View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

16-11-2019, 04:43 PM
Russia being ripped to shreds here.

16-11-2019, 04:43 PM
Robertson bang, average nice try.

Robertson is following the tradition of the Liverpool Scots from the 1970s through to the 1990s. Great for their club but underwhelming for Scotland. Obvious honourabkle exception is Kenny Dalglish.

16-11-2019, 04:46 PM
Spanish media called Gareth Bale being fit for his country this week the 'Miracle in Wales'.
He has not been fit to play for Real Madrid in over a month but played both of Wales' qualifiers last month and then again today.

Clear case of football politics. Bale openly indifferent to playing for his club but passionate for playing for his country. I don’t know much about the situation, but, if I were running Real Madrid, I would cut my losses and get rid of Bale for the best price possible.

16-11-2019, 04:56 PM
the Belgians are to football what the All-Blacks are to rugby....a joy to watch

16-11-2019, 05:00 PM
the Belgians are to football what the All-Blacks are to rugby....a joy to watch

Let's hope that they don't lose at the semi final stage to England.

16-11-2019, 05:15 PM
Clubs are not allowed to withdraw players or the player can’t play for the club the next game. Tierney is more interested in playing for his club and fair enough I suppose, I just wonder would it be the same if he had an Irish Gran.

If Scotland do qualify through the playoffs, how many of these call-offs will actually make themselves available to play in the finals? I expect we won’t see nowhere near as many, in fact hardly any except for the ones that are unfortunately out long term injured at the time.

16-11-2019, 05:20 PM
Scotland's Andy Robertson is bang average and barely better than Taylor.

Tierney clearly doesn't care, so I've no issue with Taylor.

Only in Scotland can a player..........

Would like to delete my post as I understand what onceinawhile is saying. Can't do it on my device, so edited instead.

16-11-2019, 05:49 PM

flukes do happen i suppose....like what happened in the rugby

16-11-2019, 05:55 PM
Scotland's Andy Robertson is bang average and barely better than Taylor.

Tierney clearly doesn't care, so I've no issue with Taylor.

What a load of utter garbage!

16-11-2019, 05:57 PM
Only in Scotland can a player such as Andy Robertson be classed as bang average. You clearly know nothing about football.

I realise that your user name comes from the likelihood that once in a while you might make a sensible comment.

I might be wrong, but I don’t think the poster is saying Robertson is average. I think he’s saying the Robertson who turns up and plays for Scotland has been average. That’s actually being quite generous about some of his performances, certainly in this campaign.

16-11-2019, 05:59 PM
If Scotland do qualify through the playoffs, how many of these call-offs will actually make themselves available to play in the finals? I expect we won’t see nowhere near as many, in fact hardly any except for the ones that are unfortunately out long term injured at the time.

They will all be available for the playoffs. We would have more of a chance in them though if they bothered to turn their ***** up in games like tonight to try and shape a team though.

16-11-2019, 06:28 PM
I might be wrong, but I don’t think the poster is saying Robertson is average. I think he’s saying the Robertson who turns up and plays for Scotland has been average. That’s actually being quite generous about some of his performances, certainly in this campaign.

I also think it's fair comment on his Scotland performances. He's widely regarded as yet again being the top left back in the best league in the world.(Chilwell in the same bracket). Look at that assist against City last week. Incredible. But he hasn't shown that for the national team. Bang average was a fair description of his recent contributions.

16-11-2019, 06:38 PM
I also think it's fair comment on his Scotland performances. He's widely regarded as yet again being the top left back in the best league in the world.(Chilwell in the same bracket). Look at that assist against City last week. Incredible. But he hasn't shown that for the national team. Bang average was a fair description of his recent contributions.

Look at the players he plays with at Liverpool and the ones he has with Scotland. Out of that Scotland team, I’d probably say only McGinn looks like he’d be good enough for that Liverpool team. Players like Naismith and McBurnie are not on the same wavelength and as intelligent as the front 3 he plays with at Liverpool, who for me is probably the best front 3 in the World just now.. He’s got the best CB in the world in Van Dijk that covers him when he pushes forward. For Scotland he’s got McKenna who again today looked out of his depth at international level.

16-11-2019, 06:39 PM

England wont reach the semis.

green with envy
16-11-2019, 06:48 PM
I shouldn't really but looking at a select portion of Flags at the NI game, I really hope they get hammered.

16-11-2019, 06:51 PM
Look at the contrast between how Northern Ireland have started a big game at home compared to how Scotland would start. Theyre full of pressing and are popping the ball about comfortably. Miles ahead of us, unfortunately.

16-11-2019, 06:55 PM
Look at the contrast between how Northern Ireland have started a big game at home compared to how Scotland would start. Theyre full of pressing and are popping the ball about comfortably. Miles ahead of us, unfortunately.

With inferior individual players.

