View Full Version : Scottish Independence

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106

13-01-2021, 12:36 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/independent-scotland-could-be-top-of-the-list-to-join-the-eu?amp&__twitter_impression=true

Very good news. [emoji106]

I wonder how many news outlets will take this and ram it down the throats of their readers the same way they took the argument that we would struggle to re-join the EU after independence?

13-01-2021, 12:44 PM
I wonder how many news outlets will take this and ram it down the throats of their readers the same way they took the argument that we would struggle to re-join the EU after independence?

During the next campaign there will be a steady stream of articles like this from EU officials. They would love to have us back.

13-01-2021, 12:57 PM
During the next campaign there will be a steady stream of articles like this from EU officials. They would love to have us back

:agree: Verhofstadt will be over here campaigning in a kilt.

13-01-2021, 01:31 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/independent-scotland-could-be-top-of-the-list-to-join-the-eu?amp&__twitter_impression=true

Very good news. [emoji106]

"Barbara Lippert, the director of research at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs in Berlin, added that Brexit had been a “gamechanger” for many in Europe in understanding why some Scots want to leave the UK."

Brexit has actually been a "game changer" in helping a lot of people to understand what the UK actually is... and I've seen less references in German and Spanish* language Newspapers to England when they actually meant the UK.

* My foreign language skills are restricted to those two, so can't vouch for any other countries.

14-01-2021, 08:04 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210114/a7bed5a471d06faf33101ef5a74206e6.jpg

New poll has Yes at 57%. While unionists put all their hopes and dreams on Salmond the Scottish public show the care not a jot about that.

14-01-2021, 08:14 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210114/f77ceb6a64732f4c5cb89d3a2275a916.jpg

Seat projection for May. 16 weeks to go. Labour into 2nd place.

14-01-2021, 08:45 AM

The humiliation for Dougie the Lino and Ruth of being beaten by the Leotard would be something to behold! :greengrin

14-01-2021, 08:50 AM

Oh that's terrific.

Conservative losing 14 seats, fantastic.

14-01-2021, 09:52 AM

I am always sceptical of these seat projections, as I don’t feel the voting system allows a straightforward seat projection based on a percentage vote share.

14-01-2021, 10:15 AM
I am always sceptical of these seat projections, as I don’t feel the voting system allows a straightforward seat projection based on a percentage vote share.

If they were right, would 2nd place even with less seats be enough for Richard Leonard to stay in post? Would Douglas Ross be the new Jim Murphy?

14-01-2021, 10:19 AM

They did ask separate questions for constituency and regional vote, so it should work out ok.

14-01-2021, 10:26 AM

It says something, considering how much the pandemic has affected people’s lives, that the SNP may increase their amount of seats. I’ve not voted for them in the past as I wanted to remain in both the UK and EU but would now vote for them as it’s the EU for me.

14-01-2021, 12:33 PM
It says something, considering how much the pandemic has affected people’s lives, that the SNP may increase their amount of seats. I’ve not voted for them in the past as I wanted to remain in both the UK and EU but would now vote for them as it’s the EU for me.

I think the fact that the Greens, who are in favour of independence, have also increased their vote is significant.

Curried
14-01-2021, 01:37 PM

Welcome aboard :-)

14-01-2021, 03:00 PM
I think the fact that the Greens, who are in favour of independence, have also increased their vote is significant.

That's what jumped out at me. I can see them becoming a major party in an independent Scotland.

14-01-2021, 03:17 PM
If they were right, would 2nd place even with less seats be enough for Richard Leonard to stay in post? Would Douglas Ross be the new Jim Murphy?

Obviously not. Idiot.

14-01-2021, 03:40 PM
That's what jumped out at me. I can see them becoming a major party in an independent Scotland.

I hope so, Patrick Harvey has some great 3 piece suits.

15-01-2021, 07:42 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210115/7de0068dc9a55075df93727557c4ec8d.jpg
Campaign to postpone the election gathers pace.

15-01-2021, 07:46 AM

If all the over 50's will be vaccinated by end of march, what's the problem?

15-01-2021, 07:47 AM
If all the over 50's will be vaccinated by end of march, what's the problem?

Why can't it be done with postal voting?

15-01-2021, 07:50 AM
Why can't it be done with postal voting?

Of course it can. I was being slightly flippant re my comment and govt targets.

It's fairly clear why they want to can it.

15-01-2021, 07:57 AM
I'm not convinced a unity government is the way to go, but I'd probably broadly agree with the idea of postponing the election.

Move it back 6 months and just continue with the status quo. :dunno:

15-01-2021, 08:06 AM

56% want the current government to continue. How was that not in the headlines from the scotsman journalist

15-01-2021, 09:14 AM
I'm not convinced a unity government is the way to go, but I'd probably broadly agree with the idea of postponing the election.

Move it back 6 months and just continue with the status quo. :dunno:

Aye, no need for a Government of national unity. Having an election whilst we are still making the first moves towards normality is a risk we really don’t need to take. Six months ain’t going to make any difference to either the result or any potential timetable for independence.

15-01-2021, 09:37 AM
Aye, no need for a Government of national unity. Having an election whilst we are still making the first moves towards normality is a risk we really don’t need to take. Six months ain’t going to make any difference to either the result or any potential timetable for independence.
Worldwide there has been over 100 elections in the last year. Including the US, why can't Scotland hold the election. It's not like the polling stations are mobbed. Hold them out of doors if there is a risk. The vaccination program will be well down the road by then.

15-01-2021, 09:38 AM

Speaking more generally about the likes of a government of national unity, and I do appreciate it’s not as simple as my musings. However, always wanted all parties to agree on something like a percentage of the budget (1%, 2% etc) regardless of whoever is in power at any given time, specifically ring fenced for cross party spending on poverty, drug abuse etc, those kind of social issues. Where the collective working might make some difference, while not a silver bullet to the root causes, to peoples day to day lives.

15-01-2021, 10:03 AM
Worldwide there has been over 100 elections in the last year. Including the US, why can't Scotland hold the election. It's not like the polling stations are mobbed. Hold them out of doors if there is a risk. The vaccination program will be well down the road by then.

Too wee, too stupid etc etc

15-01-2021, 10:21 AM
Speaking more generally about the likes of a government of national unity, and I do appreciate it’s not as simple as my musings. However, always wanted all parties to agree on something like a percentage of the budget (1%, 2% etc) regardless of whoever is in power at any given time, specifically ring fenced for cross party spending on poverty, drug abuse etc, those kind of social issues. Where the collective working might make some difference, while not a silver bullet to the root causes, to peoples day to day lives.

I prefer political parties not to work together to be honest.

15-01-2021, 10:26 AM
I prefer political parties not to work together to be honest.

In a PR-based administration, parties have to work together. The consensus and compromise that is needed in the committees, before debates get to the chamber, is one of the things that makes Holyrood more democratic than Westminster.

15-01-2021, 10:27 AM
Too wee, too stupid etc etc

Which absolutely nobody has said.

15-01-2021, 10:38 AM
By the time the election comes around all the over 50s and those in the vulnerable category will have been vaccinated. There’s no need to be postponing the election. The sooner we get back to a degree of normality the better. People can vote by post if they’re concerned about covid.

15-01-2021, 10:44 AM
What about all the pre-election ramble? Should parties not be focused on Covid, and specifically getting the vaccine supplied, rather than writing manifestos (to be fair, this might already be done and I've missed them?) and any campaigning?

15-01-2021, 10:49 AM
What about all the pre-election ramble? Should parties not be focused on Covid, and specifically getting the vaccine supplied, rather than writing manifestos (to be fair, this might already be done and I've missed them?) and any campaigning?
That would still be the case in 6 months. It will be a very low-key campaign which will suit most people down to the ground I’d imagine. Manifestos will be published, leaders will do debates and people will decide who they want to vote for. We might be spared the saturation coverage that’s about exciting as setting your alarm for work in the morning.

15-01-2021, 10:55 AM

So an election in Scotland can go ahead no problem then.

15-01-2021, 11:02 AM
That would still be the case in 6 months. It will be a very low-key campaign which will suit most people down to the ground I’d imagine. Manifestos will be published, leaders will do debates and people will decide who they want to vote for. We might be spared the saturation coverage that’s about exciting as setting your alarm for work in the morning.

