View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

12-03-2020, 03:11 PM
I believr Atletico were the tean of the military originally - they were previously called or merged with Atletico Aviacion i think.

Spanish Air Force :agree:

Basque team to begin with.

London Hibs FC
12-03-2020, 03:11 PM
*ahem* Rayo Vallecano supporters may disagree here...

Los Vallecanos don’t want be from Madrid. I think it was annexed in the 50s but they still, massively, maintain their identity with the Football Club being an integral to that.

Vallecas is a cracking wee place and I’d definitely recommend a trip to a Rayo home game if you’re ever down this way 👌

London Hibs FC
12-03-2020, 03:14 PM
Spanish Air Force :agree:

Basque team to begin with.

You know your international Fitba as well as you know your Boozers :not worth

Aviacion were actually Franco’s original team.

12-03-2020, 03:16 PM
You know your international Fitba as well as you know your Boozers :not worth

Aviacion were actually Franco’s original team.

Football history is interesting. So are boozers!

Didn't know they were francos original team.

London Hibs FC
12-03-2020, 03:27 PM
Football history is interesting. So are boozers!

Didn't know they were francos original team.

I only learned this recently, I don’t think Los Colchoneros like to talk about it 😂

Atleti used to be my team when I lived down here in the mid 90s, and was the only other team I ever developed a ‘passion’ for, but I’m leaning more and more towards Rayo now.

Got to say though, was at El Metropolitano for the Derby last year and the stadium is something else.

12-03-2020, 03:30 PM
I only learned this recently, I don’t think Los Colchoneros like to talk about it 😂

Atleti used to be my team when I lived down here in the mid 90s, and was the only other team I ever developed a ‘passion’ for, but I’m leaning more and more towards Rayo now.

Got to say though, was at El Metropolitano for the Derby last year and the stadium is something else.

I have heard it is amazing.

London Hibs FC
12-03-2020, 03:41 PM
I have heard it is amazing.

We’ll go to match if you ever get down here.

I’ll let you recommend the pre and post match watering holes though :aok:

12-03-2020, 04:16 PM
I only learned this recently, I don’t think Los Colchoneros like to talk about it ��

On the subject of Basque influence didn’t Atletico have a hand in the Bilbao colours or vice versa? As well as a bunch of Sunderland miners obviously. I’ve visited games at both the San Mames and the Vicente Calderon and something tells me there was a link....
Edit. Southampton shipyards maybe not Sunderland miners.

12-03-2020, 04:51 PM
On the subject of Basque influence didn’t Atletico have a hand in the Bilbao colours or vice versa? As well as a bunch of Sunderland miners obviously. I’ve visited games at both the San Mames and the Vicente Calderon and something tells me there was a link....
Edit. Southampton shipyards maybe not Sunderland miners.

Atletico were formed by basques in Madrid, allegedly they saw themselves as a feeder club for Bilbao. Used to play in Blackburn Rovers colours but they got Southampton and never looked back.

Also, apparently red and white stripes were easier to make?

12-03-2020, 04:57 PM
United a fantastic price tonight.

12-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Watching this Manchester Utd game behind closed doors is rotten.

12-03-2020, 05:01 PM
LASK a decent side but have a few missing tonight ??

12-03-2020, 05:01 PM

It's actually better if you turn the volume off.

NthCarolinaHibs
12-03-2020, 05:07 PM

Like watching a game Eurosport show,that no other broadcaster wants..😂

12-03-2020, 05:11 PM
Watching Manchester Utd is rotten.

Fixed that for you.

12-03-2020, 05:14 PM
Atletico were formed by basques in Madrid, allegedly they saw themselves as a feeder club for Bilbao. Used to play in Blackburn Rovers colours but they got Southampton and never looked back.

Also, apparently red and white stripes were easier to make?

Knew there was something but never knew about the Blackburn bit. That kit must’ve ended up in San Sebastian at Sociedad.

12-03-2020, 05:17 PM
Like watching a game Eurosport show,that no other broadcaster wants..😂

:faf: It actually is.

12-03-2020, 05:24 PM
Why are Man Utd playing at the Etihad?

12-03-2020, 05:25 PM
What a goal lol .....

12-03-2020, 05:27 PM
Why are Man Utd playing at the Etihad?

That's a pretend coffee is all over the screen moment! ☺

12-03-2020, 05:27 PM
That's a pretend coffee is all over the screen moment! ☺

12-03-2020, 06:47 PM
5-0 Manchester Utd.

