View Full Version : NFL/NCAA (American Football)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51

12-01-2020, 10:09 PM
This game doing nothing for me. I want some defence.

12-01-2020, 10:24 PM
Patrick Mahomes doesn't need 4 quarters...51 points with 5 passing TDs from Mahomes. Utterly amazing.

12-01-2020, 11:02 PM
This is becoming an excellent year to be a Chiefs fan........ :aok:

12-01-2020, 11:04 PM
This is becoming an excellent year to be a Chiefs fan........ :aok:

You live in Texas pal

12-01-2020, 11:20 PM
You live in Texas pal
Yes but only moved to Texas in 2017 and I lived in Missouri between 2001 and 2017, about 1 1/2 miles south of the Arrowhead. Been a Chiefs fan since the early days......

12-01-2020, 11:22 PM
Yes but only moved to Texas in 2017 and I lived in Missouri between 2001 and 2017, about 1 1/2 miles south of the Arrowhead. Been a Chiefs fan since the early days......

Hmm... convenient :greengrin

12-01-2020, 11:25 PM
Hmm... convenient :greengrin
Bit like supporting Hibs, sometimes you shout it from the rooftops and sometimes it's better to keep your mouth shut lol.....

12-01-2020, 11:26 PM
Bit like supporting Hibs, sometimes you shout it from the rooftops and sometimes it's better to keep your mouth shut lol.....

12-01-2020, 11:30 PM
My daughter still lives in KC, if I thought it was possible to get tickets for the game I'd be heading up there.......

12-01-2020, 11:38 PM
Rodgers feasting on our secondary early doors. 14-3.

12-01-2020, 11:38 PM

Enjoy it - been clear for a few seasons that Chiefs team has the potential to be excellent, and you could easily find yourself being the AFC team of this decade if you keep managing your personnel well. So you much young, raw talent in that squad.

On the other hand, I definitely feel our time of dominance is coming to an end but it's been a hell of a ride. I remember a New England team before the days of BB and TB, and I'm not terrified of a future team without them.

13-01-2020, 12:34 AM
Give the ball to Lynch on the goal line... touchdown.

Amazing that they always do that huh :greengrin

13-01-2020, 12:52 AM
Despite seeing it so many times... Russell Wilson still shocks me at how he can escape pressure and make plays.

Although one of his slides for a 1st down in that drive would have been a red card in our football :greengrin

13-01-2020, 12:53 AM
Green Bay 28 Russell Wilson 16.

We need someone else to help him out here.

13-01-2020, 12:56 AM
Come on D do something here.

13-01-2020, 01:06 AM
Wilson: "ahh **** it, free play, I'll just float this out there and... oh, 19 yards. That'll do."

13-01-2020, 01:17 AM
Lynch on the goal line again... unbelievable really. Always works :greengrin

13-01-2020, 01:26 AM
Wow what a huge sack that is!

13-01-2020, 01:33 AM
Wow what a huge sack that is!

So was that ...

13-01-2020, 01:36 AM
So was that ...

Indeed!

13-01-2020, 01:45 AM
And that is surely that!

-Jonesy-
13-01-2020, 01:48 AM
What’s wrong with Pete carol? Why did they punt that back instead of going for it? Why do the Seahawks always always give the other team a free shot at victory in crucial moments at the end of games for no reason at all? Who cares,probably Russ Wilson who is frittering away some real serious talent with some shocking play calling... packers will get absolutely chewed to bits by the 9ers D next Sunday.

13-01-2020, 02:03 AM
49ers v Chiefs for the Super Bowl......

13-01-2020, 06:41 AM
What’s wrong with Pete carol? Why did they punt that back instead of going for it? Why do the Seahawks always always give the other team a free shot at victory in crucial moments at the end of games for no reason at all? Who cares,probably Russ Wilson who is frittering away some real serious talent with some shocking play calling... packers will get absolutely chewed to bits by the 9ers D next Sunday.

Way too conservative. Our defence was never going to give us the ball back the way we were playing. Should have gone for it.

Hope the Pack go on and win it now.

13-01-2020, 10:44 AM
Way too conservative. Our defence was never going to give us the ball back the way we were playing. Should have gone for it.

Hope the Pack go on and win it now.

I only saw the first half but I was really impressed by KC and 49ers beat us early on my some margin.

Not convinced the Packers will get to the Superbowl.

Also wish their games were on a bit earlier!

13-01-2020, 10:56 AM
I only saw the first half but I was really impressed by KC and 49ers beat us early on my some margin.

Not convinced the Packers will get to the Superbowl.

Also wish their games were on a bit earlier!

The 49ers will be heavy favourites against Green Bay, definitely.

-Jonesy-
13-01-2020, 03:18 PM
The 49ers will be heavy favourites against Green Bay, definitely.

They destroyed the packers 37-8 a few weeks ago in November and held Rodgers to an all time career low yards per pass attempt, and that was while missing 1 or 2 of their key players on D

13-01-2020, 08:24 PM
College championship game tonight.

Go Tigers!

13-01-2020, 09:12 PM
College championship game tonight.

Go Tigers!

Which one?!

13-01-2020, 09:13 PM
Which one?!

Covering my bases :greengrin

14-01-2020, 01:59 AM
This games been great

NO SPOILERS but this game is worth watching.

HibernianJK
14-01-2020, 09:01 AM
Weird game. Pretty disappointed in Trevor Lawrence. Didn’t look like number 1 overall there at all.

14-01-2020, 07:11 PM
The Louisianimals of LSU deserved to be the college champs, great all year and capped of with a solid win over Clemson, I hope Joe Burrows stays another year but I’m sure he’s made himself available for the draft [emoji24] the first good QB LSU has had in 10years+, I hope the bengals don’t draft him [emoji35]

14-01-2020, 07:20 PM
The Louisianimals of LSU deserved to be the college champs, great all year and capped of with a solid win over Clemson, I hope Joe Burrows stays another year but I’m sure he’s made himself available for the draft [emoji24] the first good QB LSU has had in 10years+, I hope the bengals don’t draft him [emoji35]

Not sure he can stay can he?

The Bengals will definitely sign him, he's from Ohio, he's class, they can't afford to pass him up.

StevesFamau5
14-01-2020, 08:40 PM
Not sure he can stay can he?

The Bengals will definitely sign him, he's from Ohio, he's class, they can't afford to pass him up.Aye I think he's finished at LSU either way? #1 draft for the Bengals unless someone wants to trade up, although I doubt it.

#GeauxTigers #BayouBengals [emoji234][emoji234]

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

14-01-2020, 11:39 PM
Aye I think he's finished at LSU either way? #1 draft for the Bengals unless someone wants to trade up, although I doubt it.

#GeauxTigers #BayouBengals [emoji234][emoji234]

Redshirt senior so he's out :agree:

He's definitely #1 for the bengals

17-01-2020, 12:25 AM
Roll on the ferkin weekend..........:greengrin :cheers::greengrin

17-01-2020, 06:47 AM
Warrant issued for OBJ.
Big news until you discover it's for 'slapping a police officers behind' :grr: :faf:

17-01-2020, 04:36 PM
Anyone watched the Aaron Hernandez documentary on Netflix yet?

