View Full Version : NFL/NCAA (American Football)
30-03-2018, 05:03 PM
@DH1875 (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?19960-DH1875)
You the guy who sits in the east with the Jets Jersey on think he has Hibernian on the back of his, See him with jets stuff on all the time few away games too.
Nah I don't have Hibernian on the back of any of my jerseys. I'll need to keep an eye out for him though as I've been asked a few times if its me (he must be a handsome fella :greengrin).
03-04-2018, 10:35 PM
Yet another utterly bamboozling trade from NE. Both our best WRs released/traded this off-season (in addition to all of the other players?).
This started with the Jimmy G trade - he should NEVER have been traded away - I'd have released Brady before I'd have let Garopollo go!
In BB I no longer trust - he's gutted us top to bottom this off-season.
03-04-2018, 10:39 PM
Yet another utterly bamboozling trade from NE. Both our best WRs released/traded this off-season (in addition to all of the other players?).
This started with the Jimmy G trade - he should NEVER have been traded away - I'd have released Brady before I'd have let Garopollo go!
In BB I no longer trust - he's gutted us top to bottom this off-season.
How stacked do the Rams look now? Scary.
03-04-2018, 10:44 PM
Why any Hibs fan would want to wear the red, white and blue of some other teams is beyond me :crazy:.
Geography, my friend! So far, I'm the only one who falls into the "supports my local team" camp :greengrin
But then, I am the resident .net hun apparently, so clearly I'm well settled on those colours!
03-04-2018, 10:48 PM
How stacked do the Rams look now? Scary.
Be an interesting battle this year in the NFC.
But once again, I don't see any of the AFC teams particularly building a lineup that is likely to scare opponents. The NFC is where it's at just now.
Not seen much of Cooks while he was playing in NE but the Saints traded him to you partly because of his billy big baws attitude, I’m just guessing but I’m sure bellichick and the pats organisation doesn’t like that either as we see with this trade . And the Rams are happy to take any good but potentially disruptive player into there locker room [emoji848]
DarrenSQH
04-04-2018, 08:56 AM
Not seen much of Cooks while he was playing in NE but the Saints traded him to you partly because of his billy big baws attitude, I’m just guessing but I’m sure bellichick and the pats organisation doesn’t like that either as we see with this trade . And the Rams are happy to take any good but potentially disruptive player into there locker room [emoji848]
Apart from one tantrum I didnt see any problem with him in Nola. I think we just realised Thomas is the franchise no 1 receiver and we cant afford to pay both.
05-04-2018, 09:03 AM
Geography, my friend! So far, I'm the only one who falls into the "supports my local team" camp :greengrin
But then, I am the resident .net hun apparently, so clearly I'm well settled on those colours!
You dirty hun barsteward :greengrin
Given that you were a patsie before you were a Hibs fan, I'll let you off :aok: It's the glory hunters who have jumped on the band wagon over the years and wear that kite (especially at Hibs games) that annoy me :greengrin. Although, support your local team, should you no be a Dundee fan or something? Also, didn't know the Detroit Tigers played in New England :confused:
05-04-2018, 11:05 AM
You dirty hun barsteward :greengrin
Given that you were a patsie before you were a Hibs fan, I'll let you off :aok: It's the glory hunters who have jumped on the band wagon over the years and wear that kite (especially at Hibs games) that annoy me :greengrin. Although, support your local team, should you no be a Dundee fan or something? Also, didn't know the Detroit Tigers played in New England :confused:
Born and raised in Bathgate mate - it's why I technically grew up a Livingston fan! I am also a Red Sox fan - my support for Detroit came when I was studying in Ann Arbor :greengrin I also have a soft spot for San Francisco (since I'm now working at Stanford - was at the game last night against Seattle). I think I have all bases covered :greengrin
For what it's worth, the bandwagon fans bother me too. I definitely think they'll drift away in the coming years as the team begins to change though.
When does the Pats bandwagon start?
My mate started supporting them in 2002 SB against the Rams we just like to wind him up for supporting a Team that were in a SB and claiming he wasn't glory hunting :D Underdogs or not.
I know many people like myself started with NFL with a SB and went from there so many will end up picking a SB team to support. He got lucky but he still wind him up about it. Bit like all the Chelsea fans that popped up as soon as Abramovich came on the scene
05-04-2018, 01:50 PM
Born and raised in Bathgate mate - it's why I technically grew up a Livingston fan! I am also a Red Sox fan - my support for Detroit came when I was studying in Ann Arbor :greengrin I also have a soft spot for San Francisco (since I'm now working at Stanford - was at the game last night against Seattle). I think I have all bases covered :greengrin
For what it's worth, the bandwagon fans bother me too. I definitely think they'll drift away in the coming years as the team begins to change though.
You know I'm only playing :greengrin Can't figure out why but for some reason I genuinely thought you used to live in Dundee :confused: I know a lot of hard work, time and effort has got you to where your at but at the same time, your a lucky barsteward :aok:
05-04-2018, 02:04 PM
When does the Pats bandwagon start?
My mate started supporting them in 2002 SB against the Rams we just like to wind him up for supporting a Team that were in a SB and claiming he wasn't glory hunting :D Underdogs or not.
I know many people like myself started with NFL with a SB and went from there so many will end up picking a SB team to support. He got lucky but he still wind him up about it. Bit like all the Chelsea fans that popped up as soon as Abramovich came on the scene
It's a good question - I'd agree that supporting a team after one Superbowl win doesn't automatically add you to the bandwagon, as that's how a lot of folk here got into following a team...every team that's been in a Superbowl undoubtedly experiences a spike in suport afterwards.
You know I'm only playing :greengrin Can't figure out why but for some reason I genuinely thought you used to live in Dundee :confused: I know a lot of hard work, time and effort has got you to where your at but at the same time, your a lucky barsteward :aok:
Of course :greengrin
I did live in Dundee for just over 8 years - moved up there in 2004 when I started at Uni and left in 2013 once I finished my PhD. I am indeed a very lucky ******* :greengrin
Mark Ingram gets owned by a real dawg lol love his comment after "that dog was a bad mother"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBAjk_RGn9A
Which team will overpay for Dez Bryant [emoji848]
19-04-2018, 06:07 PM
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000927291/article/nfl-announces-times-dates-for-2018-london-games
The great news is the Chargers vs Titans game is on the 21st Oct which means we see the Seattle vs Raiders game on 14th Oct at the new Tottenham Stadium (wife is a Spurs fan) and return back to LA in time to see Bruno Mars at the Staples Center (wife is a big fan). I need to score a few points considering how many season tickets she lets me buy. Hopefully Spurs will have a home game on one of the two Saturdays or on a midweek night.
I just booked the flights before the prices go up.
20-04-2018, 06:27 AM
Fixtures are out. GB start the season on SNF
Calvin
20-04-2018, 10:24 AM
Seahawks at Rams on November 11th then up the West Coast for Packers at Seahawks on Thursday Night Football. What a holiday in store.
Sergio sledge
20-04-2018, 10:40 AM
Eagles have a pretty good schedule this season, Superbowl repeat is on the cards.... :greengrin
Seriously though, looking at our schedule, we should be pretty confident of getting at least 11 wins, although you can never bank on anything in football.
SmithyHibee
20-04-2018, 11:00 AM
Giants schedule is brutal! Heading over for new year though so will get to see us against the cowgirls if I can acquire tickets!
20-04-2018, 03:30 PM
Seahawks at Rams on November 11th then up the West Coast for Packers at Seahawks on Thursday Night Football. What a holiday in store.
$185 a seat at CLink? Is that standard?
20-04-2018, 04:27 PM
Totally unimportant and we'll still be close to the worst team in the league but the new Dolphins kits mean at least we'll look a million dollars whilst being rubbish.
23-04-2018, 08:07 AM
Has anyone seen All or Nothing with the Michigan Wolverines on amazon? its like Hard Knocks mixed with Last Chance U. I'm 2 episodes in and its really interesting.
Calvin
23-04-2018, 08:49 AM
$185 a seat at CLink? Is that standard?
Aye. My cheapest seat in the house last year was that price - this year I'm struggling to get anything under $210 before fees!
23-04-2018, 10:11 AM
Aye. My cheapest seat in the house last year was that price - this year I'm struggling to get anything under $210 before fees!
I just had a squint at the ticket office out of curiosity.. I had no idea it would be that much. Bless my buttons.
Calvin
23-04-2018, 11:04 AM
I just had a squint at the ticket office out of curiosity.. I had no idea it would be that much. Bless my buttons.
Got flights from LGW>LAX>SEA>LGW - £370 all in. Then buy the tickets this payday then the hotels the payday after - should still spend less than £1000 all in on flights, tickets and hotels.
