View Full Version : NFL/NCAA (American Football)
03-02-2013, 11:49 PM
I've said it for ages, the 49ers defensive backs are waaay overrated. Another wide open receiver.
21-3:cb
03-02-2013, 11:50 PM
My Hibs- Baltimore double is looking a decent bet at the moment :flag:
03-02-2013, 11:53 PM
My Hibs- Baltimore double is looking a decent bet at the moment :flag:
I had the Ravens by 13-18 points, it's looking OK so far:thumbsup:
03-02-2013, 11:57 PM
Stupid play by Kaepernick there. Time to bring Smith in me thinks.
03-02-2013, 11:58 PM
I had the Ravens by 13-18 points, it's looking OK so far:thumbsup:
Nice one, fingers crossed the 2nd half is good for us then :greengrin
now for some beyonce :love ya!:
Ravens looking good but its early yet, now for beyonce shaking that money maker :greengrin
04-02-2013, 12:07 AM
Nice one, fingers crossed the 2nd half is good for us then :greengrin
now for some beyonce :love ya!:
My usual preseason bet on the ravens at 18s is looking nice right now too. It's true what the commentators said about the ravens not just playing for the Vince Lombardi trophy and that they're playing for much more... they're playing for each other.
04-02-2013, 12:10 AM
Looks like the best we can hope for is a Beyonce wardrobe malfunction at half time to keep this thing interesting :greengrin.
:pray::pray::pray::pray::pray:.
04-02-2013, 12:12 AM
If ever you wanted a "wardrobe malfunction" eh :greengrin:
04-02-2013, 12:12 AM
Ravens looking good but its early yet, now for beyonce shaking that money maker :greengrin
How the duck Jay Z is married to that I'll never understand :bitchy:.
add in Kelly Rowland and im :rockin: wow that is a woman :top marks
04-02-2013, 12:20 AM
If ever you wanted a "wardrobe malfunction" eh :greengrin:if only
How the duck Jay Z is married to that I'll never understand :bitchy:.
I know eh! Lucky bassa
04-02-2013, 12:25 AM
Been good so far sad thing is I grabbed some badwings and I am throwing up every 5 bloody minutes.
04-02-2013, 12:27 AM
Oh aye, the game. Go Ravens :thumbsup:
04-02-2013, 12:29 AM
I've eaten two pizzas already. You probably don't want to hear that though...:paranoid:
04-02-2013, 12:29 AM
Oh aye, the game. Go Ravens :thumbsup:
Hope the 49ers stop them this drive to keep it interesting.
04-02-2013, 12:30 AM
Aw well:thumbsup: TD ravens
I've eaten two pizzas already. You probably don't want to hear that though...:paranoid:
Depends on what size of pizza.
It's OVER:not worth
04-02-2013, 12:31 AM
Erm.... Maybe not, ah well then :faf:.
04-02-2013, 12:33 AM
Can't believe I had the Ravens D and special teams all season and they done **** all :grr:.
04-02-2013, 12:36 AM
Have the lights gone out?
too much i feel for young kaepernicks shoulders to carry this team to victory, 1 game too many for the lad methinks
04-02-2013, 12:37 AM
Wow.
L
ights out:greengrin
04-02-2013, 12:39 AM
Incredible.
StevesFamau5
i call hax on this....
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
No danger... Petrie, get the leccy paid!!!
We've lost commentary too.
04-02-2013, 12:40 AM
Wow.
L
ights out:greengrin
Maybe their 49ers fans :greengrin.
04-02-2013, 12:41 AM
I could imagine this sort of thing happening when Hibs are in a final :greengrin
gubbing the other team then the lights go out.
what happens now? should the game be postponed, when would it play out or do they wait all night?
04-02-2013, 12:43 AM
It's like North Korea:cb
04-02-2013, 12:44 AM
When did they start playing the Super Bowl at tynecastle?
04-02-2013, 12:46 AM
what happens now? should the game be postponed, when would it play out or do they wait all night?
They wait all night (I think). Remember it happening at a Jets game, because of the weather, there was thunder and lightning, very bad and in an open roof stadium at that. Game ended up over running by well over 2 hours and was like 2am in the US before it finished.
04-02-2013, 12:46 AM
I blame Obama.
04-02-2013, 12:48 AM
Wouldn't be so bad if it were a close game. Don't know how long to give it before switching off.
04-02-2013, 12:48 AM
I blame Obama.
The lights went out at he Superbowl? Thanks Obama! (Like that meme)
some tweets are quite funny as well
@Chris_Smoove: 49ers dashboarding? This ain't Madden 13 baby! hahahaha This is hilarious! " 49ers tryna rage quit."
StevesFamau5
04-02-2013, 12:50 AM
49ers got a hitmarker.. clearly made them rage quit. try hards haha
04-02-2013, 12:50 AM
Kaepernick looks like someone's done a dump in his kitbag:greengrin
04-02-2013, 12:55 AM
Lights back on, but no audio now :hilarious
DarrenSQH
04-02-2013, 12:56 AM
Ravens humping the 49ers.
Superdome power goes out! Haha. Lets destroy the game like our season was destroyed!
04-02-2013, 12:58 AM
Lights back on, but no audio now :hilarious
Who's the guy presenting the BBC show again? Got to feel sorry for the guy who was hosting the red button action all season. He should have got the gig.
04-02-2013, 01:01 AM
Ravens humping the 49ers.
Superdome power goes out! Haha. Lets destroy the game like our season was destroyed!
On a similar note, you got to wonder about the logic behind having next years SB in New York. Weather could play havoc at that time off year. When was they last time the SB was played in a cold weather city?
04-02-2013, 01:02 AM
Who's the guy presenting the BBC show again? Got to feel sorry for the guy who was hosting the red button action all season. He should have got the gig.
Mark Chappers Chapman. He's a man Utd fan, radio five anchorman. Doesn't give the impression he knows much about the sport.