Helensburghhibs
16-11-2019, 06:57 PM

I more often than not during Northern Ireland games sitting in awe. The work rate and tempo they play with is what I like to watch. A perfect example of being a team and not a bunch of pre Madonnas

16-11-2019, 07:17 PM
Steven Davis skies a penalty ��

16-11-2019, 07:17 PM
Hahaha

16-11-2019, 07:19 PM
Feel sorry for Davis, really do.

green with envy
16-11-2019, 07:20 PM
Steven Davis skies a penalty ��

An extremely harsh penalty at that.

16-11-2019, 07:26 PM
Karim and Amy were great.

Ooops, wrong thread.

16-11-2019, 07:32 PM
Robertson is following the tradition of the Liverpool Scots from the 1970s through to the 1990s. Great for their club but underwhelming for Scotland. Obvious honourabkle exception is Kenny Dalglish.

Hmmm!

Remember at the time a lot of commentators being underwhelmed by King Kenny’s performances for his country brilliant player though he was

16-11-2019, 07:42 PM
Are folk really suggesting that Andy Robertson (whose cost us at least a goal in each of our last couple of games he's played) had played well for Scotland??

Jeezo.

16-11-2019, 08:10 PM
Are folk really suggesting that Andy Robertson (whose cost us at least a goal in each of our last couple of games he's played) had played well for Scotland??

Jeezo.

He’s world class just like Messi, Ronaldo and Maldini to name a few..

Not just a good player in form for his well performing club side ;)

16-11-2019, 08:27 PM
Hmmm!

Remember at the time a lot of commentators being underwhelmed by King Kenny’s performances for his country brilliant player though he was
Your memories of the time are exactly the same as mine.... :agree:

CloudSquall
16-11-2019, 08:37 PM
I always have the feeling that whilst star players in other teams drag the rest of the team up a level or two our star players get dragged down to the level of the rest of the team.

Green Badger
16-11-2019, 08:53 PM

I would agree, the Robertson who turns up (sometimes) for Scotland is bang average. No argument he’s brilliant for Liverpool, but for his country its a different story.

17-11-2019, 12:22 AM
Croatia’s win over Slovakia means that if Wales beat Hungary at home, they qualify for Euro 2020.

17-11-2019, 12:32 AM
Spanish media called Gareth Bale being fit for his country this week the 'Miracle in Wales'.
He has not been fit to play for Real Madrid in over a month but played both of Wales' qualifiers last month and then again today.

Clear case of football politics. Bale openly indifferent to playing for his club but passionate for playing for his country. I don’t know much about the situation, but, if I were running Real Madrid, I would cut my losses and get rid of Bale for the best price possible.

They can't, he has 3 years on a 600k per week contract and loves Spanish golf courses.

17-11-2019, 08:26 AM
He’s world class just like Messi, Ronaldo and Maldini to name a few..

Not just a good player in form for his well performing club side ;)

And I've said that he's one of the best full backs in the world when he plays for Liverpool.

When he plays for Scotland though, you wouldn't know. Which has been my point this entire time as picked up by one or two people.

But a few who can't read, have jumped down my throat and called me an idiot, ironically due to their inability to read a simple two sentence post.

17-11-2019, 08:27 AM
They can't, he has 3 years on a 600k per week contract and loves Spanish golf courses.

He was ready to leave for China in the summer, but real Madrid stopped it.

17-11-2019, 09:16 AM
And I've said that he's one of the best full backs in the world when he plays for Liverpool.

When he plays for Scotland though, you wouldn't know. Which has been my point this entire time as picked up by one or two people.

But a few who can't read, have jumped down my throat and called me an idiot, ironically due to their inability to read a simple two sentence post.

The post I read mentioned “Scotland’s Andy Robertson” and no mention of how good he was for Liverpool. You worded it like that as you were looking for the reaction that you got from some questioning you. Maybe if you had expanded that post originally the responses would have been different. I get your point and agree with it now that I realise what you were trying to relay.

17-11-2019, 11:50 AM
The post I read mentioned “Scotland’s Andy Robertson” and no mention of how good he was for Liverpool. You worded it like that as you were looking for the reaction that you got from some questioning you. Maybe if you had expanded that post originally the responses would have been different. I get your point and agree with it now that I realise what you were trying to relay.

Can't find my original post, but that's what I was trying to convey. If it didn't come across then that's my bad. 👍

Glad we're more or less agreed

17-11-2019, 02:52 PM
Sair yin for Serbia, Ukraine equalise 30 secs before the end of injury time.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2019, 12:29 AM
Looking at to EUFA site
Appears to be us at home to bulgria/israel/rumania
Other semi is serbia v norway.

Winner of that will be favourite in the final

18-11-2019, 12:40 AM
Looking at to EUFA site

Romania would be a tough tie if we get them.

18-11-2019, 01:43 AM
Romania would be a tough tie if we get them.

It would be at Hampden which would help.
Last time i looked at the various scenarios Bulgaria were a stick on to be our opponents in the semi final. Must have another look.

18-11-2019, 06:16 AM
It would be at Hampden which would help.
Last time i looked at the various scenarios Bulgaria were a stick on to be our opponents in the semi final. Must have another look.

It changes after every day of matches. It's now either Bulgaria,Israel or Romania.