At least the tickets at the Rams game are ~$100.
23-04-2018, 01:09 PM
Got flights from LGW>LAX>SEA>LGW - £370 all in. Then buy the tickets this payday then the hotels the payday after - should still spend less than £1000 all in on flights, tickets and hotels.
£370 is incredible for a return from London to Seattle!
I flew direct from Heathrow to Seattle a couple of years ago and it was around £600!
23-04-2018, 03:28 PM
I think I'll have to be happy with Whitehart Lane! Sounds like a trip and a half though :agree:
Calvin
23-04-2018, 03:43 PM
£370 is incredible for a return from London to Seattle!
I flew direct from Heathrow to Seattle a couple of years ago and it was around £600!
The transatlantic legs are with Norwegian and don't include a hold bag or a meal... but at that price I am not complaining!
I think I'll have to be happy with Whitehart Lane! Sounds like a trip and a half though :agree:
Aye I can't wait for WHL either! Figured I could justify flying to Seattle and LA for games this year when I can also walk from my house to one!
23-04-2018, 03:52 PM
The transatlantic legs are with Norwegian and don't include a hold bag or a meal... but at that price I am not complaining!
I flew back at Xmas on Norwegian Air, in the mid grade seats, not bad at all.
23-04-2018, 05:10 PM
Wembley games go on sale 10am 1st May, a week tomorrow. No announcement on Seahawks Raiders game yet.
26-04-2018, 11:50 AM
The Chargers invited me to their VIP Draft party later today in Orange County.
Should find out more about London NFL game tickets. Not sure about Raiders tickets for Spurs new stadium but should be able to obtain. If the Chargers don't come through for me on that game I will buy aftermarket.
26-04-2018, 12:11 PM
The Chargers invited me to their VIP Draft party later today in Orange County.
Should find out more about London NFL game tickets. Not sure about Raiders tickets for Spurs new stadium but should be able to obtain. If the Chargers don't come through for me on that game I will buy aftermarket.
If you need someone to volunteer to hold your beer at the Seattle vs Las Vegas game, consider me volunteering :greengrin
26-04-2018, 01:08 PM
Are we another step closer to the UK franchise becoming a thing? Shad Khan has tabled an offer for Wembley - owner of Fulham and the Jaguars...
26-04-2018, 01:43 PM
If you need someone to volunteer to hold your beer at the Seattle vs Las Vegas game, consider me volunteering :greengrin
I may be able to get extra tickets so you can hold your own beer.:wink:
26-04-2018, 04:00 PM
Are we another step closer to the UK franchise becoming a thing? Shad Khan has tabled an offer for Wembley - owner of Fulham and the Jaguars...
26-04-2018, 09:50 PM
Baker Mayfield now Vegas #1 for the first pick tonight
27-04-2018, 12:09 AM
Dean Spanos here. Go boltshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/52c11d12ee56bc960f4968a6aa28b44c.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/e073d06b46f334cd56410c7bf66465ee.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/4e5a4b3b171950133567eae3ebeed7c4.jpg
Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
27-04-2018, 12:11 AM
Took a bottle of Don Julio 1942 and Oban 14 to the hotel as I thought there would be no bar. Went cheap to score points off the wife.
Then I saw the Hooters sing next door.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/074268b922447b3856a9220d069e4bbf.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/6018f7a378aef659f06defeea8e718cd.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/40c935221735977eafabcbe0d8795247.jpg
Browns take Mayfield with the 1st pick [emoji33]
Giants take Barkley great pick from them [emoji106]
27-04-2018, 12:32 AM
Darnold to the Jessies. I'll be bumping into him then.
Colts did the right thing thing selecting Nelson. They have to protect Luck [emoji106]
27-04-2018, 12:55 AM
Bucs trade to the bills... For Allen.
AFC East could get interesting finally.
If Rosen keeps sliding I can see the Saints trading up for him 🤞 intelligent guy needs to be challenged would fit with Sean Payton
Cardinals traded for Rosen BOOOO [emoji23]
27-04-2018, 01:24 AM
I don't know what is happening. Too much gibbering. Going straight to my hotel room after. Not stopping off for one more at Hooters.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/08c5de72fa2667cb945b20357ce8f68f.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/97f9b3d9fe358f7eb9f18de9027d735a.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/52105a831fbf0c4958c536d061d2d6ce.jpg
27-04-2018, 01:29 AM
God bless themhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/dd67b8d36cf0a4617a4618d08ae651fd.jpg
Saints have traded up it has to be for Lamarr Jackson [emoji848]
Gzus wept we traded up for a raw edge rusher WOW I love this guys story coming up from a WR to be a defensive end but still WOW [emoji50]
27-04-2018, 01:57 AM
Derwin James! Future super bowl winner in LA 2021.
27-04-2018, 03:36 AM
Slightly surprised at the patriots selections
Lamarr Jackson goes 32 to Baltimore love him top top pick
27-04-2018, 04:03 AM
Lamarr Jackson goes 32 to Baltimore love him top top pick
Considering the noise from Foxboro I was expecting him here
27-04-2018, 05:05 AM
Minkah Fitzpatrick at 11 is a steal for the Dolphins. Adam Gase was keen on Rosen so when he kept falling I suspect there was a lot of thinking going on.
27-04-2018, 06:26 AM
The leagues biggest radge, Martavis Bryant getting traded from the Steelers to the Raiders is a great draft day move since their main receiver Amari Cooper decided he was going to drop the ball alot last season.
Im not familiar enough with the college game to pretend to know which of these qbs are going to work out and which aren't, but that Rosen guy is definitely the most annoying. Another reason not to like Arizona in 2018.
27-04-2018, 08:55 AM
I hope Mayfield makes it, he seems to have a good personality and very talented as well. In regards to the Packers pick I think they done well with the trades and I haven't heard of Alexander before but the Packers fans seem happy.
27-04-2018, 09:38 AM
Slightly surprised at the patriots selections
I think "bemused" covers my sentiment toward our first pick. If the next pick ISN'T a prospect QB, I'll be joining Skip Bayless's camp of thinking about BB trying to repay the Patriots for making him trade Jimmy...
27-04-2018, 09:42 AM
God bless themhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180427/dd67b8d36cf0a4617a4618d08ae651fd.jpg
You went back to your hotel room when it was done - hope you managed to take both of those lovely ladies with you (Mrs GreenLake would understand...) :greengrin
That VIP party looked lit [emoji91][emoji85][emoji848][emoji38]
27-04-2018, 03:16 PM
That VIP party looked lit [emoji91][emoji85][emoji848][emoji38]
I have not seen any roaring atmosphere at these premium seat and suite holder events. Only a very few individuals can afford to buy that access and the majority are company executives entertaining clients. There are some very nice Charger executives who we get a chance to socialize with. One of them is keen to go to an EPL game with us during the London NFL trip and he is the guy who got us on-field passes at the Cowboy stadium last Thanksgiving. I hope he can do the same for us at the Wembley game.
Hooters was smoking when I went back for a snack later! :greengrin
27-04-2018, 03:20 PM
You went back to your hotel room when it was done - hope you managed to take both of those lovely ladies with you (Mrs GreenLake would understand...) :greengrin
Now that would be fantastic but extremely unlikely on both counts. :greengrin
I have not seen any roaring atmosphere at these premium seat and suite holder events. Only a very few individuals can afford to buy that access and the majority are company executives entertaining clients. There are some very nice Charger executives who we get a chance to socialize with. One of them is keen to go to an EPL game with us during the London NFL trip and he is the guy who got us on-field passes at the Cowboy stadium last Thanksgiving. I hope he can do the same for us at the Wembley game.
Hooters was smoking when I went back for a snack later! :greengrin
Nice one [emoji106]
28-04-2018, 09:57 AM
The Browns drafting well.
28-04-2018, 10:25 AM
Excited to see us take Mike Gesicki, looks like he could be a solution to a problem position.
28-04-2018, 11:21 AM
Excited to see us take Mike Gesicki, looks like he could be a solution to a problem position.
I don't get why, in the best draft QB class since the early 80s,you don't take a QB in the first round and instead persevere with Ryan Tannehill...
28-04-2018, 06:44 PM
I don't get why, in the best draft QB class since the early 80s,you don't take a QB in the first round and instead persevere with Ryan Tannehill...
Adam Gase likes Tannehill. I think if Rosen had dropped to 11 we would have taken him but there wasn't much chance we were going to trade up for a QB.
We've taken another TE in Durham Smythe from Notre Dame. Gesicki is the cathcer and Smythe the blocker. Gase has always said Tannehill will flourish in his offence when we sort the TE position so I suppose the proof will be in the pudding.