They're on fire.

12-03-2020, 06:48 PM
5-0 Manchester Utd.

They're on fire.

Glad to see they did not shake hands when they celebrated that 5th goal. :faf:

12-03-2020, 06:52 PM
5-0 Manchester Utd.

They're on fire.

Will that solve the virus issue in Salford do you think? Sounds extreme but I’m all for it if it helps.

12-03-2020, 07:04 PM
United a fantastic price tonight.

5/6 to win tonight too 😂😂

12-03-2020, 07:16 PM
What's up with the grass at Ibrox? Looks like a Sunday league pitch 😂😂

Steven79
12-03-2020, 07:19 PM
What's up with the grass at Ibrox? Looks like a Sunday league pitch [emoji23][emoji23]Appropriate...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

12-03-2020, 07:23 PM
Appropriate...

Sorry, what's appropriate? That one went by me....

12-03-2020, 07:30 PM
Alex Rae commenting that the Rangers fans are trying to get the atmosphere going, while they belt out ten german bombers in the background.

Tully
12-03-2020, 07:31 PM
Shouldn't be surprised with that hun clown

12-03-2020, 07:32 PM
I've just clocked that's what they're singing.

FFS...:rolleyes:

I've just clocked that's what they're singing.

FFS...:rolleyes:

Incredible.

Alex Rae commenting that the Rangers fans are trying to get the atmosphere going, while they belt out ten german bombers in the background.

Wonder if they sung that when Jorg Albertz was banging in the goals for them

12-03-2020, 07:33 PM
10 German bombers song getting an airing 😒

Absolute **** of a club

12-03-2020, 07:35 PM
Followed by the Dambusters, followed by Rule Britannia.

Utter cringe.

12-03-2020, 07:35 PM
That's a penalty, surely?

12-03-2020, 07:36 PM
Penalty going to get given for Leverkusen by VAR. :greengrin

Penalty check at Ibrox for Leverkusen

Penalty given

Penalty.

12-03-2020, 07:37 PM
1-0 Leverkusen.

12-03-2020, 07:37 PM
Dont you just love VAR

12-03-2020, 07:38 PM
Ya beauty. Take yer 'Ten German Bombers' and **** off :greengrin

0-1!

12-03-2020, 07:38 PM
The horde aren’t happy-clappy now ! Pleasing as the other lot would say.

12-03-2020, 07:40 PM
I love VAR, and a good handspiel.

12-03-2020, 07:40 PM
Absolute stonewaller they would gave gotten away with domestically

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

12-03-2020, 07:41 PM
Rangers fans want an, erm, back-ball...? :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

12-03-2020, 07:42 PM
Alex Rae is the fuds fud.

StevesFamau5
12-03-2020, 07:43 PM
Ya beauty. Take yer 'Ten German Bombers' and **** off :greengrin

0-1!Keep seeing one wee daftie near the Leverkusen end with his arms out like a plane. Paying no attention to the game either. Really deplorable group of neanderthals

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

12-03-2020, 07:43 PM
Rangers fans want an, erm, back-ball...? :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

A new low

Desperation by the Hun horde

12-03-2020, 07:45 PM
The Rangers fans hate it when refs have got to be fair due to VAR. Their shout for a penalty there would have been given by most Scottish refs.

12-03-2020, 07:45 PM
Who told Glen Kamara he was a football player? He's utterly honking! :greengrin

12-03-2020, 07:46 PM
Is Andy Halliday injured, this game is crying out for someone like him?

12-03-2020, 07:47 PM
Hope sevco bring kamberi on to make a tit of himself

12-03-2020, 07:50 PM
Is Andy Halliday injured, this game is crying out for someone like him?

12-03-2020, 08:01 PM
Is Andy Halliday injured, this game is crying out for someone like him?[emoji23][emoji106]

12-03-2020, 08:10 PM

A couple of step overs and flicks to no one in particular will certainly confuse the opposition defence

Oops here he comes getting ready

12-03-2020, 08:11 PM
Alex rae going on about Leverkusen's wealth. Huns lost at home to Hamilton last week [emoji85][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji35]

12-03-2020, 08:11 PM
A couple of step overs and flicks to no one in particular will certainly confuse the opposition defence

Oops here he comes getting readyCannae wait[emoji23]

12-03-2020, 08:12 PM
Wolves losing to ten men.

