .We have shown a resolve to keep our best players and bring in players that can improve us
The ability to bring in a quality player on last day of the window is much harder to do
So Boyle apart ,who can decide to go if a bid is made that matches the one in his release clause , I would be disappointed if we sold on the last day
There will always be other transfer windows and the value of player is likely to increase
That will send out a message to other clubs that I’d they want our players they need to pay the asking price and do business with us before the last day
But yes if someone offered 10 million for a player they would be gone
Juniper Greens
10-08-2021, 09:16 AM
Dare I say it. Should we offering Boyle yet another new deal? He's kicked on again since last year. Up the wages and up the release clause?
10-08-2021, 09:19 AM
Dare I say it. Should we offering Boyle yet another new deal? He's kicked on again since last year. Up the wages and up the release clause?
I dunno what his deals like now, but he’s our most important player, and should be paid accordingly.
10-08-2021, 09:20 AM
Dare I say it. Should we offering Boyle yet another new deal? He's kicked on again since last year. Up the wages and up the release clause?I think we aleady are
10-08-2021, 09:21 AM
100% yes in my opinion. One without a silly buy out clause.
If we sell Nisbet or Doig we will get a fair price and that will help replace them.
No way would £500,000 replace Martin Boyle unless we got very lucky.
Green Reaper
10-08-2021, 09:21 AM
As he would be a huge loss and very hard to replace I agree and hope the club think the same
HendoDelivered
10-08-2021, 09:35 AM
If we sell Nisbet or Doig we will get a fair price and that will help replace them.
This, this and this.
10-08-2021, 09:36 AM
This is my thinking too.
I think people are underestimating the effects of losing 20 goals per season and a top class striker. Never easy to replace. Fitbaw folk ken whit ah mean likesae.
I'd like to think the club have made it crystal clear to the players and their agents that any deals need to be done in time for us to secure the replacement otherwise they'll have to wait until January.
Gordy M
10-08-2021, 09:57 AM
I think it wouldve been Boyle and/or his agent that insisted on that clause. Maybe thats the only way he signed the laxt contract?
10-08-2021, 10:08 AM
I find it difficult to believe that no club has been willing to stump up £500k for Boyle. That tells me that either, bids have come in and Martin has turned them down, or that the clause doesn't exist/the amount is higher than £500k.
10-08-2021, 10:15 AM
I find it difficult to believe that no club has been willing to stump up £500k for Boyle. That tells me that either, bids have come in and Martin has turned them down, or that the clause doesn't exist/the amount is higher than £500k.
Sort of my line of thought as well.
I have no idea about his release clause, only what I've read on here.
I think Martin is reasonably settled here along with his wife and daughter which may have had a bearing along with a couple of posters who reckon the release clause didn't apply within Scotland.
10-08-2021, 10:17 AM
I think it wouldve been Boyle and/or his agent that insisted on that clause. Maybe thats the only way he signed the laxt contract?
Very possible, maybe open to revisit it. Decent wage rise and up the clause figure. Win / win?
Sort of my line of thought as well.
I have no idea about his release clause, only what I've read on here.
I think Martin is reasonably settled here along with his wife and daughter which may have had a bearing along with a couple of posters who reckon the release clause didn't apply within Scotland.
I think you could be right if Boyle was available for as little as 500k to everyone Lenny would have taken him last year no doubt in my mind
10-08-2021, 10:32 AM
Messi joins PSG on a free transfer
BBC Sport
Torto7
10-08-2021, 10:35 AM
BBC Sport
Footballs Kardashians. Absolute trash and I wont be watching one minute of it.l
10-08-2021, 10:50 AM
BBC Sport
I hope this leads to some soul searching at Barca and elsewhere about the greed and stupidity that has damaged that club.
Probably won’t though.
10-08-2021, 11:06 AM
Footballs Kardashians. Absolute trash and I wont be watching one minute of it.l
I cannae wait to see them play.
Can never understand why folk say they’ve no interest in watching the most exciting players play. You dinnae have to agree with the money or ethics involved to enjoy watching the worlds best do what they do.
10-08-2021, 11:06 AM
Very possible, maybe open to revisit it. Decent wage rise and up the clause figure. Win / win?
He probably deserves to moved up to the highest paid player at the club tbh. He is easily our most influential and important player and deserves a contract that reflects that.
10-08-2021, 11:07 AM
I hope this leads to some soul searching at Barca and elsewhere about the greed and stupidity that has damaged that club.
Probably won’t though.
Any team that decides they won’t be involved in the silly money will quickly be left behind by the clubs who stick with it.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:08 AM
Not for me. Yes he’s ad a good start to season and hopefully that continues. Let’s not forget he (along with others) failed to turn up in May when it counted.
Highwayman
10-08-2021, 11:09 AM
Reported in the Scotsman today that Lawrence Shankland is close to securing a deal with Belgian club Beerschot.States that Dundee United rejected an initial bid of £300k but that Beerschot have come back with another bid.They’re probably going to try and get him for circa £500k.
If as reported United were paying Shankland circa £6k a week for the last 2 + years they’ll be lucky if they break even with the deal.