28-04-2018, 08:23 PM
Seattle draft Shaquem Griffin, the most amazing story you can imagine, to play with his brother who we got last year.
Not trying to be cynical but I think everybody was waiting on the hawks to draft him, Good luck to him [emoji106]
28-04-2018, 10:51 PM
Not trying to be cynical but I think everybody was waiting on the hawks to draft him, Good luck to him [emoji106]
I've been watching his pro day highlights. As an edge rusher you don't necessarily need a right hand. But in a game of tiny advantages, can you tolerate having a linebacker in coverage who physically can't pull off an outstretched hand interception from one side of the body? Time will tell. He's certainly got everything else you could want.
DarrenSQH
30-04-2018, 11:52 AM
happy with the Saints draft, like how we are basically going all in for Drews last few years.
Booked up for New Orleans in September. Should get to the first 2 games of the season when Im over.
Who Dat
Quietly chuffed with some of the Bears’ draftees :greengrin
Mixed feelings, I wanted Rosen crystal ball would have been nice and could have saved ourselves our 3x number two picks over next two years but still, Delighted with Darnold thought there was no chance but fair play Mac has done well over the past few years trying to sort of the mess Idzik left us in. AFC East is going to be very interesting over next few years especially when Brady is gone could have been even more so if Fins managed to grab Rosen.
01-05-2018, 02:27 PM
The leagues biggest radge, Martavis Bryant getting traded from the Steelers to the Raiders is a great draft day move since their main receiver Amari Cooper decided he was going to drop the ball alot last season.
Im not familiar enough with the college game to pretend to know which of these qbs are going to work out and which aren't, but that Rosen guy is definitely the most annoying. Another reason not to like Arizona in 2018.
...although Josh Allen is definitely up there as well in the 'im a cock' stakes, tweeting about white power and using the n word with regularity:rolleyes:
nellio
02-05-2018, 01:31 PM
Pretty happy with the Broncos. Chubb will be immense teaming up with Von going after QB's.
Sutton looks like a good wideout as well.
Do any of you guys do a fantasy league?
03-05-2018, 08:27 AM
Do any of you guys do a fantasy league?
We have a regular .net one that runs every year, with the most EPIC drafting approach known to anyone. Anywhere. Ever.
Don't know how many we have etc this year, but we should probably discuss it soon, as we'll need to get drafting shortly :greengrin
If there is space give me a shout.. 😂 I'm awful at the draft end up all over the place with not even enough to fill every position 😂
03-05-2018, 10:47 AM
If there is space give me a shout.. 😂 I'm awful at the draft end up all over the place with not even enough to fill every position 😂
What we run is pretty well structured. Everyone will have a template to fill, that's a little like this:
Team 1:
QB1:
RB1:
RB2:
WR1:
WR2:
TE:
Flex:
K:
DEF:
Bench1:
Bench2:
Bench3:
Bench4:
Bench5:
Bench6:
Bench7:
It typically keeps us on track!
If there's space, you're welcome to join in.
What we run is pretty well structured. Everyone will have a template to fill, that's a little like this:
Team 1:
QB1:
RB1:
RB2:
WR1:
WR2:
TE:
Flex:
K:
DEF:
Bench1:
Bench2:
Bench3:
Bench4:
Bench5:
Bench6:
Bench7:
It typically keeps us on track!
If there's space, you're welcome to join in.
Do yous do this yourself as apposed to the NFL fantasy draft available online?
03-05-2018, 12:33 PM
Do yous do this yourself as apposed to the NFL fantasy draft available online?
We use NFL.com's structure, but our draft takes place offline on a thread (or 2 last year) on here.
03-05-2018, 03:56 PM
The Dot Net NFL fantasy draft is beyond EPIC.
nellio
03-05-2018, 04:18 PM
I entered last year and won the league I was in. Really enjoyed it!!
Well hopefully there is space for one more
DarrenSQH
04-05-2018, 11:43 AM
Well hopefully there is space for one more
I want back in if possible too. Played for the last few years but missed out last season.
07-05-2018, 01:18 AM
:hyper draft time
10-05-2018, 09:30 AM
I'll start looking at getting things set up when the season (SPFL) is over
10-05-2018, 03:09 PM
Can we start the draft now please? Can't stand the MB right now...
I'll start: Haymakers Patriots select Tim Tebow, QB/designated hitter, Binghampton Rumble Ponies :agree:
11-05-2018, 08:00 AM
Can we start the draft now please? Can't stand the MB right now...
I'll start: Haymakers Patriots select Tim Tebow, QB/designated hitter, Binghampton Rumble Ponies :agree:
I'm willing to bet right now that you won't be taking your usual first pick this time around...
11-05-2018, 01:55 PM
I'm willing to bet right now that you won't be taking your usual first pick this time around...
I'll be taking Tebow as usual, none of you can stop me!
11-05-2018, 10:21 PM
I'll be taking Tebow as usual, none of you can stop me!
I still have a horrible feeling that picking Tebow will get you the exact same amount of points you'd get picking Gronkowski.
12-05-2018, 02:57 AM
I still have a horrible feeling that picking Tebow will get you the exact same amount of points you'd get picking Gronkowski.
Tebow is going to light up the league. 100% :agree:
Hard knocks will feature The land of the Browns this season. Looking forward to this one [emoji854]
Sent from my hoose
I know it will proberbly be explained come the time but out of curiosity in this draft do you have to submit your team and bench every week and update etc like the NFL Fantasy draft online or does everyone in your team accumulate points even if on the bench?
Calvin
20-05-2018, 10:15 AM
I know it will proberbly be explained come the time but out of curiosity in this draft do you have to submit your team and bench every week and update etc like the NFL Fantasy draft online or does everyone in your team accumulate points even if on the bench?
Nah if you bench a player then they don't get points. Otherwise what would be the point of a bench!?
We play it through the NFL Fantasy website so it's the usual rules.
Nah if you bench a player then they don't get points. Otherwise what would be the point of a bench!?
We play it through the NFL Fantasy website so it's the usual rules.
My bench outscores my starting lineup nearly every week [emoji85]
20-05-2018, 03:51 PM
What is going on with the London game tickets? The chat was the whl game was going on sale about college draft time, but so far I've seen nothing :dunno:
Last i heard they weren't going on sale till July/August. If the eagles jags tickets are anything to go by it'll be a shambles.
I managed to get my 2 tickets but so many fellow eagles fans I know missed out and are now looking at paying secondary prices.
Jets trade Hack for 7th 2019 pick surprised we got anything for him if I'm honest
Calvin
23-05-2018, 11:10 AM
Jets trade Hack for 7th 2019 pick surprised we got anything for him if I'm honest
I can't believe he was still on your roster!
23-05-2018, 09:14 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-44230772
What absolute ****ing bull**** is this?
The Reich that run the league are an absolute disgrace.
23-05-2018, 09:43 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-44230772
What absolute ****ing bull**** is this?
The Reich that run the league are an absolute disgrace.
I see no reason why the players union shouldn't strike, if what they say is true that they haven't been consulted on this. What ever happened to Freedom of thought?
I’ll be interested to see if the players that choose to stay in the locker room during the anthem are subjected to abuse when they enter the field [emoji848]
24-05-2018, 10:04 PM
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000934197/article/donald-trump-nfl-did-right-thing-with-anthem-policy
Trumps response gets pride of place on the NFL site... 'Maybe they shouldn't be in the locker rooms if they don't want to stand for the anthem. Maybe they shouldn't be in the country'.
25-05-2018, 06:01 AM
As a US based poster... Can we start the ****ing fantasy draft already?!
25-05-2018, 03:56 PM
As a US based poster... Can we start the ****ing fantasy draft already?!
Im not sure I'm even going to follow the season this time. Seahawks Raiders at WHL is very tempting,but I'm kind of scunnered with the NFL and this protest BS altogether.
27-05-2018, 02:50 PM
Im not sure I'm even going to follow the season this time. Seahawks Raiders at WHL is very tempting,but I'm kind of scunnered with the NFL and this protest BS altogether.
I actually feel the same way 'bollah. I just feel I'd be going through the motions. I might feel differently once the season gets a little bit closer, but I don't even miss the NFL right now.
I can't wait for the season to start the Draft was unbelievable and can't wait to see a few of them in action.. I'm optimistic about the season the Jets can possibly have although that might be put to bed by week 3 😂... Can't wait to Aug/Sept time.. I take no notice to the protests and couldn't care less who stands takes a knee or who talks about it tbh
I won't be going to any of the games this year with our new addition to the family but hopefully be back next year and hope for a wee Jets visit
I can't wait for the season to come around and get to see the world champs play in London. Going down Friday to Monday and my birthday is on the Saturday, going to be some weekend.