Here’s the Swiss wonder kid

I hope he scores. We can only get rid of him if someone wants to sign the prick.

Rangers will still go out.

NC1875
12-03-2020, 08:16 PM
Kent is an absolute donkey

12-03-2020, 08:18 PM

They’re creaming themselves about the transformation he has made since he came on ......... we might get rid of him to them with a bit of luck.:greengrin

12-03-2020, 08:20 PM

Bet he scores now.

12-03-2020, 08:22 PM

I’d certainly rather have Boyle than Kent

12-03-2020, 08:23 PM
Kamberi’s made a difference for them so far...where’s this kamberi been all season? Or could he just not be arsed playing for us anymore

Rat

12-03-2020, 08:24 PM
hugely disappointing the good guys only have the one goal so far

Not anymore :)

Kambarrys made a massive difference since he came on

0-2 Leverkusen

😂😂😂😂😂

12-03-2020, 08:25 PM
Bwahahahahahahahahahahaha....

Come on the Hun Huns :-)

Diddums :greengrin

Delights

NC1875
Kamberi ball watching while his man pounces on the 2nd ball to score.

12-03-2020, 08:26 PM
That big tattie headed boy at the back, he’s hopeless.

Hearts, Liverpool and Rangers all lose in the space of 24 hours.

If Carlsberg did midweeks! :greengrin

Not anymore :)

great timing 😀

hugely disappointing the good guys only have the two goals 😂

Hibs4185
I hired a new employee on Monday. I asked him today what he was doing tonight and he said ‘watching Rangers’

Is being a rangers fan a sackable offence? I’m thinking it is

Night night.

12-03-2020, 08:29 PM
Shame

12-03-2020, 08:29 PM
I hired a new employee on Monday. I asked him today what he was doing tonight and he said ‘watching Rangers’

Is being a rangers fan a sackable offence? I’m thinking it is

If you’ve only just hired him, you don’t need a reason to get rid!

12-03-2020, 08:30 PM

Naw naw, 7 million pounds of sheer talent so he is.

12-03-2020, 08:31 PM
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Kavinho
12-03-2020, 08:31 PM
Naw naw, 7 million pounds of sheer talent so he is.

About the same as kamberi

12-03-2020, 08:33 PM
I do enjoy Allan Mcgregors bealin face when a goal goes in. A horrid individual.

Tattie Heid scores

The Peepul have scored

hope this team don't collapse like the last lot

12-03-2020, 08:34 PM
BL will get 2 more tonight.

12-03-2020, 08:34 PM
Cmon Kambarry do something

12-03-2020, 08:35 PM
ach just **** right off eh

12-03-2020, 08:37 PM
Not for the first time in his career Tavernier ripped a new arse there.

12-03-2020, 08:38 PM
Why did Leon Bailey go off? He's their dangerman.

12-03-2020, 08:40 PM
What gives with these foreign teams who give away a good lead against the Huns.

12-03-2020, 08:40 PM
Why did Leon Bailey go off? He's their dangerman.

He didn’t

12-03-2020, 08:41 PM
Ryan Kent 😂 made a Kent of that alright !

12-03-2020, 08:42 PM
Ryan Kent 😂 made a Kent of that alright !

7m

12-03-2020, 08:46 PM
3-1

Joyus, haha McGregor

will this team have any first picks available for the return

12-03-2020, 08:47 PM
That’s the difference

Auf Weidersehen Pet!

Silence at Ibrox.

Glass bottle on pitch

pheeeeeww that's better

12-03-2020, 08:48 PM
Stadium emptying quickly now

StevesFamau5
12-03-2020, 08:48 PM
Bottle on the pitch.... "But but but it was aw the wee tims who dunnit" sore loser huns.

Vermin!

12-03-2020, 08:51 PM
Bottle on the pitch.... "But but but it was aw the wee tims who dunnit" sore loser huns.

Vermin!

Hope the UEFA Observer is taking note that and their horrible songs about WW2 and the rest of the pish they sing

12-03-2020, 08:52 PM
Glass bottle on pitch

Yep. Surely they will be ripped to shreds in the Scottish MSM like we were???

Somehow I doubt that

12-03-2020, 08:56 PM
Great seeing a team so technically proficient.
Zipping the ball about, taking it on, moving it, speed, pace.....they'll pump the the's when the get them back home.
Brilliant

12-03-2020, 08:58 PM
Yep. Surely they will be ripped to shreds in the Scottish MSM like we were???