Such a crazy and sad story. I still wish none of it happened. Gronk and Hernandez could have been a terrifying partnership!

19-01-2020, 01:00 PM
Championship Sunday!!

19-01-2020, 01:32 PM
Championship Sunday!!

49ers and Chiefs will progress.

I'd love Rodgers to win another superbowl. I just can't see it. Two really tough opponents to get past. You can't discount Vrabels Titans either with Derrick Henry, but home field will favour the Chiefs.

19-01-2020, 07:31 PM
Well that's not the start I expected

19-01-2020, 08:01 PM
Well that's not the start I expected

Ach we are just giving them a head start then we are going to rip their souls out.....😀

19-01-2020, 08:06 PM
#andyreidsbottlejobarmy

19-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Is it just me who thinks the referee looks and sounds like he'll be lucky to still be alive at the end of this game? Poor guy looks ill and frozen.

19-01-2020, 08:28 PM
Is it just me who thinks the referee looks and sounds like he'll be lucky to still be alive at the end of this game? Poor guy looks ill and frozen.

It is 5 Fahrenheit there!

19-01-2020, 08:31 PM
#andyreidsbottlejobarmy

19-01-2020, 08:32 PM
That was pretty special from Mahomes.

19-01-2020, 09:00 PM

The Haymaker curse is well on the way!

19-01-2020, 09:05 PM
The Haymaker curse is well on the way!

19-01-2020, 10:27 PM

Thank me later lad with some beers in Texas

19-01-2020, 10:34 PM
Thank me later lad with some beers in Texas
Suuuupppppeeeeerrrrrrbbbbbooooowwwwwllllllllll bbbbbaaaaabbbbbyyyyyyy............................ ..... oh yeah.......:rockin::redindian::rockin:

19-01-2020, 10:35 PM
Suuuupppppeeeeerrrrrrbbbbbooooowwwwwllllllllll bbbbbaaaaabbbbbyyyyyyy............................ ..... oh yeah.......:rockin::redindian::rockin:

Always a good feeling.

I mean, I'm used to it but it's still good.

-Jonesy-
19-01-2020, 10:41 PM
Let’s go 9ers 🤘🏻

-Jonesy-
19-01-2020, 11:03 PM
That 49ers D line tho...

20-01-2020, 12:16 AM
Bit of a rout at this point......

20-01-2020, 01:34 AM
Bit of a rout at this point......

ARod can turn this over....

20-01-2020, 01:39 AM
That made me laugh, nearly spat out my wine but I was quick enough to rescue it :greengrin

-Jonesy-
20-01-2020, 01:41 AM

I’ve got the 9ers on a -15 bet so I hope he can’t even rescue a field goal at this point

-Jonesy-
20-01-2020, 01:43 AM
I’ve got the 9ers on a -15 bet so I hope he can’t even rescue a field goal at this point

I had Sherman to make an interception at 9/2 as well!!!!

20-01-2020, 01:45 AM
Any .netter Hibees that can get to my hoose for the Super Bowl will find find free beer and food. Go Chhhhhiiiiieeeeeffffffffsssssssssssss............. ........

20-01-2020, 11:28 AM
I was wanting Tennessee to keep the upset going, but I'll now be supporting the Chiefs in a couple of weeks. Mahomes just smacks of someone who is meant to be the best at what he does. Class.

Could be a very good superbowl.

20-01-2020, 02:54 PM
I'm rooting for the 49ers in the Superbowl. Given my work connections with Northern California (and that I see the 49ers more live than any other team as a result), PLUS Jimmy G, it feels right :wink:

But realistically, it'll be impressive if Mahomes manages his first one so early in his career. I really do feel he could be the next really elite QB in the league, and he has a wealth of weapons around him.

LustForLeith
21-01-2020, 12:57 PM
Any recommendations on a good pub showing the Super Bowl in Edinburgh? Me and my mates are looking to go somewhere to watch it but surely there’s going to be a problem with licenses? One place has told us they can’t guarantee to show there full game until they hear about a license!

Thanks!

LustForLeith
21-01-2020, 02:01 PM
Any recommendations on a good pub showing the Super Bowl in Edinburgh? Me and my mates are looking to go somewhere to watch it but surely there’s going to be a problem with licenses? One place has told us they can’t guarantee to show there full game until they hear about a license!

Thanks!

vein
21-01-2020, 03:27 PM

Thanks!

Mate from work reckons Belushis is showing it. Never been but looks like it may be the old mercados from google maps. Reckons there will be cheerleaders too which I can’t imagine would sway your decision :-)

Was trying to persuade me along but the thought of getting back to Kirkliston at silly o clock on a Monday morning isn’t really doing it for me!

21-01-2020, 06:00 PM
Got the Chiefs flag up at the front of my house and the new neighbours across the street have put up a 49ers flag :faf:

LustForLeith
21-01-2020, 09:49 PM
Mate from work reckons Belushis is showing it. Never been but looks like it may be the old mercados from google maps. Reckons there will be cheerleaders too which I can’t imagine would sway your decision :-)

Was trying to persuade me along but the thought of getting back to Kirkliston at silly o clock on a Monday morning isn’t really doing it for me!

We were planning on going there but Belushi’s don’t have a late license! They’re working on it!

21-01-2020, 10:19 PM

Thanks!

https://allevents.in/edinburgh/the-big-game-2nd-february/200018685257110

Hard Rock's Superbowl events are usually excellent (though I've never been to the one in Edinburgh).

22-01-2020, 09:05 PM
And it's all over for Eli.

23-01-2020, 12:41 AM
And Antonio Brown has an arrest warrant with no bond issued.

He gon' jail

LustForLeith
25-01-2020, 08:24 AM
[QUOTE=vein;6050711]Mate from work reckons Belushis is showing it. Never been but looks like it may be the old mercados from google maps. Reckons there will be cheerleaders too which I can’t imagine would sway your decision :-)

Was trying to persuade me along but the thought of getting back to Kirkliston at silly o clock on a Monday morning isn’t really doing it for me!/QUOTE]

You’ve changed!

30-01-2020, 12:43 PM
And Antonio Brown has an arrest warrant with no bond issued.

He gon' jail
Never mind that, it's Thursday already and I'm getting psyched for Sunday......:greengrin:party:

30-01-2020, 02:51 PM
Never mind that, it's Thursday already and I'm getting psyched for Sunday......:greengrin:party:

I'm excited. And I change my mind who I think will win every hour. It's a coin toss.

30-01-2020, 03:18 PM
I'm excited. And I change my mind who I think will win every hour. It's a coin toss.
No coin tossing here - lived in Missouri for years and a big Chiefs fan. Was beginning to think I would never see this day - maybe has a ring of 2016 about it :aok:

30-01-2020, 03:46 PM
The NFL has put the Bills "on notice" over their stadium. Apparently they need a "competitive" stadium for the league.

30-01-2020, 03:46 PM

Heading to my favourite bar in South Orange. Getting a big old pizza and some wings for half time and this year I will win the TV in the raffle.