04-02-2013, 01:05 AM
On a similar note, you got to wonder about the logic behind having next years SB in New York. Weather could play havoc at that time off year. When was they last time the SB was played in a cold weather city?
Dont think it's ever happened, not in an uncovered stadium anyway. They've definitely played it in the Detroit Silverdome under glass with snow outside.
04-02-2013, 01:07 AM
Restarting now, hope the stoppage doesn't knock the a ravens out of sync
04-02-2013, 01:11 AM
Mark Chappers Chapman. He's a man Utd fan, radio five anchorman. Doesn't give the impression he knows much about the sport.
Which begs the question, why did he get the gig? Thought the guy doing the pre play-off games was OK.
04-02-2013, 01:15 AM
Dont think it's ever happened, not in an uncovered stadium anyway. They've definitely played it in the Detroit Silverdome under glass with snow outside.
Other than it being New York I've no idea why they'd start doing it now :confused:.
04-02-2013, 01:15 AM
Which begs the question, why did he get the gig? Thought the guy doing the pre play-off games was OK.
I agree with you. Carlson is good though.
04-02-2013, 01:19 AM
I agree with you. Carlson is good though.
Carlson is class :agree:. It makes me laugh though when he's on the BBC and kinda serious compared to when he's on the other channels and up for a bit of P taking and a joke :not worth. He fair gets about though, must be rolling in it :aok:.
04-02-2013, 01:23 AM
TD 49ers
04-02-2013, 01:24 AM
Surprised they never went for the 2 points:confused:
04-02-2013, 01:26 AM
TD 49ers
Game on :hmmm:.
04-02-2013, 01:27 AM
Surprised they never went for the 2 points:confused:
Too soon for that IMO. Quick 3 and 0 or a turnover and they could be back in this.
04-02-2013, 01:30 AM
Game on now, Ravens need to hold for a FG IMO
TD 49ers 28-20
04-02-2013, 01:36 AM
Too soon for that IMO. Quick 3 and 0 or a turnover and they could be back in this.
Like I said :greengrin. Only good thing about the 49ers pulling it back is that I'm glad I'm not in the boozer. Nothing worse than having to watch the last hour in a close game in a dry bar.
9ers right back in it, ravens need to keep calm and carry on, they havnt done anything wrong tbh, ray lewis looks his age though
04-02-2013, 01:39 AM
Turnover for 49ers.
Ravens stopped them for the FG
04-02-2013, 01:39 AM
All over. Ravens have lost the plot!!!
Really need to hold this to a FG.
04-02-2013, 01:40 AM
Ohhh arrr. Better wake up everyone who went to bed at the power out. GAME ON :thumbsup:.
fk me the 49ers are smoking now
04-02-2013, 01:42 AM
How lucky are the 49ers :greengrin. Their kicker has been crap all season.
04-02-2013, 01:43 AM
Soft penalty, where did I hear that earlier today?
04-02-2013, 01:47 AM
Could do with a TD here
04-02-2013, 01:48 AM
Was that not a face mask holding by Boldin?
04-02-2013, 01:51 AM
Need at least 3 here. 7, a bonus.
04-02-2013, 01:56 AM
That fake FG run could really come back and hurt them.
Need at least 3 here. 7, a bonus.
FG it is 31-23
Nice to see no personal foul on that sideline hit on Flacco:aok: the refs being sensible for once.
Sergio sledge
04-02-2013, 02:03 AM
Kaepernick!!
04-02-2013, 02:04 AM
Gutsy call going for 2 here.
04-02-2013, 02:04 AM
29-31
04-02-2013, 02:06 AM
Kaepernick!!
Tim Tebow want to be :na na:.
04-02-2013, 02:06 AM
Ravens need to be brave and work the sidelines again. Bolden and Torrey Smith can win this game for them:aok:
04-02-2013, 02:10 AM
Come on Baltimore, lets put this to bed. What is it with my teams living dangerously?
04-02-2013, 02:12 AM
I'm so nervous and I don't even support any of the teams lol
04-02-2013, 02:15 AM
I'm so nervous and I don't even support any of the teams lol
I'm actually shaking. I'm hoping we can just get a few 1st downs.
Sergio sledge
04-02-2013, 02:16 AM
Tim Tebow want to be :na na:.
Haha!
04-02-2013, 02:17 AM
Didn't expect that. Thought it would just be a sneak.
04-02-2013, 02:17 AM
When are thy going back to the play action?
04-02-2013, 02:19 AM
Come on Baltimore, lets put this to bed. What is it with my teams living dangerously?
Living dangerously? I'd give my left nut for us too even just make a SB :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:.
04-02-2013, 02:20 AM
34-29
Ravens must stop them now
04-02-2013, 02:21 AM
That earlier field goal fake is going to bite us in the erky.
04-02-2013, 02:25 AM
Living dangerously? I'd give my left nut for us too even just make a SB :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:.
:greengrin Dunno like, I'm nervous as hell watching this. We need to stop them here or at least limit them to a FG.:sofa:
04-02-2013, 02:25 AM
OHHH, Davis should have had that there.
04-02-2013, 02:26 AM
OHHH, Davis should have had that there.
Shoosht you, away tae yer bed lol:greengrin
04-02-2013, 02:27 AM
:greengrin Dunno like, I'm nervous as hell watching this. We need to stop them here or at least limit them to a FG.:sofa:
Will never go to a FG. Not enough time on the clock. 4 down all the way.
04-02-2013, 02:27 AM
Will never go to a FG. Not enough time on the clock. 4 down all the way.what I was thinking :agree:
04-02-2013, 02:28 AM
Shoosht you, away tae yer bed lol:greengrin
Someone's gotta give the 49ers some love :greengrin. Honestly surprised there's not at least one on here given how popular they were back in the day :confused:.
04-02-2013, 02:31 AM
FG Baltimore to win it. Knew that faked FG would screw us over.
04-02-2013, 02:32 AM
Someone's gotta give the 49ers some love :greengrin. Honestly surprised there's not at least one on here given how popular they were back in the day :confused:.
