View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread
10-11-2019, 04:33 PM
We'd have stuffed a combined Liverpool City eleven yesterday :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
At darts or dominos maybe 😂
10-11-2019, 04:33 PM
Have they explained why the referee's don't go to check the TV monitor?
Premier League apparently told them not to use monitor.
10-11-2019, 04:34 PM
Have they explained why the referee's don't go to check the TV monitor?
Referees in the Premier League were instructed to use the pitchside monitors sparingly before the start of the season.
10-11-2019, 04:38 PM
At darts or dominos maybe 😂
At supermarket sweep in the drinks isle... ;)
10-11-2019, 04:40 PM
I'm away to watch Antiques Roadshow.
10-11-2019, 04:40 PM
Yaaaaaass3-0
10-11-2019, 04:41 PM
Now that's one the keeper should have done better with.
Looked like he started to come for the cross, stopped then slapped at the ball.
10-11-2019, 04:41 PM
Where was the City defence again? That was appalling; they were AWOL. Great cross, but terrible marking. Goalie should have been better too.
10-11-2019, 04:42 PM
I'm away to watch Antiques Roadshow.
Might be some medals on it from when Man United were actually a good side.
10-11-2019, 04:42 PM
At supermarket sweep in the drinks isle... ;)
Anyone who drinks that Merlot rubbish deserves to be fired with extreme prejudice. Hibs class my erchie......😉
10-11-2019, 04:43 PM
Now that's one the keeper should have done better with.
Looked like he started to come for the cross, stopped then slapped at the ball.
Agreed, his starting position all wrong.
Citys back four just cant cope.
10-11-2019, 04:46 PM
Brilliant 😂
10-11-2019, 04:47 PM
He'd never find a Liverpool Premiership winning medal though would he :faf:
10-11-2019, 04:47 PM
Wolfsberger AC 0 v 3 Salzburg
Haland x 3
This guy is a machine
10-11-2019, 04:49 PM
He’d find plenty of league winners medals, football didn’t start with the Premiership 😂
I think that may change soon?
10-11-2019, 04:49 PM
:faf: :faf: :faf:
10-11-2019, 04:51 PM
I think that may change soon?
Thats what you lot said last year wasn't it ? :greengrin
I don't support Liverpool but they are clearly way ahead on this league.
10-11-2019, 04:53 PM
He’d find plenty of league winners medals, football didn’t start with the Premiership 😂
Now your showing us your age Scouse living off past glories make your club sound like another club that used to exist. There were called Rangers you might have heard about them once. :wink:
10-11-2019, 04:53 PM
Aye, but they really are antiques :greengrin
Giggs 13-0 Gerrard
10-11-2019, 04:55 PM
Another penalty turned down for Manchester City.
Diving barsteward Sterling 😂
Another penalty turned down for Manchester City.
That one wasn't a penalty. Correct decision.
10-11-2019, 04:56 PM
That one wasn't a penalty. Correct decision.
I'd have given it.
Twice.
10-11-2019, 04:57 PM
Aye, but they really are antiques :greengrin
Giggs 13-0 Gerrard
Correct.
I've still got as many league winners medals as Steven Gerrard.
10-11-2019, 04:57 PM
Credit to Klopp for what he has done with this team, I was at his debut against Spurs at the old WHL and this team is night and day comapred to then.
10-11-2019, 04:58 PM
Correct.
And that’s all you have to celebrate these days, the record of Ex Liverpool players 😂😂😂😂😂
10-11-2019, 04:59 PM
Credit to Klopp for what he has done with this team, I was at his debut against Spurs at the old WHL and this team is night and day comapred to then.
Yes, he's a superb manager.
10-11-2019, 05:00 PM
Correct.
Cannae believe I'm going to defend Gerrard but how many European cup winners medals do you have?
Bravo three zero. Surely no amount of human rights violations can see them come back from this.
10-11-2019, 05:01 PM
And that’s all you have to celebrate these days, the record of Ex Liverpool players 😂😂😂😂😂
That and a perverted desperation for City to do well. What a showing up they give themselves these Manure sorts.
10-11-2019, 05:04 PM
Harry Kewell sitting next to the City dugout. Boy gets about.
10-11-2019, 05:06 PM
City's defence no match for Liverpool's attack on the day. They've spent a fortune on defenders tae.
10-11-2019, 05:07 PM
Comeback's on.
10-11-2019, 05:08 PM
Liverpool struggling to keep a clean sheet at Anfield this season, not that they will care too much, they are unbeaten there in 45 games.
City's defence no match for Liverpool's attack on the day. They've spent a fortune on defenders tae.
Laporte being injured is the problem really, he is a top player.
Cannae believe I'm going to defend Gerrard but how many European cup winners medals do you have?
It's clearly a joke! :rolleyes:
What a finish
10-11-2019, 05:09 PM
Huge chance for City that
10-11-2019, 05:12 PM
Pep's press conference is going to be a laugh
10-11-2019, 05:13 PM
Pep's press conference is going to be a laugh
He went full radge there :greengrin
10-11-2019, 05:16 PM
He went full radge there :greengrin
If his antics in the Amazon Prime documentary are anything to go by he's a right character.
10-11-2019, 05:21 PM
If his antics in the Amazon Prime documentary are anything to go by he's a right character.
I can understand his sense of aggrievement in relation to Liverpool's first goal, as it should have been a City penalty, and then it's possibly a different game. However, sometimes decisions go against you, and City just haven't defended well enough, in combination with Liverpool's ruthlessness in attack.
The title is Liverpool's to lose now.
10-11-2019, 05:23 PM
Ah well what a crap afternoon.
Just need to hope for a few Gerrard-esque "slip ups" between now and May.