Hope the FF league goes ahead again need to defend my title.
Good to see the Eagles 🦅 sticking it to the man [emoji23] they were only going to send a token gesture team which really would have lit up the media before Herr Trump cancelled the visit. Citing instead every eagles fan is still welcome we will play the anthem loud and proud [emoji848][emoji42] biggest egomaniac I’ve seen since watching Bond movies as a kid [emoji102]
07-06-2018, 05:47 PM
Well I've lost a little respect for Edelman if true.
nellio
11-06-2018, 01:38 PM
Well I've lost a little respect for Edelman if true.
Seems to be. Ban seems a little sort though?
11-06-2018, 03:12 PM
Seems to be. Ban seems a little sort though?
Standard ban is 4 games iirc.
Calvin
29-06-2018, 07:44 PM
Has anyone been to the Hall of Fame before? I find myself in Ohio for work in a couple of weeks and I'm tacking a couple of days on the end. Fortunately Canton is a pretty small detour on the road from Columbus to Cleveland so it'll definitely be getting a visit!
29-06-2018, 11:35 PM
Has anyone been to the Hall of Fame before? I find myself in Ohio for work in a couple of weeks and I'm tacking a couple of days on the end. Fortunately Canton is a pretty small detour on the road from Columbus to Cleveland so it'll definitely be getting a visit!
No but if you go let me know if it's worth it. I'm planning on going at some point.
Calvin
01-07-2018, 03:51 PM
No but if you go let me know if it's worth it. I'm planning on going at some point.
Shall do.
Went a bit mental the other day and booked up for another two games.
Flying into Chicago on the Sunday, MNF Seahawks-Bears, two days in Chicago then getting the train to Seattle. 46 hours, 2 nights, I cannot wait. Arrive Seattle on the Saturday - Huskies game that night then our home opener v the Cowboys on the Sunday; then back to London on the Monday.
That's up to 7 NFL games this year including 5 Seahawks fixtures. I'll think about the cost later!
nellio
02-07-2018, 03:00 PM
Jameis Winston banned 3 games for Groping an uber driver.
Not sure what some of these players think they're doing.
Is there still to be a draft?
03-07-2018, 02:59 PM
Shall do.
Went a bit mental the other day and booked up for another two games.
Flying into Chicago on the Sunday, MNF Seahawks-Bears, two days in Chicago then getting the train to Seattle. 46 hours, 2 nights, I cannot wait. Arrive Seattle on the Saturday - Huskies game that night then our home opener v the Cowboys on the Sunday; then back to London on the Monday.
That's up to 7 NFL games this year including 5 Seahawks fixtures. I'll think about the cost later!
I used to like you:greengrin
Calvin
04-07-2018, 02:39 PM
I used to like you:greengrin
I thought you weren't even going to pay attention this year!
04-07-2018, 03:22 PM
I thought you weren't even going to pay attention this year!
I can still appreciate that that will be a lot of fun.
Calvin
04-07-2018, 03:23 PM
I can still appreciate that that will be a lot of fun.
Would be enough to enthuse even the most jaded of fans!
09-07-2018, 10:23 AM
Are we just giving the fantasy thing a miss this year? Hasn't exactly been much of a voice of enthusiasm for it.
I had planned on going to see the 49ers playing at home in September, as I'm over working in Palo Alto, but the cheapest tickets are $80. I'd rather go up to San Francisco and take in a Giants game.
Still seriously devoid of enthusiasm for the season ahead.
Calvin
09-07-2018, 05:49 PM
Are we just giving the fantasy thing a miss this year? Hasn't exactly been much of a voice of enthusiasm for it.
I had planned on going to see the 49ers playing at home in September, as I'm over working in Palo Alto, but the cheapest tickets are $80. I'd rather go up to San Francisco and take in a Giants game.
Still seriously devoid of enthusiasm for the season ahead.
I’d still like to do fantasy this year! Just maybe back to one league?
Speaking of baseball, I’m going to the minor league all star game in Columbus on Wednesday and then up to Cleveland for Indians v Yankees on
Thursday. Never been to a game before, very much looking forward to them.
nellio
09-07-2018, 08:27 PM
I'd be up for it again.
09-07-2018, 10:22 PM
I'm game, absolutely buzzing for the new season.
Sergio sledge
09-07-2018, 10:48 PM
I'm still up for it if it can be organised!
10-07-2018, 12:18 AM
Off to giants stadium on Saturday.
Willis1875
10-07-2018, 05:50 AM
I’d be interested again also
DetroitHibs
11-07-2018, 12:20 AM
I'd be interested in a fantasy league. Actually never been in one, I usually place a bunch of bets while I'm in Vegas and watch them play out over the season. Usually take in a couple of Lions games every season, not terribly expensive, think about $60 last year.
11-07-2018, 12:43 AM
I'd be interested in a fantasy league. Actually never been in one, I usually place a bunch of bets while I'm in Vegas and watch them play out over the season. Usually take in a couple of Lions games every season, not terribly expensive, think about $60 last year.
You still need to go to Vegas to bet? :greengrin
DetroitHibs
11-07-2018, 02:51 AM
Is it legalized in NJ now? Heard that was in the pipeline.
11-07-2018, 08:32 AM
I'm quite frankly amazed that it's still not legal in Michigan, given the network of casinos around the state (particularly in Detroit).
Is DH our first Lions fan? If you're also a Tigers fan, we can start a support group :greengrin
11-07-2018, 12:16 PM
Is it legalized in NJ now? Heard that was in the pipeline.
It is. Made the state $200m in taxes the first day apparently. Maybe they can lower mine!
nellio
11-07-2018, 01:30 PM
Some nasty sounding accusations being levelled against LeSean McCoy at the moment.
Hope they're not true.
James.
14-07-2018, 04:07 PM
I'm still up for fantasy football if there's interest. Plenty of time!
Ayrshire
15-07-2018, 09:24 PM
Was outside Gnats stadium yesterday. What a boring stadium, soul less concrete bowl in the middle of a swamp.
Perfect for the Jets then. :greengrin
16-07-2018, 09:54 AM
I'm probably very late to the party, but I finally got around to playing Madden 18 (it's available now via EA Access). Really enjoyed the Longshot journey story component of the game.
It's almost got me a little excited about the new season being just around the corner. Almost...
DarrenSQH
17-07-2018, 11:59 AM
Im up for fantasy football this year too.
Not long to go now to my return to the Superdome for opening 2 games. cant wait
Willis1875
17-07-2018, 08:09 PM
Has anybody done a NFL London game,If so what’s the story with the tailgate party’s beforehand.Does your ticket to the game allow you access to it or do you have to buy a ticket separate for it?
18-07-2018, 12:02 PM
Has anybody done a NFL London game,If so what’s the story with the tailgate party’s beforehand.Does your ticket to the game allow you access to it or do you have to buy a ticket separate for it?
Think it is separate ticket.
Calvin
18-07-2018, 12:11 PM
You don’t need a ticket for it, it’s just an area outside the stadium. I’m not a fan really, but if you like queuing for half an hour to buy a Budweiser...
Calvin
18-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Definitely worth it. Really good museum.
Cleveland was a cool city too. Canton was not.
nellio
22-07-2018, 02:48 PM
You don’t need a ticket for it, it’s just an area outside the stadium. I’m not a fan really, but if you like queuing for half an hour to buy a Budweiser...
I've been 4 times. You just need your game ticket but get there early though it fills up fast.
22-07-2018, 06:10 PM
Sad news breaking that Vikings O line coach and ex Miami Head Coach Tony Sparano has died suddenly.
Took is from 1-15 to 11-5 and was the last man to lead a team other than the Patriots to an AFC East title. He was also involved with the Jets, 49ers, Cowboys and Jags at various stages of his career.
KinchHibee
25-07-2018, 02:15 PM
Despite last year showing me how little I actually know about NFL teams/players... I'll join in the fantasy league again!
26-07-2018, 08:09 PM
Can we start the draft now please? The MB is going to be carnage for the next week. I'll take Tim Tebow, Designated Hitter, New York Mets farm system.
26-07-2018, 08:47 PM
Or maybe not!
New season of Last chance U is on Netflix now [emoji106]
08-08-2018, 08:33 PM
[emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180808/2ea0c069e282c0f1e3ddd27f21aafb24.jpg
Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
10-08-2018, 07:53 PM
Baker Mayfield looked good last night, ok it was pre season but he looked good. I think he's going to be very good at this level.
10-08-2018, 08:06 PM
Baker Mayfield looked good last night, ok it was pre season but he looked good. I think he's going to be very good at this level.