30-01-2020, 04:58 PM
No coin tossing here - lived in Missouri for years and a big Chiefs fan. Was beginning to think I would never see this day - maybe has a ring of 2016 about it :aok:

Well I wish you luck then:greengrin I will be rooting Chiefs of course, but I worry about their D, then I think Mahomes will just be too much for anyone, then I think the niners pass rush will dominate, then I flip and trust to Andy Reid's playcalling, then I think noone stops the 49ers run game...I just can't call it.

30-01-2020, 04:59 PM
Heading to my favourite bar in South Orange. Getting a big old pizza and some wings for half time and this year I will win the TV in the raffle.
We can't decide between a Chiefs friendly bar or a BBQ at Chez Hobo.....Mrs Hobo doesn't want to go to a bar - bloody Americans :greengrin

30-01-2020, 05:35 PM
We can't decide between a Chiefs friendly bar or a BBQ at Chez Hobo.....Mrs Hobo doesn't want to go to a bar - bloody Americans :greengrin

Leave her at home then?

30-01-2020, 09:15 PM
Leave her at home then?
Oh FFS, my life would be a misery lol...... I have a wee story about when the Packers got to the Superbowl (2010?) and she didn't speak to me for a full week :faf:

30-01-2020, 10:10 PM
Oh FFS, my life would be a misery lol...... I have a wee story about when the Packers got to the Superbowl (2010?) and she didn't speak to me for a full week :faf:

In football news... Greg Olsen leaves the Panthers. Short deal in NE?

30-01-2020, 10:59 PM
Tom Bradys latest instagram post has now officially got me worried.

31-01-2020, 12:01 PM
My son came home from school with a ****ing patriots cap on his head yesterday :grr: might amuse some of our regular contributors...

31-01-2020, 12:01 PM
Tom Bradys latest instagram post has now officially got me worried.

:hyper

31-01-2020, 12:48 PM
My son came home from school with a ****ing patriots cap on his head yesterday :grr: might amuse some of our regular contributors...
Damn. Hope he's up to date with his inoculations.......

31-01-2020, 12:54 PM

You'll need to watch that. No end of things he could have caught. Shaved napper and cap straight in the bin should sort it.

31-01-2020, 04:56 PM

Good lad!!

31-01-2020, 04:57 PM

Brady leaves, we suck all season 0-16, draft Trevor Lawrence, start again for another 20 years of domination :hyper

31-01-2020, 11:37 PM
Ok then, TDD is out of the way, onwards to Sunday......:party:

01-02-2020, 08:30 AM
Sherman could be a big factor. Good article.

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000001098970/article/to-richard-shermans-haters-give-it-up-appreciate-his-greatness

01-02-2020, 08:35 AM
https://www.businessinsider.com/super-bowl-mvp-odds-patrick-mahomes-chiefs-49ers-2020-1

Mostert is a great shout for MVP as the 49ers leading rusher at 7/1, but what about Mathieu or Sherman both at 80/1? The ball is going to spend a lot of time n the air tomorrow and there will be interceptions at some point...

02-02-2020, 12:31 AM

02-02-2020, 09:15 AM
C'mon the Chiefs :redindian:

-Jonesy-
02-02-2020, 11:20 AM
https://www.businessinsider.com/super-bowl-mvp-odds-patrick-mahomes-chiefs-49ers-2020-1

Mostert is a great shout for MVP as the 49ers leading rusher at 7/1, but what about Mathieu or Sherman both at 80/1? The ball is going to spend a lot of time n the air tomorrow and there will be interceptions at some point...

I saw on 888sport they were offering odds on the colour of the first bucket of Gatorade to be dumped over the winning coach

02-02-2020, 03:34 PM
Backing the Chiefs tonight.

02-02-2020, 03:38 PM
Mahomes for MVP. Going for 3 passing TDs and 1 rushing TD, 400+ total yards and a trip to Disneyland.

-Jonesy-
02-02-2020, 03:59 PM
Is anyone not backing the chiefs tonight?

02-02-2020, 05:26 PM
Brady leaves, we suck all season 0-16, draft Trevor Lawrence, start again for another 20 years of domination :hyper

I can see him signing for the new Raiders, be like Elvis, washed up on a big contract in Vegas getting fat on cheeseburgers and whores:greengrin

02-02-2020, 05:42 PM
Is anyone not backing the chiefs tonight?

Tom Brady probably but he's a miserable k'ant....

02-02-2020, 05:57 PM
Wanting the 49ers to win but reckon the Chiefs will sneak it.

Overall, I hope it’s better than last years Super Bowl.

02-02-2020, 06:14 PM
Wanting the 49ers to win but reckon the Chiefs will sneak it.

Overall, I hope it’s better than last years Super Bowl.

Last year's Super Bowl was fantastic mate. :agree: :greengrin

02-02-2020, 06:54 PM
Last year's Super Bowl was fantastic mate. :agree: :greengrin

They've actually got that P ish on Sky Sports for two hours before the build up to tonight's game starts at 10.

02-02-2020, 07:26 PM
They've actually got that P ish on Sky Sports for two hours before the build up to tonight's game starts at 10.

Rewatch an epic duel that was won by The GOAT. :agree: a great way to get pumped for the game tonight.

02-02-2020, 08:14 PM
Just stuck £100 on the Chiefs at 4-1 through bet 888. Those odds seemed to good to turn down to me. Thoughts?

02-02-2020, 08:41 PM
Just stuck £100 on the Chiefs at 4-1 through bet 888. Those odds seemed to good to turn down to me. Thoughts?

You bet too much money:greengrin

02-02-2020, 08:44 PM

-Jonesy-
02-02-2020, 09:23 PM

Didn’t see them offering anything close to that, they were narrow favourites, you sure you’ve not punted on chiefs with a handicap?

Edit
Aye 888 has chiefs 4/5 but 4/1 with a -13.5 handicap

02-02-2020, 09:49 PM
You bet too much money:greengrin

The beer is flowing, the Chinese has been ordered, PlayStation is on and Eric Cantona is bouncing about on the other TV in a dressing gown. It's only money lol (to be fair, still think Chiefs will win it).

02-02-2020, 09:51 PM
I'm settling in at the regular Super Bowl spot, cold beers, bar pizza and wings ordered for half time and surprisingly plenty of young ladies in the bar (seriously that's a shocker).

Let's gooooooooooooooo football!!

02-02-2020, 09:52 PM
Didn’t see them offering anything close to that, they were narrow favourites, you sure you’ve not punted on chiefs with a handicap?

Edit
Aye 888 has chiefs 4/5 but 4/1 with a -13.5 handicap

Nah it popped up as a pop up offer for first time betters and I thought that's to good to turn down so clicked on the offer. Had 49ers at 5-1 too.

02-02-2020, 10:26 PM
Go Chiefs!!

02-02-2020, 10:45 PM
Sherman already being cheeky. They win toss and choose to kick.

02-02-2020, 10:47 PM
Absolutely no idea about the rules etc but always tune in. Is this basically the Champions League of American Football?

Also who is on for the half time show?

02-02-2020, 11:05 PM
Absolutely no idea about the rules etc but always tune in. Is this basically the Champions League of American Football?

Also who is on for the half time show?

Think it's J Lo and Shakira. Stuff off dreams (well mine anyways lol). Thankfully I'm up all night already 😁

02-02-2020, 11:12 PM
Every chiefs play designed to slow the niners pass rush. Draw screen slant. Decent start.