18-11-2019, 08:57 AM
Looking at to EUFA site

Romania are a host, we won't be playing them. It'll be Bulgaria or Israel.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2019, 10:59 AM
Romania are a host, we won't be playing them. It'll be Bulgaria or Israel.
This is off the official site:

Path A (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/la): Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Romania*, Wales/Slovakia/Republic of Ireland/Northern Ireland**
Path B (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lb): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Wales/Slovakia/Republic of Ireland/Northern Ireland**
Path C (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/lc): Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Romania*
Path D (https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleague/season=2019/standings/#/ld): Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus
*In the current scenario, a draw would decide which of Bulgaria, Israel or Romania would fill the empty slot in Path C, and which two would go into Path A.

**In the current scenario, a draw would decide which three of Wales, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland or Northern Ireland would join Bosnia and Herzegovina in Path B, and which one would go into Path A.

18-11-2019, 07:20 PM
Ireland v Denmark is “free” on sky sports mix

18-11-2019, 08:19 PM
Not looking good for the irish

18-11-2019, 08:23 PM
Not looking good for the irish
Scored by a Dane with the name Martin Braithwaite? Whit? **** off, ah'm no having that, he's a ringer........:faf:

18-11-2019, 08:30 PM
Get in there, come on the Irish 1-1

renato
18-11-2019, 08:36 PM
Italy on complete fire, just thumped Armenia 9-1. 100% record in qualifying.

Dark horses for the Euros.

18-11-2019, 08:41 PM

:agree: With a decent squad and some really good younger players coming through. My only reservation is the quality of opposition in that group - a bit like England's I think it's been a little light.

renato
18-11-2019, 08:59 PM
:agree: With a decent squad and some really good younger players coming through. My only reservation is the quality of opposition in that group - a bit like England's I think it's been a little light.

True. But they suddenly have options all over the park, even the strikers are finally scoring. Strength in depth is great and a barrel load of youngsters coming through.

Played 10
Won 10
Points 30
Scored 37
Against 4
GD 33

18-11-2019, 09:00 PM

Forza Italia

19-11-2019, 06:09 AM

Which is invariably the case in every of the qualifying groups for every tournament, top tier teams grouped with lesser nations.

19-11-2019, 06:01 PM
Same Scotland team as the previous game.

Scotland XI: Marshall, Palmer, Gallagher, McKenna, Taylor, Jack, McGregor, Forrest, McGinn, Christie, Naismith.

19-11-2019, 06:08 PM
Think Wales v Hungary is the only meaningful match tonight.

Maybe also to see who tops the Germany/Holland group, both having already qualified.

19-11-2019, 06:13 PM
Think Wales v Hungary is the only meaningful match tonight.

Maybe also to see who tops the Germany/Holland group, both having already qualified.

I think the other game in Wales' group is also meaningful.

If Wales and Hungary draw, I believe Slovakia will qualify with a win over Azerbaijan.

If there's a winner between Wales and Hungary though then Slovakia will be out.

19-11-2019, 06:14 PM
Rocky on the bench for Israel

19-11-2019, 06:22 PM
I think the other game in Wales' group is also meaningful.

If Wales and Hungary draw, I believe Slovakia will qualify with a win over Azerbaijan.

If there's a winner between Wales and Hungary though then Slovakia will be out.

Yes, you're correct. Forgot about Slovakia.

19-11-2019, 06:43 PM
That Wales national anthem is spine tingling every time.

chasitup
19-11-2019, 06:44 PM
Was just thinking the same thing. Outstanding.

19-11-2019, 06:45 PM
Forrest the only one not singing the anthem, how very green brigade of him 🙄

19-11-2019, 06:46 PM

Proper anthem, gets my neck hair up every time.

19-11-2019, 06:47 PM

It’s an outstanding anthem

19-11-2019, 06:48 PM
Proper anthem, gets my neck hair up every time.

By contrast both God Save the Queen and Flower of Scotland are plodding dirges. I like the Russian one, the Italian one is outstanding and actually I quite liked the Japanese one during the thugby.

19-11-2019, 06:50 PM
mon Scotland let's have some retribution tonight

19-11-2019, 06:55 PM
Germany 0 norn ireland 1 ouch

19-11-2019, 06:57 PM
About what, 12k people at Hampden tonight?

An utterly howling game of football so far.

Gordy M
19-11-2019, 07:00 PM
Belgium 0 Cyprus 1

19-11-2019, 07:04 PM
Belgium 1-1 Cyprus

Wales 1-0 Hungary

19-11-2019, 07:05 PM
Germany 1-1 Northern Ireland

19-11-2019, 07:13 PM
This is so bad it's funny...how can so many players who are decent at club level be so collectively pish when they get together in this side?!?

A midfield consisting of Jack, Christie, McGregor and McGinn is decent on paper. But **** me, it's dreadful on grass.

19-11-2019, 07:18 PM
Ffs

19-11-2019, 07:18 PM
1-0 Kazakhstan

19-11-2019, 07:19 PM
1 nil Borat country

Oh my god

Disaster for Scotland

19-11-2019, 07:20 PM

sigh

1 nil Borat country

Naughty naughty.