Somehow I doubt that

12-03-2020, 08:58 PM
i assume the return will be played with no fans in attendance

12-03-2020, 08:59 PM
i assume the return will be played with no fans in attendance

Yep that had already been agreed

12-03-2020, 09:05 PM
Yep that had already been agreed

ta, missed it, no hostile home fans then

and no filthy party tunes from away fans

13-03-2020, 08:04 AM
The Rangers fans hate it when refs have got to be fair due to VAR. Their shout for a penalty there would have been given by most Scottish refs.

They must see VAR as the most papish of catholic conspiricies. Don't the authorities know ra peepul are entitled to handle the ball when it suits them? Last night's decisions put back it's implementation in Scotland by at least two seasons.

13-03-2020, 08:24 AM
They must see VAR as the most papish of catholic conspiricies. Don't the authorities know ra peepul are entitled to handle the ball when it suits them? Last night's decisions put back it's implementation in Scotland by at least two seasons.

The problem with VAR is that for some decisions it's a bit unclear whether the evidence being presented is strong enough to give a correct decision. For example, there have been handball decisions in the past that have been given and some that have not when the evidence being presented is the same on both occasions. We've already heard commentators saying "how can you give a penalty for that decision and then not give one for this". In E&W, this happens even when you've got unbiased VAR referees.

Can you imagine the situation in Scotland when the majority are viewed as either Celtic biased or The Rangers biased? Someone with a The Rangers bias would have looked at the penalty decision last night and most likely have said "no penalty".

Imagine when decisions go against The Rangers. I can just hear Ally McCoist asking "Who are these people people; I demand to know".

13-03-2020, 08:28 AM
The problem with VAR is that for some decisions it's a bit unclear whether the evidence being presented is strong enough to give a correct decision. For example, there have been handball decisions in the past that have been given and some that have not when the evidence being presented is the same on both occasions. We've already heard commentators saying "how can you give a penalty for that decision and then not give one for this". In E&W, this happens even when you've got unbiased VAR referees.

Can you imagine the situation in Scotland when the majority are viewed as either Celtic biased or The Rangers biased? Someone with a The Rangers bias would have looked at the penalty decision last night and most likely have said "no penalty".

Imagine when decisions go against The Rangers. I can just hear Ally McCoist asking "Who are these people people; I demand to know".Yes. That's how it would go in Scotland. However rather than brushed aside during the match and forgotten about they'd at least have justify their decision. If all that does is shine a brighter light on their reluctance to give decisions against Rangers at least we can all enjoy the squirm.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

14-03-2020, 02:23 PM
Any goals yet?

Was disappointed to see that Hertz hadn't conceded until I realised that the game was tomorrow.

14-03-2020, 02:35 PM
Just finishing cutting the grass and doing a bit of weeding. Much better.

15-03-2020, 03:42 PM
10 German bombers heard clearly in this blog from Thursday.

https://youtu.be/n0ZhN_a6MC4

15-03-2020, 03:49 PM
8-0 Livingston.

Steven79
15-03-2020, 03:50 PM
8-0 Livingston.All offside as well!

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

15-03-2020, 03:57 PM
8-0 Livingston.

Marv scored the lot.

15-05-2020, 07:39 PM
14:30 BT sports. We're back :greengrin

15-05-2020, 11:28 PM
14:30 bt sports. We're back :greengrin

And it's live

16-05-2020, 12:22 PM
Actual football.

16-05-2020, 01:14 PM
Really looking forward to this Dortmund match. Will be surreal watching without the fans.

16-05-2020, 01:14 PM
Actual football.

It’s not really, actual football has fans in the stadium.

16-05-2020, 01:21 PM
It’s not really, actual football has fans in the stadium.

I heard somewhere 213 fans are allowed in Wonder how they arrived at that figure and how they choose who is getting in and what they will need to go through to be approved then admitted

St Pauli Hibee
16-05-2020, 01:23 PM
I heard somewhere 213 fans are allowed in Wonder how they arrived at that figure and how they choose who is getting in and what they will need to go through to be approved then admitted

It's not 213 fans. It's players, staff, media etc to make up that number. No fans at all in any grounds.

16-05-2020, 01:28 PM
It's not 213 fans. It's players, staff, media etc to make up that number. No fans at all in any grounds.