02-02-2020, 11:19 PM
Loving all the cants in Jets gear. One day lol.

02-02-2020, 11:21 PM
What a call by Reid on 4th down. I would've taken the 3 points. 7-3 chiefs.

02-02-2020, 11:32 PM
My imagination or is there a whole empty section in top tier behind one of the endzones?

02-02-2020, 11:50 PM
Great contest. 10-10.

03-02-2020, 12:12 AM
I hate that call on Kittle, personally.
HT. I've got pretzels.

03-02-2020, 12:31 AM
God dam. Best half-time show ever. Got to love a Latina, never mind two.

#Womens equality lol.

03-02-2020, 12:32 AM
Very quick first half IMO.

03-02-2020, 12:34 AM
God dam. Best half-time show ever. Got to love a Latina, never mind two.

#Womens equality lol.

It was wonderful.

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 01:03 AM
Who’s still backing the chiefs???

03-02-2020, 01:37 AM
TD Chiefs. Squeaky bum time now

That Mahomes pass could potentially be the turning point. Superb play!

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 01:41 AM
Is Kevin Clancy head referee or what?
Seriously inconsistent officiating

03-02-2020, 01:45 AM
Chiefs could now steal this.

03-02-2020, 01:49 AM
Wow 😮

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 01:53 AM
Huge bull**** call again there

03-02-2020, 02:00 AM
This game sets it up for Jimmy G vs Mahomes.

For the next 10 years.

As Brady vs manning should have been.

03-02-2020, 02:03 AM
Good night San Francisco

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 02:04 AM
Horrendous, anyone who thinks that touchdown wasn’t out of bounds is kidding themselves on

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 02:05 AM
Although hugely disappointing the difference between how good the 9ers D was in the 3rd and 4th quarters

03-02-2020, 02:10 AM
Although hugely disappointing the difference between how good the 9ers D was in the 3rd and 4th quarters

Niners D was exceptional for 3 and a little bit quarters but KC’s offense is so explosive. 21 points in the final 7 mins... ridiculous. Mahomes showed mental toughness & that big pass to Hill was what finally got him going.

Have to question Niners tactics though. 2 drives where they should’ve run it but (I think) they went 3 and out both times.

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 02:15 AM
3rd and 15 pass interference call was the killer, can’t call that and not call the same one on Bourne 5 mins before
That and the out of bounds TD that put the chiefs in front with 2 mins left

03-02-2020, 02:32 AM
Didn't see that coming at the end of the third quarter. Go Chiefs......

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 02:37 AM
Trump tweeted congratulation to the chiefs and the great state of Kansas for doing the USA proud and then deleted it and corrected it it to the state of Missouri.
😂😂😂

03-02-2020, 02:42 AM
Revenge is sweet - 49ers killed my love and watching of the game. (Montana/Young) machine did it for me.

03-02-2020, 02:44 AM
Trump tweeted congratulation to the chiefs and the great state of Kansas for doing the USA proud and then deleted it and corrected it it to the state of Missouri.
😂😂😂

I now think beyond a shadow of a doubt this is a manipulation - a tictac - that gets him more press.

Ivanka was ridiculed for congratulating the Prime Minister of the United Kingston. And she’s supposedly the smart one.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/world/ivanka-trump-ridiculed-for-united-kingston-boris-johnson-tweet-1-4969889

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 02:47 AM
Revenge is sweet - 49ers killed my love and watching of the game. (Montana/Young) machine did it for me.

That was 25 years ago😂😂😂

We were 4-12 last year and worse before, it’s come full circle and then some

03-02-2020, 02:53 AM
That was 25 years ago😂😂😂

We were 4-12 last year and worse before, it’s come full circle and then some

Yes as a redskins can I’ve had to hide my time. The new franchises and teams fannying about with locations didn’t help.
Used to be that it was not particularly dominated - that was then this is now.

03-02-2020, 02:57 AM
Niners D was exceptional for 3 and a little bit quarters but KC’s offense is so explosive. 21 points in the final 7 mins... ridiculous. Mahomes showed mental toughness & that big pass to Hill was what finally got him going.

Have to question Niners tactics though. 2 drives where they should’ve run it but (I think) they went 3 and out both times.
Defence crumbled - got overcome by thinking of the headlines?. And zero protecting and bad options taken by the QB but massive credit to the Chiefs who were in the zone 4th qtr.

03-02-2020, 02:58 AM
Maybe have to leave the chiefs flag at my house flying for another month 😀

-Jonesy-
03-02-2020, 03:07 AM
Maybe have to leave the chiefs flag at my house flying for another month 😀

Should throw a couple yellow ones in the front garden too

03-02-2020, 03:10 AM
Should throw a couple yellow ones in the front garden too
I'll send you a Chiefs flag for free if you want then you'll be ready for next year's super bowl 😀

03-02-2020, 03:27 AM
Mahomes vs Jimmy G will be the future of the super bowl

03-02-2020, 03:28 AM
It's what Brady v Manning should have been but they played in the same conference

03-02-2020, 08:02 AM
It's what Brady v Manning should have been but they played in the same conference

I can't agree with that parallel. The jury is still out on Jimmy G as a great QB. He's been protected by a historically dominant running game this season and a defense that has won them a lot of games; I can think of a dozen QBs I'd rather have leading my team.

But no doubt they are both powerful teams that are going to improve, and the competition like New Orleans, Seattle, Green Bay, New England have important players getting past it or are in transition.

03-02-2020, 08:23 AM
I was hoping San Francisco would win (seeing as I spend half of the year within a 25 minute drive of Santa Clara and have seen them numerous times in the past five years), but no denying the sheer quality in that Chiefs team. Coffee, intraveinous...

03-02-2020, 02:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-orLI8Y7HV0

Music to my ears. Now get the man some proper ****ing weapons and protection for next year!

Sergio sledge
03-02-2020, 06:42 PM
Horrendous, anyone who thinks that touchdown wasn’t out of bounds is kidding themselves on

I'd like to think I'm fairly neutral being and eagles fan, I thought it was far too tight to call. There was no clear evidence to overturn the on the field call, even on the frame by frame there was no way of telling exactly when the ball broke the plane compared to when his foot went out of bounds.

There's other calls to be more worked up than that one IMHO.

03-02-2020, 06:55 PM
I'd like to think I'm fairly neutral being and eagles fan, I thought it was far too tight to call. There was no clear evidence to overturn the on the field call, even on the frame by frame there was no way of telling exactly when the ball broke the plane compared to when his foot went out of bounds.

:agree: and don't forget the Chiefs would have had first and goal from inside the one anyway even if it was reversed.

The best thing I heard in the post match analysis was the best defense in football brought their best game for three quarters, and the Chiefs still found a way to win. That's why they deserved it.

Also Mahomes had one of his poorest games by his high standards (and somehow still got the MVP). For three quarters the story was how he was rattled, hit and throwing picks.

03-02-2020, 06:56 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-orLI8Y7HV0

Music to my ears. Now get the man some proper ****ing weapons and protection for next year!

I don't think anyone in the leagues scared of him now. His best years are behind him.

03-02-2020, 07:10 PM

I'm a Chiefs fan and I agree with you and I would add that had it been called out I doubt if the decision would have been reversed there either.