Scott McKenna is woeful. Never once been impressed with him.

19-11-2019, 07:21 PM
Scotland should disband the national team. Its completely pointless.

19-11-2019, 07:21 PM
Embarrassing as usual and Provan is a ****ing slaver.

19-11-2019, 07:22 PM
McKenna standing off him, dear Mr clark do as i ask...get McKenna tae out of the national side, he's humpty

19-11-2019, 07:23 PM
Amazing

Embarrassing as usual and Provan is a ****ing slaver.

Totally agree, I can’t stand listening to him

Just no light at the end of the tunnel for us, very sad days for our national team 🙁

CloudSquall
Absolutely no chance in the play off.

Playing absolute pish like Palmer and McKenna and we get exactly what we deserve.

chasitup
19-11-2019, 07:24 PM
He’s standing 5 yards off his man and backing off. He’s absolutely awful. I have no idea how he’s so highly rated by some.

Without a doubt one of the most overrated, over-hyped players in Scotland.

Lack of pace in the forward areas is a major problem in games such as this.

Torto7
By contrast both God Save the Queen and Flower of Scotland are plodding dirges. I like the Russian one, the Italian one is outstanding and actually I quite liked the Japanese one during the thugby.

Flower of Scotland is loved all over the world. Any anthem in the grim surroundings of Hampdump with 12000 brave souls would sound *****.

Quality defending by the 8 million man btw.

19-11-2019, 07:27 PM
Lack of pace in the forward areas is a major problem in games such as this.

That’s what happens when you start with players who haven’t played much through injury, are the wrong side of 30 + and is just crap.

We also have little or no height in the midfield or front line

19-11-2019, 07:30 PM
git should have got a Red there

19-11-2019, 07:31 PM
Is that Steven Reid the Englishman our no 2 ?

He reminds me of Brian Martin from Motherwell in the early 90s. A decent league player who was a darling of the media, and Chick Hun in particular, got called up and was found sadly lacking. Thankfully after a couple of caps he was found out, unlike McKenna

git should have got a Red there

Defo a straight red.

If we lose this, Clarke out the door and get someone in who knows how to pick and effective system of players before the semi-final in March.

His selections and tactics are shocking.

Hopefully not. Would walk into the Hearts job

Liam Palmer.

Torto7
19-11-2019, 07:32 PM

He's Irish I think. Whats that got to do with anything?

19-11-2019, 07:32 PM
Flower of Scotland is loved all over the world. Any anthem in the grim surroundings of Hampdump with 12000 brave souls would sound *****.

Objectively it is a dirge. As for 'loved all over the world, what's the evidence for that? Apart from among expat Scots.

19-11-2019, 07:33 PM
Hopefully not. Would walk in the Hearts job

Where do we sign?!

19-11-2019, 07:33 PM
Well, that was minging.

19-11-2019, 07:34 PM
He's Irish I think. Whats that got to do with anything?

You are right i think he is Irish , I'm trying to see the connection with Clarke and Reid and have they ever worked together

That ok with you ?

Torto7
19-11-2019, 07:35 PM
You are right i think he is Irish , I'm trying to see the connection with Clarke and Reid and have they ever worked together

That ok with you ?

Yeah thats o.k with me. No need to mention that he was 'English' though.

19-11-2019, 07:35 PM
petrie oot

i've always wanted to say that, now i can

19-11-2019, 07:36 PM

That ok with you ?

I thought you meant the guy playing at RB wearing number 2 :greengrin

Got no confidence at all in these players heading into the playoffs in March.

That ok with you ?

Was curious myself as I liked Steven Reid as a player. Think they must've worked together at West Brom perhaps.

Torto7
19-11-2019, 07:37 PM
Objectively it is a dirge. As for 'loved all over the world, what's the evidence for that? Apart from among expat Scots.

Go on youtube and look for the top ten anthems in the world you'll find flower of Scotland in the top 3 or 4 usually. Then read the comments from people around the globe and you'll get a good idea why people love it.

19-11-2019, 07:37 PM

Completely agree

19-11-2019, 07:38 PM
Scott McKenna is dreadful, over hyped and over-rated by his Aberdonian chums in the media

DavidDavidGray
McKenna has Scotland caps and Halkett/Porteous don’t. Absolutely criminal that. Most overrated player in the country

Yeah thats o.k with me. No need to mention that he was 'English' though.

I thought he was English as i remember him playing for Blackburn Rovers

Anything else you are on about you can away and **** off !!

19-11-2019, 07:39 PM
Is there not even a studio for tonight?! Proper amateur hour.

19-11-2019, 07:39 PM

I thought you meant the guy playing at RB wearing number 2 :greengrin

19-11-2019, 07:40 PM
I thought he was English as i remember him playing for Blackburn Rovers

Anything else you are on about you can away and **** off !!

19-11-2019, 07:43 PM
Is there not even a studio for tonight?! Proper amateur hour.