Not sure the SNP will want to rely on just the media to get their message out.

15-01-2021, 11:08 AM
So an election in Scotland can go ahead no problem then.

Of course it can go ahead but it will add risk we we don’t have to but that’s something I guess our politicians will already have discussed. Surely it’s reasonable to look at the possibility of delaying things by a few months isn’t it?

15-01-2021, 11:15 AM
Of course it can go ahead but it will add risk we we don’t have to but that’s something I guess our politicians will already have discussed. Surely it’s reasonable to look at the possibility of delaying things by a few months isn’t it?

No problem with that. No problem with applying a layer of postal voting for those who feel uncomfortable with going into booths.

These stirrings from the press that there has to some sort of compromise is just the start though. The pressure to cancel will increase in the next few weeks. 25% of people wanting a Unity Govt being given credence is just a joke however.

15-01-2021, 11:40 AM
No problem with that. No problem with applying a layer of postal voting for those who feel uncomfortable with going into booths.

These stirrings from the press that there has to some sort of compromise is just the start though. The pressure to cancel will increase in the next few weeks. 25% of people wanting a Unity Govt being given credence is just a joke however.

As I said, the article says 56% would rather the current government continued, which wasn't in the headlines. You have to wonder why 🤔

15-01-2021, 11:41 AM
If all the over 50's will be vaccinated by end of march, what's the problem?Who could have forseen the unity government being proposed. [emoji1787]

Next will be the call for direct rule

15-01-2021, 11:43 AM

America did it (and it’s a basket case). I’m sure we will manage.

Should be pushing postal votes and early voting as options.

In my experience of elections in the U.K., I have never queued to vote. Local scout hut is two minutes round the corner. In, name given, vote. Easy peasy.

15-01-2021, 11:48 AM
As I said, the article says 56% would rather the current government continued, which wasn't in the headlines. You have to wonder why 🤔

Well I've just changed my mind on the Indy debate after reading this.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/opinion/columnists/scottish-independence-if-scotland-breaks-free-uk-it-faces-bankruptcy-and-eu-cant-afford-let-it-rejoin-soon-jim-duffy-3100330

15-01-2021, 11:54 AM

https://www.scotsman.com/news/opinion/columnists/scottish-independence-if-scotland-breaks-free-uk-it-faces-bankruptcy-and-eu-cant-afford-let-it-rejoin-soon-jim-duffy-3100330

What the hell does Duff Jimmy know about independence and the EU 😂

15-01-2021, 11:54 AM
America did it (and it’s a basket case). I’m sure we will manage.

Should be pushing postal votes and early voting as options.

In my experience of elections in the U.K., I have never queued to vote. Local scout hut is two minutes round the corner. In, name given, vote. Easy peasy.

Just because other countries did doesn't make it automatically the correct thing to do (America is a basket case remember :greengrin ).

If there's a risk and we can go without it for 6 months then I don't see why not. It's not something I'm overly fussed about - I can just see some logic in it.

Given that's the obvious solution, is the smaller percentage of the more obscure opinion just more noteable? Like if 15% of Hibs fans wanted hearts to win the lower league.

15-01-2021, 11:55 AM
What the hell does Duff Jimmy know about independence and the EU ��

That crossed my mind as well. :greengrin

15-01-2021, 12:00 PM

Oh, so it should be all good then? Like the 100 plus other elections that have happened during this pandemic?

I see you've already addressed the question so no need to respond :aok:

15-01-2021, 12:01 PM
Good point.

15-01-2021, 12:09 PM
Who could have forseen the unity government being proposed. [emoji1787]

Next will be the call for direct rule

Boris could send some Redcoats up to patrol the glens as well. :greengrin

15-01-2021, 12:15 PM

I read somewhere that a working party (cross-party) was set up last summer to plan for the election. If they've done their job properly, the pros and cons of delaying will be properly addressed.

15-01-2021, 12:22 PM
I read somewhere that a working party (cross-party) was set up last summer to plan for the election. If they've done their job properly, the pros and cons of delaying will be properly addressed.

Yeah. If, and it’s still an if, there is a decision to be made the politicians we elected to our Parliament will be the ones taking it. I’m happy with whatever they decide.

15-01-2021, 12:43 PM
Yeah. If, and it’s still an if, there is a decision to be made the politicians we elected to our Parliament will be the ones taking it. I’m happy with whatever they decide.

Their mandate is running out though and they were not elected for life. I’m very wary of cancelling elections. It’s the only way these people are held to account.

15-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Their mandate is running out though and they were not elected for life. I’m very wary of cancelling elections. It’s the only way these people are held to account.

I agree but I could tolerate a short postponement if it was going to save lives. I’d hate to see us come through all these periods of lockdown only to take a risk during the end game that we didn’t have to take.

15-01-2021, 01:09 PM
Boris could send some Redcoats up to patrol the glens as well. :greengrinYou know things are bad when that wouldn't actually come as a surprise [emoji16]

15-01-2021, 01:11 PM
What if we're still toiling in November? I'm not against a postponement in principle but the last ten months prove that you can't predict the future of this pandemic.

Lendo
15-01-2021, 01:17 PM
Is anyone else depressingly expecting to see/hear a Stop the Steal type protest from Unionists after the Holyrood election if there is an increase in postal voting.

15-01-2021, 01:22 PM

What an appalling article.

15-01-2021, 01:29 PM

Feel a bit sorry for Duff J after reading that. Did he not put anything aside during his football career, so that he wouldn't now be reduced to putting his name to drivel like this for income?

Lendo
15-01-2021, 01:30 PM
What an appalling article.

"Scotland us doing just fine and now that ENGLAND is out of Europe...."

Unbelievable arrogance

15-01-2021, 01:45 PM

Wow!

"I think Scots are generally happy with the current set-up. So, why spoil it?"

Does this guy live in a darkened room?

He's obviously missed the last 17 polls, and even Scottish Tories are currently unhappy with the current setup (especially the Brexit voting fishermen).

15-01-2021, 01:45 PM
What an appalling article.I was under the impression that the Scotsman was going to be less hard-line unionist, but the number of ridiculously biased (and sometimes just ridiculous) opinion pieces suggests otherwise.

15-01-2021, 01:46 PM

How did he ever leave the hoose to make it in the "BIG WIDE WORLD". :greengrin

15-01-2021, 01:46 PM
Wow!

"I think Scots are generally happy with the current set-up. So, why spoil it?"

Does this guy live in a darkened room?

He's obviously missed the last 17 polls, and even Scottish Tories are currently unhappy (especially the Brexit voting fishermen).Yeah, but he's coming round to Queen, so that's something... [emoji848]

15-01-2021, 01:51 PM

To be fair, given recent performances, the more air time they give to Boris, Dross, Moothy Roothy, and whoever Labour push to the front of the stage, the better it will be for the SNP.

15-01-2021, 02:03 PM
chris kens the score

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/138889149_1891965067619577_2486447919598893991_o.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=2&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=_azMDvPUWk0AX-ygSA8&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00483affba33dbead109811983884708&oe=6025AA64

15-01-2021, 03:17 PM
We're not geared up for a 100% postal vote and we can't be in time for May.

Given what's happened so far with this virus there is no way we should be taking any risks with a May election unless vaccinations are off the scale pretty soon.

I'm sure Sturgeon could continue to trouser her FM's salary for another 6 or 12 months until we are safely through it if that's what it takes. What are SNP Ministers going to do if their government has an extension of 6 to 12 months, announce UDI?

Anyway, she'll welcome the extra cash if she wants to buy a French holiday home.

15-01-2021, 03:21 PM

Given what's happened so far with this virus there is no way we should be taking any risks with a May election unless vaccinations are off the scale pretty soon.

I'm sure Sturgeon could continue to trouser her FM's salary for another 6 or 12 months until we are safely through it if that's what it takes. What are SNP Ministers going to do if their government has an extension of 6 to 12 months, announce UDI?

Anyway, she'll welcome the extra cash if she wants to buy a French holiday home.