10-11-2019, 05:23 PM
Is that City 9 points behind Liverpool, down to fourth in the League behind Leicester and Chelsea with Chelsea to play next. Wow never saw that coming this weekend 😂
A long way to go in the League but happy so far. 😁
10-11-2019, 05:26 PM
Liverpool won't let a 8 point lead slip this season. Klopp seems a great guy too.
10-11-2019, 05:30 PM
Is that City 9 points behind Liverpool, down to fourth in the League behind Leicester and Chelsea with Chelsea to play next. Wow never saw that coming this weekend 😂
A long way to go in the League but happy so far. 😁
Yes, and with an eight point lead over Leicester and Chelsea. Still only two points dropped so far - a great start for you.
10-11-2019, 05:35 PM
Quite a battle developing for the Europa cup spots in England. Two points separate Sheff Utd and Arsenal in 5th and 6th and Newcastle in 13th, Even SJMs Villa are only 6 points off a European slot and they sit one place above the relegation zone.
10-11-2019, 05:37 PM
Long way to go this season, but it's advantage Liverpool right now. If I'm right since the redevelopment of the 'Premier League' only three times the team top of the league at Christmas have gone on to not win the league, that being Liverpool all three times. At home they look unbeatable, their away games after Christmas could be make or break- Leicester, Man City, Arsenal, Spurs and Everton to note. Will be a great season this for those interested in the Premier League.
Edit: That stat was completely wrong but Liverpool have been top at Christmas three times (maybe four) since the beginning of the 'Premier League' and gone on to not win the league.
CloudSquall
10-11-2019, 05:37 PM
So that's the English league with a run away leader with an 8 point advantage while in Scotland we have two teams neck and neck with a 7 point advantage over the team in 3rd.
Can shove that boring nonsense :greengrin
10-11-2019, 05:43 PM
It's clearly a joke! :rolleyes:
Yea, I got that. So was my reply, unless of course you have won the EC??
10-11-2019, 05:44 PM
City will need to improve defensively, if they are going to challenge Liverpool, and Chelsea won't have enough. Perhaps Leicester will prove the biggest challengers?
10-11-2019, 05:49 PM
City will need to improve defensively, if they are going to challenge Liverpool, and Chelsea won't have enough. Perhaps Leicester will prove the biggest challengers?
Unlikely but will be amazing if 2016 repeated itself all over again!
Leicester win the league and Hibs win the Scottish Cup 😁
For the penalty claim before the first goal, it hits Silva's hand and ricochets across and then hits Alexander-Arnold's so I don't get how it should be a penalty. If anything it should have been a Liverpool free kick.
10-11-2019, 05:52 PM
Unlikely but will be amazing if 2016 repeated itself all over again!
Leicester win the league and Hibs win the Scottish Cup 😁
I'd take that :greengrin
10-11-2019, 05:53 PM
Yea, I got that. So was my reply, unless of course you have won the EC??
I just find it funny that one of their all time greatest players doesn't have a single league winners medal to his name.
Even Luke Chadwick and Ronnie Wallwork have one each. :faf:
10-11-2019, 05:53 PM
If Chelsea dont have enough why would Leicester? Vardy gets a bad one and they're midtable.
10-11-2019, 05:55 PM
If Chelsea dont have enough why would Leicester? Vardy gets a bad one and they're midtable.
Right now I'd take Leicester to finish above Chelsea, who have a transfer ban and are playing with a very young side. Leicester have experience of winning the league too.
10-11-2019, 05:57 PM
Bit of a punch up at the end of Freiburg v Frankfurt match, Everyone off the bench job.
10-11-2019, 06:02 PM
Really is Liverpool's to lose now. I can't see them throwing it away like last season.
10-11-2019, 06:02 PM
Right now I'd take Leicester to finish above Chelsea, who have a transfer ban and are playing with a very young side. Leicester have experience of winning the league too.
Chelsea have won the league more recently than Leicester so I'm not sure that is really relevant. Far more winners in the Chelsea side, multiple Champions league winners and world cup winners.
Chelsea might have a transfer ban but they still have more depth than Leicester and still have Loftus Cheek to come back from injury who will be a massive plus.
10-11-2019, 06:04 PM
Chelsea have only played 3 of the 'top' teams so far this season which included defeats to United and Liverpool, including a draw at home against Leicester (then again so did Leicester). If Chelsea or Leicester were playing the top teams then I'd fancy Leicester to win more over Chelsea, I think that's why Leicester will finish above them this season, as another poster mentioned though, one or two injuries to key players and it could have a huge impact on that.
Chelsea are away to City, Spurs and Arsenal between now and new year, we will see how many points they come away with from them games.
10-11-2019, 06:07 PM
Chelsea have only played 3 of the 'top' teams so far this season which included defeats to United and Liverpool, including a draw at home against Leicester. If Chelsea or Leicester were playing the top teams then I'd fancy Leicester to win more over Chelsea, I think that's why Leicester will finish above them this season, as another poster mentioned though, one or two injuries to key players and it could have a huge impact on that.
Chelsea are away to City, Spurs and Arsenal between now and new year, we will see how many points they come away with from them games.
This is definitely something to consider but ultimately they all play the same fixtures. Right now I'd fancy Chelsea but if Leicester continue recent form then who knows. Chelsea also in Europe while Leicester aren't
10-11-2019, 06:10 PM
This is definitely something to consider but ultimately they all play the same fixtures. Right now I'd fancy Chelsea but if Leicester continue recent form then who knows. Chelsea also in Europe while Leicester aren't
With Chelsea's transfer ban uplifted in January they will probably bring in one or two to improve the team. As you mentioned, they can afford to have one or two injuries and still not panic, experience also speaks for itself.