Derek Rae was saying last night, around 300 people would be used on match days

16-05-2020, 01:29 PM
Really looking forward to this Dortmund match. Will be surreal watching without the fans.

A much welcome relief to have some footy back. Weird without the fans but will be good to see nonetheless.

16-05-2020, 01:33 PM
Steve McManaman on the commentary..great :rolleyes:

16-05-2020, 01:36 PM
This is murder, a massive local derby and it feels like I’m watching an open training session.

16-05-2020, 01:37 PM
Is var in operation?

SJNB Hibby
16-05-2020, 01:38 PM
Haaland looking dangerous still

16-05-2020, 01:39 PM
What an atmosphere 🙄

Just shows how much the crowd bring to the game.

SJNB Hibby
16-05-2020, 01:44 PM
Is var in operation?

Apparently yes

16-05-2020, 01:47 PM
Dortmund well on top. Schalke can't get of their half.

16-05-2020, 01:48 PM
Thought it would be good to have the option of some live football, but not sure it’s for me having the game in silence.

16-05-2020, 01:50 PM

Arrived by Über

16-05-2020, 01:51 PM
Leipzig v Freiburg game pretty decent. Timo Werner is some player

16-05-2020, 02:00 PM
What a finish. What a player

Given it 25 minutes, nope, not for me.:rolleyes:

David_D
Very well worked goal from Dortmund. Deserved.

16-05-2020, 02:01 PM
Professional football without fans is crap. It’s a novelty having a game on tv but it just seems like a game up the park but obviously a higher standard. It might be different if it was Hibs but it’s just a poor watch

SJNB Hibby
16-05-2020, 02:01 PM
What a finish. What a player

How are we gonna stop him if we meet Norway in the Final??

16-05-2020, 02:02 PM
Derek Rae was saying last night, around 300 people would be used on match days

That’s a lot of people 150 from each team a few camera men couple of commentators medical people Maybe journalists

16-05-2020, 02:03 PM
Haaland just doing Haaland things. Hazard isnt half bad either.

16-05-2020, 02:04 PM
Why are the subs and coaches etc sat apart? They have been together in quarantine, train together and play together so social distancing is pointless!

16-05-2020, 02:05 PM
Haaland is some player. Future Balon D'Or winner.

16-05-2020, 02:05 PM
Why are the subs and coaches etc sat apart? They have been together in quarantine, train together and play together so social distancing is pointless!

Wondered that myself.

Haaland is ridiculously good. He’ll be the best player in the world in 2 or 3 years imo.

16-05-2020, 02:06 PM
RB Leipzig 0 v 1 Freiburg

one day maybe...
16-05-2020, 02:07 PM
Not for me. Nice to have live football but without the passion of the fans in the ground, it’s got nothing about it to keep my interest, unfortunately

16-05-2020, 02:12 PM
Are we going to have weeks of people saying "this is pish" now? If you dont like it, dont watch it.

16-05-2020, 02:14 PM
Are we going to have weeks of people saying "this is pish" now? If you dont like it, dont watch it.

You have to watch it to decide if it’s pish surely?

St Pauli Hibee
16-05-2020, 02:16 PM
Dortmund 2-0 Schalke. Guerreiro

supermcginn
16-05-2020, 02:17 PM
Dortmund are sheer class. Joy to watch 2-0

16-05-2020, 02:17 PM
Dortmund 2-0 Schalke. Guerreiro

Poor from the keeper

16-05-2020, 02:21 PM
Can they not stick murals up and go for some EA piped crowd noise?

That must be better.

16-05-2020, 02:24 PM
I think it must be a symbolic thing, the players came onto the pitch in face masks.

16-05-2020, 02:25 PM
Real shame Haaland never played at Easter Road. Would've loved to have seen him. Couldn't make away leg.

16-05-2020, 02:26 PM

Got me beat. The subs are wearing masks which they'll take off if the play. It's mental.

16-05-2020, 02:26 PM
To think this is Dortmund missing Reus, Sancho, Witsel and Can. Would be a hammering

SingaporeHibs
16-05-2020, 02:28 PM
If they could play some fan noise, you wouldn’t notice the lack of crowd most of the time. Enjoying the game.

16-05-2020, 02:30 PM

Stupid, isn't it.

Totally pointless and done purely for PR.

16-05-2020, 02:37 PM
Not for me.

They're missing a trick not following the lead of South Korea who played fan noises over the tannoy during the game.