Shocking coverage, only gave 5 minutes before kick off but they just had to cram Gordon Banks world cup final team before it, worthless coverage.

19-11-2019, 07:44 PM
McKenna is an absolute shambles.

The number of goals and points he has cost us in so few caps is shameful.

We need to get Porteous on to see what he can do, and hopefully at least learn from the experience.

19-11-2019, 07:47 PM

Can't agree with you there. It runs God Save the Queen close for the title of most boring national anthem. They plod along at a snail's pace and it's a relief when they're over. The Welsh and French ones are my top two. German, Russian, Italian and Irish ones all good rousing tunes too.

19-11-2019, 07:51 PM
Slow and powderpuff as per from Scotland.

19-11-2019, 07:52 PM
1-1 McGinn

19-11-2019, 07:52 PM
Is there anything super John can’t do?

19-11-2019, 07:53 PM
We've got McGinn...

19-11-2019, 07:53 PM
Was it on target before it hit the Kazakh defender? I thought it should have been an O.G.

19-11-2019, 07:54 PM
SJM....:thumbsup:

deflected,but counts :)

the boy made an erse of it

19-11-2019, 07:54 PM

Just cannot hack the Sudoku apparently. And not a great plumber either.

19-11-2019, 07:56 PM

Since that boy who played for Newcastle from Dumfries. Even he’s better than McKenna.

Hibernian legend to the rescue 🤗💚

Scotland should get Brown out of retirement for the play offs

fs forrest oor the bar ;(

19-11-2019, 07:57 PM

I would back him to do anything, modestly, to be honest.

Shout 👍

SJNB Hibby
Hibernian legend to the rescue 🤗💚

Who was the last Scotland player to score 3 games in a row?

19-11-2019, 07:58 PM

Nah **** him. Cant pick and chose when he wants to play in big games. Keep him away even if we somehow qualify.

Topographic Hibby
SJM must be adding to his transfer value with every Scotland goal. More money for JR to spend if Aston Villa cash-in on him. :flag:

Just cannot hack the Sudoku apparently. And not a great plumber either.
Wash your mouth out with soap! Super John does Sudoku while plumbing.

19-11-2019, 07:59 PM
Damn that McGinn fella 😁

He’s a pain in the erse.

19-11-2019, 07:59 PM
naismith p@shes himself

19-11-2019, 08:00 PM
Nah **** him. Cant pick and chose when he wants to play in big games. Keep him away even if we somehow qualify.

He's better than Ryan Jack thats for sure.

19-11-2019, 08:01 PM
naismith p@shes himself

Captain as well 🤣🤣🤣

19-11-2019, 08:01 PM

Nah, if we want to make a finals ever the Scott Brown is a brilliant choice to make the others tick in midfield.

19-11-2019, 08:02 PM
Stupid Jambo, 2 good chances.

19-11-2019, 08:03 PM
Another sitter from choc knees 😡

19-11-2019, 08:04 PM

Play at centre half or up front, unfortunately.

19-11-2019, 08:07 PM
Play at centre half or up front, unfortunately.

He seems to be playing up front

19-11-2019, 08:07 PM
2-1 Naismith

19-11-2019, 08:08 PM
Foul on the keeper, where’s VAR when you need it.

2-1

Naismith.

I think Scotland have been decent tonight, a refreshing performance

3rd time lucky for rat boy

19-11-2019, 08:09 PM
what a team :thumbsup:

SloopJB
19-11-2019, 08:09 PM
3rd time luck for rat boy

Rat boy?

19-11-2019, 08:10 PM
very surprised keeper didn't get a foul..they usually do if you look at one

19-11-2019, 08:10 PM
Foul on the keeper.

Keeper elbowed SJM!!! Would have been a (Liverpool) penalty if it hadn't gone in

19-11-2019, 08:11 PM
Naismith wins a free kick , But lets be honest , This guy has a natural talent at throwing himself to the ground , Never a free kick

19-11-2019, 08:11 PM
I think Scotland have been decent tonight, a refreshing performance

I agree, there been plenty movement and slick passing, especially in the second half.

19-11-2019, 08:12 PM
Keeper elbowed SJM!!! Would have been a (Liverpool) penalty if it hadn't gone in

Even Liverpool can’t get a penalty when they’re not playing.......can they?

Clear foul VAR would have disallowed it. Come on the wee team, oh wait the wee team are winning doh!

Torto7
19-11-2019, 08:12 PM
Please don't sit on the lead lads. We look good going forward.

eezyrider
19-11-2019, 08:13 PM
Who was the last Scotland player to score 3 games in a row?

Kenny Miller I think.

EZ

naismith is brilliant at 'buying' fouls, hope scottish referees are watching this :)

In fairness to McKenna, he stepped out of defence to make a nice (albeit straightforward) interception to win the ball back and start the move for the goal.

19-11-2019, 08:14 PM
Kenny Miller I think.

EZ

McFadden

Christie has been absolutely shocking tonight. Every second touch has been a tackle.

Kenny Miller I think.