I think the FM has earned her money the last 12 months. Whether you like her or not nobody can dispute she has fronted up and stood front and centre throughout this pandemic.

15-01-2021, 03:23 PM

Deary me ! Sacre bleu !

Aye she's been sitting with her feet up for the last year trousering her salary.

15-01-2021, 03:29 PM

Your arguments are usually well reasoned but this is just pish.

15-01-2021, 03:44 PM

What a really stupid comment.

You've complained before about other people posting biased drivel, so I'm surprised to see you lowering yourself to their level.

15-01-2021, 04:15 PM
I think the FM has earned her money the last 12 months. Whether you like her or not nobody can dispute she has fronted up and stood front and centre throughout this pandemic.

Where did I say she hadn't?

15-01-2021, 04:16 PM
Deary me ! Sacre bleu !

Aye she's been sitting with her feet up for the last year trousering her salary.

That's not my point. My point is it really would be no problem for her to continue for an extended 6 or 12 months in office until the virus is under control.

15-01-2021, 04:17 PM
Your arguments are usually well reasoned but this is just pish.

I'm all ears, which bit do you disagree with?

15-01-2021, 04:25 PM

You know fine well.

Personally I think a few of your comments today have been deliberately provocative, so I presume you're just in a bad mood.

15-01-2021, 04:27 PM

Have you been nagging Sir Keir about his million pound pad or is it only wee Nic in your sights?

Such bitterness and hate.

15-01-2021, 04:28 PM
That's not my point. My point is it really would be no problem for her to continue for an extended 6 or 12 months in office until the virus is under control.

Any reveal on the skeletons?

15-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Have you been nagging Sir Keir about his million pound pad or is it only wee Nic in your sights?

Such bitterness and hate.

Some of you are very sensitive about Sturgeon's salary for some reason. My post was about delaying the elections and the reference to Sturgeon trousering her salary references that it would be no hardship to her to continue in office for another 6 to 12 months.

For the record I've no objection to her salary whatever.

Such defensiveness and rage.

15-01-2021, 04:40 PM
Any reveal on the skeletons?

Your best bet is someone in the SNP with a degree of seniority and loose lips.

15-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Anyway...

Hopefully that very entertaining distraction is now over and we can get back to discussing the topic of the thread.

15-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Some of you are very sensitive about Sturgeon's salary for some reason. My post was about delaying the elections and the reference to Sturgeon trousering her salary references that it would be no hardship to her to continue in office for another 6 to 12 months.

For the record I've no objection to her salary whatever.

Such defensiveness and rage.

I've no idea what her salary is and have no intention of looking it up. And just because I bite to your trolling, all of a sudden I'm full of defensive rage?

Bore off pal. You are clearly a bright bloke but also a bit of a dick at times. And this is one of them.

15-01-2021, 05:05 PM

Whats wrong with buying a holiday home? Sounds like you are uncomfortable with wealth. Politics of envy. Typical leftie extremist:wink:

15-01-2021, 05:08 PM
I've no idea what her salary is and have no intention of looking it up. And just because I bite to your trolling, all of a sudden I'm full of defensive rage?

Bore off pal. You are clearly a bright bloke but also a bit of a dick at times. And this is one of them.

It's a play on your very bizarre reference to 'such bitterness and hate' in your original post - you make a daft comment, so here is a close copy one back. It's not actually a suggestion that you are full of defensive rage.

For someone who periodically materialises to attack my posts and then ****s off again until the next appearance you've got some cheek yourself calling me a bit of a dick at times.

The reference to her salary really seems to have weirdly touched an unintended nerve.

15-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Whats wrong with buying a holiday home? Sounds like you are uncomfortable with wealth. Politics of envy. Typical leftie extremist:wink:

The location is all important, not the structure...:wink:

15-01-2021, 05:33 PM
The location is all important, not the structure...:wink:Nothing wrong with France!

15-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Nothing wrong with France!

Come the revolution... sorry, independence.... the Auld Alliance will be renewed :greengrin

(Edit.... je suis well aware that, fir some fowk, it has jamais been revoked)

15-01-2021, 05:37 PM
The location is all important, not the structure...:wink:

Spoken like a true Brexiteer. :wink:

15-01-2021, 05:54 PM
Spoken like a true Brexiteer. :wink:

Whoooosh! I leave this one here...

15-01-2021, 06:00 PM
It's a play on your very bizarre reference to 'such bitterness and hate' in your original post - you make a daft comment, so here is a close copy one back. It's not actually a suggestion that you are full of defensive rage.

For someone who periodically materialises to attack my posts and then ****s off again until the next appearance you've got some cheek yourself calling me a bit of a dick at times.

The reference to her salary really seems to have weirdly touched an unintended nerve.

Whether I post a lot or little is my business.

And whether you think I've a cheek, bothers me not. The point stands.

Anyway, no point in continuing this. I'll leave this thread to get back on topic.

15-01-2021, 06:13 PM

You should probably go and have a wine and relax.

15-01-2021, 06:42 PM
Your best bet is someone in the SNP with a degree of seniority and loose lips.

You've said on more than one occasion that the inquiry will be likely be the end of the FM, back it up.

Maybe you like the attention.

15-01-2021, 07:25 PM
Salaries/wages are earned, pauchle is trousered.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

15-01-2021, 07:26 PM
You've said on more than one occasion that the inquiry will be likely be the end of the FM, back it up.

Maybe you like the attention.

I suggest you stop giving me attention - and find yourself a senior Nat to spill the beans to you.

15-01-2021, 07:29 PM
Salaries/wages are earned, pauchle is trousered.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

It’s her salary. It’s not possible to steal your own salary since it’s something you are by definition entitled to.

15-01-2021, 07:30 PM
You should probably go and have a wine and relax.

I’m pretty relaxed thanks.

15-01-2021, 08:29 PM

I’ve thought for sometime you’re a bit of an arse but given you the benefit of the doubt. This post removes the doubt.

15-01-2021, 08:31 PM
I’ve thought for sometime you’re a bit of an arse but given you the benefit of the doubt. This post removes the doubt.

Gutted

HNA12
15-01-2021, 08:44 PM
Can we do this without the personal insults please.
Cheers.

15-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Whoooosh! I leave this one here...

Aye ok then :rolleyes:

15-01-2021, 10:51 PM

Haha you need an explanation 😂

It’s borderline trolling. You’re better than that.

CloudSquall
16-01-2021, 02:28 AM
If this is the reaction when Yes hit 18 in a row imagine when they take 20 :greengrin

16-01-2021, 07:33 AM
If this is the reaction when Yes hit 18 in a row imagine when they take 20 :greengrin

You can feel the desperation. :wink:

16-01-2021, 07:37 AM

Wait till that first poll that has Yes at 60%.

16-01-2021, 07:40 AM

It's exactly what's going on. The lashing out by some of the unionist media and their followers has been evident for the last few months. As yes improves their position, the toys are coming out of the pram, big style.

Santa Cruz
16-01-2021, 08:54 AM
By the time the election comes around all the over 50s and those in the vulnerable category will have been vaccinated. There’s no need to be postponing the election. The sooner we get back to a degree of normality the better. People can vote by post if they’re concerned about covid.

Before they even knew if a vaccine would be licensed, everyone in the Shielding Group received a letter from the CMO which along with general advice, stated we would all receive postal votes. That was quite a few months ago. I think they will split the voting options - all vulnerable will be postal, making distancing and controlling polling stations for the rest of the public a safer environment. I suppose the main problem for them is a high percentage of polling/counting staff are in the vulnerable categories and to recruit younger people they would need to start soon to carry out disclosure checks.

16-01-2021, 11:14 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210116/2876afd400317e60a4d360a4b8b5b520.jpg
Another attack on devolution along with a cut to the Scottish budget.

16-01-2021, 11:28 AM
Hello! Hello....hello....hello....Echo!....Echo....echo.. ..echo....

Robin McAlpine says hi lads.

Yours sincerely
Private Fraser :faf:

16-01-2021, 11:40 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210116/2876afd400317e60a4d360a4b8b5b520.jpg
Another attack on devolution along with a cut to the Scottish budget.

This will be part of Goves masterplan mentioned a few months ago.