10-08-2021, 11:11 AM
Not for me. Yes he’s ad a good start to season and hopefully that continues. Let’s not forget he (along with others) failed to turn up in May when it counted.
You wouldn’t offer Boyle a new deal because of the cup final? That’s one of the most mental takes I’ve seen on things. He’s our best player by a country mile for me, we should be offering him a new deal and we’d be lucky if he accepted.
10-08-2021, 11:12 AM
Reported in the Scotsman today that Lawrence Shankland is close to securing a deal with Belgian club Beerschot.States that Dundee United rejected an initial bid of £300k but that Beerschot have come back with another bid.They’re probably going to try and get him for circa £500k.
If as reported United were paying Shankland circa £6k a week for the last 2 + years they’ll be lucky if they break even with the deal.
£1m is the reported figure. Along with the fact he single handedly got them promoted, he’ll have made them far more back on him than they’ve lost.
10-08-2021, 11:13 AM
Not for me. Yes he’s ad a good start to season and hopefully that continues. Let’s not forget he (along with others) failed to turn up in May when it counted.Lol
John Mcginn played in the team that the phrase 'Hibsed it' was coined
Juice-Terry
10-08-2021, 11:15 AM
Reported.
Torto7
10-08-2021, 11:16 AM
I cannae wait to see them play.
Can never understand why folk say they’ve no interest in watching the most exciting players play. You dinnae have to agree with the money or ethics involved to enjoy watching the worlds best do what they do.
Thats the point though. I dont agree with the ethics and wont just ignore it because of a flashy forward line. I watch Hibs and Scotland Im not interested beyond that because its just my ****bag owner is richer than your ****bag owner.
10-08-2021, 11:16 AM
We can be a really tough crowd when we want to be.
BegbieHSC
10-08-2021, 11:21 AM
Boyle is up there in the top 3 players in the league. I’d have him over Ryan Kent as it stands, and any other Old Firm winger. We should be doing everything we can to keep him, or at least make sure he doesn’t walk for a bargain basement fee.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:24 AM
We can be a really tough crowd when we want to be.
Or if you pay top dollar to your players, you want some form of return when it counts.
The old adage, can he do it on a cold wet Tuesday night in Dingwalll? He could not do it on a warm sunny day in May at the National stadium.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:26 AM
Boyle is up there in the top 3 players in the league. I’d have him over Ryan Kent as it stands, and any other Old Firm winger. We should be doing everything we can to keep him, or at least make sure he doesn’t walk for a bargain basement fee.
It’s all about opinions. I’d have Kent & Forrest over Boyle every day of the week. Boyle’s on fire at the moment, can he do it over a season?
10-08-2021, 11:31 AM
It’s all about opinions. I’d have Kent & Forrest over Boyle every day of the week. Boyle’s on fire at the moment, can he do it over a season?
He did last year. FWIW, I agree with your take on Kent and Forrest, both have done well in Europe and consistently. But Boyles last year has been outstanding. 15 goals and 11 assists last season, 5 in 5 this season already and we have barely got into August.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:33 AM
He did last year. FWIW, I agree with your take on Kent and Forrest, both have done well in Europe and consistently. But Boyles last year has been outstanding. 15 goals and 11 assists last season, 5 in 5 this season already and we have barely got into August.
And Boyle had a big slump last season also. Was left out the team for a while.
10-08-2021, 11:37 AM
He wasn’t. He wasn’t great early in the season but was still our biggest threat and took it to a new level second half of the season.
He never started threegames, one was through injury, one he came off the bench and the last was being rested for the Celtic game due to the cup final.
Started every cup tie bar two league cup group games.
10-08-2021, 11:38 AM
He literally just did.
Boyle played in 48 games last season, 45 starts & scored 15 goals. IIRC he only missed 2 games all season. You may have to redefine big slump!
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:46 AM
He literally just did.
But he never. Unless he had man of match performance’s against St Johnstone in semi and final?
When it counted, where was he? Kent played in a team that delivered the league and had a good run in Europe, Forrest has played in a team that has won leagues, cups and been on sustained runs in Europe.
As yet, Boyle has not done any of the above. Hopefully he will this season
10-08-2021, 11:48 AM
Or if you pay top dollar to your players, you want some form of return when it counts.
The old adage, can he do it on a cold wet Tuesday night in Dingwalll? He could not do it on a warm sunny day in May at the National stadium.
TBF I'm happy with constructive criticism, and I don't think it's all that unreasonable to point out that the only thing Boyle's probably failed to do for us is to give us a big performance at Hampden.
But over the piece - he's been a magnificent player for us over a very long period. Last season he was superb, he was consistent, he played several subtly different roles and provided excellent end product. All the signs this season are that he's going to continue to do so again.
He's got a lot of credit in the bank with us, likely as much as anyone at the club. I'll probably forgive him before I forgive many others for the cup final performance.
I mentioned us being a tough crowd, I can be as critical as anyone when I want to be. I just don't see very much to criticise Martin Boyle for at the moment.
10-08-2021, 11:49 AM
But he never. Unless he had man of match performance’s against St Johnstone in semi and final?