Sergio sledge
04-02-2020, 06:11 AM
:agree: and don't forget the Chiefs would have had first and goal from inside the one anyway even if it was reversed.

The best thing I heard in the post match analysis was the best defense in football brought their best game for three quarters, and the Chiefs still found a way to win. That's why they deserved it.

Also Mahomes had one of his poorest games by his high standards (and somehow still got the MVP). For three quarters the story was how he was rattled, hit and throwing picks.

I don't think he was MVP in that game, but MVP is so weighted towards QB, other players have to do something incredible to win it over the QB.

04-02-2020, 07:32 AM
I don't think he was MVP in that game, but MVP is so weighted towards QB, other players have to do something incredible to win it over the QB.

Williams 100+yards rushing and 2 TDs was the obvious one.

04-02-2020, 05:01 PM
Jaguars to play back to back games in London this season

LustForLeith
04-02-2020, 07:13 PM
Gutted for the 49ers!

Watched it in Bar 50 and it was pretty decent.

What the tips for next year? I’ve got a feeling the Miami Dolphins are going to shock!

05-02-2020, 12:20 AM
Gutted for the 49ers!

Watched it in Bar 50 and it was pretty decent.

What the tips for next year? I’ve got a feeling the Miami Dolphins are going to shock!

Patriots to tank to get Lawrence in the draft and return to dominate the next 20 years.

Ravens to go on to win the whole thing.

05-02-2020, 12:21 AM
Patriots to tank to get Lawrence in the draft and return to dominate the next 20 years.

Ravens to go on to win the whole thing.
Pit the bong doon, that's enough for one evening.......

05-02-2020, 01:30 AM
Pit the bong doon, that's enough for one evening.......

Erm, that stuff ain't legal until the vote in November. Not in MY state!

05-02-2020, 06:55 PM
The Pats drafting Jordan Love would seem to make a lot of sense. He reminds me a bit of Brady.

Whether he drops to 23 with the Bengals, Dolphins and Chargers all almost certain to take a QB and the Colts and Saints likely considering it is another matter.

05-02-2020, 07:55 PM
The Pats drafting Jordan Love would seem to make a lot of sense. He reminds me a bit of Brady.

Whether he drops to 23 with the Bengals, Dolphins and Chargers all almost certain to take a QB and the Colts and Saints likely considering it is another matter.

He would be but he won't be around. Unless Bill trades up which I don't think I've ever seen him do.

08-02-2020, 07:40 PM
XFL is great.

08-02-2020, 07:59 PM
XFL is great.

Seattle Dragons seem to be wearing a Miami Hurricanes kit.

08-02-2020, 09:03 PM
Seattle Dragons seem to be wearing a Miami Hurricanes kit.

I was thinking of 'supporting' the Tampa Bay Vipers purely because their kit is green but seeing the Dragons in that white and green U inspired number could change my mind.

08-02-2020, 09:12 PM
I was thinking of 'supporting' the Tampa Bay Vipers purely because their kit is green but seeing the Dragons in that white and green U inspired number could change my mind.

I have some u of m merchandise and apart from making folk think I'm a Dolphins fan by association i have no complaints wearing it at all :greengrin

08-02-2020, 11:14 PM
Seattle Dragons. Name just doesnt sit well with me at all.

09-02-2020, 06:37 AM
Seattle Dragons. Name just doesnt sit well with me at all.

It's better than the St Louis Battlehawks. WTF is a battlehawk anyway? A normal hawk with a suit of armour on? Stupid.
Just like Vince McMahon in general.

09-02-2020, 03:35 PM

Their kit is amazing.

But Go Guardians!

09-02-2020, 06:29 PM
New York Guardians are the best football team in New Jersey.

20-02-2020, 02:57 AM
Looks like the NFL is going to get its wish to get the Super bowl on Presidents day weekend!

20-02-2020, 08:20 AM
Joe Burrow doesn't exactly seem thrilled about the prospect of ending up at the Bengals.

20-02-2020, 02:46 PM
Joe Burrow doesn't exactly seem thrilled about the prospect of ending up at the Bengals.

I can't see he has many options, except sitting out the whole season. He'll be going to Cincinnati.

14-03-2020, 12:20 PM
Is anyone good at Madden20? I just can't win a game at Pro level:faf:

StevesFamau5
14-03-2020, 05:23 PM
Is anyone good at Madden20? I just can't win a game at Pro level:faf:Aye I am struggling as well. Especially on the run game. Automatically seem to run into the first DB.

Ps4 or Xbox?

14-03-2020, 05:56 PM
Aye I am struggling as well. Especially on the run game. Automatically seem to run into the first DB.

Ps4 or Xbox?

Xbox. Im finding the passing game harder than the running game to be honest. Russel Wilson threw 4 interceptions in the first half ☹️

StevesFamau5
14-03-2020, 09:59 PM
Xbox. Im finding the passing game harder than the running game to be honest. Russel Wilson threw 4 interceptions in the first half [emoji3525]Are you in franchise mode?

Tbh I had a similar problem with Carson Wentz but bizarrely it seemed to stop around Q3.

It looks like the AI actually shows fatigue in players. I had 3 quick running plays with Corey Clement and switched to a RPO completely caught the defence off guard.

15-03-2020, 07:21 AM
Are you in franchise mode?

Tbh I had a similar problem with Carson Wentz but bizarrely it seemed to stop around Q3.

It looks like the AI actually shows fatigue in players. I had 3 quick running plays with Corey Clement and switched to a RPO completely caught the defence off guard.

Yep, franchise mode on Pro. Currently 0-8-1, I can't get any sort of offense going. Also, it's so tough getting teams to agree to trades, even when being very generous (offering better players than the one I want and compensatory draft picks). Chris Carson got injured (this is realistic!) And after trying the whole league for a new RB I basically had to mortgage the house to get Ekeler from the Rams

StevesFamau5
15-03-2020, 02:01 PM
Players have voted to approve the new NFL CBA. Changes

Two playoff teams added for 2020

17-game season in 2021

Increase in min. salaries

Increase in player revenue share It will run through 2030.

Interesting times ahead.

15-03-2020, 08:22 PM
Getting one step closer to an 18 game season and super bowl on Presidents day weekend.

16-03-2020, 06:33 AM
So each conference has seven playoff teams now. 4 Division champions, and 3 wild cards? So I'm assuming there will now be 3 first round bye teams and the remaining 4 teams (1 lowest seeded division champ and 3 wild card teams) play off until the last team standing joins the other 3 div champs?

16-03-2020, 12:05 PM
So each conference has seven playoff teams now. 4 Division champions, and 3 wild cards? So I'm assuming there will now be 3 first round bye teams and the remaining 4 teams (1 lowest seeded division champ and 3 wild card teams) play off until the last team standing joins the other 3 div champs?

Think only #1 gets a bye?

16-03-2020, 12:26 PM
Tom Brady, thoughts? Stay with the patsies? Sign with Raiders, Chargers, someone else? Retire?

16-03-2020, 01:04 PM
Think only #1 gets a bye?

That makes more sense :agree:

16-03-2020, 04:44 PM
Tom Brady, thoughts? Stay with the patsies? Sign with Raiders, Chargers, someone else? Retire?