Money that would normally have come to Scotland though other means will be distributed by Westminster and a Union Jack stuck on it. This will show the Scots that Westminster loves us, cares for us and the desire for independence will soon disappear.

16-01-2021, 11:40 AM
Before they even knew if a vaccine would be licensed, everyone in the Shielding Group received a letter from the CMO which along with general advice, stated we would all receive postal votes. That was quite a few months ago. I think they will split the voting options - all vulnerable will be postal, making distancing and controlling polling stations for the rest of the public a safer environment. I suppose the main problem for them is a high percentage of polling/counting staff are in the vulnerable categories and to recruit younger people they would need to start soon to carry out disclosure checks.

For a May election Purdah begins in March. Without certainty by then - probably even before then - as to where we are at with this pandemic it would be risky, needless and irresponsible to run in May. There seems no good democratic, administrative, economic or health reason not to postpone for either six or twelve months and letting the current administration continue for that period. In fact doing that would allow the time to to implement a full postal ballot instead.

Holding an election in circumstances with these risks is barking. On the one hand there is a real risk of lower participation for fear of the virus and on the other there is the prospect of much greater difficulty in staffing the election, managing polling day safely and and conducting any kind of meaningful election campaign.

The Scottish parliament has already altered its electoral term previously in 2015 when the term was extended by a year to avoid a clash with the UK General Election.

Of course if the vaccinations have the virus under control and the scientific advisers are happy in time to properly prepare for and execute the May elections then that is a completely different story.

16-01-2021, 11:43 AM
I’d imagine the checks are already underway. I’ve always thought the way we vote and count is such an antiquated system, but that’s for another thread.

16-01-2021, 12:01 PM
For a May election Purdah begins in March. Without certainty by then - probably even before then - as to where we are at with this pandemic it would be risky, needless and irresponsible to run in May. There seems no good democratic, administrative, economic or health reason not to postpone for either six or twelve months and letting the current administration continue for that period. In fact doing that would allow the time to to implement a full postal ballot instead.

Holding an election in circumstances with these risks is barking. On the one hand there is a real risk of lower participation for fear of the virus and on the other there is the prospect of much greater difficulty in staffing the election, managing polling day safely and and conducting any kind of meaningful election campaign.

The Scottish parliament has already altered its electoral term previously in 2015 when the term was extended by a year to avoid a clash with the UK General Election.

Of course if the vaccinations have the virus under control and the scientific advisers are happy in time to properly prepare for and execute the May elections then that is a completely different story.

Staffing polling stations and the count is done by the councils and is heavily over subscribed every time because it’s a good earner. So long as we stick to the vaccination schedule there is no need to cancel the election.

16-01-2021, 12:32 PM
Staffing polling stations and the count is done by the councils and is heavily over subscribed every time because it’s a good earner. So long as we stick to the vaccination schedule there is no need to cancel the election.

It's not just a case of sticking to the vaccination schedule, its also a case of the level of virus infection and transmission out there. And whether or not people will be ready for an election psychologically. In fact the more I think about it the more the case for delaying at least six months becomes an obvious sensible public health requirement.

Put it another way, what would the harm be in delaying?

16-01-2021, 12:36 PM
It's not just a case of sticking to the vaccination schedule, its also a case of the level of virus infection and transmission out there. And whether or not people will be ready for an election psychologically. In fact the more I think about it the more the case for delaying at least six months becomes an obvious sensible public health requirement.

Is it possible that it would be seen by some as kicking the can further down the road when it comes to the referendum on independence?

16-01-2021, 12:40 PM

The term of this parliament is expiring. It’s time they put themselves before the people and for us to pass judgement.
There has been no calls among opposition parties for a delay because they deserve their right to try win power. Cancelling elections is a slippery slope.

16-01-2021, 12:41 PM

Put it another way, what would the harm be in delaying?Who would be our government for this 6-12 months?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

16-01-2021, 12:42 PM
Who would be our government for this 6-12 months?

Direct rule from Westminster? Govt of national unity?

16-01-2021, 12:42 PM

The current one.

16-01-2021, 12:44 PM
The current one.

What about the retiring MSP’s? Without them, the govt loses its majority.

16-01-2021, 12:49 PM

The ones that are retiring after the election? They’ll still be there.
As an aside the Government doesn’t have a majority just now.

16-01-2021, 12:50 PM

I hadn't thought of that. No doubt the unionists have :-).

I imagine that the retirees would stick it out for another six months? Thing is though, as I asked yesterday, what if things are still bad in November?

Santa Cruz
16-01-2021, 12:54 PM

I've been a polling clerk and done the count, you don't have to be an LA employee for the polling station, a valid disclosure check is all that's required. They recently changed it to LA staff only for the count.

It's a bit of a myth it's a good earner. The polling statin is a 15-16hr shift. After tax you don't get far of £9 odds an hour for a polling clerk position. The count pays slightly better as it's a flat shift rate and dependent on there not being a recount, a much shorter shift.

16-01-2021, 12:54 PM
The term of this parliament is expiring. It’s time they put themselves before the people and for us to pass judgement.
There has been no calls among opposition parties for a delay because they deserve their right to try win power. Cancelling elections is a slippery slope.

It wasn't seen as a slippery slope when the SP did it in 2015. I think we can fairly call the Covid pandemic exceptional. Another six or twelve months - as has already been done previously in the Scottish Parliament - really isn't going to much that much difference in current circumstances.

16-01-2021, 12:55 PM

The current one, exactly as was the case when this was done previously in 2015.

16-01-2021, 12:56 PM

They don't retire until the postponed election takes place.

16-01-2021, 12:57 PM

I imagine that the retirees would stick it out for another six months? Thing is though, as I asked yesterday, what if things are still bad in November?

Good question. I was thinking about that after you asked the question yesterday and I don’t have an answer. My optimism about the vaccine won’t let me even consider that :greengrin

16-01-2021, 12:58 PM

You go to May 2022. In the meantime the Scottish Government and Electoral Commission implement an all postal ballot system. If it's still bad in May 2022 we use that.

16-01-2021, 01:05 PM
You go to May 2022. In the meantime the Scottish Government and Electoral Commission implement an all postal ballot system. If it's still bad in May 2022 we use that.

I don’t think the Scottish public want to wait to cast their vote? I think the majority want to vote in May.

16-01-2021, 01:10 PM

The Polish Presidential election was postponed last May because of Covid. They had an all postal ballot ballot about six weeks later. (The ruling party there were in a big hurry as they were worried that a long delay would see them lose. )It shows what can be done though.

16-01-2021, 01:23 PM

Your posts on this subject are starting to smack of desperation ODS.

You should be honest with yourself and the rest of us and admit that you don’t want the election to go ahead in May because, based on current polling, it will advance considerably Scotland’s progression towards being an independent country.

Cancelling elections is undemocratic. Dozens of other countries have been holding them throughout this pandemic.

16-01-2021, 01:29 PM
I don’t think the Scottish public want to wait to cast their vote? I think the majority want to vote in May.

Is there some evidence for that?

16-01-2021, 01:30 PM

You should be honest with yourself and the rest of us and admit that you don’t want the election to go ahead in May because, based on current polling, it will advance considerably Scotland’s progression towards being an independent country.

Cancelling elections is undemocratic. Dozens of other countries have been holding them throughout this pandemic.

I read somewhere that over 100 elections have been held worldwide, including local by-elections in the UK since last March. There is no need to postpone May's election.

The only people talking about postponing it are people of a unionist mindset.

16-01-2021, 01:38 PM

I doubt the majority of the Scottish public have given the election a minutes thought.

16-01-2021, 01:46 PM
I read somewhere that over 100 elections have been held worldwide, including local by-elections in the UK since last March. There is no need to postpone May's election.

The only people talking about postponing it are people of a unionist mindset.

Well that’s not true.:greengrin
I’m struggling to work out how this has become a constitutional issue for some rather than what it is, a potential public health issue.

16-01-2021, 01:46 PM

Bawheid, not everything in life is about Scottish independence. Though some people may feel that it is or should be.

Look, the outcome of the Scottish Parliament elections are almost certain to be the same regardless of whether they are held in May, October or even May next year - an outright SNP majority. I can't see anything on the horizon that will change that - can you?