10-11-2019, 06:10 PM
I think the top 4 looks done and dusted. Also in regards to Leicester, I remember speaking with a couple of Leicester fans at the Utd vs Leicester game back in September and the majority of the ones I spoke with felt that this present Leicester team looks better than the one that won the league. Comparing the two teams below, other than ****é & Mahrez, I personally would agree that this Leicester team looks better than the one that won the league in 2016:
2016 - Current
Schmeichel - Schmeichel
Simpson - Pereira
Huth - Evans
Morgan - Soyuncu
Fuchs - Chilwell
****é - N’Didi
Drinkwater - Tielemans
Mahrez - Perez
Okazaki - Maddison
Albrighton - Barnes
Vardy - Vardy
10-11-2019, 06:12 PM
Chelsea have won the league more recently than Leicester so I'm not sure that is really relevant. Far more winners in the Chelsea side, multiple Champions league winners and world cup winners.
Chelsea might have a transfer ban but they still have more depth than Leicester and still have Loftus Cheek to come back from injury who will be a massive plus.
Look at Chelsea's team this season, it's unrecognisable, filled with youngsters, much like Man United. I think they will fall away and don't fancy them to make top four. City should bounce back to be Liverpool's main rivals, and I think Leicester have a great chance of top four with Rodgers.
10-11-2019, 06:13 PM
Leicester's next 5 games include Everton, Norwich and Watford at home. Brighton and Villa away. They could be right in the title mix come Christmas where they play City and Liverpool within 4 days.
10-11-2019, 06:15 PM
I think the top 4 looks done and dusted. Also in regards to Leicester, I remember speaking with a couple of Leicester fans at the Utd vs Leicester game back in September and the majority of the ones I spoke with felt that this present Leicester team looks better than the one that won the league. Comparing the two teams below, other than ****é & Mahrez, I personally would agree that this Leicester team looks better than the one that won the league in 2016:
2016 - Current
Schmeichel - Schmeichel
Simpson - Pereira
Huth - Evans
Morgan - Soyuncu
Fuchs - Chilwell
****é - N’Didi
Drinkwater - Tielemans
Mahrez - Perez
Okazaki - Maddison
Albrighton - Barnes
Vardy - Vardy
That's a fair judgement, if they can add one or two to strengthen their depth then they will be in a great position
10-11-2019, 06:19 PM
100%.
Very "strange" indeed.
Hand ball after ricochet not in unnatural position fair enough imo.
10-11-2019, 06:24 PM
Hand ball after ricochet not in unnatural position fair enough imo.
In depends on your desperation to see Liverpool lose even though they’re not playing the English team you support 😂
10-11-2019, 06:29 PM
In depends on your desperation to see Liverpool lose even though they’re not playing the English team you support 😂
Come on Scouse, it was a penalty. I've already said you deserved to win and praised Klopp, but that was a penalty. It was certainly more of a penalty than one you were given in the Champions League final.
10-11-2019, 06:34 PM
Look at Chelsea's team this season, it's unrecognisable, filled with youngsters, much like Man United. I think they will fall away and don't fancy them to make top four. City should bounce back to be Liverpool's main rivals, and I think Leicester have a great chance of top four with Rodgers.
How is it unrecognisable? I recognise them all as quality young players who have served their time and are now doing brilliantly in the top league. They also have 2 real top quality central midfielders in Ka/nte and Jorginho.
On paper Chelsea are certainly more qualified than Leicester to finish top 4.
10-11-2019, 06:35 PM
How is it unrecognisable? I recognise them all as quality young players who have served their time and are now doing brilliantly in the top league. They also have 2 real top quality central midfielders in Ka/nte and Jorginho.
On paper Chelsea are certainly more qualified than Leicester to finish top 4.
We'll agree to differ, mate. I would back Leicester to finish above Chelsea this season, but time will tell. Leicester have really impressed me so far with Rodgers.
10-11-2019, 06:39 PM
Come on Scouse, it was a penalty. I've already said you deserved to win and praised Klopp, but that was a penalty. It was certainly more of a penalty than one you were given in the Champions League final.
I honestly disagree mate, I don’t think the one in the CL final was a penalty either. To be fair as there is absolutely zero consistency with VAR I can see why there are so many arguments over it. Never a penalty in my opinion and would have been raging if given against us.
10-11-2019, 06:48 PM
I'm all for VAR but the way it's been used has been a farce, incredibly inconsistent.
10-11-2019, 06:48 PM
I don't agree, no-one is mentioning the fact that Silva handled prior to the ball hitting Alexander-Arnold. It was the same with the Deli Ali incident the week before, he also handled but was being pushed down by the Everton player. Seems strange to me that commentators are choosing to ignore these surrounding circumstances....
10-11-2019, 06:51 PM
The handball rule has changed since last years CL final. Neither were penalty’s. Pep’s antics were classless
10-11-2019, 06:56 PM
The handball rule has changed since last years CL final. Neither were penalty’s. Pep’s antics were classless
Imagine if we'd been denied that against Hearts, even without VAR; we'd be going mad. It was a penalty, in my humble opinion. Agree with you on Pep's behaviour, but it was a huge game and he lost the plot in the heat of the moment.
10-11-2019, 06:56 PM
I don't agree, no-one is mentioning the fact that Silva handled prior to the ball hitting Alexander-Arnold. It was the same with the Deli Ali incident the week before, he also handled but was being pushed down by the Everton player. Seems strange to me that commentators are choosing to ignore these surrounding circumstances....
That wisnae handball under any interpretation.
10-11-2019, 07:03 PM
That wisnae handball under any interpretation.
If City had scored after it hit Silva's arm it would have been disallowed.
10-11-2019, 07:07 PM
Really is Liverpool's to lose now. I can't see them throwing it away like last season.
They didn’t really throw it away last season. Both teams went on amazing runs to finish the league and Man City were just that bit better. Liverpool still had a massive points total.