Much better from a TV point of view.

St Pauli Hibee
16-05-2020, 02:38 PM
Dortmund 3-0 Schalke. Hazard game over 47mins. Keeper rank again

16-05-2020, 02:39 PM

Nonsense.

It's just modern football all over though.

I'd love to know what scientific advice they've followed by implementing that rule.

16-05-2020, 02:47 PM
Leipzig miss a sitter from 4 yards out with just the keeper to beat. Freiburg busting my coupon at the moment.

16-05-2020, 02:48 PM
Not for me.

They're missing a trick not following the lead of South Korea who played fan noises over the tannoy during the game.

Much better from a TV point of view.

You’re kidding.

supermcginn
16-05-2020, 02:53 PM
4 nil different class from bvb.

16-05-2020, 02:54 PM
4-0 Dortmund. Not feeling it to be honest.

16-05-2020, 02:59 PM
Quite enjoying this for all the criticism it’s getting.

16-05-2020, 03:02 PM
Quite enjoying this for all the criticism it’s getting.

Yeah me too, the decent football from Dortmund has kept my interest.

16-05-2020, 03:07 PM
Leipzig equalise ...

supermcginn
16-05-2020, 03:12 PM
Yeah me too, the decent football from Dortmund has kept my interest.

Exactly, what else are people watching? The chase or something 🤮

16-05-2020, 03:15 PM
Exactly, what else are people watching? The chase or something 🤮

Soccer Saturday for me.

16-05-2020, 03:26 PM
22 blokes shouting at each other for 90 minutes. Not for me.

16-05-2020, 03:27 PM
Wasn’t anywhere near as bad as I anticipated. Mainly because Dortmund are always decent to watch.

StevesFamau5
16-05-2020, 03:28 PM
Good result for Hertha in Hoffenheim.. 2 very good goals as well.

16-05-2020, 03:29 PM
I really enjoyed having football to watch again, it’s not ideal but it’s better than nothing.

16-05-2020, 03:33 PM
Good result for Hertha in Hoffenheim.. 2 very good goals as well.

I’ve a big German friend who is Hertha daft as well as loving the Hibs having studied here and he will be loving this. He is always at me to get over there for a game having joined me at the Union friendly in 2012. He doesn’t understand the green brotherhood stuff and likes to remind me that Celtic also play in green and we clearly don’t prefer them!

16-05-2020, 03:39 PM
You’re kidding.

No why? :confused:

16-05-2020, 03:41 PM

So you don't actually like football at all? Or am I missing something.

16-05-2020, 03:43 PM
No why? :confused:

Canned crowds? Sounds hellish whether they’re South Korean or not. A bit like watching Catchphrase..

16-05-2020, 03:44 PM
Watched the Dortmund game 4 goals and i still didn't really enjoy it.

16-05-2020, 04:02 PM
Canned crowds? Sounds hellish whether they’re South Korean or not. A bit like watching Catchphrase..

It was a lot better from a TV perspective than what was shown today from Germany.

16-05-2020, 04:13 PM
Enjoyed it simply because I have missed watching football on a Saturday plus the German league is one of the best in the world. Dortmund were brilliant to watch this afternoon.

Will admit it is simply not the same without the fans but I guess this is something we are all going to have to get used for some time as reckon it will be a while before we see supporters back inside the stadium.

16-05-2020, 04:31 PM
I’m with Jock Stein on this...

“Football is for the fans. It can be the greatest game in the world but if there are no people to watch it, it becomes nothing. The fans are the lifeblood of the game”

16-05-2020, 04:31 PM
1-0 Gladbach.

16-05-2020, 04:32 PM
Eintracht Frankfurt 0 v 1 Borussia Monchengladbach

1730 ko

StevesFamau5
16-05-2020, 04:33 PM
Well that was fast.... Empty stadium or not. F'n loving the fact fitbaw is back

16-05-2020, 04:41 PM
It was a lot better from a TV perspective than what was shown today from Germany.

I’ll need to take your word for that. Unless you’re referring to Catchphrase. Canned crowd noise, ****s sake.......

16-05-2020, 04:47 PM
Eintracht Frankfurt 0 v 2 Borussia Munchengladbach

16-05-2020, 04:57 PM
The lack of fans kills it for me tbh

16-05-2020, 05:03 PM
The lack of fans kills it for me tbh

I thought I would be the same but I’m actually really enjoying it.