That's good :faf:
10-08-2018, 08:09 PM
That's good :faf:
I just realised how many uses of the word good I put in there. Need to break out a thesaurus.
not only am I suffering a technology crisis, I am suffering from vocab issue
10-08-2018, 09:22 PM
More droning on about the anthem issue because Kenny Stills took a knee last night.
Like others it's putting me off the season tbh. I'm fed up hearing about it and all the 'disrespecting our veterans' nonsense.
Skins rookie Derrius Guice out for the season with an acl tear [emoji22]
12-08-2018, 08:51 PM
Anyone watched QB1 on Netflix? A good insight into a highly rated QB's senior year at high school and prep for college
12-08-2018, 09:24 PM
I watched 30 for 30: The Two Bills the other night on ESPN. If you haven't seen it its basically Bill Parcells and Bill Belichick sitting in a room talking football and talking about their relationship with each other over the past 30 years. It's a fantastic watch and would highly recommended it if you've not seen it. Reminded me of a time when Belichick wasn't such a dirty cheating patsie ****bag and I think I might even have liked him at some point lol :greengrin
Seahawks London game now being played at Wembley as the new lane is doing a tynie [emoji38]
14-08-2018, 07:53 AM
Seahawks London game now being played at Wembley as the new lane is doing a tynie [emoji38]
'we will be sharing ticketing information later this week'. I recall them saying tickets would go on sale after the college draft three months ago :faf:
Weve booked a holiday now so I won't be there regardless.
17-08-2018, 07:36 AM
I get it, it's only pre-season, but we're looking pretty strong early doors.
Defense has especially taken an apparent up-turn in quality.
19-08-2018, 04:18 AM
Seahawks at the Chargershttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180819/600a9f2403a4db4361c318269a521e61.jpg
Fisherrow Harp
19-08-2018, 05:20 PM
First time I have really looked on here, nice to see there is a spot for NFL fans son here. Looking forward to the new season and see what it holds for The Packers. Just out of interest anyone have any early (pre) season favourites? I quite fancy the Rams to do well and I am quietly confidante my team will be there or there about deep into the play offs.
ps, also delighted that madden has made a return to the PC, though I struggle to enjoy playing as the packers as I feel to much pressure to win :not worth
19-08-2018, 05:35 PM
First time I have really looked on here, nice to see there is a spot for NFL fans son here. Looking forward to the new season and see what it holds for The Packers. Just out of interest anyone have any early (pre) season favourites? I quite fancy the Rams to do well and I am quietly confidante my team will be there or there about deep into the play offs.
ps, also delighted that madden has made a return to the PC, though I struggle to enjoy playing as the packers as I feel to much pressure to win :not worth
I agree with you about the Rams. Extremely strong in every position I can think of. Otherwise I think the strong teams from last year will continue to be strong this. Minnesota, Philly, the Patriots. I really like the Texans this season as well behind DeShaun Watson, Hopkins at WR and a frightening defensive line to threaten and properly challenge the Pats in the AFC.
19-08-2018, 08:37 PM
I go into this season not really expecting much of anything. We (New England) have flown under the radar a little this off-season.
Several things last season made me feel like we'd hit a bit of a reset button, and that this year may be the start of a rebuild project in New England. Losing Garoppolo got the ball rolling for me, then we also lost Butler, Amendola, Cooks, Patricia and had a few of our OL retire. Then it looked questionable whether Gronk was coming back, and signings were slow to emerge. I genuinely expected very little in the weeks after the Superbowl loss.
But now, I reckon we'll be there about again. We've strengthened our defence (which was a major problem last year) and all of our offensive weapons look potent again. I do reckon the Texans will be the challengers, and I also fancy Pittsburgh to be in the mix again come January. My dark horses are the Whiners. I really think Jimmy has the capabilities and supporting cast to surprise a lot of people this year.
HibernianJK
23-08-2018, 04:17 AM
If it’s not been mentioned there’s a decent series on Netflix called QB1 - Beyond The Lights. Follows 3 High School QB’s in their senior year before heading off to 3 D1 colleges. All 3 men are different from different backgrounds and it’s a good watch. The star for me is Jake Fromm who took Georgia to the National Championship game as a freshman last year.
HibernianJK
23-08-2018, 04:20 AM
With regards to the NFL season ahead, I’m cautiously optimistic about the Bengals. New O-Line and defensive coordinators should help along with 2nd year players JacksonIII, Ross, Lawson and Mixon growing again. O-Line has been adjusted and Dallas ex coordinator who built such a strong line there can hopefully do the same for us. A strong season should see us contending for a wild card spot.
23-08-2018, 02:42 PM
If it’s not been mentioned there’s a decent series on Netflix called QB1 - Beyond The Lights. Follows 3 High School QB’s in their senior year before heading off to 3 D1 colleges. All 3 men are different from different backgrounds and it’s a good watch. The star for me is Jake Fromm who took Georgia to the National Championship game as a freshman last year.
I enjoyed the first episode. But they all seem to be so robotic and super driven that I don't empathise with them that much. I'd like it if there was a troubled, flaky character with home issues or behaviour problems or whatever. That's what made last chance u a good watch.
23-08-2018, 07:50 PM
I enjoyed the first episode. But they all seem to be so robotic and super driven that I don't empathise with them that much. I'd like it if there was a troubled, flaky character with home issues or behaviour problems or whatever. That's what made last chance u a good watch.
I guess that's what it takes to be a top player though, that's why I found it interesting. It gives you that insight. Fromm is NFL bound imo and the others have a shot as well. They aren't the type to be on last chance U
27-08-2018, 08:31 AM
I have finally caught up with Hard Knocks, I have to say I really like the Browns manager, he seems like the type of person I like to work for, hard but fair and if you mess up he will have your back as long as your honest and trying your best.
27-08-2018, 09:05 AM
I guess that's what it takes to be a top player though, that's why I found it interesting. It gives you that insight. Fromm is NFL bound imo and the others have a shot as well. They aren't the type to be on last chance U
You're totally right of course. I suppose I just have a soft spot for the flawed lazy genius :greengrin
27-08-2018, 05:17 PM
Ole miss v Texas tech
Washington v auburn
Cincinnati v ucla
Byu v Arizona
all on bt espn on Saturday!
Fisherrow Harp
27-08-2018, 08:55 PM
Ole miss v Texas tech
Washington v auburn
Cincinnati v ucla
Byu v Arizona
all on bt espn on Saturday!
Great I'll have a look! Still, even after watching American Football for 30 odd years off and on, to really pick a collage team. By default I like the Badgers due to being a Packers fan, though find it difficult to really have an affiliation with any. It's a bit like how my English team is Hibs, as is my Spanish, Italian and French team:wink:.
Really looking forward to the season the buzz is starting to build, roll on a week on Sunday, pizza will be ordered and it'll be back to back NFL from 18:00 right through to the early hours, Bears v Packers first late night game, yahoo!:rockin:
Fisherrow Harp
27-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Also, is it too late to be involved in the fantasy league?
27-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Also, is it too late to be involved in the fantasy league?
Yeah, we literally finished our draft at the end of last week.
Great I'll have a look! Still, even after watching American Football for 30 odd years off and on, to really pick a collage team. By default I like the Badgers due to being a Packers fan, though find it difficult to really have an affiliation with any. It's a bit like how my English team is Hibs, as is my Spanish, Italian and French team:wink:.
Really looking forward to the season the buzz is starting to build, roll on a week on Sunday, pizza will be ordered and it'll be back to back NFL from 18:00 right through to the early hours, Bears v Packers first late night game, yahoo!:rockin:
I'm also not sure how people in the UK pick a college team without any connection. I spent time studying at Michigan, and I now work for Stanford, so proudly support both of those schools (thankfully, they haven't played each other since 1976!).
I actually don't know how many people in our group "have" a college team. I know DH is an Ohio State fan, and I have it in mind that James is a St John's fan (but primarily for basketball?), but I'm not sure anyone else passionately follows a particular school...
I'm over in California for the first week of the NFL, so I'll be finding a decent sport bar in downtown Palo Alto and having a few beers and watching the games :greengrin
27-08-2018, 09:23 PM
I'm also not sure how people in the UK pick a college team without any connection. I spent time studying at Michigan, and I now work for Stanford, so proudly support both of those schools (thankfully, they haven't played each other since 1976!).
I actually don't know how many people in our group "have" a college team. I know DH is an Ohio State fan, and I have it in mind that James is a St John's fan (but primarily for basketball?), but I'm not sure anyone else passionately follows a particular school...
I'm over in California for the first week of the NFL, so I'll be finding a decent sport bar in downtown Palo Alto and having a few beers and watching the games :greengrin
Uni of Miami Hurricanes for me. Stayed on the campus one summer with a family member who lectured there, loved it. Also like to see Washington Huskies do well because of the Seattle thing, so I'll be watching the Auburn game on Saturday.