EZ

McFadden 2007

19-11-2019, 08:15 PM
We're actually on course for a finish which would have got us a playoff under the old rules anyway.

19-11-2019, 08:15 PM

Clear foul VAR would have disallowed it. Come on the wee team, oh wait the wee team are winning doh!
Oh, cmon now let us revel in the glory of three wins on the bounce against footballing giants, San Marino, Cyprus and now hopefully Kazakhstan

19-11-2019, 08:17 PM
Oh, cmon now let us revel in the glory of three wins on the bounce against footballing giants, San Marino, Cyprus and now hopefully Kazakhstan

I can’t it just wouldn’t be right ABS 😁

Playing much better now, some nice football.

People should stop moaning ffs we look like a team here regardless of call offs. Too critical of everything.

19-11-2019, 08:18 PM
We're actually on course for a finish which would have got us a playoff under the old rules anyway.

They took away that playoff to give us a spot in the other playoff 😂

19-11-2019, 08:19 PM
19,500 hardy souls

19-11-2019, 08:20 PM
I can’t it just wouldn’t be right ABS 😁

But who do you support in major finals when you get knocked out? ABS doesn't give you much scope!!

19-11-2019, 08:20 PM
They took away that playoff to give us a spot in the other playoff 😂

Difference is with the old system we'd have got the **** kicked out of us by Bosnia or similar!

19-11-2019, 08:21 PM
19,500 hardy souls

No bad tbh. What does the Cardiff City stadium hold that’s half full even when wales are going decent.

19-11-2019, 08:22 PM
Difference is with the old system we'd have got the **** kicked out of us by Bosnia or similar!

Yeah I’m not complaining mate that’s why I’m laughing 😉

No bad tbh. What does the Cardiff City stadium hold that’s half full even when wales are going decent.

But who do you support in major finals when you get knocked out? ABS doesn't give you much scope!!

Anyone but Germany? That can’t be too much fun 😉

Hibeesforever
19-11-2019, 08:23 PM

Probably 10k season tickets included for no shows....!

19-11-2019, 08:23 PM

Just under 20k isn’t the worst in the circumstances then. 50,000 will be at Hampden come March and 50,000 more would want tickets.

19-11-2019, 08:24 PM
Probably 10k season tickets included for no shows....!

It looks about a quarter full.

19-11-2019, 08:24 PM
germany 5 norn ireland 1....dead as a country/region whatever

holland 4 estonia 0

belgium 6 cyprus 1

san marino 0 russia 5

19-11-2019, 08:25 PM

I don’t know. Breathe on Mane or Farah and they will go down. Even if running for a bus!

Torto7
19-11-2019, 08:27 PM
Provan's an utter welt.

eezyrider
19-11-2019, 08:27 PM
McFadden 2007

Ye just looked - McFadden against Lithuania, France and Ukraine in 2007.

Kenny Miller was in 2006.

EZ

19-11-2019, 08:28 PM

I have have never had to worry about Scotland in major finals

19-11-2019, 08:28 PM
They are a shower of dirty bassas some terrible tackles going in. 😡

19-11-2019, 08:29 PM
I don’t know. Breathe on Mane or Farah and they will go down. Even if running for a bus!

Mo Farah?

19-11-2019, 08:30 PM
Mo Farah?

No chance of breathing on him running for a bus!

19-11-2019, 08:30 PM
North Macedonia 1 Israel 0

rocky on bench

19-11-2019, 08:31 PM
they're a durty team

North Macedonia 1 Israel 0

rocky on bench

Rocky in the stands also surely? 😂

Been a decent second half performance after a shocking first half. A few individual failures still, but some decent performances too. Gallagher has looked promising at CH, McGinn has looked superb and Palmer and Taylor have both gotten forward well.

We really do lack up front though. Naismith played well, but we're screaming out for someone of a better standard for the playoffs.

19-11-2019, 08:34 PM
McGinn just wasting opportunities

get him off

:duck:

Super, super, super!!

3-1 McGinn

19-11-2019, 08:35 PM
Great goal.

3-1 McGinn. Great interplay with Fleck and Taylor.

DJ HIBBY
How can Israel be in playoffs? We topped that group and they are nowhere near qualification in normal groups!

Super John McGinn 💚

19-11-2019, 08:36 PM
Best Scottish footballer on earth, what a man.

SJM...who else :thumbsup::thumbsup:

BlackSheep
Cha-ching 😂😂😂🤑

19-11-2019, 08:37 PM
I agree, there been plenty movement and slick passing, especially in the second half.

Absolutely. The passing the movement has been great. Too many knockers on here that can’t see the wood from the trees. Clarke is working his magic

19-11-2019, 08:38 PM
the boys worth his weight in Gold, pure Gold, am talking 24 carat Gold

19-11-2019, 08:39 PM
SJM...who else :thumbsup::thumbsup:

It helps that he actually turns up for Scotland.

Gordy M
19-11-2019, 08:39 PM
Northern Ireland absolutely hammered this evening.