There’s something really fascinating watching the players try as hard as they do in these games and motivating themselves as much as if it was in front of full stadiums. I was expecting more of a training like environment.

The fact that borussia monchengladfitbasbach are winning is a bonus 👍

16-05-2020, 05:18 PM

Just like watching in the park and I enjoy that too.

16-05-2020, 05:37 PM
Borussia Mönchengladbach coasting. Never in doubt

16-05-2020, 05:42 PM
Dortmund were very good. Certainly very different without crowds but will watch if a decent game.

16-05-2020, 05:58 PM
So you don't actually like football at all? Or am I missing something.

Can't bloody stand it! No, it's just the eerieness of the whole business.

16-05-2020, 07:25 PM
Backed Dortmund BTTS, would've been annoying if the other mob had bothered trying. 😠

17-05-2020, 08:00 AM
Found it really odd some comments here about no fans.

I guess crowds give the buzz and sometimes it’s funny to hear certain chants / plus see fans go crazy over goals / decisions etc.

BUT I also think watching football without sound / crowd is a way to appreciate it also.

You can hear players shout and actually watch the game without the nonsense (Rangers singing sectarian songs for example?!!).

Even you watch a game live and speak with someone after who watched on TV and they have a completely different view point which can always be good to discuss - sometimes it’s better live / sometimes TV makes it more entertaining with replays etc.

As someone else said watching a game down the park or a Hibs development game.

Obviously I would prefer a crowd and the noise but it was good to see top class players back in action and gave me some hope Hibs / football be very back more regularly- something we would all love to see.

17-05-2020, 08:50 AM
Found it really odd some comments here about no fans.

I guess crowds give the buzz and sometimes it’s funny to hear certain chants / plus see fans go crazy over goals / decisions etc.

BUT I also think watching football without sound / crowd is a way to appreciate it also.

You can hear players shout and actually watch the game without the nonsense (Rangers singing sectarian songs for example?!!).

Even you watch a game live and speak with someone after who watched on TV and they have a completely different view point which can always be good to discuss - sometimes it’s better live / sometimes TV makes it more entertaining with replays etc.

As someone else said watching a game down the park or a Hibs development game.

Obviously I would prefer a crowd and the noise but it was good to see top class players back in action and gave me some hope Hibs / football be very back more regularly- something we would all love to see.

I can’t imagine s the players will enjoy it as much Managers often say the fans lifted the team when it’s a good atmosphere and have been at many a game where that is the case and you can see team respond
Saw some of the highlights of a few goals which were well created and taken
But have said before it’s not fir me
Would be interesting after a few games to get the players views. It they will be happy just to get game time back into Thier legs and improve match fitness

17-05-2020, 08:59 AM
12:30 kick off today with greuther furth vs hamburg from the 2nd tier

17-05-2020, 09:01 AM
I can’t imagine s the players will enjoy it as much Managers often say the fans lifted the team when it’s a good atmosphere and have been at many a game where that is the case and you can see team respond
Saw some of the highlights of a few goals which were well created and taken
But have said before it’s not fir me
Would be interesting after a few games to get the players views. It they will be happy just to get game time back into Thier legs and improve match fitness

100% with fans is better and fair point about lifting a team.

Must be easier for an away team playing at Ibrox / Celtic Park for example.

Just surprised folk turned it off etc - football is football.

17-05-2020, 12:10 PM
Hunburg trailing 1-0

Now 1-1

17-05-2020, 12:15 PM
Hunburg trailing 1-0

Now 1-1

2 good headers.

17-05-2020, 01:26 PM
Finished 2-2 after a last kick of the ball equaliser. 3 games, 4 goals in each game. Not bad.

17-05-2020, 01:44 PM
Cologne 1 v 0 Mainz

17-05-2020, 02:42 PM
Cologne 2 v 0 Mainz

17-05-2020, 02:46 PM
Cologne 2 v 0 Mainz

Lovely goal too.

K-Zazu
17-05-2020, 02:49 PM
Ghost games are better than nae games

17-05-2020, 03:07 PM
Cologne 2 v 2 Mainz

17-05-2020, 04:39 PM
Union Berlin 0 v 1 Bayern Munich

Lewandowski pen

17-05-2020, 04:55 PM
The games I've seen so far still seem very competitive.

17-05-2020, 05:25 PM
I don’t think the Munich game has been a bad watch.