Staying with the Pats, he's using this to make the Pats get weapons for him.

And if he goes we just tank for Trevor Lawrence.

16-03-2020, 06:07 PM

Brady lifts his skirt to the Titans, they say 'no thanks you auld slapper' and pay Ryan Tannehill the big bucks instead. Incredible how Tannehill has developed, statistically the best passer in the league last season. Although with the new CBA all the free agents are going to break salary records, not just him. Dak Prescott next.

16-03-2020, 06:18 PM
Deandre Hopkins to the Cardinals, Texans get RB David Johnson in return.

17-03-2020, 05:50 AM
Biggest moves today, Mariota to the Raiders, Stefon Diggs to the Bills, DeForest Buckner to the Colts, Jimmy used-to-be-good Graham to the Bears.

17-03-2020, 12:04 PM
Staying with the Pats, he's using this to make the Pats get weapons for him.

And if he goes we just tank for Trevor Lawrence.

Announced today that he's leaving New England. Day after Van Noy joins Miami.

End of a very long and prosperous era, and the start of a long rebuilding process!

He looked like he'd lost a few steps last season, but even so, I'm still gutted. Been an absolute following this time through his reign.

17-03-2020, 12:10 PM

End of a very long and prosperous era, and the start of a long rebuilding process!

He looked like he'd lost a few steps last season, but even so, I'm still gutted. Been an absolute following this time through his reign.

Where do you thing he will end up? I said Chargers or Raiders earlier, not sure now. What about the 49ers? Then you could still follow the baw bag. Chances he could end up there?

17-03-2020, 12:17 PM
Where do you thing he will end up? I said Chargers or Raiders earlier, not sure now. What about the 49ers? Then you could still follow the baw bag. Chances he could end up there?

Only way he ends up in San Francisco is if the Patriots spend massive money to bring Jimmy G back to Foxborough, and I don't see that happening. The 49ers aren't quite so short-termist in their current setup, even though Brady would probably love to finish his career at the home of his idol. Garopollo is the future of that franchise, and they won't sacrifice that to bring Brady in.

Raiders have apparently offered Mariota a contract, and with Rivers in free agency, it wouldn't surprise me to see Brady in La La Land. AFC East could be a very interesting prospect next season!

17-03-2020, 01:37 PM

Yep, it's been great but this day was always going to come.

Time to tank for Trev

17-03-2020, 02:03 PM
Cam Newton has just demanded a trade from the Panthers...three guesses where he's landing...

17-03-2020, 05:02 PM
Cam Newton has just demanded a trade from the Panthers...three guesses where he's landing...

The Pats? Really? Do you think he'll fit in with Bellichicks culture?

Big Robert Quinn to the Bears, good move for them.

17-03-2020, 05:13 PM

We're tanking for Trev!

17-03-2020, 07:40 PM

I think BB has proven by now that he can coach the ego out of anyone. His injury aside, I think Newton would be an exceptional QB for whoever lands him.

17-03-2020, 08:30 PM
I think BB has proven by now that he can coach the ego out of anyone. His injury aside, I think Newton would be an exceptional QB for whoever lands him.

He had one exceptional season, the year they got to the superbowl. Otherwise he's been a bit hot and cold and I wouldn't have him as a starter on a quality team.

Tebow is still looking for a team I think...or Colin K :greengrin

17-03-2020, 08:54 PM
He had one exceptional season, the year they got to the superbowl. Otherwise he's been a bit hot and cold and I wouldn't have him as a starter on a quality team.

Tebow is still looking for a team I think...or Colin K :greengrin

If BB could get him fit, I reckon it could work as CK is an excellent system QB. But given Kraft's connections to Trump, I doubt it sadly.

17-03-2020, 09:16 PM
If BB could get him fit, I reckon it could work as CK is an excellent system QB. But given Kraft's connections to Trump, I doubt it sadly.

Philip Rivers would be a good fit for you guys. I haven't seen him mentioned though.

17-03-2020, 09:33 PM
Philip Rivers would be a good fit for you guys. I haven't seen him mentioned though.

looks like Rivers to the Colts, 1 year deal.

kinda hoping the Bears will push for preferably Carr (unlikely), or Newton. Problem is they’ve not much to trade for them, unless either the raiders or panthers just want shot

18-03-2020, 06:32 AM
Looks like Brady has agreed a deal with the Bucs.

2020 can **** right off.

18-03-2020, 12:47 PM
This means Jameis Winston is going somewhere. Bears or Pats I'm guessing. Chargers and Dolphins might also need a QB.

18-03-2020, 04:50 PM
Bears trade for Foles. Kinda underwhelmed, Super Bowl MVP, had some incredible games in the playoffs, better than Trubisky, but still also seeing a fairly journeyman career as well....

18-03-2020, 07:20 PM
Bears trade for Foles. Kinda underwhelmed, Super Bowl MVP, had some incredible games in the playoffs, better than Trubisky, but still also seeing a fairly journeyman career as well....

I was so wrong about Trubisky. I cant see much QB quality left in free agency, Cam and Jameis Winston the best left. Best to trade up for some of this years draft class.

Just_Jimmy
19-03-2020, 04:50 AM
The bears took trubrisky 2nd overall and passed on mahomes and watson to do so. Must sting ha.

The draft is a crap shoot and as good as players are or can be, where they land and what system they fit matters as much.

Would mahomes have thrived in Chicago out of Andy Reid's famous abilities for developing a QB? Who knows, like wise MT maybe would have been more successful in Kansas city.

Foles is the ultimate system QB however. So good luck with that bears fans.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

19-03-2020, 06:24 AM
NFL game pass available for free for the next few months.

19-03-2020, 05:26 PM
The bears took trubrisky 2nd overall and passed on mahomes and watson to do so. Must sting ha.

The draft is a crap shoot and as good as players are or can be, where they land and what system they fit matters as much.

Would mahomes have thrived in Chicago out of Andy Reid's famous abilities for developing a QB? Who knows, like wise MT maybe would have been more successful in Kansas city.

Foles is the ultimate system QB however. So good luck with that bears fans.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

oh it does sting :brickwall :greengrin

you’re right though, there’s so many factors involved in whether a player is a success or not.

The system at Chicago could be tweaked for Foles though, and is similar to what he had a Philly, so fingers crossed (it’s all I’ve got left hahaha)

19-03-2020, 08:30 PM
Crazy things happening this off season.

Sean Payton has the Virus...

30-03-2020, 06:11 AM
Re watching The Sopranos and didn't realise Lawrence Taylor makes an appearance.

30-03-2020, 08:24 AM
Re watching The Sopranos and didn't realise Lawrence Taylor makes an appearance.

Eh? I've watched that loads and never noticed. Which season?

30-03-2020, 06:10 PM
Eh? I've watched that loads and never noticed. Which season?

Season 5 episode 3. He's at the big card game with Dave Lee Roth.

03-04-2020, 10:49 AM
Around the NFL Podcast basically taken over by philosophical CV19 discussion about the nature of heroism and the authority vacuum at the top of US government. Really surprising from a sports pod linked to a league which has always been very apolitical. Really good listen.