My honest opinion is as expressed - unless it is absolutely safe to do so in terms of the pandemic the elections should be delayed. This has eff-all to do with the outcome of those elections as I regard them as being largely a foregone conclusion. I would go further and suggest that it seems those on the pro-independence side of the debate who seem to be getting a bit Johnny Brownpants about the prospect of any delay and not for any logical position that I can see in terms of electoral damage to the SNP. What am I missing?

Cancelling elections IS undemocratic - postponing them isn't. And that's what the SNP Government and the wider Scottish Parliament already agreed to do once before in 2015 - and that was merely to stop them from clashing with a UK General Election, not to combat a pandemic. I don't know what contribution to infection rates the elections in those other countries may have made - or even whether they were conducted in the midst of this current much more transmissable version of the virus.

The suggestion that I am posting this opinion in order to damage SNP electoral chances is laughable. Do you really think that the 12-odd men/women and a ferret that generally post on these threads are going to change their minds based on my posts? The vast majority of posters on the Holy Ground already hold firm political opinions on most things which they are not going to budge from. And even if my opinion on this were to somehow miraculously sway some other posters its not like that's going to start a March on St Andrew's House with a nation wide demand to postpone the elections is it?

This is killing people and leaving others with both serious long term health problems and very difficult shorter term recovery challenges, never mind the brutal current and future economic consequences. If it is safe to do in May then fine, if it isn't then we shouldn't.

16-01-2021, 04:28 PM
.... Do you really think that the 12-odd men/women and a ferret that generally post on these threads...

Oi! Who's the Ferret?

:fuming:

16-01-2021, 07:41 PM

A 6 month delay takes it into winter, and potentially poor weather. It’s well known that the voters of certain parties may be less likely to go out and vote in certain weather conditions, and certain parties benefit from this due to their higher number of postal voters.

Hope that answers your question.

16-01-2021, 07:45 PM
A 6 month delay takes it into winter, and potentially poor weather. It’s well known that the voters of certain parties may be less likely to go out and vote in certain weather conditions, and certain parties benefit from this due to their higher number of postal voters.

Voting in November...no thanks.

16-01-2021, 08:00 PM
If we can't do May we should immediately set up for a postal ballot in September.

16-01-2021, 08:56 PM
As the UK Gov are now planning on bypassing the Scottish Parliament in devolved areas of spending. It's imperative that we continue with the elections and then onto Indyref2.

Let's get on with it.

16-01-2021, 09:36 PM

That's a fair point. If it's going to be postponed it should be for a year.

16-01-2021, 09:51 PM
get it done
get it done

16-01-2021, 10:08 PM
That's a fair point. If it's going to be postponed it should be for a year.

You're having fun tonight! Come on. I said earlier it should be postal in September but that was forgetting that the schools aren't in. There will be a point soon when it's known if May can be done. At that point, if May is a no-no, plans should be made for a postal vote at earliest opportunity after. That's fair.

16-01-2021, 10:37 PM
If we can't do May we should immediately set up for a postal ballot in September.

As I mentioned above, postal ballots favour certain parties. I can’t see the SG agreeing to a postal only election.

As much as it pains me to agree with ODS :wink: if it is postponed then it may have to be for a full year.

Personally, I don’t think it will need to be postponed. We seem to be on track for the most vulnerable to be vaccinated by May, and I think the majority of postal voters are in that category anyway.

17-01-2021, 08:01 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210117/83b000f0f0c5c1cba101201a176fb4ae.jpg

In Scotland we should not be focusing on independence during a pandemic but down south they have time for this?[emoji23]

17-01-2021, 10:04 AM

America can vote in a COVID pandemic. So to can Scotland.

Bonkers that opposition (to independence) clamour to postpone an election.

It smacks of Corbyn. The answer from an opposition to having an election should be “any time, any place. Bring it on”.

17-01-2021, 10:06 AM

It smacks of Corbyn. The answer from an opposition to having an election should be “any time, any place. Bring it on”.

I'm wondering if there are any stats on the extent to which the US election affected infection rates.

17-01-2021, 10:11 AM
I'm wondering if there are any stats on the extent to which the US election affected infection rates.

It probably made things a lot worse but I don’t think an election in Scotland is comparable. We have far more polling stations which means no q’ing and we are unlikely to have massive rally’s.
Funnily enough, I would not have an Indy ref until we are completely clear as the ability to have mass gatherings is a big advantage for Yes.

17-01-2021, 10:26 AM
It probably made things a lot worse but I don’t think an election in Scotland is comparable. We have far more polling stations which means no q’ing and we are unlikely to have massive rally’s.
Funnily enough, I would not have an Indy ref until we are completely clear as the ability to have mass gatherings is a big advantage for Yes.

Agree. But indyref2 will be at Scotland’s choosing.

100% post COVID.

Santa Cruz
17-01-2021, 11:01 AM
Anybody know when the Education Report will finally be released? Personally think voters should have access to this prior to the election, as the SNP have said they want to be judged on this.

17-01-2021, 11:54 AM
Anybody know when the Education Report will finally be released? Personally think voters should have access to this prior to the election, as the SNP have said they want to be judged on this.

It was Sturgeon who said she personally should be judged on education. Our education Secretary obviously doesn’t subscribe to that or he would have been sacked for the exams debacle.
The report has been delayed until after the election because of Coronavirus.

17-01-2021, 11:55 AM

I can tell you right now that it won’t matter what it says. Scottish politics won’t be like normal politics until we have another Indy ref. Nothing else will matter till it’s done.

Santa Cruz
17-01-2021, 12:07 PM
I can tell you right now that it won’t matter what it says. Scottish politics won’t be like normal politics until we have another Indy ref. Nothing else will matter till it’s done.

Maybe for you. I wouldnae mind them doing their actual day job of running the country and letting the public know the detail of the education report.

17-01-2021, 12:15 PM
Maybe for you. I wouldnae mind them doing their actual day job of running the country and letting the public know the detail of the education report.

I’m not saying they are not doing it or that it’s not important, just that in Scotland, until we have our referendum it won’t move any votes. Besides, any failing in any govt globally now will be attributed to covid.

Santa Cruz
17-01-2021, 12:26 PM
I’m not saying they are not doing it or that it’s not important, just that in Scotland, until we have our referendum it won’t move any votes. Besides, any failing in any govt globally now will be attributed to covid.

Work on the education report began before the pandemic, any failings in that report won't have anything to do with covid.

17-01-2021, 12:28 PM
Work on the education report began before the pandemic, any failings in that report won't have anything to do with covid.

Which is why the chance to kick it in to touch was grabbed so eagerly.

Santa Cruz
17-01-2021, 12:31 PM
Which is why the chance to kick it in to touch was grabbed so eagerly.

Precisely. If the election is postponed, I can't see what further grounds they have to sit on that info, it must have been close to completion.

17-01-2021, 12:34 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/snp-ramping-up-indyref2-campaign-with-creation-of-taskforce?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

17-01-2021, 12:43 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/snp-ramping-up-indyref2-campaign-with-creation-of-taskforce?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

Despite being in the middle of a pandemic and the SNP Party (not government) only just announcing setting up a task force the unionists were very quick to trot out their pre prepared anti independence lines. Its almost as though they have been spending time during this pandemic thinking of other things!

17-01-2021, 12:46 PM

Opposition parties criticising the SNP for planning for Indy seem to be ignoring why the SNP exists in the first place.
I’m more interested in who they are going to unveil as the high profile Indy supporter to head it. Suggestions anybody......the less serious the better. :greengrin

Santa Cruz
17-01-2021, 12:50 PM
Opposition parties criticising the SNP for planning for Indy seem to be ignoring why the SNP exists in the first place.
I’m more interested in who they are going to unveil as the high profile Indy supporter to head it. Suggestions anybody......the less serious the better. :greengrin

Janey Godley?

17-01-2021, 12:54 PM

Elaine C Smith?

17-01-2021, 12:55 PM

The real Jimmy krankie?

I think she is a better together type though

17-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Janey Godley?