27-08-2018, 09:46 PM
I "follow" NC State as my friend Georgina went there, I kinda "follow" UCONN as I lived there and went to a game.
I kinda "follow" Seton Hall at basketball because I get freebies. :greengrin
But yeah, no actual attachment to any college. Rutgers are close so I'll watch them but if they lose... Oh well.
HibernianJK
28-08-2018, 01:10 AM
I’m starting to lean towards Georgia purely for personnel reasons. AJ Green is my favourite player and Jake Fromm really impressed me in the afore mentioned TV program.
Sergio sledge
28-08-2018, 09:44 AM
I follow Ole Miss, I've got a friend who is a massive Ole Miss fan and I watch a lot of football with him, so I just kind of picked it up from there. I wouldn't say I was a fan, but would look out for their results and try to watch games when I can.
Went to the Egg Bowl in 2016 for my first live college game. Apart from the result it was quite an enjoyable and an interesting experience, but I find it hard to say I support the team given the ongoing issues with race at the university.
https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/confederacy-still-haunts-campus-ole-miss-n820881
Calvin
28-08-2018, 11:00 AM
Uni of Miami Hurricanes for me. Stayed on the campus one summer with a family member who lectured there, loved it. Also like to see Washington Huskies do well because of the Seattle thing, so I'll be watching the Auburn game on Saturday.
Got tickets for Washington v Arizona State in a few weeks. I'm not a huge college football guy compared to NFL but it's still good to watch and even better to get to games.
28-08-2018, 11:48 AM
Got tickets for Washington v Arizona State in a few weeks. I'm not a huge college football guy compared to NFL but it's still good to watch and even better to get to games.
It might be college football is our best way of following a decent team this season. Seattle 0-3 in preseason and our best player seems to be the rookie punter. Prove me wrong Pete
Calvin
28-08-2018, 11:53 AM
It might be college football is our best way of following a decent team this season. Seattle 0-3 in preseason and our best player seems to be the rookie punter. Prove me wrong Pete
I'm appreciating the irony that the first time in my adult life I'm in a position to go to a fair few Seahawks games is gonna be our worst season for years; but if I liked successful teams I wouldn't be a Hibee eh!
I think we might actually go 9-7 miraculously, but that also feels like misplaced optimism.
As for the Huskies, I'm interested to see how Browning does this year - I didn't think he was much kop last year but seems to be getting talked up this year.
28-08-2018, 12:03 PM
I'm appreciating the irony that the first time in my adult life I'm in a position to go to a fair few Seahawks games is gonna be our worst season for years; but if I liked successful teams I wouldn't be a Hibee eh!
I think we might actually go 9-7 miraculously, but that also feels like misplaced optimism.
As for the Huskies, I'm interested to see how Browning does this year - I didn't think he was much kop last year but seems to be getting talked up this year.
I like following Huskies players when they get to the NFL. They (we?) always seem to produce huge nose tackles; Danny Shelton who i think is at the Browns now, and the Tongan, Vita Vea went to the Buccs in the first round in April, ill be interested to see how he does, he's variously between 330-370 lbs, hes an actual bear!! WR John Ross at the Bengals is also an ex Husky, scored a ridiculous TD last week which is all over the highlight reels, hes got amazing speed.
Calvin
28-08-2018, 12:05 PM
I like following Huskies players when they get to the NFL. They (we?) always seem to produce huge nose tackles; Danny Shelton who i think is at the Browns now, and the Tongan, Vita Vea went to the Buccs in the first round in April, ill be interested to see how he does, he's variously between 330-370 lbs, hes an actual bear!! WR John Ross at the Bengals is also an ex Husky, scored a ridiculous TD last week which is all over the highlight reels, hes got amazing speed.
Aye I’m definitely tracking Vea (and drafted John Ross for my fantasy team) - I’m keeping tabs on Dante Pettis too who I think will be sneaky good for the 49ers this year.
Fisherrow Harp
28-08-2018, 01:41 PM
I think it's one of the toughest divisions in the NFL, I have a feeling that the cards aren't going to be any mugs either. Although I am not going to jump on the niners hype train I reckon they will be pretty decent and may have a say if not directly on who wins that division. Though in all honesty I can't see past the Rams in the NFC west.
Just an aside on the Cards I have a little of a soft spot for them despite the colours they wear, think it goes back to the days of Neil Lomax and I think Larry is fantastic! I am going to miss Bruce Arians this year, If we have a rubbish season and get rid of McCarthy, I'd love us to get Bruce in!
28-08-2018, 08:10 PM
College football is amazing and with the amount of games and coverage we get over here now a days I'd urge any football fan to get on board. Don't think its that difficult to pick/find a team, we're all NFL fans after all and had to start somewhere. I'm not sure if its because I'm a Jets fan but have found I'm more excited about college ball than NFL games these days. I love the excitement, the crowds, the atmosphere, the genuine strong proper rivalries and the fact most games are on a Saturday. The size of the crowds that some of these teams play in front of is just crazy. I would genuinely rather watch a big game in the NCAA than most NFL games.
29-08-2018, 05:48 AM
College football is amazing and with the amount of games and coverage we get over here now a days I'd urge any football fan to get on board. Don't think its that difficult to pick/find a team, we're all NFL fans after all and had to start somewhere. I'm not sure if its because I'm a Jets fan but have found I'm more excited about college ball than NFL games these days. I love the excitement, the crowds, the atmosphere, the genuine strong proper rivalries and the fact most games are on a Saturday. The size of the crowds that some of these teams play in front of is just crazy. I would genuinely rather watch a big game in the NCAA than most NFL games.
I probably agree with you about the big games in college, they feel more like an event and are so unpredictable.
29-08-2018, 07:45 AM
You've told me before I'm sure, but remind me, how did you become a Buckeyes fan?
I agree with you wholeheartedly. I didn't watch a lot of NCAA last year as I was a new dad and starting a new job, and didn't have the time or inclination to sit in front of the TV and watch games. But I'm going to the Stanford vs USC game when I'm over there in a couple of weeks and I'm looking forward to that more than the 49ers vs Lions game on the Sunday!
29-08-2018, 08:07 PM
Just read the first 5 pages of the thread, makes for some interesting reading :greengrin. Can't believe that was 8 years ago.
For anyone interested in getting into college football there's plenty of coverage on ESPN/BT sports during the season. All these teams wont play each other but if you can find a game involving two of these teams playing each other;
Auburn, Georgia, LSU, Alabama, Notre Dame, Washington, Texas, Clemson, Penn State, Michigan State, Miami, Oklahoma, Wisconsin, Florida, Florida State, Oregon, Virginia Tech and the Ohio State Buckeyes.
You'll be hooked :thumbsup:.
29-08-2018, 08:25 PM
8 years? Bloody hell
29-08-2018, 08:33 PM
You've told me before I'm sure, but remind me, how did you become a Buckeyes fan?
I agree with you wholeheartedly. I didn't watch a lot of NCAA last year as I was a new dad and starting a new job, and didn't have the time or inclination to sit in front of the TV and watch games. But I'm going to the Stanford vs USC game when I'm over there in a couple of weeks and I'm looking forward to that more than the 49ers vs Lions game on the Sunday!
Your right, I have :greengrin.
Luck, timing and a Buckeyes jersey all have something to do with it. Only started to follow college football about 10 years ago. Up until then I'd only really heard of Notre Dame and the Gators. I got a Buckeyes Santonio Holmes jersey and was over the moon with it as its a stunning jersey (still have it). Obviously knew who Holmes was as he'd signed for the Steelers by then but went online to check out the Buckeyes and it really just started from there. When he signed for the Jets it made my day. College ball was starting to get some coverage in the UK and with the Buckeyes being one of the bigger teams it started to be easier to follow them. Now you have wall to wall coverage of college football on tv here and of course, there's the internet. Its actually probably just as easy if not easier to follow the Buckeyes here than the Jets. There will be more Buckeyes games on and with games being on a Saturday its a lot easier to watch them live. Will also say that one of the things that helped get me into it all was the PS3. The PS3 was region free so you could buy the NCAA games online and they'd work here. Loved playing them and really helped with learning stuff about all the teams.
01-09-2018, 04:49 PM
Lads (and ladies) I should be back full time now, I appreciate that you kept me in the league (although someone stole Gronk from me) cheers for that.
Just in time for the MB meltdown!
01-09-2018, 08:28 PM
We got off to a winning start against San Diego State earlier - defense look susceptible to a decent run game, but a solid secondary and a decent looking passing game.