Nothing against them really just bitter they beat Green Bay :greengrin
04-02-2013, 02:33 AM
4th and goal at the 5
04-02-2013, 02:34 AM
Yesssss come on Ravens:thumbsup:
04-02-2013, 02:34 AM
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssssssssssss ssss
04-02-2013, 02:36 AM
Game over. Some daft play calling there by the 49ers. Should have been a holding call there though.
04-02-2013, 02:36 AM
Jim harbaugh is the whiniest, crybaby coach in the league. Yelled for pens almost every down against Seattle in both games and doing it again tonight.
Glad they've (almost) lost:aok:
04-02-2013, 02:37 AM
Jim harbaugh is the whiniest, crybaby coach in the league. Yelled for pens almost every down against Seattle in both games and doing it again tonight.
Glad they've (almost) lost:aok:
Swings his arms about like a Bairn :agree:
4 seconds!
04-02-2013, 02:40 AM
You got to love this game. Down to the last play, 11 secs to go. Would NEVER have though that at half time.
Cracking call from the Ravens there to go with the safety.
04-02-2013, 02:43 AM
Well done Baltimore :flag:
04-02-2013, 02:44 AM
Well done Houchy and the Ravens:aok:
Night everyone.
04-02-2013, 02:45 AM
Well done Houchy and the Ravens:aok:
Night everyone.
Night Bollah
Houchy must be buzzing :greengrin
04-02-2013, 02:45 AM
What a dumb ****. Should have taken the knee there and left 3 secs on the clock for the hail mary :rolleyes:.
04-02-2013, 02:55 AM
So who's your MVP guy's?
04-02-2013, 02:57 AM
So who's your MVP guy's?
Flacco for me
Sergio sledge
04-02-2013, 03:00 AM
Should have either been offside or holding, but well done to the Ravens. If there's one thing I don't like about American football, it's the fact that the owners get the trophy before the players and coaches, seems wrong.
04-02-2013, 03:02 AM
It's been another great season, just need to wait until September to do it all again :thumbsup:
night folks
04-02-2013, 03:04 AM
Its been a pleasure gents. Night.
04-02-2013, 03:09 AM
What a game!
04-02-2013, 09:59 AM
The lights went out at he Superbowl? Thanks Obama! (Like that meme)
some tweets are quite funny as well
@Chris_Smoove: 49ers dashboarding? This ain't Madden 13 baby! hahahaha This is hilarious! " 49ers tryna rage quit."
i knew someone would do it
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BCPAN7-CIAA7JbS.jpg
HibsMax
04-02-2013, 01:23 PM
It's been another great season, just need to wait until September to do it all again :thumbsup:
night folks
With a more orgnised draft. ;)
04-02-2013, 04:29 PM
I miss football.
Joe's ice cream
04-02-2013, 07:38 PM
Great game, had to admit that i had to watch it on playback today, one observation in all my time previously watching I can never remember hearing a crowd chant like the Ravens fans were, almost football like
So who's your MVP guy's?
who got it? i crashed out :greengrin
04-02-2013, 10:44 PM
With a more orgnised draft. ;)it was organised, just slow :greengrin
who got it? i crashed out :greengrin
Flacco got it
it was organised, just slow :greengrin
Flacco got it
i would have gave it to jacoby jones but what do i know :agree:
05-02-2013, 03:38 PM
victory parade HERE (http://baltimore.cbslocal.com/live-video/)
HibsMax
05-02-2013, 04:09 PM
it was organised, just slow :greengrin
Next season I think we should plan ahead and try and get it all done in one sitting. I know there is a problem with time zones but if it's just people from the US and the UK then it should be OK, like some afternoon on a weekend.
05-02-2013, 07:25 PM
Next season I think we should plan ahead and try and get it all done in one sitting. I know there is a problem with time zones but if it's just people from the US and the UK then it should be OK, like some afternoon on a weekend.
I disagree. The draft was epic in every sense, i wouldnt change a thing :greengrin
05-02-2013, 09:48 PM
I disagree. The draft was epic in every sense, i wouldnt change a thing :greengrin
It was something special.
i see the Jaguars have rebranded their logo, instead of a jaguars head it will now be a jaguars head. :hilarious
06-02-2013, 07:06 PM
i see the Jaguars have rebranded their logo, instead of a jaguars head it will now be a jaguars head. :hilarious
saw this earlier, looks slightly better IMO
http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/405647_10151405970411773_1412660491_n.png
06-02-2013, 11:12 PM
It's not quite as bad as the time the Lions rebranded their logo...
07-02-2013, 11:07 AM
When's the best time to buy the NFL package? is it cheaper during the off Season or do they do offers as the season approaches? or is it the same price all year? Sky Sports is no longer from next week and thinking ahead. Definately getting ESPN player for College football season :thumbsup:
09-02-2013, 08:01 AM
There's a foot of snow due in New York tonight, with 75mph winds in a storm of 'historic proportions'. Super Bowl this time next year could be fun:greengrin
09-02-2013, 04:29 PM
There's a foot of snow due in New York tonight, with 75mph winds in a storm of 'historic proportions'. Super Bowl this time next year could be fun:greengrin
Another super storm for the N.E. Cant believe they put it in new york!
I dont think we will hire him. He comes with too much baggage and i dont think Payton will go for someone like that. He also took a good Dallas D and made it useless.
The Saints seem to be the opposite of Hibs in that we wont hire anyone who doesnt fit or brings alot of baggage with them.
:hmmm: Saints hire Rob Ryan :cb at least Payton is a strong coach who wont let Ryan take all the attention, could be a good appointment could be a trainwreck, it wont be anyworse than last season atleast
DarrenSQH
11-02-2013, 10:09 AM
:hmmm: Saints hire Rob Ryan :cb at least Payton is a strong coach who wont let Ryan take all the attention, could be a good appointment could be a trainwreck, it wont be anyworse than last season atleast
Yeah im not really happy with that hire but there wasent much else availible.