10-11-2019, 07:08 PM
They didn’t really throw it away last season. Both teams went on amazing runs to finish the league and Man City were just that bit better. Liverpool still had a massive points total.
Yeah, I dunno where this myth came from. City won 17 games in a row to win it, Liverpool didn't chuck anything away.
10-11-2019, 07:12 PM
Yeah, I dunno where this myth came from. City won 17 games in a row to win it, Liverpool didn't chuck anything away.
True, both City and Liverpool were superb during the title run in.
10-11-2019, 07:13 PM
If City had scored after it hit Silva's arm it would have been disallowed.
So you think Silva was more of a handball than Alexander-Arnold? Nae chance.
10-11-2019, 07:15 PM
MLS cup final on SkySports 3 for those interested. Seattle v Toronto, its being played in Seattle so a virtual home game for Seattle whose fans create a really good atmosphere, over 60,000 attendance (Seattle play in green too :wink:) Hoping for a good match I actually quite like watching MLS games.
10-11-2019, 07:16 PM
So you think Silva was more of a handball than Alexander-Arnold? Nae chance.
They were both handballs but Silva's came first.
10-11-2019, 07:19 PM
It was actually 14 games, but still some record. City won 14 games on the trot to beat Liverpool by 1 point. They where both exceptional.
10-11-2019, 07:19 PM
True, both City and Liverpool were superb during the title run in.
Liverpool were 7 points clear going into New Year, which followed a defeat to Man City and the rest is history.
10-11-2019, 07:20 PM
They were both handballs but Silva's came first.
Can't agree with you there. I didn't think Silva's was a handball but Liverpool's was. Anyway, it's all by the by and the better team won.
10-11-2019, 07:20 PM
Mon Sevilla.
Juve a good price in play against Milan (who are pap)
10-11-2019, 07:22 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4938654/celtic-green-brigade-boycott-silence-remembrance-poppy/
Classy as, bunch of ********s.
10-11-2019, 07:27 PM
Mon Sevilla.
Juve a good price in play against Milan (who are pap)
No, Betis play in green :greengrin
norhfc
11-11-2019, 07:37 AM
I still think it was a clear pen, the ref waved it away for some reason, after seeing the replays it didnt change my mind. The ball was heading straight to Sterling.
Oh well, suppose we now just have to wait for the HT statement from the Premier League.
Whats that nonsense all about.
Btw 3 great goals from Liverpool.
11-11-2019, 08:29 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4938654/celtic-green-brigade-boycott-silence-remembrance-poppy/
Every year for 10 years - who gives a ****. The huns will go over the top to score points. Celtic fans will be against the poppy. Repeat. I finished my pie and coffee in the concourse on Saturday btw during the silence, don't really fancy remembrance day silences myself.
Marvellous
11-11-2019, 08:50 AM
Every year for 10 years - who gives a ****. The huns will go over the top to score points. Celtic fans will be against the poppy. Repeat. I finished my pie and coffee in the concourse on Saturday btw during the silence, don't really fancy remembrance day silences myself.
Go straight to jail :grr:
11-11-2019, 10:37 AM
I still think it was a clear pen, the ref waved it away for some reason, after seeing the replays it didnt change my mind. The ball was heading straight to Sterling.
Oh well, suppose we now just have to wait for the HT statement from the Premier League.
Whats that nonsense all about.
Btw 3 great goals from Liverpool.
I heard the ball had been possibly handled by a City player prior to the incident.
Anyway, this VAR is a nonsense and will spoil the game.
11-11-2019, 10:53 AM
Best thing about VAR is it highlights how bad referees actually are. Absolutely not a single thing wrong with VAR, every problem I've ever heard can all be fixed by officials operating it better.
11-11-2019, 11:01 AM
Best thing about VAR is it highlights how bad referees actually are. Absolutely not a single thing wrong with VAR, every problem I've ever heard can all be fixed by officials operating it better.
So it was implemented to remove human error in refereeing decisions but it can be influenced by human error?
Complete waste of time and money and all the stoppages and delays are for nothing.
11-11-2019, 11:02 AM
Long since stopped wearing a poppy. Whole thing has become cheapened.
11-11-2019, 11:20 AM
What would it take for everyone to pause for two minutes a year to show a little bit of respect for generations who have paid the ultimate sacrifice so you can have the freedom and free speech you have today. Staggering the attitude and lack of respect some people have to the fallen :no way:
11-11-2019, 03:22 PM
What would it take for everyone to pause for two minutes a year to show a little bit of respect for generations who have paid the ultimate sacrifice so you can have the freedom and free speech you have today. Staggering the attitude and lack of respect some people have to the fallen :no way:
That's the beauty of it - we live in a free and democratic country so I and others can choose what we want to do. Anyway its been done to death so won't get into it.
11-11-2019, 03:27 PM
People made sacrifices to mean people had the opportunity to choose.
11-11-2019, 03:33 PM
Here we go again, same old polarised nonsense every year. Holy Ground is the ideal forum for a poppy debate.
11-11-2019, 05:34 PM
The thing is you can’t force someone to respect something, plenty don’t respect it so it means nothing to them to shun it. That’s life I’m afraid.
11-11-2019, 06:54 PM
I prefer that stance to the one they took at Falkirk a few years back which was utterly disgraceful.
As long as you don't disrupt the silence for those who do want to show respect for those who have given the ultimate sacrifice, then you can do whatever you want during that minute as far as I'm concerned.
I don't really understand not wanting to observe it but we live in a free country. Failing to observe it by not showing up for it and going out of your way to actively disrupt it are two very different things.
11-11-2019, 07:27 PM
That's the beauty of it - we live in a free and democratic country so I and others can choose what we want to do. Anyway its been done to death so won't get into it.
Does a bunch of Celtc morons chanting "stick yer f...n poppy up your ar5e" really come under freedom of speech?