When it counted, where was he? Kent played in a team that delivered the league and had a good run in Europe, Forrest has played in a team that has won leagues, cups and been on sustained runs in Europe.
Kent has taken some pretty hefty criticism over the past week for going missing in 2 big games for Rangers in Dundee and Malmo.
10-08-2021, 11:49 AM
Boyle is our best and most important player and should be paid accordingly
10-08-2021, 11:53 AM
Correct.
10-08-2021, 11:56 AM
Totally agree. The hardest player to replace. We should be looking at an improved contract with a much higher release fee.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 11:58 AM
Boyle played in 48 games last season, 45 starts & scored 15 goals. IIRC he only missed 2 games all season. You may have to redefine big slump!
He admitted himself he had a slump and lost form for a good period as his old man was unwell.
Just because he played in 48 games, doesn’t mean he performed well in 48 games?
I’m not saying I don’t rate Boyle, what I am saying is he has to deliver in every game not just against Ross County, Motherwell etc. He’s got to start winning games against stuffy teams like St Johnstone. He’s got to go to Parkhead, Ipox and Tynie and produce the goods.
When we’re not playing well, he’s got to deliver and win us games
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 12:00 PM
Totally agree. The hardest player to replace. We should be looking at an improved contract with a much higher release fee.
Why? He’s supposedly got a release clause of £500k and no team has been tempted and he’s in his prime now.
Torto7
10-08-2021, 12:02 PM
Forrest isnt consistent at all. Kent was last year. I wouldnt take anyone over Boyle in the league.
10-08-2021, 12:04 PM
He admitted himself he had a slump and lost form for a good period as his old man was unwell.
I’m not saying I don’t rate Boyle, what I am saying is he has to deliver in every game not just against Ross County, Motherwell etc. He’s got to start winning games against stuffy teams like St Johnstone. He’s got to go to Parkhead, Ipox and Tynie and produce the goods.
You said he was dropped for a period which clearly was made up nonsense.
Your last point - he did so on many occasions in the second half of the year when Nisbet was out the team.
BegbieHSC
10-08-2021, 12:07 PM
Why? He’s supposedly got a release clause of £500k and no team has been tempted and he’s in his prime now.
If that release clause is real, I’d be seriously bracing ourselves for the last week of the transfer window. A top player like Boyle available, with no negotiations with the club necessary, and little time - will be a no brainer for some. I heard a few weeks ago Augsburg in the Bundesliga were having a look at him.
Forrest isnt consistent at all. Kent was last year. I wouldnt take anyone over Boyle in the league.
Forrest missed all of last season, but scored at least 16 in the three seasons prior to that, not including his assists as well. I reckon that’s fairly consistent.
Got to laugh at some of the comments about Boyle.
Being compared to Kent and Forrest and made out he had less of a season because he never performed in the cup semi final or final?
How did Kent and Forrest play in the semi final and final? Oh wait…..
Forrest, Kent and every other player in the league aren’t brilliant every game. Ask their own fans.
Boyle was quiet at the start of last season but still popped up with important goals, the second half he was unplayable.
And yes, he can 100% on a cold day at Firpark and has done on countless occasions.
10-08-2021, 12:13 PM
Being compared to Kent and Forrest and made out he had less of a season because he never performed in the cup semi final or final?
Forrest, Kent and every other player in the league aren’t brilliant every game. Ask their own fans.
Boyle was quiet at the start of last season but still popped up with important goals, the second half he was unplayable.
And yes, he can 100% on a cold day at Firpark and has done on countless occasions.
Im certainly not putting a downer on Boyle by replying to that comparison, if I was offered the three I’d take the other two above Boyle but there certainly isn’t much between them and they’re all top players in this league. That’s just my opinion but I also agree that Boyle is our most influential player as his stats keep showing, and the treatment he gets is testament to that also.
10-08-2021, 12:15 PM
You don't know who has been tempted and neither do I.
10-08-2021, 12:15 PM
Kent and Forrest have had loads of poor games!!!
houstonhibbee
10-08-2021, 12:19 PM
Im certainly not putting a downer on Boyle by replying to that comparison, if I was offered the three I’d take the other two above Boyle but there certainly isn’t much between them and they’re all top players in this league. That’s just my opinion but I also agree that Boyle is our most influential player as his stats keep showing, and the treatment he gets is testament to that also.
It’s a team game and Boyle needs the team to be playing at a higher tempo for him to be effective
its a lot more difficult for him to make an impact when the team is playing at a pedestrian pace
10-08-2021, 12:26 PM
Again we're victimising our players/manager through their own success. Would Boyle be getting as hard a time if we'd been put out in the third round? The closest Ryan Kent got to Hampden last season was on the team bus travelling to Parkhead.
10-08-2021, 12:29 PM
Surely this is for another thread...?
10-08-2021, 12:39 PM
Like going to Tynie and scoring twice you mean? Something like that?
RupertsBollocks
10-08-2021, 12:44 PM
Yup. Boyle is ****. Needs emptied stat.