He can surely improve on the worst defence in history.
11-02-2013, 10:52 AM
Some amazing receivers available in free agency already. Percy Harvin supposedly going to the Patriots but other teams will want him too.
11-02-2013, 11:21 AM
Some amazing receivers available in free agency already. Percy Harvin supposedly going to the Patriots but other teams will want him too.
He's a cracking player can play at RB as well. He gets injured a lot though. Greg Jennings is free as well he is rumoured to go to Miami
11-02-2013, 11:35 AM
If we release Welker, I wouldn't be too surprised to see Danny Amendola reunite with Josh McDaniels and come in as a replacement slot receiver.
HibsMax
11-02-2013, 08:03 PM
LOL. I found it to be cruel and unusual punishment.
14-02-2013, 03:55 PM
LOL. I found it to be cruel and unusual punishment.
On a serious note, not that it done me any good, it gives you way to much time to work out who's gonna be your next pick. Do it all in one night with a 10 min deadline for each pick and put the pressure on :thumbsup:.
15-02-2013, 09:43 AM
Id take any of these 4, and they dont include Titus Young or Harvin in there either. Should be an exciting offseason if your team needs a WR.
http://m.nfl.com/news/0ap1000000139116/who-is-the-top-nfl-freeagent-wide-receiver-in-2013/
15-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Noooooooooooooo!
I know he's getting on a bit but we missed him big time when he got injured last season. They must have something in place
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000139512/article/charles-woodson-expected-to-be-released-by-green-bay-packers?campaign=Facebook_atl_copeland
25-02-2013, 11:32 AM
The Packers interviewed Teo at the Combine. Wouldnt mind him to be honest.
25-02-2013, 11:53 AM
28 weeks until NFL Sundays return!
Saints players and fans filming their version of the harlem shake today, don't know if I'm looking forward to seeing it or dreading it ;)
http://distilleryimage3.instagram.com/71fb7e1c807011e2914122000a9f1439_7.jpg
jermon bushrod the main instigator in the Saints Harlem shake
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BEEy9vXCEAAILyE.jpg:large
scouting combine over and not alot of surprises, lots of depth to the draft class with no out and out star, quarterbacks look a poor bunch this year but hard considering the last couple of quarterback drafts, kansas city has the no.1 pick in this years draft but are quite happy to give it up, if they can get alex smith from frisco then they will likely draft luke joeckel the best o-lineman available, interesting month ahead methinks.
27-02-2013, 02:24 AM
Hoping Tavon Austin lands in NE.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQ5X16NKYNw
not as cringeworthy as i was dreading thank god :greengrin all in a good cause though so well worth it for Team Gleason! :not worth
01-03-2013, 08:07 AM
49ers apparently mulling over a trade for Tebow :confused:
01-03-2013, 08:33 AM
I thought he was going to Miami??? 49ers would be a strange one.
01-03-2013, 08:41 AM
I thought he was going to Miami??? 49ers would be a strange one.
http://goldengatesports.com/2013/02/28/49ers-looking-at-tim-tebow/
It is just a rumour but here you go...
01-03-2013, 01:19 PM
Every team has been linked to Tebow. The Jets were hawking him to all teams at the combine. All experts say he wont even be in the NFL.next season.
Even the Jags have said no chance!
01-03-2013, 02:18 PM
Chiefs getting Alex Smith for a 2nd round pick from the 49ers is a good move IMO.
Rumours on NFL.com that 49ers will trade away their multiple draft picks for Revis from the Jets?
01-03-2013, 02:19 PM
Every team has been linked to Tebow. The Jets were hawking him to all teams at the combine. All experts say he wont even be in the NFL.next season.
Tebow debate alert! :greengrin
01-03-2013, 03:37 PM
Tebow debate alert! :greengrin
I do love to kick Tebow!
Chiefs have a steal with Smith.
01-03-2013, 06:04 PM
I do love to kick Tebow!
Chiefs have a steal with Smith.
NFL.com are saying KC paid over the odds with a 2nd round pick. Which is IMO, baws. A quality QB with a point to prove.
01-03-2013, 07:16 PM
NFL.com are saying KC paid over the odds with a 2nd round pick. Which is IMO, baws. A quality QB with a point to prove.
I agree. He is decent, experienced and as you say has a point to prove. They could have taken a QB in the draft but none stand out. Good trade
great pick for the Chiefs especially with andy reid in charge, well worth the 2 draft picks
DarrenSQH
02-03-2013, 08:14 AM
Flacco now the highest paid player in NFL history.
Crazy when Brees, Brady, Manning x 2, Rodgers and others are clearly miles ahead of him.
02-03-2013, 02:13 PM
Publicly we've been trying to get rid for the last couple of weeks so I guess privately we've been trying to get rid since the end of the season.
No one is biting though.
James.
03-03-2013, 11:12 AM
Publicly we've been trying to get rid for the last couple of weeks so I guess privately we've been trying to get rid since the end of the season.
No one is biting though.
What do you think about Garrard DH? I'm willing to try anything at this point. I think Geno Smith is too risky to take early first and I don't like the look of this USC kid either so it'll probably be Sanchez/Garrard shoot out.
If we trade Revis I'll be gutted :boo hoo:
03-03-2013, 11:28 AM
What do you think about Garrard DH? I'm willing to try anything at this point. I think Geno Smith is too risky to take early first and I don't like the look of this USC kid either so it'll probably be Sanchez/Garrard shoot out.
Sounds like theyre trying to. Im not sure he'll be good value though; famously tough negotiator so will probably cripple any teams cap room will cost some top draft picks, wants top dollar, 28 years old and coming off a cruciate injury?
05-03-2013, 11:49 AM
Would stick with Sanchez over Garrard to be honest. I think a lot would depend on how we are going to go and what weapons are available for whoever the QB is next year. Anyhow I reckon we could be looking at Matt Flynn but any QB is gonna need better receivers and/or if we're gonna go with the running game, Greene isn't the answer. Don't get me wrong, he's all right for your number 2 back but to focus on him, not having it.