11-11-2019, 07:29 PM
👍
Does a bunch of Celtc morons chanting "stick yer f...n poppy up your ar5e" really come under freedom of speech?
Can't even think up their own chant. That's what Hearts said when Lady Haig's Poppy Factory asked when they were getting paid.
Marvellous
11-11-2019, 07:44 PM
Can't even think up their own chant. That's what Hearts said when Lady Haig's Poppy Factory asked when they were getting paid.
11-11-2019, 07:54 PM
Harrogate 1 v 0 Pompey
Mark Beck
BT Sports 8.40 kick off
11-11-2019, 08:00 PM
Harrogate 1 v 1 Pompey
People made sacrifices to mean people had the opportunity to choose.
Yeah & those that don't agree with it go to great lengths to let every one know.
11-11-2019, 08:25 PM
:agree: Sadly respect and good manners are on the way out. As long those that don't wish to pay their respects, respect the wishes of those that do, that's ok - freedom of choice. Main thing is there are folk who still understand, appreciate and remember the sacrifices our forefathers made for our freedoms.
11-11-2019, 08:26 PM
2-1 Pompey
11-11-2019, 08:29 PM
Pompey ahead now 1-2
11-11-2019, 08:40 PM
:agree: Sadly respect and good manners are on the way out. As long those that don't wish to pay their respects, respect the wishes of those that do, that's ok - freedom of choice. Main thing is there are folk who still understand, appreciate and remember the sacrifices our forefathers made for our freedoms.
Yep. Imagine not having the capacity to not respect for a minute normal people who died to make the country a better place.
Stick your ******in Pompey up your @rse.
11-11-2019, 08:41 PM
Pompey ahead now 1-2
Games not over by a long shot, still fancy Pompey to go out. I’ve bet on Pompey but my cash out is 50p more than I put on.
11-11-2019, 08:46 PM
Stick your ******in Pompey up your @rse.
😂😂
11-11-2019, 09:59 PM
Sterling and Gomez had a bust up in England training today apparently, the title race is getting to him :greengrin
11-11-2019, 10:48 PM
Sterling and Gomez had a bust up in England training today apparently, the title race is getting to him :greengrin
Sterling has now been dropped for the game against Montenegro
12-11-2019, 06:46 PM
I’m at a chilly Valley Parade tonight , Matt Done lining up for Rochdale causing unneeded surplus shivers. 1-0 Bantams.
12-11-2019, 07:07 PM
2-1 Rochdale courtesy of the brilliantly named Fabio Tavares
14-11-2019, 03:01 PM
Boyle on bench for Australia away to Jordan. KO 4pm.
14-11-2019, 04:39 PM
Boyle on bench for Australia away to Jordan. KO 4pm.
Got on for last 16 mins
14-11-2019, 05:14 PM
Ex Hibee Victor Palsson playing for Iceland tonight
Turkey making heavy weather of it still 0-0
14-11-2019, 05:16 PM
Got on for last 16 mins
Seems to have been lively for the short time he was on going by the Caltex Socceroos website
14-11-2019, 06:42 PM
Youngest England team since 1956 on the pitch tonight.
Newry Hibs
14-11-2019, 06:47 PM
All the fuss about England's 1000th match.... anyone know how many scotland have played? Nothing obvious on a Google search.
Lovely well worked goal for England, pleased for the Ox👍
14-11-2019, 07:00 PM
France 0 Moldova 1 early doors...
Mango Man
14-11-2019, 07:04 PM
No Kamberi for Albania, not even on the bench.
14-11-2019, 07:12 PM
That will be the 710th manager he’s fallen out with then 🙈
14-11-2019, 07:15 PM
Harry Kane on route to becoming England’s all time leading scorer
Hibee_Craig7062
14-11-2019, 07:19 PM
I saw that and thought it strange thought the whole squad left after the starting 11 could be named on the bench in international football these days??
England playing nice football to go 4 nil up after 30 minutes.
14-11-2019, 07:22 PM
Make it 5
Make it 5
Yip hatrick for Harry 👌😁
14-11-2019, 07:23 PM
Pavard equaliser 1-1 :sauzee:
davhibby
14-11-2019, 07:25 PM
I saw that and thought it strange thought the whole squad left after the starting 11 could be named on the bench in international football these days??
Is it possible he wasn’t cleared to play in time as presumably there’s paperwork involved when changing allegiance
14-11-2019, 07:26 PM
Yip hatrick for Harry 👌😁
That'll be them European and World Champions again in the press down south.:eyes:
Hibee_Craig7062
14-11-2019, 07:31 PM
Is it possible he wasn’t cleared to play in time as presumably there’s paperwork involved when changing allegiance
yeah only thing I can think of but these squads are announced 10-14 days in advance so unless he was a late call up you think they would have plenty time to sort that out
14-11-2019, 07:33 PM
That'll be them European and World Champions again in the press down south.:eyes:
I actually really fancy them to win the Euros next year, especially with the semis and final at Wembley.
14-11-2019, 07:33 PM
Harry Kane on route to becoming England’s all time leading scorer
No doubt he will be. He's got the knack of being in the right place at the right time every game near enough. You can't teach that stuff. Good luck to the lad he comes across very well in interview.
14-11-2019, 07:50 PM
How the hell have Andorra scored twice in Alabania? That's suspiciously unlikely.
wallpaperman
14-11-2019, 08:04 PM
Yip hatrick for Harry 👌😁
He’s good at beating up on the lesser nations.