With Nicola Sturgeon doing Twitter video voiceovers? :greengrin

17-01-2021, 01:13 PM

Boris is already doing the job, isn't he? 🤔😉

17-01-2021, 02:19 PM
Boris is already doing the job, isn't he? 🤔😉

And he’s pretty damn good at it as well. :greengrin

17-01-2021, 02:20 PM
The real Jimmy krankie?

I think she is a better together type though

Swingers for Indy?

17-01-2021, 02:37 PM

Definitely this guy...

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/m9iaEWrYv3k/hqdefault.jpg

17-01-2021, 03:18 PM
Definitely this guy...

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/m9iaEWrYv3k/hqdefault.jpg

See you Jimmy, you've gone too far. 😁

17-01-2021, 03:21 PM

I want to nominate @lenniesaurus as I think I'm in love 😍😉

https://youtube.com/channel/UCNtTXIIxnGPPi8r1JlIbJgQ

Renfrew_Hibby
17-01-2021, 03:54 PM
I want to nominate @lenniesaurus as I think I'm in love 😍😉

https://youtube.com/channel/UCNtTXIIxnGPPi8r1JlIbJgQ

She's absolutely mesmerising.

18-01-2021, 07:47 AM

Maglashan?

Or the neds from Chewin' the Fat?

18-01-2021, 09:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210118/0978cb76475cbcb31f0d1cd24e1c6293.jpg

Indy support among women up at the magic 60% mark.[emoji106]

18-01-2021, 10:07 AM

I'm not 'clamouring' to postpone the election. If it can go ahead in May it should. If it isn't fully safe to do so it shouldn't. I would have thought everyone could agree on that.

Anyone thinking that my view on a possible election postponement smacks of Corbyn needs to seek help. I think it's fair to say there is almost literally nothing I agree with Corbyn on. In addition to which Corbyn was the utter tool who literally agreed to Johnson's last election with precisely an “any time, any place. Bring it on” attitude when Labour was in no position to do anything other than get royally humped.

18-01-2021, 10:09 AM
You're having fun tonight! Come on. I said earlier it should be postal in September but that was forgetting that the schools aren't in. There will be a point soon when it's known if May can be done. At that point, if May is a no-no, plans should be made for a postal vote at earliest opportunity after. That's fair.

As has been pointed out, an all postal election may favour one side over another. I would favour delaying for a year if May isn't safe and I would also make fall back arrangements for a fully postal ballot in May 2022 just in case this virus has tricks up it's sleeve that we don't yet know about. Otherwise a normal ballot in a year's time.

18-01-2021, 10:47 AM
As has been pointed out, an all postal election may favour one side over another. I would favour delaying for a year if May isn't safe and I would also make fall back arrangements for a fully postal ballot in May 2022 just in case this virus has tricks up it's sleeve that we don't yet know about. Otherwise a normal ballot in a year's time.

Do you really think postal voting would favour one side or the other in Scotland?

I realise there's strong evidence of that in the US, where postal voting seemed to help the democrats, but I can't really see any parallels here.

As an aside, I agree that what must come first is people's health. I'm honestly not that fussed either if the election is delayed for a bit, if it was for the right reasons. If they can find another, safe and secure method for it to go ahead, then fair enough.

18-01-2021, 10:57 AM
Do you really think postal voting would favour one side or the other in Scotland?

I realise there's strong evidence of that in the US, where postal voting seemed to help the democrats, but I can't really see any parallels here.

As an aside, I agree that what must come first is people's health. I'm honestly not that fussed either if the election is delayed for a bit, if it was for the right reasons. If they can find another, safe and secure method for it to go ahead, then fair enough.

Postal voting in this country "favours" the older demographic because they're more likely to sign up for it. It's arguable what the impact would be amongst other groups if postal voting was the only available option, but it would be almost guaranteed not to affect the turnout of those who traditionally vote in that manner.

18-01-2021, 02:41 PM
She's absolutely mesmerising.https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-9156461/amp/Scottish-poet-21-accused-making-Scottish-people-sound-stupid.html

18-01-2021, 05:27 PM

I know it does, I’ve seen the figures for local elections and by-elections. In my constituency the demograph of postal voters crosses into the demograph for Tory and Lib Dem voters .. and that has been visible in the spread across the postal votes.

I suspect SNP/Labour candidates would be dreading bad weather conditions in closely run elections.

18-01-2021, 05:56 PM
Another poll tonight showing Yes in front. 51-49% lead. 19th poll in a row with a Yes lead.

18-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Another poll tonight showing Yes in front. 51-49% lead. 19th poll in a row with a Yes lead.

What a rubbish lead that is. Wonder if DKs are increasing.

18-01-2021, 06:56 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210118/6edde6e2a736762c9ec735c19162e110.jpg

18-01-2021, 07:00 PM
What a rubbish lead that is. Wonder if DKs are increasing.

Generally thought to be a good result for a Survation poll.

18-01-2021, 07:05 PM
Generally thought to be a good result for a Survation poll.

It's down on December, which was down on November. Away to look at the December one a bit more.

Edit: I can't get in to the data tables but see they have polled 16+ so fair enough. A splash of cold water in the face. Never a bad thing. The job is far from done.

18-01-2021, 09:43 PM
It's down on December, which was down on November. Away to look at the December one a bit more.

Edit: I can't get in to the data tables but see they have polled 16+ so fair enough. A splash of cold water in the face. Never a bad thing. The job is far from done.

Their last three polls all trend a decrease in the Yes lead. Promising but as you say the job is far from done, for our side too.

19-01-2021, 11:33 AM
I know it does, I’ve seen the figures for local elections and by-elections. In my constituency the demograph of postal voters crosses into the demograph for Tory and Lib Dem voters .. and that has been visible in the spread across the postal votes.

I suspect SNP/Labour candidates would be dreading bad weather conditions in closely run elections.

OK, so no postal voting allowed in the traditional Tory areas then.

Sounds fair enough.

19-01-2021, 07:27 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210119/12cf886c5f95027b5e47094b210dc7ca.jpg
Do we have a single ferry from Scotland to Europe?

Andy Bee
19-01-2021, 08:10 PM

Rosyth to Zeebrugge? I think that still runs but may be wrong.

Andy Bee
19-01-2021, 08:16 PM
Rosyth to Zeebrugge? I think that still runs but may be wrong.

edit: Scratch that it's closed

19-01-2021, 08:34 PM

Sure they trialled a few from Rosyth and Leith too but the demand wasn't there

Stairway 2 7
19-01-2021, 08:38 PM
https://www.standard.co.uk/comment/nationalism-union-brexit-b900299.html

Half wit George Osborne says treat us like catalonia

19-01-2021, 09:21 PM

He’s pretty much given up on winning any future referendum and has decided that Scotland is now a colony.

EI255
19-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Looking forward to becoming an independent country. Exciting times ahead!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

19-01-2021, 09:42 PM

He's an arse, but he's right. Boris just needs to keep saying no, and he will.

The survation poll showing 55% are in favour of an outright independence pledge for May's election is very interesting though.

19-01-2021, 09:55 PM

The survation poll showing 55% are in favour of an outright independence pledge for May's election is very interesting though.

He can't keep denying democracy, that would open Pandora's box.

19-01-2021, 10:07 PM
That arrogant prick knows the writing is on the wall for the union and he is trying to show that honestly it wasnt his fault. Also how ****ing unbelievable that they truly do think that Scotland is a possession for them to lose. How anyone North of the border can hear that kind of talk and continue to support the union and think it is even remotely equal lives in cloud cuckoo land.

19-01-2021, 10:08 PM

Johnson won’t just keep saying no though which is why the Tories are campaigning for May’s election saying a vote for them will stop the referendum. Democracy will win through. We are not quite at the point where we are ready to stop being a democracy yet. If the SNP win in May the pressure will be too much for Johnson to hold out.

20-01-2021, 07:09 AM

He can and he will.

It’s our own fault for not doing the right thing when we had the chance.

20-01-2021, 07:34 AM

He can when the alternative means political suicide for him as the PM that presided over the breakup of the UK.

He will simply repeat that we had our chance in 2014 ad nauseum, and continue to refuse. Where is the pressure to cave in going to come from? Not from his 80 strong majority. Not from the opposition either. We've seen utter contempt from Westminster for years towards SNP MPs, that won't change.