Sent from my SM-A325F using Tapatalk
10-08-2021, 12:47 PM
Top of the league, doing decent in Europe, kept all our best players
Need something to moan about I suppose
Let's pick on probably our best player
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Your take on our best player is somewhat baffling to say the least. Name me any player in the world that plays to the best of their talent every singe game, yep not one, every player will drop form at some point but it's the ones who do it more consistently that makes them the better players, Boyle has been our best player for a good 2-3 years now.
And don't give me the cup final loss crap, every player was shi te that day, Boyle couldn't do it all himself.
Behave. There's not a player who ever lived, or ever will live, who delivers in every game.
10-08-2021, 01:06 PM
I honestly think you are at the wind up. Boyle has been terrific for the last few years. He gives everything for the team, gets booted about the park and yet keeps on delivering. I would happily forfeit another new signing if we could improve his contract.
10-08-2021, 01:35 PM
In the immortal words of Grumpy Gibby what a loadypish
Perfect summary John & brought back happy memories at the same time, Grumpy Gibby - now there's a legend! :greengrin
10-08-2021, 01:42 PM
Any team that decides they won’t be involved in the silly money will quickly be left behind by the clubs who stick with it.
I’d say ‘left behind’ is a good description of Barca right now. They’ve blown way too much money on transfer fees for players who haven’t delivered and a wage bill that spiralled out of control.
Now they are skint and can’t even sign free transfers.
10-08-2021, 01:46 PM
Boylers reminds me if the Mexican word sounding like biler meaning dance. Oh ya biler we got Boylers better for us than roly poly Forrest and that boy ya Kent but never really wanted to. I can write a loadypish too.
10-08-2021, 01:46 PM
Wingers in particular will have games when nothing comes off for them. They will have games when they are double marked and unable to find space.
Blaming Boyle for that cup final defeat is simplistic imo. Other players performed worse than him. St J identified him as our biggest threat but in those situations we need other players to exploit the space elsewhere.
10-08-2021, 02:02 PM
Eliminating Boyle's buyout clause would be the single best bit of business we could do in this window. Last year, I think everyone was resigned to him leaving, signing that new contract was an unbelievable boost - he did drop off a little after an excellent start last August, but overall he was very good. 15 goals overall, and ten from January onwards, was a superb return. After all that, to get him tied down again, with no spectre of losing him for a small fee hanging around, would be amazing.
Already has five goals in five games this season, and his appetite for the game - especially for someone who gets kicked up and down the park - is superb. He's never looked better, and as others have pointed out, would be nigh on impossible to replace if he were to go for only £500K.
Totally agree that he warrants being in the top bracket of wage that the club are prepared to pay. A joy to watch him in full flow. Don't think I've ever seen a Hibs player improve year on year, for as long a time as Martin has. One of our greatest ever signings.
10-08-2021, 02:11 PM
Bollox
10-08-2021, 02:16 PM
Dunno why the poster is getting so much stick. Boyle is poor against Celtic, rangers and hearts. It's probably why he's still here.
He done very well in a win vs Celtic under lennon. And obviously scored twice against Hearts at tynie. But mostly he's been okay to poor.
Mr. Wonderful
10-08-2021, 02:16 PM
Eliminating Boyle's buyout clause would be the single best bit of business we could do in this window. Last year, I think everyone was resigned to him leaving, signing that new contract was an unbelievable boost - he did drop off a little after an excellent start last August, but overall he was very good. 15 goals overall, and ten from January onwards, was a superb return. After all that, to get him tied down again, with no spectre of losing him for a small fee hanging around, would be amazing.
Already has five goals in five games this season, and his appetite for the game - especially for someone who gets kicked up and down the park - is superb. He's never looked better, and as others have pointed out, would be nigh on impossible to replace if he were to go for only £500K.
Totally agree that he warrants being in the top bracket of wage that the club are prepared to pay. A joy to watch him in full flow. Don't think I've ever seen a Hibs player improve year on year, for as long a time as Martin has. One of our greatest ever signings.
Was told there is no buyout. He's on a very good wage now, he asked that Hibs be supportive of his international career as he'll earn a good bonus for WC qualification.
10-08-2021, 02:18 PM
Dunno why the poster is getting so much stick. Boyle is poor against Celtic, rangers and hearts. It's probably why he's still here.
He done very well in a win vs Celtic under lennon. And obviously scored twice against Hearts at tynie. But mostly he's been okay to poor.
Has he?
10-08-2021, 02:20 PM
You clearly don't watch our team if you think Boyle was left out last season. Maybe you were watching championship games instead
10-08-2021, 02:21 PM
Has he?
Don't really know what reply you expect to this.
I rate Boyle as a great player for Hibs. I don't think he'd do very well at a higher level.
10-08-2021, 02:23 PM
Murder against Hertz every time.
https://youtu.be/NIV_icHdjbg
Gloucester Hibs
10-08-2021, 02:26 PM
To be fair at least you’re consistent with your opinion on Boyle. But c’mon he’s arguably our best player and for me the one we can least afford to lose
10-08-2021, 02:29 PM
Need to read posts properly before I post.