14-11-2019, 08:05 PM
Must be injured....😫
14-11-2019, 08:09 PM
hatrick for ronaldo 6-0, two more goals needed to hit the ton
then puts one over the bar for what was probably his easiest chance
14-11-2019, 08:38 PM
Ronaldo got to touch the hand of Slivka after the final whistle
14-11-2019, 08:49 PM
michael o'neil on sky sports premier at the moment, talking about his time at hibs and giving his one2eleven team etc :) leighton in goals
14-11-2019, 08:57 PM
He’s good at beating up on the lesser nations.
I like this.
14-11-2019, 09:03 PM
Roy Keane. He's one miserable git although he doesn't talk England up that much which is good. Maybe the fact that he's not English helps. Different thread but wouldn't want him (even if he came cheap) anywhere near the Hibs job. Had the pleasure of watching our midfielders give him the run around in March 2006 (I think from memory) when he played for Celtic against us at Easter Road.
wallpaperman
14-11-2019, 09:07 PM
I like this.
It’s true, was looking at his wiki page to see if i was being unfair, but the only top class teams he has scored against are France and Germany (both friendlies) and Croatia in the UEFA Nations League.
That being said, wish Scotland had someone who could score for fun against any sort of opposition.
14-11-2019, 09:28 PM
It’s true, was looking at his wiki page to see if i was being unfair, but the only top class teams he has scored against are France and Germany (both friendlies) and Croatia in the UEFA Nations League.
That being said, wish Scotland had someone who could score for fun against any sort of opposition.
He’s awful. Jordan Henderson but with clear royalty throwback. Harry for ****s sake. Who called a kid that?
14-11-2019, 10:00 PM
He’s awful. Jordan Henderson but with clear royalty throwback. Harry for ****s sake. Who called a kid that?
Jamie Redknapps Grandad?
14-11-2019, 10:56 PM
At club level he has scored against City, Liverpool, Chelsea, United, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Juventus, Bayern and Dortmund.
In 2017, he scored more goals than Messi and Ronaldo, surpassing Shearer’s premier league record of 36 premier league goals in a calendar year by scoring consecutive hat tricks in late December.
The man’s quality.
14-11-2019, 11:30 PM
At club level he has scored against City, Liverpool, Chelsea, United, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Juventus, Bayern and Dortmund.
In 2017, he scored more goals than Messi and Ronaldo, surpassing Shearer’s premier league record of 36 premier league goals in a calendar year by scoring consecutive hat tricks in late December.
The man’s quality.
I agree. He’s a brilliant player. England must be a great shout for the Euros. Him and Sterling are two of the best in the world.
14-11-2019, 11:44 PM
I agree. He’s a brilliant player. England must be a great shout for the Euros. Him and Sterling are two of the best in the world.
The amount of young talent coming through with quality is huge- Rashford, Sancho, Mount and Maddison particularly. The only let down for them could potentially be their defence, Southgate doesn’t seem to know his strongest back four.
15-11-2019, 12:46 AM
The man’s quality.
This 100%. Kane is the absolute last person who disappears in big games. If he could stay fit he'd be smashing records. I do think the consistent niggles are beginning to catch up though. He's been a bit off colour for spurs.
15-11-2019, 01:41 AM
This 100%. Kane is the absolute last person who disappears in big games. If he could stay fit he'd be smashing records. I do think the consistent niggles are beginning to catch up though. He's been a bit off colour for spurs.
He's hardly had any real rest for years, Spurs did some post season tours to Oz, pre season tours, England commitments which the last one took a while, premier League and cups, europe...
15-11-2019, 03:16 PM
Raith v Elgin on Alba tonight in Challenge Cup. No Jamie Gullan - cup-tied.
15-11-2019, 05:56 PM
U21's about to kick off on both bbc sport app and YouTube.
15-11-2019, 06:06 PM
Talk about selective reading 😂
15-11-2019, 06:30 PM
Finland qualify for their first ever major tournament
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2019, 07:17 PM
Finland qualify for their first ever major tournament
So is it officially bulgaria in the semi?
Anubody know how the other semi is shaping up?
15-11-2019, 07:23 PM
Yeah it’s definitely Bulgaria.
15-11-2019, 07:39 PM
Yep it’s Bulgaria.
Serbia vs Norway is looking like the other semi final. Norway’s outside chances are pretty much over now with Sweden looking likely to beat Romania (currently HT 2-0 Sweden). Serbia can still mathematically qualify automatically but will need to beat Ukraine and hope Portugal don’t win in Luxembourg. Very unlikely.
15-11-2019, 07:45 PM
Yeah it’s definitely Bulgaria.
What’s the other semi final likely to be?
15-11-2019, 07:46 PM
What’s the other semi final likely to be?
Serbia vs Norway
15-11-2019, 07:50 PM
I'm feeling a bit light headed, I think we could beat Bulgaria.
15-11-2019, 07:55 PM
scotland u21's 0 greece u21's 1, 90th minute penalty for the team playing with 10 men for 30 mins, not good enough
15-11-2019, 07:59 PM
Why is everyone saying Bulgaria?
UEFA website states in the current scenario, a draw would decide which of Bulgaria, Israel or Romania would fill the empty slot in Path C, and which two would go into Path A. So might not be Bulgaria.
https://www.uefa.com/european-qualifiers/news/0254-0d40fc7db8ee-f6fe04623679-1000--play-offs-as-they-stand/
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2019, 08:18 PM
Why is everyone saying Bulgaria?
UEFA website states in the current scenario, a draw would decide which of Bulgaria, Israel or Romania would fill the empty slot in Path C, and which two would go into Path A. So might not be Bulgaria.
https://www.uefa.com/european-qualifiers/news/0254-0d40fc7db8ee-f6fe04623679-1000--play-offs-as-they-stand/
Surprised there's no mention of Hungary, who were also second in their group
15-11-2019, 08:22 PM
Local boy, scores on his club ground on his debut for Switzerland that looks as if it'll guarantee their place at the Euros.