19-11-2019, 08:41 PM
We might actually have a shot in the playoffs after all!

Absolutely. The passing the movement has been great. Too many knockers on here that can’t see the wood from the trees. Clarke is working his magic

Spot on. We're not a bad side.

Lot of camera time for SJM there :aok:

SJM , And Celtc would't pay £2 Million for him

John Mcginn is worth £50 Million at least in the English market , Staggering :cb

19-11-2019, 08:42 PM
Steve Clarke has certainly improved things.

McGinn, Palmer and Taylor all impressing. Their spots to lose IMO.

Topographic Hibby
19-11-2019, 08:43 PM
Keeps Clarke in a job and away from Tiny.....for now :rolleyes:

It's only Kazakhstan but still, we looked to have decent shape in that second half.

Heres your weekly reminder that tom english is an absolute fanny

https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1022841010664222720?s=19

Hibs get Leigh Griffiths on loan in January
He’s firing on all cylinders in time for the March play off
Then we can’t afford to keep him....
Come on Ron!!

John McGinn against the worlds best in the Euros. Can’t wait. Everything he touches turns to gold and he’s now Scotland’s main man. Couldn’t happen to a nicer person or footballer.

19-11-2019, 08:45 PM
It's only Kazakhstan but still, we looked to have decent shape in that second half.

Considering they beat us 3-0 over there and made us look silly, I'll take a 3-1 win and a positive end to the qualifying campaign going into the play-offs.

19-11-2019, 08:46 PM
Best Scottish footballer on earth, what a man.
Worth a fortune.

And an excellent result, Clarke starting to get it together.

19-11-2019, 08:48 PM

:agree: I’m hopeful for the playoffs. Other than the first game every game we played went to form. We had two team miles ahead of us in the rankings, we finished exactly where we were expected to finish. Clarke has won the the last three games after an impossible start to the job for him. If we can get Griffiths back and build the midfield around Mcginn we’ve definitely got a chance.

19-11-2019, 08:49 PM
Not a good night for the negative thrivers, although they'll try, because that 2nd half in particular was very good going by Scotland. As has been said above some real nice slick attacking play and 3 goals. I always felt although they were dead rubber in qualification terms it was vital we built some momentum and feel good factor, which in turn meant they were far from 'dead rubber! 3 wins out the last 3, 11 scored 3 conceded.

We're in a much better place than we were at the start of the group when we lost 3-0 to that lot.

Come on Clarke get us to that big major tournament come March!!

19-11-2019, 08:49 PM
Worth a fortune.

Would be an absolutely perfect fit in the Liverpool team IMO, but I'll be glad of the windfall Hibs get regardless of who pays the £60+ million!

19-11-2019, 08:50 PM
Wales qualifying for yet another major tournament, bloody brilliantly 👍

19-11-2019, 08:52 PM
Do we know our opponents in the playoff yet?

19-11-2019, 08:53 PM

Find out Friday I think

cannastar
19-11-2019, 08:54 PM
underated at hibs still underated at aston villa and only recently getting recognition at international level. hasn't reached his ceiling.im wondering where will he go man utd Liverpool barca or real.he would enhance any of these teams at the moment.the wee mans on fire playing out his skin.couldnt be more happier for him...total gentleman. good luck sjm hard work is coming to fruition.eyes of the world are upon you and you are certainly not disappointing.

19-11-2019, 08:54 PM
Not a good night for the negative thrivers, although they'll try, because that 2nd half in particular was very good going by Scotland. As has been said above some real nice slick attacking play and 3 goals. I always felt although they were dead rubber in qualification terms it was vital we built some momentum and feel good factor, which in turn meant they were far from 'dead rubber! 3 wins out the last 3, 11 scored 3 conceded.

We're in a much better place than we were at the start of the group when we lost 3-0 to that lot.

Come on Clarke get us to that big major tournament come March!!

Totally agree. Scotland looked very good in the second half, against a very physical, dogged and hard working side. McGinn was absolutely outstanding and as much as I dislike Naismith, he was very effective. For the first time in ages we moved the ball about with pace and accuracy and there is now a lot to be positive about.

19-11-2019, 08:55 PM
Totally agree. Scotland looked very good in the second half, against a very physical, dogged and hard working side. McGinn was absolutely outstanding and as much as I dislike Naismith, he was very effective. For the first time in ages we moved the ball about with pace and accuracy and there is now a lot to be positive about.

Hear hear!

19-11-2019, 08:56 PM
Considering they beat us 3-0 over there and made us look silly, I'll take a 3-1 win and a positive end to the qualifying campaign going into the play-offs.

Absolutely. But still, we're ranked 53rd in the world and they're 121st - just above Guinea-Bissau, Malawi and Togo. Perhaps its just the 20 years of Euro and World Cup qualification disappointments talking.

Weirdly though I have a feeling we may still qualify.

19-11-2019, 08:58 PM
Would be an absolutely perfect fit in the Liverpool team IMO, but I'll be glad of the windfall Hibs get regardless of who pays the £60+ million!

Liverpool, my thought exactly.