10-08-2021, 02:31 PM
To be fair at least you’re consistent with your opinion on Boyle. But c’mon he’s arguably our best player and for me the one we can least afford to lose
I agree fully. But he isn't Messi. He has flaws. Pointing them out doesn't make me less of a fan.
10-08-2021, 02:48 PM
Can't remember thinking he has been particularly poor against those teams. Did he not get two assists in 2 2 rangers game last season?
10-08-2021, 02:52 PM
Can't remember thinking he has been particularly poor against those teams. Did he not get two assists in 2 2 rangers game last season?
Yeah, he was decent that day as well, you are correct. But I'm speaking abour 10/15 games against each of these sides. 3 goals and a few assists isn't great in 30 odd games.
berwickhibee
10-08-2021, 03:20 PM
I agree fully. But he isn't Messi. He has flaws. Pointing them out doesn't make me less of a fan.
Let's enjoy him, if he didn't have these flaws he wouldn't be at hibs.
10-08-2021, 03:30 PM
Boyle's record against:
Hearts: Played 13, Won 6, Drawn 3, Lost 4, Scored 2
Celtic: Played 10, Won 1, Drawn 3, Lost 6, Scored 1
Rangers: Played 14, Won 2, Drawn 3, Lost 9, Scored 0
Total: Played 37, Won 9, Drawn 9, Lost 19, Scored 3
10-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Damned with faint praise etc:greengrin
He is one of our key players, as you say. I think we should just appreciate him for what he is and hope he has an even better season this season, in an effective Hibs unit that seems to be upping their game all over the pitch.
10-08-2021, 05:05 PM
MB must be the most improved player at ER when you think about the raw rookie awkward wet behind the ears laddie that arrived from Dundee
It is a compliment to his hard work, commitment, attitude and development that he is sometimes compared to club legends Ivan Sproule and Arthur Duncan and is now a full international
Enjoy him while you can
hibee316
10-08-2021, 05:07 PM
MB must be the most improved player at ER when you think about the raw rookie awkward wet behind the ears laddie that arrived from Dundee
It is a compliment to his hard work, commitment, attitude and development that he is sometimes compared to club legends Ivan Sproule and Arthur Duncan and is now a full international
Enjoy him while you can
Club legends like Ivan Sproule? That's a new one for me!
Fantastic player on his day, but not sure a legend...
Club legends like Ivan Sproule? That's a new one for me!League Cup winner, hat trick at Ibrox - bought for 5 grand.
Legend.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
hibee316
10-08-2021, 05:11 PM
League Cup winner, hat trick at Ibrox - bought for 5 grand.
Legend.
Fair enough.
I think Boyle is a better player than Sproule.
Sproules speed was unbelievable, but his end product could be erratic.
10-08-2021, 05:31 PM
[QUOTE=Kato;6651224]League Cup winner, hat trick at Ibrox - bought for 5 grand.
Legend.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Also his performance in the Scottish Cup game at Ibrox.
10-08-2021, 05:35 PM
Boyle is a better player than Sproule.
10-08-2021, 05:46 PM
Both arguments are correct - Boyle has improved far beyond what most of us would have imagined was possible and Sproule is quite definitely a legend....
10-08-2021, 05:47 PM
Probably but I reckon sproule beats him in a race .
Both arguments are correct - Boyle has improved far beyond what most of us would have imagined was possible and Sproule is quite definitely a legend....
10-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Neither of them would beat Alan O'Brien, who was Sproule on a motor bike. FACT!
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
10-08-2021, 05:57 PM
Ivan is one of my all time favourite Hibs players, I will not have his name slandered!
10-08-2021, 06:01 PM
Not even a question.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 06:01 PM
That’s an intelligent response to a decent debate.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 06:04 PM
I honestly think you are at the wind up. Boyle has been terrific for the last few years. He gives everything for the team, gets booted about the park and yet keeps on delivering. I would happily forfeit another new signing if we could improve his contract.
If Boyle has been terrific as you state ( I agree he has been good in spells), how come teams are not taking advantage and buying? If he’s that good, surely £500k for an English championship is a steal?
10-08-2021, 06:06 PM
If Boyle has been terrific as you state ( I agree he has been good in spells), how come teams are not taking advantage and buying? If he’s that good, surely £500k for an English championship is a steal?
It is. We are lucky nobody has taken him. Good in spells is a massive understatement.
Gloucester Hibs
10-08-2021, 06:21 PM
I’ll go with this 👍🏻
10-08-2021, 06:24 PM
Sproule definitely wins the race and possibly by a reasonable distance but Boyle is a significantly better player imo.
loanheadhibby
10-08-2021, 06:25 PM
It is. We are lucky nobody has taken him. Good in spells is a massive understatement.
I agree but my point is, no one has offered us £500k ( which would be apparent minimum) so why increase that? If clubs are not buying at £500k release, why bother increasing it? He’s at top of his game at moment.
10-08-2021, 06:26 PM
Sproule definitely wins the race and possibly by a reasonable distance but Boyle is a significantly better player imo.
No sure he’d win the race with a ball at his feet
10-08-2021, 06:27 PM
I think he's a legend but not as much as Arthur.