Calvin
03-04-2020, 10:52 AM
Around the NFL Podcast basically taken over by philosophical CV19 discussion about the nature of heroism and the authority vacuum at the top of US government. Really surprising from a sports pod linked to a league which has always been very apolitical. Really good listen.

Looking forward to this one on the way to work tomorrow. Spoke to Marc at one of the London meet ups about the difficulties of remaining apolitical in these times so interested to hear what they have to say now.

03-04-2020, 11:00 AM
Looking forward to this one on the way to work tomorrow. Spoke to Marc at one of the London meet ups about the difficulties of remaining apolitical in these times so interested to hear what they have to say now.

I can't recall if it was Marc or Chris Wesseling but some of the stuff that was being said was fundamentally moving. Great journalism.

10-04-2020, 01:52 PM
The draft is less than a couple of weeks away. It will be a strange one for sure; how they're going to coordinate and televise it will be fascinating, there could well be some technical hiccups with all the GMs and players making decisions remotely.

Seems like a stacked QB and WR class, there's a few players that could be league stalwarts for years. Tua, Burrow, Young, those three wideouts who's names escape me. The Dolphins have 3 first rounders 2 second rounders and 14 picks overall, which i can't remember seeing before.

10-04-2020, 07:17 PM
The draft is less than a couple of weeks away. It will be a strange one for sure; how they're going to coordinate and televise it will be fascinating, there could well be some technical hiccups with all the GMs and players making decisions remotely.

Seems like a stacked QB and WR class, there's a few players that could be league stalwarts for years. Tua, Burrow, Young, those three wideouts who's names escape me. The Dolphins have 3 first rounders 2 second rounders and 14 picks overall, which i can't remember seeing before.

I think we'll trade away at least 3 or 4 picks. We'll try and get up to 3 to guarantee Tua if required and/or we might try and trade up for one of the elite offensive linesman. We have worked hard and recruited well on the defence in FA so we can be quite aggressive on the offensive side in the draft. It's just not practical to have 14 players (albeit they won't all still be in the roster) looking for a payday in the coming years.

In my work we always try and pick out one player who won't be a 1st, 2nd, 3rd rounder but will make an impact in the league. I'm plumping for Cole McDonald from Hawaii, I've not seen a huge amount of him but he looks a unit and is one who will suit the Nfl imo.

10-04-2020, 08:37 PM
I think we'll trade away at least 3 or 4 picks. We'll try and get up to 3 to guarantee Tua if required and/or we might try and trade up for one of the elite offensive linesman. We have worked hard and recruited well on the defence in FA so we can be quite aggressive on the offensive side in the draft. It's just not practical to have 14 players (albeit they won't all still be in the roster) looking for a payday in the coming years.

In my work we always try and pick out one player who won't be a 1st, 2nd, 3rd rounder but will make an impact in the league. I'm plumping for Cole McDonald from Hawaii, I've not seen a huge amount of him but he looks a unit and is one who will suit the Nfl imo.

There's a few mock drafts that have Oregon's Herbert going above Tua. He seems to have had a very good combine so the Dolphins might go for him. I don't watch enough college football to be able to really judge players so it's just a fun diversion based on guesswork for me. Jake Eason is an intriguing QB; son of ex Pat's QB Tony, got a bad injury playing for Georgia as a freshman, went back to his hometown Seattle before breaking all sorts of records for U of W. 6'6". Could go in the 3rd round. He'll do for me. There's so many good QBs this year some that go in the later rounds could be real quality too.

10-04-2020, 11:13 PM
Been playing the old Tecmo Bowl all night on Nintendo. Ahh, the memories.

HibernianJK
14-04-2020, 07:56 AM
Top 2 picks are as close to locks as you’re ever going to see. Burrow and Young will go 1&2.

There will be a WR run in the first with Ceede Lamb, Jerry Jeudy and Henry Ruggs likely to go in the teens. That still leaves about 6/7 really good WR to go in the rest of the first and then the second.

Miami may not have to trade up to get Tua as I can’t really see Detroit going QB and giants definitely aren’t.

14-04-2020, 02:23 PM
Top 2 picks are as close to locks as you’re ever going to see. Burrow and Young will go 1&2.

There will be a WR run in the first with Ceede Lamb, Jerry Jeudy and Henry Ruggs likely to go in the teens. That still leaves about 6/7 really good WR to go in the rest of the first and then the second.

Miami may not have to trade up to get Tua as I can’t really see Detroit going QB and giants definitely aren’t.

The Chargers are the worry when it comes to a QB. They have the draft capital to trade up if they really want one of Tua or Herbert. Miami can outbid pretty much anything they put on the table and still be in a strong position though.

14-04-2020, 03:01 PM
The Chargers are the worry when it comes to a QB. They have the draft capital to trade up if they really want one of Tua or Herbert. Miami can outbid pretty much anything they put on the table and still be in a strong position though.

The chat is the Chargers have genuine faith in Tyrod Taylor to be their starter, which seems optimistic.

Tarvaris Jackson, Seahawks QB from 2011 season, died in a car crash aged 36 yesterday. Team captain, well liked by everyone, was a bit forgotten when Wilson got drafted the following season, but extremely sad news.

HibernianJK
15-04-2020, 03:23 AM

I reckon they would still be able to snag Herbert where they are but it’s whether they want to take the risk which they may not do. I think there may be attempts to jostle positions behind Washington as some may get nervous Tua/Herbert may not fall far..

15-04-2020, 08:06 AM
Next seasons QB class is also very, very good. A few teams will have their eye on that and draft other areas with that in mind.

15-04-2020, 09:15 AM
Here's a question I never knew the answer to.

Say the Patriots want to trade up to take one of these hot young QBs in the first few picks, say with Detroit at #3... At what point must they announce this trade publically? Is there a deadline? Do the Dolphins have time to then reconsider their strategy and move their draft board around or maybe even trade up themselves to mess with Bellichicks plan? Or is a trade announced at the moment of the pick only?

Sergio sledge
15-04-2020, 11:27 AM
It's no secret that the Eagles need a WR, they had absolutely no deep threat last year which really harmed the offense. If I was drafting I'd be taking Henry Ruggs III in the first round, we might need to trade up a few places to get him, but he's incredibly fast and would add something really exciting to our offense.

I'd also be keen for us to take another WR in round 2, just to double down. We need more weapons.

HibernianJK
15-04-2020, 11:32 AM
Here's a question I never knew the answer to.

Say the Patriots want to trade up to take one of these hot young QBs in the first few picks, say with Detroit at #3... At what point must they announce this trade publically? Is there a deadline? Do the Dolphins have time to then reconsider their strategy and move their draft board around or maybe even trade up themselves to mess with Bellichicks plan? Or is a trade announced at the moment of the pick only?

If they are trading up to Detroit’s pick it would almost certainly be announced when Detroit were on the clock, so that Miami could not then trade up ahead of them. Can’t see how NE would move up this year tho. They don’t even have a second rounder. They would only be able to trade up to the mid teens probably at the cost of 2 further picks. They don’t have a shot at the top 3 QB’s. Love might be available and Fromm, Hurts and Eason should be too.