If you listen to our GM this week he's actually talking like we are keeping Tebow and Revis is going nowhere. I guess no-one wants Tebow and while I love Revis we really need a complete rebuild and his wages would go a long way. That's the thing though, can't see anyone else paying him that this year.
05-03-2013, 01:08 PM
Would stick with Sanchez over Garrard to be honest. I think a lot would depend on how we are going to go and what weapons are available for whoever the QB is next year. Anyhow I reckon we could be looking at Matt Flynn but any QB is gonna need better receivers and/or if we're gonna go with the running game, Greene isn't the answer. Don't get me wrong, he's all right for your number 2 back but to focus on him, not having it.
If you listen to our GM this week he's actually talking like we are keeping Tebow and Revis is going nowhere. I guess no-one wants Tebow and while I love Revis we really need a complete rebuild and his wages would go a long way. That's the thing though, can't see anyone else paying him that this year.
Might be worth going another year with Sanchez as this years draft class of QBs are a little uninspiring.
If the deal was right, I would take Revis at NE but it would have to be low money and secure against his knee going.
Still hoping Tavon Auston lands in Foxboro plus some top DBs.
05-03-2013, 01:51 PM
If Kansas manage to secure Smith, might the Chiefs be willing to release Brady Quinn? I can't see him being happy suddenly becoming a backup QB which he should do, as Smith is the better of the 2 (IMO anyway).
Sticking with Sanchez is suicide as he's not good enough to mentor any new QBs and he's simply not good enough himself.
05-03-2013, 06:59 PM
If Kansas manage to secure Smith, might the Chiefs be willing to release Brady Quinn? I can't see him being happy suddenly becoming a backup QB which he should do, as Smith is the better of the 2 (IMO anyway).
Sticking with Sanchez is suicide as he's not good enough to mentor any new QBs and he's simply not good enough himself.
No arguments here buy like i said, we need a hell of s lot more than just a new QB. Like I also said, I reckon we will go for Flynn once the Tebow situation is sorted.
06-03-2013, 08:20 PM
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000147074/article/tim-tebow-would-find-patriots-to-be-better-fit-than-new-york-jets
so NE fans, what do you make of this?
No arguments here buy like i said, we need a hell of s lot more than just a new QB. Like I also said, I reckon we will go for Flynn once the Tebow situation is sorted.
no way the jets pick up Flynns hefty contract and keep sanchez too.
07-03-2013, 02:10 AM
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000147074/article/tim-tebow-would-find-patriots-to-be-better-fit-than-new-york-jets
so NE fans, what do you make of this?
I find it as funny as all the other teams he has been touted to.
We had him try out before the draft. We didnt draft him. He was traded from the Broncos, we didnt trade for him. He wont be in New England. The guy is a bust. He offers nothing but a media circus.
07-03-2013, 09:24 AM
I find it as funny as all the other teams he has been touted to.
We had him try out before the draft. We didnt draft him. He was traded from the Broncos, we didnt trade for him. He wont be in New England. The guy is a bust. He offers nothing but a media circus.
I wouldn't say it's beyond the realms of possibility sir (though note, there's a difference between that and me saying I think it's likely!). McDaniels recruited him to Denver and managed to get some decent performances out of him before he returned to NE.
Danny Woodhead is a class example of us picking up players who are a bit lost, haven't quite hit potential and transforming them into superb players.
If he were to come to New England (which I don't expect in all honesty), I think it would be important to specify that it would be as a utility player and on a short-term contract to see if JM can find the player he had at Denver during their playoff run.
07-03-2013, 11:56 AM
no way the jets pick up Flynns hefty contract and keep sanchez too.
Is Flynn not on about the same as Tebow? On the phone so can't check but I'm sure their basic is the same.
07-03-2013, 12:01 PM
I wouldn't say it's beyond the realms of possibility sir (though note, there's a difference between that and me saying I think it's likely!). McDaniels recruited him to Denver and managed to get some decent performances out of him before he returned to NE.
Danny Woodhead is a class example of us picking up players who are a bit lost, haven't quite hit potential and transforming them into superb players.
If he were to come to New England (which I don't expect in all honesty), I think it would be important to specify that it would be as a utility player and on a short-term contract to see if JM can find the player he had at Denver during their playoff run.
Did you ever watch Jets hardknocks season? Woodhead was a stand out and why we cut him is beyond me. Even Rex loved him and anyone who watched it would be amazed he was one of the guys we let go.
07-03-2013, 01:26 PM
I agree that NE is a place to go for some talent to shine, I cant see BB standing for the circus that comes with Tebows, Josh McDaniels can ask all he likes but BB wont have it IMO.
Tebow has also shown no desire to train properly (he is on speaking tours and such instead of putting in the work this off season) and has not been interested in a change of position so I doubt he would be interested.
Tebow (or someone in his ear) wants to be in the spotlight. Changing his position would take him out of it.
07-03-2013, 04:18 PM
Flynn is variously described as having a 3 year $19million, $26million or $5million a year contract. Ive giving up trying to work out how much individual players actually earn. However you stack it up it's a lot of money. But Seattle has the 4th or 5th most cap space in the league, so if we wanted to keep him we could afford to.
All the talk preseason was he was performing well, he didn't so much lose his place to Russell Wilson as have it ripped away from him by Wilsons unbelievable play. I reckon Matt Flynn will be a very good starter for someone this season.
07-03-2013, 04:31 PM
The Jets won't be able to bring anyone new in unless they do some serious restructuring or negotiating in regards to the salary cap which unbelievably, they're $19.4 million OVER.
07-03-2013, 04:45 PM
The Jets won't be able to bring anyone new in unless they do some serious restructuring or negotiating in regards to the salary cap which unbelievably, they're $19.4 million OVER.