10-08-2021, 06:54 PM
I agree but my point is, no one has offered us £500k ( which would be apparent minimum) so why increase that? If clubs are not buying at £500k release, why bother increasing it? He’s at top of his game at moment.
Is he at the top of his game? He’s improved until now, how do we know he doesn’t have levels to go to yet? I reckon there is still even better in there, and we raise it because at some point someone will sniff, we don’t want to lose him for that little. On a completely different level but similar to Grealish with Villa, make it worthwhile if someone does want to steal him.
10-08-2021, 07:25 PM
Any transfer rumours?
10-08-2021, 07:45 PM
Any transfer rumours?
Messi is signing for PSG.
HendoDelivered
10-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Any transfer rumours?
Na mate just people having Martin Boyle debate it seems… 😴
10-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Any transfer rumours?
If there was they would be getting discussed?
Do you know of any rumours?
10-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Hypothetical but say no one leaves, do we think that's us done our business?
10-08-2021, 08:33 PM
Still need a centre back and striker i think.
10-08-2021, 08:34 PM
If Mueller isn't in, a loan deal?
And maybe a couple of other loan deals to cover for other targets we're still chasing?
10-08-2021, 08:35 PM
Still need a centre back and striker i think.
Totally agree we need both, just wondering whether they're dependent on incoming funds?
10-08-2021, 08:36 PM
We’d be minus the two things Ross has said since the end of last season he wanted.
10-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Great question. I'm starting to think that might be the case or we surely would have added another defender by now.
Probably depends on how much further we go in Europe as well.
You'll have to tell.me how you know no one has offered 500k and you also need to read the prior posts that say the buy out is fantasy.
10-08-2021, 08:44 PM
It isn't even close
Nevi_SOL
10-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Boyle beats sproule with a ball at their feet
10-08-2021, 08:49 PM
We're trying to get Mueller in early and we've (supposedly) bid twice for McCart so we are presumably are looking at two more bodies.
And if we qualify for group stages, then we need more bodies for Thurs-Sun rota...
10-08-2021, 08:50 PM
If Mueller isn't in, a loan deal?
And maybe a couple of other loan deals to cover for other targets we're still chasing?
Yes. Hopefully Plan Bs - short term loans or contracts.
10-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Aye happy with a loan in the meantime until Mueller comes in. Really need a CB though
Just_Jimmy
10-08-2021, 09:32 PM
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalktrue, but we don't dream of a team of Martin Boyles do we?
Ivan was a special story. Boyles a cracking player and I'd love him to sign an extension.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
10-08-2021, 09:33 PM
Let's enjoy him, if he didn't have these flaws he wouldn't be at hibs.
I am enjoying him. And I know that.
I'm just pointing on why he hasn't been snapped up yet. I also think a lot of it is down to him enjoying it here.
10-08-2021, 09:36 PM
No
11-08-2021, 02:12 AM
:hyper
KeithWright9
11-08-2021, 03:01 AM
Don’t disagree it was good business. But we got Boyle on a free (swap with Alex Harris who is now playing Lowland League)… he was in the Scottish Cup squad albeit an unused sub. I think Boyle was even better business!
[QUOTE=Kato;6651224]League Cup winner, hat trick at Ibrox - bought for 5 grand.
Legend.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Also his performance in the Scottish Cup game at Ibrox.
11-08-2021, 03:40 AM
Don’t disagree it was good business. But we got Sproule on a free (swap with Alex Harris who is now playing Lowland League)… he was in the Scottish Cup squad albeit an unused sub.
[QUOTE=gbhibby;6651243]
We got Sproule in a swap with Harris? You sure about that? 😁
ozhibs
11-08-2021, 05:23 AM
[QUOTE=KeithWright9;6651822]Don’t disagree it was good business. But we got Sproule on a free (swap with Alex Harris who is now playing Lowland League)… he was in the Scottish Cup squad albeit an unused sub.
We got Sproule in a swap with Harris? You sure about that? 😁
We got Boyle from Dundee in a swap 😂
11-08-2021, 06:26 AM
Can they not just both be great players for their own reasons and that way everybody wins?
11-08-2021, 06:51 AM
Don’t disagree it was good business. But we got Sproule on a free (swap with Alex Harris who is now playing Lowland League)… he was in the Scottish Cup squad albeit an unused sub.
[QUOTE=gbhibby;6651243]
We paid 5k for Ivan mate ,, getting your Sproules and Boyles mixed up 😉
Can they not just both be great players for their own reasons and that way everybody wins?That's the game
11-08-2021, 07:09 AM
I liked Sproule but found him infuriating at times. Head down all the time. Terrorised defenders with his pace but end product was usually poor. I never had him as a starter, more a brilliant sub to bring on when defenders were tired. A brilliant weapon to have in our arsenal. Boyle is probably first name on the team sheet.
11-08-2021, 07:11 AM
I liked Sproule but found him infuriating at times. Head down all the time. Terrorised defenders with his pace but end product was usually poor. I never had him as a starter, more a brilliant sub to bring on when defenders were tired. A brilliant weapon to have in our arsenal. Boyle is probably first name on the team sheet.