15-11-2019, 08:25 PM
Surprised there's no mention of Hungary, who were also second in their group
That's because Hungary would automatically qualify for the Euros, the top two in each group qualifying.
As of last night, the play offs would be between:
Path A: Switzerland, Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Romania*
Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Wales, Slovakia, Northern Ireland
Path C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Romania*
Path D: Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus
It looks as if Switzerland will qualify automatically. Need to check tonight to see how it's changed.
15-11-2019, 08:27 PM
That's because Hungary would automatically qualify for the Euros, the top two in each group qualifying.
It looks as if Switzerland will qualify automatically. Need to check tonight to see how it's changed.
The Swiss have scored a late goal.
Mainstandman
15-11-2019, 08:55 PM
scotland u21's 0 greece u21's 1, 90th minute penalty for the team playing with 10 men for 30 mins, not good enough
I was at the game, eye bleeding stuff for second game in a row
15-11-2019, 09:34 PM
Now updated:
Path A: Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Romania*, Wales/Slovakia/Republic of Ireland/Northern Ireland**
Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Wales/Slovakia/Republic of Ireland/Northern Ireland**
mayo hibee
15-11-2019, 09:52 PM
So actually only a one in three chance that it's Bulgaria then? That's a shame, Bulgaria are truly awful at the moment. Would fancy Scotland against either them or Israel. Romania no world beaters either but probably the toughest of the three possible semi final opponents.
Would need to hope for a home final to realistically have a chance of beating Serbia or Norway.
Edit: one in four chance of Bulgaria if Hungary don't qualify automatically, which they probably won't.
16-11-2019, 01:08 PM
Scotland get lucky there. Should be 1 down
16-11-2019, 01:08 PM
Cyprus denied a good goal
16-11-2019, 01:11 PM
Superb goal
16-11-2019, 01:12 PM
Will take that even though we should have been a goal down 5 mins ago
16-11-2019, 01:12 PM
Great goal for Scotland.
16-11-2019, 01:13 PM
Screamer of a goal from outside the box by Christie. Come on Scotland!!
16-11-2019, 01:14 PM
Screamer of a goal from outside the box by Christie. Come on Scotland!!
Belter :agree:
16-11-2019, 01:14 PM
That's a shocking decision to book McGregor there!!
16-11-2019, 01:15 PM
Is that referee for real??
16-11-2019, 01:15 PM
Is that referee for real??
Ridic!
16-11-2019, 01:16 PM
That's a shocking decision to book McGregor there!!
Agree. Stupid decision.
16-11-2019, 01:16 PM
Right up there possibly as the worst yellow card I've ever seen, that's outrageous
16-11-2019, 01:23 PM
This ref is brutal
16-11-2019, 01:33 PM
Passing it about getting us nowhere and then a long punt down the middle gets us a chance.
16-11-2019, 01:47 PM
Wish that Cyprus manager wid STFU! 😡
16-11-2019, 02:06 PM
Some strike.
16-11-2019, 02:06 PM
Great finish
16-11-2019, 02:07 PM
Great goal.
16-11-2019, 02:07 PM
Some strike but crazy free kick to give away by McKenna. That's 2 big errors by him, first one was for the goal that wasn't given.
Robbo6-2
16-11-2019, 02:08 PM
Our centre halfs are absolute torture.
McKenna caused that goal diving into a challenge he was never going to win
16-11-2019, 02:10 PM
We are bad. Laughably bad!
16-11-2019, 02:10 PM
Does anyone still take an interest in the national team? Utter dross
16-11-2019, 02:11 PM
Sjmg!!
16-11-2019, 02:11 PM
SJM scores again. Aberdeen must be gutted not taking the £5 million pound offer for McKenna in the summer, he looks brutal
16-11-2019, 02:12 PM
Great take by SJM
16-11-2019, 02:13 PM
Can't wait for McGinn to be sold for £60 million
SJM scores again. Aberdeen must be gutted not taking the £5 million pound offer for McKenna in the summer, he looks brutal
I’ve been thinking the same he’s brutal, not much hope for any of the back 4 really
16-11-2019, 02:17 PM
Nailed on red card for the Cyprus player. Referee was looking straight at him.
This ref is even worse than SPL standard. How that wasn't a red is beyond me.
Missing Scottish refs watching this clown.
16-11-2019, 02:18 PM
Naismith down injured by the looks of it.
16-11-2019, 02:20 PM
Tremendous
16-11-2019, 02:25 PM
Scotland just don’t look capable of passing the ball to each other. The Cypriots are more comfortable on the ball but somehow Scotland are in front. Hats of to the 3000 that have had their holidays interrupted to go and watch this dross.
16-11-2019, 02:28 PM
I've not seen much of the LB play before but he is not good, hopefully robertson and tierney arent injured or unfit that often if this is the back up
16-11-2019, 02:32 PM
Naismith down injured by the looks of it.
Made of chocolate
CloudSquall
16-11-2019, 02:37 PM
5 goals for McGinn in last 5 games for Scotland, might just have to start him up front :greengrin
16-11-2019, 02:38 PM
I've not seen much of the LB play before but he is not good, hopefully robertson and tierney arent injured or unfit that often if this is the back up
Scotland's Andy Robertson is bang average and barely better than Taylor.
Tierney clearly doesn't care, so I've no issue with Taylor.
16-11-2019, 02:40 PM
Aye ok
16-11-2019, 02:40 PM
McBurnie is dreadful.
16-11-2019, 02:41 PM
McBurnie is dreadful.
He just looks very clumsy, shankland would have been a better option
16-11-2019, 02:42 PM
Our centre halfs are absolute torture.
McKenna caused that goal diving into a challenge he was never going to win
I think that at times there has been some slick and sharp passing in midfield but the CBs have looked awful.