Sanchez must stay! :agree:
07-03-2013, 10:20 PM
Flynn is variously described as having a 3 year $19million, $26million or $5million a year contract. Ive giving up trying to work out how much individual players actually earn. However you stack it up it's a lot of money. But Seattle has the 4th or 5th most cap space in the league, so if we wanted to keep him we could afford to.
All the talk preseason was he was performing well, he didn't so much lose his place to Russell Wilson as have it ripped away from him by Wilsons unbelievable play. I reckon Matt Flynn will be a very good starter for someone this season.
Flynn's basic in 2012 was only 2 million. It goes up to 5.2 million this year and then 6.2 the following year. Throw in your bonuses etv then your 19 million is about right. Lot of money to be sitting on the sidelines. To rich for us, but then, does he want to play or not? Our GM will have worked with him at the seahawks so should know the answer to that question.
08-03-2013, 11:08 AM
Most of our team are available on a free. We are doing some serious restructing, thats the thinking behind the new GM. Throw in Revis and the 19 million is nothing. The team will be completely different this yer, which is NO bad thing.
08-03-2013, 11:20 AM
Seattle interested in Charles Woodson. One of my favourite players over the years. Gatecrasher, did he start most of last year?
http://m.nfl.com/news/0ap1000000147632/report-four-teams-show-interest-in-woodson/
08-03-2013, 11:42 AM
Seattle interested in Charles Woodson. One of my favourite players over the years. Gatecrasher, did he start most of last year?
http://m.nfl.com/news/0ap1000000147632/report-four-teams-show-interest-in-woodson/
He got injured and missed some games but when fit he played. Our D were so much better with him in it as he was a good threat on the blitz and we didn't have that when he wasn't there. I'm wondering what GB are going to do to fill the gap.
11-03-2013, 04:21 PM
Good trade for the Seahawks
http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/blog/eye-on-football/21853818/vikings-trade-percy-harvin-to-seahawks-for-draft-picks
11-03-2013, 06:31 PM
I actually hoped we would go in for Harvin and im delighted we did. A 1st and a 7th round pick this year and another in 2014 is quite pricey, but he's just what we dont have; a genuinely quick receiver who can be the teams main guy. Reunites him with our other WR Sidney Rice who we also got from the Vikings for a big money trade.
11-03-2013, 08:57 PM
David Garrard signs with The Jets
11-03-2013, 09:09 PM
Anquan Boldin goes to the 49ers from the Ravens for a 6th Round pick. Which sounds ridiculously cheap to me for a receiver as good as him :dunno:
Beanie Wells cut from the Cardinals.
12-03-2013, 07:37 AM
What, the former Jags QB? I thought he gave the game up a couple of years ago?
Great trade by the seahawks, if he stays healthy the seahawks won't mind losing those draft picks atall,nfc west should be cracking this year
12-03-2013, 11:29 AM
What, the former Jags QB? I thought he gave the game up a couple of years ago?
He just looked like he had given it up!
12-03-2013, 12:46 PM
When was the last time he played? 35 year old with a history of injury problems tells me one thing, we are sticking with Sanchez this season. Tebow is away, will be released in the next couple of days and we have a good offer for Revis on the table from a yet un-named team. What would a good offer be though? he is def worth a first round pick but I can't see it. I'm thinking maybe a 2nd and a 5th round pick or something along them lines. Gonna be all change this year as apparently 11 of our starters including the like of Revis, Greene and Keller are for the off.
12-03-2013, 01:26 PM
I'm perplexed Denard Robinson will be the face of the NCAA 13 game - he wasn't even the best QB at Michigan last year!
12-03-2013, 01:27 PM
Should be an interesting season for The Jessies then. Sanchez still under centre is a bad call unless they seriously boost their receivers.
Tebow to the CFL anyone?
12-03-2013, 07:40 PM
Black smoke has been seen rising from the Vatican. NYJ quest to trade Tebow continues.
12-03-2013, 08:12 PM
Ryan Fitzpatrick released from the Bills. Could be cheap enough for the Jets?
12-03-2013, 11:38 PM
Chung signs for the Eagles.
13-03-2013, 07:35 AM
Chung signs for the Eagles.
Can't say I'm upset by that...
13-03-2013, 07:09 PM
Shonn Greene has gone to the Titans.
Welker looks like he has left NE.
13-03-2013, 07:52 PM
Some big moves now...Reggie Bush to the Lions, Mendenhall to the Cardinals and Welker (probably) to the Broncos.
I cant say i really noticed this Dashon Goldson guy much at the 49ers, but hes gone to the Bucs for $41million on a 5 year contract. He must be good then :dunno:
13-03-2013, 08:11 PM
Welker signs $12m 2year deal with The Broncos.
Kinda gutted. We need to trade big or draft high for some talent.
EDIT: NE sign Danny Amendola on a 5 year deal.
14-03-2013, 05:48 AM
Seattle fills its last big need; another good pass rusher, Cliff Avril signs from Detroit.
Youve got to love free agency.
Sicknote Amendola replaces Welker in Boston :hmmm: in theory a good replacement IF you keep him healthy. interested to hear Steven Jackson heading to Green Bay, thats a good signing for both parties, pack get a running game option and jackson has a chance at a farewell super bowl.
14-03-2013, 09:59 AM
Welker signs $12m 2year deal with The Broncos.
Kinda gutted. We need to trade big or draft high for some talent.
EDIT: NE sign Danny Amendola on a 5 year deal.
Do I get brownie points for predicting this waaaaay back? :greengrin
Gutted Welker has gone but I can't say I'm overly surprised. Amendola is a very similar player.
Denver are going to be a strong side next year :agree:
14-03-2013, 10:14 AM
Yep, Denver are trading well in FA.
Still think we need more talent at WR though.
EDIT: Donald Jones (Bills) joins Patriots.
15-03-2013, 11:08 PM
Adrian Wilson signs for the Patriots.
Greg Jennings to Min.
15-03-2013, 11:11 PM
Adrian Wilson signs for the Patriots.
Greg Jennings to Min.