In reality I’d probably agree with your assesment of Sproule but my heart always rules my head. I loved him. I loved how unpredictable he was, how comically fast he was and how visibly passionate he was.
One of my favourite ever Hibs players even though I know he was nowhere near one of the best.
11-08-2021, 07:24 AM
In reality I’d probably agree with your assesment of Sproule but my heart always rules my head. I loved him. I loved how unpredictable he was, how comically fast he was and how visibly passionate he was.
One of my favourite ever Hibs players even though I know he was nowhere near one of the best.
Agree he was someone who appreciated the opportunity he had at the club and clearly loved playing for us and got the ultimate out of his ability. Loved Ivan and he clearly loved us also.
stantonsboots
11-08-2021, 07:25 AM
Can they not just both be great players for their own reasons and that way everybody wins?But what about Arthur Duncan?:greengrin
11-08-2021, 07:25 AM
Yeah he really bought in to us as a club and became a big Hibs fan. Proper cult hero. And to be fair to him he had to jump up a massive step in standard from where he came from. Couldn't have been easy. Fairy-tale stuff for him.
stantonsboots
11-08-2021, 07:29 AM
One of my favourite ever Hibs players even though I know he was nowhere near one of the best.Ivan was fast, but he was positively pedestrian next to Forrest Gump sorry i mean Alan O'Brien :greengrin
11-08-2021, 07:30 AM
When i think of Sproule i always remember Archie MacPherson being incapable of saying Ivan. It was always Adrian.
11-08-2021, 07:31 AM
Yeah he really bought in to us as a club and became a big Hibs fan. Proper cult hero. And to be fair to him he had to jump up a massive step in standard from where he came from. Couldn't have been easy. Fairy-tale stuff for him.
That game at Ibrox was real fairytale stuff. GOC getting taken off with the comment, and ""what is he goin tae dae". :greengrin
11-08-2021, 07:35 AM
When i think of Sproule i always remember Archie MacPherson being incapable of saying Ivan. It was always Adrian.
...... and forever pronouncing Russell Latapy wrong ........ LaTAPY. :greengrin
11-08-2021, 08:09 AM
When Boyle first joined he was very similar to Ivan imo - really all he had was pace. Every time he got the ball he just put it out wide past the defender and tried to get round him. His finishing and crossing was inconsistent, passing poor and general movement had much room for improvement.
But his game has come on so so much since then. Yes he still relies a lot on his pace but every other part of his game has come on leaps and bounds. Huge credit to him for putting the work in.
11-08-2021, 08:11 AM
Lennon deserves credit for Boyle’s development. He came in and really rated him, played him almost every week and his development really accelerated during his time here ..Boyle’s kicked on even more since then - a real credit to himself too
11-08-2021, 08:15 AM
Sproule in his first spell with us must be one of the quickest players that’s ever played professional football and I don’t think my memory is clouded because of how long ago he was in his prime for us. Absolute lightening
GreenPJ
11-08-2021, 08:29 AM
We're trying to get Mueller in early and we've (supposedly) bid twice for McCart so we are presumably are looking at two more bodies.
And if we qualify for group stages, then we need more bodies for Thurs-Sun rota...
I would imagine if St J are knocked out of Europe this week there may be some movement of some of their players.
11-08-2021, 08:33 AM
I would imagine if St J are knocked out of Europe this week there may be some movement of some of their players.
They can’t be, they’ll be in Europe for another two weeks regardless.
hibee316
11-08-2021, 08:50 AM
This is why I struggle to call him a legend. He could be next to useless for a large chunk of the time. Jts all very well beating your man, but if the end ball is crap...
When it did click though...
Greenworld
11-08-2021, 08:54 AM
No way would £500,000 replace Martin Boyle unless we got very lucky.What about the American we have signed ?
11-08-2021, 09:01 AM
Dundee Utd now have Adrian Sporle which I've always thought of as a sort of alternate universe Ivan.
Greenworld
11-08-2021, 09:03 AM
And yes, he can 100% on a cold day at Firpark and has done on countless occasions.How did Kent do last night " when it mattered" utter crap the most over rates player ive seen . Forrest has been in a 2 season slump .
Boyle has improved every season and the thought of him not being at Hibs is not one I want.
Agree with you unseen
11-08-2021, 09:13 AM
Like others have said, I've been immensely impressed with how Boyle has developed and matured as a player over the last few seasons. Had a bit of a rocky spell when he was first called up by Australia where his Hibs form suffered a bit but again he's learned and developed. Can't speak highly enough of him.
11-08-2021, 09:22 AM
When I was told that Saturday afternoon that Hibs had won at Ibrox I thought someone was having me on. When they then told me that Ivan had scored a hat trick I knew they were having me on. :greengrin
11-08-2021, 09:22 AM
Dundee Utd tweet ⬇️
Dundee United and Beerschot have agreed an undisclosed fee for the transfer of striker Lawrence Shankland.
With 40 goals in 74 apps, 'Shanks' leaves with the best wishes of everyone at Tannadice for his efforts in the tangerine shirt.