20-01-2021, 08:15 AM

They're now going for the "try any ****ing thing and pray it works" approach.

20-01-2021, 08:34 AM
He can when the alternative means political suicide for him as the PM that presided over the breakup of the UK.

He will simply repeat that we had our chance in 2014 ad nauseum, and continue to refuse. Where is the pressure to cave in going to come from? Not from his 80 strong majority. Not from the opposition either. We've seen utter contempt from Westminster for years towards SNP MPs, that won't change.

The pressure will come from worsening polls as people in Scotland realise they are no longer free. Right now, we are a free democratic country with full control of our destiny. If that changes then people’s attitudes will change. I’m pretty sure Margaret Thatcher said that Scotland is a free country and that if we ever wanted independence then all we had to do was vote for it. And she was correct. If Johnson changes that then I expect the fall out from that decision to be massive. And I expect that the street protests will be the biggest we have ever seen in this country.

20-01-2021, 08:44 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210120/fcc1da4ea2d1e2845c0283fe9de59bba.jpg

20-01-2021, 08:47 AM
https://twitter.com/sundersays/status/1351807575000567808?s=21

Osbourne article already meeting resistance with political types. It’s a position that can’t hold. The UK can only survive with consent.

20-01-2021, 09:03 AM

London papers and their deep understanding of relations in the British isles:

https://twitter.com/mckinneytweets/status/1351819966958460928

20-01-2021, 11:02 AM
The pressure will come from worsening polls as people in Scotland realise they are no longer free. Right now, we are a free democratic country with full control of our destiny. If that changes then people’s attitudes will change. I’m pretty sure Margaret Thatcher said that Scotland is a free country and that if we ever wanted independence then all we had to do was vote for it. And she was correct. If Johnson changes that then I expect the fall out from that decision to be massive. And I expect that the street protests will be the biggest we have ever seen in this country.

The Tories already tried this approach with devolution in the Thatcher years. Hardly a resounding success. :wink:

20-01-2021, 11:07 AM
The Osbourne piece really lays bare Conservative thinking on the Union: N Ireland - glad to see the back of; Wales - who cares?; Scotland - must not be "lost" for purposes of international willy waving. :rolleyes:

20-01-2021, 11:23 AM
The Tories already tried this approach with devolution in the Thatcher years. Hardly a resounding success. :wink:

I doubt we have the patience to wait for a Labour govt this time though.

22-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Looks like the SNP plan to hold referendum even if Johnson turns down s30 and make UK govt challeng it in court.

22-01-2021, 09:29 PM
Looks like the SNP plan to hold referendum even if Johnson turns down s30 and make UK govt challeng it in court.

Or UK government just doesn't challenge it, unionists boycott and the outcome is illegitimate. Needs to be s30 or on the back of court ruling that Scotland Act permits ref without need for Westminster ok.

22-01-2021, 09:30 PM
Or UK government just doesn't challenge it, unionists boycott and the outcome is illegitimate. Needs to be s30 or on the back of court ruling that Scotland Act permits ref without need for Westminster ok.

If Scottish parliament passes a law then UK govt will have to challenge it.

22-01-2021, 09:40 PM
If Scottish parliament passes a law then UK govt will have to challenge it.

I don't think that's right. They only need to challenge if they want to. Holyrood could legislate to take control of immigration to Scotland, set up a border police force and all that. If London failed to challenge it, it wouldn't make good the fact that Scottish Parliament does not have the power to do it in the first place.

22-01-2021, 09:44 PM
I don't think that's right. They only need to challenge if they want to. Holyrood could legislate to take control of immigration to Scotland, set up a border police force and all that. If London failed to challenge it, it wouldn't make good the fact that Scottish Parliament does not have the power to do it in the first place.

You could be right. Some very highly paid legal minds will be arguing over this for the next year or so. Will be interesting to watch. I see the Tories are now planning a Royal Commision into the constitution as they no that saying no to a s30 is not sustainable.

22-01-2021, 09:52 PM
I don't think that's right. They only need to challenge if they want to. Holyrood could legislate to take control of immigration to Scotland, set up a border police force and all that. If London failed to challenge it, it wouldn't make good the fact that Scottish Parliament does not have the power to do it in the first place.Is it not because there is no written constitution that legal advice would require to be given to determine what the position is whereas immigration laws and responsibilities are clearly defined.

22-01-2021, 10:33 PM
Is it not because there is no written constitution that legal advice would require to be given to determine what the position is whereas immigration laws and responsibilities are clearly defined.

I'm not sure, but the powers of the Scottish Parliament are set out in the Scotland Act. As I understand it there's nothing in it that says we can hold a binding referendum without Westmister consent, but there's an argument that the power is there anyway. I think there's a court case just now to see if that's right.

22-01-2021, 11:07 PM
I'm not sure, but the powers of the Scottish Parliament are set out in the Scotland Act. As I understand it there's nothing in it that says we can hold a binding referendum without Westmister consent, but there's an argument that the power is there anyway. I think there's a court case just now to see if that's right.

There will be different Laws rubbing up against each other I imagine. There will be laws which say we have the right to self determination but also the Scotland act which says only the UK has the right.

CloudSquall
23-01-2021, 12:36 AM
In any cause it makes a mockery of the equality of the "Union" if one side can't decide whether it wants to leave or not without the permission of the other.

23-01-2021, 06:08 AM
I'm not sure, but the powers of the Scottish Parliament are set out in the Scotland Act. As I understand it there's nothing in it that says we can hold a binding referendum without Westmister consent, but there's an argument that the power is there anyway. I think there's a court case just now to see if that's right.We could do without that case going on just now, if it finds that Scotland doesn't have the right then the UK government will just point to that.
If that hadn't been going on then the UK government would have been forced to take the legal action, a move which would further increase support for independence and give more weight to the argument that it being in this union is not a voluntary position.

Between this and wings acolytes being desperate to see the FM removed its almost like they are trying to **** this up. Or he is, and they aren't capable of seeing this.

23-01-2021, 07:01 AM

Donald Dewar when negotiating the devolved responsibilities of the Scottish parliament took the very sensible approach of avoiding setting out a list of what should be devolved to the Scottish parliament. He knew that would result in arguments and difficulties.

Instead he set out what should remain reserved to Westminster. I'm not sure what that means for powers available to hold a referendum - whether it's within the parliament's devolved competence or not.

23-01-2021, 07:41 AM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19033561.snps-road-scottish-independence-referendum-plan-full/

23-01-2021, 08:29 AM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19033561.snps-road-scottish-independence-referendum-plan-full/

Fully expect every BBC news bulletin for the next six months to contain the phrase 'once in a generation'.

23-01-2021, 09:22 AM
Fully expect every BBC news bulletin for the next six months to contain the phrase 'once in a generation'.

So far they aren't even reporting it.

23-01-2021, 09:37 AM
So far they aren't even reporting it.

Awaiting advice from Tory HQ on how to negatively spin any story about it. It is quite unbelievable that There is no mention of this anywhere in the BBC as the story broke last night. They do however still have four different reports on the Salmond inquiry including one titles "Could Salmond bring Sturgeon down?"

23-01-2021, 09:38 AM
I noticed that the floundering PM in his covid update managed to wedge in a bit about the devolved nations and how UK resources are making all the difference, as if we were being gifted extra monies from some generous sugar daddy.

I would have also thought the British Army (great job they're doing) is a shared asset and the devolved nations entitled to make use of them at will rather than being allowed to use them at the discretion of someone else. It was said in a way Scotland wouldn't have access to such an asset if we were independent. I can't recall anyone saying that Scotland wouldn't have a defence force come the revolution, sorry I mean independence!

All these subtle messages becoming the norm.

23-01-2021, 09:57 AM
Donald Dewar when negotiating the devolved responsibilities of the Scottish parliament took the very sensible approach of avoiding setting out a list of what should be devolved to the Scottish parliament. He knew that would result in arguments and difficulties.

Instead he set out what should remain reserved to Westminster. I'm not sure what that means for powers available to hold a referendum - whether it's within the parliament's devolved competence or not.