Can't believe Jennings went to the Vikings :(
15-03-2013, 11:53 PM
Can't believe Jennings went to the Vikings :(
$45m, $18m guarenteed. Dont think he will win there myself.
16-03-2013, 01:20 AM
What the ****?! Patriots have let Danny Woodhead go to the Chargers?!
16-03-2013, 08:26 AM
Quite baffled by this too. He's obviously a utility type player in New England and maybe he wants more regular game time?
I'm also not particularly impressed by our signing of Donald Jones from Buffalo...
Once again, our off-season transactions are leaving me puzzled.
16-03-2013, 10:08 AM
Quite baffled by this too. He's obviously a utility type player in New England and maybe he wants more regular game time?
I'm also not particularly impressed by our signing of Donald Jones from Buffalo...
Its the New England revolution (sorry) right enough. Three new receivers coming in including this guy from the Steelers ive never noticed before :dunno: i suppose bellychick knows what hes doing.
16-03-2013, 04:25 PM
at least you have some, I'm wondering whats going on :greengrin
16-03-2013, 10:30 PM
We've now also released Brandon Lloyd.
I'm absolutely dumbfounded with our trades thus far...
17-03-2013, 03:38 PM
We tried to re-sign him. Wonder why he said no :rolleyes:. That'll be Keller away as well.
17-03-2013, 03:43 PM
We tried to re-sign him. Wonder why he said no :rolleyes:. That'll be Keller away as well.
And Mike De Vito, Pouha and Landry.
17-03-2013, 04:14 PM
And Mike De Vito, Pouha and Landry.
A Jets fan told me Kolb is heading your way?! Surely no?!
17-03-2013, 06:53 PM
A Jets fan told me Kolb is heading your way?! Surely no?!
Has he been released yet? Definitely a step up from Garrard but then why sign him if we're looking at another QB :confused:. Maybe Sanchez is off or something as we've already got four QB's so bringing Kolb doesn't make sense (would have last week). We're losing players left right and centre so lets run with 5 QB'S, the phrase you don't know what your doing springs to mind.
17-03-2013, 11:19 PM
Can Sanchez be released? I dont see another team in for him but Garrard and Kolb as back up wont push him either
18-03-2013, 09:16 PM
Can Sanchez be released? I dont see another team in for him but Garrard and Kolb as back up wont push him either
Sure can. Would cost a bucket load of money though. Better bet would be to sign Kolb and release Garrard and Tebow.
18-03-2013, 09:54 PM
Matt Hasselback has been released.
31-03-2013, 10:23 PM
I miss football.
StevesFamau5
31-03-2013, 11:46 PM
Me too. Playing hours of madden 13 isn't the same
James.
01-04-2013, 07:39 AM
I miss football.
Some of us are enjoying the break from the misery (although baseball season is just around the corner to see to that!)
01-04-2013, 09:24 AM
Some of us are enjoying the break from the misery (although baseball season is just around the corner to see to that!)
I thought you would have been all over the basketball right now.
I even find myself paying some degree of attention owing to our lofty status just now.
01-04-2013, 02:37 PM
Im excited for the Red Sox opening day but that will fizzle out when we get stuffed by those damned Yankees.
James.
01-04-2013, 08:46 PM
I thought you would have been all over the basketball right now.
I even find myself paying some degree of attention owing to our lofty status just now.
I am indeed. I had Duke winning it all. Michigan have done well to be the last B1G team standing.
Matt Flynn traded to the raiders, good move for him + the seahawks, and with kolb signing for the bills + palmer moving to arizona I'm predicting no QB's to get drafted in the 1st round, must be a long time since that's happened if ever?
02-04-2013, 02:49 PM
Still no Tebow trade?!
*evil smilie*
Still no Tebow trade?!
*evil smilie*
Who's this Tebow you speak of??
02-04-2013, 05:39 PM
Matt Flynn traded to the raiders, good move for him + the seahawks, and with kolb signing for the bills + palmer moving to arizona I'm predicting no QB's to get drafted in the 1st round, must be a long time since that's happened if ever?
I was hoping for a bit better than a 5th and an unconditional pick for Flynn, theyre not even this year :dunno: i suppose the guy wants to play....
Seattle has made some good acquisitions and i cant wait to see Harvin but im not enjoying all the hype about 'next superbowl winners' and 'strongest roster in football'. It doesnt sit well with perennial losers like Seattle and its not even accurate IMO. Wilson was protected by the coaches this season with a strong running game and threw the ball rarely with a lot of playaction, although you cant argue he played really well. It remains to be seen if he can do it again when opposition defences will know what hes all about. Look at Cam Newton, rookies can sometimes struggle in their 2nd season.
A pessimist is never disappointed :greengrin
Calvin
02-04-2013, 06:09 PM
The way I see it, we brought in Harvin exactly to counteract the problem of Wilson not throwing it all that often last year. Now we are potentially equally strong on the ground and through the air it should only take a small adaptation to retain success. Our receiving corps is far better than the Panthers' is!
Last season we had one of the best defences in football, certainly the best secondary and we've just enhanced our D-line.
If we win the division, I'm relatively confident of a very good play-off run. If we have to settle for a wildcard again, I think the season will pan out similar to the season just gone.
02-04-2013, 08:21 PM
We've made some good acquisitions, i agree. Those DEs were a nice surprise after the Harvin bombshell. So has SanFrancisco (and they still have 14!!! draft picks!) and Atlanta.
04-04-2013, 04:10 PM
Tony Romo signs a 6 year, $108m extension.
04-04-2013, 04:15 PM
I wish i got paid that for being a dismal failure in MY chosen profession :greengrin Terrible move.
04-04-2013, 04:40 PM
04-04-2013, 05:16 PM
I wish i got paid that for being a dismal failure in MY chosen profession :greengrin Terrible move.
Shocking.
James.
04-04-2013, 07:08 PM
Most mocks have us taking Barkevious Mingo. I'd be delighted with that as not only are we in desperate need of a pass rusher but he also has a tremendous name :greengrin
What do you need? Who do you want?