HibernianJK
15-04-2020, 11:34 AM
It's no secret that the Eagles need a WR, they had absolutely no deep threat last year which really harmed the offense. If I was drafting I'd be taking Henry Ruggs III in the first round, we might need to trade up a few places to get him, but he's incredibly fast and would add something really exciting to our offense.

I'd also be keen for us to take another WR in round 2, just to double down. We need more weapons.

Virtually every Mock I’ve seen has Eagles taking a WR in the first. Their would be a meltdown among fans if they didn’t with how good the quality is.

15-04-2020, 11:49 AM
If they are trading up to Detroit’s pick it would almost certainly be announced when Detroit were on the clock, so that Miami could not then trade up ahead of them. Can’t see how NE would move up this year tho. They don’t even have a second rounder. They would only be able to trade up to the mid teens probably at the cost of 2 further picks. They don’t have a shot at the top 3 QB’s. Love might be available and Fromm, Hurts and Eason should be too.

It was hypothetical on my part, I was just interested in the process. Although Danacek was speculating yesterday that Edelman could be used as capital and the Pats need a QB. The Lions need a slot guy. As do lots of teams of course.

HibernianJK
15-04-2020, 06:22 PM
It was hypothetical on my part, I was just interested in the process. Although Danacek was speculating yesterday that Edelman could be used as capital and the Pats need a QB. The Lions need a slot guy. As do lots of teams of course.

Moving up from 23 > 3 would require a kings ransom as Detroit really need a franchise player around there. I think NE could move up a few spots to the teens to get love or trade back to get a second round pick and take a QB there.

15-04-2020, 06:31 PM

We're tanking for Trev next season.

HibernianJK
16-04-2020, 07:17 AM
We're tanking for Trev next season.

Could be some competition there. I don’t know what the QB class is like after Lawrence and Fields so could be a fair bit of jostling for those 2.

16-04-2020, 07:42 AM
I can't believe tanking is really a widespread 'thing' in the NFL. There's just too much to lose in the short term.

HibernianJK
16-04-2020, 08:12 AM
I can't believe tanking is really a widespread 'thing' in the NFL. There's just too much to lose in the short term.

If you do it well and properly, not really. Some teams like the Browns for example, tanked and then whiffed majorly with high draft picks on Manziel and Kizer. Miami sold everything and now have a lot of picks so this should see them improve.

16-04-2020, 08:31 AM
If you do it well and properly, not really. Some teams like the Browns for example, tanked and then whiffed majorly with high draft picks on Manziel and Kizer. Miami sold everything and now have a lot of picks so this should see them improve.

'should' being the operative word. I don't think there's evidence that it's ever been used to success in the NFL.

HibernianJK
16-04-2020, 12:01 PM
'should' being the operative word. I don't think there's evidence that it's ever been used to success in the NFL.

Depends if you mean full tank or a just a rebuild. Full take can take years to come into affect. 49ers had some high draft picks and reached Superbowl. As did Rams. Coaching is more important in my opinion, the great coaches restructure their roster really well without ever needing to draft really high.

16-04-2020, 12:31 PM
Depends if you mean full tank or a just a rebuild. Full take can take years to come into affect. 49ers had some high draft picks and reached Superbowl. As did Rams. Coaching is more important in my opinion, the great coaches restructure their roster really well without ever needing to draft really high.

The definition I've always heard for tanking is deliberately losing to benefit from the generous draft system. And I don't think I've seen an example where it's ever happened.

16-04-2020, 07:09 PM
The definition I've always heard for tanking is deliberately losing to benefit from the generous draft system. And I don't think I've seen an example where it's ever happened.

The "suck for luck" campaign.

16-04-2020, 07:18 PM
The "suck for luck" campaign.

(Hastily googled that) But was it ever more than a fans campaign? I mean did it actually look like the Colts actually lost the final game of the previous season on purpose? From what I remember that QB draft class was mental, it was all about Luck and RG3 who had a brilliant start to his career. I'm quite prepared to be wrong on this but I liked this guy's piece on the subject.

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/1000692-nfl-why-suck-for-luck-or-any-similar-campaign-is-an-impossible-endeavor

16-04-2020, 08:05 PM
(Hastily googled that) But was it ever more than a fans campaign? I mean did it actually look like the Colts actually lost the final game of the previous season on purpose? From what I remember that QB draft class was mental, it was all about Luck and RG3 who had a brilliant start to his career. I'm quite prepared to be wrong on this but I liked this guy's piece on the subject.

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/1000692-nfl-why-suck-for-luck-or-any-similar-campaign-is-an-impossible-endeavor

Not football but the Knicks definitely tanked and lost games deliberately these last few years.

22-04-2020, 12:57 AM
Well... I certainly wasn't expecting THAT from the Bucs today...

StevesFamau5
22-04-2020, 12:09 PM
Well... I certainly wasn't expecting THAT from the Bucs today...Tampa Bay Patriots, Edelman is next haha

22-04-2020, 03:02 PM
If the Bills dont win the AFC Least this season they never will. :greengrin

I'm far too excited about Thursdays draft, to the extent that im staying up till silly am to watch it on Game Pass. Possibly with my 13 year old who suddenly has got interested in the sport. Of course, Seattle will trade out of the 1st round as normal but theres plenty of big stories to keep us occupied too. Ive been watching lots of Tua footage; i hadnt realised both Ruggs and Jeudy were his receivers at Bama, thats quite a team he had with him and you have to wonder if he maybe benefitted from his surrounding cast. I think Herbert looks the surest bet out of those two QBs available after the obvious Burrow pick. I also really like the look of Jeudy as the pick of those three receivers predicted to go 11,12,13. Theres some great footage of him destroying cornerbacks with nice footwork. If Seattle dont trade out, id like to see us get LB Kenneth Murray from Oklahoma to play alongside Bobby Wagner. He has quite a backstory. Anyone else got any preferences?

Its just nice to have an actual sporting event to focus on for the first time in quite a while.

22-04-2020, 04:16 PM
I’d like the Saints to take Kenneth Murray from Oklahoma but not sure he will still be available at pick 24, failing that Jordan love the poor mans pat Mahomie will do nicely

22-04-2020, 07:21 PM
BB really is some kind of genius - he just traded a retired player, who's so injury prone with his best days behind him, for a 4th round pick...

Tampa Bay have some offensive weapons for next year though, especially if Gronk can stay healthy.

There's undoubtedly a story in here about how Gronk views BB as a coach though.

22-04-2020, 10:23 PM
Dolphins are apparently trying to do a deal to trade for Joe Thuney from the Pats. Am I right in thinking he signed a franchise tag?

22-04-2020, 11:02 PM
Dolphins are apparently trying to do a deal to trade for Joe Thuney from the Pats. Am I right in thinking he signed a franchise tag?

He did, last month. A nice $14m.

23-04-2020, 09:40 AM
He did, last month. A nice $14m.

Cheers.

It's a deal that probably makes sense. We need basically an entire O line and we have cap space to play with, NE need cap space.

There was talk we were considering trading away our 2 late 1st round picks and a 2nd round pick to move up to 3rd and keep 5th, then take a QB at 3 and an OL at 5. If a deal can be done to get a proven league player without giving up as much then it's a no brainer at our end.

23-04-2020, 10:03 PM
If tua drops past the 14/15 pick I can see a couple teams trading up for him