Internal Market Bill changed that and Westminster is now able to act in devolved areas as it sees fit.

23-01-2021, 02:49 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/141296559_274251684094938_2758331392413976275_n.jp g?_nc_cat=101&ccb=2&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=IubgXP97ZfIAX9yIeVv&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=7ecbfcafde1fd4a040b9c7185ae6e90d&oe=60331B0D

so, what's this all about then

23-01-2021, 11:46 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/0c14b9b8bcf3f81e37f23b6e94cd8e92.jpg

Poll number 20 in favour of independence. Panel base this time. [emoji106]

24-01-2021, 08:19 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIts cool, the Union Policy Implementation Committee has it covered.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/8f73e9638989d02ec215fd2728e8fd42.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/a682c74734e3291e9f38bac7670cac93.jpg

24-01-2021, 08:23 AM
Its cool, the Union Policy Implementation Committee has it covered.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/8f73e9638989d02ec215fd2728e8fd42.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/a682c74734e3291e9f38bac7670cac93.jpg

Non-white Patel as Home Secretary certainly convinces me that the Union's a good thing for Scotland. :agree:

24-01-2021, 08:33 AM

One strategy is already gone then. The SNP have went with Cherry’s plan and will unite round that. It’s a big win for Cherry and it means the divisions inside the SNP will heal, Salmond aside.

24-01-2021, 09:00 AM

There doesn't seem to be much Scottish input in that, London/Westminster decides as it did when Gove put forward his masterplan a few months ago.

A master flaw in the the master plan by our Lords and masters appears to be that the Scots want to decide what Scotland looks like in the future not have that imposed upon us.

24-01-2021, 10:56 AM
For those who may have forgotten.

With Michael Gove, and Gordon Brown now discussing the Union in depth, and how they can stretch out their power over Scotland for a wee while longer. The Kilbrandon Commission was set up by Harold Wilsons Labour Government in 1969 under Lord Crowther, it was taken on by Lord Kilbrandon in 1972, and reported in October the following year.

Various models of devolution, federalism and confederalism were considered, as well as the prospect of the division of the UK into separate sovereign states.

It took from then until 1999 until we resumed our Parliament. Starmer and the Tories are now starting to look more closely at how they can spin out time with the hope of the Independence movement dissipating.

Given the history of events when Uk governments and their acolytes get together to "offer" something or other, it usually takes a long time to come to fruition.

The time for commissions are over. The ballot box awaits. Independence here we come.

24-01-2021, 11:45 AM
For those who may have forgotten.

With Michael Gove, and Gordon Brown now discussing the Union in depth, and how they can stretch out their power over Scotland for a wee while longer. The Kilbrandon Commission was set up by Harold Wilsons Labour Government in 1969 under Lord Crowther, it was taken on by Lord Kilbrandon in 1972, and reported in October the following year.

Various models of devolution, federalism and confederalism were considered, as well as the prospect of the division of the UK into separate sovereign states.

It took from then until 1999 until we resumed our Parliament. Starmer and the Tories are now starting to look more closely at how they can spin out time with the hope of the Independence movement dissipating.

Given the history of events when Uk governments and their acolytes get together to "offer" something or other, it usually takes a long time to come to fruition.

The time for commissions are over. The ballot box awaits. Independence here we come.

News this morning that Brown and Gove are working together shows the Better together 2 has been re-formed. They know that they won’t be able to resist indyref 2 for long and a vote is on the way.

CloudSquall
24-01-2021, 12:26 PM
I was about to say that a unionist seeing the line up for Better Together 2 must feel like Hibs fans in the hours before the semi final vs Hearts under Mowbray when the line up was released but even then that line up wasn't this badly decimated.

I'm quite surprised that they believe Michael Gove is a vote winner. Beyond Adam Tomkins and co's "staunch loyal" base and North East farming and fishing tories who are all in the No camp already I'm struggling to think of anyone else he would appeal to, especially anyone that is now saying they will vote yes.

24-01-2021, 02:39 PM

I've been told this didn't include 16 and 17 yr olds. I thought the 52% was rather low. :greengrin

24-01-2021, 03:04 PM
I've been told this didn't include 16 and 17 yr olds. I thought the 52% was rather low. :greengrin

When you read the article it says that they plan to not give this group the vote next time as well as giving the vote to Scots living in England.

24-01-2021, 03:16 PM
The deputy leader of the Brexit negotiations moves on to saving the union. What chance does the SNP have now!

24-01-2021, 03:58 PM
When you read the article it says that they plan to not give this group the vote next time as well as giving the vote to Scots living in England.

What about Scots who have settled in the EU?

24-01-2021, 04:00 PM

Who is “they”? Unless “they” is the democratically elected Scottish government, the. I don’t give a gig what “they” say.

16 year olds must be given the vote. (Legally adults in Scotland). Scots not living in Scotland should not have the vote (I say that as one). For the people, by the people.

24-01-2021, 04:18 PM

I didn't read the article. Given what you've said, do you know if they polled Scots living in the rest of the UK in this poll?

24-01-2021, 04:26 PM
Who is “they”? Unless “they” is the democratically elected Scottish government, the. I don’t give a gig what “they” say.

16 year olds must be given the vote. (Legally adults in Scotland). Scots not living in Scotland should not have the vote (I say that as one). For the people, by the people.

Agreed, the voting rights for another independence referendum should be limited to those who live within Scotland.

24-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Agreed, the voting rights for another independence referendum should be limited to those who live within Scotland.

Pretty sure the SG passed a bill already stating what the franchise would be for a future referendum. Article was saying that a s30 would be granted only on certain conditions though.

24-01-2021, 04:45 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210124/2da0d6548ca93ec1d84a5902f422a08e.jpg

24-01-2021, 05:39 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jan/24/scotland-independence-referendum-nicola-sturgeon-snp-wins-may-

24-01-2021, 06:08 PM
The deputy leader of the Brexit negotiations moves on to saving the union. What chance does the SNP have now!

Vote leave now wagging the unionist dog, at the head, Gordon Brown.

Bring it on.

24-01-2021, 06:08 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jan/24/scotland-independence-referendum-nicola-sturgeon-snp-wins-may-

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkShe better not be tying herself up with commitments like snp majority, it should be a pro independence majority or snp government.

24-01-2021, 06:11 PM
She better not be tying herself up with commitments like snp majority, it should be a pro independence majority or snp government.

The party with the most seats wins.

24-01-2021, 06:23 PM
Vote leave now wagging the unionist dog, at the head, Gordon Brown.

Bring it on.

And it will be very helpful if BT2 is seen as the brexit gang getting together again.[emoji106]

24-01-2021, 07:56 PM

Yes, did not include 16/17 year olds.

24-01-2021, 09:11 PM
The party with the most seats wins.

Not necessarily under the deHont (or whatever it's called) system. If one party don't have a majority then they try to form a coalition or minority government. If it fails then other parties can form a majority coalition.

24-01-2021, 10:23 PM
Not necessarily under the deHont (or whatever it's called) system. If one party don't have a majority then they try to form a coalition or minority government. If it fails then other parties can form a majority coalition.

They would govern as they do now, as a minority, but with the greens polling as it is, a majority independence parliament will do.

25-01-2021, 07:19 AM
They would govern as they do now, as a minority, but with the greens polling as it is, a majority independence parliament will do.The point i was making is that The SNP need to be very careful in their use of language as this cannot be tied into an snp majority in holyrood. It needs to be framed as an snp government and a vote in holyrood.

25-01-2021, 07:22 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/uk-politics-55791179?__twitter_impression=true

Step 1. Get Brown to suggest the royal commission that we favour which will report back in 5-10 years with minimal recommendations about the use of more union flags. [emoji736]

25-01-2021, 07:43 AM
Goggs Broon on sky now using Orwell to describe the SNP. If this is the best Better Together 2 can muster then the union is doomed.

25-01-2021, 07:50 AM
Goggs Broon on sky now using Orwell to describe the SNP. If this is the best Better Together 2 can muster then the union is doomed.

Ssshhh!!!! Let them officially announce Gove and Brown as the dream team before we criticise. [emoji6][emoji23]