16-11-2019, 02:44 PM
Aye ok
Don't get me wrong, Liverpool's Andy Robertson is one of the best full backs in the world. The one that plays for Scotland though is absolutely not.
Victor
16-11-2019, 02:45 PM
McBurnie is dreadful.
As is Burke. Is this really the best we can muster?
16-11-2019, 02:46 PM
great Scotland support there
16-11-2019, 02:50 PM
You have to wonder if that ref will get another game. Bizarre performance.
chasitup
16-11-2019, 02:52 PM
McKenna again, he’s brutal.
16-11-2019, 02:53 PM
As is Burke. Is this really the best we can muster?
If you can think of anyone else apart from Shankland then good luck.
16-11-2019, 02:56 PM
well done scotland :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag
p.s. stop picking Mckenna for the love of gawd
16-11-2019, 02:59 PM
A win’s a win but I think we were lucky. They missed a few real chances near the end and I think Cyprus should have had a penalty in the 89th minute. But there you go. Well done Scotland.
16-11-2019, 03:06 PM
Remember, the three points is the important thing, regardless of the performance.
Oh wait, no it isn't.
16-11-2019, 03:06 PM
SJM is a better player without the facial hair
16-11-2019, 03:12 PM
How on earth do the sheep value McKenna at 6m or whatever. He’s rank
16-11-2019, 03:12 PM
Does anyone still take an interest in the national team? Utter dross
Yep I do. Well done on the negative slant though. 2/3 in building momentum for the playoffs so I'm happy with that! Another win on Tuesday will set us up nicely. We aren't nearly as bad as some love to make out.
Arsenal withdrew Tierney, his attitude has been good, Ridiculous comment.
Hibster
16-11-2019, 03:19 PM
According to bbc sport both Wales and N Ireland can qualify via the playoffs if they miss out on automatic qualification. Is that right? I thought only Scotland had the play offs as a back up
16-11-2019, 03:20 PM
Robertson bang, average nice try.
jonny
16-11-2019, 03:29 PM
According to bbc sport both Wales and N Ireland can qualify via the playoffs if they miss out on automatic qualification. Is that right? I thought only Scotland had the play offs as a back up
4 teams will qualify through the playoffs. One from each path (A-D).
Scotland are in path C's playoff.
Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland could potentially qualify through the path B playoff, or if there are less than 4 teams from path A left unqualified they could be moved and given the opportunity to qualify through that path.
It's explained on the Euro 2020 website. Clear as mud mate lol
16-11-2019, 03:33 PM
Its times when you read some utter rubbish like this, that completely proves to me some people will only see what suits their agenda. Unreal
16-11-2019, 03:35 PM
Yep I do. Well done on the negative slant though. 2/3 in building momentum for the playoffs so I'm happy with that! Another win on Tuesday will set us up nicely. We aren't nearly as bad as some love to make out.
We are as bad as people make us out to be.
We have quite a few good, individual players. But as a team, they’ve been dreadful. Beating San Marino and hanging on for a win against Cyprus doesn’t change that.
16-11-2019, 03:38 PM
Its times when you read some utter rubbish like this, that completely proves to me some people will only see what suits their agenda. Unreal
Yep a bit strange to say the least.
We have massive problems - centre back, central striker and goalkeeper when Marshall is finished. At least there are a few centre backs available, even if none are of the required quality. Striker is a different story, Naismith should really retire from international football if he's got any sense. The alternatives are nowhere near the required standard.
16-11-2019, 03:39 PM
Just in the spirit of schadenfreude I hope Azerbaijan pump the Welsh. I don't see why they should get to go a major tournament if we cant.
16-11-2019, 03:40 PM
We are as bad as people make us out to be.
We have quite a few good, individual players. But as a team, they’ve been dreadful. Beating San Marino and hanging on for a win against Cyprus doesn’t change that.
We have a couple of Achilles heels.
Find a striker (Shankland or Griffith’s have potential) and a centre half (I’d be chucking in Porteous to let him learn on his feet) and get our best players consistently turning up and I think we’ve got a decent side.
16-11-2019, 03:49 PM
We have a couple of Achilles heels.
Find a striker (Shankland or Griffith’s have potential) and a centre half (I’d be chucking in Porteous to let him learn on his feet) and get our best players consistently turning up and I think we’ve got a decent side.
Players like Forrest and McGregor, in particular, don’t show anything near their club form when they turn up for Scotland for some reason.
We clearly need a centre half and striker but I still think we should be a better side than we are, even without that.
16-11-2019, 04:05 PM
Good win for the Scotlanders
16-11-2019, 04:08 PM
Arsenal withdrew Tierney, his attitude has been good, Ridiculous comment.
Clubs are not allowed to withdraw players or the player can’t play for the club the next game. Tierney is more interested in playing for his club and fair enough I suppose, I just wonder would it be the same if he had an Irish Gran.
16-11-2019, 04:22 PM
Russia 0 Belgium 1 nice goal
Az 0 wales 1
Spanish media called Gareth Bale being fit for his country this week the 'Miracle in Wales'.
He has not been fit to play for Real Madrid in over a month but played both of Wales' qualifiers last month and then again today.
Article Reactions
Like22 likes22
Dislike2 disl
16-11-2019, 04:35 PM
Wales winning 2-0
16-11-2019, 04:36 PM
both Hazard brothers on the scoresheet Russia 0 Belgium 2
3-0 belgium, Hazzard again
they're proving quite Hazzardous for the russians
16-11-2019, 04:38 PM
Clubs are not allowed to withdraw players or the player can’t play for the club the next game. Tierney is more interested in playing for his club and fair enough I suppose, I just wonder would it be the same if he had an Irish Gran.
Actually think the SFA/Clarke are most to blame. They should have told Arsenal to bolt.
16-11-2019, 04:42 PM
Well done Scotland. Well done Sir John.