It’s different, but it’s better than whatever I was watching this time last Sunday.

17-05-2020, 05:38 PM
I don’t think the Munich game has been a bad watch.

It’s different, but it’s better than whatever I was watching this time last Sunday.

It has helped the day's go a bit faster and a fresh feel of normality.

17-05-2020, 05:41 PM
Union Berlin 0 v 2 Bayern Munich

Lewandowski

Pavard

17-05-2020, 05:46 PM
Absolutely bizarre being able to hear birdsong from the Union Berlin stadium throughout the match commentary.

17-05-2020, 05:47 PM
It has helped the day's go a bit faster and a fresh feel of normality.

Looking on Skybet, there is quite a few countries with leagues starting up in the next couple of weeks. Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark, Austria, Hungary and Poland off the top of my head.

22-05-2020, 05:31 PM
Hertha Berlin Vs Union Berlin tonight if anyone fancies it.

I know nothing about these teams or how they are doing in the league

22-05-2020, 06:34 PM
Berlin derby just started - great to have football back on Friday evenings.

22-05-2020, 07:08 PM
Hertha Berlin Vs Union Berlin tonight if anyone fancies it.

I know nothing about these teams or how they are doing in the league

I just can’t be bothered watching a game with no fans
After watching Rewynd of Cup Final it just confirms that
Don’t mind watching a highlights programme of the goals But that’s as far as I could stretch to fir now

22-05-2020, 07:21 PM
It's quite similar to watching games on the BBC when you turn the sound down because the commentators are useless.

David_D
22-05-2020, 07:41 PM
2-0 Hertha. 2 goals in as many minutes.

1 - 0 Hertha

2 - 0!

22-05-2020, 07:43 PM
First goal was a great cross and header

22-05-2020, 07:50 PM
3 - 0 and I'm the only one watching.

David_D
22-05-2020, 07:53 PM
Hertha are playing some good stuff.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-05-2020, 07:54 PM
No need for the boy to be gobbing there..tut tut..

22-05-2020, 07:55 PM
It's quite similar to watching games on the BBC when you turn the sound down because the commentators are useless.

My Grandad always mutes the tv cos he can’t stand the commentators so I’m well used to watching silent football :greengrin

22-05-2020, 08:06 PM

My Grandad always mutes the tv cos he can’t stand the commentators so I’m well used to watching silent football :greengrin

I remember watching the 2nd leg of the Watford v Leicester playoff in 2013 without commentators, it was crowd noise only as that was an option on the sky red button or something. It is hands down the best experience watching a game on TV I've ever had, it obviously did help that it had the most incredible minute of football at the end anyone has ever seen but I think this should be a standard option for every single live TV game.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-05-2020, 08:06 PM
Easy peasy now..4-0..

StevesFamau5
22-05-2020, 08:09 PM
Easy peasy now..4-0..From cagey 1st half to total domination 2nd.

This team has a lot of potential.

22-05-2020, 08:11 PM
Didn't realise that was Boyata that got the 4th

22-05-2020, 08:36 PM
I remember watching the 2nd leg of the Watford v Leicester playoff in 2013 without commentators, it was crowd noise only as that was an option on the sky red button or something. It is hands down the best experience watching a game on TV I've ever had, it obviously did help that it had the most incredible minute of football at the end anyone has ever seen but I think this should be a standard option for every single live TV game.

Amazon give that option when they broadcast the EPL games in December. Definitely agree with you that it’s a far better experience watching the game with only the crowd noise in the background rather than having someone like a Robbie Savage or Steve McManaman rambling away

22-05-2020, 09:07 PM
Still makes me laugh when folk need crowd noise / to see a crowd to enjoy a game.

Think of Scottish football..Hamilton and others where no atmosphere and loads of empty seats.

Ok the crowd can help a rubbish game but a good game is a good game whether at the Gyle Park or Hampden.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-05-2020, 09:27 PM
Agreed...it's just getting used to no crowd noise...it'll no take long for punters to come round to this 'new'football on telly,when there's nowt else to watch..

22-05-2020, 09:50 PM
Just like watching a bounce game , not for me .

23-05-2020, 01:36 PM
Paderborn 0 v 1 hoffenheim

Skov

23-05-2020, 01:39 PM
Borussia Munchengladbach 0 v 1 Bayer Leverkusen

Havertz

Paderborn 1 v 1 Hoffenheim

Srbeny

23-05-2020, 01:51 PM