The Oregon State vs Ohio State game is just absolutely nuts. Ohio State 77-31 Oregon State :confused:
Still 3:50 to go in the 4th!
Mack to the Bears!!! :greengrin:top marks
Paid a a hefty price but the biggest hole in our defence filled and in his prime :greengrin
01-09-2018, 11:33 PM
We got off to a winning start against San Diego State earlier - defense look susceptible to a decent run game, but a solid secondary and a decent looking passing game.
The Oregon State vs Ohio State game is just absolutely nuts. Ohio State 77-31 Oregon State :confused:
Still 3:50 to go in the 4th!
Whats to be confused about :confused:.
nellio
02-09-2018, 11:35 AM
Lads (and ladies) I should be back full time now, I appreciate that you kept me in the league (although someone stole Gronk from me) cheers for that.
Just in time for the MB meltdown!
I did suggest giving you Gronk early doors but it was decided it was too early then someone took him.
02-09-2018, 01:22 PM
Whats to be confused about :confused:.
Confused was maybe the wrong smilie, but it was a crazy game. 31 points. Ight ordinarily be enough to win most games. I dont remember seeing such a high scoring game in quite a while!
02-09-2018, 08:04 PM
Confused was maybe the wrong smilie, but it was a crazy game. 31 points. Ight ordinarily be enough to win most games. I dont remember seeing such a high scoring game in quite a while!
True, think we've scored 30 points or over in our last 5 games against you and we've won them :wink:.
Out of interest and if we can be serious for a minute, what's your take on the whole Urban Meyer suspension?
02-09-2018, 08:09 PM
Just read the first 5 pages of the thread, makes for some interesting reading :greengrin. Can't believe that was 8 years ago.
For anyone interested in getting into college football there's plenty of coverage on ESPN/BT sports during the season. All these teams wont play each other but if you can find a game involving two of these teams playing each other;
Auburn, Georgia, LSU, Alabama, Notre Dame, Washington, Texas, Clemson, Penn State, Michigan State, Miami, Oklahoma, Wisconsin, Florida, Florida State, Oregon, Virginia Tech and the Ohio State Buckeyes.
You'll be hooked :thumbsup:.
OK, he didn't bite. Guess you can add Michigan and Stanford to the list :wink:.
03-09-2018, 03:34 AM
True, think we've scored 30 points or over in our last 5 games against you and we've won them :wink:.
Out of interest and if we can be serious for a minute, what's your take on the whole Urban Meyer suspension?
Round my way the general consensus on Meyer is "**** him" as everyone seems to follow Notre Dame here and apparently he was meant to be their head coach before he signed for your lot so they're all pissed at him.
03-09-2018, 07:52 AM
I've only really caught the story since your post, as I hadn't been paying a whole lot of attention. So a former OSU coach domestically abuse his girlfriend (amongst a long list of ****ty behvaiour), was reported to senior coaching staff, but they did nothing until the story had been exposed? Is that about the height of it?
It appeared to be an ongoing legal matter during the period Meyer is accused of not acting appropriately - as soon as his girlfriend was granted a restraining order (i.e., the coach was legally found "guilty"), Ohio State sacked him - I suppose Meyer could have suspended him pending the outcome, but I would imagine such decisions are above the remit of a head coach - isn't that why Universities in the states have sporting directors?!
OK, he didn't bite. Guess you can add Michigan and Stanford to the list :wink:.
I never even noticed, but I wouldn't encourage anyone to support Michigan right now - following Hibs is bad enough :greengrin
04-09-2018, 06:22 AM
NFL starts this week!
On Sky
Falcons @ Eagles
49ers @ Vikings
Cowboys @ Panthers
Bears @ Packers
Jets @ Lions
Rams @ Raiders
College football is
BT ESPN
Mississippi St @ Kansas St
Colorado @ Nebraska
Penn St @ Pitt
BT Sports 1
Arkansas @ Alabama
Clemson @ Texas A&M
04-09-2018, 08:03 AM
I'll be situating myself in a fabulous sports bar in Mountain View on Sunday, with a great array of craft beers and ales on tap and around 20 screens showing various games.
I'll also be jetlagging like a mother****er, but that's what the beer is for :greengrin
Fisherrow Harp
04-09-2018, 12:08 PM
NFL starts this week!
On Sky
Falcons @ Eagles
49ers @ Vikings
Cowboys @ Panthers
Bears @ Packers
Jets @ Lions
Rams @ Raiders
College football is
BT ESPN
Nice thanks for that mate, it's handy!
Colorado @ Nebraska
Penn St @ Pitt
BT Sports 1
Arkansas @ Alabama
Clemson @ Texas A&M
Nice thanks for that mate, it's handy!
Great starting week, big game for me is the late one, not so confident now Mr Mack is in town. Think we'll still get the job done though:not worth:cb
Fisherrow Harp
04-09-2018, 12:10 PM
I'll be situating myself in a fabulous sports bar in Mountain View on Sunday, with a great array of craft beers and ales on tap and around 20 screens showing various games.
I'll also be jetlagging like a mother****er, but that's what the beer is for :greengrin
I'll be poking about Fisherrow to see if I can talk the bar staff into showing at least the red zone until my sky gets sorted.
04-09-2018, 01:03 PM
Early start over on the west coast!
04-09-2018, 03:00 PM
Early start over on the west coast!
That's alright - I'll no doubt be up from around 4am :greengrin
04-09-2018, 03:58 PM
I've got a tournament so I'll miss the 1pm games.
If your going to be in mountain view any gigs at the shoreline amphitheater?
I see #justburnit is gathering pace smh 🤦🏻*♂️ I wonder how long Nike will stand by the Kaepernik ad now, lost 3 points on the markets yesterday [emoji848]
05-09-2018, 07:59 PM
I see #justburnit is gathering pace smh *♂️ I wonder how long Nike will stand by the Kaepernik ad now, lost 3 points on the markets yesterday [emoji848]
Someones finally signed Kaepernick!
Nike know what they're doing. It will be effective in the long term, you don't get iconic brands like him that go beyond sports into popular culture very often. I wish the owners had the same foresight. Our backup is someone called Brett Hundley, obviously a faaaaar better option than Kaepernick.
Sergio sledge
05-09-2018, 08:16 PM
https://twitter.com/Eagles/status/1037399978317148160?s=09
Getting hyped for tomorrow night!!
06-09-2018, 01:09 AM
Well, looks like Bell will be holding out until week 10...
DarrenSQH
06-09-2018, 06:27 AM
Two more shifts at work then I’m away to New Orleans.
Can’t wait!
06-09-2018, 08:28 AM
Two more shifts at work then I’m away to New Orleans.
Can’t wait!
Nice! This is my last day in the office and then I'm off to San Francisco on Saturday for 2 weeks.
Granted, I'll be working out there, but I do have tickets for the 49ers vs Lions game, and the Stanford Cardinals vs USC game next weekend :greengrin
06-09-2018, 11:58 PM
:hyper
Sooooooooooooon
DarrenSQH
07-09-2018, 02:30 AM
This game is horrendous so far.
More penalties than points.
07-09-2018, 03:08 AM
If someone could score a touchdown that would be great.
07-09-2018, 04:25 AM
The last couple of minutes were entertaining
Sergio sledge
07-09-2018, 08:31 AM
This game is horrendous so far.
More penalties than points.
Pretty brutal, but I'll take the win!
It felt like there was a penalty almost every play, 26 penalties in the game is ridiculous!
07-09-2018, 10:20 AM
Pretty brutal, but I'll take the win!
It felt like there was a penalty almost every play, 26 penalties in the game is ridiculous!
:nerd: Stat alert.
The most penalised game in the modern era involved my team. The 1976 'expansion bowl' between the Seahawks and the Buccs (they'd both entered the league as new teams that year) contained 39 penalties for over 300 yards :faf: two of every three plays were penalised. both teams were 0-5 at the time and its fair to say were struggling a bit and neither team were exactly the 1979 Pittsburgh Steelers.
Seattle are still regularly top of the penalty charts most seasons these days, regularly getting ten pens a game, either because of anti Seattle bias from the leagues higher echelons or because Pete Carroll coaches that way is a moot point and depends if you spend a lot of time on seahawks net or not :greengrin
07-09-2018, 11:59 AM
NFL starts this week!
On Sky
Falcons @ Eagles
49ers @ Vikings
Cowboys @ Panthers
Bears @ Packers
Jets @ Lions
Rams @ Raiders
College football is
BT ESPN
Colorado @ Nebraska
Penn St @ Pitt
BT Sports 1
Arkansas @ Alabama
Clemson @ Texas A&M
Nice one. Are Sky Sports showing two live games at the same time, on different channels, this season? Unfortunately have to wait 7 weeks to see the Dolphins!