#UnitedTogether https://t.co/yTrHNwFona
11-08-2021, 09:25 AM
Dundee Utd tweet ⬇️
Dundee United and Beerschot have agreed an undisclosed fee for the transfer of striker Lawrence Shankland.
With 40 goals in 74 apps, 'Shanks' leaves with the best wishes of everyone at Tannadice for his efforts in the tangerine shirt.
I think they'll be better for it. Will play as more of a team. Would love to know what they're paying him though!
11-08-2021, 09:29 AM
Lucky him getting to go and live in antwerp.
11-08-2021, 09:32 AM
When I was told that Saturday afternoon that Hibs had won at Ibrox I thought someone was having me on. When they then told me that Ivan had scored a hat trick I knew they were having me on. :greengrin
And when you were told he came off the bench into the second half you defo knew they were having you on
11-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Dundee Utd tweet ⬇️
Think it’s a good deal for Shankland and United. Apparently bringing in McNulty again as his replacement.
11-08-2021, 10:07 AM
I think they'll be better for it. Will play as more of a team. Would love to know what they're paying him though!Everytime I seen Shankland he was much more a team player than I thought
He sacrificed his game most of last season to play up and down the wing basically
SideBurns
11-08-2021, 10:55 AM
I was at Ibrox that day, and on the walk back to Glesgae city centre my dad called me to talk about Hibs 3-0 win; despite having witnessed it, I STILL thought he was having me on!
Magpie
11-08-2021, 02:29 PM
Arsenal are making some questionable signings this summer, another season of battling for Europa League for them I feel.
11-08-2021, 02:34 PM
I think they'll be better for it. Will play as more of a team. Would love to know what they're paying him though!
Must have been a good whack, they appear so keen to get him off the wage bill.
11-08-2021, 02:36 PM
Arsenal are making some questionable signings this summer, another season of battling for Europa League for them I feel.
There signings are really poor. They’ll be drifting closer and closer to being an Everton than a top four contender imo.
11-08-2021, 02:43 PM
Only been there once, and it was only to drive through. We went to watch Hibs play some team Lovereun or something like that. I think they said the game was in Charleoi and we got return flights there for something daft like £50 from Manchester.
A couple of days before the game, they changed it to somewhere else that i cant remember, so we had to hire a car from Charleoi airport and drive the couple of hours to the game.
That drive took us through Antwerp, we had a sat nav app on my phone that guided us through the city and to the game, it kept sending us the wrong way.
Only when we dropped the car off did we notice the car had a proper sat nav on the dashboard. :greengrin
11-08-2021, 02:52 PM
Brian Rice resigns from Hamilton.
11-08-2021, 02:56 PM
Their defeat against us must have hit them hard. 😁
11-08-2021, 03:17 PM
We will hear about how he is a great football man and a real loss to the game.
11-08-2021, 03:23 PM
Saw it coming a long time ago
GreenPJ
11-08-2021, 03:54 PM
Saw it coming a long time ago
IS Boozy still in their coaching staff? First steps into management opportunity?
11-08-2021, 04:14 PM
There signings are really poor. They’ll be drifting closer and closer to being an Everton than a top four contender imo.
Ramsdale is very strange. The rest are pretty much exactly what they need, though. White is a good player
11-08-2021, 04:26 PM
IS Boozy still in their coaching staff? First steps into management opportunity?
He is, not sure if he’s 1st coach or Assistant Manager
Rice was never a no.1, always seemed more suited to being an assistant, surprised he was kept on after they got relegated.
Crunchie
11-08-2021, 04:57 PM
We will hear about how he is a great football man and a real loss to the game.
Not sure if that's a snidey comment but he was a very classy player and did a great job with Hamilton.
11-08-2021, 05:08 PM
An impossible job.
Hamilton not getting back up to the Premier anytime soon.
Brummie_Hibs
11-08-2021, 05:23 PM
Great wee city, and the Beerschot fans are fantastic. Went to see a match there a few years back, and swore that I would definitely have to go back to watch another.
Well worth going to a game, and also visiting the club pubs outside stadium after a game.
11-08-2021, 05:35 PM
Not sure if that's a snidey comment but he was a very classy player and did a great job with Hamilton.
Did he? Hamilton were dreadful last season.
11-08-2021, 06:33 PM
An impossible job.
Hamilton not getting back up to the Premier anytime soon.
Once in a generation thing for them. Staggering they got to the Premiership. Terry Butcher to thank I guess.
11-08-2021, 06:49 PM
Once in a generation thing for them. Staggering they got to the Premiership. Terry Butcher to thank I guess.
Its happened twice in the last 15 years
Magpie
11-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Sam Cosgrove signed for Shrewsbury on loan from Birmingham. Only made two starts for them since joining in January.
Crunchie
11-08-2021, 07:36 PM
Did he? Hamilton were dreadful last season.
Context and all that.
11-08-2021, 07:37 PM
Sam Cosgrove signed for Shrewsbury on loan from Birmingham. Only made two starts for them since joining in January.
He’ll end up back at Aberdeen
Hibs could do worse