19-11-2019, 09:00 PM

Are Scotland guaranteed to meet either Serbia or Norway in the final if they get there? Can’t see past Serbia tbh.

19-11-2019, 09:04 PM
So we get one of Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania at home (draw on Friday). Then if we win we play Norway or Serbia in the final (draw for home advantage also on Friday).

19-11-2019, 09:04 PM

And mine.

Gordy M
19-11-2019, 09:06 PM
Are Scotland guaranteed to meet either Serbia or Norway in the final if they get there? Can’t see past Serbia tbh.

Serbia got beat 5-0 by Ukraine, only beat lithuania and luxembourg by the odd goal, yes the will be tough, but not unbeatable. Finished 3rd in their group.

Gordy M
19-11-2019, 09:08 PM
So we get one of Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania at home (draw on Friday). Then if we win we play Norway or Serbia in the final (draw for home advantage also on Friday).
Home draw is vital for us if we manage to win the first game.

19-11-2019, 09:08 PM
Keeps Clarke in a job and away from Tiny.....for now :rolleyes:

He’s doing a good job. When he leaves Scotland he won’t be anywhere near Scottish football.

19-11-2019, 09:09 PM
Heres your weekly reminder that tom english is an absolute fanny

https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1022841010664222720?s=19

Wow. This should always be reminded to English.

19-11-2019, 09:10 PM
I tuned back in for the second half and was pleasantly surprised by how well Scotland played. Thought they looked pretty good and if we can get rid of McKenna and find a striker we may do well in the play offs.

19-11-2019, 09:11 PM
Home draw is vital for us if we manage to win the first game.

Hampden is one of the stadiums, as is the stadium in Bucharest it’s said to be both countries and Ireland are going to get it easier on Friday as we are all host nations.

19-11-2019, 09:12 PM
Wow. This should always be reminded to English.

He won't be mentioning that if he ever writes a book lol ...

Topographic Hibby
19-11-2019, 09:12 PM
He’s doing a good job. When he leaves Scotland he won’t be anywhere near Scottish football.Agreed. Just at 0-1 at HT, someone mentioned up-thread about how it could've gone. Started to give me the shakes thinking of "them" having a decent manager.

Clarke must stay...!!! :wink:

19-11-2019, 09:13 PM
He won't be mentioning that if he ever writes a book lol ...

In other news, Sunderland about to be put out the FA cup to Gillingham.

19-11-2019, 09:13 PM
Agreed. Just at 0-1 at HT, someone mentioned up-thread about how it could've gone. Started to give me the shakes thinking of "them" having a decent manager.

Clarke must stay...!!! :wink:

😁

DJ HIBBY
19-11-2019, 09:15 PM

Asked earlier but how are Israel in it?

19-11-2019, 09:16 PM
Injury permitting, Robertson for Taylor and McTominay for Jack will probably be his team come the playoffs. He might find a place for Charlie Mulgrew right enough and might play Tierney at right back.

19-11-2019, 09:17 PM
Asked earlier but how are Israel in it?

Because there’s other teams due for the playoff that have qualified automatically so as they came second in our group they get drawn in a random pot and not like Scotland who’s at home first and path is more clear.

19-11-2019, 09:18 PM
Injury permitting, Robertson for Taylor and McTominay for Jack will probably be his team come the playoffs. He might find a place for Charlie Mulgrew right enough and might play Tierney at right back.

Definitely ask Broony the question.

DJ HIBBY
19-11-2019, 09:18 PM
Because there’s other teams due for the playoff that have qualified automatically so as they came second in our group they get drawn in a random pot and not like Scotland who’s at home first and path is more clear.

Jeez nothing like rewarding failure. Qualification process is a mess

19-11-2019, 09:20 PM
Definitely ask Broony the question.

Not for me. He chose not to be there. Unless he can play centre half.

19-11-2019, 09:23 PM
Wales qualifying for yet another major tournament, bloody brilliantly 👍

Fantastic for Wales and for Scotland as it will give the Scottish support a team to follow in a major tournament along with their normal ABE.

19-11-2019, 09:25 PM

Robertson and Tierney should both go on the left as interchanging left back and left mid. They're good enough to make it work.

IvanSproule
19-11-2019, 09:49 PM

Makes so much sense to replace Milner or Keita with McGinn.
Like Kane replacing Benzema at Real

19-11-2019, 10:18 PM

I wouldn't be putting Robertson or McTominay back in. They can GTF.

Robertson is world class for Liverpool and bang average for Scotland. If he was better then he might have the right to pick and choose when he turns up. I think having such a half-arsed captain has a negative effect on the whole squad.

Taylor was excellent tonight and we had an entire team who were up for it and wanted to be there. I think it would ridiculously harsh to see any of the players who did well tonight drop out for players who have questionable levels of commitment and don't have enough of a track record playing well for Scotland to suggest they can just choose to pitch up when they like.

19-11-2019, 10:20 PM
Totally different second half. We played with pace and urgency.

Where has that been in the last few campaigns.

'Mon the Stevie Clarke.