Sergio sledge
07-09-2018, 12:17 PM
:nerd: Stat alert.
The most penalised game in the modern era involved my team. The 1976 'expansion bowl' between the Seahawks and the Buccs (they'd both entered the league as new teams that year) contained 39 penalties for over 300 yards :faf: two of every three plays were penalised. both teams were 0-5 at the time and its fair to say were struggling a bit and neither team were exactly the 1979 Pittsburgh Steelers.
Seattle are still regularly top of the penalty charts most seasons these days, regularly getting ten pens a game, either because of anti Seattle bias from the leagues higher echelons or because Pete Carroll coaches that way is a moot point and depends if you spend a lot of time on seahawks net or not :greengrin
39 penalties in the 70's was good going considering some of the stuff you were allowed to do then and the rubbish you can get flagged for now....https://deadspin.com/falcons-grady-jarrett-gets-flagged-for-not-levitating-a-1828874308
They'd be as well putting a different coloured shirt on the QB and not letting anyone hit them like they do in practice. How can a defender tackle in that situation without putting their bodyweight on the QB? It is ridiculous!
07-09-2018, 01:40 PM
39 penalties in the 70's was good going considering some of the stuff you were allowed to do then and the rubbish you can get flagged for now....https://deadspin.com/falcons-grady-jarrett-gets-flagged-for-not-levitating-a-1828874308
They'd be as well putting a different coloured shirt on the QB and not letting anyone hit them like they do in practice. How can a defender tackle in that situation without putting their bodyweight on the QB? It is ridiculous!
It's hilarious. 'uh, OK Mr defensive tackle. I want you to stop running and change the direction of your 350 LB frame travelling 18mph, instantaneously.'
It'll be uncontested lines of scrimmage in ten years, you heard it here first.
07-09-2018, 02:30 PM
You really have to wonder what kind of numbers guys like Marino, Montana, Elway etc would put up now if they had the protection the modern day quarterback gets.
I don't think there's anything better than watching 20 stone plus DT lay out a quarterback every now and then.
Fisherrow Harp
08-09-2018, 11:59 AM
It’s nearly time, we’ll for Atalanta and philly fans I suppose it already is. Looking forward to tomorrow may have a cheeky wee coupon on. Started to listen to the Dave Dameshek pod casts and have to say really enjoying them.
09-09-2018, 09:20 AM
Another good win for us in the PAC12 yesterday - Bryce Love looks a really accomplished RB - small, powerful, fast.
We were pass heavy last week, but this week was a more ground-based attack. Good to see there's some offensive diversity.
Other "we" unsurprisingly beat Western Michigan yesterday, but these games make it hard to judge quite what kind of year we're going to have. Struggled against Notre Dame last week, and I think the bigger games are going to be pretty painful.
09-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Another good win for us in the PAC12 yesterday - Bryce Love looks a really accomplished RB - small, powerful, fast.
We were pass heavy last week, but this week was a more ground-based attack. Good to see there's some offensive diversity.
Other "we" unsurprisingly beat Western Michigan yesterday, but these games make it hard to judge quite what kind of year we're going to have. Struggled against Notre Dame last week, and I think the bigger games are going to be pretty painful.
The first two Hurricanes games show how the college game is always going to be less interesting than the NFL, in my opinion. Miami had a tough opener against another big school, LSU. They lost 31-18, and now their season, in the sense of getting close to a#1 ranking and the biggest Bowl games, is effectively over. Yesterday they beat Savannah State 77-0, in a game that it was impossible for the small school to win and which must have resulted in most of the Hard Rock Stadium mucking about on their cell phones from early in the first quarter.
09-09-2018, 01:56 PM
They'd never do it but the big football schools should just be in one league the whole time not playing smaller schools with no hope.
Hibbie_Cameron
09-09-2018, 02:25 PM
Have no idea what to expect from my Dolphins this year. Some "experts" think we'll struggle, others think we could be a surprise package
Just relieved to get to game one this season without everything going wrong like last year. No hurricanes, no season ending injuries to qb's and no Jay Cutler
09-09-2018, 03:10 PM
Have no idea what to expect from my Dolphins this year. Some "experts" think we'll struggle, others think we could be a surprise package
Just relieved to get to game one this season without everything going wrong like last year. No hurricanes, no season ending injuries to qb's and no Jay Cutler
Well there IS a hurricane on it's way... :greengrin
09-09-2018, 06:09 PM
They'd never do it but the big football schools should just be in one league the whole time not playing smaller schools with no hope.
This new rule about the de not landing with his weight on the QB is redic. Once you’ve hit the QB how can you not end up on him?[emoji848]
Buffalo are dire. No O-line protection for a rubbish QB in Peterman spells disaster for the Bills. Down big time
09-09-2018, 07:21 PM
Finally made it to San Francisco after a journey from hell. I'm now sat on my bed after a shower watching NFL Game Day.
Jimmy G experiment doesn't appear to be going so well against Minnesota but my fantasy team is otherwise looking solid!
Willis1875
09-09-2018, 08:26 PM
Tyreek Hill could save my fantasy week
09-09-2018, 08:44 PM
Earl Thomas. Hold out all preseason and then that. Unbelievable, Go Hawks:aok:
BenjiOscar
09-09-2018, 08:58 PM
Browns don’t lose! Missed a FG to win it in OT although Steelers did same.
09-09-2018, 09:11 PM
Browns don’t lose! Missed a FG to win it in OT although Steelers did same.
Unbeaten season still on the cards for Cleveland.
09-09-2018, 09:14 PM
The Bills look awful, they'll do well to win 2 or 3 as it stands.
Currently waiting on the Dolphins restarting as there's lightning again. We look a bit same old, same old although Fitzpatrick has looked an absolute beast on defence and the drive for the TD was impressive.
09-09-2018, 11:55 PM
Steelers vs Browns game was just mental.
Seconds to go in regular time, and Mayfield throws it for an INT?!? Just run the damned ball - you needed about 8 yards to reach the FG target line.
Then Boswell misses, then Gonzalez's effort is blocked after a Big Ben turnover...sheesh!
Just settling in to watch the Bears @ Packers game.
10-09-2018, 02:10 AM
Oh dear... Aaron Rodgers.
10-09-2018, 03:16 AM
Holy **** what a game!!
10-09-2018, 11:49 AM
The Bills look awful, they'll do well to win 2 or 3 as it stands.
Currently waiting on the Dolphins restarting as there's lightning again. We look a bit same old, same old although Fitzpatrick has looked an absolute beast on defence and the drive for the TD was impressive.
Deja vu.. good to start with a W though :aok:
And the plight of the Bills can't be seen as a bad thing really :greengrin
brythehibby
10-09-2018, 12:39 PM
Good win for the Dolphins. Never seen much of it but seemed to be well deserved. Hopefully in for a winning season with Tannehill back.
Down side of the games being Delanie Walker breaking his ankle. Spend all that time choosing who to pick and the poor guy is out for the season after game 1.
10-09-2018, 08:52 PM
Really impressed watching Saquon Barkleys debut against the leagues best defense. Early in he got hammered again and again in the backfield by the Jags front seven, but the Giants just kept giving him the ball, the O line started creating holes and he cut loose in the 4th. That cut to the right on his long TD run was just beautiful to watch.
Im glad I got him on my fantasy squad, and I think the Giants could surprise a few teams this season.
10-09-2018, 09:01 PM
Really impressed watching Saquon Barkleys debut against the leagues best defense. Early in he got hammered again and again in the backfield by the Jags front seven, but the Giants just kept giving him the ball, the O line started creating holes and he cut loose in the 4th. That cut to the right on his long TD run was just beautiful to watch.
Im glad I got him on my fantasy squad, and I think the Giants could surprise a few teams this season.
If they do, it certainly won't be because of Manning - he was abysmal yesterday.
10-09-2018, 09:06 PM
If they do, it certainly won't be because of Manning - he was abysmal yesterday.
I've never thought he was an elite QB really, but he was up against the Jaguars so I suppose judgement should be withheld for now. They certainly have a load of talent in the flair positions.
10-09-2018, 11:22 PM
Oh dear Sam Darnold. Not the best start.
Fisherrow Harp
10-09-2018, 11:27 PM
Thought he was excellent, no in fact scary!
Fisherrow Harp
10-09-2018, 11:39 PM
Would have to agree regarding Manning. Thought the same about Big Ben at the Steelers. Didn’t the Giants draft Davis Webb. Not saying he’ll be the next Brady, but going through the motion as it seemed like Manning was perhaps as well giving the job to him. What’s the worst that could happen another decent draft pick, maybe for a QB.