04-04-2013, 09:55 PM
Most mocks have us taking Barkevious Mingo. I'd be delighted with that as not only are we in desperate need of a pass rusher but he also has a tremendous name :greengrin
A new ducking team :grr:, and........ a ducking new team :brickwall.
I thought we were looking towards drafting Jarvis Jones :confused:.
The Saints are after keke Mingo too but if he's gone by their pick (15) expect saints to trade down to the 49ers so we can recover our 2nd round pick goodell stole from us :)
DarrenSQH
05-04-2013, 03:13 PM
The Saints are after keke Mingo too but if he's gone by their pick (15) expect saints to trade down to the 49ers so we can recover our 2nd round pick goodell stole from us :)
Cant see that happening, under Loomis and Payton during the draft the saints have never traded down ever. It seems like its not their style.
Calvin
06-04-2013, 02:24 AM
Chat of Tebow coming to Seattle! Call me crazy but I actually wouldn't mind; I can see how he would be an appropriate backup for Wilson.
I was going to say that the last thing that we need is the Tebow circus, however it surely wouldn't come as nobody at all would surely even suggest to play him above Wilson. He would know his place.
06-04-2013, 03:06 AM
No chance of him at Seattle, just one of the few places left that havent brought in back up QBs yet. He is finished in football.
IF he did turn up in seattle the circus would go there despite the fact he clearly isnt good enough or dedicated enough to make it. He is entering his 4th year and is a bust, well and truely.
07-04-2013, 02:53 AM
Seattle announce no interest in Tebow.
Is that the CFL I hear calling..?
Calvin
10-04-2013, 01:16 AM
Brady Quinn. Could have been a lot worse, and I'm sure he'll do a very good job being a duster for Russell.
10-04-2013, 01:26 PM
Brady Quinn. Could have been a lot worse, and I'm sure he'll do a very good job being a duster for Russell.
Could have been worse :agree: He's got some horrible numbers in his career so far but thats mitigated by him playing at Kansas City and Cleveland. Sounds like hes a conventional pocket passer, which surprises me. I was hoping Seneca Wallace might have made his comeback to the team but it was a competitive try out so Quinn was obviously the best of the four.
10-04-2013, 03:20 PM
We've apparently signed Emmanuel Brown to an Offer Sheet, leaving Pittsburgh with 5 days to match the offer or release him...
Wouldn't be a terrible capture IMO.
10-04-2013, 04:11 PM
We've also acquired Tommy Kelly (DL) from Oakland.
10-04-2013, 04:37 PM
We've also acquired Tommy Kelly (DL) from Oakland.
Edelman has signed a new one year deal too.
Aaron Hernandez has just put on Twitterhe is going to reveal some "big news"...
12-04-2013, 07:50 AM
Anyone seen this "Kickalicious" video which went viral on Youtube? Turns out the guy in it has been signed by the Detroit Lions having never played a minute of American Football in his life!
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000159261/article/havard-rugland-kickalicious-signs-detroit-lions-deal?campaign=Facebook_atl_hanzus
Calvin
12-04-2013, 08:47 AM
Anyone seen this "Kickalicious" video which went viral on Youtube? Turns out the guy in it has been signed by the Detroit Lions having never played a minute of American Football in his life!
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000159261/article/havard-rugland-kickalicious-signs-detroit-lions-deal?campaign=Facebook_atl_hanzus
Pretty amazing stuff! Gives me hope for my career as a long snapper yet!
12-04-2013, 09:22 AM
I didn't realise we'd acquired Leon Washington. What do we think Seahawks/Jets fans - good capture?
Calvin
12-04-2013, 09:51 AM
I didn't realise we'd acquired Leon Washington. What do we think Seahawks/Jets fans - good capture?
Absolutely. I was disappointed to see him go but with Harvin doing returns now there was no need to keep someone who is essentially solely a special teamer on the roster. He'll definitely get you a couple of punts or kickoffs returned for touchdowns this year but he's getting on a bit so it's not a long term option.
12-04-2013, 12:56 PM
He can take a kickoff back for a TD, thats for sure. Not likely to be anymore than an occasional utility back on offense though.
I see the Jets are sniffing about Chris Ivory, good running back for us and I'd be sad to see him go, but if we can get a 2nd round pick out of it then its adios from me.
15-04-2013, 05:28 PM
I see the Jets are sniffing about Chris Ivory, good running back for us and I'd be sad to see him go, but if we can get a 2nd round pick out of it then its adios from me.
Scored one of the TDs of last season when he bounced off about 4 tacklers IIRC.
Seattle picks up ex probowl CB Winfield from the Vikes. Will be our nickel back. Our secondary is looking very very good.
17-04-2013, 01:20 AM
Anyone up for a few beers on May 25th? Hibs.net NFL fans pre-final booze up!
Calvin
17-04-2013, 01:53 AM
If I managed to get the night off I'd be in for sure. However I've got days off for a wee trip to Berlin and Copenhagen that week so I'll have to see!
17-04-2013, 07:28 AM
Won't be back up for it sadly.
Anyone coming down for any of the Wembley games this year? Just thinking ahead...
Calvin
17-04-2013, 12:36 PM
Won't be back up for it sadly.
Anyone coming down for any of the Wembley games this year? Just thinking ahead...
Both Wembley games for me. Bought a club level season ticket to make sure I'd be there and I'm glad I did given that both games are a sell-out.
at my cousins wedding in the south of france that weekend but i'll raise a glass to my fellow nfl hibees on saturday and what the hell even on the sunday :greengrin
18-04-2013, 08:04 PM
As usual I'm very confused,
Anyone up for a few beers on May 25th? Hibs.net NFL fans pre-final booze up! Are you not still in the US?
Won't be back up for it sadly. Anyone coming down for any of the Wembley games this year? Just thinking ahead... And I thought you lived in Dundee? Anyhow, staying sober on the Saturday but if anyones heading to the final and wants to meet for a beer or two before/after the game in Glasgow then let me know.